About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Alabama
Romantic
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
8 More
Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (87)
romantic (63)
fit for foodies (50)
See All
notable wine list (48)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for outdoor dining (29)
good for groups (22)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (15)
hot spot (12)
scenic view (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was some of the worst servic ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was some of the worst service I have ever experienced. We sat for 20 minutes without any water, bread, menus or acknowledgment. Wrong food was delivered twice. Wrong order was taken. Wine took over 20 minutes to be delivered. No wine list was offered. We gave our menus to the table next to us because no one delivered menus to them. Wait staff was clueless about wine. Dessert order took 20 minutes to be ordered. A restaurant like this has to have better service. We have been eating here for years but I am afraid this maybe our last meal here. We are going to spend our money elsewhere. Very disappointed

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My 2nd time to cotton row last weekend a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My 2nd time to cotton row last weekend and unfortunately yet again did not live up to my expectations. We were seated very promptly at our reservation time which is a great start, but unfortunately had to wait seemingly 10 minutes before our server addressed our table. The staff seems very young and inexperienced when comparing to other fine dining establishments in larger cities. There were no more daily specials when eating at 745 so I was disappointed but no biggie. The waiter didn't even review the menu but just asked "what can I get for you." Ordered a $93 dollar bottle of wine from Napa 2013 then what arrived to the table was a 2014. My wife didn't finish her $38 dollar fillet stating that mine cooked on the big green egg was much better than this. I had the rack of lamb and the bed of vegetable under the meat weren't cooked through....imagine a $32 dish of lamb and raw'ish vegetables. I NEVER get on these review and complain but considering we spent $323 for our anniversary dinner and my wife didn't even enjoy the food more than a back yard bbq, I am considering checking this place off my list for good. I told my wife we might give it one more try but it's on the short list for elimination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Cotton Row came highly recommended and w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Cotton Row came highly recommended and while the experience was not bad, it was not of the high caliber expected for fine dining of this type of restaurant. Service time to collect initial cocktail order was slow after being seated and description of the menu and specials as hesitant and inconsistent. Service was friendly but there was a feeling that many in the support staff assisting our server were new. Nervousness was apparent. Again, the experience was not bad but not to the standard I would expect for a venue such as Cotton Row.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From Start to finish an incredible exper ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

From Start to finish an incredible experience. While visiting from west coast we were taken to Cotton Row for dinner. Service was spot on and food was excellent. Large, well priced wine list and amazing wine cellar to dine in. Ask for a tour of the restaurant you will be amazed at the history and decor! We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were wonderful and had an off menu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

They were wonderful and had an off menu vegan option for me. Everything was delicious and the service was amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Arguably the best restaurant in Huntsvil ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Arguably the best restaurant in Huntsville! Excellent for that special dinner with friends or family. I highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I eat here every time that I'm in Huntsv ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I eat here every time that I'm in Huntsville. Great food, and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for our wedding anni. Place w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Went there for our wedding anni. Place was tight but nicely furnished. Nice ambience - romantic relaxing music. Great food. Prices were on the high side but right sized portions. This is a place for relaxing dinners and dates. The only area of concern is the small tight area. There is a nice outisde eating area though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my and my wife's second visit t ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my and my wife's second visit to the Cotton Row. This visit included our two daughters ages 23 and 21. We wanted to show our girls how to be treated on special occasions as well as a place with special ambience and the Cotton Row did not disappoint. All four of has had a drink plus seafood and everything was fantastic. I will definitely return there for another visit with my wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service,wonderful location, great ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service,wonderful location, great meeting place for friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

My boyfriend and I ate at this restauran ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

My boyfriend and I ate at this restaurant on valentines day 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our recent experience however was not as enjoyable. We chose to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air for our late dinner. 1. Our table was wobbly and I noticed at least one other table with the same misfortune because there was a napkin wedged between the table leg and ground. 2. Once seated it took about 15 minutes for us to receive our menus. 3. While we were placing our orders with our waiter, the table next to us frantically called our waiter over because something was wrong with one of their plates. --a--The waiter immediately left our table without excusing himself (maybe he was caught off guard?) --b--When the waiter came back he just stared at us and waited for us to continue our order. There was no apology, no explanation..nothing (I don't entirely blame him. The table next to us could have at least waited for us to finish ordering) 4. Besides that our waiter was cordial 5. Our appetizers were great (the foie gras was delicious!) 6. My entrée (lamb) was ok and the lump of chopped vegetables that it sat upon was very underwhelming. These issues were all little things that some people may overlook, which is fine. I just expected a better experience. Last year we were sitting at a cramped bar because the hostess was nice enough to fit us in without a reservation and I enjoyed every bit of it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another beautiful plate!

