About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8472151200x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL

Report a photo problem

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (76)
Good for a Date (62)
Special Occasion (61)
See All
Good for Birthdays (59)
Casual (58)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Business Meals (47)
Great for Lunch (39)
Fun (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Modern Decor (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Romantic (29)
Tasting Menu (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
People Watching (19)
Private Room (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Seasonal (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Healthy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Family Style (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Authentic (6)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Live Sports (3)
Spicy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Food Was DELICIOUS! The steaks were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The Food Was DELICIOUS! The steaks were amazing. Ambience was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We love Cooper's Hawk and have been comi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We love Cooper's Hawk and have been coming here for years as a great place to go with another couple or even have a special event (which we have done twice). This visit was tasty as always (wine great and food delish), but was very disappointed that my 7:15 reservation, which I made well over a week in advance, was not honored promptly. We were sat 45 minutes later and not approached by a manager or anyone to apologize for the delay or offer anything to rectify our experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Terrible service. Food over cooked and b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Terrible service. Food over cooked and bones or something hard in bisque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Good food and service at a reasonable pr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and service at a reasonable price. Make reservations as it is often a long wait for a table without them. Crowd is kind of "snooty" but servers are good!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This experience was quite eventful, we w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This experience was quite eventful, we were seated and the waitress took our order, after that the computers went down and we waited quite some time to get served. HOWEVER, the management staff and wait staff were so apologetic and really handled the situation well. In a chaotic situation for not just our table but many other you would not have known people were waiting or were at all unhappy.

Kudos to the restaurant manager and staff for making what could have been a horrible situation a very enjoyable one. Even though we were not complaining they were still as attentive and apologetic.

The food was hot, excellent and the atmosphere was enjoyable. The noise level in the restaurant was perfect as it provided us the ability to talk over the table and actually be heard.

All in all a great experience.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a 4 year wine club member i'm disapoi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

As a 4 year wine club member i'm disapointed again regarding our pre-dinner wine tasting. Our server did not offer a description of ea wine, served red into our white wine glasses and attempted to serve the next wine into a half full glass of the previous wine. Rediculous. I'm now a member only for the discount. Sad. But the food was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here often and this was one o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We've been here often and this was one of our best experiences. My only complaint is that on weekends it's difficult ot get a good reservation time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Courtney was great in the bar area to ac ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Courtney was great in the bar area to accommodate us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wine Tasting and Dinner was Great! Kell ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Wine Tasting and Dinner was Great! Kelly poured our wine tastings and she was a wealth of knowledge. Dinner was really great and the staff were all very friendly. Had a great time! Being a wine club member and getting the free tastings is always so nice!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great! Service could have been ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great! Service could have been better. Creative food choices and good wine selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We have loved our meals and service ever ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We have loved our meals and service every time we have been there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good menu is extensive many choic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

It was good menu is extensive many choices great cocktails lots of wine fun and energetic atmosphere. I actually enjoyed my appetizer the most after gazing at the menu all day long at work before I arrived for dinner I could've just eaten my appetizer again and skipped an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food, good atmosphere, good wine, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Good Food, good atmosphere, good wine, great service

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This would be a time when service makes ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This would be a time when service makes or breaks the evening. Though we had a reservation at 6:45 pm we weren't seated until 7:30. At check in I was told they were preparing our table, at 7:15 I asked what was the delay. I was told we would be seated right away which was another 15 mins.

Our service was surprisingly poor. We were entertaining someone from Russia and it was rather embarrassing. Once our food arrived we were forgotten. No refilling our water glasses, asking if we wanted another drink. When our server started clearing our table she was reaching over the table instead of moving to where she could have easier access to our dinnerware. That was rude. As she tried to remove things she dropped a glass and it shattered everywhere. I felt some hit the back of my leg. Just a bad dining experience. Though the food was delicious and enjoyable. With so many restaurants available in this particular area, I'm not sure I would return to this one. Unfortunately for this restaurant we have many choices to treat our guests to a pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Even with the noise level high, our boot ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Even with the noise level high, our booth wad intimate and cosy for the 4 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Being a wine club member has lost its lu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Being a wine club member has lost its luster. There used to be a time when it was exciting to go to CoopersHawk. The corporation has grown too big and doesn't seem to care, especially for its members. Service was slow. The portions were light. Other servers were rude and I had to ask if I still get my Birthday dessert. You lost the feel-good experience that set you apart from being just a typical restaurant. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I'm vegan and my waiter was ultra accomo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm vegan and my waiter was ultra accomodating. Made it very easy to have a fantastic dinner!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly waiters, excellent food & comfo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Friendly waiters, excellent food & comfortable setting. Love coming here for every occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely love CH. The menu has a var ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I absolutely love CH. The menu has a variety of selections for all taste buds. Of course the wine selection is impeccable. They offer great service and the food is awesome. I am a wine club member and would recommend anyone to become a member.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked for a quiet table. We were seated ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Asked for a quiet table. We were seated near the back of the restaurant. Perfect. Great dinner for everyone. Great waitress.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner, food was wonderful . Serve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great dinner, food was wonderful . Server was fantastic ! Thank you we had a fabulous family dinner, will defiantly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and excellent food.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always wonderfu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and service are always wonderful. Even though the dining room was busy, we were able to hold conversations without any difficulty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Varied menu with choices for all tastes ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Varied menu with choices for all tastes and a long wine list. Service was excellent and food was tasty. It was our first time here, but we will return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A good place to spent some quality time ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A good place to spent some quality time with your loved ones

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Exceptional as usual.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only issue we had was where they placed ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Only issue we had was where they placed our reservation for 6. I made the reservation about 3 weeks in advance. They put us in the very back left corner of the rest., very cold location. We asked for a different table and they complied with my request👍

They put us in the wine barrel room which was terrific!

