About Craw Station

1336 9th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122
View Larger Map

San Francisco Cajun-Creole Seafood restaurant specialized in crawfish, shrimp, oyster , mussels , clams and Dungeness crab .

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Cajun

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Irving street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 682-9980

Website:
http://www.crawstation.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Craw Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Francisco Bay Area
Seafood
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Sunset District ›

Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (3)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious and served promptly. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was delicious and served promptly. The mango-pineapple cooler went well with the spicy crawfish. Mussles and oysters were fresh and tasy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a great time last time we we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had such a great time last time we went we decided to go again on a date night. We reserved a table for two at 4pm. They weren't ready for us until maybe 4:10 for cleaning.

Our food came fairly quickly. The food tasted great like last time. I still prefer the medium than mild house sauce. It tasted better although very spicy.

Problem we had this time was the crab. A lot of the meat was missing and it was mostly empty in the middle. Last time we finished the same amount and we were at just the right amount. If anything I got an extra cob of corn and it still wasn't enough food for us like last time. We don't eat too much so it's about the same portion every time. This is accurate and it sucked that it wasn't enough and we didn't feel right to order another crab.

We still really like the restaurant but check your crab meat before the waiter/waitress leave. It was most likely less than two pounds since the meat was mostly gone... That kinda sucked for us and our date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not our kind of restaurant. We ordered ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Not our kind of restaurant. We ordered some appetizers just to test the cooking; they were overly cooked and did not have much to speak of. We went there after they were open barely an hour, the waiter claimed that they ran out of lobsters. Hard to believe that they sold 20 lobsters in one hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

My boyfriend and I went to Craw Station ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Craw Station because I loved Crabs and he loves eating everything I did, he's not picky unless it's unhealthy. We got the house sauce, medium spicy Dungeness crab and the pepper lemon shrimp mild spicy. The sauce for the crab was amazing and it was so good but spicy that we were both sweating while we were eating!!! The shrimp tasted fresh and we liked having one spicier than the other so we could increase the spiciness whenever we wanted to, by dipping in the other sauce.

Medium sized Crab was $36 (~2-2.25lb) that day, and shrimp was $16/ lb. They ran out of the regular $42 crabs.

We also got corn $0.25 each and the sweet potato fries $5.95.

Bill came to be around $70-$80. Worth the price. We even took the sauce home ;)

The waiter and waitress were really friendly and didn't come to the table more often than necessary. We went on Sunday 07/04 at 6:30. The only thing was the chef. I believe he spoke Cantonese and was rude to his coworkers. He sounded like he's the boss and we felt bad for the people working there because we could hear him screaming and yelling in the kitchen while we ate and whenever we were walking to use the bathroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and wonderful and friendl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful and friendly service. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the worst dining experiences in m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

One of the worst dining experiences in my 43 year lifetime. Let's start with the service. My group of six sat down immediately. It was at least 10 mins before our server stopped by our table to take our drink orders. Then another 10 minutes to receive them. The restaurant was not terribly busy. We ordered the gumbo as a starter. Once it finally arrived, it was luke warm and the taste was almost inedible. Virtually no sausage, no chicken, no shrimp. Basically warm water with a horrible rue and celery and okra. I personally took three bites and discarded. We also ordered spicy Cajun wings as apps. The wings were completely dry with a small amount of dry rub on them. Edible, but not good. 4 of us ordered the crab for our entrees, one ordered crawfish and one ordered shrimp. The crab was not fresh and the gentleman who ordered shrimp became violently ill within an hour of leaving the restaurant. To top off the horrible meal and service, their credit card machine was down... How this restaurant received 4+ stars on open table is a mystery. We will never return. Just a bad all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had a great dinner. Will definitely be b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Had a great dinner. Will definitely be back n

