About Coup D'Etat

2923 Girard Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

A smart and stylish restaurant and bar. Coup D'etat is ideal for groups large and small, it offers a private dining room and throughout the restaurant there are lounge areas, tables, and booths for smaller groups. The food is approachable, modern, and contemporary. The cocktail program is equally smart with reinterpretations of classic drinks as well as new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Monday-Saturday 4PM-2AM
Sunday 11AM-2AM

Happy Hour:
4PM-6PM Monday-Saturday
11AM-6PM Saturday

Late Night Happy Hour:
10pm-12am daily

Cross Street:
Girard and Lagoon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 354-3575

Website:
http://coupdetatmpls.com/

Parking Details:
Ramp parking is available directly below our restaurant in the Walkway Parking Ramp, as well as across the street in the Mosaic Parking Ramp. Street parking can be tricky but is also an option.

Public Transit:
Located two blocks away from the Uptown Transit Center as well as the very close to the following stops:

1 - Lagoon Ave & Fremont Ave S
Stop ID: 42036

2 - Hennepin Ave & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1323

3 - Lake St W & Girard Ave S
Stop ID: 50212

4 - Hennepin Ave S & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1105

Executive Chef:
Tommy Begnaud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch - All you can eat brunch for $20.

Wednesday is Chicken Day! From 7-10pm, your $20 will get you all the fried chicken, fixings, and sides you can eat.

Craw D'etat Saturday $15 all-you-can-eat Creole Crawfish Boil & BBQ

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Coup D'etat offers a few different event space options perfect for dinner parties, corporate meetings, holiday parties or whatever your needs may be! Our Team will work with you to accommodate any special requests and event needs.

Coup D'Etat Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

vibrant bar scene (19)
great for outdoor dining (18)
fit for foodies (18)
See All
hot spot (17)
good for groups (14)
great for brunch (10)
special occasion (9)
romantic (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3

My favorite place to entertain for brunc ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite place to entertain for brunch!

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

First visit was for Father's Day brunch, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

First visit was for Father's Day brunch,. The brunch seems to get mixed reviews. Our reservation was right at 11:00 and earl the food was fresh and hot. Smoked brisket was the only option for carving station. It would be nice to add some turkey. Our server was a bit slow for some reason, like she was not that experienced in this type of restaurant. The space is gorgeous though and I would return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place whether looking for a restau ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place whether looking for a restaurant for a date or a business luncheon. Service was very attentive, and the food arrives to your table quickly. We sat outside on the upper deck and enjoyed the scenes from below. Food was prepared excellently. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was mediocre, lack-luster, and very ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was mediocre, lack-luster, and very salt-heavy. Calamari was the only fantastic taste due to the thin lemon-zest and light breading. Cocktails were extremely sugar-heavy and devoid of any strong flavor impressions. Avoid them unless you have a strong sweet-tooth. Overall, this seemed a fun place for happy-hour, but I would not recommend for dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hannah was very attentive. Appreciate ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Hannah was very attentive. Appreciate the happy hour prices in wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outdoors on a beautiful Minneapol ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We ate outdoors on a beautiful Minneapolis summer evening before catching a show at Comedy Sportz. Our server was very helpful to be sure we were done on time to get to the show. Great cheese curds and Happy Hour prices. Steak was more fatty than expected but french fries were amazing. Fresh salads, Nice Ambience and Minneapolis Vibe too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken was delicious, the Mac & C ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fried chicken was delicious, the Mac & Cheese that came with it was not so good. The dry rub chicken wings for appetizer was great, wasn't a big fan of the calamari. The scallops looked wonderful. The ambience & service is five star all the way!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Went for brunch and because it was a bit ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for brunch and because it was a bit windy wanted to eat inside, but only has hitop tables for 2 on the main floor and I didn't want to walk up/down stairs each pass so had to sit in hitop. The food was really good - excellent beef and bacon and the grilled vegetables were wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service5

Our server was fantastic. He gave us rec ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our server was fantastic. He gave us recommendations and was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks were probably the best in tow ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The drinks were probably the best in town. The food was amazing. Very pleased with my experience at this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Super expensive for very mediocre food. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Super expensive for very mediocre food. It is a nice place to have a drink but I would not recommend the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

So good!!

