About Corner Kitchen

3 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Tucked into a quiet corner of Biltmore Village is one of Richard Sharp Smith's original Tudor Style cottages, and one of Asheville's most surprising restaurants. Chef Joe Scully brings years of culinary experience to bear in his special North Carolina take on Pan-American cuisine (he calls it "Caromerican"), while host Kevin Westmoreland makes you feel as welcome as an old friend at breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Dine in the sunny “Side Porch”, where tables cluster around a generous bar, or in one of the cozy fireplace rooms - upstairs or down. When the weather's right, relax on the Patio and take in the singular beauty of Historic Biltmore Village. If you are looking for the perfect spot for your next meeting, luncheon or other group function, call or email and make arrangements for an unforgettably great special event.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
All Soul's Crescent

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 274-2439

Website:
http://www.thecornerkitchen.com/

Catering:
We can cater anything from a casual BBQ picnic to a four-course French dinner at your home. Each event is designed for you.

Parking Details:
During the day, parking is available on-street throughout Biltmore Village, with walks of no more than 1.5 blocks. At night, there is plentiful parking on all streets adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Joe Scully

Private Party Facilities:
We can handle up to 30 guests in our upstairs rooms with advance notice.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ck Ginger Ale
Mocha Stout Beef Brisket Sandwich
Fried Oyster Salad
Brunch Steak And Eggs
Cream Cheese Scrambler
Mimosa
Au Courant Steak Frites
Grilled Hanger Steak
Chicken Salad
Mushroom-dusted Dry Pack Scallops
Crab Salad and Cucumber
Biscuit "Bennies"
Corned Beef Hash
Fried Green Tomato An
Black Russian Cocktail
Club Sandwich With Joe's Chips
Village Green Salad Of Select Field Greens With Spiced Nuts, Pickled Onions And Asparagus
Reuben Sandwich
Waffle
Breakfast Salad
grlled hanger steak
Teriyaki Glazed Filet
Sesame Orange Crispy Tofu
Baby Arugula Salad
Asparagus with Pickled Onion
Meatloaf
Spicy Bloody Mary
Cream Cheese Scrambler W/ Smoked Salmon
Ginger Gin Cocktail
Smoke Roasted Pork Belly With Mustard Greens, Chive Corn Pudding And Pickled Ramps
Housemade Ginger Ale
Coreal Fried Oysters
Meatloaf & Collards W/Cheese Grits
Homemade Bloody Mary's
Bread Pudding
all souls breakfast
Pork Chops With Lemon Potatoes
Feta Potato Salad
Chipotle Pineapple BBQ Chicken
Moonshine Appletini Cocktail
Wild Mushroom Strudel Squash Pasta With Walnut Sage Sauce
Wahoo

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Corner Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
8 More
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Value
Asheville
Great for Lunch
Asheville
Neighborhood Gem
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (250)
neighborhood gem (235)
great for lunch (161)
See All
special occasion (150)
great for brunch (144)
great for outdoor dining (117)
romantic (69)
good for groups (66)
kid-friendly (47)
notable wine list (37)
hot spot (33)
scenic view (11)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2968 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast spot! Local jam served ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great breakfast spot! Local jam served with biscuits yummmm

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Corner Kitchen was very good. We ha ...

Dined 3 days ago

The Corner Kitchen was very good. We had a reservation but needed to wait on the front porch for our table but it seems that the hostess forgot about us. After 15 minutes, I asked her how long the wait would be and she said she could seat us (but didn't apologize for the lapse or wait). Our waiter recommended the trout which was superb and was very flexible in swapping orzo for more veggies. We liked our meals and our waiter had just the right amount of attentiveness but not obtrusiveness. Overall, we would recommend this as a good find!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great atmosphere and the ...

Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, great atmosphere and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was very good. Inspired food, ...

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was very good. Inspired food, great service, but the noise level. A room full of guests - talking - do not need loud music on top of it. It seems a hard concept to grasp for restaurants. Once the restaurant is filled turn the music down. In times I couldn't hear my own words. Makes a dinner conversation very strenuous. Thanks for reading.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Corner Kitchen is a great find in Ashevi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Corner Kitchen is a great find in Asheville---found it on Open Table 6 months ago & eat there at least once every visit since the find. We have taken newbies 3 times since & they too will always come back...

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

"Village" setting, efficient, friendly s ...

Dined 6 days ago

"Village" setting, efficient, friendly service, and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Smoked salmon/potato crisps appetizer wa ...

