About Crescent Grill

38-40 Crescent St.
Long Island City, NY 11101
View Larger Map

Located in Long Island City, Crescent Grill is conveniently placed near several public transit lines and minutes away from Manhattan. Featuring locally sourced and handpicked farm-to-table ingredients, Crescent Grill brings you fresh seasonal food for an upscale yet relaxed dining experience. Indulge in a fantastic meal and dining atmosphere while at ease knowing our business is independently run and your food is sustainably sourced.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm
Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:45pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:45pm

Cross Street:
39th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 729-4040

Website:
http://www.crescentgrill.com/

Catering:
Please call if you are interested in having an event catered by Crescent Grill.

Parking Details:
Free shuttle service in our local neighborhood. Visit www.crescentgrill.com for our coverage map.

Public Transit:
Crescent Grill is blocks away from the Court Square G, 39th Avenue N/Q stop, Queensboro Plaza 7/N/Q stop, Queens Plaza E/M/R stop and the 21st - Queens bridge F stop.

Executive Chef:
Kenneth Corrow

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crescent Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Queens
Best Restaurants in Long Island City ›

Local Ingredients (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. Ordered the Lamb ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

The food was delicious. Ordered the Lamb Fettuccini. Highly recommend this place! The drinks were great. Everyone enjoyed the meal and experience. The art work is also beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crescent Grill was absolutely wonderful. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Crescent Grill was absolutely wonderful. The farm to table food was some of the freshest I have ever had. The chicken was so tender it's hard to believe it was chicken. The smoked duck breast was phenomenal. The service was very friendly. The instant we walked in the bartender invited us to have several samples of the local beer they have on tap. The waitress was wonderful and fun and very thankful for us to be there. This place deserves to be full all of the time. I will definitely return and probably even have some of the same things that I had before. Thank you Crescent Grill for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Organic, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here for dinner a few times a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I've eaten here for dinner a few times and the drinks and food never disappoint! The food is fresh (farm to table) and ingredients slightly change based on the season. Cocktails are also phenomenal! The restaurant even offers free pick up if you live or are staying in the area or need to be dropped off at a train station. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty and well made but the por ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was tasty and well made but the portion sizes were ridiculously small. The average plate was more like tapas with the exception of the rib-eye steak. Even the cocktails and wine pours were skimpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ok for neighborhood restaurant. Farm to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Ok for neighborhood restaurant. Farm to table concept is nice, but nothing special with the execution. We had dinner there and maybe it's better for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We really wanted to like this restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really wanted to like this restaurant. We have so few quality places to eat near us in LIC. The dining room needs work. It wants to be an art gallery and a farm to table restaurant. It doesn't work together.

The food was delicious but was NOT worth the value based on portion sizes. A burata salad for $15 (2 ounces of burata and 8 mini pear/cherry tomatoes).

We have lived in NYC for 20 years. We go to restaurants with small portion sizes and high prices, but this was ridiculous. Again, the food was delicious but the portion sizes based on prices don't work.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

It is a great farm-to-table find. It wou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

It is a great farm-to-table find. It would have been much better if they could be more flexible with allergy related substitutions and a little faster tabling the food, but it was delicious and most importantly grass-fed and organic food. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time here. To avoid Manhattan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our first time here. To avoid Manhattan brunch scene we stayed in Queens and found this place. Wonderful brunch, we did the unlimited mimosa/bloody mary special and the sangria was part of the special too yum! Was a great way to stretch out afternoon conversation. The owner came by to check on us. We highly recommend Crescent Grill and will go back for dinner soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Crescent Gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our second visit to Crescent Grill and brought friends because it was so great the first time. Everyone loved every bite of food. The staff is lovely and the owner stopped at our table. An extra plus is the availability of street parking. We came from LI and our friends are from Westchester so it is also a great half way meeting location.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

With the flourishing advent of new & exc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

With the flourishing advent of new & exciting eat-spots in Astoria & LIC, I was happily suprised by this fresh farm-to-table addition to the nabe. Tiny little touches like the just-churned whipped-cream for the lemon-yogurt pancakes & the cake-slice-thick banana-bread french toast & notable local art on the walls made it remarkable, and the tantalizing breadth of the menu assured return visits on many a weekend to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely well curated farm ingredients, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Extremely well curated farm ingredients, prepared uniquely and perfectly. A can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A enjoyable romantic time.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

