About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Plan a great Valentine's Dinner with us, as Chef Boyce has a great menu prepared for you and your loved one. Allow the Romance of this day to start with us at Cotton Row! We will be offering special treats and gifts that evening. Contact us for more information.

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Romantic (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Business Meals (23)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Private Room (15)
Historic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was such a disappointment. The foo ...

 
·Dined a day ago

This was such a disappointment. The food was bland and lacked creativity. Cotton Row is overrated and not worth even half of what we paid. I expected more based on ratings and price.

Clearly there is no enthusiasm or talent in the kitchen. Staff was polite but lacked experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was delicious but the portions on t ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious but the portions on the sides (rice in particular) was sparse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch is really well done and wo ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Sunday brunch is really well done and won't break your wallet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a baby crying; thank goodness ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

There was a baby crying; thank goodness it was away from where were sitting.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our brunch! Very ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our brunch! Very relaxing, excellent food and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More for business gatherings. Handicap w ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

More for business gatherings. Handicap with walker or wheelchair couldn't get to the restroom if they tried. No changing table in ladies restroom. Over priced for the quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food, service, and ambiance was amaz ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As near to perfect as you can get. One o ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

As near to perfect as you can get. One of the few restaurants where everything goes just right every time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 4th visit to Cotton Row ove ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our 4th visit to Cotton Row over the last few years. We were seated in a quiet, romantic section of the restaurant I previously didn't know existed. The food was absolutely delicious as always, and the service was top notch. It was everything we've come to love about Cotton Row.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are always impressed and enjoy our Co ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We are always impressed and enjoy our Cotton Row dinners. The service is exceptional and the atmosphere is top notch. The food is always delicious and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, food wonderful, a ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was great, food wonderful, and dinning experience great

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Red Snapper I have ever had! The se ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best Red Snapper I have ever had! The service was excellent it was a great New Years Eve dinner .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Went for New Years Eve dinner. It appea ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Eve dinner. It appears the restaurant was more concerned about jamming people in than the quality of the experience. The website stated the chef would be creating some special dishes for the night. The one and only special dish was a $50 steak. Service was slow and food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

I would not recommend this restaurant. M ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. My wife got extremely sick in early December. She missed a lot of work the week after Christmas and went to a doctor twice following Christmas. Regretfully, we called over 30 hours in advance to attempt to cancel our reservation due to documented medical issues but were told we had to pay $50.00 to cancel. Granted, this was a New year's eve reservation. Rather than pay a penalty of $50 I sent my daughter and her fiance in our place and paid for their dinner. They said the restaurant was noisy and that Longhorns cooked better steaks. We are locals and looking for a new restaurant to frequent and this would have been our first visit to the Cotton Row. We will however, never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

New Years Eve

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent service....noiselevele was ver ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service....noiselevele was very low and good for a private communications

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very, very crowded. I was elbow to elbow ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very, very crowded. I was elbow to elbow with another table. Food was good, but there was barely any meat on the bone with the lamb I ordered. Way overpriced for the small amount of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Great food, great service and very relax ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service and very relaxing setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious! Service was e ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was delicious! Service was excellent as always! Cotton Row is my absolute favorite in Huntsville!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the Top 3 restaurants in Huntsvil ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of the Top 3 restaurants in Huntsville. Great gourmet food, excellent fish and beef and soups and salads. It is a great place for dinner or lunch.

