Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (50)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Local Ingredients (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Historic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Private Room (13)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down the best restaurant in Huntsville.
The dood was great, ambiance was great, and the best restaurant service in my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

I asked for a slice of lime in my San Pellegrino. After dropping the lime slice on the tablecloth the server picked it from the table and still placed it in my glass?! He justified this action so by remarking that the tablecloths were "sterile". Hmmm... Even for a ruffian like me that seemed out of character with an otherwise high-end dining experience. Presentation is everything. The five second rule isn't a good standard to observe when serving others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We ate a perfectly prepared dinner of okra salad, tuna appetizer and fish special. The staff was very efficient, and well trained always attending to everything needed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my mom for Mother's Day brunch and had a great experience. Very good food, very friendly and attentive staff. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great, but service was not as attentive as expected. However I would still recommend this establishment to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Less than 2 hours before our reservation the restaurant called and wanted to postpone our dinner for an additional hour because they were very busy that evening. Reservation cancelled and Mother's Day ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall outstanding restaurant, great service but most of all the dishes were amazing. I recommend the short ribs. Chef rj

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overal, very unsatisfied. I made a reservation for a birthday, party of two, and we were sat in between two other couples, so close that we couldn't even pay attention to our own conversations because we were THAT close. The food we ordered, duck confit, was so undercooked that we couldn't even eat it! We left almost our entire 90$ meal on the table. Now i am no duck connisoure, but i know when meat is undercooked. Service from the waitress was alright, she payed more attention to her other tables than ours and we had to flag her down to get another drink.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was not worth the price. My boys walked out hungry. The cheesecake was sour. Not a good experience over all. Serve was very slow.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The restaurant has terrific food, but a small main floor dining room, but other dining spaces are available. Also, I requested my leftovers but received somebody else's and only discovered that at home.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food= great, decor= great, service = terrible. The decor and ambience was very nice and well put together. The food was nicely presented and very tasty. The new Sunday brunch menu offered many breakfast selections. The cocktails (bloody marys) were on the weaker side mixed with a thin tomato drink. At a high end restaurant such as Cotton Row the food and décor was fantastic but the service was TERRIBLE. We waited for a long time to be greeted at our table and our drink orders taken. Then every service step following took forever. To get drinks, to get food, to get the check. Just took way to long for such an establishment. I hope they work on their service training because the rest of the experience was fantastic. But when the service is poor, it ruins the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Amazing tastes superior waiter all lovely and relaxing

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Quick Bite, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food. It is the best in Huntsville!
We go there every time we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We took our great great uncle here for his 94th birthday. Dinner was excellent but it was the unparalleled customer service that really sealed the phenomenal experience. everyone (including Chef James Boyce) was so gracious in wishing our uncle a happy birthday and thanking him for his service in World War II. He had such a wonderful night and is still talking about that salmon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent meal and service. I've never had a bad meal at cotton row.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very, very, very disappointed in our dinner. It was terrible. The chef came out to apologize and asked us to come back so he could make it great...there will not be a next time. We should have gone to Meza Luna!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fried Green Tomatoes Oscar was great. Probably the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I’ve been to Cotton Row three times. Each time I was impressed with the young servers who were polite, eager to serve and do things the right way. I do have two, hopefully, constructive suggestions.

Decanting wine is primarily to remove the sediment and aerate the wine not just to put it into the decanter. While I do not expect a candle to be lit under the pour, a slow pour with an eye for the sediment would be appreciated. My last bottle was a 1998 Chateau Montrose, Grand Cru.

My second suggestion may be a little old school, but the server should not remove empty dishes under the last person is finished eating unless asked to.

Otherwise I was impressed with the quality of the food, the atmosphere, and the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

First off, love the space. Always have. But you never change up the menu. There are still winter items on there when you should be pushing spring items. You all should be challenging yourselves vs doing the same things year after year. Cotton Row is for better or worse one the top restaurants in Huntsville but that isn't an excuse to have the same menu year after year.

