About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Alabama
Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
5 More
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (56)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Some of the best chicken & waffles I've ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined 2 days ago

Some of the best chicken & waffles I've ever tasted. The tour of the wine cellar was amazing and the staff was friendly. Enjoyed the history throughout the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was expected, not out of the park. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was expected, not out of the park. Service was excellent. Seated directly behind the host desk was loud and intrusive as patrons almost knock you over.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

For the first time ever, I actually had ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

For the first time ever, I actually had a very poor meal at this restaurant. My fish entrée was overcooked and the croutons that accompanied the entrée could not physically be eaten, they were so incredibly hard. Our server was great and my wife's meal was very good so the entire evening was not a bust. After pointing out the issues with my meal I sort of expected the manager or the cook to swing by and discuss the meal but that did not happen. Additionally, there was no reduction in the price of my meal which probably should have happened. This wasn't quiet what I was looking for while celebrating my 30th wedding anniversary, but this one is in the books.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The best restaurant in Huntsville! Alway ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 7 days ago

The best restaurant in Huntsville! Always great never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meals.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Overall good experience, but the restaur ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Overall good experience, but the restaurant was too warm (temp).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good overall experience. Food is usuall ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good overall experience. Food is usually good to very good. Bread was still baking and we were one of the first customers. Drinks a little skimpy for the price. Also a pet peeve of mine is servers talking to each other. When you are paying this much for food and drinks, servers should always be attentive to the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It's nice to be able to drive up to the ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It's nice to be able to drive up to the front of a restaurant and valet your car. We were seated immediately and drinks were served. I ordered the filet and my date ordered lamb. Both were perfectly cooked and seasoned for a perfect taste. The vegetables weren't overcooked or undercooked but right there in the sweet spot so often missed. No rush, no hurry just great service. Our waiter took us down to the historic basement which is now a wine cellar and dining area for a small group special occasion. He told us all about the history of the building like a tour guide. This wasn't my first time to Cotton Row and will certainly not be my last but will remain my favorite. It was the first time for my date and she was very impressed and fascinated with all the history. If you want a great meal, perfectly prepared no matter what you order this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful brunch meal....deliciously p ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful brunch meal....deliciously prepared. I Loved the ambiance for our 45th wedding anniversary celebration. The wait staff was efficient.

I had the waffle and fried chicken....delicious! My husband had the Twickenham Breakfast plate and he said the scrambled eggs were the best he has ever had. The biscuits were delicious as well.

A wonderful meal for our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From the friendly greeting at the door, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

From the friendly greeting at the door, until we could not possibly eat another bite, the experience was excellent. Chef Brown and the staff did a marvelous job, meeting our special requests and providing the group with some personal insights into his knowledge as a chef.

A most memorable experience and one we cant wait to duplicate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice if there were new items ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It would be nice if there were new items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Slow service, ate upstairs, felt like st ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Slow service, ate upstairs, felt like step-children, as the service was lacking somewhat. Fod was so-so. It didn't live up to my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Superb dining experience. Always an exce ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Superb dining experience. Always an excellent choice of salads, starters and entrees. We loved the soft shell crab, scallops and short ribs. Great pairing of sides using locally sourced ingredients. Superb service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is very nice. The food needs s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The place is very nice. The food needs some work. Almost all of the dishes were over salted and the presentations were sloppy and the portion sizes were just to big. You could tell they had quality ingredients but it seemed the kitchen didn't know what to really do with them. However, this is Huntsville not a major metropolitan city so maybe our expectations were to high. If I was visiting Huntsville again I would give this place another shot maybe it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was clean and top notch. Both restaurants the other Commerce Kitchen have never let me down

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers and steak were delicious. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The appetizers and steak were delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable and had a great personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We imagine that Cotton Row is one of the ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We imagine that Cotton Row is one of the better restaurants in Huntsville. On this Saturday night, the staff seemed very occupied with the wedding up stairs. Our waitress asked me three times about why type of drink I wanted. Ok, no big deal. When we received our two appetizers each (instead of ordering a main entree), they were in the wrong order. My husbands pasta came out first followed by the soup. My soft shell crab was over battered, over fried and not very tasty. I cancelled the second appetizer because we had waited over an hour for for first ones. We skipped dessert. It's a pretty restaurant but poor service for the prices and hence we gave it two stars. I enjoy eating at fine dining restaurants but there was a lack of attention to detail and poor service. The bread and butter was nothing special. You would think they would add some fresh herbs or better rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

This was an anniversary dinner for my w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner for my wife and I. The Cotton Row was perfect. We will be dinning here more often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Took us up stairs to be seated...no seat ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Took us up stairs to be seated...no seats available. Stood around for a few minutes...taken back down stairs and waited another 10+ minutes to be seated. Ordered wine...was never brought to table. Requested again...when it was finally brought to table, we were told they were out of it! Brought another bottle in its place that was $20 more expensive. Very disappointed in service and quality of meal for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A bit stingy on the wine servings. Next ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A bit stingy on the wine servings. Next time I will bring a calibrated beaker just in case...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Interesting (without being "trendy") and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Interesting (without being "trendy") and well executed menu, thoughtfully curated wine list, and warm, friendly service at the bar. A must re-visit next time I'm near Huntsville

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First, I might be slightly biased in my ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

First, I might be slightly biased in my review, since I worked in the New York restaurant scene for a decade and have eaten at very good restaurants in major U.S. and European cities. Perhaps it is unfair to compare a restaurant in Huntsville, Alabama to those in other cities. However, when I spend $80 for dinner for 1 person (salad, main course and dessert, ice tea) in a mid-sized town in the South, it had better be excellent. It wasn't.

