About Coquette

2800 Magazine Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Located in the Garden District of New Orleans, Coquette offers innovative southern cuisine with an emphasis on locally sourced product. Featuring an accessible international wine list, classic and creative New Orleans cocktails and a well-traveled beer list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am - 2:30 pm & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 265-0421

Website:
http://www.coquettenola.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Public Transit:
St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
Magazine Street Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael Stoltzfus

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs available for a seated dinner party up to 65 people or 80 people for a cocktail party. Full restaurant buyouts available for groups up to 200 people. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mandi Bordelon: 504-265-0421x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

fried chicken
Gnochetti With Andouille
Shrimp And Corn Pudding
Churros With Coffee Ice Cream And Caramel
Fresh Corn With Miso Butter And Fried Okra
Smoked Lamb Shoulder With Summer Squash And Fried Zucchini Bread
Duck Breast
Crispy Wild Catfish
Shrimp and Grits
Honey Tomato Mille-Feuille
Seared Amberjack With Fried Okra
Stuffed Peppers
Rose Wine Flight
Roasted Eggplant, Mint, Scallion, Tea & Honey
Smoked Pork Gumbo
Fluffer Nutter Brownie
Roasted Oysters
Vegetables
Open Faced Pastrami Sandwich
Fried shrimp
Scallops & Chorizo
Southern Fried Chicken
crab cake
charcuterie
Fried Apple Salad
Pork Gumbo
Grilled Veggies Salad
Seabass
Vegetarian dish
Chocolate Pot De Creme With Chocolate Cookies
Smoked Pork and Greens Gumbo
Catfish With Adobo Sauce
Bread
steak tartare
Local Vegetable Salad
Chicken Fried Sweetbreads
NY Strip
Softshell Crab
Shrimp & Grits
White Asparagus Soup
Arawak
lemon tart
Dark Chocolate Pie
Chocolate Tart
Dinner
Sazerac
Duck Breast With Pate And Curried Veggies
Crispy Fried Oysters
Steak-Frites
Scallops
Banana Foster Pie
Hangar Steak
Heirloom Tomato Sandwich
Strawberies And Cream
Pork Cheeks
Lemon Tart With Strawberry Sorbet
Crispy Softshell Crab With Fresh Corn Salad
Crispy Snapper
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat With Corn And Chips
Hog's Head
FROZEN COCONUT
Oysters With Andouille Aioli
Smoked Catfish
Short Rib With Pickled Vegetables
Cochon De Lait
Goat Cheese Cheesecake
Chargrilled Pork Chop
Chicken With Pickled Beets And Greens
Eggs Benedict
Spiced Funnel Cake With Fresh Berried And Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Salmon Tartar
Pork Cheek With Turnip And Sweet Potato
smoked pork belly
Pink Hummus
Palate Cleanser
Millefeuille
Grilled Lamb Hearts
Cochon De Lait With Brussel Sprouts And Whipped Sweet Potato
Strawberry Delight
Strawberries & Goat Cheese Mousse
Cheeseburger
Fried Softshell Crab
Shaved Foie Gras With Root Vegetables, Beet Jam And Maple
Pork Belly (Buta no Kaku Ni)
Deep fried soft shell crab
Fried Soft Shell Crab
Primerib
Brownie
Chocolate Beignets With Banana Milkshake
Taupiniere Cheese and Meat
Popcorn And Melon Tuna
Eggplant Salad
Chocolate Munchkins With Mint Ice Cream
Chocolate Cake W/ Banana Milkshake
Mix Greens With Goat Cheese And Pecans
Pork Cakes With Cabbage And Apple Sauce
Burger With Hooks Cheddar
Bbq Pork Lettuce Wraps
Carviola Cocktail
Duck Confit

Coquette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Garden District ›

fit for foodies (150)
neighborhood gem (115)
special occasion (90)
See All
romantic (75)
hot spot (37)
notable wine list (37)
great for brunch (35)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (27)
vibrant bar scene (24)
great for outdoor dining (10)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for no menu Tuesday so I can't spea ...

Dined 3 days ago

Went for no menu Tuesday so I can't speak to the regular menu. It was delicious and extremely reasonably priced for the amount of food. Did not drink wine but they seemed to have a nice selection. I will definitely be eating here again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

incredible meal for our last meal on our ...

