About Crave Restaurant & Lounge

129 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Our mission is to achieve such distinction in food and wine, service, atmosphere, and setting that the restaurant gains a first-class reputation for gastronomy and gracious hospitality, which will bring new and repeat customers year after year. We strive to have every customer who walks through the doors of Crave to have an overall dining "experience" and leave impressed with the seasonal and regionally-inspired menus and chic decor that they will be excited to return again. The team of chefs, consisting of alumni of the Culinary Institute of America, aim to make Crave the most exciting restaurant in Poughkeepsie. The style, decor, and ambiance of Crave brings Manhattan to Washington Street. Located just under the entrance of the Walkway Over the Hudson, make a reservation for dinner or enjoy cocktails on our patio then take a walk over the Hudson and enjoy the views of our breathtaking Hudson Valley.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Orchard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 452-3501

Website:
http://www.craverestaurantandlounge.com/

Catering:
Please view our sister restaurant and off site catering company, Lola"s Cafe & Catering at www.lolascafeandcatering.com.

Parking Details:
There is on street parking available right at the entrance to the Walkway over the Hudson as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. Take Orchard St. off of Washington St. to the first driveway on the right. Entrance to the patio of Crave is at the back right of the parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Crave Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Contemporary American
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Best Restaurants in Poughkeepsie ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Romantic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I let them know that it was our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I let them know that it was our anniversary. They had our names on the menu wished us happy . Any staff that came by our table wished us happy anniversary.Complementary flutes of champagne given to us.Appitizers and main course were great.Service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner was good. Service was great. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was good. Service was great. We ate outside on a nice night. Inside was loud but didn't affect us outside. Restaurant was clean comfortable. I would eat here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a surprise. Who would think there w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a surprise. Who would think there would be such an exquisite culinary gem in Poughkeepsie, N.Y.? We were traveling from Los Angeles with our son who is visiting Vassar College. The corn chowder was supremely delicious. It made our visit well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Surprising find in what looks like a not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Surprising find in what looks like a not so nice neighborhood. Food was good. Especially the fries! Also a surprising good local pinot noir on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My Nancy And I enjoyed ourselfs our meal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My Nancy And I enjoyed ourselfs our meal was wounderful and survice was great. Yes will tell my friends about the Crave in the future.

Henry L. Schreck

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So amazing I went twice within three day ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

So amazing I went twice within three days! Outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to Crave; we wen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was our first trip to Crave; we went on Industry Night and had a completely lovely dinner with excellent service. The cioppino, in particular, had amazing flavor. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our last minute late arrival for brunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our last minute late arrival for brunch was warmly welcomed and we were treated as if we had all time in the world.

We were able to enjoy the outdoor patio.

Delicious food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The half rank of lamb was just outstandi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The half rank of lamb was just outstanding. Perfectly cooked and came with interesting sauces on the plate. The structure of the wine list was helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

OUR PARTY OF 5 WAS CELEBRATING MY SON'S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

OUR PARTY OF 5 WAS CELEBRATING MY SON'S GRADUATION FROM THE CIA. CRAVE PROVED TO BE AN OUTSTANDING CHOICE SINCE THE AMBIANCE WAS PLEASANT, WHILE THE APPETIZERS (FRIED OYSTERS, TOMATO SALAD, GREEN SALAD, TAGLIATELLE) AND ENTREES (HONEY ROASTED DUCK BREAST AND SCALLOPS IN A BACON VINAIGRETTE) WERE DELICIOUS. WE ALSO SHARED A DESERT OF SALTED CARMEL ICE CREAM WITH CHOCOLATE COOKY CHUNKS AND PEANUTS THAT WAS ALSO QUITE GOOD. SERVICE WAS ATTENTIVE, THOUGH A BIT SLOW. IF WE LIVED IN POUGHKEEPSIE WE WOULD BE REGULARS.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We came to celebrate our 49th anniversar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We came to celebrate our 49th anniversary and found a great restaurant, it was our first visit. Everything we had was excellent and I would recommend the restaurant for special occasions since it's on the expensive side. Our bill for two with drinks, wine, appetizer, main course, coffee and dessert came to $200 with tip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Tagliatelle ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. Tagliatelle was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside with the perfect summer e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We sat outside with the perfect summer evening, celebrating our daughters last meal before college. We enjoyed very flavorful, well seasoned, thoughtful dishes . We began with a nice prosecco, shared a refreshing beet salad and exotic heirloom tomatoe salad and delicate fried oysters. For dinner we enjoyed scallops, rigatoni and rack of lamb. All were expertly prepared and memorable. As full as we were the desserts were spectacular. We ordered the chocolate and mint ice cream and the owner Eddie boroughs out .salted caramel ice cream with peanut butter toppings. My daughter said "best dessert" she's ever had. The staff was friendly and informative, while very professional. Gave great wine pairing suggestions also. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We traveled from nj , picked the restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We traveled from nj , picked the restaurant on trip advisor very Anderson was a great waiter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food NEVER disappoints, nor does the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food NEVER disappoints, nor does the wince selection. Three girlfriends had an amazing meal with flavorful entrees and healthy portions. And the service was top notch - we loved every person that came by our table to assist us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salty pasta dish should have returned it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Salty pasta dish should have returned it

Other than that wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

lobster roll was superb. tue industry ni ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

lobster roll was superb. tue industry night is a great valoue

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites!!!!!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of my favorites!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was good after one dish was sen ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was good after one dish was sent back as being dried out. Waiter was good but kitchen was slow.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Incrediblemeal lovedevery bite new tuebi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Incrediblemeal lovedevery bite new tuebit night prixfixe great

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service - Our waiter Anderson wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing service - Our waiter Anderson was exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

First disappointing experience there eve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First disappointing experience there ever. Food was late and cold. Server was more interested in talking to staff than checking in with us. Have gone there for anniversary every year. Need to find a new place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is always wonderful, fresh and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is always wonderful, fresh and eclectic. The service is always excellent.

