Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (25)
Casual (13)
Bar Seating (11)
See All
Fun (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great beer selections. Enjoyed the flights. Bratwurst was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Patrick was quite accommodating. He brought several beer tastes based on our requests! Their homemade bangers in a pretzel roll w/ mustard and homemade pickle was DElish! I had a white vegetable pizza! The crust was not too thick and crust edges were just to my liking!

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our waiter/server was very patient and informative. We enjoyed his feedback and recommendations. Please give Benjamine a pat on the back.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The appetizer we tried was the brat and pretzels bites. It was just that , 3 tiny little sausage links microwaved on a pretzel with warm,dried out mustard for $11.00. I am sure the happy hour apps and other meals may have been better. On a more positive note, the beer was outstanding and our server was great! Will give it another try in the future.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Literally the worst food I've ever put in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were a party of eight during the Charleston Wine and Food Festival. They stayed in touch with us to be sure our reservation was in good standing twice. The food was a favorite with everyone in our group. The food was delicious, the craft beer selection outstanding, and the cocktails were great as well. Will definitely be back there next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Extensive beer list and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, great prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was very good food! Tried the potatoes bombs and pulled pork rolls for shared appetizers. Shared the steak with my honey! We live in the neighborhood so would like for them to have ranch dressing to their menu !

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The staff was courteous and attentive. I had the Crunchy Dame
(BBQ Pork Belly, Gruyere Cheese, Cherry Jam, Mustard Aioli, Sunny Egg) - an amazing taste experience. Great meal in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This wonderfully located restaurant/bar has a cool vibe in an historic area. The extensive beer list included several specialty flights to choose from and our table ordered two flights and enjoyed the different tastes. The fish and chips were good, but not great (great local fish is available at many other nearby restaurants). Come for the beer and atmosphere, but don't expect an exceptional dinner. It is reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fun place for a casual dinner. The special burger, the El Jefe was different and very good. The beer flights were a great way to try different beers in the same taste profile.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding food at very reasonable prices, excellent beer selection, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Server was great! Lobster corndogs tasted just like something fried and good, but couldn't taste the lobster honestly although it has a huge peice in it. The squid lettuce wraps were good. I would like a nice fresh veggie slaw with it too or something. The pizza, esp the sauce was really really good. I'll be back for pizza and beer

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great beer selection! Love the flights. Food was good, well prepared and not to much.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service & we loved the flight packages to try several beers. The specials we had were delicious too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waitress knew her stuff and was terrific. We had a party of 8 and she was attentive and answered all of our questions!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the food and were very pleased with the craft beer list. We were disappointed, however, that the menu had changed and didn't include any local seafood. In fact, the only fish dish on the menu was (frozen) Haddock as fish & chips. In a city like Charleston I'd think that would be expected of most diners.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best burger I've ever eaten, with an excellent beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great beer on tap and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great and unique food with an absolutely incredible beer menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent Service, great beer menu and food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time, had a great experience. Good food, great beer flights, and fantastic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Had dinner here & it was great! Have the crunchy dame sandwich - it 's delicious & not something you see on everybody's menu. The house made cherry jam makes it even more special. Server Agnes was friendly & efficient - took great care of us. Would absolutely go again next time we visiting this city. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My family was visiting Charleston and decided to try this place. Great food and ambiance. Extensive beer list.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Came to Craftsmen at the last minute on Christmas when we hit a snafu with a previous reservation. Everything was top notch. We were seated immediately, the beer was tremendous, the food was outstanding, and the service couldn't have been better. Thanks for saving Christmas!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We found Craftsmen on the recommendation of Daniel, our waiter at Minero. Leave it to great servers to make great recommendations. Craftsmen bills itself as a tap kitchen... well named. Hundreds... yes hundreds of craft brews on tap, AND great food, AND great service. Our server Agnes made us feel like regulars. We started with Bites and Flights and finished with the Korean Beef, all incredibly reasonably priced. You are not going to find this place strollling Market or King. Cumberland is a rather dark street in the winter, not well lit, perhaps not the most inviting part of the Charleston... but once you enter the doors, you'll swear you'll be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

For Charleston, the food here was just OK. There are so many more dynamic food choices in that city. If you are a beer fan, however, this is definitely your place--literally hundreds of beer choices.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great spot for a quick, casual, tasty meal for a good value, wonderful beer list, (with flights to try several) and cocktails, no nonsense bar food w/ nothing pretentious. I'd go for the Scotch egg alone, but everything was fantastic.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food and service. Got a coupon for a free sandwich, made this a real value. If you are a beer snob this is the place for you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is a fun place for drinks and they have a great beer selection. The staff is friendly and efficient. We went there for Thanksgiving dinner and the food was mediocre at best. I'd recommend Craftsman for the bar and maybe a casual bite.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time in the courtyard. Service was perfect, the meal was fantastic for each of our 9 picky people and the beer menu was exemplary. Having been there for a special meal, we will now be returning for many more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here looking for a laid back Thanksgiving dinner while on vacation and that is what we got. Food was great, service was great, beer selection was amazing! I would highly recommend this venue!

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food here is wonderful and not your average bar food. We have been here several times and are never disappointed. They almost have a huge craft beer selection, draft and bottles. Great, friendly service every time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent beer selection. Very knowledgeable and helpful bartender

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Family was in town. Loved the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great beer selection, varied menu and everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Looked initially like a hole in the wall and we were a bit nervous but once you go into the main dining area it was fantastic. Excellent Low Fashioned cocktail and the food was amazing (pork belly sammie). Kaitlyn our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wow. Talk about a beer selection! Our waitress was so helpful and nice. The fish and chips were very good. My husband ordered the burger-he couldn't get past the pinkness from the pork, but I thought it was good. If you love beer this is the place for you.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We love Burger Night! Every Tuesday, you get a huge burger half off. Only $6! The farmhouse burger has Amazing flavor! It's so good that Burger night has become a weekly Tuesday tradition where we meet up with family and friends, catch up on what's happening, enjoy great beer and burgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.