About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8472151200x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
North Suburbs
Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

notable wine list (208)
special occasion (171)
good for groups (158)
See All
great for lunch (127)
fit for foodies (124)
romantic (77)
neighborhood gem (72)
hot spot (55)
vibrant bar scene (45)
great for outdoor dining (37)
great for brunch (25)
kid-friendly (23)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been having a hard time getting a ...

Dined 4 days ago

I have been having a hard time getting a reservation at some like Burr ridge and Naperville and I am glad I got to go to Wheeling for a 6:00 Dinner. I guess Cooper's Hawk is getting quite popular which I suppose is a good thing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Our server was not the friendliest. It ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our server was not the friendliest. It was my husband's birthday and we belong to the wine club for the 2nd year and a free dessert should have been offered I later found out. My birthday was the month before and we dined there and I was not offered the free dessert either. Disappointing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love the atmosphere. Braised bee ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Always love the atmosphere. Braised beef risotto an all time favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here regularly and as always, the ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We eat here regularly and as always, the food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thisvisitwasformywife'sbirthday. Everyth ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Thisvisitwasformywife'sbirthday. Everythingwas GREAT even though she arrived late. Thanks to all the staff for making this a SPECIAL DAY for her... be back SOON.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

The food was delicious, but it was reall ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was delicious, but it was really noisy.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Last time I was at Cooper's Hawk I had a ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Last time I was at Cooper's Hawk I had a bad experience. I came back again at their request and guess what another challenging and embarrassing meal. I once again ordered something that they were out of on a Tuesday night at 7:00PM. The service was poor, we couldn't find our server. To top off the night, the server took it upon herself to take off my birthday certificate from the bill without asking me first. How embarrassing when I didn't want to use it with this group of friends. I'm done.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We were a party of three. We ordered app ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We were a party of three. We ordered appetizers that arrived pretty fast. Our main courses took forever to come. Two dinners were filet medallions and and one dinner was grouper. First we were told the food would be right out. Then we were told the kitchen got very busy all at once. Then they said they were waiting for the grouper. When the food finally came out,the steaks were ice cold and the grouper was very hot. Our server took the steaks back and the manager came over to apologize and would wait for the new steaks to be cooked. When the manager brought the stocks out a second time, all the chef did was reheat the meals, which caused the steaks to be overdone. Finally we got our meals. The manager did comp the steaks and some desserts. All in all it was not a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

I am very happy Coopershawk decided to b ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I am very happy Coopershawk decided to bring back passion fruit wine!!! Thanks for listening to the customers. We LOVE that wine!!!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

It was very crowded for a weekday and ou ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

It was very crowded for a weekday and our service was slow when we arrived.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual. Staff was very fri ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food as usual. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Even other waiters would notice if a plate needed to be removed or water could be replenished. Our waitress even surprised us with two additional glasses of our favorite wine to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Cooper's Hawk. Always great food ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Cooper's Hawk. Always great food, great service and exceptional wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The short rib mushroom risotto was amazi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The short rib mushroom risotto was amazing.

food3
ambience4
service5

My husband thought his chicken piccata w ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband thought his chicken piccata was not good. However two others in our group had the same thing and said it was good.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent. We had the lett ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was excellent. We had the lettuce wrap appetizer and the blackened Ahi tuna. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly. It was very difficult to hear in the restaurant. The noise was unbelievable. The noise would deter me from returning. We sat in the middle section.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

went there because we are wine club memb ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

went there because we are wine club members with friends who are also wine club members. prefer lunch time when it is not so noisy.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food.

