About Craftsteak - MGM Grand

3799 Las Vegas Blvd South
Las Vegas, NV 89109
View Larger Map

James Beard Award Winning Chef Tom Colicchio is emphatic when it comes to creating menu items that appeal to all lovers of fine food. Using only the finest ingredients from small family farms and other specialized venues, every dish bursts with flavor.

While this famous steakhouse offers mainstays like Kobe beef, specialties also include veal, salmon, lobster, and farmer's market vegetables.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Tropicana

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 891-7318

Website:
http://www.mgmgrand.com/restaurants/craftsteak-steak-house.aspx

Parking Details:
Valet & Self-Parking Available

For detailed information about parking at any MGM Resorts destination, please visit mgmresorts.com/parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Kirchhoff

Private Party Contact:
Large Party Reservations: 7028917433x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wagyu Beef Tartare
Filet Mignon
Lobster Bisque
Rolls
Brussel sprouts
Frisee Salad
Ribeye
Monkey Bread
Chocolate Cake
Assorted Mushrooms
Red Velvet Ice Cream And Apple Cinnamon Sorbet
Cinnamon Monkey Rolls
Mashed Potatoes
Watercress And Cucumber Salad
Grilled Brentwood Sweet Corn
Dessert
Bacon Cheese Grits
Chocolate Souffle
A5 Wagyu New York Strip
Roasted New York Strip
Hen of the Woods Mushrooms
Caesar Salad
Potatoes Au Gratin
Parker House Rolls
Bread Pudding
Bone In Rib Eye
Golden Osetra Caviar
Braised Kale
Monkey Bread And Banana Ice Cream
A5 Wagyu Filet Mignon
Lobster Salad
Seared Scallops
Maple Bacon Butternut Squash Soup
Pineapple Upside Down Cake Cocktail
Ribeye Steak
Pomerita
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Wagyu Beef Skirt Steak
Ice Cream
Mushroom Medley
Caramari
Roasted Corn
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Monkey Bread And Pecan Ice Cream
Bread Loaf
Surf And Turf
Waygu Tartare
Potato Gratin
Grilled Prawns
Diver Sea Scallops
Roasted Red Peppers
Puree Mashed Potatoes
Asparagus
Grilled Angus With Potatoe Pure
Short Rib
Risotto With Ham And English Peas
Braised Short Ribs
Heirloom Cauliflower
Porterhouse
Arugala Salad
Sorbet
Coke
Prosciutto San Daniele
Free Ranged Chicken
Hanger Steak
Shiitake Mushrooms
Salad
Green Salad With Parmasen
Old Fashioned
Lemonhead Martini
Rasberry Martini
Mon"Key" Bread (Cinnamon Pecan)

Craftsteak - MGM Grand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (92)
fit for foodies (73)
good for groups (60)
See All
notable wine list (56)
romantic (53)
hot spot (30)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
neighborhood gem (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely superb ribeyes. Perfectly co ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely superb ribeyes. Perfectly cooked, excellent quality, and perfectly served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner with my son for his 2 ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great dinner with my son for his 21st birthday. This is not a restaurant at which to be timid with your pocketbook. Go with the idea of splurging and you won't regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for our sons 21st birthday was am ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner for our sons 21st birthday was amazing. The food and service was outstanding .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the most amazing dining ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the most amazing dining experiences I've had. The service, food and ambiance was amazing. The entrees are very large and I would recommend sharing the entree and getting extra sides. Fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Phenomenal service and food!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Phenomenal service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was hoping for better, as all those TV ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I was hoping for better, as all those TV Chef judges are so picky , I was hoping to see that perfection in their restaurant. I didn't.

In the MGM Hotel, design of room seemed to control the noise well.

I had the T-Bone , cooked perfect, and nice presentation. But far from the best steak i've ever had.

Wife had lobster, Was under cooked a bit , and not much flavor.

Menu had many offerings for sides. Heirloom carrots very tasty but undercooked

and very hard to chew. Potatoes were cooked proplerly

Service was fair. Wine list was extensive, but that's not a big deal to be.

I am glad we went , but probably will not go back.

