About CRAVE - West End

1603 West End Blvd
St. Louis Park, MN 55416
View Larger Map

Evoke the tastes of the new American palate. Familiar yet unforgettable! CRAVE delivers on one simple thing: Fresh and innovative cuisine along with an impeccable wine selection brought to life in a chic, casual, and vibrant atmosphere. The menu evokes the tastes of the new American palate – featuring wood-oven pizzas, roasted meats, sushi, pastas and salads that are seasonally re-mastered utilizing the freshest ingredients. A grand sushi bar extends the dining experience appealing to both traditional sushi lovers and adventurous epicureans alike. The combination of the burnt earthen color palette, stone work, glass accents and a golden-tiled fireplace invites shoppers and destination diners alike to stop and linger — enjoying unforgettable meals with friends and family. An elegant floor-to-ceiling wine tower displays a 125+ wine selection. Rich hues and an open kitchen, light-dappled tabletops and an iconic bar create a familiar yet unforgettable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 9am-10pm
Monday 11am- 10pm
Tuesday 11am- 10pm
Wednesday 11am- 10pm
Thursday 11am- 11pm
Friday 11am- 12am
Saturday 10am- 12am

Cross Street:
Park Place and 16th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 933-6500

Website:
http://cravewestend.com/

Catering:
CRAVE Catering is proud to offer a dynamic new approach to full-service and delivery catering. Whatever your catering needs are, we can accommodate you! CRAVE is one of the only restaurants providing sushi in the area. Call or email sales@craveamerica.com to inquire!

Parking Details:
Valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Heather VanHorn

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Groups larger than 9 people require a phone reservation

Restaurant Photos

CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
CRAVE - West End
Chicken Stir Fry
Salmon Penne Pasta
Tomato Basil Soup
Summo Roll
Lavendar Lemonade
Terimisu
Seabass
S'more Brownie
Sushi
Shrimp Poboy
Coconut Cake
Penne Pasta
Ribeye Steak
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Chicken, Apple & Brie Sandwich
Caprese Flatbread
New York Strip and Sweey Potato Mash
Pizza Margherita
lobster roll
Fried Calamari
Caterpillar Roll
Fettucine With Roasted Mushrooms
Chocolate Mousse Cake

Private Dining

Whether you're planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let CRAVE make your event extraordinary. We offer an exceptional dining experience that will meet every need and make each event uniquely memorable.

CRAVE - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in St. Louis Park ›

good for groups (90)
great for lunch (78)
special occasion (61)
See All
fit for foodies (59)
hot spot (51)
great for outdoor dining (47)
vibrant bar scene (40)
great for brunch (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
kid-friendly (22)
late-night find (20)
notable wine list (20)
romantic (15)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the service and ambianc ...

Dined 4 days ago

I really enjoyed the service and ambiance. I will recommend to my clients and other geroups

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The prime rib fathers day special was ve ...

Dined 6 days ago

The prime rib fathers day special was very disappointing. Four of us had the special. None of us liked it. The service was not good either. Very disappointing overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Father's Day prime rib buff ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went for the Father's Day prime rib buffet. Was delicious came with mashed potatoes and fresh steamed veggies. The creamy horseradish dipping sauce was amazing. Loved my blueberry mint soda too very light and refreshing for a hot day. Also ordered off the secret vip Sunday night sushi menu and enjoyed a delicious crunchy roll for $10 after much debating on the choices for $10 specialty rolls.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

The kitchen. I loved how you could look ...

Dined 6 days ago

The kitchen. I loved how you could look into the kitchen.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went on a Sunday expecting kids to ea ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went on a Sunday expecting kids to eat free. My meal was ok but cooked with a lot of oil, which I don't care for. We we got our bill I asked about the 'Sunday kids eat free' advertisement and they told me since it was Father' Day they couldn't honor that special. Strange since one would think that's a day dad's should get a break on the bill.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our service was horrible! Our original ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our service was horrible! Our original server took drink orders and then disappeared. We waited over an hour to place our dinner selections with the replacement server. He did a fine job but we felt neglected and would have appreciated a heads-up about the original server situation. The prime rib was good but my son's steak was more well-done than he requested but we would not send it back given the time we had already invested.

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was slow and poor. Waiter forgo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was slow and poor. Waiter forgot all salads. Prime rib was tough and cheey.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Father's Day prime rib buffet. For ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great Father's Day prime rib buffet. For $24, husband and son had a feast. Easy access buffet, excellent service .

