About Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston

2411 Mall Drive
North Charleston, SC 29406
View Larger Map

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse is an unique, and authentic, all you can eat “Churrascaria.” Featuring a full Salad Bar with over 30 items, 6 Brazilian Hot Dishes and a “parade” of 16 different types of Beef, Chicken, Pork and Lamb, brought to your table by our "gaúchos" and sliced individually.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Montague Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 744-9000

Website:
http://www.cowboybraziliansteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, will improve. Food still great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food here was good. The salad bar h ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food here was good. The salad bar had a good salad selection, smoked salmon, bread, cheese, shrimp, all in all a good spread on the bar. The meat tasted great!

The service, however, was pretty bad. I think they had 1 waiter for the entire place. I felt bad for the kid. The gauchos were very slow when we first arrived. But once they got going we couldn't keep up. Unfortunately, they didn't have chicken hearts while we were there (one of my favorites).

Maybe we just hit them up on a bad night, but all in all, great food, poor service. If you don't need to be waited on hand and foot you will enjoy this place. But if you want the waiter filling up your drink every 30 seconds, maybe look somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

A must go for everyone! Great food and s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A must go for everyone! Great food and service! A great time for everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! Raymond was our ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Raymond was our server for the second time in a couple months. He treats us top notch!! We also brought our two year old son who is treated like a little King! They talked him into trying lamb, and he ate it all. Recommend for all!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good. I have never seen thi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food is good. I have never seen this place busy. The guests dress very casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

it was our 30 year wedding anniversary, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

it was our 30 year wedding anniversary, we don't like large crowds or having to wait for a table, i am on the Keto diet hubby is diabetic this place is perfect for all it was pleasantly quiet we had the place practically to ourselves to start, it was early on a Tuesday. house special yummy got the full experience and it was worth it to this carnivore. can't wait to go back for sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upon arrival we were seated promptly and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Upon arrival we were seated promptly and our drink order was taken immediately, and the only positive part of this review. We were given a brief, yet incomplete breakdown as to how it worked with the meat selections. The salad bar was ok, nothing to write home about. We received our first sampling of meat and it was overcooked, dry and flavorless as were most of the 6 other proceeding meats. One of the meats was sliced,placed on the plate and then we noticed the fruit flies on it. As one would imagine our appetites quickly diminished. We pointed out to the server who covered it up and removed it from the table and sent over a manager. He apologized and then brought the owner over. She basically dismissed our complaint saying there was no way the bugs could have been there because of the way the meat is cooked. It me feel as if she was esentially blaming us for the flies. She did not really apologize other than offer us half off. We literally had 7 small slices of meats, one salad and maybe 10 small shrimp before this happened, so half off the meal was not really doing us any favors. She did not offer anything else and just seemed to not care. I did not find anything tasty, delicious or even mediocre and the price they charge per person is not worth it. Save yourself some money and go to outback for better meat and all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Wonderful service

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We normally go to the Steakhouse in Colu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We normally go to the Steakhouse in Columbia after our Zoo trips. It's always fantastic so we knew this one in N. Charleston would be good as well. It was but we actually left a little hungry. We had a reservation and arrived a few minutes early. After being seated a large party of about 25-30 came in without a reservation. Therefore they took a bunch of time from the meat servers. We were served a sliver of meat approximately every 6 to 8 minutes. It got old quick so we left. It was NOT the restaurants fault. If the party would have reserved a time like it was recommended they would have been properly staffed. The entire staff was very nice and apologetic. We will go back! So if you are reading this review and are planning a trip there with a large party, please be considerate of the other food lovers and staff....Make a dang reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

They had the bartender doing waitress du ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

They had the bartender doing waitress duty, so drinks took a while to show up. The waitress did what she could but they definitely need more help. The cold bar had a good selection, but the hot bar wasn't that great. The meat was great. Overall it was ok, but not somewhere I'd go again during the week.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent food and service. The owner t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. The owner took time to share some cultural information about the food and history of Brazil. My three children enjoyed it (oldest one is six).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad bar, hot item bar and all the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The salad bar, hot item bar and all the meats were good. The service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

What a fun time and delicious meal! The ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

