About Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston

2411 Mall Drive
North Charleston, SC 29406
View Larger Map

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse is an unique, and authentic, all you can eat “Churrascaria.” Featuring a full Salad Bar with over 30 items, 6 Brazilian Hot Dishes and a “parade” of 16 different types of Beef, Chicken, Pork and Lamb, brought to your table by our "gaúchos" and sliced individually.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Montague Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 744-9000

Website:
http://www.cowboybraziliansteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Come and enjoy the Christmas Eve with us and celebrate it with a bottle of white or red house wine on us when you order a rodizio for two persons .

Cowboy Brazilian Steakhouse- N. Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Food !!! Hard to get to location. ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great Food !!! Hard to get to location. Inside needs redone...Spend some money on tables and Good candles...

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Ambiance was sub par at best. For the pr ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ambiance was sub par at best. For the price we paid to eat we were very underwhelmed. We have previously went to a Brazilian style steakhouse in Atlanta and it was amazing. The food itself was not very appetizing either as far as the meats were concerned which is really the main reason you go to a place like this. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

It was wonderful as always. Quiet and no ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

It was wonderful as always. Quiet and not hurried. Great extensive salad bar. Save room for the pineapple closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, could use a few more ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was very good, could use a few more items on the salad bar but overall a great place to eat

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good. We got there about an ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good. We got there about an hour before closing so we missed out on some of the meat choices. The service was slow, but there again it was an hour before closing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Maybe it was bad timing. I have been to ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

Maybe it was bad timing. I have been to several Brazilian restaurants around the world and this was my worst experience. First the food, I came in 15 minutes after they opened hoping to get good fresh meat. Not the case, I got leftovers from the day before, dry and over cooked. Also there was no seasoning, just roasted meat, I had to add my own salt and pepper. So I took my time waiting fresh meat to come out... After 35 minutes the server came, took my plate, my silverware and handed me the bill.... I never said I was done..... He stood there until I paid..... Very very bad service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We were seated by the hostess, read the ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were seated by the hostess, read the menu, never saw any waitress for 5 minutes, so we left. They never even knew we left. Didn't even see the hostess on the way out. Oblivious. No service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

First time there. Very slow, not very b ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

First time there. Very slow, not very busy....

Salad Bar was fresh and our waiter, Raymond was attentive.

The prime rib was good but the other meats were overcooked.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Raymond was great. Made the experience g ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Raymond was great. Made the experience great. Ill go back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Elkins was awesome! The staff in a whole ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Elkins was awesome! The staff in a whole were very pleasant from the beginning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the theme and love eating at other ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the theme and love eating at other Brazilian Steakhouses but this one the food quality was low and it took forever for the servers to come over with the meat. They would often come over with only one piece making my date wait on hers. Items on the salad bar were not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

First time visiting a Brazilian Steakhou ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

First time visiting a Brazilian Steakhouse, and left craving more steak? Really This spot not worth the money, they are holding back on serving meat so one can fill up on salad. It's a shame the flavor was good on the thin slice of steak I ate but they were very stingy with serving meat 3 times I was passed by with a skewer when my coaster was on green. Very disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Fabulous food! Great atmosphere! We we ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Fabulous food! Great atmosphere! We were concerned this would be a food trough. It, however, was not! It was elegant yet upscale-casual. Delicious! Well thought out and explained upon arrival. Our new family favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

simply disappointed compared to the one ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

simply disappointed compared to the one in columbia, SC. Great staff but food was a serious let down. I would not recommend this place nor would I go back. Maybe this is a one off but with 6 of us eating that evening for the first time - none said they would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good and we had a great server, ...

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was good and we had a great server, Raymond. I enjoyed the side dishes too and the meat was tender.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very limited wine with List staff did n ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very limited wine with List

staff did not have any wine opening, pouring experience

Didn't for a taste for us to try the wind just filled everybody's glasses and re corked our wine after opening it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Short staffed due to illness; hopefully, will improve. Food still great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food here was good. The salad bar h ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food here was good. The salad bar had a good salad selection, smoked salmon, bread, cheese, shrimp, all in all a good spread on the bar. The meat tasted great!

The service, however, was pretty bad. I think they had 1 waiter for the entire place. I felt bad for the kid. The gauchos were very slow when we first arrived. But once they got going we couldn't keep up. Unfortunately, they didn't have chicken hearts while we were there (one of my favorites).

Maybe we just hit them up on a bad night, but all in all, great food, poor service. If you don't need to be waited on hand and foot you will enjoy this place. But if you want the waiter filling up your drink every 30 seconds, maybe look somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

A must go for everyone! Great food and s ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A must go for everyone! Great food and service! A great time for everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! Raymond was our ser ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Raymond was our server for the second time in a couple months. He treats us top notch!! We also brought our two year old son who is treated like a little King! They talked him into trying lamb, and he ate it all. Recommend for all!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good. I have never seen thi ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food is good. I have never seen this place busy. The guests dress very casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

it was our 30 year wedding anniversary, ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

it was our 30 year wedding anniversary, we don't like large crowds or having to wait for a table, i am on the Keto diet hubby is diabetic this place is perfect for all it was pleasantly quiet we had the place practically to ourselves to start, it was early on a Tuesday. house special yummy got the full experience and it was worth it to this carnivore. can't wait to go back for sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upon arrival we were seated promptly and ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Upon arrival we were seated promptly and our drink order was taken immediately, and the only positive part of this review. We were given a brief, yet incomplete breakdown as to how it worked with the meat selections. The salad bar was ok, nothing to write home about. We received our first sampling of meat and it was overcooked, dry and flavorless as were most of the 6 other proceeding meats. One of the meats was sliced,placed on the plate and then we noticed the fruit flies on it. As one would imagine our appetites quickly diminished. We pointed out to the server who covered it up and removed it from the table and sent over a manager. He apologized and then brought the owner over. She basically dismissed our complaint saying there was no way the bugs could have been there because of the way the meat is cooked. It me feel as if she was esentially blaming us for the flies. She did not really apologize other than offer us half off. We literally had 7 small slices of meats, one salad and maybe 10 small shrimp before this happened, so half off the meal was not really doing us any favors. She did not offer anything else and just seemed to not care. I did not find anything tasty, delicious or even mediocre and the price they charge per person is not worth it. Save yourself some money and go to outback for better meat and all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Wonderful service

