About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Romantic (40)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Notable Wine List (31)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Historic (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Private Room (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 18 hours ago

Manny was outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

We had Sunday brunch and enjoyed eating outside. The bread and oysters were amazing, but the eggs benedict with pork and fried green tomatoes was not tasty at all. The pork was basically like pulled pork from a bbq joint...except very dry and not very flavorful. My husband ordered the special (quail) and it was not much better. For the money spent, it really was not worth it. But due to the wonderful service and great atmosphere...we will probably try again when the other menus (lunch or dinner) are available.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was pretty good. Had to wait about 7 mins for a beer bc waitress forgot it. No big deal. Food was delicious, but pricey. Decor was rustic and very nicely put together. Tables are pretty tight together and you can hear the conversation of the people beside you. Overall enjoyable place for specia occasions or date night.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a fun evening. Our waiter was cute and helpful; the food was delightful!

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

We like to eat early so we can enjoy our evening enjoying other activities, so our reservations were for 5 pm. We were seated as soon as we walked in, and within a few short minutes had made our drink orders. We had grilled Romain salads which I highly recommend, I had the snapper for an entree and my bride had the filet mignon. We didn't have dessert (there was no room!) but thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Cotton Row. Our server was very professional, attentive, and well trained. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good-but not exceptional. The server was attentive, but a little too present for our taste. The courses actually came out too close to each other (not enough time to finish our wine, and we were asked if we were done a couple times before we were.) We felt a little rushed, even though the place wasn't packed. I was disappointed in the seating (immediately inside, so all the traffic came by our table and it was drafty)-even though we had a reservation and the place was almost empty when we arrived. Now I know to make a fuss (as everyone after us did when they were seated at the other table by the entrance), but it seems common sense to leave those tables until you have nothing left and someone comes in with no reservation. It definitely affected my mood through the meal-I felt like we didn't matter as much as the others who were automatically given a quiet table by the window (some without reservations). Not sure the entire experience was worth the price tag.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice place for a date, or a casual lunch. The waiters are exceptional.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Highly overated. Had to send meal back 3 times, wrong food and very cold steak, service was not good at all. I had to ask for tea 3 times, water 2 times, bread was old etc. I will never go back for such poor quality in service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food but dont receive enough food for the money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place. Food was two thumbs up and so was the drinks and service. Wasn't our first visit and won't be our last. Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went there for Valentine's Day 2017 and the experience was great. The food was great and there atmosphere was perfect. We will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best food and service I've ever had. Never waited on a single thing and everything was the perfect portion size.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. Grilled romaine heart salad with chicken and the crab cakes were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was definitely delicious and not everyday fare.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a must for date night. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was second to none. I made a reservation and we were seated downstairs in the wine cellar. I HIGHLY recommend asking for this seating. The lights are down and although there are 5 other tables around, it really makes you feel that you are the only one. The service was excellent. The only downside I can think of was the lack of international red wine other than Italy (extensive list). But nonetheless, this place is a must and we will definitely be frequenting this location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for early Valentine date. Seated when we arrived with reservation. Seating is limited so make a reservation. Appetizers and entree options were good and very well prepared. Would not recommend the special valentine desert. Tiny three layer of cake with strawberry frosting. Cake layers were dry. Did not finish it. Stick to Creme Brulee if you order desert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyable downtown setting on the Square. Excellent menu design and gourmet style food choices. I have been here many times and the commitment to quality is always in place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I felt it was overpriced with an unjustified air of pretentiousness. The table we were seated at was odd given a half empty restaurant but the service was very good. I thought the wines by the glass were a good list but was disappointed by the foie gras app. It was served on an undercooked brioche kind of bread and the sweetness overpowered the flavor of the foie gras such that in only one bite did I taste it. The amount served was light compared to French restaurants. As it is my very favorite of foods it set the tone for the entree. The halibut was ok but not nearly worth the price and the bed of squid ink pasta was so laden with butter it was good but could only eat a few bites. My experience at Commerce Kitchen in December was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The med rare Filet Mignon was much closer to med well.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Cotton Row. Short ribs were amazing. Grouper special was terrific, and Red Snapper excellent. We all enjoyed desserts and French Press coffee was really good and refills quick! Thanks for lovely evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I have wanted to try Cotton Row for a awhile. We went Saturday night for a "date night". The whole dining experience was great. We had appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The food was outstanding! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Perfect location in historical building. Food and service exemplary. Certainly one of the finest restaurants in the Southeast. If you have a larger party, 6-8, make reservations to sit in the wine cellar. Great ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent. Limited seating . Had reservation for a week. Seated at table for 2. So close we heard every word of conversations on both sides of our table.

