About Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge

18525 36th Ave. South
Seattle, WA 98188
View Larger Map

Copperleaf Restaurant & Bar is a Northwest gathering spot serving seasonally-inspired farm-to-table cuisine. The entire team is committed to sustainable practices bringing the season's best to your table. Chef Mark Bodinet hand selects products from small local farms, fishermen, ranchers and artisans as well as products from his on-site chef's garden for many of his evening offerings. Arrive early and experience a seasonal cocktail or glass of Washington State Syrah in Copperleaf Bar where the lounge menu is available daily. Come see why Copperleaf Restaurant is a truly "Quintessentially Northwest" experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 5:30 - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
188th South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 214-4282

Website:
http://www.cedarbrooklodge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Parking on site

Public Transit:
Seattle's Link light Rail station(Tukwila International Blvd.) within 3 miles.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodinet

Private Party Facilities:
Brightwood is a private dining room especially suited for parties of 10 - 18 people. Its private terrace and waterfall make Brightwood an ideal location for intimate social gatherings. Chef Mark Bodinet will happily prepare a customized menu made with "best of the season" products. You may choose from the seasonal a la carte menu, hand-crafted cocktail menu and our regional wine list. It features a wide variety of organic and bio-dynamic Northwest wines. The Copperleaf team looks forward to welcoming you soon.

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roettgers: 2062144190x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Copperleaf Restaurant has several ongoing special events. Have a feast for the senses with one of our Taste & Touch Series dinners, a collaboration between culinary and spa. Come journey with us on one of our Culinary Adventures where we explore the origins of our food, or take part in one of our Summer Dining Series dinners. There is always something exciting happening at Copperleaf Restaurant and Cedarbrook Lodge. Please visit our website for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge
Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge
Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge
Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge
Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge
Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge
Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge
Steak-Frites
Venison With Butternut Pureee and Caramelized Fall Vegetables In Baldamic Reduction
Rhubarb And Grilled Leak Salad
Lamb With Sweet Corn And Greens
Halibut With Turnip And Fennel
Pleasant View Farms Foie Gras
Baby Gem Lettuce Salad
Bread
Ceasar Salad With Prawns
Cinnamon Ice Cream With Figs And Honey Creme Fraiche
Gnocchi With Fava Beans
Washington Harvest Cocktail
Wild Wheat Bakery Rolls
Ribs On Biscuits With Corn Relish And Cilantro
fresh bread
Prawns
Ceasar Salad
Rabbit With Peas Carrots And Banana Fingerling Potatoes
Crab Bisque
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Agnolotti
Something Citrus With Hazelnut And  Candied Orange Peel...
Malted Ice Cream With Caramlized Bananas
Cinnamon Ice Cream With House Made Fig Newton And Figs
"Sapphire Blue" Dessert
Cherry Pistachio Sausage With Qusil Egg Toast
Banana Ice Cream

Copperleaf Restaurant at Cedarbrook Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South of Seattle
Best Food
South of Seattle
Best Service
South of Seattle
3 More
Best Ambiance
South of Seattle
Best Value
South of Seattle
Most Booked
South of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Seatac ›

fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (40)
romantic (24)
See All
scenic view (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (14)
great for outdoor dining (13)
great for lunch (10)
good for groups (6)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
713 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, phenomenal food, beau ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic service, phenomenal food, beautiful location. Will definitely be back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Yum. Seriously yum. The Dutch baby wit ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Yum. Seriously yum. The Dutch baby with cheese is ridiculous. The morel mushroom small plate was incredible. Everything was outstanding. Highly, highly recommended.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

From out of town.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Found this restaurant on the internet. We were staying near the airport and flying out the next morning. The Inn was easy to find and close to the airport. Our first impression of the restaurant space was that it looked like a lodge, with tables to close together. May have had a different impression if it were night time and the usual Seattle rain. Definitely not a romantic space. I had a salad and Walu (Hawaiian fish) my wife had a salad and brisket. The salad was fresh greens, large, and nice dressing. The fish was excellent. The vegetables served with the fish were very good. My wife's brisket was stringy (more than usual). The vegetables served with the brisket seemed like they were pre-cooked. Some of the vegetables appeared to have been soaked in vinegar that gave them a unacceptable flavor. Desert was ice cream and was ver good. We were seated between two other couples in large chairs with cushions so you could get close to the table and eat. Although we did not interact with the "neighbors" we came away knowing them well. Know the business dealings on the left, and that we doubt there will be a second date on the right. All in all we thought the food was very good, not great. The atmosphere less than romantic. The price and little high for the experience. We had a better meal for the price in Seattle and in Portland on this trip. I would not return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hidden Oasis

Dined on June 8, 2016

Staff always pleasant and easy going. Scenic & peaceful surroundings Menu thoughtfully prepared A must for monthly treats and summer evenings.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience.

