About Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden

9300 Taj Lane
Lanham, MD 20706
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 322-8600

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand crafted cocktails, and excellent service to all our guests. Our beautifully appointed patio seats up to 40 for a sit down dinner and up to 60 for a cocktails style event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Casual (45)
Comfort Food (41)
See All
Great for Lunch (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Live Music (29)
Cozy (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Family Style (20)
Fun (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Seasonal (11)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Private Room (6)
Fireplace (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Copper Canyon Grill is an excellent spot for a great time. The food is consistently good and plentiful. The cocktails are a bit pricey for a restaurant, usually you pay $13 a shot for Hennessy in a club because you are not purchasing food. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a great meal, people watch and take in a good vibe1 The bread pudding though - you could feed a small army a great dish!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

For my recent visit my portion size was MUCH smaller than the last time...that was disappointing

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, great food, great hostess & overall an enjoyable evening

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I had an excellent time it was hands down the best experience of my life.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere. Will return soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Meal was very delicious. Thus wasn't second time here and I enjoyed every bite... the chef here knows what he is doing and he is doing it well. Check them out, I will be back soon!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The meatloaf is mediocre at best. Service is fair. The ambiance is very inviting, but not worth it overall. The chicken is good and so are the ribs. The food is overpriced. The water has an after taste, I would hope its filtered, but you never know. Overall I would not recommend this place. I would rather go to Wegmans and get a whole rotisserie chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love the restaurant, service is exceptional. good customer service. Enjoy the brunch on Sundays. Have friends coming from Washington for the brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I came here with my wife and two teenage sons for a belated Valentine's Day family dinner. The service unfortunately was awful. First, it took 30mins for anyone to come by and see us after we were seated. Then when the appetizers came, we still had no silverware nor napkins. The rotisserie chicken was way too salty. Everything else was okay, not memorable. When we raised the concerns with the staff, they were indifferent.

Overall, a lackluster dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food is good. The service was great. The atmosphere was great. I loved it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've been to Copper Canyon several times. Service was mediocre which isn't typical for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was my 1st visit but it won't be my last! We were seated at our reservation time; no waiting. We thoroughly enjoyed our food - it was delicious, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable made helpful recommendations.

I have food allergies and the staff was very careful to ensure that my allergy trigger was not in my food - they actually discussed other ingredients in my meal, just in case. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I'm already planning my next visit. The only drawback was the noise level - I don't know if it's the acoustics or if everyone was just LOUD!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Casual, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service was very good and the food was quite tasty. This was a business like to say farewell to a departing colleague. The noise level was great we can yourself start and I would certainly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Server was excellent. Food was ok but not worth the price. Mashed potatoes were cold had to have the server warm them back up. Again I dint mind paying for good food but this was a bit pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The staff at this restaurant were professional, courteous, familiar with the menu, easy going and team oriented which is important to any restaurant. Cameron was our waiter for my father's 84th birthday. He is a picky eater and we always worry when taking him out. He ordered the full rack of ribs. Mom order the filet and others ordered: fish special, rattlesnake pasta, ahi salad, veggie burger, chicken pot pie and to end the meal the bread pudding tooooo die for. Huge portion and quite tasty even several days later. We will be back. Thank you for making dad's day special. Peace and Blessings! natalie

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. We made reservations and was seated as soon as we arrived. The waiter was very nice and knowledgeable of the menu and made great suggestions.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I asked for a medium well steak they brought back a raw steak and they kept messing up my order is was just horrible I will not be going back there ever

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I took our two kids out for a Valentine's Day dinner. We were worried that the kids would ruin the ambiance, but fortunately it seemed like other families wanted to treat their kids too so we weren't alone. Luckily, Copper Canyon thought ahead and we were seated in what seemed like the kid friendly area. Even though it was pretty crowded we got called for our 6:45 pm reservations at about 6:50. We ordered our meals and the food was out pretty quickly. The food was good and I was able to surprise my husband with paying the bill by doing it through OpenTable. That was a real neat option. Had a great time and will definitely be back again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I loved the ambiance of the place. It set the perfect setting for our special occasion. Our waiter was exceptional and went well beyond his duties to make us feel welcome and extra special for our celebration. His warm smile and attitude spread through our hearts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I visited for Valentine's Day. We were very pleased with the restaurant overall and will visit and bring family over and over again. I am already planning my next visit and will definitely recommend it to friends. The food was fantastic, especially the Tuscan steak, sautéed spinach and carrots. The bread pudding was colossal and very delicious.

The waiter we had was also very eager to please us with good service. I had an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice experience. Good food and great service (Thanks Cameron). I enjoyed the evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Copper Canyon & OpenTable saved the day the reservation was last minute a decision. The food was excellent and the service is always top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Yummy! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food n service were wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The level of service needs to be stepped up. We had to remind our server a couple of times for minor things. Also the ladies room in particular needs to be checked with some kind of frequency maybe on the half hour.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The atmosphere, decor, food and service were all top notched.

My husband and I would definitely dine at Copper Canyon Grill again and again.

