About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8472151200x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Thanksgiving with Cooper's Hawk. Reserve your table.

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
North Suburbs
Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Notable Wine List (167)
Special Occasion (141)
Good for Groups (130)
See All
Great for Lunch (102)
Fit for Foodies (94)
Romantic (65)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Hot Spot (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Good for a Date (30)
Great for Brunch (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Casual (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Business Meals (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Private Room (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had another wonderful dinner. Service wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had another wonderful dinner. Service was

Outstanding. Food always so enjoyable.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible. Entree came at the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was terrible. Entree came at the same time as the appetizer. Since it was a prime rib sandwich, I sent it back expecting a fresh one after the appetizer . I was given the same one and told the waitress to wrap it to take home.

Not an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Better than I thought it would be!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Better than I thought it would be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good. My wife did not like h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was good. My wife did not like her choice of fish grouper. Server was good about it and gave us a credit for it. Decent place. Had resetvations for 8pm and we did have to wait 30 minutes passed that. But we enjoyed the evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Passionfruit sangria is tasty. Loved the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Passionfruit sangria is tasty. Loved theBBQchickensalad

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was wonderful! Love the red sang ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was wonderful! Love the red sangria! Service was excellant!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Average at best. Churrasco skirt steak w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Average at best. Churrasco skirt steak was slightly over cooked at the request of medium well. Parmesan fries were cold and the veggies stated mixed but got all carrots and yellow squash. The egg rolls and chicken torilla soup were decent. Pretzel bread was not soft and did not taste fresh. Would pass this place for another restaurant if I had the choice. Second time at this restaurant and wasn't a fan this time around. First time was a pleasant experience. Celebration for this reservation was an anniversary dinner.

The dark chocolate truffle on the way out was the best food purchase there on the way out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

My order was not right when brought out ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

My order was not right when brought out and it took a while for it to be corrected, but my meal did get corrected to perfection and my server had the manager come over and talk to me (without me having to ask to speak to him). A mistake turned into good customer service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

Celebrating a birthday, server Judy was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrating a birthday, server Judy was excellent. Food delicious. Thumbs down for 30 minute wait with a reservation. Hostess didn't even apologize. Manager gave us appetizer on him. Should not put the reservations out there if you won't be able to honor them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a great choice for pre-Marriott t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great choice for pre-Marriott theater dinner! Best of all is the passion fruit sangria!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our tasty meal. We started w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed our tasty meal. We started with the warm pretzel bread, flat bread pizza & I had a salad that was out of this world! We enjoyed a bottle of red, don't recall the name. We always enjoy our evening when dining at Coopers Hawk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though we made a reservation, we ha ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Even though we made a reservation, we had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated because they were "backed up." This is a consistent pattern when making a reservation. We were then called up for our table but then told to wait another minute because they had to clean it. Despite the wait, however, the service at the table was good. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. Food and wine was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We generally like Cooper's Hawk location ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We generally like Cooper's Hawk locations, but this wasn't a good visit. We made a reservation, but there was still a long wait when we arrived. Ended up just taking a small table in the bar area. The folks that came in the bar after us pushed several tables together, and ended up with 8 adults and 8 small, noisy children. Some of the adults were up moving around, and kept bumping our chairs. Our server was good, but perhaps needed more help with the number of tables he had. We ended up just having wine and appetizers, no problems there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Waitress clearly had to many large group ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Waitress clearly had to many large group table and slowwwwwed the service down.

You arrive a few minutes ahead of your reservation. They give you a buzzer to page you when they can seat you. The pager goes off and you take it to the hostess. Then you stand there waiting for 10 minutes. What the "F" put another seating hostess on the schedule.

It was Saturday evening and the place was only 1/2 full. Certainly a tell tale of poor consumer experiences at Coopers a Hawk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Wine tasting experience was great. Jasmi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wine tasting experience was great. Jasmine was our server and was so helpful. Dinner was wonderful. Excellent food. Hope to be there soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This place has never disappointed me. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This place has never disappointed me. The food is always excellent quality, and being a wine club member, we get lots of perks that make up the monthly membership fee.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent everything, as almost always. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent everything, as almost always. Cooper's Hawk is a favorite no-fail place for us and we remain very happy to have found them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Make their own wine which is ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food. Make their own wine which is just o.k. Problem is excessively noisy to point where it is difficult to converse with table mates. Wide selection of foood that is straightforward. Busy?

