About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8472151200x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
North Suburbs
Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

notable wine list (192)
special occasion (159)
good for groups (138)
See All
great for lunch (124)
fit for foodies (115)
romantic (71)
neighborhood gem (69)
hot spot (54)
great for outdoor dining (44)
vibrant bar scene (39)
great for brunch (23)
kid-friendly (22)
late-night find (16)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service is great! The only ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service is great! The only complaint is that the restaurant is so loud, it's very hard to have conversations with the people you are with.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The noise level where we were seated was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The noise level where we were seated was not just "Energetic" it was almost impossible to talk and be heard. Two large groups of very loud patrons.

The menu had food smeared over some pages- not exactly a turn on. The servers recommendation( one of the more expensive items on the menu) was not all that it was supposed to be, including asparagus where the bottom part was still hard and impossible to cut/eat

One meal arrived "lukewarm" and not appetizing.

Maybe this is a good place for wine but food was not appetizing at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Mouth-watering menu from appetizers to d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Mouth-watering menu from appetizers to dessert. The 5 of us shared "tastes" of many items & each one I wished for more. Wine flights fulfilled my desires for more. Great deals for wine club members this month.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They never honor the request I make in o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

They never honor the request I make in open table for a special occasion. I always need to remind the waiter who seems to have no idea about it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We love this restaurant but I always put ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love this restaurant but I always put in the special occasion, if there is one, and I need to tell the waiter again. Sometimes they still forget!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband and I love going to Cooper's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I love going to Cooper's Hawk for date night and special occasions. The food is always delicious and the service is attentive. The service was exceptional during our most recent visit. The restaurant was very busy, and rather noisy as a result, so I'm happy we made a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is good and moderately priced. How ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is good and moderately priced. However, noise level in the room we were in was unbearable. Wine list is limited to their own production bottled in Illinois. It's just o.k, with other options more appealing.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lucy was our server. Very friendly, pati ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Lucy was our server. Very friendly, patient and attentive. Food was delicious. Drinks good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as was the service. Noise ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was great as was the service. Noise level in parts of the restaurant was very high, making conversation almost impossible. Getting moved to a booth really helped.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food and knowledgeable service. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and knowledgeable service. The menu had some new items and they were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great experience at Coopers Hawk. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always great experience at Coopers Hawk. We like the Wheeling location as the noise level is good to carry on a conversation. Service excellent and food always great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

It was our anniversary and first night ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was our anniversary and first night out without kids for awhile. Our waitress let us take our time and enjoy it. She was great and the food was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent selection on the menu, from appet ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Decent selection on the menu, from appetizers to mains, and everything in between. Always consistent food and service, along with credible wine-making. Cooper's Hawk is always a safe bet. The stewards manning the wine-tastings are always exceptional.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we had been to this location before and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

we had been to this location before and service and food was much better. this time around our server was generally non-existent, then when we were leaving we didn't see him for a long time, so we left the bill with a manager and provided in-person feedback.

our food was OK - but my Wife had a gluten-free pasta meal that was subpar based on other similar dishes at other restaurants.

overall - we wouldn't go back. portions are shrinking and prices are staying relatively high.

sadly, this dinner was for my Mother's birthday...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I've been a patron of a few different Co ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I've been a patron of a few different Cooper's Hawk have always had great food and service. This must have been an "off night". Our server was very nice but not very attentive. My daughter has lactose issues and she ordered a entrée salad, minus the cheese. Her salad came with pieces of cheese because they were in the dressing! our waiter should have known this. My fathers flatbread pizza came to the table stone cold. So both my father and daughter sat there while the remainder of us ate our dinner. They did comp my dad's meal but it didn't change the level of disappointment we felt for a special birthday celebration, where we could have chosen from a huge spectrum of restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

First time. Sunday after Marriott matin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First time. Sunday after Marriott matinee. Nice feel. Extensive menu with lots of variety including small plates and lite plates. Server was great help at describing different plates and options. Good assistance on wine flights. Beet and whipped goat cheese salad was small in size, just right, and delicious. Braised shortribs melt in mouth. Salmon perfectly cooked. Will be back and tell others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here before and I was exci ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have dined here before and I was excited about dinner at Cooper's Hawk but I am sorry to say it was not as good as I remember from my last visit.

The menu choices seemed different from last September when I was there.

The appetizers were delicious and our server was great. My daughter ordered a hamburger that, when received, was cold to the touch and the condiment sauce had a film over it from sitting out too long. She returned the burger and received what we believed to be a new burger on a fresh bun, but instead the meat paddy that she had cut in half before returning was just reheated in the microwave and place on a new bun.

I have to admit I was really surprised to see that her meal was still on the check when we were ready leave.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Went to Cooopers Hawk for my grandson's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went to Cooopers Hawk for my grandson's 9th birthday. He loves this place because of the bread! Six of us had a wonderful dinner. I asked our server for chocolate covered strawberries for the birthday boy and she brought it with a candle. Love this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always the atmosphere is relaxing and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always the atmosphere is relaxing and food delicious! Our server Judy was professional, courteous, and most importantly prompt with our wine and food order. It was a special occasion that ended with the presentation of a celebratory dessert. Much appreciated!!!