Asked for extra aoli for fries . Fries got cold while waiting 10 minutes. Waitress was busy and passed by 4 times without bringing it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I took my wife and family here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Due to the occasion we were seated upstairs in a more intimate area of the restaurant. We had exceptional service by a variety of servers. Everything that we ordered was delicious and well prepared.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal and drinks. Terrific service over an abundant menu. A good time had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Must have - parmesan and truffle oil fries! Great wine selection and always spot on with the lobster risotto. A required visit while in Huntsville. Great for business meetings and even more lovely when the weather is nice and they open the glass walls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was such a disappointment. The food was bland and lacked creativity. Cotton Row is overrated and not worth even half of what we paid. I expected more based on ratings and price.

Clearly there is no enthusiasm or talent in the kitchen. Staff was polite but lacked experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was delicious but the portions on the sides (rice in particular) was sparse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sunday brunch is really well done and won't break your wallet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There was a baby crying; thank goodness it was away from where were sitting.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our brunch! Very relaxing, excellent food and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

More for business gatherings. Handicap with walker or wheelchair couldn't get to the restroom if they tried. No changing table in ladies restroom. Over priced for the quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As near to perfect as you can get. One of the few restaurants where everything goes just right every time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our 4th visit to Cotton Row over the last few years. We were seated in a quiet, romantic section of the restaurant I previously didn't know existed. The food was absolutely delicious as always, and the service was top notch. It was everything we've come to love about Cotton Row.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We are always impressed and enjoy our Cotton Row dinners. The service is exceptional and the atmosphere is top notch. The food is always delicious and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was great, food wonderful, and dinning experience great

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best Red Snapper I have ever had! The service was excellent it was a great New Years Eve dinner .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Eve dinner. It appears the restaurant was more concerned about jamming people in than the quality of the experience. The website stated the chef would be creating some special dishes for the night. The one and only special dish was a $50 steak. Service was slow and food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. My wife got extremely sick in early December. She missed a lot of work the week after Christmas and went to a doctor twice following Christmas. Regretfully, we called over 30 hours in advance to attempt to cancel our reservation due to documented medical issues but were told we had to pay $50.00 to cancel. Granted, this was a New year's eve reservation. Rather than pay a penalty of $50 I sent my daughter and her fiance in our place and paid for their dinner. They said the restaurant was noisy and that Longhorns cooked better steaks. We are locals and looking for a new restaurant to frequent and this would have been our first visit to the Cotton Row. We will however, never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service....noiselevele was very low and good for a private communications

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very, very crowded. I was elbow to elbow with another table. Food was good, but there was barely any meat on the bone with the lamb I ordered. Way overpriced for the small amount of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service and very relaxing setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was delicious! Service was excellent as always! Cotton Row is my absolute favorite in Huntsville!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of the Top 3 restaurants in Huntsville. Great gourmet food, excellent fish and beef and soups and salads. It is a great place for dinner or lunch.

Tags: Private Room, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was delicious. The only complaint I had was that there was quite a wait to order and receive our food.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Sadly until today, Cotton Row has always been our favorite restaurant in town. Last night was very off, food poorly prepared, poorly plated, over cooked, and just a HUGE disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent atmosphere for business and personal dining. The food is always great and the staff very accommodating. One of my favorite places!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

excellent food choices, good insight and advice from the waiter. meal was perfectly prepared and presentation was wonderful. fickle weather for this time of year made for a little warmer interior, but the staff corrected the problem when asked about it. overall great dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.