Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Frogs Leap Public HouseFrogs Leap Public House
(613)
Contemporary American | Waynesville, Asheville
Reserve Now
Harmons' DenHarmons' Den
(3)
American | Waynesville, Asheville
Reserve Now
Balsam Mountain InnBalsam Mountain Inn
(15)
American | Waynesville, Asheville
Reserve Now
435 Grill435 Grill
Reviews Coming Soon
American | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now
Jaime's Creole BrasserieJaime's Creole Brasserie
(139)
Creole | Hendersonville, Flat Rock / Hendersonville
Reserve Now
Canyon KitchenCanyon Kitchen
(421)
American | Highlands / Sapphire, Highlands
Reserve Now
The AdmiralThe Admiral
(1986)
Comfort Food | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now
Roux - Hilton AshevilleRoux - Hilton Asheville
(85)
American | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now
The Bull and BeggarThe Bull and Beggar
(447)
French | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now
Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore EstateCedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate
(808)
American | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now
The JunctionThe Junction
(501)
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now
The Bistro - Biltmore EstateThe Bistro - Biltmore Estate
(955)
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now
The Dining Room - Biltmore EstateThe Dining Room - Biltmore Estate
(1046)
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Reserve Now

About Cork & Cleaver - The Waynesville Inn

176 Country Club Drive
Waynesville, NC 28786
View Larger Map

The Cork & Cleaver Restaurant invites you to dine in a relaxed yet elegant old world atmosphere while enjoying views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a Donald Ross Designed Golf Course. Our Fresh and Regional American Cuisine is served with Southern Hospitality for Friday and Saturday Dinner and Sunday Lunch. Enjoy the area’s hand-cut steaks, fresh local seafood, along with an array of specialties complimented by a great selection of the best wines. Located off South Main Street at the intersection of Country Club Drive and Ninevah just inside the Historic Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Fridays and Saturdays Dinner 430pm - 9pm
Sundays Lunch 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
South Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 456-5988

Website:
http://www.thewaynesvilleinn.com/

Parking Details:
Extensive on site complimentary parking available at the Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
Newest
24 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made for a great special occasion!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

We really enjoyed our dining experience. The wait staff and chef were friendly and attentive. And the food was excellent. We can't wait to return in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

had a wonderful anniversary dinner here. Shrimp Scampi for an appetizer,

Rib eye Steak, roasted potatoes and broccolini, Beef Tenderloin, roasted potatoes and grilled asparagus. Everything was well seasoned and cooked to perfection.

Service was excellent. Waitress and staff was very attentive. Highly recommended. Sara was a very good waitress and we enjoyed on Sunday as well at the Tap House, another restaurant at Waynesville Inn and Golf Resort and Spa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dining at the Cork and Cleaver

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

We have been coming to the Waynesville Inn for thirty years. The dining experience this year in the Cork and Cleaver was one of our most memorable because of the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food. I had a good number of our20+ guests tell me they felt the food this year surpassed the quality of previous years. We were served various items on the menu, and by all indications that I received the food was excellent. The servers were pleasant and very helpful, but the service was slow. Part of that is that our group all arrived at the same time and had not pre-ordered except on Sunday evening..

My only complaint, and it is not serious as the staff took care of the problem, was the fact that our reservation for Sunday evening in the Tap Room downstairs had not been communicated to the Reservation Book. We were not on the book until I happened to mention it to our Sunday lunch server who checked and found no record of our having made a reservation. However, the staff rallied around when we took early orders for the Sunday evening meal, and delivered the order to the kitchen where our meals were delivered in a timely manner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

LOCAL MUST

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

We have been here several times over the past few years and it always is such a pleasant experience from the service; ambiance; view, food and pricing. They have limited days and hours so check before you go. They have something on the menu for everyone. The filet is a favorite but this time we each had fish dinners. We shared a scallop appetizer and a shrimp scampi appetizer. Both very nicely done and presented. Scallops were done just perfectly as was the rather large shrimp in the scampi. Caesar salad was fresh and just enough. My wife had the Mahi special which was grilled to perfection. I had the trout what was just as big as her fish and likewise done to perfection. Could not have asked for a better evening. Thanks Cork and Cleaver

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely outdoor dining

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

We truly enjoyed a lovely dinner served on the covered patio at Cork & Cleaver, overlooking the golf course with a view of the mountains. Our server, Alan made us feel very welcome and provided excellent personable service. The food and drinks were quite good. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went off season on a Tuesday night an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2015

We went off season on a Tuesday night and were the only people in the restaurant all night long. I told my wife I had rented the restaurant just for her but she didn't believe me. Still they could have canceled our reservation but they were fully staffed. Unbelievably good food. Obviously excellent service. Would be glad to go back. I would even wait in line. A+++

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Thanksgiving Buffet

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

Service was good (drink orders and clearing plates). Buffet tables were set up nicely with a good variety. However, some of the food was very disappointing (too salty to eat). Wanted to try before booking for a large Christmas group, but won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Thanksgiving Buffet

