About Craw Station

1336 9th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122
View Larger Map

San Francisco Cajun-Creole Seafood restaurant specialized in crawfish, shrimp, oyster , mussels , clams and Dungeness crab .

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Cajun

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Irving street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 682-9980

Website:
http://www.crawstation.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Craw Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Francisco Bay Area
Seafood
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Sunset District ›

fit for foodies (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (5)
See All
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
special occasion (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
95 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food and wonderful and friendl ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful and friendly service. We will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner. Will definitely be b ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Had a great dinner. Will definitely be back n

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious but messy

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the Crab, breaded Catfish and the garlic Noodles. All very delicious. Crab was messy but very gooooood!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

Casual, good food, good service

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Casual, good food, good service

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Seafood Boil place

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great crab, shrimp, clam, and crawfish place. Super spicy. Mild is just right. Fried foods are great too! Delicious garlic laden sauces!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I go for the shrimp and crab.

Dined on April 19, 2016

I go mainly for their shrimp and crab. We went early 5:00 pm, and avoided the crowds. Their bottomless mango pineapple drink is great, especially if you had their mild or spicy sauce. If you haven't tried their spicy sauce before start with the mild, which is not that mild.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was fantastic, the rest mediocre

Dined on April 13, 2016

Service so so. Awful taste in music--hyper generic elelctronic pop, way too loud. Almost ruined our dining. Ambiance would be much enhanced by Cajun, N'orleans jazz, or even alternative southern country to go with the informality of the place and the food. Waitress was sweet but a bit oblivious of our basic needs...such as requested water, more napkins, plate for crab detritus, etc. The food is so good, this could be a real gem with a few improvements. Crab was delicate and sweet--yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dungeness crab (mild garlic butter) was great.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Only problem I can see is that street parking can be a challenge, but that's how it is in SF! You can always take public transportation (N Judah) as the bus stop is just on the corner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous

Dined on March 9, 2016

EVERYTIME I have been here I have never been disappointed! Food was fantastic and the garlic sauce on the crab was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Seafood Junkies

Dined on March 9, 2016

Excellent attentive friendly staff. If you love seafood and don't need to be fed out of fine china and can she'll your own this is your place. It was great and I went with my X and it was still great. Can't wait to go back with the new honey.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Everything was great!

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Slightly dissapointed

Dined on January 20, 2016

I'm from Australia and it was my first time in San Francisco or the states for that matter and I was expecting the seafood to be better than what we have here in Australia (size wise I mean)But the seafood is not what I have expected, the crayfish and lobster were too tiny. I even joked to my wife that we were eating fishbait. But in fairness, the seafood were also small in the other restaurants that we went too, like in Orlando and in New York.

food5
ambience4
service5

Very good service from Ryan..Thank you!

Dined on January 18, 2016

Very good service from Ryan..Thank you!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very expensive for dry, over cooked crab ...

Dined on January 13, 2016

Very expensive for dry, over cooked crab. Garlic butter sauce was just poured over crabs with no finesse. Funky place. People there were very nice but I would not recommend this restaurant. Sadly!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another pleasant dinner in Craw Station.

Dined on December 24, 2015

Another pleasant dinner in Craw Station - this time our company meetup. Everything was great as expected - food, service and ambiance. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great crab and noodles

Dined on December 19, 2015

Very accomodating. We arrived early and was seated right away. Had a toddler and was able to seat him in a safe seat. We enjoyed the crab, garlic noodles, sweet potato fries and fried oyster. Dining was not rushed, and service was excellent. Place is for people who enjoy seafood, grandson had the mango drink whuch could be refilled without additional cost. The sweet potato fries were delicious as well as the garlic noodles and crab cooked from mild to spicy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A taste of NOLA in the Sunset!

Dined on October 24, 2015

New Orleans is one of my favorite places on earth partly due to their food. I was thrilled to discover Craw Station as they have some of my favorite NOLA foods! The boiled crawfish was both fun and delicious and their fried fish appetizer was amazing and not greasy. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Relazed environment, friendly service.

