Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

4.4
289 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 543-3000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jacqui Hanover
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 101
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 289 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We had Fathers Day Breakfast there. They were busy so our waitress was running around accommodating everyone. She was very pleasant. The food didn’t arrive warm and the eggs were over cooked. This was my first time for breakfast but I think I’ll stick with lunch choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was our first time here and Lita our waitress , she was extremely helpful. When asked which plate was better she was on point my patty melt was delicious and my daughter enjoyed the food also ate the whole burger ! The history of this place and the work put into it really gives you magical feels. I love the pink room so much and gift shops have plenty of options as well as last minute things like batteries and Advil. The whole staff was polite and insightful. Thank you Lita for your service we will come back :))

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately underwhelmed, has the frittata , didn’t look like a frittata and was extremely bland , great coffee and outstanding service !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We were seated right away. Open table was easy to use and it was great to get a reservation and to be seated. It is quite the busy place- reservations recommended. The service was great. Our service was very personable and attentive. The food was really good and I love their desserts. I highly recommend stopping here on the way through. Love the raspberry delight cake, lemon coconut and the butter toffee cream cake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Always a great time here, the cakes are delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Fun place. Great Food, although a bit slow in coming.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Good breakfast. Take visitors to our area to see the Madonna Inn. But very pricey.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We enjoyed our visit to the Copper Cafe. I would rate the overall experience as average. The one exception was the waiter, Tomas. He was kind, knowledgeable, observant, and friendly. I will return, however, it did not reach the level of one of my "go-to" breakfast restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We arrived about 15 minutes late because the graduation ceremony was longer than anticipated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Deep in tradition, menu is classic comfort food with helpful and friendly staff. Visiting was/is an experience for the pallet and eyes with the quality workmanship of copper lined tables, hand crafted woodwork throughout and a strong flavor of European influence. We’ll be back to try the dinner menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother's Day. We love everything about it. Menu offers good selections and moderate prices. Our food was fresh and clean. The atmosphere is always a happy time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers dau

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was delicious and plentiful. Service was with a joyful, attentive server. Desserts are a MUST!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Reliable service. Accommodating on busy holidays. Food always tasty. Fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We came for mother's day. We were welcomed as soon as we walked in. Everyone seemed to be have a great time. Our server was very attentive to all our needs. I highly recommend coming here to anyone and everyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We’ve been dining here for passed 6 years, and we’ve always really had outstanding service & perfect food. I made reservation for breakfast a few months ago, and requested window garden view. As soon as we checked in, the older lady quickly advised me that no window view was available..however when the kind hostess walked us to the back corner near the kitchen, there was a window table right there by the garden. I let that slide, we were soon greeted by our waitress who was very smiley, but never once told me Happy Mother’s Day, there’s usually fresh flowers on the table, and there was none. Anyways, when we received our breakfast the eggs were lukewarm. The toast had black burnt parts on it, but otherwise everything was good. She brought us our check, but never offered us dessert. I adore the pink champagne cake, she brought me the white chocolate one.oh well! Anyways, This is our daughters last year at Cal Poly, so it will probably be our last time for breakfast at Madonna Inn.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Disappointed. I made the reservation two months ahead and asked for a booth. When we got there we had to wait and when we were seated we were not seated according to our reservation. The girl who seated us had no genuine smile. However, our waitress was wonderful, genuine smile and friendly. She was the sunlight on a rather gloomy visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent service and an extensive menu. Prices are bit high but you do get to enjoy your meal in a historic venue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Came here on a weekday evening for an impromptu birthday dinner. Service and food were wonderful. Can't beat the quirky ambiance of Madonna Inn without the Steakhouse prices. Always love coming for breakfast here too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I would come here for breakfast only and use the more formal dining room for dinner, which in the past was superb, as was the service. For lunch and our birthday celebration, it was not acceptable. My dining companion ordered the grilled fish sandwich and the fish looked shriveled and old, and was such a small filet that it didn't even come close to filling the one slice of bread. My pastrami sandwich was acceptable but not filled enough, and the birthday gal enjoyed her steak sandwich, but the presentation of the sandwiches leaves much to be desired. The prices are high but the quality has significantly fallen. Then the much anticipated Pink Champagne cake slices arrived...not at all pink, and with no explanation as to why they were all white. Our server was not the friendliest nor informative. I will not bring guests to the cafe again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Quirky place, definitely worth a visit. Food could be improved, wine wasn't great, service was so-so. Definitely not either well worth the tab or fine dining. Really fun place though. Not sorry we went, and we might go another time, but it won't be our go-to SLO place. Still looking for that :-) The decor is fun and the tables are, I'm sure, real copper.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Mediocre food. The restaurant is a unique experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Always love the madonna inn since I was a kid.. everything was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Copper Cafe and Bakery is a unique and special experience - one not to be missed - food and service is excellent and don't forget the pink champagne cake - I make this a stop every time I visit the Central Coast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Old school place but good food a d friendly staff

