About Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston

2411 Mall Drive
North Charleston, SC 29406
View Larger Map

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse is an unique, and authentic, all you can eat “Churrascaria.” Featuring a full Salad Bar with over 30 items, 6 Brazilian Hot Dishes and a “parade” of 16 different types of Beef, Chicken, Pork and Lamb, brought to your table by our "gaúchos" and sliced individually.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Montague Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 744-9000

Website:
http://www.cowboybraziliansteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Romantic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Elkins was awesome! The staff in a whole ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Elkins was awesome! The staff in a whole were very pleasant from the beginning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the theme and love eating at other ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Love the theme and love eating at other Brazilian Steakhouses but this one the food quality was low and it took forever for the servers to come over with the meat. They would often come over with only one piece making my date wait on hers. Items on the salad bar were not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Fabulous food! Great atmosphere! We we ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Fabulous food! Great atmosphere! We were concerned this would be a food trough. It, however, was not! It was elegant yet upscale-casual. Delicious! Well thought out and explained upon arrival. Our new family favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

simply disappointed compared to the one ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

simply disappointed compared to the one in columbia, SC. Great staff but food was a serious let down. I would not recommend this place nor would I go back. Maybe this is a one off but with 6 of us eating that evening for the first time - none said they would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good and we had a great server, ...

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was good and we had a great server, Raymond. I enjoyed the side dishes too and the meat was tender.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very limited wine with List staff did n ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very limited wine with List

staff did not have any wine opening, pouring experience

Didn't for a taste for us to try the wind just filled everybody's glasses and re corked our wine after opening it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, will improve. Food still great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food here was good. The salad bar h ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food here was good. The salad bar had a good salad selection, smoked salmon, bread, cheese, shrimp, all in all a good spread on the bar. The meat tasted great!

The service, however, was pretty bad. I think they had 1 waiter for the entire place. I felt bad for the kid. The gauchos were very slow when we first arrived. But once they got going we couldn't keep up. Unfortunately, they didn't have chicken hearts while we were there (one of my favorites).

Maybe we just hit them up on a bad night, but all in all, great food, poor service. If you don't need to be waited on hand and foot you will enjoy this place. But if you want the waiter filling up your drink every 30 seconds, maybe look somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

A must go for everyone! Great food and s ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A must go for everyone! Great food and service! A great time for everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! Raymond was our ser ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Raymond was our server for the second time in a couple months. He treats us top notch!! We also brought our two year old son who is treated like a little King! They talked him into trying lamb, and he ate it all. Recommend for all!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good. I have never seen thi ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food is good. I have never seen this place busy. The guests dress very casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

it was our 30 year wedding anniversary, ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

it was our 30 year wedding anniversary, we don't like large crowds or having to wait for a table, i am on the Keto diet hubby is diabetic this place is perfect for all it was pleasantly quiet we had the place practically to ourselves to start, it was early on a Tuesday. house special yummy got the full experience and it was worth it to this carnivore. can't wait to go back for sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upon arrival we were seated promptly and ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Upon arrival we were seated promptly and our drink order was taken immediately, and the only positive part of this review. We were given a brief, yet incomplete breakdown as to how it worked with the meat selections. The salad bar was ok, nothing to write home about. We received our first sampling of meat and it was overcooked, dry and flavorless as were most of the 6 other proceeding meats. One of the meats was sliced,placed on the plate and then we noticed the fruit flies on it. As one would imagine our appetites quickly diminished. We pointed out to the server who covered it up and removed it from the table and sent over a manager. He apologized and then brought the owner over. She basically dismissed our complaint saying there was no way the bugs could have been there because of the way the meat is cooked. It me feel as if she was esentially blaming us for the flies. She did not really apologize other than offer us half off. We literally had 7 small slices of meats, one salad and maybe 10 small shrimp before this happened, so half off the meal was not really doing us any favors. She did not offer anything else and just seemed to not care. I did not find anything tasty, delicious or even mediocre and the price they charge per person is not worth it. Save yourself some money and go to outback for better meat and all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Wonderful service

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We normally go to the Steakhouse in Colu ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We normally go to the Steakhouse in Columbia after our Zoo trips. It's always fantastic so we knew this one in N. Charleston would be good as well. It was but we actually left a little hungry. We had a reservation and arrived a few minutes early. After being seated a large party of about 25-30 came in without a reservation. Therefore they took a bunch of time from the meat servers. We were served a sliver of meat approximately every 6 to 8 minutes. It got old quick so we left. It was NOT the restaurants fault. If the party would have reserved a time like it was recommended they would have been properly staffed. The entire staff was very nice and apologetic. We will go back! So if you are reading this review and are planning a trip there with a large party, please be considerate of the other food lovers and staff....Make a dang reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

They had the bartender doing waitress du ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

They had the bartender doing waitress duty, so drinks took a while to show up. The waitress did what she could but they definitely need more help. The cold bar had a good selection, but the hot bar wasn't that great. The meat was great. Overall it was ok, but not somewhere I'd go again during the week.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service, I love the lamb and pinea ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great service, I love the lamb and pineapple and some of the meats. There are multiple meats I do not like. I would return overall. It was a fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. The owner t ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. The owner took time to share some cultural information about the food and history of Brazil. My three children enjoyed it (oldest one is six).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad bar, hot item bar and all the ...

