About Cotton Row Restaurant

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Thank you for choosing Cotton Row for your Father's Day celebration!

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Alabama
Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
6 More
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (126)
romantic (89)
fit for foodies (67)
See All
notable wine list (63)
neighborhood gem (51)
good for groups (24)
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for brunch (20)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (18)
scenic view (11)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Cellar Seating

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an amazing meal seated in the wine cellar. We love the ambiance and the intimacy of this room. Entrees were perfectly prepared and well presented. The server was excellent as well as the food. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food-must admit was not expect ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food-must admit was not expecting this quality of food in Alabama. Wonderful surprise to find Charleston SC quality food! Scallops were so well seasoned and perfectly cooked. Plus excellent wine list and desserts to die for! Fantastic service. Definitely a must go to restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always top notch

Dined on May 9, 2016

My most recent visit to Cotton Row was about my 10th overall. The food is always perfect and the overall experience (service, atmosphere) is incredible. We are lucky to have CR here in Huntsville...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

30th Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sister and I wanted a really nice place to celebrate the big 3-0 and she was really wanting to try Cotton Row. We picked a nice seat out side and felt like it was a great to have a nice dinner just he two of us. We wanted to order a bottle of champagne, but they seemed to be out of (sorry to say) the cheapest brand there. I am not much of a wineo, so I wish the waiter was more skilled at offering a comparable option, but he just said sorry what would you like instead. We ended up just having a beer and a cocktail. the food was really good, came out fast and hot which is always a plus. All-in-all, we had a great time and a great meal. f

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding...as always!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We arrived at 9:45 (late for our reservation due to a ceremony running late) and received outstanding service although the restaurant closed at 10:00 PM. We left the restaurant after 11:30 PM and never once felt rushed. Our waiter was wonderful! Our food was delicious from starters to entree to dessert. We have always been extremely pleased with Cotton Row. Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Good overall

Dined on April 30, 2016

Good overall

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have dined here over 50 times, never a bad meal. Bar well stocked, the end table is my favorite. The short ribs and the grilled romaine salad are a must.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Place for Foodies

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Cotton Row is definitely the place for foodies in Huntsville. The food is excellent and service team is very attentive, although lacking some personal touch. Foie Gras and Beef Short Ribs did the trick for me. Both are excellent, very tender, literally melt in the mouth, and very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

This is the second time I have gone ther ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

This is the second time I have gone there and the fish is over cooked. Same drink serve differently to each member in the party. Service was very good and the venue is pleasant. The cake that was the dessert was burnt on the bottom. I think chef Boyce needs to spend more time at this restaurant and not spread himself so thin.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been to Cotton Row about 6 times and until last weekend it was good but not great. I was really pleased with everything about our dining experience. The meal was simply outstanding and rates as one of my top 10 dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

New to town. First time to get out witho ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

New to town. First time to get out without kids in 10 months. First choice. We sat and waited to be acknowledged for 6-7 minutes at least. We basically had to ask to place a drink order. It wasn't like they were busy. The tuna on the tuna app was incredible, but the dressing was not. The snapper was excellent. The short ribs were ok. Crunch cake was good, but too rich for me. Experience overall was ok, but when paying these prices your service can't be this bad. Don't believe the hype.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service, Good Food

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Cotton Row and, as always, the service was superb. The wine we ordered was out of stock so they went next door to their sister restaurant to get the bottle we requested. Very impressed. Our only complaint was that our steaks were a little over done, though the flavor was terrific. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best

Dined on April 12, 2016

With a diverse selection of food, but a very brief menu, it is a southern masterpiece. Three guys went after work, a client-vendor dinner... that was a home-run. I was the client, so I did not have to pay the ample bill, but for what we were exposed to, there was tremendous value. The grilled warm salad, was a winner, and the braised short rib is among the best beef I have had. With a high price comes excellent service, so we were not disappointed. And we had high expectations. Overall, it was fantastic, and I am happy to recommend Cotton Row to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite dining spot in Huntsville!

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was my second time to Cotton Row and it (again) exceeded expectations! The food and dessert were incredible. I was so excited to come back and try a specialty cocktail and was not disappointed! Great atmosphere and selection of bites and adult beverages. Love this place! Service both times has been top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Ridiculously Expensive, small portions,

Dined on April 10, 2016

The meal was outlandishly expensive. And the quanity of food was a joke. The waiter suggested I add scallops to my fish entree. He failed to tell they were $6 a piece. SO my small plate fo food was $46 (that's just entree, no sides) This place is for those people that like to brag that went to s high price resturant or impress their shallow dates. The atmosphere was nice and the food tastes great ( what little is there) but it is NOT worth the cost, even if your wallets fat. Just because I make high salary doesnt meant I will be scammed.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Menu seemed to be more French inspired t ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Menu seemed to be more French inspired than American. Most items on the menu contained truffles. All of the food had too much salt. The service was great and atmosphere was charming.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! One of our favorites

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Cotton Row is always excellent. Food is great, service is always just right and love the atmosphere. Great for either a special occasion or for groups. When we have vendors in town, Cotton Row is always on the list for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. Seated close ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Always a great experience. Seated close to entrance in early evening meant car noise making it difficult to hear. Food had great flavor as usual, but a bit rich tonight.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

disappointed on Easter

Dined on March 27, 2016

I ordered a salad which consisted of several lettuce leaves and a few small pieces of fruit/nuts.... and French toast DRENCHED in syrup and whipped cream. loaded with berries....both very overpriced. It was so sweet, I could barely eat any of it. My husband's food looked a lot better....crab cake and an entree I cannot remember. It was also freezing cold with the AC on (chilly day) and the one-man band was way too loud and the music inappropriate for an Easter brunch. The one bright spot was our efficient, kind server. I wish I could remember his name. I felt ripped off.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and great staff!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fabulous food and great staff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cotton Row Review

Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant was very upscale and nice. I really enjoyed it as usual. Every week they almost always have a special feature(s) which makes it well worth coming back to every week for me.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything Great

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was fabulous as was the service. Emily, the General Mamager, and Tim, our waiter were top notch. We are looking forward to many more visits.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect, from beginning to en ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Absolutely perfect, from beginning to end!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cotton row

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food & service were amazing! Very cozy restaurant. We loved the vibe & feel - great ambience. We had some special food requests & they were honored with ease.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night

Dined on March 15, 2016

My wife and I had a friend in town so wanted to take her somewhere special for dinner. As usual Cotton Row was perfect. We had three different dishes and all were wonderful. Having a group of 40 in a couple of weeks and can't wait to introduce them to Cotton Row

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently excellent dishes

Dined on March 12, 2016

We have eaten here three times, and have always enjoyed the food. The service is good. This is not an inexpensive place, but it is about what you would expect for an upscale restaurant in Huntsville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

As a fairly regular diner, we were disap ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

As a fairly regular diner, we were disappointed this trip. Party of 7 on a Wednesday night , March 9. Requested a glass of house Merlot & simply told "we are unfortunately out". Seems to me, there would be a back up plan. Also, I believe we had a rookie waiter. I understand and appreciate the learning curve, but should be practiced on smaller parties. Cotton Row is my preferred dining for parties of 5+ . See you again soon.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flawless Lunch

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Starting with the service (Curtis) and every course...... perfectly fried oysters, the trout entree and the shrimp mac and cheese... a perfect meal! The updated lunch menu did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

really good food but not the most comfortable

Dined on March 6, 2016

I would definately recommend the food, it was really good, not just the taste but also the look of it. Seated close to the door it was a little cold though and the atmosphere wasn't the warmest and most comfortable. Nevertheless I would go there again since my review is based on a single visit only.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down our favorite restaurant in Hu ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Hands down our favorite restaurant in Huntsville.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You'll be glad you came.

Dined on March 6, 2016

For my 5th wedding anniversary, I wanted to try someplace new with my wife. Having met Chef Boyce on other occasions, I thought we would try Cotton Row this time. When I booked my reservations, I did specify the occasion in case there were any special accommodations that could be made. On the day of our reservation, I received a call from the restaurant to let me know we would be dining in their loft which seats fewer people and will be quieter and more private than the main dining area. Once arrived and were seated, Dakota, our waiter, welcomed us and got us started with drink menus. I had a Sazerac cocktail which was fantastic. After hearing the specials, we did have a fried oyster appetizer which was a great start to the meal. Our entrees were the oven-roasted red snapper and the pan seared Atlantic flounder. Both dishes were cooked to perfection, excellently presented and as flavorful as the menu descriptions of the dishes detailed. We finished off our meal with the hazelnut mousse cake and torta di amore desserts. It was a flawless service. Great atmosphere, attentive staff & delicious food. I could not ask for anything more from a dining experience. Kudos to Chef Boyce and his team.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cotton Row Family Reunion Dinner

Dined on March 5, 2016

Three generations of family members gathering to dine and talk. Cotton Row was the perfect venue. Everyone agreed the food was excellent. Often there were multiple servers taking care of our needs so the service was exceptional. Conversations were easily enjoyed without noise or other disruptions. A very pleasant experience for all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Terrific restaurant and delicious food. Service was impeccable. We hope to come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Cotton Row Great Experience

Dined on March 4, 2016

First visit to Cotton Row. We got an early reservation so the crowd was light and the atmosphere pleasant. We enjoyed the ambiance, the service and the food. The spare ribs, fried green tomatoes and PBJ dessert are a must! The spare ribs were so tender and juicy I cut them with a fork. The fried green tomatoes were a perfect blend of tangy and crisp, best ever! The wait staff were attentive, professional, and very pleasant. It was a special occasion as we celebrated our 20th anniversary. We loved Cotton Row but will frequent it only on special occasions as the meal was a bit pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is impeccable and food delic ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

The service is impeccable and food delicious. A bit pricy, but worth the treat.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Eh

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

While this is a very nice place and the food is good they are stuck in the place where so many restaurants find themselves. Very nice setting, good food, good service but nothing outstanding. You pay a lot of money for eh here.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. I had written of ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was excellent. I had written off grouper as a boring fish, but the special that night totally redeemed it in my eyes. The chef must know what she is doing, but the result is excellent if she does. Be prepared to pay, but be prepared to get what you pay for. I will return on my next special occasion!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions

Dined on February 21, 2016

Delicious food and wine! Outsanding service. Friendly servers. Amazing Chef!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Food, A Little Too Cozy

Dined on February 20, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal. Our chief complaint was that the seating was entirely too cozy. We were sat every closely along a bench - we hate that. It's hard to have an intimate meal with your spouse when your neighbors can pick food off your plate. Other than our server disappearing towards the end of our meal (making it longer to get a dessert menu, check), we had no other complaints.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service great atmospher ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food great service great atmosphere

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.