About Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse is an unique, and authentic, all you can eat “Churrascaria.” Featuring a full Salad Bar with over 30 items, 6 Brazilian Hot Dishes and a “parade” of 16 different types of Beef, Chicken, Pork and Lamb, brought to your table by our "gaúchos" and sliced individually.

2411 Mall Drive
North Charleston, SC 29406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Montague Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 744-9000

Website:
http://www.cowboybraziliansteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

3.4

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

62% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We absolutely love Cowboys. My husband a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely love Cowboys.

My husband and I eat about once a month.

The last two visits we had Igor as our waiter and absolutely love him. Igor is very friendly

And attentive..

Thank you we will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I decided to get some friends together t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

I decided to get some friends together to try this restaurant for CRW. We were excited to try somewhere new. Sadly our excitement was squashed as soon as we entered the door. We stood behind another couple waiting for service. After about 5 minutes they left because no one came to greet or seat us. One of my friends decided to use the restroom figuring we'd be seated by the time he got back. Another one of my friends walked over to converse with a party seated near the door who sadly were not too happy with the service either. Still no one had spoken to us although 2 servers had walked by the front door. When my friend returned from the restroom we left. I hope this was just an off night for them and their service improves. Maybe in the future I will give them another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unorganized when we got there with no on ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Unorganized when we got there with no one up front. The same 4 meats where brought around. Our table was skipped a lot of times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Service was not good. Only saw the waito ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was not good. Only saw the waitor 5 times and that includes getting drink order, bringing drinks, bringing bill and drop off of bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Hostess had us waiting for 20 minutes be ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Hostess had us waiting for 20 minutes before we were greeted. We made reservations and still was told we had a 30 min wait. Ended up leaving and didn't even get to try the food.:-(

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

There is no other restaurant that brings ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There is no other restaurant that brings around different meats & chicken piping hot. You can eat as much as you want. the salad bar was very diverse and everything was fresh. Men especially love the all-you-can-eat meats aspect.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Igor our server was extremely pleasant a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Igor our server was extremely pleasant and made our dining experience great!!

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried this place because of the Resta ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We tried this place because of the Restaurant Week offer. All agreed it was an excellent choice! Enjoyed the variety and plentiful quantity of food. Cowboys and four old broads laughing and eating red meat for three hours: What's not to love?!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service wAS GREAT. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was excellent, service wAS GREAT. They actually bring 16 different kinds of meat to the table until you've had enough. And the cheesecake was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Let me preface this by saying I've been ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Let me preface this by saying I've been to other Brazilian Steakhouse chains before so that could have totally set me up for high food expectations & service expectations at the same price point as the Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse. With that said, the only reason I even tried Cowboy was because of a Groupon deal. I do not consider myself picky at all, but for the price-point that Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse charges for dinner, the ambience, service, and food quality certainly does not match the price. The dinner and meat selection were okay, nothing earth shattering, nothing like wow I need to come back. The service was incredibly slow and one waiter seemed to be serving 10 tables which were all spread out in the half-empty restaurant.

TL;DR - Spend your money at the steakhouses downtown. You will get much better food quality and service for your money.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Had a fantastic early birthday dinner th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a fantastic early birthday dinner there on Sunday at 4pm. Plenty of time for all that meat to settle before bed time!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and our waiter was o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, service and our waiter was on point, was very pleased

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Cowboys and will tell all my frie ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I love Cowboys and will tell all my friends about it

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too bad this restaurant couldn't hit all ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Too bad this restaurant couldn't hit all the points. After dinner our server finally brought the appetizers as we ordered dessert... the 3rd time we ordered dessert. Took 20+ minutes to get a drink. Food was nicely seasoned and hot off the spit. The meat guys were terrific! Thank goodness- they are the only reason we didn't walk out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Great food and service!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My first Brazilian Steakhouse dining exp ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My first Brazilian Steakhouse dining experience. It was very good. Price was exceptional for the amount of food consumed along with a bottle of wine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife and granddaughter here for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Took my wife and granddaughter here for our second anniversary. My wife have eaten here several times over the last few years and have always had a pleasurable experience. My granddaughter was impressed by the service and food, as we all were. The manager and the staff was excellent. The food was very good and we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat here during special occasions and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We eat here during special occasions and it's always our #1 choice! Thanks to management and staff!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful awful awful. Service was terrible ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Awful awful awful. Service was terrible food options were terrible. Will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Enjoyed the meal and the excellent servi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and the excellent service and will most likely come back again

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was terrible, waited 10 mins for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was terrible, waited 10 mins for a refill after asking several times but food was amazing, still wouldn't recommend because of the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Great Food !!! Hard to get to location. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great Food !!! Hard to get to location. Inside needs redone...Spend some money on tables and Good candles...

