About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa

4110 West Boy Scout Road
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across the street from International Plaza on Boy Scout Blvd. (Route 616)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Public Lot. Valet available during peak hours.

Public Transit:
Bus stop located on Jim Walter & Boy Scout Blvd. #15 Bus East to Netpark, stop #7690.

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (813) 873-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (127)
Notable Wine List (116)
Special Occasion (114)
See All
Good for Birthdays (99)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Good for Groups (79)
Worth the Drive (78)
Romantic (67)
Fun (63)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Casual (60)
Business Meals (60)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Great for Lunch (55)
Happy Hour (54)
Modern Decor (53)
Hot Spot (52)
Tasting Menu (51)
Comfort Food (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Outstanding Value (41)
Cozy (39)
Bar Seating (38)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Healthy (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Authentic (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
People Watching (24)
Seasonal (20)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Late-night Find (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Scenic View (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Private Room (12)
Family Style (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Tapas (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Waterfront (7)
Spicy (5)
Fireplace (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (3)
Live Music (3)
Vegan (2)
Dancing (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service as usual! The food was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service as usual! The food was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We could not get a 7PM reservation but b ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

We could not get a 7PM reservation but both areas near us had open tables at 7 and later when we left. The wine contraption was interesting and our appetizer was really good. Asian pork bellies on tostadas. Excellent. I ordered the surf and turf which for me was a pork chop and shrimp which were called something horrible-Drunken Mexican Shrimp (DMS). The chop was tasty but a very small portion. But it got worse. The DMS were three small, unpeeled shrimp. They call that surf? Gulf surf I guess. Not to make waves, our waiter was proper enough to cancel my order but that left my beautiful wife dining alone until my new order arrived: a bigger boneless chop- hold the surf. They did rush my order, and on a good note, the wine prices were very reasonable and

many come to Cooperhawk just for the wine tastings which are in the front room which simply buzzes with sippers.

Cooperhawk completed our anniversary meal with complimentary champagne and a small desert which was cool.

I just could not get past selling tres amigos as fine dining.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice dinner outing with a friend. Great ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice dinner outing with a friend. Great food and wine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night with my wife

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Date Night with my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took my niece and her two college roomma ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Took my niece and her two college roommates for dinner. They loved it as did I. Was very loud when we first walked in but the noise level decreased significantly and appropriately to allow good dinner conversation. The noise was fine if we were staying in the bar area. Everyone loved the appetizers, entrees and desserts. The Blanc de Blanc sparkling wine was perfect to celebrate their college achievements! Great service - timely, friendly, knowledgeable.

Great place for a nice dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner experience - a bit nois ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice dinner experience - a bit noisy to have a conversation with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One in party ordered Asian chicken salad ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

One in party ordered Asian chicken salad special. It was too spicy for her., but our server very graciously took it away and replaced it with another choice. Great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect except the noise ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect except the noise level. We were almost shouting at each other by the end of dinner. No chance of quiet conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was awsome and our waiter was g ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was awsome and our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was meeting a friend for lunch & chose ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

