Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

4.3
271 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Fun
  • Casual
  • Great for Lunch
The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 543-3000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jacqui Hanover
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 101
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 271 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Came here on a weekday evening for an impromptu birthday dinner. Service and food were wonderful. Can't beat the quirky ambiance of Madonna Inn without the Steakhouse prices. Always love coming for breakfast here too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I would come here for breakfast only and use the more formal dining room for dinner, which in the past was superb, as was the service. For lunch and our birthday celebration, it was not acceptable. My dining companion ordered the grilled fish sandwich and the fish looked shriveled and old, and was such a small filet that it didn't even come close to filling the one slice of bread. My pastrami sandwich was acceptable but not filled enough, and the birthday gal enjoyed her steak sandwich, but the presentation of the sandwiches leaves much to be desired. The prices are high but the quality has significantly fallen. Then the much anticipated Pink Champagne cake slices arrived...not at all pink, and with no explanation as to why they were all white. Our server was not the friendliest nor informative. I will not bring guests to the cafe again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Quirky place, definitely worth a visit. Food could be improved, wine wasn't great, service was so-so. Definitely not either well worth the tab or fine dining. Really fun place though. Not sorry we went, and we might go another time, but it won't be our go-to SLO place. Still looking for that :-) The decor is fun and the tables are, I'm sure, real copper.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Mediocre food. The restaurant is a unique experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Always love the madonna inn since I was a kid.. everything was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Copper Cafe and Bakery is a unique and special experience - one not to be missed - food and service is excellent and don't forget the pink champagne cake - I make this a stop every time I visit the Central Coast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Old school place but good food a d friendly staff

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Madonna Inn is a local treasure. Being built in the 1960's it is now kind of in the "retro" style as the motif has not changed much at all. However, the same lifelong owners have kept it in immaculate condition and it should not be passed up. Although somewhat pricey, it has an excellent and varied menu and worth your time to try.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 19, 2018

My son requested the Copper Cafe for his fourth birthday. The waitress was very rude. I asked her for a balloon, and she seemed "put out" by the request. Our orders appeared to irritate her.
She slammed our plates and condiments on the table. We all ordered dessert, and she didn't even bother to tell my son, Happy Birthday. I was very disappointed. I was hoping for a fun, birthday evening. (We had to go home for that).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Good food, great ambience! We are locals & of course we will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We went for the Corned Beef and Cabbage on St. Patrick's Day. We have eaten there many times and it's always enjoyable. But the corned beef was terribly fat and chewy. I was surprised that the quality was not better. It was not expensive but I would rather pay a little more and be served a nicer meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great fun for the whole family. We got the exact booth we requested. Environment was fun and festive. Our kids just wished we would have stayed the night too! :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great time!! Our waitress Shelly was very flexible with our large group and celebration of two birthdays and day after wedding for another couple!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

I love it here! Best pancakes in the world. No exaggeration- I go every time I come from Manhattan to visit my parents.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

It feel like being someplace special, (Switzerland or Disneyland) but although the portions are generous, the prices are really high for the quality. My daughter’s waffle had so much baking powder we could taste it - ick! The eggs Benedict was good and the big slab of ham was tender and delicious, but there was not much hollandaise sauce and the hash browns were undercooked (totally white on the bottom and barely browned on top).
For the price, I don’t think I’d go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Great food, Great service(thanks Katie) Always enjoy having lunch there.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

So I've been going to Madonna Inn for Valentines day well this is the 3rd year. Last experiences have been wonderful and thats what made us want to come back...well this year was a different story. My overall experience was completely saddened. Granted our waitress was super polite and fast with drinks and our food. I had made reservations about 3 weeks prior requesting a booth. Well we go at our reservation time and the lady said there is a group of 24 so we don't have a booth for our group...they shouldnt have accommodated a big group like on such a busy hoilday. Also ran out of a lot of cake. I've gone to Madonna Inn for some pretty special occasions because in the past they have always taken care of us but now I'm probably never going to come back or it will take some time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our waitress was very cordial and attentive to our needs. It was a special Valentine day dinner for my wife and I. The Dutch Apple Pie was warm and delicious.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 11, 2018

