Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 65 times today
Special offers available. See details

Copperwood Tavern

4.4
1212 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Local Ingredients
  • Neighborhood Gem
At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 552-8010
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Duke
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

We're celebrating all mothers with a special Lobster Eggs Benedict for brunch! Pair it with a glass of our sparkling rosé for the perfect springtime meal. That's not all, every mother will get a beautiful carnation to take home.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 1212 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We love copperwood!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Lovely service and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Great vibe and decor...but overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

This was a great date night with excellent food, a nice atmosphere (though it could get noisy being so open - we were lucky to be in a booth which helped temper noise) and overall good service. The only reason I gave 4 stars is we had our waitress and 2 other people who kept "checking" on us. Very friendly staff, but it's hard to have a conversation when you keep getting interrupted. Still, really liked the place and the food and would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Always a great choice in Shirlington. All parts of the dinner excelled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

This has long been our go-to restaurant whether just stopping in for a tasty Bourbon Thief with the dog and in tow or for a special occasion. We recently had a 20 person dinner, followed a week or so later with a brunch with baby and in-laws, and both were handled equally as smoothly with the staff. The food is always superb, especially the pork chop and the duck. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We took a family member who was in town to Copperwood for brunch on a Saturday morning. It was perfect for us, quiet enough to have a conversation and enjoy good food. It exceeded expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Friends' get-together who hadn't seen each other for 25 years... gorgeous hot day and we sat outside with my newborn in a stroller. Great service, even better food... enjoyed the atmosphere and lunch for almost 2 hours!! a regular spot and we will be back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

price was expensive for what was provided. food was good but not excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Waitress was very nice. The menu had a good selection, the food was great! Casual environment with a rural / western vibe.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Poached eggs in my entree and my friend’s were totally over-cooked. Hard.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had dinner here for my birthday, so we splurged on the Tomahawk cut of the ribeye for two. It was cooked correctly and sooo delicious! The truffle mac was decadent tasting but not too rich. We ordered the hard boiled duck eggs and they were dyed different colors because it happened to be Easter. So cute! But honestly, they tasted just like chicken eggs, so I'm not sure I'll need to order that again. The service was good and the waiter checked on us at appropriate times. He also brought out a free dessert for my birthday! The only negative comment is we were seated at a table for two that was (a) small, and (b) close to the next table for two. (We had reservations.) We were a bit concerned about overhearing conversations, and being able to fit dinner plates plus a la carte sides plus a bottle of wine plus glasses... was a challenge. Overall, I can't wait to go back for a regular but nice dinner to try some of the other entrees.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Quiche was great! Service just right. It was loud but it was Easter. I'd return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

On this occasion, we were there with good friends. We've been there in the past for date nights as well. The food is consistently good. We recommend the brussel sprouts, sliders and/or mac and cheese.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great food for family dining. A bit on the pricey side but a nice outing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food and service were top notch!!! Can’t wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

A bit noisy for an evening business meal. I had only gone there for lunch previously. Service was excellent! Food delicious as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We got the tomahawk steak and a bottle of Pinot noir. It was delicious! It is served for two and it is definitely enough! The steak was cooked perfectly and the peppercorn edges gave an extra flavor to an already delicious meal. For dessert we had chocolate temptation which was excellent. Total price for two people was over $150, so a little pricey - but a fun date night!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Copper wood is always a good time. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We both had the delicious steak and brussel sprout salad. Service was great. Really enjoy Copperwood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Our server Andy was very helpful in helping me pick a beer a would like. His food recommendations were on point. I really enjoyed the spaghetti squash dish that could win an award for most creative and best presentation. Thanks Copperwood and Andy for making my birthday special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Had a lovely time at Copperwood Tavern. Enjoyed the decor, the food, the vibe, and the service. I was particularly enamored with their Fried Green Tomatoes and their Roasted Brussels Sprouts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The food is fresh and tasty. Nice variety of items, there are food options for everyone. The staff was super friendly and pleasant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

It was really good! Copperwood has become my go-to for brunch, because they have a great variety of options. Had a salad this time, could have pancakes or duck next time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Incredible, inspired menu from a truly talented chef and fantastic service. I love what Copperwood does as well as what they stand for (supporting local farms and caring about ingredients!) This is where I take my foodie friends and family.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Second visit was not quite as good as first, even though this one was a table of two and the first was a table of 15. I had the filet both times and remembered it as much more tender and flavorful. My husband's duck was excellent. Cornbread muffins are tasty. No bacon in the brussel sprouts side dish - maybe it was just bacon fat cooked? Fries are great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We arrived in the heat of Sunday Brunch. With a reservation, we had to wait about 20 minutes, but we did have a party of 7, which was part of the reason. The food was good. I got the short rib eggs benedict, which was very good - the meat was tender with good taste. The popcorn given out was a nice change of pace from the usual bread. We even got refills on the popcorn.
The server was attentive and even offered to split our bill, which is helpful in a large group.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The server was very attentive and the food very good. I got the short rib benedict, which was filling and the meat was tasty and tender. The food the others got also looked good. I will have to go back and try some other other dishes. They give out popcorn while you wait, which was a nice change of pace from the usual break basket. Even with a reservation, we had a bit of a wait, about 20 minutes for a large group, which was not that bad. They offered to split our bill individually, which was nice for a large group.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

A very pleasant experience. Did have trouble having conversation with my guest due to very high noise level. We enjoyed the good food and especially good service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Understand the food is farm to table but perhaps we ordered the wrong items. The most popular dish seems to be the steak. We got seafood. It wasn’t as good. Fish was overcooked.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Was disappointed in the menu selection for weekends. Lunch menu was not available nor was the Gluten Free menu which is posted on your website. Brunch menu was not that great. Should have other options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great venue for a large group (8 people) quiet enough to talk and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Went for the first time to celebrate my birthday. Service was amazing. For all the hype, food, not so much. Really disappointed in the main courses although the sides were excellent. Should have just ordered those. Won't be returning for anything other than brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Delicious made-from-scratch food and extensive craft beverage offerings, primarily locally sourced (although "local" here has a pretty wide definition...extending to PA in addition to Virginia and Maryland according to our server's description). The service was excellent...just the right level of attention, and helpful suggestions.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Some of the "bites to share" were no really appetizers, but sides. Which is fine, but they should come with the meal, not as an appetizer. Hamburger was too greasy/fatty with the cheese and buttered toast. Also ordered it medium rare and it came medium. No pink at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Delicious! And adorable environment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We went to Copperwood Tavern for our Anniversary. We made reservations, which helped because it was a busy Saturday night. The food was fabulous. We had the fillet and it was flavorful and cooked to perfection. The deviled eggs were delicious as an appetizer . We had Brussels sprouts and smoked Gouda mashed potatoes for sides, they were so tasty. We enjoyed the farm table style. The only negative was the size of the table. With four adults, sides, bread, wine and drinks, the table was too small. It felt cramped and we had to move things around every time something else came. Over all it was a wonderful dinner and a great anniversary!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

We enjoyed our visit to Copperwood and would certainly go back, though we don't go out often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Good, pricey

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31