Dined 6 days ago

Smoked salmon/potato crisps appetizer was good, calamari appetizer topped with lots of Jalapenos but breading was too thick and tasteless; the highly recommended trout was tasteless and boring, the swordfish was tasty and the pork chop was simple, tender and came over a scant amount of tiny pieces of sweet potatoes. The special order Souffle was a total disappointment; totally tasteless. Our wonderful waiter, Stuart, noticed we weren't eating it and said he would take it off the bill. After dinner, we remembered why we had not been back for so long. The food is very basic and overpriced for what is served. There are many far better restaurants in Asheville.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great and food was excellent ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was great and food was excellent. Make sure you get Joes Chips.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My Husband and I had a wonderful brunch ...

Dined 6 days ago

My Husband and I had a wonderful brunch on Fathers Day! The food, server & environment made it such a nice afternoon for us both!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I have always enjoyed this restaurant, a ...

Dined 7 days ago

I have always enjoyed this restaurant, and, this time found the food and wait service slightly off. I will go back, because this is not the norm for this restaurant. In fact, it has always been a favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was #10 on open table it should be ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was #10 on open table it should be top 3 or #1 in Asheville, North Carolina. It was one of top 5 meals in my lifetime. I've also worked in the business for over 25 years and the people of Asheville are lucky to have such a great establishment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Josh and his team at Corner Kitchen alwa ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Josh and his team at Corner Kitchen always do a fantastic job. We feel like we're being welcomed into a friends home, and they cook us a beautiful, plant-based meal that's colorful, and flavorful. Our server, Jacob was so attentive and friendly. We've been there several times, and consider ourselves "regulars"!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

This is normally one of my favorite plac ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is normally one of my favorite places but on the Saturday before Father's Day my friend's strip steak was of very poor quality. When he finally mentioned it, the owner came to our table and gave us our desserts on the house. My trout, one of their specialties, was excellent as usual. Since we hope that this was an isolated issue, we will be back for another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Delightful evening! While vacationing in ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Delightful evening! While vacationing in North Carolina we discovered this wonderful restaurant. This lovely antique home provides the perfect backdrop for an evening of outstanding food and service. Both my husband and I had the trout which was enjoyable . I hope we get the opportunity to do a second time.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Corner Kitchen is one of our favorite lo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Corner Kitchen is one of our favorite local Asheville restaurants where we often celebrate special occasions and enjoy a frequent lunch or dinner with friends! The selection is always creative and delicious with menu changes/updates that are always seasonal, locally-sourced, and delectable!! It really is a jewel!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Whenever is Asheville we try to go to th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Whenever is Asheville we try to go to the Corner Kitchen. Today, we enjoyed a Saturday brunch and it was wonderful. The seemingly straight forward, uncomplicated offerings did not overwhelm. I ordered the bagel with smoked salmon and a side of bacon. My dining companions all chose different menu items. The service was prompt and efficient while being delightfully (but not too much) friendly. The food was amazing and was composed of excellent well chosen items.....tremendous quality AND quantity. Highly recommend this for breakfast/brunch and eat outside if you can. (quite noisy inside, folks)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The location was very convenient to Bilt ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The location was very convenient to Biltmore Estate. The mountain trout was outstanding and recommended by the waiter. they accommodated my husband's request to substitute an item on the plate. Overall, it was a delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was excellent and the wait staf ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The meal was excellent and the wait staff was friendly and informative. The smoked salmon appetizer was excellent and the trout I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The Village Salad is one of the freshest ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The Village Salad is one of the freshest salads I've ever tasted. The tempeh sandwich was flavorful and fresh tasting. Hands down the best meal I have had in Asheville.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very friendly and helpfull service. The ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very friendly and helpfull service. The food is excellent and the menu changes often. We highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit Corner Kitchen at least once every ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Visit Corner Kitchen at least once every trip to Asheville. The service is good and the food is awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in Ashev ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Asheville. We moved here in 2005 and discovered it shortly thereafter, I believe. If we have visitors in town, or meeting up with old friends, etc., we always suggest the Corner Kitchen. Everything is consistent: food, atmosphere, staff though as with so many places it can get noisy. The good news is that it isn't so noisy as to be unbearable or impossible to converse; I draw the line there. Unfortunately, not the fault of the owners, but people who are clueless regarding "inside voice." We had the Reuben (exceptional), the catfish encrusted with sesame (brilliant), the salmon cakes (wonderful) and the falafel sandwich (unique, fresh, tasty). For dinner, you can't beat the trout and when the pork chops with blueberry catsup is on the menu, it's difficult to decide. Restaurants come and go, fads come and go, this has it all. And, it's no wonder why it was President and Michelle Obama's choice when they visited a few years ago. I don't mind paying a little more for a lunch or dinner if I get my money's worth. So many restaurants charge based on what they think they can get for something that is often mediocre. There are quite a few "trendy" foodie restaurants in Asheville now and many you can't even hear yourself think. And you'll pay twice as much for food half as good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten there before and wear not ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We have eaten there before and wear not disappointed . The foot selection was unusual and tasty Try the Vanderbilt martini. Has cucumber vodka. Service was prompt and just enough

