About Corner Kitchen

3 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Tucked into a quiet corner of Biltmore Village is one of Richard Sharp Smith's original Tudor Style cottages, and one of Asheville's most surprising restaurants. Chef Joe Scully brings years of culinary experience to bear in his special North Carolina take on Pan-American cuisine (he calls it "Caromerican"), while host Kevin Westmoreland makes you feel as welcome as an old friend at breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Dine in the sunny “Side Porch”, where tables cluster around a generous bar, or in one of the cozy fireplace rooms - upstairs or down. When the weather's right, relax on the Patio and take in the singular beauty of Historic Biltmore Village. If you are looking for the perfect spot for your next meeting, luncheon or other group function, call or email and make arrangements for an unforgettably great special event.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
All Soul's Crescent

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 274-2439

Website:
http://www.thecornerkitchen.com/

Catering:
We can cater anything from a casual BBQ picnic to a four-course French dinner at your home. Each event is designed for you.

Parking Details:
During the day, parking is available on-street throughout Biltmore Village, with walks of no more than 1.5 blocks. At night, there is plentiful parking on all streets adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Joe Scully

Private Party Facilities:
We can handle up to 30 guests in our upstairs rooms with advance notice.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Corner Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
6 More
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville
Great for Lunch
Asheville
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (222)
neighborhood gem (213)
great for lunch (153)
See All
great for brunch (139)
special occasion (134)
great for outdoor dining (88)
romantic (70)
good for groups (61)
kid-friendly (39)
notable wine list (38)
hot spot (29)
scenic view (10)
 (10)
late-night find (9)
 (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
 (5)
 (5)
 (4)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely lunch! Service was impeccable, t ...

Dined 2 days ago

Lovely lunch! Service was impeccable, the southern Cobb salad and white chocolate bread pudding so incredibly good! Be sure to make reservations.

food5
ambience5
service5

A must go to for breakfast while in Ashe ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

A must go to for breakfast while in Asheville!

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinnr was great at the Corner Kitchen. W ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Dinnr was great at the Corner Kitchen. We enjoyed the food and service and recommend it for everyone. Best for groups of two or four since place is small and quaint.

food5
ambience5
service5

We eat here 3-4 times a month for the la ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We eat here 3-4 times a month for the last 3 years. Always great in every way!

food5
ambience5
service5

Just terrific. Every time.

Dined 3 days ago

Just terrific. Every time.

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in a Biltmore Village

Dined 4 days ago

This is excellent restaurant that we frequent every time were Asheville

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it.

Dined 5 days ago

As usual I had a terrific lunch . Just about everything on the menu is excellent though I really love the chicken salad for this meal. My friend had the special which was fish and chips and I gather she enjoyed it as well. For dinner do have the soufflé!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Popular!! Nice ambiance!

Dined 5 days ago

Service good!! Did not like paying for bread!! Plus, bread assortment not worth money! Steak ($34.00), tough!! Disappointing Good wine selection. Chowder & Scallops very good

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience at Corner Kitchen!

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Took a visiting friend for dinner and they loved it. Never a bad meal or experience! I'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently delicious with a gourmet tw ...

Dined 7 days ago

Consistently delicious with a gourmet twist. Casual atmosphere, nice outdoor patio. Try "Joe's Chips" as an indulgent treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very well prepared and deliciou ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Food was very well prepared and delicious! Great serving size and healthy sides.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Waiter a wise guy who was a little ov ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Waiter a wise guy who was a little over the top

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always eat breakfast at least once at ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We always eat breakfast at least once at The Corner Kitchen when we are in Asheville. Great food, attentive service and we have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointed after reading rave reviews...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was okay but nothing unique or exciting. Not terribly flavorful, but ok. The crab corn chowder was made of frozen corn, and no flavor or sight of crab it in. For the price and after reading reviews, we expected more and were disappointed. Service was so-so...took a long time to get a 2nd beverage. And they didn't seem overly busy the evening we dined there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The Corner Kitchen is an Asheville institution, beloved by locals, tourists and Presidents and First Ladies. Menu changes daily with fresh ingredients always. Reasonably priced, always need reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and service! Our guest really enjoyed the corned beef hash.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very well prepared and the serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was very well prepared and the service was excellent. Our complaint is that the majority of the food was fried when it didn't need to be. We are from Colorado and I guess we are used to a more healthy preparation. For example, the calamari was easily 1/3 deep fried bread crumbs with actually took away from the flavor. Not to be too negative it was a pleasant experience and we would go again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good dining outside of downtown Ashevill ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good dining outside of downtown Asheville. On street parking was surprisingly easy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very quaint old house restored into a re ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very quaint old house restored into a restaurant in the Biltmore Village. The food and the service was outstanding. Fried Oyster appetizer was 10+. The trout was 10+++ melt in your mouth good. Good craft beer selection with a nice wine list . We enjoyed outstanding food at an exceptional value. Will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food. Great service. The real de ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Awesome food. Great service. The real deal.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

