About Copperwood Tavern

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

A cabin-style farm-to-table restaurant in Shirlington, VA with amazing food and drink, Copperwood Tavern is your oasis from the hustle and bustle from the city. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

We serve our meats ala carte with simple seasonings to highlight the flavors so our guests can get the true flavor of the meat and produce.

The Bar program at Copperwood Tavern is just an extension of our kitchen and offers a culinary approach in classic mixology. We use the same local and fresh ingredients to make all of our homemade syrups and mixers, and our drink menu changes seasonally, to incorporate seasonal flavors and ingredients with selected traditional and local craft spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Great for Brunch (37)
Local Ingredients (33)
Casual (30)
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Lunch (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fun (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great Beer (10)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (8)
Family Style (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Organic (6)
People Watching (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Happy to see gingerbread stout on tap. L ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Happy to see gingerbread stout on tap. Little pricey at $10, but for 10% seasonal its doable.

Complimentary popcorn is a nice touch. Recommend to keep serving local drafts and rotating constantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent choice of craft beers. My wife ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent choice of craft beers. My wife said the filet mignon can challenge any she has had in NYC.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great for brunch! lots of selecti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really great for brunch! lots of selections and was over all v pleased. food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! The food is excell ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! The food is excellent! Prices are a little high but otherwise a great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was decent. Rathe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The overall experience was decent. Rather than being greeted I was stared at for a few moments as though she was confused as to why I was there. Rather than asking how many in your party, I was asked may I help you - duh I'm here to dine. The waiter was nice. The food was meh... breakfast/brunch is better than the dinner menu in my opinion. Won't go back for dinner but definitely breakfast/brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Cooperwoo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Cooperwood. Excellent meal and value. Enjoy their regular menu as well both for dinner, lunch and especially brunch. Always pleasant service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance, service good

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ambiance, service good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

advertising was misleading for a great b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

advertising was misleading for a great bargain price wise for the roast beef special- but the quality of the food was not an issue

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Copperwood doesn't disappoint. They stic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Copperwood doesn't disappoint. They stick to what they know and deliver every time. The beer selection is great. They have local brews that seem to be rotated so I get to try something new each time I go. I mix and match the starters. The short ribs are always fork tender and the Brussels sprouts are also great. My only food criticism would be that the fried green tomatoes need a sauce with more zing and more sauce not just an awkward, hard to reach smear on the bottom of the plate. I will return again and again. It's my pre-movie ritual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there for brunch. Both times ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Second time there for brunch. Both times have been excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as usual. A littl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and service as usual. A little loud due to the game being played at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I brought my mom here for dinner and we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I brought my mom here for dinner and we were impressed! The staff, food, and drinks were great! We ordered the filet mignon and spaghetti squash entrees. Both were delicious. Also went over board with the sides - mashed potatoes, asparagus and brussel sprouts. The sides were a generous portion and tasty leftovers! The ambience was nice. I'm looking forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations then the bar had a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We made reservations then the bar had a table and we sat there. It was very busy but we had nice service and the food was delicious. We really liked the restaurant/bar, all of us and there were 4. Try it out great place with fun atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good brunch! Great selection & tas ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very good brunch! Great selection & tastes good! Favorite place for brunch!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had tickets for a 7:30 p.m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My wife and I had tickets for a 7:30 p.m. Saturday ballet at the Kennedy Center in D.C., and I wanted to find a place midway between our Prince William County home and the Kennedy Center that would allow us easy-off/easy-on interstate access where we could stop for either a quick bite or a full supper, depending on how much time we had before the show. I chose the Copperwood Tavern primarily for that reason after accessing its menu online, and that proved an excellent choice. The Copperwood Tavern was easy to find, easy to leave, we were seated within a minute of entering at 5 p.m., our server was personably professional and attentive without being intrusive, the drinks menu was fine, the appetizer and meal menus were fine, and the menu items that we chose -- two appetizers (mussels and bruschetta) and one full dinner (trout) that my wife and I split between us -- were all very good and timely served. Although neither of us had ever been to the Copperwood Tavern before, we intend to return there the next time we attend an evening show at the Kennedy Center.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 6th visit to CopperWood an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our 6th visit to CopperWood and we must say it was a bit of a disappointment. Even though service was good the food left a bit to be desired. We went for brunch, which we have done several times before, the food was cold as was the coffee. Very disappointed in the quality.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The food, service and ambience were outs ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food, service and ambience were outstanding!!!! We were here for the Marine Corp Marathon weekend and will recommend it to everybody!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service and always cons ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food, good service and always consistent! Filet mignon was cooked to perfection and the trout was delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Filet Minion was on point and the Mi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The Filet Minion was on point and the Mid-Rare Cook was perfect. However, the crabcakes, while generous with crab meat, had shell pieces littered throughout. Additionally the crabcakes did not come with nearly enough sauce, which was needed because otherwise it was too dry.