A enjoyable romantic time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very special place.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With the exception of the "modern" (plea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

With the exception of the "modern" (pleasant, but noise friendly) decor, this is the kind of neighborhood restaurant I wish I had closer to home. For the most part, the ingredients were fresh, suggesting that they really are locally sourced (whatever that means in NY City). This includes the appetizing craft cocktails. I was disappointed to see less than a handful of NY State wines on the list. They could do better than that.Yes the portions are small (especially the Foie Gras), but carefully prepared and definitely fresh. We came on a quiet night in August and everyone was very attentive and friendly. One plus on the decor is the large mural at the end of the room, which suggest the view you might have across the East River if you were closer to it and had a large window. We came on a quit night and parking on the street in front of the restaurant --free after 7. Fortunate, since we don't live in the local area for a free pickup and return. If we did, we definitely come often. Menu is limited, but I assume it changed with the seasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Very nice restaurant and definitely will ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very nice restaurant and definitely will return, maybe for brunch the next time. Although we lived too far for their shuttle service, definitely nice touch. Only gripe was pepper mill was not brought over until halfway through meal, although overall, service very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great farm to table menu, the food was f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great farm to table menu, the food was fresh and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance of the restaurant. Ow ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved the ambiance of the restaurant. Owner was very friendly and talked with us about how his restaurant got its start. Loved the artwork and friendly waiters. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good. Value poor. Very small po ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good. Value poor. Very small portions. I ordered the lobster. 32.00 for 1 claw with no knuckle and 1/2 lobster tail meat. When I complained the server brought it back and added an additional smaller claw. Claw was cooked and served in shell. This would preclude it having any special sauce or treatment that would justify the 32.00 price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My boyfriend and I had an incredible and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

My boyfriend and I had an incredible and memorable time at Crescent Grill this weekend! The waitress, Kristin, was really wonderful, and gave top-notch suggestions and information about the ingredients and dishes. The food was truly delicious (and worth coming back for!), but the waitress really made the experience special. I can't wait to come back again for a special occasion dinner, but we plan on trying lunch and brunch here very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has an excellent present ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant has an excellent presentation of ambience, service and food. But I think it is trying way too hard to be "gourmet." Nothing I had was really that satisfying in taste including the cocktail. The art gallery aspect was enjoyable, but I would not recommend this restaurant in regards to the taste of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Crescent Grill was absolutely amazing! W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Crescent Grill was absolutely amazing! We were celebrating a year countdown to our wedding and they took fabulous care of us. The waitress went above and beyond to make it a special night and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! From the food to the champagne, and then the free ride home...everything was exquisite! Highly Recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A surprisingly wonderful dining experience!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Extraordinary food prepared in a true farm-to-table manner. Love that you dine in the middle of an art gallery. Service was very attentive, but not so much that you felt like you were being rushed along. My first dining experience in Long Island City and now everything will pale in comparison. I just moved into the neighborhood and this will definitely become my local go-to joint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hidden gem

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were picked up by the van which brought us home after dinner, a great plus. I started with the beet appetizer which was a bit of a disappointment, pureed clumps of beets with a couple of cut up beets, some greens and cheese, no tooth feel here.

I had the halibut in a broth with scallions and cucumbers and a curry sauce on the side; it first came overly salted so they made me a new one which was perfection, light and satisfying. My friends had pork chops and the chicken and everyone enjoyed their meals thoroughly.

The most annoying thing is when waitstaff pick up the dishes of those who are finished while one person is still eating, it makes them hurry their meal and is so rude. Other than that it was a very pleasant experience.

The owner stopped by to speak with us and was very charming and helpful especially with my fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great find!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2016

The entire experience was exceptional! From the complimentary car service from the Courtyard Long Island City to the service and perfectly prepared farm to table menu; a true gem of a restaurant. The beet salad was perfect as was the wine recommended by the server!

