Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

4.2
304 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Bar Seating
  • Casual
  • Great Beer
Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 52 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-9699
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Todd Garrigan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Bay Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.
Additional
Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 304 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Tuesday burgers and beer. Well worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The food was tasty and the service was great. I highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Everything was GREAT! Reuben was FAB!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Had wings and potato bombs and the pork belly sandwich. Great selection of beers.
Wonderful service by Rachel.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Enjoyed a late lunch of beet/goat cheese salad and a Reuben. Hubby said his sandwich was good. I, thankfully, opted to add chicken to my salad. It was on a big plate but maybe had half a beet sliced on it, very little salad, and 1 fried goat cheese. The server took our order, someone else brought our food, and we flagged the server down for our check. Overall the food was tasty but I probably would only go for the beer next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We went to eat at Craftsman and the greatest thing about our experience was our wait person, Rachel. One of us has celiac disease and Rachel was incredibly sensitive to this. Unfortunately, we ended up just having drinks and an appetizer, as the gluten free options were very limited. We will definitely go back next time in Charleston. Rachel is an incredible asset to their restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Wife and I came here for our last Southern dinner before returning to New Jersey and it was just what we were looking for; good beer, relaxed atmosphere, and some good food to go with the beer! Great variety of local Charleston beers, as well as other craft beers from around the country and international. If you're looking for a more relaxed setting (many of the good restaurants in Charleston have more formal dress codes) with great beer, music, and food, this is your place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food was just ok. Our server was great. Very friendly and trying her hardest but the whole operation was really slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great service, wonderful selection of craft beers and delicious appetizers! I recommend the Squid Fries!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great beer selections, and good food. Had the crispy taters and ale bribed chicken sandwich. Both were great, the only thing I didn’t love about them was the very thick bacon (it’s just not my thing). But overall a great find on open table!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We were looking for a great meal for our family with a great craft beer selection. We found both here and truly enjoyed our evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was well priced. The portions of the food are decently sized so you get yours money worth. Would recommend as a place with nice prices and good portions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Stopped here on Mother’s Day after vacation in Kiawah. Beer selection was amazing, but ran on the expensive side depending on your choices. Food was good and there was lots of it. I’d recommend for a fun night out at a beer joint.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Stopped in for dinner, and was initially a little worried that restaurant was essentially empty at 6:30pm. Quite surprised by meal, really very good. Drinks were perfect and wait staff did fine. Maybe a later night place? Will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had a very yummy meal (the cheeser is highly recommended) and good beer. Our waiter David was very sweet and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Craftsman Kitchen is a very cozy spot just off Bay Street. Great ambience and all the different beers you can imagine. The food is very good. The Calamari app is very different and really good. I definitely recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

My sweetie & I went there for the first time when we visited the historic district in downtown Charleston. This was my first visit to Charleston. Being in the historic district, restaurant prices are kinda steep.

We were early for our reservation & we were seated right away. Place was not busy & our table already had two glasses of water sitting at it. There is inside & outside seating. We were inside by the bar. Bar was large (about 22 seats around it).

Servers were attentive & professional. Limited menu (burgers, pizza (10" individual)), some side items. I ordered a burger (no bun) & a side of green beans in garlic ($10 for the beans). They were a bit under-cooked & I couldn't see any garlic on them. I mentioned this to the server & she brought them back to the kitchen. The bowl was quickly returned w/plenty of garlic & a bit more cooked. My sweetie ordered the cheeseburger pizza (& ate 1/2). He was full & it wasn't exactly what he was expecting. Other places that have cheeseburger pizza have a bit more ingredients (as in lettuce, tomato). This one just had crumbled hamburg (which was pretty scant, I don't think it was a whole burger crumbled on it) & two kinds of cheeses (yellow & white--which was maybe cheddar & mozzarella).

Beer selection was ample & variety was good. They do offer "flights" which are 4 samples on a serving board (can get all darks, all IPAs, et cetera). It is a full bar, though.

There is no free parking near. We took an Uber. There is a parking garage next door but the restaurant does not validate. If I were to return, it would not be to eat (too pricey) just to have a beer.

