About Couloir

Jackson Hole Mountain Resort
Teton Village, WY 83925
View Larger Map

Located in Rendezvous Lodge at the summit of Bridger Gondola (9095'), at Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, Couloir is the area's most unique dining experience. Couloir serves a seasonal 4 or 7 course prix fixe dinner menu, featuring American cuisine with Rocky Mountain roots. Executive Chef Wes Hamilton adheres to a sustainable policy, promising that the majority of his ingredients come from a 250 mile radius to ensure fresh and natural flavors and to source superior products from local purveyors. Couloir prides itself in being the first Ski Resort business to join 1% for the Planet. Guests will enjoy exceptional hospitality, excellent cuisine, and outstanding views, making for an unforgettable experience.

Four Course Menu $95 per person
Four Course Wine Paired Menu $155 per person

Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner hours are 5:30pm to 8:30pm.
Couloir will reopen for the summer season on June 18th.

Cross Street:
West Village Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 739-2675

Website:
http://www.jacksonhole.com/couloir-restaurant.html

Catering:
Catering- A variety of catering options exist throughout Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, including the Bridger Restaurant at the top of the Bridger Gondola. Our team can work with you to put together a delicious menu that, combined with the spectacular view and western atmosphere, is sure to wow your guests. We can customize menus to meet your specifications. Our Group Services team is available to make arrangements and assist with all the details necessary to make your event one to remember

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Cody parking lot, please follow the signs to the Cody lot in Teton Village.

Public Transit:
The Start Bus runs from the Town of Jackson to Teton Village every half hour. Please visit startbus.com for more information.

Executive Chef:
Chef Wes Hamilton

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party- Our private dining room, Cornice, is available for parties up to 40 people. With beautiful views of Rendezvous Mountain, this is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion or host a private business dinner. Cornice is available for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Daus: 3077392610x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chef’s Table
For this once in a lifetime experience, guests are seated in the kitchen while Chef Wes Hamilton and his kitchen staff provide a unique perspective from "behind the curtain". Chef Wes has had entertained guests at the James Beard House, in New York City, showcasing his favorite local Rocky Mountain ingredients. Enjoy the four-course Couloir menu or take a culinary journey with Chef Hamilton's wine paired Tasting Menu. This experience is available on any open night. For parties up to six. Four Courses $155 per person, Tasting menu, wine paired $225 per person. Reservations Required.

Restaurant Photos

  • Couloir
Couloir

Couloir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Service
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
11 More
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Fit for Foodies
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Special Occasion
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
American
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Service
Jackson Hole
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole
Fit for Foodies
Jackson Hole
Special Occasion
Jackson Hole
American
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Teton Village ›

scenic view (15)
fit for foodies (13)
special occasion (11)
See All
romantic (11)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An experience to remember

Dined on March 25, 2016

The restaurant has considered every detail to make the evening rememberable. Cocoa or Bailey's for the gindola ride up, an amazing view of the mountain while dining, an attentive, friendly and knowledgeable wait staff, and of course the food was outstanding - fresh, innovative, well seasoned entrees. Wine pairings are a nice treat if you are able to afford it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Small portions and VERY expensive

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

There is probably not a better view to any restaurant around. At the top of Jackson hole. But the portion size for a bowl of soup that is not even a four ounce ladle is just wrong. After everyone ordered an appetizer and a main course, they were still hungry. That should just not happen. With the prices that they charge and I realize its at the top of the mountain, you can make the portion size a little bigger.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Don't bring your appetite

Dined on March 25, 2016

Never before have paid so much and got so little. Ravioli appetizer literally have one ravioli on the plate!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

View is amazing. A little warm in window ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

View is amazing. A little warm in window seat tables but I bet it is comfortable and really lovely at night. I had a squash dish and gin drink that were both amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great way to end an epic ski trip!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! Can't beat the views and the food was exceptional. The portions weren't large but my companion and I were both completely full by the end of the fixed menu. We also did the wine pairing and the pairings were both unique and exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a view!

Dined on March 19, 2016

As the sun was setting over the mountains, I enjoyed the FOIE GRAS, CARAMELIZED FENNEL, and WAGYU BEEF ZABUTON. All were outstanding. Dessert sampler also delicious, particularly the apple tart!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & view!!!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Great food & view!!!

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great experience - couple shortcomings.

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall a great experience. The ambiance was lacking and the lighting was too bright - including cheap track lighting with spot lights killing the vibe. There were some waiters that were giving people the royal treatment - Sauternes with the foie gras, cookies for the gondola ride back, etc. - but I had to remind out waiter of these perks. A bit expensive, but nothing too crazy.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

best alpine lunch we've every had

Dined on March 3, 2016

Terrific menu and view. If only the patio had been open, this would have been the finest overall alpine stop we've ever had in all our ski trips. Our compliments to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Outstanding Experience

