About Coppia

417 NW 10th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Specializing in pairing food and wine, Coppia focuses on the cuisine and wines of Piedmont, Italy, in a warm, inviting, yet hip atmosphere. A full dinner menu and wines from other regions, as well as a full bar are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm. Happy Hour Menu offered Tuesday - Saturday 4:00 PM to 5:30 PM

Cross Street:
N.W. Flanders

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 295-9536

Website:
http://www.coppiapdx.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in front of, and near, the restaurant, depending on the day and time.

Public Transit:
We're in front of a stop (at Glisan) in Fareless Square on the streetcar from nearby downtown Portland.

Executive Chef:
Adam Ruplinger

Private Party Facilities:
We have a back room that seats up to 30 guests. The entire restaurant is available for buy-out. Inquire regarding minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Ludwig: 5032959536x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We have done private events, parties and wine tastings in many different formats for groups of up to 60 people. Please call or email coppiapdx@gmail.com with any questions on the space.

Restaurant Photos

  • Coppia
  • Coppia
  • Coppia
  • Coppia
  • Coppia
  • Coppia
  • Coppia
  • Coppia
Coppia
Coppia
Coppia
Coppia
Coppia
Coppia
Coppia
Coppia

Coppia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland
Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

fit for foodies (20)
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
See All
special occasion (11)
romantic (8)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well...not what I expected at all! We wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Well...not what I expected at all! We walked in at 8:45 and it was completely empty. The staff was cleaning, putting away silverware and it appeared they were closing for the night. I even had to ask if they were open! And they said yes and sat us. I could not relax because the noise from them cleaning and the clashing of them putting silverware away was so loud it was hard to ignore. Then when we went to order they were out of any of the dishes we were interested in (not a good sign). Our waiter was our only saving grace, he was wonderful and really tried to make us happy. We ordered a pinot noir wine flight and some appetizers- none of which had any wow factor whatsoever. I don't know if this place is any good. We decided to have our entrees elsewhere. Maybe we caught them on a bad night. The sad part was it was our only night out while we were in Portland and we were very disappointed in our experience in the Pearl District in general. Being a foodie I have had way better experiences in SF, LA, NY, Austin, etc. Portland needs some help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

This is our go-to place when friends are ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is our go-to place when friends are in town or before theatre at Portland Center Stage. Great atmosphere, great lighting and not noisy. The perfect equation for a nice dinner. Nice comfortable space between tables. Our food was delicious., especially loved the gnocchi dish. And because their computer system was down, they were nice enough to call us to give us a heads up about the situation. We thought that was very considerate.

Definitely will return and keep it as our "neighborhood gem."

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Coppia is a real find. Nice, sophisticat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Coppia is a real find. Nice, sophisticated ambiance, intimate setting, low noise level. Wait staff very attentive and helpful. But most of all, the food was all GREAT!

Four of us shared two appetizers - one was a special of the evening, a Burrata Crostini dish that was fabulous. The other appetizer was the Sformato, a spring pea and cauliflower souffle that was also delicious.

For entrees, the wives shared the Steelhead Trout entree (a special for that day), and the husbands had the Agnolotti (braised oxtail stuffed pasta) and the Pappardelle (wide pasta with wild boar ragu. All outstanding!

Place also has a substantial wine list with many options.

We will surely be back and I highly recommend this place for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal on Friday ev ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal on Friday evening at Coppia! I had the Osso Busco which was beautifully prepared. My husband had the fresh fish which was steelhead, served with a pea shoot pesto that was delicious. Morgan, the chef, is a very talented young woman who prepares wonderful savory dishes as well as fabulous desserts.

