About Coquette

2800 Magazine Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Located in the Garden District of New Orleans, Coquette offers innovative southern cuisine with an emphasis on locally sourced product. Featuring an accessible international wine list, classic and creative New Orleans cocktails and a well-traveled beer list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 11:30am - 2:30 pm & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 265-0421

Website:
http://www.coquettenola.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. For more information, please email tbennett@coquettenola.com.

Public Transit:
St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
Magazine Street Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael Stoltzfus

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp & Grits
fried chicken
Gnochetti With Andouille
Heirloom Tomato With Johnny cakes
Shrimp And Corn Pudding
Churros With Coffee Ice Cream And Caramel
Duck Breast
Fresh Corn With Miso Butter And Fried Okra
Smoked Lamb Shoulder With Summer Squash And Fried Zucchini Bread
Crispy Wild Catfish
Honey Tomato Mille-Feuille
Seared Amberjack With Fried Okra
Stuffed Peppers
Rose Wine Flight
Roasted Eggplant, Mint, Scallion, Tea & Honey
Fluffer Nutter Brownie
Smoked Pork Gumbo
Shrimp and Grits
Roasted Oysters
Vegetables
Open Faced Pastrami Sandwich
Fried shrimp
Scallops & Chorizo
Southern Fried Chicken
crab cake
Pork Gumbo
Fried Apple Salad
charcuterie
Seabass
Grilled Veggies Salad
Vegetarian dish
steak tartare
Bread
Local Vegetable Salad
Chicken Fried Sweetbreads
NY Strip
Softshell Crab
Chocolate Pot De Creme With Chocolate Cookies
White Asparagus Soup
Arawak
lemon tart
Dark Chocolate Pie
Smoked Pork and Greens Gumbo
Chocolate Tart
Catfish With Adobo Sauce
Dinner
Sazerac
Duck Breast With Pate And Curried Veggies
Crispy Fried Oysters
Steak-Frites
Banana Foster Pie
Scallops
Hangar Steak
Heirloom Tomato Sandwich
Strawberies And Cream
FROZEN COCONUT
Crispy Softshell Crab With Fresh Corn Salad
Oysters With Andouille Aioli
Short Rib With Pickled Vegetables
Lemon Tart With Strawberry Sorbet
Smoked Catfish
Hog's Head
Crispy Snapper
Pork Cheeks
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat With Corn And Chips
Cochon De Lait
Goat Cheese Cheesecake
Chargrilled Pork Chop
Spiced Funnel Cake With Fresh Berried And Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Eggs Benedict
Chicken With Pickled Beets And Greens
Salmon Tartar
Pork Cheek With Turnip And Sweet Potato
Pink Hummus
Palate Cleanser
smoked pork belly
Millefeuille
Grilled Lamb Hearts
Strawberry Delight
Cochon De Lait With Brussel Sprouts And Whipped Sweet Potato
Strawberries & Goat Cheese Mousse
Cheeseburger
Pork Belly (Buta no Kaku Ni)
Fried Softshell Crab
Shaved Foie Gras With Root Vegetables, Beet Jam And Maple
Deep fried soft shell crab
Fried Soft Shell Crab
Brownie
Primerib
Chocolate Beignets With Banana Milkshake
Taupiniere Cheese and Meat
Eggplant Salad
Popcorn And Melon Tuna
Beef Tartare
Mix Greens With Goat Cheese And Pecans
Burger With Hooks Cheddar
Pork Cakes With Cabbage And Apple Sauce
Bbq Pork Lettuce Wraps
Duck Confit
Chocolate Munchkins With Mint Ice Cream

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Coquette can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Coquette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
1 More
American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Garden District ›

Fit for Foodies (123)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Special Occasion (85)
See All
Romantic (66)
Notable Wine List (40)
Great for Brunch (35)
Great for Lunch (33)
Hot Spot (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (6)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently one of the best places in t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently one of the best places in the city. Little pricey but at least they hit the mark unlike so many other places charging the same amount. Really don't have many negative things to say except that probably would behoove you to make a reservation. Walking in can be hit or miss and sometimes they throw you a little attitude for even trying, which is annoying. It is in the middle of a neighborhood. People are going to try to walk in.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular. The food was interesting a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Spectacular. The food was interesting and flawless. The wait staff was a fine balance of friendly and professional, that is, welcoming but not cloying, knowledgeable but never intimidating. A great New Orleans place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I strongly recommend the tasting menu - ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

I strongly recommend the tasting menu - it was innovative, balanced and the right amount of food. This ranks up there with one of my favorite meals in NOLA and I've certainly had many great meals in this town. Not to be missed are the potato beignets with duck and the grits with shrimp - but everything was excellent.

