About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (18)
fit for foodies (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
See All
late-night find (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (7)
romantic (3)
great for brunch (2)
special occasion (2)
notable wine list (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Taphouse, great place for beer and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great Taphouse, great place for beer and staff is educated to pair beer with food. Though food is definitely above standard bar fare, the menu is limited and was only good, not great. I would probably only return for beer and appetizers, rather than a meal. But no better place in Charleston to grab a brew.

food5
ambience5
service5

loved everything... nice beer selection, ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

loved everything... nice beer selection, really fresh salad, I got the Bahn Mi and my wife got some grilled or roasted fish (with a really hot kimchi). Everything was very good. Server knew the menu well and was friendly and attentive. Don't remember the noise level which means it wasn't obnoxiously loud for a pretty full restaurant/bar. Also doesn't feel like a "bar". Definitely is on our list of places to take visitors to show how great Charleston is.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

small portions

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

the place is deceiving. I've passed a few times and didn't go in cause it looked small and empty. The place opens up in the back with another huge bar and more seating. Great beer menu. Food portions were disappointingly small. Salmon and berries while very tasty was more like a brunch appetizer then a dinner meal. $120 for 2 adults and 2 teens a bit steep for the portion sizes. Not sure I'd go back for the food but the bar is cool.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unaware of this restaurant. We try to h ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Unaware of this restaurant. We try to hit different spots in Charleston each visit. Son went to CofC so here a lot. This was a great find. The food was great and the atmosphere cool. Looks like a great stop for late night as well. Waiter was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Underwhelming taphouse

Dined on April 29, 2016

We booked our reservation 2 weeks in advance and were promptly sat right next to the entrance (within 10 feet of the front door) even after requesting to be sat in the back room which had at least one open 4 top that we could spot from our table. We were told there were no other available tables. There was a decent selection of local and other craft beers at a good price. We ordered a pizza and a vegetable plate to split. The vegetable plate was enjoyable but the pizza (described as a pepperoni pizza with honey roasted tomatoes) was no better than a store bought Tony's/Red Baron piece of cardboard. Very disappointed. Also they seem to only take reservations for tables. We watched them turn away multiple parties at the door with 2 out of 3 open booths that remained empty for the hour we were there. So make sure to call ahead!

food4
ambience5
service3

Really outstanding. Great beer selection ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Really outstanding. Great beer selection, excellent beer bar foodie scene.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very friendly and helpful ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was very friendly and helpful!! I would definitely go again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Spot!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my mother here for her birthday and picked to sit outside on the scenic courtyard. It was a bit chilly, but the staff turned on the heaters for us, and we ended up getting the whole courtyard to ourselves all night. We sampled beers and loved the option of 8 oz. beers (so we could try double the amount!) rather than the typical 16 oz. The food was very innovative and we mostly ordered "beer food" or a few appetizers. If your diet permits, definitely try something with their house-cured bacon in it. That was a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a hit!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We started with the Crispy Potato Bombs--yumm!! Our mains were the Farmhouse Burger--delicious, Bahn Mi, which was pronounced, "excellent" and both the Mozzarella and Pepperoni Pizzas. The bread pudding was very tasty. The beer aficionados were extremely pleased with the beer selections and even discovered some new beer that they really enjoyed. There is certainly an adequate choice of wine and cocktails to satisfy most. A plus was that our waitress, Caitlin, was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient, making it a very pleasant evening!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, food & beer! Laid back and ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place, food & beer! Laid back and great quality food and beers. We were with kids and we sat in the patio. It was perfect! We loved the ambience and will definitely be back.

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Eh

Dined on April 1, 2016

We were hoping for a really neat dining experience, instead we barely got waited on and saw other people who ordered the same thing as us, after us, receive it before us. Overall we were not impressed and only stayed for the appetizer portion of our dinner and decided to go elsewhere. It's too bad, looked like they had a great beer selection and menu.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Local Find!

