About Coquette Brasserie

4351-119 The Circle at North Hills
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Urban Food Group presents a classic brasserie serving casual French food in a stunningly beautiful environment. The area's only pewter bar is surrounded by temperature controlled wine cases, marble top tables and dark wood. Service is crisp, professional and friendly. Dress is city casual.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Sunday 10:00am to 3:00pm
Mid Day Monday-Sunday 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:00am to 3:00pm
Saturday 11:00am to 3:00pm
Dinner Monday-Thursday 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday-Saturday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm to 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Six Forks

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 789-0606

Website:
http://www.coquetteraleigh.com/

Catering:
We handle off premise functions of all types. Please inquire at our website, or call directly and we will get you in touch with our private party coord.

Parking Details:
We offer a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant along with valet services on Fri & Sat evenings provided by the North Hills staff. There is also a large underground parking deck which has several elevators and escalators bringing our guests up to the street level just steps away from our entrances.

Public Transit:
The local bus system has a stop less than 100 yards away from our door.

Executive Chef:
Beth Littlejohn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room accommodates fifty persons seated for lunch/dinner or can comfortably host a cocktail party for seventy-five. We are happy to customize an event to your specific needs and wants making your party the most memorable affair.

Private Party Contact:
Whitney Gilliom: 919-789-0606x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steak & Frites
Creme Brulee
French Onion Soup
Moules Frites (Mussels And Fries)
Chocolate torte
Beef Bourguignon
Mesculin Salad
Chicken Crepes
Duck
Spinach Quiche
Apple & Brie Crepe
Profiteroles
Plateau De Charcuterie & Fromage
Chicken And Mushroom Crepe
Poached Egg, Lardons and Frisee Salad
Truffle Fries
Florentine
beef bourgignon
Begniets
Ensemble Du Chocolat
Cassoulet
Pan Seared Salmon
Parisian Gnocci
Snapper Special
Shirred Eggs With Tomatoes, Leeks And Zuchinni
Parisian Gnocchi
Monte Cristo Sandwich
Smoked Salmon Omelette
Foie Gras
Vichyssoise
Pork Tenderloin
Orange & Carrot Bisque
Frogs Legs
croque monsieur
Scallops
steak tartare
Cheese Board
Oysters
Seafood Crepes

Coquette Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Fit for Foodies (99)
Special Occasion (98)
Great for Lunch (91)
See All
Great for Brunch (76)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Good for Groups (58)
Romantic (50)
Notable Wine List (29)
Hot Spot (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

2nd visit in a month and was disappointe ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

2nd visit in a month and was disappointed in the menu. Had eaten here over the past 3-4 years and always thought the food was excellent. These past 2 visits was a let down. The time before I thought maybe it was just an off night, but the 2nd time was the same. I thought the menu was very limited and nothing offered seemed out of the ordinary. We ended up ordering the hamburgers--they were good. Only other thing on the menu that was of interest was the salmon. The waitress seemed distracted . The white wine was not chilled and had to be brought in an ice bucket to chill it....all in all, the restaurant is not the same.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

It was an enjoyable evening. Our meals ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was an enjoyable evening. Our meals were delicious, and the waiter helpful and attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Our group fu ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Our group fully enjoyed our time with each other and the service and food was top-notch. We weren't rushed to finish and our waitress was truly impeccable. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed describes my overall experi ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointed describes my overall experience. We had a 12:15 PM reservation and we were not immediately seated. I did not mind except for the fact that once we were seated, we didn't have a table suitable for a party of six. In addition, I'm not sure if Coquette's AC is not working properly or if it is normally hot in their establishment, but we were uncomfortably warm in the restaurant. This distracted me from enjoying my meal. I ordered the chicken paillard and it was mediocre. I've had this same dish at Rue Cler, which is absolutely amazing and I was hoping for something comparable. Our waiter also forgot to bring my onion soup. I know Sundays can be extremely busy, but unfortunately the quality of food and the service was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Absolutely love this place!!! One of my ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Absolutely love this place!!! One of my favorite spots in Raleigh!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for brunch with my best friend, thi ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for brunch with my best friend, third time I've visited Coquette. The service was outstanding. We both got coffees, and our server, Tyler, never made us wait for refills throughout our whole meal. The food was excellent as usual, and particularly notable was our dessert, the orange cranberry clafoutis, a traditional french dessert you don't usually encounter stateside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the mussels and they were way over ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had the mussels and they were way over done and bitter. I think the garlic was burned which gave it the bitterness. I told the waiter but he did not take it off my bill. I paid the bill anyway, didn't want to make a scene. Not happy about that. overall good, the pate du jour was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Waiter made great wine suggestion. And f ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waiter made great wine suggestion. And found a bowl of the chilled carrot, fennel and orange soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It would of been nice to tell us that yo ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It would of been nice to tell us that you were charging us

