Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat your superhero dad to a special brunch or dinner featuring culinary delights and live jazz. Let us take care of the meal so you can focus on dad. Make your reservation today!

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Scenic View (24)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Waterfront (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Family Style (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Cozy (10)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (5)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This is my 3rd trip to a Copper Canyon Grill -- 1st to this location. The food is just a bad as previous trips. A limited menu of lousy food was served by an enthusiastic and effective waiter. No vegetable substitutions were allowed - and how many people eat bok choy even if it's "trendy"? The 9 oz. Filet Mignon was a cut of meat with no resemblance to the Filet Mignon pictured on the website or usually eaten at other restaurants. The calamari were mushy to a degree that they could not be dipped in the accompanying sauce but had to be laid on a plate, covered in sauce, and finally eaten with a spoon.
I will avoid this place in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, service and ambience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We selected to come to Copper Canyon for 3 back to back business meetings and it was great each time. On the last meeting, there was a noisy group that came in after us. It was hard to hear our conversations after that but all in all, its a great place to go for lunch, business or otherwise. I would recommend it to others.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

REALLY delicious ribs. Wow! I haven't been to Copper Canyon in a while. The food is always good, but this time it was a superlative experience. Ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender, mashed potatoes peppery and hot, green beans had a snap. Wow. Great, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I asked for an outside table, didn't happen. Our server was great but I continued to look for her for drink refills. Food was OK. Much too loud, had to talk over the screaming kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was excellent with healthy portions we definitely got our money's worth.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Crowded and had to wait 20 minutes but the mature d was calm and gracious to all patrons.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day dinner // Great server. She was attentive without being annoying // good food, great location

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The great food keeps us coming back. However, they shouldn't have continued accepting reservations for Mother's Day dinner! The crowd and wait time were horrendous. The waiting area was limited, people were standing around waiting in a mob, blocking the entrance and onto the dining area. We arrived on time for our reservation and waited over half an hour to be seated. Luckily the restaurant is on a man made lake with shops and broad walk. Our server Hannah did a great job!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

3 meal orders were not prepared per customer request from the Kitchen

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day so have to give them a break. However, the crab cakes were so full of breading and salt that we sent them back. After everyone was finished eating they finally brought the replacement ribs which were luke warm. Fries were cold. Not worth the price. Manager did visit the table twice so at least they were trying. Server was also nice. Might go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good but the side dishes were very good and actually outshined main course. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have dined at Copper Canyon for the past several years on Mother's Day. It is always a great experience. The food is very good, and the service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was not impressed given this was a special occasion, Mother's Day. I would come to the restaurant anytime except for celebrating a special day. It was crowded as expected. Being stuck in a corner also was not helpful in keeping.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our Mother's Day Brunch. I would return for that occasion as well as enjoying dinner with friends.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I went for Mother's day with my 2 kids and my mom. The food was very good, the first drink was complimentary and we got some chocolate at the end...very sweet!

Excellent service and it was a perfect day to seat outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Menu changed. Breakfast options are limited. French Toast was the reason I went and not there anymore. Brought out the wrong food but overall Fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual good food, exceptional service in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for mother's day and ordered brunch. The fried chicken for the chicken and waffles was big pieces of dark flavorless chicken. The batter had no salt. It literally tasted like flour water and cayenne pepper. We ordered french dip sandwiches and had a lot of gristle and no flavor. The dio was overally salty. The eggs in eggs benedict were over cooked with hardly any runny yolk. Ive had their food before and thought it would be a great treat for my mom to try. She will never go back again and neither will I. $75 for a nasty meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was very good, the service was good, the MUSIC had a lot to be desired.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The hostesses were extremely rude which made the experience very bad.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service and ambiance at this restaurant is great and a it's a great location on the Boardwalk, lake.

