About Crepe Du Jour French Bistro

1609 Sulgrave Ave
Baltimore, MD 21209
View Larger Map

The Crêpe Du Jour was established in 1997 by husband and wife team Mustapha and Donna Snoussi. They had just relocated to Baltimore after living in Paris, France and began their first business by opening an upscale kiosk in the outside atrium of The Village of Cross Keys where they sold crêpes, panini, salads and more. The business was a success and they had acquired the clientele needed which would later support them in the opening of their Mt. Washington restaurant in 2000. The restaurant has expanded with the opening of an all year round heated terrace. Crêpe Du Jour has been part of the "Zagat" restaurant guide since 2003 where they describe dining on the terrace on a long summer evening as "almost feeling like Paris". The owner is often present to greet the guests and assure the quality of the food is at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Newburry Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 542-9000

Website:
http://www.crepedujour.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Wed & Thurs 11:00am - 5:00pm, Valet Friday & Sat 11:00am - 10:00pm, Street Parking (meters till 6:00pm )

Public Transit:
Mount Washington Light Rail Station

Executive Chef:
Amir Shrestha

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Crepe Du Jour French Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Neighborhood Gem
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Value
Baltimore
3 More
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Neighborhood Gem
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

neighborhood gem (36)
great for brunch (25)
fit for foodies (20)
See All
great for lunch (19)
romantic (12)
special occasion (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
good for groups (8)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (5)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Brunch!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Got reservations for Mother's Day Brunch on short notice, and had a great time. Delicious crepes and omelets, great timely service on a busy special occasion day. Make sure you request the outside patio!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I don't think I have ever had a disappointing meal at CDJ, whether for lunch, an afternoon drink and snack with a friend or a full dinner. The food is always tasty and attractively prepared , wine list offers some great choices , and dessert is a must. When Scott is our server I know we are going to be treated with great service and good menu advice. It is one of our favorite spots.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I drive from Ellicott City to Dine there

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

I drive from Ellicott City to dine at Crepe du Jour. My friends from in and around Baltimore find it a great place to meet because the food is very good, the service is always reliable, and the Mt Washington area has a good vibe without being too crowded.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Could be better.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Chose this location since it was not downtown and there was an available last minute reservation. Street parking was limited. Tables were very small. No bread offered. Onion soup was bland, disappointing for a "French restaurant." Seafood pasta was very good. Lamb chops were also good, but portion seemed a bit small. Reisling by the glass was mediocre. Prices were average. See no reason to go back on our next visit to Baltimore.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed it and will be back!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We took my parents and had a lovely time - mussels and cheese plate appetizers, and delicious crepes. I had the special, the crepe oceanaire, it was delightfully filled with seafood and a delicious sauce. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive without being overbearing. No room for dessert, but we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Easter Perfection

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family went for Easter Brunch, everyone (including grandchildren) loved their food. Even the adult children found their selections more than satisfying, and they are real foodies! Service was impeccable and the waitress was patient in explaining all selections. If you haven't been - you should go!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A delightful bistro with a menu well bey ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

A delightful bistro with a menu well beyond their excellent crepes. Excellent mussels. Experience a little bit of France right in Mt. Washington Village.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I looked forward to bringing my friend h ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

I looked forward to bringing my friend here and she agreed shed' definitely come again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best crepes I ever had!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Crepes, French toast the onion soup was all superb! Place was very quaint and really felt like you were in someone's house! I'm so glad I found this place can't wait to try other crepes!! Service was great, bloody Mary's were very good!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A definite favorite

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great menu, total flexibility, nice wine, good value, outstanding service. Altogether pleasingly memorable. We will return, often!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Simply put, I cannot wait to go back again. Such a gem!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good restaurant week experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner although some courses were better than others. The appetizers were just ok. The shrimp cocktail was small and the cocktail sauce a bit bland. The crab looked better but since it was loaded with cilantro, I passed on it. The mains were great. I duck was delicious and the filet that my husband ordered was cooked perfectly. The desserts were mixed with the crepes being lovely but the chocolate souffle was almost without taste. I will go back on a night when I can order a la carte.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Okay crepes, but had better

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was good, but nothing amazing that will make me want to return. The service on the other hand, was quite poor. Very slow even though the restaurant was not crowded.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love crepes

Dined on February 14, 2016

They have crepes for any occasion. Came for a Valentines day Brunch. It was very good. Love it!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good brunch

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our Valentine's Day brunch here. They didn't do anything special to celebrate, but that was fine with us. I had an unbelievably good seafood crepe and the frisee salad was also delicious. This place has kind of a weird vibe, but the food and service are very good.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

delicious!

