About Corner Kitchen

3 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Tucked into a quiet corner of Biltmore Village is one of Richard Sharp Smith's original Tudor Style cottages, and one of Asheville's most surprising restaurants. Chef Joe Scully brings years of culinary experience to bear in his special North Carolina take on Pan-American cuisine (he calls it "Caromerican"), while host Kevin Westmoreland makes you feel as welcome as an old friend at breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Dine in the sunny “Side Porch”, where tables cluster around a generous bar, or in one of the cozy fireplace rooms - upstairs or down. When the weather's right, relax on the Patio and take in the singular beauty of Historic Biltmore Village. If you are looking for the perfect spot for your next meeting, luncheon or other group function, call or email and make arrangements for an unforgettably great special event.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
All Soul's Crescent

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 274-2439

Website:
http://www.thecornerkitchen.com/

Catering:
We can cater anything from a casual BBQ picnic to a four-course French dinner at your home. Each event is designed for you.

Parking Details:
During the day, parking is available on-street throughout Biltmore Village, with walks of no more than 1.5 blocks. At night, there is plentiful parking on all streets adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Joe Scully

Private Party Facilities:
We can handle up to 30 guests in our upstairs rooms with advance notice.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ck Ginger Ale
Mocha Stout Beef Brisket Sandwich
Fried Oyster Salad
Brunch Steak And Eggs
Cream Cheese Scrambler
Mimosa
Au Courant Steak Frites
Grilled Hanger Steak
Chicken Salad
Mushroom-dusted Dry Pack Scallops
Crab Salad and Cucumber
Biscuit "Bennies"
Corned Beef Hash
Fried Green Tomato An
Black Russian Cocktail
Club Sandwich With Joe's Chips
Village Green Salad Of Select Field Greens With Spiced Nuts, Pickled Onions And Asparagus
Reuben Sandwich
Waffle
Breakfast Salad
grlled hanger steak
Teriyaki Glazed Filet
Sesame Orange Crispy Tofu
Baby Arugula Salad
Asparagus with Pickled Onion
Meatloaf
Spicy Bloody Mary
Cream Cheese Scrambler W/ Smoked Salmon
Ginger Gin Cocktail
Smoke Roasted Pork Belly With Mustard Greens, Chive Corn Pudding And Pickled Ramps
Housemade Ginger Ale
Coreal Fried Oysters
Meatloaf & Collards W/Cheese Grits
Homemade Bloody Mary's
Bread Pudding
all souls breakfast
Pork Chops With Lemon Potatoes
Feta Potato Salad
Chipotle Pineapple BBQ Chicken
Moonshine Appletini Cocktail
Wild Mushroom Strudel Squash Pasta With Walnut Sage Sauce
Wahoo

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Corner Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
6 More
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville
Best Value
Asheville
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (254)
neighborhood gem (246)
great for lunch (163)
See All
special occasion (162)
great for brunch (147)
great for outdoor dining (138)
romantic (67)
good for groups (56)
kid-friendly (45)
notable wine list (39)
hot spot (34)
scenic view (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great and the staff was excelle ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined a day ago

Food was great and the staff was excellent. The entrees were cooked perfectly and each ingredient fed into the overall dish. We also had the soufflé for dessert and it was amazing as well. Will definitely be back when we come to Asheville again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, superb service and reasonabl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, superb service and reasonable prices. Have eaten here many times and never a disappointment. Be sure to make reservations as they fill-up quickly! Located in Asheville's charming Biltmore Village.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We try to always make dinner reservation ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We try to always make dinner reservations at The Corner Kitchen whenever we are in Asheville. We have recommended it to several of our friends and have taken some of them there with us. The food is absolutely delicious. Even if you don't know what you are eating...it is still delicious. Wine collection is varied and a good assortment. We also like the idea that the chef sends out a little taster he is trying out. Always yummy! Wait staff is fantastic and friendly. I don't think you need to change a thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish we could remember our waitress' nam ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wish we could remember our waitress' name. she was a petite, energetic, knowledgeable, helpful and a great waitress!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Have always loved this location. It is a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Have always loved this location. It is a one of a kind, historic place (one of the original houses in Biltmore Village) and the food at Corner Kitchen is delicious. I have met my friends there for both an early breakfast and also lunch, and both times it was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We were lucky to get outdoor table, whic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were lucky to get outdoor table, which though patio was small, it was quite charming and comfortable, even in the mid-day summer heat. The service was casually attentive (very good) and food delicious. Recommend Joe's chips with blue cheese dressing and the fresh salmon patties.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is truly a gem! Beautiful restauran ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This is truly a gem! Beautiful restaurant and great menu. Also, I have a severe gluten allergy and our server was over the top, extremely helpful with great dinner choices that could be made gluten free! It was our last night of vacation and what a great choice. A lovely restaurant with seating upstairs as well as downstairs.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch on two prior oc ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch on two prior occasions and anticipated a great dinner.

