About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg
Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Gaithersburg ›

great for outdoor dining (48)
good for groups (48)
special occasion (44)
See All
neighborhood gem (40)
scenic view (38)
great for lunch (36)
great for brunch (27)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (24)
kid-friendly (23)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The only thing I would recon and is the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The only thing I would recon and is the size of the table out side to be changed. Four of us sitting outside it was very small to put plates and drinks. I suggest thinking to change table for four to be a little bigger or sit 3 people only on that kind of table. Other than that it was an excellent experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service for desert we ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service for desert we had the pineapple cake which came piping hot with layer of pineapple and ice cream. It was light and had just the right amount of sweetness. Service was prompt and courteous--we are definitely coming back here again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice for lunch/brunch. Live music w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice for lunch/brunch. Live music was a very nice touch too. Food was served promptly and was delicious. Our server Natasha was fantastic- highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the outdoor patio and view of th ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the outdoor patio and view of the lake. Our server was excellent and food tasted great. It is a bit noisy but it is a popular spot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3

Overpriced Fridays

Dined on June 17, 2016

Overpriced Fridays

food5
ambience5
service5

Great server, great food.

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great server, great food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Never disappoints

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

My son loves Copper Canyon Grill so we went for lunch to celebrate his last day of school. The food is always prepared well and very tasty, the service is great. I wasn't aware they do not have a lunch menu (smaller portions/lower price), and that would be a nice change. Otherwise, great time and experience as usual!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great meal and enjoyable dinner!

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a nice table, fit for children and adults. The wine list was perfect and the food turned out really well. We were happy with the experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

DAD celebrates his GRAD

Dined on June 3, 2016

I took my family to Copper Canyon following my daughters H.S. graduation (actually made the reservations in the middle of graduation thanks to the great OpenTable app on my iPhone). Copper Canyon seated us at 9:30pm without hesitation; even though the restaurant was due to close at 10pm. The service was great, scenery beautiful, food was of exceptional quality and presentation. We never felt rushed; rather like they shared in the celebration of my daughter's accomplishment. Could not have been better!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carrie's Quiet Ambiance

Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant was quiet. The waiting staff were very attentive to our needs. I will frequent this restaurant again soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally used a gift card given 2 years p ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Finally used a gift card given 2 years prior for a lunch stop over the weekend. Very glad we did. Excellent service and very good food. Long island iced tea from the bar was one of the better ones I have had recently. We will likely return shortly since we will be moving over an hour's drive away for retirement.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken is amazing! Even the chicken ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The chicken is amazing! Even the chicken salad is amazing! Can't get over the chocolate uprising either.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Server was very personable and knowledga ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Server was very personable and knowledgable of menu and pairings!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! Always get the bes ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was great! Always get the best service at the Gaithersburg location.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always love this place. The food is fres ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always love this place. The food is fresh and flavorful.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Service Around

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outside of the food being consistently good, the experience here is made by the service. While each table is assigned a main server, any and all walking by are happy to help. It can get crowded, as do all other restaurants in this area, but if you have a reservation you are seated quickly. Beware the atmosphere is somewhat noisy, and actually a little dark for my tastes, but not enough of a problem to deter us from repeated visits.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Pancakes and french toast were delicious ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Pancakes and french toast were delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day at Copper Canyon this past Sunday and it is truly an outstanding restaurant. The servers are extremely friendly and efficient; the outdoor patio offers a beautiful view of the lake at Rio and the food was absolutely delicious. We had two small children with us (ages 5 and 2) and there were other people on the patio with babies and toddlers, and yet you didn't hear tons of screaming as is often the case when seated around small children. The service was very quick without making you feel rushed, and the fact that we could reserve a table in advance and not take our chances on waiting for one to become available - which wouldn't have even been an option with two young children - was a real bonus. This was our first time dining at Copper Canyon, which is most definitely a five star establishment - and we look forward to doing so again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous prime rib

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were staying in Gaithersburg for a wedding and were not familiar with any restaurants. I chose the Copper Canyon Grill for its proximity to where we were staying. Great choice. The prime rib rivaled what we get at very expensive steak houses in downtown DC and the Tysons area but at half the price. The place is noisy but we were able to have a conversation. Definitely need reservations for a Friday night.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Consistent quality all around

Dined on April 29, 2016

We hadn't been to Copper Canyon for a while, so were not sure if it had changed. Nice to know that it remains a solid very good to excellent on all fronts. We arrived exactly on time for our Open Table reservation on a packed Friday night, and despite the long line were seated immediately. It was next to a table full of prom attendees, so I was apprehensive. Fortunately, they were not a rowdy bunch and we were able to carry on normal conversation throughout our meal. Between the calamari and the artichoke dip appetizers, it is difficult to choose which was better; both were very nice (though a better balance between the amount of chips and dip would be useful). My steak was done just right, as were the other meals. All in all, it was a very pleasant family night out that made my wife's birthday special. We should come here more often.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Meal; Excellent Service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waitress was McCall; she gets 5 stars (excellent)!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 16, 2016

We very much enjoy visiting Copper Canyon. The food and service are top notch!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

A reliable spot for a friendly or a business meal

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

This is a reliable spot for a friendly or a business meal. The location on the water makes it ideal for lounging and relaxing, or for long conversations with colleagues. The food is reliable, consistent. (Though I'd like to add a kick to the fish Naachos.) The service here is always good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Better than the alternatives

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Copper Canyon is better than the lower priced alternative restaurants that are around it.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend Copper Canyon G ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

I would highly recommend Copper Canyon Grill for anyone who enjoys great food and good service in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tim saved the day...

