About Copperwood Tavern

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

A cabin-style farm-to-table restaurant in Shirlington, VA with amazing food and drink, Copperwood Tavern is your oasis from the hustle and bustle from the city. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

We serve our meats ala carte with simple seasonings to highlight the flavors so our guests can get the true flavor of the meat and produce.

The Bar program at Copperwood Tavern is just an extension of our kitchen and offers a culinary approach in classic mixology. We use the same local and fresh ingredients to make all of our homemade syrups and mixers, and our drink menu changes seasonally, to incorporate seasonal flavors and ingredients with selected traditional and local craft spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (92)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Great for Outdoor Dining (77)
See All
Great for Brunch (76)
Good for Groups (67)
Great for Lunch (63)
Special Occasion (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Kid-friendly (30)
Hot Spot (26)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After making reservations well-in-advanc ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined a day ago

After making reservations well-in-advance of the date of our business dinner, I called the day of the reservation and talked to the host about an hour before our dinner, confirming the reservation and reiterating that we had requested a table outside since one of our colleagues would be bringing a puppy. After suggesting that they weren't expecting a full-house anyway and confirming that the request for an table outside would be accommodated, we were dismayed to be told upon arrival that we would have to wait 45 minutes for our table. Since many in the group came into Arlington from MD and DC for dinner, we decided to go elsewhere to avoid further delaying the start of our dinner on a weekday evening. I have taken social gatherings and business meetings at Copperwood Tavern previously, and it was a favorite restaurant in Shirlington. After this instance, I will second guess taking meetings there in the future. If you can't accommodate, then don't. But don't confirm that you will and then fail to when your patrons arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The farm to table offerings, the hand-cr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The farm to table offerings, the hand-crafted cocktails, and the excellent service at a very fair price made our dinner a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch at Copperwood Tavern never disapp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Brunch at Copperwood Tavern never disappoints. The food is delicious - highly recommend the French toast, duck hash, salmon Benedict, and the fried green tomatoes - and the service is always friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lousy service, especially at this price ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lousy service, especially at this price point. Kitchen not up to snuff. Two fish entrees returned, one underdone, the other cold. Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Our main courses arrived a few minutes a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our main courses arrived a few minutes after our starters. Very disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I can't recommend this restaurant becaus ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

I can't recommend this restaurant because my friend and I both got someone else's lunch. my friend ordered a chicken salad and got a sandwich with bacon on it. I ordered the salad with watermelon and there was no watermelon to be found - watermelon was the reason I ordered that particular salad.

We didn't bother to let our server know because we would've had to wait another 25 minutes to eat. What a pain. I could understand getting one order wrong but not both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service from Chris (we have always ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service from Chris (we have always had good service), and the food is prepared just right each time we dine here. Love coming back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed our time at Copperw ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We very much enjoyed our time at Copperwood. This was not my first visit nor will it be my last. They have fantastic food, good service and a wonderful local beer selection. This is a great place for dates, friendly get-togethers, and especially brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed it.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Beautiful view of the harb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food! Beautiful view of the harbor. Highly recommend. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table wasn't ready for our reservation.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Table wasn't ready for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The food was AMAZING!!!! I highly recomm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was AMAZING!!!! I highly recommend the Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes and the Belgian Waffle!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit too much noise--from other tables ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A bit too much noise--from other tables and the piped-in music--to be great for conversation with your companion, but it has a well-selected variety of entrees--unfortunately complements separate for an extra charge--imaginatively and attractively prepared--and the large list of draft beer selections contains some excellent options at realistic prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The pecan pie was dreamy! I will return ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The pecan pie was dreamy! I will return as soon as I can.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is a farm to table. Food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The restaurant is a farm to table. Food was very good. Prices a tad high. Entree do not come with any sides. The squash sphegetti was really delicious. The rockfish was also good, but had too much dark meat for my taste. There triple chocolate dessert was enough for two. It was also delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great brunch. Food, service and mimosas ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch. Food, service and mimosas were great! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

First visit - food came out very quick a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First visit - food came out very quick and was good. Drinks were great. Server was exceptional - very intuitive and attentive without being intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

AWESOME QUICHE! Everything I tasted was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

AWESOME QUICHE! Everything I tasted was good–the fried brussel sprouts were to die for. I've never had them served this way before, but I will definitely go back and order them again. Great ambiance and decor-highly recommend the moonshine as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really cool place, the food was great an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really cool place, the food was great and I liked the decor. The dog friendly policy of the area is a plus

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was way too greasy! All 5 dishes ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was way too greasy! All 5 dishes had a ton of oil/grease. Won't be headed there for brunch again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great. Service was poor. Price ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great. Service was poor. Price was reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

National Oyster Day! We had a great tab ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

National Oyster Day! We had a great table outside; our waiter was very good (I think his name was George). We were impressed for the most part with the quality of the oysters - we had 12 dozen!! Most of them were decent size and meaty; a few were insubstantial.