What a fun time and delicious meal! The meats were seasoned and cooked perfectly. The salad bar was fresh and plentiful. There were very good choices in the wine selection. The service was superb. We are already making plans for our return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Gourmet food, very kind staff, very clea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Gourmet food, very kind staff, very clean restaurant. Noise level is fairly quiet, good for a friend gathering or romantic date

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for what one gets. Food was g ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Overpriced for what one gets. Food was good, but not great. Ambiance is not consistent with the price point. Overall just an average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Slowwwww

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The server was nice, but at first when we walked in he said no service dogs allowed. My husband said you better get your manager. He said well they're allowed but you have to call ahead so we can let other guess know that you have a service dog. He said since you didn't let us know we will have to put you in the little room by yourselves instead of the dinning area. And of course the guys with the meat sticks were VERY slow to come to the area we were at, cause they didn't see us in there. My son and husband got flustered and said lets go, so we paid for food we didn't get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Monday 5:00 PM Mar. 24 2016

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We have visited this type of resturant in FLA. a few years ago. We like this Resturant & will recomend to all our friends.Everything was great. the only exception was the colards were not cooked enough at opening time. The salads were great All the meats were great. We will be back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Pace yourself

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything was delicious. The salad bar was fresh and vibrant, and the meat each better than the next. Took advantage of Sunday discount. Well worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Poor Service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We took our daughter here on a Sunday afternoon for her birthday. Had 5:00 PM reservations. My wife and I arrived on time and were promptly seated. Our daughter and her boyfriend were running late. Our waitress (Kasie) took our drink order and my wife asked for a wine list. The place was practically deserted with only 4 occupied tables. It took the waitress nearly 15 minutes to bring the wine list and our drink refills suffered the same fate for the rest of the evening. No excuse for that, especially when business is as slow as it was.

On a positive note, the gauchos who brought the food to the table were fast, personable and very helpful. The food was above average for most places, although it was not up to par compared to other Brazilian steak houses we have been to.

If they fix the service issues, this would be a solid 4-star place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Great fun!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I have never been to a "Brazilian Steak House" before. My husband heard about this place from someone at work, so he made reservations. This place was great. I wish we had paced ourselves a little better, we couldn't try everything. The pineapple was delicious! All the meats we tried were tasty, but the "House Special" was the best meat ever!

The Gauchos were friendly and helpful. The server was very attentive. When she seated us she explained how everything worked, he never let our glasses get empty and answered all the questions we had. Overall it was a fun experience, I can't wait to go with a large group!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Tha salad bar was great and the meats we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Tha salad bar was great and the meats were good when they came around. I had to make multiple requests to get what I wanted. Compared to other Brazilian steakhouses, this was not nearly as good. Other restaurant servers came by so often i had to turn my disc over to keep them away. Not so here. I never turned my disc to RED and still never got what I requested. Water cup ran dry twice! That should NEVER happen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Wonderful Surprise

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Our first time visit was exceptional. Not really knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly impressed. Our waiter, Bruce, explained everything to us in a very pleasant and professionally manner. We had our 2 grandchildren with us and he certainly played up to them as a professional. Our food was terrific and we loved being able to sample all the different types of meat cooked just like we wanted. Everyone was friendly and professional. We will definitely go again! The grandchildren said it was the best restaurant they've ever been to!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My visit

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food here is very good and you have plenty of choices. All of the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Our Server name was Bruce and he was amazing... So pleasant, very knowledgeable and made sure we all had everything we needed throughout our entire evening . Food was great, fresh, wonderful choices. The meats were amazing.....

We will be going back with a large group again and hopefully we'll get lucky and have Bruce again .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great quality for the price!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

After hearing great reviews on the radio and from co-workers, my husband and I decided to give this place a try. We have both been to Brazilian steakhouses in much larger cities (which were also much more expensive!) and enjoyed the concept.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meats and the variety of the menu at Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse! Especially for the price! Our server was very friendly and attentive. We left there very full but very happy!

The restaurant was very clean and the decor was nice. I believe the building was formerly used as a cafeteria-style restaurant, but they did a nice job of renovating it.

