About Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)

230 Adelaide St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 1W7
View Larger Map

CANADA’S FIRST URBAN RODIZIO.

Your experience at Copacabana begins with a trip to our "Galleria" where you will be tempted by fresh baked breads and dips from our open concept bakery; fresh cheeses cut from the wheel, and expertly hand sliced charcuterie selections. Help yourself to as much crisp salads and colorful starters you want, but leave room: Your experience is just beginning.

Back at your table our Gauchos or Carvers will service you with a feast of various CAB (Certified Angus) grilled meats prepared in a number of ways. Simply tell your carver how you prefer your meat, (most come medium rare) and leave the rest to us!

There is only one small task for you...As your Gaucho is Cutting at your table, use your provided tongs to simply grasp the top slab of meat and assist as he thinly slices a perfect cut of meat onto your plate, enjoy…and repeat as many times as you like!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brazilian Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Saturday: 4:00pm - Till Late
Sunday: 4:00pm - Till Late

Spend the Holidays with us, we are open regular hours.

Dec 24th - open
Dec 25th - open
Dec 26th - open
Jan 1st - open

Cross Street:
University Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 432-6721

Website:
http://www.thecopa.ca/

Entertainment:
Embrace yourself in a unique ambience and have a carnival experience where the combination between flavours, music and one-of-a-kind entertainment will keep you coming back.

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Rudan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Authentic Brazilian Rodizio. Immerse yourself in the culture through delectable eats, incredible cocktails and the best in live entertainment. There are no average nights at CopaCabana.

Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (107)
Special Occasion (102)
Good for Groups (93)
See All
Fun (87)
Good for a Date (86)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Modern Decor (54)
Hot Spot (50)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Worth the Drive (38)
Authentic (36)
Tasting Menu (33)
Casual (30)
Romantic (28)
Business Meals (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Live Music (23)
People Watching (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Dancing (14)
Family Style (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Healthy (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Live Sports (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Spicy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Memorable men serving the meat!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 19 hours ago

Memorable men serving the meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Although we set a reservation, we waited ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Although we set a reservation, we waited 15-20min for our table. Servers were also a bit rude and clearly not happy being there plus there is no entertainment or background music making the place a bit boring.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Informed the restaurant using "Open Tabl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Informed the restaurant using "Open Table" and over the phone about a special occasion. Was informed something special would be done. The hostess was taking forever to seat us even though we had a reservation made! Told us we would be sitting on the third floor and they were waiting for the current party to leave as they were standing around the tables talking. Then I think the manager came (male individual) and all of a sudden we got a table on the second floor. The hostess then sat us at a table that had a vent over top blasting cold air at our table, we were freezing all night! Hardly saw our waiter so couldn't really bring anything up to her. Only 1 of the meat servers we appreciated, he made sure we got our shrimps and any requests we had, which was the best part of our night there. Very upset with our overall experience there. We also found it upsetting that there was a party originally waiting in the waiting area while we were, there were about 8-10 individuals. When we were seated, we noticed a table beside us empty for the longest time. Then after 20-30 minutes after we were seated, we noticed that same group was finally seated at the table beside us. From seeing that and our experience, we felt there was too much unnecessary waiting. Sadly I had high hopes and they were not met..

