HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

4.4
259 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great Beer (12)
  • Casual (10)
  • Bar Seating (9)
Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 52 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-9699
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Todd Garrigan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Bay Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.
Additional
Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 259 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

They were very accommodating with indoor and outdoor seating. We asked to be moved inside when we realized how windy it was in the courtyard. This was my first visit to this restaurant. We will attend again and I have already recommended it to friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

Great place!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Very extensive craft beer listing. Our server was fairly new but was very helpful in describing the different beer flights. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Great service. Great beer. Great pizza! Thank you to our server for a pleasant dinner and great beer tasting.

Report
Helpful
Goodeats (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Casual beer lovers haven, so many choices! Food also outstanding, will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
Jamied (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Great service and enjoyable menu! Tasty brews! Will def be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

First timers. Our reserved table ended up being the high top closest to the door...on the coldest night in Charleston. Our server lacked any enthusiasm. The burger was just okay. To top it off, Just before we were about to pay, a bus boy returned the missing two chairs to our table. Could they not have waited until we left? It just felt as though we were unwelcome. Just a bad night, bad showing. Maybe next time.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We went for New Years Eve — very early reservation. We were told we’d have to wait for the table they’d assigned to us, even though we ended up being seated 15 minutes later at a table that had been empty all along. The service was average — very little enthusiasm for us, the food, etc. it seemed they were in churn mode, which isn’t so unusual on a night like that, but the place wasn’t busy at that point. The food was good, and of course, the beer list was insane. But the experience was less than great overall.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Great service. Outstanding beer selection but not enough local and regional selections.

Report
Helpful
vipGT8MD (Baltimore)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Service was quick to take order but food came very slow (45mins), burgers were suspiciously room temperature when they got to us.. pretty sure the waitress forgot about us. they added 20% gratuity up front so she must have felt she did not need to try ..won't go back

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

We loved it! It was very good...food was authentic and very good and the ambience was very authentic!

Report
Helpful
LindsayR (Orlando)
4.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

Great set-up, lively crowd. They were kind enough to be open on Christmas so that was great for a traveling couple. The pickle platter was full of flavor, the bruschetta was great but the prime rib seemed to be seared and a little bland, and we had to ask a few times for au jus. The drink selection was amazing and The bartender was swamped but as soon as it slowed down he was on top of his game!! Overall we would go back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

Nice time, delicious food. The service was prompt and friendly. We felt at home and enjoyed our evening very much.

Report
Helpful
MicaH (New England)
5.0  Dined on December 15, 2017

Our server Agnes was amazing and took the experience to the next level. She was super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable!

Report
Helpful
JulieS (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 12, 2017

Selection of beers is huge but this isn't just a beer bar. The food is creative and delicious. Casual and fun

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

One of the Best burgers I've ever eaten. Celebrating a friend getting married. Top notch, will definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on November 30, 2017

I love Craftsman for many things, but my top two are: Kitchen open late, and great service from Agnes. I don't drink beer, but my beer-drinking friends are extremely impressed by the extensive beer list. I usually order the Low Fashioned; love the Bourbon-soaked cherries. And the food is outstanding. This time I had one of the burgers; Delicious!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

Great food with a casual ambiance. I went on a weeknight so it wasn't very busy.

Report
Helpful
DiscerningDiner (Orlando)
3.0  Dined on November 23, 2017

Had our Thanksgiving lunch at this restaurant. For downtown Charleston, pricing wasn't bad. Huge variety of draft and bottled beers, including a number from local breweries and a rotating draft selection. Had some basic sandwich choices which were OK, but didn't really stand out. Probably enjoyed the potato skin appetizer the most, that was tasty and a nice start to the meal. I'd consider going back, but probably wouldn't go out of my way to do so.

Report
Helpful
Leapyr (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on November 11, 2017

Great beer flight options! Good food, kind and friendly waitstaff! Clean. Booth seats are low for table - not great for kids to sit at.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13