Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Cosmos Cucina

A contemporary oasis offering affordable gourmet cuisine, Cosmo's Cucina was established in November 1992 with the goal of bringing simply creative cooking to Kalamazoo. Located at the corner of Vine and Locust Streets, two blocks west of Chenery Auditorium, also known as "Old Central High School." Cosmo's is on the second floor of a 110 year old building that has been the home of many restaurants including The Vine Garden Cafe, Wall Street and Granola, The Marketplace, The Troubadour and H. Buffalo Esquire. The main floor was for many years, the neighborhood grocery and bakery, and the home of many different, sometimes eccentric retail endeavors. It is now the home of O'Duffy's Pub, a gathering place for friends, old and new.

804 W. Vine St
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:30 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Locust St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 344-5666

Website:
http://www.cosmoscucina.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot adjacent to the building, in addition to on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Brad Kavanaugh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Cosmos Cucina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Romantic (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We have a weekend property near Kalamazoo and are always looking for good restaurants in the area. We remembered Cosmos Cucina and were able to obtain a reservation through Open Table. Our waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a splendid meal, but the quality of the food was let down by the service - for example, we waited for nearly an hour for a bottle of wine to be brought, and in the end had to retrieve it ourselves. The place was busy, yes - but not THAT busy. But if they can get this right, the place is a winner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Overall nice experience. Just had to wait longer than expected for our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The menu/food quality at Cosmos is not what is was; however, another evening experience needed to make a true judgement...
O'Duffy's Pub, downstairs of Cosmos, remains a regular for an after work stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wife and I went to WMU, used to go to the Troubadour - last time we were there 30+ years ago. Cosmos is a nice place. Kept some of the original ambiance of the Troubadour. There is a bar downstairs which is cool The fact that Cosmos is at the top of a fairly steep staircase must limit customers to those able to climb not exactly universal design. The food was good, but kind of pricey. I lived in big cities, a $14 burger is pretty high end, but that said the Spinach Feta burger was great and my wife had the Black Bean burger which was also good. The place was good. Happy we went. We will be back... maybe a little sooner than the next 30 years.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our waitress was attentive, busy with other customers but responsive to our request to be finished by 7:00 pm. Our reservation was for 6:00 pm. We arrived a few minutes early and were seated immediately. She did a great job keeping things moving in a gracious manner. A malfunctioning credit card machine or service nearly tripped us up but she quickly moved to another machine and completed the transaction.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I love the ambiance but the service was really bad. Sat there for 15 minutes before I asked them to take my order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I hate to write a negative review on a favorite place but...Valentines Day and we waited a half hour for our dinner? And it was lukewarm? Come on...it wasn't even busy! Several tables empty and you your cook staff is too busy to get the food out on time? There was an elderly couple next to us that waited an hour for their food! They were not happy. Once our food arrived, it was delicious and the tenderloin was perfectly done...but I could barely call it warm. Sad. So do I gamble on driving over 30 minutes to get to this place again? I'm not sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have eaten at Cosmos many times. This was a reservation we made for Valentine's Day dinner. We arrived and were seated, along with about eight other couples, downstairs in O-Duffy's Bar, not upstairs in Cosmos' dining room. This was not mentioned on Open Table when we made our reservation. Poor oversight. People from off the street were coming in and out and enjoying their time at the bar, and music was playing. The setting was not romantic, and the server we had, while very pleasant, was inattentive, touching the tables around us about three times as much as us. Our appetizers were served about 1 minute before our dinner, so dinner was not hot when we got to it. The food was fabulous, as always! Great restaurant, just not for a romantic dinner! We will choose a different restaurant next year for this dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was really good. We try to go at least once a month or so. We finally found time away from kids valentine day. wish they had more of their regular menu items that day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great. The presentation was beautiful.