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was very good and the choices were many. Something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Copperleaf Restaurant

Dined on June 1, 2016

The menu was rather limited. It was difficult to make a selection from the offerings. Actually we would opt for the small plates offerings on a future visit. The steak , although very good was pretty chincy at 3 ounces and overpriced even though it was a top grade beef. The BBQ beef was well prepared for what it was. It just didn't seem to belong on this restaurant's menu. Extra complimentary touches were appreciated. Atmosphere indoors was very nice. Surprised at the number of outside diners on a somewhat cool early evening. Server was very pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Piper was an excellent server, friendly ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Piper was an excellent server, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. She was also very professional with the crazy picky eater at the table next to us. Had the tasting menu with wine pairing, it was all excellent. The Montimore Estate pinot gris was a particularly lovely wine. The only drawback was the postioning of the tables so close together there was hardly any privacy.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very Creative Menu

Dined on May 24, 2016

Presentation of the meal is beautiful and service was friendly, although a bit slow. We did not mind because we set aside enough time. The food was good, not great, but with very creative ingredients and pairings. Dessert was wonderful. Fun treat at the beginning of the meal and then again at the end. It's a special touch but of course you pay for it. It's a pricey place but I'll probably go again in a year or so.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 7th meal at the Copperleaf, ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was my 7th meal at the Copperleaf, and I'm still excited about the seasonal food & wine pairings that I get to try on every visit. The gingerbread toffee crumble cake with fromage blanc ice-cream was fantastic as was the carrot soup. The dinner companions enjoyed their meal as well with a delectable halibut on the 3rd course.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a business meeting at Cedar Brook ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had a business meeting at Cedar Brook Lodge and my wife joined me for dinner after. We had the Chef's Tasting Menu with the wine pairings. What a delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best airport hotel restaurant ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best airport hotel restaurants. Very good regional food and wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

complicated menu.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Nearly every item has several ingredients. Minuscule dishes that seemed almost contrived. I wish I had discovered the fish and chips but that on a separate menu. Adjoining table had it and it looked really good.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food with higher price

Dined on May 9, 2016

Small restaurant, small menu, very good waitstaff, very good food - seasonal & regional, changes periodically. I had very tasty antelope. Two in party had tremendous rabbit, one had a good salad. Foie gras was said to be good by those who liked it. Wait staff is usually very knowledgeable and attentive, though tonight (Mother's night) they were just Very Good, instead of the usual Outstanding. Prices are high, but no higher than other luxury type restaurants - $250 for 4 without liquor or wine. One of the best, regularly, in south King Co. with all the advantages - easy to get to, free parking, forested view; that you can't get downtown. 4th visit - we keep coming back for special occasions with different guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Eat here if Staying here . . .

Dined on April 22, 2016

Menu was a bit too eclectic/limited for a conference center. Took an very long time to get our food ., . and then our check . . With multiple large conferences on the premises at the same time, it seems logical that the service and menu would reflect that audience. It didn't.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a hidden prize.

Dined on April 20, 2016

This is a surprising find near the airport. We used it to say goodbye before my friend left on a red eye. The purpose was to have her well-fed with an excellent bottle of wine and relax her onto the flight. This absolutely worked. The room is lovely, the wine list is thoughtful, the food lovingly procured and crafted. A wine paired special menu is available -- it looked like excellent value with a dramatically lovely menu. A shout out to Lauren for perfectly charming service. This is run by the entity that owns Sehmiahmoo. Classically and comfortably elegant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rare foodie destination in Seatac!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I've been here a few times, and every time I'm astounded we have such fine dining in SeaTac. I'd expect to go to Seattle for this kind of dining experience. The food is artistic, beautiful, and delicious. The service is excellent. The setting is lovely, a hidden delight mere blocks from the airport. I highly recommend Copperleaf!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant

Dined on April 6, 2016

This place is like dining in your own home. The sevice is great; food excellent. Best kept secret in Seattle!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best in South End & one of the best in Settle area

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

best formal restaurant in South End and one of the best in Seattle area. Recommend its sable fish with dungeness crab cannelloni, grilled scallops, elk. Donut hole and hot chocolate for dessert. Service and impeccable always. Compliments to management and service staff

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Easter buffet was not up to the same foo ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter buffet was not up to the same food quality as the Copperleaf Restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My go to place when treating the senses

Dined on March 26, 2016

An accidental find years ago led to a storied experience again and again. Wonderful food and always darling waitstaff. I'm

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I think they changed chefs--use to be great

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

I think they may have changed chefs. The food a year ago was excellent and worth going out of the way but after 2 dinners I must admit the food was just okay. Way too much salt in almost every dish I had for 2 evenings in a row. It is a great spot but the food missed the mark. Also, the portions are too large for a normal eater.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service with a bunch of extra cour ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Great service with a bunch of extra courses for free along the way. Azing presentation. Great ambiance.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent hotel with disappointing restaurant

Dined on March 14, 2016

While the Cedarbrook Lodge is like a breath of fresh air, the Copperleaf Restaurant is a disappointing puff of smoke. The ambiance is lovely and rustic and in line with the rest of the grounds, but the food is not special and overpriced. We have had 2 dinners there and both times have left unsatisfied. The service is fine and the wine list is satisfactory, but to put it simply, the food is not delicious. Perhaps it was our menu choices, and would consider trying it again; but at this point I would give the food a 1/10 which brings the overall restaurant rating (by me - not a critic) down.

food5
ambience5
service2

The scallops were perfectly prepared, an ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The scallops were perfectly prepared, and the simple green salad was simply wonderful!