Dined 5 days ago

incredible meal for our last meal on our trip. we had the tasting menu with wine pairing. well paced, great service, visually appealing, and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service, servers and bartenders ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing service, servers and bartenders know the menu and pairings perfectly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was delightful, as was the food. ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Service was delightful, as was the food. We dine there several times a year, and they treated us like old friends. I can't recommend the restaurant more highly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in style by having an incredible meal at this Garden District-NOLA location. The atmosphere is relaxed and somewhat cozy. The service was unhurried and consistently professional. The food was awesome! For appetizers (small plates) we enjoyed the heirloom tomatoes with popcorn creme fraiche served with 3 small johnnycakes (think pancakes) which was so memorable as was the coffee cured cobia served with peaches, sunflower seeds and a little dollop of creme fraiche. For our entrees we went with the quail enhanced with cornbread stuffing, crawfish, tomato and fennel along with the crawfish agnolotti served with kohlrabi, pumpkin seeds and English peas. The visual presentations of each were something to behold, all plated as quite tasty (and most satisfying) works of culinary art. Pay attention to the wine lists (both by the glass and bottle) as this place really wants you to carefully consider bottle consumption. Our meal was accompanied by a celebratory Henriot Brut Rose (NV) offered at a very reasonable $78.00/bottle. I am getting thirsty just thinking about it all. This was a special occasion meal for us, but since we call NOLA home and we love the local dining scene, we will certainly be back for more of this in the not too distant future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend and I were there for her birth ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

My friend and I were there for her birthday. We thought the menu was rather weird, but were willing to try it, and were quite pleasantly surprised. We thoroughly enjoyed our food - we had the 3-course lunch - and would look forward to returning. An excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love coming back to this place when I ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I love coming back to this place when I come to NOLA. Eating in the Lower Garden District is a must for people that enjoy getting to know the essence of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience. This was for a ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

What a great experience. This was for a date with my wife. A total and well deserved 10. Incredible quality, atmosphere and service. I have become a Coquette advocate. This to me is what NOLA is all about !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my go-to New Orleans restaurant. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is my go-to New Orleans restaurant. I can always expect a wonderful meal, and good service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant. Was recommended ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. Was recommended by someone local and said it was his favorite restaurant in the city. Server was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The eggplant in the fairy eggplant entre ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The eggplant in the fairy eggplant entree were FAR too tough. The tomato and johnnycake appetizer was delicious, but the potato salad was almost inedible. Usually I love Coquette but we had a horribly noisy table near a huge party that made tons of noise.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent friendly service. We had a won ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent friendly service. We had a wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Coquette. The fi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great time at Coquette. The five course blind tasting menu was sensational and unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

On Sunday, 6/12/16, my date and I decide ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

On Sunday, 6/12/16, my date and I decided to try the blind five course dinner and it was fun! Even the staff seemed to be having a good time presenting the food and wine to us. However, I was expecting more from the actual fare. Almost every dish had the sweet tang of pickle brine, as though a little vinegar and sugar had been sprinkled on the plate. The best was the drum fish with little candied olives on top. The worst was the sausage and veggies. That's right-veggies and sausage. That's it. I'd definitely go back! But maybe I'd select on the menu to avoid the vinegary dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing.

Dined on June 10, 2016

You can't go wrong with any dish! Very creative menu and friendly wait staff. We went on a Friday night and recommended Coquette to colleagues who went the next evening. We all loved the ambience. Upstairs is very cozy with beautiful crystal chandeliers about 15 tables. Downstairs is a very nice bar with 4 top seating along the wall a little bit more lively depending on the plan for the evening. The tomato salad was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great attentive service, terrific artisanal cuisine long on flavour and generous of portion, plus refreshing cocktails and unfussy wines. Vive Coquette!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real find

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

For those visiting New Orleans, it is worth a trip out to the Garden District for this restaurant, which will not disappoint and which has none of the touristy character of the restaurants in the French Quarter. The chef is obviously a real master, who gives his own twist to French and New Orleans dishes and who clearly uses only the freshest of market ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best upscale restaurant in t ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

This is the best upscale restaurant in the southeast. Period.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable meal and evening

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 15 wedding anniversary and the staff made us feel very special! We both have worked in restaurants and bars and know exceptional service and food. Coquette did not disappoint! The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I would suggest this as a great place to dine when in NOLA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievably delicious food - such inter ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Unbelievably delicious food - such interesting treatments! I had the chefs tasting menu and wine pairing (for a pescatarian). From the starting snacks to the peach dessert every bite was spectacular. I would love to try and recreate that potato salad.... Congratulations on a great spot!

