About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 48 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of large format bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston โ€บ

good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (9)
special occasion (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for brunch (4)
romantic (4)
kid-friendly (2)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brought my three teenage nephews and nie ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Brought my three teenage nephews and niece. They really enjoyed the burgers, fried pig ears and squid fries. I had the scallops and my husband had the tacos, everything was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVED the hummus. Great place to try new ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

LOVED the hummus. Great place to try new beers and yummy bites. We went to happy hour and tasted 4 flights--one of the best deals I've seen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great value, cool spot, good bar food, a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great value, cool spot, good bar food, awesome burger!

Excellent beer selection and happy hour, our server Agnes had a great personality and was attentive, will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambience, and great se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, great ambience, and great service. Our waitress helped us decide on every part of our meal, from the appetizer and entrรฉes and through their extensive drink list. All her suggestions were terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pleasant experience! We would go back. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pleasant experience! We would go back. Good variety and quality of food. All in our party of six were pleased. Service was attentive and timely.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was on a iPad device when we arr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Hostess was on a iPad device when we arrived and did not acknowledge us when we arrived for an awkwardly long time. Waitress was slow and unfriendly also. Food tasted ok, but small portions. We had no silverware and could not get any because our waitress never checked on us or came back at all. Drinks ran dry and were never refilled. Left and went to another restaurant after paying. We are Local and will never go back. Embarrassed to have taken guests for such a poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Chicken and Waffles! The jerk tacos!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chicken and Waffles! The jerk tacos!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The beer list is very impressive---I was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The beer list is very impressive---I was able to get one of my favorite, small-production IPAs on tap---and the burger was outrageously good.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great eclectic menu to select from in a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great eclectic menu to select from in a friendly atmosphere. Would definitely go back. The Banh Mi meatball sandwich was outstanding as well as the Scotch egg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great burger!!!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Went out with friends and everyone buoyed their meal. I got a patty melt with a fried egg and it was delicious!! I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Burgers

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We both had the half price burgers. Cooked properly and were very tasty. The house mustard and mayonase were and extra flavor to the meal. They grind there own burger meat with some pork and that made it another different taste. It kind of was like a bacon burger in every bite.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer selection & good bar food with panache

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Plenty of beers to chose from and many local options on tap. We had a good lunch -- butterbean and sweet potato falafel and hubby had the oyster po boy. Pretty plates and tasty too! Our server mentioned this is a hopping place for the late night crowd since their kitchen is open late. Many local servers come here when they leave work. There's a small courtyard too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a hidden gem that I am so glad w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This is a hidden gem that I am so glad we found because our friend (huge beer enthusiast) came to visit. We will definitely be back.๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find in midst of Tropical Storm Bonnie!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We (my wife and I) reached Charleston for a memorial day getaway and landed in the middle of Tropical Storm/Depression Bonnie. Any ways - since I had made reservation at Craftsmen, we decided to we will not be beaten by the rain and went there for dinner. I would say we made an excellent choice by doing so. We loved the ambiance, the wait staff was great, the flight local beer was excellent, and the food was very good. All in all we had a very nice time at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Awesome food. Recommended to us by a local; would go more if we lived here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful beer selection! Food was fanta ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful beer selection! Food was fantastic as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Taphouse, great place for beer and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Taphouse, great place for beer and staff is educated to pair beer with food. Though food is definitely above standard bar fare, the menu is limited and was only good, not great. I would probably only return for beer and appetizers, rather than a meal. But no better place in Charleston to grab a brew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

loved everything... nice beer selection, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

loved everything... nice beer selection, really fresh salad, I got the Bahn Mi and my wife got some grilled or roasted fish (with a really hot kimchi). Everything was very good. Server knew the menu well and was friendly and attentive. Don't remember the noise level which means it wasn't obnoxiously loud for a pretty full restaurant/bar. Also doesn't feel like a "bar". Definitely is on our list of places to take visitors to show how great Charleston is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

small portions

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

the place is deceiving. I've passed a few times and didn't go in cause it looked small and empty.

The place opens up in the back with another huge bar and more seating.

Great beer menu.

Food portions were disappointingly small.

Salmon and berries while very tasty was more like a brunch appetizer then a dinner meal.

$120 for 2 adults and 2 teens a bit steep for the portion sizes.

Not sure I'd go back for the food but the bar is cool.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Unaware of this restaurant. We try to h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Unaware of this restaurant. We try to hit different spots in Charleston each visit. Son went to CofC so here a lot. This was a great find. The food was great and the atmosphere cool. Looks like a great stop for late night as well. Waiter was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Underwhelming taphouse

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We booked our reservation 2 weeks in advance and were promptly sat right next to the entrance (within 10 feet of the front door) even after requesting to be sat in the back room which had at least one open 4 top that we could spot from our table. We were told there were no other available tables. There was a decent selection of local and other craft beers at a good price. We ordered a pizza and a vegetable plate to split. The vegetable plate was enjoyable but the pizza (described as a pepperoni pizza with honey roasted tomatoes) was no better than a store bought Tony's/Red Baron piece of cardboard. Very disappointed.

