Permanently Closed - Cosa Nostra Italian Kitchen

4.4
94 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Classic Homemade Italian food in downtown Gainesville, Georgia.
Family recipes enjoyed by our family and friends for generations.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily hours:
Monday thru Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm -10:00pm,
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(678) 971-5420
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jimmy Knight
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Custom Menu Planning
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Maple St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking available in the lot across from Hunt Tower and also available on the square.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every Wednesday by Mark "The Piano Guy"
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Last Thursday of every month Simply Sinatra
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 94 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on January 5, 2016

I have been to this restaurant about 4-5 times now and everything Ive ever had is delicious. I always get spaghetti and meatballs. And the escargot... So yumi........
The ambience, food and staff are awesome........ I highly recommend this place...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

Delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2015

Never disappoints...always good and the wait staff is great! John waited on us and he was very Johnny on the Spot! Which they would have smaller portion options though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2015

Was my first time and I had a great experience. I loved everything about it. I would come back again and again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2015

Limited menu on Christmas Eve but some of the sauces were horrible others were good but not great. Coming from up north with true Italian restaurants it was just OK. Ambiance was good. Will go back and try again when a full menu. Lobster ravioli was delicious, calamari salad was good, the rest of the menu I could leave behind.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2015

The feast of the seven fishes was a little over-the-top. We enjoyed the first few dishes, but we're too stuffed to appreciate the last several. Wish we could have started with the snapper. The staff was very friendly, but we had to ask for bread and refills on our water. Glad we got to try it, though.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 25, 2015

I have favorably ranked Cosa Nostra in the past and stand by their food but the service and rudeness of the waitress we had on our last visit removes it from my "go to" list of restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2015

What great find!All 3 couples loved the ambiance, the delicious food and the great service. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 29, 2015

The service here was excellent. We had the mushroom ravioli and the manicotti. Both were delicious. We had the mussels in white wine for an appetizer and Caesar salads. They were very good as well. Only complaint we had was the music was a tad loud. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 26, 2015

I really like the atmosphere in this basement gem just off the square in downtown Gainesville. The owners, and staff are always friendly, the service is great. There are a good variety of dishes. If you like spicy sauce, the gravy which I think is Tony's (the owner) mom or grandmom's recipe is definitely worth a try. Favorites include the veal dishes, and ravioli.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2015

We loved everything about this restaurant, The food, service and ambiance. I love escargot, and it was also perfect....

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 2, 2015

The food was very bland. The salad was colorless - soaked in dressing that really was tasteless. The main course was good after I added lots of salt. The bruschetta was very poor. I've never had cold bruschetta before. It was more on what was tiny pieces of hard toasted bread. I'm sorry. I'm not really that hard to please, but this food was definitely very hum drum. I will not go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2015

Sure, there's Olive Garden, Macaroni Grill, Carraba's and the like, but if I'm going to drop triple digits on an Italian meal for the family, then it's going to be at Cosa Nostra Italian Kitchen. (I do note however that we celebrated my Dad's birthday there recently and the tab for 6 adults was only $87.00 - NOTE: We didn't have any alcoholic beverages, thus the total).

My family and I have tried many different things on the menu and every single thing is absolutely perfect and consistent every time. The gravy, (yeah, they don't call it marinara they call it gravy cause it's full of all things awesome, like sausage, pork and beef), makes it worth dining there if that was all they served.

I almost always order an entree that in topped with the gravy, but I have had others too, and everything is amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2015

We'd never been to Gainesville before and pretty much guessed at this place. I'm really glad, I think I guess right. The staff was very attentive and the food was delicious. We had a great time. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2015

As usual, the food was delicious. We had a fairly new waiter who needs to learn when to out orders in, especially after we asked to hold the entrees until we finished the appetizer and our salads. We were at a table for two sharing the appetizer, then our salads arrived. I had not even touched the salad and our entrees arrived. There was no room for the food, so they were placed on the next table. While they were tasty the temp was not what it should have been.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2015

Everything was awesome. The food, the service and the ambiance was awesome. We will go back many more times.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 11, 2015

Food is not up to standards in this restaurant. Starting with the bread which was just standard white bread with a side bowl of marinara, how about some seasoned olive oil and parmesan instead of dunking in gravy! It was not Italian bread it was more in the line of white sopping bread at a bbq. Needs to be replaced with some flavor i.e. garlic bread. I ordered the pasta and spicy italian sausage. The sausage was not hot and spicy it was sweet italian sausage and overcooked. It was solid brown on the outside and crusted. The "gravy" was dark brown and lacked any flavor or sizzle. The pasta was okay and cooked to staqndards. The plain lettuce salad was okay but not much. It was just lettuce and oil.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2015

Once again, my husband and I had a fabulous dinner at Cosa Nostra. Its a friendly, loving, caring atmosphere. You're made to feel like family when you dine there. Last night we had the antipasto as an appetizer. It was excellent, full of meats, cheese, olives, peppers, artichokes, onion. Our main courses were Seafood Fra Diavolo which was spot on, and Rigatoni in Sunday Gravy with Pork, Meatball and Sausage. The Sunday Gravy is the best Italian sauce we have every had. Dessert was Strawberry Shortcake with Lemon Creme and Basalmic Reduction. We also had a bottle of their house Chianti which is always great tasting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2015

The food was very good and the prices were also good. The service was a little slow as the restuarnt began to fill up. I would go back again since they have a very nice menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 11, 2015