If this was a game show, I would ask them to pack their knives and go.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful and made our night of celebrating even more fun. She even gave us a personalized complimentary desert! Even when we asked her to split the check a million ways she smiled and said no problem. We ordered a wide range of food from salmon to chicken to steak. Everyone was above satisfied. If she recommends it- eat it. You won't regret !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For an "upper end" steakhouse the food w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

For an "upper end" steakhouse the food was sub par. My wife's filet was nothing great and sides were very average. For the price, I expected much more. The place looked fine, but I should have taken a clue from the group behind us that were their baseball hats while dining. I'm not sport coat and tie guy. I am all for comfort and casual, but baseball hats??? I don't know, just wasn't that impressed after being to Delmonico and Prime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been to Craftsteak many times. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We have been to Craftsteak many times. The food was delicious. We split everything which keeps the cost down but the bill was still $170 for two.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was ok. Nothing special. I don't th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was ok. Nothing special. I don't think it was worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This is an absolutely tremendous restaur ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is an absolutely tremendous restaurant! I enjoy all of the their specialties: Lobster Bisque, Waygu Skirt Steak, Potato Puree, Corn, Monkey Bread. I can't think of anything better! The service is normally spectacular, this time it was okay but not great, I felt a tad bit rushed but this is just me being picky. It is expensive but it's excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent steak-house, fabulous sides. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent steak-house, fabulous sides. The steaks were beautifully thick and our party varied from rare to medium well... All perfectly executed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was delicious, especially the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Everything was delicious, especially the potatoe purée. Quite pricey but we expected that. Would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I travel a lot for work and frequent man ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I travel a lot for work and frequent many high end steak houses in multiple countries. The ribeye at Craftsteak was the best steak I have ever had. The marbling throughout the cut provided amazing flavor and it was cooked to perfection. I highly recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good understanding employees we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Really good understanding employees went above and beyond to take in care of the problems which come with some food. Some food was great some wasn't. Overall my experience was OK but I wouldn't go there again. For a 4 1/2 star restaurant to many problems and I couldn't enjoy or relax at my dinner because of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The BEST steak in Vegas! Don't miss out ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The BEST steak in Vegas! Don't miss out if in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and amazing service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious food and amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Porterhouse for 2, and it was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had the Porterhouse for 2, and it was great! Service was excellent!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best experience at Craftsteak ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had the best experience at Craftsteak last evening. Two families including a vegetarian and the diversity of the food made it easy to fulfill everyone's palette. Our waiter, Kevin, made our experience all the better! He was phenomenal and recommended that we do the fixed dollar Chefs beef selection menu which included salads, sides, fish, steaks and dessert! He was accommodating in changing it up to include a couple of fish entrees. We had a vertical tasting of beef! Amazing! Standout dishes included the spinach salad and the frisée salad; the corn (best ever!), grits and whipped potatoes and all the beef was cooked to perfection so can't say which was better. He recommended our 20 year old boys make a "sandwich" using the rolls, adding beef and potatoes and dipping it in the au jus from the short ribs. I though they died and went to heaven! And then there were desserts! Monkey bread, lava cake with a chocolate peanut butter center, cheesecake, ice cream and the most delicious sorbets (personal fave was the orange basil). We would go back in a heartbeat and request Kevin again! And the wine list was spectacular too. This was an A+!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent meal as always exceptional ser ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

