Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Atria's - Mt. LebanonAtria's - Mt. Lebanon
(295)
American | Mt. Lebanon, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Texas de Brazil - PittsburghTexas de Brazil - Pittsburgh
(910)
Brazilian Steakhouse | Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Vue 412Vue 412
(54)
Contemporary American | Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
AltiusAltius
(1226)
Contemporary American | Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Hard Rock Cafe - PittsburghHard Rock Cafe - Pittsburgh
(22)
American | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. WashingtonMonterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington
(3594)
Seafood | Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
PorosPoros
(298)
Seafood | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Scoglio GreentreeScoglio Greentree
(37)
Italian | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Grand ConcourseGrand Concourse
(3073)
Seafood | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
LeMont RestaurantLeMont Restaurant
(366)
Continental | Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Tavern 245Tavern 245
(79)
American | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Ruth's Chris Steak House - PittsburghRuth's Chris Steak House - Pittsburgh
(711)
Steakhouse | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Eddie Merlot's - PittsburghEddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh
(706)
Steak | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Roost – Revel+RoostRoost – Revel+Roost
(123)
Contemporary American | Downtown, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now

About Permanently Closed - Crested Duck Charcuterie

1603 Broadway Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15216
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - We strive to offer simplicity; start with great ingredients and prepare the food with care. Our food is heavily French influenced and presented in small plates, giving you the opportunity to try a variety of dishes.

We offer a chef's table in addition to our dinning room. The chef's table is $80/person tax, tip and corkage fee included. The table is limited to 4-6 people. Dinner is a 7 course chef's tasting menu and changes every week. Reservations must be made over the phone.

Please note that we take reservations via phone and allow walk-ins when possible, so if there is conflict regarding your reservation you will be contacted via phone, as soon as possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American, Organic

Hours of Operation:


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Hampshire Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 892-9983

Website:
http://www.crestedduck.com/

Catering:
We offer charcuterie plates for cocktail parties and small gatherings. Plates include a selection of house cured meats, regional cheeses, baguette, and all of the accoutrements needed.

Public Transit:
Street Car - Red Line - Fallowfield or Hampshire Stops

Executive Chef:
Kevin Costa

Private Party Facilities:
Our small dining room can be rented for special events or private functions. This is done on a case-by-case basis.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Costa: 4128929983x

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
Newest
41 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite restaurants!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

The food & ambiance of the Crested Duck are just out of this world! I am so sad this neighborhood gem closed. Kevin Costa is such a talented chef! I will have to visit him at Root 174!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing food. Charcuterie, cheesr

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Amazing food. Charcuterie, cheesr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very Good Experience at Crested Duck

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

I would say overall we had a very nice time; the food was excellent and the service was terrific. However, the place is closing as the chef is moving on to another place downtown. Glad we were able to get there ahead of that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Cured Meats

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Went here with a small group and had a good time. It was busy and there was only one server so there was a little wait, but BYOB is nice to fill the time. Thought the food was good -- the cured meats, cheese and pickles are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant experience.. intimate s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Great restaurant experience.. intimate setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Random Find

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Ran across this place on OpenTable, and the reviews were good. Went on a Thursday - it's a small place to begin with and there were only few other couples in the dining room. Decor is minimal but nice, music was pleasant.

The charcuterie was wonderful, very unique and bold flavor profiles. Pickles plate was a good compliment to the cured meats. Got the sourdough, which was also unique, kind of brunchy which is a win in my book. Celery salad was good... hard to make celery exciting but this did the job. Got the rabbit meatloaf and pork loin. Plating and style was very rustic, simple, but executed well. Opted not to get dessert. BYOB is a plus.

The chef and owner came out to say hello and check on us, and the other diners. Informed us the place will be closing at the end of the year, so that's disappointing. Said he's moving to Root 174 in Regent Square.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good, not great.

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

We read the ratings on Open Table about this restaurant and were excited to try it. The service was ok, but slow. Only one server for the whole place made for plenty of wait time. The charcuterie was delicious, but the sourdough was marginal. My husband had the pork and I had the flank steak. Both were so-so, but certainly not great. We won't be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Gem in the rough

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

This is a unique restaurant. The ambiance is low key, and is overall a medium sized space. The lighting made for a cozy, relaxed, could be romantic setting.

We read the reviews and came for the food. We were not disappointed. The charcuterie and cheese plates provided the palate with a pleasing range of tastes to start. The three of us shared our main courses. The Lamb was the absolute best I have had anywhere; the taste was incredible and it literally melted in your mouth. The pork was also very good, as was the rabbit meatloaf. Don't think you could go wrong with anything on the menu.

Our waitperson ( sorry, didn't catch her name) was very available the entire time, and was very patient with explanations. You almost feel more like a house guest than a patron here. This place is the antidote to chain restaurants.