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Very poor service, disappointing on Fath ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very poor service, disappointing on Father's Day. I made a reservation about 2 weeks ago but was told I had no reservation then found it but put us at high-top tables in the bar??? I asked for a table in the dining room and we were moved. I "asked" the server twice for water, I ended up drinking my husband's pop with the buffalo wings, my main dish came out then I asked where was my salad and he went and "double checked" it which was about 15 minutes later. Our appetizer plates were on the table during our meal, our empty water glasses remained on the table too when we eventually got more water.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have only had lunch at Crave. Always ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have only had lunch at Crave. Always good service and good food. We really like the wild rice soup!! Yum!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

My steak was great! I got the filet mign ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My steak was great! I got the filet mignon and was cooked perfectly. The potatoes were OK. My wife ordered sushi but said it was too sweet and not as good as she had had in the past at Crave. Drinks were good. We offered bread from our waiter and we said "sure, we will have some bread". Well our dinner came but no bread. when we asked about it the waiter he brought the bread over and apologized. a few moments later one of the managers came over and apologized and said "we will take care of that, sorry for the inconvenience". My wife and looked at each other and I said" did they just comp our meal do to not getting bread before our meal?" The answer was no, they comped the price of the bread. I had no idea they charge $3.75 for some dry bread and few pieces of naan. Had we known that Crave charges for bread we would have never ordered bread in the first place.. So I doubt we will be going back to Crave anytime soon..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Crave and can't wait to go ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

First time at Crave and can't wait to go back! I had the lobster shrimp flat bread and it was delicious!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Always good, always consistent.

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Always good, always consistent.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great al fresco dining experience.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Great al fresco dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

I've never been more impressed with customer service! We arrived 15 minutes late for our reserved table for 6. We anxiiowauted for our table knowing we only had a half hour to eat because we had reservations for another engagement. We asked the waitress for rushed service. We received our food in less than 10 minutes and had it personally delivered by the general manager. Not only were they able to accommodate us but the food was delicious as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Went to crave for a date night as my hus ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Went to crave for a date night as my husband is a carnivore and I am more of a pescatarian. We each had the taco appetizers (fish and beef), both were great (3 tacos each so could be an entire meal, but not ideal for an appetizer if more than 3 people). I had the vegetarian sushi platter which was great and my husband had the pork medallions (special menu for dine and donate thing) which he said were really good! Overall it was very good food and the service was good (we had a waiter that was his third day and we were the first table he has ever waited on). Overall, I would say we will be back for the diverse menu and good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall great experience for a night out

Dined on May 31, 2016

My one complaint would be that if you are a vegetarian, there is fish/seafood sushi on the vegetarian menu which is a little misleading. But, all the food we were able to eat was delicious! Great atmosphere and the half-bottle wine specials on Monday night's is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The hamburger was overcooked as was the ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The hamburger was overcooked as was the chicken used in the salad. The sushi was above average. Overall, not a very special meal.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was good. Server was ok.

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was good. Server was ok.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a gorgeous day out so I decided t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was a gorgeous day out so I decided to go to Crave West End. They have a nice patio outside and on Sunday, and all day Happy Hour. It was really nice to be in the sunlight, the servers were attentive once they found out I was there. I love the food, even if the drinks weren't strong they were at least delicious. I would recommend anybody to eat there and spend some time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We made reservations for 9 on a Sunday m ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We made reservations for 9 on a Sunday morning for a bday brunch. Things started out with our table not being ready and waiting a concerning amount of time for the table. After that, it took a very long time for the waitress to come over. (the place was NOT busy) After ordering our drinks, it took 15 minutes to get them and then she didn't even have all of them. Took 10 minutes to get the 2 she was missing. We were there for 45 minutes before we were able to get our order taken and that was after being FIRMLY told she needed to take our order. It then took another 45 minutes to get our food. When it finally came it was luke warm at best. While she was pleasant, she is hands down the slowest moving server I've ever encountered. Everyone in our party said they will never return based on this horrible experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good happy hour specials and snacks ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good happy hour specials and snacks. Great spot with a nice patio and the servers have been very prompt and friendly every time we've gone.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food here is solid. The "cooked and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food here is solid. The "cooked and vegetable" sushi menu was a big hit with our pregnant friend, I got an amazing dish (bacon wrapped pork something) off of a special fundraising menu, people who got regular menu items (a colorful and fulfilling salad, a pasta dish, a steak dish) were all described as delicious and well-made. I'm glad we had reservations, we got in and seated right away, even with one guest still on their way. The parking at West End is annoying to have to deal with to go here, so be sure and arrive long before you think you need to so you have time to find a spot and walk.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We let them know ahead of time it was a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We let them know ahead of time it was a Birthday and instead of a booth and we were placed next to a garage door with a high top table which was cold and had a guy smoking a cigar that still managed to smell even with the door closed. We all had a Pasta dish but the portions were small. For the price there should have been at least a little wow factor in the food. Very over price and very limited by the glass wine selection. The male server had no personality. They did bring a complimentary dessert for the birthday girl which was nice. Doubt we will return or recommend Crave to anyone. We know too many others much better for the money.