This restaurant has a long standing problem with service. The waitstaff does not seem to work together. There was 1 waitress from 5pm to 5:30 pm when 4 others arrived. Whether the first waitress was negligent in requesting assistance with the 5 tables already seated or the other waitresses were blind to the fact that she was covering this load alone makes no difference. These people should be working as a team!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dinner before a seeing a musical!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We didn't actually get to go to Cosmos Cucina because it was closed even though we were able to make a reservation for it on OpenTable. I would recommend it to others due to past experiences but this experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is my favorite special night out place to dine. The food is outstanding and I am never disappointed. I am a fairly good cook myself and I like to search out items at any restaurant and on any menu that I wouldn't prepare myself. I never tire of the menu as it gets updated and there are always specials and new items to try. I love the old standby's too and the Duck is my favorite. It makes my mouth water just thinking of it. The portions are just right. The food is beautifully prepared and presented. It is healthy and you feel good enjoying every bite.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great Duck and Lamb with perfect accompaniments. Fresh ingredients all ala carte so you eat what you need and not more.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First time we've dined at Cosmos for dinner. We have enjoyed Sunday breakfast there several times, and wanted to try "something different" for dinner. You did not disappoint!
Our waiter, although new to Cosmos, was very personable and conscientious about his work. We gave him tips about correctly using a wine bottle opener, which helped him to relax with his job.
The food was marvelous; my only comment was the chicken breast that I had was so thick, that in order to cook it well, it was fairly dry. But the sauce and pasta helped. The other meals eaten by others at our table seemed to go over well.
I loved the ginger waffle with pomegranate sauce! Very light, and lots of flavor.

Looking forward to our next visit, and maybe just stopping in for a brew at O'Duffy's!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was great the atmosphere was great but the service was lousy. The poor young man who took our order got it all confused and gave us someone else's bill and had to redo it and we were in a hurry to make it to a play. Sorry that I have to say this young man needs more training keep up your good reputation and your restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Organic, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Took forever to get drinks. The risotto was really bad, and the hubbies sweet potato fries were soggy. Overall a really poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food is always excellent but the wait times for that food are always excessive. I understand you have a small kitchen for two restaurants but that is the biggest reason why I shy away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

In the past two weeks, we visited Cosmos twice. We will not return. At one time we were regulars. Unfortunately the restaurant has lost its way. Food quality has diminished and the service is abysmal. All of this under the direct observation of the owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We eat there twice a month and love it every time we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overall good experience. Wanted a nice place for a special occasion. A little bit crowdie since there was a wedding celebration besides us. Service was OK considering the wedding catering. Appetizers were plentiful and with good taste. Dinner was OK but not spectacular. Dessert (we share a Mascarponi was awesome!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food at Cosmo's is always on point! I got the duck and my husband had the lamb... both were perfection. If only the service could be as good as the food. It took our waitress 20-25 minutes to bring us our drinks and was not super attentive throughout our meal. She also got one of our orders totally wrong. The food is good enough to make up for it though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wow, what a great meal once again. Never had breakfast before and it was yummy. Also our waitress, Olga, was probably the best waitress I've ever had. She was knowledgable and attentive, very sweet!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We loved this place when we were dating & engaged! 22 years later it is still fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went to celebrate wife's birthday. One of our favorite places over the years for occasional
dining with their rather eclectic menu. Great service and food preparation. Climbing stairs to the second floor area can be a challenge to some.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The wait for our table was very short and we had just enough time to grab a cocktail before we were seated. Loved the goat cheese appetizer and the meat pizza. Our server, Jordan (?), was super and the setting on the patio was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Traveling west from Massachusetts, we found we'd be in Kalamazoo around supper time. We knew we didn't want to stop at a chain so we checked Open Table and found Cosmo's. It was a bit off the highway but it looked interesting so we pressed on. We are glad we did! It is tucked away in a residential neighborhood and would never have found it but for OT. Our waitress, Mila, was delightful and attentive and the chef is talented and inventive. While we had only small plates, the food was amazing. We had the goat cheese frittata, the roasted beet hummus, and bruschetta paired with Four Graces Pinot Noire. We also ordered the black bottom pie to go so we could enjoy it in our motel room later that night.
Folks in Kalamazoo are fortunate, in deed, to have Cosmo's in their town. We plan to time our return trip to stop in and sample other items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was great. Can't believe we've never been before. Didn't even know about it. Great restaurant with bar below. Exactly what you can find in larger cities like Denver and even Grand Rapids that is so popular with the " millennium " generation and everyone else.
I've already recommended it to several people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Had dinner at Cosmos before going to the Gilmore Festival Finale because we could park in one spot for both. The couples that we were with had never been there or heard of it. I've been going here for an awfully long time, maybe 20 years. My food was outstanding. I had the scallops which were in a Thai broth with vegetables. Mmmmm, mmmmm, good to the last drop. I would have been happy with just the broth. There was just so much flavor there. I have no idea how they achieved it. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food tremendously. I didn't see that anyone left a bit behind. Thank you, staff at Cosmos, you made me look like the gourmand that I strive to be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We've eaten at Cosmos many times over the years. It is small, with a small kitchen so we knew it might take a while. But, though it was a Saturday night, wine and food arrived within a very short time. The server, Amber , was delightful, and very helpful with wine pairing, as well as gluten free choices. It was a most pleasant and satisfying experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great as always. My wife and I shared the mussels and then both ended up ordering the pork tacos which are definitely a favorite of ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I had a perfectly fine but not outstanding brunch here. The service was leisurely. Excruciatingly so. The explanation for our 45-minute wait to get food was that the kitchen staff of two had trouble handling the influx of orders when it got busy. Um, yeah. Saturday morning brunch is a busy time. Plan for that! The place is super cute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2016

