About Crescent Grill

38-40 Crescent St.
Long Island City, NY 11101
View Larger Map

Located in Long Island City, Crescent Grill is conveniently placed near several public transit lines and minutes away from Manhattan. Featuring locally sourced and handpicked farm-to-table ingredients, Crescent Grill brings you fresh seasonal food for an upscale yet relaxed dining experience. Indulge in a fantastic meal and dining atmosphere while at ease knowing our business is independently run and your food is sustainably sourced.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm
Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:45pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:45pm

Cross Street:
39th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 729-4040

Website:
http://www.crescentgrill.com/

Catering:
Please call if you are interested in having an event catered by Crescent Grill.

Parking Details:
Free shuttle service in our local neighborhood. Visit www.crescentgrill.com for our coverage map.

Public Transit:
Crescent Grill is blocks away from the Court Square G, 39th Avenue N/Q stop, Queensboro Plaza 7/N/Q stop, Queens Plaza E/M/R stop and the 21st - Queens bridge F stop.

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Corrow

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crescent Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Queens
Fit for Foodies
Queens
Best Restaurants in Long Island City ›

Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Romantic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

With the flourishing advent of new & exc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

With the flourishing advent of new & exciting eat-spots in Astoria & LIC, I was happily suprised by this fresh farm-to-table addition to the nabe. Tiny little touches like the just-churned whipped-cream for the lemon-yogurt pancakes & the cake-slice-thick banana-bread french toast & notable local art on the walls made it remarkable, and the tantalizing breadth of the menu assured return visits on many a weekend to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely well curated farm ingredients, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Extremely well curated farm ingredients, prepared uniquely and perfectly. A can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A enjoyable romantic time.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A enjoyable romantic time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very special place.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With the exception of the "modern" (plea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

With the exception of the "modern" (pleasant, but noise friendly) decor, this is the kind of neighborhood restaurant I wish I had closer to home. For the most part, the ingredients were fresh, suggesting that they really are locally sourced (whatever that means in NY City). This includes the appetizing craft cocktails. I was disappointed to see less than a handful of NY State wines on the list. They could do better than that.Yes the portions are small (especially the Foie Gras), but carefully prepared and definitely fresh. We came on a quiet night in August and everyone was very attentive and friendly. One plus on the decor is the large mural at the end of the room, which suggest the view you might have across the East River if you were closer to it and had a large window. We came on a quit night and parking on the street in front of the restaurant --free after 7. Fortunate, since we don't live in the local area for a free pickup and return. If we did, we definitely come often. Menu is limited, but I assume it changed with the seasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Very nice restaurant and definitely will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very nice restaurant and definitely will return, maybe for brunch the next time. Although we lived too far for their shuttle service, definitely nice touch. Only gripe was pepper mill was not brought over until halfway through meal, although overall, service very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great farm to table menu, the food was f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great farm to table menu, the food was fresh and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance of the restaurant. Ow ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved the ambiance of the restaurant. Owner was very friendly and talked with us about how his restaurant got its start. Loved the artwork and friendly waiters. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good. Value poor. Very small po ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good. Value poor. Very small portions. I ordered the lobster. 32.00 for 1 claw with no knuckle and 1/2 lobster tail meat. When I complained the server brought it back and added an additional smaller claw. Claw was cooked and served in shell. This would preclude it having any special sauce or treatment that would justify the 32.00 price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My boyfriend and I had an incredible and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My boyfriend and I had an incredible and memorable time at Crescent Grill this weekend! The waitress, Kristin, was really wonderful, and gave top-notch suggestions and information about the ingredients and dishes. The food was truly delicious (and worth coming back for!), but the waitress really made the experience special. I can't wait to come back again for a special occasion dinner, but we plan on trying lunch and brunch here very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has an excellent present ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant has an excellent presentation of ambience, service and food. But I think it is trying way too hard to be "gourmet." Nothing I had was really that satisfying in taste including the cocktail. The art gallery aspect was enjoyable, but I would not recommend this restaurant in regards to the taste of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Crescent Grill was absolutely amazing! W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Crescent Grill was absolutely amazing! We were celebrating a year countdown to our wedding and they took fabulous care of us. The waitress went above and beyond to make it a special night and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! From the food to the champagne, and then the free ride home...everything was exquisite! Highly Recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A surprisingly wonderful dining experience!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Extraordinary food prepared in a true farm-to-table manner. Love that you dine in the middle of an art gallery. Service was very attentive, but not so much that you felt like you were being rushed along. My first dining experience in Long Island City and now everything will pale in comparison. I just moved into the neighborhood and this will definitely become my local go-to joint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hidden gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were picked up by the van which brought us home after dinner, a great plus. I started with the beet appetizer which was a bit of a disappointment, pureed clumps of beets with a couple of cut up beets, some greens and cheese, no tooth feel here.

