About Corner Kitchen

3 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Tucked into a quiet corner of Biltmore Village is one of Richard Sharp Smith's original Tudor Style cottages, and one of Asheville's most surprising restaurants. Chef Joe Scully brings years of culinary experience to bear in his special North Carolina take on Pan-American cuisine (he calls it "Caromerican"), while host Kevin Westmoreland makes you feel as welcome as an old friend at breakfast, lunch or dinner.


Dine in the sunny “Side Porch”, where tables cluster around a generous bar, or in one of the cozy fireplace rooms - upstairs or down. When the weather's right, relax on the Patio and take in the singular beauty of Historic Biltmore Village. If you are looking for the perfect spot for your next meeting, luncheon or other group function, call or email and make arrangements for an unforgettably great special event.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
All Soul's Crescent

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 274-2439

Website:
http://www.thecornerkitchen.com/

Catering:
We can cater, via Corner Kitchen Catering at 828-575-2819, anything from a casual BBQ picnic to a four-course French dinner at your home. Each event is designed for you.

Parking Details:
During the day, parking is available on-street throughout Biltmore Village, with walks of no more than 1.5 blocks. At night, there is plentiful parking on all streets adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Joe Scully

Private Party Facilities:
We can handle up to 30 guests in our upstairs rooms with advance notice.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Dusted Scallops
Carolina Dog
Ck Ginger Ale
Mocha Stout Beef Brisket Sandwich
Wildberry Soufflé
Fried Bologna Melt Sandwich
Fried Oyster Salad
Brunch Steak And Eggs
Cream Cheese Scrambler
Mimosa
Au Courant Steak Frites
Grilled Hanger Steak
Chicken Salad
Crab Salad and Cucumber
Mushroom-dusted Dry Pack Scallops
Biscuit "Bennies"
Corned Beef Hash
Fried Green Tomato An
Black Russian Cocktail
Club Sandwich With Joe's Chips
Village Green Salad Of Select Field Greens With Spiced Nuts, Pickled Onions And Asparagus
Reuben Sandwich
Waffle
Breakfast Salad
grlled hanger steak
Baby Arugula Salad
Meatloaf
Asparagus with Pickled Onion
Sesame Orange Crispy Tofu
Teriyaki Glazed Filet
Spicy Bloody Mary
Cream Cheese Scrambler W/ Smoked Salmon
Ginger Gin Cocktail
Smoke Roasted Pork Belly With Mustard Greens, Chive Corn Pudding And Pickled Ramps
Housemade Ginger Ale
Coreal Fried Oysters
Meatloaf & Collards W/Cheese Grits
Bread Pudding
all souls breakfast
Homemade Bloody Mary's
Feta Potato Salad
Pork Chops With Lemon Potatoes
Moonshine Appletini Cocktail
Wild Mushroom Strudel Squash Pasta With Walnut Sage Sauce
Chipotle Pineapple BBQ Chicken
Wahoo

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Corner Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville / Western North Carolina
American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
6 More
Most Booked
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville
Outdoor Dining
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Neighborhood Gem (196)
Fit for Foodies (188)
Special Occasion (145)
See All
Great for Lunch (138)
Great for Brunch (123)
Great for Outdoor Dining (120)
Romantic (56)
Good for Groups (42)
Hot Spot (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Casual (33)
Kid-friendly (32)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Comfort Food (25)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Historic (19)
Business Meals (16)
Healthy (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Authentic (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (14)
Scenic View (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Family Style (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice, warm place and imaginative gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice, warm place and imaginative great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Was slightly disappointed with Corner Ki ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was slightly disappointed with Corner Kitchen after reading reviews. Had hoped for more local, farm-fresh ingredients and really tasty cuisine. Overall, the food was mediocre, lacking any really memorable flavor. The outdoor patio seating is lovely and provided a nice place to meet friends for brunch. However, based on the quality of the food, I think we'll try some place else next time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

It was outstanding. The food was the bes ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was outstanding. The food was the best I have had anywhere. The waiter was extremely nice and very familiar with the menu and kept our glasses filled.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the very limited selecti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointed in the very limited selection for their Restaurant Week menu. Puny. Ordinarily I have always been pleased with the Corner Kitchen - this time NOT so much.