Although the dinner was okay, it was not exceptional as hyped. The taste, presentation, and ingenuity of food and service were all average.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

As always, Corner Kitchen was a great pl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As always, Corner Kitchen was a great place to bring out-of-towners visiting Asheville - the food was delicious and we got to see the beautiful shops of Biltmore Village after lunch. We made reservations so we waited less than 5 minutes on the outdoor porch. Full bar so we got to enjoy an afternoon cocktail - highly recommend Corner Kitchen!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was expecting a lot more from them for ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was expecting a lot more from them for brunch. I always hear great things but every time I go its ok. A little stuffy crowd. Hostess and other staff very friendly. Waitress a bit short and not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very disappointing. We all ordered diffe ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very disappointing. We all ordered different dishes and they all were sub standard. The duck was tough, the chicken dried out and the sauce on my stir fried vegetables was horrible and overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been coming to the restaurant fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been coming to the restaurant for few years. It never dissappoints. This time our dinner was simply delicious. Heirloom tomatos and mozzarella were very flavorful. The chicken was cooked to perfection. But the highlight was the chocolate mousse. It was divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had dinner reservations on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife and I had dinner reservations on a Friday evening. Our first time dining and for sure our last. We both started out with the soup of day - crab/corn chowder; taste was good however the temperature was just warm and no side cracker or bread. Sure there is always the option to send it back to stick it in a microwave but seriously it's soup - someone in the line should have tested it for temperature.

Next we shared the tomato/mozzarella appetizer or what most call Caprese Salad. It was done well but overpriced at $12 as there were three slices tomato and two slices of cheese.

My wife's entree was the striped sea bass: size was small even for her.

I had the strip steak. It was cooked as ordered - medium/rare. The problem was it is served in a bowl which makes slicing the meat fairly awkward. The vegetable & potato were plain and laid in the bottom of the bowl. Not sure why they chose the bowl.

So with no drinks and the above the bill was $88. We both felt that the price was way beyond the level of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved it... Good food, good service, q ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved it... Good food, good service, quaint and affordable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Every time we go to Asheville we eat at ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Every time we go to Asheville we eat at Corner Kitchen. It is the best restaurant in Asheville.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Both of our entrées were delicious, as w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Both of our entrées were delicious, as were our cocktails. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Totally wonderful. Lynell was a great wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Totally wonderful. Lynell was a great waitress. Food was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of our favorite restaurants in Ashev ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

one of our favorite restaurants in Asheville...never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quiet setting outside by waterfall. They ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Quiet setting outside by waterfall. They took last minute reservation. It was very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

CK used to be our neighborhood spot, the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

CK used to be our neighborhood spot, then, years ago, it got "discovered" and had a hard time keeping up the quality of service and food. We opted out for a while, but recently returned. Now it seems to be not so busy, and our last half dozen meals have been as good as any restaurant you can find anywhere. Many local products, waitstaff that is intelligent, friendly and familiar with the menu and wine list. We had a crab meat cocktail served with "cocktail sauce sorbet" which was stunningly beautiful and a perfect spicy beginning. Our entrees, a thick piece of swordfish were perfectly prepared (that is a difficult fish to get done, but not dry) and the Israeli cos-cous salad could not not have been more perfect for a hot summer night. We skipped desert - but from previous meals we know they are all delicious - esp. the pear dark chocolate cake with peppermint stick ice cream. Don't tell everyone - but try the Corner Kitchen - it is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. The restaurant has a very ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good. The restaurant has a very unique feel to it. Had a reservation for 1130 was sat at 1140 ish so that wasn't too bad. Would have preferred a table that wasn't by the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food we selected was absolutely amaz ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food we selected was absolutely amazing. Very creative without being overly done. The unusual ingredients blended and did not fight each other. We were able to taste the experience the chef had mind. Perfectly done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. It's quaint and un ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic experience. It's quaint and unassuming but the service and food were outstanding. We can't wait to go back! From the appetizer to the dessert - we had it all - no complaints. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and recommended one that was perfect. I had the trout and my husband had the steak. Yum yum yum!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The restaurant i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was delicious. The restaurant itself could use an update/refresh. It was very warm inside. But the food was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food.......solid service..... ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food.......solid service......parking is tough but well worth the effort

