Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (26)
Casual (20)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Great for Lunch (15)
Scenic View (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Romantic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, we had a fantastic meal and great service. Sitting on the patio was an added bonus!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

All was fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have been here once before for brunch and he a wonderful experience. This time was not as good. It took over 20 minutes to get a server to our table and the server that we had barely said anything before taking the order. Usually the server gives you an update about specials and brunch deals but absolutely nothing from her. She said no more than 10 words to us the entire time. Not even a smile or welcome. The food was good. Nothing to rave about and the ambiance was great outside other than the gnats all over(understandble). After this experience I would probably the my business elsewhere and would not recommend to friends. That server was just enough to keep me from going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was our second visit to Copper Canyon. Our first was ok, so it was a convenient spot to meet our daughter and grandkids. The second visit was less than ok.

My wife and I both had their club sandwich. It was a warm chicken breast with avocado and bacon on wheat. Combined with the fries that came with it, it translated into a belly bomb within the hour, and we both felt stuffed for the rest of the day. Our daughters French Dip was fine, but our grandson's chicken caesar salad had a weak dressing that was almost watery. There was a large amount of chicken.

The interior was freezing cold and smelled like it could use a good cleaning and fresh carpet. The air was that kind of restaurant stale that is never a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good meal. Spinach Artichoke Dip appetizer was delicious. Wife ordered the Smoked Salmon. In her words, "Probably the best salmon I've ever had." My Ribs were delicious. My son enjoyed his Roasted Chicken and mashed potatoes. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very nice location on the water. We did eat inside but might opt for outside next time. Brian our server was very attentive and the teamwork was an added value. Food wise meals where well presented and taste. We had a problem with one dish and it was taken care of in a fast and time manner.
Busy area at Rio, parking an issue with a larger Pick-up truck but we where able to find open parking near the theaters with a walk to the restaurant. On a Friday night give yourself time to find parking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Really good food. Crab cakes are amazing. So are fiesta rolls. Sit in patio room by lake. Like being outside but covered and heated if necessary. Inside is quite dark but luxurious and comfortable. Also, brunch is great. Especially in the patio room when the weather is nice and the room is opened up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I ABSOLUTELY love this place! We go here for date night once a month! The setting is prefect, service is amazing and last but not least the FOOD IS AMAZING! I will say our waitress wasn't one of the better ones we've had in the past! This is a MUST try!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

THE CHICKEN IS AMAZING PEOPLE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our server Brian was excellent , very attentive but not obtrusive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food and ambiance was good but service was extremely slow. Asked for a refill on a drink when meal came and didnt get it until I was done with meal. Had tortilla soup for appetizer, good taste but was luke warm. Looked like they were in need of more help.
We were celebrating 2 birthdays
....ordered ice cream with chocolate sauce....they forgot the chocolate sauce and never brought it. gave up and paid the bill.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Felt that my steak salad was very bland and not particularly tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The service was great, we had a party of seven and added two more at the last minute and the restaurant accommodated us without question. Our server was Esther and she was fantastic. The food was good. Overall we had a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great time of the year to request to sit outside under cover. Excellent meal with the only complaint being the menu is a little limited for my taste and not supplemented with enough daily specials. Excellent food this trip, excellent service. nice wine options.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Dining at Copper Canyon is a very pleasant experience. Great food, good service, great atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were seated quickly and service was fast and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My son loves this place! We know we can always get anything on the menu and it'll be delicious.. One of our all time favorite hang outs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We sat outside with a view of the lake so it was scenic and quiet. Noisier inside. The food and service have always been good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Lovely lakeside dining ! We had very friendly service and very flavorful food especially the hearty meatloaf and just right chicken club sandwich. I skipped the French fries and had the delicious collard greens!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The terrace is really nice! Had the wood-grilled chicken and sword fish, both very good. The house salad however was quite heavy, despite the fact we have specifically asked for a light vinaigrette. Overall a great evening though, will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Was in the mood for old school Houston (Woodmont Grill) but not interested in heading to Bethesda. Spinach Dip is top notch and the salad was just enough.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great food. Chili was fantastic. Good service. Food came out quickly. Presentation of food was excellent. Always great specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food was disappointing. I had eaten here many times before but many years ago on business trips and had delicious meals. I decided to stop here and bring my family to dinner on our way home from a vacation. My daughter's filet had to be sent back because it was over cooked the first time. My pork shank was very dry. My other daughter's green beans were not cooked. My wife's swordfish was just ok and the accompaniments were also disappointing.

I noticed a couple at a window seat sent their steak back once. There was a gentleman and his young son at the table behind me. I heard him loudly voicing his displeasure. He sent his meal back twice and didn't want to do it a third time but the "manager" insisted they would get it right. Well he sent it back a third time. I didn't stay long enough to see what the final outcome was.

Overall the food was not at all what I expected. The service was very good and the servers were very apologetic and eager to make it right. Based on service alone, I would come back. But service does not make up for a meal that was this disappointing. I will not be coming back and will no longer recommend this place to my coworkers as a place to get a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This was our first time here and it was a good experience across the board. We had good service as we sat out on the patio for our dinner and that was probably my favorite part. It wasn't too hot and we had a nice view. The good came out very fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

CONSISTENTLY GREAT...Love the food, love the waitstaff. Food arrives just as ordered, hot for the dinners, cold for the salads. Drinks are replenished quickly. Exceptional kudos to PATRICK who planned my special event with style.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Service was excellent as always and food was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great restaurant with great food. Wait staff was new but did a decent job.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food just wasn't that good - I eat out every week and wouldn't go back. Bad indigestion also. Boring menu also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great fresh menu, friendly service, comfortable summer outdoor dining

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was good unfortunately to salty. Due to this, we have not finished our plates my wife and myself.
I was very desapointing as we were very existed to come back to this place.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Drinks were well prepared, food was excellent and servings were very generous. We had the wood fired chicken and the pork shank. Both were delicious. Our server was engaging, and his service was impeccable. Our only complaint was the noise level. The dining room was very noisy; it was difficult to hear our server and each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This was our 4th visit. Food is ok - not great - southwest flair, somewhat plastic.
Ambiance: Outdoor room is lovely to eat and overlook the lake. Inside is not particularly a fun atmosphere and is very loud.
Staff: the welcome hostesses lack good customer skills, do not want to be put out and border on unfriendly. Overall I am giving 3 stars as restaurant it is just average.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had the best waiter, Edwin! He was very attentive and addressed all our needs. We really enjoyed all the staff and the experience was one we will definitely remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our waitress was just fabulous and the red trout was terrific. Please give this waitress a raise right now.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I ordered the rattlesnake pasta which is a dish that I normally like. It did not taste as good as it has in the past. May have been an "off day" but I was disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was very good. Service excellent except they didn't know it was a birthday dinner in spite of reserving it as such. Bread pudding and chocolate brownie sundae to die for...

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was exceptional, and portions were quite generous. The cornbread was very flavorful. The pork shank was a bit bland, and the chocolate uprising was large but wholly unsatisfying.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We are never disappointed, the service is always outstanding & food is great!!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Slow service. Food took forever. Female manager body language not comforting. I'm a regular. She does not display hospitality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.