About Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

9300 Taj Lane
Lanham, MD 20706
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 322-8600

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand crafted cocktails, and excellent service to all our guests. Our beautifully appointed patio seats up to 40 for a sit down dinner and up to 60 for a cocktails style event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Casual (52)
Great for Lunch (47)
See All
Good for Birthdays (45)
Special Occasion (42)
Comfort Food (38)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Live Music (31)
Cozy (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Happy Hour (25)
Great for Brunch (25)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fun (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (7)
Authentic (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Live Sports (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (0)
Sort By:
S
1157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My family and I done here all the time. The attentiveness is lacking the more we frequent the establishment. The patio was leaking and my family was getting wet until we moved around the table

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and food as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

everything was fine until it was time to leave. I decided to use the open table app to pay my bill since it popped up on my phone with the option and I received my confirmation only to have the store manager run after us into the parking lot like I was trying to skip out on the bill because it hadn't processed in their system yet. I will never use this payment method again. How embarrassing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Copper Canyon is a great place to eat. The atmosphere is nice. The service was quick and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Terra was great very attentive food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I love Copper Canyon and have been going there about once a month since they opened in Glendale. I usually order the same Rotisserie Chicken Salad because it is delicious with different textures and flavors. This time it came WITHOUT all the following: black beans, corn, jicama, Monterrey jack cheese and no tortilla strips. And, no BBQ sauce was drizzled across the top of the salad. It was just a tossed salad with chicken, tomatoes and avocado. The Chef must have been been awfully busy to forget that many ingredients. Totally unbelievable! My server, John, was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I had a great experience. We visited at lunch for my husband's 50th birthday. The food was delicious. I recommend the bread pudding! We had a great waitress too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was old, and not fresh. $28 for salmon that was not fresh. My daughter's hamburger was bad, she took one bite and spit it out. Her fries were old and chewy. The calamari had no taste and wasn't fresh at all. This was my first bad experience with them but to pay $94 for an extremely bad meal is hard to accept. I'm not sure I will take the chance and go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious food, great ambiance and excellent service received by Jonathan

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I've eaten at this restaurant once a month for the last two years (monthly friends dinner).
Reasonable prices. Wait staff and hosts are normally nice and welcoming. However, the bartender and chef/cooks are a bit lacking. The folks the bring your orders to your table (not your waiter/tress) are a little unfriendly. They just drop your food on the table and walk away; no enjoy your meal or thank you for your patronage. The drinks are watered down; so much so that the mixed drinks are no more potent than a virgin glass of juice. The food is not fresh. One can tell by the unusual taste and texture that the steaks are pre-cooked (which is not unusual in the restaurant industry) but the fact that you can taste that the steak has been sitting around for a while is a let down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Arrived late, but was seated promptly.
Service and food were both every good.
Was quite pleased with my experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The noise level was rather high. The place was not full and there were not too many people eating however the piped in music was too loud to have a conversation without raising your voice. The portions of some dishes were disappointing. The crab cake that I had was very small however, the roasted chicken was a meal and a half. The Ice Tea was watered down with little flavor. My Server was rushed the bill to me before I was finished. When I did finish the meal and ready to leave he was MIA. My daughter had to get up and ask where he was. Not a very good Birthday Lunch this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great time our waiter who's name I can't recall was great. He's 70 and had a great personality and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was great! Our server, Taylor gave amazing service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I went with a group of four for a business lunch and the food and service was very good. I had the French Dip and they cooked it medium rare as requested and it was very tender. Definitely recommend it. Everyone else in my group told me their food was good as well and they seemed pleased.

For a meeting it was a little noisy but that is my only complaint. The noise was manageable but louder than I'd prefer.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch - as usual. And this time the restaurant was full and I bumped into 2 friends I haven't seen in a while. This kind of thing is what we need restaurants for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The waiter Matthew was really great!!! I did veggie options and the Veggie Burgrer was better than I thought. My wife had the Crab Cake Sandwich and she liked it. Be forewarned the Crab Cake is more like a crab salad and not a traditional crab cake. Still good but different. Definitely bringing my wife back again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I have been to Copper Canyon before and was very disappointed because they changed the menu. Service this time was aweful . We ordered drinks and they weren't served until well after receiving our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This restaurant used to be great when it opened a couple years ago. It has gone downhill Sonce then. The servers tried hard but didn't listen to our requests - they had to be reminded over and over about simple things like drinks. It's a bit pricey compared to Bonefish (the gold standard for service and value in this category of restaurant). The restaurant and bathroom were very clean which is a plus. It was a touch noisy for our liking