I was meeting a friend for lunch & chose Cooper's Hawk because of the variety of their menu. My friend is an extremely picky eater (and I'm sad to say sent her food back - but the restaurant worked diligently to make things right). The service is very good and I'd recommend Cooper's Hawk if you're dining with a group. There's something for everyone on their menu.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Wildly disappointing. After waiting mor ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Wildly disappointing. After waiting more than 30 minutes for our table, we had to wait almost another 10 minutes for the server to come get our drink order. Once we finally got our drinks, we never once got a refill or an offer for a refill. I initially ordered water and then asked for a glass of wine with dinner that I never got. When the server first came to our table I almost asked her if everything was okay, because she seemed so depressed but then it changed to a not really caring that she was there attitude. We ordered dinner and my friend who I was dining with ordered the crab & lobster bisque as an appetizer. The bisque was tasty, but nothing special. He had taken maybe three bites of the bisque when our dinner arrived. He ordered the blackened Ahi tuna that was served with rice and Asian slaw. He was only able to eat the tuna and would have been better off just getting the appetizer since the sides were a mixed-up mess. I ordered the churrasco grilled steak prepared medium. It had a decent flavor even though it came out extra well done and was super charred around the edges. The Parmesan fries served with the steak should have been an embarrassment to whomever prepared them, nothing about them seemed fresh. They were cold and flavorless. I was finally able to get the server back and get some ketchup to help, but it didn’t really make much of a difference. Never once did a manager come by to check on the table and as we were leaving nobody from the hostess stand asked how dinner was. In a nutshell, the food was barely okay and the service was just plain awful. Maybe they were having an off night, but there are too many good restaurants around to even consider going back to Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant – Tampa again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We go every Wednesday for a girls night ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We go every Wednesday for a girls night ...the last month the service has really dropped. Our food never comes out together, someone doesn't get the right order or an order gets lost. Nobody ever says sorry and even with a reservation we still wait 30 mins for a table .

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and service has always been con ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service has always been consistent when we dine. Even this time when a server was training, the staff was still attentive and the server in training did a very good job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First timer. Very nice. Great waiter wh ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

First timer. Very nice. Great waiter who was patient with person training.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chain out of. Chicago very well done. W ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Chain out of. Chicago very well done. Winery with over 50 of their wines all well priced. Wine tastings every day. Extensive menu priced in the $25-30 range. Enjoyable dining, open kitchen a little noisy but not terrible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place and loved the food and servi ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place and loved the food and service.

The ambiance is great and location was great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Date night with the wife. Cooper's Hawk ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Date night with the wife. Cooper's Hawk wine was amazing as usual. The food was only good this time and not great. Skirt steak was soaked in sauce yet still delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for lunch on Sunday. Food and Servi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went for lunch on Sunday. Food and Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as usual, so it's fun to go an ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent as usual, so it's fun to go and enjoy the wine tasting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for the first time for my birthday ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went for the first time for my birthday with my husband and 2 friends. The waitress was almost non existent, the meals were wrong but we ate them anyway, all the seafood was overcooked, and the chocolate cake I ordered was terrible. Once the bill finally came, the waitress didn't bother to ask why most of the food or cake wasn't eaten or if anything was wrong. We paid and left to go somewhere else to have drinks. I feel after having to pay 250 bucks between all of us we should have had a better experience overall. Very disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Loved the value of the wine tastings and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved the value of the wine tastings and great place or food afterwards to be paired with wine. Any wine lover or even wine beginners should check this place out. They have a wine program as well which I was tempted to join because the wine tastings would be even cheaper but we will see. note is gets busy on weekends but worth it

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A disappointing experience at best. The ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A disappointing experience at best. The food is uninventive, greasy and seems to be pre-prepared. The ambience is the only redeeming feature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Mostly good. Our waiter seemed either n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Mostly good. Our waiter seemed either new or distracted.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Cooper's Hawk is one of our "go-to" rest ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is one of our "go-to" restaurants. We always order the same dishes, quality is ALWAYS the great. Service was not quite as good as usual. Our server was training someone new and, perhaps, was distracted but we finally had to catch the eye of a different server to have our water refilled. No biggie - its a GREAT place with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my first choice when going out w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is my first choice when going out with friends, family or colleagues. The location is prime, the food is great and the wine selection is top notch. I've been to Cooper's Hawk for lunch and dinner and have been seated in booths, tables & outdoor patio tables. I'm a club member so wine is usually on the menu and I've never been disappointed with the food, wine or ambience regardless of my seating location. I've been with groups varying from 10 to going in alone, just because. Having said all this, one may note that I've not mentioned one of the most important aspects of dining out. Service. The first time we went, we had a young lady that excelled, made suggestions, constantly surveyed our table from afar to keep a distance while ensuring we had everything we needed. This is the hook that brought me back specifically to join the wine club, having reviewed the offer online as she suggested. Since then I have had other servers that went above and I've also had experiences that made me question whether I might return at all. I will note that the times I sat in the bar were more often positive experiences so it is table service that varied. On our last visit we took a few friends who'd never been. The food was great as always, the wine was wonderful and the company was superb, although I get to take credit for the quality of friends I have! The service started off mediocre and worsened throughout the evening. At the end of the evening our server could tell I was unimpressed and offered several excuses for his poor service, blaming other staff for requesting that he assist with their tables and side work. But ultimately that falls on the server to care for his table despite other duties. I've been there myself. Aware this is the main source of income for most servers, I tip well, and this was no exception, but I found myself apologizing to my guests for the poor service at the end of the evening. I'll return; the food is that good, but I'll ask for a different server

