About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (19)
Casual (15)
Bar Seating (9)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The staff was courteous and attentive. I had the Crunchy Dame

(BBQ Pork Belly, Gruyere Cheese, Cherry Jam, Mustard Aioli, Sunny Egg) - an amazing taste experience. Great meal in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This wonderfully located restaurant/bar has a cool vibe in an historic area. The extensive beer list included several specialty flights to choose from and our table ordered two flights and enjoyed the different tastes. The fish and chips were good, but not great (great local fish is available at many other nearby restaurants). Come for the beer and atmosphere, but don't expect an exceptional dinner. It is reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fun place for a casual dinner. The special burger, the El Jefe was different and very good. The beer flights were a great way to try different beers in the same taste profile.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding food at very reasonable prices, excellent beer selection, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Server was great! Lobster corndogs tasted just like something fried and good, but couldn't taste the lobster honestly although it has a huge peice in it. The squid lettuce wraps were good. I would like a nice fresh veggie slaw with it too or something. The pizza, esp the sauce was really really good. I'll be back for pizza and beer

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great beer selection! Love the flights. Food was good, well prepared and not to much.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service & we loved the flight packages to try several beers. The specials we had were delicious too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waitress knew her stuff and was terrific. We had a party of 8 and she was attentive and answered all of our questions!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the food and were very pleased with the craft beer list. We were disappointed, however, that the menu had changed and didn't include any local seafood. In fact, the only fish dish on the menu was (frozen) Haddock as fish & chips. In a city like Charleston I'd think that would be expected of most diners.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best burger I've ever eaten, with an excellent beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great beer on tap and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great and unique food with an absolutely incredible beer menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent Service, great beer menu and food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time, had a great experience. Good food, great beer flights, and fantastic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Had dinner here & it was great! Have the crunchy dame sandwich - it 's delicious & not something you see on everybody's menu. The house made cherry jam makes it even more special. Server Agnes was friendly & efficient - took great care of us. Would absolutely go again next time we visiting this city. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My family was visiting Charleston and decided to try this place. Great food and ambiance. Extensive beer list.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Came to Craftsmen at the last minute on Christmas when we hit a snafu with a previous reservation. Everything was top notch. We were seated immediately, the beer was tremendous, the food was outstanding, and the service couldn't have been better. Thanks for saving Christmas!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We found Craftsmen on the recommendation of Daniel, our waiter at Minero. Leave it to great servers to make great recommendations. Craftsmen bills itself as a tap kitchen... well named. Hundreds... yes hundreds of craft brews on tap, AND great food, AND great service. Our server Agnes made us feel like regulars. We started with Bites and Flights and finished with the Korean Beef, all incredibly reasonably priced. You are not going to find this place strollling Market or King. Cumberland is a rather dark street in the winter, not well lit, perhaps not the most inviting part of the Charleston... but once you enter the doors, you'll swear you'll be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

For Charleston, the food here was just OK. There are so many more dynamic food choices in that city. If you are a beer fan, however, this is definitely your place--literally hundreds of beer choices.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great spot for a quick, casual, tasty meal for a good value, wonderful beer list, (with flights to try several) and cocktails, no nonsense bar food w/ nothing pretentious. I'd go for the Scotch egg alone, but everything was fantastic.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food and service. Got a coupon for a free sandwich, made this a real value. If you are a beer snob this is the place for you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is a fun place for drinks and they have a great beer selection. The staff is friendly and efficient. We went there for Thanksgiving dinner and the food was mediocre at best. I'd recommend Craftsman for the bar and maybe a casual bite.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time in the courtyard. Service was perfect, the meal was fantastic for each of our 9 picky people and the beer menu was exemplary. Having been there for a special meal, we will now be returning for many more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here looking for a laid back Thanksgiving dinner while on vacation and that is what we got. Food was great, service was great, beer selection was amazing! I would highly recommend this venue!

