About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg, Gaithersburg, MD
  • Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg, Gaithersburg, MD
Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg, Gaithersburg, MD
Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg, Gaithersburg, MD

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Gaithersburg ›

Scenic View (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Waterfront (9)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
Live Sports (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (0)
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wood-grilled steak salad is always t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The wood-grilled steak salad is always the BEST. Our server was fabulous--very kind and professional. The manager was so kind as to lower the music because our party has a hard time hearing.

Hope you never discontinue that salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always great food and great service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always great food and great service. Love this place !

Tags: Waterfront, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celiac friendly. Thank you for a safe an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Celiac friendly. Thank you for a safe and very enjoyable meal!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Bar Seating, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a tad noisy - a couple of small chi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Just a tad noisy - a couple of small children ages 3 to 7 got loose and wandered a bit - that was the only downside - and it was brief. Otherwise - nice lunch and relaxing. Being lunch I did not try any adult beverages, so I can't comment on any bar favorites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service & food was great! Will definitel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service & food was great! Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food looks better then it tastes. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food looks better then it tastes. The service was great , i never had to ask for a refill because they were constantly around and refilled when they saw your drink was close to empty. But I much rather go to olive garden to eat a much more tasteful meal and save some money then spend money on something not so enjoyable.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Great experience!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was outstanding. Our waiter was fully aware of the preparation of food and extremely prompt in returning filling drinks, asking if everything OK, very good attitude - up and happy. The food was so very fresh, tasty and portions are extremely accommodating a healthy appetite. Loved it!!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Limited menu but great food

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Limited menu but great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Smoked salmon was outstanding. Cooked me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Smoked salmon was outstanding. Cooked medium to medium well, it was done enough yet still moist and the flavor was wonderful. Spinach and orzo-rice that came with it were complementary. A glass of Sauvignon Blanc went perfectly with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We talked to the manager that night and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We talked to the manager that night and the general manager the next day. They have a longstanding menu item called Shrimp Cargot. As a Woodfire Club loyalty member, I've ordered it many times in the last 8 or so years we've been going there, including last night. It is served in an escargot dish, each hole with a mushroom and a shrimp cut in two, and then topped with melted gruyere cheese. Last night, it was served with no mushrooms and a much cheaper yellowish colored cheese. New staff were trying to tell me, "that's the way we make it". No, you don't. Whoever changed the prep and kept the same name shouldn't be in the restaurant business. They voluntarily didn't bring a bill to the table, though we did share an appetizer and my husband had a salad, and yet that wasn't the point. We tipped the server, but continued to have the bad taste in our mouth about a restaurant that would "bait and switch" like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Service is rushed with apps and salad co ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service is rushed with apps and salad coming together and entrees before the apps could be finished. Veal porterhouse was undercooked and extremely tough. All in all not was an "OK" meal, not horrible and not good. Best item was calimari.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. The bar, bar staff, and overall feel of the place was welcoming, friendly, and interactive.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I don't come to copper canyon often, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I don't come to copper canyon often, but when I do I always leave happy. The restaurant has a beautiful aura with the dim candle lit interior, as well as an amazing staff. The food is rather expensive, but well worth the price. Try the shrimp cargot! It's my personal favorite on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good food at Copper Canyon Grill. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Always good food at Copper Canyon Grill. The weather was mild so we sat outside, and enjoyed a nice meal. Service was very very good. The bread pudding is amazing, and enough to share (with 3 other people)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Atmosphere, Great Service and Ther ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great Atmosphere, Great Service and There fall off the bone ribs were on point.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good -- good American burge ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was good -- good American burger type of food. Nothing too creative on the menu. Service was a bit over-zealous. We were seated at a corner and kept getting bumped into. And it was a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Second time guest. Food is great, servic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Second time guest. Food is great, service is good, but the noise level is pretty high. First time we were seated near the front door and it was better. This time we were seated near the kitchen despite our request for Closer to the door. I would not stay next time if we had to sit there. The noise was so bad we couldn't hold a decent conversation. Food is great though!!!!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We've been to Copper Canyon a number of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've been to Copper Canyon a number of times, but we made a mistake in requesting the patio on a Friday evening. The noise at the bar made it impossible to hear anything. The food was ok, but at the prices that are charged, it could have been better. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Very very noisy! Met up with friends an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very very noisy! Met up with friends and could barely hear each other while sitting at a small table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our first time here - everythin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This was our first time here - everything was perfect including the delicious complementary pineapple upside down cake dessert for our friends birthday. We will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food very well prepared, with exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Tasty food very well prepared, with excellent service by our waiter. Our reservation was honored immediately and we were seated in the open area over-looking the lake and carousel. Each item was delicious, and it is certainly a restaurant to which we shall return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My family and I had dinner at Copper Can ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My family and I had dinner at Copper Canyon Grill in Gaithersburg on Friday, Sept. 23, 2016. The service was great. Matthew, our server was on top of things. It was Friday night and very busy but it didn't show. We didn't have to wait long for our food, our empty dishes or empty glass of wine never lingered long on our table. Everything was great. Matthew was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to take family & friends for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great place to take family & friends for a weekend dinner; lovely atmosphere; great wait staff.

Been there 3 times in the past month.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat outside near the water and it was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We sat outside near the water and it was beautiful. All of the staff was excellent and helpful and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good food, service was excellent ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overall good food, service was excellent, atmosphere was vibrant. I do think it's not a great value.

