About Coquette

2800 Magazine Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Located in the Garden District of New Orleans, Coquette offers innovative southern cuisine with an emphasis on locally sourced product. Featuring an accessible international wine list, classic and creative New Orleans cocktails and a well-traveled beer list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am - 2:30 pm & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 265-0421

Website:
http://www.coquettenola.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Public Transit:
St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
Magazine Street Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael Stoltzfus

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs available for a seated dinner party up to 65 people or 80 people for a cocktail party. Full restaurant buyouts available for groups up to 200 people. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mandi Bordelon: 504-265-0421x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

fried chicken
Gnochetti With Andouille
Shrimp And Corn Pudding
Churros With Coffee Ice Cream And Caramel
Duck Breast
Fresh Corn With Miso Butter And Fried Okra
Smoked Lamb Shoulder With Summer Squash And Fried Zucchini Bread
Crispy Wild Catfish
Honey Tomato Mille-Feuille
Seared Amberjack With Fried Okra
Stuffed Peppers
Rose Wine Flight
Roasted Eggplant, Mint, Scallion, Tea & Honey
Shrimp and Grits
Smoked Pork Gumbo
Fluffer Nutter Brownie
Roasted Oysters
Vegetables
Open Faced Pastrami Sandwich
Scallops & Chorizo
Southern Fried Chicken
crab cake
Fried Apple Salad
Seabass
Vegetarian dish
Fried shrimp
charcuterie
Pork Gumbo
Grilled Veggies Salad
Bread
steak tartare
Local Vegetable Salad
Chicken Fried Sweetbreads
NY Strip
Softshell Crab
Shrimp & Grits
White Asparagus Soup
Chocolate Pot De Creme With Chocolate Cookies
Arawak
lemon tart
Dark Chocolate Pie
Smoked Pork and Greens Gumbo
Catfish With Adobo Sauce
Chocolate Tart
Dinner
Sazerac
Duck Breast With Pate And Curried Veggies
Crispy Fried Oysters
Steak-Frites
Scallops
Banana Foster Pie
Hangar Steak
Heirloom Tomato Sandwich
Strawberies And Cream
Pork Cheeks
Lemon Tart With Strawberry Sorbet
Crispy Softshell Crab With Fresh Corn Salad
Crispy Snapper
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat With Corn And Chips
Hog's Head
FROZEN COCONUT
Oysters With Andouille Aioli
Smoked Catfish
Short Rib With Pickled Vegetables
Cochon De Lait
Goat Cheese Cheesecake
Chargrilled Pork Chop
Chicken With Pickled Beets And Greens
Eggs Benedict
Spiced Funnel Cake With Fresh Berried And Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Salmon Tartar
Pork Cheek With Turnip And Sweet Potato
smoked pork belly
Pink Hummus
Palate Cleanser
Millefeuille
Grilled Lamb Hearts
Cochon De Lait With Brussel Sprouts And Whipped Sweet Potato
Strawberry Delight
Strawberries & Goat Cheese Mousse
Cheeseburger
Fried Softshell Crab
Shaved Foie Gras With Root Vegetables, Beet Jam And Maple
Pork Belly (Buta no Kaku Ni)
Deep fried soft shell crab
Fried Soft Shell Crab
Primerib
Brownie
Chocolate Beignets With Banana Milkshake
Taupiniere Cheese and Meat
Popcorn And Melon Tuna
Eggplant Salad
Chocolate Munchkins With Mint Ice Cream
Chocolate Cake W/ Banana Milkshake
Mix Greens With Goat Cheese And Pecans
Pork Cakes With Cabbage And Apple Sauce
Burger With Hooks Cheddar
Bbq Pork Lettuce Wraps
Carviola Cocktail
Duck Confit

Coquette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
1 More
American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Garden District ›

fit for foodies (144)
neighborhood gem (108)
special occasion (90)
See All
romantic (76)
notable wine list (43)
great for brunch (40)
hot spot (37)
great for lunch (36)
vibrant bar scene (25)
good for groups (23)
great for outdoor dining (10)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing and our service was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was amazing and our service was outstanding. We had a great night - the 5-course tasting with wine pairing was perfect so we could relax and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I met another couple for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I met another couple for brunch. The food and service were very good. I think $10 for a mimosa at brunch is a tad high. Overall the dining experience was good, but the bar bill steep. I would go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered the catfish dip, scallops, an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We ordered the catfish dip, scallops, and the drum fish. All very tasty. Fresh healthy ingredients.