Dined on February 5, 2016

I have eaten at Crepe du Jour numerous times. It is always delicious, and the service is pleasant and good. Cute place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Buzz

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Boy did we enjoy this! From the restaurant's name you'd think don't waste your time if you don't want crepes. Boy would you be wrong! This place has an extensive menu. Imagine Petit Louis with a larger "French bistro"selection and an incredible assortment of crepes as well. They have vegan and vegetarian crepes ( though not marked as such). If you are gluten free like I am any crepe can be made with buckwheat (which is gluten free despite the name). They have dessert crepes as well. Everything from butter and sugar which I got to crepe Suzette's When we were there the couple at the next table got these and coffee only. I definitely would go there again in the near future

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Catching Up!

Dined on January 16, 2016

My friend and I had brunch at Crepes de Jour and were truly pleased with the entire experience. I made reservations, but it wasn't necessary, given the dining area had plenty of open seating. The food was fantastic (especially the home fries!) and the atmosphere was perfect. We were able to chat and catch up without having to yell over other diners or loud, ambient music. The wait staff treated us wonderfully, very attentive with no pressure to rush us along. Our dishes tasted fresh and arrived hot. We had a great time and will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a do again

Dined on January 8, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service top-notch.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Crepes

Dined on December 24, 2015

Great food, great service, reasonable prices what could be better. Parking might be slightly challenging, but that's the only negative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Just right for the neigborahood

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Cozy spot for a light lunch. The tiny restaurant is hosted with pride. The food was quite tasty and there were ample menu selections whether or not you eat crepes. I do not. This cafe is in the heart of Mt. wAshington, which placed it right where we needed to be on that day. And while I'd never been before, I would definitely return.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic French Food!

Dined on December 20, 2015

The restaurant was busy on a Saturday night, but service was prompt and friendly. The French Onion Soup was a good start to our meal, followed by the Coq Au Vin which was very tasty...tender chicken that fell off the bone in a stew and broth that tasted like it had simmered for days. The Crepes for dessert were light and delicious. I'll look forward to returning and trying other options...found the prices to be very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

On a relative visiting trip to Baltimore ...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

On a relative visiting trip to Baltimore stopped here for brunch. Very good omelettes. Service very friendly. Definitely come back for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

yum!

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

crepe du jour waa great for a reasonably priced and delicious brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great French Bistro

Dined on November 15, 2015

I always enjoy the food. It is never very crowded so you talk. I had the onion soup and a seafood crepe Both were very good. All of the soups are good especially when they have a bisque soup I has a glass of the French white wine for $8.00 which was excellent. Always enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch with creative cocktails

Dined on November 15, 2015

This was a last minute find on a random Google search and to say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. I've been to Mt. Washington several times and never knew this was tucked in to the quaint little neighborhood. We were sat immediately, got great attention from the server, their menu was both creative and had multiple options, and cocktails were on point!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Good food

Dined on November 7, 2015

Great food and desserts. Service was a little slow

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

New Favorite

Dined on October 5, 2015

This was our first time dining here. The food was excellent and we will definitely return. The only drawback is that service was a bit slow despite the restaurant being nearly empty.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience

Dined on October 4, 2015

It was a little warm in the seating area but otherwise a great experience

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Go

Dined on October 3, 2015

When we first got there it was very quiet and peaceful, fitting for the feel of the place. After we were there for awhile a radio got turned on and the music was not what you'd expect from a place like that. I asked if they could turn it off or change the type of music but all he did was turn it down. It was better but not great. I would advise them to find a classical station that plays Mozart, Beethoven, etc. and have it in the background. The food and service was fabulous!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Didn't order crepes... but pleased anyway!

