About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg
Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Contemporary American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Gaithersburg ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (60)
Scenic View (52)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for Groups (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Kid-friendly (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Waterfront (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Fireplace (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to take family & friends for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to take family & friends for a weekend dinner; lovely atmosphere; great wait staff.

Been there 3 times in the past month.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat outside near the water and it was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We sat outside near the water and it was beautiful. All of the staff was excellent and helpful and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good food, service was excellent ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overall good food, service was excellent, atmosphere was vibrant. I do think it's not a great value.

I was disappointed that on the Open Table reservation I indicated that we were celebrating a birthday and wanted outdoor seating. I also specifically provided my phone number. When we arrived we were told that it wasn't possible to reserve outdoor seating. That being said, I wish someone called me to inform me of this. Also, there was no mention of the fact that we were celebrating a reservation. So, not sure why on the Open Table form there is a place for additional information if the restaurant either doesn't see the information or ignores it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was good and the service was gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good and the service was great! It was a little noisy, so hard to talk to the person next to me, but overall a good atmosphere for dinner. While the menu was a little pricey for what we were looking for, the food was good enough to justify the expense. I would go again and recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have always loved their ribs. Tender, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have always loved their ribs. Tender, juicy, fall of the bone. But this time they tasted dry, as if they were cooked a day or two earlier and left in the oven too long. My husband however enjoyed the meatloaf and the portion was quite large. It is a bit spicy though. Also the service was not as attentive as in the past. We were not offered bread and did not have an opportunity to ask for it when we realized that we didn't get any. It was quiet because we sat outside.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Private Room, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

This is my 4th time eating at a Copper C ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is my 4th time eating at a Copper Canyon, and it's still not a disappointment at all! My favorite dish there is the Chicken Pot Pie. Delicious, excellent flavors, LOTS of chicken. The burgers here are also excellent, and the wait staff is top notch.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night and had only an hour before t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Date night and had only an hour before the movie started. Told the wait and the meatloaf and rotesserie chicken were our first pics. Waitress said this were really quick meals. It seemed like she had barely enough time to walk to the kitchen before our meals arrived hot and tasty. The chicken was moist and the meatloaf was great, but was pretty spicy (which hubby loves). The veggies were fantastic. Only critic the food was a bit salty for us. We even had time for dessert! Wonderful l, attentive staff and delicious hot food. Loved it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrible service. Used open table for re ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Horrible service. Used open table for reservation for 630pm, showed up at 634pm and they had given away our table. We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I've been to the Copper Canyon Grill in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've been to the Copper Canyon Grill in Silver Spring and had a much better experience as far as food and service. I found the food subpar for the price, and even though I called ahead to reserve a table, we were seated inside. Since we could see that there were plenty of seats in the outdoor seating area, we asked to sit outside but the hostess just said "I don't make these decisions" and we decided for her that we would sit outside. I wasn't sure if she was new and untrained, or if our moving tables was actually an issue -- it was just really awkward, and she wasn't very accommodating. On top of that, I had put in a note that it was my husband's birthday, which was pointless because there was nothing mentioned or done to celebrate it -- which is something of the norm at most other restaurants to at least bring by a dessert or something. Great location and view, but my husband and I sadly agreed that we don't see any reason to go back.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Waiter was absolutely superb. In fact, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Waiter was absolutely superb. In fact, I have never had a better waiter. He was attentive while letting us eat without much interruption. Also, the people who bused the table were prompt, timely, and polite. The evening was a real pleasure. Lastly, had a great view of the water even though we were inside. Very much enjoyed the food!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They missed our reservation by 30 minute ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

They missed our reservation by 30 minutes - repeatedly saying that we would be seated in just a moment (in all fairness, they were extremely busy). We were offered free appetizers as an apology, which we appreciated. We ordered IPAs, but what came out did not taste like an IPA. The manager explained that there was something wrong with the keg, and as a result they provided multiple free beers instead. We had several servers checking on us, we suspect since we weren't complaining about any of the missteps but the manager was trying to ensure we remained 'happy'. Our meals were enjoyable, and in the end the manager thanked us for our patience with a gift certificate for a future visit. While there were a number of missteps, the staff did respond well and saved our experience. We'd visit again.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We celebrated our 5 year old granddaught ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We celebrated our 5 year old granddaughter's birthday at Copper Canyon. When we arrived, I asked the manager if they had chocolate ice cream. He said they did not. He saw my disappointment because my granddaughter only eats chocolate ice cream. He told me not to worry, that he would have it for her by the time she was ready.