double for our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Thoroughly enjoyed our special dinner at ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our special dinner at Coquette. Our server, Ronnie, was outstanding and allowed us to enjoy a leisurely paced meal, as requested. We tried a variety of entrees and each was delicious, perfectly prepared, and appropriately sized. The coq au vin was tender and nestled in a cloud of heavenly mashed potatoes. The duck breast was spectacular and cooked to perfection. We also had the brined pork chop special of the night and it was out of this world tender. We sat at a banquette which usually limits someone to staring at a wall all night but the mirrors afforded that member of our party full sight of the seating area and was much appreciated. I will definitely return to Coquette and recommend it to you for a special treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always make it a point to eat at Coqu ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always make it a point to eat at Coquette when were in town. Never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

At my sister's recommendation we chose C ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

At my sister's recommendation we chose Coquette for a family brunch while visiting Raleigh. It was a bit challenging to find the restaurant in the North Hills mall but once we found it we were really glad. Our server was attentive without being over-bearing and the food was really terrific. Don't miss the Nutella/Banana crepe....

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very nice atmosphere. dessert was really ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

very nice atmosphere. dessert was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated friends birthday at brunch on ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Celebrated friends birthday at brunch on a Sunday. Service was wonderful. New cocktails were great, so tasty! Food excellent. Glad we chose Coquette.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The brunch is outstanding. While the tab ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The brunch is outstanding. While the tables are a little close, it does give a taste of true Parisian dining.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was exceptional as usual. Wish the ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was exceptional as usual. Wish the clams with sausage and fennel would be a regular item! Need more wines by the glass offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was one of many visits to Coquette ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was one of many visits to Coquette and it was great as usual. The squash and gruyere quiche was phenomenal. The staff very kindly accommodated us at a particular table with cushy seats as my friend had recently injured her back. Well done, Coquette!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our 44th anniversary celebration with an ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

our 44th anniversary celebration with another couple. quite a nice evening. food was excellent as was wine. service was attentive, though we found ourselves waiting for an extended time at a couple points, but not a real bother since we were having large conversation with our friends. 2 beef and 2 fish entrees were just superbly done and nicely presented. will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dinner menu item of the day was skimpy f ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Dinner menu item of the day was skimpy for an entree.

Two of four entrees were not hot when served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We like the restaurant for its ambiance. ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We like the restaurant for its ambiance. The service was well above average from the greeting upon arrival to the departure. The waiter was attentive without being overbearing.

This is the second time we have eaten there. The first time the food was very good. This time the food was mediocre at best. The veal blanquette was chewy and and a little fatty. The taste was somewhat bland. The beef bourguignon was missing something that would have added more flavor. (Somewhat bland as well.)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I took Japanese visitors for their first ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I took Japanese visitors for their first dinner at Raleigh and the dinner, mood was great here. Even though it is French, you can feel a little American in it. The appetizers were great taste for escargot and the entrée were good with duck! I will come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good was excellent! The waiter at times ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good was excellent! The waiter at times seemed uninterested in our group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Love this place!!! It's becoming one of ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love this place!!! It's becoming one of my favorite places to eat in Raleigh!! Service and food are outstanding! The monte cristo for brunch is very tasty and the steak frites for dinner is delicious! The kids menu is one of my favorite features about Coquette. They actually have a steak on the menu that's a steak with mashed potatoes and green beans. We will be regulars here and go on Sunday's...$2 mimosas!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was OK but very different from ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was OK but very different from other French cooking we have experienced. It seemed to be very heavy with a lot of gravy. We are not used to that. This is a matter of taste, so no problem. The escargot was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Menu was varied and the food and service ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Menu was varied and the food and service were excellent. Lot's of choices, atmosphere and décor are inviting and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere relaxing. Our server was attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been coming here since they opene ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have been coming here since they opened, and while the food is typically very good, sometimes they just do something stupid, and this was one of those times. I ordered the salmon, which came with squash. I asked if I could substitute squash for something else, and the waitress suggested french fries, which was fine with me. She came out a few minutes later and said, "The chef said you cannot have french fries, if you want them you have to buy them as a side order." I asked if there was another side from another entree that I could use then, and she said, "No. There is nothing you can substitute it with." Will I get a credit for not having a side then? "No. Don't blame me, it's the chef."

