About Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)

230 Adelaide St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 1W7
View Larger Map

CANADA’S FIRST URBAN RODIZIO.

Your experience at Copacabana begins with a trip to our "Galleria" where you will be tempted by fresh baked breads and dips from our open concept bakery; fresh cheeses cut from the wheel, and expertly hand sliced charcuterie selections. Help yourself to as much crisp salads and colorful starters you want, but leave room: Your experience is just beginning.

Back at your table our Gauchos or Carvers will service you with a feast of various CAB (Certified Angus) grilled meats prepared in a number of ways. Simply tell your carver how you prefer your meat, (most come medium rare) and leave the rest to us!

There is only one small task for you...As your Gaucho is Cutting at your table, use your provided tongs to simply grasp the top slab of meat and assist as he thinly slices a perfect cut of meat onto your plate, enjoy…and repeat as many times as you like!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brazilian Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Saturday: 4:00pm - Till Late
Sunday: 4:00pm - Till Late

Spend the Holidays with us, we are open regular hours.

Dec 24th - open
Dec 25th - open
Dec 26th - open
Jan 1st - open

Cross Street:
University Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 432-6721

Website:
http://www.thecopa.ca/

Entertainment:
Embrace yourself in a unique ambience and have a carnival experience where the combination between flavours, music and one-of-a-kind entertainment will keep you coming back.

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Rudan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Authentic Brazilian Rodizio. Immerse yourself in the culture through delectable eats, incredible cocktails and the best in live entertainment. There are no average nights at CopaCabana.

Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Good for Birthdays (105)
Good for Groups (95)
See All
Good for a Date (85)
Fun (82)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Creative Cuisine (63)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Modern Decor (51)
Hot Spot (48)
Worth the Drive (43)
Authentic (43)
Romantic (35)
Casual (35)
Tasting Menu (31)
Business Meals (28)
Live Music (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Late-night Find (19)
Outstanding Value (16)
People Watching (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (15)
Family Style (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Dancing (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Spicy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Live Sports (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was very good. Service was fa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was very good. Service was fast and very friendly. Food was amazing, lots of variety and I enjoyed everything they brought out. This was the first time I've been and I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time! Steaks were yummy and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time! Steaks were yummy and the 'salad' bar was delicious, offering a variety of everything! One of our friends is a strict vegetarian and found that the 'salad' bar was worth it (since it was for a birthday celebration, too). Our server was fantastic! We went on Saturday night and dancers in samba outfits came around to shake their cha-chas and bun-buns! Was pretty cool. The only gripe I have is that we arrived on time for our 9:30pm reservation and still waited over 15 minutes to be seated. But other than that, it was a great night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was so good! Really delicious a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was so good! Really delicious and everyone loves it! The show was also very fun to watch. We loved the buffet as well as the meat!

The service was not great - they sat us 30 minutes late (we had a reservation as we were a fairly large group) so we were also late for our other plans that night. We're pretty sure they forgot about us waiting at the bar. Once seated they also forgot multiple drinks, and overall took very long to manage drink orders or get the cheque. All requests had to be made twice.

The food mostly made up for it though!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

I've been to Yonge and eglinton copa and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to Yonge and eglinton copa and had a great time. The food was superb and entertainment. When my friend was coming to visit from New York staying downtown i had to take him to copa. But I was disappointed with food. The salad bar wasn't as good as Yonge and eglinyon. Very bland or too salty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It's my 3rd time in Copacabana and I hav ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

It's my 3rd time in Copacabana and I haven't been disappointed yet, meat always high quality, buffet is fresh and tasty

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was at 9pm exactly when ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Our reservation was at 9pm exactly when we had arrived and we were asked to sit at the bar for 45 mins before getting seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

I would have given a higher rating if th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

I would have given a higher rating if there hadn't been about 100 people crammed in the front entrance. There was obviously a back log. Our reservation was at 8pm and we didn't get seated until 830. They suggested we go to the bar upstairs which was fine because it was claustrophobic in the front with people even waiting all the way up the stairs. No one came to get us from the bar and we had to ask 20 minutes later if our table was available. I noticed when we were seated that people who had walked in after us had already started eating so they obviously didn't care that we had been waiting longer. Once seated our waitress was amazing and all of the servers carrying the various meats were really nice and provided for a really nice evening. The entertainment was great as well. My only complaint was the way they handled seating and didn't have a good process in the hostess area.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Excellent service. However ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Excellent service. However, the music was so loud that conversation was impossible and caused us to leave earlier than we would have liked (which may be the ultimate goal)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was awful, even after we complai ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Service was awful, even after we complained. Repeated requests were ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Waiters have attitude. They aren't nice ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Waiters have attitude. They aren't nice and they don't care about others.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