Dined on March 30, 2016

We found this place on a few sites as highly recommended. This was our first time to Charleston and really wanted to find a place that was fun, had good food and a good selection of local beers and we found it. Additionally our server was very good and also knowledgeable about the beer options they had available. We had originally picked a different restaurant but changed last minute and are so happy we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Good was excellent. Service was great bu ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Good was excellent. Service was great but took very long. Still, highly recommend

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best beer and burgers and very affordable too

Dined on March 29, 2016

There are several restaurants in Charleston that profess to have an impressive craft beer list. However, For the most part, until we went to Craftsmen, our opinion of beer choices in Charleston was meh. I could not get a draft IPA for the first 3 days of our visit , even though we went to a forgettable place on East Bay St our first night that actually had beer in its name. I saw good reviews for Craftsmen and noted that they had a half price burger night on Tuesdays. We were so happy to have found this place. First, we arrived about 6:45 pm and our lovely waitress with the tattoo on her arm ( she shares the same handwritten tattoo with her sister and brother- very sweet) told us we were there just in time for happy hour ( ending at 7). My wife and I shared an appy and we each enjoyed a flight of crafts for half price. The 4 IPAs selected for me were all ones I never tried. Delicious. My wife tried the mashes, all of which were flavorful and certainly delivere a "punch". At 7 pm, the Tuesday night burger night ( other hot sandwiches too) started. Half price and they were delicious. The Farmhouse burger with pork belly was great, but the patty melt was even better. My wife and I each enjoyed another pint and we were in beer-burger heaven. Great meal, all for about $30 for both of us. Don't miss this place when in Charleston, especially on Tuesday nights!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The staff was very. Accommodating .

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was great and portion size was average. Seats are wooden on the booths so not the most comfortable but I will bear it again for the awesome chicken n waffles

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food & Great Beer

Dined on March 24, 2016

We were in Charleston for a long weekend and very much enjoyed this place. Two of us had the burger, two had the pork tacos and one had the scotch egg. We were all very pleased with the food. They also have an extensive beer selection and all of us tried something we had never had from the beer choices and liked them all. Of the three dinners out that weekend in Charleston the Tap House was the best value.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great beer selection...food needs some work

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great selection in beer...something for everyone. Would be good for drinks due to selection and atmosphere. Menu sounds good, but taste is somewhat disappointing.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time once again!

Dined on March 14, 2016

2nd visit and had a great time once again. Very friendly service and unique menu that's really tasty. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Went here for dinner on a Saturday. The ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Went here for dinner on a Saturday. The service was great! However, they didn't have a wide variety of beers to select from. While the list was long, it was a lot of the same (mostly pale ales). The food was okay, not full of flavor. The portions were small. Looks to be an impressive restaurant but temper your expectations until the menu changes.

food5
ambience5
service5

We like to go to Craftsmen before plays. ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

We like to go to Craftsmen before plays. The flights of beer are always fun to try. The food is great. We had the nachos which were delicious ( not too spicy). I had the gingered salmon which was so refreshing. Great for a lighter meal choice. Staff is so friendly and willing to answer questions and offer suggestions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Craftsman was the best! Great local beer flights and food, unique ambiance, and very accommodating to our large group! Our favorite restaurant of the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good time

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a good time and the food and service were both good and will return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2

Great food, but had to wait over an hour ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food, but had to wait over an hour for it

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a group of 14 Friday evening for dinner. The staff was very accommodating and patient with our larger group. Our server, Agnes was awesome! She made great recommendations about the menu. The food, the beer selections, the staff. Everything was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great gourmet bar food!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great gourmet bar food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Writing this a little late, but we REALLY enjoyed our meal here. We went for Valentine's Day and could not have had a better experience! I wish I still remembered the young woman's name who was our server: she was FANTASTIC! Everything was perfectly delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was good. Prices were reasonable ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was good. Prices were reasonable. Food was delicious.

food2
ambience4
service5

It's was a little pricey for okay food, ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

