About Crepe Du Jour French Bistro

1609 Sulgrave Ave
Baltimore, MD 21209
View Larger Map

The Crêpe Du Jour was established in 1997 by husband and wife team Mustapha and Donna Snoussi. They had just relocated to Baltimore after living in Paris, France and began their first business by opening an upscale kiosk in the outside atrium of The Village of Cross Keys where they sold crêpes, panini, salads and more. The business was a success and they had acquired the clientele needed which would later support them in the opening of their Mt. Washington restaurant in 2000. The restaurant has expanded with the opening of an all year round heated terrace. Crêpe Du Jour has been part of the "Zagat" restaurant guide since 2003 where they describe dining on the terrace on a long summer evening as "almost feeling like Paris". The owner is often present to greet the guests and assure the quality of the food is at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Newburry Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 542-9000

Website:
http://www.crepedujour.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Wed & Thurs 11:00am - 5:00pm, Valet Friday & Sat 11:00am - 10:00pm, Street Parking (meters till 6:00pm )

Public Transit:
Mount Washington Light Rail Station

Executive Chef:
Amir Shrestha

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crepe Valentine - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
  • Crepe With Nutella And Vanilla Ice Cream - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
  • Crepe - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
  • Escargots - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
  • Calamari - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD

Report a photo problem

Crepe Valentine - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
Crepe With Nutella And Vanilla Ice Cream - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
Crepe - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
Escargots - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD
Calamari - Crepe Du Jour French Bistro, Baltimore, MD

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Specials and limited menu

Crepe Du Jour French Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (7)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
See All
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fun (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was ok service was awful. Waste of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok service was awful. Waste of money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

There was no music in the restaurant, y ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There was no music in the restaurant, you can hear every tables conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We had been to Crepe du Jour multiple ti ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had been to Crepe du Jour multiple times in the best for brunch or lunch but had not been back in awhile, since we moved out of the immediate area, and never for dinner. When we saw the NYE prix fixe offer on Facebook, we were very excited to go back.

I really liked that not only was the prix fixe offered, but other items on the limited menu as well. We chose to go with the prix fixe, because everything on it was food that we enjoyed. And the first two courses were marvelous.

However, the wine list showed the chateau souverain as a 2009, and that is what my husband ordered. The waiter brought the wine to the table, and despite the fact that my husband ordered the wine, he poured a glass for tasting for me. And it was much more than what should be poured for a tasting - nearly a serving's worth. I said, gently, that my husband would taste it and switched glasses. After approving it by taste, the waiter left. He did not show us the bottle. It turned out it was 2014. My husband brought that to his attention. He apologized but did not make any excuse or explanation.

When my entrée came, my fork was lying in the middle of my place setting. The waiter put my plate right on top of it, balancing it precariously, and then left.

The crepes Suzette would've been marvelous - except that it was filled with bananas. Which I'm allergic to. And which was not described on the menu. If it had been, I wouldn't have ordered it. It took awhile for me to get the waiter's attention. The chef overheard and said it would be exchanged. Apparently he gave me the wrong crepe. My husband's chocolate pastry was excellent.

Crepe du Jour is an excellent French restaurant and I really would like to come back for brunch sometime. However, the service was not at the level of the quality of the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

My hubby and I came here for New year's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My hubby and I came here for New year's Eve dinner. I also brought my work team here for our holiday lunch earlier in the month. Food is always outstanding. Service is in consistent at lunch but was outstanding on new year's Eve. Outstanding experience. You will never be disappointed choosing this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jazz trio played during meal and was awe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Jazz trio played during meal and was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crepe Du Jour is always a delight, it's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Crepe Du Jour is always a delight, it's a hidden treasure of Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, friendly service and great fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent, friendly service and great food. If you like a French café, you'll feel right at home.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite spot in town! Warm ambience ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My favorite spot in town! Warm ambience, terrific food, they offer gluten free options which are delicious. Service always the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, , Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed my recent visit to th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed my recent visit to this restaurant. I was celebrating my birthday and I love things french. Started off with the scallops provencal which came in a delicious tomato sauce. A few slices of bread would have been nice to soak up the sauce. My friend and I both ordered the Crepe Marseillaise with salmon and spinach and it was very good. The quiet ambience was nice and I think there was french music playing. Our waiter, however, was a bit intrusive and I assumed he must be new. Hopefully, he will learn not to hover.

