Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 215-1200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

NotableWineList (116)
SpecialOccasions (113)
GoodForDates (103)
See All
Birthdays (86)
Anniversaries (81)
Groups (71)
Casual (69)
Lunch (67)
BusinessMeals (57)
Foodies (46)
Romance (46)
CreativeCuisine (44)
PrePostTheatre (42)
Fun (41)
BarSeating (39)
WorthTheDrive (38)
ModernDecor (32)
ComfortFood (31)
NeighborhoodGem (30)
VibrantBarScene (29)
HotSpot (26)
HappyHour (24)
TastingMenu (23)
GlutenFree (21)
Healthy (20)
Cozy (20)
PrivateRoom (19)
OutdoorDining (18)
VegetarianOptions (17)
ChildFriendly (16)
SundayLunch (15)
Authentic (14)
QuickBite (14)
PeopleWatching (12)
FamilyStyle (11)
LateNightFind (10)
HandcraftedCocktails (9)
DisabledAccess (8)
Brunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
PaleoFriendly (6)
QuietConversation (6)
OutstandingValue (6)
LocalIngredients (5)
Fireplace (4)
GreatBeer (4)
Tapas (4)
OpenKitchen (3)
Organic (2)
LiveSports (2)
Vegan (2)
WoodOven (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
Historic (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
ScenicView (1)
LiveMusic (1)
Sort By:
S
1498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

I always have a good experience coming here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I cannot recommend this restaurant nor am I likely to return because of the noise level. We could not hear each other across the table without raising our voices and adding to the din. The food and service were quite good and we would otherwise be happy to go back.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been to several Cooper's Hawk locations including the Wheeling one before and received good service; however, the service we received on Saturday was poor. We sat at our table for quite some time and no one approached us, so we asked a server if she was ours and she responded no and pointed at another server and said that was ours. She did not offer to help us with anything or even get us water to start with. Our server did finally come to us and after a slight attitude about giving us a taste of 2 wines, we ordered a bottle of wine and she gave us the wrong bottle of wine. Since the bottle was not presented for a taste to the person who ordered it, we were not aware it was wrong until she went to pour another glass and I saw the label and pointed out it was the wrong one. No apology was given for that and the wine was still taken off our wine club membership. We ordered several appetizers and mentioned a cilantro allergy at the table and 1 of the appetizers came out with cilantro on it. They did apologize and remove that from the bill only after we told her that it came out with cilantro on it even though she walked by several times and could clearly see the green on the appetizer. I do enjoy going to Cooper's Hawk, but would recommend to others to avoid the Wheeling location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first time in the Barrel Room, it was great! The staff was excellent, and very helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is good at a reasonable price. Many good food items to choose from. Wine is very good. Service is spotty at best and host stand always poor. Bad attitude persists at the host stand. Never use a debit card at this location as you may end up with unauthorized debits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was great but the noise level was intolerable. We had a party of 8 for a celebration but unfortunately couldn't hear each other over the noise.

I would not recommend because of this.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Had a 7:30 reservation. Checked in with the reservation desk and they said they would text me when the table was available. At 7:50 asked why it was taking so long. They had cancelled our reservation instead of confirming we had checked in. Got seated at 7:55 in a smaller back room that had two big parties being served by our waiter. Finally ordered, got our food and my wife's filet medallions were way over cooked. Would not recommend this place....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First time there, was pleased with the prices and quality.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our second visit for a family celebration: the first was Mothers' Day and this was Fathers' Day. We have a small, multi-generational group consisting of 2 seniors, 4 millennials and 1 youngster (us, our children and one grandchild). Our daughter picked the restaurant because she requires gluten-free meals. However, there is something on the regular menu for meat-eaters and fish-lovers alike. We were very happy with the menu choices as well as the friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service was outstanding kudos to our waitress!! drawback was that the restaurant was extremely cold people were shivering including ourselves and when we wanted a filet steak medium they butterflied it which isn't good for filet mignon because then you have 4 crusty sides instead of just two . I want my filet mignon in tact and cooked a bit slower so that it's not burnt outside .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is amazing!!! I've never had a bad meal at Cooper's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My sister belongs to the wine club, so we've been here a number of times, including wine tastings and dinner. They recently revamped their menu, but they still have the potato side dish with many of the entrees. I consistently find these potatoes to be dried out and over cooked. Ask your server for a different side dish, is my recommendation. Also, my mom had one of their "turtle" chocolates for dessert. Wow! She couldn't bite into it or cut it with a knife. I tried to bite into it and thought I would crack a tooth! The key lime pie and the salted caramel brulee were delicious though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Celebrated Father's Day early as well as a birthday. Could not have had a nicer time - seated quickly ( 6 pm on a Friday, with a reservation), drink order taken quickly, bread and drinks came right up. The service is perfect - not too much, not too little. Recommend the Risotto every time! Two of our party of three had wine flights, which are generously poured. It's a good way to try several wines if you're not familiar with their vintages. Since we're members of the wine club, we had a bottle to take home with us as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Everything was very good, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Mike was wonderful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were greeted by the host and seated promptly. Our server was courteous, knowledgeable, and attentive. The food was prepared as requested and was delicious. We will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We have been to Cooper's Hawk both in Arlington Heights and Wheeling. At the AH restaurant we have to request the wine barrel room because the main dining space is so noisy due to the stone facade. But the atmosphere at the Wheeling location is so much nicer with it's windows and divided spaces. Same GREAT food at both locations!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Once again we were disappointed with the service. Need to get it together still

