About Copperwood Tavern

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

A cabin-style farm-to-table restaurant in Shirlington, VA with amazing food and drink, Copperwood Tavern is your oasis from the hustle and bustle from the city. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

We serve our meats ala carte with simple seasonings to highlight the flavors so our guests can get the true flavor of the meat and produce.

The Bar program at Copperwood Tavern is just an extension of our kitchen and offers a culinary approach in classic mixology. We use the same local and fresh ingredients to make all of our homemade syrups and mixers, and our drink menu changes seasonally, to incorporate seasonal flavors and ingredients with selected traditional and local craft spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (72)
Great for Outdoor Dining (71)
Fit for Foodies (63)
See All
Great for Brunch (62)
Good for Groups (50)
Great for Lunch (44)
Special Occasion (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Kid-friendly (23)
Hot Spot (19)
Romantic (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (5)
Great Beer (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything from service to food was just ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything from service to food was just right. Great place for nice casual biz lunch. Would love to come back for happy hour or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my meal the French toast was g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed my meal the French toast was great..I also tried some of my table mates food and it was also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went for Sunday Brunch French toast w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for Sunday Brunch French toast was divine. Service was impeccable and very quiet and comfortable . We enjoyed it very much

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rockfish was too salty. Duck breast was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Rockfish was too salty. Duck breast was ordered medium well but was served "quacking." Sent back to kitchen for some added heat. Wait staff was overly attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I, my wife and another couple were dinin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I, my wife and another couple were dining here for the first time. Service was excellent. Food was good, but not noteworthy. I had the filet and my wife had the trout. We both enjoyed them, but not enough to hurry back. Our dessert (homemade strawberry ice cream) was disppointing; not creamy, and the frozen chunks of strawberries were tasteless. Since everything is a la carte, you will probably end up spending more than you would at other casual dining restaurants. $244 for the four of us, including alcohol and tip.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not impressed with the food or service t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not impressed with the food or service tonight. We normally like Copper Wood tavern but are thinking we will have to try other places. Way to expensive for the Quality of food we were served tonight as well as the service.. Not happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Love the atmosphere here! The cocktails ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love the atmosphere here! The cocktails are amazing and the service has always been great. Unfortunately, my husband and I don't eat beef or pork and that leaves the menu options extremely slim. However, the mac & cheese is quite tasty! Drinks and mac & cheese for us!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My fiancé and I came here to celebrate a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My fiancé and I came here to celebrate achieving my masters degree. This place was awesome as always. This was the first time we came for brunch and we did not leave disappointed or hungry. We tried oysters for the first time and the portions for brunch were perfect! The service was great and the mimosas-not sure if the OJ was fresh but it was sweet and complimented the champagne well. Will definitely be back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been here several times for lunch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been here several times for lunch and have enjoyed the food and friendly staff. Dinner food was not not up to par with lunch food I have had here. While my husband enjoyed the fish ,my mussels were very small and overpowered by blue cheese . I am unsure why" starters" or appetizers are severed alongside the entree. It makes for tight spacing on small tables and most people I believe prefer to have them arrive prior to the main course.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service from Kevin. Deviled egg a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great service from Kevin. Deviled egg appetizer, wine by glass, short rib entree and chocolate cake like dessert were good. Pecan crusted trout while edible was bland and overwhelmed by butter. Fried brussel sprouts were dissapointing. Suggest younger vegetable be used in addition to preparing under a broiler.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service and food was impeccable. Great b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service and food was impeccable. Great brunch that accommodated me and nine friends for my birthday celebration

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although a bit too noisy we were able to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Although a bit too noisy we were able to have a conversation and hear each other. Our friends from out of town loved the restaurant and look forward to going again during their next visit. The farm to table menu makes for fresh, healthy and delicious options. The local rockfish was superb as was the veggie sides of asparagus and Brussels spouts. Our friends particularly liked the frites and we all enjoyed the peach cobbler. Copperwood is our favorite pre theater stop.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Its nice. I would probably check out oth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Its nice. I would probably check out other places tho. We had a party of 6 for brunch and ordered 7 main dishes and 3 apps. The only dish I loved was the baked oyster dish. Nothing else really captured my interest.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Copperwood Tavern is one of my favorite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Copperwood Tavern is one of my favorite restaurants in Shirlington. The food is consistently first rate, and the service is excellent.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, service was amazing, and we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, service was amazing, and we love the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a simple dinner of steak, crab ca ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a simple dinner of steak, crab cakes, asparagus and a starter. The steak was WAY under done and the bill was north of $100. I do not mind paying good money for good food but I mind spending $100 for a meal that was not worth it. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The place was pretty quiet when my wife, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The place was pretty quiet when my wife, 8 month old and I arrived for an impromptu date night while the little one slept. The waiter was great. Wonderful drink recommendations. Service was great. Food was amazing. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, People Watching, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The brunch at Copperwood is fantastic, f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The brunch at Copperwood is fantastic, from the pancakes to the massive breakfast sandwich, everything on the menu is great. With great cocktails and extensive local beers on tap, it's hard to beat Copperwood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we recently ate at Copperwood for lunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

