About Cosmos Cucina

804 W. Vine St
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
View Larger Map

A contemporary oasis offering affordable gourmet cuisine, Cosmo's Cucina was established in November 1992 with the goal of bringing simply creative cooking to Kalamazoo. Located at the corner of Vine and Locust Streets, two blocks west of Chenery Auditorium, also known as "Old Central High School." Cosmo's is on the second floor of a 110 year old building that has been the home of many restaurants including The Vine Garden Cafe, Wall Street and Granola, The Marketplace, The Troubadour and H. Buffalo Esquire. The main floor was for many years, the neighborhood grocery and bakery, and the home of many different, sometimes eccentric retail endeavors. It is now the home of O'Duffy's Pub, a gathering place for friends, old and new.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:30 am - 2:00 pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Locust St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 344-5666

Website:
http://www.cosmoscucina.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot adjacent to the building, in addition to on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Brad Kavanaugh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cosmos Cucina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Kalamazoo
Best Restaurants in Kalamazoo ›

fit for foodies (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
special occasion (17)
See All
romantic (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (4)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was great. Can't believe we've never ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was great. Can't believe we've never been before. Didn't even know about it. Great restaurant with bar below. Exactly what you can find in larger cities like Denver and even Grand Rapids that is so popular with the " millennium " generation and everyone else. I've already recommended it to several people.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

In the neighborhood

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had dinner at Cosmos before going to the Gilmore Festival Finale because we could park in one spot for both. The couples that we were with had never been there or heard of it. I've been going here for an awfully long time, maybe 20 years. My food was outstanding. I had the scallops which were in a Thai broth with vegetables. Mmmmm, mmmmm, good to the last drop. I would have been happy with just the broth. There was just so much flavor there. I have no idea how they achieved it. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food tremendously. I didn't see that anyone left a bit behind. Thank you, staff at Cosmos, you made me look like the gourmand that I strive to be.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very pleasant experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've eaten at Cosmos many times over the years. It is small, with a small kitchen so we knew it might take a while. But, though it was a Saturday night, wine and food arrived within a very short time. The server, Amber , was delightful, and very helpful with wine pairing, as well as gluten free choices. It was a most pleasant and satisfying experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome environment

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great as always. My wife and I shared the mussels and then both ended up ordering the pork tacos which are definitely a favorite of ours.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

I had a perfectly fine but not outstandi ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I had a perfectly fine but not outstanding brunch here. The service was leisurely. Excruciatingly so. The explanation for our 45-minute wait to get food was that the kitchen staff of two had trouble handling the influx of orders when it got busy. Um, yeah. Saturday morning brunch is a busy time. Plan for that! The place is super cute.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Kitchen gets in the weeds -long wait for food

Dined on April 29, 2016

If you go there to have dinner on a busy weekend be prepared to wait. Waited 10 minutes to even have a waitress approach our table even though we had reservations. Then took forever to get food. Then my companion got their food and had it eaten before I even got mine. Very small kitchen with only 3 chefs serves both Cosmo's and the the bar below. So if they are busy they quickly get in the weeds and your wait time suffers for food. We were trying to make a concert so I had to shovel my food down which took away from the enjoyment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Unbearably Slow

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our reservation was for 7:15, we were seated by 7:10, and we didn't get served food until 8:45 - this is completely ridiculous. It's the second time this has happened and there won't be a third.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Dinner was good but

Dined on April 19, 2016

Wine and painting started while we were eating and really made the experience a drag. It shouldn't occur in a nice restaurant while people are paying for a delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome find!

Dined on March 29, 2016

The best food I have had in the Kalamazoo area! What a hidden gem....great service and everything was delicious. Worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience !

