About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Alabama
Romantic
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
8 More
Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

Special Occasion (72)
Romantic (54)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Scenic View (5)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (4)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and son selected Cotton Row to c ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and son selected Cotton Row to celebrate my birthday. The service was on point from the water all the way to the dessert menu. The staff did an amazing job of being attentive without being the least bit overbearing. The food is ALWAYS outstanding. The rack of lamb had such a delicious flavor. We also ordered the sea scallops and they were pan seared to perfection. The Ahi tuna was also perfectly cooked. I would never hesitate to select Cotton Row as a special occasion destination.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In years past, this was a "shirt and tie ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

In years past, this was a "shirt and tie only" establishment. So when I decided to take my significant other on an unusually nice dining experience for our anniversary, imagine my surprise when everyone was wearing shorts and a polo.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Another wonderful experience at Cotton R ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined 7 days ago

Another wonderful experience at Cotton Row. Top notch service, extensive wine selection, fantastic food. Will be back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. This was my first vis ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great experience. This was my first visit to Cotton Row but it won't be my last. The ambience was very inviting, the food was excellent and the service was on point. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Phenomenal, as always. Exceptional menu ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined 7 days ago

Phenomenal, as always. Exceptional menu items. Beautiful decor.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I stopped by for Sunday br ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My friend and I stopped by for Sunday brunch. The atmosphere was nice and the food was delicious. We did have to send one item back as it was cold, but they immediately rectified the situation without hassle. I really enjoyed the creativity in the menu. I had a unique take on eggs benedict that used braised pork shoulder and it was wonderful. My friend had the chicken and waffle loved the bourbon maple syrup and their version of Saw Mill gravy (it really was the best Saw Mill gravy that I've every had and I'm a big Saw Mill gravy fan).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second trip to Cotton Row a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our second trip to Cotton Row and the first time sitting in the main dining room. We ordered three appetizers and only one (Mussels) were what I would call very good. The breaded oysters were different, and the grilled hearts of romaine were drenched in too much dressing. Two folks at our table ordered the Pacific NW Salmon. One requested no "farro" and extra eggplant. The second person ordered the dish as is (with farro, eggplant, etc). The as is order came without farro and without eggplant! So the $29 Salmon came with peppers and a green of some kind. While the fish was well cooked and very tender, it lacked what I would call a distinct flavor or anything that was memorable. Others at the table enjoyed their meals (short ribs and Filet Mignon) as well as dessert and coffee. Overall I was under impressed although several at our table enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cotton Row remains as on of my favorite ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Cotton Row remains as on of my favorite Huntsville restaurants. The food is always delicious and the service cannot be beaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an excellent evening and Cotton R ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was an excellent evening and Cotton Row is a very nice place to spend a special evening.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter, Robert, was outstanding. Tha ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our waiter, Robert, was outstanding. Thanks for the guided tour. Meal was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a gem! The food, service & atmosphe ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

What a gem! The food, service & atmosphere were fabulous. It is pricy but well worth every penny. I look forward to trying some other menu options on our next visit!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner. Excellent steak and s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Excellent steak and scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were in town & are so g ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I were in town & are so glad that we stopped here for supper. Great food and an upscale atmosphere. Really enjoyed our experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Cotton Row was wonderf ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our experience at Cotton Row was wonderful. The food was amazing and the service impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance for our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Lovely ambiance for our anniversary dinner. My husband eats at Cotton Row frequently for business meeting and is pleased with the service and meals . It is a special place to dine. It is more like a dining experience in Europe than Huntsville, Alabama.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a birthday with girlfriend ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We celebrated a birthday with girlfriends. The service and staff were wonderfu and catered to our every need l! Our meals were delicious! Using Open Table was convenient and easy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service consistently, e ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great food great service consistently, every single time. You can't go wrong with anything you order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

"Their press releases are way ahead of t ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

"Their press releases are way ahead of their performance" and the reality wasn't close to the hype. Service was disappointing at best. The staff seems be to totally distracted and not attentive to diners' needs. Drink order took 30 minutes to arrive. After the entrée arrived there was no follow up by waiter to ensure meals were prepared properly. The special lamb porterhouse was too tough to eat having been prepared 'not to order'. The restaurant gave us the impression we had intruded on their evening. The bottom line is they see themselves in the same league as the best in Birmingham and Nashville . . . sorry, it's not to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Love Cotton Row! The combination of sup ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love Cotton Row! The combination of superb food, great ambiance, and attentive wait staff, make this historic restaurant worth the trip!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Nice atmosphere. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service! Nice atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the ambience was good. food was excellen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

the ambience was good. food was excellent. service was good. they did mix up our drink but they fixed it later. we will definately go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best chicken & waffles I've ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Some of the best chicken & waffles I've ever tasted. The tour of the wine cellar was amazing and the staff was friendly. Enjoyed the history throughout the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was expected, not out of the park. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was expected, not out of the park. Service was excellent. Seated directly behind the host desk was loud and intrusive as patrons almost knock you over.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

For the first time ever, I actually had ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

For the first time ever, I actually had a very poor meal at this restaurant. My fish entrée was overcooked and the croutons that accompanied the entrée could not physically be eaten, they were so incredibly hard. Our server was great and my wife's meal was very good so the entire evening was not a bust. After pointing out the issues with my meal I sort of expected the manager or the cook to swing by and discuss the meal but that did not happen. Additionally, there was no reduction in the price of my meal which probably should have happened. This wasn't quiet what I was looking for while celebrating my 30th wedding anniversary, but this one is in the books.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The best restaurant in Huntsville! Alway ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The best restaurant in Huntsville! Always great never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meals.

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Pleasurable experience. Staff was polite ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Pleasurable experience. Staff was polite and courteous. Meal was delicious. Meal was served quickly.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall good experience, but the restaur ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Overall good experience, but the restaurant was too warm (temp).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good overall experience. Food is usuall ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good overall experience. Food is usually good to very good. Bread was still baking and we were one of the first customers. Drinks a little skimpy for the price. Also a pet peeve of mine is servers talking to each other. When you are paying this much for food and drinks, servers should always be attentive to the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It's nice to be able to drive up to the ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It's nice to be able to drive up to the front of a restaurant and valet your car. We were seated immediately and drinks were served. I ordered the filet and my date ordered lamb. Both were perfectly cooked and seasoned for a perfect taste. The vegetables weren't overcooked or undercooked but right there in the sweet spot so often missed. No rush, no hurry just great service. Our waiter took us down to the historic basement which is now a wine cellar and dining area for a small group special occasion. He told us all about the history of the building like a tour guide. This wasn't my first time to Cotton Row and will certainly not be my last but will remain my favorite. It was the first time for my date and she was very impressed and fascinated with all the history. If you want a great meal, perfectly prepared no matter what you order this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful brunch meal....deliciously p ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful brunch meal....deliciously prepared. I Loved the ambiance for our 45th wedding anniversary celebration. The wait staff was efficient.

I had the waffle and fried chicken....delicious! My husband had the Twickenham Breakfast plate and he said the scrambled eggs were the best he has ever had. The biscuits were delicious as well.

A wonderful meal for our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From the friendly greeting at the door, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

From the friendly greeting at the door, until we could not possibly eat another bite, the experience was excellent. Chef Brown and the staff did a marvelous job, meeting our special requests and providing the group with some personal insights into his knowledge as a chef.

A most memorable experience and one we cant wait to duplicate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice if there were new items ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It would be nice if there were new items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Slow service, ate upstairs, felt like st ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Slow service, ate upstairs, felt like step-children, as the service was lacking somewhat. Fod was so-so. It didn't live up to my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Superb dining experience. Always an exce ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Superb dining experience. Always an excellent choice of salads, starters and entrees. We loved the soft shell crab, scallops and short ribs. Great pairing of sides using locally sourced ingredients. Superb service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is very nice. The food needs s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The place is very nice. The food needs some work. Almost all of the dishes were over salted and the presentations were sloppy and the portion sizes were just to big. You could tell they had quality ingredients but it seemed the kitchen didn't know what to really do with them. However, this is Huntsville not a major metropolitan city so maybe our expectations were to high. If I was visiting Huntsville again I would give this place another shot maybe it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was clean and top notch. Both restaurants the other Commerce Kitchen have never let me down

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers and steak were delicious. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The appetizers and steak were delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable and had a great personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We imagine that Cotton Row is one of the ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We imagine that Cotton Row is one of the better restaurants in Huntsville. On this Saturday night, the staff seemed very occupied with the wedding up stairs. Our waitress asked me three times about why type of drink I wanted. Ok, no big deal. When we received our two appetizers each (instead of ordering a main entree), they were in the wrong order. My husbands pasta came out first followed by the soup. My soft shell crab was over battered, over fried and not very tasty. I cancelled the second appetizer because we had waited over an hour for for first ones. We skipped dessert. It's a pretty restaurant but poor service for the prices and hence we gave it two stars. I enjoy eating at fine dining restaurants but there was a lack of attention to detail and poor service. The bread and butter was nothing special. You would think they would add some fresh herbs or better rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

This was an anniversary dinner for my w ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner for my wife and I. The Cotton Row was perfect. We will be dinning here more often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.