Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Crave Restaurant & Lounge

We strive to have every customer who walks through the doors of Crave to have an overall dining "experience" and leave impressed with the seasonal and regionally-inspired menus and chic decor that they will be excited to return again. The team of chefs, consisting of alumni of the Culinary Institute of America, aim to make Crave the most exciting restaurant in Poughkeepsie.

Located just under the entrance of the Walkway Over the Hudson, make a reservation for dinner or Sunday brunch and enjoy cocktails on our patio then take a walk over the Hudson and enjoy the views of our breathtaking Hudson Valley.

129 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Sundays 11:30-3:30

Cross Street:
Orchard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 452-3501

Website:
http://www.craverestaurantandlounge.com/

Catering:
Please view our sister restaurant and off site catering company, Lola"s Cafe & Catering at www.lolascafeandcatering.com.

Parking Details:
There is on street parking available right at the entrance to the Walkway over the Hudson as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. Take Orchard St. off of Washington St. to the first driveway on the right. Entrance to the patio of Crave is at the back right of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Craig Capano

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Crave Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (7)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent. Since it was our anniversary, Crave called to find out our names and how many years. The menu was specially printed to say "Happy 10th Anniversary to us by name and we received complimentary glasses of Prosceo and were seated in a cozy window table.
The food was excellent and had nice spacing between courses. I especially appreciate that you dine here and that they are not bring out your entree two seconds after your appetizer.
The staff pays excellent attention to details.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious appetizer, entrée and great wine and beer selection. Next time we will skip dessert... It was sub-par. Service was mediocre but it was very busy and they seemed to be short one server. Definitely recommend this place for a date night or special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal at Crave was outstanding. The quality and presentation were superb! The agnolotti were the best pasta we have ever had. Would highly recommend Crave!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food, exceptional service. Reasonable priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was an excellent dinner! The service was great, everyone was so attentive. Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Best and most creative menu in Poughkeepsie area. Phenomenal service, great core menu and the specials were spectacular. Went for birthday dinner with my wife and daughter - full crowd, nice ambiance and a decent wine menu with capable recommendations for pairings by the staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Start to finish the meal was outstanding. Server and food was best in Poughkeepsie.
It's small and a bit noisy but that's the deal. The place has ~30 seats. Outdoor space adds a bit on the right night. Stroll on the walk way prior is a bonus.
Had table for 8 and it was just fine. Plenty of room for all 8. Seasonal menu was terrific. Had 3 different apps to share all amazing. Unanimously raved about the mains.
Recommend to anyone who is 8-10 or less. More would get tough to handle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always excellent , we keep returning for a good quality experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Crave was a great surprise. We were passing through the area and made a reservation based on other reviews but had no expectations. It was without pretense, the menu was inventive and the service attentive without being overbearing. I had monkfish wrapped in bacon, sitting atop corn and fresh peas in a ham broth. The flavors and textures melded beautifully. If we lived locally this would be a regular dining spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Went there for a birthday celebration they had menus that actually said Happy Birthday at the top, nice touch. Drinks are well made and good wine selection. The only odd thing was trying to get bread...it was funny the hostess skipped our table, but when we did get the bread it was hot and outstanding flavor. They have great gluten free options! Two of use had the duck which was by far the best duck in the area!! And the blueberry sausage was just as good! Nice salads, great food and good service. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great Tuesday prix fixe. Every course was mouth wateringly good. Service was friendly and efficient. Desserts were particularly good. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was amazing. Very good quality, staff exceptional

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

From appetizers to desserts, the meal was absolutely delicious. The Happy Birthday heading on the menu was a thoughtful personal touch. The icing on the cake was the outstanding service provided by Anderson. Crave is by far a 5 star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

On the plus side everything we had from a very limited menu was perfectly prepared. Steak and Monkfish were well seasoned and nicely presented.
Our pasta appetizer was taste and properly cooked.
Bread basket, left a lot of room for improvement. The big hit of the night was something we don't often order, dessert! They really hit a home run with the creamsicle and chocolate peanut butter mousse. Unfortunately, the experience was marred by the incredibly slow service and deafening noise level. This is a small room with highly skilled CIA alum in the kitchen but they have to get the front end fixed to earn exceptional reviews.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food, with slow but very cheerful service. Very accommodating for dietary needs. Lovely place!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed everything we ordered included the short rib pasta, scallops and duck. Attentive staff, nice portions and pleasant atmosphere. Book early if you want to sit outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have never been disappointed at Crave. The flavors in all the food there are excellent. Fresh vegetables are a part of every dish and simply but elegantly put together in unique combinations. We sat outside and it was lovely and quiet. Our server, Tim, was excellent and knowledgeable. This is my favorite place to eat in the Hudson Valley.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My hubby and I went to celebrate our anniversary. The staff were very thoughtful and made us feel special. We ordered a couple different appetizers, entrees, and desserts and everything was executed perfectly. The ricotta gnocchi was the best I've ever had. The duck breast was very tender and juicy, and the beef tenderloin dish was very flavorful. The staff was very attentive, the ambience was perfect, and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was excellent and creative from start to finish, and the service was excellent too. We ate outside on a beautiful June evening, which made our meal a more relaxing experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

