About Coup D'Etat

2923 Girard Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

A smart and stylish restaurant and bar. Coup D'etat is ideal for groups large and small, it offers a private dining room and throughout the restaurant there are lounge areas, tables, and booths for smaller groups. The food is approachable, modern, and contemporary. The cocktail program is equally smart with reinterpretations of classic drinks as well as new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 11am-2am
Monday-Friday 4pm-2am
Saturday 12pm-2am

Happy Hour:
4pm-7pm Daily

Late Night Happy Hour:
10pm-12am daily

Sunday Brunch 11am-3pm
Saturday BBQ 12pm-3pm

Cross Street:
Girard and Lagoon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 354-3575

Website:
http://coupdetatmpls.com/

Parking Details:
Ramp parking is available directly below our restaurant in the Walkway Parking Ramp, as well as across the street in the Mosaic Parking Ramp. Street parking can be tricky but is also an option.

Public Transit:
Located two blocks away from the Uptown Transit Center as well as the very close to the following stops:

1 - Lagoon Ave & Fremont Ave S
Stop ID: 42036

2 - Hennepin Ave & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1323

3 - Lake St W & Girard Ave S
Stop ID: 50212

4 - Hennepin Ave S & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1105

Executive Chef:
Tommy Begnaud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch - All you can eat brunch for $20.

Wednesday is Chicken Day! From 7-10pm, your $20 will get you all the fried chicken, fixings, and sides you can eat.

Craw D'etat Saturday $15 all-you-can-eat Creole Crawfish Boil & BBQ

Promotions

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Craw d'etat BBQ

Saturdays from 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Promotions

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
From 5-10pm every Wednesday, your $20 will get you all the fried chicken, fixings, and sides you can eat. Join us at Coup d'etat in Uptown!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 13, 2016 - Nov 9, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Craw d'etat BBQ

Saturdays from 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Details
Join us every SATURDAY for our patio Craw d'etat BBQ party! $15 all you can eat BBQ +$10 all you can drink select American brews. Come enjoy our Creole crawfish boil & BBQ featuring a revolving menu of crawfish, jambalaya, brisket, & Live DJ!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 9, 2016 - Sep 24, 2016 on Saturdays from 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Coup D'etat offers a few different event space options perfect for dinner parties, corporate meetings, holiday parties or whatever your needs may be! Our Team will work with you to accommodate any special requests and event needs.

Coup D'Etat Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Vibrant Bar Scene
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Vibrant Bar Scene
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

great for outdoor dining (27)
vibrant bar scene (22)
fit for foodies (20)
See All
hot spot (17)
special occasion (12)
good for groups (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
romantic (9)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great urban hot spot dining. The food we ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great urban hot spot dining. The food we had was great. Especially liked the knoche. We dined on a Sunday night and they were out of two of the entrees as the rest of the weekend had been especially busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner with my boyfriend, his 7 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday dinner with my boyfriend, his 70+ year old mother, three kids aged 18, 15 & 10. Everyone seemed to find something great to eat. Even the 10 year old was marveled by the steak! We were there for a fairly early dinner given our groups ages, and were disappointed to find they were already (at 5:30pm) out of the salmon entrée. Found an acceptable alternative but REALLY wanted the salmon for three of the six of us. I guess we'll be back for that. Desserts were all amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit. Presentation of the f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First time visit. Presentation of the food was excellent. Fun waiter who made the evening fun and enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went here for restaurant week. We wer ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went here for restaurant week. We were put in a table near the back next to a huge party of people, and we wouldn't hear each other speak from 2 feet away. The service was poor, we waited 15 minutes for our server to realise we had to silverware, and we couldn't find anyone to ask during that time. Bu the time we got them the ice cream on our funky desert had melted.

