Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Cotton Row Restaurant

Nestled on the southwest corner of the Courthouse Square, the three-story brick building that houses Cotton Row Restaurant was built in 1821 along the cotton exchange.

A vision for comfort, elegance and modern American cuisine is how the story of Cotton Row Restaurant began. We are inspired by the enduring passion of the cotton traders who once worked in downtown Huntsville, and invite you to experience our southern hospitality.

100 Southside Sq
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Madison Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 382-9500

Website:
http://www.cottonrowrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A taste of elegance is precisely what one needs when planning a special event. Be it a quaint rehearsal dinner or that grand reception, we thrive in making your vision come to life. At Cotton Row, we understand the importance of presentation and sophisticated style, which is why we want to bring the exclusive cuisine, that you have come to know and love, to your most intimate occasions. We offer a variety of menu options and services to fit almost any budget, never sacrificing quality. We look forward to serving you and yours.

Executive Chef:
Chef James Boyce

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

Voted the most romantic restaurant in Alabama, Cotton Row is the best gift to give to your loved one on Valentine's Day . In addition to the exquisite meal prepared by Chef James Boyce and ambiance we offer, we will be offering a few extra special treats for you and your loved one.

Private Dining

Cotton Row Restaurant is available for private parties of many sizes. Our team is dedicated to offering you an intimate dining experience in a larger setting. We will assist with customizing your menu and wine selections, to table settings, floral arrangements and parting gifts.

Cotton Row Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Scenic View (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had an excellent brunch, will make this our go to restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall very good, but we went on a night when winter weather was a possibility. Even though no weather materialized, the restaurant was nearly empty as a result. This was actually my only complaint, because with so few people in the dining room, I could hear every word of the conversation going on at the bar among the few other patrons (they were also being pretty loud).

The menu was diverse and impressive. Wait staff was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The elk was great. Jacob the weekend bartender was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Some of the best food in Huntsville, AL! Great service and ambiance as well. I highly recommend Cotton Row.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 10, 2018

This was an all around excellent experience. The food was excellent and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Great Beer
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I had gotten this reservation a week in advance and then called to ask for a booth downstairs in the wine cellar. It was my daughter’s 28th birthday and she was visiting us from Atlanta and had never been to Cotton Row. We wanted a good table. They gave the absolute worst table in the house. We were right beside a serve station and the staff would stand right beside our table. It was loud and hard to carry on a conversation. We had a great server and the food was phenomenal as always but it was so disappointing where we seated. I left disappointed with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Once we got our check, the asst. server asked for our coat room stubs. By the time we got our change back, the asst. server was standing there. Literally our coats in hand, implying it was time for us to go. I hadn’t realized I was in a fast food restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Great as always. Valet parking a plus on these cold evenings. Food tastes were extremely fascinating. Service amazing without camping out beside us. we had the swordfish and filet. The internet menus a little different than actual choices which caused to reconsider our pre-made choices. We've never had a bad experience or meal here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Over crowded restaurant that had ok food, some dishes were good but others were over cooked. My biggest complaint was the table spacing, the tables were so close together and the music was so loud that you couldn’t have a conversation with the person across from you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Always wonderful

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The free-range chicken with bacon-wrapped shrimp was excellent. As usual Jacob the bartender makes dining at the bar the place to be. Best restaurant in Huntsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2017

This meal was a business meeting and the overall experience was great. The filet was good, but the elk was superb. A touch pricy, but all in all a nice meal. Will certainly recommend to friends and will definitely be back to try other entrees! Oh, and the mac 'n cheese was unbelievable!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

