About Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden

9300 Taj Lane
Lanham, MD 20706
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 322-8600

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden
Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand crafted cocktails, and excellent service to all our guests. Our beautifully appointed patio seats up to 40 for a sit down dinner and up to 60 for a cocktails style event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lanham ›

Special Occasion (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Lunch (40)
See All
Romantic (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Brunch (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Late-night Find (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Kid-friendly (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Live Music (9)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always delicious and the salmon ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always delicious and the salmon and meatloaf is a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, however, restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent, however, restaurant was very busy therefore service was slow. Also, we were not aware that ONLY brunch menu was available before two on Sunday's, not the regular lunch menu. Had we been aware of this fact, we would have planned on being there at a different time.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The drinks were strong and they had exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The drinks were strong and they had excellent appetizers and bread pudding. I would go again to sample an entree from the menu.

The servers were very friendly and informative.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Copper Canyon offers many options. We e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Copper Canyon offers many options. We enjoyed an employer reunion and everyone had something different and were very pleased.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was convenient to FedEx F ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was convenient to FedEx Field. However, the food was mediocre. My favorite part was the bread and the shoe string french fries. We all had different entrees and none were anything we'd make a special trip back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food. Bar service extremely slow w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great food. Bar service extremely slow we sat in the dining room and waited until AFTER we received our appetizer and entrees to get our bar drinks. Went for my girlfriend's birthday; I noted when making the reservation and the hostess put it on our reservation card for our server, but no song or dessert - nothing. There were probably four or five other quite audible moments when staff sang for other birthday guests...

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

What stood out to me was how open the ho ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

What stood out to me was how open the hostess was to accommodate my seating preference.

My server was very attentive and smiled a lot.

I love the live band!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our dining experience was wonderful. Thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful. This was our first time dining at Copper Canyon but it won't be the last. From the moment we got there, the service was excellent. The food was delicious. Not only that, it was plentiful. We were amazed at the portions. I had the rainbow trout special and I've never before received that large a serving. It was easily twice as large as any I'd had before. And it was cooked to perfection. You would think with giving such a large meat portion that they would have then skimped on the sides. But no, I also received a full portion of rice and a huge helping of glazed carrots, again cooked just right. Our bottle of wine was well served, which was very important to my brother-in-law as he's in the liquor business and somewhat of a connosiuer. Our appetizers and deserts were also tasty. The atmosphere was very relaxing and they had a live three piece ensemble that provided very nice music to eat to. Overall we had a very enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service.. my food wasn't ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great customer service.. my food wasn't to my liking but the manager was very accommodating..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my meal. I am rarely di ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I really enjoyed my meal. I am rarely disappointed when I eat there.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Brian did a great job ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great experience! Brian did a great job serving our table. We will definitely come back and also recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I heard a lot about this place and could ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I heard a lot about this place and couldn't wait to try it. Wonderful ambiance and a great waiter who was very knowledgeable.

Upon outside recommendation I tried the rattlesnake pasta but it could've been spicier and move flavor. I expected better. I also tried the upside-down cake but it needed more sauce and I suggest topping with nuts to make it better. My husband had crab cakes but at price he was definitely NOT impressed. I feel the prices were a bit high in some areas. My favorite items were the FIESTA egg rolls and the Fleur de Lis drink. I would go back just for those 2 things.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Waiter wasn't attentive

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Waiter wasn't attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I as welcomed with smile .The service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I as welcomed with smile .The service was wonderful and the food was very tasty. There a person playing the piano which really as pleasant surprise .The lighting as perfect for romantic date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Different waiter, but he still wasn't at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Different waiter, but he still wasn't attentive. Took too long to visit our table each time and forgot the salad I ordered. Food was good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

This is my neighborhood gem. Great for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This is my neighborhood gem. Great for dinner and brunch. I will continue to come back and be sure to ask about the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server, Alonso, was very attentive t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our server, Alonso, was very attentive to our needs. Always appeared when we needed him. Food was delicious with minimum wait. We look forward to eating there again next month

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Copper Canyon ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was my first visit to Copper Canyon and I truly enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the service. The restaurant was well staffed and the staff members were well dressed. Our waiter was well informed of the menu and checked on us several time. I will recommend this restaurant to friends and family. I am planning to return in September.

