Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Coquette

Located in the Garden District of New Orleans, Coquette offers innovative southern cuisine with an emphasis on locally sourced product. Featuring an accessible international wine list, classic and creative New Orleans cocktails and a well-traveled beer list.

2800 Magazine Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 265-0421

Website:
http://www.coquettenola.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. For more information, please email mbordelon@coquettenola.com.

Public Transit:
St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
Magazine Street Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael Stoltzfus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Coquette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (39)
Romantic (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Tasting Menu (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Bar Seating (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Seasonal (17)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Casual (13)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Groups (11)
People Watching (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (6)
Organic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 14 hours ago

A colleague and I had the pleasure of dining at Coquette on no-menu Tuesday. Our five-course dinner demonstrated the kitchen's exceptional creativity, skill, and talent. Every course was delectable and a delight to our taste buds. Lovely setting, good wine selection, and excellent service. I'd highly recommend Coquette to anyone with a discriminating palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved it! Food was delicious. The wine terrific. They made us feel welcome. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I'm not one for small plates or surprises. However, I ordered the Chef's Surprise. It was a real gamble in my opinion. I did not expect the 5 course surprise meal to be filling or perfect for my pallet. EACH selection he chose was perfect. The meal was incredibly filling and so surprisingly tasty. Perfect meal. Perfect service. Perfect atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

We selected the Chef's choice and wine pairing! It was fabulous! Each dish was fresh, creative and absolutely delicious! I'm still thinking about our meal!!! The wines were picked to perfectly pair with each course! One of my new favorites in New Orleans!!! I am Vegan and my husband is not. Each dish was superbly crafted and made special for each of us! This dining experience exceeded my desire for me to try and find something Vegan. The food and wine was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We were in New Orleans escaping Hurricane irma and chose Coquette for a night out. A cozy, neighborhood feel on Magazine St in the Garden District area. I nice big bar (notable for the whiskey selection!) fifteen or so tables and friendly service. As nice as the ambiance is (BTW, the music selection was stellar) the food is the star. I had an updated version of an Old fashioned (I forget their name for it) that included some cold brew coffee, it was excellent. Nice, approachable wine list. We split a Small plate of burrata with muscadine, boiled peanuts, sunflower seed, basil that was great. My wife had a vegetarian dish with tempura shrimp, faro and long grain rice, she loved it. I had a chicken dish that was essentially chicken thigh stuffed with chicken and other delectables, then wrapped in the chicken skin and served like a hot, yummy sushi roll with a delicious sauce. original and super tasty. Crazy eclair with popcorn and caramel pictured. Go, enjoy. This place is legit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was a delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This was soooo unexpected! What a delight! This is, without a single doubt, the BEST meal I have had in New Orleans! The food was an inconceivably intricate, exquisite, balanced and blended textural explosion of the gustatory senses. The service was top shelf from every soul in that gorgeous establishment. I felt like I was in the home of a dear friend who pulled all the stops just for me so that I could have the best experience possible! Well done, folks! You all worked together with the culinary ninjas in the kitchen to create a meal fit for an emperor! Thank you a million times over! I will be back with my friends very soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I rarely give 5 stars for anything ( I eat out 360 nights/ year and compare everything to a restaurant outside of Paris that was definitely 5 stars). Camille, our server, could not have been better.
We had a variety of small plates-- happy to see vegetarian options-- and they were good. My friends and I were also amazed at how reasonable the prices were. The three of us remembered higher prices.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I'm lucky to live in the area within walking distance of this delightful restaurant. Food is always uniquely delicious, service is always friendly and I'm never disappointed. My guest for Labor Day weekend had never been to NOLA so I put this on our must-do list. He was very impressed, we had a memorable evening and I earned extra points for my good taste. We especially liked the chocolate pudding, which on this particular evening was paired with house-made mint ice cream. Thank you, Coquette!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Sophisticated and creative cuisine with local flair.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Second visit as GREAT as the first. Love visiting New Orleans for the food. Always do my homework well in advance to find new & interesting restaurants. There is always a slew of new spots in New Orleans. Try to visit & experience a new place, at least new to us whether weeks old or years old, each night we're here. But my friends said we had to do a repeat to Coquette based on our outstanding meal last year. So we returned. We were so glad we did. Once again the meal was outstanding - a real culinary treat. The crab stew was delicious & filled with unexpected ingredients & textures. Outstanding! For my main course I did something I rarely do & totally unexpected. Even though each offering sounded wonderful, I ordered the "chicken." Chicken! I can cook flavorful chicken. But not like this...the okra side & the yogurt sauce elevated each mouthful to haute cuisine. The chocolate pudding....yep, Chocolate Pudding! The pudding was a small block of heaven - more solid & dense than a typical creamy pudding with shaved slivers of dark chocolate protruding from all side. Plus a dollop of the "Mintiest" mint ice cream I've ever tasted. More fireworks for my happy palate. A perfect meal. Don't miss this incredible gem in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I went there for my boyfriend's 30th birthday and it was so great! We did the blind tasting with the wine pairing and it was amazing! We will definitely go back to try their brunch. Everything was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 29, 2017