Another time, I ordered the quiche, which I have had at least 30 times. I often come for brunch or by myself and sit at the bar during my lunch break, and this is my go-to item. The quiche came out cold, and when I pointed that out to the waitress, she told me that is how it is served, just lukewarm. Well, I pointed out it was cold, not lukewarm, and it should be served hot either way and if she could take it bake and heat it up. She begrudgingly did, brought it out again, and it was still cold. So, I asked her again, she brought it back out a 3rd time, still cold. When I pointed it out it was still cold, she said, "We can't keep it oven long as we have other food to cook." Oh, so my food doesn't count and she thinks I don't know how the quiche should be prepared after having it 30 some times. So I just took it home where I could heat it up and ate it there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Coquette Brasserie is always a delight f ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Coquette Brasserie is always a delight for any meal. Bread & salted butter, as well as the side we order of excellent fries--both worth the indulgence. We both ordered seafood which was perfectly cooked and artfully presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I usually enjoy the food at Coquet ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

While I usually enjoy the food at Coquette I cannot say the same for their burger. I is tasteless. On the other hand the fries are very good. In the end don't get a burger at this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

This most recent visit was a big improve ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This most recent visit was a big improvement from our last visit a few years ago when just about nothing went right... so much that we avoided Coquette for years. They've redeemed themselves, though, with prompt and attentive service, quality food with nice portions, and an overall enjoyable experience. We were welcomed at the door and never felt rushed, despite the Sunday brunch crowd filling the place. The orders came out quickly (and correctly).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've never had a bad meal at this place. ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've never had a bad meal at this place. It's a must every time I come to Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very good, the food was ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was very good, the food was pretty good. It was a bit salty for my preference. When scallops are salty I am not surprised, but the bread was salty (or maybe it was the butter). I was hoping for a more intimate atmosphere, but it was laid out basically like a McAlister's. Good place for a good meal, would never be my choice for a special occasion though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We recently celebrated our anniversary a ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Coquette and had a wonderful experience. Our server's suggestions were spot-on, the ambiance was just right, and the food was delicious. The service was great too. In the year that

we have lived in NC, this was the most elegant restaurant we have encountered.

We expected to encounter a French- speaking staff, which was not the case.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was a young man who displayed ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server was a young man who displayed the perfect balance between hovering (bad) and keeping watch over our table and returning at just the right time. Was also well informed and a good explainer of wines and menu items.

A fun evening before a stressful day on Tuesday at Duke Raleigh Hospital.

A. P. Perkinson, Jr.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always love this restaurant but just wen ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always love this restaurant but just went on a Sunday night, early not late. . No specials or chalkboard Items, and they were out of 2 proteins, one of which several people in our party had wanted to order. Bread did not arrive until we already had our first courses. Dessert was amazing and not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We've been to Coquette many times as our ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been to Coquette many times as our kids live in Raleigh. I make sure we dine there at least once on every trip to visit them. You know the drill...Dad always gets the bill, but at this place I'm happy to take it. We lived in Paris for 6 years, and Coquette rates favorably to most of our favorites there. Food is excellent and simple in brasserie style and needless to say the service far exceeds anything in Paris. Favorites for me are escargot, steak-frites, French onion soup and an incredible cranberry tart for dessert. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. You know...Coquette is not a super fancy 5 star Michelin rated restaurant, but somehow it's still one of my favorite places to go. Can't wait til the next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food with quality ingredients. The ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food with quality ingredients. The service was decent but could have been better. The food makes it worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

When we arrived the restaurant was not v ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

When we arrived the restaurant was not very full. Nevertheless we were lead to a table near the kitchen instead of nearer the door. If it this restaurant's policy to fill the tables near the kitchen first, then it needs to change. I did not complain at the time as I was with my family and they prefer me not to cause a fuss thus marring what was to be a pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I took 5 world traveler friends and they ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I took 5 world traveler friends and they all loved it. They couldn't believe they had never heard of it. I told them it was well worth the drive across town. They were all impressed with their lunches. I was the hero of the day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Coquette competes for the best French re ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Coquette competes for the best French restaurant I've had in the area. The food is absolutely incredible and service is excellent. When the foodie in me wakes up Coquette lands on my list. As far as price is concerned it isn't cheap..but not overly pricey and what you get for the price is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.