About Coquette

2800 Magazine Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Located in the Garden District of New Orleans, Coquette offers innovative southern cuisine with an emphasis on locally sourced product. Featuring an accessible international wine list, classic and creative New Orleans cocktails and a well-traveled beer list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am - 2:30 pm & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 265-0421

Website:
http://www.coquettenola.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Public Transit:
St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
Magazine Street Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael Stoltzfus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Coquette can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Coquette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (60)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Local Ingredients (44)
Special Occasion (40)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (30)
Authentic (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Seasonal (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Historic (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Organic (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I come to Coquette for special occasions ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

I come to Coquette for special occasions with my wife, generally an anniversary or birthday when it's just the two of us. A friend recommended the restaurant as a place to celebrate proposing to my wife in 2013 and we've made it our place since then.

Coquette is amazing New Orleans food, I would not call it traditional however. If you're looking for something that's been on the menu for 30+ years, I don't think coquette will be what you're looking for. If you're looking for a bit of adventure and are willing to step slightly out of your comfort zone, then you'll have a lot of fun here. I'm a picky eater and can usually find something that I recognize and when I start eating, it's hard to stop. Portions are not super sized, but I always leave full.

In my experience downstairs (street level) can be a little noisy when it's busy, upstairs is quieter.

Bottom line, if you want something different yet done in the New Orleans flare, go here. I've never had the same menu twice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a town filed with good restaurants, C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

In a town filed with good restaurants, Coquette was one of our favorite stops during an eating binge in NOLA. The drinks were good, the service was friendly and the food was excellent with 'just-right' portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

service was wonderful -- responsive and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 6, 2017

service was wonderful -- responsive and unpretetnious. somm had a laidback but was super knowledgable and made a great suggestion. complimentary champagne for anniversary was a great touch. the kitchen prepared a special vegetarian appetizer for me and it was perfect. food was delicious & we were quite satisfied with portion sizes. lovey interior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were attempting to escape a Super Bow ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We were attempting to escape a Super Bowl game with opponents that my bride and I could care less about. Therefore, we Ubered a short distance to this top-rated establishment located at Washington and Magazine streets in NOLA. Consistently excellent meals have been enjoyed by us at this venue and tonight was no exception. Recommendations to be seriously considered are: the yellowfin tuna crudo and the smoked cobia appetizers. We are considering dropping by once a week just to have a drink and share these incredible creations listed on the menu under " Small Plates". Beyond these yummy starters one must entertain the thought of eating either the red snapper or the poulet rouge entrees which are equally awesome dishes not to be missed! The wine list is excellent and the steward is quite knowledgeable and capable when it comes to making suggestions that will enhance any pairing. We are already planning our next visit and cannot wait. Coquette is in summary delicious, innovative, enjoyable and affordable. Bon appetit!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a truly memorable meal at Coquett ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a truly memorable meal at Coquette. The chef even made an absolutely delicious special salad for us when we didn't see any salads on the menu. Good wine list, friendly wait staff, and a simple, lovely, pleasing decor. Our time there made an ordinary Saturday night feel special.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Small cozy dining areas in historic buil ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Small cozy dining areas in historic building in the Garden District. Seasonal menu with unique offerings including both large and small plates perfectly prepared and delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The pork and duck were delicious. The ta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The pork and duck were delicious. The table was a bit too close to door and cold, but they were accomodating with a heater.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brought a group -6 of us-for Friday nigh ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Brought a group -6 of us-for Friday night dinner. My wife and I had eaten at Coquette many times in the past and thought it would be a good place for out of town friends. We were wrong. The service was very good, but the food was another matter. First, there is a very limited menu. We ordered a variety of small & large plates. Of them, the fried duck wings were best. Everything else was so so. The seafood "bisque" had to be sent back because it was cold. When it was returned, it still wasn't up to expectations. The other dishes were ok-pork steak, shrimp & grits, but nothing special. One of my guests's comment said it all. "With all of the good places in New Orleans, why did we come here!" Sorry Coquette, but it will be sometime before we return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner was amazing. Seasonal creative me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Dinner was amazing. Seasonal

creative menu highlight local ingredients. In-house ciabatta, best in NOLA.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, , Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Coquette is the best!!! You can never go ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Coquette is the best!!! You can never go wrong for any occasion or just a nice night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently spent a week in New Orleans, ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I recently spent a week in New Orleans, both for business and for fun. We ate at many excellent restaurants, but Coquette topped them all by a very wide margin. Very creative chef preparations with everything from appetizers to entrees to desserts and cocktails. Excellent service. I highly recommend treating yourself and your friends or business colleagues at Coquette.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with phenomenal service. We wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food with phenomenal service. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food. Well prepared and not ov ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful food. Well prepared and not overly concocted. The room was very pleasant and not stuffy. We would return often if we lived in New Orleans. Special enough for a celebration. And yet low key enough for just a great everyday dinner.

Tags: , Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First, and above all, Coquette was recom ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 25, 2017

First, and above all, Coquette was recommended to us for the outstanding cuisine. We were not disappointed - in any way - with the food. IT WAS WONDERFUL. We enjoyed what was referred to as a "5 Course Blind Tasting." This was an opportunity for us to enjoy foods the chef wanted to highlight on the evening we were there. Every course was interesting and the variety made for a fun dining experience. Having worked in the food industry for decades, my husband has had the pleasure of eating in some fine restaurants all over the world. On many occasions, I have been able to join him. Our dining experience at Coquette will go down as a memorable one. THE ONLY THING that could have been better? The staff could have been more pleasant. We didn't feel as if they were enjoying themselves while serving their guests. We're all human and not everyone has a good day every day! However, it doesn't have to take any longer to be gracious and personable.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! Did the blind tasting. Really ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent! Did the blind tasting. Really creative and fun. The waitress worked with us on the wine pairing, but wouldn't allow us to split, which most places do. Left tipsy as we both are lightweights. So except for that issue, it was a great time.

