About Cosmos Cucina

804 W. Vine St
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
View Larger Map

A contemporary oasis offering affordable gourmet cuisine, Cosmo's Cucina was established in November 1992 with the goal of bringing simply creative cooking to Kalamazoo. Located at the corner of Vine and Locust Streets, two blocks west of Chenery Auditorium, also known as "Old Central High School." Cosmo's is on the second floor of a 110 year old building that has been the home of many restaurants including The Vine Garden Cafe, Wall Street and Granola, The Marketplace, The Troubadour and H. Buffalo Esquire. The main floor was for many years, the neighborhood grocery and bakery, and the home of many different, sometimes eccentric retail endeavors. It is now the home of O'Duffy's Pub, a gathering place for friends, old and new.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:30 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Locust St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 344-5666

Website:
http://www.cosmoscucina.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot adjacent to the building, in addition to on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Brad Kavanaugh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Stuffed Pepper Trio - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
  • Roasted Beet Hummus - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
  • Veggie Tacos - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
  • Wild Forest Mushroom Lasagna - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
  • Fig Pizza - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
Stuffed Pepper Trio - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
Roasted Beet Hummus - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
Veggie Tacos - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
Wild Forest Mushroom Lasagna - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI
Fig Pizza - Cosmos Cucina, Kalamazoo, MI

Cosmos Cucina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.3

ambience

3.8

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
See All
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took forever to get drinks. The risotto ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Took forever to get drinks. The risotto was really bad, and the hubbies sweet potato fries were soggy. Overall a really poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is always excellent but the wait ti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food is always excellent but the wait times for that food are always excessive. I understand you have a small kitchen for two restaurants but that is the biggest reason why I shy away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

In the past two weeks, we visited Cosmos ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

In the past two weeks, we visited Cosmos twice. We will not return. At one time we were regulars. Unfortunately the restaurant has lost its way. Food quality has diminished and the service is abysmal. All of this under the direct observation of the owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We eat there twice a month and love it ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We eat there twice a month and love it every time we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall good experience. Wanted a nice p ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overall good experience. Wanted a nice place for a special occasion. A little bit crowdie since there was a wedding celebration besides us. Service was OK considering the wedding catering. Appetizers were plentiful and with good taste. Dinner was OK but not spectacular. Dessert (we share a Mascarponi was awesome!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food at Cosmo's is always on point! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food at Cosmo's is always on point! I got the duck and my husband had the lamb... both were perfection. If only the service could be as good as the food. It took our waitress 20-25 minutes to bring us our drinks and was not super attentive throughout our meal. She also got one of our orders totally wrong. The food is good enough to make up for it though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Wow, what a great meal once again. Neve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wow, what a great meal once again. Never had breakfast before and it was yummy. Also our waitress, Olga, was probably the best waitress I've ever had. She was knowledgable and attentive, very sweet!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place when we were dating ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We loved this place when we were dating & engaged! 22 years later it is still fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate wife's birthday. One o ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went to celebrate wife's birthday. One of our favorite places over the years for occasional

dining with their rather eclectic menu. Great service and food preparation. Climbing stairs to the second floor area can be a challenge to some.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The wait for our table was very short an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The wait for our table was very short and we had just enough time to grab a cocktail before we were seated. Loved the goat cheese appetizer and the meat pizza. Our server, Jordan (?), was super and the setting on the patio was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Traveling west from Massachusetts, we fo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Traveling west from Massachusetts, we found we'd be in Kalamazoo around supper time. We knew we didn't want to stop at a chain so we checked Open Table and found Cosmo's. It was a bit off the highway but it looked interesting so we pressed on. We are glad we did! It is tucked away in a residential neighborhood and would never have found it but for OT. Our waitress, Mila, was delightful and attentive and the chef is talented and inventive. While we had only small plates, the food was amazing. We had the goat cheese frittata, the roasted beet hummus, and bruschetta paired with Four Graces Pinot Noire. We also ordered the black bottom pie to go so we could enjoy it in our motel room later that night.

Folks in Kalamazoo are fortunate, in deed, to have Cosmo's in their town. We plan to time our return trip to stop in and sample other items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Can't believe we've never ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was great. Can't believe we've never been before. Didn't even know about it. Great restaurant with bar below. Exactly what you can find in larger cities like Denver and even Grand Rapids that is so popular with the " millennium " generation and everyone else.

