Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse is an unique, and authentic, all you can eat “Churrascaria.” Featuring a full Salad Bar with over 30 items, 6 Brazilian Hot Dishes and a “parade” of 16 different types of Beef, Chicken, Pork and Lamb, brought to your table by our "gaúchos" and sliced individually.

2411 Mall Drive
North Charleston, SC 29406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Montague Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 744-9000

Website:
http://www.cowboybraziliansteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

3.2

value

3.5

Noise

Quiet

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (7)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort by
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was okay our sever Raymond acted like he didn’t want to be there walls were dirty and they kept running out of plates food was okay..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Took wife for Valentine's Day. Wife loved it. Brazilian steak house just needs to follow protocols red means no green means bring on the meat that is what makes the experience different than other restaurants and stops the server from interrupting anything the customer may have going on. I would also recommend that you have more alcohic Brazilian drinks and deserts from that area as well. Our server was awesome and the food was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Our server was outstanding and very attentive. The gentlemen who came around to the table very polite and attentive. The price is too expensive for the level of ambiance and the quality of food was subpar. I feel the decor in the restaurant resembled a Shoneys or Bob Evans. Salad bar was not $35 worth. There was a variety of items but the flavor just wasn’t there. I just expected better quality for the price. The House Special steak and pineapple were the best items on the menu. The staff were great, though. I don’t believe I would go back here. I have been to several Brazilian Steakhouses and all were very much worth the $35-40. This one is not that great, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2018

We were surprised by the empty parking lot and a little apprehensive because I had been to two other Brazilian steakhouses in other states that were crowded! I should not have worried...the staff was super friendly and knowledgeable and it was a Monday, apparently a slow day for this hidden gem!. The food was really good...I think the salad bar was very good but a little smaller than the ones in Texas. The meat choices were amazing and the grilled pineapple was a nice intermission between the meats. Also the hot sides were very good. All in all, my friends ,my husband and myself really enjoyed our night out. And, look for a coupon for a little discount and bottle of wine with your meal. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 1, 2018

Good food and good service Enjoyed it and will go back again

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2018

This restaurant is so good and so under visited. My husband and I visited on a Monday night, Yes, it was early. We had a 5:30 reservation. We got there on time and we were the ONLY people there. We were still treated like very important customers. Everyone was so pleasant from Raymond, the man who showed us to our table and brought our bottle of wine to the Gaucho who sliced our meat selections. The salad bar selections are wonderful and fresh. The meat selections are plentiful and cooked to perfection. What is going on?? Why isn't this place busting at the seams with happy diners?? We enjoyed everything and are very happy we ate here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Disappointed! Food was not flavorful and seemed old. It was also not delivered to the table on time. We had to ask several times for the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 21, 2018

How dare you call this a Brazilian Restaurant. Call it a truck-stop with overpriced bad food and horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Disappointed. It does not compare to The Cowboy Brazilian located on Hilton Head, SC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Terrible service! I can't comment on the food because after 15 min of standing in the lobby, we were never once approached or even acknowledged, so we turned around and left. We had reservations at 7:15 on a Saturday evening. We arrived on time to a lobby full of people. There was no one at the hostess counter, and the wait staff appeared to be running around frantic. It was Charleston Restaurant Week, and as a participating restaurant, we expected they would be busy, and we were initially forgiving. However, we also expected they would be staffed appropriately and prepared (after all, this is a chance for restaurants to showcase their best service and meals). The other guests in the lobby were seated within the first five minutes after we arrived. In the remaining ten minutes that we waited, we remained standing in the center of the lobby, clearly waiting, but no one ever came to greet us or even glanced in our direction. There were many open tables, and the restaurant was no where near what I would consider busy, especially for a Saturday night. In the 15 min we were there, only once did we see one "gaucho" come out to serve one type of meat to a single table. Not one other table was served meat in the time we were there. At $35/person for just the meal, I would expect to see someone out serving meat at all times. I've been to Brazilian steakhouses in other areas, and they usually offer more meat than you could ever dream of actually eating. We finally left (never greeted or acknowledged) and went to Jim 'N Nicks which was twice as busy, but got us seated immediately, had great service, great food, and cost us half the price, even with drinks. Lesson learned. A hefty price tag won't buy you good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2018

I typically enjoy any Brazilian steakhouse experience but the poor service at Cowboy was slightly frustrating. It ended up taking us 3 hours for dinner (usually 1.5 or so) because any time we needed a waiter there were none to be found. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The waiters, for some reason did not come over to our table as much as they did to others. Very strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Very disappointed in the speed of the food coming out to my table. The servers of the food came out of the kitchen area and went to the same tables first every time. I was seated in th e middle and the servers either had run out of food or it was no longer hot. Also, my refills on my drink were few and far between. Not a very good experience. I highly recommend that the employees go to Rioz Brazilian Steak House In Myrtle Beach and learn how to do it the right way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was really good, service good once we were seated. No one up front so had to wait awhile to be seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Service was so from start to finish. It was my birthday and my first time there. I was disappointed and don't see a return visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Great dinning experience. Awesome fresh salad bar. Worth the money. Wait staff excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Ambience is very outdated. Good pleace for meat-lovers but only those who prefer quantity over quality. The buffet is OK and for everybody something.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2018

For a Brazilian Steakhouse, it reminded me of an Applebee's (or something similar) inside. The sides were out of cans, the salad options weren't anything special, and almost all the meat that we got was well done. Some of the meat you couldn't eat because it was so tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2018

as usual the food was amazing, service rigt on point, fabulous deserts. wonderful selection on cold bar , some hot too. will return again and again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Don’t go here! Ordered a Beefeater martini and it took half an hour. Had to go and ask. When it finally came it was Red! Took it back to the bar and was told they had no bartender and looked things up.
Food pretty bad too. Not much English spoken. Overall pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2018

The salads bar was nice, however quality of meats and service did not meet expectations. We had much better experience at another Brazilian steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The salad bar was tasty but small compared to salad bars at other Brazilian steakhouses where we've dined.

