Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 215-1200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (107)
Good for a Date (98)
Special Occasion (91)
See All
Good for Birthdays (80)
Good for Groups (64)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Casual (55)
Great for Lunch (52)
Fun (46)
Romantic (45)
Business Meals (44)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Modern Decor (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Bar Seating (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Happy Hour (31)
Comfort Food (31)
Cozy (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Tasting Menu (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Private Room (19)
People Watching (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Healthy (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Outstanding Value (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Authentic (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Family Style (9)
Fireplace (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Seasonal (5)
Vegan (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Live Sports (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 10 hours ago

Joined the wine club again! Love this place but they can only *almost* do a good veggie burger. Other great veg options, though. Love the wine, of course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

As always, great food, great service. I've eaten here for years and it's consistently excellent. Their wine is better than ever, join the wine club!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I'm a wine club member, so I know it's always busy at CH. We go to many locations. We invited first time guests to join us. It was the typical busy Saturday, but the wait staff seemed confused although they proclaimed years of experience at CH. It took nearly 30 minutes to get our wine, then our food came out late and wrong. I'll give it another chance, but you asked for my experience, OpenTable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server Michael was excellent and when asked for recommendations he knew what to recommend. We weren't rushed and our food was excellent. Would come back. We celebrated a 90th birthday and we all enjoyed.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Huge mistake in writing up the split on the bill....waitress did not look at what she presented.....I ordered a salad with dressing on the side...it came dressed with an order of the dressing I ordered...

VERY NOISY !!! Would only go back for an early dinner when not as crowded....we had a 6:30 reservation.....Nice menu...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

New menu the day we dined. The waitress was not fully familiar with the menu. It is not detailed either so ask if you want to avoid a certain food. There were two of us. The order came and both of our meals were wrong. We told the waitress and elected to eat them as it took so long for the sandwich and salad to come out. Not to mention the Coke Zero was completely flat and never fixed during our time dining. They can do better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took a friend to Cooper's Hawk for her birthday. We sat 30 minutes without being given bread or having our drink order taken. When the order finally came it was wrong. We ended up ordering all our food at once because the waitress was so disorganized. Two meals came and we waited about ten minutes for the third to come. I ordered a salad which was all lettuce with very little else in it. It was supposed to be chopped but was not. By that time I ordered a second drink and she forgot the lime. I went to the bar myself to get it. Both the food and services was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Cooper's Hawk to celebrate Easter. Our server, Adam, was outstanding and offered efficient, friendly service. Our favorites on the menu are the Short-Rib Mushroom Risotto and the Shrimp with Polenta. Always fresh and wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good times and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My absolute favorite restaurant. Excellent wine, food and service. Love belonging to the Wine Club.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Restaurant hostess ignores table requests written in OpenTable reservation. I requested a booth as first choice, or a table away from waiter stations and high traffic and was put smack dab in the middle of the floor. There were plenty of open booths and tables against walls too. Why should I have to remind them of the special requests? They deserve low ratings for ignorance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The pretzel crusted porkchop was perfectly cooked. The jambalaya was spiced just enough and the kelime pie for desert fit the bill. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Restaurant was way too loud. Sat in a booth for 4 people and couldn't even hear the two people sitting across from us. Food was good and wide menu available. Service was terrible. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had tickets for Lincolnshire and wanted to treat the fam to a nice meal, we were again not let down.... we love Coopers Hawk I am a two bottle member and just love this place, even tho with my membership I receive 2 free wine tastings per month I haven't even tried to use them in almost a year since it's like WWF wrestling to get to the wine bar. Just a terrible setup
Do yourself a favor and do the wine tasting at your table, you can taste I think 3 different wines at the table.
Sorry Coppers but I'm really unhappy with the tasting room setup!!!!!!
I tried unsuccessfully to bring a group over there to taste the wine and show off my favorite restaurant . Couldn't even get close to the bar !!!!!
My advice is come for the food and if the wine tasting room is not packed enjoy the wine tasting it is definitely worth it

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Date night with the husband

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We went for our anniversary with a 5:30 reservation. We were seated by the kitchen which made the place even louder than normal. Some of the food was luke warm and came out a little slow. Someone dropped a stack of dirty dishes next to us which then needed to be cleaned up. Overall there are better choices.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

CH never disappoints. From service, food and wine, it is always a great experience. Love that the menu changes with the season. The portions are very large and easily shared to get a taste of more of their delicious entrees and appetizers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was great and we got to taste some of the new menu items.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Always a sure bet for a wonderful meal. The wonderful variety of wines pair well with every dish.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