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was my first time eating here and the food was so good! And all the drinks were great too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Had dinner here previously and it was ex ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Had dinner here previously and it was excellent. Food and service. This time, however, it was not so good. We had Sunday brunch. Didn't realize there was no menu service on Sunday. It was average steam table food all the way. My fault for not checking the menu for Sunday brunch. This spread was for those who want quantity, not quality.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

had 11am brunch reservations, but were m ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

had 11am brunch reservations, but were marched upstairs, and seated next to a breezy window with lots of open seating downstairs where the buffet and restrooms were located. Didn't quite understand the thought process. Food extraordinary-great selection and variety. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Like the outside patio

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was fun and good. The ambiance is great. The food some had good dinners some wanted more flavor

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated with our reservations on time. Food was fantastic, and the wait staff was responsive but not over bearing. Perfect way to celebrate Mother's Day. We loved the many different levels for seating as well as indoor and outdoor options. We will go again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place

Dined on May 7, 2016

We love Coup d'Etat since the food is always very, very tasty, they have a full bar and lots of taps and wines available. We also love the decor/interior which makes for a very fun, vibrant scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious, the main meals light ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was delicious, the main meals light. We ordered the Gnocchi as an extra and that was heavy; however, very good. It is not traditional gnocchi, so set your expectations right.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great but it was SO LOUD

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was great here but it was SO LOUD we had to shout our conversation. We left as soon as our meal was done to go somewhere else to talk. Sitting out on the balcony in the summer would be delightful. Great location in Uptown. If you're there to drink and have a good time it might not matter so much.

Tags: hot spot
food1
ambience4
service1

Terrible service, food was lukewarm. How ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Terrible service, food was lukewarm. How do u serve hard potatoes? Truly disappointing ...

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had their burger which I believe is a ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had their burger which I believe is a knock-off of the Parlour burger. That was the first time we've had it. Very good for being a basic cheese burger. Their happy hour prices were reasonable, however it was a surprise that the only beers on happy hour were the local ones. Their smoked Manhattan was really good and had a fun presentation.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good, but small portions

Dined on March 12, 2016

As the title would suggest, the portions are small. While they're not too small, they do leave a bit to be desired. I think the idea is that you get several courses, but of course that drives the price up and each course is pretty expensive. The food is DELICIOUS though. I had the Agnolotti (like rectangular ravioli) and my wife had the tomato bisque. Both were great. The calamari was phenomenal too. Comes with arugula, which has a nice peppery flavor to go along with the lemon aioli also on the calamari. Service was pretty typical. Nothing outstanding, nothing bad. 8/10, would recommend and go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2

It was a gorgeous evening so very busy o ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

It was a gorgeous evening so very busy out on the patio which may explain why service was slow. It took quite a while to even get the server to stop by and our appetizer arrived before our coke and glass of wine. Food was OK. Nothing remarkable. Atmosphere was nice. Good energy and even better people watching.

food4
ambience5
service5

I don't remember our servers name but he ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

I don't remember our servers name but he was so attentive and very knowledgeable. He made our dinner fabulous!

food4
ambience4
service3

We visited for Sunday brunch buffet, whi ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We visited for Sunday brunch buffet, which is the only option for brunch. The offerings were limited but tasty, particularly the French toast and biscuits and gravy. The brunch buffet was on the main level and we were seated upstairs. We were fine walking up and down stairs several times but it would have been unacceptable if we had mobility issues. I would certainly come back and try the dinner fare, but won't be rushing back for brunch any time soon. Would also prefer that the buffet food be signed and that the beverage menu include juice, coffee, etc., especially since it is not included with the buffet.

food1
ambience4
service3

Ambiance is great; food was awful, unfor ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Ambiance is great; food was awful, unfortunately. It was so over salted it was inedible. This was true of all 3 starters we ordered and all 4 entrees. So disappointing.

food3
ambience2
service3

This is a very convenient spot to meet f ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is a very convenient spot to meet for drinks/dinner in Uptown. The drinks are good, the food is pretty good, but the chairs are vinyl and uncomfortable and the scene gets noisy and clubby after 9.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great evening.

