About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa

4110 West Boy Scout Road
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across the street from International Plaza on Boy Scout Blvd. (Route 616)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Public Lot. Valet available during peak hours.

Public Transit:
Bus stop located on Jim Walter & Boy Scout Blvd. #15 Bus East to Netpark, stop #7690.

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8138739463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa
Pretzel Bread
Sparkling Peach Wine
Caprese Flatbread
Carne Asada Flatbread
Anne's Chicken Saltimbocca
Gnocchi Carbonara
Crab And Lobster Bisque
Chicken potstickers
Betty's Potatoes
Soy Glazed Salmon
Dirty Martini
Peartini
Speaking Peach
Slaw
Mediterranean Plate
Malbec
Champagne Cocktail
Red Sangria
Crab Cakes Bites
Gnocci Carbonara
soup and salad combo
Blackened Bleu Skirt Steak Salad
Wedge Salad
Sauvignon Blanc
Ceasar Pesto Salad
Pina Colada Truffle
Lux Cabernet Sauvignon
Chicken Saltimboca
Meatballs With Fresh Ricotta And Tomato
Pinot Gris
Stuffed Mushrooms
Stuffed Mushrooms, Close-up!
Gnocchi With Roasted Butternut Squash
Banofee Pie
Crumbled Apple Pie
Calamari
BANANA CARAMEL ICE CREAM SANDWICH
Filet Mignon
Pork Belly Nachos
Lettuce wraps
Pistachio Crusted Grouper With Mary's Potatoes & Asparagus
Chicken Madeira
Bleu Cheese And Crispy Onion Burger
Unoaked Chardonnay
Chicken Chorizo And Roasted Red Pepper Flatbread
Mediterranean Salad
Banana Bread Ice Cream Sandwich
Jambalaya
Pepperjack Cheese With Jalapeno Bacon Burger
Flatbread And Salad Combo
Asian Pork Belly Tostadas
Country Rigatoni
Thai Lettuce Wraps
Spanish Seafood Cannelloni
Angel Hair Neopolitano
Sangiovese
Cilantro Ranch Chicken And Avocado Sandwich
Cheesecake With Fresh Strawberries
OVER THE BORDER EGG ROLLS
Barrel Reserve
Zin Burger
Mexican Drunken Shrimp
Wine
Wine Tasting
Tuna Tacos
Soup And Sandwich Combo
wine bar
Eggplant Ravioli
Appetizers
Pork medallions
Short Rib Risotto
Wine Flight
Blue Cheese And Bacon Burger
Wedge Sa
Cooper's Hawk Farm Grill
Caesar Pesto Chopped Salad
Mini Crab Cakes
Cooper's Hawk Cabernet Sauvignon
Red Wine Braised Short Ribs
Chocolate Cake
Key Lime Pie
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
House Salad And Wine Flight
Flatiron Steak And Fries
Birthday Treat
Trio
House Salad
Grouper

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Most Booked
Tampa / Central Florida West
3 More
Best Value
Tampa
Contemporary American
Tampa
Most Booked
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

notable wine list (277)
special occasion (247)
good for groups (214)
See All
fit for foodies (178)
great for lunch (151)
romantic (123)
vibrant bar scene (120)
hot spot (118)
great for outdoor dining (94)
neighborhood gem (60)
late-night find (41)
great for brunch (40)
kid-friendly (32)
scenic view (20)
Sort By:
Newest
1508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience for a late birthday din ...

Dined 2 days ago

Great experience for a late birthday dinner

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We did wine tasting prior to dinner whic ...

Dined 4 days ago

We did wine tasting prior to dinner which was great fun! Lettuce wraps were excellent & enough for 4 as an appetizer - calamari was also tasty. Entrees were served hot & everyone enjoyed the food, wine & ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a wine club member and love coming ...

Dined 4 days ago

I am a wine club member and love coming to Coopers Hawk. I am from Chicago so now having this right here in Tampa is amazing! They changed the menu around so there is much more of a selection but still keeping some of the great dishes I remember from up north. Would be even better to have you come to Sarasota!! I will be coming back in the near future. Happy Wine Club Member

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were rather disappointed with the cal ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were rather disappointed with the calamari I must say. The tempura batter on the calamari didn't work. Loved the sauces but the breeding overtook the squid. Couldn't taste it all, despite the fact was it was so tender.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit and I was very i ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was my first visit and I was very impressed. The lighting was kind of dark in the dining room but other than that... the wait staff was fantastic, personable, and very knowledgeable. Food was great and I even signed up for the Wine Club for my parents. Great experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend dining with me has food allerg ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