Great wine selection. Sat at the bar for a cocktail before dinner. My husband ordered a martini, he said it wasn't the best but it certainly didn't put a damper on our experience. We would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What makes this restaurant so exceptiona ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

What makes this restaurant so exceptional beyond the wonderful food and presentation is the service. It is always competent, but more than that, the wait staff makes you feel like they're glad you're there. I didn't see a glum face among them, and this must be a great place to work. This attitude more than any other single thing made our evening there just as remarkable as the previous two occasions we've dined at Coquette. Our table was no exception. From what I could see, everyone else was having just as good a time as we were. It's on our list whenever we visit New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on No Menu Tuesday and had the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went on No Menu Tuesday and had the most lovely meal. Service was relaxed but attentive. Chef Kristen brought out our first course herself. Would recommend for a special date.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The inside was noisy due to hard surface ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The inside was noisy due to hard surfaces so we chose to eat outside. It was quite nice- although, I was eaten by mosquitoes. They don't have any anti-mosquito lights or candles. The food was good. The service was very pleasant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

After spending more than half my life wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

After spending more than half my life working in the food service industry I usually go out to dinner expecting to be, in some, way disappointed. That was far from the case when my husband and I dined at Coquet. Every sip of craft cocktail and every bite of our appetizers and entrees was perfectly delicious. The team of wait staff we had on the upper level was friendly and educated on the decor and all the ingredients. Every thing seamed to be wonderfully true and honest. Great job! Will definitely return if I find myself in town again.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. The service was a bit ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was amazing. The service was a bit rushed - would have enjoyed lingering a bit more while enjoying the incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Took my brother there for his bday. We d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Took my brother there for his bday. We did the 3 course brunch and every dish was amazing. He had the shrimp , catfish and peach parfait and I had gazpacho, duck confit and pie. I dine a lot all around the city so I believe I can tell a meal that stands out and this was the best meal we've had so far. We will visit again for sure.service was great !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening with the tast ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with the tasting menu and the wine pairing. Food was vibrant and fresh and perfectly prepared. Wine was a great complement to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

With the duck for two, the chef used eve ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

With the duck for two, the chef used every part sending us a large, amuse-bouche of duck wings. Delicious and brilliant. Service was knowledgeable of the menu, wine list and history of the restaurant (which was tricky). Great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No-Menu-Tuesday is a must - especially s ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

No-Menu-Tuesday is a must - especially since Kristen Essig has joined the team!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Friday 3-course lunch is a wonderful ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Friday 3-course lunch is a wonderful treat! Every dish was creative and delicious! Highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful and manager was ama ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Absolutely wonderful and manager was amazing!One of the best dinning experiences in NOLA!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for no menu Tuesday so I can't spea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Went for no menu Tuesday so I can't speak to the regular menu. It was delicious and extremely reasonably priced for the amount of food. Did not drink wine but they seemed to have a nice selection. I will definitely be eating here again.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

incredible meal for our last meal on our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

incredible meal for our last meal on our trip. we had the tasting menu with wine pairing. well paced, great service, visually appealing, and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, servers and bartenders ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing service, servers and bartenders know the menu and pairings perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was delightful, as was the food. ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was delightful, as was the food. We dine there several times a year, and they treated us like old friends. I can't recommend the restaurant more highly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in style by having an incredible meal at this Garden District-NOLA location. The atmosphere is relaxed and somewhat cozy. The service was unhurried and consistently professional. The food was awesome! For appetizers (small plates) we enjoyed the heirloom tomatoes with popcorn creme fraiche served with 3 small johnnycakes (think pancakes) which was so memorable as was the coffee cured cobia served with peaches, sunflower seeds and a little dollop of creme fraiche. For our entrees we went with the quail enhanced with cornbread stuffing, crawfish, tomato and fennel along with the crawfish agnolotti served with kohlrabi, pumpkin seeds and English peas. The visual presentations of each were something to behold, all plated as quite tasty (and most satisfying) works of culinary art. Pay attention to the wine lists (both by the glass and bottle) as this place really wants you to carefully consider bottle consumption. Our meal was accompanied by a celebratory Henriot Brut Rose (NV) offered at a very reasonable $78.00/bottle. I am getting thirsty just thinking about it all. This was a special occasion meal for us, but since we call NOLA home and we love the local dining scene, we will certainly be back for more of this in the not too distant future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coquette is amazing. We try to go at le ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Coquette is amazing. We try to go at least once every time we are in New Orleans. This visit, we had the pleasure of going twice - for Friday lunch and brunch. Food is outstanding and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel like a regular. (They even sent us a 'thank you' postcard!) I can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I were there for her birth ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My friend and I were there for her birthday. We thought the menu was rather weird, but were willing to try it, and were quite pleasantly surprised. We thoroughly enjoyed our food - we had the 3-course lunch - and would look forward to returning. An excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love coming back to this place when I ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I love coming back to this place when I come to NOLA. Eating in the Lower Garden District is a must for people that enjoy getting to know the essence of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience. This was for a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

What a great experience. This was for a date with my wife. A total and well deserved 10. Incredible quality, atmosphere and service. I have become a Coquette advocate. This to me is what NOLA is all about !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my go-to New Orleans restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is my go-to New Orleans restaurant. I can always expect a wonderful meal, and good service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding restaurant. Was recommended ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. Was recommended by someone local and said it was his favorite restaurant in the city. Server was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was not a fun experience!! we were th ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

it was not a fun experience!! we were there for my boyfriends birthday since it use to be his favourite restaurant. the hostess was not very polite.. we were seated on the main floor which was like eating in nice cafeteria. when making reservation you should mention which dining room so there is no surprises

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The eggplant in the fairy eggplant entre ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The eggplant in the fairy eggplant entree were FAR too tough. The tomato and johnnycake appetizer was delicious, but the potato salad was almost inedible.

