Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (59)
Romantic (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Cozy (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Business Meals (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Historic (23)
Private Room (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Scenic View (5)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 12 hours ago

Great meal ! Excellent Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a restaurant I frequent for both business and personal dining. This particular occasion was an impromptu date night with my wife. The food and service are consistently excellent here, and impressed us yet again. The main dining area is fairly tight, with seating in close proximity to other tables. If you want truly private dining, request a private room ahead of time.

Tags: Seasonal, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food overall. A few missteps that made it less than it should have been - wrong wine, shells in soup, too much cheese in a dish....but overall really good and would go back again. Decent value for the money considering the food and the beautiful casually elegant atmosphere. Perhaps the. OSS wasn't in tonight, and usually a rich better. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service and food were absolutely amazing. Our table of thee had four courses and no course was weak. My fried oysters, lobster risotto, halibut with truffle gnocchi, and Tahitian vanilla bean creme brûlée were all exquisite! The price is quite high. With drinks and four courses you are looking at $100-120 per person, but it was truly a memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The ambiance and service did not disappoint. Our server, John, was exceptional and the food was absolutely wonderful! The fresh-baked bread was a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This place never let's us down.
Always a great meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was excellent. We ordered dessert, which was delicious but took way too long to get. My only complaint would be that the tables are too close together and I felt like I was eating with the strangers next to me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

In my opinion this is the best restaurant in town. Has been for several years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was relaxed and friendly, food was delicious, and ambiance was upscale but relaxed. I will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was good. Not great. A bit over priced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great find in Huntsville, AL! Will recommend to anyone in the area. Our first experience here, Sunday brunch. The right mix of dishes for breakfast lovers and non breakfast eaters.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Waiter was very knowledgeable about menu and provided excellent service. Brunch is the best in town - chicken and waffles was enough to share with 2 and delicious. Homemade biscuits and local jellies were served before the meal and were also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We dined here on a recent business trip. Service from start to finish was spot on. We had the shrimp cocktail and Manhattan style Seafood Chowder for appetizers followed by the house salad with pears and nuts and a grilled romaine. All were superb. For entrees I had the Pacific Northwest Salmon and my wife had the snapper. My salmon was perfect. Unfortunately my wife ordered the red snapper and it was terribly overcooked. Tough and dry almost an inch in. She chose not to say anything which I wish she had. She had no dessert but I had the cantaloupe sorbet which was as good as any sorbet I've had. Had a good wine with the meal. The wine list is notable but a bit overpriced for brands I own at home. Not sure of Alabama pricing structure for alcohol and wine though. All in all a great atmosphere and good people. Would give it another shot, hopefully soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We arrived early, was seated immediately, our waiter, Curtis, was very knowledgeable, answer all questions we ask, and made spot on recommendations. The food specials were out of this world and made with local produce. The atmosphere was warm and inviting with soft music playing in the background. Absolutely wonderful dining experience! A must try!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This trip was our anniversary dinner and we had a fabulous experience but I would really like to tell you about my first time here. Ruth's Chris screwed up our reservations for a party of 8 on a Saturday night. We called Cotton Row last minute and explained our situation. The manager told us to come ask for him and he would make something happen. We showed up 20 minutes later. There must have been 20 people waiting outside. We went straight in and they had a private dining room set up for us and we had 2 servers at our Beck and call. It was 2 of the girls in our party's birthday and cotton row saved our evening. None of the 8 in our party have ever been back to Ruth's Chris but we all have been back to Cotton Row. This will always be our go to place. Also it helps that all the food is to die for. #lovecottonrow

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville! Leave food and service is exceptional. Nice wine list and cocktails.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious food. Service was a little too slow at the beginning, but after I advised the waiter that I had a show to attend nearby, he stepped it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Manny was outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I've been to Cotton Row several times and it's always been excellent. I took a group of 6 colleagues to dinner this past Wednesday (22Feb17) and was admittedly disappointed with both the service and the food. Took 30 minutes to get menus. Took forever to get drink service. My food (filet and crab cake) was over cooked and honestly just wasn't good. Others expressed the same type comments on their food (except the cornmeal dusted oysters which folks said were exceptional). I took the same group to Connors the night before to rave reviews.

