Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 52 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.

12 Cumberland Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-9699

Website:
http://www.craftsmentaphouse.com/

Parking Details:
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Todd Garrigan

Additional:
Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Great Beer (10)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort by
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great beer flight options! Good food, kind and friendly waitstaff! Clean. Booth seats are low for table - not great for kids to sit at.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great choice of craft beers. Food was great as was the service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Great burgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Everything was great, service and food but it was soooo cold. They were happy to turn off the fan but there was still a cold blast of air over our table.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Awesome little find right off of East Bay! Best beer selection we found in all of Charleston. Food was unique and very good. Service was spot on, very knowledgeable of the extensive beer selection. If your into craft beer, a must stop.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Organic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2017

8 page beer menu - 400 beers available. Solid food, great service & good value.

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Beer list is quite daunting but we endeavored to try a variety. Good to
keep your local beers well represented for us tourists. Nice hidden location. Menu had some unique choices.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We (four women) went to this off-the-beaten-path place for a quick dinner. HUGE beer selection and very helpful service. There was a large bridal party on the patio and our server suggested that we put our order in quickly so that we wouldn't have to wait too long for our food - that was excellent advice. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was mediocre. Otherwise good food and beer selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Their website said street food was half price during happy hour and provided a menu with that street food. It looked pretty tasty- but when we got there there was a separate happy hour street food menu that was pretty undesirable (mini pepperonis, butter bean hummus , candied pecans) they were out of the hummus and the waitress said yea we really need to change how the website reads it's been that way for about a year. The half price flights they offered on the website turned out to be only one selection of flights - overall it was a bust for my sisters bday party - went there for delicious food at happy hour prices and didn't end up with much we wanted.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was good and reasonably priced. The service was friendly, but very slow. It took forever to get our food and the place was near empty

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We came with a group and were easily accommodated. They food was good and they had fun flights of beer.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went in for a last-minute burger and beer. Enjoy the atmosphere, server Sam,food and beer selection. A real gem, with lots of bar seating. Will go back for sure

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Ribs were cool in the middle... but otherwise, all was fabulous and the service was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great little spot for lunch. Burgers were great, and the fish & chips got a thumbs up too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great beer choices and excellent service. Good food but a somewhat limited menu. Veggie burger was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fantastic host and waitress! Super accommodating, awesome beer, good times and great laughs. Would highly recommend and definitely will come back next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Amazing beer selection. Nice place, good vibe. Serve was good. Food was hot and fresh and a little unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Have been here after hours when most places in downtown Charleston stop serving food. Thought it was good then (both food and service). Came this time for Tuesday night burger night and the food took forever to be served and the service was also spotty. Guess we will stick late night dining here instead.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food and beer selections were great and staff was extremely friendly. Had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Liked the food. Loved the atmosphere. Beer selection out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Good food and beer. Hostess not friendly at all. Seems bothered people were coming in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Thank you! Agnes was spot on, as always! Enjoyed the updated happy hour menu & flights!

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wonderful, as always! We ask for "Agnes"; she's exceptional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was amazing. Can't wait to go back and drink some beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was really excited to try Craftsmen but was disappointed. There are sooo many excellent restaurants in Charleston and I don't think this is one of them. It's definitely better for the beer menu vs the dinner menu. I went with 6 people and tried a variety of the menu items. The spring rolls had a very smoky BBQ sauce on them that was overpowering. The ceviche was decent, but it was in huge chunks that were hard to scoop. The Brussels sprouts were overcooked/burnt. The chicken wings had this awful spicy dry rub that's more for ribs then wings. They were truly awful. However, the pizza was good and my friends that had burgers said they were excellent. Next time I may stop in for a beer, but that's it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and drinks. Portions small and a bit over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Beer list was dazzling, food was very good, but the service was inexcusably slow and inattentive, particularly considering that there were so few customers. We'll return -- but we'll eat at the bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Best craft beer selection in Charleston! The beer menu is vast... Great food to go along with the beer, as well. Terrific service, even on July 4. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were seated half an hour after our reservation time. Service was very slow. I would not go back on a weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great beer selection, service was a bit slow but there were a number of large parties. Great sandwiches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Agnes was a terrific help to us selecting beer & food combinations. Thanks; we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great food and beer- kids fine too - loved the pretzel dogs

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had the Lamb Burger. OMG. A taste sensation. The beer was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food! Have the house-made burgers (unique grinds!) and baby bratwursts. Beer flights also a great way to try new brews. Fun, friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

INCREDIBLE food, AWESOME Happy Hour ($5 flights, drafts and Appetizers), GREAT location close to Battery, CASUAL and fun atmosphere, and EXCELLENT staff and service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and drink, waitstaff was knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Burgers are to die for! Can't beat the location being right if the main streets down town near the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We had a great meal in a comfortable atmosphere. Patio was cute and looked comfortable as well though we didn't sit outside. We were there on a family vacation and all thoroughly enjoyed ourselbes. Great beer recommended and it was happy hour- even better.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Amazing waiter - great food - will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.