About Crave Restaurant & Lounge

129 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Our mission is to achieve such distinction in food and wine, service, atmosphere, and setting that the restaurant gains a first-class reputation for gastronomy and gracious hospitality, which will bring new and repeat customers year after year. We strive to have every customer who walks through the doors of Crave to have an overall dining "experience" and leave impressed with the seasonal and regionally-inspired menus and chic decor that they will be excited to return again. The team of chefs, consisting of alumni of the Culinary Institute of America, aim to make Crave the most exciting restaurant in Poughkeepsie. The style, decor, and ambiance of Crave brings Manhattan to Washington Street. Located just under the entrance of the Walkway Over the Hudson, make a reservation for dinner or enjoy cocktails on our patio then take a walk over the Hudson and enjoy the views of our breathtaking Hudson Valley.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Orchard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 452-3501

Website:
http://www.craverestaurantandlounge.com/

Catering:
Please view our sister restaurant and off site catering company, Lola"s Cafe & Catering at www.lolascafeandcatering.com.

Parking Details:
There is on street parking available right at the entrance to the Walkway over the Hudson as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. Take Orchard St. off of Washington St. to the first driveway on the right. Entrance to the patio of Crave is at the back right of the parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Crave Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Best Food
Westchester / Hudson Valley
3 More
Best Value
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Fit for Foodies
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Contemporary American
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Best Restaurants in Poughkeepsie ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (26)
See All
romantic (19)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (4)
good for groups (4)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food. We were there for the fi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food. We were there for the fixed price and it was great! Highly recommend. May be too noisy if full for a romantic dinner. Parking in the back is limited.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Let's just focus on the food. It's amazi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Let's just focus on the food. It's amazing. Filled with top grads from the local Culinary Institute of America, everything on the menu is fantastic. We were just there for the weekend but if we ever head back to Poughkeepsie, we will definitely return to this spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal and lovely service. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Another great meal and lovely service.

Amazing desserts and yummy cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous atmosphere~! We ate at the bar ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous atmosphere~! We ate at the bar and the food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent all around restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is an excellent all around restaurant--by which I mean food, service, ambiance, and value. The food was a bit experimental which I appreciate. For example, my beet salad was unique--chunks of beets, thinly sliced radishes, and yogurt. the yogurt made the dish a standout. My husband and I had steak and chicken, respectively--both of which were basic (and so prepared) but very good. A note on the service--I was a bit concerned with our first server, who just did not seem pleased to be there. HOWEVER, he was soon replaced by one of the loveliest servers I have had in any dining establishment. He was solicitous, knowledgeable, and, well, just very pleasant. Re ambiance, this is a casual restaurant with an impressive generational mix. I am in the older end of that mix and appreciate a restaurant that appeals to people in their 20's (who were sitting next to us) and 60's (which includes me and at least two other tables of happy diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very well made, creative food in a nice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very well made, creative food in a nice setting. Lovely staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant whether a special oc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Favorite restaurant whether a special occasion or getting together with friends. I love combining Crave with a walk on the walk way- my favorite date night! And let's not forget the great food, service and ambience! We are lucky to have this little gem so close to home. Always a treat1

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Crave was outstanding. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything about Crave was outstanding. Our cocktails, appetizer, entree and dessert were all top shelf. The atmosphere was lovely with a wall of brick and copper accents on the ceiling. Very Chic! Staff was courteous and friendly. We are from Massachusetts and can't wait to go back next year. Lovely and memorable evening at Crave.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner at Crave is always a wonderful ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Dinner at Crave is always a wonderful experience from start to finish. Our waiter was engaging & thoughtful and helped with all of our questions. The food, as always, was delicious and well presented. As much as I expect a great dinner at Crave, the service is the icing on the cake.

Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the ricotta gnocchi were pillows of perf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

the ricotta gnocchi were pillows of perfection. The flourless chocolate torte with mint ice cream perfect on a summer eve.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Participated in the Walkway 5K on Sunday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Participated in the Walkway 5K on Sunday. This was a great start to the weekend. We ordered four small plates. They all were excellent complimented by a white Rioja. We plan on returning when we come back to the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Poughkeepsie, NY, where yo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great find in Poughkeepsie, NY, where you will find many CIA graduates! There were four of us, and we all enjoyed all of the courses and excellent, attentive service - Another plus is that the restaurant is located at the base of the stairway to the 'Walk Over the Hudson' park, so perfect combination for a great meal, and a good walk !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Walk and Eat Great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great to go down the stairs and eat at this gem of a restaurant after taking the walk over the hudson!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good stuff!

 
 (München)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Extremely good bartender! Best Manhattan of my lifetime.

