About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Alabama
Romantic
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
7 More
Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (77)
romantic (56)
notable wine list (45)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for outdoor dining (27)
good for groups (19)
great for brunch (14)
great for lunch (13)
hot spot (10)
scenic view (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly recommend the short ribs. They we ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Highly recommend the short ribs. They were excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

24th Anniversary dinner - and the staff ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

24th Anniversary dinner - and the staff treated us special from the moment we walked in until we left. Food was outstanding. My wife was able to cut the Hereford steak with a butter knife (!!), and my Sea Bass was perfectly paired with complementary flavors. Most importantly, we were able to have a relaxing meal with ambience and great service while we reflected on how blessed we are in our marriage.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the time we walked in until we left ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

From the time we walked in until we left the building, we were treated with the utmost respect and service. We truly enjoyed the evening and will return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were recently in for sunday brunch wi ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were recently in for sunday brunch with some friends visiting from atlanta. As usual the food and ambience were excellent. Our companions are foodies as well and were shocked to find that huntsville had such progressive cuisine on par with atlanta. However, they only had two hours and we had reservations and we felt it would be just enough time. It took three hours. The service was incredibly slow especially when we first arrived. We had to ask someone for menus and drinks after being ignored for 15-20 minutes. That pretty much sums up the service for the entire visit. When we needed something we searched for a waiter and asked. No one came regularly to check on us. Too bad because it was an otherwise perfect meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I did not like having no choice but to s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I did not like having no choice but to sit next to the bar. Git rid of bar.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife out for our 19th wedding an ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Took my wife out for our 19th wedding anniversary and we loved it. The server in the upstairs dining room was absolutely exceptional. Absolutely exceptional. One of those gents who knows all his wines, food pairings, and correct service etiquette per Amy Vanderbilt. Very attentive and professional service staff made the night very nice.

Chef James Boyce did a great job on the entire dinner (short ribs) and the Peanut Butter & Jelly on Phyllo dessert will astound you--there's nothing like it!

French pressed coffee with our dessert really finished it off well.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent though side portions ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent though side portions were somewhat small. Service was lacking but would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Great place to eat and wonderful service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place to eat and wonderful service. My wife and I enjoyed celebrating our anniversary in loft. A must see

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appetizer and dessert were fantastic ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The appetizer and dessert were fantastic. The main course was ok. I had the cod and my husband had the NY steak. He ordered it medium rare and it was unevenly cooked. The atmosphere was nice. We did enjoy our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The snapper was disgusting. The bar is ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The snapper was disgusting. The bar is high at this establishment but I was very disappointed in the last visit there. Not even average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Outstanding food and service!! Staff do ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding food and service!! Staff does an awesome job of taking care of diners!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another exceptional dining experience. C ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another exceptional dining experience. Cotton Row has elevated its game in the past year. I've eaten in fine restaurants around the world and Cotton Row is right up near the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, reasonably priced. Grea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food, reasonably priced. Great ambiance! Wait staff seemed a little overly attentive to the locals in neglect of new diners.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, great service, great ambienc ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambience. What more do you want? Bravo!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Price is not ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and food. Price is not bad, perfect place for a date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Cotton Row for our anniversar ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to Cotton Row for our anniversary and had a great time. The staff are professional, friendly and unpretentious. The wine list is extraordinary for Huntsville. The setting in an historic building lends to the unhurried, neighborhood restaurant ambience. We both had steak, and they dishes were exactly as ordered and delicious. This is our go-to place in Huntsville for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was some of the worst servic ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was some of the worst service I have ever experienced. We sat for 20 minutes without any water, bread, menus or acknowledgment. Wrong food was delivered twice. Wrong order was taken. Wine took over 20 minutes to be delivered. No wine list was offered. We gave our menus to the table next to us because no one delivered menus to them. Wait staff was clueless about wine. Dessert order took 20 minutes to be ordered.

A restaurant like this has to have better service. We have been eating here for years but I am afraid this maybe our last meal here. We are going to spend our money elsewhere.

Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

My 2nd time to cotton row last weekend a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My 2nd time to cotton row last weekend and unfortunately yet again did not live up to my expectations. We were seated very promptly at our reservation time which is a great start, but unfortunately had to wait seemingly 10 minutes before our server addressed our table. The staff seems very young and inexperienced when comparing to other fine dining establishments in larger cities. There were no more daily specials when eating at 745 so I was disappointed but no biggie. The waiter didn't even review the menu but just asked "what can I get for you." Ordered a $93 dollar bottle of wine from Napa 2013 then what arrived to the table was a 2014. My wife didn't finish her $38 dollar fillet stating that mine cooked on the big green egg was much better than this. I had the rack of lamb and the bed of vegetable under the meat weren't cooked through....imagine a $32 dish of lamb and raw'ish vegetables.

I NEVER get on these review and complain but considering we spent $323 for our anniversary dinner and my wife didn't even enjoy the food more than a back yard bbq, I am considering checking this place off my list for good. I told my wife we might give it one more try but it's on the short list for elimination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Cotton Row came highly recommended and w ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cotton Row came highly recommended and while the experience was not bad, it was not of the high caliber expected for fine dining of this type of restaurant. Service time to collect initial cocktail order was slow after being seated and description of the menu and specials as hesitant and inconsistent. Service was friendly but there was a feeling that many in the support staff assisting our server were new. Nervousness was apparent. Again, the experience was not bad but not to the standard I would expect for a venue such as Cotton Row.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

From Start to finish an incredible exper ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

From Start to finish an incredible experience. While visiting from west coast we were taken to Cotton Row for dinner. Service was spot on and food was excellent. Large, well priced wine list and amazing wine cellar to dine in. Ask for a tour of the restaurant you will be amazed at the history and decor!

We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were wonderful and had an off menu ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They were wonderful and had an off menu vegan option for me. Everything was delicious and the service was amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arguably the best restaurant in Huntsvil ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Arguably the best restaurant in Huntsville! Excellent for that special dinner with friends or family. I highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I eat here every time that I'm in Huntsv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I eat here every time that I'm in Huntsville. Great food, and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for our wedding anni. Place w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Went there for our wedding anni. Place was tight but nicely furnished. Nice ambience - romantic relaxing music. Great food. Prices were on the high side but right sized portions. This is a place for relaxing dinners and dates. The only area of concern is the small tight area. There is a nice outisde eating area though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my and my wife's second visit t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my and my wife's second visit to the Cotton Row. This visit included our two daughters ages 23 and 21. We wanted to show our girls how to be treated on special occasions as well as a place with special ambience and the Cotton Row did not disappoint. All four of has had a drink plus seafood and everything was fantastic. I will definitely return there for another visit with my wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service,wonderful location, great ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service,wonderful location, great meeting place for friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I ate at this restauran ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My boyfriend and I ate at this restaurant on valentines day 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our recent experience however was not as enjoyable. We chose to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air for our late dinner.

1. Our table was wobbly and I noticed at least one other table with the same misfortune because there was a napkin wedged between the table leg and ground.

2. Once seated it took about 15 minutes for us to receive our menus.

3. While we were placing our orders with our waiter, the table next to us frantically called our waiter over because something was wrong with one of their plates.

--a--The waiter immediately left our table without excusing himself (maybe he was caught off guard?)

--b--When the waiter came back he just stared at us and waited for us to continue our order. There was no apology, no explanation..nothing (I don't entirely blame him. The table next to us could have at least waited for us to finish ordering)

4. Besides that our waiter was cordial

5. Our appetizers were great (the foie gras was delicious!)

6. My entrée (lamb) was ok and the lump of chopped vegetables that it sat upon was very underwhelming.

These issues were all little things that some people may overlook, which is fine. I just expected a better experience. Last year we were sitting at a cramped bar because the hostess was nice enough to fit us in without a reservation and I enjoyed every bit of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Another beautiful plate!

