About Coquette

2800 Magazine Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Located in the Garden District of New Orleans, Coquette offers innovative southern cuisine with an emphasis on locally sourced product. Featuring an accessible international wine list, classic and creative New Orleans cocktails and a well-traveled beer list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am - 2:30 pm & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 265-0421

Website:
http://www.coquettenola.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Public Transit:
St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
Magazine Street Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael Stoltzfus

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs available for a seated dinner party up to 65 people or 80 people for a cocktail party. Full restaurant buyouts available for groups up to 200 people. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mandi Bordelon: 504-265-0421x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Coquette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Orleans / Louisiana
American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Garden District ›

fit for foodies (154)
neighborhood gem (119)
special occasion (87)
See All
romantic (76)
notable wine list (38)
great for brunch (38)
hot spot (38)
great for lunch (30)
good for groups (30)
vibrant bar scene (21)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great brunch

Dined 4 days ago

We went for Saturday brunch. We had a reservation and were seated by the window on the ground floor. It has a pleasant atmosphere and service is great. The food was outstanding. I chose the $30 set brunch; the cobia appetizer was excellent. We also had a catfish dip to share, which was amazing, completely unique, full of contrasting flavors and textures. It's not cheap, but it was worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fresh and very colorful!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was fresh and very colorful!

food5
ambience5
service5

The cobia small plate was amazing. I lov ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The cobia small plate was amazing. I love that everything comes from local farms.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is an excellent neighborhood restau ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is an excellent neighborhood restaurant that focuses on local sourced ingredients and prepares them in imaginative and innovative ways. We started with a smoked catfish dip appetizer while we settled in to several craft cocktails and excellent wines by the glass. The four of us all ordered different mains, and all were exceptional. We all agreed that the crawfish entrée was the most unique presentation and blend of flavors that we had ever encountered in a crawfish dish--highly recommended. Every time we are in New Orleans, we stop here for a meal and have never been disappointed. Service is also excellent and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious tasty creative food

Dined on May 10, 2016

A repeat visit did not disappoint. The dishes are creative, wonderfully flavorful, well-prepared and presented, and a joy to eat over good conversation with a friend. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food, but tiny portions

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Considering this restaurant is in NewOrleans, the prices were pretty reasonable . But the portions were tiny.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Return visit to Coquette did not disappoint

Dined on May 8, 2016

The menu is minimal, but there are no wrong choices. Fresh, flavorful and thoughtful dishes with lovely service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu with wine pairing. Attentive staff!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We tried the "In our hands" sampler menu along with the recommended wine pairing. It was a great sample of the menu that was delightfully paired with delicious wine. The entire dinner was a great portion size; satisfying but not too much. The staff was very attentive & kind. We had a great dinner & particularly liked that the restaurant uses locally sourced produce & meat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant, food and service b ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Love this restaurant, food and service both excellent

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Missed the Mark

Dined on May 4, 2016

My partner and I were visiting from Chicago for her birthday and, based on the ratings, decided to have her birthday dinner here. We made a reservation, it was just the two of us and there was no wait. The noise level was tolerable. Once seated, it seemed that communication was severely lacking between servers because at least 3 different people asked us about drinks AFTER we'd already put our drink order in. Annoying, but not a game changer. We ordered the fried chicken, crawfish pasta, collards, and house drink. The fried chicken was a 3 out of 5. Not the best I've had, but pretty good. The collard greens and potato salad were a solid 3 out of 5 as well. The crawfish pasta was a 5 out of 5! The best thing we had, by far. Fresh, made in-house, and paired with a great sauce. The service left much to be desired but we let it go. The absolute worst meal of the evening was the 'dessert' that they brought out for my partner's birthday. It was a creme brûlée gone horribly wrong. The brûlée itself was edible but their choice of garnishes were...maddening. It was topped with a lemon meringue that was far too bitter to be used on such a dainty dessert. It was also topped with a salted 'ice cream' that tasted like frozen skim milk with salt on it. Seriously. The taste left us rushing to pay the bill and find a replacement restaurant to enjoy a good dessert. I was extremely disappointed and will avoid this place like the plague from here on out.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Festive room, great food

