About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg, Gaithersburg, MD
  • Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg, Gaithersburg, MD

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Casual (13)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Waterfront (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Healthy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Wood Oven (6)
People Watching (6)
Romantic (5)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Live Sports (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great meal at Copper Canyon Gri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great meal at Copper Canyon Grill. The menu was varied and had offerings for everyone in our party. The noise level in the restaurant was a little too loud to carry on in depth conversations and made it a little difficult to hear the waiter. The noise seemed to come from one large gathering at the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I was a little disappointed in the food. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

I was a little disappointed in the food. I had the rotisserie chicken that was a bit dry. My husband had the mahi mahi special that was very bland. The deserts were amazing which is why I'm giving 3stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Outstanding service and excellent food. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding service and excellent food. Affordable in a great setting with views of the lake. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, People Watching, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the third time I have dined here ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is the third time I have dined here and every time I book with Open Table they try to seat us at a lousy table -- near the bathroom or kitchen door -- when there are plenty of good tables open. They seat us at a better table when we insist. The bar is slow and always takes forever to receive your drink. They bring the main course too soon, when you are still eating your starter. Or right as you've finished it. The expensive prime rib was at least one-quarter pure fat that had to be cut away. This has been the same type of experience multiple times. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was very good but what made the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was very good but what made the night wonderful was the service. The Valets were upbeat from when we dropped off our car through the pick up. The hostesses were welcoming and flexible with our changes and requests. The highlight of the evening was having Enricho as our waiter. He gave us great service, by being attentive without being intrusive and so efficient but never rushing -a real professional. Thanks to the entire staff! We look forward to our return to Copper Canyon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant had very attentive server ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The restaurant had very attentive servers. The Korean barbecue was a disappointment but the fish of the day (Mahi Mahi) was very good and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always fun to go here to eat with m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It's always fun to go here to eat with my family or for hanging out at the bar with my husband.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good quality and service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Consistently good quality and service. Valet parking is convenient in center that is typically a pain in the neck.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was good. I recommend adding it ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good. I recommend adding items to the menu. It is fairly limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

All of the food, to include the Cesear s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All of the food, to include the Cesear salad was very spicy. The burger was rare, even though I asked for medium rare . Did not care for the veggie spring rolls, also very spicey.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent and the service top n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was excellent and the service top notch. Great overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly bartender, hostess and wait sta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Friendly bartender, hostess and wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Crab cakes were outstanding as was the K ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Crab cakes were outstanding as was the Key Lime pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very engaged staff focused on meeting an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very engaged staff focused on meeting and exceeding your needs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter said the food might have tas ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My daughter said the food might have tasted better had the server worn less than an ocean of perfume.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent service- good menu choices! Va ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent service- good menu choices!

Valet parking too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday celebration

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. Our servers, Cha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our servers, Charlotte, Edmund & McCall took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but slightly warm at best. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was good but slightly warm at best. Wait staff was very professional but I feel like it was so over the top for that type of restaurant that it ruined it. They did make an excellent martini and if you're a big eater the portions are large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Dining with friends, we were seated prom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Dining with friends, we were seated promptly, service was good, although the overall noise level made it difficult to hear the server. Food was delivered very quickly and, except for an overly "smokey" half rack of spareribs, everyone in our party enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, great customer service, wond ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, great customer service, wonderful ambiance! I would recommend this place to everyone! My friends and I have been here several times and we are never disappoints! Kudos to this restaurant!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, ambience is great. Han ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great restaurant, ambience is great. Hannah was phenomenal ... knowledgeable, gives good recommendations and explains everything in detail. Great server. Will be back. Thanks for great food, drinks and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exceptional and server was very ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was exceptional and server was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Enrique is the best server on property. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enrique is the best server on property. He goes over and beyond to ensure that his guest have the best dining experience. The food is always served hot and it is delectable. We are frequenters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff and fabulous food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great staff and fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Comfort style food not what I'd call hea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Comfort style food not what I'd call healthy eating but tasty and good service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We've dined there twice in the last mont ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We've dined there twice in the last month. On this visit someone ordered the salmon, which is not my favorite. I must say that after tasting it, I really enjoyed will probably order that next time. All the meals came hot and as ordered. It's nice that they allow substitutions. I ordered broccolini instead of fries and they were fresh and done properly. All five of us were really delighted our meals. It was also nice to be able to make a reservation with Open Table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was fresh and plenty of it. Could ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was fresh and plenty of it. Could have shared on meal. Or one for each and have dinner the next day

Waitress extremely attentive. And friendly

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The wood-grilled steak salad is always t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The wood-grilled steak salad is always the BEST. Our server was fabulous--very kind and professional. The manager was so kind as to lower the music because our party has a hard time hearing.

Hope you never discontinue that salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had excellent food and excellent wait ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had excellent food and excellent wait staff, including a trainee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food and great service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always great food and great service. Love this place !

Tags: Waterfront, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celiac friendly. Thank you for a safe an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Celiac friendly. Thank you for a safe and very enjoyable meal!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Bar Seating, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a tad noisy - a couple of small chi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Just a tad noisy - a couple of small children ages 3 to 7 got loose and wandered a bit - that was the only downside - and it was brief. Otherwise - nice lunch and relaxing. Being lunch I did not try any adult beverages, so I can't comment on any bar favorites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service & food was great! Will definitel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service & food was great! Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food looks better then it tastes. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food looks better then it tastes. The service was great , i never had to ask for a refill because they were constantly around and refilled when they saw your drink was close to empty. But I much rather go to olive garden to eat a much more tasteful meal and save some money then spend money on something not so enjoyable.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Great experience!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was outstanding. Our waiter was fully aware of the preparation of food and extremely prompt in returning filling drinks, asking if everything OK, very good attitude - up and happy. The food was so very fresh, tasty and portions are extremely accommodating a healthy appetite. Loved it!!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Limited menu but great food

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Limited menu but great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Smoked salmon was outstanding. Cooked me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Smoked salmon was outstanding. Cooked medium to medium well, it was done enough yet still moist and the flavor was wonderful. Spinach and orzo-rice that came with it were complementary. A glass of Sauvignon Blanc went perfectly with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.