We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only adequate.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our wait staff was excellent...made us feel welcome. The cold bar and hot bar were more than adequate with smoked salmon being available as well as sauteed mushrooms. They were prompt with the various meats, and the bacon wrapped chicken was delicious, along with the roast beef. But all of the other meats, including filet mignon and lamb were cooked medium or more. 4 of us felt they were overcooked. The atmosphere is kind of like a cafeteria. Big, open, and too bright for a dinner out. I noticed some Latin music playing in the background from time to time and that was appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A bit disappointed

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went there for Valentines Day, and they were not at all prepared, for the amount of people that day. They had over 365 reservations plus walk-ins. There were only 2 waitresses, hostess was having to clean tables, one man was tending bar, serving food and cleaning tables. Took almost an hour to receive any meats. But the food was very good, when we received it. Overall it was still a pleasant evening, and we will be going back, when they aren't so busy. Thankfully we had a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Don't bother with a reservation

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I made reservations here for Valentine's day at 7pm. We arrived and were told to sit down and wait to be called. We saw, not even exaggerating, about 20-25 people leave while we all were waiting and yet no one was being seated. 40 minutes later someone with a 7:30 reservation got seated, while four different couples with 7:00 reservations were still waiting. They gave excuses, but didn't apologize. When we finally got seated, 45 minutes after our reservation time, we sat at our table for 10-15 minutes before getting up and requesting someone come take our drink order. Again when someone finally came and took our drink orders, there was no apology, our waitress made excuses and blamed someone else for not telling her we had been seated (even though she had looked at us and walked by us several times). The food was good, when we got some. There were long stretches of time when no one came to our table with skewers, I'm talking like 10-15 minutes. It's not even like the place was jam-packed, I could understand the poor service better if that were the case. There were many open tables. There was no sense of urgency from our waitress, instead she seemed to saunter over to the table whenever it suited her. Thoroughly disappointed with what was supposed to be a nice Valentine's day dinner with my husband for the first time in five years. Very poor management and customer service. Unless you made a ruckus, you were invisible. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Extremely Slow Service & Substandard Food

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have been to several Brazilian steakhouses and this one, by FAR, has been the worst one.

First, we had a reservation. Despite this fact, we were still sat 40 minutes after arrival. From there, we were greeted in the most curt manner I have experienced in a while. We picked up our items from the salad bar and waited for the meat to arrive. We then waited, and waited, and waited, and waited. In the end, it took 23 minutes from the time of seating to receive a single slice of meat. From there, the pace was about a piece of meat every 4-5 minutes. And anyone who knows how a Churarascaria works knows that this feel like forever. And it wasn't because we were being left out. Everyone around us was just sitting and looking around for food to arrive. Two couples even got up and left!

On top of all this, the quality of meat presented was way off from what we normally get at these kind of establishments. The meat was not flavorful and didn't even taste like the cut of meat that they were suggesting.

Overall, we were EXTREMELY disappointed. In an area that is renown for its food, this spot is one that we will glad to put behind us. Don't let this place be your impression of Brazilian steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Terrible

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

HORRIBLE SERVICE!! My boyfriend and I were running late to our reservation, so I called in advance to make sure it would be okay. I was on hold for 18 minutes off the hook and I could hear people talking and laughing in the background. When I arrived at the restaurant, the hostess was standing next to the off the hook phone and was not busy. I was still on hold. She seated us and our server came and mumbled some instructions and took away our menus before we had a chance to read them. We were confused so I went and got us another menu to look at. The food was fine but the meat came out extremely slowly. We were there for an hour and a half and only tried seven different meats and did not get dessert. At the end we waited twenty minutes and did not get a new meat. We also waited twenty five minutes for a mojito and when we received it it was warm. Our bill was $100 - for WHAT?! And the gnats were terrible. My boyfriend and I spent the entire time fending off gnats that were swarming our table. Horrible experience - will never return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Not what expected,but great customer ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Not what expected,but great customer service I thought it would be a little more fancy I wasn't impressed with the salad bar

Either but our waitress made it worth a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Will not go back