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

My husband and I usually each get an appetizer, we split a main and dessert. Without asking, our server split the cold Coffee cured Cobia ( a delicious local firm fish) spring onion, creme fraiche, dill appetizer, which was a really nice gesture. Scrumptious. Then she served the fried chicken appetizer, whipped honey and cucumber pickle dish. Nice strips of breast, tender, not overdone. For our main we shared the quail and again the kitchen split the dish. Moist and the cornbread, crawfish stuffing was very tasty. Dessert was wild...literally, "wild thyme creme brûlée with a lemon foam and olive oil ice cream ( unsweetened). Nice counterpoint to the sweet creme. Excellent wine list & cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food

Dined on May 2, 2016

It is a very good place to eat, dishes are beautifully presented. Flavors are combined in a different way and they give you a wonderful final experience. The menu is not so big, however you will find it very interesting. A recommendation for the restaurant will be to offer the tasting menu also for one person and not only for the whole table. Nice ambience and excellent service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had to wait a bit after our reservati ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had to wait a bit after our reservation time and it was a bit pricey for the plate sizes, but overall it was very pleasant and delicious.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing staff and the food was insane !! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing staff and the food was insane !! We kept ordering and ordering!! Beautiful people beautiful good exquisite taste.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for foodies in New Orleans

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our second visit to Coquette and this visit was better than the first in terms of both, service and food. We ordered the five course blind tasting menu and couple of cocktails. Excellent food, especially their creamed potatoes and snapper preparation were exquisite. Our waitress was nice and brought us complimentary champagne because it was our anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love the pre fixe brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

I've taken several people to brunch at Coquette and I continue to love their pre fixe menu. I think it's an amazing value ($30 for app/entree/desert) and the food is so. good. It gets a little noisy downstairs but not so much so that it's unenjoyable. I look forward to all my visits to Coquette and will continue to go there. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers were outstanding and the entr ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Appetizers were outstanding and the entrees were very good. Service was the best we experienced all jazzfest long.

food5
ambience5
service3

Very small portions beware.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very small portions beware.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Phenomenal!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

One of the best if not the best meal I've ever had. We did the 5 course blind tasting menu and each course was wonderful. The chef and staff also did a great job ensuring that my wife, who has a very bad dairy allergy, had a great time and meal as well. While not inexpensive by any stretch, Coquette is well worth the price and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great evening out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on April 28, 2016

From start to finish, our evening at Coquette was perfect! Drinks, starters, and mains were all delicious and while the menu is small, there still are plenty of choices. We took our time, enjoying our last evening in NOLA and never felt rushed. What a great neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 27, 2016

Consistently excellent! Service impeccable. Food superb. Overall experience always meets high expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We were delighted at Coquette. Warm atmo ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were delighted at Coquette. Warm atmosphere, Good service and delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Farm to table meets real innovation

Dined on April 25, 2016

I am a foodie and a serious amateur chef. This is one of my go-to restaurants living in New Orleans when I want a meal that hits my four critical standards. 1. Impeccable ingredients 2. Menu items that I either can't technically or won't attempt to make myself 3. Truly inventive dishes that are not on any every other fine dining menu 4. Relaxed atmosphere but great service Finding a spot that hits all four is hard to do. So many menus repeat the shrimp and grits theme or are so stuffy and formal that is not suitable for just getting together. But I do miss that composed salad and suspect it has been retired to the crab cake graveyard.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Orleans Restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

Delicious and interesting food. Very pleasant atmostphere

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food in beautiful location

Dined on April 23, 2016

Lovely meal from start to finish. Inventive cocktails and great range of food options which were all delicious. Great service in perfect balance. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely out of this world am ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was absolutely out of this world amazing. Try everything you won't regret coming here, one of the best meals I've had

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When in New Orleans: Coquette

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We did the 5 course blind tasting with a wine pairing -- excellent on all accounts -- service was great

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Good Food, Excellent Service

