Copperwood Tavern

4.5
1244 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
  • Local Ingredients
At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 552-8010
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Duke
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1244 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Father’s day.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The tavern always has great food and poor service. That’s the trade off.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

WE ENJOYED ARE DINNER AT COPPERWOOD TAVERN. THE LOCALLY SOURCED FOOD WAS DELICIOUS - VENISON AND RABBIT.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent food, service and perfect weather for dining al fresco!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Not disappointed. Excellent food selection. Quiet but yet not "tombstone". Nicely appointed. Good choice for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Food was wonderful and the service was impeccable! A true gem!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

It was a very nice lunch with good friends. The service was excellent. I really liked the Filet and Brussels Salad. You lost a star because there was gristle in some of the steak pieces which renders it inedible. My friends enjoyed the sliders and portabello sandwich. I did notice one friend left her French fries. You might want to improve those. I would return, and I hope these small things are better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Superb neighborhood restaurant, we have been there at least 10 times and it never fails to be excellent. The Ham baked cheese Board was great. Main course Chicken and Pork Chop was cooked perfectly and highly recommended.

Denis

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great Sunday Brunch menu with numerous excellent choices. Parking may be a bit tight.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Love this place! Food is always top notch, and love the atmosphere. Our server, Sydney, was great - very friendly, pleasant and helpful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Amazing everything! Delicious oysters, and the best beer menu in the area!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Most of the food was prepared well. Caesar salad was not very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The food was very good and the service was on point. But I was upset because it was my friends birthday and they didn’t even say anything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

It was a great place to have a lunch with friends and dogs :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Superior service, excellent food, and wonderful environment. Scott was an excellent server and made the experience more enjoyable too

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Nothing particularly unique about Copperwood, similar to many restaurants across the US.
Being in the DC area you can expect higher prices and like so often your expectations of something special turns out to be somewhat less.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Cocktails were a little pricy, but tasted great! Good mix of whiskeys and moonshines. The food was done nicely and tasted great! The brussel sprouts and frites are yummy side items. The one downside was the noise level. It was so loud due to others talking that it was difficult to hold a conversation. We will go again, but we may pick a better spot on the side vs. in the middle.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Phenomenal food and service. Pulled Pork BBQ sandwich was perfectly flavored and the bun was awesome. Shrimp and Grits tasted extremely fresh and flavorful. We’ll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The pancakes were great ! The lobster Benedict was just OK ...the burgers good. The waiter got the order wrong and then brought the right food and charged us for it. I had him remove it but it should have been done before it was brought to the table...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Good food, courteous and capable staff, distracting and clamorous noise level.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Good food, service, and value. Great day for lunch outside!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great food. Halibut, venison meatballs, short ribs, great beer and wine all enjoyed. Service friendly and prompt. 3rd visit. Always enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Average tavern food. Pricey entrees without any sides included.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I met friends here for brunch to celebrate my birthday. We dined outside on their patio, which was very nice. The food was good - I had shrimp and grits that was decent but didn't blow me away. My friends had the bananas foster French toast (decadent), the avocado toast and some type of eggs Benedict that they all enjoyed. Service was friendly and attentive. I definitely plan to return for lunch and/or dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food is great. The service was extremely subpar compared to previous visits. Made a reservation for a special occasion and since there was only two of us they crammed us into the ' 2 top' area while there were multiple alternative tables/ areas open throughout the dining area. It was a slower night and they could have spread us out versus having all the two tops being shoulder to shoulder. The server was also kind of rushed / pushy.... not the norm compared to previous visits but this guy definitely had the mentality of 'eat and get the hell out'.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We waited too long for everything and the restaurant really wasn't that busy. Food was decent but we feel like things could have been better overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Truffle Mac and cheese is TDF. Please bring back the lamb burger! Nice that they support VA breweries but MD has some great options we’d like to see (Full Tilt!).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Copperwood has some staying power but the service is a bit slow... which is unfortunate considering the restaurant isn't that big.

Bloody Marys are tasty for sure!

It's worth a visit, but dont be in a rush...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We had a wonderful time. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Our meals and service were excellent, but a bit overpriced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Second time visiting after good first experience. Mains and sides are good, dessert was delicious. However, for the price point, I was surprised by the amateurish service. Waiter was upselling as if we were ordering at Olive Garden.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We love copperwood!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Lovely service and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great vibe and decor...but overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This was a great date night with excellent food, a nice atmosphere (though it could get noisy being so open - we were lucky to be in a booth which helped temper noise) and overall good service. The only reason I gave 4 stars is we had our waitress and 2 other people who kept "checking" on us. Very friendly staff, but it's hard to have a conversation when you keep getting interrupted. Still, really liked the place and the food and would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always a great choice in Shirlington. All parts of the dinner excelled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This has long been our go-to restaurant whether just stopping in for a tasty Bourbon Thief with the dog and in tow or for a special occasion. We recently had a 20 person dinner, followed a week or so later with a brunch with baby and in-laws, and both were handled equally as smoothly with the staff. The food is always superb, especially the pork chop and the duck. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We took a family member who was in town to Copperwood for brunch on a Saturday morning. It was perfect for us, quiet enough to have a conversation and enjoy good food. It exceeded expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Friends' get-together who hadn't seen each other for 25 years... gorgeous hot day and we sat outside with my newborn in a stroller. Great service, even better food... enjoyed the atmosphere and lunch for almost 2 hours!! a regular spot and we will be back again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32