About Copperwood Tavern

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

A cabin-style farm-to-table restaurant in Shirlington, VA with amazing food and drink, Copperwood Tavern is your oasis from the hustle and bustle from the city. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

We serve our meats ala carte with simple seasonings to highlight the flavors so our guests can get the true flavor of the meat and produce.

The Bar program at Copperwood Tavern is just an extension of our kitchen and offers a culinary approach in classic mixology. We use the same local and fresh ingredients to make all of our homemade syrups and mixers, and our drink menu changes seasonally, to incorporate seasonal flavors and ingredients with selected traditional and local craft spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (91)
fit for foodies (84)
great for brunch (72)
See All
great for outdoor dining (70)
good for groups (63)
great for lunch (60)
special occasion (48)
hot spot (30)
vibrant bar scene (30)
kid-friendly (28)
romantic (18)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (10)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Found this on a whim from OpenTable beca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Found this on a whim from OpenTable because they had a brunch reservation available in the time frame we were looking for. Cannot say enough great things. The food was fantastic, our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable, and great. The restaurant itself is very unique and fun to be in. Highly, highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent environment ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and excellent environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I've been meaning to visit because I've ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been meaning to visit because I've heard good things about the food from my friends. So, we my friends and I decided to try it out. The drinks were amazing and our server was really funny and nice. He provided great recommendations, and the mac and cheese was absolutely amazing. I got the pecan-crusted trout and it was delicious! We are definitely going to go back. Highly recommend trying this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 7 for brunch but despi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a group of 7 for brunch but despite the reservation, they had not assembled the tables to accommodate us prior to us arriving. Everyone enjoyed their meals but nobody found them to be exceptional. The eggs benedict was cold. The Fosters Banana French Toast was good. This was my second time there so my thought is it is a fine place to eat if I happen to be in the area but doubt I would go out of my way to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Way overrated. My wife ordered the trout ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Way overrated. My wife ordered the trout. When it came, it was badly over-salted; truly inedible. We returned it and ordered another, slightly more expensive, entree. The waitress apologized, then the manager stopped in and said "they'd take care of it," and asked if I'd like another beer, which I accepted.

Of course, I was done eating by the time my wife's substitute entree arrived--but things happen.

When we got the bill, I'd been charged for the additional beer, and "taking care of it" apparently only extended so far as billing us only for the entree we ordered that was edible.

I understand that I was charged for the drinks and dinner I received. But when the manager stops by to apologize for a very badly prepared meal and says they'll "take care of it," I was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Spent our dining outside, lovely night, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Spent our dining outside, lovely night, and dog friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I came here on a date, and this restaura ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I came here on a date, and this restaurant's small plates are fun to share with one person but might be even better when shared with a small group. Great classy twist on home-style American comfort food! Try the Deviled Duck Eggs and Short Ribs-you won't be disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was really impressed with the waitstaf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I was really impressed with the waitstaff. I have a food allergy, and had some weird questions about the food- and our waitress was really helpful. She was accommodating and friendly, and had actual useful hints about the food.

The food itself was good- not amazing, but definitely very good, and I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Really great experience here. We came wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Really great experience here. We came with our co-workers taking our intern out for a "Thank You" meal before they headed back to school. The table was ready when we got there, and after I'd made a note about having a piece of cake or something special for our intern, the staff surprised them with it! Great atmosphere and staff. Can't wait to come back

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Amanda was awesome at the bar. Food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amanda was awesome at the bar. Food was fresh and tasty and just an overall wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for an enjoyable Sunday ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent place for an enjoyable Sunday brunch. I have also been for dinner and wasn't nearly as impressed as I was with the brunch! Don't forget to try the mimosas!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great. Service was interesting ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was great. Service was interesting. We had a manager and three servers check on us "constantly". At first it was nice to see such attentive staff. However when we were ready to receive a check, it took forever to receive. So long in fact that three servers brought us a dessert menu in the interim. We kindly said no thank you to dessert the first time and again asked for our check. The second and third time was overkill.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

whole experience was excellent, highly r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

whole experience was excellent, highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant! My one suggestion wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing restaurant! My one suggestion would for their menu to change more.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and super quick service e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Delicious food and super quick service even though it's a holiday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, friendly waitress and fu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Delicious food, friendly waitress and fun Southern vibe. Will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French Toast is great, steak and eggs no ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

French Toast is great, steak and eggs not so much. Service was good but I probably won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I'm not a fan of grits in any form, but ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I'm not a fan of grits in any form, but my fellow diner said the shrimp and smoked gouda grits were the best grits he'd ever had -- and coming from Mississippi as he does, I take that to be high praise. I found the setting a bit rustic for my taste but the food was good and the wait staff attentive -- definitely on our list for a revisit next time we're in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Brunch Selection