Ambience is great and the food is normally equally as good but when hosting in the future I'll go elsewhere. I can't afford a similar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had Sunday brunch and enjoyed eating outside. The bread and oysters were amazing, but the eggs benedict with pork and fried green tomatoes was not tasty at all. The pork was basically like pulled pork from a bbq joint...except very dry and not very flavorful. My husband ordered the special (quail) and it was not much better. For the money spent, it really was not worth it. But due to the wonderful service and great atmosphere...we will probably try again when the other menus (lunch or dinner) are available.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was pretty good. Had to wait about 7 mins for a beer bc waitress forgot it. No big deal. Food was delicious, but pricey. Decor was rustic and very nicely put together. Tables are pretty tight together and you can hear the conversation of the people beside you. Overall enjoyable place for specia occasions or date night.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was a fun evening. Our waiter was cute and helpful; the food was delightful!

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We like to eat early so we can enjoy our evening enjoying other activities, so our reservations were for 5 pm. We were seated as soon as we walked in, and within a few short minutes had made our drink orders. We had grilled Romain salads which I highly recommend, I had the snapper for an entree and my bride had the filet mignon. We didn't have dessert (there was no room!) but thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Cotton Row. Our server was very professional, attentive, and well trained. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was good-but not exceptional. The server was attentive, but a little too present for our taste. The courses actually came out too close to each other (not enough time to finish our wine, and we were asked if we were done a couple times before we were.) We felt a little rushed, even though the place wasn't packed. I was disappointed in the seating (immediately inside, so all the traffic came by our table and it was drafty)-even though we had a reservation and the place was almost empty when we arrived. Now I know to make a fuss (as everyone after us did when they were seated at the other table by the entrance), but it seems common sense to leave those tables until you have nothing left and someone comes in with no reservation. It definitely affected my mood through the meal-I felt like we didn't matter as much as the others who were automatically given a quiet table by the window (some without reservations). Not sure the entire experience was worth the price tag.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice place for a date, or a casual lunch. The waiters are exceptional.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Highly overated. Had to send meal back 3 times, wrong food and very cold steak, service was not good at all. I had to ask for tea 3 times, water 2 times, bread was old etc. I will never go back for such poor quality in service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food but dont receive enough food for the money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place. Food was two thumbs up and so was the drinks and service. Wasn't our first visit and won't be our last. Our favorite restaurant in Huntsville.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went there for Valentine's Day 2017 and the experience was great. The food was great and there atmosphere was perfect. We will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best food and service I've ever had. Never waited on a single thing and everything was the perfect portion size.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is the absolute best restaurant in Huntsville. Worth every penny. If you have yet to try this place, stop what you're doing and, make reservations now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. Grilled romaine heart salad with chicken and the crab cakes were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was definitely delicious and not everyday fare.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a must for date night. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was second to none. I made a reservation and we were seated downstairs in the wine cellar. I HIGHLY recommend asking for this seating. The lights are down and although there are 5 other tables around, it really makes you feel that you are the only one. The service was excellent. The only downside I can think of was the lack of international red wine other than Italy (extensive list). But nonetheless, this place is a must and we will definitely be frequenting this location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for early Valentine date. Seated when we arrived with reservation. Seating is limited so make a reservation. Appetizers and entree options were good and very well prepared. Would not recommend the special valentine desert. Tiny three layer of cake with strawberry frosting. Cake layers were dry. Did not finish it. Stick to Creme Brulee if you order desert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyable downtown setting on the Square. Excellent menu design and gourmet style food choices. I have been here many times and the commitment to quality is always in place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I felt it was overpriced with an unjustified air of pretentiousness. The table we were seated at was odd given a half empty restaurant but the service was very good. I thought the wines by the glass were a good list but was disappointed by the foie gras app. It was served on an undercooked brioche kind of bread and the sweetness overpowered the flavor of the foie gras such that in only one bite did I taste it. The amount served was light compared to French restaurants. As it is my very favorite of foods it set the tone for the entree. The halibut was ok but not nearly worth the price and the bed of squid ink pasta was so laden with butter it was good but could only eat a few bites. My experience at Commerce Kitchen in December was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The med rare Filet Mignon was much closer to med well.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Cotton Row. Short ribs were amazing. Grouper special was terrific, and Red Snapper excellent. We all enjoyed desserts and French Press coffee was really good and refills quick! Thanks for lovely evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I have wanted to try Cotton Row for a awhile. We went Saturday night for a "date night". The whole dining experience was great. We had appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The food was outstanding! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.