About Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)

230 Adelaide St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 1W7
View Larger Map

CANADA’S FIRST URBAN RODIZIO.

Your experience at Copacabana begins with a trip to our "Galleria" where you will be tempted by fresh baked breads and dips from our open concept bakery; fresh cheeses cut from the wheel, and expertly hand sliced charcuterie selections. Help yourself to as much crisp salads and colorful starters you want, but leave room: Your experience is just beginning.

Back at your table our Gauchos or Carvers will service you with a feast of various CAB (Certified Angus) grilled meats prepared in a number of ways. Simply tell your carver how you prefer your meat, (most come medium rare) and leave the rest to us!

There is only one small task for you...As your Gaucho is Cutting at your table, use your provided tongs to simply grasp the top slab of meat and assist as he thinly slices a perfect cut of meat onto your plate, enjoy…and repeat as many times as you like!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brazilian Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Saturday: 4:00pm - Till Late
Sunday: 4:00pm - Till Late

Cross Street:
University Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 432-6721

Website:
http://www.thecopa.ca/

Entertainment:
Embrace yourself in a unique ambience and have a carnival experience where the combination between flavours, music and one-of-a-kind entertainment will keep you coming back.

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Rudan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Authentic Brazilian Rodizio. Immerse yourself in the culture through delectable eats, incredible cocktails and the best in live entertainment. There are no average nights at CopaCabana.

Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Toronto / Ontario
Steakhouse
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (174)
Good for Groups (160)
Fit for Foodies (108)
See All
Hot Spot (84)
Romantic (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Late-night Find (33)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Scenic View (5)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and our server was friendly enough. However, we noticed that our server was quite attentive to the business group seated next to us but seemed too busy to ensure that we were provided with water and clean plates. It felt as if we were getting a different level of service despite paying the same amount as other customers. I would not eat at this location again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I have been to Copacabana a couple of ti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have been to Copacabana a couple of times prior, once at the Adelaide location and another time at the Niagara Falls location. I absolutely love Copacabana, as I love the different types of meat that they have and crave their grilled pineapple. I find that the Copacabana Adelaide location has a great buffet selection and the ambiance is good. I find that the servers with the meat are okay. Some of them are very social and really try to make the experience great, while others are just rushing in and out of tables, which is understandable as it is busy and they need to get to all guests. Copacabana is a great place for a date or for group dinners. It is quite pricey but if you go on a Friday or Saturday, it is a bit more but there is live entertainment which is always a great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food. Amazing selection. Staff ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food. Amazing selection. Staff we constantly checking, delivering food.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Authentic, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was fabulous and very tasty how ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The meal was fabulous and very tasty however the price of $50 a plate is a bit much as for myself I don't think I could eat for that amount. I found it extremely noisy. I would return but this time request a seat at the lower level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Awesome atmosphere! Service was excellen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome atmosphere! Service was excellent! The dancers were so entertaining! Wish they went on longer! Over all great first experience! Will return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought my overall experience at this ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I thought my overall experience at this Copacabana was great. However, at first I felt that the meats weren't coming around at a quick enough pace as I had finished my sides by the time they first started coming around. But the amazing customer service provided by the servers compensated for the time waited. The only negative comment I would have to make would be having the sides on the lower floor being an issue for people being seated on the higher levels (as I had been). It is a little inconvenient having to go up and down stairs with food. All in all, however, I love Copacabana and plan on continuing to go there for many years to come.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my girlfriend here for our 3 yea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for our 3 years and i think we'd take a meal at the Copacabana Brazilian steak house over going to Brazil, not really though. We would go to Brazil. But seriously Copacabana was great. I reccomend it

Tags: Live Sports, Dancing, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. We went for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent service and food. We went for a bachelor party dinner. The staff was great in taking care of our party, even if a few members were a little overintoxicated before dinner started. I am ever so great full that our server was willing to prevent certain members of our party from having more alcohol as they were always too drunk. Amazing experience. Well worth the money as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to Copa's before and it w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had not been to Copa's before and it was a really enjoyable. Very different set up - would be helpful if the website informed the reader that the meats comes around to the tables and you are able to try multiple meats. I was under the impression walking in that it was a typical order off the menu restaurant.

Everything was lovely, during the entertainment (ladies dancing & aerial silks) the music was too loud & I was unable to speak to my guest unless I was talking directly into her ear.

The gentlemen with the meats were all very kind & informative about the proteins. The waitress' were kind and came around enough to check in on us as well as remove our dirty plates and provide fresh ones. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Need well done steak, more sides , als ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Need well done steak, more sides , also some desert since it is expensive. And might of been good if someone told me there would be no dancers. No desert was the most disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic. Food was delicious and cooked ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fantastic. Food was delicious and cooked perfectly. Will go again.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent and service was top n ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was excellent and service was top notch. We tipped accordingly. My cousin, who flew in from out of town, really appreciated this new experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing ambiance and friendly staff! The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing ambiance and friendly staff! The food was amazing and wide selection. Only wished there was more chicken options and didn't get to try the salmon because they ran out. Other then that I absolutely loved my dining experience at the Copa, Copa Cabana!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time at this location. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our 2nd time at this location. This experience was not as enjoyable as our first time. We had to request different meats/seafood as the servers kept coming to our table with the same items over and over and the service was very slow. We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday with friends (who had never been before) and they were underwhelmed with the service/experience after we had boasted so much about our first experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

