About Copperwood Tavern

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (53)
Local Ingredients (41)
Great for Brunch (37)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Comfort Food (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Bar Seating (16)
Fun (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great Beer (15)
Authentic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Seasonal (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (10)
Healthy (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Business Meals (8)
Organic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (6)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 17 hours ago

I thought the food was ok. I had the crab cakes. The $$ price on open table is low IMO. Proteins are all a la carte with sides additional. So 4 people, 1 drink each, no appetizers was $200

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent brunch!! A great number of options and all very good portions. The dinner is a little less awesome than the brunch due to the cost and a la carte menu.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous food! Great service and wonderful ambience. The wait staff was attentive but not pushy and took very good care of me and my girl. The food was PHENOMENAL! It was superbly prepared and delicious. I would recommend that everyone try it at least once. You won't regret it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. Brunch was incredible (huge portions) and will definitely be going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great date night spot. Outstanding food and drinks, 35+ crowd, attentive servers, not too loud.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Valentine's Day Special meal of filet mignon and lobster tail was delicious and decadent. The mussels are amazing every single time. The chocolate mousse was a special treat. The wine paired well with everything. The service is always great. This is one of our family's favorite neighborhood restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food, drinks, ambiance, and service were great! We were seated promptly, and got our locally sourced drinks and appetizer within minutes.the deviled duck eggs with bacon were delicious! We each got an entree, which was plenty after the appetizer. The service was great - the food and drinks came out quickly, and all members of the staff were friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great meal with interesting choices for light healthy eaters. Loved the grilled Brussels sprouts and the Farmers Salad plus spaghetti squash. Three diners and we all were pleased with food and our very professional server who greeted us and was attentive without being intrusive-- perfect! Valentines Day was made more special with individual roses and a $10 gift card for a return visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Expensive for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere as always. We had the lobster tail and filet mignon Valentines special and it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My friend was in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Pay a little more for your food being fresh from local farms but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice neighborhood spot. Like the farm to table feature. Enjoyable brunch menu offerings and the beverage features. Strongly suggest a reservation for brunch as walkups were notified of a significant wait for seating. We plan to return to try the regular lunch menu as it looked very appealing.

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall a good dining experience for brunch. The food was above average and my waiter's service was excellent. I gave it a four for two reasons. First, while my waiter was terrific, as with many restaurants they haven't mastered how to treat single diners. For example, at one point they brought out complementary popcorn to every table except for mine, the only single diner table. On a different occasion in the fall, I was seated but not waited on for between 5 and 10 minutes (even for a drink order) which gave me time to decide I wasn't in the mood for their food. I left...don't know when I would have been waited on. Second, I love the trend for more fat in food but it can cross the line to too greasy. The eggs Benedict with smoked salmon was spot on but the potatoes were on the line and the fried green tomatoes while delicious crossed the line into too greasy. That said, I brought home leftovers of both for later. Overall a solid 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everybody enjoyed a great meal.

I myself had the duck , Med Rare and it was awesome.

A couple of Mathatten's with their own rye whiskey made this a true dining pleasure.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great place.

We returned for the second time which is really unusual for us.

But we remembered how awesome the food was there

The service was outstanding

Great restaurant good service,complimentary cornbread and butter

The menu is not the biggest therefore every dish is awesome and delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and service. Have only been for brunch and have not been disappointed. Even when crowded and without a reservation we got a table quickly. Also had a reservation and was seated quickly. A reservation may be the way to go during peak hours. Food is delicious. The st. germain mimosa is a party in your mouth. I look forward to going for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing menu with fresh local ingredients. Beautiful atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice selection of entrees for brunch. Good service and good value. Loud but you could still have a conversation without having to talk loudly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Healthy, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've never had a bad experience at Copperwood

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Outstanding chicken breast, great salad, a little pricey. Noise level loud. Overall I'd come back

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Three of us shared a number of small plates and all were very good! The portions were large enough for each of us to have sufficient amount of food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Requested a booth or table not directly on top of other diners, unfortunately our setting ended up right on top of two tables beside us, and my wife had to sit against the window on a flat bench. Not very comfortable, particularly after I put the request in ahead of time with our reservation. Appears much of the 2 person seating is this same arrangement.