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

There was a great variety of food from roast beef to turkey and macaroni and cheese to brussels sprouts and turkey dressing. There were oysters on the half shell, boiled shrimp and a variety of fruits. There was garden salad as well as Caesar's salad. The desserts were varied as well. The best part of my meal was the pecan pie, yummy! Everything else I had was good, but not exceptional. The front part of the restaurant was cold and the service was fine for such a large crowd of folks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good Service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

Staff did a great job when we brought our 97 year old Father for Thanksgiving brunch. They took very good care of us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service: both very good

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

The Cork and Cleaver had a small, but diverse menu. Nothing too pretentious. We both had very nice salads and steaks cooked just as we ordered. A small, but decent wine list too. Our waiter was excellent -- helpful, friendly, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Relax before play

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

Had dinner before a play at Hart Theatre. Food was very good as was the service in a very relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner- wait s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner- wait staff was exuberant ans eager to please. Most of us had the filet and it was very good, as the waitress suggested. We were on vacation so in no hurry to finish and go anywhere. Could add a few desserts choices to the menu, rather than just one. Sitting by the window, the view was great. Cozy, kind of retro feeling to the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

ENJOYED

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2014

We stayed at the inn for 2 nights and ate most of our meals at the inn...the breakfast was buffet style and was very good. Buffet was well stocked and maintained, service was very prompt and friendly. The only thing we would have liked was a different menu selection for the second night instead of the same one from Friday nite,, it was awesome food both nites though, very tasteful, excellent quality and well prepared! will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Nice quiet setting with beautiful view o ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

Nice quiet setting with beautiful view of golf course. Wine list extensive. Steak was not great but all the other food was very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

worst service experienced EVER!!!!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 24, 2014

Our reservation was Saturday 5/24 (Memorial Day Weekend). They had a total of 4 reservations including ours for a grand total of 10 guests. While we were there they had just a couple of walk-ins. Upon arrival just before 7, we waited about 15 minutes before Preston (manager) getter us and got us cocktails. The bartender then showed us to our table. Without dragging this out and detailing the 2:30 we were there I'll just say that the service was horrific. Yes the manager did comp almost the entire meal, but it will be the horrible and inexcusable service that we will remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Great Food, but don't be in a hurry

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 24, 2014

2 hour wait for dinner! Several people came in; waited as much as 10 to 15 minutes, then walked out because no one was there to acknowledge or seat them. Not enough staff and our waitress kept apologizing for the wait. The food once received however was delicious and beautifully presented. So 5 stars for the food and 0 stars for the service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Review

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

Had trouble getting drink refills. The wait staff clothing did not look fresh, clean or ironed. Also not well kept facial hair. I could tell the wait staff was trying but just not cutting it.

The Dessert table was not impressive at all. The kitchen staff had trouble keeping up with refilling items on buffet and keeping plates out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Disappointed

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

That was my 1st and last time there! While making my reservation I had requested a window table but my table was squeezed between 2 others so close that everyone was hitting the back of their chairs. There were plenty of window tables available at the time we arrived and also when we left. The food was mediocre at best and even the dessert table had sparse offerings that constantly needed to be replenished.

For such a so called fancy place it left a lot to be desired!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

A pleasant evening

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

Overall, we had a nice time. The staff was friendly and attentive, though they seemed to be in a learning mode. We had reserved a table by the window, but when we arrived, all four window seats were taken. Go figure. We enjoyed the quiet ambiance in the restaurant, which gave us a chance to talk. We are tired of the modern venues where the noise is deafening, so the change was pleasant. I ordered the 32 oz porterhouse medium rare, and it arrived medium well to well done, virtually no color in it. That is a terrible way to waste a $55 steak. Staff apologized for the kitchen, but no adjustment offered. On the other hand, my wife's steak arrive exactly as ordered. Inability to cook my meat as ordered makes me hesitant to come back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

It was very convenient to make reservati ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

It was very convenient to make reservation online. Tables were decorated, centerpieces had fresh flowers in them. There was a wide variety of food and serving stations. Staff was friendly as well as helpful. We would eat here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal again, and waiter

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 7, 2014

Great meal again, and waiter was very professional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

One of the best meals we have had since moving to Waynesville last year. The piano player was excellent & made the entire night very memorable. The food, atmosphere, service was impeccable and we will be going back on a regular basis.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hard to give a good review

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on December 29, 2013

Hard to give a good review of atmosphere as we were the only people there-why? no idea because the dining has a very relaxed casual style. Our server was very attentative but then again we were the only couple there - the food was beyond what we expected. Don't judge by the on line menu. My wife had a ceasar salad which was a very good traditional ceasar sald. I was expecting the onion soup but had the beef stew which was the soup for that day. We both had beef tenderloin, probably a 10oz cut, done just right with potato of the day, au gratin, and asparagus. Had to bring some home. We had a great time and would highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Set up was lacking. Salad

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

Set up was lacking. Salad bar would be better off set apart from the main line, i.e., to get to the main line, you had to go through the salad bar. This is cumbersome when lines are long.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.