The rest of the reservation was spot on, start to finish. Our waitress was terrific, too!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I met friends there for dinn ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife and I met friends there for dinner. Our friends had been to one of your other locations but it was my first time there. Our server was not friendly, almost rude. Throughout our dinner, she seemed distracted when she did come to the table, which was not often. Three of us ordered the Surf and Turf with the filet medallions and pistachio crusted grouper. My wife ordered the Southern Grilled Shrimp & Polenta. The portions of filet and fish were very small,

there were two pieces of medallions which couldn't have been more than 3 oz. combined, the fish portion was no bigger then 2 oz. and that is being generous. In fact the fish was completely drowned by the pistachio crust which was very greasy. It was hard to distinguish the piece of fish from the mashed potatoes. I couldn't even taste the fish under the abundance of the crust, it just tasted fatty. As for the filet medallions, I had ordered them medium rare and they came out medium. They were pretty bland tasting on top of that. My wife's Grilled shrimp and polenta dish fared no better. The few shrimp in the dish were medium sized and overcooked. The dish was too salty and tasted as though everything was drowned in butter, even the kale in the dish was oily and salty. My wife also ordered the slated caramel creme brulee which she felt was small for the price that was charged. It tasted okay but nothing spectacular. The restaurant was busy but still had open tables near us. We were seated in a booth. The noise level in the restaurant was not conducive to conversation at all. We had a hard time hearing each other. We feel that the overall value of our meal was poor. Needless to say, my wife and I were greatly disappointed by the food and experience at Cooper's Hawk and feel no need to visit any one of these restaurants again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

If I had to pick one place for a last me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

If I had to pick one place for a last meal, this is the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reservations at 6:45, we were sti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had reservations at 6:45, we were still waiting after 15 minutes. Ran into some work friends and ended up sitting in the bar with them because our table wasn't ready. What's the point of reservations if your not going to be seated on time. I have very disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 in our party. We all had di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

There were 4 in our party. We all had different meals and all were absolutely delicious. Our waiter was knowledgeable with the meals as well as the wine. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant A favorite place ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love this restaurant A favorite place for my husband and I.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Painfully slow service. Salad and main ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Painfully slow service. Salad and main course arrived together. Too much kitchen noise. Pink chicken on salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The wine was very good and I enjoyed the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The wine was very good and I enjoyed the menu making recommendations of what wine to pair with each dish. I highly recommend the Mexican Drunken Shrimp appetizer, the Short Rib Risotto entree, and Cree Brûlée for dessert. The ice wine after dinner was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful mea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal here a year ago on Christmas Eve so we decided to return this Christmas Eve.. Unfortunately, our experience was very disappointing. It was very loud; in fact so loud that our server misheard my husbands drink order. When we questioned his wine, she apologized and brought him the correct one, That was an understandable error because the restaurant was full of diners and it was difficult to hear. When our main entrees arrived, they looked good and we began to eat. I had ordered crab cakes which came with a huge side of coleslaw. On my second bite of the slaw, I removed a long hair from my mouth! It was not my hair!! Our server stopped by to ask how the meal was, and I told her about the hair. She apologized, removed my plate, and went to get a manager. An assistant manager came to apologize and said she would comp us our glasses of wine. She said the chef would make me a new dinner. I told her I did not want the coleslaw again instead I would have just the crab cakes with mashed potatoes. While I had to wait for my dinner, my husband's dinner was growing cold. I told him to eat without me which he reluctantly did. When my meal arrived the second time, it had an even larger mound of coleslaw on the plate. The runner apologized and was going to take my dinner away until I stopped her and said this was becoming ridiculous ! I scooped the crab cakes onto my bread plate and kept the small dish of potatoes. Once again the manager came to apologize. By this time, all I wanted to do was leave!! My husband was completely finished eating, so I ate one of the crab cakes and two bites of potato and we asked for the check. We had planned to have coffee after dinner, but we were both so disappointed with our evening that we just wanted to leave. My meal cost about $25. The glasses of wine cost about $15. The wine was fine; my meal was not! I did not even take the other crab cake home; it was mediocre at best! We will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

The pork belly tostada appetizer is fant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The pork belly tostada appetizer is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Large, hearty meals - we had the grouper ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Large, hearty meals - we had the grouper and the beef medallions selection - well prepared. Found the Pinot Noir to be surprisingly good at a very reasonable price. Service was very responsive to our needs.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great!!! We were not rea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great!!! We were not really happy with being with screaming kids though. My husband and I were put in the back room with another couple and about 1/2 hour into our seating the hostess sat a party of 5 adults and two children. The kids were screaming running around the restaurant (in our area). It was not fun for us!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Coopers Hawk but tonight was not ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love Coopers Hawk but tonight was not their best night as the service was slow and one entree came after everyone had finished eating. Food was ok not great which was surprising.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.