There is not a dish on this menu you can go wrong with! We found this restaurant a couple of months ago and have been back with visiting family and friends many, many times. Everyone we have taken there has raved about not only the food quality and taste, but the portion size also. If you are a fan of more traditional Italian dining- this is a must try. Whatever you do, save room for dessert- the "Forget about it Pie" is sinfully delicious and worth every bit of the calorie indulgence!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 11, 2015

I went with a group of girlfriends to Cosa Nostra for the first time Saturday night. We had a wonderful server named Mark, who walked us thru the menu and even ordered for us. He suggsested 4 entrees for 6 people to share and it was perfect. I highly recommend it the next time you're on the Square in Gainesville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 26, 2015

Cozy restaurant with wonderful marinara sauce. Tasted just like grandma's recipe. Friendly and prompt service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2015

Service and food was outstanding. I felt like I was back in New York.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2015

We went for Mother's Day Brunch, and it was outstanding! It was a huge buffet spread with a variety of options. Everything was delicious! It was much more affordable and convenient than comparable options in Atlanta. I can't wait to come back for dinner soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2015

Food was average at best. Service was very nice. Bar tender was not familiar with classics Italian drink called a negroni. Won't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2015

Goo, solid .Italian food. Always a pleasure to go to. Family recipes. Like going to your grandmother's. However, Grandma lives in Tuscany! Love coming here. A staple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2015

The staff was awesome! Very accommodating for our group of 12. Service and food was very good.
The owner came over twice to make sure food and service was as expected. He congratulated my daughter on her graduation and spoke to us for a bit. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2015

My wife loves Italian food and Olive Garden has had to suffice until now.I discovered Cosa Nostra while searching food opinions online so decided to give them a try.I'm glad we did as the dishes we got were beyond our expectations!I got the Grouper and my wife got the Scallops.I was going to try the filet but the next table had the grouper and it looked so good I couldn't resist.I was so glad I chose that as it was delicious.My wife really enjoyed the scallops,that were large,and even took the leftovers home for lunch the next day.Appetizer of escargot was so good we got another.Only two complaints I have are the salad is a little bland and better dressing but I didn't go there for the salad and to loud due to crowd but that's no big deal.Lastly,our server was Chaz who made the whole experience very nice! Thanks Cosa Nostra, we will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2015

Food has always been very good. Like most restaurants they have scaled back the portions some since opening, but still pretty decent portions. Would personally like to see a crustier bread...

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2015

One of the biggest challenges with American-Italian restaurants is the fact that they don't really know authentic Italian food. So, they offer off-shoots of it, that they misspell, mis-pronounce and most importantly, can't cook.

I ordered a Caesar spinach salad. I would normally ask for the dressing on the side, as most cooks drown your salad in dressing. The word "subtle" isn't in their vocabulary. In general, they believe more is better. So, I started with spinach drowning in dressing.
Then I specifically asked if the linguine with clam sauce was made with fresh clams in the shells? She said "yes." What was delivered was a huge bowl of overcooked (pre-cooked pasta) with canned clams. It was terrible.

I just want to tell these folks to buy a cookbook. It's really not complicated. Just follow the recipe and you'll get it right. Like most American restaurants, the portions are much too big. And we wonder why we have an obesity epidemic?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2015

Service was fantastic. Shawn was great. Food was delicious. Appetizers, main course and dessert were all terrific. Anthony and Jody are great. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2015

This was the best Italian food I have had in a long time in Georgia The "gravy ". was delicious and the chicken Parmesan was so good I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2015

Having never been to a truly authentic Italian restaurant before, this place blew my mind! The food was amazing and the staff are incredibly nice and helpful! You cannot miss out on this truly amazing restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2015

The food was excellent. The service was fantastic. My husband and Ioved it. We found our new date night spot!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

We chose this Restraint because we waited a bit too long for our original choice. WSe were presently surprised! The Veal Marshall was excellent! The Lazy Lasagna pasta was a little mushy; but the flavors were good. My wife and I think we will take our daughter for a night out to Costa Nostra. We will probably wait until it's light out night; because, it was a bit hard to find....DO NOT USE MAPQUEST!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2015

My fair rating is only because we didn't stay to eat.

We went to Cosa for Valentines day and wasn't told about the Prefixed Menu. I chose this restaurant because I really wanted pasta. Unfortunately, that was not on the menu. It would've been nice when I spoke with the woman who wanted to confirm my reservation tell me about the menu. We will go back and try it again when there isn't a holiday to celebrate. Believe or not Yellow Fin gave me my Italian fix on Valentine's Day.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

Our dinner was excellent. The appetizer for the Valentine dinner was disappointing however. It consisted of 4 medium shrimp for my husband and me to share.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2015

This is our spot

Do not go there for a salad. ( Lettuce , onion ) Our first experience was better than this one. Our waiter was over worked and forgot the smallest things like drinks. Besides a screaming baby placed beside us on valentines day it was just ok.

Don't get fancy on the menu. Spaghetti and loose the salad that comes with the meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2015

Had a great dinner on a Saturday night. We had 6 and were 40 minutes late but the team at Cosa Nostra took care of everything and got us right to a table when all were there. One of the better Italian dinners I have had in a while and it was very comfortable, everyone was friendly and helpful. Some really interesting wines by the glass at very reasonable prices as were all the food items. Will definitely be back when we are in Gainesville again

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2015

Been wanting to go for dinner, not sure why I didn't go before. Not disappointed. The food was good, seated in a booth near the bar and was happy it was a quiet corner. Would like to see some of the pasta dishes not "pre-prepared" as I wanted less 'gravy', but could not be accomodated. It was tasty, but my preference is light on the sauce.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3