I've already recommended it to several people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

In the neighborhood

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Had dinner at Cosmos before going to the Gilmore Festival Finale because we could park in one spot for both. The couples that we were with had never been there or heard of it. I've been going here for an awfully long time, maybe 20 years. My food was outstanding. I had the scallops which were in a Thai broth with vegetables. Mmmmm, mmmmm, good to the last drop. I would have been happy with just the broth. There was just so much flavor there. I have no idea how they achieved it. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food tremendously. I didn't see that anyone left a bit behind. Thank you, staff at Cosmos, you made me look like the gourmand that I strive to be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very pleasant experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We've eaten at Cosmos many times over the years. It is small, with a small kitchen so we knew it might take a while. But, though it was a Saturday night, wine and food arrived within a very short time. The server, Amber , was delightful, and very helpful with wine pairing, as well as gluten free choices. It was a most pleasant and satisfying experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome environment

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great as always. My wife and I shared the mussels and then both ended up ordering the pork tacos which are definitely a favorite of ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a perfectly fine but not outstandi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I had a perfectly fine but not outstanding brunch here. The service was leisurely. Excruciatingly so. The explanation for our 45-minute wait to get food was that the kitchen staff of two had trouble handling the influx of orders when it got busy. Um, yeah. Saturday morning brunch is a busy time. Plan for that! The place is super cute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Kitchen gets in the weeds -long wait for food

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2016

If you go there to have dinner on a busy weekend be prepared to wait. Waited 10 minutes to even have a waitress approach our table even though we had reservations. Then took forever to get food. Then my companion got their food and had it eaten before I even got mine. Very small kitchen with only 3 chefs serves both Cosmo's and the the bar below. So if they are busy they quickly get in the weeds and your wait time suffers for food. We were trying to make a concert so I had to shovel my food down which took away from the enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Unbearably Slow

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our reservation was for 7:15, we were seated by 7:10, and we didn't get served food until 8:45 - this is completely ridiculous. It's the second time this has happened and there won't be a third.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Dinner was good but

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Wine and painting started while we were eating and really made the experience a drag. It shouldn't occur in a nice restaurant while people are paying for a delicious meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Awesome find!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 29, 2016

The best food I have had in the Kalamazoo area! What a hidden gem....great service and everything was delicious. Worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience !

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2016

My daughter was visiting from Chicago and I brought her to Dinner - she loved it, we really liked the homemade tonic.... So refreshing . Everything was excellant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tomato Basil soup and the scallops entre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Tomato Basil soup and the scallops entree were outstanding, as was the artichoke spinach pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good Food, but I Won't Be Back

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2016

My companion and I visited Cosmo's on February 12th. I had looked at the menu posted online prior to going and was looking forward to sampling some of the items shown. However, when we arrived, the menu was different and didn't hold as many of the things I was interested in trying. I recognize that menus do change, especially at a quality, non-chain restaurant. But, I felt a little misled because the items I saw weren't available. My suggestion - make the available information match the current reality. Also, the place was very loud, much louder than I was comfortable with. I think this is due to the large number of hard surfaces.

Service was rather slow. However, it may not have been the fault of our server. I had my eye on the pass from the kitchen and it appeared that nothing at all (not just ours) came out for well over 25 minutes. The food, when it arrived was well prepared and tasty.

My last comment is with regard to an individual who appears to be affiliated with Cosmo's who stood next to our table, chatting with the next table over from us for an extended period. It is nice to visit with friends, but not at the expense of another customer who has to suffer with someone's backside hovering next to them while they dine.

Maybe I'm the wrong demographic for Cosmo's. But the long and short of it is - menu not as presented on the internet; very loud venue; slow service (perhaps due to a kitchen problem); good quality and good tasting food; a close encounter of the rear-end-kind that was unappreciated. Good food, but I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant with ambiance and off the beaten path

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Appetizer, wine, entree dessert & coffee.........everything was excellent. The waitress was very professional and friendly. All this was provided in a restaurant which is perfect for a quiet evening for two people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2015

The service was perfect and the food was delicious and unique. This is a very special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place...wonderful food.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2015

Love the ambiance, the food is delicious and presented beautifully. Our server was attentive and helpful. i love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect if you're not in a rush

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2015

The menu is enticing and the location is charming. Service, however, is very slow (we were actually late to an appointment). It's the perfect spot to dine and relax.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

An Off Night

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 30, 2015

One of our favorite places to go left us wondering why the change? We had reservations but still waited over an hour for our meal. We got up to leave just as it finally arrived. Two of the four dinners were disappointing and missing ingredients or very small portion. We hope it was just the night and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Disappointing.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2015

The server was lovely, but my martini, ordered by both the server and me to be dry, was not. The vegetarian lasagna was terrific, but the center was ice cold. The server was so sweet, I didn't have the nerve to send it back.