Dined on February 27, 2016

One of the top experiences we have had during restaurant week. Every course had a mix of flavors that played beautifully together. In the six dishes ranging from octopus and duck to the chocolate desert we enjoyed everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food/atmosphere

Dined on February 24, 2016

Great atmosphere and the food for restaurant week was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Menu is limited and average. This space ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Menu is limited and average. This space is beautiful and has potential - expand menu, have more options and be more adventurous.

food4
ambience4
service3

Great food but they couldn't keep the bu ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food but they couldn't keep the buffet stocked. Every time we went up more than one thing was missing...

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing Brunch And More

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Coup d'Etat for Valentine's Day Brunch. To me, this restaurant seems to be struggling a bit. I've been to Coup d'Etat for dinner twice before, but I probably won't go back or at least not for a VERY long time. The first visit was excellent. The second time it was a bit spotty - some things were very good, others average - and it wasn't as good all around as the first visit. Brunch was a disappointment. Our reservation was for 11:00, when the restaurant opened, but they really didn't seem "ready" - the restaurant was still cold, the wait staff was understaffed and scurrying around, food was not keeping pace with customers. We waited for over 1/2 hour for our drink order to be taken, and it was taken only after I requested that the host send over our waiter. The host ended up taking the order. Food selection was sparse. I realize this is a $15 all you can eat buffet so you can't expect the number of selections provided at higher priced brunches; however, the least we should be able to expect is to actually be able to get food! I waited at the table to give our drink order while the others went through the line. They returned to the table and then I went through line while they waited - still - for our drink order to be taken. When I went through the line, several selections were empty; people were standing around waiting trays to be re-filled. This was approximately 20-25 minutes after the restaurant opened, and several selections were gone or nearly gone without being refilled? This happened both times I went through the line. Some of the food was actually quite good, some sort of meh, but definitely not what I expected. The bottomless mimosa ($10) ordered by 1 person in our party was a joke! At long last, the first one came - not a good mix at all - too much bitter champagne and not enough orange juice. In addition, getting a refill was a challenge and then not even 1/3 of the glass. The mimosas are definitely not free flowing & have a bottom.

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Entrees

Dined on February 13, 2016

The entrees are delicious, but you pay for this in smaller portions. This isn't a new trend in higher-end cuisine- but it is something to note if you are choosing a dining experience. My date and I each had an entree, shared an appetizer and a bottle of champagne - and we both knew we'd be eating later to curb our appetites. The overall experience was worth it, though. Really excited to check out their brunch offering.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was great. The smoked manhattens are out of this world. The food selection was limited but food we had was exceptional.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service3

It was fine but the menu has changed dra ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

It was fine but the menu has changed dramatically since it opened and is not nearly as adventurous or interesting as it was before - and they were super strict about closing the kitchen at 10pm -on a Friday - when we had reservations for 9pm. Why let us make a reservation at 9 if you aren't going to even let us get dessert after 10pm. Lame.

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Loud place, ok food, expensive, great service!

Dined on February 13, 2016

This is definitely a place you would only want to go for a very special occasion. I tried taking my valentine's date there and it was loud and noisy. The food was way overpriced for what you got but the server was very courteous and nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service1

Our waitress Hanna took her over 10 minu ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waitress Hanna took her over 10 minutes to come and even say hi to us. They didn't have salt and peppers on the table. The food was not that delicious. They keep saying the menu was new just came out yesterday. Not kid friendly at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun decor good happy hour

Dined on January 8, 2016

Really fast food for a Friday night! The cheese curds were fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent appetizers, fantastic pasta di ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Excellent appetizers, fantastic pasta dishes and the room is simply amazing. Very beautiful place to hang out and enjoy the scene. The service during our dinner was amazing. Our server handled our wine fantastically (we brought it in and he decanted and whatnot). He was extremely attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not Great!

Dined on January 1, 2016

We specifically sought out Coup D'Etat's New Year's Eve pre-fixed dinner! The dinner was basically good, however, the lamb was extremely fatty! We did not have the same server run the food so consequently some servers could explain what was being served. Others clearly didn't know what they were serving. The DJ and dancing which I had inquired about before making the reservations was disappointing and dancing was non-existent. We would try the restaurant again but this time try the regular menu and see if both the food and service is better. Otherwise...there are many other options in Minneapolis to choose from! Hope this helps!

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.