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

As usual, the staff at lodge/restaurant ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

As usual, the staff at lodge/restaurant are marvelois. The warmth and ease of the staff is why I will always return with friends. They plan for every need of their client

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5

We went for a special girls night ~ all ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went for a special girls night ~ all three of us had tasting menus, two of us had the Feb menu and I had the normal tasting all with 3-4oz wine pairings. All of the dishes - except the amuse - were mediocre at best. Spending $550 for this meal - I would expect foods that were elevated in flavor - to take me on a great food experience --- all were bland - the main dish cold and incredibly small portioned. (One slice of chicken, barely able to be cut through with a knife) I've done several tasting menus - Canlis, Herb Farm, even a prior Copperleaf tasting, etc... And understand the expense, this however was nowhere near- not even close - worth the huge expense..... Left us all underwhelmed and disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we arrived the experienc ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

From the moment we arrived the experience was wonderful, Shawn our

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on February 19, 2016

I am always reluctant to recommend the Copperleaf as once visited you will be smitten, I fear that this fine establishment will revive the old "Yogism, "No one goes there any more it is too crowded". Howeve this hidden jewel is too good not to share. World Class for dinner and a tremendous value for lunch it remains my first choice for impressing my guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An early Valentine's Dinner

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

This is our second Valentine's celebration spending the night at the Cedarbrook Lodge and absolutely enjoying the chef select dinner with wine pairings at the Copperleaf. We were not disappointed and had a fantastic dinner! Definitely is one of our favorite "date night" restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Meal!

Dined on February 11, 2016

The setting of the Cedarbrook Lodge is beautiful. The dining area is spacious with a cozy fireplace on one end. The food was absolutely superior. Even the vegetables were comment worthy. The only negative was we were offered sparkling or still water upon arrival. We weren't told there was a charge for sparkling. When the bill came we were charged $7 for the sparkling water. I didn't dispute it, but won't order it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall great experience

Dined on February 10, 2016

The restaurant is in a nice lodge and has a scenic view and an open lounge type setting. Staff was extremely friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We ate here for the second time on February 6th before a flight. The food was quite good (squash salad, champagne poached Apple salad, chicken and sablefish) though it could have come out hotter (a pet peeve of mine). Also, the tables are very close together so forget any private conversation, which was a bit of a problem for us as we were exchanging 30th anniversary gifts. The waitress seemed programmed and completely ignored the obvious fact we were celebrating something. We do not seek or care about "free stuff" when we are celebrating something at a restaurant but a simple oral acknowledgement would have been appropriate. In spite of this, the food is very well prepared and we will likely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful time.

Dined on February 3, 2016

The food was prepared prefectly. The wine recommendation was spot on. The setting is very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we continue to enjoy Copperleaf

Dined on February 1, 2016

Expensive but exceptional. We enjoy it on when we are out of town. It's too far to be a local, regular restaurant...and a bit to pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant! Wonderful food and service!

Dined on January 31, 2016

We enjoyed our romantic wedding anniversary dinner here. From the appetizers, small plates, entrees, to the dessert, everything was so well prepared with much attention to detail! The ingredients used were noticeably fresh and prepared just right. Excellent wine selection too(especially for pairings). The waitstaff, very knowledgeable, friendly, warm, yet professional. Certainly worth the drive from Seattle! If you're at SeaTac airport and have a layover or just arrived home from a trip, it's a short ride to have a nice meal here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always good! That's why I Keep coming back!

Dined on January 29, 2016

This is the best restaurant in the south end for fine dining. It's so nice not to drive into Seattle for a good experience eating out. I use it for special occasions to take family and friends. I love the ambience, quietness of the restaurant & surroundings, food and drinks. We also chose it for our Thanksgiving dinner this past November.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to eat

Dined on January 8, 2016

The food was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful! Special little touches at the start of the meal and the end of the meal added to the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3

The vegetables were over cooked and the ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

The vegetables were over cooked and the food was lukewarm. There was nothing special about the flavors.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for special occasions

Dined on January 1, 2016

We've been going to the Copper leaf as special occasion destination since they opened a day have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A Good Note to end 2015!

Dined on December 31, 2015

Always a dining destination that delivers each season's offering into a truly wonderful culinary experience. What stood out? My first taste of Kuroge Washu beef - it was like enjoying a plate of beefy 'foie gras'. Service is always on their mind. Even though one of us had the tasting meal and I did not, the chef added a complimentary Parsnip creme to my dinner which was totally unexpected. Kudos to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.