If you go there to have dinner on a busy weekend be prepared to wait. Waited 10 minutes to even have a waitress approach our table even though we had reservations. Then took forever to get food. Then my companion got their food and had it eaten before I even got mine. Very small kitchen with only 3 chefs serves both Cosmo's and the the bar below. So if they are busy they quickly get in the weeds and your wait time suffers for food. We were trying to make a concert so I had to shovel my food down which took away from the enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our reservation was for 7:15, we were seated by 7:10, and we didn't get served food until 8:45 - this is completely ridiculous. It's the second time this has happened and there won't be a third.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Wine and painting started while we were eating and really made the experience a drag. It shouldn't occur in a nice restaurant while people are paying for a delicious meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 29, 2016

The best food I have had in the Kalamazoo area! What a hidden gem....great service and everything was delicious. Worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2016

My daughter was visiting from Chicago and I brought her to Dinner - she loved it, we really liked the homemade tonic.... So refreshing . Everything was excellant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Tomato Basil soup and the scallops entree were outstanding, as was the artichoke spinach pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2016

My companion and I visited Cosmo's on February 12th. I had looked at the menu posted online prior to going and was looking forward to sampling some of the items shown. However, when we arrived, the menu was different and didn't hold as many of the things I was interested in trying. I recognize that menus do change, especially at a quality, non-chain restaurant. But, I felt a little misled because the items I saw weren't available. My suggestion - make the available information match the current reality. Also, the place was very loud, much louder than I was comfortable with. I think this is due to the large number of hard surfaces.

Service was rather slow. However, it may not have been the fault of our server. I had my eye on the pass from the kitchen and it appeared that nothing at all (not just ours) came out for well over 25 minutes. The food, when it arrived was well prepared and tasty.

My last comment is with regard to an individual who appears to be affiliated with Cosmo's who stood next to our table, chatting with the next table over from us for an extended period. It is nice to visit with friends, but not at the expense of another customer who has to suffer with someone's backside hovering next to them while they dine.

Maybe I'm the wrong demographic for Cosmo's. But the long and short of it is - menu not as presented on the internet; very loud venue; slow service (perhaps due to a kitchen problem); good quality and good tasting food; a close encounter of the rear-end-kind that was unappreciated. Good food, but I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.