Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 784-2430

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fun (10)
See All
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Romantic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Scenic View (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a fun place to go when visiting from out of town

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Great stop on a road trip for a must see beautiful property. Good food, great atmosphere. Recommend making a reservation
The place gets packed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The cafe is separate from the formal restaurant but you can order from either menu. The madonna inn is famous for its kitschyness and eccentric design, therefore attracts the tourist crowd (reflected in their entree prices). But if you're traveling by 101, it's just off the highway and worth a look.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We came up on the train, it was my Mom's birthday. We came for dinner at the Cafe. A lot of food. Shared a piece of cafe. Walked around inside, she had a fun time. All good!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We loved Copper Cafe!! The staff is extrememly friendly and attentive, the food was super yummy and it's such a gem of a restaurant; part of an utterly unique and enchanting Inn that delivers quite an awesome experience!! Thanks to all who serve at the Copper Cafe and Madonna Inn with the utmost professionalism, yet friendly and engaging dispositions!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Had a wonderful experience. Everyone was lovely and helpful. Great food and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was fine, service average minus. Feels like waitress knows people will come to this attraction anyway, effort is not needed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Much better then dinner. Still a bit pricey for what you get. Server was much better still slow.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Waiter was terrible never asked for drink order, very slow. For the price they charge for food and drink much more is expected. First off was told waffles were available on dinner menu then waiter said hostess was wrong no waffles available. Which made seven year old granddaughter break down. Got appetizer and never received drinks. Finally food arrived missing one dinner. Most of us were finished by the time final meal arrived. Mention this to manager who told waiter and then change server. Poor management style made my spouse very upset that waiter was told while we were there. Should have been done in private after we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wasn't sure what to expect from a restaurant that is part of a tourist attraction. The food at Copper Cafe was surprisingly very good and plentiful! Both adults and children in our party enjoyed the experience. The decor lived up to its hype! The children in the group felt like they were at Disneyland with the over-the-top decor and the beautiful giant cakes!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Long time waiting for food. Steaks were lacking in flavor and very chewy and tough. Figured for the $45 price tag for eac it would be really good to meat. We had the ribeye in the New York steak, I don't think I would recommend this place or food to any of my friends.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My go to breakfast place while in SLO. Love the corned beef hash. Yummy comfort food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lovely environment, but the service was not the best. Slow to be wait on, slow to bring drinks, and slow to bring food. I understand this isn't wait staff fault, but server never came by to give updates or thank us for our patience. Food was good, not great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Local better then average restaurant. Reasonable prices.
It was Mother's Day and the restaurant was very crowded and there appeared slow response to our table because of the busyness and lack of adequate servers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our experience was not good for breakfast. First of all we had a reservation and after checking in with the hostess we waited for a table, my wife finally went back up to ask and they forgot about us. Secondly, my wife ordered a ham and cheese omelette with mushrooms. The food was out quickly but there was very little ham or cheese and no mushrooms, it was also dry and over cooked. The hash browns she had were greasy. I had a waffle which was dry as well. The place is beautiful inside and we ordered cake to go, which was outstanding! Their bakery is exceptional and is more in line with what we would expect from such a landmark institution in SLO. Sadly, we will not go back to the Copper Cafe.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They were out of all of the cakes... 2 waiters took our order. Half of the food came out, and the rest came out after everyone was finished. Not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Superb. Traveled 1 hour to eat here for our 42 anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I had the $28 steak sandwich.......was not worth half that price. Half of the small steak was fat.
My wife had the chilli burger which was O.K.
We live in 5 cities area, so company would love to see your location,
we will just tell them go look, but eat somewhere else.....sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The Madonna Inn is always a hit! The ambiance is fantastic! I enjoyed celebrating my birthday dinner with my family. Always recommend the Madonna Inn for any occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It did not meet our expectations. We had been told how "fabulous" the decor was. We did not think so. It seemed kind of bedraggled and outdated. The food was pretty much the same as anywhere and the latte was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had the most pleasant breakfast with family and friends. We made a reservation and were seated right away. Food came faster than expected. Had the best time there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Atmosphere is always fun. Food was fine. Nothing outstanding but all good. Frequent stop when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Won't be coming back here anytime soon!
Took my friend there for lunch, it was her first time there and will no doubt be her last...mine too! We both ordered a salad and half way through she bit down on a toothpick hidden in her salad. Her mouth got stabbed and all they wanted to do was offer her a piece of their dry cake! DONE, DONE DONE....NEVER GOING BACK AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Even though it was Easter, the staff was very gracious in accommodating our large group and allowing us to add a person. Our server was very efficient and friendly. The atmosphere of the whole property is so fun and colorful, what's not to love?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Had a great time with my wife celebrating out 20th. Great good, awesome service and nice ambience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Made reservations for my daughter and I. We were seated promptly and that was it! Waited over 20 minutes and no one came around to offer us coffee or anything and we ended up going to another restaurant! We are a local family and have been there many times, don't think we will be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A very enjoyable dining experience overall.