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The salad bar, hot item bar and all the meats were good. The service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

What a fun time and delicious meal! The ...

 
·Dined on April 22, 2016

What a fun time and delicious meal! The meats were seasoned and cooked perfectly. The salad bar was fresh and plentiful. There were very good choices in the wine selection. The service was superb. We are already making plans for our return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Gourmet food, very kind staff, very clea ...

 
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Gourmet food, very kind staff, very clean restaurant. Noise level is fairly quiet, good for a friend gathering or romantic date

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for what one gets. Food was g ...

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Overpriced for what one gets. Food was good, but not great. Ambiance is not consistent with the price point. Overall just an average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Slowwwww

 
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The server was nice, but at first when we walked in he said no service dogs allowed. My husband said you better get your manager. He said well they're allowed but you have to call ahead so we can let other guess know that you have a service dog. He said since you didn't let us know we will have to put you in the little room by yourselves instead of the dinning area. And of course the guys with the meat sticks were VERY slow to come to the area we were at, cause they didn't see us in there. My son and husband got flustered and said lets go, so we paid for food we didn't get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Monday 5:00 PM Mar. 24 2016

 
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We have visited this type of resturant in FLA. a few years ago. We like this Resturant & will recomend to all our friends.Everything was great. the only exception was the colards were not cooked enough at opening time. The salads were great All the meats were great. We will be back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Pace yourself

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything was delicious. The salad bar was fresh and vibrant, and the meat each better than the next. Took advantage of Sunday discount. Well worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Poor Service

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We took our daughter here on a Sunday afternoon for her birthday. Had 5:00 PM reservations. My wife and I arrived on time and were promptly seated. Our daughter and her boyfriend were running late. Our waitress (Kasie) took our drink order and my wife asked for a wine list. The place was practically deserted with only 4 occupied tables. It took the waitress nearly 15 minutes to bring the wine list and our drink refills suffered the same fate for the rest of the evening. No excuse for that, especially when business is as slow as it was.

On a positive note, the gauchos who brought the food to the table were fast, personable and very helpful. The food was above average for most places, although it was not up to par compared to other Brazilian steak houses we have been to.

If they fix the service issues, this would be a solid 4-star place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Great fun!

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I have never been to a "Brazilian Steak House" before. My husband heard about this place from someone at work, so he made reservations. This place was great. I wish we had paced ourselves a little better, we couldn't try everything. The pineapple was delicious! All the meats we tried were tasty, but the "House Special" was the best meat ever!

The Gauchos were friendly and helpful. The server was very attentive. When she seated us she explained how everything worked, he never let our glasses get empty and answered all the questions we had. Overall it was a fun experience, I can't wait to go with a large group!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Tha salad bar was great and the meats we ...

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Tha salad bar was great and the meats were good when they came around. I had to make multiple requests to get what I wanted. Compared to other Brazilian steakhouses, this was not nearly as good. Other restaurant servers came by so often i had to turn my disc over to keep them away. Not so here. I never turned my disc to RED and still never got what I requested. Water cup ran dry twice! That should NEVER happen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Wonderful Surprise

 
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Our first time visit was exceptional. Not really knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly impressed. Our waiter, Bruce, explained everything to us in a very pleasant and professionally manner. We had our 2 grandchildren with us and he certainly played up to them as a professional. Our food was terrific and we loved being able to sample all the different types of meat cooked just like we wanted. Everyone was friendly and professional. We will definitely go again! The grandchildren said it was the best restaurant they've ever been to!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My visit

 
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food here is very good and you have plenty of choices. All of the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service

 
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Our Server name was Bruce and he was amazing... So pleasant, very knowledgeable and made sure we all had everything we needed throughout our entire evening . Food was great, fresh, wonderful choices. The meats were amazing.....

We will be going back with a large group again and hopefully we'll get lucky and have Bruce again .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great quality for the price!

 
·Dined on February 16, 2016

After hearing great reviews on the radio and from co-workers, my husband and I decided to give this place a try. We have both been to Brazilian steakhouses in much larger cities (which were also much more expensive!) and enjoyed the concept.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meats and the variety of the menu at Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse! Especially for the price! Our server was very friendly and attentive. We left there very full but very happy!

The restaurant was very clean and the decor was nice. I believe the building was formerly used as a cafeteria-style restaurant, but they did a nice job of renovating it.

We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only adequate.