Shared sides aren't portioned large enough for the price, and are really a rip off considering the price you pay for the food that doesn't come with a side.

Even though there were lots of seats, we got sat right next to two chatty women. I did not enjoy having to feel like I was eavesdropping when we could've been sad multiple tables away.

Also- halfway through our meal our server disappeared (which wouldn't have been a bad thing, if someone covered for him during his absence). Eventually we flagged another server down to ask for our check. We finally saw our server again when he dropped of the charge slip for signature.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The Copper wood Tavern has great ambianc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Copper wood Tavern has great ambiance to match its delicious farm to table menu. I had the venison strip cooked to a medium rare and my date had the Dry-Aged Ribeye with a burgundy sauce. We paired this with the brussels sprouts and mushrooms. Everything was cooked perfectly and seasoned very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a business lunch on a Friday and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a business lunch on a Friday and the place was fairly open, a reservation was not needed. I had a lunch salad with grilled chicken which was ok, my associate had the burger which was also ok. The restaurant layout is very nice with an outdoor seating area. Overall, a good experience for lunch but nothing exceptional that would bring me back over other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was barely warm on a slow night, ch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was barely warm on a slow night, chicken was mediocre and almost cold when served. Menu is interesting but overpriced, sides are 'shared' so they are like adding another meal. Not worth the hype.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I first dined at Copperwood Tavern outdo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I first dined at Copperwood Tavern outdoors with a friend for brunch and enjoyed it. I have since had dinner with family and a friend, given a gift certificate for an anniversary celebration, and just returned for brunch. The staff is very friendly and it well versed in the menu. I need to visit more often!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had the fish and I had the pr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My husband had the fish and I had the prime rib. They were both excellent. Our server was George and he was very friendly and efficient. We eat at Copperwood on occasion and always enjoy it. We have not had a meal we haven't liked.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Stopped by for dinner before heading to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Stopped by for dinner before heading to a concert and was pleasantly surprised. Sat in the bar area, waiter greeted us quickly and took our drink orders. He then told us about the selections on the bar menu as well as the main menu. Food and service were both very good. Will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I reserved a table for 6, but our party ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I reserved a table for 6, but our party was squeezed into what was really a table for 4. This made our dining experience somewhat unpleasant. Also, we were disappointed not to have more choices. We were hoping for the dinner menu, but the only choice was brunch at 2:00 in the afternoon. We all found something yummy, we just didn't like being squeezed into a too-small table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Cute place, good portion sizes (i.e. not ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Cute place, good portion sizes (i.e. not too big!) and very obliging to requests (for substitutions, etc.). It was absolutely hopping for Saturday brunch, so the only complaint I have was that it was hard to get the waiter's attention- so we were waiting a long time for refills on coffee/water. But the food is tasty and the atmosphere is welcoming! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Although the service and food were great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Although the service and food were great, we were quite disappointed when we tried to add 3 people to the reservation in advance & were told no. However, when we came for brunch, about half of the restaurant was empty--so, it didn't make any sense that we couldn't add 3 more people to our reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance was super fun. I will go out of ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Ambiance was super fun. I will go out of my way for local, seasonal, sustainably-raised food that is conscious of the local economy. Three generations of us met for brunch and there was something on the menu for everyone except the super-healthy eater. They were very accommodating by letting her make her own omelette but it would have been nice if there were menu options for people eating on the lighter side. All in all we thought it was a home run.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know why we even bothered making ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I don't know why we even bothered making a reservation here. I made on open table for 7:30. Since we had people in our group who had to get home at a specific time for the baby sitter I even called to confirm the reservation. Our entire party showed up about 5 min early and we checked in. At the time we were told they were getting our table ready and it would be about 5-10 min. 20 min later we were still waiting. They did send a bartender over to get us drinks, but we were getting antsy. I went back up to the host stand after waiting 30 minutes and they said the table still wasn't ready. I asked to speak to the manager and they told me they would send him over to us. Finally after 45 minutes of waiting we were seated. The manager never came, no apology from any of the staff for our wait. Terrible handling of the situation by this establishment. The food here is not good enough to put up with being treated this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Been to Cooperwood several times for lun ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Been to Cooperwood several times for lunch and loved it. A bit less impressed with it for dinner - crowded, louder, pricier, menu selection less interesting (a sandwich selection or two would have been nice).

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Limited dinner menu. Food overall okay, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Limited dinner menu. Food overall okay, but too salty, greasy. Vegetables were over-roasted, greasy. Better bar than restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We often dine here pre-Signature Theatre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We often dine here pre-Signature Theatre and Tuesday night was as good as ever. We particularly enjoyed the meatball tasting and the sample of the butterscotch moonshine drink. We will be back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Cooperwood Tavern for happy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I've been to Cooperwood Tavern for happy hours multiple times and suggested my friends and I check it out for brunch. That morning, we made a reservation for 12:45pm. We (party of 3) arrived at 12:30pm and alerted the host that we were there, and whenever our table was ready to let us know. He blankly asked me to reconfirm my reservation multiple times, acting as if there wasn't one, and then said our table wasn't ready yet. No big deal. A few parties of two and a party of four came in after us, and were all sat promptly. At 12:50pm, I returned to the host and asked how the table was and why we didn't have table, despite a reservation, and the others, without a reservation were seated. He explained that "our table" had people at it still and when they finished eating we would be sat. Not sure why we could't have been sat at the other multiple OPEN NON RESERVED tables that the other groups were being seated at. We contemplated walking to another restaurant, but thought we'd give it another 10 minutes. Around 1pm we were finally sat at the table. The drink order came in a decent amount of time and the food was delicious (highly recommend the BLAT 12 sandwich). Overall, I like this restaurant for the food, but probably wont be back for brunch with a reservation since it seemed more beneficial to not have one...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant was amazing! Went to cele ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The restaurant was amazing! Went to celebrate a birthdaywith a brunch and got more than expected. The food was awesome. I wiould definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had only brunch at Copperwood several ti ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had only brunch at Copperwood several times. Whatever we had was really good and tasty. Scotched eggs a must. Smoky, Bacon Rebellion is a great cocktail. Try anything you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Met a friend for brunch and we were able ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Met a friend for brunch and we were able to sit outside since she brought her new puppy. The waiter Michael was very accommodating and the food was good. Great Bloody Marys. Have been before and will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Two words for breakfast: duck hash. Sinf ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Two words for breakfast: duck hash. Sinful and delicious. The crab cake Benedict was also a hit. They also do a good job on just plain eggs and sausage. Fruit bowl left something to be desired. Coffee adequate. No Peets. Good to make a reservation even for breakfast--this place gets crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My daughter-in-law and I were celebratin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My daughter-in-law and I were celebrating her birthday. She's a vegetarian and I love the farm to table concept! The food was amazing! Staff was friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be going back there and I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my grandsons birthday and he was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was my grandsons birthday and he was treated to a dessert, which was great, as the rest of us are into healthy eating so don't order that kind of thing. Family had steaks and they were done perfectly and we all enjoyed the sauces on various dishes. I would definitely try and come back sometime. Johanna

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.