Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.17mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.17mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

About Le Bistro du Village (fka Crepe du Jour)

Le Bistro du Village was established in 1997 by husband and wife team Mustapha and Donna Snoussi. They had just relocated to Baltimore after living in Paris, France and began their first business by opening an upscale kiosk in the outside atrium of The Village of Cross Keys where they sold crêpes, panini, salads and more. The business was a success and they had acquired the clientele needed which would later support them in the opening of their Mt. Washington restaurant in 2000. The restaurant has expanded with the opening of an all year round heated terrace. Le Bistro Du Village has been part of the "Zagat" restaurant guide since 2003 where they describe dining on the terrace on a long summer evening as "almost feeling like Paris". The owner is often present to greet the guests and assure the quality of the food is at its best.

1609 Sulgrave Ave
Baltimore, MD 21209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Newburry Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 542-9000

Website:
http://www.lebistroduvillage.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Music Every Thursday From 6pm to 9pm

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Wed & Thurs 11:00am - 5:00pm, Valet Friday & Sat 11:00am - 10:00pm, Street Parking (meters till 6:00pm )

Public Transit:
Mount Washington Light Rail Station

Executive Chef:
Mustapha Snoussi

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day every July the 14th.
Beaujolais Nouveau every 3rd thursday on november
Mother's day Brunch
New year's eve dinner
valentines dinner
easter brunch
father's day brunch

Le Bistro du Village (fka Crepe du Jour) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (15)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Casual (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Live Music (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was divine. Our server's name was Theresa and she was excellent. She helped make our experience fun and enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Such a lovely little bistro. Very simple, pretty and casual setting. The beef bourguignon was great. Our server was fun, welcoming and so good at her job.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. The service we received was exceptional!! We enjoyed it so much we are going back for brunch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week. Good choices food was delicious. Waitress was wonderful except the kitchen was very slow considering they did not have a lot of people in there.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Consistantly delicious and wonderful fresh ingredients...

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

charming, attentive staff, interesting menu, well prepared, and served

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2017

After having vacationed in Paris a few months ago I was feeling nostalgic and saw this place come up on the list for restaurant week. I saw they had Chicken Cordon Bleu on the menu, which is my most favorite dish, so we decided to go. They do have a good wine selection and I was happy to find once of my favorites from Champagne. I ordered the Chicken Cordon Bleu but was very confused when it came out because it did not resemble any Chicken Cordon Bleu I have ever had. It wasn't really breaded and was on top of noodles with a mushroom sauce. I was assured by the waitress that this is what I ordered, it's just a better version of it. It was already cut into slices, not left in one piece to keep it from getting dry. It was filled with something green (spinach?) not prosciutto as advertised on the menu. It was more like Chicken Stroganoff, which was just okay, but they shouldn't advertise it as something it isn't. I don't feel like the food was worth the $35 we paid for it and I'm still bitter about the lack of prosciutto. The crepes were good so maybe they should just stick with that instead of the extended menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had a reservation the first Saturday of Restaurant Week. The food was spectacular. Our waiter was very attentive. We both commented on how helpful he was. Restaurant week has a prix fixe menu with three choices. My date had the escargots as an appetizer, I had the gazpacho. Both were fresh and very flavorful. We both had the lamb chops for our entree. The chops were cooked perfectly and the gratin potatoes were enjoyable. The sauce was rich and savory. My only complaint was the lack of a baguette to use for the sauce on my plate. For dessert my date had the chocolate cake and I had the Crepe Suzette since crepes are a specialty. Both desserts were delightful...though after tasting the chocolate cake I wish I had made that my choice as well. I will most definitely be returning. I'm excited to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The best French food we have enjoyed in Baltimore in some time. We will most definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a cozy french bistro with excellent food and service. The atmosphere is comfortable, not stuffy or pretentious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had a great experience for our Bastille Day celebration!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Authentic, Live Music, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always delicious, great service. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch when they opened at 10am. I put in a reservation in case they would be busy. But to our surprise, the area was quiet and not busy that morning. We sat inside and were the only guests for a while. There are some outside tables too. The food was good, lots of options, generous portions. It's a bit tight on the inside with all the tables. They have a small kids menu too, which was nice since we did bring our toddler. I liked this place and we'd return again to try their lunch or dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great dining experience- all good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Three of us had a birthday lunch at Le Bistro. Two of us had crepes which were large and delicious and the other attendee had a salad which was also large and looked great. Nice wine list ... waiter was very attentive ... more than reasonable prices for the size of the drinks and entrees. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Crepes and wine were wonderful. Short Uber ride from downtown Baltimore. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

They seemed to be seriously understaffed that night, but we had to ask for drinks three--even four times--before they arrived. My chicken was like shoe leather. The onion soup was pretty unimpressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I work on the restaurant industry and that person that was with me is a chef and I was surprise that you have to ask for water and everything else serve was cleaning tables and talking about the menu at thesame time food is no flavor is the wrong place to go for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We discovered this restaurant 3 years ago, and have come here for dates, family dinners, and special occasions. The daily specials are great, as well as the main menu. Both evening and daytime meals are fantastic. We recommend this to our friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful crepes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I went out for mothers day brunch and I was very disappointed with this place. My mother ordered a Belgium waffle and it was surprisingly awful. I would expect a french crepe restaurant to make an outstanding waffle, but I think I IHOP sadly has them beat. The waffle was dry, tough, and lacked flavor; couldn't be worse. The waiters was no where to be found because he was swamped with the mothers day rush, and when my mom told him about the waffle he quickly acknowledged and told us that he was going to relay the message to the chef. The waffle was never taken off the check even though it was basically unedible. My omelette was ok, but the potatoes were dry, bland, and a disappointment; I wouldn't be surprised if they came out of a box. From the time we asked for the check, 30 minutes went by before receiving it. And to add insult to injury this place was not cheap. I don't have any problems with splurging on a delicious meal, but I only spent money for a delicious meal, but was not served one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved the food. It needed another waiter

