Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Crave Restaurant & Lounge

Our mission is to achieve such distinction in food and wine, service, atmosphere, and setting that the restaurant gains a first-class reputation for gastronomy and gracious hospitality, which will bring new and repeat customers year after year.

We strive to have every customer who walks through the doors of Crave to have an overall dining "experience" and leave impressed with the seasonal and regionally-inspired menus and chic decor that they will be excited to return again. The team of chefs, consisting of alumni of the Culinary Institute of America, aim to make Crave the most exciting restaurant in Poughkeepsie.

The style, decor, and ambiance of Crave brings Manhattan to Washington Street. Located just under the entrance of the Walkway Over the Hudson, make a reservation for dinner or enjoy cocktails on our patio then take a walk over the Hudson and enjoy the views of our breathtaking Hudson Valley.

129 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Orchard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 452-3501

Website:
http://www.craverestaurantandlounge.com/

Catering:
Please view our sister restaurant and off site catering company, Lola"s Cafe & Catering at www.lolascafeandcatering.com.

Parking Details:
There is on street parking available right at the entrance to the Walkway over the Hudson as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. Take Orchard St. off of Washington St. to the first driveway on the right. Entrance to the patio of Crave is at the back right of the parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Crave Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoy Crave because it's small and cozy and has a wonderful ambience. The food is different and creative. The service is great. Those Brussels sprouts for the small plate were delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It has been a month or so since eating at Crave and what a delight we had last night. A fabulous new seasonal menu and great desserts. I always come away wanting to go back for more. The wait staff are always welcoming, friendly and eager to please.
Thanks Eddie, Anderson and Timmy.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to Crave for restaurant week dinner on a Saturday evening. The place was very busy but that did not detract from the attention and service we received. The atmosphere was very friendly and warm. We had a great meal, one of us had the vegetarian lasagna and one had the pork special. We shared and both were amazing. The appetizers were really good as well. Desserts were lovely. We really felt like the restaurant week special was a great value. We brought our own wine which they graciously decanted for us. Now seeing their newly expanded wine list we won't bring it in the future as they have such an expansive list. Anderson and Eddie were wonderful hosts and we had a great time. I highly recommend dinner here.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, all about the quality and presentation. A must try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food. Never disappoints. Been here 3 times for dinner in the past year and it's nice and cozy with a good bar area for a few drinks with friends/co-workers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Absolutely would recommend "Crave" the food was fantastic, The staff was friendly and helpful. Seriously everything from my perfect Manhattan to the fun desert was spot on.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Went there during restaurant week and didn't realize that they were only doing the restaurant week menu with no regular menu options. This posed some issue for a member of my party who had dietary requirements, but our waiter was extremely accomadating and the chef even ended up preparing a non dairy dessert option for her so it all worked out fine. Everything was delicious, and I will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful meals. Unique and great cocktails with some hand made ingredients. We had the Ahi Tuna and Pork Belly to start. Great tastes and prepared well. Then we had the Scottish Salmon. Delivered with a soft flaky inside and a beautiful glaze outside. Perfectly done unlike the typically overcooked and dry fish in other places. The pork shoulder was tender with a great sauce on it. The creamsicle desert was superb. We will go back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was excellent and so was the food. Everything we ordered was fresh and tasty. It was my first visit, but I will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our second visit to Crave and it was worth every penny once again. Place can get a little loud as the acoustics may not help them, but that being said, the restaurant delivers in everything else. There is a lot of details on the room, bathrooms and tables that let you know that they care about the whole experience. Meal was fantastic, perfectly balanced flavors and even desserts (often an afterthought in many places) were of great quality. I found service to be really helpful and trustworthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing presentation of the food. Great flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating . Food was excellent as well, will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fabulous food. I've been to Crave on a number of occasions and with each visit I realize why I come back and just how much I enjoy it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Highly recommended. Food was excellent and the service was attentive without being overbearing. Nice decor in an intimate setting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service here is always great. Food was always consistent but as of recent has been hit or miss. As I said, waiter was fantastic, attentive and accommodating and a pleasure to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is the fourth time we have dined at the Crave in the last 18 months. Every time we have had excellent cuisine and discussed the fabulous meal at home. Never once have we been disappointed and the dining fee is definitely in line with the superb dining experience. Definitely go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food, amazing cocktails, fantastic service. What more could you want?

