Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.17mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.17mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

About Le Bistro du Village (fka Crepe du Jour)

Le Bistro du Village was established in 1997 by husband and wife team Mustapha and Donna Snoussi. They had just relocated to Baltimore after living in Paris, France and began their first business by opening an upscale kiosk in the outside atrium of The Village of Cross Keys where they sold crêpes, panini, salads and more. The business was a success and they had acquired the clientele needed which would later support them in the opening of their Mt. Washington restaurant in 2000. The restaurant has expanded with the opening of an all year round heated terrace. Le Bistro Du Village has been part of the "Zagat" restaurant guide since 2003 where they describe dining on the terrace on a long summer evening as "almost feeling like Paris". The owner is often present to greet the guests and assure the quality of the food is at its best.

1609 Sulgrave Ave
Baltimore, MD 21209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Newburry Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 542-9000

Website:
http://www.lebistroduvillage.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Music Every Thursday From 6pm to 9pm

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Wed & Thurs 11:00am - 5:00pm, Valet Friday & Sat 11:00am - 10:00pm, Street Parking (meters till 6:00pm )

Public Transit:
Mount Washington Light Rail Station

Executive Chef:
Mustapha Snoussi

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day every July the 14th.
Beaujolais Nouveau every 3rd thursday on november
Mother's day Brunch
New year's eve dinner
valentines dinner
easter brunch
father's day brunch

Le Bistro du Village (fka Crepe du Jour) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Great for Brunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for Sunday brunch when they opened at 10am. I put in a reservation in case they would be busy. But to our surprise, the area was quiet and not busy that morning. We sat inside and were the only guests for a while. There are some outside tables too. The food was good, lots of options, generous portions. It's a bit tight on the inside with all the tables. They have a small kids menu too, which was nice since we did bring our toddler. I liked this place and we'd return again to try their lunch or dinner menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great dining experience- all good!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Three of us had a birthday lunch at Le Bistro. Two of us had crepes which were large and delicious and the other attendee had a salad which was also large and looked great. Nice wine list ... waiter was very attentive ... more than reasonable prices for the size of the drinks and entrees. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Crepes and wine were wonderful. Short Uber ride from downtown Baltimore. Will be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I work on the restaurant industry and that person that was with me is a chef and I was surprise that you have to ask for water and everything else serve was cleaning tables and talking about the menu at thesame time food is no flavor is the wrong place to go for brunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We discovered this restaurant 3 years ago, and have come here for dates, family dinners, and special occasions. The daily specials are great, as well as the main menu. Both evening and daytime meals are fantastic. We recommend this to our friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I went out for mothers day brunch and I was very disappointed with this place. My mother ordered a Belgium waffle and it was surprisingly awful. I would expect a french crepe restaurant to make an outstanding waffle, but I think I IHOP sadly has them beat. The waffle was dry, tough, and lacked flavor; couldn't be worse. The waiters was no where to be found because he was swamped with the mothers day rush, and when my mom told him about the waffle he quickly acknowledged and told us that he was going to relay the message to the chef. The waffle was never taken off the check even though it was basically unedible. My omelette was ok, but the potatoes were dry, bland, and a disappointment; I wouldn't be surprised if they came out of a box. From the time we asked for the check, 30 minutes went by before receiving it. And to add insult to injury this place was not cheap. I don't have any problems with splurging on a delicious meal, but I only spent money for a delicious meal, but was not served one.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved the food. It needed another waiter

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious weekday lunch. Will return for dinner with friends!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Take son and girlfriend out to dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had a very unfortunate experience experience at this restaurant. The waiter was very rude when we asked to give our order. He declined to take our order for a prolonged period of time, and then invited us to leave if we couldn't wait. We finally ended up leaving without even ordering. I had previously been a frequent diner at this restaurant, but now I'm not sure how I can go a I after being treated so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Positives: Our server was very friendly and personable; parking was easy to find; it wasn't overcrowded; desserts and cheese were delicious.
Negatives: There was a LOT of waiting; there were only two servers; presentation of the food left something to be desired.
I'd go back for dessert or brunch but probably not for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Crepe Du Jour, as we know it, always has delicious crepes. I had the salmon crepe and it was terrific. Their dessert crepes are worth saving room for, too. Very quiet place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Love this place. Delicious food, friendly service, great patio lunch on a warm sunny day.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

On this mild February afternoon we were offered outdoor seating and readily accepted .
The server was very attentive and knowledgeable.
Spinach crepe was unbelievably delicious!
Portions were generous.
My guest was used to her mother's French cooking and approves of Crepe du Jour :).

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Three of us shared a Greek salad (big), mussels (ample) with pommes frites (super yum!), and a seafood crepe. For dessert, we had a crepe with fruit and chocolate sauce, topped with whipped cream. The waiter let us linger over everything and was very helpful but unobtrusive. He did not even charge us a sharing fee. Love this gem.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The waiter was well-informed and patient. A few of us were vegetarian and they found a good selection and the staff was ok with customizing crepes. Great dessert crepes!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have been here several times and it has been pretty good. Although one time their credit card machine was broken and they wouldn't let us leave. This was for Valentine's Day, and they were unprepared. There were 2 servers who were swamped. The duck pate 7 the escargot were delicious. The entrees not so much. I ordered red snapper stuffed with crab and served on ravioli. It came served on tagliatelle, and there was a small sample of snapper under the crab - which was plentiful. It wasn't really worth the $35 price point. My date didn't like his trout. I ordered a glass of chardonnay, and then a bottle. When the bill came we were overcharged for the glass & the bottle. The waiter couldn't figure it out - or didn't have time so he just gave us a $5 bill. That was awkward so we just left it with the tip. Then I noticed that the wine was not actually the one I ordered at all. We just left. It just seemed very disorganized. Go on a non-holiday day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Will never go back ! Waste of money. Food was absolutely horrible....how in the world you can screw up crepe with nutella, but apparently you can. I was going to this restaurant for many years and i loved it, and i fell sorry that i have to say "no more" after such horrible dinner that we got on Valentine's Day. Please go to another restaurant where you will be appreciated and will get much better quality food! This restaurant does not worth it. I would be ashamed if i would be working in this restaurant and had to serve this food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Crepe du jour did not disappoint on Valentine's. Authentic French atmosphere and menu created a romantic dinner. The seafood Crepe was outstanding. Special Valentine's desserts capped off a lovely meal. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food, outstanding service. The owner waited on us, and we couldn't have had a better experience. Huge salmon filets, delicious rib eye. 5 stars from us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Crêpes (any kind) are great!
See food in Crêpes delicious!