When we got there, I was concerned because the restaurant was packed and I thought we'd have a wait. However when I checked in, they had our table ready for us and seated us right away. Very impressed! Our waiter was wonderful, very friendly and very quick to refill water and soda. A couple at our table got the calamari for an appetizer and said it was one of the best they had ever had. For an appetizer, we had the blacked ahi tuna which was wonderful. Our meals were fantastic also. I had the steak medallions which were perfectly cooked and very tender. We also had a couple bottles of wine for the table, and the decantor is such a cool touch. The only negative was that the noise was a bit loud so it was difficult to talk at times. Other than that, a wonderful night!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Upon checking, we were told we will try to seat you(we had a reservation). We asked to sit in the "barrel" room I if possible. we were denied yet there was no one I in there. As we were walking to the table there were many open tables. Confused. Our server seemed flustered at first making us wait along time but then soon picked up the pace. The restaurant was very loud - I wish they could do something about it. The food is fantastic. The servers and hostess need to work on their people skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I made 730pm reservations and the restaurant ran 25 mins late, so we didn't get seated at our table until right around 8 pm. We received no apology nor did they ever acknowledge that they ran almost 30 mins late, which was disappointing. When we got to our table, it was placed so close to the table next to us that we had to move it over in order to fit all our guests comfortably. The service and food a few years back used to be excellent and now it is just about subpar. The only positive was that the wine was great and our waiter was for the most part attentive. Overall, it was a disappointing dining experience and I will not be returning anytime soon. Focus more on the quality of the experience for your guests !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I normally like this venue especially the bar area and the wine but that night was very off...our steak was extremely overlooked and service was awful, we never saw our waitress again until we were finished so needless to say, our very tough steak was not enjoyable..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This is one of our favorites in our area but this was just an off night I guess. The service was ok - our server wasn't that into it, although she wasn't rude. Just did what was necessary. Usually service is much nicer. We had to ask for bread,...
We both ordered the BBQ Chicken Salad, my absolute favorite and pretty much my usual. The portions were noticeably smaller. Mine was missing avocado and my friend didn't get the onion rings - strange. Usually I'm loving this salad - just not up to par.
We'll be back but just a little disappointing this time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

People was so friendly. But little bit loud..except that everything was great...

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Went out with the girls. Our service was outstanding. They are trying new things on there menu. Ordered the Brussels sprout appetizer. It was amazing. We also had the Parmesan crusted chicken but substituted the wasabi potatoes! Also outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Very good service and good menu options. A little loud, but tolerable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch. Good food and nice service. I would definitely order the salmon again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

If all you care about is drinking wine this might be the place to be but if you want a decent meal you might want to think again. My wife had the Napa Chicken Salad, she spent half the time searching through the lettuce to find the other ingredients that where suppose to be in it. I had the Chicken Giardiniera which at first was delivered cold and had to be sent back. Second time it was delivered by a manager who barely mumbled an apology. Even warm it was just OK nothing to go back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and service as always. Took my 88 year old mother -in-law for the first time. She loved it! Great place for young and old.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a open table reservation for 745pm and arrived on time. When checking in with hostess they couldn't find the reservation. I showed them the reservation on my phone and she kept checking . I mentioned that one other time that we were here they had an issue with a wrong phone number for me. I was a little irritated as my open table is linked to my phone and I don't have this issue with other restaurants. Suddenly I guess she found the reservation and seated us in the wine keg room which is usually only for private parties. There were only 3 other tables seated in there and I felt like I was just being seated there to make me happy. The waitress and service was fine in there but I felt away from the rest of the restaurant. No one else was ever seated in there the rest of the evening. If this was my first time coming here I wouldn't have been very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We celebrated our March birthdays. Disappointed that Crispy Shrimp is no longer on the menu - my husbands favorite! I miss the rotisserie chicken salad croissant from the lunch menu - my all time favorite! Miss steamed vs grilled veggies as well. Would LOVE to see these items make it back on the menu.

A bit loud but we're used to it in the Wheeling location. Need to expand the tasting area as it was absolutely packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Too many different waiters and the main waiter was very slow and forgot about us for awhile.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I loved the wine, food, and service. I plan to go back very soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I love this place! The wine tasting is well worth that wait if it busy. The staff behind the bar is always friendly and willing to find something you'll like. The food is amazing, I haven't had a entree that I didn't like.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Waitress was rude and didnt give our table the time of day. Worst service I've ever had at CH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I have been a wine club member for a few years now and always enjoy when I go in for tastings. Started to eat at the restaurant more due to being a wine club member and with my son being diagnosed with celiac. They have an extensive celiac friendly menu not just "gluten free". Time to get gluten free food is little longer but it's because they are ensuring that there is no cross contamination. Conscientious! It's a bit pricey depending on what you order but I enjoy the food, wine, & company I'm with so it's all worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food and wines. Our server, Luis was great and made our dining experience wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Wanted to give a better review but the service was very spotty, it took a long time for everyone to get there drinks...it was my bday so i was expecting to be taken care if well but unfortuately i wasnt. I ordered the beef risotto which was fantastic and everyone else seemed to enjoy there dishes. The only bad thing was the service. Its weird because i saw a million employees so it would seem there wouldnt be a reason for poor service. It just took a really long time for drinks to get to us. I would definitely come back and would hope the service would be more attentive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food taste was marginal. Definitely not worth the price we paid. Will not go back. My wife and I agree on this. I don't know what my friends thought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.