Dined on April 19, 2016

Where do I begin... Made an early reservation for my fiance and I to celebrate her birthday, we had been here once before and were very pleased with the tasting. We both work in the service industry and do not usually dine out. This is a confident restaurant with a bold and motivated kitchen crew that emphasizes the details. First snack was a bite of perfectly cured and smoked lemon fish (cobia). Had a smokey aroma and a tender mouth feel. Next a smokey fish "dip", as I call it, with the unusual but very gratifying combination of pickled mustard seeds, perfectly cooked heirloom beets and a slice of freshly made Rye toast. These were just the snacks! I won't go into extreme detail on all of the other courses but I would like to say that I had one of the most memorable preparations of carrots, the Agnolotti was perfectly rolled, our snapper had a crispy skin and was PERFECTLY cooked, seriously perfect! The take on cochon de lait that marked the end of our savory courses had a lovely texture and flavor. The expertly blended curry notes in our desserts were a very pleasant surprise to conclude our meal. Oh, and we decided we had to try the wine pairings. They worked incredibly well to both highlight the quality of the cuisine and the integrity of their wine program. You knew that someone had really thought about these parings. As someone who has cooked in fine dining for the past 8 years, I tell you that this restaurant is quietly doing things, that aside from a few places, no other restaurant in this city does. I am so grateful and inspired by the service I received. THANK YOU VERY MUCH, I will send everyone I know your way!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had read good things about ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I had read good things about Coquette and our expectations were exceeded on our weekday lunch visit . From the minute we walked in the staff was friendly attentive and knowledgable . We enjoyed a three course lunch which was exquisitely prepared and presented . I want to remark that the bread was home baked and was some of the best baguette bread I have ever been served . (My point of reference set includes two star guide michelin restaurants In France) The self sourced restaurant garden whipped honey was sinfully delicious . Kudos and well done Coquette we will be back soon !

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious, locally-sourced and perfectly ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious, locally-sourced and perfectly portioned food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Seafood at Coquette

Dined on April 16, 2016

My wife and I spent 5 days in New Orleans. We had each made a couple of visits to NO as individuals but this was our first as a couple. We were fortunate to be able to make reservations at several top notch restaurants in NO, including Coquette. We started off with a Crawfish based dip that we spread on slices of delicious bread. It was so good that we asked the manager to send us the recipe, which she graciously accommodated. We also enjoyed a wonderful chowder and two wonderful seafood entrees (Red Snapper and Red Fish). The server was very pleasant, answering our questions and making helpful suggestions. The bar area was hosting a bachelorette party during the time of our visit, so the noise level was louder than would otherwise have been expected for an early evening weekend dinner reservation. This restaurant will definitely be on our "repeat visit" list during our next visit to New Orleans!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

innovative

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

this is the second time we have been to this restaurant, and it did not disappoint. We went for brunch this time and had an absolutely fabulous fried chicken with spicy pickles and a honey whipped butter. I think is the best fried chicken I've ever had in my life! The risotto they served on the brunch menu was some of the best I've ever had, and I've been to Venice. The only negative was I could've eaten about three bowls of it! A must visit in NOLA

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love beyond love

Dined on April 11, 2016

My fiance and I love this place. I normally go for the fried chicken, but I was being "good" and decided to go for the smoked fish dip which was excellent. Their menu rotates so it's always a pleasant surprise no matter what you get. Their wine list is extraordinary. We always have a great time here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Restaurant in NOLA

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Coquette is still our favorite restaurant in New Orleans! Everything about our meal was innovative and delicious. We especially enjoyed the risotto appetizer and the homemade "pillow" pasta stuffed with crawfish filling. Can't wait to return on our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Restaurant in New Orleans

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We ate at all the top restaurants recommendations during the French Quarter Jazz Festival. Coquette was by far the best food we had-period! Everything on the menu looked good so we over ordered. We ate everything!! Its a must when on NOLA.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the fried chicken. Best ever.

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Loved the fried chicken. Best ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing little gem

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was amazing! Food was delicious and loved the area

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite New Orleans Restaurant

Dined on April 9, 2016

We ate dinner and lunch at Coquette during our recent trip. We've frequented this wonderful restaurant on every visit to N.O. for the past six years (probably 15 times now) and it never disappoints. Always excellent and frequently mind blowing. I had the hog cheeks and they were oh so good. My wife usually gets seafood. When she says to me that if no one was looking she would lick her plate, you know it was good! Recommended: any dish with pork, duck, or seafood; desserts (Oh Yes, get a dessert!); and the salads are surprisingly good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The five course blind tasting menu was e ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The five course blind tasting menu was excellent and served with eclectic wine pairings by a knowledgeable and attentive staff. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience - a NOLA must!

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I went to New Orleans for a wedding, and had dinner here the night before. Amazing food - actually, the best we had during our time in New Orleans! Awesome service and a great wine list to boot. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.