About Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 784-2430

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
California Central Coast
Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

great for lunch (18)
special occasion (12)
kid-friendly (12)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (9)
romantic (9)
good for groups (7)
fit for foodies (5)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than a landmark

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The Madonna Inn is a Californua landmark. From their pink decor to their amazing cakes! I met up with a couple of friends for lunch at the Copper Cafe -the restaurant was crowded but we had a reservation and were seated immediately. The service was excellent as was the food. As a local I eat there often and have always had a great meal. You won't be dissappointed! My salad was tasty and more than adequate! I didn't save room for a slice of their cake! Next time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten here frequently and have always enjoyed the food. The menus is varied and everyone can find something to enjoy. The service is nice and friendly. The French dip or bar b que beef is excellent. If you like sweet potato fries they are delicious. You must save room for desert!! Their cakes and pies are worth the calories.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

reservation was messed up after it was confirmed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wish they would follow through with requests after they confirmed that they would.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our reservations were ready and timely. Nice ambience in a pleasant room. Once seated we waited a reasonable time before we had to ask for our waitress . The hostess came and poured out water and then got the attention of our waitress. She took our order without writing it down and the wrong drinks were delivered to the table. Our food was average coffee shop quality and was over priced. Our waitress didn't maintain the table and the bill was delivered by the girl busing the tables. We didn't comment or give her any cause to ignore us.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Way to Experience the Madonna Inn

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I have always wanted to go to the Madonna Inn and instead of staying there, decided to have breakfast at the restaurant. Options were pretty standard for breakfast: omelettes, pancakes, etc. The service was really friendly and fast. The best part is the ambience and the opportunity to experience the uniqueness of the Madonna Inn. Would definitely recommend this for a quick meal.

food2
ambience4
service2

Food was way too expensive, it was ok... ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was way too expensive, it was ok... nothing to write home about. We tried the world famous cakes and honestly they taste like the cakes you get from a grocery store. Not impressed. The Madonna Inn is beautiful though, the environment remind me of inns and buildings in the Black Forest in Germany. I would recommend people to go there to look around but eat elsewhere to save money.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We dined here for dinner and breakfast s ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

We dined here for dinner and breakfast since we were staying at the inn. Typical diner food. Took an extremely long time to get our dinner food even though we had only ordered sandwiches. Breakfast was just as slow. Food was basic and not great. Servers were friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place for a quick bite

Dined on March 19, 2016

The Copper Cafe was recommended to me by a friend, and it was great. My husband and I shared the avacado salad and grilled ham and cheese, both were delicious. I loved the colored goblets and the stained glass windows. It was a nice little find and the desserts were fantastic!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

St. Patrick's Day dinner

Dined on March 18, 2016

Four of us enjoyed our dinner and wine, as we left we were asked by people coming in about dinner. We recommended the special for St. Patrick's Day. We had a nice visit during dinner in our corner by the fireplace.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

service

Dined on February 27, 2016

We came here for my birthday for a large party. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed the great service that we got.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit

Dined on February 25, 2016

Unique dining experience and exceptionally delicious meal.. Even the ww toast and jellies were delectable .. Enjoyed exploring the many rooms and even the bathrooms were amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Valentine's Day Dinner!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I've worked in the hospitality industry for 8 years (fine dining, catering, bartending, and everything in between) and there was no holiday I hated more than the dreaded Valentine's Day. Everything would always go wrong - food took too long, drinks were sloppy, servers were swamped, and tables came in with huge expectations but often left disappointed after a long wait or awful service. I was beyond amazed that we didn't experience a single one of those things during our Valentine's Day dinner at Copper Cafe. Everything was perfect, and I don't have a single complaint. We got there early and killed time at the bar, enjoying two rounds of drinks (Amazing Moscow Mules! It's hard to get them just right with the perfect balance of lime and ginger beer, and your bartender succeeded) and a light appetizer. When it was time for our reservation, we got sat right away at one of the nicest tables in the building (the huge booth in the back next to the kitchen doors). Service was fast and friendly, and the food (filet & lobster) came out much faster than anticipated, which was perfect because I was starving. Finishing with pink champagne cake was a nice touch, and we left absolutely stuffed and delighted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for brunch! Love the decor and Atm ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great for brunch! Love the decor and Atmosphere. Food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So much fun

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

I was here for a work and birthday dinner, and we had a great time. It's not inexpensive, but it is fun and delicious. We all enjoyed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's Fav Bday Spot

Dined on January 29, 2016

We love going here every year for my mom's birthday! She loves the champagne cake!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great breakfast spot

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Madonna Inn and ate here for breakfast one morning and really enjoyed it. The staff was very accommodating and the food was very good. And the bacon... Yum! Very reasonably priced.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast at The Madonna Inn

Dined on January 9, 2016

Enjoyed our breakfast with friends this morning. The table server Yessica was outstanding. Very professional but friendly. The egg dishes were all to our liking. My husband enjoyed his hash and poached eggs as well. The portions are abundant. Will definitely be returning very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good Food, Front Desk Service So-So

Dined on January 4, 2016

The food was good. Front desk service could have been a little more attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When Staying at Madonna Inn - it's Breakfast time!

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

The Copper Cafe may not have the pink and round tables and lusciousness of its sister restaurant, but this is where you want to go for breakfast. The food is your average "diner" faire, but it's the ambience. It's warm, friendly and the endless, hot black coffee really gets you going for the day. The waitresses and hostesses are "old school" - it's all about the customer. Oh.. and get the biscuits! We'll be back, the next time we're in town.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Overpriced

Dined on December 25, 2015

They need to update their breakfast menu and their presentation. The food is really nothing special and it's also overpriced for the amount of food and the quality.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Holiday Spot

Dined on December 25, 2015

High energy! Good vibe. Families gathered. Festive scene.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant !!!