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seated promptly -excellent service -food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Seated promptly -excellent service -food well prepared..only negative was the cold air blowing directly on us on table next to windows--

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

employees are all helpful, very pleasant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

employees are all helpful, very pleasant and knowledgeable

Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely loud to the point of being una ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Extremely loud to the point of being unable to carry on a conversation, obnoxious! Tables were so close together I couldn't get out of my seat. We were over waitered, we were interrupted many times to ask about additional items, was everything ok, did we need anything, kept trying to sell us on the membership, etc....Food was marginal, I would not return.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Everyone was very accommodating to my da ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Everyone was very accommodating to my daughters food allergies we just didn't expect every time we substituted a side due to her allergies it would be $4 a dish. Cut up uncooked carrots and a bowl of fruit together was $8. I wish we had a heads up next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

very clean, organized, well lit, friendl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

very clean, organized, well lit, friendly staff. I like the layout.... Also like the open kitchen area. enjoy the little distance from the wine bar to the dining area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to the location in Cincinnati ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I've been to the location in Cincinnati and was immediately drawn to going to this location as I was staying at the Westin and it was a quick walk. However I was disappointed. The noise level is SO high. It was very difficult to have a conversation with the person next to you much less across the table. The set up seemed to be different at this location. The kitchen is adjacent and semi open to the majority of the seating area. That doesn't add to the vibe- it's a negative. Tables were to close to other tables to have room to move. The food was good-3 but not outstanding. Do love the brussel sprouts salad. If you have a wine guru in your group- that doesn't make this an automatic love. They have to be open to only having the Coopers Hawk brand to select from. Doing a little tasting ahead would probably help in deciding on a good selection for dinner. So make time before your dinner time to do so. So I'm 1 for 1. Liked the CInci location very much, not as pleased with the Wheeling location.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food and service are typically very, ver ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service are typically very, very good. Great for date night - but usually rather loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great scallops and shrimp on risotto. A ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great scallops and shrimp on risotto. And barrel reserve wine always the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely noisy. Impossible to carry on ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Extremely noisy. Impossible to carry on any conversation around the table as wine drunk ladies were obnoxiously laughing the night away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, loved the decanter! Will def ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great food, loved the decanter! Will definitely come back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Coopers Hawk is a personal fave of mine. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Coopers Hawk is a personal fave of mine. I am a 2 bottle member and the perks that come with that are great. The wine is fantastic as is the food and service. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish you had an indication for off the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I wish you had an indication for off the chart obnoxious loud. I love the food. The staff is wonderful. The noise level is so loud that you cannot hear the person next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Coopers Hawk did not disappoint again. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Coopers Hawk did not disappoint again. I love their menu -it has enough variety that there is something for everyone. They also have a "life balance" offering where the offerings are 600 cals or less. I had their goat cheese and beet salad for the second time. My favorite salad really of all time. I also had the special seafood risotto. Our waitress Brittany was outstanding. She never rushed us and was very attentive. I like their wines - the sauvignon blanc is excellent - and I am picky about my SV's. I think this is a great place for a date or to celebrate something. I did see a number of families there with very small children and that kind of shocked me. Honestly this is not a place that would cross my mind to bring our child. The place is too nice and the ambiance does not seem appropriate for children unless you are sitting out on the patio perhaps. Take the kids to Maggianos, save this place for a GNO or night out with your significant other.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a wine club member almost si ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I have been a wine club member almost since the Wheeling restaurant opened. I have gone there for lunch, dinner, group outings, etc and they have all been a great experience. Food is always very good and they do change the menu around a bit to keep things fresh. Their wine is always outstanding - especially for the price - which is much less than you would pay for a lesser quality wine at another restaurant. This trip was just with my family and was very good as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good and the service was fa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good and the service was fair at best. I realize that they may have been short-staffed, but the manager should have made the coverage available. I mean 10 minutes for a drink refill?

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Very accommodating to people with food a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very accommodating to people with food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Life Balance menu great idea, not so gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Life Balance menu great idea, not so great execution. I ordered tenderloin medallions with kale and gold roasted potatoes. Kale was over cooked and mushy. Potatoes were under cooked and hard. Beef was good, but I left hungry. Not enough food or taste for the calories. I would order a regular entree next time and just eat half to save calories if that's your thing. My husband's meal was outstanding, (not from life balance menu)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is very inconsistent. I visit ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This place is very inconsistent. I visited the one in Orland Park and ordered the chicken giardiniera and loved it. I came here and it was not good at all. My husband ordered the nut crusted grouper and it was a tiny piece of fish for $28. It was a joke. My kids had the steak off of the children's menu and that was fine but I probably won't be back to this location unless it's to pick up my wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the wine, food is great. It's alwa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the wine, food is great. It's always lively there

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food is always great however, my fri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food is always great however, my friends and I love the lobster tempura but is not a good value and think for the money customers should get more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great! This is our favorite place to ce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great! This is our favorite place to celebrate girlfriend's birthdays! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.