About Coquette Brasserie

4351-119 The Circle at North Hills
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Urban Food Group presents a classic brasserie serving casual French food in a stunningly beautiful environment. The area's only pewter bar is surrounded by temperature controlled wine cases, marble top tables and dark wood. Service is crisp, professional and friendly. Dress is city casual.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Sunday 10:00am to 3:00pm
Mid Day Monday-Sunday 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:00am to 3:00pm
Saturday 11:00am to 3:00pm
Dinner Monday-Thursday 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday-Saturday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm to 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Six Forks

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 789-0606

Website:
http://www.coquetteraleigh.com/

Catering:
We handle off premise functions of all types. Please inquire at our website, or call directly and we will get you in touch with our private party coord.

Parking Details:
We offer a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant along with valet services on Fri & Sat evenings provided by the North Hills staff. There is also a large underground parking deck which has several elevators and escalators bringing our guests up to the street level just steps away from our entrances.

Public Transit:
The local bus system has a stop less than 100 yards away from our door.

Executive Chef:
Beth Littlejohn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room accommodates fifty persons seated for lunch/dinner or can comfortably host a cocktail party for seventy-five. We are happy to customize an event to your specific needs and wants making your party the most memorable affair.

Private Party Contact:
Whitney Gilliom: 919-789-0606x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steak & Frites
Creme Brulee
French Onion Soup
Moules Frites (Mussels And Fries)
Chocolate torte
Chicken Crepes
Beef Bourguignon
Mesculin Salad
Duck
Apple & Brie Crepe
Spinach Quiche
Plateau De Charcuterie & Fromage
Profiteroles
Chicken And Mushroom Crepe
Poached Egg, Lardons and Frisee Salad
Truffle Fries
Florentine
Ensemble Du Chocolat
beef bourgignon
Cassoulet
Begniets
Pan Seared Salmon
Parisian Gnocci
Snapper Special
Shirred Eggs With Tomatoes, Leeks And Zuchinni
Monte Cristo Sandwich
Parisian Gnocchi
Smoked Salmon Omelette
Orange & Carrot Bisque
Vichyssoise
Frogs Legs
Pork Tenderloin
croque monsieur
Foie Gras
Scallops
Seafood Crepes
Cheese Board
Oysters
steak tartare

Coquette Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
2 More
Great for Lunch
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

fit for foodies (94)
great for lunch (86)
special occasion (78)
See All
neighborhood gem (74)
great for brunch (66)
good for groups (57)
romantic (45)
notable wine list (26)
hot spot (19)
kid-friendly (17)
great for outdoor dining (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took Japanese visitors for their first ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

I took Japanese visitors for their first dinner at Raleigh and the dinner, mood was great here. Even though it is French, you can feel a little American in it. The appetizers were great taste for escargot and the entrée were good with duck! I will come back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good was excellent! The waiter at times ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good was excellent! The waiter at times seemed uninterested in our group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Love this place!!! It's becoming one of ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place!!! It's becoming one of my favorite places to eat in Raleigh!! Service and food are outstanding! The monte cristo for brunch is very tasty and the steak frites for dinner is delicious! The kids menu is one of my favorite features about Coquette. They actually have a steak on the menu that's a steak with mashed potatoes and green beans. We will be regulars here and go on Sunday's...$2 mimosas!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was OK but very different from ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was OK but very different from other French cooking we have experienced. It seemed to be very heavy with a lot of gravy. We are not used to that. This is a matter of taste, so no problem. The escargot was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Menu was varied and the food and service ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Menu was varied and the food and service were excellent. Lot's of choices, atmosphere and décor are inviting and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere relaxing. Our server was attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been coming here since they opene ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have been coming here since they opened, and while the food is typically very good, sometimes they just do something stupid, and this was one of those times. I ordered the salmon, which came with squash. I asked if I could substitute squash for something else, and the waitress suggested french fries, which was fine with me. She came out a few minutes later and said, "The chef said you cannot have french fries, if you want them you have to buy them as a side order." I asked if there was another side from another entree that I could use then, and she said, "No. There is nothing you can substitute it with." Will I get a credit for not having a side then? "No. Don't blame me, it's the chef."