We had a great evening and highly recommend Coppia.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are always amazed by the beautiful fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We are always amazed by the beautiful food at Coppia. Everything is prepared and presented to perfection

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

we are frequent visitors of Coppia and h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

we are frequent visitors of Coppia and have always had amazing experiences! The food is beyond delicious! My favorite is the Agnolotti and the Bistecca! I can not visit without ordering both! Such a gem. the atmosphere is vibrant and the service is superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had high hopes based upon online revi ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We had high hopes based upon online reviews and a personal recommendation. The food was decent but not better than what we would prepare at home. Service staff could not have cared less whether we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Best food I've had in awhile, the chef g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Best food I've had in awhile, the chef gave us complimentary dessert for or anniversary. Try the mushrooms, great for sharing and have the best flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As good as ever but with a twist.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Almost nothing has changed at Coppia since it was sold to new owners. The food is still terrific, the service is still impeccable, and we the ambiance is the same -as comfortable as ever. The only thing that has changed is that a 20% tip is added to the bill. Don't get me wrong, this is not a criticism, we have been saying for years that we wish restaurants in the US would do as the Europeans do and make it automatic. Being deep in conversation with an old friend I did not see the addition and ended up leaving a tip bigger than they had charged. On the way home I got to thinking that that was a lot of money for what we had. Fortunately I had taken the itemized bill and saw immediately what had happened. By then the restaurant was closed but I left a message. Not surprisingly, and to their credit, they ran the charge on my VISA without the extra tip that I had added.

I have always highly recommended Coppia but they went a long way toward earning my undying loyalty with how they handled this situation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

29th

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were a little late [10 mins] for our reservation as the theater finished a little late.I was a little taken aback when the person greeted us with you are late and the kitchen closes is 20 minutes rather abruptly,I thought.Anyway we were seated and had a good meal and the service became much more guest friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food, especially the pastas.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Outstanding food, especially the pastas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our meals were delicious, and the wine recommended by our server was perfect. Luckily, we weren't in a hurry, as it was a Saturday night, and the theatre crowd was served first... When we checked with our server re: the progress of our meals, he explained and apologized, and gave us a complimentary glass of wine. We highly recommend the food, wine, and service. We will return, and, now that we understand the routine, will let them know if we're on a timeline (theatre or otherwise).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time eating here with three oth ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

My first time eating here with three other friends. I'm disappointed that the salmon special was already out by 7 PM, but we enjoyed all of our other selections very much and also enjoyed the two bottles of wine that we had. The city street car is right outside the door making it very handy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent me ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent meal together here. The ambiance was relaxed and modern, and we were greeted and seated immediately. My husband said the olives were top notch and the pappardelle with wild boar ragú was delicious. I am on a very strict diet right now that makes going out to eat difficult. The chef was very accommodating and I was able to enjoy an impeccably grilled piece of steelhead over collard greens. A special call out is in order for our waiter, Matt, who was friendly, attentive and went the extra mile to convey my special needs to the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always delivers on the food and service

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Once again, exceptional food as well as service. We had the salad special, gnocchi, short ribs and the olive oil panna cotta for an incredible meal. From drinks to desserts, they don't disappoint accompanied by service that is attentive yet not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great, the service was good ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was great, the service was good but slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Always excellent!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Coppia quite simply has fabulous food and wine. I've eaten there many times, and it never fails to offer delicious, unusual, and beautifully presented dishes. This last time, the golden beet sformato was so delectable that I could have oredered another one, except for the equally seductive risotto on the way.

Our waiter was very attentive, but unobtrusive. It is always difficult to choose from the menu offerings, so several times, we have just ordered almost everything so we could all taste a variety of dishes. I find the quality of the food in line with their prices, and will go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

They were very busy, so we were a little slow to be seated for our reservation. They offered us a complimentary bread and olive snack to make up for it. The service was great. ALL Of the food was great. The drinks were great. The wine pairings were great. I guess we would say this place is GREAT.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a Show

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We love Coppia for an after Portland Center Stage dinner. The concept of Coppia is pairing wine selections with each menu selection. We enjoyed the March Dining Out option of a three course meal. Our server suggested two wines with the risotto we selected. We each chose a different red from Italy. We agreed that our selections of wine complimented the risotto. Our desserts were outstanding especially my panna cotta with a coffee to finish. Coppia is a short walk from PCS, but well worth the walk.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A great Italian-themed restaurant

