About Coup D'Etat

2923 Girard Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

A smart and stylish restaurant and bar. Coup D'etat is ideal for groups large and small, it offers a private dining room and throughout the restaurant there are lounge areas, tables, and booths for smaller groups. The food is approachable, modern, and contemporary. The cocktail program is equally smart with reinterpretations of classic drinks as well as new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 11am-1am
Tuesday-Thursday 4pm-1am
Friday-Saturday 4pm-2am
Monday - Closed

Happy Hour:
4pm-7pm Daily

Late Night Happy Hour:
10pm-12am Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday

Sunday Brunch 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
Girard and Lagoon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 354-3575

Website:
http://coupdetatmpls.com/

Parking Details:
Ramp parking is available directly below our restaurant in the Walkway Parking Ramp, as well as across the street in the Mosaic Parking Ramp. Street parking can be tricky but is also an option.

Public Transit:
Located two blocks away from the Uptown Transit Center as well as the very close to the following stops:

1 - Lagoon Ave & Fremont Ave S
Stop ID: 42036

2 - Hennepin Ave & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1323

3 - Lake St W & Girard Ave S
Stop ID: 50212

4 - Hennepin Ave S & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1105

Executive Chef:
Tommy Begnaud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch - All you can eat brunch for $20.

Wednesday is Chicken Day! From 7-10pm, your $20 will get you all the fried chicken, fixings, and sides you can eat.

Craw D'etat Saturday $15 all-you-can-eat Creole Crawfish Boil & BBQ

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Coup D'Etat, Minneapolis, MN
Coup D'Etat, Minneapolis, MN

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Book your romantic Valentines Day dinner at Coup d'etat in Uptown!
Enjoy a delicious 3 course dinner for $45/person - Regular menu also available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Coup D'etat offers a few different event space options perfect for dinner parties, corporate meetings, holiday parties or whatever your needs may be! Our Team will work with you to accommodate any special requests and event needs.

Coup D'Etat Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Live Sports (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love New Orleans so this is a good fi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We love New Orleans so this is a good fit. The cocktails are the best from the Vieux Carre to the Sazerac. The Gumbo was outstanding but the rest of the meal of was just okay. Nothing bad but nothing outstanding. Our server was attentive but had no personality. It was almost like he wished he were somewhere else. Still, we will go back. Oh, I think the chicken wings are the best!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We visited for brunch and the food did n ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 6 days ago

We visited for brunch and the food did not disappoint. One of the best tasting spreads I've had in a long time! Great selection too! The reason I give a lower review is the service. It was brunch so you don't have to do much but the server only refilled water and coffee if asked and didn't clear our plates until they piled up. He was very nervous and awkward and didn't explain anything. Had I walked in from the street I would have been totally confused since he gave us no details on what was going on. I would go back based solely on the food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Very slow service today, cold food and n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very slow service today, cold food and not the usual great brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

You simply cannot beat the $20 all-you-c ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

You simply cannot beat the $20 all-you-can-eat weekend brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We dined for New Years Eve and tried the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined for New Years Eve and tried the prix fixe menu as well as some options off the regular menu. Overall, the food was good - there were some hits and misses, but it was fun to try a variety and the prix fixe menu allowed us to try things we wouldn't have chosen otherwise. Ironically, the soup course was by far the best. It was quite an expensive meal once drinks were added (expected for the holiday) but not a price I would pay normally. The service was great. All of their reservation slots were filled, however, the restaurant wasn't overly packed - there was plenty of room for regular seating it appeared. Overall, we enjoyed the experience, but there just wasn't anything about the meal, ambiance or experience that was particularly stand-out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

white wine was served warm followed by n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

white wine was served warm followed by non-crispy calamari that felt like they were made earlier and then reheated. the scallops also seemed reheated to me and not fresh off the pan. very odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

A great spot! Happy hour was great. Good ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A great spot! Happy hour was great. Good prices and good food.