I had to wait 20 mins until a drink order came that was a bit off. Took almost the same amount of time to get menus delivered to us. And this is on a Monday night. No excuse there.

Entrees were delivered incomplete. You should have your staff repeat the order verbatim or write it down vs guessing.

You all have the capability to be much more than you are. Maybe it's a product of your audience I don't know. But would really like to see some seasonal menu changes. Big changes. Overhauls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome Easter brunch menu. The bloody Mary's were great! However, we were not a fan of the music entertainment. Just didn't seem right for this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 15, 2017

very good restaurant excellent service nice locale I will say it is the best for a romantic dinner in Huntsville

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great as always. I eat at a lot of fine dining restaurants in the SE due to work travel and simply one of my favorites. Cheers!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was amazingly fresh and well prepared. My wife and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed four courses, great cocktails, and truly great service. The highlight of the meal was the PB&J dessert! That was out of this world good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was horrible , the wait time for drinks too long

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food is excellent and consistent. Service is over the top! My favorite place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 4, 2017

This is a wonderful little restaurant in downtown Huntsville Al. Great service and food is remarkable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was my husbands birthday, and I asked them to put the cake in a freezer because it was ice cream. I thought they did, but unfortunately they didn't. Half the cake was melted off when we got it. So that was a huge disappointment. My food was good, I played it safe with a salad, so glad I did that. Other than my salad the best thing was the chicken tenders and fries. The lamb was not good, the other people had steak and said it was ok. Our waiter was amazing though, he laughed with us when he saw the frustration on our faces after sitting there for over an hour with no food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We heard this was the best restaurant in Huntsville so when we were in town we decided to try it. We sat in the wine cellar which had a nice feel. The service was amazing and the wine list was really good as well. If you are just going for drinks I would recommend. When they brought the bred out to start the meal they were frozen yeast rolls. Horrible. Even the waitress was embarrassed. She brought us different bread but that is not a good way to start the meal. For the main meal I ordered the lamb and it was tough. I would have ate it but my wife reminded me how much we were spending and I got the short ribs instead. They were decent. She got the crab and filet but asked for just crab as she is not a meat eater. They brought just one small crab and no meat but still charged the full $48 as if we had the filet. Overall extremely disappointed in this restaurant given all the hype. We would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was my second time dining at your restaurant and both times I found it outstanding in many ways. David, our waiter was attentive, courteous, and helpful in all ways. He really seems to know his business! Everyone in my party found the portions to be generous and carefully prepared as well as delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was excellent, but pricey. The dishes were creative and the sides completed the main course very well. My issue was the service being very slow. We waited for 30 minutes to see a dessert menu, and then waited for another 20 minutes to receive our dessert. I thought our server was ignoring us at one point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great meal ! Excellent Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a restaurant I frequent for both business and personal dining. This particular occasion was an impromptu date night with my wife. The food and service are consistently excellent here, and impressed us yet again. The main dining area is fairly tight, with seating in close proximity to other tables. If you want truly private dining, request a private room ahead of time.

Tags: Seasonal, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Good food overall. A few missteps that made it less than it should have been - wrong wine, shells in soup, too much cheese in a dish....but overall really good and would go back again. Decent value for the money considering the food and the beautiful casually elegant atmosphere. Perhaps the. OSS wasn't in tonight, and usually a rich better. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service and food were absolutely amazing. Our table of thee had four courses and no course was weak. My fried oysters, lobster risotto, halibut with truffle gnocchi, and Tahitian vanilla bean creme brûlée were all exquisite! The price is quite high. With drinks and four courses you are looking at $100-120 per person, but it was truly a memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The ambiance and service did not disappoint. Our server, John, was exceptional and the food was absolutely wonderful! The fresh-baked bread was a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This place never let's us down.
Always a great meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was excellent. We ordered dessert, which was delicious but took way too long to get. My only complaint would be that the tables are too close together and I felt like I was eating with the strangers next to me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

In my opinion this is the best restaurant in town. Has been for several years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.