My friend dining with me has food allergies, and the server was very accommodating - he worked with the chef to prepare something off the menu that was within her restrictions. It's a lovely place for lunch, and I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Overall, the food and atmosphere are gre ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall, the food and atmosphere are great! However, we had a waiter that NONE of us liked! We ALL thought he had an "air" about him! He acted too impressed with himself. Plus he was at our table ALOT, rushing us on my daughter's 30th birthday! But yet never cleared our plates, nor brought me the wine glass (to share our bottle) for me! etc after each course!?! There are tons of restaurants in the area and for her to pick this one and then get that kind of service on such a special occasion was lousy. I also called ahead and asked about birthdays, but was never told you had to pay for the strawberries! That is cheap. I spent over $300 and you'd think we could get a free strawberry plate with 3 little berries?! Unless things change, there are lots of other places that would be better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and atmosphere. the wine we t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

great food and atmosphere. the wine we tasted needed to be aged a bit more but overall great place

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was Father's Day, so the restauran ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was Father's Day, so the restaurant was understandably busy. We found the drunken shrimp slightly overcooked and our medium rare filet cooked to medium almost medium well. The risotto however is always a winner. And the desserts are a must. S'mores budino and sea salt caramel creme brulee...so good. Add in great wine and we can overlook the overcooked food for today .

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I called at 7:30am on the 19th to change ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I called at 7:30am on the 19th to change my 6pm reservation from 5 people to 6. The person answering advised it would be problematic because they were so busy. I thought, and actually asked him, aren't most tables suited for even numbers (thinking 1 additional from 5-6 was a no brainer). He insisted it was a problem, so I offered to come at a time more convenient for them and ended up with a 4:15pm reservation. We got there and had great food, other than the waiter not offering us our complimentary wine samples - ONE OF THE MAIN REASON I BOOKED THERE - even though we asked. As a result of his oversight, I ordered more wine to make sure everyone had a sampling. He (Jay was his name) advised there was nothing free available. Hmmmm. That's what Cooper's Hawk is famous for! As a result, he did not get a good tip. Finally, before we left we noted that at 6:00pm there were several empty tables that could have seated us at the time we originally requested. I'm very disappointed with the service as a result, and hope they improve before my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as usual, an excellent meal with great s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

as usual, an excellent meal with great service. Frederico was awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk winery has slowly but sure ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Cooper's Hawk winery has slowly but surely become my favorite place to un-wine-d and eat. They have THE best wine and THE best food. The service is always phenomenal and I always leave with a smile on my face. Make sure you get Travis for the wine tasting and Ashley S. for dining, they are great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Cooper's Hawk. T ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a great time at Cooper's Hawk. The place was buzzing and the atmosphere was great. Our table was ready on time and the meal was outstanding. The suggested wine pairing was very appreciated. In addition, the entire night from cocktails to after dinner drinks was a fantastic value and a great evening. I look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The wait staff was friendly and helpful. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The wait staff was friendly and helpful. The food was very good. All four of us enjoyed our dishes. Good choice of wines. Noise level is high on weekend evenings. We had to shout to carry-on conversations at our table.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoy their wine club offers, can't beat ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoy their wine club offers, can't beat it! My wife and I love it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu had great variety, food was fantast ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Menu had great variety, food was fantastic, every person we interacted with had good knowledge and was very attentive. Service was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 2nd time and just as good as ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was my 2nd time and just as good as the 1st. My sister and I joined the wine club. And, I bought a great decanter as a gift for a client!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chose Cooper's Hawk for a birthday celeb ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Chose Cooper's Hawk for a birthday celebration and it was great! 5 ladies having a long lunch and catching up. Our server was wonderful and the food amazing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This was the second time dining at Coope ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This was the second time dining at Cooper's Hawk. Our first time we had a great experience and liked the food and the wine. This time we decided to go there and celebrate our son 21st birthday by having a wine tasting session first then our dinner. Our food was disappointing. My wife's grilled stake was burnt and rubbery as well as my own stake. Our sons didn't complain about their food but they didn't say they liked it either. That is unusual since they are very expressive about the food they like. We ordered 3 appetizers and we enjoyed them but felt that the appetizers lacked creativity and variety since all three of them had the same type of coleslaw for garnish or in the case of the bruschetta it was used as a topping. The service was good as well as the atmosphere. At this point, since we have been there only twice, we feel it is a hit or mix with the food.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Chefs special was great

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Chefs special was great

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good not great. Steak over co ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was good not great. Steak over cooked. Service was excellent, ambience was nice. At 70 a person would have expected a little more