The salad was tasty enough--kale dressed with a sesame vinaigrette and surrounded by edamame, orange supremes, quinoa, cucumbers and tomatoes. For a main course, I had wreck-fish (never heard of it before) with pappardelle and sweet corn. The pasta was really delicious. The fish, however, was overcooked, dry and almost tasteless. For $36, I expect a perfectly cooked piece of fish. (I am starting to suspect that in the South people prefer their fish cooked to death, as this has been my experience at several restaurants here.) Dessert was less than stellar--a round chocolate cake (dry) with some type of caramel topping and nuts and a small scoop of toffee ice cream on the side. The ice cream was good.

My bill came to about $66 and I left a $14 tip. The service was of a higher standard than usual. However, the time in between courses was longer than one would expect, especially for such a small restaurant needing to turn their tables in order to make money.

Overall, I was disappointed. I feel bad saying this, as the staff obviously worked very hard and I'm sure their intentions are to do the best job possible. I think this is a matter of skill in terms of the food just not being quite what it should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The waiter and others were very nice. r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The waiter and others were very nice. recommended a great dish. The atmosphere was nice and the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated right next to the order s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were seated right next to the order station...shouldn't even be in the dinning area. Waiters were continuously crowding around. When you are seated next the the order station waiters posteriors are right in your face. The bar had no gentleman or single barrel Jack Daniels and the restaurant was out of Molton Lava Cake, very disappointing. Additionally, our waiter kept disappearing for extended periods of time, leaving multiple other waiters to fill. Not the best experience for a first time customer, not sure if It is worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Highly recommend the short ribs. They we ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Highly recommend the short ribs. They were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

24th Anniversary dinner - and the staff ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

24th Anniversary dinner - and the staff treated us special from the moment we walked in until we left. Food was outstanding. My wife was able to cut the Hereford steak with a butter knife (!!), and my Sea Bass was perfectly paired with complementary flavors. Most importantly, we were able to have a relaxing meal with ambience and great service while we reflected on how blessed we are in our marriage.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the time we walked in until we left ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

From the time we walked in until we left the building, we were treated with the utmost respect and service. We truly enjoyed the evening and will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were recently in for sunday brunch wi ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were recently in for sunday brunch with some friends visiting from atlanta. As usual the food and ambience were excellent. Our companions are foodies as well and were shocked to find that huntsville had such progressive cuisine on par with atlanta. However, they only had two hours and we had reservations and we felt it would be just enough time. It took three hours. The service was incredibly slow especially when we first arrived. We had to ask someone for menus and drinks after being ignored for 15-20 minutes. That pretty much sums up the service for the entire visit. When we needed something we searched for a waiter and asked. No one came regularly to check on us. Too bad because it was an otherwise perfect meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I did not like having no choice but to s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I did not like having no choice but to sit next to the bar. Git rid of bar.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife out for our 19th wedding an ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Took my wife out for our 19th wedding anniversary and we loved it. The server in the upstairs dining room was absolutely exceptional. Absolutely exceptional. One of those gents who knows all his wines, food pairings, and correct service etiquette per Amy Vanderbilt. Very attentive and professional service staff made the night very nice.

Chef James Boyce did a great job on the entire dinner (short ribs) and the Peanut Butter & Jelly on Phyllo dessert will astound you--there's nothing like it!

French pressed coffee with our dessert really finished it off well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent though side portions ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent though side portions were somewhat small. Service was lacking but would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Great place to eat and wonderful service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place to eat and wonderful service. My wife and I enjoyed celebrating our anniversary in loft. A must see

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appetizer and dessert were fantastic ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The appetizer and dessert were fantastic. The main course was ok. I had the cod and my husband had the NY steak. He ordered it medium rare and it was unevenly cooked. The atmosphere was nice. We did enjoy our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The snapper was disgusting. The bar is ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The snapper was disgusting. The bar is high at this establishment but I was very disappointed in the last visit there. Not even average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Outstanding food and service!! Staff do ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding food and service!! Staff does an awesome job of taking care of diners!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another exceptional dining experience. C ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another exceptional dining experience. Cotton Row has elevated its game in the past year. I've eaten in fine restaurants around the world and Cotton Row is right up near the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, reasonably priced. Grea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food, reasonably priced. Great ambiance! Wait staff seemed a little overly attentive to the locals in neglect of new diners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, great service, great ambienc ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambience. What more do you want? Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Price is not ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and food. Price is not bad, perfect place for a date night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Cotton Row for our anniversar ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to Cotton Row for our anniversary and had a great time. The staff are professional, friendly and unpretentious. The wine list is extraordinary for Huntsville. The setting in an historic building lends to the unhurried, neighborhood restaurant ambience. We both had steak, and they dishes were exactly as ordered and delicious. This is our go-to place in Huntsville for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.