About Corner Kitchen

3 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Tucked into a quiet corner of Biltmore Village is one of Richard Sharp Smith's original Tudor Style cottages, and one of Asheville's most surprising restaurants. Chef Joe Scully brings years of culinary experience to bear in his special North Carolina take on Pan-American cuisine (he calls it "Caromerican"), while host Kevin Westmoreland makes you feel as welcome as an old friend at breakfast, lunch or dinner.


Dine in the sunny “Side Porch”, where tables cluster around a generous bar, or in one of the cozy fireplace rooms - upstairs or down. When the weather's right, relax on the Patio and take in the singular beauty of Historic Biltmore Village. If you are looking for the perfect spot for your next meeting, luncheon or other group function, call or email and make arrangements for an unforgettably great special event.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
All Soul's Crescent

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 274-2439

Website:
http://www.thecornerkitchen.com/

Catering:
We can cater, via Corner Kitchen Catering at 828-575-2819, anything from a casual BBQ picnic to a four-course French dinner at your home. Each event is designed for you.

Parking Details:
During the day, parking is available on-street throughout Biltmore Village, with walks of no more than 1.5 blocks. At night, there is plentiful parking on all streets adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Joe Scully

Private Party Facilities:
We can handle up to 30 guests in our upstairs rooms with advance notice.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Dusted Scallops - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Carolina Dog - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Wildberry Soufflé - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Fried Bologna Melt Sandwich - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Ck Ginger Ale - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Mocha Stout Beef Brisket Sandwich - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Brunch Steak And Eggs - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Cream Cheese Scrambler - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Mimosa - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Au Courant Steak Frites - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Fried Oyster Salad - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Grilled Hanger Steak - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Chicken Salad - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Crab Salad and Cucumber - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Mushroom-dusted Dry Pack Scallops - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Biscuit "Bennies" - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Corned Beef Hash - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Fried Green Tomato An - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Black Russian Cocktail - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Club Sandwich With Joe's Chips - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Village Green Salad Of Select Field Greens With Spiced Nuts, Pickled Onions And Asparagus - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Reuben Sandwich - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Waffle - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Breakfast Salad - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
grlled hanger steak - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Baby Arugula Salad - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Meatloaf - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Asparagus with Pickled Onion - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Sesame Orange Crispy Tofu - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Teriyaki Glazed Filet - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Spicy Bloody Mary - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Cream Cheese Scrambler W/ Smoked Salmon - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Ginger Gin Cocktail - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Smoke Roasted Pork Belly With Mustard Greens, Chive Corn Pudding And Pickled Ramps - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Housemade Ginger Ale - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Coreal Fried Oysters - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Meatloaf & Collards W/Cheese Grits - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Bread Pudding - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
all souls breakfast - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Homemade Bloody Mary's - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Feta Potato Salad - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Pork Chops With Lemon Potatoes - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Moonshine Appletini Cocktail  - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Wild Mushroom Strudel Squash Pasta With Walnut Sage Sauce - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Chipotle Pineapple BBQ Chicken - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC
Wahoo - Corner Kitchen, Asheville, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Corner Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Asheville / Western North Carolina
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Neighborhood Gem (105)
Fit for Foodies (90)
Special Occasion (83)
See All
Creative Cuisine (77)
Great for Brunch (74)
Good for a Date (74)
Local Ingredients (71)
Great for Lunch (70)
Casual (70)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Comfort Food (57)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Historic (50)
Cozy (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Healthy (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Romantic (35)
Fun (30)
Authentic (30)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Seasonal (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Family Style (13)
People Watching (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Scenic View (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Organic (8)
Great Beer (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Private Room (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
3266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great stop for brunch on the way to our ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great stop for brunch on the way to our Biltmore tour. Recommended by several friends and was not disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Homey and relaxing. Good brunch good foo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Homey and relaxing. Good brunch good food. Had lox and bagel (bagels are grilled). Cream cheese scrambled eggs were surpriseingly light. Waffle excellent. Potatoes tasty but greasy. Coffee good not special. Service was OK. Excellent value and great for breakfast. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service from Matt. Food was beauti ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service from Matt. Food was beautiful and superb taste. This is our fifth trip here. Will come again the next time in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Our server was ver ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing. Our server was very helpful and friendly but somewhat slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food! We had such a great expe ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food! We had such a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was awesome. Loved his energy

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Waiter was awesome. Loved his energy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I continue to be impressed with the gast ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I continue to be impressed with the gastronomic offerings of Asheville. The Corner Kitchen is right up there with the great restaurant experiences we have had since my introduction to the area in July of this year. Corner Kitchen had great service, outstanding food, and cozy atmosphere. What's not to like?

