Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 784-2430

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lovely environment, but the service was not the best. Slow to be wait on, slow to bring drinks, and slow to bring food. I understand this isn't wait staff fault, but server never came by to give updates or thank us for our patience. Food was good, not great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Local better then average restaurant. Reasonable prices.
It was Mother's Day and the restaurant was very crowded and there appeared slow response to our table because of the busyness and lack of adequate servers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our experience was not good for breakfast. First of all we had a reservation and after checking in with the hostess we waited for a table, my wife finally went back up to ask and they forgot about us. Secondly, my wife ordered a ham and cheese omelette with mushrooms. The food was out quickly but there was very little ham or cheese and no mushrooms, it was also dry and over cooked. The hash browns she had were greasy. I had a waffle which was dry as well. The place is beautiful inside and we ordered cake to go, which was outstanding! Their bakery is exceptional and is more in line with what we would expect from such a landmark institution in SLO. Sadly, we will not go back to the Copper Cafe.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were out of all of the cakes... 2 waiters took our order. Half of the food came out, and the rest came out after everyone was finished. Not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Superb. Traveled 1 hour to eat here for our 42 anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I had the $28 steak sandwich.......was not worth half that price. Half of the small steak was fat.
My wife had the chilli burger which was O.K.
We live in 5 cities area, so company would love to see your location,
we will just tell them go look, but eat somewhere else.....sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Madonna Inn is always a hit! The ambiance is fantastic! I enjoyed celebrating my birthday dinner with my family. Always recommend the Madonna Inn for any occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It did not meet our expectations. We had been told how "fabulous" the decor was. We did not think so. It seemed kind of bedraggled and outdated. The food was pretty much the same as anywhere and the latte was bad.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had the most pleasant breakfast with family and friends. We made a reservation and were seated right away. Food came faster than expected. Had the best time there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Atmosphere is always fun. Food was fine. Nothing outstanding but all good. Frequent stop when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Won't be coming back here anytime soon!
Took my friend there for lunch, it was her first time there and will no doubt be her last...mine too! We both ordered a salad and half way through she bit down on a toothpick hidden in her salad. Her mouth got stabbed and all they wanted to do was offer her a piece of their dry cake! DONE, DONE DONE....NEVER GOING BACK AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Even though it was Easter, the staff was very gracious in accommodating our large group and allowing us to add a person. Our server was very efficient and friendly. The atmosphere of the whole property is so fun and colorful, what's not to love?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great time with my wife celebrating out 20th. Great good, awesome service and nice ambience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Made reservations for my daughter and I. We were seated promptly and that was it! Waited over 20 minutes and no one came around to offer us coffee or anything and we ended up going to another restaurant! We are a local family and have been there many times, don't think we will be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A very enjoyable dining experience overall.

The wait staff was exceptional in all ways.

I might mention one small item; the side salad was too large for the plate. I'd didn't think the salad was too large, just that a larger plate would allow one to better place the salad dressing that came on the side. Thanks!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good pancakes, but we waited awhile to even see a waiter and the food itself took a long time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Madonna Inn is always fabulous; the food is delicious, the staff is warm and friendly and from the inside to the outside, every area is magical! They serve the most delicious coffee, their bacon is the best and their coconut cream pie is the best I've ever had! For an unforgettable time, treat yourself to the Madonna Inn!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was St Patrick's day so to be fair maybe they were busier than usual. We sat for over an hour without food or explanation of why the food was taking so long. The waitress did explain after the meal that the kitchen was slow and she appreciated our patience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent, amazing setting and history for the entire Resort Complex!!

Worth your time..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We like going to the Copper Cafe for all occasions. The last time I made a reservation through Open Table and I called to confirm the reservation as well, for 11 people, 2 highchairs and Gluten Free Bread. When we got there, they had our tables set up for us, though a little cramped, we made it work. But when we ordered our meals we wanted to order 4 Club sandwiches with the Gluten Free Bread due to allergies. We have ordered these before from there and they are delicious. Needless to say a few of us were disappointed, they only had 6 slices. Our waitress said that she was aware of our large party but they never told her about our request for the Gluten Free bread, therefore someone dropped the ball. They need to communicate better!!! My order was the last to come out it was the Southwest Steak Salad, although we ordered 3 of them, it took awhile I think they forgot mine.
Our waitress was Great!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner with my wife. Very enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and were promptly seated, even though they were very busy. This was much appreciated. Our server, Taylor, was extremely friendly and accommodating. Food portions were huge and very tasty. We were staying at the hotel (which was wonderful), celebrating a birthday, and even though we were there for breakfast, she still brought out a huge piece of beautiful, Pink Champagne cake (compliments of the house). It really made the Birthday girls day! We will definitely return :)

