Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday: 11:30am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:30am - 11:05pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Comfort Food (18)
Waterfront (16)
See All
Cozy (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Romantic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Receptionist was less than friendly. Felt the main entree choices were limited. Food was excellent as was the wait staff. Had been looking at the facility to hold a 20 person reception,
glad I visited before booking.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great date night, not too loud. Also accommodating if with children, Although no kids dinner menu they made accommodations for a kid friendly dish.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for Valentines Day. The service was good through most of the meal, but the end it was not. The server dropped the check on the table. He did not offer the dessert menu. I wasn't given the option to take it with me. I had an earlier reservation, wasnt at my table a very long time. There was no excuse for not offering. I was annoyed and disappointed. The food the rest of the meal was great. They also need to put more effort into what they offer for dessert. I've been here before, I love the cheesecake, but the other options are limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Okay so let me just start with my one and only complaint then I’m ready to glorify this place. The greets from the servers are entirely too long. I am a fellow server who’s been around the block for some years now (from casual to fine dining) and my god they’ll put you to sleep with their 5 minute greet. I understand greets are typically longer for guests who’ve never dined at a particular restaurant but I felt so bombarded with information and forced to give some type of order before I could even get water in front of my face. But that’s literally my only complaint, sorry that was so long, now on to the greatness of this place.
Me and my boyfriend came here for our valentine’s date. The food and service was really great. For appetizers we got the fiesta egg rolls (hands down the best appetizer they have) along with the shrimp cargot; I’m not going to lie it was simply okay wouldn’t order it again personally. Made me regret not ordering the cornbread instead.
For drinks I got the cucumber gimlet— I had three of them so there’s my review for that.
For dinner I got the market fish (rockfish imperial) and it was literally to die for. The rice and Brussel sprouts it came with were exquisite! After demolishing our appetizers I still somehow managed to eat my entire entreé. There were almost moments of defeat but took that mf’n rockfish downnn. My boyfriend had the meatloaf and was just as impressed he couldn’t hang though, he had to get a box too but his leftovers didn’t last paat later that evening. For dessert I can’t quite remember the name of it but it was like a brownie sandwich sundae type of ordeal. Soooo amazingggg. We couldn’t make it through the sundae but we got halfway through before we claimed defeat.
Overall this an amazing restaurant with amazing food and cocktails. And excellent service. Outside of the tiresome greet hands down one of the best places to eat at.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great, except we had to wait 15 mins. to seat down when we made an online reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was pathetic .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2018

We were there for a late lunch and caught the tail end of the brunch menu which was a pleasant surprise. The steak and eggs were cooked as I like it and my son enjoyed his eggs Benedict. The meals came with a complimentary drink, mine champagne and my son’s a mimosa.

Our waiter Kenneth was alert and attentive with a pleasant personality.

This is one of our favorite restaurants and we will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2018

I had the Salmon and Orzo rice I thought that it was expensive for the amount of salmon. The food tasted good and the presentation was nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2018

The salmon is the best anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Food was good, service was a bit sporadic, felt very rushed at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Great food, good service! It was all that. The Bread pudding is TDF!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 25, 2018

The catch of the day - cod with crab on top - suggested by the waiter was amazing! Also very good vegetable platter and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2018

My daughter and I celebrated her birthday at the Copper Canyon. I made the reservation through Open Table and indicated under special requests that the special occasion was my daughter's birthday. When she stepped away from the table to use the restroom, our server, McCall, approached me and asked me what type of dessert my daughter might prefer. I wasn't absolutely sure that my notation of the special occasion would be passed on to the server and was delighted to see that it had and that a reminder from me would not be necessary. Our server was absolutely terrific - extremely attentive without being in our faces all the time. The meal was absolutely superb and we actually ordered two additional main dishes to bring home with us. When the dessert came out at the end of the meal my daughter was absolutely delighted with the dessert, which was an extremely ample portion, and I was surprised and pleased to learn that the manager had instructed there would be no charge for the birthday dessert. All in all, this is a terrific place to come for lunch and we can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Upon seating us we requested a gluten free menu. The hostess told us 5 times that she would get it but that was a long walk to get it..odd. Valerie was a fantastic waitress she new the food, ingredients and made recommendations. Managers stepped in to get water but we never got refills. It was nice to see mgrs assisting staff when busy- teamwork. On a busy weekend have someone doing refills/runner. Mixed drinks were overloaded with ice. Two sips and margaritas were done, no refills for that reason. French dip was an extremely small portion..not an $18 sandwich. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Make the artichoke dip without flour so it can be a gluten free option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was cooked as ordered despite dietary restriction. Service very prompt and courteous