Another time, I ordered the quiche, which I have had at least 30 times. I often come for brunch or by myself and sit at the bar during my lunch break, and this is my go-to item. The quiche came out cold, and when I pointed that out to the waitress, she told me that is how it is served, just lukewarm. Well, I pointed out it was cold, not lukewarm, and it should be served hot either way and if she could take it bake and heat it up. She begrudgingly did, brought it out again, and it was still cold. So, I asked her again, she brought it back out a 3rd time, still cold. When I pointed it out it was still cold, she said, "We can't keep it oven long as we have other food to cook." Oh, so my food doesn't count and she thinks I don't know how the quiche should be prepared after having it 30 some times. So I just took it home where I could heat it up and ate it there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Coquette Brasserie is always a delight f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Coquette Brasserie is always a delight for any meal. Bread & salted butter, as well as the side we order of excellent fries--both worth the indulgence. We both ordered seafood which was perfectly cooked and artfully presented.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I usually enjoy the food at Coquet ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

While I usually enjoy the food at Coquette I cannot say the same for their burger. I is tasteless. On the other hand the fries are very good. In the end don't get a burger at this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

This most recent visit was a big improve ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This most recent visit was a big improvement from our last visit a few years ago when just about nothing went right... so much that we avoided Coquette for years. They've redeemed themselves, though, with prompt and attentive service, quality food with nice portions, and an overall enjoyable experience. We were welcomed at the door and never felt rushed, despite the Sunday brunch crowd filling the place. The orders came out quickly (and correctly).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've never had a bad meal at this place. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've never had a bad meal at this place. It's a must every time I come to Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very good, the food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was very good, the food was pretty good. It was a bit salty for my preference. When scallops are salty I am not surprised, but the bread was salty (or maybe it was the butter). I was hoping for a more intimate atmosphere, but it was laid out basically like a McAlister's. Good place for a good meal, would never be my choice for a special occasion though.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We recently celebrated our anniversary a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Coquette and had a wonderful experience. Our server's suggestions were spot-on, the ambiance was just right, and the food was delicious. The service was great too. In the year that

we have lived in NC, this was the most elegant restaurant we have encountered.

We expected to encounter a French- speaking staff, which was not the case.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was a young man who displayed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server was a young man who displayed the perfect balance between hovering (bad) and keeping watch over our table and returning at just the right time. Was also well informed and a good explainer of wines and menu items.

A fun evening before a stressful day on Tuesday at Duke Raleigh Hospital.

A. P. Perkinson, Jr.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always love this restaurant but just wen ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always love this restaurant but just went on a Sunday night, early not late. . No specials or chalkboard Items, and they were out of 2 proteins, one of which several people in our party had wanted to order. Bread did not arrive until we already had our first courses. Dessert was amazing and not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We've been to Coquette many times as our ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been to Coquette many times as our kids live in Raleigh. I make sure we dine there at least once on every trip to visit them. You know the drill...Dad always gets the bill, but at this place I'm happy to take it. We lived in Paris for 6 years, and Coquette rates favorably to most of our favorites there. Food is excellent and simple in brasserie style and needless to say the service far exceeds anything in Paris. Favorites for me are escargot, steak-frites, French onion soup and an incredible cranberry tart for dessert. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. You know...Coquette is not a super fancy 5 star Michelin rated restaurant, but somehow it's still one of my favorite places to go. Can't wait til the next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food with quality ingredients. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food with quality ingredients. The service was decent but could have been better. The food makes it worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

When we arrived the restaurant was not v ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

When we arrived the restaurant was not very full. Nevertheless we were lead to a table near the kitchen instead of nearer the door. If it this restaurant's policy to fill the tables near the kitchen first, then it needs to change. I did not complain at the time as I was with my family and they prefer me not to cause a fuss thus marring what was to be a pleasant evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I took 5 world traveler friends and they ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I took 5 world traveler friends and they all loved it. They couldn't believe they had never heard of it. I told them it was well worth the drive across town. They were all impressed with their lunches. I was the hero of the day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Coquette competes for the best French re ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Coquette competes for the best French restaurant I've had in the area. The food is absolutely incredible and service is excellent. When the foodie in me wakes up Coquette lands on my list. As far as price is concerned it isn't cheap..but not overly pricey and what you get for the price is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The moules were not up to par. Too cool ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The moules were not up to par. Too cool. The frites were a bit soggy. Service was fine. Always like dining at Coquette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Party of 8. Crepes were great. Beef dish ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Party of 8. Crepes were great. Beef dish look perfect. 2 small Scallops were terrible, the sauce was so salty. Trout was worse. So over cooked and thin. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was average and overpriced for the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was average and overpriced for the quality. Beef cassoulet special was muddy in taste, no distinct flavors. Not French.

