About Copperwood Tavern

4021 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
View Larger Map

A cabin-style watering hole with amazing food and drink, Copperwood Tavern is your oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city. Specializing in seasonal American small plates, we feature prime cuts of local game, farm-raised poultry, beef and fresh fish accompanied with hearty, family-style sides.

We believe in farm-to-table because is supports the local economy, reduces negative environmental impacts, and provides nutrient rich foods for our customers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
M-F 11am-1am
Sat-Sun 9am-1am, Brunch until 4pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 552-8010

Website:
http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Justus Frank

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host special events regularly.
To stay up to date on events, specials, and all things farm-to-table, sign up for our newsletter at http://www.copperwoodtavern.com/ , and follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Copperwood Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (97)
great for brunch (94)
neighborhood gem (94)
See All
good for groups (71)
great for lunch (55)
great for outdoor dining (49)
special occasion (40)
hot spot (39)
vibrant bar scene (37)
kid-friendly (25)
romantic (19)
late-night find (13)
notable wine list (9)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
675 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Staff is very informed of what's on the ...

Dined 7 days ago

Staff is very informed of what's on the menu and are always good for suggestions! We even had dessert tonight! Amazing :-)

food5
ambience4
service5

Knowledgeable staff and good food. Just ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Knowledgeable staff and good food. Just a bit expensive for the whole experience . We will go back though:)

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit to the Copperwood was fo ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our first visit to the Copperwood was for Sunday brunch. After a weekend of many rich meals I was thrilled with the food at the Copperwood. The service was perfect. The prices are more than reasonable. Some of the meals at our table included the traditional breakfast, shrimp and grits, bbq sandwich and the BALT. Everyone had positive things to say. We had a reservation and were promptly escorted to our table even though we were almost 15 minutes late (apologies to the restaurant). We had the house bloody marys. Very good - they had a smokey chipolte taste. I can't wait to return and try some of the other menu choices.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food.....wonderful drinks. Our ser ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food.....wonderful drinks. Our server was very attentive and friendly. We had the fried brussel sprouts and devil eggs for appetizers and shared an entree: steak and then a dessert and it was amazing. We'll definitely come back.

food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Inconsistent and poorly seasoned food

Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambiance and service was good, but the food was nearly inedible at brunch. The meal seemed to be an overly eager attempt at bold flavors that ruined the dishes. The scotch egg has nearly no sausage and was dripping in vinegar. The duck hash was so salty that it sent shivers down your body. The French toast was like a soup of sugar syrup. We ate what we could stomach and found a different place to eat to recover from the salt overdose.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Copperwood Tavern is an excellent establ ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Copperwood Tavern is an excellent establishment -- you can go in there and spend $100 for dinner, or $20 a dinner depending on what you're in the mood to eat/drink. Regardless, you are treated the same way -- it's a phenomenal place to just sit back and have some awesome food. If I lived in Shirlington Village, I'd probably have an empty kitchen and just eat there all the time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Copperwood did not disappoint!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had a delightful time at Copperwood. Great service, lively fun crowd. Friday night, it wasn't too busy. Had trout and fried brussel sprouts. My husband had fried chicken appetizer with watermelon and a salad. Very satisfying!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Phenomenal pork chop as always!! Delici ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Phenomenal pork chop as always!! Delicious Brussels sprouts and Gouda Mashed Potatoes.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Generally not a well thought out manner of serving. Seemed slack. Carnation was worn out looking as was the desert which were to be special additions in honor of Mother's Day. Quiche was "melted" looking, not a good slice. Bloody Mary was not tasty and the celery didn't appear to have been adequately prepped. "Slapped together" overall impression. Will probably return to the Carlyle in this area as it is consistently good in so many ways... Too bad.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

Went there for Mother's Day brunch and t ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day brunch and they accommodated our party size and even gave us roses and free truffles for our moms!

food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was a perfect pick for Mo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant was a perfect pick for Mother's Day brunch. We have never been here before, but already know we'll repeat customers. The food was delicious and the portion sizes generous.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Loved the filet mignon and smoked gouda mashed potatos. Popcorn great with drinks, before & after dinner. Pricey, but great for a change of pace. Nice to have venison, duck, etc. as choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our server, Maria, was excellent. She was attentive and checked in frequently. She didn't miss a beat. The food was excellent as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service2

Food and service were absolutely subpar. ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and service were absolutely subpar. Multiple errors with the orders ,chicken tasted like cardboard two different beers were totally the wrong type from what was ordered. They adjusted the bill accordingly and I felt bad for the waiter because he was shortstaffed but this place needs an upgrade. Do not recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing amazing amazing crab cakes! Oh m ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Amazing amazing amazing crab cakes! Oh my god, we will be back. Wow, don't even get me started on the mashed potatoes. The little salads that came with the crab cakes were so creative and tasty. I look forward to our next return to try their deserts.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great spot but a little pricey

Dined on April 30, 2016

Cooperwood is a great restaurant in a great neighborhood. The food is delicious but I feel it's a little too pricey. An appetizer, two entrees, two shared sides, and a few drinks will run you about $150

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and ambience were fantastic. Th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and ambience were fantastic. The server was a bit too chatty, though, to the point of detracting from why I was there. I wanted to spend time with my group, not interacting with the very sociable server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed a lovely dinner with friends a ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

