About Copper Rock Steakhouse - Four Winds Casino Resort

11111 Wilson Road
New Buffalo, MI 49117
View Larger Map

PERFECTLY AGED STEAKS. AWARD-WINNING WINES.
Delight every sense with an unmatched experience featuring USDA Prime 42-day dry aged steaks, exquisite seafood, decadent desserts and more than 450 wines from our Wine Spectator Award- Winning, 7 years running, selection.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch 10:00am, - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm EST, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm EST

Cross Street:
Wilson Road and LaPorte Road, Exit 1

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 926-4500

Website:
http://www.fourwindscasino.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet. Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Craig Lewkowitz

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Rock Steakhouse offers a private dining room for up to 20 guests. For a smaller occasion the Chef’s Table, a separate private dining room in Copper Rock is also available for private parties and seats 10 people.

Private Party Contact:
Tim Adams: 2699265219x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wine

Restaurant Photos

Copper Rock Steakhouse - Four Winds Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
2 More
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Southwest Michigan
Best Restaurants in New Buffalo ›

special occasion (92)
romantic (59)
notable wine list (40)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

I was very disappointed in the food he ...

Dined 6 days ago

I was very disappointed in the food here a s I have heard many positIve comments. While the was very good this was the only thing was. The costs do not equate to the quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and lovely dining experience. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food and lovely dining experience. Good place to eat when celebrating a special day.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Customer Experience

Dined on May 23, 2016

High-end value with great service & good food. Make you feel welcome & comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great steakhouse! Service very attentive ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great steakhouse! Service very attentive without being intrusive. Bread basket is amazing! Lobster bisque the best I have ever had. The only negative is having to walk through the smoky casino to get to the restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Ate at Copper rock before Boston concert ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Ate at Copper rock before Boston concert. Limited menu and undercooked filet. Great service and nice atmosphere. Likely will try again when pre-show meal is not emphasized

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here just for a weekday get away wi ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Came here just for a weekday get away with my girlfriend and wanted to treat her with something special and needless to say this place did not disappoint. We both got the 3 course surf and turf, salads, and bananas foster. Honestly it was some of the best food I've eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steakhouse worth the money

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated my son's college graduation at Copper Rock and we couldn't be more happy with the service, food and atmosphere. We had reservations for 8pm on a Saturday night and were promptly seated as soon as our whole party was there. Everyone loved the very comfortable chairs and that we were seated at a round table. The few of us that ordered wine were pleased with our choices of a merlot and a moscato and the bread platters and spreads they brought out to start with were very tasty. We didn't bother to order appetizers since the breads were sufficient. Our party ordered a mix of filet mignons, delmonicos, crab cakes and serf and turf and we loved every bite. Desserts were very tasty too. Over all a terrific dinner celebration. We also enjoyed the fact that the smoke from the casino did not find its way into the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional, especially for ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was exceptional, especially for a group of 6 people. Kimmie, our server was wonderful, pleasant and explained some of the entree's in detail to us. Give her our thanks again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress Suzanne was excellent. Food was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Waitress Suzanne was excellent. Food was delicious. Good steaks, fabulous sides and great French pressed coffee....only downside, you have to walk through cigarette smoked filled casino to get there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I have eaten there many times and it has ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have eaten there many times and it has always been very good. This time not so much. The prime rib was average at best. Too bad cause I had guests who had never been. Service however was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience.

Dined on May 9, 2016

This was our anniversary and upon our arrival the hostess wished an anniversary greeting and presented a rose to my wife. Our server was friendly and attentive and suggested we try a tasting of a couple different wines when we could not decide on a wines to order. Her suggestions were excellent. We took advantage of their special menu and we each enjoyed appetizers, entree, and dessert. Our entrees were excellent. The meat was perfectly cooked and extremely tender. The assortment of breads and spreads was excellent as well. The desserts were picture worthy and outstanding. Overall, a 5 star place with excellent food and a friendly, efficient staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service/ food quality was excellent... Waitperson was very friendly and helpful Menu choices were quite varied and appealing.. The waitperson suggested sharing and divided both our entrees and plated them separately (many restaurants offer service charge for this.. we were not charged!).. The only negatives were as follows: we had to walk through smokey casino to get to restaurant and we were seated near the kitchen serving counter (noisy)... Next time we will be more forceful in requesting better seating!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

So-So

Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been here before but sadly this time has to wait 15 minutes to get a drink order. Server wasn't too enthusiastic and didn't really sound thrilled to help make choices. Big difference from our first visit, sadly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Knowledgeable Servers

