About Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)

230 Adelaide St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 1W7
View Larger Map

CANADA’S FIRST URBAN RODIZIO.

Your experience at Copacabana begins with a trip to our "Galleria" where you will be tempted by fresh baked breads and dips from our open concept bakery; fresh cheeses cut from the wheel, and expertly hand sliced charcuterie selections. Help yourself to as much crisp salads and colorful starters you want, but leave room: Your experience is just beginning.

Back at your table our Gauchos or Carvers will service you with a feast of various CAB (Certified Angus) grilled meats prepared in a number of ways. Simply tell your carver how you prefer your meat, (most come medium rare) and leave the rest to us!

There is only one small task for you...As your Gaucho is Cutting at your table, use your provided tongs to simply grasp the top slab of meat and assist as he thinly slices a perfect cut of meat onto your plate, enjoy…and repeat as many times as you like!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brazilian Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Saturday: 4:00pm - Till Late
Sunday: 4:00pm - Till Late

Spend the Holidays with us, we are open regular hours.

Dec 24th - open
Dec 25th - open
Dec 26th - open
Jan 1st - open

Cross Street:
University Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 432-6721

Website:
http://www.thecopa.ca/

Entertainment:
Embrace yourself in a unique ambience and have a carnival experience where the combination between flavours, music and one-of-a-kind entertainment will keep you coming back.

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Rudan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Authentic Brazilian Rodizio. Immerse yourself in the culture through delectable eats, incredible cocktails and the best in live entertainment. There are no average nights at CopaCabana.

Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (111)
Good for Groups (108)
Special Occasion (107)
See All
Good for a Date (104)
Fun (103)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Hot Spot (63)
Modern Decor (57)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Worth the Drive (44)
Authentic (39)
Tasting Menu (37)
Romantic (32)
Casual (26)
Business Meals (26)
Live Music (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Late-night Find (22)
People Watching (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Dancing (17)
Cozy (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Family Style (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Spicy (9)
Healthy (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Live Sports (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I love copacabana in niagara falls, that was the only reason i visited this location. However, it was so disappointed, the have the worst service ive ever seen. Never will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

It was amazing food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

one of the best dining experiences ive ever had. i left full, drunk, and happy for a reasonable price. full marks copa.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Really good food. Only con would be that they tend not to serve smaller tables, especially if you're in a corner. Would be great for groups of 4 or more. Music was a bit loud, had to almost yell at my friend who was sitting right across from me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance! Great food! Wonderful time. They were So accommodating when we changed our group # to accommodate out of town guests! Including a toddler!!! Thank you!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

It was awesome and definately will return to this location. My favourite location by far

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous entertainment! Amazing food! The waiters did not stop coming around with food. Delicious and very entertaining!

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great selection at the buffet and a great selection of meats. There is a lot of meats to choose from, various cuts of meats, chicken and even seafood choices. Definitely a great place to go to enjoy a nice night out especially if you go on Friday or Saturday when they have dancers for a short performance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

the place has very good food, music and samba dancers.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We were very pleased to have discovered Copa. The concept is very original and the food was fabulous. The service was great and the show very entertaining. Looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful restaurant with an incredible selection and a very unique service style. Live Brazilian dancers and an aerial silks performance added to the carnival atmosphere - always exciting and something to watch and talk about! The only complaint we had was that we found we missed out on several different types of skewer meats - we were only serviced by a few specific ones, and would have loved to have tried the shrimp and other meats on offer!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best restaurants we've been to in a very long time. Will definitely be going back -the meat, salad bar, breads and service were all amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Waiters were the sweeetest. Everyone was so nice just a bit too loud but will still go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely awful. $135 for 2 drinks and a little cut of meat every 5mins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent meal! As a beef farmer from Midwestern Ontario, it was great to see beef highlighted in such a wonderful way. We will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great aerial acrobatics and dancing act. Love the variety of the salad bar

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Copacabana for Valentine's Day. It was amazing as always and we stuffed ourselves silly! I highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was exited to enjoy my time in copacabana, which recommended to me my friend. I satisfied my meat hanger as a big fan of meat))) I liked everything in there atmosphere, service and food. one problem - i mistakely left cents instead dollars for tips paying by debit. I respect waitress she does not tell me nothing about to not make feel comfused. But for sure this place deserves a good tips

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time trying Copacabana and had a wonderful time. The food was amazing, with lots of options to try. The pineapple is mind blowing! The samba dancers were entertaining and lots of fun. Overall the price is very reasonable for how much food you get and the variety. Will definitely be back

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fun, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love this place and amazing staff. The food is so hot and tasty and lots of variety.When you like a certain one they always come to you when you request it ..A nice doing area and show

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

amazing experience,the food was yummy. Everyone was so nice and accomadating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Immediate great service! Came here yesterday evening for Valentine's day, we were seated at a really nice table right beside all of the buffet sides! A nice variety of options. 😊 The white sangria was super yummy as well as all of the meat that came around. Lots of water refills and check ins to make sure we were enjoying ourselves ❤ which was great. They were also very clean - they would clean our table from taking dirty plates for us/giving us new ones ; to wiping off any food that had fallen in the table. Very lovely! We were also given chocolate covered strawberries at the end for Valentines day as well which was sweet.