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2018

Relaxing and pleasant ambiance with superb cuisine and a terrific lunch menu. Our only complaint, which has absolutely nothing to do with the restaurant, is that it's nearly impossible to find parking close to the restaurant. There is a covered garage a block-and-a-half down the road, but even that garage is always packed no matter what time of day we try to find parking. Other than that, we highly recommend the Copper Canyon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 17, 2018

I had the baby-back ribs and they were excellent...mouth-watering. Couldn't have been better.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2018

Everyone at the table enjoyed the food and felt the portion sizes were really generous.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Lovely seating. The sizing for the food was equivalent to the price and the food was delicious. We made reservation for 6:45pm on new year and we were out by 7:35. Not much noise if you take away two crying babies that on two tables next to us. Other than that, awesome place. We will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Went here for a romantic date on new years eve. The food was great and so were the prices. However, I could tell the staff was eager to close up. Our waitress actually took my dish before I was done, and I could tell the staff was starting to get annoyed with the people remaining in the restaurant which I understand, since it was a holiday. Having said that, they didn't have to

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Arrived prior to our reservation time. Table was ready but we opted to have a drink with friends at the bar first. We were promptly seated when we were ready to be seated.

Atmosphere was such that we were able to sit and talk with our party well after our meal was finished.

Food was cooked to order and the waitstaff was friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Waiter great but more wine need. Purchased glass mid price wine for $11.00. Her pre determined measure was only about a 1/3 if the glass. Our waiter informed us as we complained.

The mid glass of wine was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I love this restaurant!! Everything was perfect--service, food, ambience--and I can't wait to go again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

4 adults and a 9 yo came for Christmas Eve dinner and it was lovely. Busy night, many had the same idea. Warm and welcoming, options for a diverse crowd.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Best service of any restaurant, food is great and your drinks are never empty.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We were there for lunch with a large party of 9. We were put outside on one of the coldest days this winter, but it's enclosed with heaters, so we were actually very warm. The inside might have been a bit livelier, but the quiet was fine for us, since it was a semi-meeting. Food was delicious. My petite steak salad was very large and the dressing was tasty. A little bit of hard fat on the steak, which I couldn't eat, but not much and not a big deal to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2017

We were dining with friends and were seating promptly, the food was good, but the service was less than what we experienced previously. The server came across a bit “rough around the edges” and was not as attentive as we were accustomed, had to “waive someone down” for water refill and drink refill. I hope this was simply an anomaly and would still recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2017

The food and service are always excellent. We go here frequently/

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Good food, quick service, great wait staff. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2017

I always enjoy dinner at Copper Canyon and find the food and service to be consistently good. Steaks were excellent and the service was really exceptional. It's nice to still have a quality establishment like this in the neighborhood! My only slight issue is that the noise level can get loud, especially near the bar. But can ask for a booth or table in a quieter spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We had an early reservation and the food came out rapidly. The meatloaf was great. My husband ordered a burger stressing he wanted it pink. It was not. He enjoyed the burger but it was too dry.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2017

A good friend of mine was in town, so my girlfriend d and I met him for dinner. The food was excellent, and the service matched. If you’re looking for a casual dining experience wit just enough class, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2017

I love this restaurant however on a Friday evening, very noisy, trying to have a conversation. I would like if the Waite staff asked if you have the membership card. I forget and they ask and I eat there a lot and would have so many points.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Awesome place, good food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Very good food and service. Really, really loud! Unable to carry on any conversation with members of our group of four.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great location! Can sit on the water when it's nice out - great views through most of the restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2017

The customer service was awesome, and food was great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I loved that I was heard. I made the reservation stating it was for my fiancé’s birthday and copper canyon was able to take us to our table right away in a semi-private area. I loved our table it was by the water. It made the night magical. Happy happy!

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our server on Saturday afternoon was Enrique and he was awesome. He was there with water and extra chips before we even realized we needed them! He described the specials so well, we ended up with both the smoked salmon dip and chicken veggie quesadilla - excellent choices. He gave us just the right amount of time to ourselves and came back at the right moments. Enrique was hands down the best server I've had at any restaurant in a very long time! Thank you for making our first trip to Copper Canyon super pleasant, because of you we will be back! Kudos to the chef and kitchen staff as well. Everything we had (also pot pie and rattlesnake pasta) was delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We always enjoy Copper Canyon...this is about our 10th time there. Our table had the crab cakes, salmon, and the (not your mom's) meat loaf. All were excellent, and the portions were big enough that only 1 of us finished. The awesome Santa Fe egg rolls for starters might have had something to do with it. Drink service was a little slow, but it was a packed house this particular Friday night. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.