About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (14)
Casual (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Family Style (8)
Cozy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (7)
Wood Oven (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Sports (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My first visit!! Great restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'm extremely disappointed that you took away the chicken parmesan, the whole reason i made a reservation was because i had been craving it! i tried the french dip sandwich and it made me ill the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

copper canyon has always been a good choice for us. nice atmosphere and good food every time.

Only concern can be a bit noisier than the main area in the patio area even when covered.

FYI - reservations recommended

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Shrimpcargot was excellent. Service was excellent. One hiccup...I ordered my steal medium/well and it came rare. I dent it back and it came back medium. I did not send it back again as it was tasty. Spinach was delicious. All in all a great meal and a good experience with my wife on Valentine's day

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is the 2nd time I've been here in the last 30-days. I really want to like it, but I won't be back. The service is lackluster, the hostesses look downright irritated when you arrive. Attention to detail is lacking, and good thing I have it. I ordered a salad off of their "gluten free" menu and it's the 2nd time it came with fried wontons. Don't offer it if you can't execute it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Seafood was not freah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Salmon was good, french dip was good, however the chicken was dry...

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant serves decent food, but the portion sizes are huge. Appetizers are the size of main course, and main course is good for at least two people. This is probably why the prices are on the expensive side. Next time we come here we'll order less. Service was OK, even though the restaurant was full and the waiters were quite busy. Ambiance is generally OK too, but since it was crowded, the noise level was a bit above what I like.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service is amazing! From the valet to the wait staff - top notch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner, nice selection of hot teas, and very attentive waiter. Love that chocolate dessert!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The calamari appetizer was very tasty.

However, the Prime Rib burger special lack flavor.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We loved our meals -- delicious, melt in your mouth steak! Fun spin on "rattle snake" pasta - cooked just right, not overly sauced. Loved the chicken parmesan and sautéed spinach. We tried this on a whim and needed a late night dinner. Our server was a gem - her name is McCall (sp?). We will definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food with very attentive and friendly service. Ribs were delicious and the chicken pot pie was a big hit.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Service is always good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great as always

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great evening with great friends. Our server Enrique was awesome. Love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Crabcake sandwich was good, but fries arrived cold. I don't think they were freshly made. Service was really good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went to the Copper Canyon Grill with 7 business associates. After a short wait enjoying happy hour at the bar we were seated. The food was outstanding and the service staff very attentive. Great experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent service with very good food. Good menu selection. Noisy by the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was quite the experience. I took my mother, brother, and aunt out for a special occasion - mother's birthday. The server, Brian, was helpful, friendly, diligent, and moderately fast. He was helpful in telling us the food options. Friendly because he was quite patient. Diligent and moderately fast because he was would also be sure that we had everything we needed from refilling our drinks to assuring that we were comfortable. Our table ordered the Salmon and Prime Rib. The prime rib was well done, mashed potatoes were delicious but the green beans needed more cooking. The salmon was appetizing, the spinach was great, but the rice was a bit dry for my mother's taste. Overall, it was a good service.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a great meal at Copper Canyon Grill. The menu was varied and had offerings for everyone in our party. The noise level in the restaurant was a little too loud to carry on in depth conversations and made it a little difficult to hear the waiter. The noise seemed to come from one large gathering at the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the food. I had the rotisserie chicken that was a bit dry. My husband had the mahi mahi special that was very bland. The deserts were amazing which is why I'm giving 3stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding service and excellent food. Affordable in a great setting with views of the lake. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, People Watching, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is the third time I have dined here and every time I book with Open Table they try to seat us at a lousy table -- near the bathroom or kitchen door -- when there are plenty of good tables open. They seat us at a better table when we insist. The bar is slow and always takes forever to receive your drink. They bring the main course too soon, when you are still eating your starter. Or right as you've finished it. The expensive prime rib was at least one-quarter pure fat that had to be cut away. This has been the same type of experience multiple times. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was very good but what made the night wonderful was the service. The Valets were upbeat from when we dropped off our car through the pick up. The hostesses were welcoming and flexible with our changes and requests. The highlight of the evening was having Enricho as our waiter. He gave us great service, by being attentive without being intrusive and so efficient but never rushing -a real professional. Thanks to the entire staff! We look forward to our return to Copper Canyon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The restaurant had very attentive servers. The Korean barbecue was a disappointment but the fish of the day (Mahi Mahi) was very good and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It's always fun to go here to eat with my family or for hanging out at the bar with my husband.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Consistently good quality and service. Valet parking is convenient in center that is typically a pain in the neck.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good. I recommend adding items to the menu. It is fairly limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All of the food, to include the Cesear salad was very spicy. The burger was rare, even though I asked for medium rare . Did not care for the veggie spring rolls, also very spicey.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was excellent and the service top notch. Great overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Friendly bartender, hostess and wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Crab cakes were outstanding as was the Key Lime pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very engaged staff focused on meeting and exceeding your needs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My daughter said the food might have tasted better had the server worn less than an ocean of perfume.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent service- good menu choices!

Valet parking too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our servers, Charlotte, Edmund & McCall took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was good but slightly warm at best. Wait staff was very professional but I feel like it was so over the top for that type of restaurant that it ruined it. They did make an excellent martini and if you're a big eater the portions are large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Dining with friends, we were seated promptly, service was good, although the overall noise level made it difficult to hear the server. Food was delivered very quickly and, except for an overly "smokey" half rack of spareribs, everyone in our party enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, great customer service, wonderful ambiance! I would recommend this place to everyone! My friends and I have been here several times and we are never disappoints! Kudos to this restaurant!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great restaurant, ambience is great. Hannah was phenomenal ... knowledgeable, gives good recommendations and explains everything in detail. Great server. Will be back. Thanks for great food, drinks and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was exceptional and server was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enrique is the best server on property. He goes over and beyond to ensure that his guest have the best dining experience. The food is always served hot and it is delectable. We are frequenters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great staff and fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Comfort style food not what I'd call healthy eating but tasty and good service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We've dined there twice in the last month. On this visit someone ordered the salmon, which is not my favorite. I must say that after tasting it, I really enjoyed will probably order that next time. All the meals came hot and as ordered. It's nice that they allow substitutions. I ordered broccolini instead of fries and they were fresh and done properly. All five of us were really delighted our meals. It was also nice to be able to make a reservation with Open Table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was fresh and plenty of it. Could have shared on meal. Or one for each and have dinner the next day

Waitress extremely attentive. And friendly

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The wood-grilled steak salad is always the BEST. Our server was fabulous--very kind and professional. The manager was so kind as to lower the music because our party has a hard time hearing.

Hope you never discontinue that salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had excellent food and excellent wait staff, including a trainee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.