Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

San Luis Obispo's most enchanting dining experience. Join us for a Filet & 1/2 Lobster Special, $69.95, and a Prime Rib Special, 39.95, and a House Wine Flight, $10.00. Also enjoy amazing Valentine decorations, nightly entertainment, and shopping. Children's Menu available.

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (8)
Scenic View (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort by
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 9, 2018

It is always a special place, Especially around the holidays.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great food, great service and a fun atmosphere! Plus we love their bakery!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Unlike the lunch menu, the breakfast menu is more tasty. The breakfast was good (Eggs Benedict) but was pricey. Since it was a birthday celebration we received a free dessert and Madonna Inns cakes are great. The server we had was sensational - personable and attentive.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Excellent, fun service. Accommodated our special request with unexpected zest and originality. Made a birthday dinner really special! Decent food, a little hit and miss. A really cool location, would return again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Our new year day traditional family breakfast🎉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Table was sticky and the waiter was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Had a great time with our family. We orderded 2 items that were out which we were a little bummed. My entree was wrong but it was still good.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great prices, good food , friendly service and beautiful surroundings

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Went for a birthday lunch celebration because we had a gift card given to us. The food was not up to par with the prices. Entries were overpriced and not tasty..sides of potatoe salad and coke slaw seemed to have come from premixed containers(not freshly made) sweet potatoe fries over cooked (thin and dry)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Went for Christmas Dinner in the Cafe. What a meal! Roasted duck, dressing, yams and oh, the boysenberry pie!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Friendly, clean, seated promptly. Hot roast beef sandwich and desert were outstanding. Monte Cristo a bit greasy, and lacked powder sugar, it was satisfactory but I have had better.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2017

My son and his wife live in Paso Robles. My wife and I, unfortunately, live in Santa Maria. For the past two years we have met at noon at the Copper Cafe & Bakery on Christmas to celebrate the season and my son's birthday because it's almost exactly half way for all of us. We really enjoy the atmosphere, the service, and the food. I made our reservation back in early November for noon. We were seated shortly after noon at a window by a very busy but pleasant maître d'. Amazingly, our server Katy was the same server we had last year. Katy is a terrific, down to earth, pleasant person, even while working in a hectic, crowded restaurant. It is pretty noisy, but, for the first time in a long time, my "screaming two year old curse" did not materialize. The table at which we sat was pretty large, so it was occasionally difficult to hear the person across from us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

I took some family Xmas morning because I know how beautifully decorated it is this time of year. Service was good and food as well, they make sure sure your dining experience is a nice one 😊 The only thing I noticed was that it was slightly unorganized as far as seating people, I realize they were very busy but you could tell they weren’t keeping track of the order of people coming especially with a reservation, it was a little chaotic. After we were seated it was a very pleasant experience 😊

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Stacia was really attentive.! Very good service. Food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Very nice Restaurant with a great staff. Visit was with two other family members, total of three people. I wanted a window table, several were empty, but was seated just in front of the kitchen doors. Staff was generally trying to minimize noise, but often when the doors swung open into the kitchen, noise drifted out, temporarily making conversation somewhat difficult.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

The manager was not great. He wouldn't give us all the chairs required for our reservation. The server, however, was wonderful and the food was fine. We went for the holiday ambience. Our kids think it's a magical place with all the decorations and the fancy water glasses. They enjoyed the holiday atmosphere.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 15, 2017

A few of us girls meet every December at the Copper Cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, exceptional service, friendly staff, fun time, good food!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Had a great meal with great service from our server, Brittany.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2017

There was an hour wait according to the Host when we walked in at 6:45 pm on a Saturday night - so we stepped outside and I made the reservation on Open Table using my phone. Open Table confirmed my reservation for 7:15 pm so we walked back in at 7:10 and (surprise!) were immediately seated! We had a secluded booth that easily sat six with plenty of room making it quiet and easy to chat. The service was a bit slow (hence the lower rating) but the food was excellent. It was my step-mom's 89th birthday and she especially enjoyed the free piece of carrot cake! We go to the Madonna Inn for special occasions and will definitely go back - but will always use Open Table to book our reservation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2017

copper café is always a very good place for family gatherings and breakfast and lunch, dinner is ok.
service has greatly improved and the history behind this place is worth the experience

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Our table was very dirty with food squished on it and our water glasses turn upside down on it. Breakfast was not good, Waffles were burnt.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

