Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Le Bistro du Village (fka Crepe du Jour)

4.4
460 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
Le Bistro du Village was established in 1997 by husband and wife team Mustapha and Donna Snoussi. They had just relocated to Baltimore after living in Paris, France and began their first business by opening an upscale kiosk in the outside atrium of The Village of Cross Keys where they sold crêpes, panini, salads and more. The business was a success and they had acquired the clientele needed which would later support them in the opening of their Mt. Washington restaurant in 2000. The restaurant has expanded with the opening of an all year round heated terrace. Le Bistro Du Village has been part of the "Zagat" restaurant guide since 2003 where they describe dining on the terrace on a long summer evening as "almost feeling like Paris". The owner is often present to greet the guests and assure the quality of the food is at its best.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–4:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–3:00 pm
Dinner
Mon, Sun 4:00 pm–8:30 pm
Tue–Thu 5:00 pm–9:30 pm
Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–10:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 542-9000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mustapha Snoussi
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
off site catering available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Newburry Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet Parking Wed & Thurs 11:00am - 5:00pm, Valet Friday & Sat 11:00am - 10:00pm, Street Parking (meters till 6:00pm )
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Mount Washington Light Rail Station
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Jazz Music Every Thursday From 6pm to 9pm
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Bastille Day every July the 14th.
Beaujolais Nouveau every 3rd thursday on november
Mother's day Brunch
New year's eve dinner
valentines dinner
easter brunch
father's day brunch
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 460 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

As always, a wonderful meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

A great and authentic French restaurant - with a tremendously friendly and kind staff and ownership. I would come back again in a heartbeat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We went for an early Father’s Day lunch and could not have been happier with the service. Food was delicious, the waiter was very pleasant and attentive, and everything was fresh and fast.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Bistro is a nice community restaurant. It feels like it is still in start-up phase even though it has been open for several years. There is a very limited cocktail menu. I would recommend wine. The server was very nice and he was attentive. There are 3 varieties of mussels and the selection my friend had was excellent with the tomato sauce. It was served with good FF that would be a lot better if they were hot. I had chicken in a burgundy sauce. The sauce was excellent but the chicken was not cooked in the sauce; therefore, the chicken was dry and the sauce did not permeate the chicken. We shared a banana/caramel crepe that was good although the crepe itself was rather heavy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Excellent neighborhood surprise. Authentic Corsican food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Charming place with good food. I will go back to try typically French items offered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We enjoyed our mothers day brunch, the food was really good and the service was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother’s Day brunch. We were seated immediately. It was very crowded but were offered drinks and menus quickly. Food was very good. Overall a great experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We have gone several times to this restaurant, and usually enjoyed our visit.

Not this time:
- Our food (two crepes and two egg benedicts) took an HOUR to arrive
- We were up-charged on a plate without informing us (even though the waiter told us she would tell us if there is an up-charge)
- A dish where we asked to have the sauce on the side was not served that way.
- Some of the food was cold

Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The food was great and the live music was fantastic. Very talented jazz trio on Thursday nights. It made for a lovely evening of dining and jazz. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Fantastic homemade and authentic French brasserie dishes. Best of all is the consistency of the quality, service, and friendly ambiance. We highly recommend Le Bistro du Village for any and all occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Always a wonderful meal. But the people are what make this a special find!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Le Bistro du Village has been our 'go-to place' for many years and for many occasions. The food (not just very creative crepes) never disappoints, the service is outstanding and you can actually carry on a conversation which you just can't do comfortably in most restaurants any more. the cherry on top is that you also can sit outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Yummy food and service with a smile! Thanks for making our second visit just as special as the first. Looking forward to coming back and trying more fun things from the wide variety on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Food and service are consistently good. Muscles ProvinceIe is a meal in itself fit for a King. With a Baguette, Complete. My happy place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great family meal at Le Bistro! Introduced some family members to this restaurant, and they all loved it! The food was excellent and the service by Sam was great! We'll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was excellent. Crepes were delicious and full making it a hearty meal. Sauces very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The whole experience was very pleasant, especially the Thursday night jazz ensemble. And how could you not like crepes?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Had a fun and delicious brunch yesterday -- Crèpe Complet -- with prosciutto, veggies, cheese, and a fried egg on top. I thought the balsamic cream was a bit bitter, as was the decaf coffee. Otherwise, a winner...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Fantastic overall experience. Served a table of seven with few hiccups. Were a bit understaffed on a Saturday and one entree was a few minutes late. Otherwise wonderful, food was incredible from appetizer to dessert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food was under seasoned....

