About CRAVE - West End

1603 West End Blvd
St. Louis Park, MN 55416
View Larger Map

Evoke the tastes of the new American palate. Familiar yet unforgettable! CRAVE delivers on one simple thing: Fresh and innovative cuisine along with an impeccable wine selection brought to life in a chic, casual, and vibrant atmosphere. The menu evokes the tastes of the new American palate – featuring wood-oven pizzas, roasted meats, sushi, pastas and salads that are seasonally re-mastered utilizing the freshest ingredients. A grand sushi bar extends the dining experience appealing to both traditional sushi lovers and adventurous epicureans alike. The combination of the burnt earthen color palette, stone work, glass accents and a golden-tiled fireplace invites shoppers and destination diners alike to stop and linger — enjoying unforgettable meals with friends and family. An elegant floor-to-ceiling wine tower displays a 125+ wine selection. Rich hues and an open kitchen, light-dappled tabletops and an iconic bar create a familiar yet unforgettable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 9am-10pm
Monday 11am- 10pm
Tuesday 11am- 10pm
Wednesday 11am- 10pm
Thursday 11am- 11pm
Friday 11am- 12am
Saturday 10am- 12am

Cross Street:
Park Place and 16th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 933-6500

Website:
http://cravewestend.com/

Catering:
CRAVE Catering is proud to offer a dynamic new approach to full-service and delivery catering. Whatever your catering needs are, we can accommodate you! CRAVE is one of the only restaurants providing sushi in the area. Call or email sales@craveamerica.com to inquire!

Parking Details:
Valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Heather VanHorn

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Groups larger than 9 people require a phone reservation

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 3:00PM - 5:00PM

Mon - Tue 3:00PM - 3:45PM 3:00PM - 5:00PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Wed - Thu 3:00PM - 3:45PM 3:00PM - 5:00PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you're planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let CRAVE make your event extraordinary. We offer an exceptional dining experience that will meet every need and make each event uniquely memorable.

CRAVE - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in St. Louis Park ›

good for groups (99)
great for lunch (87)
fit for foodies (76)
See All
special occasion (76)
hot spot (65)
vibrant bar scene (52)
great for outdoor dining (35)
romantic (33)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for brunch (25)
late-night find (24)
notable wine list (20)
kid-friendly (17)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The hamburger was overcooked as was the ...

Dined 3 days ago

The hamburger was overcooked as was the chicken used in the salad. The sushi was above average. Overall, not a very special meal.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was good. Server was ok.

Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Server was ok.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a gorgeous day out so I decided t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was a gorgeous day out so I decided to go to Crave West End. They have a nice patio outside and on Sunday, and all day Happy Hour. It was really nice to be in the sunlight, the servers were attentive once they found out I was there. I love the food, even if the drinks weren't strong they were at least delicious. I would recommend anybody to eat there and spend some time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We made reservations for 9 on a Sunday m ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We made reservations for 9 on a Sunday morning for a bday brunch. Things started out with our table not being ready and waiting a concerning amount of time for the table. After that, it took a very long time for the waitress to come over. (the place was NOT busy) After ordering our drinks, it took 15 minutes to get them and then she didn't even have all of them. Took 10 minutes to get the 2 she was missing. We were there for 45 minutes before we were able to get our order taken and that was after being FIRMLY told she needed to take our order. It then took another 45 minutes to get our food. When it finally came it was luke warm at best. While she was pleasant, she is hands down the slowest moving server I've ever encountered. Everyone in our party said they will never return based on this horrible experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good happy hour specials and snacks ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good happy hour specials and snacks. Great spot with a nice patio and the servers have been very prompt and friendly every time we've gone.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food here is solid. The "cooked and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food here is solid. The "cooked and vegetable" sushi menu was a big hit with our pregnant friend, I got an amazing dish (bacon wrapped pork something) off of a special fundraising menu, people who got regular menu items (a colorful and fulfilling salad, a pasta dish, a steak dish) were all described as delicious and well-made. I'm glad we had reservations, we got in and seated right away, even with one guest still on their way. The parking at West End is annoying to have to deal with to go here, so be sure and arrive long before you think you need to so you have time to find a spot and walk.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We let them know ahead of time it was a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We let them know ahead of time it was a Birthday and instead of a booth and we were placed next to a garage door with a high top table which was cold and had a guy smoking a cigar that still managed to smell even with the door closed. We all had a Pasta dish but the portions were small. For the price there should have been at least a little wow factor in the food. Very over price and very limited by the glass wine selection. The male server had no personality. They did bring a complimentary dessert for the birthday girl which was nice. Doubt we will return or recommend Crave to anyone. We know too many others much better for the money.

