Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Crave Restaurant & Lounge

We strive to have every customer who walks through the doors of Crave to have an overall dining "experience" and leave impressed with the seasonal and regionally-inspired menus and chic decor that they will be excited to return again. The team of chefs, consisting of alumni of the Culinary Institute of America, aim to make Crave the most exciting restaurant in Poughkeepsie.

Located just under the entrance of the Walkway Over the Hudson, make a reservation for dinner or Sunday brunch and enjoy cocktails on our patio then take a walk over the Hudson and enjoy the views of our breathtaking Hudson Valley.

129 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Sundays 11:30-3:30

Cross Street:
Orchard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 452-3501

Website:
http://www.craverestaurantandlounge.com/

Catering:
Please view our sister restaurant and off site catering company, Lola"s Cafe & Catering at www.lolascafeandcatering.com.

Parking Details:
There is on street parking available right at the entrance to the Walkway over the Hudson as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. Take Orchard St. off of Washington St. to the first driveway on the right. Entrance to the patio of Crave is at the back right of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Craig Capano

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Crave Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (19)
Cozy (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Casual (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great Beer (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our first time to the Poughkeepsie area. We took a spur of the moment ride to the Walkway on the Hudson. I made a reservation for lunch at Crave. From the moment we entered I loved the atmosphere. The wait staff were extremely friendly. The food was very good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

FOOD WAS AMAZING!!! We ate EVERYTHING we were served! All 4 of us cleaned our plates completely - appetizers, dinner and dessert. HIGHLY recommend this restaurant - service was great, servers were very nice and attentive. One of the best tasting meals I have ever eaten.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner. Nice friendly and helpful staff. Nice varied menu from the last time we were there. Had fried blow fish which was very well presented with a wonderful sauce. Had the seafood stew which was full of tender pieces of seafood in a very tasty curry. The sticky toffee desert with passion fruit sorbet was really exceptional. I will return for another meal soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were 2 couples who each drove 90 minutes to spend time together and walk the beautiful Walkway. The latter didn't occur since it was a very rainy day but the get together and the food did not disappoint. We met for a Sunday brunch, had excellent Bloody Marys, a wonderful, eclectic choice of entrees, excellent friendly and very attentive service and because of the weather we stayed about 3 hours without any pressure to leave. The food was very good with very adequate portions and reasonable prices. I don't know if I would make that drive regularly for Brunch but if you live closer or want to spend time on the Walkway, the steps onto to which are about 50 yards away, it makes for a very enjoyable package.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great place for brunch - the omelette is exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nice staff - welcoming and friendly bar tender. Food was creative and delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We love Crave!! The food is just wonderful and the service is delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was delicious. The service was sporadic, but very pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had such a great meal! Very impressive with the details.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

First time visiting. Nice variety in menu. Enjoyed our experience and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Yet another great meal at Crave. We started with greens, lightly dressed and with candied almonds and bleu cheese, large enough for all three of us to share (the server kindly offered to bring extra plates). Our entrees were wonderful--a short rib special served over polenta, sole with arancini over sauteed brocollini, and a pasta special. We split a dessert that featured chocolate sorbet and creme fraiche. Cocktails were well prepared. Service was exceptional (perhaps because it was a slow evening?). We enjoyed it, as we have in the past. It's a great spot to dine, one of the best in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food, service, and atmosphere was perfect..
Recommending to friends and family..
We are definitely returning soon..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of the best meals, perfectly served in years. Most staff Culinary Institute of America and the smart and gracious service and creative and delicious cuisine benefit.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Wonderful place in Poughkeepsie. Creative dishes. Fantastic service ... Patty and Anderson made us and all other diners feel welcome and worked great as a team. Plan to go back soon.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Favorite restaurant in the area. Food is just amazing. Wait staff knows all about the preparations
and are happy to tell their favorites and listen to yours. The Tuesday night pre-fixe is a particularly great thing. Three of us had nine courses between us and passed everything. (I had nine delicious things to taste.) Will be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Crave is by far the best restaurant in the Poughkeepsie area. My husband & I celebrated our Anniversary & Crave made it even more special. Had Congratulations printed on the menu. Gave us a free glass of champagne. Quite the classy place.