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Madonna Inn is a local treasure. Being built in the 1960's it is now kind of in the "retro" style as the motif has not changed much at all. However, the same lifelong owners have kept it in immaculate condition and it should not be passed up. Although somewhat pricey, it has an excellent and varied menu and worth your time to try.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 19, 2018

My son requested the Copper Cafe for his fourth birthday. The waitress was very rude. I asked her for a balloon, and she seemed "put out" by the request. Our orders appeared to irritate her.
She slammed our plates and condiments on the table. We all ordered dessert, and she didn't even bother to tell my son, Happy Birthday. I was very disappointed. I was hoping for a fun, birthday evening. (We had to go home for that).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Good food, great ambience! We are locals & of course we will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We went for the Corned Beef and Cabbage on St. Patrick's Day. We have eaten there many times and it's always enjoyable. But the corned beef was terribly fat and chewy. I was surprised that the quality was not better. It was not expensive but I would rather pay a little more and be served a nicer meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great fun for the whole family. We got the exact booth we requested. Environment was fun and festive. Our kids just wished we would have stayed the night too! :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great time!! Our waitress Shelly was very flexible with our large group and celebration of two birthdays and day after wedding for another couple!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

I love it here! Best pancakes in the world. No exaggeration- I go every time I come from Manhattan to visit my parents.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

It feel like being someplace special, (Switzerland or Disneyland) but although the portions are generous, the prices are really high for the quality. My daughter’s waffle had so much baking powder we could taste it - ick! The eggs Benedict was good and the big slab of ham was tender and delicious, but there was not much hollandaise sauce and the hash browns were undercooked (totally white on the bottom and barely browned on top).
For the price, I don’t think I’d go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Great food, Great service(thanks Katie) Always enjoy having lunch there.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

So I've been going to Madonna Inn for Valentines day well this is the 3rd year. Last experiences have been wonderful and thats what made us want to come back...well this year was a different story. My overall experience was completely saddened. Granted our waitress was super polite and fast with drinks and our food. I had made reservations about 3 weeks prior requesting a booth. Well we go at our reservation time and the lady said there is a group of 24 so we don't have a booth for our group...they shouldnt have accommodated a big group like on such a busy hoilday. Also ran out of a lot of cake. I've gone to Madonna Inn for some pretty special occasions because in the past they have always taken care of us but now I'm probably never going to come back or it will take some time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our waitress was very cordial and attentive to our needs. It was a special Valentine day dinner for my wife and I. The Dutch Apple Pie was warm and delicious.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 11, 2018

We had an 8:30 reservation for breakfast. We were seated in a booth. We could see the waitresses standing and talking to the cooks from where we were seated. We waited 15 minutes and no one came to our table. The waitress went to the table next to us twice but didn't come to our table. We left after 15 minutes. I will not go back there again. By the way, there were maybe 6 other tables with customers, so they were not busy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We made a reservation for special occasion and there was nothing special, hardly a "welcome" on our arrival. We had 4 kids and had to ask multiple times for kids crayons that were offered to us then forgotten. Speaking of being forgotten, our waiter was pretty absent and not on top of it. I understand "bad days" but we've had this waiter a couple times now and have never had good service with him.
Food was fine. Going to madonna isn't about the food or service and they seem to know that. No one really cares, which is too bad because it is such a quintessential place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The decor is very dated, I suppose that is part of the charm. The room was extremely loud and it was hard to have a conversation. That being said, the food was very good. I went during restaurant month and it was a great value. I had the steak and black forest steak. I would highly recommend both!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

It is always a special place, Especially around the holidays.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn