Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Business Meals (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was cool and dark. The Southern seafood chowder was meaty and tasty. The creole crusted red snapper was adequate, but not wonderful, which it should have been at $32. I got an overall vibe of pretentiousness in the attitude of the staff. Overall it was a satisfactory but not an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for brunch for an early birthday celebration. The food and service was great.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

First off our server was great. Downhill from there. The wine cellar must be almost empty. Requested 4 bottles on the wine list they didn't have. Finally ordered a wine double the price of the others and they had it.😙 Salad and starters were good. Then we get to the entree. Let me prefix this by saying I had informed them up front that I have celiac disease. I ordered the $42 NY Strip. First time our entrees came out during our starters. Server promptly sent it back!👏 The next time the entrees came out there was a big, breaded, fried onion sitting on top of the steak.😵 Remember I have celiac d. So those went back. Next steak was so salty to be inedible. So on the 4th try the kitchen delivered an edible steak. Last time going there for a long time. I don't know what has happen to Cotton Row, it "was" a fantastic place to dine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our parents' 50th Wedding Anniversary at Cotton Row and had a memorable night. The food, atmosphere, and service was phenomenal. We will definitely be back to try more dishes. Thank you for making this an enjoyable night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was my second time at Cotton Row...both were amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food had interesting flavors but was very salty. Service was somewhat inattentive at times (outside).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First of all, the service was outstanding. Second, the duck. I have to say, it was cooked perfectly, not dried out or overlooked. Overall it was amazing. The strip was equally great, cooked to perfection. I can't say anything negative about our experience at Cotton Row. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love this restaurant! Always accommodating to our requests. The filet is to die for!! And they don't just lay asparagus next to it - it's artfully presented and amazingly delicious. David goes above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect. We're lucky to have a restaurant like this in Huntsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and service was exquisite!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed this restaurant. We are new to Huntsville so I wanted to surprise my wife for her birthday. The restaurant was far better than we expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The people were amazing! We were visiting Huntsville and I called ahead for seating. We had never been to the restaurant before. They were very accommodating and the food was excellent! We will be going back every time we are in the city. And we will be recommending this place to others. Thanks Stephanie and crew!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The cuisine was top class, the food was delicious, service was very professional. We had a great time and will be dinning again in a few weeks.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

A great place here in Huntsville. Really enjoyed everything. My suggestion try things that you never would try you will be surprised and have a divine evening

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The staff was very helpful, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was fantastic! I took my wife there for our anniversary, and she LOVED it. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a quality meal, in a romantic setting. We dined outside, and there was live music. It was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. The food was excellent and the wine list was extensive. Throughly enjoyed.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions or just anytime you want excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great ambiance and facility. Poor (slow) customer service (server) with over-priced menu items. Seafood starters were bland & highly forgettable. Main dishes were not prepared as ordered. Could've just been a bad night for the kitchen and the server...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved everything about the evening. It was perfect anniversary dinner. Food was outstanding and waiter Robin was fabulous, very prompt and courteous and made some great suggestions. We'll definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a great experience. Our server was attentive and professional. The food was outstanding, as usual. My husband only wished that the ribeye had been on the menu this visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

When you say you are celebrating something and they give you a dessert you dont expect to have to pay for that dessert. We wouldnt have ordered it, had we known we were going to have to pay for it. Just one way to increase your bill without you knowing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I was delighted! The food was excellent. The decor well blends classic elegance with contemporary adaptive reuse. The service was cordial and non-intrusive. Cotton Row is a gem that compliments well its historic district in Huntsville, AL.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Never disappointed with Cotton Row. Always superb one very area. A real jewel in Huntsville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Tried the restaurant for Mothers Day and liked it so much we went back for our anniversary. The service is on par with the best restaurants and the food is every bit as good too. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2017

It was awesome and we look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere with amazing service and terrific food. My third time dining there but the first that was not in a private dining situation. I was still very impressed! We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was very good, but slightly over priced - you can have the same meal at Commerce Kitchen for half the cost. We rated the ambiance low because the air conditioning was out the evening we were there and we sweat our way through the whole meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good service and ambiance - not too loud. A bit cramped on space though and after a 2nd visit here, I think I've decided it's just too fancy of food for me. I'd prefer to spend a little less and have a simpler meal.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

If you are coming to the Huntsville area this is a must eat. Service was awesome and the food..... wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had another great fine dining experience at Cotton Row. Perfect place for a dinner date with my husband!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary. The food was delicious and the ambience was great. Our server, Jennifer, was knowledgeable and offered great suggestions for pairing wine with our meal. Chef Bryce prepared an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in Huntsville.
The dood was great, ambiance was great, and the best restaurant service in my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I asked for a slice of lime in my San Pellegrino. After dropping the lime slice on the tablecloth the server picked it from the table and still placed it in my glass?! He justified this action so by remarking that the tablecloths were "sterile". Hmmm... Even for a ruffian like me that seemed out of character with an otherwise high-end dining experience. Presentation is everything. The five second rule isn't a good standard to observe when serving others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Cotton Row is a very nice restaurant with a menu that is quite unique. It is a pricey for every day meals but it is a good choice for a special meal. Take advantage of their complimentary valet parki g.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We ate a perfectly prepared dinner of okra salad, tuna appetizer and fish special. The staff was very efficient, and well trained always attending to everything needed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my mom for Mother's Day brunch and had a great experience. Very good food, very friendly and attentive staff. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great, but service was not as attentive as expected. However I would still recommend this establishment to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Less than 2 hours before our reservation the restaurant called and wanted to postpone our dinner for an additional hour because they were very busy that evening. Reservation cancelled and Mother's Day ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.