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Poised on top of a hill (reachable via ski gondola), with the town of Jackson and the mountain range in view, Coloir provides one of the most unique and amazing fine dining experiences anywhere. They have a full menu and impressive wine list, but I would encourage anyone to try the 4 or 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing. The food was phenomenal and the wine pairings - with inclusions from Alsace, Austria, Tuscany, Loire Valley and Burgundy - were extremely well done. The service was outstanding, and each course was presented along with a detailed explanation from the sommelier regarding the wine. If you are a foodie and like the view from the top of an 8,000 foot peak while dining, you will love Coloir.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views, fantastic food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Couloir is perfect for a special occasion or treat for those who enjoy fine dining. The experience starts by riding the gondola; arrive before dark to get the best views. Have a drink at the bar while waiting for your table and stare out the huge windows at the Tetons. We got the 4 course tasting menu with wine pairings. All the staff we met explained the courses and wines to us. It was delicious. Then we rode the gondola down with night views of the valley. Great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our second time at Couloir and it was just as fabulous as the first time. Four thumbs up!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Scenic view and menu

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We spent President's week with our family staying at Teton Village on a ski vacation. On Friday we gathered a group of 9 to meet for a 12:15pm reservation at Coulier. The restaurant is located at the top of the gondola, so if you are not skiing and have a reservation for lunch, you have to purchase a $20 scenic pass just to take the gondola up to the restaurant. I was unaware of the charge so that took me by surprise. When making a reservation via Internet or phone that specific detail should have been included. The location of the restaurant offers a stunning view of the landscape with floor to ceiling windows in the main room of the restaurant. Upon arrival, our table was originally located in the back of the restaurant which offered only limited views, however I only had to request a change of table and the manager swiftly arranged another table in the main room. The menu was somewhat limited but the selection provided many favorable choices for lunch including short ribs, cheese board, seared tuna and also offered a children's menu. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The service and view were great. The foo ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The service and view were great. The food was way overpriced and sub-par. They made us pick a 4 or 7 course option. This wasn't stated on the menu when we selected this restaurant. Combined with a bottle of wine it was over $300 for the 2 of us. Several of the courses were so greasy we couldn't even finish them. I would absolutely not recommend this restaurant. There are plenty of other much better options in the village.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner! Everything was fabulou ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Fantastic dinner! Everything was fabulous! Noteworthy was the buffalo tenderloin, served medium rare. Philip took excellent care of our party, making it a truly memorable evening in Jackson. Highly recommended!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Glorious views on a clear day

Dined on February 18, 2016

Seven minute gondola ride to the top. Portions were perfect in terms of being satisfied without being stuffed although we heard a few people in the gondola complain about the portions being small for the price. Quality of the food was excellent. Preparations were unusual but not so unusual that we felt out of our comfort zone. We happened to be there the day a huge storm literally shut down the mountain but the staff were reassuring - and told us we had time for dessert before we had to head down the mountain. We went up in the gondola again the next day and ate at Piste - a more casual eatery that was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

This actually would be a 4 1/2 stars rev ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

This actually would be a 4 1/2 stars review, if I could mark 1/2 stars. We had a great evening at Couloir. We ordered their 5-course Valentine's dinner with wine pairings. We don't go out to eat much because we cook really good food at home. So when we go out, we search for food that's so delicious it makes you linger over each bite. Some of Couloir's dishes were real standouts: the oysters starter, the fois gras, the fennel salad, and the walu main. The wine pairings, for the most part, were fantastic. Service was excellent. An added benefit was sitting at a window table and watching the groomers work in a blizzard all through dinner. The ride up the gondola to dinner is festive with the blanket, hot chocolate and whiskey, but it would have been even better if we'd had a blanket for the ride down, too. Highly recommended; though expensive, it was well worth it, especially for a special occasion.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only thing finer than the food is that view.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Hard to believe you can find food this good 10,000 feet above sea level in the middle of nowhere. Check the weather forecast, then book a table when the sun is going to be shining. If it's foggy, your plate will still look spectacular, but you'll miss out on the incredible view out the window.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

Too expensive for the portions served. $ ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Too expensive for the portions served. $16 for a salad consisting of 1/4 apple only and $26 for a 2 scallop appetizer. Couloir needs to rethink their menu and portion serving.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Not what it used to be.

Dined on February 12, 2016

I've been eating here a few times a years for several years, and the recent menu change was very disappointing. The menu seemed more geared for dinner and not lunch. What we ordered was still very good, and the service was great, but I don't think the food was worth the price. The waitress told me the menu was changed to make it more upscale and to "protect their brand". She said the restaurant was too busy in seasons past and the changes would help with the traffic. Well, they succeeded because at 12:30 on one of the busiest weekends of the year, the restaurant was half full. I'm heading back up for Spring break, and we will not be heading back to Couloir.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Great on-mountain gourmet dining with spectacular views (inside Rendezvous @ the top of the gondola), great service (Katie's the best!), and excellent food. Squash soup and pear galette are standouts, but everything we had on 2 trips (lunches) was very good. No good champagne by the glass, but 1/2 bottles of Veuve.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