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

It has been too long since we had been to Coppia so we took advantage of the Portland $29 for three courses “Dine Downtown” offer – what a great deal this is at Coppia! While some of the restaurants offer no choices on this deal or offer boring options that are easy to do at home, Coppia had a couple of choices for each course, both of which were very interesting, most of which are on the regular menu. I won’t go into all details but my risotto with fennel-cured pork belly was superb with the Arborio rice just right with still that slight crunch in the middle of the grains, and my wife’s sweet potato gnocchi with pistachio pesto was equally as wonderful. The wine list is very good, especially if one likes wines from Piemonte (we had a lovely red from the rare grape Albarossa) and there is a large selection by the glass. When we arrived for dinner at 6:30 it seemed some staff may have been late as one person (Wil) was doing a great job meeting-and-greeting and serving a large party, but people were kept waiting at the door. Other than this blip by the establishment at the start, Wil’s service was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly. There was one other negative – potential noise level. It was unfortunate that next to us was a couple speaking very loudly to each other, and across from us was a table of four with exceedingly high voice levels (except for one of them who buried himself into his cell phone). When that table left, it was very peaceful. Why do people have to talk that loudly? – my wife and I had to lean close to each other to communicate at normal levels. Anyway, the quality of the food overcame such distractions. Of course, as Coppia has probably the greatest Grappa available in Oregon to finish your meal, much can be forgotten and/or forgiven!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food...as always. We love introd ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Amazing food...as always. We love introducing friends to this great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, less than interested server

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was on point. I had the pappardelle with wild boar and my partner had the risotto -- pasta was done to al dente perfection and the flavors were rich and satisfying. The boar was tender and not overcooked, like I've had most times with this dish. Wine selection was decent and priced fairly.

Service was slow and our server avoided eye contact when he walked near our table (it was a slow night and I promise we weren't obnoxious). When he finally came over to take our order, I asked for some oil for our bread and before I could continue with my order, he disappeared for another 10 minutes until he came back with oil. A subtle thing, but it was the 3rd time he walked away before I was done speaking. I'd like to call it enthusiasm, but it felt more like he was just irritated throughout our experience, rather than helpful. I didn't order dessert, because he seemed annoyed we were still there. Bare minimum service. Nothing too notable, just not anywhere near as good as the food.

We'll probably be back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious food options, great service & wine list!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Food choices were varied, quite interesting, deliciously prepared. Service was prompt, attentive, responsive and informed. We were rushed a bit for a theater performance, and both our server and the chef contributed to a timely and yet still relaxed meal. We're coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coppia

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Coppia to celebrate Valentines Day. We arrived early and they were able to accommodate us. Food from the appetizer to dinner to dessert was delicious. The wine was perfect also. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The ambiance seemed lacking disappointing, as we were celebrating Valentine's Day. We were seated right by the front door, despite other empty tables. Our server was adequate, just a little indifferent toward us. Food was excellent, although my husband has a dairy allergy, and despite a note on the reservation, his dish still came out with cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Walked out .....so can only rate the service.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Showed up at our reservation and ordered drinks. Proceeded to watch the waiter wait and cater to obvious regulars who came in much later than us. After watching this for about 40 minutes and feeling slighted we left. The restaurant was not that crowded and the waiter never acknowledged us after serving our drinks, while fawning over the later arrivals. Very irritating. The message here is if your not a regular they really don't want your business

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

First the atmosphere - loved it. Very c ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

First the atmosphere - loved it. Very comfortable and stylish. Was easy to have a nice conversation as they do not pack the tables in too tightly like some places. We started of with the Bagna Caoda paired with the suggested wine. It was delicious. I am usually a bread lover but the vegies were the best for dipping. Next we moved on to pasta. We had the Agnolotti and the Pappardelle also with the suggested wines. Both my husband and i agreed that the Agnolotti was our favorite but both dishes were very tasty and the wine pairings were perfect. To finish we ordered the pork loin which they kindly split for us. Also with the paired wine. This was my favorite course. So juicy and flavorful. Service was great and ambiance was perfect for the Valentine's weekend. We will be adding this to our list of places to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Night out, no worries, just great food & wine

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Had a night out with my wife and really wanted to enjoy a good meal and wine. THIS IS THE SPOT!! Had the duck which was fantastic. Enough wine to choose from with an clear discription of the taste.