Will come back. 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our table was ready on time and the dancers were dancing on our way to our table which was exciting. The servers were very attentive and asked at least twice if we had any requests. The selection of meats was amazing. The lambchops, both chickens and the pineapple really stood out. There was also a roast with cheese melting inside which was amazing. The filet minion wrapped in bacon was a little salty. Everything else was cooked perfectly. I didn't get to try the salmon but will definitely return and make a point to request it. Loud but we went late and the atmosphere had maybe gotten a little more upbeat by then. After 10:30pm until midnight there was no more dancing - at least where we were on the 2nd floor. Another performance would have been nice. Overall an amazing experience. Would be great for a birthday or work get together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my first time here and it was really good. Better than I expected I can't wait to go back again. The only thing I never really like was that it took awhile to first get our meats but it was a busy night so I understand. The entertainment was really good too!

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Dancing, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, staff and venue! A great experience!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The night started off badly as we were the before numerous amounts of guests but were not seated until 7:30, despite having a reservation at 7. When we asked the hostess why others were seated before us and when we would be seated, her tone and manner was rude and dismissive which we didn't appreciate. Once we were seated, the wait staff and gentlemen bringing the food around were friendly and helpful which helped elevate our experience. I am glad this happened because we will come back, whereas we were quite disappointed at first and considered not coming back to this location. We understand everyone is busy, but just be nice to your customers, especially as a hostess as this is your first impression on the customer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal with plenty of steak and lovely side dishes.

A little more room around the tables would make it more comfortable for the guests,

my chair was being bumped every minute or two by guests and staff trying to pass through a very narrow gap between the tables.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Food and a great atomsphere service was excellent and would recommend it as a

must place to go to when in TO

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Simply amazing. If you are a meat lover this steakhouse is the go to place. AYCE top grade quality meat, and the servers come by very frequently. Dancers perform a mini show for all guests, creating an absolute lively experience. Decor and ambiance is a plus. Although a costly meal, it is worth every penny. Service is over the top.

Tags: Dancing, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a great experience at Copacobana! The service was so great and the waiters were all very nice and attentive. The food was delicious, they have a lot of options that would suit everybody. I would highly recommend this place for a special occasion or a group dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A friend and colleague was in town from Edmonton for some training. I suggested we go to Copacabana. The evening was wonderful. Food was excellent, had salmon for the first time at a Brazilian Steakhouse and it was very good. I enjoyed the fact we could have a conversation as the noise level was not that high. As well, the staff were very gracious and helpful. I most certainly will go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

First time and will definitely be back. The reviews don't lie. I relied on the great reviews and and I can now agree. The food was fabulous and the staff were all friendly, attentive and happy to see you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great night out! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sooo good will go again

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a overall great dining experience. It was 100 % better than horrible experience we had at Eglinton Copacabana. Great food and staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service were excellent, loved it. Will definitely come back with friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Like having a panic attack. It was rush,rush, rush from the time we walked in the door until we walked out. It was nice to get out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a FANTASTIC time at the Copacabana, what an experience. This is most especially for those that enjoy meat, alot of it and amazing selection.

We had so much fun and cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Never a disappointment! The extra $$ or the friday night/weekend is worth it due to the show. All of the staff are always do welcoming! Food is always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was outstanding. The meat servers came around often enough and were very friendly. When we gave our preferences, they brought it to us right away. We had a very good evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The grilled meat brought to your table was novel. The bar of appetizers and side dishes was very good. The staff were capable and courteous. The noise level was unpleasantly high. It was difficult to hear people at your table. The manner of service made me feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We thought we were there for WInterlicious as I booked my reservation thru the winterlicious website. Ordered a pitcher of Sangria. A lot of waiting and waiting as it seemed like the servers were being selective, they didnt really come by to our table up even our little round cards were showing on the table. Had a few pieces of meat and a lot of waiting. We were there for 2 hours, the last 1.5 was just waiting and waiting. My husband had to fill his stomach with salad and pasta because the servers just do not come by to our table. They served the other tables around us and just rushed back without even taking a peek and look at our"blue" signs. We had to ask our female server if we could get more meat...and then a few more pieces..I was thinking maybe it was because we were here for the winterlicious menu thats why? But it was not supposed to be like this, it says all you can eat buffet. But NOOO. When the bill came, it says full price $48 per person. The reason they said was that this location didnt participate the winterlicious event.

Do not recommend this restaurant, as least not this location.

Worst dining experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Probably the worst service I have ever received in my entire life.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I have been here many times, the food is always great and usually the service. However, this time, the server did not even come to our table after about 10-15 mins, we had to grab the floor manager to have her take our drink order and bring us water. When she arrived she did not apologize for the delay and even though we ordered alcohol if this were other restaurants we would have been compt for those but we did not. If we had, we would have ordered more drinks. The gauchos provided excellent service and offered us more specifics than our server or the floor manager. We are hesitant to come back which is unfortunate because we come to this restaurant quite a few times during the year.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

With its vibrant atmosphere, good service and great food, Copacabana provides a wonderful night out!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

this was our second visit to this restaurant and the first time for our two adult children. They loved everything about this place. The food was fantastic and although a bit on the pricey side, it is well worth it. We'll definitely be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner ,everything was very good, the steak,chicken,lamb and shrimp were amazing.The salad bar had a large variety to choose from and was also very good.The entertainment was enjoyable. We all had a very nice evening out and would recommend it as a great place to go for good food and a fun time.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Being a meat / BBQ restaurant I was pleasantly surprised with the salad/pasta bar. It was fresh and had many options. One of the best that I have seen in a long time.

If you are a meat lover this is the place for you. Every cut was flavourful and tender. Servers and Wait staff at the Copacabana were like a very fined tuned machine ensuring that food was always at the ready.

Would highly recommend the Copacabana

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was fantastic! Was very impressed with the selection of food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.