I give this restaurant 5 stars.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the convenience of booking reserv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

loved the convenience of booking reservation on line..loved the Jazz at front door...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually the food is better, but the corn ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Usually the food is better, but the cornbread was dry and extremely crumbly. The unsweet tea was so bitter and cloudy that I couldn't drink it (as if it wasn't completely brewed). Our waiter was friendly. I would try it again....I just think it was an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I found this restaurant to be very nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I found this restaurant to be very nice and the atmosphere was nice as well. Enjoyed the paino too . I am recommending to all of my friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good for a chain.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good for a chain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lovely atmosphere, staff, & service. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, staff, & service. The food is tasty too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

After introduction, waiter was not atten ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

After introduction, waiter was not attentive - probably would have ordered two additional rounds of drinks if he chchecked on us once in a while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Came to Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Came to Copper Canyon Grill - Glenarden to have dinner with my sister and brother-in-law on a Saturday evening. We had a GREAT server once we were seated at our table. He was very nice and very informative of the menu even though you don't have a large selection to choose from. We ordered appetizers and drinks and they came in a timely manner, now after we placed our order for dinner, things went down hill. My sister ordered wine to be served with her dinner. That was brought to her when her meal was halfway gone and we had ask for refills. I will admit that the food was good, but the service just went down hill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The location of this establishment is co ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The location of this establishment is convenient for its centrally located right off the beltway. The ambiance is a nice atmosphere for adults that want to be grown and sexy while dining at a reasonable price. The waiter Jonathan was a very polite and courteous young man. I have tried majority of everything on the menu and I have never been disappointed, with any of the entrees. If you like desserts you have to try the bread pudding, it's phenomenal!!! Great job, Copper Canyon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch-time dining experience! Our ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great lunch-time dining experience! Our server was fantastic, helpful, timely, attentive! Food was delicious! The environment/noise level was conducive to a relaxed atmosphere and great conversations between friends catching up! Two thumbs up!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good was prepared well although I mu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The good was prepared well although I must add the cornbread is somewhat dry; perhaps it should be made-to-order. Additionally, the waiter was good but we felt rushed a bit. The dining experience could stand improvement.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food. A little pricey for lunch. G ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food. A little pricey for lunch. Great service. Great ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a great birthday celebration. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a great birthday celebration. The food was delicious and the service was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is kind of hit or miss but thei ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food is kind of hit or miss but their DESSERTS are absolutely AMAZING. Try the pineapple upside down cake or the bread pudding. They are out of this world! They usually have live music after 6pm, mostly jazz. Very nice place while still pretty casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I ordered the pork chops and they were v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I ordered the pork chops and they were very DRY. I received a second order and it too was very DRY. I will give Copper Canyon a second chance but will not order the pork chops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Everything was super great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was super great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe we just came on a bad day, but I w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Maybe we just came on a bad day, but I wasn't very impressed. It was nearly an hour before our food came, and half an hour after that (as we finished eating) when my drink arrived. They did kindly comp my drink, but it was still a pretty bad wait, and didn't seem to be that busy. It was very loud, though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It was my first time at Copper Canyon Gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was my first time at Copper Canyon Grill. There was a live jazz band playing and playing at a nice sound level. The host and our server were really friendly and a joy. I went for a friend's birthday and they all made sure it was a great birthday for her. I had their special French toast as recommended by our server and it was delicious! You also get a complimentary drink with brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant. This was not our first ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nice restaurant. This was not our first time dining there. Our waitress was excellent. One member went with a special that was not on the menu. Trout I believe. It was too bland for her taste so she replaced it with a salad. Still a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is lovely. My group was abo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The ambiance is lovely. My group was about half an hour early for our reservation and the staff was very pleasant and accommodated us without any attitude. Although my entire party was not present, the host promptly showed us to a table.

The server was very knowledgeable about the specials and the menu and was very patient as we tried to decide our meal. My group enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was great! As was all of the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The waiter was great! As was all of the runners! Thanks for the great service! ...as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good service. A bit noisy ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food and good service. A bit noisy. Menu does not change from week to week or month to month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This went from a place I enjoy once a mo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This went from a place I enjoy once a month or so, to I probably won't return. We were seated at 1:45-our reservation time. The first person to ask about our order appeared to be a manager around 2:05. The actual waitress asked what we ordered to drink and almost immediately my daughter received her orange juice. I got my Bellini at 2:20, which was followed by room temperature French toast and burnt, dried out bacon that I asked to have replaced. Never got the replacement bacon. Extremely disappointed. Will now likely only return for carry out dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.