About Copperwood Tavern

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Great for Brunch (34)
Local Ingredients (34)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Comfort Food (30)
Casual (28)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fun (17)
People Watching (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great Beer (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Business Meals (9)
Organic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1030 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I had eyed this restaurant for a while for lunch however; I went for brunch and I should have waited. The brunch is not that great. The food is cute to look at but the execution is not that good. The french toast sticks did not taste like french toast at all. They tasted like toast and the plating was different so it was more a look than flavor. I may return but I will go for lunch or dinner..I will avoid the brunch....disappointing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved everything about our dinner! We made it in time for $1 oysters and drinks and the gluten free options were fantastic! Our food was fabulous and we can't wait to return again soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The spaghetti squash entree with the addition of goat cheese recommended by our server was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Met friends to catch up, and it was pleasant enough to sit outdoors. Our waiter was attentive and patient at explaining menu items, plus facilitated moving us to another less sunny table once it was vacated since it was quite hot in the direct sun. I was happy to see that the restaurant offers Virginia wines and beers, plus they list the farm sources for their menu items. Some I question, such as rockfish from Pennsylvania - really?? The prices are a bit steep, especially as sides are a la carte, but probably no worse than many Arlington restaurants. My one complaint was that our entrees arrived before we were done with our starters, one of my pet peeves. When I mentioned to the waiter that this should not happen (and it was challenging, as our table was small) his response was that he had to estimate when we would be done. Hmm, real service manages this, and we had already said we were not in a rush. Otherwise, service was good and food was tasty, but I didn't find anything really outstanding or unique about this place. Would tell friends that it is acceptable depending on what they are looking for. I think perhaps they are a better draw for folks who enjoy craft beer, but we are not beer drinkers - just wine lovers. I would go back for a drink at the outdoor patio, but probably not for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was very good, but the service was fair to poor. The appetizer came right away, which was fine, but the entrees came a few minutes later (and the mussels were already cold indicating they were being held in the kitchen) The restaurant was not even at half capacity, so this was clearly a case of the waiter either not knowing when to put in the order, or trying to turn over the table as quickly as possible. I would return (the mussels, though cold, were very tasty), but I would instruct the waitstaff very carefully how they should do their job because management has clearly not done so.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Waaaay too loud. Couldn't hear the person next too you. Won't be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food. Great restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Casual, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and great service❤️Waitress was so nice 👍

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Sat outside which was pleasant and service was good. Had salmon and rockfish entres. Very good but a little expensive. Salmon was under seasoned. The strawberry cake was excellent. We shared a salad and the cake; staff was very accommodating to our requests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The menu was limited and quite expensive, as you had to add side dishes to complete the meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food was OK. Braised rabbit flavor was so muddled it tasted like chicken. Rockfish was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Disappointed that I arrived at 4pm to order a sandwich. Waitress said strick rules require that I sit at the bar as the dining room only serves dinner menu. What!!??! Next time I'll arrive at 3:55 to get the sandwich menu in the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food is fresh and tastes great. I support the farm to table concept. It is reflected in the freshness of the dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was great as always. Service not so much. Been here so many times before and this was the worst service we had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was unbelievably good. We ordered the Ossabaw Pork Chop and the Filet Mignon. The sauce and chutney served with the Pork Chap was excellent and the Filet was perfect. We also ordered the Brussels Sprouts as the shareable side and had the Fried Green Tomatoes and Deviled Duck Eggs as starters.

We each ordered craft beers on tap and they were also very good.All were extremely good.