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service was uneven. It was very slow at the beginning in terms of bringing our wine. Then it was too fast, as they hadn't cleared the first course plates before they brought the second course. The room was also too cold with drafting air conditioning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Nice but portions are small. May leave hungry. Our server was trying to get us to join the wine club. The surf and turf is really not a very good value. Portions were miniscule.
I would prefer going to a steakhouse, and get more food for the money.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Waitress continued to mess up order, over and over. We had allergies and each time the dishes came out it was like she didn't recall our conversation about the allergies and substitutions. Forgot drink orders, etc Loudest place ever which is fine, but don't plan on catching up with friends if you come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I am allergic to preservatives, msg, nitrates and the like. So I know how I feel after eating a meal with these items in it. I had green beans, mashed potatoes and a fried piece of flat chicken. I don't know which item had the preservatives in it but one of them did and I did not feel well at all after my meal. You would think being an expensive, nice restaurant that the items would be made fresh but obviously weren't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We've never had a bad meal here. Always have a bottle or 2 on hand to drink with our meal...or appetizers. We like to go atleast once a month to enjoy the wine of the month, or last months wine of the month.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Always great

Love the service

Consistently delectable food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

My experience was great! The manager Tim was very friendly and our server Jeff went above and beyond. It was my mothers retirement gathering and they were able to put a basket I put together on the table before we got there and accommodated every request I asked for from a bottle of wine automatically being brought out and dessert automatically being brought out. Thank you for a great experience! I couldn't have imagined it going any better than it did!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Very nice and clean place, tastefully decorated. Excellent service. Our waitress was exceedingly nice! The food is always good. I had a burger and fries.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I was very disappointed in how the manager handled a certain situation!!! I had shards of glass in my drink and the manager never compted my meal or anything. That's unprofessional and should have never happened. I should have received a free meal or something!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very quick setting upon arrival (with an Open Table reservation). Service was very slow despite the place being about 3/4 full. It took 45 minutes after being seated until we received our food. No one in our party was pleased with such a wait, especially since we were celebrating my mother's birthday- during her first trip to visit us in Illinois.

The food was good, but some items on our plates (like my broccoli and Mary's potatoes) were room temperature whereas my pistachio- crusted grouper was piping hot.

Will I go back to Coopers? Yes, but maybe a different location to compare the service and food experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Fantastic food, drinks and service! Plus, it's affordable! Received complimentary dessert for our anniversary! Love!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I just love Cooper's Hawk! As a wine club member, I go to a Cooper's Hawk about once a month. I have tried all of their chicken entries as well as many of the beef entries. I enjoy their soups, especially the chicken tortilla. The turkey burger is one of the best I have eaten. I have partaken of various wines through their generous the wine tastings. I am particularly fond of their blends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Always delicious food and interesting/accessible wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Called ahead to ask about outside seating and was told they don't take outside reservations but could be requested upon arrival. When I arrived, the hostess said they were not currently seating people outside though there were people outside eating. Was not impCalled ahead to ask about outside seating and was told they don't take outside reservations but could be requested upon arrival. When I arrived, the hostess said they were not currently seating people outside though there were people outside eating. Was not impressedressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food was absolutely fantastic, and the wine was very good. Unfortunately, our server was the worst we've ever had! He was very attentive to his other tables that had bigger groups of people, and passed us by numerous times without paying us any attention. The two times he did ask us if we needed anything, he wasn't even listening - as we tried to order a bottle of wine. We ended up leaving after finishing our dinner, and continued our night somewhere else. At a restaurant and a winery like this, one would expect a better level of service than a local burger joint!
I've worked in a restaurant industry for years, and I always give servers a benefit of a doubt. Things go wrong, restaurants get busy - but this was just rude! Also, the only time EVER, that we tipped only 15%.
We will definitely come back and give it another chance, but will specifically ask NOT to be served by this person.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Graduation dinner. Not the best service. Usually a great restaurant. Just ok this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food at a fair price. Service is usually below standards. Front desk staff is staffed by young and inexperienced employees. They often are in over their heads and arrogant. Make certain you check in with them and explain they must mark you present to get your OpenTable points. They have difficulty grasping this concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Delightful as alwAys. Full evening experience. With friends. Wine tasting, good food, shopping for wine gadgets, taking home a chocolate truffle. It's all there . Great concept, Cooper's' Hawk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved the new crab appetizers and super Tuscan wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had a wonderful time celebrating my 71st and my granddaughter 's first dance recital

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wait staff is always the best. I have never had a bad meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We enjoy Coopers Hawk. The evening turned out to be rainy and disagreeable causing us to arrive about 5 minutes late. No problem, we were seated immediately and the quality service began. The hospitality sure made one forget about the conditions outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.