Food and service were exceptional. This restaurant is a must for

those serious about dining with pleasure and eating delicious and

innovative food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of restaurants in Poughkeepsie area ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Lots of restaurants in Poughkeepsie area are closed on Tuesday, Crave now has an Tuesday industry night and so we were happy to experience it. Savanah, the manager, was a true delight and added to the whole experience of great food, lovely wine and amazing desserts and all for a great value $35 prefix.

This was our first time at Crave and can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great service!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

There was nothing about the food that wasn't excellent. The quality of all of the entrees and apps we had was amazing. The waitstaff seemed a little scatter-brained, but there were no issues. Little stuff like getting menus together, seating us, then forgetting to leave the menus. Serving our bread, forgetting to bring the butter, telling us it would be a second, and then never coming back. These are NOT issues that will affect the review... just silly mistakes.

We got all the specials offered that night - they just sounded that good. Lamb, fish, even broccolini ceaser salad. Amazing stuff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner anytime

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I had heard a lot of good things about Crave, but this was our first time at this restaurant. Our server was very friendly and we never felt like we were unattended and she never hovered. She was there when we needed her and that's what we like. I had the pork chop and while it took a while to prepare it was well worth the wait. It was almost two inches thick and it came out juicy and tender. My wife had a fish special and she found that to be a wonderful dish as well. If you're looking for a place to sit and enjoy a meal, Crave is the place.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another awesome meal. One of my favorite ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Another awesome meal. One of my favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Crave and we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first time at Crave and we really enjoyed our meal. The restaurant is small but lovely, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. We would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A favorite. We are regulars and their ca ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A favorite. We are regulars and their catering business catered our wedding perfectly. We love the food, the ambience, the service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat the Appetizers and Watch Where You Sit

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The appetizers were good. Stick with them. Mixed drinks very good.

The main course a little dry. The Halibut was overcooked and the Pork had all the sauce on the potatoes.

I personally was overdosing on fingerling potatoes.

We entered and the restaurant was empty and were sat in a small table in the corner. The restaurant never filled up, it was a weekday. Yet we were squeezed in a corner under the speakers. Then a couple was put at the table for 4 right next to us when the whole place was still empty. Our waiter tried but they sat on our side, and shall we say, they were needy. The waiter had to spend much time with one of them and so his rear was constantly in my husband's face. Also it wasn't very delightful to have one of those patrons constantly looking over at our food and asking questions. In other words the tables were too close.

Lastly the check had a mistake on the price of a carafe of wine but we just wanted out.

So a bit of disappointment after reading the reviews. The waiter as I said tried, but the other one didn't give us bread until we saw people who came in after us and the couple next to us get bread and we had to ask. There is more but this is painful enough. I really dislike writing negative reviews but they were unaware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Great restaurant for a fancy dinner. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great restaurant for a fancy dinner. The food was delicious, especially the gnocchi and the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very few quality restaurants in Poughke ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very few quality restaurants in Poughkeepsie. This is very nice with thoughtful food choices and great ambiance

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I crave Crave!! Fabulous meal. We had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I crave Crave!! Fabulous meal. We had the beet salad loaded with toasted pistachio nuts, beets were cooked just right. A little bit of crunch in the center.. Minimal dressing but loaded with flavor and beautifully presented. The truffle, mushroom pasta was also filled with the aroma of truffles and variety of many many mushrooms. Pasta was cooked perfectly for me and the mushrooms and flavors made a sauce like coating on the pasta. Oh it was heaven. The scallops had a great sear on them with a moist and flavorful center. The service was attentive , friendly and very good. Prices were reasonable. Don't be put off by the neighborhood. Can't wait to go back. Too bad it is so far away from us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

In my opinion definitely the best food b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

In my opinion definitely the best food by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good flavors

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Overall, the food was excellent. Lamb rack prepared perfectly, Salmon was cooked nicely, but not the freshest. Arancini was a little bland (no herbs) and placing the sauces near what they were meant for rather than all bunched up on one side of the plate would have been helpful for the not so attentive ones at the table. For me the Ricotta gnocchi were very nice, but would have benefited from a sauce a little less heavy than the 'Sunday Sauce' - perhaps a parsley pesto.

