HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

4.1
255 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Worth the Drive
The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 543-3000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jacqui Hanover
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 101
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 255 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1  based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Anonymous (Central Coast)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

So I've been going to Madonna Inn for Valentines day well this is the 3rd year. Last experiences have been wonderful and thats what made us want to come back...well this year was a different story. My overall experience was completely saddened. Granted our waitress was super polite and fast with drinks and our food. I had made reservations about 3 weeks prior requesting a booth. Well we go at our reservation time and the lady said there is a group of 24 so we don't have a booth for our group...they shouldnt have accommodated a big group like on such a busy hoilday. Also ran out of a lot of cake. I've gone to Madonna Inn for some pretty special occasions because in the past they have always taken care of us but now I'm probably never going to come back or it will take some time.

Report
Helpful
Edward (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Our waitress was very cordial and attentive to our needs. It was a special Valentine day dinner for my wife and I. The Dutch Apple Pie was warm and delicious.

Report
Helpful
Rosie (Orange County)
1.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

We had an 8:30 reservation for breakfast. We were seated in a booth. We could see the waitresses standing and talking to the cooks from where we were seated. We waited 15 minutes and no one came to our table. The waitress went to the table next to us twice but didn't come to our table. We left after 15 minutes. I will not go back there again. By the way, there were maybe 6 other tables with customers, so they were not busy.

Report
Helpful
SunnySLO (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

We made a reservation for special occasion and there was nothing special, hardly a "welcome" on our arrival. We had 4 kids and had to ask multiple times for kids crayons that were offered to us then forgotten. Speaking of being forgotten, our waiter was pretty absent and not on top of it. I understand "bad days" but we've had this waiter a couple times now and have never had good service with him.
Food was fine. Going to madonna isn't about the food or service and they seem to know that. No one really cares, which is too bad because it is such a quintessential place.

Report
Helpful
Dina (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

The decor is very dated, I suppose that is part of the charm. The room was extremely loud and it was hard to have a conversation. That being said, the food was very good. I went during restaurant month and it was a great value. I had the steak and black forest steak. I would highly recommend both!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on January 9, 2018

It is always a special place, Especially around the holidays.

Report
Helpful
monicarenee (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

Great food, great service and a fun atmosphere! Plus we love their bakery!

Report
Helpful
BreakfastBirthday (Hawaii)
4.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Unlike the lunch menu, the breakfast menu is more tasty. The breakfast was good (Eggs Benedict) but was pricey. Since it was a birthday celebration we received a free dessert and Madonna Inns cakes are great. The server we had was sensational - personable and attentive.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

Excellent, fun service. Accommodated our special request with unexpected zest and originality. Made a birthday dinner really special! Decent food, a little hit and miss. A really cool location, would return again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on January 1, 2018

Our new year day traditional family breakfast🎉

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Table was sticky and the waiter was slow

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orange County)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Had a great time with our family. We orderded 2 items that were out which we were a little bummed. My entree was wrong but it was still good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orange County)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Great prices, good food , friendly service and beautiful surroundings

Report
Helpful
BreakfastBirthday (Hawaii)
2.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

Went for a birthday lunch celebration because we had a gift card given to us. The food was not up to par with the prices. Entries were overpriced and not tasty..sides of potatoe salad and coke slaw seemed to have come from premixed containers(not freshly made) sweet potatoe fries over cooked (thin and dry)

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

Went for Christmas Dinner in the Cafe. What a meal! Roasted duck, dressing, yams and oh, the boysenberry pie!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

Friendly, clean, seated promptly. Hot roast beef sandwich and desert were outstanding. Monte Cristo a bit greasy, and lacked powder sugar, it was satisfactory but I have had better.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

My son and his wife live in Paso Robles. My wife and I, unfortunately, live in Santa Maria. For the past two years we have met at noon at the Copper Cafe & Bakery on Christmas to celebrate the season and my son's birthday because it's almost exactly half way for all of us. We really enjoy the atmosphere, the service, and the food. I made our reservation back in early November for noon. We were seated shortly after noon at a window by a very busy but pleasant maître d'. Amazingly, our server Katy was the same server we had last year. Katy is a terrific, down to earth, pleasant person, even while working in a hectic, crowded restaurant. It is pretty noisy, but, for the first time in a long time, my "screaming two year old curse" did not materialize. The table at which we sat was pretty large, so it was occasionally difficult to hear the person across from us.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

I took some family Xmas morning because I know how beautifully decorated it is this time of year. Service was good and food as well, they make sure sure your dining experience is a nice one 😊 The only thing I noticed was that it was slightly unorganized as far as seating people, I realize they were very busy but you could tell they weren’t keeping track of the order of people coming especially with a reservation, it was a little chaotic. After we were seated it was a very pleasant experience 😊

