Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
Special offers available. See details

Cotton Row Restaurant

4.7
818 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(256) 382-9500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef James Boyce
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Madison Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Celebrate, spoil and indulge Mom this Mothers Day. Cotton Row has a prix fixe menu that is sure to put a smile on Mom's face. We will be open 10:30 am - 3:00 pm.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 818 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I really enjoyed my birthday lunch at Cotton Row. Our waiter, Ian was super helpful and attentive. The romaine salad with shrimp was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Was able to easily book a reservation online. Was greeted pleasantly. The bartender was incredibly patient and knowledgeable. She was very helpful. The cocktails were very well crafted. Our server was nice and very helpful. The food was wonderful and the special was delicious. Would happily bring other business guest here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great service and server I can’t remember her name but she was awesome it was this Saturday night and we sat close to the bar. I had elk and my partner had the scallops both delicious and great atmosphere as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We had another business dinner in downtown Huntsville, AL. It was a perfect setting, very classy interior and quiet enough to talk (Monday night). Appetizers were excellent, but the main course of filet steak with a glaze, mashed potatoes and vegetables were excellent. Service wasn't the quickest mind you, but that was the only thing I could knock it for. Desserts was delicious, I personally have the chocolate Crunch cake with ice cream........dreamy. Paige was our waitress and she was top notch.
Keep up the good work Cotton Row.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Overall experience: C
- First, the brunch menu does not match what is on the website.
- Our server was friendly and attentive.
- The aged steak was very tough and couldn't chew it...had to send it back. I was told that others had to do the same in the recent past. My order was replaced with a thinly sliced filet, which was tender, cooked to order, and tasty.
- I ordered a cocktail; Alabama something, because that's how memorable it was...couldn't taste any alcohol and didn't enjoy.
- Maybe if I came back at dinner the experience would be different. I'm disappointed.
I will say, don't let my experience deter anyone else from trying CR for yourself. Good eating.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Loud. Slow service. Incorrect orders. Small portions. Way overrated. Avoid

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food is some of the best I've ever had. Wonderful flavors, fresh, local ingredients, knowledgeable staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was very cozy and the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a great meal and wonderful atmosphere!!! The drinks were excellent and the steak was phenomenal. The oysters were awesome as well. Cotton Row is one of the greats in Huntsville, Alabama

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

The service was really excellent and very professional. However, my original waiter only stopped by once and never really stopped to ask how everything was. It was not that busy so wasn't sure where he went. Others brought and picked up but seemed a bit impersonal. Nice to sit outside. Sweet hostess who greeted me. Food was delicious! Scallops and mashed potatoes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Another great meal and experience at Cotton Row. This was our first time in which wear was not too cool or warm but just right for doors being opened up to the patio. Try the tuna dip for Sunday brunch and the chicken, maple waffle. Wonderful meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Everything was great except the ambience. The tables are too close together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

It was amazing ! The service and food were the best !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food quality is always very good. Menus is excellent, deserts are fun.Third visit and service is still not to the expectations of a restaurant of this caliber. Wait staff is courteous but attention to some of the details is still not to an expected level.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Another wonderful experience at this restaurant. Our server, Jon, was great. Very attentive with great suggestions. We had the Appalachicola oysters appetizer and it was excellent. We both had the filet for our entrees and they were superb. The lobster mac and cheese side with the entree was really good, and even had a little bit of a spicy bite that was delicious. Our only concern when dining here though is the lack of space between other diners, which makes for an uncomfortable feeling being so close to the other diners while trying to enjoy a date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food was very good as was the service. Portion size was reasonable. It is however rather expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Our table was ready when we arrived. Service was slow paced and allowed time for conversation. We never felt rushed. The food was very good with healthy portions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Wonderful as always.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The food was cold....there were ppl that came in 30-40min after us....they were served there food and we're done eating when we received our food.....for the price that is unexcebtable....for the price...and when they brought the food out it was the wrong steak to all the wrong ppl....we played musical plates for several minutes until we got med steak to the right person....to expensive to do that...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Special of wagyu beef was underwhelming. Waiter dropped dirty silverware on me when clearing a course. The staff was friendly, but they weren't very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

5 star as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Amazing! We had a special guest in from Chicago to premier a film and she loved everything - our food, our evening as did all in our group. Perfect experience! Thanks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

