About Copperwood Tavern

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern not only offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys and a superb wine selection, its 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

And since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along too. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a special Valentine's Day Dinner! We will have a special surf & turf dinner and a delicious chocolate Raspberry Marquis dessert.

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (37)
Local Ingredients (36)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Great for Brunch (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Cozy (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great Beer (10)
Family Style (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Organic (7)
Romantic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfortunately the meat was terrible. Duc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Unfortunately the meat was terrible. Duck was way undercooked and the steak was full of gristle. Not good value. Very overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Great atmosphere cozy and authentic feel ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere cozy and authentic feel. Can converse without yelling. Our server was super genuine and kind.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating for my boyfriend buy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating for my boyfriend buying his first home!! Food was amazing - filet, pork chop, Brussels sprouts and grilled oysters!!! Waitress was awesome and gave us great recommendations.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I stopped by for the firs ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I stopped by for the first time for a much-needed afternoon together before a movie. We enjoyed our time there and everyone was friendly. The popcorn was to die for and my husband remarked he would have loved some to enjoy at home. This was the first time he enjoyed popcorn that was not dripping in butter. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service in a really ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service in a really cool atmosphere! Will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENTE!!!!..food was just what we ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

EXCELLENTE!!!!..food was just what we needed..reservations are appropriate..sat us on time

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I appreciate the consistency of the food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I appreciate the consistency of the food prep and the service has been pretty good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very cool space. We were very happy whe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very cool space. We were very happy when we walked in. We were there for brunch. I ordered the duck deviled eggs -- $8. They sounded great. The "duck" aspect of them was a sprinkling of shredded duck confit(?) on each egg. There were four -- no problem -- it's an appetizer. There was a half piece of really good bacon with each egg. It was ok, not great. Not enough duck. My wife ordered a breakfast sandwich and asked for egg to be cooked over easy -- it came over hard. We have had this problem a LOT lately in too many restaurants. If you can't cook an egg properly, you shouldn't be in the kitchen. Basics. I ordered the chicken and waffles. It came with very little syrup -- I don't like a lot, but it was pretty dry. It was good, but a suggestion would be to put some on the waffle and provide a ramekin with extra. A busser got a little extra for me. We paid somewhere around $50 for the meal and it was just less than good. Frustrating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The birthday card you send me with the c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The birthday card you send me with the certificate inside made me notice how much you value your customers. I have NEVER had a restaurant do this for me. This was very special. When I came in for New Years eve brunch the food was fabulous. The homemade Marshmallow on my specialized coffee drink was impressive. I especially like the crab benedict, as I do not eat pork.

I love the beautiful hand stencil dogs on the wall, the re-purposing of the great things all over the restaurant. The thought out sink at least in the ladies room, I love this, no dripping all over the sink top , we women hate our purses getting wet from people not wiping up after they wash.

The friendliness of the staff, easy to make a reservation online and the reminder also. The beginning cup of popcorn with your "special seasoning" was so unique when you sit down, better then a basket of bread. The french toast sticks, so if you have a taste for the sweet, but also want eggs. It satisfies the craving, then your not trying to decide between the two. Love drinking out of the mason jars, reminds me of the country. Overall experience is a 10, posting pictures to my page for my friends locally. See you all soon!!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service on NYE. C ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food and great service on NYE. Copperwood per usual did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre-theater New Years Eve. No mention of ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pre-theater New Years Eve. No mention of pre-fixe menu at booking but not really a surprise considering the night. Good value on the pre-fixe. Paid the corkage and brought an expensive wine with us but their list looked good. Had to send both entrees back for extra cooking but to be fair we asked for medium rare and every place measures that differently -- we'll gauge it better next time. Both dishes were returned quickly cooked a little more and were very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First visit to Copperwood Tavern in Shir ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First visit to Copperwood Tavern in Shirlington. I had the lunch sliders combo. Good value and great taste. Will try the Ashburn location for my next visit.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Oddly enough I'd never heard of this pla ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Oddly enough I'd never heard of this place but needed to find a restaurant near Signature Theater for dinner before the musical the evening of Dec. 23rd. I had also left it to the last minute for reservations but was able to snag a table at 6:00 p.m. Very cool interior, quite contemporary. I wish I could remember the name of our server; he was great! I think he had a beard? He helped us decipher the impressive locally sourced farm-to-table menu. Cocktails were amazing and creative without being overwhelming. Our server was spot on with suggestions for pairing wines with the main course. The food was as good as the reviews I'd read before deciding to make reservations. The fried green tomatoes and the fried goat cheese w/speck and arugula were both delicious. They prepared my trout as requested, no salt. My daughter's duck breast was cooked to perfection and the sauces seasoned perfectly. I can't remember what we had for dessert, not because it was forgettable, simply I just can't remember but I know it was delicious too. Highly recommend this Shirlington gem!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, , Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a horrible experience and have alr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I had a horrible experience and have already brought to management's attention. Happy Holidays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Chowder, farmer's salad, trout, brussels ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Chowder, farmer's salad, trout, brussels sprouts - everything was excellent! This service was very good as well. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were a group of six and the waiter di ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were a group of six and the waiter didn't mind giving us separate checks. The food was delicious. One of the group ordered the mushroom bruschetta and asked the waiter for a softer bread, saying she couldn't bite into the hard bread, and not only did he bring new bread, but he also took the item off her bill. The wine by the glass is way too expensive at $10 a pop. We go out after matinee at Signature, and would definitely go back to Copperwood.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food and good service. We had no co ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good food and good service. We had no complaints and we will definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The experience was fantastic - great res ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The experience was fantastic - great restaurant. We went for brunch and the menu was great. The only minor issue we had was that I asked the server a specific question about a dish and his answer was wrong. I trusted his answer and ordered the dish, but likely would not have ordered it if I had correct info. Even so, the dish and the overall experience were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place for brunch. Portions are la ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place for brunch. Portions are large and packed with flavor. Brussels sprouts appetizer was so tasty. Nice setting and catered to small and large groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had theatre tickets and had a reserva ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had theatre tickets and had a reservation for 6:45. We were told to wait as we were early and finally got seated after 7PM making it rather tight for getting to the theatre at 8. They were clearly overbooked. They did expedite the food and we did get out on time but it was a bit tense. We would go back again though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was outstanding. The venison me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. The venison meatballs, duck breast, and rabbit were all mouth-watering. The service was magnificent: attentive but not cloying, accommodating and pleasant. The noise from tables that were too close with large groups made the occasion of a date stifling.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Virginia Ham and Goat cheese appetiz ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Virginia Ham and Goat cheese appetizer was quite good, as was my wife's Caesar salad with chicken. My filet was ok, not great. Undercooked and a bit fatty. Overall though , the night was enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My son-in law works at the Copperwood in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My son-in law works at the Copperwood in Loudoun and I work in Arlington, so it was great to take some of my co-workers for a working lunch. Food was great and everyone loved it. I will go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, , Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was much quieter than usual, which wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

