About Copperwood Tavern

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for a special Easter Sunday Brunch! Enjoy farm-to-table favorites and dyed deviled duck eggs.

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (50)
Great for Brunch (47)
Local Ingredients (42)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Comfort Food (29)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fun (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Authentic (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Romantic (12)
Great Beer (11)
Business Meals (10)
Seasonal (10)
Organic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good experience. Service started out slow but waiter then became more attentive and service improved.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

From reviews, Copperwood Tavern appeared in all the right ways to be an outstanding spot for a friend get-together. Upon arrival, the front door staff were very friendly and took us to our seats (not by a window as I'd requested). The server arrived within an average amount of time, didn't introduce himself and began asking for drink orders. My fiancé and I ordered two Old Fashioneds which were WAY too sweet for our bourbon loving palettes. The Fried Goat Cheese and Virginia Ham appetizer was excellent. Our mains were Baked Chicken and Crab Cakes both of where were standard fair, nothing to write home about. As items were taken from the table, no obligatory wipe down was done leaving behind a slew of things that made enjoying the remainder of our drinks and meals rather difficult. After receiving a heavily overpriced dessert menu ($10 for a piece of vanilla cake!) we decided to go to The Fresh Market where we bought some artisanal pastries to enjoy at home where the ambiance would be far more enjoyable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice experience for it to be my first time. I enjoy the Shirlington area, and have definitely added this restaurant to the growing list of MUSTS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I really enjoyed our brunch experience and the service was attentive and friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome brunch!! I recommend this place for only the brunch and cocktails. I've been here for dinner and the selections were good but crazy expensive for what you get. Love the brunch though and the fresh squeezed ok is amazing

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

It was so yummy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Had the tomahawk steak - simply amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband wanted pancakes for his birthday and Cooperwood delivered! We had a delicious brunch served by Jesse who took excellent care of us. We even got a surprise slice of cake with a candle on the house!

I highly recommend the fried green tomatoes in a perfect cornmeal dusting and French toast sticks!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Copperwood is a good choice for date night! The food is excellent, although a little heavy on the meat options. I personally enjoyed the sides (Gouda Mashed Potatoes and French Onion Soup) more than my main course. Overall Copperwood is a fun restaurant with great decor and staff. Make sure to arrive early for your reservation - finding parking can be tough!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went there for brunch with 8 people. Very good food. Some of the best brussel sprouts I have ever had. Excellent service. The bloody Mary was only average but the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very attentive service. Great food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I went here on a first date and really enjoyed my experience! My date and I could hear each other and we enjoyed the ambiance. The old fashioned that I had was great and she had a really nice zinfandel. I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We keep going to Copperwood because it always delivers great food, wonderful cocktails, and first rate service. Special thanks for creating a separate Gluten Free Menu, it makes ordering easier and especially when selecting items for the entire table. It is one of our favorite spots in the whole area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

the food was FANTASTIC. the staff was very accommodating of our need for a high chair and space for our stroller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was fantastic (as always) Rib-eye steak was cooked perfectly and tender.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Really good brunch experience with excellent service from our waiter.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went here for brunch for the first time recently, on a Sunday. I recommend making a reservation because the place was very busy. Luckily, I had one and was seated right away. Despite how busy the restaurant was, our server was very attentive. The chicken and waffle was delicious and the Southern Sparkler was one of the tastiest cocktails I've had in a very long time. My boyfriend didn't enjoy his selections as much. He thought both the short rib eggs benedict and the Bloody Mary were just okay. They serve popcorn as an appetizer for each table, which I thought was a unique and cute touch. The popcorn is seasoned with the house BBQ dry rub. It was very tasty! All things considered, we would come back and try some of the other menu options.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my 4th visit to restaurant. I was disappointed we were not offered the popcorn for our table. Also, we had to ask for pepper.

The chicken on the waffles were not tasty and I had to get BBQ sauce to enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I thought the food was ok. I had the crab cakes. The $$ price on open table is low IMO. Proteins are all a la carte with sides additional. So 4 people, 1 drink each, no appetizers was $200

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent brunch!! A great number of options and all very good portions. The dinner is a little less awesome than the brunch due to the cost and a la carte menu.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fabulous food! Great service and wonderful ambience. The wait staff was attentive but not pushy and took very good care of me and my girl. The food was PHENOMENAL! It was superbly prepared and delicious. I would recommend that everyone try it at least once. You won't regret it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. Brunch was incredible (huge portions) and will definitely be going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great date night spot. Outstanding food and drinks, 35+ crowd, attentive servers, not too loud.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Valentine's Day Special meal of filet mignon and lobster tail was delicious and decadent. The mussels are amazing every single time. The chocolate mousse was a special treat. The wine paired well with everything. The service is always great. This is one of our family's favorite neighborhood restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food, drinks, ambiance, and service were great! We were seated promptly, and got our locally sourced drinks and appetizer within minutes.the deviled duck eggs with bacon were delicious! We each got an entree, which was plenty after the appetizer. The service was great - the food and drinks came out quickly, and all members of the staff were friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great meal with interesting choices for light healthy eaters. Loved the grilled Brussels sprouts and the Farmers Salad plus spaghetti squash. Three diners and we all were pleased with food and our very professional server who greeted us and was attentive without being intrusive-- perfect! Valentines Day was made more special with individual roses and a $10 gift card for a return visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Expensive for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere as always. We had the lobster tail and filet mignon Valentines special and it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My friend was in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Pay a little more for your food being fresh from local farms but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice neighborhood spot. Like the farm to table feature. Enjoyable brunch menu offerings and the beverage features. Strongly suggest a reservation for brunch as walkups were notified of a significant wait for seating. We plan to return to try the regular lunch menu as it looked very appealing.

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall a good dining experience for brunch. The food was above average and my waiter's service was excellent. I gave it a four for two reasons. First, while my waiter was terrific, as with many restaurants they haven't mastered how to treat single diners. For example, at one point they brought out complementary popcorn to every table except for mine, the only single diner table. On a different occasion in the fall, I was seated but not waited on for between 5 and 10 minutes (even for a drink order) which gave me time to decide I wasn't in the mood for their food. I left...don't know when I would have been waited on. Second, I love the trend for more fat in food but it can cross the line to too greasy. The eggs Benedict with smoked salmon was spot on but the potatoes were on the line and the fried green tomatoes while delicious crossed the line into too greasy. That said, I brought home leftovers of both for later. Overall a solid 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everybody enjoyed a great meal.
I myself had the duck , Med Rare and it was awesome.
A couple of Mathatten's with their own rye whiskey made this a true dining pleasure.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great place.
We returned for the second time which is really unusual for us.
But we remembered how awesome the food was there
The service was outstanding
Great restaurant good service,complimentary cornbread and butter

The menu is not the biggest therefore every dish is awesome and delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and service. Have only been for brunch and have not been disappointed. Even when crowded and without a reservation we got a table quickly. Also had a reservation and was seated quickly. A reservation may be the way to go during peak hours. Food is delicious. The st. germain mimosa is a party in your mouth. I look forward to going for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing menu with fresh local ingredients. Beautiful atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice selection of entrees for brunch. Good service and good value. Loud but you could still have a conversation without having to talk loudly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Healthy, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've never had a bad experience at Copperwood

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Outstanding chicken breast, great salad, a little pricey. Noise level loud. Overall I'd come back

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.