About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8472151200x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Notable Wine List (197)
Special Occasion (162)
Good for Groups (143)
See All
Great for Lunch (121)
Fit for Foodies (106)
Romantic (75)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Hot Spot (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Great for Brunch (28)
Kid-friendly (22)
Late-night Find (16)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the second time I've been to Coo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is the second time I've been to Cooper's Hawk. I only went this second time because it was my wife's birthday. It's over priced, overrated and so noisy you can't hear yourself think. I fail to see why people line up like lemmings to go here. You money will be better spent somewhere else.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

High energy, varied and good menu. Grea ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

High energy, varied and good menu. Great appetizer choices, educated staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine Tasting and dinner were both great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wine Tasting and dinner were both great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole dinner was ruined by lack of c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

The whole dinner was ruined by lack of courtesy of the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Our server Darcy was very attentive, acc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our server Darcy was very attentive, accommodating, pleasant and fun. The food is always delicious and the Mexican Drunken Shrimp is our favorite appetizer. We were celebrating our 51st Wedding Anniversary. I would suggest that the restaurant acknowledge special occasions with at least a chocolate strawberry or Truffle. Otherwise, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Very nice evening

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious

Very nice evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service, great wine, the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food, good service, great wine, the thai lettuce wraps are good, chicken gardinera is always good

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great dining experience, as always. Best ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dining experience, as always. Best service we've ever had at CH. Delicious new Shiraz as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but did not get bread til ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was good, but did not get bread till food arrived. Service was attentive. Would not do a Pork Chop medium as requested. Only well done. Brought own wine for a very reasonable corkage fee.

Would return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun place, great food and wine. A bit no ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fun place, great food and wine. A bit noisey but overall a very good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We celebrated my spouse's birthday on ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We celebrated my spouse's birthday on our first visit. The first booth we were seated was directly under the AC vent and created a cold setting. Our waitress was very accommodating on moving us to another table. The appetizers and lobster bisque were delicious. The filet medallions with the mashed potatoes and asparagus were perfectly cooked. The short rib risotto was out of this world. We are definitely coming back to celebrate other special occasions!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat outside on a great evening. The w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We sat outside on a great evening. The wait staff was ver attentive and did a great job. The food as usual was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reliably good food with generous portion ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Reliably good food with generous portions.

The hamburger was very good and cooked to order.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good (short rib risotto is my f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was good (short rib risotto is my favorite). Service was great. Our server new we had to be out by a certain time for our concert (there was 5 of us) and she did an great job getting our in and us out on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was sub-par at my recent vis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was sub-par at my recent visit compared to all my previous ones.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

my husband ordered the filet and it was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

my husband ordered the filet and it was tiny. The wine was good and reasonable. waitress was attentive.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

As always dinner was delicious. The por ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always dinner was delicious. The pork belly tostadas and the drunken shrimp are the best. As a wine club member, you can use your monthly club wines at the table. The staff there is extremely friendly and attentive. Always a great experience when going here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! I think it would ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was great! I think it would be nicer if the check was placed on the table after we finished the dessert. Somehow when I receive the check before I have finished the meal I feel rushed by the wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food! Nice wine reasonably priced. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food! Nice wine reasonably priced.. Honors reservation times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I have been a member of your establishme ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have been a member of your establishment for the wine. This was the first time dining and I loved it!! I can't wait to go back again. My son got his bachelors degree, this past spring. He's continuing on for his Masters in Engineering. He just found out that he already has a job in his profession. This was a celebration for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was great and our server was ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our food was great and our server was very personable and attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

they did not honor the reservation--the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

they did not honor the reservation--they had no tables available even thought we had the reservation---and they really did not care--after waiting 45 minutes we had to leave as they still did not know if or when we will be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Appetizers were great. Wine selection is ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Appetizers were great. Wine selection is wonderful too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu with excellent selections...W ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great menu with excellent selections...We especially enjoyed the broiled salmon and boneless pork chops...Becky,our server was the greatest!She added greatly to our dining experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of my favorite places but we were su ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

One of my favorite places but we were surrounded by kids and two babies. We had two elderly people with us and they could not hear over the crying and whining. It's a little too kid friendly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Never have been disappointed at Coopers ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Never have been disappointed at Coopers Hawk. Great food and service with wine tasting option. Can be a bit loud during peak hours in the dining room though, but not overwhelming.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had reservation marked birthday. Went fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had reservation marked birthday. Went for mother' birthday. Shuffled to two tables by host. Sent to bar area and forgotten. Thoroughly miserable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Very noisy!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

great appitizers and the chicken gardine ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

great appitizers and the chicken gardinera was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For the first time in a long time the fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

For the first time in a long time the food was not up to their standards

My burger was overlooked and hard

Not a great experience

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

Tremendous selection of wine and food. L ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Tremendous selection of wine and food. Love that that they have selections for the health conscious. Dismayed by the noise level. We had to shout at each other to be heard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Many friends have recommended Cooper's H ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Many friends have recommended Cooper's Hawk. I enjoyed the crab cakes. It was hard to choose from options on dessert menu. Portions are generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We went on a Saturday evening and arrive ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went on a Saturday evening and arrived about an hour before our reservation with the intent of doing a wine tasting. Unfortunately, the wine bar was very crowded so we opted to have a drink at the bar while we waited.

We are members of the wine club and one of the employees at the wine bar was gracious enough to retrieve our wine club shipment so we could have some with dinner. Very helpful!

Overall, dinner was great. One member of our party had the surf and turf with salmon. The only complaint was that the salmon was overcooked. Our server was very good and kept our glasses filled.

Overall, we had a very nice dinner with our friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Low price, since the wine we drank was t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Low price, since the wine we drank was the bottle from the wine club, and I had a reward for the dinner. We enjoyed wonderful dinners with our wine and shared a dessert. The key lime was amazing, and our server was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at cooper's hawk. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at cooper's hawk. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time so we didn't know what to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our first time so we didn't know what to expect. We arrived a little early and had to wait for our table. We were up front near the wine bar and an older gentleman approached us and offered us each some wine. Found out later he was the sommelier. Nice touch.

Our waitress was extremely pleasant and very helpful. Despite being quite busy she was always cheerful and smiling. She made some good recommendations and our dishes were excellent. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife have been there numerous times, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife have been there numerous times, it's out special date night place. We are wine club members as well and enjoy trying their different wines that come out. However, this experience did not live up to past experiences. The bar was overcrowded, we were sat at a table that was in the middle of a traffic pattern and we seemed overlooked by our server. The food is great though, I have never had a bad meal and I've tried a lot of different items.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As usual the food was excellent, as was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As usual the food was excellent, as was the wine. I would recommend this place for any occasion, but especially for a nice romantic dinner. The service is also extremely good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Used to love this place but feel the qua ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Used to love this place but feel the quality is not as good

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My family have been regulars at Cooper's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My family have been regulars at Cooper's Hawk, both for the wines and the great menu! We will remain faithful repeat diners.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.