Food was good, but felt that both meals were very heavy on the garlic and oil to the point that it overwhelmed the food (squash and chicken entrees). The sides were pretty good. Overall, fairly expensive for the experience that involved trying to have a conversation above the ambient noise levels.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything about Copperwood Tavern was as good as described/heard. We started a special night at the Signature Theater with dinner, drinks, and dessert here and will definitely be back. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first visit, and it was quite disappointing. The first-course salad was billed as "kale and Caesar" but it was only brownish, old lettuce with a crouton on top. The crab cakes were not cooked all the way through. The restaurant was bustling and we needed to get to a movie, so I did not take time to send any food back. The server had too many tables and was not very attentive. He never asked why I was not eating my food or if I was enjoying it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of my favorite brunch places, my only complaint is that the service is a bit slow, it was a little hard to find a waiter whenever we needed anything.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We enjoyed dinner Entrees are expensive and are ala carte sides are good, maybe better than meat extensive beer and bourbon choices

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our party of 4 had brunch on Jan. 22. Glad we had a reservation - the restaurant was packed. Food was good and service was attentive. We'd go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was my second visit to Copperwood. This time I brought four friends and they all raved. You can't go wrong here. The food is delicious and unique.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was exceptional--most friendly and welcoming attendants at a restaurant in recent memory. The server was knowledgeable and efficient. The food was delicious and presentation was appetizing. All in all--wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a large group for my birthday on Saturday - brunch and service were great! Would highly recommend the Omelet or Chicken & Waffles!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have been here many times, and repeatedly the service has been slow, and incomplete. The food is good, but not great. I think this will be my last try.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I have brought many people to eat at Copperwood Tavern - usually pre-theatre @ Signature Theatre. They feature farm to table food and handcrafted cocktails with their own simple syrups and infused liquors. Love it! The salads are amazing and are a meal in and of themselves!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vegan, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The menu is somewhat limited but the food we ordered was delicious. Service was horrible... waited 30 mins for our check after asking for it twice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love Copperwood. I think this was my 3rd time here in 1 month! Twice with my husband for dinner and once with a girlfriend for appetizers & a drink. I love the option of being able to sit in the bar area or dining area. The food and drinks (my husband loves the beer, i love the wine selection) are really great. We love coming here, especially since we can walk from our apartment in ParkFairFax! And I also love the convenience of booking through opentable, I never have an issue getting a reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Organic, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Unfortunately the meat was terrible. Duck was way undercooked and the steak was full of gristle. Not good value. Very overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great atmosphere cozy and authentic feel. Can converse without yelling. Our server was super genuine and kind.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I had not been here for a while and forgot how much I like it. We dined there prior to going to the Theatre. The food was great as was the service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were celebrating for my boyfriend buying his first home!! Food was amazing - filet, pork chop, Brussels sprouts and grilled oysters!!! Waitress was awesome and gave us great recommendations.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I stopped by for the first time for a much-needed afternoon together before a movie. We enjoyed our time there and everyone was friendly. The popcorn was to die for and my husband remarked he would have loved some to enjoy at home. This was the first time he enjoyed popcorn that was not dripping in butter. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was meh. Service was ok. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service in a really cool atmosphere! Will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

EXCELLENTE!!!!..food was just what we needed..reservations are appropriate..sat us on time

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I appreciate the consistency of the food prep and the service has been pretty good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very cool space. We were very happy when we walked in. We were there for brunch. I ordered the duck deviled eggs -- $8. They sounded great. The "duck" aspect of them was a sprinkling of shredded duck confit(?) on each egg. There were four -- no problem -- it's an appetizer. There was a half piece of really good bacon with each egg. It was ok, not great. Not enough duck. My wife ordered a breakfast sandwich and asked for egg to be cooked over easy -- it came over hard. We have had this problem a LOT lately in too many restaurants. If you can't cook an egg properly, you shouldn't be in the kitchen. Basics. I ordered the chicken and waffles. It came with very little syrup -- I don't like a lot, but it was pretty dry. It was good, but a suggestion would be to put some on the waffle and provide a ramekin with extra. A busser got a little extra for me. We paid somewhere around $50 for the meal and it was just less than good. Frustrating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The birthday card you send me with the certificate inside made me notice how much you value your customers. I have NEVER had a restaurant do this for me. This was very special. When I came in for New Years eve brunch the food was fabulous. The homemade Marshmallow on my specialized coffee drink was impressive. I especially like the crab benedict, as I do not eat pork.

I love the beautiful hand stencil dogs on the wall, the re-purposing of the great things all over the restaurant. The thought out sink at least in the ladies room, I love this, no dripping all over the sink top , we women hate our purses getting wet from people not wiping up after they wash.

The friendliness of the staff, easy to make a reservation online and the reminder also. The beginning cup of popcorn with your "special seasoning" was so unique when you sit down, better then a basket of bread. The french toast sticks, so if you have a taste for the sweet, but also want eggs. It satisfies the craving, then your not trying to decide between the two. Love drinking out of the mason jars, reminds me of the country. Overall experience is a 10, posting pictures to my page for my friends locally. See you all soon!!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food and great service on NYE. Copperwood per usual did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pre-theater New Years Eve. No mention of pre-fixe menu at booking but not really a surprise considering the night. Good value on the pre-fixe. Paid the corkage and brought an expensive wine with us but their list looked good. Had to send both entrees back for extra cooking but to be fair we asked for medium rare and every place measures that differently -- we'll gauge it better next time. Both dishes were returned quickly cooked a little more and were very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First visit to Copperwood Tavern in Shirlington. I had the lunch sliders combo. Good value and great taste. Will try the Ashburn location for my next visit.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.