About Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

The Copper Café is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate wood carvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a charming, old-world experience.

Adjacent to the Copper Café, guest enjoy the Madonna Inn Bakery featuring world-famous cakes, pies, cookies, along with French and Danish pastries, all made daily with the finest ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 7:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 784-2430

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
French Toast - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Tri Tip Beef Sandwich - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Pink Champagne Cake - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Root Beer Float - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Reuben Sandwich - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Almond croissant - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
lemon coconut cake - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Cornbeef Hash - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Monte Cristo Sandwich - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Chocolate Éclair - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Beef Dip - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Strawberry Waffle - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Eggs Benedict - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Club House Sandwich - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Breakfast Sundae - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
French Pastry - Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Enjoy an All Inclusive Gala Event, choice of entrees such as filet mignon, salmon, lobster, and chicken. Includes glass of champagne, party favors, a live band, Seafood Chowder or salad, and world-famous chocolate eclairs. Two seatings! $125 Adults, includes tax and tip!

Copper Café and Bakery, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

Great for Lunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Historic (14)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Family Style (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Seasonal (6)
Fireplace (6)
Authentic (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Dancing (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you want to step back in time and eat ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

If you want to step back in time and eat something you’re grammy would make...this is the place! I made reservations on line and was seated immediately. For the best seating, ask for a booth near the bar area, very cozy. If you like cocktails that taste like dessert, order a Pink Cloud. If you missed Thanksgiving at home, like I did, order the Hot Turkey sandwich. It’ll fix what you missed. And if you happen to have grown up eating Corn Beef Hash and crave it once again. They have it and it’s great. Even if you’re not hungry....just go to the Madonna Inn. Plenty of gift shops and you can walk around to see the Bold decor of Pink and Gold. It’s a pink dream from a by gone era.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As advancing years take away tolerable d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As advancing years take away tolerable driving miles, we've made the Madonna Inn our halfway point home from the family Thanksgiving in San Francisco. The on-premises Copper Cafe is a cast back to the "fancy" eateries of my childhood in the '50s and '60s.

Solid American cuisine, the Cafe serves an upscale dinner menu BUT the dishes available in their adjoining steak house are also available here.

This is our third year straight dining with the Madonna family on the way home. If you are looking for haute cuisine and vegan creations, drive past the Copper Cafe into San Luis Obispo where there are ample choices. But if your taste buds harken for the comfort food of your youth ... or, your parents' youth ... the Cooper Cafe at The Madonna Inn will not disappoint.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Possibly the lowest quality food for the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Possibly the lowest quality food for the price I have ever experienced . The turkey dinner was hard to recognize under the anemic canned gravy. We could hardly find the lettuce underneath the pile of bagged shredded carrots. It was simply awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Very disappointed at Madonna Inn for Tha ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very disappointed at Madonna Inn for Thanksgiving dinner. Made early (6pm) reservation because we had a 3 year old with us. We arrived about 10 minutes early and were told it would be about a half hour and go look around at the shops and decor and check back in. Went back about 6:15 and still no table ready although there were several empty tables we could see. Took the 3yo outside in the cold so he wouldn't disturb the other diners and went back @ 6:30. Asked about the obviously empty tables and were told they were being saved for a party of 17. Also spotted an empty booth at the back but were told that was for the owners and no one else was ever allowed to sit there. Finally got seated about 10 minutes later and sat for 15 minutes before I got up and went to the front to tell them we hadn't even gotten water yet and were about to leave (and then where would we eat on Thanksgiving?)

A server finally came over with water and took our drink order... we didn't dare let her get away for fear of never seeing her again so ordered dinner as well. My daughters coffee and grandsons juice arrived soon but my glass of wine and our friends beer took awhile. The food was a mixed bag. Prime rib was good, Lamb chops were a little overdone and my duck was overcooked and dried out. Mashed potatoes were instant out of a box. Dinner came with an antipasto tray and rolls but we had to ask for them halfway through the meal.

We have enjoyed eating there many times before but will never never go for a special holiday meal again. You go to a restaurant on a holiday to have a stress free meal but excessive waiting, poor service and marginal food made this occasion anything but stress free. By the way, the party of 17 was seated about 7:30. We would have been done by then since we had a young child with us. They even blamed the other guests for sitting too long which should be expected on a holiday. The manager did come over to apologize and comped 2 of our 4 desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We ate Thanksgiving dinner here this yea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We ate Thanksgiving dinner here this year and it was well worth it! The food was amazing, the service was good (it was a busy holiday!) and the atmosphere was fun!!! We will be back again for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Modanna Inn Is and will always be m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Modanna Inn

Is and will always be my go to place .the service and food is very consistent.