I hear the Tuesday night blind tasting is a great option also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Coquette never disappoints. Chef always ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Coquette never disappoints. Chef always amazes us with his culinary combinations. The staff is fantastic. My daughter made the comment on the way out that they were the friendliest staff of any restaurant we've ever been. Restaurants are our hobby and we would definitely keep this one our list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding just as in the past. Defini ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding just as in the past. Definite place for foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience from start to finis ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fantastic experience from start to finish. Quite possibly the best dining in New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant itself is beautiful. It's ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant itself is beautiful. It's the perfect atmosphere for a date night. It feels special but not overly pretentious. We went for the Tuesday night tasting menu and also ordered the optional wine pairings. Everything we had was delicious and unique! The wine pairings complemented the dishes perfectly. The service was great as well. The hostess, waitress, and sommelier were all very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions were larger than described. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The portions were larger than described. The small plate and entree were too much. Should have gotten 2 small plates or 1 entree. The fish was delicious. I was a little surprised that they were so few choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp and grits at brunch was great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The shrimp and grits at brunch was great. My vegan wife raved about he 3 course special meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I couldn't have been more pleased with t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I couldn't have been more pleased with the service and the food at Croquettes. We initially had early reservations but since we were moving our daughter to grad school it took much longer than expected. Croquettes was happy to change our time and then to accommodate us when we were early to the new time. The restaurant is beautiful and the staff friendly. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. I was impressed and I know our daughter felt very special being taken to such a wonderful place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Arguably one of the best food experience ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Arguably one of the best food experiences in NOLA. Had the tasting menu, it was phenomenal. Great experience. Planning to go back with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our meal thoroughly. We let t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We enjoyed our meal thoroughly. We let the chef prepare whatever he/she wanted and they didn't disappoint. The meal was 5 courses with a pre-desert and large desert. Execellent all around.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was on point! Enjoyed being t ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was on point! Enjoyed being there, fabulous wine selection and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved Coquette! Lived in NOLA for 6 ye ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I loved Coquette! Lived in NOLA for 6 years and one of my top favorite restaurants here !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are fans, but this was our first Sund ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are fans, but this was our first Sunday brunch here. The brunch is a 3 course format, with 4-5 options for each course. The first course was underwhelming......none the 4 selections knocked it out of the park, in fact I'd say they were average at best. The chilled cobia just did not work well for my palette, they it was an "interesting" use of the fish. The remaining offerings for the final 2 courses were the expected "outstanding". The duck was superb as was the smoked brisket hash. The final course of deserts offering were solid with the yogurt selection outstanding. As always...the chef and waiter worked closely with my wife to accommodate her gluten and lactose allergies. Great brunch in a very non-traditional style.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The fried chicken on the "plates to shar ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The fried chicken on the "plates to share" was AMAZING. Very tasty and a hearty appetizer for two people -- would serve even more. (We took some home!) The eggplant, our entree, was also really good. The place was crowded when we arrived for our Saturday 9pm reservation and the hostess tried to seat us a table right next to the very busy entrance/exit. We noticed a small table for two by the front window that was available and away from the fray, and we politely asked if we could be seated there instead. The hostess hesitated for some reason, but then agreed. Everything from that point was perfectly pleasant and fun. The place was noisy at first but within a half hour or so the place started emptying out and got much quieter. We had the friendliest and best waiter ever (a woman with a big smile). We thoroughly enjoyed all our food, my friend loved her wine, and I devoured my excellent (though small) Cosmo. I'll definitely go back there! Superb food -- they obviously take pride in it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu here is a moving target, so rec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The menu here is a moving target, so recommending dishes is pretty nearly useless. We've been here several times, and we've never been disappointed, so we are comfortable ordering whatever sounds/looks good. This time, brisket hash, duck confit, and a buffalo mozz salad were all acclaimed. Lauren was great.

The place is attractive, but the surfaces are hard!, so it gets loud as the crowd grows.