I enjoyed a lovely dinner with friends and also enjoyed a great waitress whose name escapes me but she is from India. The meal was casually timed in accordance with our conversation and all details checked and attended to. Wonderful , per usual!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Down home feel at upscale prices

Dined on April 24, 2016

The place looks like a modified Cracker Barrel but the prices suggest fine dining. Had a burger which was fine but the noise level made conservation difficult. Music was oldies not country which would better fit the theme of the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch after morning workout

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Brunch after morning workout

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food but confirm your reservation in advance

Dined on April 23, 2016

Both times we ate here we have had issues with our table not being ready on time but the food has always been amazing. We were not in a hurry and they gave us complimentary drinks or appetizers each time to make up for the delay.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Two words: Brussel Sprouts

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Service and food at Copperwood is outstanding. Servers have an excellent understanding of the menu and wine list. I had the duck breast and my husband had the ribeye. Both were excellent. Even more amazing were the brussel sprouts. They are a must try if you visit Copperwood!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getting better all the time!

Dined on April 20, 2016

I have gone to this restaurant four times now, and it just keeps getting better. I have gone with a few people, and with a large group for my birthday. Every time, the service, and the food have been excellent. I will continue to go, as both seem to improve the longer they are in business.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

It was just OK. Nothing super special/

Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was OK. Service a bit slow. Outside seating was great!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food never disappoints at Copperwood

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our table especially enjoyed the trout entree, truffle mac & cheese, brussel sprouts, and smores dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

Very enjoyable lunch. Quiet because ther ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Very enjoyable lunch. Quiet because there weren't many people there. Even so, they sat another pair of diners right next to us. Very puzzling. Also had to find someone to get our check. All that said, the food was good and the ambiance was nice. I would return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

my new go to brunch spot

Dined on April 10, 2016

everyone must know how delicious Copperwood is, because there is always a wait for Brunch. We learned that after our first time at the restaurant, so we know to make reservations. The complementary seasoned popcorn is soooo good and addicting! The brunch food is always delicious! Our servers have always been nice, but not memorable. I think if they took the time to have more of a conversation with the customers, besides just what they want to order, would definitely set them above the rest! We expect to hear about the specials and if we want a refill, but if you can make a fun interaction, that makes me a die hard fan!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Copperwood

Dined on April 4, 2016

The service and food are good. I don't like that they tell you that you can't order from the Bar menu if you are on the restaurant side (plus before leaving I did see them serve someone a hamburger in the restaurant). The food is fresh and recipes are not your average pub food, but it is pricey for this type of restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Find

Dined on April 3, 2016

A buddy and I wanted a place to grab brunch and found Copperwood on Yelp. Food was very good. Definitely want to come back and try some other things on the menu. Our server Maria was extremely helpful, attentive and responsive. As first time diners at Copperwood, she gave us detailed explanations of almost the entire menu. The manager took us to our seats and was very friendly. All in all, very solid restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall good.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Pricey. Average food. A little noisy. Server was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Service was fantastic. Food was good. I really enjoyed the eggplant parmesan and the field salad. The Short Rib appetizer and the mushroom side also were remarkably good. Otherwise, our group of four felt that the dinner menu was somewhat limited. It would be nice to have the options from the luncheon menu to choose from as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great variety of food with plenty of cho ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great variety of food with plenty of choices. The service was attentive without hovering.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was good. Well done for what it is. Not a "foodie-level" restaurant but everything we ordered was nicely done and nicely presented. I liked it and would return if in the area. I'm told the brunch is good. Very noisy.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place to have sat or sun brunch, y ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Great place to have sat or sun brunch, you almost forget you're in NOVA

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was good as usual but the servi ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was good as usual but the service was a bit lacking compared to the other times I had been there. The server was friendly at first but then his whole demeanor changed after I told him that I knew how the menu worked and that the sides were served family style. He barely came to check on us. He didn't even ask if we wanted to order dessert before bringing the check over.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal

Dined on March 16, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed everything from the appetizer to the dessert. Every item was cooked to perfection and the server was very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Brunch!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Recently went for brunch. I loved the look and feel of the place. The mason jar glasses were a nice touch. The Copperwood Bloody Mary was interesting and tasty. I had the duck hash which was fantastic. I highly recommend it. My friends had the steak and eggs and blueberry ricotta pancakes. Both were very yummy. The service was great. Our server was very quick and attentive. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice local spot to grab a bite or a beer ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Nice local spot to grab a bite or a beer and hang out to people watch.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very happy!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Stumbled on this gem when looking for a place near my hotel. Fun location and nice ambience. Our server was mature, attentive and knowledgeable. What an unbelievable list of bourbons! I loved my cocktail. We shared venison meatballs as an app. They were outstanding. We both had the pork chop as our entrees. It was enormous. It was tasty; though I was a bit disappointed that it was somewhat dry even though we ordered it done to the chef's recommendation. Nevertheless, I would be happy to eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch at Copperwood

Dined on March 6, 2016

Went to bunch at Copperwood on a Sunday. This was my first time at Copperwood and overall it was a nice experience. The food portions were generous and very tasty. We wanted to order the Scotched Egg as an appetizer but the chef had decided the batch didn't turn out to his liking so they offered us a free appetizer in its place. We choose the fried green tomatoes and they were delish. Between the 3 of us that dined we ordered the Bananas Foster French Toast, Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes, and Steak & Eggs. The Steak & Eggs was my favorite of the 3. I also had a Pear Bellini that was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.