Will try again but more so for breakfast or lunch - dissatisfied with this visit. Friends who accompanied us felt the same.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

comfortable atmosphere reservations a mu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

comfortable atmosphere

reservations a must

roast half chicken was delicious

do not miss the chocolate mousse cake with raspberries

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious! Customer s ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always delicious! Customer service always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had today's special of fried chicken ove ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had today's special of fried chicken over Vietnamese noodles. It was excellent. Service was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always excellent. The servic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food is always excellent. The service was very good also. We sat outside and the atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time with great food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had a wonderful time with great food and service. Easy to find and park at this location. Our server gave us perfect suggestions and we really enjoyed a relaxed fun evening.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was superb! Both the man coordin ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service was superb! Both the man coordinating seating/reservations and the waitress were helpful, cheerful and patient during a busy lunch time. We needed to change reservation time at the last moment and it was very graciously handled. My companion has a recent hip replacement and the host was quick to suggest a downstairs table for us - nice to have that happen in such a smooth way. Food was its usual quality except for our fried oysters. They did not have the hint of heat and spiciness they typically do...plenty of crunch, but little taste. Hope that was just an oversight, as I have said for several years that Corner Kitchen has some of the finest fried oysters around. Corner Kitchen is a good restaurant choice for any meal!

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Went during Historic Biltmore Village Re ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went during Historic Biltmore Village Restaurant Week. They only had one selection. Therefore tried their regular menu. Food was just fair. We have been here before and were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The food is excellent--the Boston Fried ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is excellent--the Boston Fried Chicken is my favorite, with wonderful collard greens [which I have never liked before] and cheese grits that are very good. We do this on occasion for Sunday brunch, but get a reservation...it will save the 45 minute to 90 minute wait. Very close to Biltmore House and worth the 60+ mile drive that it takes for us to get there.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found Corner Kitchen as a recommended ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I found Corner Kitchen as a recommended spot online and decided to reserve a place for us the following morning for Sunday brunch. We showed up at 11:00am for our reservation and were seated immediately on the sun porch (we were somewhat anxious about timing as we were headed out for a wedding right after the meal). Corner Kitchen provided excellent service, ambiance and the food was delicious! It was a great experience and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family visiting the area like we were!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a beautiful restaurant in every ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

this is a beautiful restaurant in every way. they are friendly, the food is creatively cooked and served, I just love it. they are well priced and very very yummy!

Tags: Wood Oven, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Organic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had gone to downtown Asheville and it ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had gone to downtown Asheville and it was a tourist zoo. Loud, obnoxious and tourist junk food. We left as fast as we could and found The Corner Kitchen on Trip Advisor. What a find. It was tasteful, quiet and had great food. Plus our waiter was great. He had informed suggestions and was attentive but not obtrusive.

My trout was not overly season and was well prepared. My wife had a delicious arugula salad and the julienne salmon. It was all just first rate. We'll be back next time we're in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for lunch. Pretty setting in an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went for lunch. Pretty setting in an old house. Service was outstanding. The food was excellent. We had the pork belly banh mi and reuben. Many other things we'd like to return to sample as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Corner Kitchen is one of our Asheville f ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Corner Kitchen is one of our Asheville favorites. It's one we recommend to out of town guests. Always good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious in a cozy, warm setting ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always delicious in a cozy, warm setting in delightful Biltmore Village.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our "last night" dinner of our ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was our "last night" dinner of our adult family visit to Asheville. Nice atmosphere & the staff was very attentive & helpful. Lots of Southern hospitality. The appetizers were the best!! The table split Smoked Salmon Julienne, Fried Oysters, & Baked Brie. OH MY .....all were delicious. Two people had Vege Plates, I had the shrimp & grits & we were very happy. I will say that my husband had the pork chop & I'm afraid it was a little overcooked, hince tough (nice flavor but chewy) We also split a couple of desserts....the Vanilla Bread pudding cake w/ice cream & the Chocolate Mousse Cake. OUTSTANDING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I are locals and have eat ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My husband and I are locals and have eaten at most of the restaurants in Asheville. Corner Kitchen is our favorite. We always have an awesome meal and the servers are great. Best restaurant in Asheville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oyster salad was not as good as prev ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The oyster salad was not as good as previously & the hamburger ordered by our guest medium rare was charred & well done. The Reubens were very good & service was great, as always.

