Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Allow us to do the cooking for dinner for you and your family on Christmas Eve! Reserve your spot today for À la carte or private dining ! We look forward to seeing you.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Ring in the New Year with Cotton Row ! A meal prepared by Chef James Boyce is a great way to reminisce on 2017 and look to the year ahead. Start 2018 off on the right foot and celebrate with friends, family and loved ones at Cotton Row. Book your reservation today for À la carte or private dining.

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Great new menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Our team had a holiday lunch and the whole experience was perfect! Thanks so much to the attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The beef short ribs are outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Always a joy coming to this restaurant. The food is excellent, great wine selection, and service is always superb. The menu changes periodically, but they always seem to have a good variety despite it being a limited menu (limited in the sense that there may only be about 8-10 entree selections). We will continue to come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We celebrate our anniversary every year at Cotton Row. This year, we tried the Sunday Brunch. My husband had the southern fried chicken on waffles with maple syrup. From all day indications it was very popular choice. I opted for an uptake on Korean fried rice with some scallions, BBQ pork and a fried egg on top - it was fantastic! They have awesome coffee, too. The staff was attentive and fun - the service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went to Cotton Row for Thanksgiving dinner and had a wonderful experience. The food was amazing and our server was fantastic and attentive. I had previously had a bad experience here and was hesitant about coming back - I am so glad we did!!! We will be recommending Cotton Row in the future!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great cuisine . Great for date night... and special occasions..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Food was excellent, but it was PACKED. Felt like I was on an airplane having to hug walls to allow waiters and guests to get by. Did not appreciate our seat by the front door, where it was honestly cold enough to warrant wearing our coats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Once again, everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 16, 2017

One of our favorites! Always on the list when we have vendors in town. Food is excellent and service is great as well.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Wine list is very nice, the meals are very well prepared, nice portions, and not over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

All four of the main dishes we had were outstanding!!!! The cheese cake to top the meal off was a perfect ending. We'll will be repeat customers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Very memorable evening with a lovely dinner. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Stopped here for a quick 1 hour meal before a night out to see a show. I was disappointed in the beer selection from the 3 taps they had. Our server's assistant delivered another table's food to us before our appetizers arrived and was quickly corrected by our server. Our appetizers were flavorful and appropriately priced. While my wife's salmon had a great texture and flavor my NY strip was underwhelming in flavor. It also was quite fatty and while I asked for medium rare it arrived medium. Service was slow but perhaps they don't employ their top employees on a Tuesday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great foodGreat service! What more to add!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Delicious food. Fun sitting outside on the square while we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We have ate here many times over the past years, however our visit this week was an unexpected disappointment. Two of the meals were as good as always, but the two meals were not good. The food was so salty that it was inedible. We have always has truly outstanding waiters but the lady we had the other night was clueless and flat out didn’t care if we were satisfied or not. A disappointment from my favorite place to eat in Huntsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The best fried green tomatoes we have ever had! The food was delicious, my only drawback was portion size.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Service was slow. Took 25 min to get menu and order a drink. Should have left then. We had reservations for almost 2 weeks, and were sat in wine cellar. Room was cool, but so was the service... more like cold! Took way too long to get drinks, food, and the food was just average. We had charcuterie board which could have come from Publix, was not good, salads were okay, and entree was average as well. When you don’t get out much becuase you have 2 babies, and spend $140 on a meal, you expect more. Will not go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

My wife and I seated for a reservation at 6PM and did not get out until 8:40Pm. The service was slow. My wife's meal was exceptional (trigger fish). I ordered the Fillet Mignon (Medium Well). It showed up medium rare and cold in the center. I sent it back and the next piece showed up Medium well and purposely charr'd on the outside (Chef's revenge). I will not go there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Every choice we made from the menu was delicious and it was twice as fun to sit at the bar and chat up the very friendly bartender, Jacob. The best in Huntsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

As part of our commitment to keep our marriage strong we try to have a date night at least once a month. Cotton Row was our pick for this trip since I am a graduate student and a huge writing load stretched us out to 8 weeks this time. Ambience is simple and elegant, but not stuffy. Service was outstanding. Our server was attentive but did not smother us. He was well versed on menu items and gave fantastic descriptions of the items we inquired about. Our meal was excellent; perfectly cooked and beautifully presented.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I absolutely LOVE this place!! The atmosphere and the food are wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Meal was wonderful and bartender very well informed and charming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Nothing short of incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Ate at Cotton Row for two year anniversary and we both thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Short ribs were super!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Cotton Row always delivers in terms of food, service, and experience. They are our go-to spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I am from DC and Cotton Row prepared some of the most delicious food i have ever had and my colleagues from Seattle and Maryland agreed -- from the oysters, fried green tomatoes, lobster to the duck and seven wonders salad! Not to mention the pomegranate martini! Fabulous!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Thank you - the food and service were both outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Cotton Row is a unique and historic restaurant. The employees will answer all your questions (that you ask them) but they don't seem to give up any information.
Food was delicious and expensive. But worth it for a very special anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Dont be in a rush! Food was great and the wine list was fine, but the service is less than the best. Seems to be a young wait staff that lack awareness. Our plates sat on the table for 30 min after we finished our meal. We had a glase of wine so....whatever flys have to eat too. All in all I would go back, just know you maybe there 90-120+ minuets......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our experience here was excellent in all areas. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. It was a treat to find a quiet place to talk and catch up with old friends. We will definitely return soon. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent meal and service. We were on the patio. Sitting inside can be a little noisy if the restaurant is full. We are never disappointed when we dine here.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service is excellent, food tasted fabulous. Portions are small-- I prefer Commerce Kitchen for value. I don't mind paying a premium for fine cuisine, but at least provide enough vegetables to see.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Cotton Row is one of my favorite restaurants, so it was no surprise for me to choose it for my birthday dinner! I always receive the best service, and the food is superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Wish the tables were more private.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always they just take great care of you at cotton row

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.