Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Romantic (39)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Nothing short of incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Ate at Cotton Row for two year anniversary and we both thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Short ribs were super!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Cotton Row always delivers in terms of food, service, and experience. They are our go-to spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I am from DC and Cotton Row prepared some of the most delicious food i have ever had and my colleagues from Seattle and Maryland agreed -- from the oysters, fried green tomatoes, lobster to the duck and seven wonders salad! Not to mention the pomegranate martini! Fabulous!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Thank you - the food and service were both outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Cotton Row is a unique and historic restaurant. The employees will answer all your questions (that you ask them) but they don't seem to give up any information.
Food was delicious and expensive. But worth it for a very special anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Dont be in a rush! Food was great and the wine list was fine, but the service is less than the best. Seems to be a young wait staff that lack awareness. Our plates sat on the table for 30 min after we finished our meal. We had a glase of wine so....whatever flys have to eat too. All in all I would go back, just know you maybe there 90-120+ minuets......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our experience here was excellent in all areas. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. It was a treat to find a quiet place to talk and catch up with old friends. We will definitely return soon. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent meal and service. We were on the patio. Sitting inside can be a little noisy if the restaurant is full. We are never disappointed when we dine here.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service is excellent, food tasted fabulous. Portions are small-- I prefer Commerce Kitchen for value. I don't mind paying a premium for fine cuisine, but at least provide enough vegetables to see.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Cotton Row is one of my favorite restaurants, so it was no surprise for me to choose it for my birthday dinner! I always receive the best service, and the food is superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Wish the tables were more private.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always they just take great care of you at cotton row

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Have wanted to visit for a while. Saw the write-up about your excellent wine cellar in Wine Spectator and that convinced me it was time. Invited a lady friend who is also a wine lover and made the reservation. Wait staff was right there when needed, but didn't hover. Oysters were excellent, as was the wine selected to accompany them. We even checked with the chef and got his approval. The entree was a beef ragout that was delightful, the wine that we selected was most complementary.
Thanks for your great wine selection, and excellent food to go with it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great service !!! 5 star... you get a taste of the high life and class in Huntsville. Exquisite cuisine

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Busy night but sevice was extremely slow. We ordered a bottle of wine that took almost twenty minutes to be served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a great meal at Cotton Row. Always great service. Love the atmosphere. Warm and inviting. Cozy yet eclectic. Perfect for a date. A restaurant you can actually have a nice conversation in. The food is even better.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We have been there twice and the service and food have always been excellent. Kurt and the staff were wonderful even though the kitchen had run out of osso buco. 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The best restaurant I have ever eaten at, bar none! I have never had anything here I didn't love!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Cotton Row never disappoints! Everything from the service to the food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was my first time dining at Cotton Row. It was amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant, so good that I may return the same week. Service was mostly attentive if a little quirky. The food, though, was incredible. I started with tomato soup and a pear salad, which were awesome. I moved on to halibut in a corn sauce, positively delicious. Dessert was molten chocolate cake. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Cotton Row is a true gem... our favorite restaurant that is great for business, dining with friends or dining with your significant other! It's an eclectic, rustic atmosphere with imaginative southern-influenced fine dining, and a superb wine list! Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was an amazing meal and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

First impression was a very nice and attractive hostess. She made us feel welcomed, as did the person that took us to our table.
Enjoyed sitting outside for an early evening dinner in downtown Huntsville area. Interior of restaurant was upscale and had an intimate feel.
Service was very prompt and professional. We like to have a leisurely experience and the servers were there when we needed them . The only thing we did not like was the waiters brought our salads and appetizers at the same time....We usually order one item at a time because we don't want to be hurried and don't want everything coming at once....But everything was going so well and we never thought they would bring it at the same time that we went on and ordered our salad and appetizer at the same time...Every time we do this, we say never again....We usually order our appetizers and enjoy them, then order our salads and eat them and then order the entree'...That way nothing is rushed and we can enjoy the evening...
My dinner of halibut and my husband's scallop dinner was VERY good. We did not care for the Oysters Rockefeller.
Overall, a delightful experience and I look forward to go to this restaurant again .
Even though a couple of things, were not exactly the way we would have expected, I still give them 5 stars across the board...The excellent parts strong out weigh the two negatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was excellent. The service was not so great. I had to ask different people for various items because my server couldn't be found. They brought soup with no spoon. Had to ask two different servers for coffee after the meal. Based on the meal cost, I expected better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very long wait for service. From the we sat down to being serve was too long.

Cotton Row was one of my wife and I favorite restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

My wife and I went there for our 2nd year anniversary...Cotton. It was a delicious meal and great service. Located Downtown made it an easy walk to after dinner cocktails.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was excellent and ambiance is one of the best in Huntsville. It is a small restaurant and we found that certain tables even though empty were reserved for special guests. If you make reservations I suggest you request and confirm a table by the window. We finally were seated at a table size we liked next to the order entry register. Server was very good except he was to anxious to get the entree order placed as soon as possible (i.e. tables turned X cost maximizes revenue). We declined and enjoyed our glass of wine first. Overall it is one of the best fine dining restaurants in Huntsville with an excellent chef. Just note the seating recommendation if you don't want less desirable as the restaurant is fairly small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The bartender and the drinks were fabulous. The food was very good, however, quite pricey for the market.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Server and server assistance were excellent.
Great food and atmosphere!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The wine cellar was off the chains. We had the best waiter who made excellent choices for us. The food was fabulous and the wine superb!! Can't wait to dine there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2017

First time eating lunch here, and it did not disappoint. Previous visits have been for dinner and the food has always been excellent. While the lunch menu is a bit smaller, the quality of the food and service remain excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service, ambiance, and food were impeccable. Our server, Curt, was knowledgeable about the menu and wine list, and we never felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Enjoyed the evening, good food, good wine, good experience

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was good but there was not enough of it. I left still hungry. The service was good but each person on staff was emotionless and almost cold. I also felt as if I was being judged the entire time by staff because I was not an older man and I did not appreciate that at all. I liked the menu a lot because it was not too big and that made it easier for us to choose what we wanted.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a great experience at Cotton Row. The food was fantastic and the service was exactly what you'd expect from fine dining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.