Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Craftsteak - MGM Grand

James Beard Award Winning Chef Tom Colicchio is emphatic when it comes to creating menu items that appeal to all lovers of fine food. Using only the finest ingredients from small family farms and other specialized venues, every dish bursts with flavor.

While this famous steakhouse offers mainstays like Kobe beef, specialties also include veal, salmon, lobster, and farmer's market vegetables.

3799 Las Vegas Blvd South
Las Vegas, NV 89109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm – 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm – 10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tropicana

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 891-7318

Website:
http://www.mgmgrand.com/restaurants/craftsteak-steak-house.aspx

Parking Details:
Valet & Self-Parking Available

For detailed information about parking at any MGM Resorts destination, please visit mgmresorts.com/parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Chapman

Private Party Contact:
Large Party Reservations: (702) 891-7433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Craftsteak - MGM Grand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for a Date (83)
Business Meals (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Notable Wine List (51)
Romantic (51)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for Groups (34)
Modern Decor (34)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Tasting Menu (25)
Fun (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Cozy (16)
Family Style (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
People Watching (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Casual (8)
Private Room (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 hours ago

Excellent 8oz A5 wagyu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined a day ago

Our new favorite! Best steaks that we've ever had. We highly suggest trying Craftsteak.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent restaurant. We love it so much we went 2 nights in a row. I tried the Shortribs the first night and the strip steak on the second night. Both were amazing. Service was too notch. We will definitely go again next time we go to Vegas.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was extremely slow, sommelier was not friendly, roasted T-bone was dry and overcooked (I asked for medium rare)...for the price I expected a lot more all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Toom way to long between courses. Plan on being there for 2+ hrs for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been watching Top Chef for years so, this was a chance to try one of Tom's restaurants. And, we loved it. The wait staff (Bree and Cici) were charming and helpful and just the right amount of attentive!

They recommended sharing ... e.g. split the salad and the sides and the desert. And, they were right. The portion sizes are great for sharing. We had separate steaks but, we could have easily split the steak as well.

They have a very good selection of Single Malt Scotch! And the dram, neat was very nice.

Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic dining experience... food was above average, staff were superb and the ambiance was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

AMAZING. Great food and wine. Highly recommend the Chef's recommendation / tasting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Always great and a MUST when visiting Vegas! Great steak and staff!! Skirt steak wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I'm on a personal quest to try every Steakhouse in Las Vegas and I have to say that Craftsteak is now at the top of my list. The meal was simply amazing from start to finish. As I walked up and started chatting with the greeting staff I mentioned to them about my quest and they all looked at each other and said please stop by when you are done, we can't wait to hear your thoughts. Well I did and I have been raving about my meal ever since.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Ever since I started watching Top Chef on Bravo, I've been dying to try one of Tom Colicchio's restaurants, and even though I live in LA, I haven't had a chance to try the one closer to home. So, I was super excited to try Craftsteak with my friend. The service was impeccable. Our server gave us his recommendations on the menu and since it was our first time at the restaurant, he suggested we try the Chef's Beef Selection Tasting Menu. It was such a great value, and it allowed us to try smaller portions of several of their dishes.

We opted to try their Avocado salad, Italian Buffalo Mozzarella salad, Lobster Bisque Soup (it was only mediocre in my opinion), 1/2 dozen raw oysters- we had the kumamoto and miyagi oysters). For the sides, we ordered the mushroom assortment, fingerling potatoes, and potato puree. Everything tasted amazing.

For our main entree, I ordered the grilled Ribeye medium rare, and my friend ordered the roasted New York Strip medium. Here is where everything went downhill unfortunately. The steak was TERRIBLE. I have eaten at a lot of steakhouses, and eaten a lot of steaks in my lifetime. This is by far one of the WORST steaks I've had at a fine dining restaurant. First of all, instead of bringing out a roasted New York Strip, a grilled New York Strip steak came out. My friend opted not to return the dish because she didn't want to waste food. The steak came out on a hot dish, sliced off the bone and covered in I believe a bourguignonne sauce. It looked beautiful, but the steaks were SO TOUGH and tasted so bland. When I looked at a slice of the steak, it had no marbling and no fat whatsoever. The sauce didn't taste particularly good, and the server never mentioned that the steak even came with a sauce drizzled on top of it.