Everything was great except that we were ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was great except that we were seated right beside a pillar. Very tight while there were other seats clearly available. Otherwise it was amazing!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Few side dishes, some meats where salty ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Few side dishes, some meats where salty but overall and excellent place. Expensive for the amount of food , sides and the timing between each serving round.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

this was our first time, and maybe the l ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

this was our first time, and maybe the last time as we did not see the value and service were ok, the guy with shrimp never wanted to come to our table always came to the table in front of us and turned around and went back, we had to ask for it even then it only came once, ande wit salmon, plus I had to keep asking for well-done meat and I end up with one of the bloody ones and lost my appetite, sorry but it was not for me and would not recommend to anyone as I did not enjoy it at all, and as far as goes for the show couldn't see anything

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The staff are all amazing and go above a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The staff are all amazing and go above and beyond. Great atmosphere for a fun dinner out. Extensive buffet but make sure to leave some room for the meat! You definitely won't leave hungry

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have arrived 15 minutes early and we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have arrived 15 minutes early and we were asked to wait. Ten minutes later I asked if they had forgotten about us and was told that our reservation wasn't until 5 and they were still preparing the upstairs. If they had explained that originally We would have went to the bar and had a drink .

The salad bars were excellent and the meat was good when you managed to get some. They came by fairly regularly but there was never enough to go around for all 5 of us as they would always have to go back to the grille and recook the remainder. This was my first time and unfortunately will be my last I think I would rather go to an upscale steakhouse for the money we spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Absolutely delicious, perfectly seasoned ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely delicious, perfectly seasoned and grilled meats... I was sooo stuffed.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. Non stop meat o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding experience. Non stop meat on spigots being brought to table. All meats cooked to perfection. Absolutely delicious meal-I wanted to go back the next day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parmeasian fillet mignon is the best!!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Parmeasian fillet mignon is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience. Outstanding meat se ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing experience. Outstanding meat selection, fresh and always hot off the grill. Wonderful selection at the buffet table. I just wish there was a desert buffet included. Brazil is home to so many incredible deserts, so it would have been lovely to see an array of desert choices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate 39 oz of meat. It was fckn lit mat ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I ate 39 oz of meat. It was fckn lit mate. Perfect for body builders and brahs in need of a refeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value4

Great expierence the food and service wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great expierence the food and service was on point, friends are still talking about it !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was incredible. The food was amazing ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was incredible. The food was amazing and the service and staff were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue was slow service getting cock ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Only issue was slow service getting cocktail refills.. refill was not offered until we finished eating which was awhile after cocktail was empty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice and good place

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice and good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was ok, was very loud. For the pric ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was ok, was very loud. For the price, it was so not worth it. $70 / person?!?? No thanks

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing experience. Steak is rare unless ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing experience. Steak is rare unless you let them know you prefer otherwise which they easily accommodate. Chicken amazing. Lamb too gamey for me, but colleague liked it that way.

A touch drafty (near stairs) & a touch noisy 7pm Friday. Didn't see any show -though supposed to be one. BBQ pineapple amazing as is the apple tart for desert -takes 15min as fresh baked -most won't have room for dessert. Coffee was wonderful -but only available commercially?

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service are excellent. My only ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food and service are excellent. My only issue is that the noise level is very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Definitely one of the better Brazilian s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Definitely one of the better Brazilian steakhouses I've been to, was very full and very satisfied at the end. $48 was good value for how much food we got and the quality of the meat and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great atmosphere Definite ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere

Definitely will be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiters with the meats were really a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The waiters with the meats were really attentive and even took special requests which was a very nice touch. You felt like they really wanted you to keep eating. The filet mignon with Parmesan was exquisite. The pineapple as well was a very nice touch. Two 'complaints':

  1. The seating area was too crowded. There was hardly any room to walk by. Specially since you need to go downstairs to get the side dishes and carry your own plate up the stairs and then navigate through the chairs. I imagine some people leave the restaurant 'wearing' someone else's food.
  1. The hostess had the entire floor to look after which made the service quite slow. Once we were done, we had to wait about 10 minutes so we could make eye contact with the lady who then promptly brought us our bill. Not her fault, just a LOT of customers for just one person.