Also they seem to only take reservations for tables. We watched them turn away multiple parties at the door with 2 out of 3 open booths that remained empty for the hour we were there. So make sure to call ahead!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Really outstanding. Great beer selection ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Really outstanding. Great beer selection, excellent beer bar foodie scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Our server was very friendly and helpful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was very friendly and helpful!! I would definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday Spot!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my mother here for her birthday and picked to sit outside on the scenic courtyard. It was a bit chilly, but the staff turned on the heaters for us, and we ended up getting the whole courtyard to ourselves all night. We sampled beers and loved the option of 8 oz. beers (so we could try double the amount!) rather than the typical 16 oz. The food was very innovative and we mostly ordered "beer food" or a few appetizers. If your diet permits, definitely try something with their house-cured bacon in it. That was a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a hit!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We started with the Crispy Potato Bombs--yumm!! Our mains were the Farmhouse Burger--delicious, Bahn Mi, which was pronounced, "excellent" and both the Mozzarella and Pepperoni Pizzas. The bread pudding was very tasty.

The beer aficionados were extremely pleased with the beer selections and even discovered some new beer that they really enjoyed. There is certainly an adequate choice of wine and cocktails to satisfy most.

A plus was that our waitress, Caitlin, was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient, making it a very pleasant evening!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After being seated, we waited 10 minutes ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

After being seated, we waited 10 minutes before a waiter came by to greet us. The food was ok. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great place, food & beer! Laid back and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place, food & beer! Laid back and great quality food and beers. We were with kids and we sat in the patio. It was perfect! We loved the ambience and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eh

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We were hoping for a really neat dining experience, instead we barely got waited on and saw other people who ordered the same thing as us, after us, receive it before us. Overall we were not impressed and only stayed for the appetizer portion of our dinner and decided to go elsewhere. It's too bad, looked like they had a great beer selection and menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great Local Find!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We found this place on a few sites as highly recommended. This was our first time to Charleston and really wanted to find a place that was fun, had good food and a good selection of local beers and we found it. Additionally our server was very good and also knowledgeable about the beer options they had available. We had originally picked a different restaurant but changed last minute and are so happy we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good was excellent. Service was great bu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Good was excellent. Service was great but took very long. Still, highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best beer and burgers and very affordable too

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

There are several restaurants in Charleston that profess to have an impressive craft beer list. However, For the most part, until we went to Craftsmen, our opinion of beer choices in Charleston was meh. I could not get a draft IPA for the first 3 days of our visit , even though we went to a forgettable place on East Bay St our first night that actually had beer in its name.

I saw good reviews for Craftsmen and noted that they had a half price burger night on Tuesdays. We were so happy to have found this place.

First, we arrived about 6:45 pm and our lovely waitress with the tattoo on her arm ( she shares the same handwritten tattoo with her sister and brother- very sweet) told us we were there just in time for happy hour ( ending at 7). My wife and I shared an appy and we each enjoyed a flight of crafts for half price. The 4 IPAs selected for me were all ones I never tried. Delicious. My wife tried the mashes, all of which were flavorful and certainly delivere a "punch".

At 7 pm, the Tuesday night burger night ( other hot sandwiches too) started. Half price and they were delicious. The Farmhouse burger with pork belly was great, but the patty melt was even better. My wife and I each enjoyed another pint and we were in beer-burger heaven. Great meal, all for about $30 for both of us. Don't miss this place when in Charleston, especially on Tuesday nights!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was very. Accommodating .

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was great and portion size was average. Seats are wooden on the booths so not the most comfortable but I will bear it again for the awesome chicken n waffles

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Food & Great Beer

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We were in Charleston for a long weekend and very much enjoyed this place. Two of us had the burger, two had the pork tacos and one had the scotch egg. We were all very pleased with the food. They also have an extensive beer selection and all of us tried something we had never had from the beer choices and liked them all. Of the three dinners out that weekend in Charleston the Tap House was the best value.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great beer selection...food needs some work

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Great selection in beer...something for everyone. Would be good for drinks due to selection and atmosphere. Menu sounds good, but taste is somewhat disappointing.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great time once again!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

2nd visit and had a great time once again. Very friendly service and unique menu that's really tasty. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for dinner on a Saturday. The ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Went here for dinner on a Saturday. The service was great! However, they didn't have a wide variety of beers to select from. While the list was long, it was a lot of the same (mostly pale ales). The food was okay, not full of flavor. The portions were small. Looks to be an impressive restaurant but temper your expectations until the menu changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We like to go to Craftsmen before plays. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We like to go to Craftsmen before plays. The flights of beer are always fun to try. The food is great. We had the nachos which were delicious ( not too spicy). I had the gingered salmon which was so refreshing. Great for a lighter meal choice. Staff is so friendly and willing to answer questions and offer suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Craftsman was the best! Great local beer flights and food, unique ambiance, and very accommodating to our large group! Our favorite restaurant of the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good time

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a good time and the food and service were both good and will return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, but had to wait over an hour ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food, but had to wait over an hour for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.