HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 32 times today

Copperwood Tavern

4.5
1170 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (31)
  • Local Ingredients (30)
  • Neighborhood Gem (27)
At Copperwood Tavern, we aim to give our customers an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. We chose to be a Farm-to-Table restaurant because it represents the freshest product available.

We take pride in offering the freshest quality dishes by serving locally sourced meats, seafood, and produce. We are supporting the local farmers and economy and it's our passion to teach people how much better fresh and natural food can be.

Copperwood Tavern offers 20 draft beers, 30 small-batch whiskeys, and a superb wine selection. Our 30-foot craft bar is also stocked with southern Virginia's white whiskey. Yes, we mean moonshine!

Since a woodsy retreat wouldn't be complete without a loyal hunting companion, we encourage you to bring Fido along. Copperwood Tavern features a dog-friendly patio with custom copper dog bowls.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 552-8010
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Duke
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are a 5 minute walk from the Shirlington bus stop.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1170 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Anthony (New York Area)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

Always an excellent meal, can't wait until we go back again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Great service from the start. We were early for our reservation, and seated immediately. Food was excellent Rib-eye cooked to order was delicious. Sides to share is an understatement, the servings were very generous.

Report
Helpful
HowardF 
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good. The drinks were tasty. I would go back there. Excellent atmosphere for an evening out with friends.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Great food and drink. Reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
AlexanderW 
4.0  Dined 7 days ago

Although Copperwood doesn't even mention its great beer selection on its rating form, that was (and is) a major draw for me. And because it has so many unfamiliar local beers on draft, it is helpful that they give samples. Food is good to very good, portions are generous, staff friendly and attentive. Noise level did not prevent conversation, even on a busy Friday evening. Dining with old friends I had not seen for awhile, and we talked a long time. At no point did staff pressure us to leave - much appreciated! Bonus: they put aside the cap I forgot - just picked it up!!

Report
Helpful
StacyT (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We chose Copperwood Tavern for our Valentine's dinner and it was excellent. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, the food and drinks were great and we will definitely go back again. As we headed out, they gave us roses, which was a nice touch.

Report
Helpful
lwithaz (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

We had a couple of appetizers to start our meal; the deviled eggs and the grilled oysters. Both were a delicious way to begin. For our entree I had the scallops, and my husband had the pork chop. If you are looking for value in your meal, go for the chop, my husband's was huge, he could barely eat it all. On the other hand, 4 scallops for $28 seemed okay until my husband pointed out that it was $7.00 a scallop. They were very tasty, and they did fill me up, but it does seem a little pricey for four! We were headed to the theater, and the service was perfectly timed for us to get there for the opening curtain. All in all a good restaurant that I would return to again.

Report
Helpful
snowfaerie11 (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

This is a solid local staple with classic foods and a few more adventurous items. They are consistently crowded, so expect it to be loud and to have to wait for a while, even if you have a reservation.

Report
Helpful
CathleenK (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Cocktails were unique and delicious. We shared the Tomahawk steak for dinner and it was AMAZING!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Great food and service. Awesome beer selection. He atmosphere is perfect for an evening out.

Report
Helpful
2diners (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

The mussels and the brussel sprouts were delicious. The butter chicken was a bit bland.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

I made a reservation for a slower time of day (2:30) so when I mentioned it upon arrival the host didn't check. It's just it was my birthday. We were seated at a table in the windows, where the sun had softened the varnish on the table and our sleeves were sticking to it. Maybe if they can't replace them, then they should put tables with a better finish at those more popular window tables, and the sticky ones could be at a less desirable spot. Like in storage. So we moved. The server was ok. The fried green tomatoes were good, the deviled duck eggs didn't seem fresh (like the whites had been refrigerated for a while) and the bacon slices they were served on were so tough they were more like jerky. The steak salad was actually delicious! The music was kinda loud for that time of day, my father in law had to ask to turn it down. All in all, not a horrible visit but I won't return or recommend. I was looking forward to something much better. I wish I had chosen a different spot for my bday lunch.

Report
Helpful
vipFrequentDiner (London)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Good solid food, interesting menu, attentive service

Report
Helpful
Xanadu6 (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

Great food, especially the gluten free menu! Great drinks too. The tables are a little tight but it's a small restaurant. My favorite appetizer is the Fried Green Tomatoes! We've been several times and haven't had a bad meal. It's fantastic and I would highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

My salmon was grilled perfectly. Justin our server provided excellent service, attentive but not overbearing. I will certainly be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
78