The construction outside wasn't bad. But we asked to sit far from the door which helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, very friendly staff. I love ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, very friendly staff. I loved the grits and the duck leg.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Noisy! Noisy! Noisy! Food is creative ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Noisy! Noisy! Noisy! Food is creative and service is good. But, noisy noisy noisy

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was amazingly flavorful and very cr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was amazingly flavorful and very creative. Drinks were great too. Top notch service with a knowledgeable and unpretentious server. Loved it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was decent. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was very good, service was decent. All in all just didn't live up to all the hype I'd heard about it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

My husband and I told our west coast fri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My husband and I told our west coast friends that we were going to New Orleans "to eat" for six days. We did that for five days, trying to eat at favorite, familiar well known restaurants. On the sixth and last night we walked in a light drizzle to Coquette as it was very close to our rented room in an old Victorian house. It was one of the best meals we had! It was just the right size for us to enjoy unusual, and beautifully prepared small dishes (feeling quite virtuous about the dish size)) after overeating the previous days. We both loved it.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very creative. Love the combinations. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very creative. Love the combinations. Can be a bit pricey, but not if you eat lightly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely delicious. The t ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. The tuna and beef tartare were amazing (as I expect everything on their menu is)! I almost ordered the tuna again for dessert it was so delicious! The service was fine, but just a little bit slow, which is ok for the environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Flavorful taste of NOLA, good service.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Flavorful taste of NOLA, good service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing, but the thing that ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was amazing, but the thing that stood out the most was the service. They took care of us on our anniversary and actually got us surprises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were outstanding. L ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Loved the feel of the restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers were excellent, but entre ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The appetizers were excellent, but entrees were not gods and it was so cold inside that we rushed to eat and get out. That night was cold, but the restaurant heat wasn't working well. Not sure if I'll b back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

It was fantastic. The staff was awesome ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was fantastic. The staff was awesome and very knowledgeable about the menu. They made our 30th wedding anniversary special. Can't wait to go back with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. The only lowlight wad that a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food. The only lowlight wad that a server broke a full glass onto my guest. That's fine, it happens, but we got no apology, nothing was comped or given as a peace offering. A simple "sorry" would have sufficed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We've eaten here several times. We made ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've eaten here several times. We made reservations for New Years and received a call 2 nights prior requesting a credit card and letting us know about the special limited menu and the rather significant price tag that came with it. It was too late to make other arrangements. The staff was superior as always, the food was also superior; however, it was very loud. Would suggest they let guests know about the special situation when reservations are made, not 2 nights before the event. Still remains a favorite!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time I visit New Orleans I try to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Every time I visit New Orleans I try to eat here. Love the food and the ambience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Seasonal, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terribly conceived flavor combinations a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Terribly conceived flavor combinations and lackluster execution. It was so disappointing because a foodie friend heard about this place and convinced me to change my reservations to go here. Needless to say- I wish I had stuck with my original plans as this was the only bad dining experience I had in the four days of non-stop eating in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I went to Coquette for Sunday brunch and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I went to Coquette for Sunday brunch and the meal was tremendous. The standout was a dish of rice, butternut squash and Brussels sprouts. It tasted 100 times better than it sounds. The fish crudo was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely lunch on Christmas eve. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a lovely lunch on Christmas eve. This restaurant is always delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best restaurant expe ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was one of the best restaurant experiences I have ever had. The menu was fantastic - we would have been happy picking anything on there. And the food was amazing once we got it - great/unique flavors and fun presentations. Good cocktails but that's NOLA. Service was great as well - our waiter was on point with all recommendations. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A terrific experience with excellent, cr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A terrific experience with excellent, creative food. The meal starts with the best bread in town and then just gets better and better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was so exceptional that the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was so exceptional that the staff would not allow us to sit in front of the door because the weather was so cold blowing in. They also accommodated my 5 year old 👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a quick weekend getaway to New Or ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a quick weekend getaway to New Orleans and wanted something fancy but low key. Each dish was incredibly tasty and well crafted. Our servers were all gracious and friendly. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is nothing short of outs ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This restaurant is nothing short of outstanding! I have been back twice in the last 30 days. The crab app with rice and popcorn is creamy, crunchy, and buttery for all the right reasons. The duck was perfectly seared w/ a beautiful medium rare center. And the pimento sausage app equally incredible. Service has been great too! And as much as I hate to carb load, the bread is so good w/ yummy salted butter. Seriously who mentions bread anymore, you will ask for more. Eat here, you will thank me later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both had the NY Strip with au gratin ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We both had the NY Strip with au gratin potatoes. Delicate sauces, very tender and really tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Coquette several times b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I have eaten at Coquette several times but my most recent visit was just outstanding. My companion had the drum and I had the red snapper. We shared the yellow fin tuna crudo as a starter and also shared the oyster bisque. Everything was done to perfection. Our server was attentive but timed things so she didn't interfere unnecessarily with our conversation. I've never had a bad meal or a bad time at Coquette but this time was especially delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.