The restaurant is decorated beautifully, however, over the last year it has become dirty. Cob webs surrounded our table, dead bugs on the windowsill behind us (inside) and a heavy later if dust and dirt.

I don't know that we will be back because of the lack of cleanliness. It's a shame because the food, service and overall ambiance are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food. We were there for the fi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent food. We were there for the fixed price and it was great! Highly recommend. May be too noisy if full for a romantic dinner. Parking in the back is limited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Let's just focus on the food. It's amazi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Let's just focus on the food. It's amazing. Filled with top grads from the local Culinary Institute of America, everything on the menu is fantastic. We were just there for the weekend but if we ever head back to Poughkeepsie, we will definitely return to this spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal and lovely service. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Another great meal and lovely service.

Amazing desserts and yummy cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous atmosphere~! We ate at the bar ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fabulous atmosphere~! We ate at the bar and the food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent all around restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is an excellent all around restaurant--by which I mean food, service, ambiance, and value. The food was a bit experimental which I appreciate. For example, my beet salad was unique--chunks of beets, thinly sliced radishes, and yogurt. the yogurt made the dish a standout. My husband and I had steak and chicken, respectively--both of which were basic (and so prepared) but very good. A note on the service--I was a bit concerned with our first server, who just did not seem pleased to be there. HOWEVER, he was soon replaced by one of the loveliest servers I have had in any dining establishment. He was solicitous, knowledgeable, and, well, just very pleasant. Re ambiance, this is a casual restaurant with an impressive generational mix. I am in the older end of that mix and appreciate a restaurant that appeals to people in their 20's (who were sitting next to us) and 60's (which includes me and at least two other tables of happy diners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very well made, creative food in a nice ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very well made, creative food in a nice setting. Lovely staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant whether a special oc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Favorite restaurant whether a special occasion or getting together with friends. I love combining Crave with a walk on the walk way- my favorite date night! And let's not forget the great food, service and ambience! We are lucky to have this little gem so close to home. Always a treat1

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Crave was outstanding. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything about Crave was outstanding. Our cocktails, appetizer, entree and dessert were all top shelf. The atmosphere was lovely with a wall of brick and copper accents on the ceiling. Very Chic! Staff was courteous and friendly. We are from Massachusetts and can't wait to go back next year. Lovely and memorable evening at Crave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner at Crave is always a wonderful ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Dinner at Crave is always a wonderful experience from start to finish. Our waiter was engaging & thoughtful and helped with all of our questions. The food, as always, was delicious and well presented. As much as I expect a great dinner at Crave, the service is the icing on the cake.

Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the ricotta gnocchi were pillows of perf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

the ricotta gnocchi were pillows of perfection. The flourless chocolate torte with mint ice cream perfect on a summer eve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Participated in the Walkway 5K on Sunday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Participated in the Walkway 5K on Sunday. This was a great start to the weekend. We ordered four small plates. They all were excellent complimented by a white Rioja. We plan on returning when we come back to the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Poughkeepsie, NY, where yo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great find in Poughkeepsie, NY, where you will find many CIA graduates! There were four of us, and we all enjoyed all of the courses and excellent, attentive service - Another plus is that the restaurant is located at the base of the stairway to the 'Walk Over the Hudson' park, so perfect combination for a great meal, and a good walk !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Walk and Eat Great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great to go down the stairs and eat at this gem of a restaurant after taking the walk over the hudson!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good stuff!

 
 (München)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Extremely good bartender! Best Manhattan of my lifetime.

Food and service were exceptional. This restaurant is a must for

those serious about dining with pleasure and eating delicious and

innovative food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of restaurants in Poughkeepsie area ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Lots of restaurants in Poughkeepsie area are closed on Tuesday, Crave now has an Tuesday industry night and so we were happy to experience it. Savanah, the manager, was a true delight and added to the whole experience of great food, lovely wine and amazing desserts and all for a great value $35 prefix.

This was our first time at Crave and can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great service!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

There was nothing about the food that wasn't excellent. The quality of all of the entrees and apps we had was amazing. The waitstaff seemed a little scatter-brained, but there were no issues. Little stuff like getting menus together, seating us, then forgetting to leave the menus. Serving our bread, forgetting to bring the butter, telling us it would be a second, and then never coming back. These are NOT issues that will affect the review... just silly mistakes.

We got all the specials offered that night - they just sounded that good. Lamb, fish, even broccolini ceaser salad. Amazing stuff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner anytime

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I had heard a lot of good things about Crave, but this was our first time at this restaurant. Our server was very friendly and we never felt like we were unattended and she never hovered. She was there when we needed her and that's what we like. I had the pork chop and while it took a while to prepare it was well worth the wait. It was almost two inches thick and it came out juicy and tender. My wife had a fish special and she found that to be a wonderful dish as well. If you're looking for a place to sit and enjoy a meal, Crave is the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.