I had the halibut in a broth with scallions and cucumbers and a curry sauce on the side; it first came overly salted so they made me a new one which was perfection, light and satisfying. My friends had pork chops and the chicken and everyone enjoyed their meals thoroughly.

The most annoying thing is when waitstaff pick up the dishes of those who are finished while one person is still eating, it makes them hurry their meal and is so rude. Other than that it was a very pleasant experience.

The owner stopped by to speak with us and was very charming and helpful especially with my fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great find!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The entire experience was exceptional! From the complimentary car service from the Courtyard Long Island City to the service and perfectly prepared farm to table menu; a true gem of a restaurant. The beet salad was perfect as was the wine recommended by the server!

I will definitely return during my next visit to see what new items the talented culinary team are preparing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nestled on the "other side of the tracks ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nestled on the "other side of the tracks" in Long Island City is this jewel. The food and service were excellent. While the area is filled with industrial buildings it is very much a lively residential community. This restaurant has many really good offerings. I didn't have a drink but my friend did and she said her red wine options were very good and the wine she choose was very good. You'll not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a very nice brunch service was good ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a very nice brunch service was good and enjoyed the art on the wall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a gem! This is a group of profes ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a gem! This is a group of professionals. Not to be missed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Experience!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was impeccable. We felt as if we were the most important guest in the entire restaurant. The food was delicious and the wine list left nothing to be desired. We were picked up and dropped off at our apartment by their complementary car service (super awesome!). What a great evening! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great visit!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

If you have not tried Crescent Grill aka Crescent, what are you waiting for??? The owner is so nice and the staff are really attentive. Most importantly the food is awesome. I have had brunch and lunch at the restaurant so far and everything is good from the steak to the lobster omelette and so much more. I cannot wait to return again. The restaurant even offers car service to those in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great, Great, Great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Found this gem of a restaurant. Great ambience, service and overall value. The owner (Sean) stopped by the table and engaged in conversation. Waitstaff was knowledgeable, courteous and charming. Nice art gallery, bar area and music. Complimentary shuttle serve...cant beat the value, ambience and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey

 
 (London)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Went on Valentine's Sunday. Only 60 dollar prix fixe available even tho restaurant only half full. One waitress definitely a little sniffy but she still awarded herself a 75 dollar tip. Definite lacked warmth and character. A dissapointment for the money. On the plus side the wine list had some interesting selections.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Cresent Grill yumm for eyes and tummy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my girlfriend to this restaurant and we loved the art paintings all around the dining area and how all of the paintings are from local artist in the long island city area. The food was a valentine pre-fix menu and it offered a good sample of what they can offer and do not have any complaints of anything they were serving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Spot In Long Island City

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We had theater tickets in Long Island City and found Crescent City on a couple of sites with good reviews - we were not disappointed. We were there earlyish so was pretty quiet. All meals and appetizers were very good. Service was great (not always the case when restaurants are less than filled). Would recommend even as a destination on its own - it is remote, but interesting to see the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited menu and high prices

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

I was joining a friend during a layover at JFK and made the effort to leave the airport due to positive had reviews I saw but upon arriving the area and neighborhood was a bit seedy, the restaurant inside was nice but overwhelmingly too hot to even enjoy your meal.

The Menu featured online on their website had a lot of offerings but when we arrived there was such a limited menu I ended up getting a salad which was extremely small and a side order of french fries to indulge, the French fries were $7 alone, almost more than my glass of wine! They were out of some items listed on the menu, like chicken!