food3
ambience3
service3

The food and services were just ok. We h ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and services were just ok. We have to wait for our bill

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took our family to Crave for Mother's Day Brunch and it was an expensive mistake. The buffet was disjointed, the food was really marginal, the drinks were okay and our table was off to the side of the restaurant making service incredibly slow. I was really disappointed. It's an expensive brunch ticket and so completely not worth it. I love Crave normally but this brunch was really bad.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Deceitful business practices

Dined on May 4, 2016

After ordering an appetizer AND a meal, the waiter asked us if we would like some bread while we waited for our food. We agreed as many places we have been to it is customary to provide complimentary bread. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. There was a charge on our bill at the end of the meal for bread. If you are going to offer anything that is an additional charge, especially bread, it is implied that it is free unless you state there is an additional charge. I do not approve of being duped into buying more items, no matter the cost.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, excellent service

Dined on May 2, 2016

This was my 3rd time at west end. Food quality and presentation is way above average, The bento boxes are delightful and the kobe beef tacos were a treat. Servers are attentive but know when to not bother. Very friendly. I live 30 miles away but Crave West End has become the Go To place for lunches and special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Happy Hour Specials

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very good sushi menu at great prices during Happy Hour which is all day on Sunday. Good prices when not Happy Hour. Good selection of specialty mixed drinks and beer taps.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Not the service we expect

Dined on April 30, 2016

Although most of the food was fine, the server was probably one of the most disinterested and rude waitstaff we have ever experienced. We frequent Crave at The West End often before heading to downtown events. It is usually is a good experience. We were there early (5:45) and it took 20 minutes before our server came to take our drink order. The bus person had to physically go and get her. She was careless and slow, she was rude when one of our guests brought a very burnt piece of salmon to her attention. The manager did offer to replace the meal but at that point we had to be on our way to an event. This experience is NOW what I will think of when I think of Crave at the West End.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food as always, but don't be in a h ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Good food as always, but don't be in a hurry - service gets slow.

food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Slow service during Happy Hour

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a group of 5 who arrived at different times during Happy Hour. The service was really slow, but I guess that saved us money. Would have ordered more, given the chance. Happy Hour specials were not explained -- ordered what we thought was part of the Happy Hour menu, but when the bill came the drinks were 3x the Happy Hour price ! Won't return. There are better choices within walking distance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again a great meal and fabulous ser ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Once again a great meal and fabulous servers.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

good

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We were seated promptly at 5:00. It was a nice day so it was packed outside on the patio and in the bar area. The dining room was pretty empty though which is where we sat. Our server was pleasant and very attentive without being intrusive. Our food was good. I had the lettuce wraps.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Haven't yet found a Crave we don't like!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We like Crave in general. Good food, service, etc. This restaurant was more crowded with higher energy than those in the malls, but it is also located in a vibrant and popular area, just west of MInneapolis.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Happy hour

Dined on April 21, 2016

Girls night out, catching up. We had a host of apps they were all delicious the guacamole could loose the lettuce it just got in the way. The dumplings were outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time at Craves

Dined on April 18, 2016

The hostess didn't wait till our whole party of 10 got there, she seated us as we came in! The food was awesome and the service outstanding! Appetizers were prompt and delicious!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Early Crave dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

We needed to meet with a family duo for an early dinner at a spot amenable to all. My husband had enjoyed Crave at MOA so suggested the West End Crave. 5PM time was no problem, I had requested a quieter table which was provided, we were not rushed, and finished by 6:30. We all chose the variety of food that was favorable to us, from sushi, to salads, to fish. Presentation was lovely. All were pleased with the exception of the Arctic Char special -- fish was good, but the cold salad underneath did nothing to add flavor to the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was great! Service was slow but it ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was great! Service was slow but it was happy hour and lots of people. It was loud but then again we were in the bar during happy hour so it's to be expected. Would recommend it to others.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

NOISY

Dined on April 6, 2016

Still a bit too noisy for me. Our server was excellent at meeting our needs.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.