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great Brunch Selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food and decor are fabulous, and the sta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and decor are fabulous, and the staff is very friendly. Had the goat cheese and Virginia ham appetizer, Spaghetti Squash entree, and a side of Brussels sprouts. Sides are served family-style, and are priced separately so the check adds up quickly. I reserve Copperwood Tavern for special occasions or maybe a small bite at the bar. Still I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 2nd time visiting Copperwood ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was my 2nd time visiting Copperwood Tavern--and it lived up to its expectations once again. The food was absolutely delicious--and our waitress was outstanding! :) I will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, interesting local food, great serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Good, interesting local food, great service... an enjoyable experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Graham crackers were stale with our dess ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Graham crackers were stale with our dessert. Food was decent. The fries were the best thing we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Always a great meal!! Choices are alway ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always a great meal!! Choices are always fresh and cooked to perfection. Wait staff was friendly, didn't hover, and provided the perfect service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked Copperwood Tavern for a celebra ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I booked Copperwood Tavern for a celebratory dinner with 7 members of a Board on which I serve. Our tastes are varied and we have some dietary restrictions. Copperwood was right on top of everything. The food was, to a dish, fabulous! The sides large enough to share. The menu is diverse and creative. Everyone could find something here. I highly recommend this restaurant and I plan to return - often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Copperwood, but won ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First time dining at Copperwood, but won't be the last. Great venue before show at Signature Theatre. Food was yummy, outdoor space was more than adequate for Shirlington, all American wine list, server (Abby) was excellent. Inside seemed a little noisy, but it's kind of a sports bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't expecting only brunch offerings b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wasn't expecting only brunch offerings but that's my fault. My girlfriend has some food restrictions and Cooperwood was more than willing to accommodate her. Food was very good. I had 3 lamb sliders, my girlfriend a salad with steak and a side of home fries, my aunt had the crab cake sandwich. Can't wait to go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Brunch! Duck confit with poached eggs an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Brunch! Duck confit with poached eggs and grits and shrimp. So delish, perfectly done. The deviled eggs got high marks as well. We sat outside, and it was a beautiful June morning. We weren't hurried along, which I really appreciated.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love brunch at Copperwood! Their devi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love brunch at Copperwood! Their deviled duck eggs, smoked salmon eggs Benedict, and chicken and biscuits are our favorites. We took my dad for Father's Day and particularly appreciated the extra little gift (jerky, popcorn seasoning, and a $10 gift card).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good. Service was a bit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was quite good.

Service was a bit off--one server with too many tables. Had to ask for a refill of water three times and it came as we were ready to leave. It was Father's Day, so I can understand being busy, but add more servers on those special even days.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, decent service, long wait fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, decent service, long wait for food to come to table. This place is now several years old, but it still feels like a place going through the early learning stages. The waiter was nice, but spoke a tad too quietly and was a tad slow. The food took much longer to come to the table than i'd expect for breakfast items (eggs, potatoes, grits, sausage, fruit cup, avacado Bacon lettuce sandwich...for 2 adults and 1 toddler). When the food arrived it was piping hot and appeared to indeed be fresh off the griddle, so that must mean the kitchen is just a tad slow. Overall, i'm still on the fence about this place. We've been multiple times, but we never return until we've forgotten how mediocre, or on the cusp of being good/great it is. I can't help but compare it to places like Founding Farmers & TED'S Bulletin....and in those comparisons it comes up rather short.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Cocktails, beer selection, and sides are ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Cocktails, beer selection, and sides are five stars. The entrees are quite average. The duck, filet Mignon, and crab cakes were all just solid three stars. Nice atmosphere and service, just dont expect foody quality entrees.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good neighborhood tavern with an upscale ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Good neighborhood tavern with an upscale twist. Good for appys and cocktails. Like the outdoor patio in dog-friendly Shirlington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

we had to wait a very short time for an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

we had to wait a very short time for an outside table which was our choice so we didn't mind waiting, but the manager came right over and gave us a free appetizer which was totally unnecessary but very courteous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yusef and Petia were both amazing. Brunc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Yusef and Petia were both amazing. Brunch food was so good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the complimentary popcorn, the ru ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I like the complimentary popcorn, the rustic atmosphere and the farm-to-table food sourcing. I would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I come here often, and absol ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I come here often, and absolutely love it. We love the mussels on the appetizer menu. For the entree, my wife loves the crab cakes, and I highly recommend the ribeye steak. So delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had two appetizers as my meal. The por ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I had two appetizers as my meal. The portion sizes were small on the short ribs but really tender. The oysters were fresh but over priced. Overall the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I would recommend this place to a friend ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I would recommend this place to a friend and I would definitely come again.

While I enjoyed the food and the people were just wonderful, its one of those places that likes to try new things that not everyone might enjoy. HOWEVER, they do have some classic items on the menu, so if you're not looking for something new you're covered.

Brussels sprouts, steak, crab cakes were all great and my peach drink was awesome. While the citrus in the corn muffins wasn't so great, the citrus with the crab cakes was, and so was the tiny salad of kohlrabi that accompanied the crab cakes.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great. Service was distracted

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My quiche was fantastic. The children both had belgian waffles, which were good. The maple syrup was ok, but not my thing (too thin, and not very mapley). The service, however, wasn't good. We needed to flag the guy down a lot for simple things like getting in our order, pepper, reminding him each of each round of the brunch cocktail we ordered (it's like he couldn't be bothered to remember on his own). He was not timely, and he unapologetically stated that he was forgetful and not good at remembering things. Not a deal breaker (because the food was good, and everyone theoretically can have an off day), but as a parent, having to keep tabs on yet another person detracts from the overall dining experience (we're supposed to be having fun, not stay on top of everything....that's the fun in eating out).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.