Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Coquette

Located in the Garden District of New Orleans, Coquette offers innovative southern cuisine with an emphasis on locally sourced product. Featuring an accessible international wine list, classic and creative New Orleans cocktails and a well-traveled beer list.

2800 Magazine Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am - 2:30 pm & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 265-0421

Website:
http://www.coquettenola.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Public Transit:
St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
Magazine Street Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael Stoltzfus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Coquette can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Coquette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Creative Cuisine (59)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Local Ingredients (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Romantic (30)
Authentic (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Cozy (19)
Historic (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Seasonal (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Organic (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding combination of flavors. Great restaurant in a fun and funky New Orleans area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The 5 course blind tasting was fantastic. The service was great. My husband is lactose intolerant and they were very gracious to accommodate his dietary restriction. It was the perfect last meal in NOLA!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I did the tasting menu before a show at the Saenger Theatre. We had an outstanding experience, and had no issues keeping the meal under two hours. We've had the tasting menu on previous trips to Coquette. I'm continuously impressed by how much it changes each time. I can't recommend Coquette highly enough. Incredible food, courteous staff, and unbelievable value for the product. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Try the chefs choice menu, you won't be disappointed. I eat out a lot and love to try new places but I keep coming back to Coquette again and again

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had an outside table to better enjoy the Saint Patrick's Day passers-by. I liked it a bit better before they had speakers outside, but it wasn't too loud. The food and cocktails were fantastic, even by Coquette standards. I had not been to Coquette in nearly a year, but tonight's meal put them back top-of-mind for a walking distance date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful, unique dining experience‼️ The food was crafted, not cooked. I have never tasted a sauce so scrumptious! The chocolate pudding was delicious‼️

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Definitely recommend doing the tasting menu!! We loved every course from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

What a fantastic meal we had at this Garden District gem while in New Orleans for Catersource 2017. I highly recommend Coquette!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a really nice meal last Saturday night. Nice place for conversation and comfortable lighting. Food was good. Portions on the small side but in a good way. Desserts were great too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I went to Coquette celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We chose the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. The food, wine, and service were exemplary. The staff made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend for anyone wanting a special occasion or nice night out. It fits both.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful first meal for first visit to NOLA. I asked the bartender to be creative with gin. He made one of the most amazing cocktails I've ever tasted. True meaning of "craft bartending." Oh, and the food is very good, too.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We went for my birthday on the recommendation of my friend. IT was SPECTACULAR! Definitely recommend the tasting menu - quite the food journey! Our server was very personable, our sommelier very knowledgeable, and the overall dining experience was top notch! We would absolutely go back there. Might be one of my favorite places in New Orleans - 10s across the board!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 10, 2017

If you're looking for authentic New Orleans food, this isn't the place. This place tries a little to hard to be hipster with a daily changing menu that doesn't have any New Orleans go to dishes or New Orleans identity. The small plates are the perfect portions and best sounding dishes. Don't get any shared dishes, the bread is amazing and way better than anything on the shares. Highly recommend some staple dishes that are on the menu every day rather than all dishes changing each day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was fresh and delicious. The beef tartare, served with a unique and successful blend of ingredients, was served with homemade tater tots. We also shared tuna crudo and a rice and crawfish tails dish. Both were flavorful and prepared perfectly. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Superior greeting and timely seating. Attention to details was outstanding. Phenomenal drinks and food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We did the tasting menu with the wine pairing and every dish was creative and amazing. The wines were perfect and varietals I would have never tried on my own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wonderful meal and excellent service! Menu is small but everything is delicious and dishes change seasonally. Dishes are have local flair but unique & creative with flavours - don't skip desert! Service was great & very friendly, couldn't ask for more. Highly recommend & will definiatly be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding food. Loved the Wine. The crudo and cauliflower were delicious as were the short ribs and smoked catfish dip.
The brûlée was our favorite dessertand the tres leches, though not what I was expecting, was good.
Our waiter was attentive, but slightly awkward.
My biggest complaint, though it didn't dampen our night, was the tightness of space. I felt slightly claustrophobic when we first arrived, but I felt much more comfortable once we were seated.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

On the short side: outstanding! My wife is Gluten free (Celiac) for eleven years, and, this restaurant served one of the best meals, we've had, in that time. Three different courses each, and, each one, was complex with flavors layered; a true adventure in culinary. Service was understated, but, attentive. Street parking. and, they might consider a valet. We both still wonder how they made the chocolate pudding which is a classic. They have a very good product.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was a fabulous place to spend a couple hours- wonderful service and amazing food!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Once again we enjoyed our brunch at Coquette with the fried chicken special. Everything was delicious as usual. Favorite restaurant in New Orleans!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We ordered the tasting menu with the wine pairings and enjoyed it very much. Good service as well as a knowledgeable "wine guy".

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. My girlfriends and I visited NOLA for a bachelorette weekend and they did a tasting menu and specialty cocktails for all of us with a selection to choose from. They were extremely accommodating and eager to please and the food and wine pairing was unbelievable! Just went the extra mile with service and friendliness and everything was fantastic. I cannot recommend them enough. thanks to Chris and the Coquette team! :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I come to Coquette for special occasions with my wife, generally an anniversary or birthday when it's just the two of us. A friend recommended the restaurant as a place to celebrate proposing to my wife in 2013 and we've made it our place since then.

