About Copperwood Tavern

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (11)
Cozy (10)
Great Beer (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
Organic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Romantic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I loved my food so did everyone at the table. They will not modify the menu what so ever. I Rekay really wanted chicken an fresh toast I wanted to sub that for the waffle. The Cheif refused so I ordered it seperately which was almost twice the price. Server was great. They should change the sauce for the fried green tomatoes asap for someone from the south things like that has to be perfect. Overall I will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the short rib Benedict - excellent entre. The steak omelet description did not say that the steak would be spicy nor did the server let us know. We loved the fried green tomatoes too. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This place is very disappointing. I ordered a $33 entre (Duck) which was served without any accompaniment, no bread, no other starch, no vegetable however small. That is a disgrace. The duck itself was not tender. They did offer to get me something else, but I declined. I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We thought the food was great,starting with the very clever popcorn,flavored with a spicy barbecue style rub. Great surprise and I'm not usually a big fan of flavored popcorn. Had the pulled pork and again was very pleased. One of the best pulled pork sandwiches in some time. My husband had a breakfast steak and eggs. Yummy.
Service was fun,fast and just the right amount of chatty

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Nice dinner. Definitely try the short ribs and creamy grits appetizer. It could be an entree.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was a good spot for lunch with friends. Everyone was pleased with their food selections.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Visiting the area and picked restaurant according to OpenTable comments and rating. Food was nice, everyday American fare. Service was excellent, especially the server for our table. Management was very helpful too. Overall an extremely pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I have visited copperwood 6 times before this visit. Food was excellent as usual. During the service the waiter dropped drinks all over me and another guest at table. I understand mistakes happen, what got under my skin was they thought $10 gift card they gave us. We appreciated the drinks being taken off the bill.

Ketul Shah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Loved the parsley frites and fried green tomatoes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We went for an early dinner experience on a Sunday afternoon at 4pm, so the noise level--which was great--may not reflect a true dinner time. Nice ambience and the server great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always have a good meal at Copperwood but was especially pleased to see salmon on the menu as well as dry rose!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Small portions, high prices, low quality. Do not waste your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I had a gift card to this restaurant. I was a little nervous when I sat down and looked at the menu ( deviled duck eggs and venison meatballs??) BUT, I was pleasantly surprised at the wonderful meal we had. My mother said the filet mignon was most tender she had ever eaten, and my pork chop was to die for! It was a little chilly inside, but that was the only complaint. I loved the Shirlington location and was happy to see patrons dining with their pets outside. I will gladly come back to this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I always enjoy Copperwood Tavern - and this time it was no different. I bring my dog with me and I was delighted that we can actually bring him inside the fence. The food is great and the wine is great. The staff is also friendly and helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Copperwood tavern never dissappoints! I most recently took my parents there when they were visiting from out of town, and they were immediately sold by the atmosphere and music. The food and service was amazing as always, and my mother said it was the best filet she's ever had! They went on for days about how impressed they were with the entire experience (and my parents can often be hard to please). Two thumbs up!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good food, great ambiance. I think the Bartender was having a bad day... service was okay, so we gave him a good tip. Serving can be a tough job, and I always give them the benefit of the doubt...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We did not eat there. They would not accommodate a handicapped person who could not sit in bar stools and wanted to order off the bar menu. It was not at all busy.

We ate at a great Hawaiian Restaurant across the street.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was average; the rabbit dish and the vegetarian dish were good, the ribeye
was very average. The hostess was friendly, but the waiter was below par.

Tags: Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Casual, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great restaurant. Loved interior. We were there meeting some old friends for brunch. We all enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Waiter very nice and didn't bother us much as we were catching up with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I really like this place! So much so, that I've been here several times. There are few restaurants here in the DMV I frequent and this is one of the few because of the quality food and the good service. Whether the venison meatballs, the ribeye, or the Brussels sprouts, Copperwood never disappoints.