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our engagement with ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating our engagement with a dinner provided by my fiance's boss. We wanted to choose somewhere new that was also out of our typical price range and our choice was Corner Kitchen because of the high acclaim I had already received. I have a close friend who works there and knows the owner and speaks highly of it all and the buzz was all very accurate! Great food, atmosphere, and service from waitresses and servers. We may go back very soon for a drink and dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great breakfast!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great breakfast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great farm to table restaurant in Biltmo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great farm to table restaurant in Biltmore Village. The prices are a little high but it's only because the quality is also high. It's well worth it!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for four but ended ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a reservation for four but ended up having three out-of-town friends who wanted to join us. We only had to wait a few minutes and they thoughtfully put two tables together for us and made us feel so welcome. The food was delicious and as always the service was impeccable. I love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Open Table for hosting the res ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Thank you Open Table for hosting the reservation service. They were busy so we are glad we had one. Just a caution the restrooms are upstairs. They are all one seaters. Steep stairs in 108 year old home so those with mobility challenges like me, don't wait until the last minute to go.

The staff was very kind when I asked for honey, changed my egg etc Great food & what relief the hashbrowns don't have raw onions. I'm not an onion fan & being in the minority I'm usually offered everything swimming in them.

It was loud so those looking for a quiet place may want to go during a quieter time. No music just loads of people. All the parallel parking was taken so we parked at Wells Fargo & didn't have trouble. .whew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was Stewart. Very professional a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Server was Stewart. Very professional and witty. I had the scallops and they were beyond fantastic!!! Every bite was a sheer delight. Two at our table had the gnocchi plate and it was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dependable dining. Always interesting se ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Dependable dining. Always interesting selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Third time dining here never disappoints ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Third time dining here never disappoints had Stewart as a waiter who was very accomodating had no problem making a vegetarian option for our daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with our f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with our family the morning after Thanksgiving. All eight of us were from out of town so we loved the historic feel from this friendly "local" place. Look forward to visiting again...the grits were the real thing :-)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here for years...and will ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We have eaten here for years...and will continue to come back for years! The location, service and amazing food is something that locals and visitors should all experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience! Courteous ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Courteous waitstaff delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Warm and welcoming with fabulous food! ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Warm and welcoming with fabulous food! Service was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food!!!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious Food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

While all of our meals and experiences i ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

While all of our meals and experiences in Asheville were excellent, our dinner at Corner Kitchen stood out as the best because of the food, service and ambience. It's location near Biltmore Village is a plus - easy parking - and the building feels so cozy! We both enjoyed our pre-dinner cocktails, Eggplant Napoleon, Trout with mashed sweet potatoes which we shared. Because it was my birthday, our server let us pick a dessert - bread pudding, my favorite, was so good we took the rest home and enjoyed the next day warmed up. She also extended military discount to my boyfriend (10 years Army Reserves) which saved us a bit. Highly recommended the Corner Kitchen when in Asheville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been a fan for many years of the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I have been a fan for many years of the Corner Kitchen. One of the reasons has been the mere thought of my favorite sandwich, the portabello mushroom. This past Friday I couldn't believe it when I found out it was taken off the menu. The menu has changed since my last visit and truthfully, nothing really grabbed me as a substitute. I just don't have much of a reason to go back now which makes me sad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful meal and great service! Loved ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful meal and great service! Loved that there were also light options so I didn't go back to work overfull or sleepy. Wonderful, as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our visit, or server was very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We enjoyed our visit, or server was very pleasant, personable and efficient. We sat in the bar area, which is our favorite spot. I had a salad with asparagus, mixed greens, spiced nuts and cranberries. The dressing was excellent, salad was good but I would like some romaine added to the "sticks and twig" greens. I also had the crab corn chowder everyone raves about, I thought it was fine, but average. My husband had shrimp with risotto, it was fine but we found the risotto too cheesy and somewhat over cooked. More like macaroni and cheese, not the sophisticated preparation we've experienced before. We do like the Corner Kitchen and it's location and charm, just think it wasn't over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food as always