Dined on March 27, 2016

we pointed Tim out to the hostess and asked to be seated in his area after recognizing him from a previous visit. We were glad we did , the service was excellent and we were happy we returned to copper canyon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Enjoyed a nice brunch here on Easter Sunday. The food was delicious , but a limited selection of breakfast foods the menu. The atmosphere is great and the wait staff was very good. Great place for evening meals.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband had the chicken and ribs comb ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

My husband had the chicken and ribs combo (not on the menu but they made it for him) and loved it! I had the steak salad and it was good. Not my favorite but I was choosing with calories in mind, so I'm sure I would have been happier with a different choice. All in all a very good meal and a good time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worth a second visit

Dined on March 16, 2016

I went to Copper Canyon Grill twice for dinner with different colleagues. The 1st time I had the Ruby Red Trout Special and my colleague had the Rockfish. I had never heard of Ruby Red Trout (Rainbow Trout, yes) but I decided to try it. I was not disappointed and neither was my dinner companion. Our food was perfectly cooked and simply delicious. The 2nd time, I was more traditional. I had one of their "specialties", BBQ Chicken and again was pleased with the flavour and tenderness of my dinner. The volume of food was ample , but not overwhelming. The service was crisp and the wait-time for our food was minimal. There was enough of a wine selection to meet most tastes and the prices overall were reasonable. I would definitely go back if I was staying in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pay through the OpenTable app?

Dined on March 13, 2016

I like Copper Canyon Grill. The opportunity to pay for my meal through the OpenTable app using Apple Pay is what brought me to this restaurant on this particular day. I wanted to see how it all worked. I was a pretty awesome experience. Other than that, I have always liked the food and service and the ambiance is really nice. It's a place that sort of feels like home; A very nice home.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great experience at Copper Canyon. Our reservation was at 7:15 and we were promptly seated. Our waiter was very courteous and professional.....took our drink order and returned quickly. He took our order and food was delivered very quickly. Food was delicious. Waiter checked in to make sure we were satisfied. Overall and great night, food and service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

There were (maybe) 10 tables seated. The ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

There were (maybe) 10 tables seated. The hosted walked us past all of them and 10 other empty tables and sat us right next to the kitchen entrance. Insulting. We asked to be seated somewhere else and we did. I don't need to go back there. Food was meh.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was phenomenal - giving tastes of the wines to be sure we got what we wanted. They had some really innovative sides - like steamed red cabbage with goat cheese, which was a total delight at the "foodie" level. Altogether a great meal and dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Not What I Expected

Dined on February 27, 2016

My sister, daughter, and I went to Copper Canyon Grill for lunch. I've been to the Lanham location before and had a great time but that was not the case at this location. First, our server came to the table to get our drink orders and returned a few minutes later with our drinks. After that is when the service went downhill. I don't want to put her name on here to embarrass her so I'll just put her initials, AP. She was gone for about 10 minutes and we finally flagged her down. When she came to the table, she asked if we wanted to place our order. We told her that we did and she asked us to give her a few more minutes. Seriously? When, she finally returned, she took our order and we had to ask her for the complimentary bread since she didn't mention it. Again, she disappeared for about 15 minutes, then brought our bread. Honestly, we had forgotten all about it since it had been so long. Two minutes later, our meals come out, which were brought out by her co-worker. Why even bother bringing out the bread if the meals were about to come? I don't like being harassed while I'm eating but, at least, come by a couple of times to see if we need anything. It took forever to get our check and we were very much ready to leave. Clearly, the service from AP was horrible but her co-workers who assisted us were much better. Looking back on it, I should have given them her tip instead of her because they earned it and she didn't. Additionally, the food left a lot to be desired. I'd read rave reviews about the meatloaf so I tried it. I ate it because I was hungry but I wouldn't order it again. My daughter had the fish sandwich and said that it was ok but she'd had better. My sister had the crab cake sandwich and she said that it was good. Overall, the location is beautiful but the service left a lot to be desired. I hope that management sees this review and does some retraining with AP.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

The server was attentive and professiona ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The server was attentive and professional. The food was very good. Would definitely recommend this place.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but a little pricey

Dined on February 20, 2016

I enjoy going to Copper Canyon best when it's just my wife and me for pot pies. We took friends and dinner for four was near $150 & my wife and I still just got pot pies and my friend commented that the steak he got was so-so! Also, they didn't record our being there, even after I told them we had a reservation, so OpenTable sent me a "we missed you letter" which wasn't a great feeling as it sounded like we had stood them up. In total, I did not enjoy the night with friends as well as I had previous enjoyed just taking my wife there for pot pies. We can get pot pies at KFC that taste as good for a third of the price.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Perfect Place to Meet

Dined on February 18, 2016

Met my adult son, who i hadnt seen for months, for dinner. The place was warm and fruendly. Our waiter gave us just perfect service with just the right amount of attention and room for conversation. The food was exceptional! What more could you want?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

This place is just overrated!!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very limited menu plus when I tried to order steak waitress told me they run out of it...on Valentines day?!!!! Once I ordered apetizer and main corse they came 2 minutes apart which is impossible unless slow cooked rotisserie chicken was already made or they made a mistake and gave me someone else's order. I had half of the glass of wine when waitress came back with check without offering a desert, same happened few minutes later while I was having a desert and my next glass of wine. Constantly had a feeling I was being rushed. I don't understand why does the place with poor management and bad service requires a reservations anyway. Will definitely never come here again or recommend it to anyone, quite opposite will make sure none of the people I know make the same mistake I did.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our "Go to Place"

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy Copper Canyon! The food is always good and service is professional and friendly. A must try is their signature roasted chicken. Go, relax and enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice for brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice location for brunch large portion sizes, but they have limited options.

Tags: great for brunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.