About Copperwood Tavern

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Local Ingredients (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Casual (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Healthy (13)
Great Beer (12)
Fun (11)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (11)
Cozy (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Live Sports (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My first time at the restaurant. Couldn't have been more pleased with the food and the service. This is a great place to have dinner - should be on everyone's top ten list of favorite place to eat in NOVA. The steak I had was perfect - very tender. My wife's scallops were excellent as well. Large list of on tap beers. Very attentive waiters. Don't know who is the chef, but they got a great one.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I had been to Copperwood once previously and found it to be pleasant. Not so much this time. The bloody Mary's were reasonably good and the Scotched egg was quite pleasant. However, the chicken and waffle was awful. The waffle was about as crisp as a wet dishrag and had little to no flavor. The chicken was dry as a bone and didn't offer much flavor either. One of my friends had the fried green tomatoes that were adequate but his omelette was less than thrilling. My other friend had the avocado toast which she ate but didn't rave about it. Although the restaurant was packed for Sunday brunch, I don't understand why. I think they've seen me for the last time.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

It was really good. Our server was really nice, and he did a great job with my friend’s children. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Came here for the first time ever with my mom, for dinner before seeing a show at the Signature Theater. I picked this place due to Yelp reviews, and we were not disappointed. The waiter was very attentive and helpful, the restaurant was very rustic looking but with great decor/ambiance, and we were both very satisfied with our meals. I absolutely loved the spaghetti squash, I would definitely return just for this dish. Their Moscow Mule (called a Commonwealth Mule) was really good too, not too strong, which I appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I made a reservation at 8:30. We arrived on time but still had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. Staff and manager kept us in the loop and it was not a problem.
After being seated it took awhile for our waiter to come introduce himself and take our drink order. He was very polite and we were very patient so it wasn't an issue.
The kicker was that majority of our table wanted to order burgers. We are told that burgers are only served at the bar and we couldn't have them delivered or eaten at our table. The manager suggested that we move our table to the other side of the restaurant in order to have burgers. It would have been difficult for us to do since we had someone in a wheel chair in our party. Even after waiting over half an hour to be seated the "no burger on this side" rule couldn't be lifted. The manager was very polite about it and made us aware that this was a rule from the owner and she simply had to obey. The manager waived our drinks and appetizers and we went to the restaurant across the street.
Copperwood Tavern is an overall lovely place, but ultimately wasn't willing to take our money because of a silly rule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

I have been to this restaurant several times and it is definitely worth a visit. It is a farm to table place so you know that the food is fresh. I have tried a variety of items off the menu and have always been happy with my choice. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had a party of six, some out of towners a few locals. The beers were good, the food was outstanding. The venison meatballs were a treat, and the smoked gouda mashers, grilled asparagus, and grilled Brussel sprouts were great sides. But the main grilled meats made it: a fantastic ancho rubbed grilled over one and a half inch thick pork chop was amazing, the medium spicy lean venison was every bit as good, and the duck looked great too. The service was knowledgeable, but service did not ask us our preference, and brought us one bill (instead of offering separate checks), which created a cash flow and convenience problem, because we were in a hurry to settle and to go to the concert we traveled to NVa to see. Overall an excellent experience, we will come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great food, great beer. I loved all the dinner options.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We've been several times and continue to go because it has sentimental meaning. But now it just seems overpriced. $14 for a la carte pancakes? Please. Busboys around the corner is just as good and a better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Love this place. Hearty comfort food with a flair. The gouda mashed potatoes are amazing!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

I got the got duck hash for brunch. Duck is inherently oily, I understand, but the duck turn the potatoes to slime. It became more of a soup than a hash and it was too tough of a texture to overcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food and service were very good. We liked the menu and the farm to table local produce. The staff was very friendly and the service was good. The restaurant is very busy so would definitely recommend reservations on the weekend.

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Very good dinner and a fun time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Copperwood tavern never dissappoints. My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary and the food and service was amazing. Our server was very polite and attentive and made sure that we finished our meal in time for our movie at the theatre down the street. This is our favorite nearby restaurant for dates and family dinners.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2017

We were traveling and our hotel rec this restaurant. So glad we came here. Lovely ambiance, it looked like an old barn/tavern with edison hanging fixtires. The atmospere so romantic. This is a farm to ta le testaurant so it doesnt have an extensive menu but what we had was in tedible. I had a spagetti squash dish w pumpkin and porcinni mushrooms w a delicious sauce.It was one of the best dishes I ever had, and I eat out a lot. My husband had venison meat balls and a chili dish. I don't condone eating deer, I think venison is deer, but he loved it. Hr also had their house special craft beer,and it was,so good he had a second pint(we weren't driving. We had very good appetizers and couldn't orfer dessert as we stuffed ourselves on their yummy baked rolls.
I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Good service, courteous staff. All food was good apart from my Fillet Mignon which was surprisingly tough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2017