Dined on October 23, 2015

Meal for two, crab plates only came with two crab plates. The crabs were on the small side, not sure it's worth $37-38 each especially without any sides. We also had the oysters which were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Great crab, but the choices of spice lev ...

Dined on October 16, 2015

Great crab, but the choices of spice levels are very confusing, I thought that I had ordered a butter and garlic sauce but did not know that it had a mild level of Cajun spice which was anything but mild.

food4
ambience3
service3

Crab was very fresh and good but sauce w ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

Crab was very fresh and good but sauce was very salty and no salad or any green in their menu.

food5
ambience4
service5

I love the crab at this place.

Dined on October 9, 2015

I love the crab at this place. We get the Lemon Pepper mild and it is plenty zingy. There are many other Louisiana food items that are really good also. The oystersa and calamari are awesome also. We always wind up taking food home, no matter what we order.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

Mr. Descriptive

Dined on October 7, 2015

Food was tasty, but they were out of fresh crawdads..the whole reason we went. Music was way too loud and the ambiance was disappointing for the style of cuisine.

food5
ambience3
service5

Spicy Garlic Crab!!

Dined on October 3, 2015

If you are a fan of spicy food and garlic, this is the place. Great crab with spicy broth and tons of garlic. Order some garlic noodles and steamed rice to complete the meal. Two people can share the crab and order sides like we did. Definitely a place to keep coming back to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5

Interesting Prepartion and Presentation

Dined on October 2, 2015

Had the crab dinners with mild sauce. The whole uncracked crab is served in a large soup bowl with a lot of broth. The mild broth was fairly spicy and there were so many pieces of garlic floating in the broth that it appeared to be "rice soup." A little too much garlic for my taste and I would suspect for many others. Also had a plastic bag (1 lb) of crawfish and a single lobster tail. All seemed fresh, but our group felt that the seasoning overpowered the delicate flavors of the shell fish. Still an interesting and worthwhile experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1

The food was good but the service was ba ...

Dined on September 23, 2015

The food was good but the service was bad..

food4
ambience4
service5

Good Food & Fun Time with Friends!

Dined on September 22, 2015

I am a bit new to venturing out and eating shellfish as a main course, and it was great! We got the shrimp in the spicy sauce. It came in a big plastic bag which is a change from regular restaurant presentation (for me). This makes it fun and a more personal experience with friends. The sauce was yummy, a perfect blend of spices. Beer goes perfectly with this. There were 3 of us and we ordered 2 bags of shrimp. The fried okra was AMAZING! Loved it and a very generous serving of it - enough to share between 3 for sure. The calamari was tasty and the sauce served with it was good too. Although it was tasty without the sauce too. The noise level was fine, not quiet, but not interfering with conversation. The server was very nice, prompt, and seemed to know when to come to the table. I will definitely go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service1

Nothing special

Dined on September 19, 2015

We tried their crabs, it taste alright but definitely not worth $36. We also tried their garlic noodle which was not all that great. Their service needs a great amount of improvement for sure.

food4
ambience1
service1

Service not good

Dined on September 11, 2015

Made reservation, when we got there the waiter did not greet us just ask if we had reservation, once we were sitted he never came back for a while to check on us or ask if we would like to start off with a appetizer . The food I have to say was great, just the service ....i have to say, then may need better service /waiters that knows how to greet people and follow up how there doing, rather than eat at the counter while we're trying to get service / refill on drinks, etc.

food4
ambience3
service4

Very Nice Experience

Dined on September 11, 2015

I was very pleased with the food and the service, our waitress was very nice and attentive. I love the food presentation and the unique flavors. I would recommend the crab and the calamari, the garlic noodles were on point as well. If I were to have a complaint, it would be the texture of the crab meat. Although it was flavorful and nice sized, most crab comes out in whole chunks and is a little more stiff and easier to get out of the shell, this crab was a little soft in the body and the stuck to the sides of the shell inside the legs. It may have been an anomaly. However everything else was near perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1

