About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great spot for a quick, casual, tasty me ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great spot for a quick, casual, tasty meal for a good value, wonderful beer list, (with flights to try several) and cocktails, no nonsense bar food w/ nothing pretentious. I'd go for the Scotch egg alone, but everything was fantastic.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service. Got a coupon for ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food and service. Got a coupon for a free sandwich, made this a real value. If you are a beer snob this is the place for you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a fun place for drinks and they ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is a fun place for drinks and they have a great beer selection. The staff is friendly and efficient. We went there for Thanksgiving dinner and the food was mediocre at best. I'd recommend Craftsman for the bar and maybe a casual bite.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a wonderful time in the courtyar ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time in the courtyard. Service was perfect, the meal was fantastic for each of our 9 picky people and the beer menu was exemplary. Having been there for a special meal, we will now be returning for many more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here looking for a laid back Tha ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here looking for a laid back Thanksgiving dinner while on vacation and that is what we got. Food was great, service was great, beer selection was amazing! I would highly recommend this venue!

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is wonderful and not your ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food here is wonderful and not your average bar food. We have been here several times and are never disappointed. They almost have a huge craft beer selection, draft and bottles. Great, friendly service every time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent beer selection. Very knowledge ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent beer selection. Very knowledgeable and helpful bartender

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Family was in town. Loved the place.

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Family was in town. Loved the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Looked initially like a hole in the wall ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Looked initially like a hole in the wall and we were a bit nervous but once you go into the main dining area it was fantastic. Excellent Low Fashioned cocktail and the food was amazing (pork belly sammie). Kaitlyn our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow. Talk about a beer selection! Our wa ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wow. Talk about a beer selection! Our waitress was so helpful and nice. The fish and chips were very good. My husband ordered the burger-he couldn't get past the pinkness from the pork, but I thought it was good. If you love beer this is the place for you.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Burger Night! Every Tuesday, you ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

We love Burger Night! Every Tuesday, you get a huge burger half off. Only $6! The farmhouse burger has Amazing flavor! It's so good that Burger night has become a weekly Tuesday tradition where we meet up with family and friends, catch up on what's happening, enjoy great beer and burgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my brother's bachelor party. Se ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Went for my brother's bachelor party. Service was great, and accommodated our noise and annoying request for check-splitting acrobatics. Beer list is as good as you'll find.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the burger - server asked if "me ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ordered the burger - server asked if "medium" was ok and I said yes. Burger was not only not medium, it was not medium rare - it was rare. After a few bites of trying, I asked to have it cooked some more. It came back still not medium. Will not eat here again - just too many great restaurants to choose from to settle for average.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Craftsman is a really unique spot. The f ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Craftsman is a really unique spot. The food is great and not your standard burger and fries type of combination - it's creative. The service is incredible though, my glass was never less than half full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a good time here! Our waiter ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had such a good time here! Our waiter helped us make great choices including the Scotch Egg and Bahn Mi to enjoy with a flight of mash and an amazing chocolate IPA. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Craftsman Kitchen because of the ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Went to Craftsman Kitchen because of their large selection of local and other craft beers. Plesantly surprised with the creative and delicious food!

Tags: Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful beer list and food. We enjoyed ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful beer list and food.

We enjoyed several local beers with our dinner.

The burger was moist and flavorful.

The thin crust pizza with a sweet tomato sauce was tasty.

We enjoy coming into this restaurant each trip to Charleston.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was delicious. The service was ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was fast and friendly. The atmosphere was fun and upbeat.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find! Would never of found this do ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great Find! Would never of found this doing the normal walk & shop in Charleston but found on Trip Advisor, Reserved in Open Table ;).

Cool, laid back vibe with great selection of beers & nice selection of signature cocktails! Great food that was unique in combination & fabulous taste... Good portion sizes to!

We had the Jerk Pork tacos w/ pineapple salsa ( & not to sweet or fruity ) and the sweet potato local falafel pita! Summer Breeze is great for a light refresher with a kick! Go check it out!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing as always.