That is hard to do for such a long time.

Always a special treat to go there.and bring family and friends.

Thanks to the Madonna Family.

👍🏻😎🌴

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here once a year at least from o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We come here once a year at least from out of town to take a relative for a sort of

pre thanksgiving meal. The restaurant was beautifully decorated for Christmas and

with the outside lit it was very pretty. Our server was very friendly and effecient and

the food was delicious. So for us it was a great experience all the way around.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best corned beef hash--portion easily en ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

best corned beef hash--portion easily enough for two. wait staff always efficient and friendly. my go to breakfast place in SLO.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitresss was awesome service was great ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Waitresss was awesome service was great love when it's all decorated for Christmas.but would like to not haven been so close to the front door

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family gathering and the booth set up wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Family gathering and the booth set up was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The steakhouse is one of my favorites . ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The steakhouse is one of my favorites . I thought the coffee shop woul be good. It was not. We were craving hot sandwiches with mashed and gravy. The potatos wre cold and lumpy. The meat was cold. What a disappointment. My cappuccino was Luke warm.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Our host Dana was amazing. She truly mad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our host Dana was amazing. She truly made my daughter's 19th birthday breakfast one to remember!!! Great job Dana thank you for your hard work.

Elizabeth Vazquez

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Live Music, People Watching, Vegan, Family Style, Dancing, Fun, Great for Brunch, Historic, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Private Room, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A bit disappointed in the quality of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A bit disappointed in the quality of the breakfast. Madonna Inn cakes are the most amazing yet their pancakes and French toast were very mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I got reservations because there was a p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I got reservations because there was a professional conference with a 1 hour lunch break. I knew all the other attendees would swarm the restaurant at 11:30. The restaurant was so overwhelmed my reservation was ignored and we had to be seated with another couple at the same table. This was disgusting and unprofessional. I will never return. BTW the eggs Benedict was a 4 at best: no Canadian beacon but a huge slice of ham which overwhelmed the entire dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We usually enjoy having breakfast here. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We usually enjoy having breakfast here. We were seated promptly but it took almost a full hour to receive our food and when it did arrive 3 of 5 meals were bad and one was returned. Very disappointed. Possibly a new waitress and cooks. Not sure if we'll return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was great. Thomas was AWESOME! W ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service was great. Thomas was AWESOME! Will be back for sure and reservations we're quick and easy!!!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Historic, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic which made us o ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Our server was fantastic which made us order a fabulous wine and two desserts just so we could

Linger in a coffee shop. There is just something unique about the Madonna Inn when you embrace it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Actual menu much larger and better than ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Actual menu much larger and better than online menu. Terrific service, as well. Love, love, loved the Monte Cristo sandwich.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast, Brunch and dinner are traditi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Breakfast, Brunch and dinner are traditionally served in an old fashioned setting that takes you back a few years. The live music is worth scheduling dinner and dancing. They have their own wine label, house wine is mediocre in an area with superb wine flow from the over 200 wineries in the region. Cocktails are mixed to perfection, Bloody Mary recommended for breakfast with Bacon, Waffles and eggs, lunch must is the Pastrami sand which Or Ruben on rye.

Dinner pick a steak you won't be disappointed with medium rare selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is OK only. Spending $70 for br ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is OK only. Spending $70 for breakfast for 3 is too much. Side of bacon $8?

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Copper Cafe at the Madonna Inn offers a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Copper Cafe at the Madonna Inn offers a tasty breakfast and an upbeat atmosphere. We were seated immediately and our birthday celebrant enjoyed a balloon with a huge piece of chocolate cake on the house. My coffee cup was never empty! I'd recommend the restaurant to all my friends and relatives.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

With 7 people, making a reservation was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

With 7 people, making a reservation was key! We didnt have to wait, they already had our table set up and ready to go. I love the copper tables and the water goblets and the salt and pepper shakers! And who doesnt love pink sugar! The eggs benedict has always been and always will be my favorite. perfectly cooked and beautifully served. Great coffee, although draw back is the cups are small so if its busy you might have to wait to get a refill. The servers were super friendly and always willing to grab a pot of coffee and fill up our cups when we asked. They got balloons for the little ones and we had a great breakfast!