Dined on May 20, 2016

I have had lunch there many times and always good. Had the special fish and chips.Not the greatest. To much batter for the delicate fish.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast at The Corner Kitchen

Dined on May 20, 2016

There is no better way to start your morning in beautiful Asheville, NC, than at The Corner Kitchen in historic Biltmore Village. Simply can't be beat any time of the year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic staff and food.

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Fantastic staff and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third time at the restaurant ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This is our third time at the restaurant. Each time we enjoy it more and more. Wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting the Biltmore and had di ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We were visiting the Biltmore and had dinner twice and just dessert one night, fantastic experience each time. Special food and special people, thanks for adding to our trip!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Corner Kitchen was highly recommended by ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Corner Kitchen was highly recommended by a friend. We were pleased!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

I generally love the food at Corner Kitc ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I generally love the food at Corner Kitchen, so I was surprised when the hamburger I ordered was so flavorless. Though cooked to medium done-ness, as ordered, the meat was dry. The garnishes were lovely and the fries nicely crisp. My brunch companions had no complaints about their orders, and the service was, as always, great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to celebrate special occasions

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great dinner and food for a date night or special occasion. Pretty reasonable for the quality of food, would highly recommend and go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food, humorous waiter, great c ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful food, humorous waiter, great cozy atmosphere

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Creative cuisine with ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent meal. Creative cuisine with healthy options too! Accommodated my dietary restrictions with no hesitation.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat on the patio and it was a beautif ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We sat on the patio and it was a beautiful day and a really good meal. I've never been disappointed at Corner Kitchen

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The selection and food were very good. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The selection and food were very good. We had seats in a tight corner which made getting up to greet other friends in the restaurant awkward. Service was good. Two people at our table asked for additional tartar sauce to go with their fish and chips. It never came. I asked for more water with lime, and the water eventually did come, but the lime didn't. Corner Kitchen is a good lunch choice. While parking is always a problem, once you are seated you can forget about that hassle and concentrate on sharing good food with friends. The restaurant does not pretend to be some fancy expensive place. It is just good food, well prepared, and a friendly atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great lunch as always

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was the best club sandwich I can ever remember having. Server very kind and patient while I waited for a friend who had forgotten and never showed. Joe's chips are the best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our fourth visit to Corner Kitc ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Corner Kitchen, and our first lunch. Although several family members love it "whenever," my husband and I have decided the busy CK staff do better with lunch than they do with dinner. (Speaking of staff: Do not expect old-time Southern charm here. Polite enough, they are also busy and brisk. Desk staff sometimes are scraping the underside of "polite.") Food is fresh and well-prepared, if a little trendy. Portions are appropriate. Menu is smaller than some in Asheville. Because it is in a house built for workers at Vanderbilt's estate, rooms are small and seating is cozy. hence, noise levels can be significant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very disappointing. Tasted like cafeteri ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Very disappointing. Tasted like cafeteria food. I got the tuna croissant. Tuna was fresh, average, a good amount, nothing special; the croissant though, was not a real, fresh croissant, rather those fake soft bread things you get bagged up by the hundreds for schools. Bit disturbing. Friend got the club sandwich, she ate only half, and said not a word, eating slower and slower. We were expecting more after all the big "hoo haw" about Corner Kitchen. Can't believe people keep going there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service.

Dined on May 10, 2016

It was fabulous!!! We were a group of six from Atlanta. Definitely first class all the way!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

Frenetic servers

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was fine but the servers were in such a rush that it was difficult to relax and enjoy the food. Wait staff should be efficient but they should not be under so much pressure that they are almost running.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our trout entree was fabulous! We had a ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our trout entree was fabulous! We had a lovely dinner and will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love every minute. We had a great girls ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Love every minute. We had a great girls night!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.