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We love how you have stepped-up your game. The food taste and presentation are more consistent than ever, thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local spot

Dined on June 9, 2016

Fantastic special, filet with scallops. Party of 6 for a birthday. Everyone had a great meal. Wish there was a more extensive beer menu especially with all the local breweries popping up. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Good food, terrible service

Dined on June 8, 2016

The host ignored us when arriving; the server was inattentive, took forever to bring us menus, did not know the menu, did not know what a draft vs bottled beer was, made no attempt to go find out when we asked what was available for draft beer (the menus said "ask your server"), he was clumsy and twice knocked stuff off the table; the online menu was different than the actual (no duck entre on the actual); the server got our order wrong (salmon entre requested vs tuna appetizer delivered), did not think to ask if I wanted an entre when he took the wrong order for an appetizer (truly, I definitely asked for salmon--I'm not a small guy, and my wife got an entre. Why would I get just an appetizer?), and seemed to almost mock why we would want a certain substitution for a side, and when I brought it to his attention that I had gotten the wrong meal, was oblivious as to why that was an issue. Oh, and he talked smack about another customer after they departed, in full audience of us. That said, the food (even if incorrect) was delicious (but barely warm), and the secondary server kept the bread coming and my water glass full. I hope she and the cook got some of the tip, because the main fellow didn't earn it. Neat place, too bad the service for such a price will keep us away.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 6, 2016

This is a great restaurant, and I can highly recommend it. As great is Chef Boyce and his staff and crew, I still have personal issue with the prices sometimes. However, I know that the food and service will be excellent, so sometime you just need to bite the buck, and splurge!! We did for my wife's birthday this year. Great Dinner!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific Food and Service

Dined on June 3, 2016

Very creative offerings. Great presentations. Top notch service. My watermelon/tomato/fried cheese salad was wonderful. Mahi Mahi with onion salsa was very tasty. Great drinks. Not cheap but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

This was an evening when every course wa ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

This was an evening when every course was fabulous, a particular stand out was the evening's special lobster pasta entree. On food it was a perfect evening. Cotton Row is not very consistent, but they did a great job for the first night of a holiday weekend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't say enough about the food, staff a ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Can't say enough about the food, staff and overall experience. A++++

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We are at Cotton Row for our anniversary ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We are at Cotton Row for our anniversary. The watermelon and heirloom tomato salad with fried goat cheese was great for our first course. I had the homemade pasta special with scallops and lobster in a cream sauce while my wife had the red snapper. Both of these entrees were very delicious. We finished our dinner by splitting the creme brûlée. Everything was wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food and service

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for perfectly cooked steaks

Dined on May 26, 2016

We went to Cotton Row because a friend had recommended it as a great place for streaks, and we were not disappointed. I ordered a filet and my companion selected the New York prime. Both were beyond expectations. They were perfectly cooked as we'd requested and had a delicious charring on the outside and a moist, tender and warm center on the inside. And oh did they have a wonderful flavor!!! We also ordered the summer salad of Heirloom tomatoes and fresh watermelon on top of Bibb lettuce. The watermelon and tomatoes were a delightful combination. We had no problem securing early reservations online using OpenTable. We were warmly greeted at the door and then escorted to a "nice" table alongside the window. Our server was prompt and efficient without hovering over us. The restaurant is housed in an old, historic structure that was formerly the town's cotton exchange, and its atmosphere was quiet, comfortable and inviting. We spent 7 days in Huntsville, and this was the best meal of our entire trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cellar Seating

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an amazing meal seated in the wine cellar. We love the ambiance and the intimacy of this room. Entrees were perfectly prepared and well presented. The server was excellent as well as the food. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food-must admit was not expect ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food-must admit was not expecting this quality of food in Alabama. Wonderful surprise to find Charleston SC quality food! Scallops were so well seasoned and perfectly cooked. Plus excellent wine list and desserts to die for! Fantastic service. Definitely a must go to restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always top notch

Dined on May 9, 2016

My most recent visit to Cotton Row was about my 10th overall. The food is always perfect and the overall experience (service, atmosphere) is incredible. We are lucky to have CR here in Huntsville...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

30th Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sister and I wanted a really nice place to celebrate the big 3-0 and she was really wanting to try Cotton Row. We picked a nice seat out side and felt like it was a great to have a nice dinner just he two of us. We wanted to order a bottle of champagne, but they seemed to be out of (sorry to say) the cheapest brand there. I am not much of a wineo, so I wish the waiter was more skilled at offering a comparable option, but he just said sorry what would you like instead. We ended up just having a beer and a cocktail. the food was really good, came out fast and hot which is always a plus. All-in-all, we had a great time and a great meal. f

