About Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg

100 Boardwalk Pl
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
View Larger Map

With a unique focus on creating an inviting upscale dining experience, we serve fresh, familiar food in a high-energy, sophisticated casual setting. Our chefs prepare full-flavored food from scratch daily, using fresh seasonal ingredients. We stay true to classic American comfort food that is simple, but deliciously prepared. A knowledgeable team approach provides unwavering attention to delighting our guests with warm and consistent service. Copper Canyon Grill's timeless atmosphere appeals to discerning adults who are seeking a dining experience that is energetic, upscale but approachable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday -Thursday: 11:00am - 10:05pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 11:05pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(240) 631-0003

Website:
http://ccgrill.com/

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat dad to a special brunch or dinner featuring culinary delights and live jazz. Space is filling up, so make your reservations today and treat dad on his special day.

Private Dining

Copper Canyon Grill offers Chef prepared classic American comfort food from scratch, hand-crafted cocktails, and excellent service for private events. Our beautifully appointed patio, which is available either enclosed or open air, accommodates 70 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail event.

Copper Canyon Grill - Gaithersburg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (43)
special occasion (40)
great for lunch (39)
See All
great for outdoor dining (37)
neighborhood gem (34)
scenic view (30)
romantic (29)
great for brunch (28)
fit for foodies (22)
kid-friendly (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (8)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken is amazing! Even the chicken ...

vip
Dined a day ago

The chicken is amazing! Even the chicken salad is amazing! Can't get over the chocolate uprising either.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Server was very personable and knowledga ...

Dined 5 days ago

Server was very personable and knowledgable of menu and pairings!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! Always get the bes ...

Dined 7 days ago

Everything was great! Always get the best service at the Gaithersburg location.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always love this place. The food is fres ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always love this place. The food is fresh and flavorful.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Service Around

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outside of the food being consistently good, the experience here is made by the service. While each table is assigned a main server, any and all walking by are happy to help. It can get crowded, as do all other restaurants in this area, but if you have a reservation you are seated quickly. Beware the atmosphere is somewhat noisy, and actually a little dark for my tastes, but not enough of a problem to deter us from repeated visits.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Pancakes and french toast were delicious ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pancakes and french toast were delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day at Copper Canyon this past Sunday and it is truly an outstanding restaurant. The servers are extremely friendly and efficient; the outdoor patio offers a beautiful view of the lake at Rio and the food was absolutely delicious. We had two small children with us (ages 5 and 2) and there were other people on the patio with babies and toddlers, and yet you didn't hear tons of screaming as is often the case when seated around small children. The service was very quick without making you feel rushed, and the fact that we could reserve a table in advance and not take our chances on waiting for one to become available - which wouldn't have even been an option with two young children - was a real bonus. This was our first time dining at Copper Canyon, which is most definitely a five star establishment - and we look forward to doing so again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous prime rib

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were staying in Gaithersburg for a wedding and were not familiar with any restaurants. I chose the Copper Canyon Grill for its proximity to where we were staying. Great choice. The prime rib rivaled what we get at very expensive steak houses in downtown DC and the Tysons area but at half the price. The place is noisy but we were able to have a conversation. Definitely need reservations for a Friday night.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Consistent quality all around

Dined on April 29, 2016

We hadn't been to Copper Canyon for a while, so were not sure if it had changed. Nice to know that it remains a solid very good to excellent on all fronts. We arrived exactly on time for our Open Table reservation on a packed Friday night, and despite the long line were seated immediately. It was next to a table full of prom attendees, so I was apprehensive. Fortunately, they were not a rowdy bunch and we were able to carry on normal conversation throughout our meal. Between the calamari and the artichoke dip appetizers, it is difficult to choose which was better; both were very nice (though a better balance between the amount of chips and dip would be useful). My steak was done just right, as were the other meals. All in all, it was a very pleasant family night out that made my wife's birthday special. We should come here more often.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Meal; Excellent Service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waitress was McCall; she gets 5 stars (excellent)!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 16, 2016

We very much enjoy visiting Copper Canyon. The food and service are top notch!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

A reliable spot for a friendly or a business meal

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

This is a reliable spot for a friendly or a business meal. The location on the water makes it ideal for lounging and relaxing, or for long conversations with colleagues. The food is reliable, consistent. (Though I'd like to add a kick to the fish Naachos.) The service here is always good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Better than the alternatives

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Copper Canyon is better than the lower priced alternative restaurants that are around it.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend Copper Canyon G ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

I would highly recommend Copper Canyon Grill for anyone who enjoys great food and good service in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tim saved the day...

