HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Coppia

4.4
278 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Notable Wine List
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Ladling exotic South European platters with an extensive pairing of wine flights, Coppia is an Italian restaurant and wine bar serving the customers in a chic styled timber themed setting. Colorful and accent lightings with walled illustrations characterize the trendy profile of Coppia, with an overall sophisticated ambience priming the dining experience of the visiting gourmets.

From primi, secondi, formaggi and dolci—patrons at Coppia can course an entire exotic Italian meal served with complementary wine. Agnolotti, Papardelle, fresh thin pasta, duck breast, pork tenderloin, rib eye steak and panna cotta are some of the premier combinations being served. The waiting staff is personable and attentive.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm. Happy Hour Menu offered Tuesday - Saturday 4:00 PM to 5:30 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 295-9536
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Adam Ruplinger
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a back room that seats up to 30 guests. The entire restaurant is available for buy-out. Inquire regarding minimums.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Bill Ludwig: (503) 295-9536
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
N.W. Flanders
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample street parking in front of, and near, the restaurant, depending on the day and time.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We're in front of a stop (at Glisan) in Fareless Square on the streetcar from nearby downtown Portland.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have done private events, parties and wine tastings in many different formats for groups of up to 60 people. Please call or email coppiapdx@gmail.com with any questions on the space.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 278 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
boatgal (Portland)
1.0  Dined on September 16, 2016

The was no dining. When I arrived with my business guest, the restaurant was closed. It looked like they are remodeling. Why on earth were they accepting reservations on Open Table if they were going to be closed? I had to scramble to find somewhere to take my guest on a Friday evening. I was very embarrassed and disappointed. Someone dropped the ball big-time.

Report
Helpful
vipKaren (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on August 6, 2016

Appetizers were fantastic but 2 of 4 entrees were very salty.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on August 2, 2016

We are frequent visitors to Coppia, and we really enjoy the food. We are always concerned, however, that there aren't more patrons. We tell everyone about Coppia in hopes that it will lead to more business.

Report
Helpful
vipvirginiaM (Portland)
3.0  Dined on July 30, 2016

I thought the quality of the pasta was very good and the small plate serving was big enough. The insalata was delicious as was the osso bucco but the salami plate should have had cheese with it. Also Osso Bucco was very pricey given the portion size. I thought it was over priced in general.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodieABB (Los Angeles)
1.0  Dined on July 22, 2016

Well...not what I expected at all! We walked in at 8:45 and it was completely empty. The staff was cleaning, putting away silverware and it appeared they were closing for the night. I even had to ask if they were open! And they said yes and sat us. I could not relax because the noise from them cleaning and the clashing of them putting silverware away was so loud it was hard to ignore. Then when we went to order they were out of any of the dishes we were interested in (not a good sign). Our waiter was our only saving grace, he was wonderful and really tried to make us happy. We ordered a pinot noir wine flight and some appetizers- none of which had any wow factor whatsoever. I don't know if this place is any good. We decided to have our entrees elsewhere. Maybe we caught them on a bad night. The sad part was it was our only night out while we were in Portland and we were very disappointed in our experience in the Pearl District in general. Being a foodie I have had way better experiences in SF, LA, NY, Austin, etc. Portland needs some help!

Report
Helpful
viplemons4u (Portland)
5.0  Dined on July 12, 2016

This is our go-to place when friends are in town or before theatre at Portland Center Stage. Great atmosphere, great lighting and not noisy. The perfect equation for a nice dinner. Nice comfortable space between tables. Our food was delicious., especially loved the gnocchi dish. And because their computer system was down, they were nice enough to call us to give us a heads up about the situation. We thought that was very considerate.
Definitely will return and keep it as our "neighborhood gem."

Report
Helpful
LonnieH (Portland)
5.0  Dined on July 9, 2016

Coppia is a real find. Nice, sophisticated ambiance, intimate setting, low noise level. Wait staff very attentive and helpful. But most of all, the food was all GREAT!

Four of us shared two appetizers - one was a special of the evening, a Burrata Crostini dish that was fabulous. The other appetizer was the Sformato, a spring pea and cauliflower souffle that was also delicious.