We have lived in north county for 12 years, and have always wanted to eat here. We could not get reservation to the Steak House on Thanksgiving, but was able to get in to the Copper Cafe. We figured it was at the same place, and we still could order from the Steak House. What a disappointment in the food. We placed our order soon after we were seated. The waitress came back a few minutes later to tell me the steak I ordered would take an additional 40 minutes. My wife ordered the turkey dinner and my daughter order the ham dinner. I didn't want either that's why I ordered the steak. I ended up ordering the madonna burger. The food here flats sucks. The food is bland and could be compared to 10 for $10.00 TV dinner. That might be giving them a little bit to much credit. The service from our waitress was good, and heard the dessert we good. Most places that have Holiday Specials include a dessert. Not at this place. After the over charge you for your TV dinner they want to screw just a little bit more. Don't waste your time or money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Had a delicious thanksgiving dinner and finished the meal with pink champagne cake. It’s so kitschy and over the top “pink” and it’s worked for many years. Bravo to The Madonna Inn.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Made reservation based upon website advertising a traditional Thanksgiving Dinner prefix menu for $39.99 per person ! The dinner was hardly traditional nor a good valve as the quality of the food and portions where similar to cafeteria quality at best ? We were seated in the cafe portion that shares the same kitchen as the main dinning which also had the exact same below par food as the cafe. The dinner and portions where limited choice of soup / salad? Turkey or Ham, mashed or sweet potatoes ,rolls and butter and the kicker sugar snap beans and a antipasti appetizer in all my 67 years I never heard of these items as part of a traditional Thanksgiving Dinner? We choice one soup and one salad and a Turkey and Ham Dinners! The portions were small and appeared institutional like cafeteria food NOT restaurant quality nor worth the $39.99 paid for a two course limited dinner. The soup was cold pumpkin that was bland serviced in a cup . The salad was chopped whited ice berg lettuce with shredded carrots and red cabbage with two cherry tomatoes . The dinners where under whelming as well Turkey Dinner had about a tablespoon of rice based stuffing with about 8 ozs of all white meat Turkey breast meat only coved with minimal gravy that tasted of flour . The mashed potatoes where fine however served with a ice cream scoop and with no gravy ? The largest portion was the snap beans which in my opinion where just weird would of preferred another traditional item like squash or green beans. Neither of us eat much of our snap bean. The Ham Dinner consisted of 2 slices of roasted ham total portion size same as turkey about 8 ozs tptal. The sweet potatoes where mashed and nothing special . I need to note nothing was served piping hot. The bread basket was 3 cold dinner rolls with whipped butter! The antipasti was more like a relish tray celery & carrot sticks, olives, mild peppers, 3 slices of American cheese and small salami slices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

My husband and I ate in the cafe for Thanksgiving dinner. We ordered the open-faced turkey sandwich off the menu rather than the special. We don’t eat big meals and the turkey sandwich (without the bread)was perfect. The best turkey we have had ! Everything was prepared very well and was served hot. Our server was excellent. Our only disappointment was that there was no more pumpkin pie left and I was told you don’t offer the French pastries any longer., even though they are still on the menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

We had a lovely Thanksgiving meal last year. We wanted to enjoy another meal here this year. We will not return next year.
Did not feel welcome. We were told the wait time even though we had confirmed reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

We always eat there for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
We had dinner in the Copper Cafe but the ham dinner looked like the just throw it on the place, also it was like we got the end pieces. Just sad for them.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

high quality food / service at a high to moderate price- it was great for Thanksgiving get away!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The Copper Cafe at Madonna Inn never disappoints. We ate our Thanksgiving dinner there and each bite was delicious. They we very busy but we did not wait long for any of our food to arrive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We took my grandson and his wife for brunch here for her birthday. Everything was great and they enjoyed the restaurant .

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Our server was horrible. She didn’t refill our glasses ever I had to ask someone else. She never asked if we needed anything. The food it self is very bland and not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2017

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST restaurant I have ever eaten in. Carpet was filthy, tables were left with dirty dishes, food was disgusting. Hamburger had absolutely no flavor. The BLT sandwich fell apart and could not be eaten. The meat in the STEAK salad was not steak...not even sure if it was beef. Smelled and tastes terrible. One bite did it. Their specialty pink cake was;'t even worth a second bite. STAY AWAY.....maybe it was good 50 years ago....but certainly not now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

This was a great stop between Santa Cruz and Ventura for a very special birthday lunch. The artistry and craftwork in this historic building are breathtakingly beautiful and a must-see!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Great food as usual. Carrot Cake is the best. Service is great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The service was incredibly slow... it took 25 minutes to receive two cups of soup. Maybe they can bring in more help for the lunch hour when an event like the Bridal Expo is taking place. Cake is fantastic here. Save room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Had a wonderful Birthday celebration for my friend!
They saved the perfect table for us too! Great food and great service! Thank you!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I've always wanted to stop here on my way through SLO.
So I made a reservation for 3pm on a sunday because we had 6 people.

Let's just say that a reservation didn't appear to mean anything to them. I mentioned at 3:20 that we were still waiting for our reservation for 3pm (for which we were early) and that nobody seemed to be addressing us or even realize we've been standing there waiting. Her response was that they got busy. She says this as there are open tables near us. It didn't help that the bus boy was moving at a snails pace for being so "busy".
I really hate to complain about service. I've been in the industry and I know it's tough and it does get busy, but I haven't had an experience like this for a long time. The hostess was rude and didn't seem to care that we had a reservation at all. Anyway. We finally got a table and our waitress was great. She was so on the ball. It really saved the experience for us. The food was meh and overpriced. Portions are huge, but that's not a plus for me. I prefer better quality.

The place and grounds are certainly something to see and I do recommend that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Was there to attend the Jo Koy performance. Arrived an hour and a half early. Service was terrible. Our waitress came, took our drink order and we never saw her again and ended up with another waitress after approx 15-20 minutes. She didn't even introduce herself. After she took our order she didn't come back again for another 35-40 minutes, and the show was scheduled to start in 25 minutes. We had to scarf our food down (and all we ordered was sandwiches). Bad experience and will never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Such a fun place to visit. The history behind the Madonna is also fascinating. Definitely want to come back and stay in one of the rooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.