The wait staff was exceptional in all ways.

I might mention one small item; the side salad was too large for the plate. I'd didn't think the salad was too large, just that a larger plate would allow one to better place the salad dressing that came on the side. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good pancakes, but we waited awhile to even see a waiter and the food itself took a long time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The Madonna Inn is always fabulous; the food is delicious, the staff is warm and friendly and from the inside to the outside, every area is magical! They serve the most delicious coffee, their bacon is the best and their coconut cream pie is the best I've ever had! For an unforgettable time, treat yourself to the Madonna Inn!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was St Patrick's day so to be fair maybe they were busier than usual. We sat for over an hour without food or explanation of why the food was taking so long. The waitress did explain after the meal that the kitchen was slow and she appreciated our patience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent, amazing setting and history for the entire Resort Complex!!

Worth your time..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We like going to the Copper Cafe for all occasions. The last time I made a reservation through Open Table and I called to confirm the reservation as well, for 11 people, 2 highchairs and Gluten Free Bread. When we got there, they had our tables set up for us, though a little cramped, we made it work. But when we ordered our meals we wanted to order 4 Club sandwiches with the Gluten Free Bread due to allergies. We have ordered these before from there and they are delicious. Needless to say a few of us were disappointed, they only had 6 slices. Our waitress said that she was aware of our large party but they never told her about our request for the Gluten Free bread, therefore someone dropped the ball. They need to communicate better!!! My order was the last to come out it was the Southwest Steak Salad, although we ordered 3 of them, it took awhile I think they forgot mine.
Our waitress was Great!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner with my wife. Very enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and were promptly seated, even though they were very busy. This was much appreciated. Our server, Taylor, was extremely friendly and accommodating. Food portions were huge and very tasty. We were staying at the hotel (which was wonderful), celebrating a birthday, and even though we were there for breakfast, she still brought out a huge piece of beautiful, Pink Champagne cake (compliments of the house). It really made the Birthday girls day! We will definitely return :)

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was mediocre at best. Very overpriced. We will not go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have been told to go there by friends because of the distinctive features and we wanted to experience it by ourselves. It is a nice restaurant full of details. There was live music at night and they have an interesting gift shop. It is really expensive but even the restrooms are worth visiting!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Put us at terrible table even though we had reservations. Booth behind the round counter and next to icecream station and kitchen door, even though resturaunt wasn't busy. Waited 20 minutes for server show. My daughter ordered an item, just to be told they were out later. Cake pieces were smaller than normal. Brought family to show them how wonderful it was, probably won't be back for a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It took 45 mins to get our order. The Madonna Inn and Restuarants need to be updated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Madonna Inn Copper Cafe offers an (unadvertised) slice of one of their famous cakes on a birthday or anniversary. We usually look forward to the toffee crunch cake with shipped cream, but this time we weren't asked which we wanted and were surprised to be delighted with their choice: white cake with whipped cream and gobs of rich creamy yellow custard, the cake accented with pink colored shavings of white chocolate. The custard was nearly as good as mother used to make!! The birthday girl loves Copper Cafe pancakes and I was very pleased with the Denver Omelette, only $1 more for bagel and cream cheese instead of toast. No leftovers!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server was inattentive, our food took an hour to get to our table. My pasta tasted like frozen pasta. We were never brought our bread, or anti-pasta plate. We have eaten in the steak house in the past. I would not recommend the cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.