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was mediocre at best. Very overpriced. We will not go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been told to go there by friends because of the distinctive features and we wanted to experience it by ourselves. It is a nice restaurant full of details. There was live music at night and they have an interesting gift shop. It is really expensive but even the restrooms are worth visiting!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Put us at terrible table even though we had reservations. Booth behind the round counter and next to icecream station and kitchen door, even though resturaunt wasn't busy. Waited 20 minutes for server show. My daughter ordered an item, just to be told they were out later. Cake pieces were smaller than normal. Brought family to show them how wonderful it was, probably won't be back for a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It took 45 mins to get our order. The Madonna Inn and Restuarants need to be updated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Madonna Inn Copper Cafe offers an (unadvertised) slice of one of their famous cakes on a birthday or anniversary. We usually look forward to the toffee crunch cake with shipped cream, but this time we weren't asked which we wanted and were surprised to be delighted with their choice: white cake with whipped cream and gobs of rich creamy yellow custard, the cake accented with pink colored shavings of white chocolate. The custard was nearly as good as mother used to make!! The birthday girl loves Copper Cafe pancakes and I was very pleased with the Denver Omelette, only $1 more for bagel and cream cheese instead of toast. No leftovers!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our server was inattentive, our food took an hour to get to our table. My pasta tasted like frozen pasta. We were never brought our bread, or anti-pasta plate. We have eaten in the steak house in the past. I would not recommend the cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went there on Xmas day because it was the only place open on the way back from our trip . I felt like I was in a time warp. The food was ok but we won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Waitress was attentive and did her best. The food was quite awful. Vegetables overcooked. Broccoli is NOT supposed to 'melt' in your mouth. Holiday special duck was tasteless, the dressing had no flavor. Cake - although huge, fluffy and supposed to impress - tasted just plain sugar with a hint of lemon flavor with some coconut thrown in for texture. Heavy Midwestern or rather old European (I mean ooold! like German / Austro-Hungarian) ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We came here on Christmas for lunch. The place was packed but our waitress treated us like we were the only ones in the restaurant. The food was excellent as was the service and very reasonably priced. Definitely will go back again.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I am sad to write this review. I have been coming to breakfast at Copper Cafe over the last 8 months. I live down the street and was born here in 1969. I never came until recently. It was awesome over the summer. Incredible service and really good food. I recommended it to all my friend. This week alone I have gotten feed back from two friends saying it was sub standard. I thought well maybe its because they went for dinner. But i took 5 people along with me for breakfast yesterday. it was not buy . The service was not good at all. The food was even worse. Did you get a new cook? really, the food was not the same. Or the waitress didn't ask for what we ordered. My dad ordered the belgian waffle. It was so dry. i won't go on and on but I took the time to write this because I really want your cafe to be the way it used to be. Great service and tasty food. I noticed the prices increased but that didn't bother me. What will keep me from making it my new breakfast spot will be if the service and quality of food don't continue to be fantastic. I love your resturant and really hope you make the corrections.

Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not a very good place to have dinner on Christmas Eve!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I'll start out by saying the food was good, as it always is. I ordered the Southwest Steak salad, husband got the hot roast beef sandwich and the kids shared a cheeseburger followed by a delicious piece of pink champagne cake!!

I do not think I will be back on a major holiday, though. We fully expected it to be busy it literally took 15-20 min for our server to come to our table to take our beverage oder then it took about 40-45 more minutes before our food came to the table. We have 2 small children (4 & 3) so it was hard to keep them occupied for so long before eating. I don't know if this is normal for holiday dinner time but I know we won't be back for Christmas eve again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server, Lindsay (?) was great. She did everything she could and was very attentive but they were packed. The food was so so, not worth the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great desserts! Get yours to go so you can enjoy it later. You won't be sorry!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our family had a wonderful holiday breakfast at Madonna Inn. We have a large party every year and they are always accommodating. We will be back again next year!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great time with eight girlfriends. The food very good . The Christmas decorations were wonderful. I wish the had the holiday singers open for everyone to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Madonna Copper Kitchen is a favorite local restaurant . Food is good comfort food. Service is good and staff friendly. Big tourist place.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

If you want to step back in time and eat something you’re grammy would make...this is the place! I made reservations on line and was seated immediately. For the best seating, ask for a booth near the bar area, very cozy. If you like cocktails that taste like dessert, order a Pink Cloud. If you missed Thanksgiving at home, like I did, order the Hot Turkey sandwich. It’ll fix what you missed. And if you happen to have grown up eating Corn Beef Hash and crave it once again. They have it and it’s great. Even if you’re not hungry....just go to the Madonna Inn. Plenty of gift shops and you can walk around to see the Bold decor of Pink and Gold. It’s a pink dream from a by gone era.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.