Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Cozy (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Historic (11)
Private Room (10)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (6)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Fathers Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was very helpful, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was fantastic! I took my wife there for our anniversary, and she LOVED it. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a quality meal, in a romantic setting. We dined outside, and there was live music. It was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. The food was excellent and the wine list was extensive. Throughly enjoyed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions or just anytime you want excellent food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great ambiance and facility. Poor (slow) customer service (server) with over-priced menu items. Seafood starters were bland & highly forgettable. Main dishes were not prepared as ordered. Could've just been a bad night for the kitchen and the server...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Loved everything about the evening. It was perfect anniversary dinner. Food was outstanding and waiter Robin was fabulous, very prompt and courteous and made some great suggestions. We'll definitely go back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

When you say you are celebrating something and they give you a dessert you dont expect to have to pay for that dessert. We wouldnt have ordered it, had we known we were going to have to pay for it. Just one way to increase your bill without you knowing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I was delighted! The food was excellent. The decor well blends classic elegance with contemporary adaptive reuse. The service was cordial and non-intrusive. Cotton Row is a gem that compliments well its historic district in Huntsville, AL.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Never disappointed with Cotton Row. Always superb one very area. A real jewel in Huntsville.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great waiter!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Tried the restaurant for Mothers Day and liked it so much we went back for our anniversary. The service is on par with the best restaurants and the food is every bit as good too. We'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2017

It was awesome and we look forward to returning soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere with amazing service and terrific food. My third time dining there but the first that was not in a private dining situation. I was still very impressed! We will return!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was very good, but slightly over priced - you can have the same meal at Commerce Kitchen for half the cost. We rated the ambiance low because the air conditioning was out the evening we were there and we sweat our way through the whole meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good service and ambiance - not too loud. A bit cramped on space though and after a 2nd visit here, I think I've decided it's just too fancy of food for me. I'd prefer to spend a little less and have a simpler meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

If you are coming to the Huntsville area this is a must eat. Service was awesome and the food..... wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had another great fine dining experience at Cotton Row. Perfect place for a dinner date with my husband!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary. The food was delicious and the ambience was great. Our server, Jennifer, was knowledgeable and offered great suggestions for pairing wine with our meal. Chef Bryce prepared an excellent meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in Huntsville.
The dood was great, ambiance was great, and the best restaurant service in my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I asked for a slice of lime in my San Pellegrino. After dropping the lime slice on the tablecloth the server picked it from the table and still placed it in my glass?! He justified this action so by remarking that the tablecloths were "sterile". Hmmm... Even for a ruffian like me that seemed out of character with an otherwise high-end dining experience. Presentation is everything. The five second rule isn't a good standard to observe when serving others.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Cotton Row is a very nice restaurant with a menu that is quite unique. It is a pricey for every day meals but it is a good choice for a special meal. Take advantage of their complimentary valet parki g.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We ate a perfectly prepared dinner of okra salad, tuna appetizer and fish special. The staff was very efficient, and well trained always attending to everything needed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my mom for Mother's Day brunch and had a great experience. Very good food, very friendly and attentive staff. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great, but service was not as attentive as expected. However I would still recommend this establishment to friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Less than 2 hours before our reservation the restaurant called and wanted to postpone our dinner for an additional hour because they were very busy that evening. Reservation cancelled and Mother's Day ruined.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, average service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall outstanding restaurant, great service but most of all the dishes were amazing. I recommend the short ribs. Chef rj

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overal, very unsatisfied. I made a reservation for a birthday, party of two, and we were sat in between two other couples, so close that we couldn't even pay attention to our own conversations because we were THAT close. The food we ordered, duck confit, was so undercooked that we couldn't even eat it! We left almost our entire 90$ meal on the table. Now i am no duck connisoure, but i know when meat is undercooked. Service from the waitress was alright, she payed more attention to her other tables than ours and we had to flag her down to get another drink.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was not worth the price. My boys walked out hungry. The cheesecake was sour. Not a good experience over all. Serve was very slow.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The restaurant has terrific food, but a small main floor dining room, but other dining spaces are available. Also, I requested my leftovers but received somebody else's and only discovered that at home.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food= great, decor= great, service = terrible. The decor and ambience was very nice and well put together. The food was nicely presented and very tasty. The new Sunday brunch menu offered many breakfast selections. The cocktails (bloody marys) were on the weaker side mixed with a thin tomato drink. At a high end restaurant such as Cotton Row the food and décor was fantastic but the service was TERRIBLE. We waited for a long time to be greeted at our table and our drink orders taken. Then every service step following took forever. To get drinks, to get food, to get the check. Just took way to long for such an establishment. I hope they work on their service training because the rest of the experience was fantastic. But when the service is poor, it ruins the whole experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Amazing tastes superior waiter all lovely and relaxing

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Quick Bite, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food. It is the best in Huntsville!
We go there every time we visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We took our great great uncle here for his 94th birthday. Dinner was excellent but it was the unparalleled customer service that really sealed the phenomenal experience. everyone (including Chef James Boyce) was so gracious in wishing our uncle a happy birthday and thanking him for his service in World War II. He had such a wonderful night and is still talking about that salmon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent meal and service. I've never had a bad meal at cotton row.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very, very, very disappointed in our dinner. It was terrible. The chef came out to apologize and asked us to come back so he could make it great...there will not be a next time. We should have gone to Meza Luna!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fried Green Tomatoes Oscar was great. Probably the best I've ever had.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I’ve been to Cotton Row three times. Each time I was impressed with the young servers who were polite, eager to serve and do things the right way. I do have two, hopefully, constructive suggestions.

Decanting wine is primarily to remove the sediment and aerate the wine not just to put it into the decanter. While I do not expect a candle to be lit under the pour, a slow pour with an eye for the sediment would be appreciated. My last bottle was a 1998 Chateau Montrose, Grand Cru.

My second suggestion may be a little old school, but the server should not remove empty dishes under the last person is finished eating unless asked to.

Otherwise I was impressed with the quality of the food, the atmosphere, and the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

First off, love the space. Always have. But you never change up the menu. There are still winter items on there when you should be pushing spring items. You all should be challenging yourselves vs doing the same things year after year. Cotton Row is for better or worse one the top restaurants in Huntsville but that isn't an excuse to have the same menu year after year.

I had to wait 20 mins until a drink order came that was a bit off. Took almost the same amount of time to get menus delivered to us. And this is on a Monday night. No excuse there.

Entrees were delivered incomplete. You should have your staff repeat the order verbatim or write it down vs guessing.

You all have the capability to be much more than you are. Maybe it's a product of your audience I don't know. But would really like to see some seasonal menu changes. Big changes. Overhauls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.