I love the smoked Manhattan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal with oysters, pasta, an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had a great meal with oysters, pasta, and fish. All were really tasty and well prepared. Arctic char preparation was especially good!! Obvious care is taken in the kitchen with nicely crisp skin and perfectly cooked fish. Quality wine by the glass selections too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. Not awesome, but not ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was very good. Not awesome, but not bad at all. Had the Pappardelle because they were out of Fried Chicken. Also had an Old Fashioned. I like strong drinks and it was very strong and good. Server Ed was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Over the past couple years, we had great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Over the past couple years, we had great food and service at coup d'état. Unfortunately, this last experience proved that just restaurant is really slipping. The service was extremely slow, and we could never get The attention of our server. Out of the items that the three of us ordered, all of us had something that they were out of. The items we eventually ordered, were not great. To top it off, they weren't that busy so we were surprised that they were out of food, wine, service was so slow, and that it didn't come hot. We will give it one more try, but unfortunately it looks like it's not the restaurant that used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Good food and large portions. I highly r ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Good food and large portions. I highly recommend the fried chicken dinner special. The chicken was nicely flavored and crispy. The sides were also flavored nicely, especially the greens. Only negative was poor service. The waitress didn't stop by many times and it was a long wait to order.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We really enjoyed our Sunday brunch at C ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our Sunday brunch at Coup D'Etat. The food was tasty and enjoyable with some standard brunch fare (e.g. eggs, french toast, pastries) and some more unique items. The etouffe was excellent with great flavors. Dessert shooters were a nice finish to a great brunch experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

MUCH better service than we had last tim ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

MUCH better service than we had last time we visited here for brunch! Great waitresses, not a big selection on food, but what they had available was pretty dang good. LOVE the potatoes! Would probably recommend for brunch buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

There's a pretty good ambiance here. My ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

There's a pretty good ambiance here. My wife and I went on a Wednesday night for her birthday and there were some people there but not a lot. I didn't seem dead but it definitely wasn't crowded or full.

The beer and cocktail list is pretty extensive. The food was very good. My wife ordered Gnocchi, which was fantastic. I ordered the prosciutto pizza. The pizza was definitely enjoyable but the prosciutto was a bit too salty for me. The crust of the pizza was some of the best I've ever had.

All in all, I'd definitely recommend you give this place a try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great date night! Our server was fantast ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great date night! Our server was fantastic, drinks were delicious and the food was uhhh-mazing. We went around 8:30pm and it was really loud but that was completely expected and didn't take away from our experience - just something to keep in mind if you're looking for a quiet spot!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic brunch, great prices and wond ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic brunch, great prices and wonderful service. My new favorite brunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and presentation. Our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Outstanding food and presentation. Our waiter was great; attentive but not hovering, was very knowledgable on the menu and made some great wine recommendations. Will definately go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My 2nd time there for their all you can ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My 2nd time there for their all you can eat Chicken Dinner Wednesdays. Celebrating my birthday there was heaven! I had only been there once before, and could never get the chicken dinner out of my mind. It was a true WINNER of a dinner once again. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service! Dinner was great and ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service! Dinner was great and for dessert, Pumpkin Creme Brûlée! Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch. I would come here every we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great brunch. I would come here every week for brunch if I could. Great food, great price. So much great food to choose from on the buffet that I need to come back to try other items. Thank you.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I went to the 3 course me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My husband and I went to the 3 course meal for Restaurant week. The food was very good, but not spectacular. The apps were brussels sprouts and bacon/duck salad. Brussels sprouts were fine, but we've had better. Duck salad was not very flavorful. Entrees were pork chops/scallops. Pork chops were a little tough. Best part was the broccolini side dish. Scallops were fine, but the celery side was tasteless. Chocolate panna cotta and the pumpkin creme brûlée were both perfect. The ambiance is odd, but interesting. Sports bar in the middle of the big open space. With either nice big booths, or small high tops surrounding the bar. Upstairs as well. Also a space for grooms diners under big chandeliers.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was incredible, but the service ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food was incredible, but the service was bad enough that I don't think we'll return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Went here for restaurant week. Neat menu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Went here for restaurant week. Neat menu items offered and a cool atmosphere. The noise level however did not match. It was loud with dining chatter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just your regular overpriced uptown rest ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Just your regular overpriced uptown restaurant. It was fine, I liked my food, but I wouldn't make a point of going back or telling anyone to go there. I'll pay a lot for food. Amazing food. But at this price I can get way more amazing food.