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Historic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I love visiting the Corner Kitchen for b ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I love visiting the Corner Kitchen for breakfast or Sunday brunch. Food was delicious and served quickly. And, although the portions seem to shrink over time, it's still a favorite in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and fun home inspired atm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food and fun home inspired atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made dinner reservation from reading a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I made dinner reservation from reading all these great recommendations from TripAdvisor and Yelp. The restaurant was quaint and quality of food was great but definitely small portion and overpriced in my opinion. The menu selection was mainly fish, was only one other choice for chicken, pork or beef. Unfortunately, I wasn't excited of any of the other three non-fish choices and they didn't offer special of the day. The reason I didn't want to order another fish entrée because my boyfriend's dinner choice was fish. I ended up having an appetizer for dinner instead and dinner didn't even come with bread. Bread & butter was part of appetizer menu, I've never seen that at a restaurant being offered on the menu. I didn't think that was appropriate. Unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Loved the Corner Kitchen. The food was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved the Corner Kitchen. The food was great. They change the menu daily so always something new. I like the old house and the location in Biltmore Village is very nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We love going to Corner Kitchen! It is ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We love going to Corner Kitchen! It is one of our favorite breakfast restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The corn and clam chowder is delicious!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The corn and clam chowder is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful - from the soup ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was wonderful - from the soup - the red snapper - the tenderloins cooked perfectly - my mashed potatoes - husband potatoes - flavorful - nice aroma - I am not usually a "fish" person but the red snapper was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great anniversary dinner! Food was fa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A great anniversary dinner! Food was fabulous. Our waiter, Stuart, was excellent , yet not overbearing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good, the wine perfect and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was good, the wine perfect and the service from Rachel was impeccable . The noise level inside seemed high on passing through but outside, barely noticeable. It was a hot day (lunch) and a gentle fan would have been helpful but all in all, a good place that I would recommend and I will eat there again.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The snapper was superb. Very unusual rec ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The snapper was superb. Very unusual recipe. One can count on the food here to be consistently outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter sloshed wine on table with no eff ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Waiter sloshed wine on table with no effort to clean the spill. Two of the entrees were arguably too salty to eat and the garnish on both was totally inedible. Although the manager came over to apologize no recourse at all was offered. This meal was fair at best. Would likely try to find another restaurant in which to dine particularly for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We heard about the Corner Kitchen from f ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We heard about the Corner Kitchen from friends and are so glad we went! The food was great and the outdoor seating was enjoyable -- even at 85 dgrees outside! Lovely place!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate for breakfast. Food was good. Waiter ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Ate for breakfast. Food was good. Waiter was pleasant. Would recommend for breakfast.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great location! Outside se ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great food, great location! Outside seating weather permitting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Corner Kitchen is a delightful, casu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The Corner Kitchen is a delightful, casual restaurant in Biltmore Village. The menu changes daily and the emphasis is on fresh, local fare. Make a reservation...not always an easy restaurant to get into as a "walk up."

Tags: Casual, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a winner!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always a winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good food. I've eaten here ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Consistently good food. I've eaten here for over a decade. The pea salad is a great side and the catfish salad with jicama is surprisingly delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was ok, we had omelette, scrambled ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was ok, we had omelette, scrambled egg & chorizo: eggs dry, sausage greasy. Server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Flexible menu. Permission to make innova ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Flexible menu. Permission to make innovative changes. Attention to detail on the cooking.

A busy place for brunch — need more help to make it possible for wait staff to provide adequate help. But all respond to table needs.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.