Otherwise the food was very good and so was the ambiance. We would come back.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I went to Copa on a Sunday evening- they ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went to Copa on a Sunday evening- they dont have live performances on Sunday so just an fyi to everyone. It was quite busy but the servers were very quick and efficient. Food was great, servers would come around frequently. We were seated in the upstairs seating area. Upstairs area does not have a salad bar. So if you want to grab your sides you will need to go downstairs. Upstairs does have a bar though. Steaks were delicious, the grilled pineapple was to die for! I highly recommend CopaCabana to everyone!

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great time! The food was every b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

What a great time!

The food was every bit amazing! The selection of your meats was by far the best value.

I enjoyed every bite.

The live entertainment as well as the ambiance were added value.

I would definitely recommend this location.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Authentic, Spicy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, very happy. Disappointed that ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall, very happy. Disappointed that we had to wait 20min after our booked reservation for 8:30. Not normally a big issue for me but I was with a 9 and 11 year old along with elderly parents. They were frustrated because they were already eating late and then they were delayed. I get 5 min wait but not 20! Otherwise exceptional food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

AMAZING RESTAURANT!! All you can eat and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

AMAZING RESTAURANT!! All you can eat and an awesome atmosphere. Def need a reservation or else you will wait at least 2 hours if you can get in at all. Try to go on a Saturday when they do the dancers and silk show and ask if there is a reservation available during that time! SO much fun and awesome for friends, groups, dates, etc. Be prepared to spend 100+ per person if you plan to drink and tip well! WORTH THE MONEY 10/10 would recommend!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great!!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Was definitely a great experience all th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was definitely a great experience all the food was authentic and prepared fresh. If you're into seafood or a carnivorous meat lover I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was perfect, I was skeptical ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was perfect, I was skeptical on the food seeing as I do not usually eat medium rare meat but to my surprise it was fantastic, thank you very much , but on another note they seem to forget it was my birthday which I set as a special occasion but that's OK you seem to have a very busy location and I understand :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, service was alright. They ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was good, service was alright. They give you cards to tell wether or not you want meat to be served but the servers don't pay attention to them. All in all it was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Our reservation was for 6 but the hostes ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our reservation was for 6 but the hostess seated us at 5:30. We told her we wouldn't begin eating until 6 as we were waiting for our last guest. She said this was fine. Around 7:15 our server told us that we were nearing their 2 hour limit per table. We were never made aware there was a limit and it seems they began our timer as soon as we were seated, even though our reservation was for 6 and not all of our guests had arrived yet. She rushed the cake we brought and didn't allow one of our guests to finish eating their meal in a timely manner. Our two hour limit should have ended at 8, and that would have been more than enough time to finish our meal and celebrate our friends birthday without having to rush everything. The food was great, but the downfall was our servers attitude.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Dinner was good however I find that my ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner was good however I find that my table wanted the meats to be cooked more a bit more well done or not runny (not bloody) and it keep coming around uncooked it wasn't even that busy either, the biggest problem we had and we were a table of 15 dining for a 50th birthday dinner and they keep asking if their was anything we wanted to come around and it never did I remember waiting over 17 min for the steak I requested to come back around the table just sat and watched as the other smaller tables got served but not us their was a few times we had to wait and don't get me started on the pineapple desert we asked 3 times for it to come around and they keep going to other tables (smaller tables) and then when we would call them they would say it had to go back on the grill. I actually had 3 family members who left early because of the service and didn't want to wait another minute for the pineapple to come around or the steak at this time more than 15 min had passed by and nothing came to us, considering our bill was over $2000 I expect better service . I had a ok time but I don't remecomend this restaurant for big groups try to keep it under 4 people and don't go their starved as you may have to wait a bit I give this Resturant a 4 our of a 10

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.