About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg
Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Gaithersburg ›

great for outdoor dining (60)
good for groups (48)
special occasion (48)
See All
scenic view (44)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for lunch (35)
fit for foodies (26)
kid-friendly (24)
romantic (23)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was nothing special. We expec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was nothing special. We expected way more for the prices that were listed for the menu items.

Over priced. We certainly won't be returning.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

I could not understand the waiter due to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I could not understand the waiter due to his accent

There was a lot of noise coming from the bar area

Waiter did not understand the drink I ordered and brought out the wrong drink twice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I met my cousin here for dinner. We had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I met my cousin here for dinner. We had not seen one another since we were 5 and 6! The wait staff were very attentive, but I think we drove them nuts as we took forever to order as we could not stop talking!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and menu kind of ehhh Hostess was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and menu kind of ehhh

Hostess was rude. And they first said they couldn't honor my open table reservation and had 1.5 hour wait. Restaurant wasn't that crazy. Then they came back and said you could sit on patio right now. Patio was huge, covered and completely acceptable. Silly they were making people wait when they had a huge outdoor covered dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Consistently good food and service, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Consistently good food and service, but pricey, so better for special occasions rather than routine dining out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant; lovely indoor/outd ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant; lovely indoor/outdoor dining lakeside; great service; delicious food.

I highly recommend Copper Canyon to the "whole wide world."

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No copper, no canyons, but fine food. t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

No copper, no canyons, but fine food. this was our first time at this restaurant, and because the day was so lovely, we opted for outdoor seating. I had the special fish for the day, which was trout. It came with with a rice mixture and lots and lots of steamed spinach. The trout was wonderful. My companion had a turkey with avocado club sandwich, which came with fries, and she pronounced it "terrific". The staff is knowledgeable and they share duties. The view is of the "lake", and was lovely. The only downside to eating outdoors here is that a little kids train route is adjacent to the outdoor seating area, and while not horribly loud, is a bit obnoxious after the first three times by...would we return? Yes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit. My first vis ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was my second visit. My first visit was a private party held outside patio. It was beautiful and the food was delicious. We never went inside and we thought what a wonderful place to come for dinner. We are elderly and I think maybe this restaurant is geared towards a younger crowd. The service was great. We were expected more ambiance inside the restaurant and was slightly disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great ambiance, but service and food su ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great ambiance, but service and food sub par for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My husband and I tried Copper Canyon Gri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I tried Copper Canyon Grill on a Saturday night for the first time. We had 8pm reservations and when we arrived, there was a huge line and we were told to wait in the line to check in. It took 10 mins to get to the head of the line and then we were told they were very crowded and it would be a few more mins until we were seated. It took an additional 20 mins to be seated, so with an 8pm reservation, we weren't seated until 8:30pm. Our waiter was nice and he admitted that they were short-staffed that night (3 people calling out) and the fire alarm went off earlier so that was why there were so many delays. We ordered the skillet corn bread, which arrived within reasonable time, and it was quite good. Our entrees didn't take too long to arrive either, however, there was a problem with mine. My husband had the ribs and said they were delicious. I ordered the filet, medium, and it came out very rare. We called the waiter over and he agreed it was barely cooked and put another order in. It took about 10 mins to receive the entrée once it was sent back, and this time, it was cooked correctly and tasted good. Given the 30 min wait (with a reservation) and that my meal was undercooked and had to be prepared again, we were not given any type of discount off our bill. Usually, the appetizer or drink will be free, as a courtesy, but nothing was offered and we didn't ask for anything. We will return, as clearly it was a bad night due to the fire alarm going off and being short-staffed, but having servers call out on a busy Saturday night (which is every Saturday at this location) should be expected and on-call servers should be available to help. If a meal is not cooked how it should be, it would have been nice to have received something as a courtesy for having to wait more time for another entree to be prepared. This is a busy location, so when we return, we will likely come for lunch or a much earlier dinner. Willing to give this place one more try.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Chaotic when we arrived for friend's bir ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Chaotic when we arrived for friend's birthday dinner. Fire alarm was blaring for more than 30 minutes and no seating was permitted until fire department resolved the alarm problem.One of the hostesses was very nice and repeatedly apologized. Three of the 4of us had to go outside due to the alarm,which gave us headaches.The remaining person was stuck waiting inside to ensure that we weren't forgotten.After waiting more than 1/2 hour,we were finally seated on the lovely patio but the staff was far too busy to provide decent service. However,our waiter was pleasant and took our order,but only after a bit of a wait. Someone else brought our food, and a third person helped the waiter serve our cocktails --AFTER we got our food.The drinks were way too strong and I could not drink mine.One of my friends asked 4 times (and 3 different people)for soy sauce, which she never got until AFTER she'd finished her meal and her plate was taken away. Strip steaks were overcooked and gristly. Not worth $32 each at all.Considering how long we had to wait to be seated despite our reservations,at least our drinks should have been comped.Mediocre experience at best.

(Even this review page isn't right!Won't let me type correct spacing and it keeps auto-deleting letters and even full words!)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food, exceptional service - ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food, exceptional service - very friendly and helpful waiter and food arrived very quickly. Very nice restaurant, but very noisy. Picturesque location. Only downside was lack of adjacent parking and difficult to get to (immediate vicinity not car-friendly).

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only thing I would recon and is the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The only thing I would recon and is the size of the table out side to be changed. Four of us sitting outside it was very small to put plates and drinks. I suggest thinking to change table for four to be a little bigger or sit 3 people only on that kind of table. Other than that it was an excellent experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service for desert we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service for desert we had the pineapple cake which came piping hot with layer of pineapple and ice cream. It was light and had just the right amount of sweetness.