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a lovely place in Biltmore Villa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is a lovely place in Biltmore Village. Great atmosphere with the Christmas lights in place on the surrounding buildings. Very charming. We had roast chicken and pork chops. The food was locally sourced and well prepared. I especially enjoyed my crispy brussels sprouts. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our dinners were fabulous. One was a del ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our dinners were fabulous. One was a delicious tile fish on a bed of squash with a Mediterranean sauce and chunks of fresh carrots and garden pea pods in the sauce. Absolutely superb. The other was a traditional paella, also wonderful. Our waiter was gracious, professional and helpful. We went back a couple of days later for breakfast--also excellent. The next time we are in Asheville, we will certainly eat at Corner Kitchen again.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on time for our reservation and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We were on time for our reservation and the restaurant was ready to seat us. Our waitress greeted us quickly, took our drink order, returned shortly with drinks and took our food order. My wife wanted to substitute a vegetable on her plate and that was not a problem. Our salads were excellent, and when we were done our entree arrived. Sadly, we were too full for dessert which I know from past experience is awesome. Our food was excellent and we always enjoy eating here.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for Birthday lunch with frie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great place for Birthday lunch with friend . It can be a little noisy on the porch, but the porch is a fun and bright place to enjoy you meal. Service is always warm and friendly. The food was fresh and presented nicely on the plate. I had the lentil soup that was hearty and with a nice ham flavor . It was just a little to salty for me. My friend and I had two different salads. The salads were fresh and had the perfect amount of dressing. I would go for lunch again. In fact I eat here often an have always had good food and service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't let the name fool you. This is gr ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Don't let the name fool you. This is great food in a relazed atmosphere, not some hokey little lunch spot. The salmon with orzo was the best tasting dish I've had in a long while. We split the fried oyster appetizer which is tasty and I never ever eat oysters and shared the salmon but it was so good we could have each had one. But that left room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous waiter, varied menu, delicious ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fabulous waiter, varied menu, delicious food. Perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Friendly wait-staff! Food was Awesome! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Friendly wait-staff! Food was Awesome! Service GREAT!

 Thank  you!!
Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great! Omelet and Waffle we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was great! Omelet and Waffle were delicious. Courteous wait staff. Be sure to make a reservation. We were seated right away and we were a few minutes earlier than our reservation time. Without the reservation, wait time could have been up to two hours.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Asheville and booked three re ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were in Asheville and booked three restaurants recommended on trip advisor. One was corner kitchen. I was expecting an upscale, foodie's delight place but got a basic, plain as good be food and ambiance. Don't get me wrong the food was good , just not what I was expecting. Supposedly farm to table led me to believe I'd see a lot of creativity on the menu and really well prepared food. My bbq chicken was pretty typical of what I'd find anywhere. The sides of southern string beans were clearly canned string beans overcooked and bland. The corn dish was good but not the exciting southern food I was hoping for. My wife's shrimp was supposed to be spicy but was more on the bland side. The fried oyster appetizer was the best dish of the night. Crispy on the outside and tender inside. Sauce for it was also good. Service was very good and price was pretty typical.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were vacationing in Asheville over Ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were vacationing in Asheville over Veteran's Day weekend and made a reservation at Corner Kitchen based off Yelp reviews. The ambience is nice and suitable to bring our 4 year old. Our server was lacking in personality and wasn't particularly friendly. She was short and to the point throughout our dining experience. The crab corn chowder was delicious. When our meals arrived they were warm so I brought that to the servers attention. They put them in the oven to re-heat. We had the NY strip steak and the Snapper dinner. They were good but didn't blow me away on taste or creativity. For the price and location I had set my expectations higher.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food quality was not what I expected ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food quality was not what I expected from a craft type of kitchen. The Chorizo was burnt and the sausage tasted weird. The eggs were noting to run home about. The grits were overcooked and dry. The best thing about this place was the jam on the table.

I would take the spray can of Freebreeze out of the bathrooms. The gentleman before me had a horrible stomach issue and sprayed the hell out of the place , all over the toilet seat and the floor. I noticed the floor was very slippery and had the take a wad of paper towels to the floor so I wouldn't slip. When I was wiping i noticed the seat had been sprayed so I had to clean it before sitting.

Overall a horrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Make reservations. The food was great an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Make reservations. The food was great and so was the service.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant is probably nice for peop ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The restaurant is probably nice for people that like restaurants or that forte but it wasn't for us, neither is us liked our dishes food was bland and overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

We always enjoy Corner Kitchen. Never di ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We always enjoy Corner Kitchen. Never disappointed! This restaurant has been a favorite for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful lunch! Loved the fresh salmon ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wonderful lunch! Loved the fresh salmon cakes with veggie noodles. Cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.