About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

583 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Milwaukee off of Lake Cook Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 215-1200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 215-1200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (80)
Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Good for Birthdays (57)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for Groups (52)
Casual (52)
Great for Lunch (42)
Fun (41)
Business Meals (41)
Romantic (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Happy Hour (21)
People Watching (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Private Room (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Healthy (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Seasonal (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Family Style (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Authentic (8)
Fireplace (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vegan (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 9 hours ago

Food was good but service was off. Ordered a salad and entree, our entree came right away. Asked about salad, and server said, "oh, they had these ready, do you still want them- I can bring them out." We said yes, but we were finished eating half of the entree before they came. Never asked if we wanted bread, tried to bring us check after we said we did not want dessert- but we did want another cocktail and coffee. The service was off, not the best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The Pork Belly appetizer was delicious. Hummus appetizer was very good, but as a Mediterranean dish it was missing the usual olives.

My steak was cooked perfectly, my wife's fish of the day was just good. Roasted veggies were terrific.

WARNING: they were sampling a red and a white wine to people waiting to be seated. Both were very good, but when we tried to order a bottle with dinner we were told we could not as we were not members of the wine club. IMO, this is a poor business practice as nothing was said prior to as trying to order it. So yes, they got a better profit by selling us 2 glasses, but we are unlikely to return or recommend Cooper's Hawk because of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband was sick. When my daughter checked in she explained and gave her phone number for a text when table was ready. Somehow you marked our reservation as no show which is not correct. Please correct our account. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We were treated great from the moment we walked in the door. We wondered over in the wine sections and were greeted with a server who offered us wine samplings. She asked what kijd of wines we liked and steered us to the right ones. Very friendly crowd in that area. Our server was very knowable of the food being served. The food was delious. And we plan to go bacj

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for lunch. Best tortilla soup around! Their entree salads are delicious, however, wish you could get a 1/2 order for lunch so I could have a bowl of soup and 1/2 an entree salad. Great atmosphere, though, can be loud at dinner time. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Shayna was the best waitress ever. Made the visit special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Justin Rydzinski is an amazing manager. He made our experience very enjoyable and welcoming. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Went here for my birthday. I brought the kids with. Our server was very bland, didn't have a personality and didn't have a good knowledge of the menu. He was no help when trying to order. I had the chicken meidera. It was excellent! Big portion. Appetizer was wonderful/ we had the Mexican egg rolls. Overall, great food but the place was sooo loud. It was hard to talk or hear anything .

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Got a tablet w/ more room but too close to the kitchen and breaking dishware

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Nice wines, reasonably priced. Busy night yet good service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time at Cooper's Hawk. Great wine selection and great food. Service was wonderful. The restaurant is beautiful inside as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Despite everyone enjoying their dinner, we left very disappointed. Early on, I asked the waiter to bring a birthday dessert for my son-in-law so no one ordered any dessert. He completely forgot about it and brought the bill. I got his attention and he realized he forgot. He came to the table with two chocolate covered strawberries and a candle on a plate! No cake. Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Brian, our server, was very good. He held onto the birthday cake friends brought until we were ready to have it. Good food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband and I always enjoy dining at Coopershawk. Their food is always excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The four of us went to celebrate my 60th birthday. When we arrived, we were greeted with a sample of a really nice choice of a white or a red wine. I thought that was a nice touch, given that we had to wait just a tad while our table was being made ready. I thought the food was delicious. I had the surf and turf special, which was a 4 oz lobster tail and two steak medallions, both with a parmesan crust. It was just the right portion for me. My husband and I also shared a wedge salad, which was quite really good. The vegetables served were delicious. My only complaint is that our waiter was going to bring a complimentary birthday desert and he didn't follow-up.