Everything we ordered is highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always good food and service coming here. Try their pancakes or steak and eggs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Cooperwood Tavern has to be my favorite restaurant in the Arlington area -- hands down. I have been going there since it opened and it just keeps getting better. The service is always great and the food is on point. I tend to stay in the bar area, the food is a little cheaper, and always have a good time.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Maria was a terrific server! She was extremely helpful and spot on with her recommendations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The French onion soup was very good, but other than that, nothing was particularly special about Copperwood, and the waiter wasn't very attentive to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I have a severe allergy to dairy. They easily and quickly adapted the rabbit dish so that I could enjoy it safely. Rabbit was delicious and tasted awesome over the spaghetti squash.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was great, and the service was also excellent. The food was a little pricey, but good. The volume was a little loud in there, but I think in general, not out of the range of normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The restaurant was having a/c issues and didn't bother to let us know ahead of time, even though it had been acting up all day. Not a big deal, but I think it was affecting the staff because our waiter was pretty un-interested in us, which is a real bummer since it was father's day and we were taking my dad out for a nice meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brunch was good on Fathers Day, the most disappointing aspect though wasn't the food, it was the temperature of the room! It was already humid outside but the breeze was blowing outside, inside this restaurant the air was stifling. My family and I were full on sweating at the end end of our meal. The food did take awhile to arrive. The avocado toast and Brussels appetizer was good, but the "toast" wasn't toast, it was bread- isn't the definition of toast is that it should be toasted? The bread was very earthy and I'm not sure paired well and no one at our table tasted the ricotta spread mixed with avocado. Although the restaurant didn't have a kids menu, they are willing to offer anything for your kiddos- grilled cheese or grilled chicken and fries. The salmon Benedict was okay. Although I like Benedict, I like when restraints do a spin on it and not offer the ordinary English muffin. Again, not toasted and it was just mushy. I did like the tomato jam but was looking for the salmon on their- I finally found it and said, "oh there it is", meaning there was barely any on it! Otherwise, The drinks were good and the atmosphere is cool and the waiter was attentive and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had made a 1:00pm reservation way in advance, but walked into a disorganized mess. After almost half an hour - with no updates on status from the hostess - we were able to snag a bar table with the help of the very nice bartender. Glad we did, since the food was delicious, but I'm not sure we return due to overall poor attentiveness of the staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

If you get the shrimp and grits make sure you let your server know how you prefer the consistency of the grits...its hit or miss. The hostesses could do a better job handling crowds but overall a fair experience. The brunch drinks have always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have been here before and enjoyed it so I made a reservation for Father's day over a month in advance. We were seated 30 mins after our reservation time and when we were finally seated, they tried to seat 8 people at a table for 4!!! The "table" was literally two 2-person tables pushed together with chairs at either end. This would be ok for 6 people but even that would be tight and likely uncomfortable. We then had to stand around waiting for another table to be brought over and then another 10 minutes for menus and water. Terrible experience, I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very nice experience, but for so many kids eating they could be more accommodating to children. No cups for kids, my sons milk was served in a rocks glass, no changing station in the restroom. My son is older, but I noticed a lot of younger children dining and not to sure what these parents would do. Also, no kids menu. Not a big deal as we shared everything we ate, but its definitely a plus when establishments put forth a little more effort to make us all feel welcome.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I really liked our dinner. The food was excellent and the service with good. My only complaint was that the food cam out too quickly. We placed our orders and in about 5 minutes received our appetizers. Then we only had our appetizers for 5 minutes or so when our entrees came out. I felt rushed, like they were trying to push us out as quickly as possible. The food was good and the service friendly, but it was not relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

All of the food was cooked to perfection. Desert and after dinner drink hit the spot. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Friendly service and very relaxed, casual atmosphere. Menu somewhat limited but there are options and food is well prepared and presented. Outdoor seating is a nice option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Love this restaurant! The location and the food is so worth going to Shirlington

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love love love the place!! Staff was exceptional and good was amazing! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We love Copperwood as a go-to place with friends who like well prepared fresh food with variety in choices. The Brussel Sprouts is my very favorite sharing item. The wait staff are attentive without being overbearing. Excellent on all counts.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The Avocado Toast and Duck Deviled Eggs were superb! Love this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always a great experience here - the food is amazing and staff are always friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Food was good, but WAY OVERPRICED. PORTIONS WAY TOO SMALL. You didnt even get a side item with a $38 entree!?! Really?

Wont go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My dad and I enjoyed having dinner here on Sunday night. The waiter was friendly and helpful and the food was delicious! I had the Spaghetti Squash dinner with chicken added and I loved it!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 21, 2017

in previous trips, we thought the restaurant was quite noisy inside. But outdoor seating is terrific -- much quieter and fun street traffic views.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Bland, overpriced food served by indifferent wait staff in a loud, barn like space. What else can I say.....?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome, creative, fresh menu with a terrific staff!
A must visit

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.