About Copperwood Tavern

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (55)
Casual (49)
Local Ingredients (49)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Comfort Food (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fun (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Great Beer (16)
Authentic (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
People Watching (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Organic (11)
Romantic (10)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Healthy (7)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Good drinks, recommended the bourbon thief.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined a day ago

Went for brunch, food was great service was not. This was not our first visit so I was surprised. We have been very pleased on our last visits.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service overall. Glad we decided to go to your fabulous resto.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and beer! The hamburger was delicious as well as the fried oysters!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a very nice meal at Copperwood Tavern and would go back again. Great brussel sprouts and great pork chop!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family goes to Copperwood once or twice a month during nice weather (to eat outside). We love that we can get gormet a former burger and fries outside with our dog. We don't care for the indoor dining because it has a very 'stuck up & snooty'feeling to it. You can't eat burgers inside unless your at the bar, and kids are not made welcome. This seems strange for a place that has a rustic style with a dog theme throughout. Even still, they have the best burgers and fries around. We would probably eat here more if they changed their burger policy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Farm to table awesomeness. The mac and cheese is bomb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and tried, but the entire place is awful so he oouldn't change that. It's dark and cavernous-be prepared to use your phone light to see the menu. We hadn't had our appetizers 10 minutes when our entrees arrived. They offered to put under the heat lamp - UGH is there anything worse! So our salads and soups went to waste - who wants to eat cold soup. The 2 steaks were rare inside - not as ordered, and the rockfish was heavily salted and inedible. When the manager walked by and asked how things were I told her about the too fast service she said she'd tell the kitchen (which didn't solve our problem) then asked 'but how's the food taste?" (we hadn't eaten anything yet} not caring about the rush job or our disappointment. She clearly wanted to hear all's well and move on. She never offered to take the appetizers off the bill or a free drink or something - anything! to help us. The waiter tried hard though and offered a free dessert, but by then we were done with this place and went elsewhere for after dinner drinks. There are so many restaurants in Shirlington and the DC area to choose this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great choice in shirlington. This restaurant has gotten better and better. Highly recommend for casual good dining on a weekend evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Normally I am a big fan, but (not sure if it was because we did not order drinks) service was poor. Kept asking for water - saw our server being much more attentive to other tables. While I normally love the Brussels sprouts - they were not as well cooked as normal. This experience will definitely make we think twice about going - as all my previous times had been very positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The oysters were very oily, no taste of Parmesan, just oily breadcrumbs. The French toast sticks were over cooked, dark and hard. We did not eat them and were told they would be taken off, but we were still charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Really enjoyed the outdoor patio for brunch! Food tasted great too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I've had better experiences and have rated them higher in the past. The popcorn and Brussels Sprouts are always good. The ambiance was weakened due to the dog inside of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service and good food. This is a neighborhood place I go with both family and friends. Lovely patio service too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was very slow, minimal
Water refills. My food was served at room temperature but staff never checked back to send it back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went here for brunch with family from out of town. The food was really good and the service was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great brunch menu! Food was delicious. I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Copperwood Tavern is a popular restaurant in Shirlington. We have eaten there several times, and have always had a fine experience. This time out we snagged the rear corner booth -- an excellent choice if you want to have a conversation and not either hear everyone else or be overheard! One of our party had the chicken and a side of the mashed potatoes; another had the spaghetti squash, topped with mushrooms, and I opted for the mushroom bruschetta and a bowl of onion soup. We split the ice cream sundae for dessert. our server was polite and efficient, as well as knowledgeable. The menu has some adventurous choices, as well as some vegetarian options. I highly recommend this spot for lunch, in particular, as dinner can be "energetic" in terms of decibel level and much more expensive. Bon appetit!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent service. The food was amazing.

Dog friendly area.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is just was Alexandria and Arlington have been begging for -- a delicious brunch destination that's cool enough for dates and friendly enough for kids and family. (Though if you have older people in your group, note that it can get quite loud when it's crowded -- and brunch is always slam-packed. Reservations are a must).

The food is locally sourced and every item we've ordered has been prepared to perfection consistently. Despite the crowds the service is top-notch, reliably on-the-ball.

Only ate lunch here once and must say my friend and I both found the lunch menu pretty limited (especially compared with brunch options). Still the crab cake sandwich I had was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We are fan of that place. We go every time we have a show at signature. Food is great. Service is friendly and one can make a reservation online which is a plus as they are very busy.
The brunch menu on Sunday is excellent. Great selection of beers also.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Loved this place...

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great evening at the outdoor venue. Perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We made a reservation for 11pm, rushing there from some distance, to be told the kitchen was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Copperwood consistently provides great food and service in a very welcoming atmosphere. The food is clearly prepared with care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Typically good - make sure you ask about the entrees. For example "braised rabbit" is a pasta dish.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice, rustic spot that is a change of pace for Shirlington. Food is very good, service was unobtrusive and professional. Highly recommend as a nice lunch spot. (The booth seating might be the most uncomfortable I've ever been in--DON'T get seated in a booth. They are posture-pedic perfect booths that have no room, make you sit straighter than a tree, and they are slippery so you continually slide out of them.) The fried chicken sandwich was excellent, they make good fries, and the Brussels sprouts are amazing. Well worth a visit--just stay out of the booths.

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good experience. Service started out slow but waiter then became more attentive and service improved.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

From reviews, Copperwood Tavern appeared in all the right ways to be an outstanding spot for a friend get-together. Upon arrival, the front door staff were very friendly and took us to our seats (not by a window as I'd requested). The server arrived within an average amount of time, didn't introduce himself and began asking for drink orders. My fiancé and I ordered two Old Fashioneds which were WAY too sweet for our bourbon loving palettes. The Fried Goat Cheese and Virginia Ham appetizer was excellent. Our mains were Baked Chicken and Crab Cakes both of where were standard fair, nothing to write home about. As items were taken from the table, no obligatory wipe down was done leaving behind a slew of things that made enjoying the remainder of our drinks and meals rather difficult. After receiving a heavily overpriced dessert menu ($10 for a piece of vanilla cake!) we decided to go to The Fresh Market where we bought some artisanal pastries to enjoy at home where the ambiance would be far more enjoyable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very nice experience for it to be my first time. I enjoy the Shirlington area, and have definitely added this restaurant to the growing list of MUSTS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our brunch experience and the service was attentive and friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Awesome brunch!! I recommend this place for only the brunch and cocktails. I've been here for dinner and the selections were good but crazy expensive for what you get. Love the brunch though and the fresh squeezed ok is amazing

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was so yummy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had the tomahawk steak - simply amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband wanted pancakes for his birthday and Cooperwood delivered! We had a delicious brunch served by Jesse who took excellent care of us. We even got a surprise slice of cake with a candle on the house!

I highly recommend the fried green tomatoes in a perfect cornmeal dusting and French toast sticks!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Copperwood is a good choice for date night! The food is excellent, although a little heavy on the meat options. I personally enjoyed the sides (Gouda Mashed Potatoes and French Onion Soup) more than my main course. Overall Copperwood is a fun restaurant with great decor and staff. Make sure to arrive early for your reservation - finding parking can be tough!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went there for brunch with 8 people. Very good food. Some of the best brussel sprouts I have ever had. Excellent service. The bloody Mary was only average but the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very attentive service. Great food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I went here on a first date and really enjoyed my experience! My date and I could hear each other and we enjoyed the ambiance. The old fashioned that I had was great and she had a really nice zinfandel. I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.