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We normally go to the Steakhouse in Colu ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We normally go to the Steakhouse in Columbia after our Zoo trips. It's always fantastic so we knew this one in N. Charleston would be good as well. It was but we actually left a little hungry. We had a reservation and arrived a few minutes early. After being seated a large party of about 25-30 came in without a reservation. Therefore they took a bunch of time from the meat servers. We were served a sliver of meat approximately every 6 to 8 minutes. It got old quick so we left. It was NOT the restaurants fault. If the party would have reserved a time like it was recommended they would have been properly staffed. The entire staff was very nice and apologetic. We will go back! So if you are reading this review and are planning a trip there with a large party, please be considerate of the other food lovers and staff....Make a dang reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

They had the bartender doing waitress du ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

They had the bartender doing waitress duty, so drinks took a while to show up. The waitress did what she could but they definitely need more help. The cold bar had a good selection, but the hot bar wasn't that great. The meat was great. Overall it was ok, but not somewhere I'd go again during the week.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service, I love the lamb and pinea ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great service, I love the lamb and pineapple and some of the meats. There are multiple meats I do not like. I would return overall. It was a fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. The owner t ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. The owner took time to share some cultural information about the food and history of Brazil. My three children enjoyed it (oldest one is six).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad bar, hot item bar and all the ...

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The salad bar, hot item bar and all the meats were good. The service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

What a fun time and delicious meal! The ...

 
·Dined on April 22, 2016

What a fun time and delicious meal! The meats were seasoned and cooked perfectly. The salad bar was fresh and plentiful. There were very good choices in the wine selection. The service was superb. We are already making plans for our return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Gourmet food, very kind staff, very clea ...

 
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Gourmet food, very kind staff, very clean restaurant. Noise level is fairly quiet, good for a friend gathering or romantic date

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for what one gets. Food was g ...

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Overpriced for what one gets. Food was good, but not great. Ambiance is not consistent with the price point. Overall just an average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Slowwwww

 
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The server was nice, but at first when we walked in he said no service dogs allowed. My husband said you better get your manager. He said well they're allowed but you have to call ahead so we can let other guess know that you have a service dog. He said since you didn't let us know we will have to put you in the little room by yourselves instead of the dinning area. And of course the guys with the meat sticks were VERY slow to come to the area we were at, cause they didn't see us in there. My son and husband got flustered and said lets go, so we paid for food we didn't get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Monday 5:00 PM Mar. 24 2016

 
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We have visited this type of resturant in FLA. a few years ago. We like this Resturant & will recomend to all our friends.Everything was great. the only exception was the colards were not cooked enough at opening time. The salads were great All the meats were great. We will be back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Pace yourself

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything was delicious. The salad bar was fresh and vibrant, and the meat each better than the next. Took advantage of Sunday discount. Well worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Poor Service

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We took our daughter here on a Sunday afternoon for her birthday. Had 5:00 PM reservations. My wife and I arrived on time and were promptly seated. Our daughter and her boyfriend were running late. Our waitress (Kasie) took our drink order and my wife asked for a wine list. The place was practically deserted with only 4 occupied tables. It took the waitress nearly 15 minutes to bring the wine list and our drink refills suffered the same fate for the rest of the evening. No excuse for that, especially when business is as slow as it was.

On a positive note, the gauchos who brought the food to the table were fast, personable and very helpful. The food was above average for most places, although it was not up to par compared to other Brazilian steak houses we have been to.

If they fix the service issues, this would be a solid 4-star place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Great fun!

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I have never been to a "Brazilian Steak House" before. My husband heard about this place from someone at work, so he made reservations. This place was great. I wish we had paced ourselves a little better, we couldn't try everything. The pineapple was delicious! All the meats we tried were tasty, but the "House Special" was the best meat ever!

The Gauchos were friendly and helpful. The server was very attentive. When she seated us she explained how everything worked, he never let our glasses get empty and answered all the questions we had. Overall it was a fun experience, I can't wait to go with a large group!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Tha salad bar was great and the meats we ...

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Tha salad bar was great and the meats were good when they came around. I had to make multiple requests to get what I wanted. Compared to other Brazilian steakhouses, this was not nearly as good. Other restaurant servers came by so often i had to turn my disc over to keep them away. Not so here. I never turned my disc to RED and still never got what I requested. Water cup ran dry twice! That should NEVER happen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Wonderful Surprise

 
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Our first time visit was exceptional. Not really knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly impressed. Our waiter, Bruce, explained everything to us in a very pleasant and professionally manner. We had our 2 grandchildren with us and he certainly played up to them as a professional. Our food was terrific and we loved being able to sample all the different types of meat cooked just like we wanted. Everyone was friendly and professional. We will definitely go again! The grandchildren said it was the best restaurant they've ever been to!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.