Tags: Private Room, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The only complai ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was delicious. The only complaint I had was that there was quite a wait to order and receive our food.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sadly until today, Cotton Row has always ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Sadly until today, Cotton Row has always been our favorite restaurant in town. Last night was very off, food poorly prepared, poorly plated, over cooked, and just a HUGE disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Excellent atmosphere for business and pe ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent atmosphere for business and personal dining. The food is always great and the staff very accommodating. One of my favorite places!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food choices, good insight and ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

excellent food choices, good insight and advice from the waiter. meal was perfectly prepared and presentation was wonderful. fickle weather for this time of year made for a little warmer interior, but the staff corrected the problem when asked about it. overall great dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Where do I begin -- After arranging rese ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Where do I begin -- After arranging reservations through Open Table we contacted the restaurant directly to insure they could accommodate a large group of ten for a family Xmas Eve dinner. We originally requested a private room, however, unsure whether my elderly parents could negotiate the stairs or steps required to enter their private dining spaces, we were told by the restaurant to confirm our number the day before we arrived and they could pre-arrange banquette seating near the back of the restaurant. We arrived 3 minutes before our reservation time and the hostess looked like we had never talked before.... literally "a deer in the headlights". No one was ready and they acted like we were a complete inconvenience for them to arrange seating they had already confirmed and promised the same day.

It took 15 min to start taking our drink orders when our lead waiter finally showed up to begin our meal service. It was actually another 15 to 20 minutes before our drink orders showed up. Furthermore, they only had just taken our main course orders, now over 30 minutes into our seating. Needless to say, we were well over an hour and a half before our main courses showed. Service and coordination with the kitchen was strained to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The food was good, but I thought it was ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was good, but I thought it was overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This was my second time eating here and ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my second time eating here and it did not disappoint! The meal was excellent from start to finish.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I brought my wife here for date night ju ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

I brought my wife here for date night just because I wanted something new, fancy, and fun. We were in no way disappointed and our server Stephen was wonderful!!

Tags: Organic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and exceptional food. ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fantastic service and exceptional food. I went for a birthday brunch and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, great service, my favor ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent meal, great service, my favorite Huntsville restruant ,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service when we dined at lunch ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Top notch service when we dined at lunch, our compliments to Jeremiah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

First few times I visited, I was so impr ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

First few times I visited, I was so impressed. Reservations were made in my special friend's name. He lives in Arab. I made this last reservation in my name and I am from Knoxville. We had the worse table in the restaurant. In the back near the rest rooms. Noisy. Not as pleasant experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, , Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Steak had very little taste. The bernai ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

Steak had very little taste. The bernaise sauce was lacking and very runny. The scallops were too salty. Overall, food versus price did not match. Food should be reduced 30 to 40 percent based on taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The atmosphere was nice. Great date nig ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

The atmosphere was nice. Great date night place. I will say the once it got crowded, scene changed. I didn't notice how close the tables were until we had a couple on both sides of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

scallops were best I ever had, even my 8 ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

scallops were best I ever had, even my 86 yr old very hard to please mom loved them. The 7 wonders salad is excellent would go back just for that. Very good service and atmosphere. Will definitely go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had received a gift card and treated t ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

I had received a gift card and treated three of my friends for a birthday luncheon. The food and service were great. The sun was beating down on us and needed sunglasses, but we refrained. As we were leaving, they lowered the outside canopy to deter the sun. When I gave the waiter the gift card he returned and said that the gratuity couldn't be paid with the gift card. I wish I would have known that prior and I would have been prepared. I can't find where it says that anywhere. It was a little embarrassing as I was trying to gather adequate cash for a tip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is good, but somewhat overcomplicat ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is good, but somewhat overcomplicated. Less is more, just a little too many flavors combined. Also no kids menu, a pitty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Really a bad experience. For some back g ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Really a bad experience. For some back ground, I chose to have my Corp Christmas event last year at Cotton Row ( they misspelled my company name on the menu cards and I did not complain) and have eaten there 20+ times and mostly had a good experience. Tonight was different. The food was sub par and the service was sub par and the whole experience was inadequate. I had a guest in from out of town that is moving here, as I often do, and was embarrassed to present Cotton Row as the best restaurant in Huntsville .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Had the beef ribs - very good. Will get ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had the beef ribs - very good. Will get them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fabulous as well as the ser ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was fabulous as well as the service! Upscale dining and it was worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.