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Copacabana is a great place to get a bun ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Copacabana is a great place to get a bunch of friends together to enjoy meat on swords brought to your table at a digestible pace. The live dancing is a plus, of course, but there are no better venues for a group gettogether dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to be reseated due to big reservatio ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Had to be reseated due to big reservation. Plan your reservation ahead of time or figure out where to seat properly. Did not recieve the card to receive meat, until asking. Should be present upon seating. Servers did not come to every table, and finding a server took forever. Due to small space,food at the buffet was limited, but still tastey. Overall food was good, service needs improvement.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Excellent and memorable evening for the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent and memorable evening for the whole family. The dancers were a pleasant surprise! The manager took my son aside to let him have a good view of the performance. She also gave our kidsa quick tour of the kitchen. We felt special. The food was incredible!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Family Style, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as usual. Ambiance, food and gre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome as usual. Ambiance, food and great service. Total package. Keep up the great food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Towards the end of our meal it was a bit ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Towards the end of our meal it was a bit hard to get the attention on a server, but overall the experience was good. They forgot to bring out my dates birthday dessert though, even after we prompted them. We waited half an hour then just paid or bill and left as we had already been there almost 2 hours. Food was great and entertainment was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to the Downtown location earlier in ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went to the Downtown location earlier in 2016 for dinner and totally enjoyed it so we booked 14 Guests for my brother's 50th birthday for Saturday January 7th and it was a wonderful night. Our server was constantly checking to make sure everything was in order, the food was great, loved the show at 7pm. Some of our guest came late but the service was still on point and they were able to just blend in and to join the fun - their food was ready and they had enough time to eat without feeling rushed. IT WAS A GREAT NIGHT .... Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Meats were fantastic! Something for ever ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Meats were fantastic! Something for everyone. And the buffet was great too - lots of variety and would be plenty for a vegetarian.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went as a family and as soon as we en ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We went as a family and as soon as we enter we received a warming welcome. The service was excellent, from the waiter to the manager make sure that we were enjoying our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience!! It was my wi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a great experience!! It was my wife's birthday and she said it was the best dining experience she's had in years. One of the servers Sal was one of the reasons for our great experience. He was very friendly and considering it was his first day on the job, I'd say he should get a raise. All in all we are definitely going to refer others and you will see is again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the ambiance of the restaurant. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I loved the ambiance of the restaurant. I was able to have a conversation and enjoy the food without too many interruptions. The staff was exceptionally friendly!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful service Very disappointing Will ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Awful service

Very disappointing

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was a little bit on the salty side ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was a little bit on the salty side but still some of the best steak I've ever had, meat was tender and flavorful, and the buffet was also fantastic. I would have preferred a bit more cinnamon on the pineapple but that is just my own opinion.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of the meats and seafood on the Rodi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

All of the meats and seafood on the Rodizio service were fantastic ! And the service was very prompt and frequent (although dining room was only half full). The buffet of salads, pastas, and starters was a bit disappointing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Made a reservation for 2 at 6:30 and sho ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made a reservation for 2 at 6:30 and showed up around 6:40. We still waited about 25 minutes before being seated. The waiting area is very small and there were a lot of parties waiting to be seated so it was fairly crammed. After we sat down, everything was great. The food is fantastic (both the meats and the buffet sides). The gauchos asked a few times if there was anything special we'd like brought to the table, and the waitress stopped by frequently to take away old plates and bring new ones.

My only complaint (if you could even call it a complaint) is about the "Stop/Go" card for meats. For those new to the churrascaria-style restaurant, everyone at every table gets a small card that is green on one side and red on the other. Green side up means "please bring more food", red side up means "not right now, thanks". Anyway, the cards seemed useless because nobody paid attention to them. At times, we were brought food we didn't want and at other times, the gauchos passed right by our table (and didn't come back) when we were waiting for meat. This wasn't really a big deal though as we got everything we wanted in the end and weren't bothered by the unexpected stops.

I'd definitely recommend the restaurant for a special occasion. The side dish buffet could have been a meal itself and in fact I believe it's offered that way. Despite the main course being meat, I don't think a vegetarian would find it too difficult to find something to eat there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It is our forth time in Copacabana and t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It is our forth time in Copacabana and they never disappointed us. The meat is always tasty and salads are fresh.

We will continue coming there in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our daughters birthday, it was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went for our daughters birthday, it was her first time and she really enjoyed the experience. It was a lot of fun for us all and the food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner place. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great dinner place. Service was excellent especially by Johnny, Colombian waiter. Great show as well.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was reasonable with respect to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was reasonable with respect to cuts of meat and taste. The top sirloin, Moroccan chicken, salmon, grilled pineapple, bacon wrapped fillet were hits. The garlic steak didn't have much garlic flavour. Go there with an appetite. Service was generally good, with the waiters bringing over meats being quite attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Hadn't been here for quite some time, de ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Hadn't been here for quite some time, delighted to find the steakhouse well maintained and food and services just as expected. Everything was tasty and we felt comfortable and easy even though the place was loud with the music and large dining groups chatter. When we asked one of the staff for our favourite steak we were promptly served. The cocktails were "pre-mixed" according to our server, pretty sure that's not the right way lol. Other than that, great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for meat lovers BUT I didn't taste ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good for meat lovers BUT I didn't taste anything special to justify the price. We felt that the service was quite slow and some of the servers were quite rude. To each their own...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Thought it'd be fancier. Service was goo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Thought it'd be fancier. Service was good. Nice for special events.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place if you like the meat.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great place if you like the meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Would have liked to know that the dancer ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Would have liked to know that the dancers and music is only on Fridays and Saturdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

