Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House

4.2
283 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Bar Seating
  • Great Beer
Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is a celebration of craft beer & slowly handcrafted, traditionally made food. Our menu includes handmade sausages, locally farmed vegetables and locally caught fish. Beer is boss here, with 52 taps of what we consider the finest craft beer, including local, rare and seasonal, plus an extensive collection of bottles. Our people have extensive beer & food knowledge with a professional, happy attitude.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Gastro Pub, Beer Garden
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Sunday 11:30am - 2:00am (Full menu until 1:00am)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-9699
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Todd Garrigan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Bay Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Three public garages are available within 2 blocks of Craftsmen on Cumberland Street.
Additional
Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 283 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great dinners spot. We ate all appetizers and had beers. All we're delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Cheese pull on the pizza was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Had a great meal with my daughter while visiting Charlestown for a college visit/tour. Great beer selection and a warm environment. Highly recommend it for a casual meal and great beer.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had reservations and were given a table right at the door. Very distracting and rather cold with the door being constantly opened. The server was rather disinterested and not very attentive. The food was mediocre, the fried chicken sandwich in particular. It appeared to be a massive piece of chicken on a roll but when cut into, it was nothing but crust.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Went for a late night last stop. Beer flight was excellent and personal pizza was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

After walking through the unconspicuous front door, we were led to our table with the bar on one side of the room and a glassed-in atrium on the other. Fun space!! Service was fantastic. Had an awesome flight of local brews and the one of the BEST SANDWICHES I EVER HAD IN MY LIFE!!! It was the Crunchy Dame - BBQ pork belly, gruyere, cherry jam, mustard aioli, on an amazing brioche-type of bread with a sunny-side-up egg in top. The combo of sweet, salty, savory, tart and the crunchy-meets-soft texture was STELLAR! I couldn’t talk; it was one of those “please leave me alone while I bliss out on what is in front if me” moments. I wish we lived nearby!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We really enjoyed having dinner at this restaurant that is located in a great area of Charleston. Arriving before our reservation was good, as we were able to have some of the great beers from the extensive menu. The food was quite good and our group had a nice time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I can't really comment on anything but the level of service we received as we were never given the opportunity to sit down and eat, but I had to fill in the ratings in order to post this review.
I tried to be fair and offer some average ratings on everything but the service. We showed up at 6:15 for a 6:30 reservation. I totally understand that they couldn't seat us right then, but by 6:45 our patience had worn out. We were going to the theatre so we couldn't afford to wait any longer. There were a few 4-tops available, but they wouldn't seat us there because they were "reserved for someone else." The manager actually told us that reservations are just "an approximate time!" Not in my book. I did the right thing by making a reservation so the restaurant could plan and allocate their resources accordingly, but in the end, they didn't honor my reservation. We are locals and live down the street. We thought we would go someplace new, but I guarantee we won't be back. Instead, we went to one of our favorite places close by and they managed to accommodate us ... even without a reservation on a busy Saturday night. I never expect or ask for special treatment, but it's such a pleasant surprise when an establishment goes the extra mile to be of service. They recognized us and were more than happy to help us out in a pinch.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

It was a terrible experience! They were out of food and waited for ages for food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Best beer list in town. Cool menu items , especially apps. Server was great but food took way, way too long.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was Easter, I think they should have thought more about the holiday in the menus

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Our server was very good, the beer menu is amazing, the ambiance was nice, and the food was meh. Burgers, pizza, some other things. I mean the food was good, but not very creative. if you love beer, want a fun place, and aren't picky about healthy food you'd like this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Food was amazing! We all cleaned our plates! Drinks were a little pricey but their beer selection was great! Only real complaint was because we were seated by the door we kept getting a cold breeze and outdoor smells every time the door opened. Would go back again without a doubt!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The asian tacos were great. the best we tried. Wings were OK, potato appetizers a bit bland. The corn dogs were sort of dry. Wait staff great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was excellent especially for the price! I’ve had food nowhere near this quality at twice the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Fantastic menu, great execution and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My second visit was as good as the first one. I look forward to visiting again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Good beer selection, awful food. No seasoning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

This is a really great, change-of-pace restaurant! Pages of local beers and ciders, and a truly imaginative menu. Prices are reasonable and very good service. Music in the restaurant is certainly energetic, but the outdoor courtyard is pleasant for conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great selection of beers on tap, food is up scale bar food but good quality.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The sandwiches we had were very good, however they were out of several menu items and it was only 1:00 on Sunday. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great place, just waited a very long time for our food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

They were very accommodating with indoor and outdoor seating. We asked to be moved inside when we realized how windy it was in the courtyard. This was my first visit to this restaurant. We will attend again and I have already recommended it to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Great place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Very extensive craft beer listing. Our server was fairly new but was very helpful in describing the different beer flights. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Great service. Great beer. Great pizza! Thank you to our server for a pleasant dinner and great beer tasting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Casual beer lovers haven, so many choices! Food also outstanding, will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Great service and enjoyable menu! Tasty brews! Will def be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

First timers. Our reserved table ended up being the high top closest to the door...on the coldest night in Charleston. Our server lacked any enthusiasm. The burger was just okay. To top it off, Just before we were about to pay, a bus boy returned the missing two chairs to our table. Could they not have waited until we left? It just felt as though we were unwelcome. Just a bad night, bad showing. Maybe next time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We went for New Years Eve — very early reservation. We were told we’d have to wait for the table they’d assigned to us, even though we ended up being seated 15 minutes later at a table that had been empty all along. The service was average — very little enthusiasm for us, the food, etc. it seemed they were in churn mode, which isn’t so unusual on a night like that, but the place wasn’t busy at that point. The food was good, and of course, the beer list was insane. But the experience was less than great overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great service. Outstanding beer selection but not enough local and regional selections.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Service was quick to take order but food came very slow (45mins), burgers were suspiciously room temperature when they got to us.. pretty sure the waitress forgot about us. they added 20% gratuity up front so she must have felt she did not need to try ..won't go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We loved it! It was very good...food was authentic and very good and the ambience was very authentic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Great set-up, lively crowd. They were kind enough to be open on Christmas so that was great for a traveling couple. The pickle platter was full of flavor, the bruschetta was great but the prime rib seemed to be seared and a little bland, and we had to ask a few times for au jus. The drink selection was amazing and The bartender was swamped but as soon as it slowed down he was on top of his game!! Overall we would go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Nice time, delicious food. The service was prompt and friendly. We felt at home and enjoyed our evening very much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Our server Agnes was amazing and took the experience to the next level. She was super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Selection of beers is huge but this isn't just a beer bar. The food is creative and delicious. Casual and fun

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

One of the Best burgers I've ever eaten. Celebrating a friend getting married. Top notch, will definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 30, 2017

I love Craftsman for many things, but my top two are: Kitchen open late, and great service from Agnes. I don't drink beer, but my beer-drinking friends are extremely impressed by the extensive beer list. I usually order the Low Fashioned; love the Bourbon-soaked cherries. And the food is outstanding. This time I had one of the burgers; Delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Great food with a casual ambiance. I went on a weeknight so it wasn't very busy.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8