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and food.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The gluten free menu was why we chose th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The gluten free menu was why we chose this restaurant. The noise level was deafening and will impact my choice when we consider returning to this restaurant. After visiting 3 Coope Hawk restaurant locations I find the noise level very discouraging when trying to interact with others at my own table.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall, we like the CH Wheeling. We mi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Overall, we like the CH Wheeling. We miss the gift shop, which is essentially a wine bar now, and we do find that the service is variable. We've had some nights when it's outstanding; others (including this visit) the staff is just too rushed to really personalize service. We were outside (as we prefer to be in summer), but it just didn't seem like there was enough staff to handle both inside and outside.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was great and on par with other Coo ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was great and on par with other Cooper Hawk sites. Too noisy for a lunchtime crowd. Will not return to this location.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was excellent but our server se ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was excellent but our server seemed to have many tables as we didn't see her as much as we would have liked. We have eaten at several Coopers Hawks before (Burr Ridge and Barrington) but the noise level in the Wheeling Coopers Hawk was really loud and we had a hard time hearing the person next to us.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoy the wines that Cooper's Hawk o ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoy the wines that Cooper's Hawk offers. They also have several delicious appetizers and some wonderful entrees. I recommend doing a wine tasting before dinner, as you may find a new wine to enjoy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the pork chops and was somewhat di ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I had the pork chops and was somewhat disappointed in that they were overdone and on the dry side. Other meals at the table were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Before the show...stop here!

Dined on June 10, 2016

On our way to see Andrea Bocelli perform, we stopped for drinks and dinner...very glad we did. Service was exceptional, wine was great and food was terrific. We even left with enough money to enjoy drinks at the show!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Business lunch

Dined on June 9, 2016

Every time I take a customer to Coopershawk it turns into a wonderful social occasion. the food is always great, service is meticulous, and everyone always has a good time. I highly recommend Coopers Hawk for business linchoens.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Friends out to dinner

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Enjoyable evening out w/ good friends in from out of town. Good menu choices. Very good service. Only complaint was the noise level. Very very loud.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on June 8, 2016

The calamari and thai lettuce wraps were fabulous and the wine options were diverse. It is definitely a place I will encourage others to visit for a business get together or a nice evening with someone special.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Pricey eclectic menu.....usually quite n ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Pricey eclectic menu.....usually quite noisy....not one of my favs because of this even though I could walk there.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

guaranteed quality

Dined on June 5, 2016

Noisy at times, hard to converse. Sat in bar this time, hurried service but food is always good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious we were a little disa ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was delicious we were a little disappointed that 3 of us ordered a tuna dinner and they were all out of tuna by the time of our 8:00 reservation

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great food service everyt ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Everything was great food service everything. Our server Meghen was wonderful. She was there when we needed her but not in our face all the time. A great night.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visitor, and I was pleased wi ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

First time visitor, and I was pleased with food selections,wine and beer selections. Prices were very reasonable, and I thought the food was very good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Picked up our wine and used my birthday ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Picked up our wine and used my birthday Ora. Ate outside was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent Great Value & Experience

Dined on June 1, 2016

Great food as always. Mark, our server, was spot on - timing, recommendations were perfect. BDX wine was very good. Booth for 5 was comfortable and allowed for conversation. Our European guests were impressed by the quality of the food, wine, service and experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on June 1, 2016

Had a wonderful time. Food, service and wine were great. Price is very reasonable and waiters were very friendly and pleasant. Cooper Hawks is one of our favorite place. Thanks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here frequently, and always enjoy ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

We go here frequently, and always enjoy the food and wine. I especially like the pistachio crusted grouper and Dana's chicken. I also favor the roasted vegetables, and usually substitute them for the potato side. They are happy to swap out side items to suit individual taste. The service is great, they keep the number of tables per server very manageable, even in busy times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

good food, excellent wine

Dined on May 30, 2016

Cooper's Hawk is always a fine place to meet friends/family. It has a varied menu, with excellent sandwiches and salads. Their wine list is extensive and all that I have tried have been quite good. Highly recommended.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great gluten free!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great gluten free! Wine was great! Great Service!

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Flavorful good food

Dined on May 28, 2016

The pork belly tostadas appetizer and crab/lobster bisque soup were excellent. The Mexican drunken shrimp appetizer and the carmel banana bread sundae were very good as well. The service was attentive without being obtrusive. The only negative is the noise level which is annoyingly loud. Would only return with my wife and not a group of people for that reason.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overpriced but decent food and nice atmo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Overpriced but decent food and nice atmosphere. Service is usually pretty good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.