Very pleased!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Using the OpenTable app REALLY saved us from the long wait. The service as always was great! The food never disappoints! I must say the food, service and the live 3piece jazz band are the perfect elements for this establishment. The Silver Spring location does not compare to the Glenarden spot hands down!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great tasting food and big portions💯The bread pudding is wonderfully huge and delicious. Great customer service! Moderate pricing. The live entertainment is good but not in view from all seating. I wish it was more of a romantic setting or at least a section for it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Made a reservation for a booth. Did not get a booth. Had to settle for a table because the restaurant obviously does not know how to reserve a booth. The Host staff at this restaurant needs to be replaced with more responsible mature people. There were several tables and booths open that they could have given us but for some reason they said those were reserved or for bigger parties. Whats the point of making a reservation for a booth and when I get to the restaurant, I cant even get a booth. Overall, the food was good. Not sure if I will return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place to enjoy food, family, friends. Seating is abundant, Food is in good proportion, Service is great, Haven't had a bad experience yet, and I hope to have many more.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

As far as this chain goes, the food was consistent and good. We probably had a new server as she seem to struggle to take care of us and the other tables she was responsible for. Fortunately for her and the restaurant, more experienced servers and the Manager came to help.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This place has potential. I have been approximately 4 times. I have yet to say I love it. If it were up to me I would not come back. The menu could be improved. The prime rib was overcooked. The spinach lacked flavor and it is hard to mess up spinach. The dessert was the best thing but it was obviously store bought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was good but nothing to recommend for a reorder.

Having live music is always a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my first visit,made the reservation online. I went to celebrate my husband birthday along with my friend and her boyfriend's birthdays for the month of Jan. However my only complaint was where we were seated. There was by a baby shower with a lot of people and small kids at 8:00pm on a Sat. This romantic dinner for us couples at one table with the next table with kids crying spoiled the mood.Please consider a new seating arrangement ,it could of been better for us. Overall experience with the food and how friendly our waitress was good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The waitress was awesome!! I frequent the restaurant at least once a week and the service is always good, however yesterday was extraordinary! I didn't have to ask for anything, she read my mind and brought in advance. Please pass the compliment on to her for a job well done as I know the service industry can be very difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The waitress was friendly and exceptional at rattling off the daily specials and refilling drinks, but she was slow to bring condiments or to go containers and had to be reminded. Further, although no fault of her own, the appetizer plates were dirty and the pineapple upside cake was not what one would have expected.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The salmon was delicious! Zeporah our waitress said it was her fave so I ordered it. I was not disappointed, it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My crab cake was filled with lump crab meat. My bread pudding was so large it flowed over its bowl. It is enough for 4 servings. I would recommend the spinach and artichoke dip. Delicious! Finally, know that the dessert portions were meant to be shared. Go, try it out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They don't know how to fry calamari. Wine was served in dirty glass. It was impossible to hear the music. The waitress appeared one time we asked for sliced lemon she comes back almost at the end of the meal.very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been here several other times and had good service. This Sunday it was awful we were seated with no silverware and napkins. We odered corn bread skillet it came out we still had no silverware odor napkins by the time we received it the corn bread was cold. The food was barely warm. This will be our last time visiting the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food, service, ambiance SUPBERB! But this was not a new thing. Copper Canyon met their previously set expectations. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my third visit and the worst. We ended up in a small room in the far back of the restaurant that looked like a closet. They had live music which we could hardly hear because we were so far away from the main dining area. I had raved to my friend about the great atmosphere of the restaurant but she didn't feel that way after staring and at cart of napkins and the view of the wall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was fair. A "B" rating, not an "A". I didn't care for the area where we sat, but it was pretty packed so we just took it. It was the place where it's probably open during the summer and then there's a way to close it in during the winter, but it was drafty and the it was right in eye view of the bar and the entrance so it's definitely not a cozy or private spot to go. It's a local restaurant which is one reason why we thought it would be a great dinner spot for a Friday night. It's not real expensive but not really worth it. We would have done better at TGI Friday's. It's noisy but I guess that's just the type of place it is. I had no idea. I should have read reviews on it before I went to know what to expect. We won't go again as a couple. I would probably only go back if one my friends wanted to go for happy hour or a loud girls night out and then I would not sit where I sat the last time, that's for sure. The first waiter or hostess was 'so-so' almost felt rushed to order a drink and appetizer as soon as we were seated. The main waiter or 2nd waiter, I guess, was very pleasant and the food was good and the timing of it was fine. It's just not my type of atmosphere. It seemed weird to have 3 piece jazz group playing decent music in the midst of a sports bar zone.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Live Music, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love this restaurant. The menu is very diverse and everything I have tried is delicious

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Decent restaurant only drawback we wanted margaritas without orange juice but the mix was prepackaged with it mixed in. The waiter said the bartender could not make it from scratch?? I found that difficult to accept. They don't employ real bartenders?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Outstanding service! Mariah was a superb server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Always a treat to visit this restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was good & plenty. The bread pudding was the bomb.I personally had the Ahi tuna salad and it was especially good, nice and fresh.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.