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I wasn't sure I would find a 'great' restaurant for celebrating my anniversary after being diagnosed as Gluten-Intolerant. When I looked them up online, I saw they have a gluten-free menu which included a burger with a gf bun! Any gf eating person will tell you how hard that is to find as most restaurants stay away from any bread, but the bun was GREAT and so was the rest of the food! My husband had the roasted chicken (also gf) and that was fantastic too! We'll definitely be going back as soon as we can!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Far too noisy. We screamed across the table. The silver dollar waffles were tasty 😋 but there should be more on the platter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The service was horrible which is shame because the layout of the restaraunt is very nice. The food wasn't seasoned well and the options for brunch are very limited. Also, they don't serve alcohol until 12pm which is a first for anywhere I've been for brunch. If you get anything for brunch I would recommend the fresh toast. My wife had it and it was good. Whatever training program they provide for their servers needs to be reevaluated and upgraded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Not usual but this visit was horrible! I chose something different: Chi cken & Waffles and what a mistake!!! But let me back up: why is it difficult to get a glass of warm water w/lemon? For the entree: Asked for whip the cream on the side and both it and the berries didn't come and when they did I had to ask and thry came piece-mealed so you don't have the full dish. The church was fresh bit bland and needed help so I asked for the chipotle blue cheese and bbq sauces both of which also trailed to the table. My mother was outraged that 5 different ppl dropped out food off and couldn't get service nor all of our food at once. I sat her glass at the edge once it was empty to signal a need for refill only for her to be asked (it shouldn't have reached empty) and I never got a refill 😑

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Awesome place to dine. Was my first time at the restaurant. Very nice. Server was very nice and professional. Outstanding service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The bread pudding is so good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I was disappointed the "fish tacos" are not on the dinner review. My husband loves the crab cakes and those are only on the dinner menu. I would love to see us both get our favorite meal.
Food is delicious, it is loud but we did not mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Happy Hour Outstanding! After an arduous week.... an apple martini and calamari !!!!1
Sunday Brunch Fabulous!!!!
Lunch/Dinner Awesome! The menu is excellent!
I make every effort to take first timers there....UNWRITTEN RULE.....Bread Pudding must be ordered!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Seasonal, Fun, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated our mom's 76th birthday. The service was outstanding. Our server had the perfect balance of anticipating and meeting our needs without hovering. The food was excellent. We ordered shrimp and grits, full rack of ribs, and salmon. Each dish was wonderfully prepared, generously sized and well presented. The atmosphere was pleasing and elegant with rich dark woods and pleasant music playing at just the right volume for easy conversation. Our first visit, and definitely not our last.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Quick seating once we arrived. Said our name and we were seated within a minute. Great value for price paid. Best steak Ive had in a long time & I normally send it back for being under cooked. Server Malcolm was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Loaded potato barely had butter on it. Steak was real tough and dry. Not looking forward to going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great meal and great atmosphere. Food is always well prepared and delicious whenever we go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The service was amazing, and the atmosphere was too. Our food was good! However, we all agreed that our side dishes were to salty for our liking. For desert we had the bread pudding and peach ice cream. I highly recommend the that you try both of them. Delicious!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Everything was great as usual, including the service level. Love the Fish Tacos. Only thing I can say is that your french fries aren't the best. You may want to consider serving just regular style fries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We found Copper Canyon to be what one would expect. The service was fine and the food was OK. Fairly unremarkable, but perfectly acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had a very productive meeting with great food and very good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Very good brunch atmosphere with live music...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent customer service experience. Enjoyed delicious meal with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Rather disappointed. The food was ok. The broccoli was 'tough'. The wrapped silverware was coated in ketchup. We had to request new silverware and it did not seem to be a concern to the attendant. Cornbread was not served as advertised and we did not request it. The waitress appeared to be distracted. She may need more training. I had dined at the Copper Canyon in Silver Spring - it was great. We found this location to be lacking in many ways. Sorry I brought friends. Don't think I will be giving it another try.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and our server Jackson did an excellent job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.