I will definitely return during my next visit to see what new items the talented culinary team are preparing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nestled on the "other side of the tracks ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nestled on the "other side of the tracks" in Long Island City is this jewel. The food and service were excellent. While the area is filled with industrial buildings it is very much a lively residential community. This restaurant has many really good offerings. I didn't have a drink but my friend did and she said her red wine options were very good and the wine she choose was very good. You'll not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a very nice brunch service was good ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a very nice brunch service was good and enjoyed the art on the wall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a gem! This is a group of profes ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a gem! This is a group of professionals. Not to be missed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Experience!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was impeccable. We felt as if we were the most important guest in the entire restaurant. The food was delicious and the wine list left nothing to be desired. We were picked up and dropped off at our apartment by their complementary car service (super awesome!). What a great evening! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great visit!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2016

If you have not tried Crescent Grill aka Crescent, what are you waiting for??? The owner is so nice and the staff are really attentive. Most importantly the food is awesome. I have had brunch and lunch at the restaurant so far and everything is good from the steak to the lobster omelette and so much more. I cannot wait to return again. The restaurant even offers car service to those in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great, Great, Great!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2016

Found this gem of a restaurant. Great ambience, service and overall value. The owner (Sean) stopped by the table and engaged in conversation. Waitstaff was knowledgeable, courteous and charming. Nice art gallery, bar area and music. Complimentary shuttle serve...cant beat the value, ambience and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Went on Valentine's Sunday. Only 60 dollar prix fixe available even tho restaurant only half full. One waitress definitely a little sniffy but she still awarded herself a 75 dollar tip. Definite lacked warmth and character. A dissapointment for the money. On the plus side the wine list had some interesting selections.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Cresent Grill yumm for eyes and tummy

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my girlfriend to this restaurant and we loved the art paintings all around the dining area and how all of the paintings are from local artist in the long island city area. The food was a valentine pre-fix menu and it offered a good sample of what they can offer and do not have any complaints of anything they were serving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Spot In Long Island City

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2016

We had theater tickets in Long Island City and found Crescent City on a couple of sites with good reviews - we were not disappointed. We were there earlyish so was pretty quiet. All meals and appetizers were very good. Service was great (not always the case when restaurants are less than filled). Would recommend even as a destination on its own - it is remote, but interesting to see the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited menu and high prices

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2016

I was joining a friend during a layover at JFK and made the effort to leave the airport due to positive had reviews I saw but upon arriving the area and neighborhood was a bit seedy, the restaurant inside was nice but overwhelmingly too hot to even enjoy your meal.

The Menu featured online on their website had a lot of offerings but when we arrived there was such a limited menu I ended up getting a salad which was extremely small and a side order of french fries to indulge, the French fries were $7 alone, almost more than my glass of wine! They were out of some items listed on the menu, like chicken!

Not overly attentive nor welcoming staff, other than a very nice hostess. I would not recommend, unfortunately as I was hopeful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

One of Queens' best!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2016

One of my fave places. Crescent Grille is consistently fantastic. The staff are attentive, the drinks are creative, and the food is fantastic. This is a farm-to-table restaurant that is also a creative venture. The ingredients are fresh and local, but the platings parallel Manhattan restaurants.

This place is in an up-and-coming neighborhood that used to be very commercial. It's very safe- but the restaurant still provides a shuttle to the train (about four blocks away). Worth a trip to Queens.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2015

love the brunch here! one of the best hollandaise sauces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was super attentive. One of ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2015

Our waitress was super attentive. One of the best ever we have had in a while and we eat out three times a week. The apps were all full of flavors we never thought would mix but they did. Alot of things are made in house and it shows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful find and very convenient

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2015

They offer shuttle service for people coming from nearby in LIC. The owner Sean was extremely accommodating. What was notable among other things including the fine biscuits, was that it is also an art gallery presenting the work of neighborhood artists. The artist changes every two months and they have a reception at the opening of their exhibitions. It is truly a gem and worth a trip even if you are not in LIC. Pretty accessible from midtown Manhattan. It's a mellow place, comfortable and friendly without being "precious" in any way.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Farm to Table - Delicious

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2015

The Crescent Grill was an amazing find--a fresh, farm-to-table restaurant in my local neighborhood. The food was delicious, and the ambiance warm and inviting. The owner of the restaurant came by the tables and personally introduced himself, asking how the food and the service was. This will quickly become one of my favorite restaurants in Astoria.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an incredible find!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2015

This is the best kept secret in LIC. The food is absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.