it was much quieter than usual, which was a pleasant change. The food is fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went with my family for brunch. Had to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I went with my family for brunch. Had to wait 30 minutes past the reservation time to get a table. That was a first for me since using open table. Once seated, it was nice to have the popcorn as a snack while we waited for our food. The food was delicious and I highly recommend the brussel sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A fabulous brunch menu with something fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A fabulous brunch menu with something for every one. The blueberry ricotta pancakes were outstanding.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have really enjoyed Copperwood for bo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have really enjoyed Copperwood for both dinner and brunch but Sunday was an exception. We were one of the first ones in and still waited for our food a fairly long time and when it came out, my eggs were barely warm and runny for scrambled. My husband didn't get his bacon but that was quickly remedied by our very nice server. Coffee was also on the weak side. And - I cannot do gluten so was a little irritated that I had to pay an extra $1 to get fruit to replace my toast/bread. Hoping all is up to par this weekend when a group of friends are assembling for lunch here at my suggestion.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place for a fresh dinner on a cold ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place for a fresh dinner on a cold night! Love the beer, wine, and cocktail selection too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my husband's birthday at C ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Copperwood Tavern. The ambiance, food and service were amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions. It is a bit pricey to go all the time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great as usual! Pear bellini ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service was great as usual! Pear bellinis were good. The Brussels sprouts are amazing. Wonderful brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sundy brunch for my first visit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for Sundy brunch for my first visit. Restaurant is very pretty. Service was excellent and food was very good. Look forward to returning!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We took a friend from out of town, and e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We took a friend from out of town, and enjoyed the food, the service and the tasty wine. We like Copperwood Tavern for special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with my daughter was a pleasure, n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lunch with my daughter was a pleasure, not least for the excellent food and service at Copperwood, which is one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy to see gingerbread stout on tap. L ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Happy to see gingerbread stout on tap. Little pricey at $10, but for 10% seasonal its doable.

Complimentary popcorn is a nice touch. Recommend to keep serving local drafts and rotating constantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent choice of craft beers. My wife ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent choice of craft beers. My wife said the filet mignon can challenge any she has had in NYC.

Tags: , Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great for brunch! lots of selecti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really great for brunch! lots of selections and was over all v pleased. food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! The food is excell ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! The food is excellent! Prices are a little high but otherwise a great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was decent. Rathe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The overall experience was decent. Rather than being greeted I was stared at for a few moments as though she was confused as to why I was there. Rather than asking how many in your party, I was asked may I help you - duh I'm here to dine. The waiter was nice. The food was meh... breakfast/brunch is better than the dinner menu in my opinion. Won't go back for dinner but definitely breakfast/brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Cooperwoo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Cooperwood. Excellent meal and value. Enjoy their regular menu as well both for dinner, lunch and especially brunch. Always pleasant service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance, service good

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ambiance, service good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.