Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Crave Restaurant & Lounge

We strive to have every customer who walks through the doors of Crave to have an overall dining "experience" and leave impressed with the seasonal and regionally-inspired menus and chic decor that they will be excited to return again. The team of chefs, consisting of alumni of the Culinary Institute of America, aim to make Crave the most exciting restaurant in Poughkeepsie.

Located just under the entrance of the Walkway Over the Hudson, make a reservation for dinner or Sunday brunch and enjoy cocktails on our patio then take a walk over the Hudson and enjoy the views of our breathtaking Hudson Valley.

129 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Sundays 11:30-3:30

Cross Street:
Orchard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 452-3501

Website:
http://www.craverestaurantandlounge.com/

Catering:
Please view our sister restaurant and off site catering company, Lola"s Cafe & Catering at www.lolascafeandcatering.com.

Parking Details:
There is on street parking available right at the entrance to the Walkway over the Hudson as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. Take Orchard St. off of Washington St. to the first driveway on the right. Entrance to the patio of Crave is at the back right of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Craig Capano

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Crave Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Local Ingredients (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (7)
Casual (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I had a delicious meal on Wednesday evening. We sat on the patio which was nice.
The waiter was very helpful and friendly. Made some great suggestions. The food was delicious and well presented. I would highly recommend this place to a friend.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Once again, a wonderful meal at Crave. The food is exquisite -- the staff attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Gourmet quality selections and presentation. Tuesdays are a "good deal" night, where you can dine Prix Fixe for $35. Appetizer, ANY entree, and dessert. All were excellent. Soft shell crab offered this week was as good as any I've ever had. My wife's pork schnitzel portion was generous, tender and tasty. Lots of wine options, very reasonably priced by the glass, carafe, or bottle. Cocktail specialties offered. My wife said her Sidecar was the best she's ever had.
Energetic young servers were pleasant, and well versed in the menu, wines, and cocktails. Any questions they didn't immediately have answers for, they researched and returned with an explanation.
There appears to be a commitment to quality in all aspects of this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All the meals ordered were enjoyed. Service was prompt. This is a small place so tables are close together and it can be a bit noisy but, not so much that you couldn't talk to you dinning partners. There is an outside patio and it is very close the the Walk Across the Hudson Park.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really great food, quiet place and good service. I will go back for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Super wonderful food, awesome staff. Can't wait to go again. Love the smaller portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent dinner. The gnocchi with lamb ragout was delicious, and so was the duck breast. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the duck was served luke warm. Other than that a nice place with a great atmosphere. Recommended!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Two of us had delicious duck breast. Other enjoyed their dishes also. My chicken liver pate small plate was not traditional in the way it was seasoned and it was delicious. Generous salad appetizer - enough for sharing. Two servers were CIA grads who sometimes cook, and paid appropriate attention to us. I brought very old and very high end wines (although they have a decent wine list). The server knew how to properly extract a 30 year old cork. Also, while we expected to pay a corkage fee, the amount was quite reasonable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our meal was perfect from start to finish. Would recommend Crave. Fun atmosphere, intimate bar area and outside space also. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were seated at a poor location despite there being only 2 other tables seated. The service was terrible, and they charged to taste a wine before ordering a glass!! Service was horrible, the seating girl didn't even know who our server was, despite there being only 3 tables, when we asked for a table. The food was horrible. The wine had to be sent back it was so bad. Ugh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful service, splendid food! A great hidden gem under the walkway over the Hudson. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Delightful brunch with great service and specialty cocktails. Try the crab cake eggs benedict!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The service was outstanding, but the portions are extremely small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Crave is one of our absolute favorite restaurants. The menu and specials always feature local, seasonal cuisine. Portion size is perfect so you don't feel like you've overeaten. The ambiance is wonderful and there's a buzz in the air. Perfect for a night out with friends, family or date night. Make a reservation and enjoy!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

If Crave were in any big city in the country it would be impossible to get into. Food journalists would be effusive, diners would come from miles around. Everything about our recent meal there was superb; from great cocktails, silky gnocchi, exemplary steak tartare to perfectly cooked salmon and duck. The sides were playful and delicious and the desserts were unreal. Service was wonderful -- capable and very charming. I can hardly wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food. Very accommodating menu. Received excellent service from Patty. Thank you.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I love that Crave changes the menu weekly and never fails to delight.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service at Crave was fantastic! The food was incredible and the drinks were excellent. I would highly recommend this place! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I have dined at Crave several times, and it never disappoints! The menu changes with the seasons to offer fresh local ingredients. The food presentation is beautiful! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

