Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Crave Restaurant & Lounge

We strive to have every customer who walks through the doors of Crave to have an overall dining "experience" and leave impressed with the seasonal and regionally-inspired menus and chic decor that they will be excited to return again. The team of chefs, consisting of alumni of the Culinary Institute of America, aim to make Crave the most exciting restaurant in Poughkeepsie.

Located just under the entrance of the Walkway Over the Hudson, make a reservation for dinner or Sunday brunch and enjoy cocktails on our patio then take a walk over the Hudson and enjoy the views of our breathtaking Hudson Valley.

129 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Sundays 11:30-3:30

Cross Street:
Orchard St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 452-3501

Website:
http://www.craverestaurantandlounge.com/

Catering:
Please view our sister restaurant and off site catering company, Lola"s Cafe & Catering at www.lolascafeandcatering.com.

Parking Details:
There is on street parking available right at the entrance to the Walkway over the Hudson as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. Take Orchard St. off of Washington St. to the first driveway on the right. Entrance to the patio of Crave is at the back right of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Craig Capano

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Crave Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (38)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Every meal I’ve ever had at Crave has been superb, but tonight, it was exceptional, from the salmon crudo with a swath of avocado to my main course of halibut with beets and potatoes, to a deconstructed chocolate torte with mint ice cream, and a great bottle of Margaux. My beloved neighbors enjoyed their salad, the crudo, and gnocchi. We even got a special sampling of rosé sorbet. Crave has to be one of the best restaurants, not just in the Hudson Valley, but anywhere. Kudos and thank you, Chef Eddie, Anderson, Timmy and Patty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service, food & overall repeat experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and very accommodating. He worked graciously with one of our party who had extensive dietary restrictions and the chef prepared an entree that met all of the requirements and was delicious. We had a lovely experience at Crave.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very enjoyable anniversary experience, awesome service, great food and drinks, everything you can ask for in a small restaurant for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Crave is one of our favorite restaurants in Poughkeepsie. We hadn't dined there for some time, so we decided to go back to celebrate a birthday. As a special touch, our menus were printed with a Happy Birthday, message. Overall the food was excellent and the chef was very accommodating to a special request to change up one of our entrees. Our server was wonderful. He gave us great suggestions and descriptions of each course. We would highly recommend Crave!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Crave on a Tuesday night in December was not completely full, although there was a (quiet) office group of about 15 at the table next to us. The menu was all prix fixe, although the waitress indicated that one could order ala carte. We all did prix fixe, and were very happy with all three courses. My friend who is diabetic was able to get the chef to make a cheese and nibbles dessert plate, since the three desserts on the menu were all very sugary. My wife said that the steak meal she had ordered with the best meal she had had all year, which was saying a lot since we had done a lot of fine dining on a drive to Oregon and the Pacific Coast only a couple of months earlier (great food all along the way). My pasta Bolangase, an appetizer portion, seafood stew, and chocolate cake with ice cream were all terrific. I don't drink, but my friends had good things to say about the cocktails and wines, especially the Negroni. Great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2017

The duck was wonderful. Service was a little ragged at first, but improved as the evening went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

I have always heard great things about Crave....and now I know why! The service and food was even better than I expected. I don't know why I waited so long to go...but I will be returning very soon AND more often!! Not your typical eclectic restaurant...FANTASTIC!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The experience was great and the food was fantastic! I love everything about you his little gem of a restaurant in Poughkeepsie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Fun menu, great food, good drinks and wine, lovely service and ambiance!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Nice ambiance great drinks food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Excellent as always, but decent glass ( or bottle )of wine is way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Wonderful find in poughkeepsie ! Great food, gluten free friendly innovative menu and drinks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Another great meal at Crave! Excellent drinks! The bartender makes some of the ingredients himself! Food is just great- tasty, seasonal and lots of it! Not to mention the great desserts! The service is friendly and not rushed. We loved it all!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Crave is a wonderful experience every time we go. Keep it up!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

This was a Very good restaurant. The food, the service, and the atmosphere were all very good. The real disappointment was that is presents itself as a Superb restaurant. It fell short of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

The food was good but the portions were ridiculously small and the wait staff was pushy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The food, ambiance, service, staff were all truly outstanding. Every mouthful was sheer joy. I'm only sad that it's such a long drive for me, but that will not keep me from going back as often as I can.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great birthday brunch! Great service and great food and kudos to Ashley and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

A really cozy experience with great work staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

