About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8472151200x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Notable Wine List (87)
Special Occasion (74)
Good for Groups (64)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Casual (49)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Great for Lunch (46)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Business Meals (38)
Romantic (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Modern Decor (30)
Fun (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Private Room (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Outstanding Value (14)
Cozy (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Family Style (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fireplace (3)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were good. would reco ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were good. would recommend as a nice place to dine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We dine at Cooper's Hawk in Wheeling at ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We dine at Cooper's Hawk in Wheeling at least once per month. This most recent visit was as good as all the other ones.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a short word - food was terrible. 3 o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

In a short word - food was terrible. 3 out of 4 quests didn't like it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Hostess was rude! We were a half hour e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Hostess was rude! We were a half hour early and the restaurant was empty and we asked to be seated and she said it would be most likely closer to out reservation. She was sitting guests without a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Kudos to Coopers Hawk for serving a grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Kudos to Coopers Hawk for serving a great Thanksgiving Meal. In spite of the crowd, we were seated within 5 minutes of our reservation. I could tell they really boosted their staffing because a server was at our table to greet us within 3 minutes if sitting down. The Thanksgiving dinner was as good as homemade! Well done Cooper's Hawk!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine and most of the food was delici ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The wine and most of the food was delicious. We were there for Thanksgiving and an anniversary. They didn't do anything at all for the anniversary although it was stated on the reservation. One person actually had the turkey for dinner and was disappointed. It was extremely dry and tasteless. The other meals seemed to be fine. The server forgot the appetizer that we ordered, understandable since they were extremely busy. They should have planned a little better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The turkey dinner was delicious and very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The turkey dinner was delicious and very generous. Our table also enjoyed the short rib mushroom risotto. Even though the restaurant was extremely busy the food was delivered promptly and hot. The staff is so efficient and the restaurant is managed extremely well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were at the restaurant for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were at the restaurant for Thanksgiving. It was quite crowded; but were called for our table with a minimum wait.

Our server was delightful and very good; the food came in good timing (not to quickly, and certainly not a long wait).

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were seated on time for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were seated on time for Thanksgiving which was a huge plus. Our meals did come out at different times which was a bit inconvenient but it was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Went for Thanksgiving! 3rd year in a row ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving! 3rd year in a row and will for sure put it on my list for next year again!!!! Staff is happy and friendly even though they are working a holiday!!!! So my props to them for working!!! Thank you so much!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was outstanding from the ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

the service was outstanding from the server at Wine Tasting area to our dinner table.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food, life choice tu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent service, food, life choice tuna and soy salmon, both very good and well prepared. Shared a salad and a bottle of wine. Nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was good. Service was great exc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was good. Service was great except they forgot to give fruit to the kids which was part of the kids menu.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, good wine selection. Had a re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good food, good wine selection. Had a reservation for 7:30 and we were on time but didn't get seated until 7:50 which was quite annoying. Service was decent but I've definitely had better. I like their food but it is quite expensive for what you are getting. Restaurant was loud, noisy, and crowded so I wouldn't recommend it for dates, unless you don't want to actually talk to the person you are sitting with.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I am a celiac and ask from the gluten fr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I am a celiac and ask from the gluten free menu and something was not right, not sure if it was the goat cheese of the beet salad. I got sick afterwards. It is the first time that happens to me in Cooper Hawk. Not good.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat at this restaurant at least once ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We eat at this restaurant at least once per month because of the good food and the dynamic wine list. As always, the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Difficult to have any semblance of a con ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Difficult to have any semblance of a conversation - even at a table of only four people. Tables very close. Service is wonderful, and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The tables were so closed together and t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The tables were so closed together and the whole restaurant was so loud we couldn't even have a conversation. We usually frequent a different Cooperhawk location and thought we'd try this one. The main course meals were amazing and just like the other one but the calamari left a lot to be desired-not as good as it is at the South Barrington location.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The service was excellent. If you are bo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was excellent. If you are bothered by noise, I recommend requesting a table in the side room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We love dining here. It is convenient a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love dining here. It is convenient and the food is wonderful. Something for everyone. We tried the shrimp appetizer this time, based on the recommendation of our server (who by the way was great)....and it was divine! Always able to make things work for my diet!

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as usual. We were h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing as usual. We were however very disappointed with the level of service within the restaurant itself. Our water was never refilled. We were never asked if we wanted another glass of wine (brought in from the wine bar), and our plates sat empty in front of us for 15-18 mins before ever seeing the waitress again. This was the first time out of 20-25 visits that I was not 100% pleased but the rest of the visit was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Our waitress was very nice.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our waitress was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love, love dining here. The wine was yu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love, love dining here. The wine was yummy, triple medallions were great but he best was the chocolate martini. Can't wait to go again. We were celebrating my special birthday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service was as good as always ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food, service was as good as always. My wife and I go there 5 times a years before we go to the Marriott Theater and will continue to go there for the foreseeable future. Keep up the good service, food, etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Excellent wine , food, and service. Our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent wine , food, and service. Our group sampled the crusted pork chop and the grouper both excellent choices

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was very good and the staff was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Service was very good and the staff was very accommodating as we had pushed back the reservation time due to traffic problems and having a wine tasting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I met some friends for a get together an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I met some friends for a get together and it was a good choice. Our waitress was patient and let us catch-up before placing our order. The atmosphere was relaxed, although a bit loud. Great meal with great friends

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Horrible service. We were basically plac ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Horrible service. We were basically placed at a table and ignored almost completely. Will never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food was very good. They have their ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good. They have their own signature wines which is good and bad depending on one's personal taste. The only down side was that the noise level was high making it difficult to talk with people at the table who are not sitting next to you.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I absolutely enjoy dining and wining at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I absolutely enjoy dining and wining at Cooper's Hawk. The food is always deelish and the wine makes you want to order more! Service is great and courteous. It's great for a date to a group setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food and drink! Waitress Bethany wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food and drink! Waitress Bethany was wonderful. Very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special was gone by 6:00. Beet salad su ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Special was gone by 6:00. Beet salad substations. Terrible wait service. Mentioned two big birthday and no acknowledgment very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Excellent watress, treated us very well

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent watress, treated us very well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very good food for reasonable prices, ve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

very good food for reasonable prices, very noisy, though.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was as good as always!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Food was as good as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent experience...from quality of m ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent experience...from quality of meal to the impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a wine club member which is fun! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I am a wine club member which is fun! The food is always good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a great experience! We really en ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a great experience! We really enjoy (& prefer) the Wheeling location! Great bar area and comfortable dining area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Waitstaff far from attentive. Didn't li ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Waitstaff far from attentive. Didn't listen to questions asked. Food was presented all at one time, appertizer and entrée. Manager blew us off when we called the next day to give constructive criticism.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We always have a good dinning experience ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We always have a good dinning experience. Wanted to pick up my four bottles of wine bur the wine tasting area was to crowded. A separate area for pick up would be a good idea.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.