About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (21)
vibrant bar scene (18)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
late-night find (14)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (10)
special occasion (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (3)
romantic (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The beer list is very impressive---I was ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The beer list is very impressive---I was able to get one of my favorite, small-production IPAs on tap---and the burger was outrageously good.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great eclectic menu to select from in a ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Great eclectic menu to select from in a friendly atmosphere. Would definitely go back. The Banh Mi meatball sandwich was outstanding as well as the Scotch egg.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great burger!!!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Went out with friends and everyone buoyed their meal. I got a patty melt with a fried egg and it was delicious!! I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Burgers

Dined on May 31, 2016

We both had the half price burgers. Cooked properly and were very tasty. The house mustard and mayonase were and extra flavor to the meal. They grind there own burger meat with some pork and that made it another different taste. It kind of was like a bacon burger in every bite.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer selection & good bar food with panache

Dined on May 30, 2016

Plenty of beers to chose from and many local options on tap. We had a good lunch -- butterbean and sweet potato falafel and hubby had the oyster po boy. Pretty plates and tasty too! Our server mentioned this is a hopping place for the late night crowd since their kitchen is open late. Many local servers come here when they leave work. There's a small courtyard too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a hidden gem that I am so glad w ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

This is a hidden gem that I am so glad we found because our friend (huge beer enthusiast) came to visit. We will definitely be back.πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great find in midst of Tropical Storm Bonnie!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We (my wife and I) reached Charleston for a memorial day getaway and landed in the middle of Tropical Storm/Depression Bonnie. Any ways - since I had made reservation at Craftsmen, we decided to we will not be beaten by the rain and went there for dinner. I would say we made an excellent choice by doing so. We loved the ambiance, the wait staff was great, the flight local beer was excellent, and the food was very good. All in all we had a very nice time at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on May 28, 2016

Awesome food. Recommended to us by a local; would go more if we lived here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful beer selection! Food was fanta ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful beer selection! Food was fantastic as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Taphouse, great place for beer and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Taphouse, great place for beer and staff is educated to pair beer with food. Though food is definitely above standard bar fare, the menu is limited and was only good, not great. I would probably only return for beer and appetizers, rather than a meal. But no better place in Charleston to grab a brew.

food5
ambience5
service5

loved everything... nice beer selection, ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

loved everything... nice beer selection, really fresh salad, I got the Bahn Mi and my wife got some grilled or roasted fish (with a really hot kimchi). Everything was very good. Server knew the menu well and was friendly and attentive. Don't remember the noise level which means it wasn't obnoxiously loud for a pretty full restaurant/bar. Also doesn't feel like a "bar". Definitely is on our list of places to take visitors to show how great Charleston is.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

small portions

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

the place is deceiving. I've passed a few times and didn't go in cause it looked small and empty. The place opens up in the back with another huge bar and more seating. Great beer menu. Food portions were disappointingly small. Salmon and berries while very tasty was more like a brunch appetizer then a dinner meal. $120 for 2 adults and 2 teens a bit steep for the portion sizes. Not sure I'd go back for the food but the bar is cool.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unaware of this restaurant. We try to h ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Unaware of this restaurant. We try to hit different spots in Charleston each visit. Son went to CofC so here a lot. This was a great find. The food was great and the atmosphere cool. Looks like a great stop for late night as well. Waiter was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Underwhelming taphouse

Dined on April 29, 2016

We booked our reservation 2 weeks in advance and were promptly sat right next to the entrance (within 10 feet of the front door) even after requesting to be sat in the back room which had at least one open 4 top that we could spot from our table. We were told there were no other available tables. There was a decent selection of local and other craft beers at a good price. We ordered a pizza and a vegetable plate to split. The vegetable plate was enjoyable but the pizza (described as a pepperoni pizza with honey roasted tomatoes) was no better than a store bought Tony's/Red Baron piece of cardboard. Very disappointed. Also they seem to only take reservations for tables. We watched them turn away multiple parties at the door with 2 out of 3 open booths that remained empty for the hour we were there. So make sure to call ahead!

food4
ambience5
service3

Really outstanding. Great beer selection ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Really outstanding. Great beer selection, excellent beer bar foodie scene.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very friendly and helpful ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was very friendly and helpful!! I would definitely go again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Spot!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my mother here for her birthday and picked to sit outside on the scenic courtyard. It was a bit chilly, but the staff turned on the heaters for us, and we ended up getting the whole courtyard to ourselves all night. We sampled beers and loved the option of 8 oz. beers (so we could try double the amount!) rather than the typical 16 oz. The food was very innovative and we mostly ordered "beer food" or a few appetizers. If your diet permits, definitely try something with their house-cured bacon in it. That was a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a hit!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We started with the Crispy Potato Bombs--yumm!! Our mains were the Farmhouse Burger--delicious, Bahn Mi, which was pronounced, "excellent" and both the Mozzarella and Pepperoni Pizzas. The bread pudding was very tasty. The beer aficionados were extremely pleased with the beer selections and even discovered some new beer that they really enjoyed. There is certainly an adequate choice of wine and cocktails to satisfy most. A plus was that our waitress, Caitlin, was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient, making it a very pleasant evening!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, food & beer! Laid back and ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place, food & beer! Laid back and great quality food and beers. We were with kids and we sat in the patio. It was perfect! We loved the ambience and will definitely be back.