we recently ate at Copperwood for lunch and decided to give their Brunch a chance. Was very impressed, the service was Great and the food was excellent and came out very quickly. The only suggestion I would make is if its early in the day (9-11) popcorn appetizer should be an option. I myself don;t want to eat it that early in the day and think it is just wasted. Just a thought. Other than that THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful find in Alexadria - all fres ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A wonderful find in Alexadria - all fresh local ingredients right down to the moonshine cocktails. Delicious options abound, including the shared sides like Gouda mashed potatoes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was fantastic and was able to ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our server was fantastic and was able to easily move around all the dogs on the patio who were there celebrating the Wags & Whiskers event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Copperwood Tavern is THE BEST brunch pla ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Copperwood Tavern is THE BEST brunch place in the Alexandria/Arlington area! Though I live in Old Town Alexandria, which has a plethora of popular brunch spots, I drive to Copperwood Tavern in Shirlington because their brunch can't be beat! I highly recommend! This restaurant is seriously the best farm to table restaurant around!! The wait staff is friendly and extremely attentive and the customer service is tops!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere for Sunday brunch! Tasty ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice atmosphere for Sunday brunch! Tasty food and attentive, but not overpowering, service. All good! Will definitely go back again! Parking in the area on Sunday can be tricky because of street fair but just get there a little early.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place before or after the movie. L ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great place before or after the movie. Love Farm to table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Copperwood Tavern was superb. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

As always, Copperwood Tavern was superb. The vegetables are always the best. Brussels sprouts are an all time favorite, along with the mushrooms, asparagus, and mac and cheese. Three of our party had never been there before and they are all converts, especially for the vegetables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After making reservations well-in-advanc ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

After making reservations well-in-advance of the date of our business dinner, I called the day of the reservation and talked to the host about an hour before our dinner, confirming the reservation and reiterating that we had requested a table outside since one of our colleagues would be bringing a puppy. After suggesting that they weren't expecting a full-house anyway and confirming that the request for an table outside would be accommodated, we were dismayed to be told upon arrival that we would have to wait 45 minutes for our table. Since many in the group came into Arlington from MD and DC for dinner, we decided to go elsewhere to avoid further delaying the start of our dinner on a weekday evening. I have taken social gatherings and business meetings at Copperwood Tavern previously, and it was a favorite restaurant in Shirlington. After this instance, I will second guess taking meetings there in the future. If you can't accommodate, then don't. But don't confirm that you will and then fail to when your patrons arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The salad was plain-- didn't seem to con ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The salad was plain-- didn't seem to contain any ingredients they should be in abundance in August. salad dressing was so bland, it might have been dressed in nothing but oil. I kept reaching for salt to break up the monotony, but there was none on the table. Either a mistake or arrogance. The best thing about the grilled oysters was the tobasco I added. The Romanesca on the rockfish had some flavor, but I'm not sure why it came layered over a puddle of oil. The rockfish was full of bones. The tables on the patio are claustrophobicly close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This is a great place to dine before a m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is a great place to dine before a movie or show. The food is excellent and there is a good beer and cocktail selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The farm to table offerings, the hand-cr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The farm to table offerings, the hand-crafted cocktails, and the excellent service at a very fair price made our dinner a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch at Copperwood Tavern never disapp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch at Copperwood Tavern never disappoints. The food is delicious - highly recommend the French toast, duck hash, salmon Benedict, and the fried green tomatoes - and the service is always friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lousy service, especially at this price ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lousy service, especially at this price point. Kitchen not up to snuff. Two fish entrees returned, one underdone, the other cold. Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Our main courses arrived a few minutes a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our main courses arrived a few minutes after our starters. Very disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I can't recommend this restaurant becaus ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I can't recommend this restaurant because my friend and I both got someone else's lunch. my friend ordered a chicken salad and got a sandwich with bacon on it. I ordered the salad with watermelon and there was no watermelon to be found - watermelon was the reason I ordered that particular salad.

We didn't bother to let our server know because we would've had to wait another 25 minutes to eat. What a pain. I could understand getting one order wrong but not both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service from Chris (we have always ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service from Chris (we have always had good service), and the food is prepared just right each time we dine here. Love coming back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Copperwood Tavern was a pleasant surpris ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Copperwood Tavern was a pleasant surprise. In an area with extreme competition (restaurants are everywhere) I'd go to this place in a heart beat again. The food was good, the wine list solid but the service could have been much better. Our waiter just didn't appear often enough or regularly enough--we kept having to flag him down. Beyond the wait staff issue, I'd go here again with no issues. My partner ordered the pecan-crusted Trout Filet. A tad too buttery but otherwise really, really tasty. I ordered the Farm Raised Brown Ale Butter Chicken. It was OUTSTANDING. Very, very good dish. We got a side of Brussel Sprouts (excellent) and Truffled Mac and Cheese which was also very good. Looking forward to a return trip.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We very much enjoyed our time at Copperw ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We very much enjoyed our time at Copperwood. This was not my first visit nor will it be my last. They have fantastic food, good service and a wonderful local beer selection. This is a great place for dates, friendly get-togethers, and especially brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed it.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Beautiful view of the harb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food! Beautiful view of the harbor. Highly recommend. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table wasn't ready for our reservation.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Table wasn't ready for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.