Would highly recommend. Since it is BYOB, you can always have your favorite bottle to enjoy with your meal..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth the trip to Beechview

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

We took the hike to the Crested Duck recently and had an outstanding experience. The charcuterie platter and cheese platter were excellent. We left not a spec of food on the board. I then had the celery salad which was the perfect counterpoint to the rich starters. I had a chance to taste the flank steak which was excellent. The service was very good, and it's BYOB. Finally, we can enjoy cured meats in a quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night find

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

The dishes are creative and delicious. The charcuterie plate and pickle plate were superb. Try the sourdough!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there and not only was the am ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

First time there and not only was the ambiance fantastic but the food lived up to its outstanding reputation. The duck liver was a revelation! And of course the charcuterie is top notch. The large portion is more than enough for two people. Definitely going to be return visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous evening!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

We are a group of friends who traveled together this summer to Europe; we had some very good meals and some not so very good meals. I have been talking about the Crested Duck for months! We decided to celebrate a birthday here with our group. Each one love it! The food, the ambience, quality of service all made our evening fabulous.

Thank you, Chef and Michelle. You made it look effortless and we enjoyed every bite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint and cozy little place.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

The Crested Duck Charcuterie is small and cozy. The decor is simple and not overly done with warm tones on the walls and romantic lighting. The service was very good and the majority of the various dishes we sampled were very good, and 3 were exceptional. The exceptional plates included the 8pc. meat & cheese charcuterie, the Caprese salad and the pork belly.

The only downsides were the table of 6 (all of whom were exceptionally loud and obnoxious) the lack of rabbit confit availability and the custard on the butter tart not being set-up enough.

The crust for the tart was scrumptious.

To his credit, the waiter did apologize profusely for the loud group's behavior and provided excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Food

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Small restaurant, so make sure to reserve. The food is delicious - we had a charcuterie plate, which is amazing, and duck breast and lamb. The desserts were fabulous - we had semi-freddo, which is basically ice cream made of butter, and hand pies. Worth going out of the way to visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The Charcuterie is absolutely amazing.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

The chef creates such an amazing variety of flavorful charcuterie options, its the best place in town to enjoy charcuterie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is excellent.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Best meal I have had in a long time. The cured meats and local cheese board is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delish!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Fresh squeezed orange juice, and delectable meats all woven into an inspired menu. We had a hard time choosing. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

Friends from out of town and I went to Crested Duck for Sunday brunch and were delighted. This was no ordinary or even pretty nice brunch; this was spectacular. Every item we ordered was well prepared, delicious, and beautifully plated. The atmosphere was quite comfortable and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you haven't been here, you're sleepin ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

If you haven't been here, you're sleeping on one of the best dining experiences available anywhere! Take the T or an uber, pack up your BYOwine, and get ready to be absolutely amazed by the food here! Bring friends, too, so you can order small plates and share. Well, I didn't want to share the gnudi. I wanted that whole plate for myself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was a great experience. There's n ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Brunch was a great experience. There's no guesswork - the menu is prix fixe, and all of the options are remarkable. I wasn't even hungry at dinner time still! Bring your own champagne to go with their fresh squeezed orange juice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for brunch. But, will be back. Soon

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

First time for brunch. Have been for dinner a couple of times. And always a phenomenal experience. Brunch was amazing, and Kevin nailed it. As always. From the charcuterie starters to the non-traditional, traditional breakfast (fried duck egg, thick, beautiful bacon, apple sausage and a wonderfully prepared potato roasted in duck fat, we had an amazing experience. And waiter was very knowledgeable and appropriately attentive.

CD may not be on the beaten path, but everyone should beat a path to this not-so-hidden gem I'm Beechview.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stick to the charcuterie

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Reasonable charcuterie, although portion is small, maybe 2 ounces in $12 appetizer portion. Main courses were disappointing. "Chicken Pot Pie" had flavorful broth, but only about 3 small pieces of chicken. This was a main course??? Duck breast was not properly rendered, which seems to be a problem in a lot of Pittsburgh restaurants. Only about 1/2 to 3/4 of the breast was served. No starch was provided. Profiteroles for dessert were a joke...$9 for three small profiteroles which clearly came out of a box and were topped with Hershey syrup. Since we were still hungry after dinner, we had some great tacos at the stand across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great experience

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Had a great time at the Crested Duck. I liked the service and the food was delicious. I just wish the meat plates were a tad larger :) (It's tapas style)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. A wonderful bru ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

The food was delicious. A wonderful brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A Beechview Gem

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

We had been to crested duck once before for brunch and finally checked it out for dinner. Neither meal disappointed in the slightest. The restaurant is small, but cozy. Waiters are extremely helpful and friendly. It's BYOB which is always a huge plus to me. For dinner we opted to have the chef select a few dishes from each part of the menu and everything was great. I would have probably been happy after just the meat, cheese, and pickles plates, however, as these were outstanding. I also really enjoyed the savory bread pudding and lamb dishes. I'm trying to get a group together for a meal at the chef's table in the near future. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous Find!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We went to Crested Duck for Mother's Day brunch and had a fabulous meal. We enjoyed healthy, organic, locally sourced meats, cheeses, vegetables, and the most amazing duck eggs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a lovely brunch with two girlfri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