Dined on March 5, 2016

My daughter was visiting from Chicago and I brought her to Dinner - she loved it, we really liked the homemade tonic.... So refreshing . Everything was excellant!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Tomato Basil soup and the scallops entre ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Tomato Basil soup and the scallops entree were outstanding, as was the artichoke spinach pasta dish.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Good Food, but I Won't Be Back

Dined on February 12, 2016

My companion and I visited Cosmo's on February 12th. I had looked at the menu posted online prior to going and was looking forward to sampling some of the items shown. However, when we arrived, the menu was different and didn't hold as many of the things I was interested in trying. I recognize that menus do change, especially at a quality, non-chain restaurant. But, I felt a little misled because the items I saw weren't available. My suggestion - make the available information match the current reality. Also, the place was very loud, much louder than I was comfortable with. I think this is due to the large number of hard surfaces. Service was rather slow. However, it may not have been the fault of our server. I had my eye on the pass from the kitchen and it appeared that nothing at all (not just ours) came out for well over 25 minutes. The food, when it arrived was well prepared and tasty. My last comment is with regard to an individual who appears to be affiliated with Cosmo's who stood next to our table, chatting with the next table over from us for an extended period. It is nice to visit with friends, but not at the expense of another customer who has to suffer with someone's backside hovering next to them while they dine. Maybe I'm the wrong demographic for Cosmo's. But the long and short of it is - menu not as presented on the internet; very loud venue; slow service (perhaps due to a kitchen problem); good quality and good tasting food; a close encounter of the rear-end-kind that was unappreciated. Good food, but I won't be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant with ambiance and off the beaten path

Dined on February 12, 2016

Appetizer, wine, entree dessert & coffee.........everything was excellent. The waitress was very professional and friendly. All this was provided in a restaurant which is perfect for a quiet evening for two people.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on December 19, 2015

The service was perfect and the food was delicious and unique. This is a very special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place...wonderful food.

Dined on December 11, 2015

Love the ambiance, the food is delicious and presented beautifully. Our server was attentive and helpful. i love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1

Perfect if you're not in a rush

Dined on November 7, 2015

The menu is enticing and the location is charming. Service, however, is very slow (we were actually late to an appointment). It's the perfect spot to dine and relax.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

An Off Night

Dined on October 30, 2015

One of our favorite places to go left us wondering why the change? We had reservations but still waited over an hour for our meal. We got up to leave just as it finally arrived. Two of the four dinners were disappointing and missing ingredients or very small portion. We hope it was just the night and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3

Disappointing.

vip
Dined on October 27, 2015

The server was lovely, but my martini, ordered by both the server and me to be dry, was not. The vegetarian lasagna was terrific, but the center was ice cold. The server was so sweet, I didn't have the nerve to send it back. I liked the atmosphere a lot though.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1

Not pleased.

Dined on October 10, 2015

Showed up for 7pm reservation, checked in at host stand upstairs, asked if it was ok to have drink at bar first. Proceeded back downstairs. While enjoying drinks with date, received numerous annoyed phone calls AND messages from staff, advising me I was late for reservation. Was not busy at all, so confused by urgency. When finally seated waited over 5 min for somone to greet us. Advised waitress that my date had food restrictive allergy....she could barely hide annoyance. Made us feel very uncomfortable. Unprofessional staff. If i am paying $32 for an entree, I would expect much more.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2

Great food, be patient with service

Dined on August 25, 2015

Love going to Cosmo's, only complaint is how long it takes to get drinks. With the bar all the way downstairs, the servers are slow to deliver drinks. Our whole table waited about 20 minutes for a round...should have went downstairs to get them ourselves. For the quality and price of the food, as well as the great atmosphere, wish they could get their drink/bar situation to match.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3

.Good atmosphere Disapointed on Food.

Dined on August 22, 2015

Food is way over priced. Asked if pasta and Italian sausage was real . Italian sausage was a big disapointment. Not real home made Italian sausage. Portions are way to small for price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Great local place

Dined on July 18, 2015

I LOVE this place. The menu is always changing per season and the wait staff is amazing. It can be a little expensive, but for a special occasion it is so worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite local places to eat. ...