All in all, a very enjoyable experience and I would definitely go back to try some of the other tasty dishes. Menu is pretty extensive for lunch. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As always, a great dining experience. It ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, a great dining experience. It is my first choice for especial occasions; I know the food will be great, and that we will have a fairly good selections of wine to choose from.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The very BEST CREPES in Baltimore!!!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The very BEST CREPES in Baltimore!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food choices.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great food choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome quint-essential French restauran ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Awesome quint-essential French restaurant offering the best/ultra creative crepes this side of the Atlantic. Tucked in the charming historic district of Mr. Washington, it displays the cultural diversity of baltimore delivering a unique French dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great place to eat! Excellent foo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Just a great place to eat! Excellent food, good value prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great neighborhood gem. It's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is a great neighborhood gem. It's nice to have such a wonderful restaurant so close to home but if you are not from the area, it's well worth the trip.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant! I have been going to C ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great restaurant! I have been going to Crepe du Jour for several years already. Have always loved it, not the food nor the service has ever been disappointing. Prices are reasonable, I would highly recommend it to friends. And yes, it is a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a party of 6 rowdy women from a c ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a party of 6 rowdy women from a church group and we had the best time! Our server was very patient and friendly with us. We shared several of the dinner crepes and lots of wine. The food was different and delicious. We'll be back and tell all of our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food just ok. Onion soup lacked richness ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food just ok. Onion soup lacked richness. They "decorate" every crepe with a balsamic glaze. This seems to show a lack of imagination by the chef, not to mention that balsamic isn't always a customer's favorite flavor. In France, every crepe I ate came with a small salad to complement. That would be preferable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I've been here dozens of times. Ok, it i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been here dozens of times. Ok, it is a dumpy neighborhood cafe (in a very nice neighborhood) with a French menu. But the food is outstanding and very reasonably priced. Servers are friendly and knowledgeable. Featured wines are always good. Mussels, available several ways, come in generous entree sized portions with a very large side of excellent fries. They are among the best I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Excellent food and service - great value ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service - great value! We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crepe du Jour is a favorite of mine. Th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Crepe du Jour is a favorite of mine. The food is excellent. I'm not a big crepe officionado but I enjoy their mussels, fish, etc, and brunch, too. And the casual French bistro ambiance is a great escape from a busy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. The liquor and w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was very good. The liquor and wine were lacking a little bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

French Dining The Way It Should Always Be

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The only thing better than the fresh food is the intimate and knowledgeable staff. You are cared for when you dine here. Take your time. It is always worth. Great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute place for Sunday brunch.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Cute place for Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

My Favorite Sunday Brunch Spot

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Living down the street from this gem, I love coming here for Sunday brunch! The crepes are mouthwatering and they always have delicious drinks. I highly recommend coming here to anytime of the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Brunch!!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Got reservations for Mother's Day Brunch on short notice, and had a great time. Delicious crepes and omelets, great timely service on a busy special occasion day. Make sure you request the outside patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great meal!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I don't think I have ever had a disappointing meal at CDJ, whether for lunch, an afternoon drink and snack with a friend or a full dinner. The food is always tasty and attractively prepared , wine list offers some great choices , and dessert is a must. When Scott is our server I know we are going to be treated with great service and good menu advice.

It is one of our favorite spots.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I drive from Ellicott City to Dine there

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2016

I drive from Ellicott City to dine at Crepe du Jour. My friends from in and around Baltimore find it a great place to meet because the food is very good, the service is always reliable, and the Mt Washington area has a good vibe without being too crowded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could be better.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Chose this location since it was not downtown and there was an available last minute reservation. Street parking was limited. Tables were very small. No bread offered. Onion soup was bland, disappointing for a "French restaurant." Seafood pasta was very good. Lamb chops were also good, but portion seemed a bit small. Reisling by the glass was mediocre. Prices were average. See no reason to go back on our next visit to Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Enjoyed it and will be back!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We took my parents and had a lovely time - mussels and cheese plate appetizers, and delicious crepes. I had the special, the crepe oceanaire, it was delightfully filled with seafood and a delicious sauce. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive without being overbearing. No room for dessert, but we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Perfection

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family went for Easter Brunch, everyone (including grandchildren) loved their food. Even the adult children found their selections more than satisfying, and they are real foodies! Service was impeccable and the waitress was patient in explaining all selections. If you haven't been - you should go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A delightful bistro with a menu well bey ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 23, 2016

A delightful bistro with a menu well beyond their excellent crepes. Excellent mussels. Experience a little bit of France right in Mt. Washington Village.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I looked forward to bringing my friend h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2016

I looked forward to bringing my friend here and she agreed shed' definitely come again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best crepes I ever had!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Crepes, French toast the onion soup was all superb!

Place was very quaint and really felt like you were in someone's house! I'm so glad I found this place can't wait to try other crepes!!

Service was great, bloody Mary's were very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A definite favorite

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great menu, total flexibility, nice wine, good value, outstanding service. Altogether pleasingly memorable. We will return, often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Simply put, I cannot wait to go back again. Such a gem!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant week experience

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner although some courses were better than others. The appetizers were just ok. The shrimp cocktail was small and the cocktail sauce a bit bland. The crab looked better but since it was loaded with cilantro, I passed on it. The mains were great. I duck was delicious and the filet that my husband ordered was cooked perfectly. The desserts were mixed with the crepes being lovely but the chocolate souffle was almost without taste. I will go back on a night when I can order a la carte.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Okay crepes, but had better

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was good, but nothing amazing that will make me want to return. The service on the other hand, was quite poor. Very slow even though the restaurant was not crowded.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Love crepes

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

They have crepes for any occasion. Came for a Valentines day Brunch. It was very good.

Love it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good brunch

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our Valentine's Day brunch here. They didn't do anything special to celebrate, but that was fine with us. I had an unbelievably good seafood crepe and the frisee salad was also delicious. This place has kind of a weird vibe, but the food and service are very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.