If you are looking for fine dining in Huntsville, Cotton Row is perfect! Excellent food, impeccable service in a wonderfully restored historic building. We enjoyed the evening very much and we are looking forward to another great experience at Cotton Row soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Several different people in the Huntsville area recommended this restaurant for a nice evening out or a special occasion. While the restaurant was nice and the food was good, I was slightly disappointed with the restaurant overall. I could have gotten the same-tasting food at a much cheaper restaurant, and I wasn’t impressed with any particular aspect of the restaurant besides the rolls we were served. For the price we paid, I was very disappointed and will probably not return to the restaurant anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Very nice place with delicious and fresh food. Took a little while to get out food due to a holiday party but it was worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Food was exceptional as usual. I actually tried something other than the scallops for once. I always order the scallops. The red snapper was not what one would expect from Cotton Row as it was overcooked but the orzo that accompanied it was amazing. My husband had the elk. We highly recommend. My brother in law thoroughly enjoyed the filet and lobster mac and cheese. That dish, like the scallops, never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

So much better than The Bottle. The food is much better and the experience much less pretentious. Excellent cocktails too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2017

The ambience of our Christmas Eve dinner was perfect. The service was outstanding, the drinks and food was divine. The red snapper and filet mignon was prepared perfectly and the kitchen was very accomodating to swap sides for a restricted diet.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

Great meal, great atmosphere, even better service. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Worst experience we have ever had at this restaurant. The service was absolutely terrible tonight! Out of the wine I wanted with no substitute. Rude manager who could not figure out a gift card I had received as a gift. We waited 30 minutes on the staff to try and figure out the issue with the gift card and it turned out the be a problem with their computer system. Dinner took 3 hours. Overall terrible experience and unfortunately will not be back for a long while. Hopefully, a new manager and staff will be hired because this use to be my favorite place in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

Cotton Row lived up to a special place to take my bride to celebrate our anniversary. Just the two of us, and no kids at the restaurant. Just the break we needed. Will keep this on our list for next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Great food, good service, great ambiance, quiet, valet parking

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The first time I did not have a great experience. Reservation was late. Service was poor and very slow. Took long time to take order. When food arrived was missing silverware and took a long time to get. The food was very salty. When ordering drink it was very slow. In fact I thought they had fogot to bring and did not make it to table until I had finished meal. As I mentioned this is the first time experience was not good. They were more busy than normal this evening and maybe that was why.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Great new menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Our team had a holiday lunch and the whole experience was perfect! Thanks so much to the attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The beef short ribs are outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Always a joy coming to this restaurant. The food is excellent, great wine selection, and service is always superb. The menu changes periodically, but they always seem to have a good variety despite it being a limited menu (limited in the sense that there may only be about 8-10 entree selections). We will continue to come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We celebrate our anniversary every year at Cotton Row. This year, we tried the Sunday Brunch. My husband had the southern fried chicken on waffles with maple syrup. From all day indications it was very popular choice. I opted for an uptake on Korean fried rice with some scallions, BBQ pork and a fried egg on top - it was fantastic! They have awesome coffee, too. The staff was attentive and fun - the service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went to Cotton Row for Thanksgiving dinner and had a wonderful experience. The food was amazing and our server was fantastic and attentive. I had previously had a bad experience here and was hesitant about coming back - I am so glad we did!!! We will be recommending Cotton Row in the future!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great cuisine . Great for date night... and special occasions..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Food was excellent, but it was PACKED. Felt like I was on an airplane having to hug walls to allow waiters and guests to get by. Did not appreciate our seat by the front door, where it was honestly cold enough to warrant wearing our coats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Once again, everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 16, 2017

One of our favorites! Always on the list when we have vendors in town. Food is excellent and service is great as well.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Wine list is very nice, the meals are very well prepared, nice portions, and not over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

All four of the main dishes we had were outstanding!!!! The cheese cake to top the meal off was a perfect ending. We'll will be repeat customers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Very memorable evening with a lovely dinner. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Stopped here for a quick 1 hour meal before a night out to see a show. I was disappointed in the beer selection from the 3 taps they had. Our server's assistant delivered another table's food to us before our appetizers arrived and was quickly corrected by our server. Our appetizers were flavorful and appropriately priced. While my wife's salmon had a great texture and flavor my NY strip was underwhelming in flavor. It also was quite fatty and while I asked for medium rare it arrived medium. Service was slow but perhaps they don't employ their top employees on a Tuesday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great foodGreat service! What more to add!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Delicious food. Fun sitting outside on the square while we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.