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place! Incredible Food! Outstandi ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great Place! Incredible Food!

Outstanding Beer Selection!!

Excellent Service by Agnes!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, extensive beer selection! ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food, extensive beer selection! Would come here again in a heartbeat... in fact we may be back again this week! I would highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate at Craftsmen with our family of 5. T ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ate at Craftsmen with our family of 5. The service was really great. Our server had great suggestions and descriptions. The beer selection was phenomenal. Overall it was a really fun night for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service. Food was good, but no ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good service. Food was good, but not competitive with some other hot spots. Good selection of beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

It's a great casual lunch place, I didn' ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's a great casual lunch place, I didn't feel like I needed to be dressed to the nines to be there which is great. Some of the other places downtown with a similar price point and menu have a different vibe and I like that this place is more rustic and chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolute must visit bar/restaurant if yo ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolute must visit bar/restaurant if you like beer. You will find hundreds of beers to select from. The food is absolutely wonderful. Had the burger and pizza and was absolutely amazed at the quality of the food. Best bar food I've had. The service was great. Our server was on point and was very friendly and knowledgeable.

If you are in downtown Charleston and are looking for a beer, definitely stop by Craftsman. I will guarantee you will find the beer you are looking for and will love their food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brought my three teenage nephews and nie ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Brought my three teenage nephews and niece. They really enjoyed the burgers, fried pig ears and squid fries. I had the scallops and my husband had the tacos, everything was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVED the hummus. Great place to try new ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

LOVED the hummus. Great place to try new beers and yummy bites. We went to happy hour and tasted 4 flights--one of the best deals I've seen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great value, cool spot, good bar food, a ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great value, cool spot, good bar food, awesome burger!

Excellent beer selection and happy hour, our server Agnes had a great personality and was attentive, will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambience, and great se ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, great ambience, and great service. Our waitress helped us decide on every part of our meal, from the appetizer and entrées and through their extensive drink list. All her suggestions were terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pleasant experience! We would go back. ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pleasant experience! We would go back. Good variety and quality of food. All in our party of six were pleased. Service was attentive and timely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was on a iPad device when we arr ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Hostess was on a iPad device when we arrived and did not acknowledge us when we arrived for an awkwardly long time. Waitress was slow and unfriendly also. Food tasted ok, but small portions. We had no silverware and could not get any because our waitress never checked on us or came back at all. Drinks ran dry and were never refilled. Left and went to another restaurant after paying. We are Local and will never go back. Embarrassed to have taken guests for such a poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Chicken and Waffles! The jerk tacos!!!

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chicken and Waffles! The jerk tacos!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

AC was out mid summer. Made it hard to e ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

AC was out mid summer. Made it hard to enjoy anything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The beer list is very impressive---I was ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The beer list is very impressive---I was able to get one of my favorite, small-production IPAs on tap---and the burger was outrageously good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great eclectic menu to select from in a ...

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great eclectic menu to select from in a friendly atmosphere. Would definitely go back. The Banh Mi meatball sandwich was outstanding as well as the Scotch egg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great burger!!!

 
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Went out with friends and everyone buoyed their meal. I got a patty melt with a fried egg and it was delicious!! I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Burgers

 
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We both had the half price burgers. Cooked properly and were very tasty. The house mustard and mayonase were and extra flavor to the meal. They grind there own burger meat with some pork and that made it another different taste. It kind of was like a bacon burger in every bite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer selection & good bar food with panache

 
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Plenty of beers to chose from and many local options on tap. We had a good lunch -- butterbean and sweet potato falafel and hubby had the oyster po boy. Pretty plates and tasty too! Our server mentioned this is a hopping place for the late night crowd since their kitchen is open late. Many local servers come here when they leave work. There's a small courtyard too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a hidden gem that I am so glad w ...

 
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This is a hidden gem that I am so glad we found because our friend (huge beer enthusiast) came to visit. We will definitely be back.👏🏼👏🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.