Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 215-1200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (116)
Special Occasion (104)
Good for a Date (95)
See All
Good for Birthdays (90)
Good for Anniversaries (89)
Casual (78)
Good for Groups (70)
Great for Lunch (67)
Business Meals (57)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Bar Seating (46)
Fun (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Romantic (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Tasting Menu (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Gluten Free Options (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (16)
People Watching (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Quick Bite (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (6)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tapas (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

So disappointed!!! I brought a friend to the restaurant chain for the very first time. Sat outside and there were bees everywhere. The most awful server ever ~ she brought the drinking ordered by my friend and forgot all about mine; screwed up my order BIG time; she recommended a salad to my friend that WAS NOT CLOSE to what she had in mind, and it wasn't eaten.

For someone who loves Cooper's Hawk, the Wheeling location WON'T be on my short list of locations...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was exceptionally good. We were in town for the weekend and ate there multiple times. We ordered a variety of wines, appetizers, cheese platters and couldn't have been happier with the quality and presentation of the food. The staff was delightful. The restaurant was clean, the patio very enjoyable. A wonderful all around experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the scallop risotto! Gluten free bread wasn't as good this time - not sure why because it's usually delicious. I reserved for 7:00 but wanted 6:00. Host at desk said he could not get us in any earlier - was very curt about it and didn't say sorry. Then other person at desk said she could seat us in 10 minutes - so wonderful! The first guy needs customer service training because basically he was lying to us. Big turn off for customers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We are wine club members and always enjoy our tastings and dinner. Pam helped us in the tasting room. She is so much fun and just a great person. We told her this time we were celebrating our anniversary and our daughter was celebrating her new job. She gave us some chocolates to help celebrate. For dinner I had the chicken special which was wonderful. They let us sample the barrel reserve and that was very good. We love coming to Cooper's Hawk! The food is always a hit.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday.
Always a great experience there!! Everyone gets good food, servers are outstanding and helpful and give great recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My only negative was that our party of six was sat at a table that could have held 10. Made conversation in an already very noisy restaurant almost impossible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My husband and I love to go to Cooper's for date nights. We love doing wine tastings with friends or celebrating birthdays here.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I always love this place, the food and wine is always amazing

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I'm not that enamored of Cooper's Hawk. It' a decent restaurant, but oh so pretentious. My friends really like it, so that's where we went.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service,great wine, tasty food! The spare rib risotto was delicious

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Overall we were not impressed. The best thing was the south of the border egg rolls -those are always spot on. On this visit the appetizer came and about 2 minutes later the main entrees came out. Steak was over done and the vegetables were not cooked just heated . The lighting is very dark -makes you think they are trying to hide quality of food. Our server was nice and attentive -certainly not her fault for the food to be just so so. But the timing of the appetizer and main meal
Probably was up to her

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Cooper's Hawk has become a semi-regular eating destination for us on Friday nights and other nights as well. The fish and chips and the crab/lobster bisque are exceptional. This last Friday was more of the same. We also enjoyed the salted caramel creme brulee.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Fun, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always a great choice! Friendly knowledgeable service. The Passion Fruit Sangria is wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding. Food was delicious as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food is great fast friendly service and recommendations. Will definitely go back the food was outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful evening. Food was great! A little noisy,

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Any gnocchi dish there is fantastic. Great food. Quick service. We were in and out in less than 45 minutes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We generally dine at the Brookfield, WI restaurant, but we were local to the Wheeling location this time and decided to give it a try. We were not let down. The same high quality food and service that we have become accustomed to.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food is delicious no matter what entree is chosen. We always order drunken shrimp as an appetizer...love it. The staff is very pleasant, friendly, professional and accommodating. Love the wine tasting and chance to sample 4 wines in the Flight selection. Coopers Hawk is one of our favorite restaurants. The only con is that noise level is high and the chairs are uncomfortable. Our server, Roxie was very sweet and knowledgeable. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We get together a few times a year and this is one of a few places we keep returning to.
This will go back into the rotation and with the changing menu it is always fun to see what is added for the next season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Biggest issue is the noise level. We were seated by the open kitchen. I could hardly hear my friend talking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

My meal was great and the service better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was excellent! We have been to this restaurant several times and always enjoy it.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As members of the wine club, we stopped in to pick up our wine and ate dinner. As usual the wine was excellent and the food scrumptious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food is very good for the price. Wine selections are excellent. Service is a flip of the coin. The service in the lounge area is usually poor. Never use your debit/credit card at this location. Never!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and service were very good. The only complaint would be that the server never brought water to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall, our experience at the Wheeling Cooper's Hawk was very good. We made the mistake of placing our food order just as we got our wine.....within 7 minutes, our meals were brought to our table much quicker than we would have preferred. Then again, we could have and should have delayed ordering our meals.
Otherwise, our waiter was both attentive and congenial, and indeed, our wine and food were plated beautifully and tasted great!!
This is about the fourth or fifth Cooper's Hawk restaurant that we have gone to, and I must say, the Wheeling location proved to be just fine!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great service and a fantastic selection of wines. A little disappointing that the sea food was not fresh but the pork chop on the surf & turf was cooked perfectly. They push the shrimp app, just ok where as the Brussels were killer. Over all a little pricy but a place for an up scale meal and some good wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Once again, food, wine and service were excellent. We especially appreciated the efforts of our waitress. We had a problem with our wine club card (a number worn off, wouldn't register). The lady took care of the problem with great efficiency.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My group of 4 showed up 45 minutes early for our reservation and checked-in. They said we would most likely be seated early and would text when the table was ready (so we headed over to grab some wine in the meantime). 50 minutes later, reservation time comes and goes and I approach wondering what happened, they quickly get us seated and our waiter immediately offers us comped beverages or appetizers. We picked two appetizers for the group to split and he insisted we get another. We did all order meals, but were so full from the apps that we took most of our food home. It was an amazing way to make it up to us that we were seated late. The food and drinks were fantastic as always and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a 6pm reservation.the girl at the dask said that will be an hour and a half wait. I said we are on time .what is the problem?She said people came in ahead of you and we seated them. What is the sense of a reservation? She ignorned me and walked away. A man came up and my daughter said are you management? We explained we are going to the Marriott Theater for a performance. He told one of the girls to seat us. He didnot say I am sorry or anything.He just walked away..Natasha our waitress was knowledgable and efficient and friendly The restaurant had many empty tables.. The food was average. I would not recommend this restaurant nor would I return. Natasha they do not deserve you.Go elsewhere to work Again you deserve better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Restaurant was great except the server was very pushy about the wine club. Also, he told us the credit card system / internet was down and said it would go through for the meal but requested a cash tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our dishes were not cleared after the appetizer and we had to ask to have them removed so that we could eat our meals. Drinks were refilled with fresh glasses, however old ones were left on the table. At one point I had three Diet Coke glasses because none of them were cleared when a new one was placed on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was very nice! Our food was delicious and the service was great. Our server spent a lot of time explaining the menu to us. We enjoyed the wine as well.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great sangria, great Caesar salad and great food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great food and location. The noise level is high when the restaurant is at capacity. Recommend if you want a quiet evening to make either a very early or very late reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was good, Cooper Hawk wine average, noise level extremely high. Went on a Thursday night at 7pm. and it was a surprise to see it so crowded. Several "Corporate" tables, all very loud. We sat in a booth which we requested and were glad we weren't at a table or it would have been unbearable. As it was, I could hardly hear my wife who sat right next to me. Friends recommended this restaurant to us and being first timers, we were excited to try this restaurant.
Doubt that we'll ever go back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.