About Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)

230 Adelaide St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 1W7
View Larger Map

CANADA’S FIRST URBAN RODIZIO.

Your experience at Copacabana begins with a trip to our "Galleria" where you will be tempted by fresh baked breads and dips from our open concept bakery; fresh cheeses cut from the wheel, and expertly hand sliced charcuterie selections. Help yourself to as much crisp salads and colorful starters you want, but leave room: Your experience is just beginning.

Back at your table our Gauchos or Carvers will service you with a feast of various CAB (Certified Angus) grilled meats prepared in a number of ways. Simply tell your carver how you prefer your meat, (most come medium rare) and leave the rest to us!

There is only one small task for you...As your Gaucho is Cutting at your table, use your provided tongs to simply grasp the top slab of meat and assist as he thinly slices a perfect cut of meat onto your plate, enjoy…and repeat as many times as you like!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brazilian Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - Till Late
Saturday: 4:00pm - Till Late
Sunday: 4:00pm - Till Late

Cross Street:
University Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(888) 432-6721

Website:
http://www.thecopa.ca/

Entertainment:
Embrace yourself in a unique ambience and have a carnival experience where the combination between flavours, music and one-of-a-kind entertainment will keep you coming back.

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Rudan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Authentic Brazilian Rodizio. Immerse yourself in the culture through delectable eats, incredible cocktails and the best in live entertainment. There are no average nights at CopaCabana.

Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Toronto / Ontario
Steakhouse
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (164)
Good for Groups (160)
Fit for Foodies (107)
See All
Hot Spot (78)
Romantic (62)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Late-night Find (34)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Fun (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (11)
Outstanding Value (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Family Style (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (6)
Cozy (6)
Live Music (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Dancing (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service by everyone was brilliant, espe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service by everyone was brilliant, especially Srecko went above and beyond to insure our visit was outstanding ! Thank you , keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Family Style, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had an amazing time for my birthdaybir ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had an amazing time for my birthdaybirthday, service was excelleexcellent and the food was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been a few times...never disappoint ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Have been a few times...never disappointed!

Also my first choice when it comes to locations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They need to be more organized when it c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

They need to be more organized when it comes to reservation. I had a reservation for 7:30 pm. My table was ready at 8 pm. Besides that, everything was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Service and the food was great. Initiall ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service and the food was great. Initially we weren't happy with the table we were at but they quickly moved us to a much better table. It's a tradition for us to spend our birthdays at copa :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice evening Show, Service was Not good: ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nice evening Show, Service was Not good: did Not get New cuttlery, dirty dishes were Not brought from table to kitchen, did Not get all Meat, very noisy and we were Not Asked if we want to have New Drinks just brought bill for paying

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Absolutely delicious, and I highly recom ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Absolutely delicious, and I highly recommend saving room for the Brazilian desserts! Seating is a little close, but still a good choice for a nice date, I think. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Professional staff, very r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing food! Professional staff, very respectful and caring.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Copa cabana was amazing. I took my girlf ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Copa cabana was amazing. I took my girlfriend on a date and I had a amazing time there. Was really fascinated about how the place looked and how amazing the food tasted.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

very cold though so very uncomfortable. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

very cold though so very uncomfortable. We had to get a blanket from the car for my mother in law for that reason I will not go there again but will go to the other location instead. love the food and the service.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Great place to bring people. Business, f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great place to bring people. Business, friends, bachelor party, etc

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Had an amazing time! Took the hubby out ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had an amazing time! Took the hubby out for a birthday dinner he was very happy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place to eat but I tore my dress o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place to eat but I tore my dress on the table which I was not happy about!!! The waitress did not seem concerned but I sure was.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing service! Everyone is so attentiv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing service! Everyone is so attentive and friendly! The food is amazing and they take special requests!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went as a family for my daughter's bi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went as a family for my daughter's birthday. While the food was very good, the service was haphazard/lacking. At this price I would expect service to match the food.

Not sure if it's because the place was full, but the service was abysmal.

e.g

We waited 20 mins to get water & then only because I asked. No one explained up front that we should go downstairs for the salads, etc. I had to get an extra napkin myself from another table.

We had told the staff that it was for my daughter's birthday & also included on the reservation & no acknowledgement.

Honestly, I've gotten better service at local diners. Not the kind of experience that one would be looking to repeat.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

Good atmosphere however service was rush ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good atmosphere however service was rushed. Two levels of seating despite only 1 buffet on the main floor. Same selections were circling most of time and we had to ask to receive the variety of seafood, chicken and desserts. Not a good choice for vegetarian/ vegan options.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I would literally just come for the parm ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I would literally just come for the parmesan filet mignon and the grilled pineapple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The most amazing service the manager was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The most amazing service the manager was nice people take care of us very very well looked after my girlfriend because she didn't eat any meat it was most amazing service ever had in the longest time

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were all so happy withe resturant and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were all so happy withe resturant and everything. Food, service, music, atmosphere and everything was veery good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The dancing was entertaining but the set ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The dancing was entertaining but the set up could have been better. The buffet was nothing special it was like cruise ship food. The meat and pineapple was great. The value was brutal! The good and drink markup was ridiculously overpriced. The service was outstanding. Hostesses were wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Table for 4 under reservations took awhi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Table for 4 under reservations took awhile to clean up, others were being seated first even when they were walk-ins. Food was great though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The service from the hostess and server ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The service from the hostess and server was horrible.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

don't know what was better the staff of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

don't know what was better the staff of the food!!! amazing

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited the branch before , it was gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I visited the branch before , it was great and service was amazing .But on my next visit, Because we requested well done meat, the service was very slow and less variety of meat was served for us. the friends with us were not very happy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome - took my wife there for her 50t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Awesome - took my wife there for her 50th birthday. Completely satisfied and genuine great service! Thanks!!!