Coquette is amazing New Orleans food, I would not call it traditional however. If you're looking for something that's been on the menu for 30+ years, I don't think coquette will be what you're looking for. If you're looking for a bit of adventure and are willing to step slightly out of your comfort zone, then you'll have a lot of fun here. I'm a picky eater and can usually find something that I recognize and when I start eating, it's hard to stop. Portions are not super sized, but I always leave full.

In my experience downstairs (street level) can be a little noisy when it's busy, upstairs is quieter.

Bottom line, if you want something different yet done in the New Orleans flare, go here. I've never had the same menu twice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

In a town filed with good restaurants, Coquette was one of our favorite stops during an eating binge in NOLA. The drinks were good, the service was friendly and the food was excellent with 'just-right' portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 6, 2017

service was wonderful -- responsive and unpretetnious. somm had a laidback vibe but was super knowledgable and made a great suggestion. complimentary champagne for anniversary was a great touch. the kitchen prepared a special vegetarian appetizer for me and it was perfect. food was delicious & we were quite satisfied with portion sizes. lovey interior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We were attempting to escape a Super Bowl game with opponents that my bride and I could care less about. Therefore, we Ubered a short distance to this top-rated establishment located at Washington and Magazine streets in NOLA. Consistently excellent meals have been enjoyed by us at this venue and tonight was no exception. Recommendations to be seriously considered are: the yellowfin tuna crudo and the smoked cobia appetizers. We are considering dropping by once a week just to have a drink and share these incredible creations listed on the menu under " Small Plates". Beyond these yummy starters one must entertain the thought of eating either the red snapper or the poulet rouge entrees which are equally awesome dishes not to be missed! The wine list is excellent and the steward is quite knowledgeable and capable when it comes to making suggestions that will enhance any pairing. We are already planning our next visit and cannot wait. Coquette is in summary delicious, innovative, enjoyable and affordable. Bon appetit!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a truly memorable meal at Coquette. The chef even made an absolutely delicious special salad for us when we didn't see any salads on the menu. Good wine list, friendly wait staff, and a simple, lovely, pleasing decor. Our time there made an ordinary Saturday night feel special.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Small cozy dining areas in historic building in the Garden District. Seasonal menu with unique offerings including both large and small plates perfectly prepared and delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The pork and duck were delicious. The table was a bit too close to door and cold, but they were accomodating with a heater.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Brought a group -6 of us-for Friday night dinner. My wife and I had eaten at Coquette many times in the past and thought it would be a good place for out of town friends. We were wrong. The service was very good, but the food was another matter. First, there is a very limited menu. We ordered a variety of small & large plates. Of them, the fried duck wings were best. Everything else was so so. The seafood "bisque" had to be sent back because it was cold. When it was returned, it still wasn't up to expectations. The other dishes were ok-pork steak, shrimp & grits, but nothing special. One of my guests's comment said it all. "With all of the good places in New Orleans, why did we come here!" Sorry Coquette, but it will be sometime before we return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Dinner was amazing. Seasonal
creative menu highlight local ingredients. In-house ciabatta, best in NOLA.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Coquette is the best!!! You can never go wrong for any occasion or just a nice night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I recently spent a week in New Orleans, both for business and for fun. We ate at many excellent restaurants, but Coquette topped them all by a very wide margin. Very creative chef preparations with everything from appetizers to entrees to desserts and cocktails. Excellent service. I highly recommend treating yourself and your friends or business colleagues at Coquette.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food with phenomenal service. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful food. Well prepared and not overly concocted. The room was very pleasant and not stuffy. We would return often if we lived in New Orleans. Special enough for a celebration. And yet low key enough for just a great everyday dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 25, 2017

First, and above all, Coquette was recommended to us for the outstanding cuisine. We were not disappointed - in any way - with the food. IT WAS WONDERFUL. We enjoyed what was referred to as a "5 Course Blind Tasting." This was an opportunity for us to enjoy foods the chef wanted to highlight on the evening we were there. Every course was interesting and the variety made for a fun dining experience. Having worked in the food industry for decades, my husband has had the pleasure of eating in some fine restaurants all over the world. On many occasions, I have been able to join him. Our dining experience at Coquette will go down as a memorable one. THE ONLY THING that could have been better? The staff could have been more pleasant. We didn't feel as if they were enjoying themselves while serving their guests. We're all human and not everyone has a good day every day! However, it doesn't have to take any longer to be gracious and personable.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent! Did the blind tasting. Really creative and fun. The waitress worked with us on the wine pairing, but wouldn't allow us to split, which most places do. Left tipsy as we both are lightweights. So except for that issue, it was a great time.
The construction outside wasn't bad. But we asked to sit far from the door which helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, very friendly staff. I loved the grits and the duck leg.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Noisy! Noisy! Noisy! Food is creative and service is good. But, noisy noisy noisy

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.