Can't say one bad thing about this restaurant. Hope to go back real soon !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

This place has potential. We ordered 3 items--steak, fish and another meat dish. The fish came out best and was outstanding. My steak was cold albeit served on a warmed plate. I think they were aiming to have all the food come out at the same time. Salad and the bread were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The chef and wait staff went out if their way to accommodate my vegan, gluten-free friend. Service was great, food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Crave did an excellent job helping my wife and I celebrate our anniversary. They customized our menu insert to say Happy Anniversary to us by name, gave us complimentary champagne, and the food was excellent. Their price fixed menu on Tuesdays is a nice option to get a little more value out of your visit since its not a cheap menu otherwise, but the food on that menu did not skimp on quality or flavor.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My husband and I had the best brunch ever. The food is outstanding and the service is fantastic. Everyone is so nice, friendly and attentive. Since it was a nice day we were able to sit outside in what is a wonderful outdoor space. I highly recommend this restaurant. It is a gem that is not to be missed and right near the walkway over the Hudson so a perfect place to eat either before or after your walk.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food, creatively prepared. Everything was delicious. Appetizer of roasted beets, blueberries and "coffee crumble" was exquisite. Scallops and duck done perfectly. Inside tables are spaced well, and the decor is understated elegance -- but not fussy. A lovely outdoor patio, with couches, tables and nice lighting in a green setting next to the hillside for the "Walkway over the Hudson" is perfect for cocktails and conversation on a summer evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service was excellent. Since it was our anniversary, Crave called to find out our names and how many years. The menu was specially printed to say "Happy 10th Anniversary to us by name and we received complimentary glasses of Prosceo and were seated in a cozy window table.
The food was excellent and had nice spacing between courses. I especially appreciate that you dine here and that they are not bring out your entree two seconds after your appetizer.
The staff pays excellent attention to details.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Delicious appetizer, entrée and great wine and beer selection. Next time we will skip dessert... It was sub-par. Service was mediocre but it was very busy and they seemed to be short one server. Definitely recommend this place for a date night or special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The meal at Crave was outstanding. The quality and presentation were superb! The agnolotti were the best pasta we have ever had. Would highly recommend Crave!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Outstanding food, exceptional service. Reasonable priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was an excellent dinner! The service was great, everyone was so attentive. Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Best and most creative menu in Poughkeepsie area. Phenomenal service, great core menu and the specials were spectacular. Went for birthday dinner with my wife and daughter - full crowd, nice ambiance and a decent wine menu with capable recommendations for pairings by the staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Start to finish the meal was outstanding. Server and food was best in Poughkeepsie.
It's small and a bit noisy but that's the deal. The place has ~30 seats. Outdoor space adds a bit on the right night. Stroll on the walk way prior is a bonus.
Had table for 8 and it was just fine. Plenty of room for all 8. Seasonal menu was terrific. Had 3 different apps to share all amazing. Unanimously raved about the mains.
Recommend to anyone who is 8-10 or less. More would get tough to handle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always excellent , we keep returning for a good quality experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Crave was a great surprise. We were passing through the area and made a reservation based on other reviews but had no expectations. It was without pretense, the menu was inventive and the service attentive without being overbearing. I had monkfish wrapped in bacon, sitting atop corn and fresh peas in a ham broth. The flavors and textures melded beautifully. If we lived locally this would be a regular dining spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Went there for a birthday celebration they had menus that actually said Happy Birthday at the top, nice touch. Drinks are well made and good wine selection. The only odd thing was trying to get bread...it was funny the hostess skipped our table, but when we did get the bread it was hot and outstanding flavor. They have great gluten free options! Two of use had the duck which was by far the best duck in the area!! And the blueberry sausage was just as good! Nice salads, great food and good service. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great Tuesday prix fixe. Every course was mouth wateringly good. Service was friendly and efficient. Desserts were particularly good. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was amazing. Very good quality, staff exceptional

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

From appetizers to desserts, the meal was absolutely delicious. The Happy Birthday heading on the menu was a thoughtful personal touch. The icing on the cake was the outstanding service provided by Anderson. Crave is by far a 5 star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

On the plus side everything we had from a very limited menu was perfectly prepared. Steak and Monkfish were well seasoned and nicely presented.
Our pasta appetizer was taste and properly cooked.
Bread basket, left a lot of room for improvement. The big hit of the night was something we don't often order, dessert! They really hit a home run with the creamsicle and chocolate peanut butter mousse. Unfortunately, the experience was marred by the incredibly slow service and deafening noise level. This is a small room with highly skilled CIA alum in the kitchen but they have to get the front end fixed to earn exceptional reviews.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food, with slow but very cheerful service. Very accommodating for dietary needs. Lovely place!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed everything we ordered included the short rib pasta, scallops and duck. Attentive staff, nice portions and pleasant atmosphere. Book early if you want to sit outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have never been disappointed at Crave. The flavors in all the food there are excellent. Fresh vegetables are a part of every dish and simply but elegantly put together in unique combinations. We sat outside and it was lovely and quiet. Our server, Tim, was excellent and knowledgeable. This is my favorite place to eat in the Hudson Valley.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My hubby and I went to celebrate our anniversary. The staff were very thoughtful and made us feel special. We ordered a couple different appetizers, entrees, and desserts and everything was executed perfectly. The ricotta gnocchi was the best I've ever had. The duck breast was very tender and juicy, and the beef tenderloin dish was very flavorful. The staff was very attentive, the ambience was perfect, and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was excellent and creative from start to finish, and the service was excellent too. We ate outside on a beautiful June evening, which made our meal a more relaxing experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.