The food was alright, except there was too much pickled fruit it was distracting. Ant the portion sizes were tiny. We left and contemplated hitting up the McDonalds next door. We probably won't be going again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

great restaurant week dinner - we had th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

great restaurant week dinner - we had the three courses for $30.00 meal. It was delicious food, beautifully presented with great value. the service was slow and we drank our water out of plastic cups because they had run out of glasses. i think they were busier than they had planned for...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Worst food we have had in a long time. N ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Worst food we have had in a long time. Nothing noteworthy and would not go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Just not very impressed with the food. O ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Just not very impressed with the food. Ordered the recommended pasta dish and the scallops and neither was as good as we would have expected. Not bad, just not the level of food quality we have come to expect in Twin Cities dining scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

SO good! I love a good southern meal, an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

SO good! I love a good southern meal, and the fried chicken and greens at Coup D'Etat were amazing. Go on Wednesday night for the all you can eat for $20 deal and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First experience here, and the ambiance ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First experience here, and the ambiance was amazing. I love the layout (2 floors and very open), I love the music (oldies with a few mix ins of some new stuff), and I love the decor (Roman Empire like stuff). The food was out of this world good. My wife and I love brunch buffets and have probably been to 10 different ones and this is number 2 right behind Maynard's. Very, VERY good food! However, the service was not good. Our server got a 20 top right after we were seated, which is fine, but we never saw him again, and nobody took over our table for him. My wife got the bottomless mimosas and I went up to the bar to fill it for her twice. My water was never refilled, so I went to the bar again to that 3 times. I ended up tipping the bar tender $5, one dollar each visit, so my actual "waiter" got a $6 tip. I know it was probably just a miscommunication in their part, but definitely not a great first impression.

Short story, everything else was so amazing that I will most likely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The food was absolutely terrible. $21 fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was absolutely terrible. $21 for friend chicken that was not fresh but frozen and overcooked with too much batter. We were told the gnocchi was the highlight of the menu and it was the worst we had ever tried. The cheese curds were sub-par. The bar seemed to be where the action was, as all other tables for dining at 7pm on a Friday were empty.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

sad to find out the $5 bloody mary drink ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

sad to find out the $5 bloody mary drinks weren't available and that the flyer that I based my buffet experience on mist have been out dated since the $15 buffet was now $20.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing selection, food was medioc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Disappointing selection, food was mediocre, and received terrible service. Each visit it seems to go significantly downhill, it used to be one of our favorite spots.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Other reviews were kinder than mine. Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Other reviews were kinder than mine. Our app order was wrong...but what we got was good. Service was good but slightly less attentive than I expected based on reputation. I didn't hate it, but didn't love it either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

My favorite place to entertain for brunc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite place to entertain for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

First visit was for Father's Day brunch, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First visit was for Father's Day brunch,. The brunch seems to get mixed reviews. Our reservation was right at 11:00 and earl the food was fresh and hot. Smoked brisket was the only option for carving station. It would be nice to add some turkey. Our server was a bit slow for some reason, like she was not that experienced in this type of restaurant. The space is gorgeous though and I would return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place whether looking for a restau ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place whether looking for a restaurant for a date or a business luncheon. Service was very attentive, and the food arrives to your table quickly. We sat outside on the upper deck and enjoyed the scenes from below. Food was prepared excellently. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was mediocre, lack-luster, and very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was mediocre, lack-luster, and very salt-heavy. Calamari was the only fantastic taste due to the thin lemon-zest and light breading.

Cocktails were extremely sugar-heavy and devoid of any strong flavor impressions. Avoid them unless you have a strong sweet-tooth.

Overall, this seemed a fun place for happy-hour, but I would not recommend for dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Hannah was very attentive. Appreciate ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Hannah was very attentive. Appreciate the happy hour prices in wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate outdoors on a beautiful Minneapol ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We ate outdoors on a beautiful Minneapolis summer evening before catching a show at Comedy Sportz. Our server was very helpful to be sure we were done on time to get to the show. Great cheese curds and Happy Hour prices. Steak was more fatty than expected but french fries were amazing. Fresh salads, Nice Ambience and Minneapolis Vibe too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried chicken was delicious, the Mac & C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fried chicken was delicious, the Mac & Cheese that came with it was not so good. The dry rub chicken wings for appetizer was great, wasn't a big fan of the calamari. The scallops looked wonderful. The ambience & service is five star all the way!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch and because it was a bit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for brunch and because it was a bit windy wanted to eat inside, but only has hitop tables for 2 on the main floor and I didn't want to walk up/down stairs each pass so had to sit in hitop.