It was so unfortunate that everything BUT the steak was delicious, considering it's a steakhouse. Would not recommend for steak and won't be going again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant-very nice. The food-excellent. Ambiance? Crap. The music may be "energetic", but it's no place for either a business or intimate conversation. They played the same loud music in the restaurant that was playing on the casino floor. We were there to celebrate our anniversary, not table dance. WAY TOO LOUD!!! If you're going to charge those prices, the entire experience should be worth it. Sorry, Craftsteak, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We just ate at Craftsteak last week, and had a very nice evening. We tried the seasonal avocado salad with pickled onions which was amazing. My wife, daughter, and I split the T-bone which was perfectly cooked. We also had the potato puree which was too runny for our liking - this was obviously the restaurant's version of mashed potatoes. We also had the green beans which were good. Overall, though, the food could have been hotter. For dessert we had the bread pudding which really was bland - definitely nothing special. As is typical for all Vegas higher end restaurants, the wine is at least 3X the retail price, if not higher, which really just feels like you're getting taken advantage of.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Yum & Fun! The best meal we've ever eaten. Service was excellent as well; professional yet relatable. Although on the higher end price wise, we knew this when we booked our reservation and it did not disappoint. Highly recommend the Wagyu Tasting. It gives you a great variety and plentiful portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Family Style, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was a fantastic meal. Flat Iron was outstanding and great value. Caesar sale had white anchovies which were a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Had the dry aged bone-in ribeye. I was expecting it to melt in my mouth at first bite, but it did not. Maybe I should have gone with one of the Wagu options, but when I saw the dry aged ribeye, I thought I didn't need to go the Wagu route for a really tender steak. Don't get me wrong, the steak was ok, but I was expecting fantastic and it did not deliver. I was very surprised how much resistance there was eating the steak. I was expecting the steak to be as good as Peter Lugers, but it wasn't even close. Would have given it 2 1/2 stars, but couldn't. So, I rounded up to give the benefit of the doubt. If I ever do go again, I am definitely going for a Wagu option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The steaks weren't as good as first time here. I really wanted a T-bone but was rather forcefully talked out of it by the waiter. I should have insisted! The food nor the wait staff were as good this time. And for 3 people and a six hundred dollar meal, i better be wowed. I wasn't!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Can't visit Vegas without a stop at Craftsteak for some steak tartare, among other things. Melt-in-your-mouth Wagyu filet mignon, pureed potatoes, even the asparagus and frissee salad were fantastic. No hit-or-miss here, it's all good with great, attentive, knowledgable service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, delectable food, and phenomenal service. Craftsteak did not disappoint. My husband and I settled on the Chef's Selection - Double R Surf and Turf, which was 3 courses comprised of 4-6 plates. Every plate was amazing, we wanted to eat everything, but I don't think it was humanly possible! We thoroughly enjoyed everything, and the monkey bread dessert ended the evening perfectly!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Not bad, not amazing - if given the choice choose grilled, the sides were "meh" the steaks were quality. Good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service is always impeccable - the sommeliers know their business and spend the time to pair the right wine for the meal - not just the most expensive one. The menu is excellent, and they go out of their way to make you feel like the most important table at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food. The servers are real professionals. Not easy to maintain this level customer service. Loved it! I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great meal with clients, couldn't finish all the food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

One of the best Steak restaurants in the USA . Also the risotto is outstanding. The service is also on par with any restaurant

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very overpriced and not worth the price paid. My family ordered steaks and were satisfied with. I ordered the surf and turf. Unfortunately my lobster tail was a huge disappointment. It arrived cold and the dipping butter that accompanied It was also cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Overall food was good, our steak was a little over cooked and could have been a bit more flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We're Las Vegas locals, so we have a lot more options and more time to choose where we want to eat. Generally, we stay away from the Strip because we can get great food for less money/hassle closer to home.

However, we were visiting the MGM Grand for a show, and I wanted to have a meal nearby. Craftsteak was fabulous. I expected the food to be great, but having great servers made it even better. They helped us decide how to order our meal to get the best experience, and it was more than enough food.

After the meal, the server said he could hold our leftovers while we went to the show, which was a pleasant surprise. The took all the food away and boxed it up, and it was ready to go when we returned.

It's a steakhouse on the Las Vegas Strip, so you can't be too money conscious and still be able to enjoy the meal. Be realistic and be prepared to spend quite a bit of money. You won't be disappointed if you go in knowing that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was beyond amazing, I will recommend it specially if you want steak. Thank you Tom for such amazing food, you are one of my favorite chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

They seated us in the bar area without asking if it was ok. Extremely noisy, drunk guests watching sports on tv. I was looking for a quiet dinner with my spouse. When you spend $250 in dinner for two people, you expect something nicer. We've been there before in the main dining room. Food and service is always top notch but the bar isn't a place for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We showed up exactly when our reservation was to be and were seated immediately, while being expedited past the line at the front end of the restaurant. Service was good throughout the entire night as we spent almost 2 hours in the restaurant and the food was great, with the exception of 1 dish who a member of our party didn't like the taste of the Wagyu he ordered. ordered 3 bottles of wine and starter cocktails and spent around $700 on 6 w/o tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Im very dissapointed with the manager.
My husband had a medical emergancy and had to leave by ambulance.
We did not get to enjoy our dinner. I would have thought for a restaurant of this high status the manager would have invited us back to enjoy another dinner since ours was ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was great. The server was knowledgeable and helpful with recommendations. We ordered family style, which was our only mistake. The appetizers and salads were wonderful. The problem with family style steaks is that within minutes all the food was cold and some of the steak had a lot of gristle. The restaurant definitely offers quality steak, I would just recommend not doing family style. The desserts were amazing. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 28, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. Food was excellent and the wait staff was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our food was very good and the wait staff was fantastic but we were a little put off by the photographer. After spending $250 on dinner we didn't need to be guilt tripped into spending $25 or $45 on printed photos that we didn't love and she did not take being told no well! She made us feel very awkward and made us leave one of the most expensive meals we've ever splurged on, on a sour note. It's an awkward outdated service that is really unnecessary....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The host staff was really struggling to get reservations seated. It took 10 minutes to get a menu and intro to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Took my wife to celebrate our anniversary. Good atmosphere, great service and the food was even better! I would definitely recommend. But, this definitely isn't your place if you're on a budget.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was, without a doubt, wonderful! However, what made this experience over the top was the wait staff. From beginning to end, they made my "dining experience for one" comfortable and I never felt rushed or forgotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I'm interested in your response to my recommending vegan for a steak restaurant.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

One of best restaurants in Vegas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We were very excited to eat at this restaurant, but became quickly disappointed when my husband's steak was cooked well done instead of medium. We received a quick apology from the wait staff and I ate alone as he waited for his steak to be redone. We had reservations and they seated us in the bar. It was so loud towards the end of our meal that we couldn't hear eachother. We will not return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.