More hits than misses, hence the 4 star rating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing. The service was ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was amazing. The service was exceptional and our waiter was knowledgeable and took care of our needs! I will be sure to come back and bring my friends next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still our favorite

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Crave remains outstanding - we have been enjoying it consistently the last 4 years each time we have visited our son at Vassar. The menu changes with the season. The food is made with excellent, fresh ingredients; it is creative and tasty and beautifully presented. The service and atmosphere are laid back and very pleasant. Nice selection of wines and of local beers. Excellent desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent , all around dining experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Visited Crave on a recent trip to Poughkeepsie and could not have been mire pleased. Creative and unique dishes and cocktails. Inviting atmosphere and attentive, wonderful staff. Will be back for certain and highly recommend Crave- just great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food- highly recommend!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Fantastic food- highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the relaxed feel of the restaur ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We loved the relaxed feel of the restaurant. The food was amazing - every dish! We started with the roasted beets which were flavorful alone, but the avocado and beet purees, pistachios and blue cheese kicked them up to another level. We then had the tagliatelle with wild mushrooms, truffle butter and a soft poached egg on top - outstanding composition of flavors. Our main course was the duck breast, which was cooked to perfection - so tender and delicious. The accompaniment of rye spaetzle, hazelnuts, sunchoke puree and pickled blueberries were shear perfection. With the owner's excellent knowledge of wine, he picked the perfect bottle. The delicious buttermilk panna cotta and perfectly executed cappuccinos completed our impeccable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crave is without a doubt one of our favo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Crave is without a doubt one of our favorite restaurants. From the service to the food, Crave outshines them all. Look forward to our next visit!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Our waiter was extremely knowledgable. Service was superb. Food was excellent. All dishes were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love to go to Crave! It's my fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I always love to go to Crave! It's my favorite restaurant with the best food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Craving more!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Passing through Poughkeepsie, and didn't realize it was restaurant week in the Hudson Valley, but boy, did we luck out!! Definitely a fine dining experience with a value price. The portions were generous, and the flavors fresh and delicious. Had a shaved veggie salad with a very light, creamy dressing, while the hubby had a delicious and decadent taglietelle with a truffled mushroom cream sauce....perfectly seasoned, subtlely truffled. Normally, I'd bypass the chicken entree as I feel chicken is solely on a menu to make a picky eater happy, but the accompaniments sold me. Butterflied half chicken over white beans and kale was out of this world. I don't think I've ever had better. Low country seasoned shrimp with creamy polenta put a smile on the man's face! Our waiter was attentive yet unobtrusive, with a gentle and friendly way about him. We'd go out of our way to go back to Crave. Excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Mixed Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We went to Crave to try the Hudson Valley Restaurant Week menu. The results were mixed. Excellent potato soup for one meal, while the samosa was truly inedible. The wait staff did not seem to notice that the plate of 3 samosas went back to the kitchen with 2 1/2 still on it. The hanger steak entree was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The homemade sausage and pasta was slopped in a bowl and could not have looked any more unappetizing. The wait staff was asked if the sausage was sweet or hot -- he said sweet and it was hot. An entree returned to the kitchen largely untouched. I have never been to a restaurant where absolutely NO ONE inquired as to the meal, but it happened at Crave.

The small venue should have lent itself to a very personalized dining experience, but the staff seemed very disinterested in the patrons. This was our first experience at Crave, and I don't know whether we will return. Pieces of the whole were very good, but the weaknesses really spoiled the experience. There are so many fabulous places near by that this will probably not get a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

If you are ever looking for a restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

If you are ever looking for a restaurant that specializes in new tastes, Crave is for you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We went to here for restaurant week. The food was good and we enjoyed our appetizers. The tagliatelle (mushroom and noodles with truffle butter) was great! Dinner was good as well. My husband had the hangar steak which was perfect! I had the vegetable paella which was okay. I would preferred to have more vegetables though as it was mostly just rice. The downfall for us was the dessert. I had the peanut butter mousse and it was very salty. There was no sweetness to it whatsoever. For dessert you usually expect some level of sweetness... even tiny bit... but this didn't have any. My husband had the buttermilk panna cotta which was just okay. I really wish we would have tried the chocolate torte because I bet that would have been great. This place is very small but decorated very nicely. The service was great and overall we were happy going here. It is more expensive that we are used to spending so we likely won't be back only because of the cost... but it is certainly within the normal price range for a restaurant of this type.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The hanger steak was fabulous

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

If I was told that I could only have one meal each day for the rest of my life it would be the Hanger Steak I had during restaurant week. Perfectly done with so much flavor. And I also really enjoyed the samosas appetizer... A ground corned beef in a crispy crust, with their sauce and pickle garnish. I've never had anything like it. I hope to find it on their menu again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Embodiment of Hudson Valley Restaurant Week

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I have wanted to participate in Hudson Valley Restaurant Week for several years and I finally did. I chose Crave based on their menu. As a vegetarian, I sometimes find menu options boring and predictable. As though the chef made it an afterthought. Not at Crave. The food was awesome and different. Being an intimate space, it was always easy to track my waiter down, but I never needed to because he popped over every so often but was not hovering or a ghost. Both qualities I absolutely hate in a waiter. I was there for 2 hours and never felt rushed to finish my meal and leave. I could have stayed for another hour and I don't think anyone would have said anything or implied that I needed to leave. I absolutely would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.