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our wait staff was excellent...made us feel welcome. The cold bar and hot bar were more than adequate with smoked salmon being available as well as sauteed mushrooms. They were prompt with the various meats, and the bacon wrapped chicken was delicious, along with the roast beef. But all of the other meats, including filet mignon and lamb were cooked medium or more. 4 of us felt they were overcooked. The atmosphere is kind of like a cafeteria. Big, open, and too bright for a dinner out. I noticed some Latin music playing in the background from time to time and that was appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A bit disappointed

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went there for Valentines Day, and they were not at all prepared, for the amount of people that day. They had over 365 reservations plus walk-ins. There were only 2 waitresses, hostess was having to clean tables, one man was tending bar, serving food and cleaning tables. Took almost an hour to receive any meats. But the food was very good, when we received it. Overall it was still a pleasant evening, and we will be going back, when they aren't so busy. Thankfully we had a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Don't bother with a reservation

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I made reservations here for Valentine's day at 7pm. We arrived and were told to sit down and wait to be called. We saw, not even exaggerating, about 20-25 people leave while we all were waiting and yet no one was being seated. 40 minutes later someone with a 7:30 reservation got seated, while four different couples with 7:00 reservations were still waiting. They gave excuses, but didn't apologize. When we finally got seated, 45 minutes after our reservation time, we sat at our table for 10-15 minutes before getting up and requesting someone come take our drink order. Again when someone finally came and took our drink orders, there was no apology, our waitress made excuses and blamed someone else for not telling her we had been seated (even though she had looked at us and walked by us several times). The food was good, when we got some. There were long stretches of time when no one came to our table with skewers, I'm talking like 10-15 minutes. It's not even like the place was jam-packed, I could understand the poor service better if that were the case. There were many open tables. There was no sense of urgency from our waitress, instead she seemed to saunter over to the table whenever it suited her. Thoroughly disappointed with what was supposed to be a nice Valentine's day dinner with my husband for the first time in five years. Very poor management and customer service. Unless you made a ruckus, you were invisible. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Extremely Slow Service & Substandard Food

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have been to several Brazilian steakhouses and this one, by FAR, has been the worst one.

First, we had a reservation. Despite this fact, we were still sat 40 minutes after arrival. From there, we were greeted in the most curt manner I have experienced in a while. We picked up our items from the salad bar and waited for the meat to arrive. We then waited, and waited, and waited, and waited. In the end, it took 23 minutes from the time of seating to receive a single slice of meat. From there, the pace was about a piece of meat every 4-5 minutes. And anyone who knows how a Churarascaria works knows that this feel like forever. And it wasn't because we were being left out. Everyone around us was just sitting and looking around for food to arrive. Two couples even got up and left!

On top of all this, the quality of meat presented was way off from what we normally get at these kind of establishments. The meat was not flavorful and didn't even taste like the cut of meat that they were suggesting.

Overall, we were EXTREMELY disappointed. In an area that is renown for its food, this spot is one that we will glad to put behind us. Don't let this place be your impression of Brazilian steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Terrible

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

HORRIBLE SERVICE!! My boyfriend and I were running late to our reservation, so I called in advance to make sure it would be okay. I was on hold for 18 minutes off the hook and I could hear people talking and laughing in the background. When I arrived at the restaurant, the hostess was standing next to the off the hook phone and was not busy. I was still on hold. She seated us and our server came and mumbled some instructions and took away our menus before we had a chance to read them. We were confused so I went and got us another menu to look at. The food was fine but the meat came out extremely slowly. We were there for an hour and a half and only tried seven different meats and did not get dessert. At the end we waited twenty minutes and did not get a new meat. We also waited twenty five minutes for a mojito and when we received it it was warm. Our bill was $100 - for WHAT?! And the gnats were terrible. My boyfriend and I spent the entire time fending off gnats that were swarming our table. Horrible experience - will never return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Not what expected,but great customer ser ...

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Not what expected,but great customer service I thought it would be a little more fancy I wasn't impressed with the salad bar

Either but our waitress made it worth a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Will not go back

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The only positive thing I can say about my experience was that the gentlemen that served the meats were very friendly. The food itself was mediocre. From the moment we went to sit down, there was food smeared on our seats and we had to switch them out. Our waiter was not aware of the Valentine's Day special being advertised and I over heard him arguing with a customer about it. He finally went and asked the manager about it and in fact, he was wrong and there was a special. We opened our silverware after making a plate, to find both mine and my husband's silverware was literally caked with food. We waited five minutes to get new ones. All the customers had to ask multiple times for plates for the bar, as they kept running out. I had to ask for water for my husband because his glass was empty, again took almost 10 minutes. I attempted to locate a manager but never did see one. As we ate our food we both ran out of water again, never got a refill. We sat there for over 20 minutes waiting for the check. Our waiter went to walk past our table and I stopped him and asked for the check myself. We wanted dessert but after being there for two hours and not getting tended to or even offered dessert, I said forget it. For the price you pay and the atmosphere that is advertised, I was super disappointed. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.