Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Indulge in a delicious Thanksgiving feast at Cotton Row Restaurant! Gather around our table for three courses of southern splendor. Book through OpenTable or contact our restaurant to make your Thanksgiving reservation !

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Romantic (34)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 17 hours ago

Once again, everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorites! Always on the list when we have vendors in town. Food is excellent and service is great as well.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wine list is very nice, the meals are very well prepared, nice portions, and not over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

All four of the main dishes we had were outstanding!!!! The cheese cake to top the meal off was a perfect ending. We'll will be repeat customers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Very memorable evening with a lovely dinner. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Stopped here for a quick 1 hour meal before a night out to see a show. I was disappointed in the beer selection from the 3 taps they had. Our server's assistant delivered another table's food to us before our appetizers arrived and was quickly corrected by our server. Our appetizers were flavorful and appropriately priced. While my wife's salmon had a great texture and flavor my NY strip was underwhelming in flavor. It also was quite fatty and while I asked for medium rare it arrived medium. Service was slow but perhaps they don't employ their top employees on a Tuesday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We have ate here many times over the past years, however our visit this week was an unexpected disappointment. Two of the meals were as good as always, but the two meals were not good. The food was so salty that it was inedible. We have always has truly outstanding waiters but the lady we had the other night was clueless and flat out didn’t care if we were satisfied or not. A disappointment from my favorite place to eat in Huntsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The best fried green tomatoes we have ever had! The food was delicious, my only drawback was portion size.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Service was slow. Took 25 min to get menu and order a drink. Should have left then. We had reservations for almost 2 weeks, and were sat in wine cellar. Room was cool, but so was the service... more like cold! Took way too long to get drinks, food, and the food was just average. We had charcuterie board which could have come from Publix, was not good, salads were okay, and entree was average as well. When you don’t get out much becuase you have 2 babies, and spend $140 on a meal, you expect more. Will not go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

My wife and I seated for a reservation at 6PM and did not get out until 8:40Pm. The service was slow. My wife's meal was exceptional (trigger fish). I ordered the Fillet Mignon (Medium Well). It showed up medium rare and cold in the center. I sent it back and the next piece showed up Medium well and purposely charr'd on the outside (Chef's revenge). I will not go there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Every choice we made from the menu was delicious and it was twice as fun to sit at the bar and chat up the very friendly bartender, Jacob. The best in Huntsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

As part of our commitment to keep our marriage strong we try to have a date night at least once a month. Cotton Row was our pick for this trip since I am a graduate student and a huge writing load stretched us out to 8 weeks this time. Ambience is simple and elegant, but not stuffy. Service was outstanding. Our server was attentive but did not smother us. He was well versed on menu items and gave fantastic descriptions of the items we inquired about. Our meal was excellent; perfectly cooked and beautifully presented.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I absolutely LOVE this place!! The atmosphere and the food are wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Meal was wonderful and bartender very well informed and charming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Nothing short of incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Ate at Cotton Row for two year anniversary and we both thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Short ribs were super!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Cotton Row always delivers in terms of food, service, and experience. They are our go-to spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I am from DC and Cotton Row prepared some of the most delicious food i have ever had and my colleagues from Seattle and Maryland agreed -- from the oysters, fried green tomatoes, lobster to the duck and seven wonders salad! Not to mention the pomegranate martini! Fabulous!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Thank you - the food and service were both outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Cotton Row is a unique and historic restaurant. The employees will answer all your questions (that you ask them) but they don't seem to give up any information.
Food was delicious and expensive. But worth it for a very special anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Dont be in a rush! Food was great and the wine list was fine, but the service is less than the best. Seems to be a young wait staff that lack awareness. Our plates sat on the table for 30 min after we finished our meal. We had a glase of wine so....whatever flys have to eat too. All in all I would go back, just know you maybe there 90-120+ minuets......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our experience here was excellent in all areas. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. It was a treat to find a quiet place to talk and catch up with old friends. We will definitely return soon. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent meal and service. We were on the patio. Sitting inside can be a little noisy if the restaurant is full. We are never disappointed when we dine here.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service is excellent, food tasted fabulous. Portions are small-- I prefer Commerce Kitchen for value. I don't mind paying a premium for fine cuisine, but at least provide enough vegetables to see.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Cotton Row is one of my favorite restaurants, so it was no surprise for me to choose it for my birthday dinner! I always receive the best service, and the food is superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Wish the tables were more private.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always they just take great care of you at cotton row

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Have wanted to visit for a while. Saw the write-up about your excellent wine cellar in Wine Spectator and that convinced me it was time. Invited a lady friend who is also a wine lover and made the reservation. Wait staff was right there when needed, but didn't hover. Oysters were excellent, as was the wine selected to accompany them. We even checked with the chef and got his approval. The entree was a beef ragout that was delightful, the wine that we selected was most complementary.
Thanks for your great wine selection, and excellent food to go with it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great service !!! 5 star... you get a taste of the high life and class in Huntsville. Exquisite cuisine

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a great meal at Cotton Row. Always great service. Love the atmosphere. Warm and inviting. Cozy yet eclectic. Perfect for a date. A restaurant you can actually have a nice conversation in. The food is even better.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Busy night but sevice was extremely slow. We ordered a bottle of wine that took almost twenty minutes to be served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We have been there twice and the service and food have always been excellent. Kurt and the staff were wonderful even though the kitchen had run out of osso buco. 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The best restaurant I have ever eaten at, bar none! I have never had anything here I didn't love!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Cotton Row never disappoints! Everything from the service to the food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was my first time dining at Cotton Row. It was amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant, so good that I may return the same week. Service was mostly attentive if a little quirky. The food, though, was incredible. I started with tomato soup and a pear salad, which were awesome. I moved on to halibut in a corn sauce, positively delicious. Dessert was molten chocolate cake. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.