Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (31)
Great for Lunch (26)
Casual (26)
See All
Scenic View (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Business Meals (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fireplace (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Chili was fantastic. Good service. Food came out quickly. Presentation of food was excellent. Always great specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was disappointing. I had eaten here many times before but many years ago on business trips and had delicious meals. I decided to stop here and bring my family to dinner on our way home from a vacation. My daughter's filet had to be sent back because it was over cooked the first time. My pork shank was very dry. My other daughter's green beans were not cooked. My wife's swordfish was just ok and the accompaniments were also disappointing.

I noticed a couple at a window seat sent their steak back once. There was a gentleman and his young son at the table behind me. I heard him loudly voicing his displeasure. He sent his meal back twice and didn't want to do it a third time but the "manager" insisted they would get it right. Well he sent it back a third time. I didn't stay long enough to see what the final outcome was.

Overall the food was not at all what I expected. The service was very good and the servers were very apologetic and eager to make it right. Based on service alone, I would come back. But service does not make up for a meal that was this disappointing. I will not be coming back and will no longer recommend this place to my coworkers as a place to get a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time here and it was a good experience across the board. We had good service as we sat out on the patio for our dinner and that was probably my favorite part. It wasn't too hot and we had a nice view. The good came out very fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

CONSISTENTLY GREAT...Love the food, love the waitstaff. Food arrives just as ordered, hot for the dinners, cold for the salads. Drinks are replenished quickly. Exceptional kudos to PATRICK who planned my special event with style.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Service was excellent as always and food was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great restaurant with great food. Wait staff was new but did a decent job.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food just wasn't that good - I eat out every week and wouldn't go back. Bad indigestion also. Boring menu also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great fresh menu, friendly service, comfortable summer outdoor dining

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was good unfortunately to salty. Due to this, we have not finished our plates my wife and myself.
I was very desapointing as we were very existed to come back to this place.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Drinks were well prepared, food was excellent and servings were very generous. We had the wood fired chicken and the pork shank. Both were delicious. Our server was engaging, and his service was impeccable. Our only complaint was the noise level. The dining room was very noisy; it was difficult to hear our server and each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This was our 4th visit. Food is ok - not great - southwest flair, somewhat plastic.
Ambiance: Outdoor room is lovely to eat and overlook the lake. Inside is not particularly a fun atmosphere and is very loud.
Staff: the welcome hostesses lack good customer skills, do not want to be put out and border on unfriendly. Overall I am giving 3 stars as restaurant it is just average.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had the best waiter, Edwin! He was very attentive and addressed all our needs. We really enjoyed all the staff and the experience was one we will definitely remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our waitress was just fabulous and the red trout was terrific. Please give this waitress a raise right now.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I ordered the rattlesnake pasta which is a dish that I normally like. It did not taste as good as it has in the past. May have been an "off day" but I was disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was very good. Service excellent except they didn't know it was a birthday dinner in spite of reserving it as such. Bread pudding and chocolate brownie sundae to die for...

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was exceptional, and portions were quite generous. The cornbread was very flavorful. The pork shank was a bit bland, and the chocolate uprising was large but wholly unsatisfying.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We are never disappointed, the service is always outstanding & food is great!!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Slow service. Food took forever. Female manager body language not comforting. I'm a regular. She does not display hospitality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Michael was charming; making us comfortable and the staff wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent meal. Tavis was our server and he was great. The atmosphere was good and the wine delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

one of my favorite restaurants. Food is so fresh and staff are awesome - they work as a team - everyone is helpful. And you can't beat the lake view.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had Excellent serviceduring our dinner. And the was food very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food and service was excellent. I felt like the guacamole appetizer was a bit overpriced but it really was delicious. The view of the water, ducks and carousel was really nice. I would definitely go back again. I had a steak but burgers I saw being delivered to other tables looked amazing!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good local restaurant. Easy casual menu. Consistently good salads. Friendly staff and good service. Nice outdoor dining if you're so inclined. Smoke free atmosphere.
Nice to walk around he lake after dinner or go to a movie.
I recommend Copper Canyon Grill for a casual night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great ambience. We've been going there for 8 years but everything changed. Food became terrible

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This is my 3rd trip to a Copper Canyon Grill -- 1st to this location. The food is just a bad as previous trips. A limited menu of lousy food was served by an enthusiastic and effective waiter. No vegetable substitutions were allowed - and how many people eat bok choy even if it's "trendy"? The 9 oz. Filet Mignon was a cut of meat with no resemblance to the Filet Mignon pictured on the website or usually eaten at other restaurants. The calamari were mushy to a degree that they could not be dipped in the accompanying sauce but had to be laid on a plate, covered in sauce, and finally eaten with a spoon.
I will avoid this place in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We selected to come to Copper Canyon for 3 back to back business meetings and it was great each time. On the last meeting, there was a noisy group that came in after us. It was hard to hear our conversations after that but all in all, its a great place to go for lunch, business or otherwise. I would recommend it to others.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

REALLY delicious ribs. Wow! I haven't been to Copper Canyon in a while. The food is always good, but this time it was a superlative experience. Ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender, mashed potatoes peppery and hot, green beans had a snap. Wow. Great, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I asked for an outside table, didn't happen. Our server was great but I continued to look for her for drink refills. Food was OK. Much too loud, had to talk over the screaming kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was excellent with healthy portions we definitely got our money's worth.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Crowded and had to wait 20 minutes but the mature d was calm and gracious to all patrons.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day dinner // Great server. She was attentive without being annoying // good food, great location

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The great food keeps us coming back. However, they shouldn't have continued accepting reservations for Mother's Day dinner! The crowd and wait time were horrendous. The waiting area was limited, people were standing around waiting in a mob, blocking the entrance and onto the dining area. We arrived on time for our reservation and waited over half an hour to be seated. Luckily the restaurant is on a man made lake with shops and broad walk. Our server Hannah did a great job!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

3 meal orders were not prepared per customer request from the Kitchen

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day so have to give them a break. However, the crab cakes were so full of breading and salt that we sent them back. After everyone was finished eating they finally brought the replacement ribs which were luke warm. Fries were cold. Not worth the price. Manager did visit the table twice so at least they were trying. Server was also nice. Might go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

How many dining points do I now have? - no one from Opentable ever let's me know???

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good but the side dishes were very good and actually outshined main course. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have dined at Copper Canyon for the past several years on Mother's Day. It is always a great experience. The food is very good, and the service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.