We had an 8:30 reservation for breakfast. We were seated in a booth. We could see the waitresses standing and talking to the cooks from where we were seated. We waited 15 minutes and no one came to our table. The waitress went to the table next to us twice but didn't come to our table. We left after 15 minutes. I will not go back there again. By the way, there were maybe 6 other tables with customers, so they were not busy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We made a reservation for special occasion and there was nothing special, hardly a "welcome" on our arrival. We had 4 kids and had to ask multiple times for kids crayons that were offered to us then forgotten. Speaking of being forgotten, our waiter was pretty absent and not on top of it. I understand "bad days" but we've had this waiter a couple times now and have never had good service with him.
Food was fine. Going to madonna isn't about the food or service and they seem to know that. No one really cares, which is too bad because it is such a quintessential place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The decor is very dated, I suppose that is part of the charm. The room was extremely loud and it was hard to have a conversation. That being said, the food was very good. I went during restaurant month and it was a great value. I had the steak and black forest steak. I would highly recommend both!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

It is always a special place, Especially around the holidays.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Great food, great service and a fun atmosphere! Plus we love their bakery!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Unlike the lunch menu, the breakfast menu is more tasty. The breakfast was good (Eggs Benedict) but was pricey. Since it was a birthday celebration we received a free dessert and Madonna Inns cakes are great. The server we had was sensational - personable and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Excellent, fun service. Accommodated our special request with unexpected zest and originality. Made a birthday dinner really special! Decent food, a little hit and miss. A really cool location, would return again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Our new year day traditional family breakfast🎉

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Table was sticky and the waiter was slow

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Had a great time with our family. We orderded 2 items that were out which we were a little bummed. My entree was wrong but it was still good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Great prices, good food , friendly service and beautiful surroundings

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Went for a birthday lunch celebration because we had a gift card given to us. The food was not up to par with the prices. Entries were overpriced and not tasty..sides of potatoe salad and coke slaw seemed to have come from premixed containers(not freshly made) sweet potatoe fries over cooked (thin and dry)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Went for Christmas Dinner in the Cafe. What a meal! Roasted duck, dressing, yams and oh, the boysenberry pie!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Friendly, clean, seated promptly. Hot roast beef sandwich and desert were outstanding. Monte Cristo a bit greasy, and lacked powder sugar, it was satisfactory but I have had better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2017

My son and his wife live in Paso Robles. My wife and I, unfortunately, live in Santa Maria. For the past two years we have met at noon at the Copper Cafe & Bakery on Christmas to celebrate the season and my son's birthday because it's almost exactly half way for all of us. We really enjoy the atmosphere, the service, and the food. I made our reservation back in early November for noon. We were seated shortly after noon at a window by a very busy but pleasant maître d'. Amazingly, our server Katy was the same server we had last year. Katy is a terrific, down to earth, pleasant person, even while working in a hectic, crowded restaurant. It is pretty noisy, but, for the first time in a long time, my "screaming two year old curse" did not materialize. The table at which we sat was pretty large, so it was occasionally difficult to hear the person across from us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2017

I took some family Xmas morning because I know how beautifully decorated it is this time of year. Service was good and food as well, they make sure sure your dining experience is a nice one 😊 The only thing I noticed was that it was slightly unorganized as far as seating people, I realize they were very busy but you could tell they weren’t keeping track of the order of people coming especially with a reservation, it was a little chaotic. After we were seated it was a very pleasant experience 😊

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Stacia was really attentive.! Very good service. Food was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Very nice Restaurant with a great staff. Visit was with two other family members, total of three people. I wanted a window table, several were empty, but was seated just in front of the kitchen doors. Staff was generally trying to minimize noise, but often when the doors swung open into the kitchen, noise drifted out, temporarily making conversation somewhat difficult.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

The manager was not great. He wouldn't give us all the chairs required for our reservation. The server, however, was wonderful and the food was fine. We went for the holiday ambience. Our kids think it's a magical place with all the decorations and the fancy water glasses. They enjoyed the holiday atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2017

A few of us girls meet every December at the Copper Cafe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, exceptional service, friendly staff, fun time, good food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Had a great meal with great service from our server, Brittany.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn