About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
4 More
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Romantic (33)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Historic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere was nice. Great date nig ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere was nice. Great date night place. I will say the once it got crowded, scene changed. I didn't notice how close the tables were until we had a couple on both sides of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

scallops were best I ever had, even my 8 ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

scallops were best I ever had, even my 86 yr old very hard to please mom loved them. The 7 wonders salad is excellent would go back just for that. Very good service and atmosphere. Will definitely go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had received a gift card and treated t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

I had received a gift card and treated three of my friends for a birthday luncheon. The food and service were great. The sun was beating down on us and needed sunglasses, but we refrained. As we were leaving, they lowered the outside canopy to deter the sun. When I gave the waiter the gift card he returned and said that the gratuity couldn't be paid with the gift card. I wish I would have known that prior and I would have been prepared. I can't find where it says that anywhere. It was a little embarrassing as I was trying to gather adequate cash for a tip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is good, but somewhat overcomplicat ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is good, but somewhat overcomplicated. Less is more, just a little too many flavors combined. Also no kids menu, a pitty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Really a bad experience. For some back g ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Really a bad experience. For some back ground, I chose to have my Corp Christmas event last year at Cotton Row ( they misspelled my company name on the menu cards and I did not complain) and have eaten there 20+ times and mostly had a good experience. Tonight was different. The food was sub par and the service was sub par and the whole experience was inadequate. I had a guest in from out of town that is moving here, as I often do, and was embarrassed to present Cotton Row as the best restaurant in Huntsville .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Had the beef ribs - very good. Will get ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had the beef ribs - very good. Will get them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fabulous as well as the ser ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was fabulous as well as the service! Upscale dining and it was worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First trip this last Friday night as a d ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First trip this last Friday night as a double date with another couple. We had a fabulous meal! I highly recommend the filet!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat at table for close to 10 minutes af ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Sat at table for close to 10 minutes after being seated before the server came by to even offer drinks. Ordered steak medium and it came out rare leaning toward raw. Disappointed in the overall experience especially with the prices charged.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great meal! The good was cooked to perfe ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great meal! The good was cooked to perfection. Our only disappointment was the very slow service. It took a good 10 minutes before someone actually approached our table. It took over 20 minutes to get our drinks! Other than that one glitch, the night was enjoyable.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My husband and I chose Cotton Row to cel ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I chose Cotton Row to celebrate my birthday. It was our first visit to the restaurant and we looking forward to a romantic dinner. The concierge service was a nice treat since the restaurant is located downtown and parking can be difficult. That's where the much anticipated evening stopped. There is no ambiance to be enjoyed. The tables are too close to each other and conversations are easily overheard. We both ordered cocktails and I settled for a cape cod. It was very bitter and for my refill I requested a splash of peach schnapps. Cotton Row does not stock that liquor so I suffered through another bitter cape cod. We both ordered appetizers. They were very good. I had butternut squash soup and my husband had sea scallops. My husband ordered short ribs for his entree and I ordered the special of seared tuna steak. The ribs tasted burnt and one half of my tuna was too tough to cut. To top off the bad evening, I made a visit to the ladies room to find out -too late- that the toilet did not work. The chain was broken. The manager said he'd had to fix it three times that evening! Why didn't he put up a sign saying it was out of order? The bathroom sink was flooded with water left by patrons. It was clear the bathroom was not monitored by management or staff. We will not be going back and will not have good reviews for anyone who asks us if we've eaten there.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We had our anniversary dinner at Cotton ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner at Cotton Row and it exceeded expectations. My husband is never really impressed by many restaurants and he even said we should have our anniversary dinner here yearly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dining experience at ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always enjoy our dining experience at Cotton Row. Excellent food and service is always very attentive without being 'too much'. We recently had reservations to celebrate our anniversary and the only negative was table location--right by the gate to go downstairs and directly in front of the Hostess station. That table is a little awkward in location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Service was horrible. Expect more from a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was horrible. Expect more from a place like that.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

This was our first time at Cotton Row. M ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first time at Cotton Row. My wife and I were celebrating my birthday, and so she wanted to make it special. And special it was. The atmosphere was very nice. Our waiter named Dakota was excellent. He was very friendly, personable, and just expressed great customer service throughout our dining experience. He was very knowledgeable about each meal and the menu. I also was impressed that he relied on his pad, rather than try to remember. My wife had the snapper and I had the lamb. The food was great! My only issue with the experience was that our seating was very close to another couple and you could tell it took away from their privacy, and the same for us. But as I said, that was minor. Dakota and the food the standouts. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a great dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, attentive service and very r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, attentive service and very respectable wine list. We arrived a few minutes early and were promptly seated anyway. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive.

We started with the foie gras and were not disappointed. The lobster risotto was excellent and I can't say enough about the wagyu ribeye special. It was exceptionally flavorful and very nicely presented.

A very satisfying meal in a beautifully appointed place that was busy but not noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but not my kind of place. Over ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good food but not my kind of place. Over priced, and a little snooty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This place is wonderful! Everything we a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place is wonderful! Everything we ate was creative and perfectly put together. Service was excellent, and the restaurant itself is beautiful. A little pricey but great for a special occasion. My new favorite!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our visit here. The food ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit here. The food was very good! It wasn't too noisy and the service is top-notch. Prices aren't too steep for the food and service you get.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Was very impressed with the restaurant i ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Was very impressed with the restaurant it's one of the best restaurants for fine dining. The server was on top of everything nothing was not attended to, at end of meal our server had the valet to pull our vehicle around and it was waiting for us as soon as we walked up. Nothing was missed at Cotton Row was taken care of and handled very professionally

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience. The at ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience. The atmosphere and the seating was nice. It was a quiet Sunday afternoon. The food was tasty. The service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good, but some high maintenance ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was good, but some high maintenance tables seemed to take all of our server's attention at our expense

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

good food but service was slow. needed t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

good food but service was slow. needed to speak to the manager about table next to ours not being served. recommend eating inside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Reservations via Open Table. On arrival ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Reservations via Open Table. On arrival we were escorted to the rear, down a flight of stairs, and into wine cellar and seated there alone. I wondered what we did wrong! But the wine cellar proved to be an ideal location. We were not distracted by other patrons' conversations and were free to get a little silly from our drinks. My wife had a glass of Cava and I had a Balvenie Doublewood neat. Prices for these were reasonable. The liquor selection was first rate...they even had Pappy Van Winkle (which I turned down as I am saving for retirement).

I started with the foie gras. It was served on a waffle with thinly sliced peaches and candied nuts in a balsamic glaze. I enjoyed it with a glass of RIesling. The sweetness of the wine was not overpowering and paired nicely with the foie gras. The candied nuts and waffle were also nice, but pushed the sweetness a little far. Still, I enjoyed my starter. My wife started with the butter lettuce salad with strawberries, pink grape fruit, and peaches. She found the salad dressing a bit acidic for her, but overall she loved the salad. Rolls were brought, tasty and quite buttery/oily, but delicious.

Our entrees (me): Divers scallops in a cream sauce on a bed of field peas, small pieces of fried okra, and Vidalia onions. I think the menu mentioned rocket, but I didn't perceive any of that in there. My wife got a filet with "peanut" (fingerling) potatoes italian pole beans, (quite chewy) porcini mushrooms, and (quite hard) carrots. She loved the steak, but not the veggies. We ordered a nice a fairly priced bottle of Jordan RR Chardonnay which paired nicely with my dinner. My wife likes white wines with anything, so she was happy. Dessert (her) was passable ice cream. I had the hazelnut mousse cake, which I did not love.

Service was great. No complaints there.