I liked the atmosphere a lot though.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Not pleased.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Showed up for 7pm reservation, checked in at host stand upstairs, asked if it was ok to have drink at bar first. Proceeded back downstairs. While enjoying drinks with date, received numerous annoyed phone calls AND messages from staff, advising me I was late for reservation. Was not busy at all, so confused by urgency. When finally seated waited over 5 min for somone to greet us. Advised waitress that my date had food restrictive allergy....she could barely hide annoyance. Made us feel very uncomfortable. Unprofessional staff. If i am paying $32 for an entree, I would expect much more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great food, be patient with service

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 25, 2015

Love going to Cosmo's, only complaint is how long it takes to get drinks. With the bar all the way downstairs, the servers are slow to deliver drinks. Our whole table waited about 20 minutes for a round...should have went downstairs to get them ourselves. For the quality and price of the food, as well as the great atmosphere, wish they could get their drink/bar situation to match.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

.Good atmosphere Disapointed on Food.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Food is way over priced. Asked if pasta and Italian sausage was real . Italian sausage was a big disapointment. Not real home made Italian sausage. Portions are way to small for price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great local place

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 18, 2015

I LOVE this place. The menu is always changing per season and the wait staff is amazing. It can be a little expensive, but for a special occasion it is so worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite local places to eat. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2015

One of our favorite local places to eat. Great ambience in an old neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 30, 2015

The seats are all wood and very uncomfortable with no cushions. The service was slow even though the restaurant was not full. And when we finally got our food it just was not very good. The restaurant is also very loud. The only redeeming quality is the outside deck

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

GREAT FOOD, POOR SERVICE

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 12, 2015

Our party of 7 waited an hour for our food. This was Tuesday evening at 6:30. We ordered by 7:10 PM. No bread was offered as it is an extra cost. There was another table of 5 or so that arrived about the same time. They waited even longer for their meal. Total diners in the place during our stay was no more than 16, including ourselves. I would loath to be there on a busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent find!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2015

The red lentil soup is excellent, as are the scallops and pork loin. This little place has a lot of personality. A great find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow food and noisy environment.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Went to Cosmo's on a busy Satuday night. The place was crowded. Noise level was through the roof. Food took a long time coming out of the kitchen. Was told by the waitstaff that the kitchen staff was down to 2. There are usually 3-4 workers.

The food was excellent. Quality was high. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Normally great, but missed this time...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We have been to Cosmo's a few times and have always enjoyed it. This last visit was a bit of a disappointment.

First, the music was too loud for the small space.

The filet I ordered medium-rare came out nearly well-done (the kitchen did correct it).

My wife's dish (Spanish stew of some sort) was flavorful, but was just warm when served and quickly became cold.

Finally, our server strongly recommended the blood orange panna cotta, but when we found it to be grainy and not smooth, she quickly said that when she tried it earlier she didn't like it either - What?? why did you recommend it?

When the check came I had to ask for the dessert to be removed and they did it without protest.

This visit is not in keeping with our past experience, but it was disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food marred by poor service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2015

My girlfriend and I went to Cosmo's, a restaurant frequented by my parents and family but one that I had personally never attended. I'm a regular at the annual Bravo! chef's dinner though and due to affiliation knew Cosmo's had something special to offer so I made a reservation and at 7 pm I arrived with my girlfriend. The atmosphere was quaint and lovely. The menu looked promising and all was going well. The roasted garlic and fresh bread was a simple yet delightful appetizer that had me very excited for my main course, a pasta dish with peas, mushrooms, and prosciutto. My girlfriend ordered the "puchero", a simple Mexican stew that also looked quite lovely based on the menu description. My food came out, as well as the side of goat cheese mashed potatoes. I was excited to eat but practiced proper etiquette and proceeded to wait until my girlfriend's dish came out. Little did I know this wait would be in excess of ten minutes. Our server did not inform us that this would be happening, and acted as if nothing was wrong when she finally brought it out. We understand the tribulations of working in food service, as my girlfriend has many years of serving experience. We were stunned however at the lack of explanation or basic human empathy. I sent the potatoes back because they had gone cold by the time both of our dishes were served. The server scoffed at this and gave the impression we were in the wrong for doing so. After that, we ate the food and enjoyed it immensely. But when it came time to pay, the credit card machine was down (things happen, we understand). Instead of asking for an alternative form of payment, the server had written down all of my credit card information, producing a homemade receipt that asked for my zip code. I was extremely offended that she would just take my information like that without asking. She reluctantly got the manager who was as shocked as we were at the behavior. All in all a delicious meal marred by our server

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.