A little pricey for me or I'd eat here every week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the most creative restaurant s in ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of the most creative restaurant s in town. We loved the food! Awesome Resteraunt !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem of a restaurant. From start t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a gem of a restaurant. From start to finish, I can't gush enough about this lovely place. In New Orleans for a conference. A colleague wanted to try the Garden District (we were closer to the French Quarter). Ubered there from the River Walk. The gentleman who seated us gave a brief synopsis of the menu. We started with the charcuterie plate. I want it now as I write this.... We each ordered the server's recommendations- all were amazing. The "Poulet Rouge" (please accept my apologies for incorrect spelling) was stellar. Cannot recommend this place any higher- ambience, food, price = trifecta!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The is great. After a wonderful meal, w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The is great. After a wonderful meal, we cm back for desert the next night and sat at the bar and again had a great experience. Definitely recommended. One of our favorite restaurant ... period!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat there often. AleYs delicious and ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We eat there often. AleYs delicious and imaginative !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dining experience. We were staying ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great dining experience. We were staying nearby and had heard good things about it. The menu is limited (a good sign, in my book) but offered several intriguing choices with an emphasis on fresh and seasonal. The food was delicious and portions were "right-sized" (neither too precious nor over-abundant). What really stood out for us was the service - our waiter was phenomenal. He was very knowledgeable about the wine list and all of the menu items, had spot-on recommendations, and was prompt with service. The restaurant is obviously doing something right when they're able to attract and retrain top-talent (our waiter said he'd worked at Coquette for many years). The atmosphere was nice - historic looking room with exposed brick and tin-ceiling. But somehow much quieter than I'd expect given the surfaces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, attentive ,personal service is ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Friendly, attentive ,personal service is why Coqutte is our go to restaurant in a city of world class restaurants. The food is always prepared with care and the chefs parings are always spot on. My wife is a vegan and the kitchen accomodates her without hesitation. Happy wife happy life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, couldn't have been better!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great, couldn't have been better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always! My favorite spot ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Outstanding as always! My favorite spot in new orleans....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coquette is mu MUST stop when I am in Ne ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Coquette is mu MUST stop when I am in New Orleans. The kitchen and staff never disappoint. I can count on an excellent meal in a locally owned establishment. Great ambiance and service send Coquette over the top.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food and service were top ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As always, the food and service were top-notch. The wine and cocktail list is especially great. Listen to the menu and ask about the amaro list; you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous...You can never ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was fabulous...You can never go wrong eating lunch or brunch at this restaurant. Very up beat atmosphere and the food is very innovative and always fresh! A keeper for sure..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great wine. We had the du ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service, great wine. We had the duck for 2 had we both thought it was fabulous. I also had the gumbo which was a dark roux gumbo and was outstanding. We are locals and will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Coquette for an early dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went to Coquette for an early dinner with friends. We were seated immediately and offered menus and drink menus. The choices were myriad and diverse. They ranged from your "typical" New Orleans fare like shrimp and grits and "non-traditional" dishes such as cobia sashimi. We ordered two appetizers and then opted for the "blind course meal". We communicated that we were open for anything except for organ meats. We received delicious and satisfying plates that were original but not too "out there". Coquette is a bit pricey but I think one could dine there and have a wonderful meal without breaking the bank. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was amazing and our service was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was amazing and our service was outstanding. We had a great night - the 5-course tasting with wine pairing was perfect so we could relax and enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I met another couple for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I met another couple for brunch. The food and service were very good. I think $10 for a mimosa at brunch is a tad high. Overall the dining experience was good, but the bar bill steep. I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered the catfish dip, scallops, an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We ordered the catfish dip, scallops, and the drum fish. All very tasty. Fresh healthy ingredients.

Great wine selection. Sat at the bar for a cocktail before dinner. My husband ordered a martini, he said it wasn't the best but it certainly didn't put a damper on our experience. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What makes this restaurant so exceptiona ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

What makes this restaurant so exceptional beyond the wonderful food and presentation is the service. It is always competent, but more than that, the wait staff makes you feel like they're glad you're there. I didn't see a glum face among them, and this must be a great place to work. This attitude more than any other single thing made our evening there just as remarkable as the previous two occasions we've dined at Coquette. Our table was no exception. From what I could see, everyone else was having just as good a time as we were. It's on our list whenever we visit New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on No Menu Tuesday and had the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went on No Menu Tuesday and had the most lovely meal. Service was relaxed but attentive. Chef Kristen brought out our first course herself. Would recommend for a special date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The inside was noisy due to hard surface ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The inside was noisy due to hard surfaces so we chose to eat outside. It was quite nice- although, I was eaten by mosquitoes. They don't have any anti-mosquito lights or candles. The food was good. The service was very pleasant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

After spending more than half my life wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

After spending more than half my life working in the food service industry I usually go out to dinner expecting to be, in some, way disappointed. That was far from the case when my husband and I dined at Coquet. Every sip of craft cocktail and every bite of our appetizers and entrees was perfectly delicious. The team of wait staff we had on the upper level was friendly and educated on the decor and all the ingredients. Every thing seamed to be wonderfully true and honest. Great job! Will definitely return if I find myself in town again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. The service was a bit ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was amazing. The service was a bit rushed - would have enjoyed lingering a bit more while enjoying the incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Took my brother there for his bday. We d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Took my brother there for his bday. We did the 3 course brunch and every dish was amazing. He had the shrimp , catfish and peach parfait and I had gazpacho, duck confit and pie. I dine a lot all around the city so I believe I can tell a meal that stands out and this was the best meal we've had so far. We will visit again for sure.service was great !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening with the tast ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with the tasting menu and the wine pairing. Food was vibrant and fresh and perfectly prepared. Wine was a great complement to the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.