Not overly attentive nor welcoming staff, other than a very nice hostess. I would not recommend, unfortunately as I was hopeful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

One of Queens' best!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

One of my fave places. Crescent Grille is consistently fantastic. The staff are attentive, the drinks are creative, and the food is fantastic. This is a farm-to-table restaurant that is also a creative venture. The ingredients are fresh and local, but the platings parallel Manhattan restaurants.

This place is in an up-and-coming neighborhood that used to be very commercial. It's very safe- but the restaurant still provides a shuttle to the train (about four blocks away). Worth a trip to Queens.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

love the brunch here! one of the best hollandaise sauces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was super attentive. One of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Our waitress was super attentive. One of the best ever we have had in a while and we eat out three times a week. The apps were all full of flavors we never thought would mix but they did. Alot of things are made in house and it shows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful find and very convenient

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

They offer shuttle service for people coming from nearby in LIC. The owner Sean was extremely accommodating. What was notable among other things including the fine biscuits, was that it is also an art gallery presenting the work of neighborhood artists. The artist changes every two months and they have a reception at the opening of their exhibitions. It is truly a gem and worth a trip even if you are not in LIC. Pretty accessible from midtown Manhattan. It's a mellow place, comfortable and friendly without being "precious" in any way.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Farm to Table - Delicious

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The Crescent Grill was an amazing find--a fresh, farm-to-table restaurant in my local neighborhood. The food was delicious, and the ambiance warm and inviting. The owner of the restaurant came by the tables and personally introduced himself, asking how the food and the service was. This will quickly become one of my favorite restaurants in Astoria.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an incredible find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 17, 2015

This is the best kept secret in LIC. The food is absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lived in Astoria / Long Island Ci ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

I have lived in Astoria / Long Island City area for 3 years and never went in. Happy to say my first time dining was for brunch and it was very good. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The restaurant needs tweeking

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

This restaurant is off the beaten track, however for locals they provide transportation, which is a genius idea. The food was surprisingly good, although the price are a bit high . My halibut ($36) was overcooked, and I should have sent it back, along with the vegetables that were cold. The service was slow, but being that we were a party of six, and had a lot to talk about, no one really minded. The appetizers were good, although the foie gras was really small for $16. Not sure I would return...the menu is rather limited...and not many choices of entree were to my liking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Definitely a great place - nice they off ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Definitely a great place - nice they offer a shuttle service free too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Personal Welcome by the Owner!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

We visited CG the night before our wedding. On the walk up to the venue we were a little worried as we are from the UK and it looked a little sparce.

However upon entry these fears were removed. It is a surprising oasis in the middle of a industrial area.

There is a beautiful art gallery with work throughout the restaurant. As you walk in you are welcomed and jackets are checked in by friendly staff.

The wait staff are most pleasant and the menu is AMAZING with a good wine list to accompany it.

We were welcomed to the restaurant by the owner and after our meal he drove all 6 of us back to our hotel in his shuttle vehicle. I'd definitely revisit and recommend this place that others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very fussy food presentation

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

There's no problem with the food quality at Crescent Grill but one left with the impression that the chef was trying too hard. We both had duck - perfectly cooked - but the plate was over dressed , the duck pate overkill, and the broccolini side, was jarring with its chilli heat and totally unexpected. Likewise the seasonal pumpkin dessert - tasty - but way too try hard. The waitress was pleasant but seemed to lack some knowledge about the wine we asked about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

YUM!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Farm to table restaurant, so all the food was so fresh! I got the Breakfast Sandwhich during brunch and it was so delicious! Everyone in our party was more than satisfied with their meal. Coffee was fresh, service was fast, and the staff was very friendly. We were visiting from out of town, otherwise this would definitely be a regular brunch spot for me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We Found Heaven in Dutch Kills

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Crescent Grill is a real gem in all respects. The staff is attentive but not obsequious. The design is both rustic and modern; it is both comfortable and chic. And the food and beverages are superb. There is so much attention to detail. For example, the savory biscuits we enjoyed at brunch were a perfect accompaniment to our cocktails. We have visited Crescent Grill a number of times and will return again soon and often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LIC Gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

The food just keeps getting better and better.

Seasonal, hand-crafted, memorable.

All in a visitor-friendly laid back ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

The meal was fantastic starting with the appetizers which were very flavorful and beautifully presented. The main course was also excellent. So many textures and tastes. Service was very good. The entire staff was welcoming and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.