food3
ambience3
service3

The food and services were just ok. We h ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and services were just ok. We have to wait for our bill

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took our family to Crave for Mother's Day Brunch and it was an expensive mistake. The buffet was disjointed, the food was really marginal, the drinks were okay and our table was off to the side of the restaurant making service incredibly slow. I was really disappointed. It's an expensive brunch ticket and so completely not worth it. I love Crave normally but this brunch was really bad.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Deceitful business practices

Dined on May 4, 2016

After ordering an appetizer AND a meal, the waiter asked us if we would like some bread while we waited for our food. We agreed as many places we have been to it is customary to provide complimentary bread. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. There was a charge on our bill at the end of the meal for bread. If you are going to offer anything that is an additional charge, especially bread, it is implied that it is free unless you state there is an additional charge. I do not approve of being duped into buying more items, no matter the cost.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, excellent service

Dined on May 2, 2016

This was my 3rd time at west end. Food quality and presentation is way above average, The bento boxes are delightful and the kobe beef tacos were a treat. Servers are attentive but know when to not bother. Very friendly. I live 30 miles away but Crave West End has become the Go To place for lunches and special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Happy Hour Specials

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very good sushi menu at great prices during Happy Hour which is all day on Sunday. Good prices when not Happy Hour. Good selection of specialty mixed drinks and beer taps.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Not the service we expect

Dined on April 30, 2016

Although most of the food was fine, the server was probably one of the most disinterested and rude waitstaff we have ever experienced. We frequent Crave at The West End often before heading to downtown events. It is usually is a good experience. We were there early (5:45) and it took 20 minutes before our server came to take our drink order. The bus person had to physically go and get her. She was careless and slow, she was rude when one of our guests brought a very burnt piece of salmon to her attention. The manager did offer to replace the meal but at that point we had to be on our way to an event. This experience is NOW what I will think of when I think of Crave at the West End.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food as always, but don't be in a h ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Good food as always, but don't be in a hurry - service gets slow.

food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Slow service during Happy Hour

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a group of 5 who arrived at different times during Happy Hour. The service was really slow, but I guess that saved us money. Would have ordered more, given the chance. Happy Hour specials were not explained -- ordered what we thought was part of the Happy Hour menu, but when the bill came the drinks were 3x the Happy Hour price ! Won't return. There are better choices within walking distance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again a great meal and fabulous ser ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Once again a great meal and fabulous servers.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

good

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We were seated promptly at 5:00. It was a nice day so it was packed outside on the patio and in the bar area. The dining room was pretty empty though which is where we sat. Our server was pleasant and very attentive without being intrusive. Our food was good. I had the lettuce wraps.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Haven't yet found a Crave we don't like!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We like Crave in general. Good food, service, etc. This restaurant was more crowded with higher energy than those in the malls, but it is also located in a vibrant and popular area, just west of MInneapolis.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Happy hour

Dined on April 21, 2016

Girls night out, catching up. We had a host of apps they were all delicious the guacamole could loose the lettuce it just got in the way. The dumplings were outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time at Craves

Dined on April 18, 2016

The hostess didn't wait till our whole party of 10 got there, she seated us as we came in! The food was awesome and the service outstanding! Appetizers were prompt and delicious!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Early Crave dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

We needed to meet with a family duo for an early dinner at a spot amenable to all. My husband had enjoyed Crave at MOA so suggested the West End Crave. 5PM time was no problem, I had requested a quieter table which was provided, we were not rushed, and finished by 6:30. We all chose the variety of food that was favorable to us, from sushi, to salads, to fish. Presentation was lovely. All were pleased with the exception of the Arctic Char special -- fish was good, but the cold salad underneath did nothing to add flavor to the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was great! Service was slow but it ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was great! Service was slow but it was happy hour and lots of people. It was loud but then again we were in the bar during happy hour so it's to be expected. Would recommend it to others.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