Made me remember the special spots, restaurants and ambiance of Italy!!

Perfect

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Unexpectedly great dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We went there with a last minute reservation since another local hot spot's waiting time was too long. We didn't have that high expectation since the menu looked mundane and it was not busy at all. But, we ended up with an unexpectedly great dinner at Coppia. Wine list was very solid and handmade pasta dishes were executed very well. Pappardelle was excellent with a delicately balanced sauce. Oxtail-stuffed ravioli was great with rich, but a bit salty, sauce.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Coppia: A trip to Piedmont!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We shared the salmon cruda antipasta which was fresh, tasty, and oh so yummy (salmon belly with roasted pistachios, capers, shallots and gremolata with grilled bread)! We were less sharing with our individual portions of Agnolotti (braised oxtail‏ filled pasta / black garlic brodo /turnip/parmesan) and gnocchi. They were both excellent.

Attentive, friendly, and helpful service. Excellent wine selection and pairings. As good as Italy!

Excellent restaurant/wine bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Nice place to spend a rom ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great Food and Nice place to spend a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely great food

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Definitely try the sformato, it was amazing! The oxtail agnolotti and the maiale (pork tenderloin) were wonderful. I highly recommend this place. I would recommend going with the wine suggestions, they do an excellent job pairing with the food. @PDX_food_drink

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Busy

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We were there on a week night and it wasn't very busy...maybe 4 -5 tables with guests, but there was only one waiter so the service wasn't great. They do have a very small kitchen that is next to the bar. The cooks were definitely working hard. The food was pretty good but small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, HORRIBLE service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Great food, HORRIBLE service, average menu on the pricey side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I sure know how to pick 'em!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

I had never been to Coppia, but I made a reservation here as it was walking distance to the Gerding Theatre and I had planned a dinner-and-a show surprise for my husband's birthday. I requested a quiet table, and was shown to one at the rear of the restaurant that was perfect. The wine and dinner menus both had many intriguing choices, but since we had booked an earlier reservation we were able to take advantage of the Happy Hour menu. Both the specialty cocktail and the red wine on that HH menu were delicious. My husband opted for whiskey, and was introduced to a new local brand at the suggestion of our waitress. We ordered house-marinated mushrooms and the gorgonzola dulce as appetizers; the pear mostarda with the cheese was very good, and the mushrooms excellent, and plentiful! Next came a butter lettuce salad for him, and an incredible squash soup with a drizzle of coriander crema and radicchio and crisp sage leaves on top. For our main course we chose the risotto and the pappardelle in wild boar ragù. Once again, we were both pleased with our choices. How we had room for dessert - even split between two - is hard to imagine, but we chose the panna cotta and loved the combination of flavors (per the menu: sweet cream / arbequina olive oil / fresh raspberries / sherry). Coppia does not offer espresso, but an individual French press carafe of very good coffee was a great finish to an excellent and leisurely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We edited our numbers from 4 to 5 and th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

We edited our numbers from 4 to 5 and they were able to accommodate us. The food was quality, flavorful, and just the right amount. You can order a full or half order- great way to try more dishes. The wines were outstanding, along with the service. We sat in the banquette style tables and it was so fun and comfortable. Food at a nice relaxed pace. We highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Our meals were excellent, from the appetizer, to the suggested wine, through the pasta and entree. Our waiter provided options , suggesting splitting a glass of wine to pair with the appetizer and an entree that would have been too much for each of us. This allowed us to order our own pastas and a glass of wine that complimented each....much appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding as always

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

One of our favorite dining spots in the city. Introduced a group of friends to Coppia and as one said..."What a wonderful hidden gem". We've never looked at it as hidden, but I guess if you're not looking for it you might just drive past it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the bagna cauda, is awesome. Also sh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Try the bagna cauda, is awesome. Also shy of the house made pastas. Fantastic wine collection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very accommodating quiet find

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

Happy hour was wonderful with friends. (Not your typical rowdy Happy hour).

The dishes presented were reasonably priced and the service was great!

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.