There was a pumpkin spice type of cocktail that was actually wonderful and light and yummy (like fall in a cup, not a Starbucks PSL) and so I do recommend that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My family dined for Sunday brunch and it ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My family dined for Sunday brunch and it was fabulous. Service was wonderful, food was great and pricing was good for the quality. Great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the fried chicken and was not full ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I had the fried chicken and was not fully cooked still blood near the bone . Other members of party enjoyed there dinner with the exception of the smaller sized portions

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I wish I knew if it was good. I showed f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I wish I knew if it was good. I showed for my reservation to a closed restaurant. This was very irritating as the lunch was part of an afternoon long plan with movie & shopping we ended up at a not so great burger pub. I think I should be given the points for showing up & a restaurant should be open if taking your reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We have eaten here many times and this w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We have eaten here many times and this was the first time we were upstairs. It was so loud up there that we couldn't have a conversation without shouting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Food was good. Quality was there. Used t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was good. Quality was there. Used to the 'american' portions of food, so just a little set back with smaller portions. Has some getting used to.

We are all ready planning our next visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Not enough food. Small portions. Service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not enough food. Small portions. Service in a hurry, they were in a hurry to take out our plates even though we had not finished.

Nothing special overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Two of our party of three ordered fish, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Two of our party of three ordered fish, one salmon and one red snapper.

Both were overdone, dry, and salty. French fries were tasty. Weather was cool and cloudy, so we ate indoors. On a nice day, the balcony tables on the upper floor might have been nice. Overall very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Hi there, I love coup and am a loyal cus ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Hi there, I love coup and am a loyal customer but ONE THING BOTHERS ME SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!

GET MORE THAN TWO SALAD DRESSINGS!!!

GET MORE THAN TWO SALAD DRESSINGS!!!

GET MORE THAN TWO SALAD DRESSINGS!!!

GET MORE THAN TWO SALAD DRESSINGS!!!

GET MORE THAN TWO SALAD DRESSINGS!!!

GET MORE THAN TWO SALAD DRESSINGS!!!

Every fine dining restaurant has CAESAR DRESSING. HOW DO YOU NOT?!?!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The "All you can eat" Fried Chicken Dinn ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The "All you can eat" Fried Chicken Dinner was absolutely delicious!! I really did not think I would be into the collard greens, but I was, and the mac and cheese side dish was really good too. Oh yes, the biscuit was so tasty too!! But it was the chicken that I am going back for more. I was pretty stuffed after my first plate full, but I managed to ask for more chicken and a biscuit. Drinks were good - I have never recommended a cosmo, but theirs was pretty yummy. Anyway, being my first time there, I shall return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had 12 friendsj oin me for my birthday s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had 12 friendsj oin me for my birthday sunday for brunch was told we had a table on the patio then got to the restaurant

restaurant were told it would take forever to get a table because it was first come first serve. the serving impliments were not present for serving brunch items including shrimp and salmon.told us they were closing early and ran out of bottomlessmemosas. seemed very short staff leading to bad service. #dissapointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The beef brisket melted in my mouth and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The beef brisket melted in my mouth and they served the best biscuits and gravy I've ever eaten!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Have been here before and it's been awes ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Have been here before and it's been awesome, but Saturday was very bad all around- very slow service and the food (typically fantastic) was garbage. Seems like prices have gone up since earlier in the year as well- probably going to be a while before I come back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We brought out of town friends for the u ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We brought out of town friends for the uptown experience. Service was very good. We sat on the patio on a beautiful MN evening so one can't beat that! We ordered appetizers, salad, main course & desserts. Appetizers and salad were great but they were out of some items as well as some wine and beer choices we made. Menu was quite a bit different than their website one. Pasta entrees were really good as was pizza but my husband had the 1/2 fried chicks and the thigh was raw - but they did replace it. Collard greens were overly salty too. Flourless chocolate cake was yummy but again dessert menu was entirely different than the posted website menu. It would be nice if they could keep that current so if a customer looks at it and is set on something they aren't hugely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We met out of town guests for dinner at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We met out of town guests for dinner at Coup d'tat. What a great decision. The food was

amazing! Everyone loved their meal. The service was 5* all around. The ambience was

comfortable, yet fun and energetic. We highly recommend Coup d'tat as we love their

new menu and chef. We will be back, often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great urban hot spot dining. The food we ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great urban hot spot dining. The food we had was great. Especially liked the knoche. We dined on a Sunday night and they were out of two of the entrees as the rest of the weekend had been especially busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner with my boyfriend, his 7 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Birthday dinner with my boyfriend, his 70+ year old mother, three kids aged 18, 15 & 10. Everyone seemed to find something great to eat. Even the 10 year old was marveled by the steak! We were there for a fairly early dinner given our groups ages, and were disappointed to find they were already (at 5:30pm) out of the salmon entrée. Found an acceptable alternative but REALLY wanted the salmon for three of the six of us. I guess we'll be back for that. Desserts were all amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.