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding...as always!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We arrived at 9:45 (late for our reservation due to a ceremony running late) and received outstanding service although the restaurant closed at 10:00 PM. We left the restaurant after 11:30 PM and never once felt rushed. Our waiter was wonderful! Our food was delicious from starters to entree to dessert. We have always been extremely pleased with Cotton Row. Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Good overall

Dined on April 30, 2016

Good overall

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have dined here over 50 times, never a bad meal. Bar well stocked, the end table is my favorite. The short ribs and the grilled romaine salad are a must.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Place for Foodies

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Cotton Row is definitely the place for foodies in Huntsville. The food is excellent and service team is very attentive, although lacking some personal touch. Foie Gras and Beef Short Ribs did the trick for me. Both are excellent, very tender, literally melt in the mouth, and very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

This is the second time I have gone ther ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

This is the second time I have gone there and the fish is over cooked. Same drink serve differently to each member in the party. Service was very good and the venue is pleasant. The cake that was the dessert was burnt on the bottom. I think chef Boyce needs to spend more time at this restaurant and not spread himself so thin.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been to Cotton Row about 6 times and until last weekend it was good but not great. I was really pleased with everything about our dining experience. The meal was simply outstanding and rates as one of my top 10 dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

New to town. First time to get out witho ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

New to town. First time to get out without kids in 10 months. First choice. We sat and waited to be acknowledged for 6-7 minutes at least. We basically had to ask to place a drink order. It wasn't like they were busy. The tuna on the tuna app was incredible, but the dressing was not. The snapper was excellent. The short ribs were ok. Crunch cake was good, but too rich for me. Experience overall was ok, but when paying these prices your service can't be this bad. Don't believe the hype.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service, Good Food

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Cotton Row and, as always, the service was superb. The wine we ordered was out of stock so they went next door to their sister restaurant to get the bottle we requested. Very impressed. Our only complaint was that our steaks were a little over done, though the flavor was terrific. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best

Dined on April 12, 2016

With a diverse selection of food, but a very brief menu, it is a southern masterpiece. Three guys went after work, a client-vendor dinner... that was a home-run. I was the client, so I did not have to pay the ample bill, but for what we were exposed to, there was tremendous value. The grilled warm salad, was a winner, and the braised short rib is among the best beef I have had. With a high price comes excellent service, so we were not disappointed. And we had high expectations. Overall, it was fantastic, and I am happy to recommend Cotton Row to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite dining spot in Huntsville!

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was my second time to Cotton Row and it (again) exceeded expectations! The food and dessert were incredible. I was so excited to come back and try a specialty cocktail and was not disappointed! Great atmosphere and selection of bites and adult beverages. Love this place! Service both times has been top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Ridiculously Expensive, small portions,

Dined on April 10, 2016

The meal was outlandishly expensive. And the quanity of food was a joke. The waiter suggested I add scallops to my fish entree. He failed to tell they were $6 a piece. SO my small plate fo food was $46 (that's just entree, no sides) This place is for those people that like to brag that went to s high price resturant or impress their shallow dates. The atmosphere was nice and the food tastes great ( what little is there) but it is NOT worth the cost, even if your wallets fat. Just because I make high salary doesnt meant I will be scammed.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Menu seemed to be more French inspired t ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Menu seemed to be more French inspired than American. Most items on the menu contained truffles. All of the food had too much salt. The service was great and atmosphere was charming.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! One of our favorites

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Cotton Row is always excellent. Food is great, service is always just right and love the atmosphere. Great for either a special occasion or for groups. When we have vendors in town, Cotton Row is always on the list for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. Seated close ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Always a great experience. Seated close to entrance in early evening meant car noise making it difficult to hear. Food had great flavor as usual, but a bit rich tonight.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

disappointed on Easter

Dined on March 27, 2016

I ordered a salad which consisted of several lettuce leaves and a few small pieces of fruit/nuts.... and French toast DRENCHED in syrup and whipped cream. loaded with berries....both very overpriced. It was so sweet, I could barely eat any of it. My husband's food looked a lot better....crab cake and an entree I cannot remember. It was also freezing cold with the AC on (chilly day) and the one-man band was way too loud and the music inappropriate for an Easter brunch. The one bright spot was our efficient, kind server. I wish I could remember his name. I felt ripped off.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.