In the past week, I have been to Crave three times, twice for dinner and once for Sunday brunch, which started up again for the season. On each occasion, the dining experience was superb, with great wine selections, delicious meals and impeccable service in a warm, welcoming and I would even say romantic atmosphere. Our first dinner was highlighted by a luscious Margaux, which was from a distributor's sample bottle and will hopefully be added to the wine list. Food selections over the three visits ranged from a brunch of crab cakes with poached eggs and delectable fried chicken, to skate wing with mussels and branzino. Dessert highlights included a yummy take on the classic creamsicle, to a palate-pleasing PB&J, consisting of concord grape sorbet and peanut butter mousse surrounded by a cookie crumble. Charming Anderson was our server each time, ably assisted by Tim, who remembered, after our first meeting, that we share the same first name. Crave is located at the base of the stairway leading to the Walkway Over the Hudson. It is one of the finest restaurants in and around not just Poughkeepsie, but the Hudson Valley. Reservations are recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We enjoy Crave because it's small and cozy and has a wonderful ambience. The food is different and creative. The service is great. Those Brussels sprouts for the small plate were delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

It has been a month or so since eating at Crave and what a delight we had last night. A fabulous new seasonal menu and great desserts. I always come away wanting to go back for more. The wait staff are always welcoming, friendly and eager to please.
Thanks Eddie, Anderson and Timmy.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to Crave for restaurant week dinner on a Saturday evening. The place was very busy but that did not detract from the attention and service we received. The atmosphere was very friendly and warm. We had a great meal, one of us had the vegetarian lasagna and one had the pork special. We shared and both were amazing. The appetizers were really good as well. Desserts were lovely. We really felt like the restaurant week special was a great value. We brought our own wine which they graciously decanted for us. Now seeing their newly expanded wine list we won't bring it in the future as they have such an expansive list. Anderson and Eddie were wonderful hosts and we had a great time. I highly recommend dinner here.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, all about the quality and presentation. A must try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food. Never disappoints. Been here 3 times for dinner in the past year and it's nice and cozy with a good bar area for a few drinks with friends/co-workers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Absolutely would recommend "Crave" the food was fantastic, The staff was friendly and helpful. Seriously everything from my perfect Manhattan to the fun desert was spot on.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Went there during restaurant week and didn't realize that they were only doing the restaurant week menu with no regular menu options. This posed some issue for a member of my party who had dietary requirements, but our waiter was extremely accomadating and the chef even ended up preparing a non dairy dessert option for her so it all worked out fine. Everything was delicious, and I will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful meals. Unique and great cocktails with some hand made ingredients. We had the Ahi Tuna and Pork Belly to start. Great tastes and prepared well. Then we had the Scottish Salmon. Delivered with a soft flaky inside and a beautiful glaze outside. Perfectly done unlike the typically overcooked and dry fish in other places. The pork shoulder was tender with a great sauce on it. The creamsicle desert was superb. We will go back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was excellent and so was the food. Everything we ordered was fresh and tasty. It was my first visit, but I will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our second visit to Crave and it was worth every penny once again. Place can get a little loud as the acoustics may not help them, but that being said, the restaurant delivers in everything else. There is a lot of details on the room, bathrooms and tables that let you know that they care about the whole experience. Meal was fantastic, perfectly balanced flavors and even desserts (often an afterthought in many places) were of great quality. I found service to be really helpful and trustworthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing presentation of the food. Great flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very good we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating . Food was excellent as well, will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fabulous food. I've been to Crave on a number of occasions and with each visit I realize why I come back and just how much I enjoy it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Highly recommended. Food was excellent and the service was attentive without being overbearing. Nice decor in an intimate setting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service here is always great. Food was always consistent but as of recent has been hit or miss. As I said, waiter was fantastic, attentive and accommodating and a pleasure to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is the fourth time we have dined at the Crave in the last 18 months. Every time we have had excellent cuisine and discussed the fabulous meal at home. Never once have we been disappointed and the dining fee is definitely in line with the superb dining experience. Definitely go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food, amazing cocktails, fantastic service. What more could you want?

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic find on a short trip to Poughkeepsie. Location and menu different. Loved the Flourless Chocolate Cake and freshly baked focaccia Bread. Wow!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.