He presented her with a huge scoop of chocolate ice cream. She was thrilled!

The service and attention to the customer is outstanding. We had a great experience!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Casual, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner. Great as always.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had dinner. Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed in my meal. I had ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was very disappointed in my meal. I had chicken pot pie only which was entirely too spicy with some hot spice throughout it. Never have had chicken pot pie with a hot spice in it - which, I might add, did not specify same on their menu. For $17 I could have stayed home and put 3 Marie Callenders pot pie, which I might add, are 10 times better, into the Microwave. My dining partner said her meal (I believe a steak, mashed potatoes & green beans) wasn't cooked fully, so she ate very little of it). I was highly embarrassed as I had been to Copper Canyon once before and highly recommended it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very good and large portion ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was very good and large portions. We all had to get to-go boxes. The Service was good and we were able to be seated right away because of our reservation with Open table

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and Food never disappoints. We w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service and Food never disappoints. We were seated by the window which faces the The Rio. It enables people watching for Pokemon and provides enjoyable outdoor atmosphere while being comfortably seated in doors with air conditioning.

Advise staff of my allergens and they advise me of the obvious food choices to steer clear. They also advise other food I should not eat because they are prepared in the same area. VERY helpful.

I had the salmon with orzo and sauteed spinach. Delicious. My sister had the fried fish with fries.

My only grievance was dessert. I had pineapple upside down cake but it was a yellow cake with pineapple compote. Expected more pineapple flavor infused in the cake. The ice cream was homemade and tasty.

It is one of my favorite places to visit while in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our 16th Anniversary her w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We celebrated our 16th Anniversary her with dinner and a large square of Key Lime Pie. The service and food was all excellent. Copper Canyon is one of our favorite places. The pineapple upside down cake is fantastic too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fantastic lunch today. We were in ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a fantastic lunch today. We were in and out quick. The food was delicious and the service was phenomenal. Can't wait to come back and just lounge on the patio with a cocktail!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribs are wonderful and the prime rib ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The ribs are wonderful and the prime rib was done just right. The key lime pie is amazing. The bar made an excellent specialty coffee drink using our recipe. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu has enough options to allow for cho ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Menu has enough options to allow for choices by all. MIght be a bit on the pricey side, but not wallet busting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I made reservations for outside seating ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I made reservations for outside seating but was told that reservations were only for the inside. Nothing on Opentable indicated that. You need to make that clear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service is the best we've ever encounter ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service is the best we've ever encountered. Wait staff work as a team. Different staff help us all the time. My favorite - thanks! Also, great view right on the lake and food is yummy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a quick bite - service was goo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great for a quick bite - service was good. Would come back in the future and in a great location!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server, who was also the bartender, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our server, who was also the bartender, was great! I recommend the Peartini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our first time to dine at Canyo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first time to dine at Canyon Copper Grill. I did not even know it was there. I found it on Open Table. We were seated right away upon arrival. They were short staffed but they were helping each other to make sure guests were attended to. Our waiter (sorry forgot his name) was a young guy who was very knowledgeable with the restaurant's menu, how the food was made, wine, etc. etc. He was incredible. I will not hesitate to go back there again for another occasion. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed that items listed on the Lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Disappointed that items listed on the Location online were not available at the location in person. Filet & Eggs Benedict $16 could be substituted at restaurant with Steak & Eggs Benedict for about twice the cost

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good dining experience. The locatio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good dining experience. The location is very busy and enjoyable. The Valet services is a great offering. The chance to make reservations through linked internet sites was ideal for someone not familiar with the restaurant/area. Service was quick and friendly, offering tips and suggestions from the menu and specials. Our meals were very good. During our wait we didn't receive any breads or sampling item but the server was supposed to bring something. It never arrived. The staff was very busy this evening. Very loud in this building which caused a mistake on my order. The error was quickly corrected but still a distraction from the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We always like Copper Canyon, and were g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We always like Copper Canyon, and were glad we made a reservation this time because it was very crowded. The seafood special was delicious, as was the chicken Parmesan, and the servers and host could not have been more attentive. We have decided, though, as a retired couple, we will probably not come back on a Saturday night. Too "energetic."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very pleasant evening at Copper Canyon G ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very pleasant evening at Copper Canyon Grill. The service was outstanding. The food was delicious--loved the salmon. The chocolate dessert was a chocolate lover's dream--enough for 4 to share--so we took some home! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The quality of food and service never fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The quality of food and service never fails here. One of our usual places to dine for this reason.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was nothing special. We expec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was nothing special. We expected way more for the prices that were listed for the menu items.