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful dinning experience. E ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a wonderful dinning experience. Every plate we had, from the fried oysters to the min dishes to the soufflé of the day, was full of delightful flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a wonderful experien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My family and I had a wonderful experience at Corner Kitchen. Great ambiance and service. The food was just as great as I expected - we had the dark stout beef brisket, fried chicken sandwich, and the burger. All were terrific. We tried dessert as well - white chocolate bread pudding (most frequently ordered), fudge cake/brownie with peppermint ice cream, and the watermelon prosecco sorbet (amazing and refreshing!). Everything exceeded our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We have been to Corner Kitchen previousl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have been to Corner Kitchen previously and always enjoy it, usually for special occasions. We did make a reservation (and our name was right at the top of the list when we arrived would strongly recommend that). The parlor was closed and due to inclement weather, the patio seating was also closed, but we were seated promptly.

The menu was a little heavy on the seafood side this night. I did order their standby, pecan crusted trout. It was very good. My wife ordered a strip steak, and it was also very good. The sides for both were complementary and quite good. I like the fact that they buy local and do some farm-to-table type stuff.

Key lime pie with gingerbread crust was also very good, and service was excellent.

It is pricier than we spend on a typical meal, but it is always a nice treat, and there is typically a crowd outside waiting, so that is most often a sign of a great location.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Every visit to Corner Kitchen is great! ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Every visit to Corner Kitchen is great! The service and the food are incredible and the very unique menu offers something for every taste imaginable!! What a nice place to have in my own neighborhood for any meal and also a "Must visit" for any of my folks coming in for a visit. I have never been disappointed there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was pretty good but service was lac ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was pretty good but service was lacking. Felt like there was no manager or anyone in charge, just a handful of waiters and waitresses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Very special place, the menu is spectacu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very special place, the menu is spectacular and the food magnificent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for lunch and they ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a reservation for lunch and they seated us immediately. Husband ordered bloody mary and said it was the best part of his meal.

He ordered the reuben sandwich...supposedly something they are known for...and half of the sandwich was fat and gristle. He left it on the plate and the waiter did not inquire or comment aa to how was the meal or the obvious fat on the plate.

I had the fried chicken sandwich with pimento cheese. Chicken was overcooked. Pimento cheese was good. I kept thinking that chic-fil-a should add pumento cheese to their menu. And i wish i had eaten lunch at Chic-fil-a instead of here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Good breakfast local for traditional ful ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good breakfast local for traditional full breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Maybe it was the fact that it was a holi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Maybe it was the fact that it was a holiday- July 4. Maybe it was that they had just had a flood in a part of the restaurant and were preoccupied. Maybe it was something else, but all aspects of our experience were just fair. - and though fairly priced, they weren't giving the food away. We had the sense we were annoying them by being there, and they just wanted to go home. As much a metaphor for the evening as a real issue, the owner was right there as we left and did not even offer a "thank you for coming". This was not our first visit to Corner Kirchen. It will be a long time before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We had a wonderful meal at lunch, with q ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at lunch, with quick friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very average experience, way over rated, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

very average experience, way over rated, there are so many other better options in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

As always, did not disappoint. We arriv ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, did not disappoint. We arrived 15 minutes early, and were seated right away in the main dining room. They were out of the scallops that I wanted at 7:30 on a Sunday night, but it was a holiday weekend. We ordered the swordfish, which was excellent - and the polenta cake was delish. Our son-in-law's steak was done perfectly, I've never ordered steak here so can't speak myself. Our daughter ordered the pork chop special, which was delicious, however her dinner was lukewarm. Our only complaint. They were busy over July 4 weekend so we didn't send it back to the kitchen. Calamari and spring roll appetizers were great. Still one of our favorites in Asheville.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is in a historic old bui ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant is in a historic old building in the upscale shopping area known as Biltmore Village. Service was excellent and the food was very good. Would have rated it excellent, but the Asian tofu dish I ordered was loaded with salt ... very flavorful, but way too salty. The prices were somewhat high for the amount of food, but overall, we were pleased with the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here twice for dinner and twice f ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We ate here twice for dinner and twice for breakfast with and without friends. The food was delicious every time. We were visiting Asheville but had lived here 12 years ago. The Corner Kitchen was very good then and still is a very nice restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gazpacho way too strong. Calamari really ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Gazpacho way too strong. Calamari really bad. Fish was great. Waiter very knowledgeable on product. But he had a 13 top and stopped by whenever...not cool. Key lime pie was legit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.