Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mom deserve the best, so treat her to a special brunch or dinner, featuring culinary delights and live jazz, plus a gift from us. Reserve your table today!

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Casual (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
See All
Waterfront (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Scenic View (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Business Meals (13)
Romantic (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Wood Oven (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Family Style (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fireplace (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner Saturday April 22. The grilled fish special was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Ray was fantastic!! I had eaten at the one in Silver Spring, but the service here in Gaithersburg was the best by far. Thank you.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very accommodating waitstaff. Food came to the table slow that day, but manager compt desserts for the short wait. Would recommend. Great outdoor seating with pond view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went here for Easter brunch. Lovely day, temps in the high 60's-low 70's. Ate outside and watched folks on the lake in paddle boats, joggers running by and lots of families just out walking. Great food and bloody Mary! Said "hi' to greeter Ilana Gorog.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our party of 6 was squished into a booth ideally for 4. It was very uncomfortable for 2 sitting in the curves of the couch. We are not big people (3 teenagers & 3 adults). Rattlesnake pasta was very good. Skip the meatball appetizer - too breaded. Calamari very good but a bit greasy. Meatloaf gravy good but the meat??loaf was very mushy - too much breading again?? The first prime rib we received was actually SEARED to make it more done! It looked like pan fried steak. Could not believe that the cooks in the kitchen and the management would serve a $33 prime rib that was SEARED! It defeats the point of having prime rib. Our replacement was definitely what is pictured on their website. Someone needs to teach the kitchen folks how to properly cut a prime rib. Ours looked like a 10 year old cut the slice. There was also a 3 square inch chunk of fat in the "prime" rib. Hoping the dessert would be better. Key Lime was good but a bit too much whipped cream on top. Tres Leches special for $9 ok but over-priced. Skip the double brownie with ice cream & fudge sauce. Brownie lacked any chocolate flavor. Had a very strong cinnamon flavor instead.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

1. A bunch of kids came into the restaurant screaming and cussing and walking through the restaurant 👎
2.Ask waitress what was in the dessert and she fell to mention that the dessert had nuts in it... I'm allergic to nuts... after consuming nuts and sending the dessert back.. Her response was she forgot..👎

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Me and my wife enjoyed the restaurant to the fulliest. Everything was oustanding, especially the staff. Great job and keep up the good work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Copper Canyon is my goto spot for excellent, food, service, drinks! The pay at the table function from OpenTable makes it real easy for credit card security using Android Pay. You'll never over spend because you'll see your bill as your order is placed. The lake front patio is a great spot for date night, happy hour or whatever the occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My rockfish was excellent but my friend's steak was tough. The service was very good and the noise level (we were seated away from the bar in the enclosed outdoor dining area) was perfect. At $30ish per entree and $10 per specialty drink, the meal was a little pricey for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I really like this restaurant. You can walk over to shopping center before or after you eat! I usually get the steak salad but this time I opted for the half chicken entree. I was very pleased with my meal. My husband had the chicken salad which he also enjoyed. I love the corn bread croutons in the salad, so I steal them off of his plate! Unfortunately there was no room for dessert this visit. If I did have dessert, it would have been the bread pudding! It's amazing! Our waiter, Brian, was a perfect waiter. He knew when to come over and not hover! Brian was very nice. We sat on the patio which was enclosed because the weather was still a little cool. I plan on going back to this restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love this place. Service is great...not something you can say often in the dc area. Food is always fast to the table and delicious. One of my favorite places in MOCO. Kids meals are delicious as well. My son loves that he can order ribs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This restaurant is always consistently good. They could improve beer and wine selection and the bar area is not as cozy as the rest of the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everyone at my table was impressed with the food. The food was hot, fresh and tasty. The staff was very knowledgeable about the menu selections and daily specials. Will certainly eat there again very soon.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very good food and service . Just a bit noisy unless you request to sit away from the bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We are out on the patio. Great food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Meet a friends fiancé

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

It was my first time to Copper Canyon Grill. Our server was amazing and the food was so yummy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent place to watch ncaa basket ball at the bar and have a dinner for two in the dining room!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Esther was our waitress and she was amazing. We were a rambunctious group of 6 celebrating a few birthdays. Esther was our waitress and she was AMAZING!! The food was on point as usual and our group had a great time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our server was incredible. Kept our kids happy so we could enjoy a lovely meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This is a great restaurant. The atmosphere is wonderful. If you need gluten free food it is alwys available. Sometimes servers are not as careful listening and bringing requested items, but overall a great place to eat.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

You have the best chicken in the world and I have been on earth for 11 years! I have eaten many chickens in my life and I gotta tell you, yours is the best! You guys are great! Keep up the good chicken!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our second visit to Copper Canyon. The service is great - the wait staff work as a team ensuring that you are not left waiting. Both of our visits included friends with little ones and the staff was very attentive to their needs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Cheeseburger was out of this world!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nice place. Food was really good. Cesar Salad although just a salad was probably the best Cesar salad I've ever had. Tortilla soup was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Seating was prompt and efficient. Server very friendly and knew the menu and food well. Food came to table in appropriate amount of time. Had an issue with an undercooked steak. Specifically asked server if medium meant pink with warm center. She said yes but steak came out barely cooked. Was corrected immediately. Food is average like all Copper Canyon, Stanford Grill and Houstons from whence they came. They always meet my expectations which is all I expect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great atmosphere; nice view of the water and good for people watching. Food was quite good but service was poor and it wasn't very busy. Also, the Sunday brunch menu has only 5-6 items that aren't very exciting.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food. Great service. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

frequent patron of Copper Canyon...food is always good and the waiters tag team so anyone of them will serve you.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were a party of six for a special occasion. We were seated in the main area even though there appeared to be empty large tables in a more sectioned off room as well as on the enclosed patio. Too many of the adjoining tables were occupied with people determined to make their voices heard above any din. They succeeded. I heard more of the conversation from both tables behind me than I did from my wife and son seated across the table. If it was not for the grilled swordfish....

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My first visit!! Great restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'm extremely disappointed that you took away the chicken parmesan, the whole reason i made a reservation was because i had been craving it! i tried the french dip sandwich and it made me ill the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

copper canyon has always been a good choice for us. nice atmosphere and good food every time.
Only concern can be a bit noisier than the main area in the patio area even when covered.
FYI - reservations recommended

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Shrimpcargot was excellent. Service was excellent. One hiccup...I ordered my steal medium/well and it came rare. I dent it back and it came back medium. I did not send it back again as it was tasty. Spinach was delicious. All in all a great meal and a good experience with my wife on Valentine's day

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is the 2nd time I've been here in the last 30-days. I really want to like it, but I won't be back. The service is lackluster, the hostesses look downright irritated when you arrive. Attention to detail is lacking, and good thing I have it. I ordered a salad off of their "gluten free" menu and it's the 2nd time it came with fried wontons. Don't offer it if you can't execute it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Seafood was not freah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Salmon was good, french dip was good, however the chicken was dry...

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant serves decent food, but the portion sizes are huge. Appetizers are the size of main course, and main course is good for at least two people. This is probably why the prices are on the expensive side. Next time we come here we'll order less. Service was OK, even though the restaurant was full and the waiters were quite busy. Ambiance is generally OK too, but since it was crowded, the noise level was a bit above what I like.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service is amazing! From the valet to the wait staff - top notch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner, nice selection of hot teas, and very attentive waiter. Love that chocolate dessert!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.