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice everything! Good menu, good s ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Very nice everything! Good menu, good service, good food.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this place on line and liked it ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We found this place on line and liked it so much the first time we returned the following evening. Food was delicious and, since I have Celiac, I very much appreciated their knowledge and adaptability of gluten free food. We had never been to Asheville before and this certainly added to our appreciation of the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Omelettes not up to par! Very little che ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Omelettes not up to par! Very little cheese and vegetables. Cold toast. Had to ask for butter. Potatoes over cooked. Very disappointing!

food5
ambience5
service5

We visit this restaurant every year duri ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We visit this restaurant every year during the summer. The food is always delicious & the service always delightful!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner is always great at the Corner Kit ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner is always great at the Corner Kitchen! The atmosphere is casual but sophisticated, the waitstaff is friendly and professional, the food is consistently delish. I've lived in Asheville for 11 years and have to say that I've probably dined more here than any other restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

service was disappointing for first time ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

service was disappointing for first time at corner kitchen, For some reason trout tasted like they put butter over top of dish even though sauce was on side, salt heavier than usual.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal at Corner Kitchen! ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Always a great meal at Corner Kitchen! Our favorite restaurant in Asheville.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on June 10, 2016

I have visited several times and in all cases, the food is delicious! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visiting Ashville and this re ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

First time visiting Ashville and this restaurant. We dined outside which was quite pleasant as they did have fans so not sure re noise level inside. The food was outstanding! We were told the menu changes every few days based on the fresh local food products available. The dishes were light on heavy sauces which emphasized the fresh produce. Loved our experience here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Always love dining here! Great food & se ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Always love dining here! Great food & service. We'll be back again (and soon).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect from start to finish.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

If you are in Asheville and enjoy dining at places that aren't large chains, then make sure you check this place out. I will suggest that you make reservations as it can and does fill up quickly. The restaurant is located in a house that is over 100 years old so that adds to the charm of the place. I walked in and I was promptly seated at a nice little table near the window looking out over the front of the restaurant. My server, Stewart, came up and I ordered the SC Peach & BBQ glazed pork chop with green beans and jalapeno sweet potato wedges. As I waited I looked around and they did a wonderful job converting this historic home into a charming and cozy restaurant. There are some paintings from local artists on the wall and the place is well lit with natural light and just has a very pleasant and welcoming feel to it. My food was then served nice and hot and it was just delicious. The pork chop was tender, not dry, and the glaze was the perfect mix of sweet and smoky. The potato wedges were excellent although I do wish they had served more of the them. Simply put, a fantastic meal. For dessert I was going to order the souffle, which you need order in advance as it does take 20 minutes to prepare, however this night I was unable to order it due to a broken piece of equipment. Although I was disappointed I ordered the pear chocolate cake with mint flavored ice cream. This was sinful to say the least! The cake was served nice and warm with a rich chocolate sauce and had a subtle hint of pear flavor. The mint ice cream was a nice cool touch and complimented it nicely. From start to finish this was a great experience with great service. If you are looking for a great meal and looking to escape the crowds of downtown Asheville then this place is it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Loved that they had bagel and lox

Dined on June 10, 2016

Loved that they had bagel and lox

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was great..

Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything was perfection !!! Thank you or a delightful lunch!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect 10

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The best place to eat in a town of great restaurants. Always a good choice.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening!

Dined on June 8, 2016

My husband and I ate dinner at Corner Kitchen for our 2nd wedding anniversary, and it was truly a lovely evening! Our server was attentive, friendly, and offered great suggestions for both menu items and cocktails. The food was excellent all around; beautiful presentation, great flavors, and nice portions. And the dessert was amazing! Thank you Corner Kitchen; we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Nice setting ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent food and service! Nice setting, really neat restaurant.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food Served Cold

Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a reservation and was seated upon arriving. Ordered eggs, sausage and tortillas. Tortillas came out hard and sausage and eggs were hard on the top as if under a heat lamp for awhile. When I pointed out to the server, she proceeded to argue with me that they do not have heat lamps instead of fixing the problem. I asked for some more tortillas and just dealt with the cold food. For the price and the hype, I expected better as we made the trip from out of town and had heard good things.

Tags: great for brunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.