Our dining companions had the chicken Piccata which they said was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was excellent.. food was salty .. noise level was extremely high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had a 7pm reservation but we still had about a 15 min wait till our table was ready. I enjoyed my food very much. I was surprised that we didnt get salad or bread for the money spent. The eggroll appetizer was excellent. And i highly recommend getting a "specialty crust" on your steak. We did leave with a snickers cheesecake pop from their dessert case and a bottle of Cabernet. The waitress was patient and explained all the menu codes. I found the wine decanters very cool. Overall, it was very good and the service was fantastic. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

between the monthly wine tasting and generous menu, the Wheeling location is awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love this place. During this visit we had 2 waiters as 1 was a trainee and you could not tell. They both did a wonderful job. Very tentative and knowledgeable. Our food was good. We were accommodated very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Upon arriving for our first time at Coppers Hawk we were greeted with a wine sampling which soon had my husband signing up to be a member of the wine club. I enjoyed the Blue Cheese burger and it did not disappoint. My husband had the Maple Porkchops and loved them. I enjoyed the atmosphere and we look forward to coming back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday with a chef's special of filet medallions with horseradish and parmesan crust served with parmesan crusted lobster. It was one of the best meals ever. Paired with one of their wines, the flavors lingered.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was acceptable. Noisy atmosphere. Crowded seating

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not as nice or clean as Arlington Heights. None of the management stopped to see how everything was. Bathroom messy and out of paper towels. Notified front desk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We waited 30 minutes past our reservations to be seated!!! We weren't the only ones. The host was very rude and didn't have a clue. My husband's steak was burned. The food was oily and lacked seasoning. The only things great were the sangria & pie. My kids hated their meals. We won't be back to this location EVER!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I usually have a great time at Cooper's Hawk however this experience was far from nice. The main issue was that my steak was not cooked the way I asked and while after sending it back it was corrected, I was extremely sick when I got home. I will not be returning to that location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had not been to Cooper's Hawk for several years. Glad we tried them again! The staff was professional and the food was amazing! I ordered the salmon (perfectly cooked, a bit crispy ) and it came with Wasabi buttered mashed potatoes and asian slaw which was out of this world! My husband had an excellent skirt steak. The bread was delivered warm and tasted like a large round pretzel roll. Wine was top notch also. Will definitely return soon.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our favorite spot for special occasions.

Even our young adult children will usually request to go here fortheir birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and setting were both great. Love this place. It was a little pricey, but that won't stop us from coming here. Wine is great too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I enjoyed the service at Cooper's Hawk Winery, the service is great, the food ...fantastic..I'll be making my way again very soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food and service as always. We were able to get a seat without waiting long.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent selection of wines as this is their specialty. Steaks well seasoned and cooked as desired. Side dishes were well seasoned and tasty. Service was good but needed to make second requests to correct drink order and additional items at table. Restaurant was about 25% full when we arrived during early evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our waitstaff Michele was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dining at Cooper's Hawk was a fabulous experience. Food was tasty and elegantly plated. Wine list is considerable and you can choose a selection of any 4 different wines for a flight. Our waitress was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sloughed we one here often, it was a birthday celebration. Everyone left very satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place with a wide menu for all to choose from. Wine tasting is fun. Wine club membership a big plus. Good service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Surprising great for a restaurant chain. I would dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I went to celebrate birthday. The waitress was aware it was my birthday and didn't bring me a special dessert to celebrate. Very disappointed! The salad were delicious. I am a wine club member.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our waitress Michele was charming and accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Normally, love this place. We are wine club members and come here often. But on this night the service was unacceptable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food great wine. Friendly knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful food, wine and service as always. We love Cooper's Hawk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome atmosphere

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great service, good food and great selection of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always good service, a great meal and a perfect spot to bring people whether it's family, friends or for business.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Coopers Hawk is a great place to finish off your day, their wines are amazing and I have never been dissapointed by the quality of their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Lovely service by Jeff. Very attentive to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Made reservations showed up 10 min early and was seated after 5 min wait. Also had flowers delivered the staff made sure they were on the table waiting for us. Excellent food and wine. Will go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.