With so many good options available in Raleigh, we will not revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This was for Father's Day and we had a g ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was for Father's Day and we had a great meal along. But more importantly the staff treated us like we were locals/friends coming in for our daily bread. We both had omelets which were fantastic. Dad wanted a spinach omelet that was not on the menu but Chef was very kind in accommodating our request.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Potato croquet frozen inside and beef bo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Potato croquet frozen inside and beef bourguignon had 3 tiny cubes of beef. Worst meal i had in 2 years. Use to love this place. Gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Coquette is our "go place", period. We ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Coquette is our "go place", period. We feel good taking foodie friends or those who just enjoy a great meal. We also find it romantic. They are also good about preparing food the way you like it.. Service is great and prices reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the charcuterie board, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We really enjoyed the charcuterie board, was the best part of our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a treat to dine at Coquette Brass ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a treat to dine at Coquette Brasserie. The food and service is consistently top-notch. Be sure to arrive early for your reservation as parking is sometimes challenging during lunch or dinner hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coquette's was predictably good as alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Coquette's was predictably good as always. Quiche is a to- die-for experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good food, nice ambiance, beautiful bar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Good food, nice ambiance, beautiful bar with great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

excellent as aways. They have changed m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

excellent as aways. They have changed my favorite brunch item ( steak benedict) and i miss it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We did the triangle restaurant week dinn ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We did the triangle restaurant week dinner and it was a good deal for a very nice 3 course meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb service and delectable cuisine. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Superb service and delectable cuisine. A must return visit is in order. 😀

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the upbeat, lively atmosphere ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed the upbeat, lively atmosphere, as well as the good service. They had delicious French foods that were rich and flavorful. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

coquette

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Decor makes you feel exactly like you just walked into a restaurant in Paris. Excellent service and the food is delicious. Champagne and wine was flowing. This was my second visit, and both were extremely enjoyable. One of our favorite lunch/brunch places in Raleigh. We all look forward to a return visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sandwich had very little meat or sauce, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Sandwich had very little meat or sauce, mostly bread. Fries were good. Server was not pleasant and service for all of her tables was very slow. I heard several complaints from surrounding tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Great little restaurant

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

.

So glad to have the opportunity to rave about this gem of a restaurant in NOrth HIlls, Raleigh . The food was delicious. I had the Quiche Lorraine and my friend had a scallop dish. Both were perfect. Presentation was appealing and server was knowledgeable, attentive but not overbearing. All in all, an excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good French Cuisine in NC

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is quite authentic. I had Coq au Vin, which was good but a bit pricy for 1 chicken leg in a bit of wine sauce. (20 USD). The selmon tartar as a starter wa excellent but also a bit expensive (13 bucks). We can certainly recommend the Creme brûlée which was excellent.

The wine list is not very long but the open ones we took were all good and price was ok.

The main issue we had on the service side was the seater who let our guests wait for more than 10 min although she had just seated us 5 min earlier. A short ' I'm so sorry' is not enough for such faux pas at least they could have offered an aperitif or coffee after the dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ok

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We've been here several times in the past, and our recent visit was just not up to the usual fantastic experiences we've had here previously. Everything from the cocktails to the food to the wait service was just pretty good, but not special or amazing, as with before. It was a date night for us, and we had hoped for a really nice dining experience, especially with the food. My coq au vin was good, but my husband's tenderloin was just not something to write home about. We left feeling a tad disappointed, and puzzled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A little bit of France...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Mussels, Pom frites, and Brussels sprouts, oh my! We were looking for something light and delicious and Coquette did not disappoint. Service was delightful, heaping bowls of steaming mussels in a light butter wine sauce accompanied by skinny Pom frites with aioli, and a side of Devine Brussels sprouts left no room for dessert. Beignets were ever so tempting. I also love the coq au vin, but that's for a cooler evening. Wish they would put the beignets on the brunch menu...sigh.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.