I was disappointed that on the Open Table reservation I indicated that we were celebrating a birthday and wanted outdoor seating. I also specifically provided my phone number. When we arrived we were told that it wasn't possible to reserve outdoor seating. That being said, I wish someone called me to inform me of this. Also, there was no mention of the fact that we were celebrating a reservation. So, not sure why on the Open Table form there is a place for additional information if the restaurant either doesn't see the information or ignores it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was good and the service was gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good and the service was great! It was a little noisy, so hard to talk to the person next to me, but overall a good atmosphere for dinner. While the menu was a little pricey for what we were looking for, the food was good enough to justify the expense. I would go again and recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have always loved their ribs. Tender, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have always loved their ribs. Tender, juicy, fall of the bone. But this time they tasted dry, as if they were cooked a day or two earlier and left in the oven too long. My husband however enjoyed the meatloaf and the portion was quite large. It is a bit spicy though. Also the service was not as attentive as in the past. We were not offered bread and did not have an opportunity to ask for it when we realized that we didn't get any. It was quiet because we sat outside.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Private Room, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

This is my 4th time eating at a Copper C ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is my 4th time eating at a Copper Canyon, and it's still not a disappointment at all! My favorite dish there is the Chicken Pot Pie. Delicious, excellent flavors, LOTS of chicken. The burgers here are also excellent, and the wait staff is top notch.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night and had only an hour before t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Date night and had only an hour before the movie started. Told the wait and the meatloaf and rotesserie chicken were our first pics. Waitress said this were really quick meals. It seemed like she had barely enough time to walk to the kitchen before our meals arrived hot and tasty. The chicken was moist and the meatloaf was great, but was pretty spicy (which hubby loves). The veggies were fantastic. Only critic the food was a bit salty for us. We even had time for dessert! Wonderful l, attentive staff and delicious hot food. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrible service. Used open table for re ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Horrible service. Used open table for reservation for 630pm, showed up at 634pm and they had given away our table. We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I've been to the Copper Canyon Grill in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've been to the Copper Canyon Grill in Silver Spring and had a much better experience as far as food and service. I found the food subpar for the price, and even though I called ahead to reserve a table, we were seated inside. Since we could see that there were plenty of seats in the outdoor seating area, we asked to sit outside but the hostess just said "I don't make these decisions" and we decided for her that we would sit outside. I wasn't sure if she was new and untrained, or if our moving tables was actually an issue -- it was just really awkward, and she wasn't very accommodating. On top of that, I had put in a note that it was my husband's birthday, which was pointless because there was nothing mentioned or done to celebrate it -- which is something of the norm at most other restaurants to at least bring by a dessert or something. Great location and view, but my husband and I sadly agreed that we don't see any reason to go back.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Waiter was absolutely superb. In fact, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Waiter was absolutely superb. In fact, I have never had a better waiter. He was attentive while letting us eat without much interruption. Also, the people who bused the table were prompt, timely, and polite. The evening was a real pleasure. Lastly, had a great view of the water even though we were inside. Very much enjoyed the food!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They missed our reservation by 30 minute ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

They missed our reservation by 30 minutes - repeatedly saying that we would be seated in just a moment (in all fairness, they were extremely busy). We were offered free appetizers as an apology, which we appreciated. We ordered IPAs, but what came out did not taste like an IPA. The manager explained that there was something wrong with the keg, and as a result they provided multiple free beers instead. We had several servers checking on us, we suspect since we weren't complaining about any of the missteps but the manager was trying to ensure we remained 'happy'. Our meals were enjoyable, and in the end the manager thanked us for our patience with a gift certificate for a future visit. While there were a number of missteps, the staff did respond well and saved our experience. We'd visit again.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We celebrated our 5 year old granddaught ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We celebrated our 5 year old granddaughter's birthday at Copper Canyon. When we arrived, I asked the manager if they had chocolate ice cream. He said they did not. He saw my disappointment because my granddaughter only eats chocolate ice cream. He told me not to worry, that he would have it for her by the time she was ready.

He presented her with a huge scoop of chocolate ice cream. She was thrilled!

The service and attention to the customer is outstanding. We had a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner. Great as always.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had dinner. Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed in my meal. I had ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was very disappointed in my meal. I had chicken pot pie only which was entirely too spicy with some hot spice throughout it. Never have had chicken pot pie with a hot spice in it - which, I might add, did not specify same on their menu. For $17 I could have stayed home and put 3 Marie Callenders pot pie, which I might add, are 10 times better, into the Microwave. My dining partner said her meal (I believe a steak, mashed potatoes & green beans) wasn't cooked fully, so she ate very little of it). I was highly embarrassed as I had been to Copper Canyon once before and highly recommended it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very good and large portion ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was very good and large portions. We all had to get to-go boxes. The Service was good and we were able to be seated right away because of our reservation with Open table

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and Food never disappoints. We w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service and Food never disappoints. We were seated by the window which faces the The Rio. It enables people watching for Pokemon and provides enjoyable outdoor atmosphere while being comfortably seated in doors with air conditioning.

Advise staff of my allergens and they advise me of the obvious food choices to steer clear. They also advise other food I should not eat because they are prepared in the same area. VERY helpful.

I had the salmon with orzo and sauteed spinach. Delicious. My sister had the fried fish with fries.

My only grievance was dessert. I had pineapple upside down cake but it was a yellow cake with pineapple compote. Expected more pineapple flavor infused in the cake. The ice cream was homemade and tasty.

It is one of my favorite places to visit while in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.