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

When svc recovery & knowledge doesn't exist...

Dined on May 30, 2016

It is a rare event in which I would have given less than 1 star if I could. We got warm recommendations, and for that reason- we rsvp (opentable), showed up few minutes ahead of the schedule "your reservation is here, would take us few min to clean the table, why don't you sit at the bar in the meantime?". So we did. And order a drink. And waited, and waited... and waited, and waited. 15-20 minutes later we asked what happen to the table as ppl who came after us w/o rsvp were seating. "Oh, we are sorry... the table will be ready shortly". (then they started cleaning it). We asked "btw, what happened to the drink the lady ordered 15 minutes ago :-) ?", that also fell to limbo... another apology, three minutes later the table was cleaned (Sort of), and we went to the table... they said don't worry about the drinks, we'd cover them (good, the wine they served was mediocre). Well, get to table, the cocktail of the lady arrives shortly afterwards... we take a look at the menu. Make a decision, order some appetizers... and they offer us to order a drink. I did- 20 minutes later it did not arrive. So, after 20 minutes when the appetizers arrived, I inquired... "oh, we ran out of that one, would you like... ". I agreed to the alternate champagne offered. few minutes later (now we are nearly an hour into the restaurant visit) somm shows up- found the drink, offered me a taste, and adds "oh, this would work GREAT with the appetizers you ordered..." (the ones that we waited 20 minutes or so, and were by now nearly done, thank you". I'd save the rest of the service failures, but here is the bill details-- they did charged us for the drink. Yes, the delayed drink they could not find. After the failure service, the 20 minutes delay, the 15-20 minutes delay for the table, and after they told us- don't worry. If we were not on a romantic night, I would have argued. Well... to summarize, don't go there. I hope we'd get a refund for such mediocre svc. I had to apologize to the lady.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Coquette...a terriffic dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

The great: I had some perfectly prepared snapper and my girlfriend had a tenderloin that was tremendously tender and larger than she or I had expected. We had appetizers that were outstanding as well. You don't need to read about each dish. What you do need to know, is this; the chef has it dialed in. The less than great: The beer selection was anemic. I know it's a fine dining place and I should probably have a palate for insanely expensive wine, but I don't. You shouldn't expect much in the way of decent beer. Things to consider: - There is no sign or indication that this is a restaurant. Make sure you make note of the address, since it is all you'll be going on. We watched people drive up, get out and question where the restaurant was. - Although they serve drinks, there is no bar, per se. The servers mix their own drinks from a small stand/bar to one side of the restaurant. The reason I mention this is so you don't expect to go early and have a drink at the bar before your reservation time. - I dressed in khakis and a golf shirt. I was embarrassingly under-dressed. You're going to spend a lot of money on meals here. You might as well dress like you can afford it. All in all: A great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was both excellent and unique.

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was both excellent and unique.

food5
ambience4
service5

The fried chicken with paprika was outst ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The fried chicken with paprika was outstanding. My friend loved the duck.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Magazine Street Spot

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I visited Coquette during a trip to NOLA. We booked Coquette because of the high rating on Open Table. We were a bit concerned that it was almost empty when we arrived for our 6:30 PM reservation thinking perhaps this was over rated. That concern quickly disappeared based on the service and the food. We shared the crabmeat appetizer which the kitchen kindly split into two plates for us. While small, it is quite flavorful. For our main course we had the duck for two which was very good. The flavors from the duck fat that pour over the vegetables during cooking are outstanding. The only negative was that the skin wasn't crispy but the server said this was because it was roasted after being seared. It's didn't take away from the flavor but the crisp skin would have made for a nice texture change. We shared the fraiche strawberries for dessert. We expected actual strawberries but it was more of a strawberry mousse. It was still very good and nice and light but not what we expected. Overall this is a good value. The prices are not too expensive for the quality and the outstanding, friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was good, food quality was O ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was good, food quality was OK but portions were small.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great brunch