Dined on July 18, 2015

One of our favorite local places to eat. Great ambience in an old neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Very disappointing

Dined on May 30, 2015

The seats are all wood and very uncomfortable with no cushions. The service was slow even though the restaurant was not full. And when we finally got our food it just was not very good. The restaurant is also very loud. The only redeeming quality is the outside deck

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service1

GREAT FOOD, POOR SERVICE

Dined on May 12, 2015

Our party of 7 waited an hour for our food. This was Tuesday evening at 6:30. We ordered by 7:10 PM. No bread was offered as it is an extra cost. There was another table of 5 or so that arrived about the same time. They waited even longer for their meal. Total diners in the place during our stay was no more than 16, including ourselves. I would loath to be there on a busy night.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent find!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2015

The red lentil soup is excellent, as are the scallops and pork loin. This little place has a lot of personality. A great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Slow food and noisy environment.

Dined on April 18, 2015

Went to Cosmo's on a busy Satuday night. The place was crowded. Noise level was through the roof. Food took a long time coming out of the kitchen. Was told by the waitstaff that the kitchen staff was down to 2. There are usually 3-4 workers. The food was excellent. Quality was high. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Normally great, but missed this time...

Dined on February 15, 2015

We have been to Cosmo's a few times and have always enjoyed it. This last visit was a bit of a disappointment. First, the music was too loud for the small space. The filet I ordered medium-rare came out nearly well-done (the kitchen did correct it). My wife's dish (Spanish stew of some sort) was flavorful, but was just warm when served and quickly became cold. Finally, our server strongly recommended the blood orange panna cotta, but when we found it to be grainy and not smooth, she quickly said that when she tried it earlier she didn't like it either - What?? why did you recommend it? When the check came I had to ask for the dessert to be removed and they did it without protest. This visit is not in keeping with our past experience, but it was disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food marred by poor service

Dined on February 1, 2015

My girlfriend and I went to Cosmo's, a restaurant frequented by my parents and family but one that I had personally never attended. I'm a regular at the annual Bravo! chef's dinner though and due to affiliation knew Cosmo's had something special to offer so I made a reservation and at 7 pm I arrived with my girlfriend. The atmosphere was quaint and lovely. The menu looked promising and all was going well. The roasted garlic and fresh bread was a simple yet delightful appetizer that had me very excited for my main course, a pasta dish with peas, mushrooms, and prosciutto. My girlfriend ordered the "puchero", a simple Mexican stew that also looked quite lovely based on the menu description. My food came out, as well as the side of goat cheese mashed potatoes. I was excited to eat but practiced proper etiquette and proceeded to wait until my girlfriend's dish came out. Little did I know this wait would be in excess of ten minutes. Our server did not inform us that this would be happening, and acted as if nothing was wrong when she finally brought it out. We understand the tribulations of working in food service, as my girlfriend has many years of serving experience. We were stunned however at the lack of explanation or basic human empathy. I sent the potatoes back because they had gone cold by the time both of our dishes were served. The server scoffed at this and gave the impression we were in the wrong for doing so. After that, we ate the food and enjoyed it immensely. But when it came time to pay, the credit card machine was down (things happen, we understand). Instead of asking for an alternative form of payment, the server had written down all of my credit card information, producing a homemade receipt that asked for my zip code. I was extremely offended that she would just take my information like that without asking. She reluctantly got the manager who was as shocked as we were at the behavior. All in all a delicious meal marred by our server

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Let down

Dined on January 17, 2015

Diner with special friend that had never been there before. My favorite restaurant. Not busy that night, but service was very slow to get initially waited on then waiting for food. Mine was dry like it had sat under a warming lamp for awhile. His (Jacks chicken pasta) he liked but was such a small amount he was still hungry. Nothing came with the food. No bread and oil, no salad. We didn't order an appetizer but we didn't know his meal would be so skimpy. Waited forever again for the check and to run the credit card. At least there was no bearing music like all the the family style places. I had talked up the place so much I was a bit embarrassed. I'll go back of course but think twice before making it a 'special' destination. It has the potential to be romantic but slow service and let down with the food will make me think twice about going again for a special night.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food1
ambience5
service2