Service was prompt and courteous--we are definitely coming back here again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice for lunch/brunch. Live music w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice for lunch/brunch. Live music was a very nice touch too. Food was served promptly and was delicious. Our server Natasha was fantastic- highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the outdoor patio and view of th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the outdoor patio and view of the lake. Our server was excellent and food tasted great. It is a bit noisy but it is a popular spot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced Fridays

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Overpriced Fridays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great server, great food.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great server, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My son loves Copper Canyon Grill so we went for lunch to celebrate his last day of school. The food is always prepared well and very tasty, the service is great. I wasn't aware they do not have a lunch menu (smaller portions/lower price), and that would be a nice change. Otherwise, great time and experience as usual!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great meal and enjoyable dinner!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a nice table, fit for children and adults. The wine list was perfect and the food turned out really well. We were happy with the experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

DAD celebrates his GRAD

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I took my family to Copper Canyon following my daughters H.S. graduation (actually made the reservations in the middle of graduation thanks to the great OpenTable app on my iPhone). Copper Canyon seated us at 9:30pm without hesitation; even though the restaurant was due to close at 10pm. The service was great, scenery beautiful, food was of exceptional quality and presentation. We never felt rushed; rather like they shared in the celebration of my daughter's accomplishment. Could not have been better!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Carrie's Quiet Ambiance

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant was quiet. The waiting staff were very attentive to our needs. I will frequent this restaurant again soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally used a gift card given 2 years p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Finally used a gift card given 2 years prior for a lunch stop over the weekend. Very glad we did. Excellent service and very good food. Long island iced tea from the bar was one of the better ones I have had recently. We will likely return shortly since we will be moving over an hour's drive away for retirement.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chicken is amazing! Even the chicken ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The chicken is amazing! Even the chicken salad is amazing! Can't get over the chocolate uprising either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was very personable and knowledga ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Server was very personable and knowledgable of menu and pairings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was great! Always get the bes ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was great! Always get the best service at the Gaithersburg location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love this place. The food is fres ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always love this place. The food is fresh and flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Service Around

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outside of the food being consistently good, the experience here is made by the service. While each table is assigned a main server, any and all walking by are happy to help. It can get crowded, as do all other restaurants in this area, but if you have a reservation you are seated quickly. Beware the atmosphere is somewhat noisy, and actually a little dark for my tastes, but not enough of a problem to deter us from repeated visits.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Pancakes and french toast were delicious ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Pancakes and french toast were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hidden Gem!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day at Copper Canyon this past Sunday and it is truly an outstanding restaurant. The servers are extremely friendly and efficient; the outdoor patio offers a beautiful view of the lake at Rio and the food was absolutely delicious. We had two small children with us (ages 5 and 2) and there were other people on the patio with babies and toddlers, and yet you didn't hear tons of screaming as is often the case when seated around small children. The service was very quick without making you feel rushed, and the fact that we could reserve a table in advance and not take our chances on waiting for one to become available - which wouldn't have even been an option with two young children - was a real bonus. This was our first time dining at Copper Canyon, which is most definitely a five star establishment - and we look forward to doing so again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous prime rib

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were staying in Gaithersburg for a wedding and were not familiar with any restaurants. I chose the Copper Canyon Grill for its proximity to where we were staying. Great choice. The prime rib rivaled what we get at very expensive steak houses in downtown DC and the Tysons area but at half the price. The place is noisy but we were able to have a conversation. Definitely need reservations for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistent quality all around

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We hadn't been to Copper Canyon for a while, so were not sure if it had changed. Nice to know that it remains a solid very good to excellent on all fronts. We arrived exactly on time for our Open Table reservation on a packed Friday night, and despite the long line were seated immediately. It was next to a table full of prom attendees, so I was apprehensive. Fortunately, they were not a rowdy bunch and we were able to carry on normal conversation throughout our meal. Between the calamari and the artichoke dip appetizers, it is difficult to choose which was better; both were very nice (though a better balance between the amount of chips and dip would be useful). My steak was done just right, as were the other meals. All in all, it was a very pleasant family night out that made my wife's birthday special. We should come here more often.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious Meal; Excellent Service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waitress was McCall; she gets 5 stars (excellent)!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We very much enjoy visiting Copper Canyon. The food and service are top notch!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A reliable spot for a friendly or a business meal

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

This is a reliable spot for a friendly or a business meal. The location on the water makes it ideal for lounging and relaxing, or for long conversations with colleagues. The food is reliable, consistent. (Though I'd like to add a kick to the fish Naachos.)

The service here is always good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Better than the alternatives

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Copper Canyon is better than the lower priced alternative restaurants that are around it.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

I would highly recommend Copper Canyon G ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I would highly recommend Copper Canyon Grill for anyone who enjoys great food and good

service in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tim saved the day...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

we pointed Tim out to the hostess and asked to be seated in his area after recognizing him from a previous visit. We were glad we did , the service was excellent and we were happy we returned to copper canyon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Enjoyed a nice brunch here on Easter Sunday. The food was delicious , but a limited selection of breakfast foods the menu. The atmosphere is great and the wait staff was very good. Great place for evening meals.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was standard chain restaurant food, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Food was standard chain restaurant food, our first server was very attentive but intrusive. No bargain but not outrageous either. I wish had taken the dessert home, we ate too much to finish even of it and the 2nd waiter was in a to clear our table because it was time.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.