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went for Saturday brunch. We had a reservation and were seated by the window on the ground floor. It has a pleasant atmosphere and service is great. The food was outstanding. I chose the $30 set brunch; the cobia appetizer was excellent. We also had a catfish dip to share, which was amazing, completely unique, full of contrasting flavors and textures. It's not cheap, but it was worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fresh and very colorful!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was fresh and very colorful!

food5
ambience5
service5

The cobia small plate was amazing. I lov ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The cobia small plate was amazing. I love that everything comes from local farms.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is an excellent neighborhood restau ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is an excellent neighborhood restaurant that focuses on local sourced ingredients and prepares them in imaginative and innovative ways. We started with a smoked catfish dip appetizer while we settled in to several craft cocktails and excellent wines by the glass. The four of us all ordered different mains, and all were exceptional. We all agreed that the crawfish entrée was the most unique presentation and blend of flavors that we had ever encountered in a crawfish dish--highly recommended. Every time we are in New Orleans, we stop here for a meal and have never been disappointed. Service is also excellent and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious tasty creative food

Dined on May 10, 2016

A repeat visit did not disappoint. The dishes are creative, wonderfully flavorful, well-prepared and presented, and a joy to eat over good conversation with a friend. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food, but tiny portions

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Considering this restaurant is in NewOrleans, the prices were pretty reasonable . But the portions were tiny.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Return visit to Coquette did not disappoint

Dined on May 8, 2016

The menu is minimal, but there are no wrong choices. Fresh, flavorful and thoughtful dishes with lovely service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu with wine pairing. Attentive staff!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We tried the "In our hands" sampler menu along with the recommended wine pairing. It was a great sample of the menu that was delightfully paired with delicious wine. The entire dinner was a great portion size; satisfying but not too much. The staff was very attentive & kind. We had a great dinner & particularly liked that the restaurant uses locally sourced produce & meat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant, food and service b ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Love this restaurant, food and service both excellent

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Missed the Mark

Dined on May 4, 2016

My partner and I were visiting from Chicago for her birthday and, based on the ratings, decided to have her birthday dinner here. We made a reservation, it was just the two of us and there was no wait. The noise level was tolerable. Once seated, it seemed that communication was severely lacking between servers because at least 3 different people asked us about drinks AFTER we'd already put our drink order in. Annoying, but not a game changer. We ordered the fried chicken, crawfish pasta, collards, and house drink. The fried chicken was a 3 out of 5. Not the best I've had, but pretty good. The collard greens and potato salad were a solid 3 out of 5 as well. The crawfish pasta was a 5 out of 5! The best thing we had, by far. Fresh, made in-house, and paired with a great sauce. The service left much to be desired but we let it go. The absolute worst meal of the evening was the 'dessert' that they brought out for my partner's birthday. It was a creme brûlée gone horribly wrong. The brûlée itself was edible but their choice of garnishes were...maddening. It was topped with a lemon meringue that was far too bitter to be used on such a dainty dessert. It was also topped with a salted 'ice cream' that tasted like frozen skim milk with salt on it. Seriously. The taste left us rushing to pay the bill and find a replacement restaurant to enjoy a good dessert. I was extremely disappointed and will avoid this place like the plague from here on out.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Festive room, great food

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

My husband and I usually each get an appetizer, we split a main and dessert. Without asking, our server split the cold Coffee cured Cobia ( a delicious local firm fish) spring onion, creme fraiche, dill appetizer, which was a really nice gesture. Scrumptious. Then she served the fried chicken appetizer, whipped honey and cucumber pickle dish. Nice strips of breast, tender, not overdone. For our main we shared the quail and again the kitchen split the dish. Moist and the cornbread, crawfish stuffing was very tasty. Dessert was wild...literally, "wild thyme creme brûlée with a lemon foam and olive oil ice cream ( unsweetened). Nice counterpoint to the sweet creme. Excellent wine list & cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food

Dined on May 2, 2016

It is a very good place to eat, dishes are beautifully presented. Flavors are combined in a different way and they give you a wonderful final experience. The menu is not so big, however you will find it very interesting. A recommendation for the restaurant will be to offer the tasting menu also for one person and not only for the whole table. Nice ambience and excellent service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had to wait a bit after our reservati ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had to wait a bit after our reservation time and it was a bit pricey for the plate sizes, but overall it was very pleasant and delicious.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing staff and the food was insane !! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing staff and the food was insane !! We kept ordering and ordering!! Beautiful people beautiful good exquisite taste.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.