Escargot are not taste well and soups were over salty.
The waiter is a nice guy what I can not say about the owner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a delightful evening at Crepe du Jour, and we were celebrating a birthday. I love this place -- charming decor, excellent service, and amazing food. We split everything we ordered, so that we could try more dishes. The crepe Marie Antoinette is a heavenly experience. We almost lost our heads over it. Our only disappointment was the beet salad came without beets. When we inquired, we were told they were out of beets. While it was still a delicious salad, I wish we'd been told there were no beets, as we debated between two salad choices and it would have been easy for us to change our order. If you've not been, rush to Crepe du Jour!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had some hesitation to book after reading reviews about bad service here, but our experience was positive overall, and we are eager to return. The place is charming and the food is very good. The name is a bit misleading as the menu includes many options besides crepes. As for service, I would only point out that I would prefer not to have a server who is very obviously chewing gum. And we ordered 2 desserts but only got 1. I know she heard the order because she commented on it, but somehow if was overlooked. We didn't make a big deal of it as the dessert we did received was so large 3 of us shared it so we really didn't want the second at that point. But food was great. Coq au vin was very authentic, although it was a relatively small chicken quarter and was a bit inundated with mushrooms, both of us who ordered it left a pile of mushrooms on the plate when we were done. The Crepe Oceanique, that night's special, was also a hit with one of our diners. $23 is a lot for a crepe, but it was stuffed with shrimp, crabmeat and goat cheese. Everyone in our group enjoyed the evening. Truly a unique place for Baltimore.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We enjoys a great meal before theatre, and had a very pleasant server

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok service was awful. Waste of money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There was no music in the restaurant, you can hear every tables conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had been to Crepe du Jour multiple times in the best for brunch or lunch but had not been back in awhile, since we moved out of the immediate area, and never for dinner. When we saw the NYE prix fixe offer on Facebook, we were very excited to go back.

I really liked that not only was the prix fixe offered, but other items on the limited menu as well. We chose to go with the prix fixe, because everything on it was food that we enjoyed. And the first two courses were marvelous.

However, the wine list showed the chateau souverain as a 2009, and that is what my husband ordered. The waiter brought the wine to the table, and despite the fact that my husband ordered the wine, he poured a glass for tasting for me. And it was much more than what should be poured for a tasting - nearly a serving's worth. I said, gently, that my husband would taste it and switched glasses. After approving it by taste, the waiter left. He did not show us the bottle. It turned out it was 2014. My husband brought that to his attention. He apologized but did not make any excuse or explanation.

When my entrée came, my fork was lying in the middle of my place setting. The waiter put my plate right on top of it, balancing it precariously, and then left.

The crepes Suzette would've been marvelous - except that it was filled with bananas. Which I'm allergic to. And which was not described on the menu. If it had been, I wouldn't have ordered it. It took awhile for me to get the waiter's attention. The chef overheard and said it would be exchanged. Apparently he gave me the wrong crepe. My husband's chocolate pastry was excellent.

Crepe du Jour is an excellent French restaurant and I really would like to come back for brunch sometime. However, the service was not at the level of the quality of the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My hubby and I came here for New year's Eve dinner. I also brought my work team here for our holiday lunch earlier in the month. Food is always outstanding. Service is in consistent at lunch but was outstanding on new year's Eve. Outstanding experience. You will never be disappointed choosing this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Jazz trio played during meal and was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Crepe Du Jour is always a delight, it's a hidden treasure of Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent, friendly service and great food. If you like a French café, you'll feel right at home.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My favorite spot in town! Warm ambience, terrific food, they offer gluten free options which are delicious. Service always the best.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed my recent visit to this restaurant. I was celebrating my birthday and I love things french. Started off with the scallops provencal which came in a delicious tomato sauce. A few slices of bread would have been nice to soak up the sauce. My friend and I both ordered the Crepe Marseillaise with salmon and spinach and it was very good. The quiet ambience was nice and I think there was french music playing. Our waiter, however, was a bit intrusive and I assumed he must be new. Hopefully, he will learn not to hover.
All in all, a very enjoyable experience and I would definitely go back to try some of the other tasty dishes. Menu is pretty extensive for lunch. Would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, a great dining experience. It is my first choice for especial occasions; I know the food will be great, and that we will have a fairly good selections of wine to choose from.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The very BEST CREPES in Baltimore!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great food choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Awesome quint-essential French restaurant offering the best/ultra creative crepes this side of the Atlantic. Tucked in the charming historic district of Mr. Washington, it displays the cultural diversity of baltimore delivering a unique French dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Just a great place to eat! Excellent food, good value prices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is a great neighborhood gem. It's nice to have such a wonderful restaurant so close to home but if you are not from the area, it's well worth the trip.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.