About Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 784-2430

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn
French Toast
Tri Tip Beef Sandwich
Pink Champagne Cake
Root Beer Float
Reuben Sandwich
Almond croissant
lemon coconut cake
Cornbeef Hash
Monte Cristo Sandwich
Chocolate Éclair
Beef Dip
Strawberry Waffle
Eggs Benedict
Club House Sandwich
Breakfast Sundae
French Pastry

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
American
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
2 More
Special Occasion
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

Great for Lunch (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Kid-friendly (16)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (9)
Scenic View (6)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This RSVP is a good site, when we arrive ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

This RSVP is a good site, when we arrived the Hostess knew my name and we were seated right away.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

What a lovely place for 15 women to meet ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a lovely place for 15 women to meet for dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Met a friend to have Madonna's famous la ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Met a friend to have Madonna's famous layer cakes. They were great as always but several of the flavors were not available. Must have been a run on them earlier in the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good portions, everything was well done ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good portions, everything was well done and our waiter was spot on, good job!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good breakfast/lunch food in a fun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very good breakfast/lunch food in a fun pink atmosphere. :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like to visit the Madonna Inn, however ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I like to visit the Madonna Inn, however in the coffee shop, the place is showing some wear and tear. As well as some of the staff seems stressed, or impatient. I'd prefer to see a happy face when I'm starting my morning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was disappointed almost immediately. W ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I was disappointed almost immediately. We had a reservation for lunch for 3 people. We were greeted by a pleasant lady who told us she was putting us at a table by the window, which we thought was nice of her. She called for the table to be cleared and set for us. When it was ready she prompted us to sit down. After approx. 10 mins I kindly asked a 'waitress in brown pinafore' for some menus....to which she replied quite sharply "you should have waited to be shown to your table and not just sat down anywhere you liked"!!! The lady who had greeted us explained it was her who had told us to take that table. My husband and daughter ordered a hot lunch, whilst I ordered the apple pie and cream which I'd heard was good. After 45 mins, the hot lunches arrived quite cold like they'd been sitting a while. The server realised my order hadn't arrived and after going to check, informed me that not only did they not have apple pie but NO PIES and would I like to order something else...seriously!!! I politely declined as I was not prepared to wait a long period of time for that to arrive, only for my husband & daughter to have finished. We left feeling deflated that after reading reviews on this place, we drove a long distance out of our way on our vacation, to be so disappointed with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food here is pretty good, but you're ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food here is pretty good, but you're really going for the experience of the Madonna Inn. It is definitely over-priced. We will go back because it's a fun place to have breakfast or lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Traditional diner food with the bonus of ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Traditional diner food with the bonus of Madonna cake. The cakes we had were a little drier than usual but still tasty. The decor is unique but needs refurbishing. The staff are very friendly and helpful with recommendations of favorite items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We came here for my sister bachelorette ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We came here for my sister bachelorette brunch and everything was so delicious! We really enjoyed the champagne cake they have to offer.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating my 61st birthday. They ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was celebrating my 61st birthday. They even gave me a balloon. Everyone's food came as ordered, delivered in a reasonable time frame. At times, it seems our waiter disappeared. Water replenishing was spotty. My wife ordered coffee w/ dessert. Our desserts were served w/out forks/spoons. Her coffee did not arrive until we flagged our waiter down. The place was not full at any time during our meal, a Saturday 6PM-7PM time frame. I will still go back, as this was not the usual service I have experienced.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We loved the breakfast. Melon pancakes F ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We loved the breakfast. Melon pancakes French toast etc... loved coffee ontap

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Would highly recommend this restaurant & ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Would highly recommend this restaurant & if your able take a look around as well

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had breakfast at the Copper Cafe Frid ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had breakfast at the Copper Cafe Friday of the holiday weekend, it was evident they weren't ready for the holiday crowd. Our poor waitress was overwhelmed and said she had eight tables all sat at once. It took an hour to get our food. She was very apologetic and finally let us know they brought in more servers and management so they would "now be ok". Looked at the time and realized it was 10:50am, past the breakfast rush but I guess late is better than never? We didn't really get refills or asked how our food was, but it wasn't the waitress fault. This is hardly the first holiday weekend the Madonna Inn has had, so they should have known better. Breakfast was good, but be prepared to wait for it and maybe even get your own water and coffee, which we saw people doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We came to the Copper Cafe to celebrate ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We came to the Copper Cafe to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday. We made reservations ahead of time and our table was ready for us the minute we walked in the door. We were a party of 10 and our food was delivered in a timely manner. Everybody was more than satisfied with the quality of the food and the portions were so large that many of us took some our meals to go. We will definitely be coming here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable...lovely grounds as well. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Very enjoyable...lovely grounds as well. Brittany was wonderful as our waitress. Must stop and enjoy, but be sure you have a couple of hours to see/do it all!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wanted to visit while on our road trip. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wanted to visit while on our road trip. We were not disapointed with our visit. Big portions and loved the glasses on the table. Purchased the pink mug to take back to the UK with me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I came here with a group of 5 girls for ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I came here with a group of 5 girls for breakfast. We were staying at the Madonna Inn for a bachelorette party. It took over 30 mins to get our drink orders, over 45 mins to even place our order, and at least 40 mins after that to get our food, which was cold. The eggs Benedict cost $20 and was way over done and cold, but I didn't want to send it back for fear it would take hours to get a new plate. The waitress was busy, but hardly ever checked on us to refill drinks or explain why the food was so late until we said something to her. We had such a great experience the night before at the main restaurant, that this was extremely disappointing. At no point were we offered a discount or any apology or explanation for why it took us nearly 2 hours to have a quick diner style breakfast.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Most of our orders were wrong and multip ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Most of our orders were wrong and multiple items forgotten. 1/2 of our table got their food about 10 minutes before the other half.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Wonderful