Save me a table, I will definitely be back..... :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a first timer and enjoyed it thoro ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I was a first timer and enjoyed it thoroughly. Will go back. Cheers.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

we went there to celebrate our 32 annive ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

we went there to celebrate our 32 anniversary, and pickup our wine of the month.

Everyone was great. We even used our points for our dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come at least once a month every mont ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We come at least once a month every month to the Wheeling location as we are two bottle wine club members. We do our tasting then eat. Tonight's server is not fit for this environment and price point. I still tipped short of 20% out of courtesy but I did not want to even tip 10%. I left with a poor taste in my mouth and it was not Bc of the food.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Food and service was great. Had one memb ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service was great. Had one member of our family that has to be gluten free and they had a separate menu for her . The room is pretty loud which made it difficult for my elderly parents, but the meals they received made up for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter that night was tremendous

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The waiter that night was tremendous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and wine was great as always. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and wine was great as always.

The service was terrible though. The server took a very long time to acknowledge us and then delayed in serving us drinks,food,and the tab.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Had an another excellent dinner! We are ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had an another excellent dinner! We are wine club members and we love it! So we will go for a tasting first with dinner to follow!! Their gluten-free menu is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our daughter's nursing lic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's nursing licensure. Our waiter was very attentive and surprised her with ' celebrate ' plate. Food was outstanding. Love that we can use Open Table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great and it was second t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything was great and it was second time had dinner at Cooper's Hawk. Wine was great for its freshness and variety (you could taste various wines in one spot), food was excellent.

I ordered Churrasco Grilled Stake and it was absolute great. Tender and juicy, I was really happy until my server was a bit late to serve us. She must be tired at that time(around 8:30 PM) and she looked like middle of 50 or more so I completely understand she must be tired.

After I got that gorgeous stake, my wine glass was empty already. (It took about 20 minutes to serve food) I ordered it and it took about 10 minutes. Server didn't ask me more wine even I put the glass at the edge of table intentionally. I had ONLY 3 glasses of wine and not drunken at all.

Also, food served around after 20 minutes and I can understand because restaurant packed with people. However, serving was totally different compare to last visit (it was on Saturday evening). At that time, server asked us several times 'how is food, would you like to have more bread (this is really delicious) etc' and I felt she takes care our dining. This time it was totally different. We felt unattended (just one time she asked us how is food).

That doesn't mean it was the worst but my experience at Cooper's Hawk was 3 out of 5 stars overall.

One last thing I really wondering is that we had to wait when we there even I already booked. It was not that long waiting time, but wondering why they have online reservation system. (They put my name card when I sat on the table. lol)

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Dinner was superb. Ambiance was good - a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Dinner was superb. Ambiance was good - a tad on the loud side. Only complaint was we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and they did not serve complimentary truffles as they usually do.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and good value for business l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food and good value for business lunch, service was excellent

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been having a hard time getting a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been having a hard time getting a reservation at some like Burr ridge and Naperville and I am glad I got to go to Wheeling for a 6:00 Dinner. I guess Cooper's Hawk is getting quite popular which I suppose is a good thing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server was not the friendliest. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our server was not the friendliest. It was my husband's birthday and we belong to the wine club for the 2nd year and a free dessert should have been offered I later found out. My birthday was the month before and we dined there and I was not offered the free dessert either. Disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We arrived just a little early and recei ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We arrived just a little early and received free samples of wine. What a great greeting! Within minutes our table was ready (party of 6) and service began as soon as we were seated. The place was a little over half full when we arrived and was packed when we left. We had to shout to hear each other as the noise was deafening. Food arrived within a decent amount of time and was very good. Service personal were attentive although we had dry water glasses frequently and had to wait to get more. All in all, we were satisfied with the experience and would recommend Cooper's Hawk to others.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always love the atmosphere. Braised bee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always love the atmosphere. Braised beef risotto an all time favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here regularly and as always, the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We eat here regularly and as always, the food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thisvisitwasformywife'sbirthday. Everyth ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Thisvisitwasformywife'sbirthday. Everythingwas GREAT even though she arrived late.

Thanks to all the staff for making this a SPECIAL DAY for her... be back SOON.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, but it was reall ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was delicious, but it was really noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Last time I was at Cooper's Hawk I had a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Last time I was at Cooper's Hawk I had a bad experience. I came back again at their request and guess what another challenging and embarrassing meal. I once again ordered something that they were out of on a Tuesday night at 7:00PM. The service was poor, we couldn't find our server. To top off the night, the server took it upon herself to take off my birthday certificate from the bill without asking me first. How embarrassing when I didn't want to use it with this group of friends. I'm done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were a party of three. We ordered app ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We were a party of three. We ordered appetizers that arrived pretty fast. Our main courses took forever to come. Two dinners were filet medallions and and one dinner was grouper. First we were told the food would be right out. Then we were told the kitchen got very busy all at once. Then they said they were waiting for the grouper. When the food finally came out,the steaks were ice cold and the grouper was very hot. Our server took the steaks back and the manager came over to apologize and would wait for the new steaks to be cooked. When the manager brought the stocks out a second time, all the chef did was reheat the meals, which caused the steaks to be overdone. Finally we got our meals. The manager did comp the steaks and some desserts. All in all it was not a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I am very happy Coopershawk decided to b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I am very happy Coopershawk decided to bring back passion fruit wine!!! Thanks for listening to the customers. We LOVE that wine!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.