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The only positive thing I can say about my experience was that the gentlemen that served the meats were very friendly. The food itself was mediocre. From the moment we went to sit down, there was food smeared on our seats and we had to switch them out. Our waiter was not aware of the Valentine's Day special being advertised and I over heard him arguing with a customer about it. He finally went and asked the manager about it and in fact, he was wrong and there was a special. We opened our silverware after making a plate, to find both mine and my husband's silverware was literally caked with food. We waited five minutes to get new ones. All the customers had to ask multiple times for plates for the bar, as they kept running out. I had to ask for water for my husband because his glass was empty, again took almost 10 minutes. I attempted to locate a manager but never did see one. As we ate our food we both ran out of water again, never got a refill. We sat there for over 20 minutes waiting for the check. Our waiter went to walk past our table and I stopped him and asked for the check myself. We wanted dessert but after being there for two hours and not getting tended to or even offered dessert, I said forget it. For the price you pay and the atmosphere that is advertised, I was super disappointed. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Wow.. this place needs to be revamped.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went here 2/13/16 and had reservations the reservations were pointless as we had to wait and watch other people being seated. I understand the whole concept of walk-ins, I work in the restaurant field but reservations should be a priority to be sat not a walk-in. Lack of meat selection or the meet would run out before it got to our dark tuck away in the back little corner table. One sirloin selection was bad spoiled cooked meat even told the server another time we received under cooked bacon wrapped chicken. How did this place pass Dhec. This was my second time coming here but the first was great I do not know what happened but this place is gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was VERY slow and we would sit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was VERY slow and we would sit and wait for a server for tea or meats.Very disappointed in the flavor of the meats, and there was no ham. Too few variety of side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Not what I expected out of a Brazilian Steak House

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a cheap buffet feel. Although understaffed they were nice, but nice only goes so far when you are paying $40+ per person. I will be looking for another place the next time we decide to go to a Brazilian Steak House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Dinner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Meat selections good, but salad bar mediocre. Service good

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Never even had dinner

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We had reservations. We were a little early and our table wasn't ready. We were told we could have a seat at the bar. 15 minutes later; no bartender. The hostess said she would send someone out. Soon after we went to ask again about a bartender because at this point people were crowding the bar and attempting to order a drink; A man came out and asked "who's next" to a room of probably 25+ people. No one knew. I mean, wasn't this their job to know who had reservations and who was next to be seated. When the people waiting started to reply to his questions, he stated "Everyone just calm down. You'll all get to eat" I have never been spoken to like that. It was at if we were a pack of wild animals and he was trying to calm us with "You'll all get to eat". I them asked him if there was a bartender and if we could get a drink before dinner. His reply to me "Not tonight you can't". At this point my husband and I waited 20-25 minutes. No drink. No table. No food. The hostess had no clue as to what was going on. Running around with a bunch of names on a legal pad and trying to answer the phone, clean tables, greet guests. It was such a mess. And I have no idea who the man was who entered the room and spoke to us like that. All the people waiting to be seated and there was multiple empty tables. I don't know if there were short staffed or what but it was the most unorganized seen I taken part of in a restaurant setting. Many people started to leave; as did my husband and I. When we told the hostess to cancel us, she did try to tell us they were attempting to seat us next but at that point it was too late. The seen was set and we knew if the experience was already a nightmare, dinner service wouldn't be any better. The hostess made no attempt to apologize, offer anything, get a manager, nothing. This was also during restaurant week so not only did we waste a night out; we missed out on actually have a dinner during restaurant week. What a waste. Hope management is aware!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

GOOD FOOD, LONG WAIT TIME

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We made a reservation for 6.30 pm and arrived 10 mins early at which time the hostess stated it would be a few minutes until our table was ready. That is understandable since we were 10 mins early; however, we were not seated until 6.55pm. The food was good and plenty of it, but be prepared to wait for your table regardless of whether you have a reservation or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

MARAVILHOSO

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Finally tried this place during restaurant week, and our whole party had a great experience. If you've never been to a Brazilian steakhouse, you just need to remember to go hungry, as the food just keeps coming. The service was fast and friendly, and everything we sampled was delicious. The unique feature of this type of restaurant is the endless parade of grilled meats brought your table on a skewer, but special mention must be made of the salad bar for variety and freshness. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.