HMMMMM. This is not a good time to write a review as unbeknownst to me, this was NO MENU TUESDAY. We should have been told upon booking but we were not. I am an adventurous foodie but my guest was not. Fortunately, the food met her liking but we really would have liked a fore warning. Oh, BTW, No Menu Tuesday means a prixe fix menu that is a surprise and there are no other options that evening. Actually, the food was wonderful, fun, inventive, and thank goodness they didn't serve my guest organ meats. I would have loved it, but it would have ruined her night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We are from San Francisco. I used to think New Orleans is a foodie town. Not any more. The food is expense and the taste very average.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food carefully and thoughtfully prepared. Every bite was delicious! We went for brunch and shared the French toast, omelette, bacon and grits. The quality of the ingredients really shines without making a big fuss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Really delicious balanced and creative food
Enjoyed all the pickled tastes

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food - Good service - Small well chosen wines - Good value!!!!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This restaurant is nothing like it used to be. The wait staff seemed occupied with other things and everybody was most non-talkative. Food was just OK - nothing special. Was very very noisy. Lights went dim while we were there for no apparent reason. Will not be going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Amazing simply amazing. Fresh inventive creative and the charred okra to die for. We ordered a second order for desert. My new favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our meals were not tasty at all and way overpriced for small portions.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely great- ate therw twice on Saturday-for brunch and dinner - staff was great - Emily- and everybody else - very kind - great food

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Cute place on magazine. Friendly service. Great place to grab cocktails and people watch with a few dishes to snack on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Celebrating graduation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My fiancée's bday. We actually made it, was just 15 min late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Awesome food and service! We will def be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had the tasting menu with wine pairing. The food was good-not great. I expected it to be a bit more interesting and flavorful than it was. Definitely not at the level of Restaurant August, Compere Lapin, and a few other NOLA restaurants. It is a grievous interior. We sat on the second floor and had a speciality cocktail before we started. The cocktail was terrific. The weird thing about where we sat was that there was a large group celebrating a birthday sitting at the two front tables and not in a private room or anything. It really made the noise levels rise and was a. It unpleasant-like we had front row sets to a strangers birthday party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a great meal with great service and a charming atmosphere. Highly recommend the chicken dinner to share.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

WE have been there several times and always have enjoyed it. The food is unique and very tasty. We love it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was a cut above. We loved it and look forward to coming back. Noise rating due to bachelor party seated right next to us toward the end of our meal!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

My husband and I own a restaurant in AZ. This was recommended by a friend in the industry.
We went to this restaurant as a group of 6 for my 30th birthday. Great wine and cocktails. Food was outstanding. We had gone to two James beard restaurants on our trip as well but this was 10x better. Server could have been a bit more attentive but we had a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful! This has become a favorite restaurant for me and my friends. Defiantly a Birthday go to dinner restaurant. Honestly any excuse to eat there , is the best reason!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We did the chef's choice menu. Every course was amazing. There was no detail not tended to -- flavors brilliantly matched. Even the palette cleanse was delightful -- chef's take on an Arnold Palmer -- lemon sorbet with a tea granita. Dessert was outstanding! The service was terrific! Cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 6, 2017

All-around wonderful experience. Upon recommendation, the four of us tried the tasting menu and it was amazing. Some of the best fish and steak I've ever had. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The whole experience was easy - not overdone (venue and dishes). Simple menu, great choices (and execution), and exceptional value. Service was fantastic. Will definitely add to the list of places to hit in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Wonderful meal with great service and fantastic craft cocktails .Our entrees were both delicious . The food was cooked perfectly .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I was there for "No Menu Tuesday" - 5 courses (plus amuses bouche) for $45. Food was creative and well prepared. Service was even better. Elizabet was exceptional!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We ordered appetizers to split between four of us and had to track our waitress down and request serving spoons. The food was hit and miss depending on what you ordered. Noise level was high due to a large party. Even though we were seated at the opposite end of the restaurant the acoustics were not conducive to private conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Coquette is our neighborhood restaurant but we don't go very often because my husband has other favorites. I asked him to take me to brunch last Sunday before I flew off to Denver. We both had a fantastic brunch meal that worked as lunch as well. The grilled artichokes were wonderful and the profiteroles ended the meal on a high note. We will definitely return for brunch (and I for lunch!).

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I wouldn't miss a trip to Coquette whenever we go to New Orleans (which seems to be getting more frequently!). We always stay at the wonderful B&B, The Terrell House, which is just up the street (Magazine) and the first place we go, whether for just a drink or dinner is Coquette. We've stopped in for dinner, brunch, early appetizers when we have later plans, and just to sit at the bar and have some great concoction. It's a fun place and everything we have ever gotten there, food or drink, has been wonderful! Don't miss it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great meal. Had the burrata, red snapper, waygu beef, great wine and tasty desserts. I highly recommend Coquette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.