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is always consistent and tasty. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food is always consistent and tasty. Desserts are fabulous

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This RSVP is a good site, when we arrive ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This RSVP is a good site, when we arrived the Hostess knew my name and we were seated right away.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

What a lovely place for 15 women to meet ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a lovely place for 15 women to meet for dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Met a friend to have Madonna's famous la ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Met a friend to have Madonna's famous layer cakes. They were great as always but several of the flavors were not available. Must have been a run on them earlier in the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good portions, everything was well done ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good portions, everything was well done and our waiter was spot on, good job!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good breakfast/lunch food in a fun ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very good breakfast/lunch food in a fun pink atmosphere. :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like to visit the Madonna Inn, however ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I like to visit the Madonna Inn, however in the coffee shop, the place is showing some wear and tear. As well as some of the staff seems stressed, or impatient. I'd prefer to see a happy face when I'm starting my morning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was disappointed almost immediately. W ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I was disappointed almost immediately. We had a reservation for lunch for 3 people. We were greeted by a pleasant lady who told us she was putting us at a table by the window, which we thought was nice of her. She called for the table to be cleared and set for us. When it was ready she prompted us to sit down. After approx. 10 mins I kindly asked a 'waitress in brown pinafore' for some menus....to which she replied quite sharply "you should have waited to be shown to your table and not just sat down anywhere you liked"!!! The lady who had greeted us explained it was her who had told us to take that table. My husband and daughter ordered a hot lunch, whilst I ordered the apple pie and cream which I'd heard was good. After 45 mins, the hot lunches arrived quite cold like they'd been sitting a while. The server realised my order hadn't arrived and after going to check, informed me that not only did they not have apple pie but NO PIES and would I like to order something else...seriously!!! I politely declined as I was not prepared to wait a long period of time for that to arrive, only for my husband & daughter to have finished. We left feeling deflated that after reading reviews on this place, we drove a long distance out of our way on our vacation, to be so disappointed with the service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food here is pretty good, but you're ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food here is pretty good, but you're really going for the experience of the Madonna Inn. It is definitely over-priced. We will go back because it's a fun place to have breakfast or lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Traditional diner food with the bonus of ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Traditional diner food with the bonus of Madonna cake. The cakes we had were a little drier than usual but still tasty. The decor is unique but needs refurbishing. The staff are very friendly and helpful with recommendations of favorite items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We came here for my sister bachelorette ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We came here for my sister bachelorette brunch and everything was so delicious! We really enjoyed the champagne cake they have to offer.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating my 61st birthday. They ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was celebrating my 61st birthday. They even gave me a balloon. Everyone's food came as ordered, delivered in a reasonable time frame. At times, it seems our waiter disappeared. Water replenishing was spotty. My wife ordered coffee w/ dessert. Our desserts were served w/out forks/spoons. Her coffee did not arrive until we flagged our waiter down. The place was not full at any time during our meal, a Saturday 6PM-7PM time frame. I will still go back, as this was not the usual service I have experienced.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great breakfast, appreciated the attenti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great breakfast, appreciated the attentiveness to our small children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the breakfast. Melon pancakes F ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 11, 2016

We loved the breakfast. Melon pancakes French toast etc... loved coffee ontap

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Would highly recommend this restaurant & ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Would highly recommend this restaurant & if your able take a look around as well

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had breakfast at the Copper Cafe Frid ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had breakfast at the Copper Cafe Friday of the holiday weekend, it was evident they weren't ready for the holiday crowd. Our poor waitress was overwhelmed and said she had eight tables all sat at once. It took an hour to get our food. She was very apologetic and finally let us know they brought in more servers and management so they would "now be ok". Looked at the time and realized it was 10:50am, past the breakfast rush but I guess late is better than never? We didn't really get refills or asked how our food was, but it wasn't the waitress fault. This is hardly the first holiday weekend the Madonna Inn has had, so they should have known better. Breakfast was good, but be prepared to wait for it and maybe even get your own water and coffee, which we saw people doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We came to the Copper Cafe to celebrate ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We came to the Copper Cafe to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday. We made reservations ahead of time and our table was ready for us the minute we walked in the door. We were a party of 10 and our food was delivered in a timely manner. Everybody was more than satisfied with the quality of the food and the portions were so large that many of us took some our meals to go. We will definitely be coming here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable...lovely grounds as well. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Very enjoyable...lovely grounds as well. Brittany was wonderful as our waitress. Must stop and enjoy, but be sure you have a couple of hours to see/do it all!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.