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic find on a short trip to Poughkeepsie. Location and menu different. Loved the Flourless Chocolate Cake and freshly baked focaccia Bread. Wow!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our waiter Anderson was top notch. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu and how the food was prepared. The food here is always outstanding. ... everyone should give this place a try. You won't be disappointed. ...

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Loved the food and the service and decor were great!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very mixed experience. My octopus appetizer and pork osso buco were delicious. As it was cold out, my wife wanted a nice hearty juicy burger, what could be easier than that? Unfortunately, what came out was 2 flat hamburger gray patties that were overcooked, chewey and pretty tasteless. While not expecting a steakhouse burger, please chef you got to do better than serving what I assume is supposed to be an upscale version of a McDonald's Big Mac. We told our waiter but nothing was offered. Your food is really good but please rethink this prep and serve a burger that can stand along your other fine dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I enjoyed my dinner very much. My wife found it ok. Portions are small and a bit pricey. Dinner for 2,with 2 glasses of wine and 1 starter (and no dessert) came out to $100. It's a small, intimate place. We both agreed we'd go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food and service at Crave were outstanding! Our server was knowledgeable and very helpful. The food is incredible. My only issue was there were 3 people at the bar who were talking very loudly and really disturbed the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was creative, nicely presented, and pretty to look at. It seemed to fit well with the atmosphere in fall. It was a bit salty. Portions were small but enough. Ambiance was a little noisy. One could hear neighboring table's conversations. It was not quite cozy but pleasant.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was delicious. Tuesday dining tends to be several 3 course meals on special rather than total menu but specials were great. Enough food to be full without having to ask for a doggy bag

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I had an exquisite taste experience. Our favorite restaurant in the area for sure and we are foodies. Wins on all counts, including service.
Tim Dooley, our server, was helpful, so pleasant and an extra added plus to a most enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and service- wonderful meal! We went for restaurant week and couldn't have been happier!!
The drinks are inventive and delicious too. You can't go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The restaurant is small. By small, I mean tiny. The tables are almost on top of each other. However, the atmosphere is wonderful. I went for my first anniversary with my significant other and we were greeted with customized menus, which was wonderful. We were persistently asked if we were enjoying our meal, if anything could be done, etc. The food was phenomenal. All in all, aside from the space (which is typical of "classier" restaurants), I have nothing negative to say.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoyed this place very much. Food was very good. lovely presentation. Service was absolutely perfect. Bit of a lag between entree and dessert - probably due to kitchen. Went during restaurant week so a more limited menu. Recommnded