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious but messy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the Crab, breaded Catfish and the garlic Noodles. All very delicious. Crab was messy but very gooooood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual, good food, good service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Casual, good food, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Delicious Seafood Boil place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great crab, shrimp, clam, and crawfish place. Super spicy. Mild is just right. Fried foods are great too! Delicious garlic laden sauces!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I go for the shrimp and crab.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I go mainly for their shrimp and crab. We went early 5:00 pm, and avoided the crowds. Their bottomless mango pineapple drink is great, especially if you had their mild or spicy sauce. If you haven't tried their spicy sauce before start with the mild, which is not that mild.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was fantastic, the rest mediocre

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Service so so. Awful taste in music--hyper generic elelctronic pop, way too loud. Almost ruined our dining. Ambiance would be much enhanced by Cajun, N'orleans jazz, or even alternative southern country to go with the informality of the place and the food. Waitress was sweet but a bit oblivious of our basic needs...such as requested water, more napkins, plate for crab detritus, etc. The food is so good, this could be a real gem with a few improvements. Crab was delicate and sweet--yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Dungeness crab (mild garlic butter) was great.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Only problem I can see is that street parking can be a challenge, but that's how it is in SF! You can always take public transportation (N Judah) as the bus stop is just on the corner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely fabulous

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

EVERYTIME I have been here I have never been disappointed! Food was fantastic and the garlic sauce on the crab was to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood Junkies

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Excellent attentive friendly staff. If you love seafood and don't need to be fed out of fine china and can she'll your own this is your place. It was great and I went with my X and it was still great. Can't wait to go back with the new honey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was great!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Everything was great!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slightly dissapointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

I'm from Australia and it was my first time in San Francisco or the states for that matter and I was expecting the seafood to be better than what we have here in Australia (size wise I mean)But the seafood is not what I have expected, the crayfish and lobster were too tiny. I even joked to my wife that we were eating fishbait. But in fairness, the seafood were also small in the other restaurants that we went too, like in Orlando and in New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Very good service from Ryan..Thank you!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Very good service from Ryan..Thank you!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very expensive for dry, over cooked crab ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Very expensive for dry, over cooked crab. Garlic butter sauce was just poured over crabs with no finesse. Funky place. People there were very nice but I would not recommend this restaurant. Sadly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Another pleasant dinner in Craw Station.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Another pleasant dinner in Craw Station - this time our company meetup.

Everything was great as expected - food, service and ambiance.

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great crab and noodles

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Very accomodating. We arrived early and was seated right away. Had a toddler and was able to seat him in a safe seat. We enjoyed the crab, garlic noodles, sweet potato fries and fried oyster. Dining was not rushed, and service was excellent. Place is for people who enjoy seafood, grandson had the mango drink whuch could be refilled without additional cost. The sweet potato fries were delicious as well as the garlic noodles and crab cooked from mild to spicy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A taste of NOLA in the Sunset!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

New Orleans is one of my favorite places on earth partly due to their food. I was thrilled to discover Craw Station as they have some of my favorite NOLA foods! The boiled crawfish was both fun and delicious and their fried fish appetizer was amazing and not greasy. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Relazed environment, friendly service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Meal for two, crab plates only came with two crab plates. The crabs were on the small side, not sure it's worth $37-38 each especially without any sides. We also had the oysters which were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great crab, but the choices of spice lev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Great crab, but the choices of spice levels are very confusing, I thought that I had ordered a butter and garlic sauce but did not know that it had a mild level of Cajun spice which was anything but mild.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The crawfish here are the freshest I hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

The crawfish here are the freshest I have had in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab was very fresh and good but sauce w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Crab was very fresh and good but sauce was very salty and no salad or any green in their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I love the crab at this place.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

I love the crab at this place. We get the Lemon Pepper mild and it is plenty zingy. There are many other Louisiana food items that are really good also. The oystersa and calamari are awesome also. We always wind up taking food home, no matter what we order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mr. Descriptive

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Food was tasty, but they were out of fresh crawdads..the whole reason we went. Music was way too loud and the ambiance was disappointing for the style of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Spicy Garlic Crab!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

If you are a fan of spicy food and garlic, this is the place. Great crab with spicy broth and tons of garlic. Order some garlic noodles and steamed rice to complete the meal. Two people can share the crab and order sides like we did.