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was good but not as exceptional a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Dinner was good but not as exceptional as I have had during lunch visits in the past. They did not have my open table reservation but they were able to seat us anyway. Fortunately, they weren't full.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food! Our server, Tom was am ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Delicious food! Our server, Tom was amazing!!!! His recommendation for wine and desserts was spot on. Wonderful experience, will be back in August.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were seatedin a roomwith a large grou ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were seatedin a roomwith a large group andmade it impossible to talk There were other tables available

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Tampa Surprise

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Went to CH to celebrate a family birthday, with four adults and three toddlers. They smartly tucked us in a corner so that we could manage any issues with the children. There was another large party with children in the same area, and it wasn't an issue. Our server was prompt with bread, opening wine, and all of our orders. Corkage fee of $8 was a nice surprise, and next time we will try some of the CH wines.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time As always!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great time As always!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service, friendly host and waiter w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Good service, friendly host and waiter who gave a good description of the specials and answered all questions on the food choices. We enjoy your restaurant for a couples night out. It is not intimate dining, but the atmosphere is pleasant.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a perfect restaurant...the food and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

What a perfect restaurant...the food and wine were excellent for our group of 8!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sign up for the "wine membership" if you ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Sign up for the "wine membership" if you like wine , so worth it. Also do the wine tasting - super cute date night idea

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service by our waiter was particular ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The service by our waiter was particularly outstanding and the flight of wine we ordered with our meal was excellent. We plan to return again soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great server and one of a kind table.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Enjoyed the help from the server answering the questions about the food and what he would like for the wine.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall great with some thoughts to bev alcohol

Dined on June 5, 2016

Joined my sister for lunch and enjoyed every aspect of our lunch. I was confused as to why a Ketel 1 bloody mary was more expensive than a Titos bloody mary ($9.50 vs %8.50. I also thought the addition of the house brewed beer to the bloody mary as a side car was overkill and not viewed as an incremental value. Drop the price of the bloody mary and let the garnish and the great flavor stand alone. BTW, Patrick our bartender was great Just sayin...

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the experience here is quite goo ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Overall the experience here is quite good. Above average food, very good service and needless to say a wine selection second to none. Once you are seated the noise level drop quite a bit, when you are waiting for a table or you are doing a wine tasting the crowds and noise can be quite overwhelming. We have dined here several times in the past and we will continue to do so in the future. Side note the parking here is a real challenge so be have patience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's an amazing place. Overall wonderful.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, great drinks, reasonable prices. This place is one of our favorites and I frequently dine here. I love the Trio of Medallions (29.99), but when I'm feeling a bit more frugal the soup and salad combo for $10.99 is well worth it! The goat cheese and roasted vegetable flatbread is quite tasty -- only $7 on the happy hour menu or approx $9 regular price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Don't take away the favorites!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was good but we were highly disappointed that they no longer carry a couple favorite items - the Pretzel Bread Pudding and the Cheese Plate.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Only two issues which are minor.

Dined on June 3, 2016

1. Made a reservation, get there right on time, place still 75% empty and where do they seat us??? All the way in the back facing a wall. 2. Ordered second drink after meal was served and when almost done with meal waiter said sorry for delay getting the drink. I said I don't want it now we are almost done with meal and need to leave for a show. Like I said minor issues but still an irritant. Food was awesome and reasonable price!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent !

Dined on June 2, 2016

Always excellent !

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Ambiance better than the food

Dined on June 1, 2016

Lobby bar with wine tasting is very impressive. Restaurant and service were satisfactory. Very generous wine tasting samples allows diners to try different wines before ordering a glass or bottle at dinner. Lighting was so low that I had to use a small flashlight in order to read the menu. The food was only average. Salmon was pretty tasteless. Grouper overdone. Would return for a wine-tasting and lunch next time to give kitchen another try. Very unique restaurant/winery for the Tampa area so it's worth a visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

I'm Vegetarian and my wife's not, CH has ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

I'm Vegetarian and my wife's not, CH has several options for me which is a huge bonus! This was our second visit and I had the caprese flatbread, she had the tuna tacos and we got a slice of chocolate cake to go. My flatbread was delicious! Usually my tastebuds aren't thrilled with bitter balsamic vinegar but it was absolutely amazing on this! My wife raved about her tacos. The slice of cake was small but tasted wonderful! It was too early for us to enjoy wine with our meal though I had the gewurz last time and it's divine. Our server, Christopher, was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hooked on Cooper's Hawk

Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been wine club members since before the restaurant opened, having joined in Indianapolis. We love the wine, the food, and the vibe of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.