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Eh

Dined on April 1, 2016

We were hoping for a really neat dining experience, instead we barely got waited on and saw other people who ordered the same thing as us, after us, receive it before us. Overall we were not impressed and only stayed for the appetizer portion of our dinner and decided to go elsewhere. It's too bad, looked like they had a great beer selection and menu.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Local Find!

Dined on March 30, 2016

We found this place on a few sites as highly recommended. This was our first time to Charleston and really wanted to find a place that was fun, had good food and a good selection of local beers and we found it. Additionally our server was very good and also knowledgeable about the beer options they had available. We had originally picked a different restaurant but changed last minute and are so happy we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Good was excellent. Service was great bu ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Good was excellent. Service was great but took very long. Still, highly recommend

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best beer and burgers and very affordable too

Dined on March 29, 2016

There are several restaurants in Charleston that profess to have an impressive craft beer list. However, For the most part, until we went to Craftsmen, our opinion of beer choices in Charleston was meh. I could not get a draft IPA for the first 3 days of our visit , even though we went to a forgettable place on East Bay St our first night that actually had beer in its name. I saw good reviews for Craftsmen and noted that they had a half price burger night on Tuesdays. We were so happy to have found this place. First, we arrived about 6:45 pm and our lovely waitress with the tattoo on her arm ( she shares the same handwritten tattoo with her sister and brother- very sweet) told us we were there just in time for happy hour ( ending at 7). My wife and I shared an appy and we each enjoyed a flight of crafts for half price. The 4 IPAs selected for me were all ones I never tried. Delicious. My wife tried the mashes, all of which were flavorful and certainly delivere a "punch". At 7 pm, the Tuesday night burger night ( other hot sandwiches too) started. Half price and they were delicious. The Farmhouse burger with pork belly was great, but the patty melt was even better. My wife and I each enjoyed another pint and we were in beer-burger heaven. Great meal, all for about $30 for both of us. Don't miss this place when in Charleston, especially on Tuesday nights!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The staff was very. Accommodating .

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was great and portion size was average. Seats are wooden on the booths so not the most comfortable but I will bear it again for the awesome chicken n waffles

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food & Great Beer

Dined on March 24, 2016

We were in Charleston for a long weekend and very much enjoyed this place. Two of us had the burger, two had the pork tacos and one had the scotch egg. We were all very pleased with the food. They also have an extensive beer selection and all of us tried something we had never had from the beer choices and liked them all. Of the three dinners out that weekend in Charleston the Tap House was the best value.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great beer selection...food needs some work

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great selection in beer...something for everyone. Would be good for drinks due to selection and atmosphere. Menu sounds good, but taste is somewhat disappointing.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time once again!

Dined on March 14, 2016

2nd visit and had a great time once again. Very friendly service and unique menu that's really tasty. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Went here for dinner on a Saturday. The ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Went here for dinner on a Saturday. The service was great! However, they didn't have a wide variety of beers to select from. While the list was long, it was a lot of the same (mostly pale ales). The food was okay, not full of flavor. The portions were small. Looks to be an impressive restaurant but temper your expectations until the menu changes.

food5
ambience5
service5

We like to go to Craftsmen before plays. ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

We like to go to Craftsmen before plays. The flights of beer are always fun to try. The food is great. We had the nachos which were delicious ( not too spicy). I had the gingered salmon which was so refreshing. Great for a lighter meal choice. Staff is so friendly and willing to answer questions and offer suggestions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Craftsman was the best! Great local beer flights and food, unique ambiance, and very accommodating to our large group! Our favorite restaurant of the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good time

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a good time and the food and service were both good and will return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2

Great food, but had to wait over an hour ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food, but had to wait over an hour for it

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a group of 14 Friday evening for dinner. The staff was very accommodating and patient with our larger group. Our server, Agnes was awesome! She made great recommendations about the menu. The food, the beer selections, the staff. Everything was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great gourmet bar food!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great gourmet bar food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Writing this a little late, but we REALLY enjoyed our meal here. We went for Valentine's Day and could not have had a better experience! I wish I still remembered the young woman's name who was our server: she was FANTASTIC! Everything was perfectly delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was good. Prices were reasonable ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was good. Prices were reasonable. Food was delicious.

food2
ambience4
service5

It's was a little pricey for okay food, ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

It's was a little pricey for okay food, but the service was excellent. And excellent beer selection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We live in the downtown and are amazed at the wonderful surprises we still find. Loved the atmosphere. We were seated at our arrival, food was delicious and I appreciated the farm to table concept. Their happy hour specials gave us the opportunity to try several flights and all the appetizers. My favorite was the pigs ear crisps, but every entree was unique. This needs to become one of our regular stops.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great Beer selection!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great food! Great Beer selection!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

It was an American contemporary twist on a pub.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Lots of fun, great atmosphere with "bar food". It was an incredible value for downtown Charleston. Oh, and the beer was awesome.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.