worst service ever, i booked a table fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

worst service ever,

i booked a table for 2 people on Christmas day ( Adelaide location). we arrived at 8:15, we got our seat, i ordered a bottle of wine, ($52 good wine, good price)

she didn't know how to open the bottle, finally she opened it, and splash (a little) wine on our table, ( not a big deal - maybe she was nervous our she had a bad day).

salad bar was ok, BUT FOOD............

on their website they have over 22 selection of meat,

from 8:30 p.m. until 10:30 we only got served 6 times,

2 times : Roasted Pineapple - YESSS, PINEAPPLE

2 times: Pork Sausage - YES, SAUSAGE

1 time: Parmesan Chicken

1 time: Top Sirloin

unbelievable, i asked the server why we are not getting served anything, and she said sorry we are busy and we are doing in it, in order, "BUSY"??? seriously? you guys are always busy.

I paid $212.00 for 2 people, YES, $212. for nothing, absolutely nothing. ($52 for wine)

$180 for food??? what food? Roasted Pineapple??? or Sausage????

i would never go back,

my suggestion: if you want to have a good food( meat), just go to any steak house, order your food and enjoy it. at least you don't have to wait for 2 hours for "Roasted Pineapple"

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Have been to all of the Copas in the GTA ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Have been to all of the Copas in the GTA, used to love them but they have been sliding downhill for the last year.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed the ambiance, the dancers and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance, the dancers and the foods. Foods, especially different kinds of steaks, are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and amazing cuisine! S ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent service and amazing cuisine! Spent the evening there for Christmas dinner and we have absolutely no regrets! Definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The reservations were made by my 9 year ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The reservations were made by my 9 year old son Mikaeel. He loves copa cabana and hence the visit.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not fill yourself up at the salad bar ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Do not fill yourself up at the salad bar or you wont be able to take advantage of trying all the servery cuts to the table

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm Brazilian and though the meats taste ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I'm Brazilian and though the meats tasted great with equal or even better quality than most of steakhouses in Brazil. Just one thing annoyed us a little; we like to eat slowly so sometimes we would flip the card to "não", however the waiters kept on coming making us feel uncomfortable. The lady responsible for our table even flipped my card to "sim" thinking I didn't understand what that was for...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was excellent except bill was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was excellent except bill was too much $250 for a family of 5 is way too expensive

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great dinner- although the tabl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was a great dinner- although the table sitting beside us thought it was a good idea to change their babys diaper beside us which was very gross and rude. Other than it was an amazing food was great and everything was really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a party of 8 one of my guests trie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I had a party of 8 one of my guests tried only one of the meats and ate some of the pasta yet was delivered a $70 bill and had no alcohol. I think the billing process could be a bit more accurate and fair to each persons meal and amount of consumption.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

There is so much to choose from and ever ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

There is so much to choose from and everything is pretty delicious. The live performances add to the fun ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

It's a bit of a disappointment for a Bra ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It's a bit of a disappointment for a Brazilian steakhouse. The quality of the meat is definitely not to par if you've been to Fogo de Chao in US. The same applies to the buffet. The famous brazilian cheese rolls are made with cheddar cheese instead of parmesian. Definitely won't be back. Not worth the price. For the same money, you would be better off at a standard steakhouse as opposed to Copacabana...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Lots of fun. Amazing food. I highly reco ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lots of fun. Amazing food. I highly recommend it. However it is expensive.

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Omfg the grilled pineapple!!! And spicy ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Omfg the grilled pineapple!!! And spicy chicken!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.