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious weekday lunch. Will return for dinner with friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Take son and girlfriend out to dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had a very unfortunate experience experience at this restaurant. The waiter was very rude when we asked to give our order. He declined to take our order for a prolonged period of time, and then invited us to leave if we couldn't wait. We finally ended up leaving without even ordering. I had previously been a frequent diner at this restaurant, but now I'm not sure how I can go a I after being treated so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Positives: Our server was very friendly and personable; parking was easy to find; it wasn't overcrowded; desserts and cheese were delicious.
Negatives: There was a LOT of waiting; there were only two servers; presentation of the food left something to be desired.
I'd go back for dessert or brunch but probably not for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Crepe Du Jour, as we know it, always has delicious crepes. I had the salmon crepe and it was terrific. Their dessert crepes are worth saving room for, too. Very quiet place.

Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Love this place. Delicious food, friendly service, great patio lunch on a warm sunny day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

On this mild February afternoon we were offered outdoor seating and readily accepted .
The server was very attentive and knowledgeable.
Spinach crepe was unbelievably delicious!
Portions were generous.
My guest was used to her mother's French cooking and approves of Crepe du Jour :).

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Three of us shared a Greek salad (big), mussels (ample) with pommes frites (super yum!), and a seafood crepe. For dessert, we had a crepe with fruit and chocolate sauce, topped with whipped cream. The waiter let us linger over everything and was very helpful but unobtrusive. He did not even charge us a sharing fee. Love this gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The waiter was well-informed and patient. A few of us were vegetarian and they found a good selection and the staff was ok with customizing crepes. Great dessert crepes!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been here several times and it has been pretty good. Although one time their credit card machine was broken and they wouldn't let us leave. This was for Valentine's Day, and they were unprepared. There were 2 servers who were swamped. The duck pate 7 the escargot were delicious. The entrees not so much. I ordered red snapper stuffed with crab and served on ravioli. It came served on tagliatelle, and there was a small sample of snapper under the crab - which was plentiful. It wasn't really worth the $35 price point. My date didn't like his trout. I ordered a glass of chardonnay, and then a bottle. When the bill came we were overcharged for the glass & the bottle. The waiter couldn't figure it out - or didn't have time so he just gave us a $5 bill. That was awkward so we just left it with the tip. Then I noticed that the wine was not actually the one I ordered at all. We just left. It just seemed very disorganized. Go on a non-holiday day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Will never go back ! Waste of money. Food was absolutely horrible....how in the world you can screw up crepe with nutella, but apparently you can. I was going to this restaurant for many years and i loved it, and i fell sorry that i have to say "no more" after such horrible dinner that we got on Valentine's Day. Please go to another restaurant where you will be appreciated and will get much better quality food! This restaurant does not worth it. I would be ashamed if i would be working in this restaurant and had to serve this food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Crepe du jour did not disappoint on Valentine's. Authentic French atmosphere and menu created a romantic dinner. The seafood Crepe was outstanding. Special Valentine's desserts capped off a lovely meal. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food, outstanding service. The owner waited on us, and we couldn't have had a better experience. Huge salmon filets, delicious rib eye. 5 stars from us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Crêpes (any kind) are great!
See food in Crêpes delicious!

Escargot are not taste well and soups were over salty.
The waiter is a nice guy what I can not say about the owner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a delightful evening at Crepe du Jour, and we were celebrating a birthday. I love this place -- charming decor, excellent service, and amazing food. We split everything we ordered, so that we could try more dishes. The crepe Marie Antoinette is a heavenly experience. We almost lost our heads over it. Our only disappointment was the beet salad came without beets. When we inquired, we were told they were out of beets. While it was still a delicious salad, I wish we'd been told there were no beets, as we debated between two salad choices and it would have been easy for us to change our order. If you've not been, rush to Crepe du Jour!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had some hesitation to book after reading reviews about bad service here, but our experience was positive overall, and we are eager to return. The place is charming and the food is very good. The name is a bit misleading as the menu includes many options besides crepes. As for service, I would only point out that I would prefer not to have a server who is very obviously chewing gum. And we ordered 2 desserts but only got 1. I know she heard the order because she commented on it, but somehow if was overlooked. We didn't make a big deal of it as the dessert we did received was so large 3 of us shared it so we really didn't want the second at that point. But food was great. Coq au vin was very authentic, although it was a relatively small chicken quarter and was a bit inundated with mushrooms, both of us who ordered it left a pile of mushrooms on the plate when we were done. The Crepe Oceanique, that night's special, was also a hit with one of our diners. $23 is a lot for a crepe, but it was stuffed with shrimp, crabmeat and goat cheese. Everyone in our group enjoyed the evening. Truly a unique place for Baltimore.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We enjoys a great meal before theatre, and had a very pleasant server

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok service was awful. Waste of money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.