Likewise, the service is consistently good. The staff are both highly knowledgeable and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

One of my favorites. Always go here for lunch when i'm in the area. Everyone loves the food and service is exceptional.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My wife and I found ourselves in Shirlington later than we'd anticipated, and used Open Table to find a place to enjoy dinner. Were intrigued by Copperwood Tavern's take on "farm to table," and gave it a try. We enjoyed the taste of our meal (grilled pork chop, brussel sprouts, and mashed potatoes) even though their medium rare was definitely well done. Portions are HUGE, but everything else didn't really justify their price point. We opted to eat outside since country music was blaring too loud for conversation indoors. The service was okay, but not what you'd expect in the DC Metro area. Fortunately there's several other places in Shirlington to try next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Casual atmosphere with friendly service; a large variety of menu items for entrees and sharable sides; local food are highlighted; limited dessert menu with no cappuccino only drip-service coffee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The $1 oysters are worth it. The entrees are over priced considering you need to also order a side dish with them. Not worth the cost for what it is.

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and I eat at Copperwood Tavern about once a week. The food is consistently excellent. The BALT sandwich is amazing! The beer selection is great and the ambiance is warm and inviting. I love this place! Best restaurant in Shirlington.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The portion sizes for brunch are way too small for the over-priced cost.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday brunch on 7/30! The food was delicious and our waitress Mariya was warm, friendly and the absolute best. Food was definitely farm to table fresh. For my party the omelet, pancakes and benedict were all great. My mom also enjoyed the breakfast plate with meat eggs and toast. We will definitely return for more in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Just had appetizers and a salad ...all very good and nice size portions. Entrees seemed a bit expensive to me

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I had eyed this restaurant for a while for lunch however; I went for brunch and I should have waited. The brunch is not that great. The food is cute to look at but the execution is not that good. The french toast sticks did not taste like french toast at all. They tasted like toast and the plating was different so it was more a look than flavor. I may return but I will go for lunch or dinner..I will avoid the brunch....disappointing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We loved everything about our dinner! We made it in time for $1 oysters and drinks and the gluten free options were fantastic! Our food was fabulous and we can't wait to return again soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The spaghetti squash entree with the addition of goat cheese recommended by our server was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Met friends to catch up, and it was pleasant enough to sit outdoors. Our waiter was attentive and patient at explaining menu items, plus facilitated moving us to another less sunny table once it was vacated since it was quite hot in the direct sun. I was happy to see that the restaurant offers Virginia wines and beers, plus they list the farm sources for their menu items. Some I question, such as rockfish from Pennsylvania - really?? The prices are a bit steep, especially as sides are a la carte, but probably no worse than many Arlington restaurants. My one complaint was that our entrees arrived before we were done with our starters, one of my pet peeves. When I mentioned to the waiter that this should not happen (and it was challenging, as our table was small) his response was that he had to estimate when we would be done. Hmm, real service manages this, and we had already said we were not in a rush. Otherwise, service was good and food was tasty, but I didn't find anything really outstanding or unique about this place. Would tell friends that it is acceptable depending on what they are looking for. I think perhaps they are a better draw for folks who enjoy craft beer, but we are not beer drinkers - just wine lovers. I would go back for a drink at the outdoor patio, but probably not for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was very good, but the service was fair to poor. The appetizer came right away, which was fine, but the entrees came a few minutes later (and the mussels were already cold indicating they were being held in the kitchen) The restaurant was not even at half capacity, so this was clearly a case of the waiter either not knowing when to put in the order, or trying to turn over the table as quickly as possible. I would return (the mussels, though cold, were very tasty), but I would instruct the waitstaff very carefully how they should do their job because management has clearly not done so.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Waaaay too loud. Couldn't hear the person next too you. Won't be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food. Great restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Casual, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and great service❤️Waitress was so nice 👍

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Sat outside which was pleasant and service was good. Had salmon and rockfish entres. Very good but a little expensive. Salmon was under seasoned. The strawberry cake was excellent. We shared a salad and the cake; staff was very accommodating to our requests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The menu was limited and quite expensive, as you had to add side dishes to complete the meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food was OK. Braised rabbit flavor was so muddled it tasted like chicken. Rockfish was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Disappointed that I arrived at 4pm to order a sandwich. Waitress said strick rules require that I sit at the bar as the dining room only serves dinner menu. What!!??! Next time I'll arrive at 3:55 to get the sandwich menu in the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.