Food ok, bad service

Dined on September 3, 2015

The crab was good, the shrimp was good, mussels were Ok. PRice went up substantially over the past couple years, so the clouds have dwindled. The service was just as bad as ever. The servers were very friendly, but we asked for ice for our coke 3-4 times, to different servers and never got it. We asked for wet wipes and never got them. Each time the servers would say they would bring our requested items, and they never did. After a while, you just give up.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food for a birthday dinner

Dined on August 20, 2015

Made reservations for husband's birthday. Got there about 10 mins late but because we called to give them a head's up, the staff was nice enough to seat us. Parking was ok for a Wednesday evening since there was a parking lot close by the restaurant. we ordered a 1lb of shrimp with sausages and potatoes. And it was filling for the 2 of us. Plus, we ordered their House pasta and Fried Okra, a must try, really yummy, especially the dipping sauce it came with. There was a large party beside us which made having a conversation a little hard to have but other then that, food was awesome. We would totally come back since going out to The Boiling Carb in San Jose is such a drive for us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience1
service2

Has really gone downhill

Dined on July 22, 2015

The food here used to be decent. On this visit, the clams were undercooked, the mussels were overcooked and came in multiple different colors, and the "large" crab was smaller than anything I've had at places like PPQ. Garlic noodles were also extremely oily, overcooked, and lacking in garlic flavor. I'm done with this place.

food3
ambience3
service2

Service did not hold up to its food

Dined on July 8, 2015

Food was good but wouldn't go back or recommend anyone as the service was quite lacking. Waited quite awhile before they realized we didn't have any menus. Noticed other tables seatd after us were served faster (it was a different person who was erving these talbes so he might have been a better server).

food5
ambience5
service5

Always wanted to try

Dined on June 21, 2015

My first experience with. Crawfish boil was great at Craw Station. The food was delicious-especially the fried cajun fish and garlic brown noodles. We had the clams, shrimp and crawfish boil. All were great. Will be going ba k soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2

Tasty but slow

Dined on June 19, 2015

The food is very tasty, but service is slow, and doesn't tell you that bread is extra (and it's not on the menu). You want the bread to sop up the really tasty sauces. We had the Garlic Butter on the Mussels and the Lemon Pepper on the Crawfish. Both were excellent. Other then that, it's a simple place with a simple menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I made reservation for 8 people thru Ope ...

Dined on June 1, 2015

I made reservation for 8 people thru OpenTable two weeks prior for 6 PM dinning on a Sunday night. They had my table ready and we were seated right away. Menu is simple to understand. Foods came while they were hot and tasted wonderful. Servers were friendly and came to check on us frequently. The place could do a little touch up but it may cost the owner an arm and leg to get all those permits in money hungry San Francisco City Hall.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent Meal

Dined on May 26, 2015

Both of us had the garlic butter crab, it was more than delicious if that is possible. The garlic noodles were excellent. Calamari was fried nicely but a little too spicy for my tastes. The only 2 changes I would suggest to the menu is to include something 'green', like maybe a Caesar or spinach salad. The crab and noodles were plenty but if I was ordering shrimp or oysters I would have liked to order a a salad too. I wouldn't hesitate to go back here to eat or to order out. Very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, it's all amazing. Excellen ...

Dined on May 17, 2015

Awesome food, it's all amazing. Excellent service, what friendly people. Get the crab with house Cajun seasoning. It'll rock your socks off.

food3
ambience2
service1

The food was good but the service was ho ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

The food was good but the service was horrible. Which is very unfortunate b/c I do enjoy the food here.

food4
ambience3
service3

good crab

Dined on April 22, 2015

I loved the garlic crab. It was very fresh and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.