Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)

CANADA’S FIRST URBAN RODIZIO.

Your experience at Copacabana begins with a trip to our "Galleria" where you will be tempted by fresh baked breads and dips from our open concept bakery; fresh cheeses cut from the wheel, and expertly hand sliced charcuterie selections. Help yourself to as much crisp salads and colorful starters you want, but leave room: Your experience is just beginning.

Back at your table our Gauchos or Carvers will service you with a feast of various CAB (Certified Angus) grilled meats prepared in a number of ways. Simply tell your carver how you prefer your meat, (most come medium rare) and leave the rest to us!

There is only one small task for you...As your Gaucho is Cutting at your table, use your provided tongs to simply grasp the top slab of meat and assist as he thinly slices a perfect cut of meat onto your plate, enjoy…and repeat as many times as you like!

230 Adelaide St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 1W7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brazilian Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Saturday: 4:00pm - Till Late
Sunday: 4:00pm - Till Late

Cross Street:
University Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 432-6721

Website:
http://www.thecopa.ca/

Entertainment:
Embrace yourself in a unique ambience and have a carnival experience where the combination between flavours, music and one-of-a-kind entertainment will keep you coming back.

Parking Details:
Paid parking is located across the street, garage parking or above ground options are available.

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Rudan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Good for a Date (89)
Good for Birthdays (88)
See All
Fun (81)
Good for Groups (77)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Hot Spot (53)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Worth the Drive (39)
Romantic (38)
Authentic (32)
Casual (28)
Tasting Menu (25)
Business Meals (25)
Late-night Find (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Comfort Food (19)
People Watching (17)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Live Music (12)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Healthy (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Sort by
S
1322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I reserved a table for a surprise birthday dinner for my spouse. We've come here a few times and loved it!
Food was absolutely amazing as always. However, the service was not. I'm not one to complain either but I was very upset considering I wanted this to be a special night for my boyfriend.
Whenever I would order a drink, my server would tell me to hold on with attitude and would disappear for a while before taking my order. I was only able to order 1 drink for myself before being billed out. Our reservation was for 9:00PM and we were aware of our 2 hour dining time. Just after 10:00 they started clearing plates and billing us when we weren't finished! A server came up to me with my bill and the machine while I was eating (mouth full and everything), making me feel like I needed to pay right then. As I'm cashing out with her, someone took my FULL, unfinished plate! I was furious! We used to love coming here but considering the pushy and unwelcoming service we had for this special occasion, we'll go elsewhere next time. I'm so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated a 30th bday here. The entire experience was enjoyable, great food options and live entertainment. However, the night we had our dinner, the indoor temperature was high and our entire dinner party was sweating. One of our guests had to step out as she felt like she might faint. Monitoring the temp in the future would be a good suggestion especially with all the meat and wine being consumed that already makes a person feel warm.
(Towards the end of our dinner we did notice a server come near us to adjust the temperature setting)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience except would have been better without the TVs on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is amazing. I took my boyfriend there for his birthday and he loved it as much as I did. The servers were kind and the meat came around non-stop. We ate till our stomachs were about to explode and it was worth the price! Definitely coming back for another special ocassion dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The salad bar and beef was fantastic. I however thought the chicken was over spiced and too salty.
The music was way too loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing experience. The atmosphere is exactly what I wanted for my birthday. Fun, loud and the food was phenomenal. 10/10, would recommend it to anyone !

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing, the service was so wonderful also. The salad bar selection was excellent and the dancers and entertainment was a nice surprise! I would go again in a heartbeat. We drove up from Windsor for the weekend just so we could go to eat here!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Busy on a Sunday night. Can get noisy. Friendly efficient servers, waitresses, and hosts. More beef than anything else served that night, little fish, chicken came near the end of our dinner, no lamb. Good variety at side dish buffet. Other people have commented on dancers but we didn't see any. Not very "accessible".

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Absolutely loved the style of eating. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Disappointed in my visit here. Always liked copacabana but this time the service was terrible. Took my friend for a birthday dinner here (keep in mind It was almost 135 without tips or drinks for 2 people). Some more well known guys/ rich guys were beside us, don’t know who they were but all the service was going to them. Servers would only come to them to offer meats , as if they were the only people there. So disappointed in the level of service. This isn’t a fast food restaurant where I’d expect no service. Expected much more from here, considering I️ come so often. Not returning to this location unless it’s the last option. However , food is always good and dancers made the night better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Meat was all very good. Sides were cafeteria level. Dance show was great. Glad we went but not worth the $200 date night bill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

What an amazing experience! I've been to other Brazilian steak resturant but this one topped the cake! We went for a friend's birthday (6 of us) and we're served quickly. The gentlemen were very knowledgeable and helped with out odd requests, such as burnt steak (friends picky) and lots and lots of shrimp! Everything tasted great, including the salmon, which I often do not enjoy. The entertainment was great and not too long and the pineapple was amazing, as well as the corn bread. After we paid they still brought us more corn bread and pineapple on a separate playe, since our table was cleared. I would go again and again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I've been to this Copacabana location twice now... it is definitely the best for a celebration! The aerialist and dancers are tremendously talented, it makes a really nice touch for a special occasion. The food is amazing, without question, and the servers are very attentive. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Had a group of 7 on a Friday night and we all had an amazing time.