Place was clean (including restroom) & furnishings were up-to-date.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Our waitress was very nice and attentive. However, it took a very long time to get our meals. We ate lunch and it appeared to us that this would be a goof place for evening bar food and beer. The food was okay but no one was excited about their choices and we had several different entrees between us. The vote was unanimous not to come back for lunch, but that evening beer and snacks would probably be ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The food was fabulous. The Street Corn is a must! Everyone in our group of 6 enjoyed their meals. Our waitress, Marigot, was wonderful and took excellent care of our group. The restaurant and all the staff created a warm, friendly, inviting atmosphere. The weather was lovely so we opted to sit in the open air courtyard. Beer drinkers will enjoy their extensive offerings. Will absolutely return on the next trip to Charleston!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great dinners spot. We ate all appetizers and had beers. All we're delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Cheese pull on the pizza was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Had a great meal with my daughter while visiting Charlestown for a college visit/tour. Great beer selection and a warm environment. Highly recommend it for a casual meal and great beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I brought a couple of friends to Craftsman after a show at the Dock Street Theatre. I love to come here late at night; it's one of the few places downtown that serves food till midnight. The menu is good, the food is tasty, and the service is prompt and friendly. Samantha took excellent care of us; quick with the drinks, too. My friend is a beer-lover, so I wanted to impress him and his wife with the incredible beer list. I stick with the Low Fashioned.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had reservations and were given a table right at the door. Very distracting and rather cold with the door being constantly opened. The server was rather disinterested and not very attentive. The food was mediocre, the fried chicken sandwich in particular. It appeared to be a massive piece of chicken on a roll but when cut into, it was nothing but crust.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Went for a late night last stop. Beer flight was excellent and personal pizza was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

After walking through the unconspicuous front door, we were led to our table with the bar on one side of the room and a glassed-in atrium on the other. Fun space!! Service was fantastic. Had an awesome flight of local brews and the one of the BEST SANDWICHES I EVER HAD IN MY LIFE!!! It was the Crunchy Dame - BBQ pork belly, gruyere, cherry jam, mustard aioli, on an amazing brioche-type of bread with a sunny-side-up egg in top. The combo of sweet, salty, savory, tart and the crunchy-meets-soft texture was STELLAR! I couldn’t talk; it was one of those “please leave me alone while I bliss out on what is in front if me” moments. I wish we lived nearby!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We really enjoyed having dinner at this restaurant that is located in a great area of Charleston. Arriving before our reservation was good, as we were able to have some of the great beers from the extensive menu. The food was quite good and our group had a nice time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I can't really comment on anything but the level of service we received as we were never given the opportunity to sit down and eat, but I had to fill in the ratings in order to post this review.
I tried to be fair and offer some average ratings on everything but the service. We showed up at 6:15 for a 6:30 reservation. I totally understand that they couldn't seat us right then, but by 6:45 our patience had worn out. We were going to the theatre so we couldn't afford to wait any longer. There were a few 4-tops available, but they wouldn't seat us there because they were "reserved for someone else." The manager actually told us that reservations are just "an approximate time!" Not in my book. I did the right thing by making a reservation so the restaurant could plan and allocate their resources accordingly, but in the end, they didn't honor my reservation. We are locals and live down the street. We thought we would go someplace new, but I guarantee we won't be back. Instead, we went to one of our favorite places close by and they managed to accommodate us ... even without a reservation on a busy Saturday night. I never expect or ask for special treatment, but it's such a pleasant surprise when an establishment goes the extra mile to be of service. They recognized us and were more than happy to help us out in a pinch.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

It was a terrible experience! They were out of food and waited for ages for food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Best beer list in town. Cool menu items , especially apps. Server was great but food took way, way too long.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was Easter, I think they should have thought more about the holiday in the menus

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Our server was very good, the beer menu is amazing, the ambiance was nice, and the food was meh. Burgers, pizza, some other things. I mean the food was good, but not very creative. if you love beer, want a fun place, and aren't picky about healthy food you'd like this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Food was amazing! We all cleaned our plates! Drinks were a little pricey but their beer selection was great! Only real complaint was because we were seated by the door we kept getting a cold breeze and outdoor smells every time the door opened. Would go back again without a doubt!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The asian tacos were great. the best we tried. Wings were OK, potato appetizers a bit bland. The corn dogs were sort of dry. Wait staff great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was excellent especially for the price! I’ve had food nowhere near this quality at twice the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Fantastic menu, great execution and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My second visit was as good as the first one. I look forward to visiting again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Good beer selection, awful food. No seasoning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

This is a really great, change-of-pace restaurant! Pages of local beers and ciders, and a truly imaginative menu. Prices are reasonable and very good service. Music in the restaurant is certainly energetic, but the outdoor courtyard is pleasant for conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great selection of beers on tap, food is up scale bar food but good quality.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House