excellent meal as always exceptional service great atmosphere best steak experience on the planet "you don't know you better ask somebody"!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit and it continues ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was our 3rd visit and it continues to be our favorite steakhouse restaurant in Vegas. We sit at the bar and the bartender (we think his name is Larry) tells us what's good and let's us split the sides so we can try more things. Last night we shared a rib eye that he suggested we top with Oscar crab and asparagus. It was something you remember for a long time and compare all future steaks to - and they won't measure up! Then fries and delicious green beans. We were about to make a wine choice mistake and he let us taste 2 to see if he could convince us to change our minds. Of course, he was right! You have to walk to the back of the MGM to find this gem, but it is well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall our group of 4 enjoyed Craftstea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Overall our group of 4 enjoyed Craftsteak. The food was delicious, and we all liked our wine and cocktails. However, the service left a little to be desired. We had two servers - Peter and Sharon. Sharon was great, very friendly and attentive. Peter was so quiet we could barely hear him. He pushed a lot of the salads and sides on us (which were delicious) but when it came to the meat choices he had very little to say. It would have been nice for him to explain the different preparations and cuts, because the Steak is and should be the focal point of this restaurant. After we ordered our main course, I don't think we saw him again. We will be back because we thought the food was good, but I hope the service is a little better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I enjoyed this establishment over 4th of ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I enjoyed this establishment over 4th of July weekend and it was amazing 😍! I came to Las Vegas for my birthday celebration and it was great...I enjoyed serveral dishes; lobster bisque, short ribs, risotto, summer corn and the panacotto. I washed each delishcious delight down with a 19th and Fab and those were unbelievable! The ambience was perfect and wait staff very attentive and friendly! I can not wait to go back and try some of the wagu beef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Risotto was exquisite. The temps on all ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Risotto was exquisite. The temps on all of the steaks were on point. Wine suggestions were perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bread was to die for and one of the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The bread was to die for and one of the best steaks I've ever had. The carrots were terrible but the scallops, potatoes, and steak were perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was amazing. Easily the best me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was amazing. Easily the best meal from start to finish I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Steak was very disappointing. Their sign ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Steak was very disappointing. Their signature ribeye was not very marbled. I asked for medium rare and it was overcooked to medium. They replaced it but I guess they rushed it so they didn't rest the meat and the juices didn't get reabsorbed by the meat. $60 wasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We did the tasting menu and let the wait ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We did the tasting menu and let the waiter pick our selections. It was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a wonderful late dinner at the bar. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Had a wonderful late dinner at the bar. Great scotch, helpful service and great food.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Craftsteak is always spectacular in serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Craftsteak is always spectacular in service and quality of dishes. My all time favorite restaurant when in Vegas! Little pricey but well worth the cost for the experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing experience from start ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had an amazing experience from start to finish. The waitstaff was lovely and so attentive. The food was incredible - the chef's tasting is a must. Nothing but praise for this wonderful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time I eat here, I'm reminded on h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Every time I eat here, I'm reminded on how good the food is.. Great service as usual. Best steak place in Vegas!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The veggies, apps, and sides were all gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The veggies, apps, and sides were all great. Portion sizes were a bit large. I don't eat steak but was with 5 friends that do and they really enjoyed it. I had the fish, which was just OK, but I can't really complain about that in a steak place. The noise level was low, which was very refreshing to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ordered the porterhouse for 2 cooked med ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Ordered the porterhouse for 2 cooked medium, but the steak was closer to rare, lacked flavor, and tasted extremely gamey. The upside was that the sides were very good.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We were expecting a great meal but were ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were expecting a great meal but were let down by our dining experience. The wait staff seemed too busy to tend to our needs such as keeping our water glasses clean or checking on us after our food was served. I would not return, it is not worth the value for the experience we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Wow - Celebrity chef, nice location, nic ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wow - Celebrity chef, nice location, nice dining room BUT STAY AWAY !! Evening starts with waitress pushing my three clients to order the $260 steak - yep 10 oz steak for $260 !! Not just one steak at these ridiculous prices but several different small steak items in excess of $200. Then the wine stewart arrives to suggest a nice wine. I know my wine and indicate I don't need his recommendation. After I order a $100 cab that just received a 90 plus score from Parker, he says in from of my guests that he "would suggest a much nicer bottle than I chose". Yep you guessed it - $325 for a bottle available in the local supermarket for $50. After we order our VERY expense steaks they come in a small copper pan. We have to transfer that to our own plate? Yep, just a steak - no parsley, vegs or anything. Was the steak good - yes but not as good as any Morton's or Ruth's Chris and MUCH more expensive. We ordered an asparagus and potato side. Asparagus was not trimmed at all - tough ends still attached? I could go on about the dessert and salads but you get the idea. Stay away - much better options available.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

This is my fourth visit to Craftsteak, a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This is my fourth visit to Craftsteak, and I was not disappointed. I will advise diners that you can easily share a steak; my Daughter and I had 2 appetizers, one steak and two sides, and it was way too much, but who wants to decide? Our servers were awesome and it was a totally enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, really good food, grea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant, really good food, great service. Just a little pricey, otherwise would be 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night for my family and very kid f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great night for my family and very kid friendly. Mats and Olga were the best and have my two boys 3-9 am experience they soon will not forget. Food was great and sides were enough for the whole table. Would highly recommend to anyone as this was a great evening and staff made it even better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive staff; excellent food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Very attentive staff; excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.