Definitely a place to keep coming back to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Interesting Prepartion and Presentation

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Had the crab dinners with mild sauce. The whole uncracked crab is served in a large soup bowl with a lot of broth. The mild broth was fairly spicy and there were so many pieces of garlic floating in the broth that it appeared to be "rice soup." A little too much garlic for my taste and I would suspect for many others. Also had a plastic bag (1 lb) of crawfish and a single lobster tail. All seemed fresh, but our group felt that the seasoning overpowered the delicate flavors of the shell fish. Still an interesting and worthwhile experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

The food was good but the service was ba ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2015

The food was good but the service was bad..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Good Food & Fun Time with Friends!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

I am a bit new to venturing out and eating shellfish as a main course, and it was great! We got the shrimp in the spicy sauce. It came in a big plastic bag which is a change from regular restaurant presentation (for me). This makes it fun and a more personal experience with friends. The sauce was yummy, a perfect blend of spices. Beer goes perfectly with this. There were 3 of us and we ordered 2 bags of shrimp. The fried okra was AMAZING! Loved it and a very generous serving of it - enough to share between 3 for sure. The calamari was tasty and the sauce served with it was good too. Although it was tasty without the sauce too. The noise level was fine, not quiet, but not interfering with conversation. The server was very nice, prompt, and seemed to know when to come to the table. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nothing special

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

We tried their crabs, it taste alright but definitely not worth $36. We also tried their garlic noodle which was not all that great. Their service needs a great amount of improvement for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Service not good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Made reservation, when we got there the waiter did not greet us just ask if we had reservation, once we were sitted he never came back for a while to check on us or ask if we would like to start off with a appetizer .

The food I have to say was great, just the service ....i have to say, then may need better service /waiters that knows how to greet people and follow up how there doing, rather than eat at the counter while we're trying to get service / refill on drinks, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Very Nice Experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

I was very pleased with the food and the service, our waitress was very nice and attentive. I love the food presentation and the unique flavors. I would recommend the crab and the calamari, the garlic noodles were on point as well. If I were to have a complaint, it would be the texture of the crab meat. Although it was flavorful and nice sized, most crab comes out in whole chunks and is a little more stiff and easier to get out of the shell, this crab was a little soft in the body and the stuck to the sides of the shell inside the legs. It may have been an anomaly. However everything else was near perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food ok, bad service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

The crab was good, the shrimp was good, mussels were Ok. PRice went up substantially over the past couple years, so the clouds have dwindled. The service was just as bad as ever. The servers were very friendly, but we asked for ice for our coke 3-4 times, to different servers and never got it. We asked for wet wipes and never got them. Each time the servers would say they would bring our requested items, and they never did. After a while, you just give up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great Food for a birthday dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Made reservations for husband's birthday. Got there about 10 mins late but because we called to give them a head's up, the staff was nice enough to seat us. Parking was ok for a Wednesday evening since there was a parking lot close by the restaurant. we ordered a 1lb of shrimp with sausages and potatoes. And it was filling for the 2 of us. Plus, we ordered their House pasta and Fried Okra, a must try, really yummy, especially the dipping sauce it came with. There was a large party beside us which made having a conversation a little hard to have but other then that, food was awesome. We would totally come back since going out to The Boiling Carb in San Jose is such a drive for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Has really gone downhill

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

The food here used to be decent. On this visit, the clams were undercooked, the mussels were overcooked and came in multiple different colors, and the "large" crab was smaller than anything I've had at places like PPQ. Garlic noodles were also extremely oily, overcooked, and lacking in garlic flavor. I'm done with this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Service did not hold up to its food

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2015

Food was good but wouldn't go back or recommend anyone as the service was quite lacking. Waited quite awhile before they realized we didn't have any menus. Noticed other tables seatd after us were served faster (it was a different person who was erving these talbes so he might have been a better server).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Always wanted to try

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

My first experience with. Crawfish boil was great at Craw Station. The food was delicious-especially the fried cajun fish and garlic brown noodles. We had the clams, shrimp and crawfish boil. All were great. Will be going ba k soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.