Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (26)
Fun (14)
Casual (13)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Tapas (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing waiter - great food - will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, we had a great dining experience at Craftsmen. Great food and great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Burgers are great but we ordered a side of potatoes because our server told us the burgers did not come with potatoes. Low and behold, the burger shows up with potatoes! We could have sent them back or complained, but they didn't cost that much and we just didn't want to make a big stink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The beer list is extensive and categorized, which is helpful. The menu is inventive with lots of choices. The decor is pretty minimal but ok/funky with a small interior outdoor patio. We sat for a long time until a server, Harper, noticed no one was taking care of us so he did, even though it wasn't his station (or anyone's apparently). They comped our drinks, which was a good customer service move. The food was ok but not great. And getting our food took a long time; we were there more than an our before we got food. This may have been an off night. I had been there a few years ago and remember it was better than what we experienced last night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

When I went I had a reservation but really it wasn't necessary! There was plenty of seating and even a nice little patio in the back that is enclosed. They had a huge list of beers to choose from, and our waiter was awesome. He was extremely attentive and didn't skip a beat. The food wasn't what I expected but it was my fault because I rushed my own decision. I still enjoyed it! Great atmosphere and staff!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Creative and tasty food items and a large beer selection. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgable about all the beers. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Ahhhhhmazing beer selection and fantastic menu! Our waitress was fantastic too - attentive and helpful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A new find for us in one of our favorite cities! Food was excellent - fresh...creatively prepared topped off with wonderful beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I was really surprised at the combinations here (ravioli + crawfish?? YES!) and that they all went so well together. Whoever's in that kitchen is incredibly creative, almost to a point of risk, as I am a very adventurous eater and was not interested in a lot of their strange combinations. I was happy to see a scotch egg on the menu, and everyone in the party really liked their food, too. I'm pretty sure our server forgot about us though, since it took about 20 minutes to get our drinks out. Would probably go again, since it's very unique and I like the outdoor seating area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great Beer, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Craftsman Kitchen and Tap House was an excellent experience! It is located conveniently near the waterfront in downtown Charleston. The pizza is fantastic. The brussel spouts and broccoli were delicious and excellent portion sizes. The salads were generous and exceptionally done. The alcohol menu is amazing. We went at lunch and the restaurant was very kid friendly at that time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had to walk out. Reservations at 6 and by 7:40, we still hadn't had our meal yet. Waitress stated that Manager always overbooks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great beer bar in the heart of downtown. We really enjoyed the variety of beer offerings and the fantastic food. Everything was wonderful - will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We love Craftmans and go at least once a month. I suggested this to visitors that came into work and they not only went for lunch but surprised us and came for dinner the same day!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Loved our meal and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great beer selections. Enjoyed the flights. Bratwurst was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Patrick was quite accommodating. He brought several beer tastes based on our requests! Their homemade bangers in a pretzel roll w/ mustard and homemade pickle was DElish! I had a white vegetable pizza! The crust was not too thick and crust edges were just to my liking!

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our waiter/server was very patient and informative. We enjoyed his feedback and recommendations. Please give Benjamine a pat on the back.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The appetizer we tried was the brat and pretzels bites. It was just that , 3 tiny little sausage links microwaved on a pretzel with warm,dried out mustard for $11.00. I am sure the happy hour apps and other meals may have been better. On a more positive note, the beer was outstanding and our server was great! Will give it another try in the future.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Literally the worst food I've ever put in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were a party of eight during the Charleston Wine and Food Festival. They stayed in touch with us to be sure our reservation was in good standing twice. The food was a favorite with everyone in our group. The food was delicious, the craft beer selection outstanding, and the cocktails were great as well. Will definitely be back there next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Extensive beer list and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, great prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was very good food! Tried the potatoes bombs and pulled pork rolls for shared appetizers. Shared the steak with my honey! We live in the neighborhood so would like for them to have ranch dressing to their menu !

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The staff was courteous and attentive. I had the Crunchy Dame
(BBQ Pork Belly, Gruyere Cheese, Cherry Jam, Mustard Aioli, Sunny Egg) - an amazing taste experience. Great meal in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This wonderfully located restaurant/bar has a cool vibe in an historic area. The extensive beer list included several specialty flights to choose from and our table ordered two flights and enjoyed the different tastes. The fish and chips were good, but not great (great local fish is available at many other nearby restaurants). Come for the beer and atmosphere, but don't expect an exceptional dinner. It is reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fun place for a casual dinner. The special burger, the El Jefe was different and very good. The beer flights were a great way to try different beers in the same taste profile.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding food at very reasonable prices, excellent beer selection, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Server was great! Lobster corndogs tasted just like something fried and good, but couldn't taste the lobster honestly although it has a huge peice in it. The squid lettuce wraps were good. I would like a nice fresh veggie slaw with it too or something. The pizza, esp the sauce was really really good. I'll be back for pizza and beer

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great beer selection! Love the flights. Food was good, well prepared and not to much.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service & we loved the flight packages to try several beers. The specials we had were delicious too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waitress knew her stuff and was terrific. We had a party of 8 and she was attentive and answered all of our questions!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the food and were very pleased with the craft beer list. We were disappointed, however, that the menu had changed and didn't include any local seafood. In fact, the only fish dish on the menu was (frozen) Haddock as fish & chips. In a city like Charleston I'd think that would be expected of most diners.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best burger I've ever eaten, with an excellent beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great beer on tap and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great and unique food with an absolutely incredible beer menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent Service, great beer menu and food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time, had a great experience. Good food, great beer flights, and fantastic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Had dinner here & it was great! Have the crunchy dame sandwich - it 's delicious & not something you see on everybody's menu. The house made cherry jam makes it even more special. Server Agnes was friendly & efficient - took great care of us. Would absolutely go again next time we visiting this city. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My family was visiting Charleston and decided to try this place. Great food and ambiance. Extensive beer list.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Came to Craftsmen at the last minute on Christmas when we hit a snafu with a previous reservation. Everything was top notch. We were seated immediately, the beer was tremendous, the food was outstanding, and the service couldn't have been better. Thanks for saving Christmas!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.