Dined on March 27, 2016

we pointed Tim out to the hostess and asked to be seated in his area after recognizing him from a previous visit. We were glad we did , the service was excellent and we were happy we returned to copper canyon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Enjoyed a nice brunch here on Easter Sunday. The food was delicious , but a limited selection of breakfast foods the menu. The atmosphere is great and the wait staff was very good. Great place for evening meals.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband had the chicken and ribs comb ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

My husband had the chicken and ribs combo (not on the menu but they made it for him) and loved it! I had the steak salad and it was good. Not my favorite but I was choosing with calories in mind, so I'm sure I would have been happier with a different choice. All in all a very good meal and a good time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worth a second visit

Dined on March 16, 2016

I went to Copper Canyon Grill twice for dinner with different colleagues. The 1st time I had the Ruby Red Trout Special and my colleague had the Rockfish. I had never heard of Ruby Red Trout (Rainbow Trout, yes) but I decided to try it. I was not disappointed and neither was my dinner companion. Our food was perfectly cooked and simply delicious. The 2nd time, I was more traditional. I had one of their "specialties", BBQ Chicken and again was pleased with the flavour and tenderness of my dinner. The volume of food was ample , but not overwhelming. The service was crisp and the wait-time for our food was minimal. There was enough of a wine selection to meet most tastes and the prices overall were reasonable. I would definitely go back if I was staying in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pay through the OpenTable app?

Dined on March 13, 2016

I like Copper Canyon Grill. The opportunity to pay for my meal through the OpenTable app using Apple Pay is what brought me to this restaurant on this particular day. I wanted to see how it all worked. I was a pretty awesome experience. Other than that, I have always liked the food and service and the ambiance is really nice. It's a place that sort of feels like home; A very nice home.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great experience at Copper Canyon. Our reservation was at 7:15 and we were promptly seated. Our waiter was very courteous and professional.....took our drink order and returned quickly. He took our order and food was delivered very quickly. Food was delicious. Waiter checked in to make sure we were satisfied. Overall and great night, food and service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

There were (maybe) 10 tables seated. The ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

There were (maybe) 10 tables seated. The hosted walked us past all of them and 10 other empty tables and sat us right next to the kitchen entrance. Insulting. We asked to be seated somewhere else and we did. I don't need to go back there. Food was meh.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was phenomenal - giving tastes of the wines to be sure we got what we wanted. They had some really innovative sides - like steamed red cabbage with goat cheese, which was a total delight at the "foodie" level. Altogether a great meal and dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Not What I Expected

Dined on February 27, 2016

My sister, daughter, and I went to Copper Canyon Grill for lunch. I've been to the Lanham location before and had a great time but that was not the case at this location. First, our server came to the table to get our drink orders and returned a few minutes later with our drinks. After that is when the service went downhill. I don't want to put her name on here to embarrass her so I'll just put her initials, AP. She was gone for about 10 minutes and we finally flagged her down. When she came to the table, she asked if we wanted to place our order. We told her that we did and she asked us to give her a few more minutes. Seriously? When, she finally returned, she took our order and we had to ask her for the complimentary bread since she didn't mention it. Again, she disappeared for about 15 minutes, then brought our bread. Honestly, we had forgotten all about it since it had been so long. Two minutes later, our meals come out, which were brought out by her co-worker. Why even bother bringing out the bread if the meals were about to come? I don't like being harassed while I'm eating but, at least, come by a couple of times to see if we need anything. It took forever to get our check and we were very much ready to leave. Clearly, the service from AP was horrible but her co-workers who assisted us were much better. Looking back on it, I should have given them her tip instead of her because they earned it and she didn't. Additionally, the food left a lot to be desired. I'd read rave reviews about the meatloaf so I tried it. I ate it because I was hungry but I wouldn't order it again. My daughter had the fish sandwich and said that it was ok but she'd had better. My sister had the crab cake sandwich and she said that it was good. Overall, the location is beautiful but the service left a lot to be desired. I hope that management sees this review and does some retraining with AP.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

The server was attentive and professiona ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The server was attentive and professional. The food was very good. Would definitely recommend this place.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but a little pricey

Dined on February 20, 2016

I enjoy going to Copper Canyon best when it's just my wife and me for pot pies. We took friends and dinner for four was near $150 & my wife and I still just got pot pies and my friend commented that the steak he got was so-so! Also, they didn't record our being there, even after I told them we had a reservation, so OpenTable sent me a "we missed you letter" which wasn't a great feeling as it sounded like we had stood them up. In total, I did not enjoy the night with friends as well as I had previous enjoyed just taking my wife there for pot pies. We can get pot pies at KFC that taste as good for a third of the price.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Perfect Place to Meet

Dined on February 18, 2016

Met my adult son, who i hadnt seen for months, for dinner. The place was warm and fruendly. Our waiter gave us just perfect service with just the right amount of attention and room for conversation. The food was exceptional! What more could you want?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