We were disappointed in the cocktails, though. The Commonwealth Mule was mediocre at best -- hardly any ginger flavor at all. The Bacon Rebellion was meh -- too much syrup; not eough ice; poorly garnished. The Dogwood was outright TERRIBLE -- way too much Campari. Whomever was bartending was not on their A game. Overall we had a good time and we'll come back *(we just won't order any cocktails).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my first disappointment after m ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was my first disappointment after many happy dinners at Copperwood. Everyone is entitled to have an off night, but this time is was pretty far "off" and I hope it does not continue. If this had been my first time at Copperwood I would not have returned. As it is I am willing to give them another chance. The food took forever to come out. The appetizers came right away but en we waited and waited maybe 30 minutes for the main course. The waiter came out once with a lame excuse about them being busy, which did not appear to be true. The problem was in the kitchen, so who knows. When the food arrive the French fries were cold, probably sitting waiting for the rest of the food. The pork chop was tough, like it had been finished to quickly, probably knowing it was late they rushed it, anyway, this is a good solid restaurant, but I have it on my watch out list now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My friend and I enjoyed dining at Copper ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed dining at Copperwood prior to Signature Theatre evening performance. We shared 3 appetizers -- friend green tomatoes, short ribs, meat balls -- and a dish of grilled asparagus. Everything cooked to perfection. Love those crunchy friend green tomatoes! Superb, attentive service from our waitress much appreciated. She noticed when we needed refills on on wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and pleasant and attentiv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Delicious food and pleasant and attentive service. Great local Shirlington spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have dinner. Surprised th ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place to have dinner. Surprised that it was a farm to table cuisine. Very good. Prices were higher than a couple of dollar signs as all food is survey ala carte. But again , good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Brunch! Two members of our party o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great Brunch! Two members of our party ordered the Belgium waffles, because they were so memorable from the last visit. I had a salad with grilled chicken. The salad was great, the chicken unfortunately a little dry. The brunch selection is fairly extensive so I will try something else next time. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The great tasting food and extraordinary ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The great tasting food and extraordinary service made it truly enjoyable time!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

can't beat moonshine cocktails. Must t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

can't beat moonshine cocktails.

Must try the mussels and venison.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place in Shirlington. Great feel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place in Shirlington. Great feel inside and out. Outdoor dog friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service at this restaurant is horrib ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service at this restaurant is horrible. Until now, the food had been worth it. When I complained to the manager about the service, after experiencing bad service at this restaurant at least five times if not more, he told me that they prize themselves on their service. All I could do was laugh. It is really that bad. We waited for 50 minutes for scrambled eggs!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was pretty good. The bananas foster ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was pretty good. The bananas foster french toast was not warm at all but it was good. Their home fries and sausage are excellent. Server would not bring us warm syrup. Our initial server just stopped serving our table and continued to serve people around us. Someone else came up and kind of helped st the end but didn't even introduce himself. It was a very odd experience. Won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

I went to Copperwood Taverrn because it ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I went to Copperwood Taverrn because it was suggested by a friend I hadn't seen in 20 years. The food was excellent and the beer selection was extensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great but we were seated 35 min ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was great but we were seated 35 minutes after our reservation time. The restaurant sent out a complimentary appetizer, but it was still disappointing to be standing for such a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Found this on a whim from OpenTable beca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Found this on a whim from OpenTable because they had a brunch reservation available in the time frame we were looking for. Cannot say enough great things. The food was fantastic, our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable, and great. The restaurant itself is very unique and fun to be in. Highly, highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent environment ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Delicious food and excellent environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I've been meaning to visit because I've ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I've been meaning to visit because I've heard good things about the food from my friends. So, we my friends and I decided to try it out. The drinks were amazing and our server was really funny and nice. He provided great recommendations, and the mac and cheese was absolutely amazing. I got the pecan-crusted trout and it was delicious! We are definitely going to go back. Highly recommend trying this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 7 for brunch but despi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a group of 7 for brunch but despite the reservation, they had not assembled the tables to accommodate us prior to us arriving. Everyone enjoyed their meals but nobody found them to be exceptional. The eggs benedict was cold. The Fosters Banana French Toast was good. This was my second time there so my thought is it is a fine place to eat if I happen to be in the area but doubt I would go out of my way to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Way overrated. My wife ordered the trout ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Way overrated. My wife ordered the trout. When it came, it was badly over-salted; truly inedible. We returned it and ordered another, slightly more expensive, entree. The waitress apologized, then the manager stopped in and said "they'd take care of it," and asked if I'd like another beer, which I accepted.

Of course, I was done eating by the time my wife's substitute entree arrived--but things happen.

When we got the bill, I'd been charged for the additional beer, and "taking care of it" apparently only extended so far as billing us only for the entree we ordered that was edible.

I understand that I was charged for the drinks and dinner I received. But when the manager stops by to apologize for a very badly prepared meal and says they'll "take care of it," I was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Spent our dining outside, lovely night, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Spent our dining outside, lovely night, and dog friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.