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Was looking for a pre theatre restaurant in Poughkeepsie and Crave consistently came up everywhere with good reviews so decided to make a reservation. Didn't know it was Hudson Valley Restaurant Week until we looked at the menu. Nice surprise! Three courses with difficult choices since they all looked so good. Both of us were very impressed with the creativeness, presentation and portions. And other than being a bit too salty (which other reviewers also mentioned), the food was perfectly prepared and quite tasty. Service was enthusiastic but a bit spotty (ex. we waited a long time for our cocktails and after taking two sips, our food started arriving. Ordered some wine with our main course and were almost finished by the time it arrived). Run entirely by CIA (Culinary Institute of America) grads, the place has a great chance for the success it deserves. Would definitely return and already recommended it to friends...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great meal! We all ordered different meals and everyone was very satisfied.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My wife and I last went to Crave about three years ago and we absolutely loved it - we were really looking forward to returning and our expectations were pretty high. We went on a Thursday evening with two friends during Hudson Valley Restaurant Week, which was really just a coincidence and I was a little disappointed to see that they ONLY offered their special restaurant week menu. However, it was still FANTASTIC! For the 3-course meal, I ordered the pork belly, the beef tri-tip, and "PB & J" dessert. They were all just perfect, I mean, absolutely perfect! The people in the kitchen at Crave are top-notch and have such a beautiful attention to detail. All four of us loved everything we ordered. So glad to see that Crave has not skipped a beat with the quality of their cuisine and it remains by far our favorite restaurant in the Hudson Valley. The only minor downside of the evening was that the place was packed (due to restaurant week, I believe) and it was pretty noisy in the relatively small room. However, the establishment handled the large volume of people as well as could be expected and the quality of the food obviously was NOT compromised one bit! Our server - I forgot her name but looked to be in her 20s and had dark hair - was very attentive and provided excellent service, despite the large number of customers. So, as you can see, WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND CRAVE!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was my birthday it was a depressing one but did not tell the reservations. Thankfully a friend called ahead to let them know.
When we entered we were greeted with the usual warm welcome and many happy birthdays. To top that my menu card had "Happy Birthday Peter" written across the top. This was such a nice touch that it changed my mood immensely.
The food was amazing, the roasted chicken is probably the best I have had. The pasta appetizer was light, al dente and dreamy.
Dessert are always wonderful and the PBmouse&Jelly Ice cream was lovely.
Thank you for turning around my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Four of us went to Crave for Hudson Valley Restaurant Week. I've wanted to try it for some time now. It's quite small and it seemed as a table was cleared off more customers were immediately seated. It was a Wednesday dinner so I don't know if they are normally that busy. It didn't seem that this hampered the service and the kitchen at all. It was a very successful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week and that was the only menu available which to me is genius! Do a few things well (in this case spectacular!) rather than incorporating a new menu (Restaurant Week) with a regular menu; sometimes dishes are not executed as well as they should be. Staff is attentive, but not pushy. Cocktails are inventive and reasonably priced. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was terrific. Manager was very accommodating in arrange for us to have "better table" since it was our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our third time at Crave, the first during HV Restaurant Week. We always like the ambiance because it is never too noisy to talk. This was no exception. The food this time, however, was not as exciting as it has been in the past. It was good but not worth traveling the hour each way that did. The food in the past was spectacular and well-worth it. The service was very attentive - perhaps too much - but the server who brought our food confused our order with another table's twice. It got straightened out but we thought after one mix-up she'd get it straight for the next course. Dessert servings were very small - which is OK - but almost too small to really get a taste, especially if you're sharing. We'll be back, but first we want to try other places in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We came for Restaurant Week dinner, which featured an excellent creative menu. In fact, Crave only offered the special menu through the promotional weeks, and there was abundant choice to please every palate.
We both had an appetizer of pasta with tiny clams (out of the shell), fennel and corn. lightly white sauced. It came out piping hot, perfectly cooked and gently flavored, a moderately-sized portion just right as a starter. There was a bit more salt than I liked, but my friend found it perfect.
One of us had the beef tri-tip, a more than generous serving, cooked exactly as ordered, with caramelized onions, fingerlings and sprouts. The other went with Scottish salmon with a caper buerre blanc, saffron arrancini and deeply roasted cauliflower. Yum in both cases.
Both the PB&J and chocolate mousse desserts were clever and tasty with little unique twists that lifted them beyond ordinary.
If you are a wine person, there's an interesting list grouped in 3 set prices. The Italian )white)wine made from Favorita grapes is good value, a good food wine and delicious, with a lingering flavor of bitter almond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food, great service, great value - Fabulous - as always!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We've never been disappointed by Crave! The food is always beautifully prepared, with a fine selection that features local products. The occasion for our most recent dining experience was Restaurant week, and the offerings were wonderful--a celery root veloute and a pork belly appetizer were wonderful; so too the tri-tip, salmon, and osso bucco entrees. Wines are reasonably priced, as are cocktails. Service was attentive and unhurried. Well worth a trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.