Over priced. We certainly won't be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

I could not understand the waiter due to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I could not understand the waiter due to his accent

There was a lot of noise coming from the bar area

Waiter did not understand the drink I ordered and brought out the wrong drink twice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I met my cousin here for dinner. We had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I met my cousin here for dinner. We had not seen one another since we were 5 and 6! The wait staff were very attentive, but I think we drove them nuts as we took forever to order as we could not stop talking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and menu kind of ehhh Hostess was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and menu kind of ehhh

Hostess was rude. And they first said they couldn't honor my open table reservation and had 1.5 hour wait. Restaurant wasn't that crazy. Then they came back and said you could sit on patio right now. Patio was huge, covered and completely acceptable. Silly they were making people wait when they had a huge outdoor covered dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Consistently good food and service, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Consistently good food and service, but pricey, so better for special occasions rather than routine dining out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant; lovely indoor/outd ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant; lovely indoor/outdoor dining lakeside; great service; delicious food.

I highly recommend Copper Canyon to the "whole wide world."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No copper, no canyons, but fine food. t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

No copper, no canyons, but fine food. this was our first time at this restaurant, and because the day was so lovely, we opted for outdoor seating. I had the special fish for the day, which was trout. It came with with a rice mixture and lots and lots of steamed spinach. The trout was wonderful. My companion had a turkey with avocado club sandwich, which came with fries, and she pronounced it "terrific". The staff is knowledgeable and they share duties. The view is of the "lake", and was lovely. The only downside to eating outdoors here is that a little kids train route is adjacent to the outdoor seating area, and while not horribly loud, is a bit obnoxious after the first three times by...would we return? Yes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit. My first vis ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was my second visit. My first visit was a private party held outside patio. It was beautiful and the food was delicious. We never went inside and we thought what a wonderful place to come for dinner. We are elderly and I think maybe this restaurant is geared towards a younger crowd. The service was great. We were expected more ambiance inside the restaurant and was slightly disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great ambiance, but service and food su ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great ambiance, but service and food sub par for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My husband and I tried Copper Canyon Gri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I tried Copper Canyon Grill on a Saturday night for the first time. We had 8pm reservations and when we arrived, there was a huge line and we were told to wait in the line to check in. It took 10 mins to get to the head of the line and then we were told they were very crowded and it would be a few more mins until we were seated. It took an additional 20 mins to be seated, so with an 8pm reservation, we weren't seated until 8:30pm. Our waiter was nice and he admitted that they were short-staffed that night (3 people calling out) and the fire alarm went off earlier so that was why there were so many delays. We ordered the skillet corn bread, which arrived within reasonable time, and it was quite good. Our entrees didn't take too long to arrive either, however, there was a problem with mine. My husband had the ribs and said they were delicious. I ordered the filet, medium, and it came out very rare. We called the waiter over and he agreed it was barely cooked and put another order in. It took about 10 mins to receive the entrée once it was sent back, and this time, it was cooked correctly and tasted good. Given the 30 min wait (with a reservation) and that my meal was undercooked and had to be prepared again, we were not given any type of discount off our bill. Usually, the appetizer or drink will be free, as a courtesy, but nothing was offered and we didn't ask for anything. We will return, as clearly it was a bad night due to the fire alarm going off and being short-staffed, but having servers call out on a busy Saturday night (which is every Saturday at this location) should be expected and on-call servers should be available to help. If a meal is not cooked how it should be, it would have been nice to have received something as a courtesy for having to wait more time for another entree to be prepared. This is a busy location, so when we return, we will likely come for lunch or a much earlier dinner. Willing to give this place one more try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.