It was a little crowded and a little cold (temperature) as we were near the door but otherwise a great meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We went as part of Hudson Valley Restaurant Week and couldn't have been more pleased. The appetizers, entree and dessert were excellent. Our waiter and other wait staff were friendly and efficient. Plan to visit again real soon.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Wanted to try some new restaurants for Hudson Valley Restaurant Week, Crave was recommended by a waiter I was talking to while dining out at another restaurant. The restaurant was small with a lively bar, we had a reservation and we're promptly seated. The staff seemed a little unorganized, they gave us a menu , when they came back to take our order that's when they gave us the drink menu, we then ordered our drink and meal, the appetizer came before our drink, we both ordered the salad which was huge, it was delicious. I was eating my salad slow so I could enjoy my drink, a hand crafted version of a manhattan which was also delicious, I was disappointed because before I finished my salad, the entrée came! My friend had salmon and I had the pork, both were exceptional but portions were not consistent, my friends salmon was very small but the pork was huge, more than I could eat, when we were done I asked the waitress not to rush dessert, she apologized for the entrée coming so quickly saying there was a mix up in the kitchen and we may have gotten someone else's meals. Overall the food was excellent they just need to slow things down a bit, next time I will come early and have a drink at the bar and let them know not to rush my food , I wanted my dining experience to last longer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fantastic food, ambience, service. Our waiter, Anderson, was top-notch! Wine selection was excellent, and reasonably priced.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

It is about time I dined here!
Not diapponted with dining experience.
Service was great!
Food was tastey!
I wanted all the desserts!

It looks like outside dining would be great in season!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Amazing place for special occassion dinner, went for Restaurant Week and was thoroughly impressed as always.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

The meal was excellent from start to finish. The most memorable part of the meal for me was the tagliatelle with mushrooms and a poached egg. Didn't think I would care for the egg, but mixed in it enriched the dish and I want to try it myself at home. Desserts are particularly creative and with a variety of textures and flavors in each one. It is a bit cramped, but worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We enjoyed our Restaurant Week 3-course meals which are are very good value indeed. The menu was varied with new takes on standard combinations and altogether new combinations as well. I loved my steak, roasted brussel sprouts and smokey mashed potatoes. The portion size was so well planned--small amounts of the rich and dense food meant we were able to enjoy our lovely desserts. We were happy to get a very early reservation for conversation gets difficult as the room fills up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

I went to crave to celebrate my anniversary. It was a breath taking experience. The appetizers were magnificent. Very friendly. The dessert was amazing. Overall the food was great. Service was good as well. We were very happy for such a great dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Went there for Sunday brunch. We were a party of six. Everyone loved it. From drinks to dessert.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Had a Sunday Brunch before taking a bike ride on “The Walkway over the Hudson” pedestrian bridge and Dutchess County Railtrail. Very good variety of menu items to choose from and a very friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Very busy. Restaurant week so reduced, fixed menu.
Food very good. Could have been warmer. Good beer and wine selections.
Service friendly, but chaotic.
Restaurant very small. Tables to close together.
Would go back during off-peak time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The service and the food was fantastic with the farm to table concept. Definitely, I'll be back there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Wow, what great service and sublime food in a cozy setting. Had the cavatelli as a first, and it had just the right texture and taste. Husband's mussels were served with delicious sauce. My main course of roast winter squash on grains was as good as any meat course, plus more interesting! Decided to try the special cocktail before our meal, a 'Ragtime', made with rye, benedictine and fresh blackberry syrup; great success. High thee to Crave.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great food and drink! It is very relaxed dining. We had the great soup and the tagliatelle for appetizers and they were both delicious!
Next came some great salmon with excellent accompaniments.
Desserts were heaven- pb and j confection and a chocolate yummy ness!
Drinks were great too!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great dining experience. Food outstanding. Dining room small and crowded, but we had no trouble as a party of 5 with space or noise. And once the food started everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Crave never disappoints. I left wanting more! My only issue was that I felt a bit rushed to give up my table...it's restaurant week so it's busy. I get it, but at least give your guest 2hrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

My fiancée and I really enjoyed our experience at Crave during restaurant week. The food was outstanding and the beer/wine lists were definitely appropriate. The desserts had us talking the next day to all of our coworkers. Definitely worth the experience for anyone in town looks big for a fine meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Had my fiance's 30th birthday dinner here, as we were traveling in the Hudson Valley that weekend. I wrote in my reservation request that we were celebrating a birthday, which (in my experience), most restaurants just ignore. Not the case here. They had a special menu made that said "Happy 30th Birthday Sam", gave us a special table in the front of the restaurant, and all of the servers came by to wish him a happy bday. It was a wonderful experience. Great wine. Great service. Great food.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Outstanding. Celebrated a Birthday there and the menu was customizable with our name on it. Beyond impresssed. The food, staff and atmosphere continues to make this our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.