About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8472151200x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
North Suburbs
Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

notable wine list (221)
special occasion (194)
good for groups (180)
See All
fit for foodies (138)
great for lunch (126)
romantic (94)
neighborhood gem (67)
hot spot (67)
vibrant bar scene (48)
great for brunch (32)
great for outdoor dining (27)
late-night find (24)
kid-friendly (24)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food selection

Dined 4 days ago

Menu very limited on types of steak and fish. However the filet mignon was very tasty and the grouper was very good. The waiter, Magan, was extremely courteous and efficient. The manager, Tom, was very cordial

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great Food - very loud

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We love Cooper's Hawk and eat here very often. The food is wonderful and the service is very good. Weekends are particularly noisy. We specifically asked for the back room as it is usually quieter. Little did we know that there would be a party of 15 right behind us. It was impossible to hear half of our group. A lot of lip reading. Great meal. Hard to catch up with friends. Will not go back with more than 4 people.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Service & ambiance were very good. Food ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service & ambiance were very good. Food was very good too, except one of the entries was a little over done. Good value..

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there many times will continue to g ...

Dined 5 days ago

Been there many times will continue to go there regualry as part of the wine club.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great good and service !

Dined 5 days ago

Great good and service !

food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate a birthday in the f ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate a birthday in the family, it's a great place for groups the price point was anywhere from 12 to $35.

food1
ambience2
service2

I have eaten here numerous times and alw ...

Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten here numerous times and always had good meals. Not this time! I chose not to send my shoe leather burger back because I was treated by a colleague. Honestly, the worst meal ever! I asked for medium well and it was BLACK! My side of asparagus had so much salt on it I didn't even finish it. I had to ask several times for more water. Definitely not a good experience!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the staff was very welcoming from the mi ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

the staff was very welcoming from the minute we arrived until we left. My wife and each ordered a flight of wine (champagne and red) and 2 of the 4 were outstanding. The waiter even brought me a small glass of malbec to try (as it was his favorite). I'm a big fan of their pretzel bread too which is served warm and came from an oven not re-heated in a microwave. Overall a great experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, a great experience . Waiter ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always, a great experience . Waiter left a bit to be desired.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was *good* - not great. At the ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was *good* - not great. At these prices, I expect great. Wine selection was superlative.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, service, ambience wine and desserts

Dined on May 15, 2016

Good selection of food for non-vegetarian and vegetarian. Wine bar with great wine selection. Craft beer selection is decent, but could be more expansive. Energetic but not noisy. Great dessert menu. Great, friendly service. Servers are knowledgeable about food selections. Nice and clean decor.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Love the pork belly tostado appetizer.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Love the pork belly tostado appetizer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been back to Cooper"s Hawk in ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had not been back to Cooper"s Hawk in quite some time. We had forgotten how very good it is and both the presentation and the quality of the food was excellent. Service was wonderful and of course the wine was as expected GREAT! We will be back again very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though they were busy on this Frida ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Even though they were busy on this Friday night, they still gave us great service (very quick) and great food, and especially the wine,

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our trips to Cooper's Ha ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We always enjoy our trips to Cooper's Hawk. The food is always great! Reservations made through Open Table are honored as soon as we walk through the door - never any hassle.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

for the younger crowd

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Very noisy, wine the main item they push rather than food. Most of the patrons are under 35 and seemed to be looking for company. The food was just ok. Waiter had too many tables to take care of. My wife waitd 30 minutes for a glass of water that she requested.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Had to wait too long with a reservation.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Had to wait too long with a reservation.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

wine club member?

Dined on May 9, 2016

If you belong to their wine club, pick up your bottle and take it to dinner with you with no corkage fee.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner and a great experience.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our thanks to Judy for the wonderful service. Even though she had several tables to care for she was very attentive our needs. The restaurant was very busy but the management kept things in order and under control. What a great operation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Not into wine, but very impressed with the food.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Very good food, surprisingly good actually. Friendly and hard working waitstaff (Jeff). Prices are a little high but considering the quality of the food it's justifiable. Will definitely return.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Not Impressed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Cheap wine. Great Food, Abysmal Service. We were a party of 5 and waited forever for our reservation, then waited for our food and then had very poor wait staff service. Complements to the chef! The food was great. Marginal wine, but cheap! It will be a LONG time before we return. The kicker was finding that the wine club we were signed up for costs $18.99 per month. The gift that keeps on giving. Shameful! No disclosure of wine club fee on sign up material or from wait staff. We cancelled the next day after we read the fine print in the email.

food5
ambience5
service4

As usually, Cooper Hawk's food is outsta ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

As usually, Cooper Hawk's food is outstanding!! However, they changed their menu and got rid of some of my personal favorites. I am not sure if they added something new worth trying...