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 24, 2017

Stacia was really attentive.! Very good service. Food was awesome!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 24, 2017

Very nice Restaurant with a great staff. Visit was with two other family members, total of three people. I wanted a window table, several were empty, but was seated just in front of the kitchen doors. Staff was generally trying to minimize noise, but often when the doors swung open into the kitchen, noise drifted out, temporarily making conversation somewhat difficult.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

The manager was not great. He wouldn't give us all the chairs required for our reservation. The server, however, was wonderful and the food was fine. We went for the holiday ambience. Our kids think it's a magical place with all the decorations and the fancy water glasses. They enjoyed the holiday atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
Katrina (Orange County)
4.0  Dined on December 14, 2017

A few of us girls meet every December at the Copper Cafe.

Report
Helpful
carol2 (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on December 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, exceptional service, friendly staff, fun time, good food!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 10, 2017

Had a great meal with great service from our server, Brittany.

Report
Helpful
PBPres (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

There was an hour wait according to the Host when we walked in at 6:45 pm on a Saturday night - so we stepped outside and I made the reservation on Open Table using my phone. Open Table confirmed my reservation for 7:15 pm so we walked back in at 7:10 and (surprise!) were immediately seated! We had a secluded booth that easily sat six with plenty of room making it quiet and easy to chat. The service was a bit slow (hence the lower rating) but the food was excellent. It was my step-mom's 89th birthday and she especially enjoyed the free piece of carrot cake! We go to the Madonna Inn for special occasions and will definitely go back - but will always use Open Table to book our reservation!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

copper café is always a very good place for family gatherings and breakfast and lunch, dinner is ok.
service has greatly improved and the history behind this place is worth the experience

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
2.0  Dined on November 26, 2017

Our table was very dirty with food squished on it and our water glasses turn upside down on it. Breakfast was not good, Waffles were burnt.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
1.0  Dined on November 23, 2017

We have lived in north county for 12 years, and have always wanted to eat here. We could not get reservation to the Steak House on Thanksgiving, but was able to get in to the Copper Cafe. We figured it was at the same place, and we still could order from the Steak House. What a disappointment in the food. We placed our order soon after we were seated. The waitress came back a few minutes later to tell me the steak I ordered would take an additional 40 minutes. My wife ordered the turkey dinner and my daughter order the ham dinner. I didn't want either that's why I ordered the steak. I ended up ordering the madonna burger. The food here flats sucks. The food is bland and could be compared to 10 for $10.00 TV dinner. That might be giving them a little bit to much credit. The service from our waitress was good, and heard the dessert we good. Most places that have Holiday Specials include a dessert. Not at this place. After the over charge you for your TV dinner they want to screw just a little bit more. Don't waste your time or money here.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on November 23, 2017

Had a delicious thanksgiving dinner and finished the meal with pink champagne cake. It’s so kitschy and over the top “pink” and it’s worked for many years. Bravo to The Madonna Inn.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
2.0  Dined on November 23, 2017

Made reservation based upon website advertising a traditional Thanksgiving Dinner prefix menu for $39.99 per person ! The dinner was hardly traditional nor a good valve as the quality of the food and portions where similar to cafeteria quality at best ? We were seated in the cafe portion that shares the same kitchen as the main dinning which also had the exact same below par food as the cafe. The dinner and portions where limited choice of soup / salad? Turkey or Ham, mashed or sweet potatoes ,rolls and butter and the kicker sugar snap beans and a antipasti appetizer in all my 67 years I never heard of these items as part of a traditional Thanksgiving Dinner? We choice one soup and one salad and a Turkey and Ham Dinners! The portions were small and appeared institutional like cafeteria food NOT restaurant quality nor worth the $39.99 paid for a two course limited dinner. The soup was cold pumpkin that was bland serviced in a cup . The salad was chopped whited ice berg lettuce with shredded carrots and red cabbage with two cherry tomatoes . The dinners where under whelming as well Turkey Dinner had about a tablespoon of rice based stuffing with about 8 ozs of all white meat Turkey breast meat only coved with minimal gravy that tasted of flour . The mashed potatoes where fine however served with a ice cream scoop and with no gravy ? The largest portion was the snap beans which in my opinion where just weird would of preferred another traditional item like squash or green beans. Neither of us eat much of our snap bean. The Ham Dinner consisted of 2 slices of roasted ham total portion size same as turkey about 8 ozs tptal. The sweet potatoes where mashed and nothing special . I need to note nothing was served piping hot. The bread basket was 3 cold dinner rolls with whipped butter! The antipasti was more like a relish tray celery & carrot sticks, olives, mild peppers, 3 slices of American cheese and small salami slices

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9