Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 215-1200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (113)
Special Occasion (110)
Good for Birthdays (98)
See All
Good for a Date (92)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Casual (81)
Good for Groups (58)
Great for Lunch (53)
Bar Seating (52)
Business Meals (49)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Fun (45)
Worth the Drive (45)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Romantic (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Tasting Menu (30)
Happy Hour (29)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Cozy (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Gluten Free Options (19)
People Watching (18)
Healthy (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We went there for my birthday, supervisingly, no special events for birthday (nothing happened) even I have choosed that option in online reservation. The environment is so noise, people spoke so loudly I can barely heard my wife's talking. So disappointed as I even need to ask for some candles myself and ironically the server said 'Happy birthday' to a wrong person!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was better this time than last time. My wife always enjoys the wine tasting. Major problems with Direct TV prevented us from watching 1/2 of the cubs game.

Our Server had way too many tables. Had to ask him to stop every time we needed anything. Refills, place our appetizer order, order our dinner, get our bill. Every time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was very slow. Server was apologetic but slower than we would have wanted bb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a very nice place with moderate prices and an excellent location, with great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2017

As usual our experience was wonderful. Good food, good wine and attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Always enjoy our dates at Coopers Hawk. I tried the Parmesan Chicken... Best i have ever had. Crispy yet moist chicken. Delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One our favorites- food never disappoints and service is always good. Pretzel bread is the best. Good selection in all categories appetizers, entrees, sandwiches etc. One tiny flaw on our last visit, our server was friendly, pleasant, but perhaps a bit too efficient. She came to bring us our check, but was also clearing dirty plates from another table and set them down on our table so she could give us our check. Never had that happen before, anywhere. Sorry, A bit of “ick” factor for me. Would not stop us from coming back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Busy restaurant that makes using Open Table difficult. The restaurant limits reservations by turning OT off. Food is good and at a fair price. Bar area is large with big screen tv’s. Service is always spotty and often poor due in part to less frequent secret shopping. Never use a debit card at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great service and always a good dining experience. Only negative is they keep it too cold in the restaurant.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The Tuna was not up to par this time. Normally outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food and service were very good. The wine of the night was very good, as well (Reserve).

The first table that we were seated at overlooked the service area, but our request for reseating was well-received and handled promptly.

We look forward to our next visit to Cooper's Hawk.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Extensive menu for all appetites. The bruschetta was terrific. My wife had ribeye which she thoroughly enjoyed and my gnocchi with short-ribs was some of the best I've had. Will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. We had a wonderful visit with old friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Delicious. Very varied menu. Great and fast service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Had a great server...Brittany. Very attentive and knowledgeable about wine and and food.
Always a very noisy place but we managed and had a good time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Good food with wonderful setting. Wine pairing is excellent. Pistachio crusted grouper has become one of my favorites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Disappointing. The service was slow and inattentive. The food was cold and not so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were double charged on our bill. We paid part cash/credit and after we left the server added more to my credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have always been a fan of this restaurant for its creative ideas. The restaurant near Schaumburg is so amazing. But I did not have a good beginning to my experience on sept 30th. The reservation was at 0830 and they kept us waiting for almost 20 mins because the table was not cleaned from the previous dinner. Then I asked the lady at the counter if they could do something special for my fiancé’s birthday dinner. She said no, straight up. The start was very frustrating but the server was very nice and friendly and I told her about the occasion and she got a dessert in the end with happy birthday written on the plate. She saved the day for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent waitress as well as service even had onion ring the waitress got the chef to make not normally a side
Thank you to the chef and waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our waitress Lisa was very efficient and we took her suggestion on a food choice which my husband loved. Love your southwestern eggroll appetizer and your lobster bisque is always delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We have been wine members for several years and have always enjoyed our visits but this past Friday was not a good experience all around! The noise level was horrible, 2 of the 4 meals were bad. Soup sent back twice to be warmed and never got better then warm. No pretzel bread was served until our meals came and we ordered 2 salads and one didn't come until about 15 minutes after the 1st one was served. We were w/another couple who said they would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wine tasting was crowded, but bartenders and host were all very accommodating. Food and wine were wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Birthday but no recognition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We've been to this location before. Everything was great - our food delicious and service was awesome!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

i ordered a salad with skirt steak and received a large plate with a small wedge salad and about 6 very thin strips of steak. my friend insisted that it go back and that i receive more lettuce or salad. it returned with not that much more.
i am on a diet where i can only eat protein with salad & veggies. i'm not sure that the portion size is something that works for me in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Nice presentation of food. Good service, though be prepared to wait for your table. The main dining room is not the place for a cozy chat...at least not at busy times. Overall, it was an enjoyable evening out for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The noise level is getting worse. It makes it difficult to enjoy your Neal when you have difficulty hearing the person sitting next to you. I gave been to many other Cooper's Hawk location and this isn't the case.
The food and wine keep us returning on a regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food here is consistently good. Nice wine selection. Good sangria. Excellent service.
We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Normally my family and I really enjoy our frequent visits to Cooper's Hawk, but this visit was an exception. Food service was excessively slow because our waitress had to deal with a couple of stubborn wine dispensers. One had to be replaced, which delayed the server's return to our table by several minutes. Further, while our desserts were excellent, it took much longer than usual for them to be brought to the table.

I got the distinct feeling that the restaurant was understaffed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The service was very slow...we had 3 kids and would appreciate a bit faster more understanding service. The server was a sweetheart, but again - could not attend timely. Drinks came constantly late, if we would ask to come back in 5 minutes, she would he back in 25...
We are regulars here, so this was one of most nervous outings for us here. Of course we will come back again. But the note to the Management, maybe need to staff properly, so people are not waiting...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Cooper's Hawk make their own wine and the list is quite extensive. Their Lux Cabernet Sauvignon is excellent. They also make their own beer but offer a list of other beers as well. Whenever I dine here I always order their Crab & Lobster Bisque soup - it is out of this world! There is something on their menu for almost everyone including several vegetarian options and Gluten Free choices. Service was excellent and everyone enjoyed the shared appetizers and their choice of entrees. The noise level can get quite loud, but I had requested a booth in a quieter part of the restaurant and had no issues with the noise level. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great place, wonderful service and food. Table was ready when we got there, 10 minutes early! Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

One of our favorites. Has proven itself over and over. However, acoustics are horrible - very loud.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We arrived at our appointed reservation time and were seated immediately. This was important to us as we were doing theater following dinner. Our waitress was on top of everything. Dinner was great - great food; great service.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food and wine are exceptional. Every dish we've had, we've loved. Service is tremendous; they really do want you to enjoy your dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had a wine tasting before the wonderful late lunch. Friendly, attentive service at the wine tasting and the meal. Loved the food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always a pleasure at Coopers Hawk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Cool place - good food and wine. Nice for energy but for those seeking more quiet and secluded this place was on the loud and crowded side.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We are members and really enjoy the wine. The food has never disappointed us, always fresh and prepared will. I was glad we made a reservation. It is always so crowded!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.