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A novel idea, but may be time for a change...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been a wine club member for years, but I feel like the CH chain may be getting a little tired. The menu is now a book like a national b/c grade chain and the entrees do not seem to vary much. The restaurant does not have specials or at least did not have them when we ate their on a Friday night. The management was a little loose with hostesses and bartenders a little distracted. People seem to want to help but are distracted and keep getting pulled away leaving customers without a clear understanding of what is happening. The wine-selling system is complicated and it took almost 30 minutes to sell me a case of wine. I want to like CH and I do like the local wine concept. There is however a need to re-invigorate and sharpen up the menu with seasonal foods, organic choices, some more upscale menu...separate wine lists..specials. The staff needs to be sharp and know their menu and be prepared to sell the new items a bit. Oh, and there has to be a better way to sell me wine! I hope CH management is reading these because it's a great concept and I am sure that a little effort here would draw people back into the fold. It will certainly help to keep me coming back!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 4, 2016

We celebrated our son's birthday at Cooper's hawk in wheeling. Our server Judy was very gracious and attentive. The food was excellent and we could actually hear each other talk. It was a lovely evening. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 1, 2016

The wine decanters were so much fun! We came here for the first time for an anniversary and the food was great, staff was attentive and they even gave us a complimentary dessert to celebrate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

We've been wine club members since they ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been wine club members since they opened and used to go often. This last visit will be our last time. They were 35 minutes late with our reservations, there was no room at the tasting bar, they were out of wine of the month and it was still April. Once we were seated it took 15 minutes to be acknowledged, we ordered, the server came back to tell us they were out of 2 things we ordered. Her response was to send the manager over who started the conversation with "I hear you aren't happy". Wrong way to approach a client. We changed our order and 2 of the three items came wrong. Unbelievable. Maybe you've grown to quickly I am not sure but I am sure there are no third chances.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love dining at Cooper's Hawk!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the food, the service and most definitely the wine!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always reliable friendly service, well p ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Always reliable friendly service, well prepared and thought out menu, good wine. Great concept. Makes for a full evening when a wine tasting is included.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Times

Dined on April 27, 2016

Absolutely love this place. Food is always great. Especially for those with a gluten tolerance. Wide selection of food and wines. The service is always wonderful. Our ladies nights always are a blast here.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk Is Our "Go To" Place

Dined on April 26, 2016

We enjoy quality food, that is consistent. We have our favorite meals, but can venture out and try new things with confidence at Cooper's Hawk. I recommend a wine tasting before your dinner, and a bottle of red during dinner so you can use the neat decanter.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy the food but the calamari ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

I always enjoy the food but the calamari as an appetizer and the chicken Madeira for my entree were excellent choices! Leftovers for next day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine bar server Joshua was outstanding.. ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wine bar server Joshua was outstanding... very attentive not only to us, but to others walking in, acknowledging and serving them right away. He has the "right" personality for the job and made everyone feel welcome. On our way out after dinner he was helping at the Truffles counter- always attentive to either fellow staff and /or customers- OUTSTANDING!!! A KEEPER!!! We usually go to the Burr Ridge location where we have outstanding service all the time also! We had an EXCELLENT experience at Wheeling thanks to Joshua!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good experience. I was a ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a very good experience. I was a little disappointed that we were not seated in the Barrel Room as requested 3 months prior. However, the service was great and food tasted delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food were great. We've been ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Service and food were great. We've been dining here for years but tried the burgers for the first time. They were outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a special treat

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have dined at Cooper's Hawk about 6 times at various locations. The food is always good, the wine is delicious, and I think it is a good value. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Bad food, cold coffee, lack of energy fr ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Bad food, cold coffee, lack of energy from our server

food5
ambience5
service5

Tried something new ...grouper was very ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Tried something new ...grouper was very good...maybe needs a little more spice..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought very close friends that had neve ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Brought very close friends that had never been. They are always sending food back! They didn't have to everything was wonderful!! Thanks for a great time!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but server too busy

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food is always wonderful here, and it did not disappoint. We both enjoyed the Classic burger. I had fruit as a side and my friend enjoyed the Aisan Cole slaw. We definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice steak selection but lots of other things

Dined on April 21, 2016

The steaks were very good. The jambalaya was a little spicy, and that was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.