The pinapple is a must try!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You had no salmon or shrimp the night we ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

You had no salmon or shrimp the night we went so the 2 vegetarians in our party were disappointed. On the positive side the salads were excellent and the penne too. Also your staff handled the situation very well and gave us free desserts so we all left happy. We would definitely come again and take you at your word that this does not happen often .. we feel confident we will be able to get salmon and shrimp next time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The different styles of meat were all fa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The different styles of meat were all fantastic. Moist, sizzling and tasty. The servers were friendly and attentive. Good selection of sides and the breads were sooo soft and warm. Overall just a good night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Copacabana whil ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My husband and I visited Copacabana while in Toronto for our anniversary. At one point in the night, we both looked at each other and agreed that it was one of the most unique restaurants we'd ever been to with some of the best food we'd ever had. It is such an experience! If you're in Toronto, you must try this restaurant. We went on a Sunday night, but I wish we had gone on a Friday/Saturday night when they have live music, Brazilian dancing and an aerialist. I can't imagine the experience being any better though... the food was spectacular, the staff were so friendly and knowledgeable, and the wine pairing was fantastic. Just an all-round gem! I wish they had one in Alberta!

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the same week, we came twice because ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

In the same week, we came twice because the first experience was sensational. The second experience was atrocious. Due to change of plans, we needed a seat for a third person. I was unable to reach a hostess until the fifth time I called. She was very rude and said that they were fully booked but she cannot do anything. We arrived to no hostess, no welcome (no wonder no one was not answering the calls). But we were seated after 5 minutes of waiting and the restaurant was half empty. You are fully booked????!!!!! The room did not fill up through the 1.5 hours we were there. The meal was consistent with the first we had earlier in the week until this short waitress with a bun and jean shorts got into the picture. I pay $48 to be served by someone in jean shorts???!!! She served cheese bread and corn bread. I asked for more corn bread. She asked how many? I said one. Then after I tell her that she walks and serves corn bread to the table RIGHT beside us party of 12 or more. I am NOT BLIND. There is no more corn bread after that. I ask a male server, a female server, another male server and the manager. He was rude as well and just said there is a batch every 25 minutes. No apology or empathy of trying to understand why the customer is angry. So when guests make requests, they are not addressed. The same thing happened with the Shrimp. I probably asked 5 people about the Shrimp and then had to wait onwards of 20 minutes until the same male server carving meat realized the situation. We opted for the bill because we were tired of waiting. The waitress smiles at you and hands you back the Moneris after she inputs a 20% tip for you for horrible service you have received today. Of course I changed it back to what you deserve. This is very unacceptable service for customers who want to spend the money to eat at your restaurant. Your food is amazing and one of the better restaurants in Toronto. However, the service really needs work. Jean shorts really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

The servers providing the food who were ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The servers providing the food who were good were greatly exceeded by the poor service of 60% of the servers, including who I assume was their supervisor. The greeter when we came in needs to find a personality. And the girl assigned to our table was nice, but has no idea and frankly poor manners.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Great atmosphere! Loved the food! Would ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great atmosphere! Loved the food! Would come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location and amazing meat selectio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great location and amazing meat selection. The galleria had a wide selection of salads, breads and soups. Highly festive and energetic atmosphere. We would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible food. Great experience. Meat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Incredible food. Great experience. Meat was very tasty and well cooked. Delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love love loved everything about my di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I love love loved everything about my dinner at Copa Cabana. The food was amazing. I didn't have anything to eat that wasn't delicious. The pineapple is the best. I ate way too much

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was friendly enough. However, we noticed that our server was quite attentive to the business group seated next to us but seemed too busy to ensure that we were provided with water and clean plates. It felt as if we were getting a different level of service despite paying the same amount as other customers. I would not eat at this location again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I have been to Copacabana a couple of ti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have been to Copacabana a couple of times prior, once at the Adelaide location and another time at the Niagara Falls location. I absolutely love Copacabana, as I love the different types of meat that they have and crave their grilled pineapple. I find that the Copacabana Adelaide location has a great buffet selection and the ambiance is good. I find that the servers with the meat are okay. Some of them are very social and really try to make the experience great, while others are just rushing in and out of tables, which is understandable as it is busy and they need to get to all guests. Copacabana is a great place for a date or for group dinners. It is quite pricey but if you go on a Friday or Saturday, it is a bit more but there is live entertainment which is always a great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food. Amazing selection. Staff ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food. Amazing selection. Staff we constantly checking, delivering food.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Authentic, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was fabulous and very tasty how ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The meal was fabulous and very tasty however the price of $50 a plate is a bit much as for myself I don't think I could eat for that amount. I found it extremely noisy. I would return but this time request a seat at the lower level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Awesome atmosphere! Service was excellen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome atmosphere! Service was excellent! The dancers were so entertaining! Wish they went on longer! Over all great first experience! Will return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought my overall experience at this ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I thought my overall experience at this Copacabana was great. However, at first I felt that the meats weren't coming around at a quick enough pace as I had finished my sides by the time they first started coming around. But the amazing customer service provided by the servers compensated for the time waited. The only negative comment I would have to make would be having the sides on the lower floor being an issue for people being seated on the higher levels (as I had been). It is a little inconvenient having to go up and down stairs with food. All in all, however, I love Copacabana and plan on continuing to go there for many years to come.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.