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a great experience, I really look forward to going back. The only reason I ranked it overall 4 stars is that they sat my girlfriend and I by the door where people enter and exit by. I feel they could have a better placed that table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasteless and mushy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was tasteless and mushy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Had a great breakfast at the Copper Cafe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Had a great breakfast at the Copper Cafe during our stay at the Madonna Inn. The Corned Beef Hash is fantastic...it's made fresh at the restaurant. Love the decor and the friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than a landmark

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Madonna Inn is a Californua landmark. From their pink decor to their amazing cakes! I met up with a couple of friends for lunch at the Copper Cafe -the restaurant was crowded but we had a reservation and were seated immediately. The service was excellent as was the food. As a local I eat there often and have always had a great meal. You won't be dissappointed! My salad was tasty and more than adequate! I didn't save room for a slice of their cake! Next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten here frequently and have always enjoyed the food. The menus is varied and everyone can find something to enjoy. The service is nice and friendly. The French dip or bar b que beef is excellent. If you like sweet potato fries they are delicious. You must save room for desert!! Their cakes and pies are worth the calories.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

reservation was messed up after it was confirmed

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wish they would follow through with requests after they confirmed that they would.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our reservations were ready and timely. Nice ambience in a pleasant room. Once seated we waited a reasonable time before we had to ask for our waitress . The hostess came and poured out water and then got the attention of our waitress. She took our order without writing it down and the wrong drinks were delivered to the table. Our food was average coffee shop quality and was over priced. Our waitress didn't maintain the table and the bill was delivered by the girl busing the tables. We didn't comment or give her any cause to ignore us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great Way to Experience the Madonna Inn

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I have always wanted to go to the Madonna Inn and instead of staying there, decided to have breakfast at the restaurant. Options were pretty standard for breakfast: omelettes, pancakes, etc. The service was really friendly and fast. The best part is the ambience and the opportunity to experience the uniqueness of the Madonna Inn. Would definitely recommend this for a quick meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was way too expensive, it was ok... ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was way too expensive, it was ok... nothing to write home about. We tried the world famous cakes and honestly they taste like the cakes you get from a grocery store. Not impressed. The Madonna Inn is beautiful though, the environment remind me of inns and buildings in the Black Forest in Germany. I would recommend people to go there to look around but eat elsewhere to save money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

We dined here for dinner and breakfast s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We dined here for dinner and breakfast since we were staying at the inn. Typical diner food. Took an extremely long time to get our dinner food even though we had only ordered sandwiches. Breakfast was just as slow. Food was basic and not great. Servers were friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place for a quick bite

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The Copper Cafe was recommended to me by a friend, and it was great. My husband and I shared the avacado salad and grilled ham and cheese, both were delicious. I loved the colored goblets and the stained glass windows. It was a nice little find and the desserts were fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

St. Patrick's Day dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Four of us enjoyed our dinner and wine, as we left we were asked by people coming in about dinner. We recommended the special for St. Patrick's Day. We had a nice visit during dinner in our corner by the fireplace.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

service

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We came here for my birthday for a large party. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed the great service that we got.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Unique dining experience and exceptionally delicious meal.. Even the ww toast and jellies were delectable .. Enjoyed exploring the many rooms and even the bathrooms were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Valentine's Day Dinner!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I've worked in the hospitality industry for 8 years (fine dining, catering, bartending, and everything in between) and there was no holiday I hated more than the dreaded Valentine's Day. Everything would always go wrong - food took too long, drinks were sloppy, servers were swamped, and tables came in with huge expectations but often left disappointed after a long wait or awful service. I was beyond amazed that we didn't experience a single one of those things during our Valentine's Day dinner at Copper Cafe. Everything was perfect, and I don't have a single complaint. We got there early and killed time at the bar, enjoying two rounds of drinks (Amazing Moscow Mules! It's hard to get them just right with the perfect balance of lime and ginger beer, and your bartender succeeded) and a light appetizer. When it was time for our reservation, we got sat right away at one of the nicest tables in the building (the huge booth in the back next to the kitchen doors). Service was fast and friendly, and the food (filet & lobster) came out much faster than anticipated, which was perfect because I was starving. Finishing with pink champagne cake was a nice touch, and we left absolutely stuffed and delighted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch! Love the decor and Atm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Great for brunch! Love the decor and Atmosphere. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So much fun

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

I was here for a work and birthday dinner, and we had a great time. It's not inexpensive, but it is fun and delicious. We all enjoyed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mom's Fav Bday Spot

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We love going here every year for my mom's birthday! She loves the champagne cake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great breakfast spot

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Madonna Inn and ate here for breakfast one morning and really enjoyed it. The staff was very accommodating and the food was very good. And the bacon... Yum! Very reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Breakfast at The Madonna Inn

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Enjoyed our breakfast with friends this morning. The table server Yessica was outstanding. Very professional but friendly.

The egg dishes were all to our liking. My husband enjoyed his hash and poached eggs as well. The portions are abundant.

Will definitely be returning very soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Front Desk Service So-So

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

The food was good. Front desk service could have been a little more attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.