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The waiter was great. He explained every ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The waiter was great. He explained everything and how it works. The food was good and a nice mix at the salad bar. The services of the meat where every help. If you would like something they would bring it to you.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ambiance was sub par at best. For the pr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ambiance was sub par at best. For the price we paid to eat we were very underwhelmed. We have previously went to a Brazilian style steakhouse in Atlanta and it was amazing. The food itself was not very appetizing either as far as the meats were concerned which is really the main reason you go to a place like this. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

It was wonderful as always. Quiet and no ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It was wonderful as always. Quiet and not hurried. Great extensive salad bar. Save room for the pineapple closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, could use a few more ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was very good, could use a few more items on the salad bar but overall a great place to eat

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good. We got there about an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good. We got there about an hour before closing so we missed out on some of the meat choices. The service was slow, but there again it was an hour before closing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Maybe it was bad timing. I have been to ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Maybe it was bad timing. I have been to several Brazilian restaurants around the world and this was my worst experience. First the food, I came in 15 minutes after they opened hoping to get good fresh meat. Not the case, I got leftovers from the day before, dry and over cooked. Also there was no seasoning, just roasted meat, I had to add my own salt and pepper. So I took my time waiting fresh meat to come out... After 35 minutes the server came, took my plate, my silverware and handed me the bill.... I never said I was done..... He stood there until I paid..... Very very bad service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We were seated by the hostess, read the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were seated by the hostess, read the menu, never saw any waitress for 5 minutes, so we left. They never even knew we left. Didn't even see the hostess on the way out. Oblivious. No service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

First time there. Very slow, not very b ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 17, 2016

First time there. Very slow, not very busy....

Salad Bar was fresh and our waiter, Raymond was attentive.

The prime rib was good but the other meats were overcooked.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Raymond was great. Made the experience g ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Raymond was great. Made the experience great. Ill go back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Elkins was awesome! The staff in a whole ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Elkins was awesome! The staff in a whole were very pleasant from the beginning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the theme and love eating at other ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the theme and love eating at other Brazilian Steakhouses but this one the food quality was low and it took forever for the servers to come over with the meat. They would often come over with only one piece making my date wait on hers. Items on the salad bar were not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

First time visiting a Brazilian Steakhou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

First time visiting a Brazilian Steakhouse, and left craving more steak? Really This spot not worth the money, they are holding back on serving meat so one can fill up on salad. It's a shame the flavor was good on the thin slice of steak I ate but they were very stingy with serving meat 3 times I was passed by with a skewer when my coaster was on green. Very disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Fabulous food! Great atmosphere! We we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Fabulous food! Great atmosphere! We were concerned this would be a food trough. It, however, was not! It was elegant yet upscale-casual. Delicious! Well thought out and explained upon arrival. Our new family favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

simply disappointed compared to the one ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

simply disappointed compared to the one in columbia, SC. Great staff but food was a serious let down. I would not recommend this place nor would I go back. Maybe this is a one off but with 6 of us eating that evening for the first time - none said they would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good and we had a great server, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was good and we had a great server, Raymond. I enjoyed the side dishes too and the meat was tender.

Tags: , Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very limited wine with List staff did n ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very limited wine with List

staff did not have any wine opening, pouring experience

Didn't for a taste for us to try the wind just filled everybody's glasses and re corked our wine after opening it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, will improve. Food still great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food here was good. The salad bar h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food here was good. The salad bar had a good salad selection, smoked salmon, bread, cheese, shrimp, all in all a good spread on the bar. The meat tasted great!

The service, however, was pretty bad. I think they had 1 waiter for the entire place. I felt bad for the kid. The gauchos were very slow when we first arrived. But once they got going we couldn't keep up. Unfortunately, they didn't have chicken hearts while we were there (one of my favorites).

Maybe we just hit them up on a bad night, but all in all, great food, poor service. If you don't need to be waited on hand and foot you will enjoy this place. But if you want the waiter filling up your drink every 30 seconds, maybe look somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.