Food was flavourful, many options for vegetarians at buffet bar and atmosphere was nice.

There is a 2 hour time limit from the time of your reservations so if any parties arrive late they will not extend. Great options for drinks, awesome entertainment by the dancers, servers/waitress were friendly and very approachable.

Definantly will recommend and come back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Met a Raptors player!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Great dining experience. Something different from your usual steakhouse business outing. If you love meat, this is the place to go.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Meal should be less bloody and they should have more chicken options

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was a very delicious meal & great experience over all. Customer service is amazing & the teamwork they have.

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I love this place. Its all you can eat steak and you can never go wrong with such restaurant. I have been going to copa for many years. Lately the service has been going down. They bombard you with cheap steaks at the beginning and you don’t get the good steaks for more than 1 or 2 rounds. Eg: ribeye and the house special. Even when you ask for it they say yes and ignore you. I won’t be going again for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Two enthusiastic thumbs up. The food was amazing! The atmosphere was fun and invigorating. The DJ and Dancers made the experience very fresh and exciting. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Worst service I’ve experienced at copacabana (3rd time). We were offered the same meat over and over and had to ask to get chicken and seafood options. I asked for a seat with a good view of the dancers (when I booked 3 weeks early) but we were in a back corner and saw one dancer briefly. When addressed with the server and cashier we were told ‘sorry to hear that, how are you paying’.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food and service
our table was ready to go with zero wait time
the servers were always there with fresh and different spits of meat

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was very good, but a little pricy per person. Still a very good night out for a special occasion

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

The greeter are not friendly. It seems like they do not like their jobs. The meat server do not come to our table. If we have not complaint they wouldn’t have serve us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great time, been to the other Toronto location and have to say that the Adelaide one I just went to looked much more chic. Both are great however.

Servers were fun to joke around with, the pace of the food was just right. Never felt overwhelming, and they got to you just before you realized you wanted more.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food is amazing. Generally, aleays a good experience overall. Acoustically loud environment. When they are super busy you’ll get rushed.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

The food was ok. I've been several times before but this time found the food quite salty. Pretty much all the food served was overly salty. Outside of that the place is still good to come for a fun outing. Could get loud at times.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The mood was very pleasant food was ok most of the meat was salty and didnt get a chance to try other food options like their parmesan chicken and the SHRIMP

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food was very good as always but it looks like they have crammed in a lot more tables since I was here last time. It was so hard to walk through from our table to the salad bar and often the servers didnt even bother come to us, (we were seated far back) the new york steak only came after we asked for our bill. Requested for a couple of items to come to our table but never came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a staycation this year and Copacabana was an amazing find! Thank you for the amazing service and dessert at the end!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Night in Toronto with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Went there to celebrate my cousin's birthday, excellent food and service. Impressive performance during the meal! Highly recommended for special occasions! Make sure you leave notes ahead, they will bring you cakes to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Came here with a friend from out of the country for his first Brazilian steakhouse experience. I've been to a few locations and this one was a great experience. We had wonderful service by the servers and any time we requested more of something we liked it was available. We ran a bit late and they didn't mention any problems at all. Overall solid food and variety for the price. Would come back for another special occassion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2017

PHOTOS
REVIEWS
NEARBY
RESERVE
Restaurant Information
230 Adelaide St W, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1W7, Canada
Ride there with Uber
1 (888) 432-6721
Email
thecopa.ca
Reviews
#172 of 6,953 Restaurants in Toronto
220 reviews

Excellent
99
Very Good
56
Average
43
Poor
14
Terrible
8
Language:
Read reviews that mention:
All Reviews grilled pineapple skewers beef cheese balls meat sweats Show More


Search User Reviews
Clear all Filtered by: English
1-10 of 220 reviews
Michee, Thank you so much for contributing.
Have any other experiences to share?
Write a review

“Good times!”
27 Oct 2017

Michee B (6 reviews)
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Well after my horrible experience at the Eglinton location, I decided to celebrate my birthday at the Adelaide location. I have to say it was a night and day experience, the waitress was sweet and very attentvie and the servers were very respectful, they spoke to you and inquired if you you were enjoying your meal.

They originally come with the bloody medium rare meat, without me saying it (they could see my unhappiness with with the meat) we were promptly asked how would we like the meat cooked. Although it took about ten minutes longer, every meat we got there after was well done "score"! The sides where delicious and that cornbread fresh off the press is too die for. My only complaint is that space is limited/tight and it's very loud and busy but over all a good time $50/person on a Wednesday night.....not bad

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

It was a little frustrating that we arrived for our reso at 9pm and didn’t get seated until 9:15pm. Seems like they overbook resos. Also would recommend sending more chicken options around. I only got two pieces all night. But overall it was great and bc we waited to get in it was nice not having to wait for food. Salad, pasta and bread selection was amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

very cool concept and restaurant. good AYCE and great food. should have a price list somewhere so the bill isn't a surprise!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We went to celebrate a couple of birthdays
Everyone was very helpful and attentive had a great time
Thanks again

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great use of space to create and layout to capture the upscale vibe. Love the ambiance and service. Food was good just slightly salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food and entertainment were great - but despite having a reservation we had to wait over an hour for our table which I deem unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Good ambience, salad bar was very good, different cuts of meat were very tasty, salmon and shrimp also delicious, all in all a great experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.