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food here is wonderful and not your average bar food. We have been here several times and are never disappointed. They almost have a huge craft beer selection, draft and bottles. Great, friendly service every time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent beer selection. Very knowledgeable and helpful bartender

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Family was in town. Loved the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great beer selection, varied menu and everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Looked initially like a hole in the wall and we were a bit nervous but once you go into the main dining area it was fantastic. Excellent Low Fashioned cocktail and the food was amazing (pork belly sammie). Kaitlyn our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wow. Talk about a beer selection! Our waitress was so helpful and nice. The fish and chips were very good. My husband ordered the burger-he couldn't get past the pinkness from the pork, but I thought it was good. If you love beer this is the place for you.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We love Burger Night! Every Tuesday, you get a huge burger half off. Only $6! The farmhouse burger has Amazing flavor! It's so good that Burger night has become a weekly Tuesday tradition where we meet up with family and friends, catch up on what's happening, enjoy great beer and burgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Went for my brother's bachelor party. Service was great, and accommodated our noise and annoying request for check-splitting acrobatics. Beer list is as good as you'll find.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ordered the burger - server asked if "medium" was ok and I said yes. Burger was not only not medium, it was not medium rare - it was rare. After a few bites of trying, I asked to have it cooked some more. It came back still not medium. Will not eat here again - just too many great restaurants to choose from to settle for average.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Craftsman is a really unique spot. The food is great and not your standard burger and fries type of combination - it's creative. The service is incredible though, my glass was never less than half full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had such a good time here! Our waiter helped us make great choices including the Scotch Egg and Bahn Mi to enjoy with a flight of mash and an amazing chocolate IPA. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Went to Craftsman Kitchen because of their large selection of local and other craft beers. Plesantly surprised with the creative and delicious food!

Tags: Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful beer list and food.

We enjoyed several local beers with our dinner.

The burger was moist and flavorful.

The thin crust pizza with a sweet tomato sauce was tasty.

We enjoy coming into this restaurant each trip to Charleston.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was fast and friendly. The atmosphere was fun and upbeat.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great Find! Would never of found this doing the normal walk & shop in Charleston but found on Trip Advisor, Reserved in Open Table ;).

Cool, laid back vibe with great selection of beers & nice selection of signature cocktails! Great food that was unique in combination & fabulous taste... Good portion sizes to!

We had the Jerk Pork tacos w/ pineapple salsa ( & not to sweet or fruity ) and the sweet potato local falafel pita! Summer Breeze is great for a light refresher with a kick! Go check it out!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great Place! Incredible Food!

Outstanding Beer Selection!!

Excellent Service by Agnes!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food, extensive beer selection! Would come here again in a heartbeat... in fact we may be back again this week! I would highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ate at Craftsmen with our family of 5. The service was really great. Our server had great suggestions and descriptions. The beer selection was phenomenal. Overall it was a really fun night for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good service. Food was good, but not competitive with some other hot spots. Good selection of beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's a great casual lunch place, I didn't feel like I needed to be dressed to the nines to be there which is great. Some of the other places downtown with a similar price point and menu have a different vibe and I like that this place is more rustic and chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolute must visit bar/restaurant if you like beer. You will find hundreds of beers to select from. The food is absolutely wonderful. Had the burger and pizza and was absolutely amazed at the quality of the food. Best bar food I've had. The service was great. Our server was on point and was very friendly and knowledgeable.

If you are in downtown Charleston and are looking for a beer, definitely stop by Craftsman. I will guarantee you will find the beer you are looking for and will love their food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Brought my three teenage nephews and niece. They really enjoyed the burgers, fried pig ears and squid fries. I had the scallops and my husband had the tacos, everything was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

LOVED the hummus. Great place to try new beers and yummy bites. We went to happy hour and tasted 4 flights--one of the best deals I've seen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great value, cool spot, good bar food, awesome burger!

Excellent beer selection and happy hour, our server Agnes had a great personality and was attentive, will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, great ambience, and great service. Our waitress helped us decide on every part of our meal, from the appetizer and entrées and through their extensive drink list. All her suggestions were terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.