The meats, sides and cheesecake were excellent!

The waiter was kind and personable but service was sometimes slow (e.g. -didn't get water upon being seated but he brewed me fresh coffee). The manager was very "present" and worked alongside his staff when they were busy.

Ambiance needs a definite upgrade. The setting felt more like a "cafeteria" than an upgraded buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2018

We enjoyed our first visit week. Food and service great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Celebrated with a lot of happiness and great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Food was great. Edison was just the best host! I'm definitely coming back and refer to others

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Staff was phenomenal ! Food excellent!! Mario is a wonderful manager, very good conversation and service!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We walked in and were greeted by the owner who explained the entire concept to us. For $35 it's all you can eat, and the selection of meats include Filet, Chicken, Pork, and Lamb. Bring a HUGE appetite as there is also a huge bar of cold sides, as well as several hot vegetable choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2017

The food is amazing every bite is deliciously satisfying & the staff is great very friendly & attentive

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The service was excellent. Meat selection was varied and served rare like I like.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Worst experience! Wanted an awesome place to take my fiancé for his birthday. We've dined at Rioz in MB. So I was looking for something similar. I asked a few people and got a few good comments. Well, clearly, they haven't been to an authentic Brazilian Steak House. Our first sign should have been there are 3 tables seated on Friday. We ordered drinks and waited 15 mins. We didn't want to get our food without drinks. Buffet=Disappointing. There were 4 hot items. And the bar was missing tons. The chicken salad was probably the worst I've ever tasted which is usually my favorite part. It was mushy. The pasta was dry. I loved the mashed potatoes and mushrooms and honestly that's basically what I ate the entire night. After we fixed our plate of sides, we waited for the actual meat. 10 more minutes before anything came out. One thing came around then literally 5 minutes later someone else would come around. There was no flow at all. Usually you get what you're going to eat then you flip your card over and you enjoy your meal. We couldn't do that because the meat didn't come out like it should. The ambience was like a generic buffet. It wasn't fancy at all. The Mojito was too tangy. Most of the meat that we got was actually tasty so I can't complain about that and the chicken heart was interesting. I never had that before so that was nice. We didn't make it through all meats because we were tired of waiting. Had to ask for the pineapple. And then I got the bill. There is no way it adds up to $108 bill plus tip. So $130. I would suggest whoever runs this restaurant to make a trip to to Rioz. There's no comparison. And it was cheaper. We will not go back. We will not recommend. And we will drive the two hours to MB the next time. And I've already suggested to anyone who recommended Cowboys that they go to Rioz in the future they will be blown away and will probably never go back as well. It was literally the worst experience especially for a birthday outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Great service. Wonderful food. Nice to be able to try different types of meat. Salad bar was very fresh, nice selection, good quality

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Everything was as describe. Well worth the price. Come hungary and leave fulfilled.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We made reservations for 6 adults for our Thanksgiving dinner. It was our first time going there and we were impressed. I did not hear one complaint from our table. The meats were all very good and the salad bar had many delicious healthy choices, including smoked salmon and shrimp. The staff was very helpful, explained A to Z. With the menu being 'All you can eat' and getting a holiday discount on top of that, I'm sure we will go back. We might just make this a tradition.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We had been to the location in Winston Salem North Carolina and loved it. We went for Sunday brunch so in addition to all of the meets and the salad bar there were also many breakfast options. My husband and I went for our 30th anniversary and we loved it. We will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Untrained waiters, ambiance reminded me of a Ryan’s or Golden Corral. When you spend the money they ask you expect the surrounding and the wait staff to be at a certain level, they were not.

However food overall was fairly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Service has always been mediocre at Cowboy, but this time it was worse than bad. Apart from the lamb and the salad bar shrimp, the food was awful, no bread on the salad bar - even after we pointed it out. No feta in the pasta & feta salad. Under seasoned meat. Ridiculously long wait for gaucho's to appear with food.
The manager (?) was at a loss for words when we told him all this...if your leadership is crappy then the rest of the staff have little to go by.
Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Pace yourself because the food keeps coming. Enjoyed the atmosphere and cleanliness. Mario seated us at our table and explained how things go and we ate all we could eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Worst restaurant I’ve ever eaten at. Seriously, save your money and eat at McDonalds before going here. We love Brazilian steakhouses, but this is a very sad excuse. Food on buffet was old. Meats being passed were either burnt and old or rare. I was looking for medium well meats and never got a single bite that was properly cooked. Waiter was rude. Just awful. This place needs to close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2017

It's pretty bad when the 2 best things you had was the pineapple and the wine. Service was good but food was either over done or had not taste at all. As for the value of it's a little to expensive for what actually ate. We will not be eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

While the decor is quite dated and cheap, the food is good. Many selections, good drinks.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.