About Copperwood Tavern

At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.

Executive Chef:
James Duke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (50)
Local Ingredients (42)
Comfort Food (38)
See All
Casual (38)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Fun (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Authentic (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Cozy (16)
People Watching (16)
Great Beer (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Business Meals (10)
Organic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Romantic (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Family Style (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good, but WAY OVERPRICED. PORTIONS WAY TOO SMALL. You didnt even get a side item with a $38 entree!?! Really?

Wont go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My dad and I enjoyed having dinner here on Sunday night. The waiter was friendly and helpful and the food was delicious! I had the Spaghetti Squash dinner with chicken added and I loved it!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 21, 2017

in previous trips, we thought the restaurant was quite noisy inside. But outdoor seating is terrific -- much quieter and fun street traffic views.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Bland, overpriced food served by indifferent wait staff in a loud, barn like space. What else can I say.....?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome, creative, fresh menu with a terrific staff!
A must visit

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was beyond excellent.
Took my mom for Mother's day lunch and everything was fantastic.
I had the lamb sliders and they were perfect with the little garden salad served with it full of good things, butternut squash, poached pears, pomeganite seeds to name a few. Our server was excellent polite and never bothered us during the meal, just came by once to see how everything was and they were handing out roses to all the ladies in the place.
The one thing I would change would be the music and the volume of it, a little too loud, but all in all it was a wonderful meal and I would highly recomend it. I would avise everyone to make reservations as it fills up in there quickly.

Please bring a Copperwood Tavern to te Ballston Neighborhood!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good I reserved an early time for Mother's Day! Found a closed parking place, we were well attended! Our brunch was very tasty!j

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and food! Highly recommend for brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really enjoyed a girls night out here with friends. We loved the craft cocktails, especially the ones featuring moonshine! Lots of great choices and loved the farm to table concept and the use of lots of local ingredients. Thought the decor was lovely and really enhanced the dining experience. It was a first visit for all four of us and we will all be making a return visit. Our server was attentive but with a group of women friends he also knew we would be chatting and made sure that we had what we needed without being intrusive. He also took the time to explain the menu items and make recommendations. I think the next time I go back I would opt to eat in the bar area to try some other cocktails and their bar menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was good, but not great. Rockfish was paired with a red sauce that was far too salty for the purpose. Service was fine, but really impersonal. This is a result of the restaurant being too busy for the number of staff on duty that evening. Atmosphere (Friday evening) wasn't great either. The restaurant is loud--really loud, and with the number of people they are trying to cycle through tables every 60 minutes, diners are eating and drinking under the persistent gaze of the host staff. Atmosphere was more college pizza and beer place than $25 a plate restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Stopped on our way to Richmond late in the evening. The food and service hit the spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We loved our date night out at Copperwood Tavern. The food and drinks were awesome, as well as our waiter. We highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I am willing to and routinely pay for good quality, well prepared food. But I feel that the prices here are too high for what it is. Also, I think the menu is disjointed, in that it's supposed to be small plates, but then there are full size, pricy main proteins with no sides. It seems like an excuse to charge for a la carte sides that are too big or an inability to come up with a well-composed full entrée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a wonderful long brunch with a friend. Never felt pressured or rushed, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had not been to Copper wood in a few months but as always the service and food was excellent. Tried the bananas foster french toast it was fantastic I recommend it to everyone

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had another wonderful meal at the Copperwood Tavern. There were 4 of us and we all ordered different meals, different cocktails and everything including the service was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delightful, as always. In good weather, the outdoor corridor is the right choice. Agreeable, varied menu, nice by-the-glass wine selection and choices among steaks. I would only ask that they add decent bread, not just corn muffins, as complements.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Good fried green tomatoes. Not keen on the crabcake topped with fried onions. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

First visit. The food was great. Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive. Martini was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great jewel for brunch in Shirlington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is outstanding. Great salads. Free range meats. Tasty vegetarian mains and sides. We went on a Saturday night a few months ago and had a great experience. We went again last Saturday for our anniversary and were disappointed. The service was inattentive. We received our main course before we finished our appetizers. Our drinks were not refilled except upon request. Part of the problem was that we were seated out of sight and to close to another large party's table. That party was yelling at each other and our waiter was giving that table all of the attention. They had to yell to be heard because the noise level was very high. We will try another restaurant next time, but keep this one in mind for good food on a slow weeknight.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Farm-to-table trendy prices $$$ but food not that impressive. Spaghetti squash way over seasoned and presented in chunks. And $100 for an ounce of Pappy 15yr is insane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good beer selection and reliable foods.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Copperwood never disappoints whether it is for lunch, drinks, or dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The meal was scrum-diddily-umptious!!!! And the staff was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good drinks, recommended the bourbon thief.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had birthday brunch for family member
Food was great liked the fact Sunday brunch runs until 4

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Unique & exciting menu. Good service & friendly staff

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went for brunch, food was great service was not. This was not our first visit so I was surprised. We have been very pleased on our last visits.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Took 40 minutes to get our food and we had to alert our server to register that fact. The manager appeared immediately to apologize. Food was terrific. This one lapse wouldn't cause us to stay away. But note to servers: don't make customers flag you down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I had been to CopperWood once before after I had finished doing my show at the Signature Theatre. I had friends visiting so I brought them here after the show. Outstanding then so I knew when my sister was coming up from SC with her BF, I would bring them here, also. The online reservation tool was fantastic and I was accommodated as per my seating request.
Again, the food and service was terrific and my sister's BF was quite impressed with the Whiskey/Bourbon list! A+
It was the perfect place for our dinner and catch up after not seeing each other for far too long.
If you want a dining experience to go with your occasion...CopperWood is the place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service overall. Glad we decided to go to your fabulous resto.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food and beer! The hamburger was delicious as well as the fried oysters!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a very nice meal at Copperwood Tavern and would go back again. Great brussel sprouts and great pork chop!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family goes to Copperwood once or twice a month during nice weather (to eat outside). We love that we can get gormet a former burger and fries outside with our dog. We don't care for the indoor dining because it has a very 'stuck up & snooty'feeling to it. You can't eat burgers inside unless your at the bar, and kids are not made welcome. This seems strange for a place that has a rustic style with a dog theme throughout. Even still, they have the best burgers and fries around. We would probably eat here more if they changed their burger policy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Farm to table awesomeness. The mac and cheese is bomb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and tried, but the entire place is awful so he oouldn't change that. It's dark and cavernous-be prepared to use your phone light to see the menu. We hadn't had our appetizers 10 minutes when our entrees arrived. They offered to put under the heat lamp - UGH is there anything worse! So our salads and soups went to waste - who wants to eat cold soup. The 2 steaks were rare inside - not as ordered, and the rockfish was heavily salted and inedible. When the manager walked by and asked how things were I told her about the too fast service she said she'd tell the kitchen (which didn't solve our problem) then asked 'but how's the food taste?" (we hadn't eaten anything yet} not caring about the rush job or our disappointment. She clearly wanted to hear all's well and move on. She never offered to take the appetizers off the bill or a free drink or something - anything! to help us. The waiter tried hard though and offered a free dessert, but by then we were done with this place and went elsewhere for after dinner drinks. There are so many restaurants in Shirlington and the DC area to choose this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great choice in shirlington. This restaurant has gotten better and better. Highly recommend for casual good dining on a weekend evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Normally I am a big fan, but (not sure if it was because we did not order drinks) service was poor. Kept asking for water - saw our server being much more attentive to other tables. While I normally love the Brussels sprouts - they were not as well cooked as normal. This experience will definitely make we think twice about going - as all my previous times had been very positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.