Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (41)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Business Meals (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. The service was not so great. I had to ask different people for various items because my server couldn't be found. They brought soup with no spoon. Had to ask two different servers for coffee after the meal. Based on the meal cost, I expected better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very long wait for service. From the we sat down to being serve was too long.

Cotton Row was one of my wife and I favorite restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I went there for our 2nd year anniversary...Cotton. It was a delicious meal and great service. Located Downtown made it an easy walk to after dinner cocktails.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent and ambiance is one of the best in Huntsville. It is a small restaurant and we found that certain tables even though empty were reserved for special guests. If you make reservations I suggest you request and confirm a table by the window. We finally were seated at a table size we liked next to the order entry register. Server was very good except he was to anxious to get the entree order placed as soon as possible (i.e. tables turned X cost maximizes revenue). We declined and enjoyed our glass of wine first. Overall it is one of the best fine dining restaurants in Huntsville with an excellent chef. Just note the seating recommendation if you don't want less desirable as the restaurant is fairly small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

The bartender and the drinks were fabulous. The food was very good, however, quite pricey for the market.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Server and server assistance were excellent.
Great food and atmosphere!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The wine cellar was off the chains. We had the best waiter who made excellent choices for us. The food was fabulous and the wine superb!! Can't wait to dine there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2017

First time eating lunch here, and it did not disappoint. Previous visits have been for dinner and the food has always been excellent. While the lunch menu is a bit smaller, the quality of the food and service remain excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service, ambiance, and food were impeccable. Our server, Curt, was knowledgeable about the menu and wine list, and we never felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Enjoyed the evening, good food, good wine, good experience

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was good but there was not enough of it. I left still hungry. The service was good but each person on staff was emotionless and almost cold. I also felt as if I was being judged the entire time by staff because I was not an older man and I did not appreciate that at all. I liked the menu a lot because it was not too big and that made it easier for us to choose what we wanted.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a great experience at Cotton Row. The food was fantastic and the service was exactly what you'd expect from fine dining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

My wife and I dined at Cotton Row for our anniversary last night. The whole experience was wonderful!

The food was excellent - as good or better than our meals at Cotton Row's sister restaurant in Birmingham, Galley and Garden. The fried green tomatoes deserve all of the acclaim they receive. I had the white shrimp appetizer and my wife had the crab cake. I liked mine more but it was also a lot richer and more filling. For entrees my wife had the red fish special and I had the seared scallops. Both were great. Despite being stuffed, we both had dessert and my wife's chocolate lava cake had "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate. Very nice touch!

Our server, Jennifer, was terrific. She was very attentive without being overly present. Her wine recommendation was spot on. After our dinner, she gave us a tour of their wine cellar (we need to invite ten friends to join us so we can dine in that room - it's gorgeous). The next time we're at Cotton Row, we'll be sure and ask for her.

They have cooking classes and we can't wait to sign up for some. I've always enjoyed doing that. You get to know the chef of your favorite restaurants, meet other people, enjoy a good meal, and have a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My wife and love this place.... we drive from florence 1:20 each way just to eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Perfect spot for our 16th Anniversary. Jennifer took care of us without being overbearing. Started our occasion with fried green tomatoes and lump crab cake. Both were phenomenal. The entrees were the Korean BBQ Fried Rice and the Short Rib burger. The rice was fantastic and I could have definitely ate more than what came on the plate (only minus for the trip). My wife loved the burger. I thought it could have used a spicy aeoli or sauce. Topped it off with the chocolate crumb cake with caramel. Why we haven't tried this place prior to our visit is beyond me, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Everything was very good. Staff was very courteous and prompt. Food was done to perfection and timing between appetizers, entrees and desert was not rushed or excessively long. We went early in the evening (5:45) so not crowded. Will definitely return. Reminded us of 801 Franklin

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Everything and everyone was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Pleasant experience, food well prepped and service attentive but not overwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The service and food was spectacular and we had a pleasant dining experience.
It was too hot to eat outside, which is my favorite spot, but the inside dining experience was very nice as well.
My only complaint is that 3 people came by ready to take my plate from me while I was still eating!
Overall, lovely place to celebrate our 38th Anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The restaurant was cool and dark. The Southern seafood chowder was meaty and tasty. The creole crusted red snapper was adequate, but not wonderful, which it should have been at $32. I got an overall vibe of pretentiousness in the attitude of the staff. Overall it was a satisfactory but not an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Went for brunch for an early birthday celebration. The food and service was great.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

First off our server was great. Downhill from there. The wine cellar must be almost empty. Requested 4 bottles on the wine list they didn't have. Finally ordered a wine double the price of the others and they had it.😙 Salad and starters were good. Then we get to the entree. Let me prefix this by saying I had informed them up front that I have celiac disease. I ordered the $42 NY Strip. First time our entrees came out during our starters. Server promptly sent it back!👏 The next time the entrees came out there was a big, breaded, fried onion sitting on top of the steak.😵 Remember I have celiac d. So those went back. Next steak was so salty to be inedible. So on the 4th try the kitchen delivered an edible steak. Last time going there for a long time. I don't know what has happen to Cotton Row, it "was" a fantastic place to dine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We celebrated our parents' 50th Wedding Anniversary at Cotton Row and had a memorable night. The food, atmosphere, and service was phenomenal. We will definitely be back to try more dishes. Thank you for making this an enjoyable night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was my second time at Cotton Row...both were amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food had interesting flavors but was very salty. Service was somewhat inattentive at times (outside).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First of all, the service was outstanding. Second, the duck. I have to say, it was cooked perfectly, not dried out or overlooked. Overall it was amazing. The strip was equally great, cooked to perfection. I can't say anything negative about our experience at Cotton Row. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love this restaurant! Always accommodating to our requests. The filet is to die for!! And they don't just lay asparagus next to it - it's artfully presented and amazingly delicious. David goes above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect. We're lucky to have a restaurant like this in Huntsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and service was exquisite!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed this restaurant. We are new to Huntsville so I wanted to surprise my wife for her birthday. The restaurant was far better than we expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The people were amazing! We were visiting Huntsville and I called ahead for seating. We had never been to the restaurant before. They were very accommodating and the food was excellent! We will be going back every time we are in the city. And we will be recommending this place to others. Thanks Stephanie and crew!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The cuisine was top class, the food was delicious, service was very professional. We had a great time and will be dinning again in a few weeks.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

A great place here in Huntsville. Really enjoyed everything. My suggestion try things that you never would try you will be surprised and have a divine evening

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The staff was very helpful, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was fantastic! I took my wife there for our anniversary, and she LOVED it. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a quality meal, in a romantic setting. We dined outside, and there was live music. It was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. The food was excellent and the wine list was extensive. Throughly enjoyed.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions or just anytime you want excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great ambiance and facility. Poor (slow) customer service (server) with over-priced menu items. Seafood starters were bland & highly forgettable. Main dishes were not prepared as ordered. Could've just been a bad night for the kitchen and the server...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved everything about the evening. It was perfect anniversary dinner. Food was outstanding and waiter Robin was fabulous, very prompt and courteous and made some great suggestions. We'll definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.