Dined on April 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Copper Rock. We love a good steakhouse and coming from Chicago we have quite a few. Copper Rock can compete with any of those. The bone in NY Strip was incredible as were all of the seafood selections. The presentation of the Lobster Bisque and the Salt Brick Tenderloin alone are worth the trip from Chicago. I only wish Copper Rock was closer so that we could go more often or at least on random nights.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great nite out

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Very impressive menu, food was perfect, and service was superb.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

birthday dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

As always, we enjoyed our dining experience. However, I was a bit disappointed that the last time my husband and I were there they took our picture and printed it for us and it was actually one of the best pictures we have taken together in years, but the night we came last week for my daughter's 24th birthday we actually had both our daughters with us, which is rare. They did everything nicely but sitting next to the kitchen was a wee bit noisier then usual this time. We sat in the same exact seating as my husband and I had the month before and we were impressed with how quiet they were while we were eating. This time it wasn't that quiet and a bit distracting. They didn't take our photo together, which I was so hoping for since we rarely get our daughters together without a husband or a boyfriend in the mix. Most of the night was great but just disappointed they weren't doing the photo thing again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

DINNER @ THE COPPER ROCK

Dined on April 16, 2016

GREAT FOOD WONDERFUL SERVICE ONE OF THE TOP FIVE IN THE MIDWEST

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service and food. Celebrate ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Exceptional service and food. Celebrated an anniversary and it really made it an occasion having our dinner there.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I really like this place. T ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

My wife and I really like this place. They have a great bread basket with several types of bread and butters. The 3 course meal option is a really good value including soup or salad and a dessert. The service and the ambiance are great. We come here from the Chicagoland area at lest twice a year, and always look forward to eating here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite!

Dined on April 11, 2016

I love eating here. The food service everything is just perfect. I have eaten here many times and as long as they continue to be a step ahead of the rest I will be back. I believe you get what you pay for. The selections are many the sides are large and the desserts are delicious. If you aren't sure about a place there is a menu you can get an appetizer an entrée and a dessert for 45.00. I have never had anything that wasn't superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What to get for your 7th anniversary?...Copper!

Dined on April 11, 2016

I surprised the wife with an overnight stay at the Four Winds Resort & Casino for our 7th anniversary. However, the main reason for our trip there was to dine at the Copper Rock Steakhouse. Located towards the back of the casino it's tucked away from most of the noise and smoke from the floor so it makes the ambiance of the room a bit nicer. Our server Amanda was courteous and bright, and attended to our needs with a smile and friendliness . Needless to say she earned her tip well! Our choices for dinner were both from a 3 course feature from the menu. I enjoyed a French Onion soup for my starter: Soup had a nice sweetness to it, and the fat cheesy topping was delicious. For the main dish I chose the Filet Mignon with fries and broccoli: very tasty when coupled with the peppercorn dressing on the side. Dessert brought a creme brulee with fruit and a chocolate square for toppings. Creamy goodness. Overall, the crew at CR took care of us nicely and even gave us a complimentary picture as a gift and an assortment of bread / cheeses to take back to our room, a bonus we were not expecting. The only constructive criticism I have for the restaurant is the price / food ratio. I don't mind paying a higher price for a more delicious / better meal, but the quantity of the meal left me a little lacking in the satisfaction department. Overall though, we enjoyed our experience and will try to make a return trip there at some point. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary celebration

Dined on April 10, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not quite as good as previous visits

Dined on April 8, 2016

Copper Rock is beautiful ~ this visit was rather disappointing though. I had a filet and it was very chewy and not as flavorful as past visits. Other than that, the food was very good, although service was also not as good. It was a show night, and normally the courses come rather quickly, however, we had a very long wait for our main entrée after our soup and salad. Other diners received their food first, who came in after us and they had similar items. That was very disappointing as it left us very late to get to the show. Our waitress was just ok - pleasant, but nothing special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food. Seafood tower? Was yve ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent food. Seafood tower? Was yvery good.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good as always

Dined on April 2, 2016

Took a little while longer than normal but the server was good and the food excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent place for dinner on a special occasion

Dined on March 27, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday, sort of a romantic surprise for her. Laid out her dress and shoes, didn't tell her anything else. Food was excellent and plenty of it. Service was the some of the best we have ever received. It wasn't just or server, Emily, it was the whole staff. The hostess who sat us even though we were early for our reservations. The gentleman who brought us the bread basket and stuck around to explain the several different types included. Then the different types of spreads as well. The manager on duty came over at the end to ask if they had met our expectations, they most certainly did! It was a fantastic dinner, about $100 for two with drinks. Well worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great service and good food for a little spot inside the casino. I had the surf-n-turf which was well prepared. Plenty of things to do before or after dinner, especially if there is a show in the casino that evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Steak!!!