I have been here before and everything w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been here before and everything was awesome. This time there was 4 of us. Made reservations. We were put at a table tucked in the corner. So everytime the meat servers would come out they were not getting to our table until almost an hour of us being there. We did get served with in the hour but was minimal. They would run out of meat before getting to us. But when they came back out they wouldn't start where they left off. Start back at the tables they already served. Other then that food is awesome. Little pricy but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This restaurant does a very good job at ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant does a very good job at entertaining their customers. It's definitely great place to hangout with friends or romantic evening. The food is great and the service is exceptional.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere, all very fare priced when you think about it. Beautiful brazilian dancing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thoroughly enjoyed my birthday experie ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my birthday experience at Copacabana. I look forward to visiting again to sample the seafood fare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthd ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday and had an absolutely wonderful time at Copacabana. It was our first time there and they made it one for the books! The food was delicious and the service was even better. Definitely going back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent! Food was amaz ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was excellent! Food was amazing as usual. Definitely will be coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is horrible like absolutely horr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service is horrible like absolutely horrible. Our reservation was for 10 people and it took over an hour to get seated and served water.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Great selection of meats

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great selection of meats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Super good! Great ambiance . One of my f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Super good! Great ambiance . One of my favorite restaurants in Toronto

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a great first time experience with t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had a great first time experience with the bf. Enjoyed our meals and servers were amazing. Very attentive and friendly !! Cheers 😊!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All around great place. Can't wait to do ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

All around great place. Can't wait to do it again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was well done. Meat had many ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was well done. Meat had many varieties and the buffet bread was amazing. Many healthy options!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely great service and attentive s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Absolutely great service and attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

"Meat Carvers" very helpful and polite. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

"Meat Carvers" very helpful and polite. Some items were served with less frequency than the beef selections. This included shrimp/lamb/chicken thighs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Location is very central and easy to fin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Location is very central and easy to find, parking maybe the only issue. The service is amazing and the food is wonderful, the atmosphere is very energetic with a sense of relaxation. Meat, buffet style and dancers are amazing. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food is absolutely delicious! The di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is absolutely delicious! The different meats to try are mouthwatering good! Our servers were great very friendly and fun to have serve you! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very charming waitress. Waiters serving ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very charming waitress. Waiters serving meats ignored the red/green and just kept pushing the same meats on us. Advertise about 18 choices . We saw maybe 8. No pork, no shrimp, no salmon. Salad/side bar is weakest I have ever seen in a Brazilian Steakhouse. No fresh lettuce, etc to make your own salad.. Just Caesar salad drenched and wilted. Meat kept coming out RAW. When I complained they tried to tell me that some people like it rare. This was not rare, this was raw. Meats were very salty and I like salt. Not great quality beef to begin with. Floor show was all of 10 minutes long. Which can be excused because there is no place to actually dance. They are at the stairs and people who are dining upstairs are going up and down the steps in the middle of the show. Overall I cannot recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Went with my Friends on Friday night. Th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Went with my Friends on Friday night. The meat selection was great, some of my favourites included the bacon wrapped filet mignon, top sirloin and the grilled pineapple with cinnamon.

Salad buffet was just OK nothing special.

Some of the meat was mostly raw and I prefer medium well. I'm not sure if its true or not yet but I just found out I ate pure halal meat. Why didn't they inform me of that? This was the only thing I wasn't really happy about and I wouldn't have eaten if I knew it.

Everything else was great and the staff was very friendly and provided a great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It was a great place to eat! Very good s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was a great place to eat! Very good steakhouse, delicious all-you-can-eat meat! Good variety of meat. It needs a bigger drink and wine list.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great despite my awful e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was great despite my awful experience back in February where I was pushed to eatyeat your meal in 45 minutes.

I was happy with the service this time around

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went here for my sister's birthday. N ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went here for my sister's birthday. None of us had been before. The food was amazing. The roasted pineapple and the cornbread were so good.

Most of our servers were very friendly and enthusiastic. Many made suggestions on when we should try.

We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was impressive and above expe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was impressive and above expectations. I always love going to this. It was just this time certain steaks were a little too salty, Otherwise everything exceeded my expectation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service but washroom could have be ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service but washroom could have been cleaner. Consider adding better food options at side dish bar. Better dessert menu recommended with more nut-free options. Otherwise had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very salty. Highly unimpressed ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was very salty.

Highly unimpressed by the food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The atmosphere here is incredible. I cam ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The atmosphere here is incredible. I came for my birthday and they provided me with a complimentary dinner which is definitely going to have me coming back more often. Service and food are impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place. The food is a a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is a great place. The food is a amazing, it's my second time going and I had an amazing time. The parmasean steak is my favorite along with the pineapple, the lasagna was also good i Can't wait to go back. The drinks are a little pricey, overall it is a pricey place so come prepared to spend. Bring at least $100 dollars. It could range from $48-100 depending on what you drink and how many time's your ordering that drink. They should make it free refills. If it's your birthday you eat free. My favorite part lol. Be sure to bring your ID though to prove it. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.