It's was a little pricey for okay food, but the service was excellent. And excellent beer selection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We live in the downtown and are amazed at the wonderful surprises we still find. Loved the atmosphere. We were seated at our arrival, food was delicious and I appreciated the farm to table concept. Their happy hour specials gave us the opportunity to try several flights and all the appetizers. My favorite was the pigs ear crisps, but every entree was unique. This needs to become one of our regular stops.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great Beer selection!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great food! Great Beer selection!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

It was an American contemporary twist on a pub.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Lots of fun, great atmosphere with "bar food". It was an incredible value for downtown Charleston. Oh, and the beer was awesome.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

no food no service

Dined on December 26, 2015

45 minutes without seeing a waiter. Left after 2 hours without seeing food. Nothing was coming out of the kitchen. Terrible experience. Don't go here

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Even shorthanded & Even for Christmas Dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

Interesting southern/asian fusion menu. I don't typically go for that sort of thing, but last minute Christmas Day , we decided to try something a little different. Pleasantly surprised by the hip rustic atmosphere which was very welcoming and interesting use of more modern architectural elements in an older building in Market St location. Food was unexpectedly super yummy-- modern take on scotch eggs, spicy-ish potato "slider" with sour cream and a little crispy pork, fresh citrus-y green tomato salad, perfect burger, killer rich oyster stew. Forget it! All of this was absolutely wonderful--even if we did have to wait quite a bit, since some of their staff hadn't shown up for work (Christmas night). Our patience was rewarded, however and our server hustled and we were certainly happy HE had shown up for work!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great menu for foodies and beer lovers alike

Dined on December 14, 2015

Wonderfully, unusual menu...great service and the beer selection especially craft beers, is excellent. Service was great. Our waitress Agnes was wonderful! Foodies will love the sophisticated, yet simple, bar food menu. They are strict on not changing up beer flight choices but that's understandable and we dealt with it find. Great place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to hang out! Nice friendly s ...

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Great place to hang out! Nice friendly staff.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great beer selection!

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

Great beer selection!

food4
ambience4
service5

The Marines have landed ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

and Craftsmen could not have been more accommodating. We were participating in the Veterans Day parade last Saturday and I made reservations for 12 for our women Marine's group to enjoy a meal after the parade. Well, 18 showed up and the staff at Craftsmen did not bat an eye. First, it is noted that they were set up and ready for us to begin with - and since we were so wilted after the parade, they seated us quickly and got us all water. They quickly added more tables and chairs. With such a large group we tried several items. A fellow Marine and I ordered several appetizers to share: Scotch egg, squid fries, pickled vegetables, artisan cheeses, crispy potatoes w/garlic aioli, and the banh meatballs. Every one of those I would order again, but would make a meal out of the Scotch egg and pickled vegetables, seriously delicious. For my meal, I ordered the crunchy dame; I am unable to pass up pork belly, and truly was not disappointed. A friend had ordered the Chile Verde skirt steak, and I had a bite and it was awesomely good. I tasted another friend's burger, also delicious. At our table, I only heard two complaints; too salty for the wings and meatloaf. I did not taste either, so cannot attest to that. This is a place I look forward to trying again and a huge thank you to our hostess, waitress and the staff for their wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

A great find in Charleston!

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Thanks to Open table for helping us find this wonderful restaurant. We were in town for a short period of time and looking for somewhere unique , Within walking distance of all the attractions but off the tourist path. The waiter explain the menu and the beer list. We ordered many small plates and shared them. Each one was top quality and beautiful presentation

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3

Not planning a return visit

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Despite the positive reviews by previous diners we were underwhelmed. They had a nice selection of local beers. Food was just OK. The baby back ribs were tough. We should have sent them back. With a little more planning we could have done better than just OK!

food3
ambience4
service5

Great local beer

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

A group of 12 of us ate at Craftsmen Friday night during Hurricane Joaquin. The restaurant accommodated all of us and treated us very well. The best thing about Craftsmen, not surprisingly, is the extensive beer selection. Try as many as you can. You won't regret it.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.