This was probably our 4th time dining at Cotton Row. We don't visit it as often as some other restaurants in town (we're locals) because it is a bit more pricey. However, when we do go, we do feel like the quality of the food is on par with the cost. If you're claustrophobic, this may not be the place for you, unless perhaps, you ask to be seated in the lower dining area or in a corner. If you're unfortunate to be sitting next to a very loud group it can be very annoying and certainly not the romantic date you might have had in mind, since the seating is so close. This particular time, we didn't have an issue with noise, but there was a newborn in seated with his mom next to us that obviously messed his diaper (at least it was obvious to us). Luckily for us we were finishing up our dessert. In terms of food, we both started off with a bowl of the butternut squash soup that was delicious. For entrees, my wife had the salmon, which was very good. I had the filet, which also was very good, along with lobster mac and cheese. For dessert, we had the molten chocolate lava cake with raspberry sauce that we both enjoyed. The service was excellent. We never had to ask for anything as our server was on top of everything all night long. She was also very knowledgeable on the menu and the wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Enjoyed a lovely lunch at Cotton Row. Both the salad and the oyster appetizers were terrific, and the Braised Rib sandwich and Lobster Roll were excellent. Thanks for a fun outing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

My waiter Chandler was very attentive, kind and did a great job!! I’ll be sure to go back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was great....our server John was awesome...order specialty cocktails and the bartender was great and creative. The only negative was the pricy wine list. They had some great wines, just priced too high. The décor and atmosphere was unique and very comfortable. Would recommend this to anyone....a must when in Huntsville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Quality of food and service is 5 star. Great Job- Will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Fabulous food, impeccable service, beautiful venue. (Just a bid cramped on the walking areas though).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Cotton Row excellent again. This is the third time I’ve eaten at Cotton Row in 5 years. All have been memorable experiences. Our waitress was outstanding - knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Food was outstanding. I’m a veggie, and they do a great job of improvising a tasty, interesting veggie dish. My colleague loves meat and was happily satisfied with his steak. We started with Manhattans: a classic made well. Then a nice affordable Oregon Pinot. Excellent. Kudos all round.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Went to Cotton Row for the first time for birthday brunch with hubby. Food was delicious. Wish there were a few more vegetarian options but overall a pleasant experience. We’ll definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The food and service at Cotton Row were absolutely outstanding. Our drinks were never close to being empty and the staff were very knowledgeable about the dishes. My main complaint is the seating design. I was led to believe this restaurant is one of the most romantic restaurants in Huntsville, so my fiance and I decided to eat here for Valentine's Day. We were seated right next to another couple, and could not hear our own conversation over the other couple talking. Not romantic, at all. I feel like seating could be a bit more spaced out to give a more romantic vibe. My other complaint is that the blackberries on the cheesecake made it inedible. I recommend straining the sauce.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

EXCELLENT! We truly enjoyed the experience, ambience and dining. If you'd like a more intimate experience you might specially request to be seated downstairs but the upstairs was just fine. Only regret, not enough time to try everything on the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Amazing service! Awesome food. Loved sitting in the wine cellar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Cotton Row was fabulous!! I'm so glad we chose to eat here. Both the service and food were excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We had a great Valentines dinner. Our reservations were for 7:30, we arrived early but were seated right away. We ordered a bottle of wine and it came quickly. The service and food were both great. I will visit again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were promptly seated, however, our table was on the second floor in a converted apartment. We had to walk back out the front door into the pouring rain and around the building because there is no interior stairway to the second floor. Always request a main level table. Drink service was very slow. Food service was even slower. When my steak arrived I realized why it took so long. It was way over cooked. I had requested medium rare. I got well done plus. Sides and salads were mediocre. I have had excellent meals here in the past so I will give it another chance. However, there are at least two other quality options downtown that will gladly take my $200 for two of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent food and atmosphere. Went for Valentines dinner and ordered steak special and fish special. Both were cooked perfectly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great place for celebrating Valentines!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our experience at Cotton Row was spectacular! The food was incredible and our server was very kind.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Did not the like the close quarters between tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This was a great place. However, I went because the menu online showed the dinner menu and I wanted the grilled scallops. Very disappointed they could not accommodate me. The food was good, just not enough of it. Only used the lunch menu.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21