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 15, 2018

One out of the three meals came out cold. We ordered dessert and asked for a sauce on the side and the owner/manager said that they don't make any changes and was somewhat rude about it. We didn't want to stay after that and asked for our check and he said he would make an exception and bring our dessert out like we wanted it. Too late we won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

It's my first time dining here since they renamed. Same great quality but spreading the focus well beyond their incredible crepes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

This French treasure is tucked away in Mt. Washington and the food is exceptional. Much better and more reasonable then Petite Louis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Our attendant was very attentive, friendly and made a great Mahatten. The food was excellent, not cheap. The onion soup had too much cheese for my liking, other tan that, everything else was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Food and service were great.
Loved the jazz music on Thursday night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

This authentic French restaurant has all the qualities of an exceptional dining experience. We have enjoyed it each and every time we have gone. The food is wonderful and the daily specials are some of the best in Baltimore. It is an excellent date night or casual lunch spot. Jazz nights on Thursdays are a special treat. We have taken clients, friends and family and have always been greeted warmly. The service is wonderful and elegant. It is our favorite French dining experience in Maryland and I would say this side of "the Left Bank." Bravo to the chef and owners, the Jazz band and servers! We are looking forward to our next visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

from the minute we arrived, with friends coming to Le Bistro the first time, an excellent experience: very jolly server, superb cassoulet salmon and beouf B plats,...we hope that someday Mustafa will offer couscous .
The quiet is a treasure
Mustafa is a most engaging host!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Cassoulet for one, steak frites for the other, with an escargot starter. Alexa was an excellent server and we enjoyed her company.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Tasty dishes, creatively prepared. Our server was friendly and helpful. We were able to have a quiet conversation with no loud parties nearby. A very nice neighborhood bistro.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The crep with Brie was too salty. The music playing was not matching the ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My husband and I went to the restaurant for Valentine's day. Our first date was at a French restaurant and this place brought back those fond memories. Great food and great service. Anxious to bring my friends to try out their weekend brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

This restaurant is becoming one of our favorite go-to restaurants. The food is phenomenal! Last night we had the hanger steak (with an incredible sauce, sautéed onions and pomme frites) and the lamb chops w/ratatouille and au gratin potatoes-delicious! We started with the greek and caprese salads. The attention to detail is over-the-top. Definitely try the fresh baked bread. Our server, Scott, was super friendly, made great food recommendations and was on-top of everything! Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Great jazz trio Thursday nights really nice addition to this already atmospheric boîte. Always tasty French cuisine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Good take on French fare. Depending on your level of claustrophobia, you either find this place cozy or cramped.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

This was our first visit. It was so good we plan to go back this week!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

A nice, fairly quiet, good French restaurant. Seafood crepes are wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

My Food was excellent

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We had an 11am brunch reservation and when we got there they were not open and NO ONE was there until 11:05. (After being told outside by who I assume was the owner that someone would be there to open the door any minute mind you. ) when getting inside we noticed not all tables had been cleared from the previous night so we sat at the one clean table. It took 10 minutes to get a cup of hot tea and a water. Then the only waiter in the restaurant continued to fold napkins even after seeing another friend of ours show up instead of asking what drink she would like. The whole experience was odd. We were the only ones in there and there was no music on so it was completely silent unless we were speaking. Food once we got it was good but overall the experience was just disappointing. I had high hopes for this place

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by Le Bistro du Village (fka Crepe du Jour)