Usually I love Coquette but we had a horribly noisy table near a huge party that made tons of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent friendly service. We had a won ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent friendly service. We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great time at Coquette. The fi ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great time at Coquette. The five course blind tasting menu was sensational and unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On Sunday, 6/12/16, my date and I decide ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

On Sunday, 6/12/16,

my date and I decided to try the blind five course dinner and it was fun! Even the staff seemed to be having a good time presenting the food and wine to us.

However, I was expecting more from the actual fare. Almost every dish had the sweet tang of pickle brine, as though a little vinegar and sugar had been sprinkled on the plate. The best was the drum fish with little candied olives on top. The worst was the sausage and veggies. That's right-veggies and sausage. That's it.

I'd definitely go back! But maybe I'd select on the menu to avoid the vinegary dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Simply amazing.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

You can't go wrong with any dish! Very creative menu and friendly wait staff. We went on a Friday night and recommended Coquette to colleagues who went the next evening. We all loved the ambience. Upstairs is very cozy with beautiful crystal chandeliers about 15 tables. Downstairs is a very nice bar with 4 top seating along the wall a little bit more lively depending on the plan for the evening. The tomato salad was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great attentive service, terrific artisanal cuisine long on flavour and generous of portion, plus refreshing cocktails and unfussy wines. Vive Coquette!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real find

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

For those visiting New Orleans, it is worth a trip out to the Garden District for this restaurant, which will not disappoint and which has none of the touristy character of the restaurants in the French Quarter. The chef is obviously a real master, who gives his own twist to French and New Orleans dishes and who clearly uses only the freshest of market ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best upscale restaurant in t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This is the best upscale restaurant in the southeast. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable meal and evening

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 15 wedding anniversary and the staff made us feel very special! We both have worked in restaurants and bars and know exceptional service and food. Coquette did not disappoint! The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I would suggest this as a great place to dine when in NOLA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unbelievably delicious food - such inter ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Unbelievably delicious food - such interesting treatments! I had the chefs tasting menu and wine pairing (for a pescatarian). From the starting snacks to the peach dessert every bite was spectacular. I would love to try and recreate that potato salad.... Congratulations on a great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When svc recovery & knowledge doesn't exist...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

It is a rare event in which I would have given less than 1 star if I could. We got warm recommendations, and for that reason- we rsvp (opentable), showed up few minutes ahead of the schedule "your reservation is here, would take us few min to clean the table, why don't you sit at the bar in the meantime?". So we did. And order a drink. And waited, and waited... and waited, and waited. 15-20 minutes later we asked what happen to the table as ppl who came after us w/o rsvp were seating. "Oh, we are sorry... the table will be ready shortly". (then they started cleaning it). We asked "btw, what happened to the drink the lady ordered 15 minutes ago :-) ?", that also fell to limbo... another apology, three minutes later the table was cleaned (Sort of), and we went to the table... they said don't worry about the drinks, we'd cover them (good, the wine they served was mediocre). Well, get to table, the cocktail of the lady arrives shortly afterwards... we take a look at the menu. Make a decision, order some appetizers... and they offer us to order a drink. I did- 20 minutes later it did not arrive. So, after 20 minutes when the appetizers arrived, I inquired... "oh, we ran out of that one, would you like... ". I agreed to the alternate champagne offered. few minutes later (now we are nearly an hour into the restaurant visit) somm shows up- found the drink, offered me a taste, and adds "oh, this would work GREAT with the appetizers you ordered..." (the ones that we waited 20 minutes or so, and were by now nearly done, thank you".

I'd save the rest of the service failures, but here is the bill details-- they did charged us for the drink. Yes, the delayed drink they could not find. After the failure service, the 20 minutes delay, the 15-20 minutes delay for the table, and after they told us- don't worry. If we were not on a romantic night, I would have argued. Well... to summarize, don't go there. I hope we'd get a refund for such mediocre svc. I had to apologize to the lady.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Coquette...a terriffic dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The great:

I had some perfectly prepared snapper and my girlfriend had a tenderloin that was tremendously tender and larger than she or I had expected. We had appetizers that were outstanding as well. You don't need to read about each dish. What you do need to know, is this; the chef has it dialed in.

The less than great:

The beer selection was anemic. I know it's a fine dining place and I should probably have a palate for insanely expensive wine, but I don't. You shouldn't expect much in the way of decent beer.

Things to consider:

- There is no sign or indication that this is a restaurant. Make sure you make note of the address,

since it is all you'll be going on. We watched people drive up, get out and question where the restaurant was.

- Although they serve drinks, there is no bar, per se. The servers mix their own drinks from a small stand/bar to one side of the restaurant. The reason I mention this is so you don't expect to go early and have a drink at the bar before your reservation time.

- I dressed in khakis and a golf shirt. I was embarrassingly under-dressed. You're going to spend a lot of money on meals here. You might as well dress like you can afford it.

All in all: A great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was both excellent and unique.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was both excellent and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken with paprika was outst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The fried chicken with paprika was outstanding. My friend loved the duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.