Dined on September 27, 2015

So my husband and I decided to try this restaurant for a Sunday brunch and we expected to have crepes. Once we looked at the menu, however, he ordered eggs benedict and I had an omelet. I also tried the avocado soup. It was a little slow, but the food was excellent. The home fries were a bit too salty, but otherwise very flavorful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Long time favorite!

Dined on September 20, 2015

I have been going to Crepe du Jour for at least 10 years. When our children were younger, it was a great place to take them and a friend. The kids love the crepes. We meet friends and couples there and we have never been disappointed. Everything is so fresh, French inspired, and satisfying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Crepes

Dined on September 12, 2015

If you are looking for an authentic crepe experience this is it. Although tucked away off of any main thoroughfare, this is worth the effort if you love crepes. We took our 15 year old-daughter for her birthday as she loves everything crepes and we were not disappointed. There is a nice selection of savory and sweet crepes as well as a gluten-free option. I had a seafood crepe (the jumbo lump-crab meat and shrimp were fresh) and my vegetarian son had the crepe Florentine. There is something for everyone. The dining room is small and intimate, but not intimidating for families with young kids. There were only two waiters, but they were friendly and if you like a relaxed dining experience you will find Crepe du Jour to be charming.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great time and food was excellent!

Dined on September 12, 2015

The food was surprisingly quite affordable for a French restaurant. We had the escargot and mussels. Everything was delicious and we love how it's in our neighborhood!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on August 15, 2015

Good coffee, excellent service and delicious food. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Very nice

Dined on July 25, 2015

We needed a place near the light rail to catch a quick bite to eat. It was within walking distance and fit the bill. Good food. We will go back to try again when we have more time. Yummy crepes and salads.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

Not quite what I expected

Dined on July 18, 2015

I tried out Crepe du Jour Bistro on a Saturday for brunch. I was super excited to try this place out since it boasts an extensive French menu. When we arrived the host/waiter was unfriendly and ushered us quickly to a table right next to the only other diners in the entire restaurant. We ordered the assorted cheese plate, the Croque Madame and a crepe with ham, cheese, and tomato. The assorted cheese plate was big letdown--three huge slices of camembert, a bleu cheese, and another strongly-flavored, hard cheese. I felt the plate could have benefited from smaller pieces of a larger cheese selection as well as variety in the potency of the cheeses. The Croque Madame had an excessive amount of cheese, making it enjoyable at first, but too rich to finish. The crepe was decent, but nothing special--definitely could have put a little more effort into the preparation. Overall, we were disappointed with the quality of the food and service and will seek out alternatives for French cuisine in the future.

food4
ambience3
service5

Another Great Meal!

vip
Dined on July 11, 2015

My wife and two daughters and I had dinner on Saturday at Crepe Du Jour. The mussels were outstanding as were the crepes. My youngest daughter had "Le Cheeseburger" and frites which is her favorite. Will be returning soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice

vip
Dined on June 12, 2015

First time patrons and pleasantly surprised. I had the chicken Marsala special which was excellent. Flavor good, pasta perfect and sauce delicious. I would have preferred chicken thighs rather than the white meat chunks which were a bit dry and didn't present well. My Wife had the crepe Saint Tropez and the chef served it with Gruyere instead of goat cheese at her request. It was filled with sumptuous seafood delights and a beautiful sauce. Superb. We shared a crepe La Rive Gauch and excellent decaf coffe. House champagne and a grey goose martini started things off. Very reasonable at $83 plus a well deserved tip. I'll go back.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on May 29, 2015

Excellent! Probably the best French food that we've eaten in North Baltimore. Including food at the "other" French restaurant (which is good, too). Still, the service and the atmosphere at Crepe du Jour was the best! Especially the fact that you could hear yourself talk to your dinner companion without having to shout to be heard! We'll be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.