Dined on March 25, 2016

I ordered the 55 day aged New York Strip and it was a truly amazing experience. The tenderness and the flavor were unprecedented!!! I never have had a steak like that. Definitely a bucket list item!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT TIME GREAT FOOD

Dined on March 23, 2016

FOOD WAS WONDERFUL, DRINKS WERE YUMMY EVEN THOUGH $$- DESERT WAS DELIGHTFUL-BANANAS FOSTER-OUR WAITER WAS SO GOOD TO US- SHE DESERVES KUDOS TIMES 5- GREAT PLACE FOR US GIRLS TO CELEBRATE MY - PRIME RIB WAS WONDERFUL AND FRIENDS WHO HAD FILET RAVED-SORRY I DON'T REMEMBER OUR WAITRESS'S NAME

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vacation

Dined on March 18, 2016

Always great food, served tastefully, friendly staff, always feel special. Price is perfect with quality of food. Low lighting quiet , intimate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here before. Going back for special occasions

Dined on March 10, 2016

It was a special occasion. My wife's birthday and she retired the next day. Been here many times, but made reservations this time. As always everything was great especially our waitress. I'm so sorry I forgot her name, but she was the BEST. She was from Sweden,but lives in Three Oaks and we felt like we wanted her to sit with us she was so interesting. Made us feel so welcome. Also it was so relaxing and we weren't rushed to hurry and leave.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food, great service, great experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food at Copper Rock was good. Although I've had better steaks at other restaurants, I still think this is great experience and worth the try. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary there and was particularly fond of the appetizers, drinks and food for the most part. Our waitress was extremely nice and helpful. I rated the restaurant as "B++" because you definitely could smell the casino smoke from our table. If you go there, ask for a table in the back and the smoke may not be as bad. They took a picture, printed it and framed it as a present for our anniversary. Very nice! Would go again and recommend if in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A true steak house.

Dined on February 26, 2016

If you desire a sold steak this is a good spot. The appetizers are a little on the weak side but the bone in ribeye was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

1st time

Dined on February 26, 2016

Went to Copper Rock in the middle of the State of Emergency because of the snow. We were 1st time guests paying cash not comp. We were greeted with a smile. Attended to almost immediately by the busser who knew more about the bread and cheese dish than most know about themselves. He was a big jovial man who was very attentive to us and acknowledged the birthday we were celebrating several times. Our server was Irene and she was very nice also. Appetizers were good, steak was amazing, drinks were average. Happy with the Moscow mule, however, the chai chata was a bit lacking. (watery like it was sitting for a while). Ambiance was nice...nothing over the top. Did we say the steaks were amazing??? Overall the experience was a very pleasant one and we would return and recommend the Copper Rock to friends and family. It was a very nice birthday dinner.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gem in The middle of a casino!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was superb! From the staff to the food and service! My only recommendation is to be sure to make reservations. We saw a lot of people turned away because they didn't have them! This was our second time there and we certainly will return soon! Great wine selection also!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I would recommend this place for anyone.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The reason our rating of food wasn't "outstanding" is that we tried something new and although it was good, it wasn't our favorite. We always love the service and it is our favorite restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was unsurpassed and the lobs ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was unsurpassed and the lobster bisque soup is out of this world! The bread with different butters was a tasty and unique touch. The wine menu was fantastic and well priced for the quality and brands. Unfortunately, the only thing that I found disappointing was the steak and the restaurant is a steakhouse. The steak was cooked perfectly, but something was off because although the steak was medium-rare it still managed to be slightly tough and chewy. That being said, the rest of the experience was positive enough that if we were at Four Winds already, we would go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had dinner here several times an ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have had dinner here several times and it has been outstanding every time. My wife and I always get the steaks at copper rock and have never been disappointed. Cocktails are excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Too expensive.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Too expensive not willing to substitute items that cannot be consumed for people with allergies food was slightly cold

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

never ate my steak.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Asked for my steak to be done very well, even charred, no blood. Steak came back red. By the time our waitress came back our group of 6 was done eating, so I never ate my steak. I was less than impressed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.