The bill came to nearly $300, so not a cheap date. Entrees and starters were great, desserts a bit disappointing.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Perhaps the most expensive meal in Hunts ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Perhaps the most expensive meal in Huntsville. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal immensely. If I were a rich man, I would dine here often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here on our 8th anniversary and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went here on our 8th anniversary and I can tell you it was fantastic. I had the new York and my wife had the lamb. Drinks were also very good. Vodka martini with blue cheese stuffed olives. The mood was very inviting and the staff was completely accommodating. Some earlier reviews of the place we read were a bit hard on the staff but not here.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at this restauran ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. I was greatly impressed. Thank you for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cotton Row is one of our favorites. Food ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Cotton Row is one of our favorites. Food & service are always excellent and consistent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service at this restaurant was absol ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our service at this restaurant was absolutely awful. It took 20 minutes before our server took our drink order. We didn't receive our drinks until we had been there 50 minutes. The waiter brought bread out with no plates or silverware. The manager attempted to make the evening better by providing fried green tomatoes but still didn't bring silverware. The total dinner took 2 and half hours. We had friends in town from Mississippi and we're celebrating a birthday. I was completely embarrassed to have taken them there and will no longer eat there.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The did was amazing!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The did was amazing!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The wine/drink menu was misnomered, out ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The wine/drink menu was misnomered, out of order, difficult to navigate

cocktail was not as ordered and 30 minutes between ordering & being served

wine bottle just set on table, not put in ice bucket

appetizer was not as described

This had been my favorite restaurant, no longer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

EXTREMELY GREAT FOOD & Extremely Expensi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2016

EXTREMELY GREAT FOOD & Extremely Expensive. My online Reservation said 31st Wedding Anniversary, but NO "special occassion" question was ever asked. I expected more personal service, like keeping water & Tea glasses filled, for the $ 80 per person price. Small restaurant seating area and we were seated by BUSY hallway with distracting movement of personnel. Cotton Row is GREAT for RICH people. You are paying for SUPER / INCREDIBLE FOOD, so don't expect even twice the experience, for four times the price.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

The entrée was good, but overall I found ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The entrée was good, but overall I found the food unimpressive. My major complaint was the service. We were seating over 25 minutes before we received a cocktail. Our water glasses were not refilled, and other basic services were ignored. Not worthy of "fine dining."

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

My wife and son selected Cotton Row to c ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My wife and son selected Cotton Row to celebrate my birthday. The service was on point from the water all the way to the dessert menu. The staff did an amazing job of being attentive without being the least bit overbearing. The food is ALWAYS outstanding. The rack of lamb had such a delicious flavor. We also ordered the sea scallops and they were pan seared to perfection. The Ahi tuna was also perfectly cooked. I would never hesitate to select Cotton Row as a special occasion destination.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In years past, this was a "shirt and tie ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

In years past, this was a "shirt and tie only" establishment. So when I decided to take my significant other on an unusually nice dining experience for our anniversary, imagine my surprise when everyone was wearing shorts and a polo.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Another wonderful experience at Cotton R ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Another wonderful experience at Cotton Row. Top notch service, extensive wine selection, fantastic food. Will be back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. This was my first vis ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great experience. This was my first visit to Cotton Row but it won't be my last. The ambience was very inviting, the food was excellent and the service was on point. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Phenomenal, as always. Exceptional menu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Phenomenal, as always. Exceptional menu items. Beautiful decor.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I stopped by for Sunday br ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My friend and I stopped by for Sunday brunch. The atmosphere was nice and the food was delicious. We did have to send one item back as it was cold, but they immediately rectified the situation without hassle. I really enjoyed the creativity in the menu. I had a unique take on eggs benedict that used braised pork shoulder and it was wonderful. My friend had the chicken and waffle loved the bourbon maple syrup and their version of Saw Mill gravy (it really was the best Saw Mill gravy that I've every had and I'm a big Saw Mill gravy fan).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second trip to Cotton Row a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our second trip to Cotton Row and the first time sitting in the main dining room. We ordered three appetizers and only one (Mussels) were what I would call very good. The breaded oysters were different, and the grilled hearts of romaine were drenched in too much dressing. Two folks at our table ordered the Pacific NW Salmon. One requested no "farro" and extra eggplant. The second person ordered the dish as is (with farro, eggplant, etc). The as is order came without farro and without eggplant! So the $29 Salmon came with peppers and a green of some kind. While the fish was well cooked and very tender, it lacked what I would call a distinct flavor or anything that was memorable. Others at the table enjoyed their meals (short ribs and Filet Mignon) as well as dessert and coffee. Overall I was under impressed although several at our table enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.