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We love how you have stepped-up your game. The food taste and presentation are more consistent than ever, thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local spot

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Fantastic special, filet with scallops. Party of 6 for a birthday. Everyone had a great meal. Wish there was a more extensive beer menu especially with all the local breweries popping up. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, terrible service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The host ignored us when arriving; the server was inattentive, took forever to bring us menus, did not know the menu, did not know what a draft vs bottled beer was, made no attempt to go find out when we asked what was available for draft beer (the menus said "ask your server"), he was clumsy and twice knocked stuff off the table; the online menu was different than the actual (no duck entre on the actual); the server got our order wrong (salmon entre requested vs tuna appetizer delivered), did not think to ask if I wanted an entre when he took the wrong order for an appetizer (truly, I definitely asked for salmon--I'm not a small guy, and my wife got an entre. Why would I get just an appetizer?), and seemed to almost mock why we would want a certain substitution for a side, and when I brought it to his attention that I had gotten the wrong meal, was oblivious as to why that was an issue. Oh, and he talked smack about another customer after they departed, in full audience of us.

That said, the food (even if incorrect) was delicious (but barely warm), and the secondary server kept the bread coming and my water glass full. I hope she and the cook got some of the tip, because the main fellow didn't earn it.

Neat place, too bad the service for such a price will keep us away.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This is a great restaurant, and I can highly recommend it. As great is Chef Boyce and his staff and crew, I still have personal issue with the prices sometimes. However, I know that the food and service will be excellent, so sometime you just need to bite the buck, and splurge!! We did for my wife's birthday this year. Great Dinner!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Terrific Food and Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very creative offerings. Great presentations. Top notch service. My watermelon/tomato/fried cheese salad was wonderful. Mahi Mahi with onion salsa was very tasty. Great drinks. Not cheap but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an evening when every course wa ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was an evening when every course was fabulous, a particular stand out was the evening's special lobster pasta entree. On food it was a perfect evening. Cotton Row is not very consistent, but they did a great job for the first night of a holiday weekend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Can't say enough about the food, staff a ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Can't say enough about the food, staff and overall experience. A++++

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are at Cotton Row for our anniversary ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We are at Cotton Row for our anniversary. The watermelon and heirloom tomato salad with fried goat cheese was great for our first course. I had the homemade pasta special with scallops and lobster in a cream sauce while my wife had the red snapper. Both of these entrees were very delicious. We finished our dinner by splitting the creme brûlée. Everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for perfectly cooked steaks

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We went to Cotton Row because a friend had recommended it as a great place for streaks, and we were not disappointed. I ordered a filet and my companion selected the New York prime. Both were beyond expectations. They were perfectly cooked as we'd requested and had a delicious charring on the outside and a moist, tender and warm center on the inside. And oh did they have a wonderful flavor!!! We also ordered the summer salad of Heirloom tomatoes and fresh watermelon on top of Bibb lettuce. The watermelon and tomatoes were a delightful combination. We had no problem securing early reservations online using OpenTable. We were warmly greeted at the door and then escorted to a "nice" table alongside the window. Our server was prompt and efficient without hovering over us. The restaurant is housed in an old, historic structure that was formerly the town's cotton exchange, and its atmosphere was quiet, comfortable and inviting. We spent 7 days in Huntsville, and this was the best meal of our entire trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cellar Seating

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an amazing meal seated in the wine cellar. We love the ambiance and the intimacy of this room. Entrees were perfectly prepared and well presented. The server was excellent as well as the food. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food-must admit was not expect ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food-must admit was not expecting this quality of food in Alabama. Wonderful

surprise to find Charleston SC quality food! Scallops were so well seasoned and perfectly cooked. Plus excellent wine list and desserts to die for! Fantastic service. Definitely a must go to restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always top notch

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My most recent visit to Cotton Row was about my 10th overall. The food is always perfect and the overall experience (service, atmosphere) is incredible.

We are lucky to have CR here in Huntsville...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.