For entrees, the wives shared the Steelhead Trout entree (a special for that day), and the husbands had the Agnolotti (braised oxtail stuffed pasta) and the Pappardelle (wide pasta with wild boar ragu. All outstanding!

Place also has a substantial wine list with many options.

We will surely be back and I highly recommend this place for dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on July 1, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal on Friday evening at Coppia! I had the Osso Busco which was beautifully prepared. My husband had the fresh fish which was steelhead, served with a pea shoot pesto that was delicious. Morgan, the chef, is a very talented young woman who prepares wonderful savory dishes as well as fabulous desserts.

We had a great evening and highly recommend Coppia.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on June 22, 2016

We are always amazed by the beautiful food at Coppia. Everything is prepared and presented to perfection

Report
Helpful
DJP78 (Portland)
5.0  Dined on June 17, 2016

we are frequent visitors of Coppia and have always had amazing experiences! The food is beyond delicious! My favorite is the Agnolotti and the Bistecca! I can not visit without ordering both! Such a gem. the atmosphere is vibrant and the service is superb!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Montana)
2.0  Dined on May 17, 2016

We had high hopes based upon online reviews and a personal recommendation. The food was decent but not better than what we would prepare at home. Service staff could not have cared less whether we were there.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on May 10, 2016

Best food I've had in awhile, the chef gave us complimentary dessert for or anniversary. Try the mushrooms, great for sharing and have the best flavors.

Report
Helpful
jepos (Portland)
4.0  Dined on May 10, 2016

Almost nothing has changed at Coppia since it was sold to new owners. The food is still terrific, the service is still impeccable, and we the ambiance is the same -as comfortable as ever. The only thing that has changed is that a 20% tip is added to the bill. Don't get me wrong, this is not a criticism, we have been saying for years that we wish restaurants in the US would do as the Europeans do and make it automatic. Being deep in conversation with an old friend I did not see the addition and ended up leaving a tip bigger than they had charged. On the way home I got to thinking that that was a lot of money for what we had. Fortunately I had taken the itemized bill and saw immediately what had happened. By then the restaurant was closed but I left a message. Not surprisingly, and to their credit, they ran the charge on my VISA without the extra tip that I had added.
I have always highly recommended Coppia but they went a long way toward earning my undying loyalty with how they handled this situation.

Report
Helpful
vipBonesP (Portland)
4.0  Dined on April 29, 2016

We were a little late [10 mins] for our reservation as the theater finished a little late.I was a little taken aback when the person greeted us with you are late and the kitchen closes is 20 minutes rather abruptly,I thought.Anyway we were seated and had a good meal and the service became much more guest friendly.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding food, especially the pastas.

Report
Helpful
lovetoeat (Portland)
4.0  Dined on April 16, 2016

Our meals were delicious, and the wine recommended by our server was perfect. Luckily, we weren't in a hurry, as it was a Saturday night, and the theatre crowd was served first... When we checked with our server re: the progress of our meals, he explained and apologized, and gave us a complimentary glass of wine. We highly recommend the food, wine, and service. We will return, and, now that we understand the routine, will let them know if we're on a timeline (theatre or otherwise).

Report
Helpful
vipTheColonel (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on April 2, 2016

My first time eating here with three other friends. I'm disappointed that the salmon special was already out by 7 PM, but we enjoyed all of our other selections very much and also enjoyed the two bottles of wine that we had. The city street car is right outside the door making it very handy.

Report
Helpful
vipMcMaewen (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on April 1, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent meal together here. The ambiance was relaxed and modern, and we were greeted and seated immediately. My husband said the olives were top notch and the pappardelle with wild boar ragú was delicious. I am on a very strict diet right now that makes going out to eat difficult. The chef was very accommodating and I was able to enjoy an impeccably grilled piece of steelhead over collard greens. A special call out is in order for our waiter, Matt, who was friendly, attentive and went the extra mile to convey my special needs to the chef.

Report
Helpful
vipCECAM (Portland)
5.0  Dined on March 26, 2016

Once again, exceptional food as well as service. We had the salad special, gnocchi, short ribs and the olive oil panna cotta for an incredible meal. From drinks to desserts, they don't disappoint accompanied by service that is attentive yet not intrusive.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
4.0  Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was great, the service was good but slow

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14