Debacle at a favorite restaurant

Dined on January 17, 2015

Our 6pm reservation was ensured to allow ample time for a 8pm theater time. We have eaten at Cosmos many times and we're looking forward to a nice dinner. Waitress was prompt and so were our drinks. We put order in for appetizer and dinner when drinks came. Time passed and we noticed delayed service at other tables. Waitress apologized acknowledging problems in kitchen and got us another round. At 7:10 having received NO FOOD whatsoever, we gave the waitress a tip for her effort and left for our performance. She completely understood. On way out thru the bar downstairs we heard another waitress tell customers that they were unable to serve dinner that night. After arriving at the theater we went to get something at the concessions and in making some comment about having to leave a restaurant, the staff person asked if we had been at Cosmos because other people had also just come thru with same issue. They had heard the head chef had walked out, which certainly would explain a lot. Bottom line. This night was a catastrophe for us and the restaurant. So unlike Cosmos. We will try them again but probably give them time to sort their kitchen staff out.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Cosmos of Kalamazoo

Dined on December 13, 2014

Whether you eat in the first floor pub, or the more sophisticated dining room on the second floor, the food, drinks, and service by the wait-staff will be phenomenal. The menu is not the run of the mill. The duck dinner, specially prepared vegetables, and the home-made dessert made this an excellent dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday night was FAABULOUS! We shall r ...

Dined on November 29, 2014

Saturday night was FAABULOUS! We shall return for Saturdays. GrammaDotCom loved the hugs she gets and it's always great to see Molly.

food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent food and service.

Dined on November 22, 2014

This is a great restaurant for food lovers to try. Service, ambiance and food were all great. I had a chance to speak to the owner and thanked him for our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Lamb Chops / Scallops with rice noodles & bok choy

Dined on November 21, 2014

The Lamb Chops were spectacular ! Have had them before and will have them again. The Scallops with rice noodles and bok choy was very salty, not likely to have again. The ceasar salad was very fresh, however very salty. Might want to back off on the salt a little..... The restaurant was very quaint in a lovely neighborhood in Kalamazoo. Service was very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Good selection and good food.

Dined on November 21, 2014

Not your run of the mill food selection. Nice sit down area. Bar downstairs if you wish to spice it up a little more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food, nice atmosphere

Dined on October 24, 2014

The food was delicious. I would describe the menu as a unique fresh perspective on standard American dishes. The food quality is through the roof good, probably due to the fresh ingredients. The flavors are good, but I would not describe them as intense. So, if you're looking for a wild, ethnic adventure for your taste buds, this may not be the place. But, if you're looking for a great, clean atmosphere for a date or group date, with really good tasting American food, this is the place. And, if you like to party after or before dinner, there's a super happening bar downstairs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem

Dined on October 11, 2014

Cosmo's is tucked away in a neighborhood where many WMU students live. It's on the second floor of an older brick building, above a quiet, Irish pub that gives the feel of a friendly, neighborhood pub. Cosmo's is a smaller, more intimate atmosphere great for couples or small groups. The cuisine is eclectic and thoughtfully-prepared. The Kung Pao Pork Tenderloin and Spanikopita are amazing! My wife and I truly enjoyed our meals, and the atmosphere was busy, yet quiet enough for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on October 1, 2014

I dined at Cosmo's on a Tuesday evening at 8:30. It was quiet, there was good music playing, and the service was fantastic. I had to push my reservation twice and the staff at Cosmo's was extremely accommodating. We started with good wine and the fresh bread with roasted garlic. I was able to spread the clove like butter! My date ordered the Pasta with Vodka-Tomato Sauce which was outstanding (highly recommend)! I ordered the Oven Roasted Duck Breast and was not disappointed. Our server was able to speak about the menu and provide excellent advice. Overall, it was a fantastic dining experience and I look forward to another visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Special place

vip
Dined on September 20, 2014

A last minute decision on OpenTable found us at Cosmos. The food was terrific. Ended up ordering a special and it was! Our server was friendly and attentive. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.