The food was really good - excellent beef and bacon and the grilled vegetables were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server was fantastic. He gave us rec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our server was fantastic. He gave us recommendations and was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The drinks were probably the best in tow ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The drinks were probably the best in town. The food was amazing. Very pleased with my experience at this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super expensive for very mediocre food. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Super expensive for very mediocre food. It is a nice place to have a drink but I would not recommend the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

So good!!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was my first time eating here and the food was so good! And all the drinks were great too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had dinner here previously and it was ex ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Had dinner here previously and it was excellent. Food and service. This time, however, it was not so good. We had Sunday brunch. Didn't realize there was no menu service on Sunday. It was average steam table food all the way. My fault for not checking the menu for Sunday brunch. This spread was for those who want quantity, not quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

had 11am brunch reservations, but were m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

had 11am brunch reservations, but were marched upstairs, and seated next to a breezy window with lots of open seating downstairs where the buffet and restrooms were located. Didn't quite understand the thought process. Food extraordinary-great selection and variety. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Like the outside patio

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was fun and good.

The ambiance is great.

The food some had good dinners some wanted more flavor

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated with our reservations on time. Food was fantastic, and the wait staff was responsive but not over bearing. Perfect way to celebrate Mother's Day. We loved the many different levels for seating as well as indoor and outdoor options. We will go again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We love Coup d'Etat since the food is always very, very tasty, they have a full bar and lots of taps and wines available. We also love the decor/interior which makes for a very fun, vibrant scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, the main meals light ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was delicious, the main meals light. We ordered the Gnocchi as an extra and that was heavy; however, very good. It is not traditional gnocchi, so set your expectations right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great but it was SO LOUD

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was great here but it was SO LOUD we had to shout our conversation. We left as soon as our meal was done to go somewhere else to talk. Sitting out on the balcony in the summer would be delightful. Great location in Uptown. If you're there to drink and have a good time it might not matter so much.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible service, food was lukewarm. How ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Terrible service, food was lukewarm. How do u serve hard potatoes? Truly disappointing ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

We had their burger which I believe is a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had their burger which I believe is a knock-off of the Parlour burger. That was the first time we've had it. Very good for being a basic cheese burger. Their happy hour prices were reasonable, however it was a surprise that the only beers on happy hour were the local ones. Their smoked Manhattan was really good and had a fun presentation.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, but small portions

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

As the title would suggest, the portions are small. While they're not too small, they do leave a bit to be desired. I think the idea is that you get several courses, but of course that drives the price up and each course is pretty expensive. The food is DELICIOUS though. I had the Agnolotti (like rectangular ravioli) and my wife had the tomato bisque. Both were great. The calamari was phenomenal too. Comes with arugula, which has a nice peppery flavor to go along with the lemon aioli also on the calamari. Service was pretty typical. Nothing outstanding, nothing bad. 8/10, would recommend and go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

It was a gorgeous evening so very busy o ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

It was a gorgeous evening so very busy out on the patio which may explain why service was slow. It took quite a while to even get the server to stop by and our appetizer arrived before our coke and glass of wine.

Food was OK. Nothing remarkable.

Atmosphere was nice. Good energy and even better people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I don't remember our servers name but he ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I don't remember our servers name but he was so attentive and very knowledgeable. He made our dinner fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We visited for Sunday brunch buffet, whi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We visited for Sunday brunch buffet, which is the only option for brunch. The offerings were limited but tasty, particularly the French toast and biscuits and gravy. The brunch buffet was on the main level and we were seated upstairs. We were fine walking up and down stairs several times but it would have been unacceptable if we had mobility issues. I would certainly come back and try the dinner fare, but won't be rushing back for brunch any time soon. Would also prefer that the buffet food be signed and that the beverage menu include juice, coffee, etc., especially since it is not included with the buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Ambiance is great; food was awful, unfor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Ambiance is great; food was awful, unfortunately. It was so over salted it was inedible. This was true of all 3 starters we ordered and all 4 entrees. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

This is a very convenient spot to meet f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This is a very convenient spot to meet for drinks/dinner in Uptown. The drinks are good, the food is pretty good, but the chairs are vinyl and uncomfortable and the scene gets noisy and clubby after 9.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.