The calimari was too salty, but the fish tacos were good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service and food were decent. But the noise levels dining outside during happy hour were a bit unbearable. Multiple tables moved inside. The bar patrons kept spilling into the dining area and the staff didn't say anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good food. Fireplace emits quite an odor! Would be more enjoyable if less noticeable when dining. Good food. Waiter was difficult to hear and understand...talked low and also had a prominant accent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent service! Our server was fantastic and attentive to our requests. She knew the menu and the day's specials like the back of her hand.

The entrees came out quickly. The corn bread was warm and homey. The fries and salads were delicious. The salmon was perfectly charred and crusty, but a tad bit salty for my taste. The spinach that came with the salmon was yummy but a little oily. A squeeze of lemon was a nice fix to the salmon and spinach.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good American food in a very nice setting with great service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding! The food was good and the desert was better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our server Ray was absolutely the best server we ever had. He was so knowledgeable and energetic making it a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great dinner Saturday April 22. The grilled fish special was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server Ray was fantastic!! I had eaten at the one in Silver Spring, but the service here in Gaithersburg was the best by far. Thank you.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very accommodating waitstaff. Food came to the table slow that day, but manager compt desserts for the short wait. Would recommend. Great outdoor seating with pond view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went here for Easter brunch. Lovely day, temps in the high 60's-low 70's. Ate outside and watched folks on the lake in paddle boats, joggers running by and lots of families just out walking. Great food and bloody Mary! Said "hi' to greeter Ilana Gorog.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our party of 6 was squished into a booth ideally for 4. It was very uncomfortable for 2 sitting in the curves of the couch. We are not big people (3 teenagers & 3 adults). Rattlesnake pasta was very good. Skip the meatball appetizer - too breaded. Calamari very good but a bit greasy. Meatloaf gravy good but the meat??loaf was very mushy - too much breading again?? The first prime rib we received was actually SEARED to make it more done! It looked like pan fried steak. Could not believe that the cooks in the kitchen and the management would serve a $33 prime rib that was SEARED! It defeats the point of having prime rib. Our replacement was definitely what is pictured on their website. Someone needs to teach the kitchen folks how to properly cut a prime rib. Ours looked like a 10 year old cut the slice. There was also a 3 square inch chunk of fat in the "prime" rib. Hoping the dessert would be better. Key Lime was good but a bit too much whipped cream on top. Tres Leches special for $9 ok but over-priced. Skip the double brownie with ice cream & fudge sauce. Brownie lacked any chocolate flavor. Had a very strong cinnamon flavor instead.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

1. A bunch of kids came into the restaurant screaming and cussing and walking through the restaurant 👎
2.Ask waitress what was in the dessert and she fell to mention that the dessert had nuts in it... I'm allergic to nuts... after consuming nuts and sending the dessert back.. Her response was she forgot..👎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Me and my wife enjoyed the restaurant to the fulliest. Everything was oustanding, especially the staff. Great job and keep up the good work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Copper Canyon is my goto spot for excellent, food, service, drinks! The pay at the table function from OpenTable makes it real easy for credit card security using Android Pay. You'll never over spend because you'll see your bill as your order is placed. The lake front patio is a great spot for date night, happy hour or whatever the occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My rockfish was excellent but my friend's steak was tough. The service was very good and the noise level (we were seated away from the bar in the enclosed outdoor dining area) was perfect. At $30ish per entree and $10 per specialty drink, the meal was a little pricey for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I really like this restaurant. You can walk over to shopping center before or after you eat! I usually get the steak salad but this time I opted for the half chicken entree. I was very pleased with my meal. My husband had the chicken salad which he also enjoyed. I love the corn bread croutons in the salad, so I steal them off of his plate! Unfortunately there was no room for dessert this visit. If I did have dessert, it would have been the bread pudding! It's amazing! Our waiter, Brian, was a perfect waiter. He knew when to come over and not hover! Brian was very nice. We sat on the patio which was enclosed because the weather was still a little cool. I plan on going back to this restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love this place. Service is great...not something you can say often in the dc area. Food is always fast to the table and delicious. One of my favorite places in MOCO. Kids meals are delicious as well. My son loves that he can order ribs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.