INCREDIBLE All Around

Dined on February 5, 2016

The experience we had at Couloir was extraordinary, starting with the gondola ride up to the restaurant. We were offered a blanket as well as a beverage for the ride - hot chocolate, Baileys, or Irish whiskey. Once we arrived to the restaurant, everyone was extremely welcoming and they kindly hung our coats, then seated at our corner table. As far as dinner, we chose a 4-course dinner and a bottle of wine (vs. the pairings) - that meant choosing one dish from the three sections of the menu and then a dessert. Both my husband and I thought it was enough food, for sure. They start each table with an amuse-bouche which was delicious and another yummy light "soup" in between our first and second courses. Every single one of our courses was not just beautiful in its presentation, they were full of many amazing flavors which blended extremely well. Truly incredible and delicious. The wine list was great - we did not have a problem finding a really yummy bottle of Shiraz (Torbreck) to go with the varying flavors. Our waiter, Phil, was really fabulous and so personable, which we appreciated. Ben, the manager, was walking around from table to table, making sure everything was ok and just having a chat. Wes Hamilton, the Executive Chef, was also visible around the restaurant and stopped by our table - he was extremely down to earth and very humble - really, really impressive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here was outstanding, as was th ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

The food here was outstanding, as was the service! The view is spectacular!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. .

Dined on January 31, 2016

Dinner was outsranding. Fois Gras was amazing, shades of Strasburg. Service was hampered by a large party with excessive demands on kitchen. All 7 courses were excellent and management more then attentive to the issues caused by large party. 3rd visit and worth any accommodation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Incredible Experience

Dined on January 29, 2016

Chef Wes Hamilton and the entire Couloir team are incredible. The Chef's Table was absolutely one of the best and most fun dining experiences of our lives and something we would recommend to anyone. If you come to Jackson Hole, you must eat at Couloir. We will be back every year.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch

Dined on January 14, 2016

unfortunately it was snowing and the view wasn't what we hoped for but the food and service was amazing. We dined at several local favorites in Jackson but this place was by far our favorite! We made our reservation in advance and I would recommend making a reservation if you are planning on having dinner especial on the weekend but the lunch menu was delicious

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

DIning at the top

Dined on January 10, 2016

Couloir had a very interesting and unique menu that made the experience very pleasant. The four course menu was more than enough food for all. Service was impeccable with a courteous and attentive staff. The wine list was light and there is no corkage, perhaps this is something they might consider.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

small and delicious

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

fabulous food, but the 4 course tasting menu will not fill you up especially after a day of skiing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Anniversary

Dined on December 30, 2015

Everything about our dinner was AMAZING! Our waiter, Phil, was very knowledgeable and friendly. The food was world class and presented beautifully. We have eaten at several fine dinning establishments in Jackson Hole and this restaurant is by far the best we have experienced! We are very happy with choosing Couloir for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Utterly fabulous in every way. Best fri ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

Utterly fabulous in every way. Best friend food, service and views in valley. Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and by far much better th ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Excellent meal and by far much better than Snake River Grill in Jackson. We had the tasting menu and it was exquisite. The wine sommelier was also very knowledgeable and helped us select an excellent Pinot Noir.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great season for dining!

Dined on December 18, 2015

Once again, Couloir's menu for this season hits all the high points! We went opening night and it did not disappoint. If the ambiance and view weren't enough to take your breath away, just wait until you take your first bite! If you're in town for a visit, do NOT miss a chance to dine here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A must dinner spot!

Dined on September 8, 2015

We had to go here our first night in town, because they close for a short time in the fall. So glad we did. Beautiful ride up the mountain and then down at sunset. The food flavors were indescribably good! I will be bringing my friends and family back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Great!!!!

vip
Dined on September 7, 2015

As a local I am used to the view and the Gondola, but I continue to be impressed by the staff and the food meets or beats all the other well know restaurants in the valley. That is not an easy statement when the completion includes Four Seasons, Amangani and SRG! But quite simply Couloir does a truly amazing job. Kudos guys!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Pricey but worth it!

Dined on September 7, 2015

As expected, great views, very good food with wine pairings and quality service. Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Rare experience

Dined on September 6, 2015

The journey to and from; the spaciousness yet comfortability; and the sheer elevation experience, along with exceptionally prepared choices on the menu are not to be missed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A gondola to dinner

Dined on September 1, 2015

First time probably the last I will ever go to dinner via a gondola. Views were epic as you would expect. Dining room very comfortable. Waiter great. Food fantastic! We all like to share our food and it was all wonderful. Portions perfect. Presentation perfect. The wine was all great. Cannot say enough about this dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A great experience!

Dined on August 28, 2015

My husband and I were traveling to Jackson Hole and learned of Couloir from locals as a great spot or dinner. We went up on the gondola and had a drink on the deck prior to a delicious meal with fantastic wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Really??! Serving only 2 small slices of ...

Dined on August 27, 2015

Really??! Serving only 2 small slices of of the bison tenderloin entree? All the other dishes were adequate portions, so why the skimpy entree? Aside from that, the rest of the meal was very delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal!

Dined on August 26, 2015

What a wonderful restaurant! Again, we had a fabulous meal for a third year in a row. The food, service and view are superb! Michael the sommelier is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.