My first time at Copperwood Tavern was not impressive. The food was mediocre at best. I had a small Kale & Romaine Caesar Salad, which was OK but nothing special. I also ordered a Tavern Burger done medium WELL, but it came out medium RARE, and the bacon that came with it was undercooked, so that each time I took a bite, a whole strip of bacon came along with it. I make a much better bacon cheeseburger at home. HOWEVER, the beer was very good. I chose an IPA with only 4.5% ABV, but it still tasted like an IPA, so I had two of them. I doubt I will ever try Copperwood Tavern again, because there are many restaurants in Shirlington and I don't get there that often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Our server , Lilly was great . She was very sweet, attentive and down to earth ! I love the popcorn for the table. It’s a chill environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great venue. This has always been our go to spot in shirlington. Good vibe, good food, good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Copperwood Tavern has become a go-to place for my husband, friends, and me. Comfortable atmosphere, good food, and their complimentary popcorn is wonderful. Server Scott is particularly amiable and a great representative of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We sat at the bar for Saturday brunch so it wasn't very crowded, but I can imagine the place can get loud when it's full. The bartender was kind of awkward: not unfriendly, but also not very warm. I had to greet HIM and ask him how HE was doing. Other than that, service was ok. The food came out quickly; the portions and quality were worth the money. I would definitely go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Made a reservation for brunch and we had a great seat along the front window with a bench. Worked out wonderfully for our party of seven (2 kids). It's a kid friendly restaurant, but they didn't have a special menu for kids (or at least I didn't notice one). The server was very friendly and accommodating. Noise level was good for conversation. Food-wise, everything was pretty good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Dinner before signature Theatre on Thursday night was our first visit and we will definitely return; we think it's one of the better choices in Shirlington, even all of Arlington! We were impressed with the menu selections and the wide use of local food and beverage - who knew Floyd County proceeded a very nice reisling??

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Antonio was the best, and the manager on duty was very kind, as well! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We stumbled upon Copperwood Taven after seeing a movie, and love the farm to table intent. It was a little noisy for conversation on a busy Saturday night, but not awful. We both had the venison tenderloin, which really was cooked medium rare as we requested, and was flavorful and tender. We shared a plate of lovely thick tender grilled asparagus, which really didn't need the sauce. The little corn muffins at the start are a great kick off.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The food was amazing, especially the rabbit! Two members of our party (6) had it and it was absolutely melt in your mouth! I had the rockfish which was excellent! Two shared the pork chop and one had the steak tartare!
Most definitely will return!
The service was impeccable too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great food and service as usual. We had a friend in town from abroad and we needed a semi-quiet place to have dinner and visit. Our guest really enjoyed it. Thank you!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We loved the meal here and will definitely return. Great food, ambiance and service. Also a dog friendly patio which is always nice to see!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Prime rib night was the reason for our visit. The temperatures on the meat could have been better but overall it was delicious. The mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts are family favorites. Our waiter was fun and personable. We were apparently also fun as we received some gift cards from a lovely staff member. We cannot wait to return and enjoy some great food again.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Food was delicious and the large sharing sides are great. Service was great too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I'm glad the food was organic and local. The taste was very average, however. Bland, underseasoned, nothing special. I could have had a better meal at Panera or some other interchangeable fast casual place, for much cheaper. Not that I like places like that, but at least I would have saved money. Of course, this is just an interchangeable innocuous Farm to Table joint, franchised and boring. Soul-less and anonymous. The world doesn't need it. Service was poor. Waiter mumbled and spoke too quickly; his demeanor was very fake and plastic. Nothing makes me want to revisit this place. The interior is very fake and cheesy as well. Every step through the place makes me think: the designers were trying to get me to feel homey and farm-freshy; they focus-grouped the pretend-distressed-wood and found that people would pay $5 more per entree if they felt arboreal and agricultural... We need to stop wasting money at places like this...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service was some of the most attentive and the food came out fast and hot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our first visit to Copper Wood -- pre-theater dining (for Signature Theater in Arlington). We picked it without ever having dined there before. It was a great find. We were delighted with it.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Love the oyster happy hour! We had a dozen raw and a dozen grilled. The grilled ones were DROWNING in butter and breadcrumbs -- way too much topping; we couldn't even taste the oysters. Wine and beer selection was good. We also had the short ribs appetizer. It was good, but there was barely a schmear of grits in the little pan. Nice outdoor seating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Thank you scott for having great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Enjoyed the food, the place is lovely, but very LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I so want this restaurant to work but it just doesn't. The side dishes and the starters are GREAT but the proteins/entrees are subpar. Over the past several years I've had the filet (medium) lacked flavor & was dry. Tonight I had the ribeye (medium) and it too was dry and tough. A member of my party had the pork chop (medium). It was so dry we could barely cut. The service is always impeccable but I've just given the food too many tries - won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was good, but way overpriced for the quality and style of restaraunt. Service was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A group of neighbors met up at the Copperwood for an early Sunday evening dinner. The food was solid...I ordered the spaghetti squash, a few ordered the steak tips on salad of kale, brussel sprouts, etc., someone ordered the scallops, and another the chicken. We shared sides of grilled asparagus (outstanding), gouda mashed potatoes, and mac and cheese. Good portions. The starters looked really interesting but I was trying not to eat too much so didn't partake. Scott, our server, was very helpful/attentive.

My only gripe is that the price of the primary entrees are in the mid/high 20's to low 30's and I would have expected them to come with a vegetable or something comparable. I hate having to order sides to round out a meal.

In any event, this was a nice evening out. I like the décor/vibe at Copperwood.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

A good meal -- appetizer and main course -- served and consumed in an hour's time before attending a performance at Signature Theatre.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.