This place is just overrated!!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very limited menu plus when I tried to order steak waitress told me they run out of it...on Valentines day?!!!! Once I ordered apetizer and main corse they came 2 minutes apart which is impossible unless slow cooked rotisserie chicken was already made or they made a mistake and gave me someone else's order. I had half of the glass of wine when waitress came back with check without offering a desert, same happened few minutes later while I was having a desert and my next glass of wine. Constantly had a feeling I was being rushed. I don't understand why does the place with poor management and bad service requires a reservations anyway. Will definitely never come here again or recommend it to anyone, quite opposite will make sure none of the people I know make the same mistake I did.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our "Go to Place"

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy Copper Canyon! The food is always good and service is professional and friendly. A must try is their signature roasted chicken. Go, relax and enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice for brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice location for brunch large portion sizes, but they have limited options.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great for food allergies

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been going here for years but today was the first time for brunch. Terrific brunch and always on top of food allergies. Great place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Very loud

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to Copper Canyon for nice quite romantic valentine dinner, what we got was a noisy sports bar like evening. We were sat in row of booths next to the bar, right next to the kitchen. We had to deal with the noise of the bar, the kitchen staff and serves walking by every ten seconds. Even though we sat side by side, we had almost yell to carry on a conversation, so we weren't able to talk much at dinner. I asked for a quieter table but was told we had to wait longer, so much for making reservations. Service was very good and the food was delicious but the ambiance was not at all what we were looking for, it took away the romanticism and ruined the evening.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on February 13, 2016

My friends, my family and I together and separately all really like this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Restaurant Good, Bar Bad

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant food and our server Nicole were great! We did not enjoy the lighting , too much, it was rather dark, requiring us to lean into the light just to read the menus. Since the food was awesome we did not have room for dessert. We called the restaurant the next night an ordered a bread pudding to go. This was time consuming. The background was very noise and the order itself, one dessert item, took a few minutes. When. We asked for the total, we were put on hold. A few minutes later a different person answered the phone and asked if we wanted to place an order. We declined and just asked for the total of the original order. When arriving to the restaurant, 15 minutes , we sat at the bar waiting to be acknowledged. Finally, we were asked if we wanted a drink, and we explained that we called ahead for a dessert. The bartender searched through the computer , presented by our receipt, then walked away. We sat for another 14 min, with not even a glass of water, before the gentlEman returned with our dessert. Again, we would definitely revisit the restaurant. The spinach dip, Fiesta eggrolls, ribs, crabcake and petite filet mignon were delicous!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

wanting a good steak!!

Dined on February 12, 2016

I ordered the largest fillet. The food came out surprisingly fast but they charred my steak, which made it dry. It was supposed to be medium but it was medium well.. There was hardly anyone else in the restaurant, so to act like it was rushed, forgot the mashed potatoes and had to track down the server to correct the error was ridiculous. My date had the prime Rib- rare. It was beautiful, very nice sized- but lacked any seasoning. The aujus was tasteless! Very disappointing!! Anyone can make that!! Where was the chef? It was chosen over lots of other places, special occasion. We will not be back (for steak). We also had a loaf of bread at the beginning which tasted stale. really odd!! It ended with an amazing piece of Key Lime Pie and French press coffee that was awesome!! I'd go back for that again in a heartbeat!!!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for business and social lunches

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

The service was good and the food is reliable. I was pleasantly surprised by the wine list. But the best feature of this restaurant is the ambiance. It's just sophisticated enough for a business lunch without being too high end for a casual meeting.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food and atmosphere. Good serv ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Very good food and atmosphere. Good service. A little pricey for the food and wine but not unreasonable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening out. Enrique is an att ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Wonderful evening out. Enrique is an attribute to the establishment!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent brunch, first beverage is free.

Dined on January 31, 2016

A friend and I went for brunch on a gorgeously warm day for January 31, after Snowzilla. We had a seat on the patio, which is enclosed like a French bistro, with heaters. The brunch menu is very complete, with a choice of three Benedicts, my favorite brunch option. I ordered the Crab Benedict, and a bloody Mary. Both were delicious. The corn tamale (replacing the traditional English muffin) could have been a little less sweet, but I don't have much of a sweet tooth. It was served with more potatoes than I could possibly eat. My friend got the spinach omelet, and she loved it. It was huge, so she took some home with most of her potatoes. Our total bill was around $32 for a huge brunch with drinks included, which is a amazing for brunch in the Rio/Downtown Crown area, indeed, for most of Montgomery County.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the filet mignon. Very unique and ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

I had the filet mignon. Very unique and delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappoints

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Copper Canyon Grill is among my 9 year old son's favorite restaurants. He requests to visit! We dined on a grilled scallop special, crab cakes, kids burger and green beans and all were excellent. My son never eats vegetables and he ordered AND at the green beans. Our server was great and very personable. The drinks are always good and don't appear to be "under-poured". We love visiting Copper Canyon Grill and will continue to return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.