NOISY

Dined on April 6, 2016

Still a bit too noisy for me. Our server was excellent at meeting our needs.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Perhaps a 2nd Chance

Dined on April 4, 2016

A good friend and I had reservations for dinner. We were promptly seated and the staff was very friendly. I really like the west end area and I will go back to try it again in the summer time. My dinner guest ordered a glass of wine and rather than a Riesling, she received a red zinfandel. The waitress took our order and approximately 40 minutes later, she came back and asked if we were ready to order. We reminded her that we had already ordered and she realized that she forgot to put in our order. We enjoyed each others company so much, that we were not too upset with the service; however, it was not a very good first impression. I may try it again another time. Food was good, although I wasn't fond of the mahi tacos.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for Bruch

Dined on April 3, 2016

Diverse creative brunch menu; lots of options with fresh vegetables and fruit; everything was especially tasty; good value; prompt and attentive service, convenient to the Showplace Icon movie theater

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was amazing!!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Our waiter was amazing!!!

food4
ambience5
service5

Good portions at the right temperature

Dined on April 2, 2016

Good portions at the right temperature

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on March 31, 2016

We have eaten at the Crave - Galleria and Crave - MOA, and had had no issues. Our welcome at the Crave - West End from the hostess desk was fine. The service was terrible and the food was mediocre. We waited almost 10 minutes for a server to take our drink order. Then another 10 for the drinks to arrive, one was completely wrong. Another 20 minutes before an order was taken. The salad was fine - disappointingly small for the price I paid. By the time we were done the server appeared to have completely disappeared. Another 30 minutes went by before we actually received our bill. The lucky part about all of this is that I had not seen my lunch companion for a year, so we had a lot to talk about.

food1
ambience5
service1

Over priced for what the buffet offered.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Over priced for what the buffet offered.

food1
ambience1
service3

We have eaten at Crave before and the fo ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have eaten at Crave before and the food off of their menu is decent. However, we would not recommend going there if they are offering a buffet. The food was awful, bland and either over cooked as in dried out egg dishes or under cooked as in bacon being half cooked. They only offered a couple types of Sushi rolls, I think they bought large bags of Cheese cubes and dumped them on a tray. Maybe worth it if it was $12 but definitely not the $35 pp we paid on Easter Sunday.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Go early and enjoy

Dined on March 27, 2016

We did Easter brunch here. Great appeal multigenerational crew. It was getting too crowded by the time left But if you go early, it's great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We haven't been here yet and loved it. G ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We haven't been here yet and loved it. Great menu and drink selection. I would recommend it to anyone.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always get a wonderful meal at Crave...love sushi!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Recommend as food is of high quality, great service. Fun place to hang out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a business or personal lunch o ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Great for a business or personal lunch or dinner. Great service, broad variety of high quality, well prepared and delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on March 24, 2016

Service and food was great, a little pricey but definitely worth it!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Crave won't disappoint

Dined on March 15, 2016

Been to Crave many times and it never disappoints. Food is always above average and there is a great mixture of sushi , fish and meat.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Not that tasty of an experience. Enjoyed ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Not that tasty of an experience. Enjoyed the tempura shrimp appetizer but found others to be overpriced considering amount of flavor. Had lemon chicken wings, so so. Huge wings, just rather dry and not that good. I think we'll give Crave a little break because we felt a bit ripped off spending $50 each for a girl's night out. Stay away from mini desserts. Overpriced puddin' cups.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very friendly staff. Great service and n ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Very friendly staff. Great service and never felt rushed. Molly made us feel important and even brought me a birthday dessert.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Timing is not their virtue

Dined on March 8, 2016

Although I had made a reservation and they had confirmed it with me over the phone twice, we still had to wait 30 minutes for our table. They did provide us with appetizers on the house to make up for the issue however, which was greatly appreciated. Our service was ok, the waitress had to come back repeatedly because she forgot what we had ordered but she was pleasant. I did appreciate that we had an almost empty back room to ourselves, as the restaurant itself is quite loud. The food was good, but perhaps a bit overpriced for the quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Food choices are am ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Excellent as always. Food choices are amazing and are always presented so lovely. I had the chopped chicken salad and all of the ingredients were so fresh. And the coconut cake is to die for. Will be back soon!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.