Dined on December 24, 2015

Great restaurant, fun place, food was delicious & service was terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food and great service!!

Dined on December 20, 2015

Very good food and great service!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Holiday Experience

Dined on December 17, 2015

I've been dining here for over 25 years, and have always had a good time. The Copper Cafe and Gold Rush Steak House are simply magical during the holidays - a San Luis Obispo must-do and a wonderful friends and family tradition.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Breakfast at Madonna Inn

Dined on December 13, 2015

The breakfast was delicious and the waiters suggestions were great. Highly recommend you have a reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

More than they could handle

Dined on November 27, 2015

Had a reservation for 5pm not seated until 5:45. Waitress was polite but clearly overworked. Appetizer and bread never showed until right before the main course and we had to request it. Food took forever and was cold. We have been loyal Thanksgiving patrons for several years in a row . . .Not worth the time or money this year.

food5
ambience5
service3

Magical Gem

Dined on November 25, 2015

This has been a childhood favorite of mine and the charm and magic remains intact. The food is delicious, the menu could benefit from adding a few items for vegetarians.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a joy!

Dined on November 1, 2015

It is always a joy to stop at Copper Cafe on our way back home to Monterey. We actually will find any excuse to stop there for breakfast, lunch, or a slice of cake.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the Best

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

Have eaten at the Copper Cafe for years while on a traditional vacation to the central coast. The Cafe is always good, has a great ambiance and wonderful servers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2

FOOD _ GREAT - SERVICE OKAY

Dined on October 19, 2015

The server we had was pleasant enough; but she focused more on the male at my table, instead of everyone. She didnt come back after she served our food until we were done with our meal. Food was great; atmosphere was fun.

food3
ambience4
service4

Not Bad... For a Tourist Trap

Dined on October 12, 2015

Had lunch here the other day with the spouse. This was our third time at Copper Cafe and according to my spouse, we went there two more times than necessary. The ambiance is eclectic and the Madonna Inn is definitely a fun environment worth visiting at least once. The service was good and friendly. I ordered a tuna melt. Unfortunately the toast of my sandwich was burnt. Fortunately the sweet potato fries redeemed the plate. My spouse ordered a burger and not only did it look like a fast food burger, it tasted like one too (without the fast food price of course). The high point of the meal was the Black Forest chocolate cake. I don't usually like cherry-flavored dessert and I liked it immensely. All in all, this place is not bad.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Madonna never disappoints!!

Dined on October 4, 2015

I made reservations for breakfast for our birthdays, and they had a very special table set up for us with balloons! The breakfast is very fresh & tasty! Our server was busy, but luckily someone else came along to help her out on this Sunday morning! There was 8 in our group, and all the meals came out around the same time. I really enjoy looking around this really cute restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1

Poor service

Dined on September 27, 2015

We booked the table and arrived on time. We were told that we will need to wait for 20 minutes. The other parties with booking were also told that. There were no apologies offered for this. They even told us to go to their other cafe, where no one really cared and we came back. When we were back we asked again as we were going to go to another place and they said that the table is now available. Actually, in 10 minutes half the restaurant was empty and they had shooed away other people too. The food was OK, nothing extraordinary. The server was fine. The cake was good. But will not go there again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful surroundings, great food

Dined on September 21, 2015

We always have such a wonderful time at Madonna Inn. It's so pretty, my favorite color is pink, it's very festive! Always good food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Copper Cafe a must to enjoy….

Dined on September 15, 2015

Had dinner and breakfast here while staying at the Inn. The atmosphere is fun and romantic. The servers are attentive and friendly.. the food is delicious. Had the Monte Cristo.. and Tuna Melt for dinner and waffles and eggs for breakfast. .You must try the bacon it is to die for….The cakes are amazing to look at and even better tasting..and don't overlook the artisan chocolates they offer there and downstairs in the wine cellar.. Moonstruck Chocolates…so good.. try the huckleberry.. a unique flavor. It seems like a local favorite as the breakfast crowd looked like tourists passing thru as well as locals dropping in. A definite must stop whether you are staying there or just passing by.. you will not regret taking that offramp…wish we lived closer ….

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food in a classic setting. Super good!

vip
Dined on September 7, 2015

Located in the Madonna Inn, which drips with history, the Copper Cafe is a great choice. The food is terrific and more choices than most places. The setting is filled with old-world charm and you'll feel like you're stepping back in time. The Madonna Inn is an over-the-top fantasy world made of stone, wood and pink. Take a stroll before or after you eat and you'll be amazed at a place that has been dazzling people for almost sixty years. But make sure you eat, because the Copper Cafe is a wonderful restaurant. And yes, make room for dessert because they may be the most fabulous things of all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Very kitschy, but that's what you expect ...

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

Very kitschy, but that's what you expect from the Madonna Inn. Imagine "Heidi of the Mountains" meets the Old West...that is a perfect description of the decor. The Breakfast Sundae (fresh fruit topped w yoghurt and granola) was delicious!!!

food4
ambience3
service4

We were table of six on a busy Sunday mo ...

Dined on August 30, 2015

We were table of six on a busy Sunday morning. We were all impressed with our waitress, she had several tables yet she was incredible proficient. Several of us are serious about our cooking and we all enjoyed our meal. Wish we could remember our waitresses name would have liked to give her credit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply perfect end to a weekend

Dined on August 23, 2015

Everything about our visit was fabulous. The reservation was ready when we arrived. The hostess was very congenial and gracious. They use very polite words when addressing people. And the food was fabulous. My only regret was that I didn't buy a WHOLE coconut cream pie instead of one serving. We will definitely suggest this restaurant to others and return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

superior service! generous portions! gu ...

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

superior service! generous portions! guest friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.