Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (17)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Fun (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wonderful, as always! We ask for "Agnes"; she's exceptional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was amazing. Can't wait to go back and drink some beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was really excited to try Craftsmen but was disappointed. There are sooo many excellent restaurants in Charleston and I don't think this is one of them. It's definitely better for the beer menu vs the dinner menu. I went with 6 people and tried a variety of the menu items. The spring rolls had a very smoky BBQ sauce on them that was overpowering. The ceviche was decent, but it was in huge chunks that were hard to scoop. The Brussels sprouts were overcooked/burnt. The chicken wings had this awful spicy dry rub that's more for ribs then wings. They were truly awful. However, the pizza was good and my friends that had burgers said they were excellent. Next time I may stop in for a beer, but that's it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and drinks. Portions small and a bit over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Beer list was dazzling, food was very good, but the service was inexcusably slow and inattentive, particularly considering that there were so few customers. We'll return -- but we'll eat at the bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Best craft beer selection in Charleston! The beer menu is vast... Great food to go along with the beer, as well. Terrific service, even on July 4. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were seated half an hour after our reservation time. Service was very slow. I would not go back on a weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great beer selection, service was a bit slow but there were a number of large parties. Great sandwiches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Agnes was a terrific help to us selecting beer & food combinations. Thanks; we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great food and beer- kids fine too - loved the pretzel dogs

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had the Lamb Burger. OMG. A taste sensation. The beer was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food! Have the house-made burgers (unique grinds!) and baby bratwursts. Beer flights also a great way to try new brews. Fun, friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

INCREDIBLE food, AWESOME Happy Hour ($5 flights, drafts and Appetizers), GREAT location close to Battery, CASUAL and fun atmosphere, and EXCELLENT staff and service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and drink, waitstaff was knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We had a great meal in a comfortable atmosphere. Patio was cute and looked comfortable as well though we didn't sit outside. We were there on a family vacation and all thoroughly enjoyed ourselbes. Great beer recommended and it was happy hour- even better.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Amazing waiter - great food - will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always, we had a great dining experience at Craftsmen. Great food and great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Burgers are great but we ordered a side of potatoes because our server told us the burgers did not come with potatoes. Low and behold, the burger shows up with potatoes! We could have sent them back or complained, but they didn't cost that much and we just didn't want to make a big stink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The beer list is extensive and categorized, which is helpful. The menu is inventive with lots of choices. The decor is pretty minimal but ok/funky with a small interior outdoor patio. We sat for a long time until a server, Harper, noticed no one was taking care of us so he did, even though it wasn't his station (or anyone's apparently). They comped our drinks, which was a good customer service move. The food was ok but not great. And getting our food took a long time; we were there more than an our before we got food. This may have been an off night. I had been there a few years ago and remember it was better than what we experienced last night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

When I went I had a reservation but really it wasn't necessary! There was plenty of seating and even a nice little patio in the back that is enclosed. They had a huge list of beers to choose from, and our waiter was awesome. He was extremely attentive and didn't skip a beat. The food wasn't what I expected but it was my fault because I rushed my own decision. I still enjoyed it! Great atmosphere and staff!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Creative and tasty food items and a large beer selection. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgable about all the beers. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Ahhhhhmazing beer selection and fantastic menu! Our waitress was fantastic too - attentive and helpful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A new find for us in one of our favorite cities! Food was excellent - fresh...creatively prepared topped off with wonderful beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I was really surprised at the combinations here (ravioli + crawfish?? YES!) and that they all went so well together. Whoever's in that kitchen is incredibly creative, almost to a point of risk, as I am a very adventurous eater and was not interested in a lot of their strange combinations. I was happy to see a scotch egg on the menu, and everyone in the party really liked their food, too. I'm pretty sure our server forgot about us though, since it took about 20 minutes to get our drinks out. Would probably go again, since it's very unique and I like the outdoor seating area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great Beer, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Craftsman Kitchen and Tap House was an excellent experience! It is located conveniently near the waterfront in downtown Charleston. The pizza is fantastic. The brussel spouts and broccoli were delicious and excellent portion sizes. The salads were generous and exceptionally done. The alcohol menu is amazing. We went at lunch and the restaurant was very kid friendly at that time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had to walk out. Reservations at 6 and by 7:40, we still hadn't had our meal yet. Waitress stated that Manager always overbooks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great beer bar in the heart of downtown. We really enjoyed the variety of beer offerings and the fantastic food. Everything was wonderful - will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We love Craftmans and go at least once a month. I suggested this to visitors that came into work and they not only went for lunch but surprised us and came for dinner the same day!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Loved our meal and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great beer selections. Enjoyed the flights. Bratwurst was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Patrick was quite accommodating. He brought several beer tastes based on our requests! Their homemade bangers in a pretzel roll w/ mustard and homemade pickle was DElish! I had a white vegetable pizza! The crust was not too thick and crust edges were just to my liking!

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our waiter/server was very patient and informative. We enjoyed his feedback and recommendations. Please give Benjamine a pat on the back.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The appetizer we tried was the brat and pretzels bites. It was just that , 3 tiny little sausage links microwaved on a pretzel with warm,dried out mustard for $11.00. I am sure the happy hour apps and other meals may have been better. On a more positive note, the beer was outstanding and our server was great! Will give it another try in the future.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Literally the worst food I've ever put in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were a party of eight during the Charleston Wine and Food Festival. They stayed in touch with us to be sure our reservation was in good standing twice. The food was a favorite with everyone in our group. The food was delicious, the craft beer selection outstanding, and the cocktails were great as well. Will definitely be back there next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Extensive beer list and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food, great prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was very good food! Tried the potatoes bombs and pulled pork rolls for shared appetizers. Shared the steak with my honey! We live in the neighborhood so would like for them to have ranch dressing to their menu !

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The staff was courteous and attentive. I had the Crunchy Dame
(BBQ Pork Belly, Gruyere Cheese, Cherry Jam, Mustard Aioli, Sunny Egg) - an amazing taste experience. Great meal in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This wonderfully located restaurant/bar has a cool vibe in an historic area. The extensive beer list included several specialty flights to choose from and our table ordered two flights and enjoyed the different tastes. The fish and chips were good, but not great (great local fish is available at many other nearby restaurants). Come for the beer and atmosphere, but don't expect an exceptional dinner. It is reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.