A delicious meal, fantastic service and extra special touches (our name on the menu and a glass of bubbly) to celebrate our Anniversary. Will absolutely be coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

While visiting, I had dinner here and it was excellent. Above and beyond, the service was great. The two gentlemen working that evening were attentive, friendly and helpful without being at all intrusive. I went on industry night when they have a three course menu. As I had already had ice cream earlier in the day, I ordered a la crate without desssert. Both dishes were flavorful and well presented. Highly recommend Crave!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Have never had a bad experience. Food is incredible. Service spot on.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Original delicious memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Delicious food , great atmosphere and terrific service made this a wonderful experience. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Thoughtful and well-balanced cocktails; meals were attractively presented and food was fresh, flavorful and tastefully seasoned; deserts were exquisite; staff pleasant and attentive without being intrusive; comfortable decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

So delicious! The food and the service were amazing. We especially enjoyed the broccoli special and asparagus. While these two dishes had proteins, the vegetables shined and never tasted so good. The seafood entrees were exceptional. I had the scallops, and my wife had the halibut, and both were amazing. The drinks were one of a kind. We saw our server had made a green martini for another table, and when we inquired he was more than willing to make one for us. It featured gin, house made prickly pear melon syrup and mint and has me pondering a repeat visit soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Hands down one of the best dining experiences my husband and I have had. That is saying something as we love good food and both of us are in our 60's. All to say , we have eaten in a lot of restaurants! Food was inspired and the service was outstanding. All staff were graduates of the CIA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Outstanding meals and service, as always. Had a newcomer business colleague join us and he was quick to rave about Crave. It was a pre fixe dinner for "Industry Night" and between the sublime ricotta gnocchi and main courses of steak and schnitzel, followed by great desserts, we left very happy. As always, great and attentive service by Tim and Anderson. This menu was a great value for the quality of the meal: three courses for $35. If you haven't been to Crave and have a free Tuesday night, go and enjoy a special meal at a special price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always a good bet for solid service, an inviting atmosphere, excellent cocktails and wine selection and truly excellent food...great for a special night out or quick casual occasions coming off the walkway.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were visiting Poughkeepsie. Dinner was delicious. Wine excellent. Enterance to the Walk over the Hudson bridge is right there. Made for a great visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I have been told to check out Crave for some time and just hadn't been able to get there. I am so excited that we have found another wonderful restaurant in the Hudson Valley. The food was absolutely delicious and I tried some foods that I had never tried before. My chicken was amazing with small mushrooms and other vegetables that had a spicy taste but not too spicy. I requested a special drink with Fig Vodka and Elder flower liqueur and they made it just as I asked. They had a large wine list. Service was fast and the waiter very knowledgeable about the menu. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My wife and I had a delicious meal on Wednesday evening. We sat on the patio which was nice.
The waiter was very helpful and friendly. Made some great suggestions. The food was delicious and well presented. I would highly recommend this place to a friend.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Once again, a wonderful meal at Crave. The food is exquisite -- the staff attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Gourmet quality selections and presentation. Tuesdays are a "good deal" night, where you can dine Prix Fixe for $35. Appetizer, ANY entree, and dessert. All were excellent. Soft shell crab offered this week was as good as any I've ever had. My wife's pork schnitzel portion was generous, tender and tasty. Lots of wine options, very reasonably priced by the glass, carafe, or bottle. Cocktail specialties offered. My wife said her Sidecar was the best she's ever had.
Energetic young servers were pleasant, and well versed in the menu, wines, and cocktails. Any questions they didn't immediately have answers for, they researched and returned with an explanation.
There appears to be a commitment to quality in all aspects of this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Up and trendy in Poughkeepsie. The staff is attentive and menu creative. Will not disappoint

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All the meals ordered were enjoyed. Service was prompt. This is a small place so tables are close together and it can be a bit noisy but, not so much that you couldn't talk to you dinning partners. There is an outside patio and it is very close the the Walk Across the Hudson Park.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really great food, quiet place and good service. I will go back for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Super wonderful food, awesome staff. Can't wait to go again. Love the smaller portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Crave is an amazing place. From the food to the staff, everything was exceptional. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent dinner. The gnocchi with lamb ragout was delicious, and so was the duck breast. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the duck was served luke warm. Other than that a nice place with a great atmosphere. Recommended!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.