Enjoyed a lovely brunch with two girlfriends last Sunday. The quality of the food was outstanding! Although they focus on quality local meats, I appreciated their thoughtful vegetarian options as well. Our server was attentive and helpful in explaining the menu. He even took the time to explain where each item was located on the plate - helpful for a member in our party with a disability.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crested Duck a Foodie's Dream

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

This restaurant serves a delicious, fresh dinner, and now, a truly exquisite Sunday brunch. The charcuterie plate, available on both menus is a must have. The flavors and textures join together in a plate which is so vibrant and satisfying that you might be tempted to order another one, and only have that as your meal. Don't do it! You'll miss plates of innovative and luxurious food, which has the added bonus of being impeccably sourced. Well worth the trip to Beechview!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food that comes at a price

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

When I went here on Valentine's Day, i wasn't sure what to expect. Parking was available but the best feature was it's location relative to the T. Customer service was quite good. The servers were very attentive and responsive. BYOB option was a nice bonus. The food was good but not great. The portions were small and over-priced. The specialty (cured meats) was shaved so thin and you probably got .3 lbs of meat for $12. The dessert i got was not good at all. It was a pound cake that was as dry as chalk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wonderful dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

My wife and I love this place. The food is wonderful, creative and local. The cured meats are unique and the vegtables very fresh. The dessert is also great. Then there is the added bonus of being able to bring your own wine. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Interesting and tasty food - tapas style ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 12, 2014

Interesting and tasty food - tapas style. Very small but cozy space. BYOB - nice. Went on a Friday night and only one other table was occupied. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Crested Duck FTW!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 7, 2014

My first dinner at Crested Duck was incredible! The ambiance (decor and music) was great! The waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly! The food was SPECTACULAR! I recommend ordering the BIG charcuterie plate and the cheese plate. Keep up the good work, Chef Kevin Costa!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Like dining in Europe

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

The ambiance is just like dining in Paris or Geneva, intimate, quiet and personal. I truly felt as if I were welcome to stay as long as I wanted. The food was beautifully presented and everything taste wonderful. My personal favorites were the cheese board and the short rib, while my husband leaned more toward the charcuterie and the sliders. Also I just want to say, fantastic coffee! As were the beignets.

I love that everything is humanly and localy sourced, that was my reason for choosing the restaurant, but it is not the only reason I'll be back. A big shout out to Nathan, he is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charcuterie was excellent, as were our s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

Charcuterie was excellent, as were our small plates. Had some unique items that were outstanding. BYOB is a great opportunity to enjoy a bottle you have been saving and have a good meal with it. Thought prices were a little high for amount of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Dining Experience!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

My husband is a huge fan of charcuterie and he had visited Crested Duck in the past, prior to the opening of the restaurant. Everything we read on the menu sounded delicious! Everything is served tapas style, order as you go; we ordered 5 items, plus dessert---sharing everything between the two of us...all VERY GOOD.

The service, atmosphere, and food were all wonderful. We will definitely be back for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and attentive service. The be ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

Great food and attentive service. The best charcuterie platter in the city by a mile. The BYOB is an added bonus. It is a little quirky and for those not familar with this part of the city it can be a little difficult to find but there is T stop in front of the restaurant and it is 2 turns off of Banksville Road - if you make it 4 turns you can go up Canton Avenue one of the steepest streets in the world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was fantastic...food, service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

Everything was fantastic...food, service and cozy atmosphere. We went for a friend's birthday and just ordered round after round of small plates. The courses do take a bit of time to come out but no one minded as it was always worth the wait...just make sure that you are prepared for a nice, relaxed meal....also it's BYOB so that's a bonus! Enthusiastically recommend :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding. Top 5 meals ever

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

The food was outstanding. I am complete food snob and this was one of the top 5 meals I have eaten at a restaurant ever. Perfectly executed, flavorful, and unique, our taste buds were in heaven. I was thrilled that the restaurant was tapas style so that we could try so many different items. I want to go back and order one of everything off the menu. The service was also impeccable. The waiter was very attentive and pleasant. I cannot wait to go back to this restaurant. What a find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 26, 2014

I was introduced to this restaurant by a friend who is a good cook herself. She told me that she had had the best meal she had every had in Pittsburgh at this restaurant. It was not a disappointment. Thomas, our server, an acquaintance from another establishment was great and the food was honest and delicious. The four cheeses paired with four different toppings was a great start. I loved the pate-can't remember the specific ingredients-but smooth and delicious beyond belief. My memory is not the best for the details so I can't help out much beyond this but I highly recommend it-to both novices and those with cultivated palates. The corking fee is just $5 per person so bring a good wine and enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

Marvelous small plates, attention to detail, and service. If it can be done with meat, the Crested Duck team is doing it brilliantly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.