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, , Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great Food! Great Prices! Just a great p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great Food! Great Prices! Just a great place ...... The menu has a large selection and the portions were very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! This was a return to up fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing food! This was a return to up for us. Ate here 4 years ago, and it was delicious. This time did not disappoint. So many yummy choices we didn't make it off the appetizer pages. We selected appetizers, and the wait staff made sure they were spaced so we could enjoy each one. Staff was friendly and helpful. Didn't hover but was there when we needed him. Highly recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, , Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time was just as good as all the ot ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This time was just as good as all the others. Food is always excellent, service was good, and the prices are very fair for the quality/quantity of the food. Keep it up Cooper's Hawk.

Tags: Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

So glad we found this gem in Tampa! A ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

So glad we found this gem in Tampa!

Accessibility:

It is very close to the airport and Raymond James stadium. We got a reservation online but I think we would have been okay without one since it was a Monday. There is lot parking but free valet as well.

Wine tasting:

This was definitely the highlight of the evening! We went early to do the wine tasting (8 rather large samples for $7, plus upcharge for higher-end lux). You could choose between a variety of wines, sweet or lux. This is very interesting and I liked several of the wines. The whole process took 25-30 minutes.

Dinner:

Good variety so there's something for everyone! Prices vary from $14.99 to $30+ per entree. My husband had a very good burger and I had the flatbread/salad combo. We also had the lettuce wrap appetizer which was fresh and pretty big.

Overall, great wine tasting and dinner!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The foods took too long to come. My fri ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The foods took too long to come. My friends were a little disappointed at first, but the foods very good made it up for the wait time.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and another couple had dinner ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and another couple had dinner, wine and desert which was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great! This is one of my ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was great! This is one of my favorite restaurants and I will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great and our party reall ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was great and our party really enjoyed our time at Cooper's Hawk. The wine was a highlight! The only downside is that I attempted to contact the restaurant in advance for vegan options for my husband and myself, but never received a response. When we got there, we had to ask the waiter to go back and forth between the chef and our table many times in order to figure out what would work for us. Our waiter was very kind about it, but it would have been nice to not have to spend so much time figuring out what we could eat ( and the options were very limited).

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you're in a place and everybody smi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When you're in a place and everybody smiling and laughing and carrying on conversations and enjoying their self makes for a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent dinner & will defini ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had an excellent dinner & will definitely return! They let us sample several types of wine and the food was incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cooper's Hawk does not disappoint...brou ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cooper's Hawk does not disappoint...brought our son and his girlfriend for dinner..loved the wine and the food...noise level was a little high, but other than that, we had a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Their wines are terrible

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Their wines are terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived right at reserved time and di ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We arrived right at reserved time and did not wait to be seated. Food was excellent as was the wine we chose.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk quickly became a favorite ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Cooper's Hawk quickly became a favorite restaurant for me. It's a very popular place, with outstanding wines and delicious food, including several types of gnocchi. On this visit, I brought a friend who was visiting from PA, and we were not disappointed. Service was gracious and attentive; food was served while it was still piping hot (short rib risotto for me, which was fantastic). The noise level is rather loud, but we were able to carry on a long conversation without having to shout. I'm already looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation following Outback Bowl on ti ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Reservation following Outback Bowl on time, food great, service very good as well. Would have liked to know more about the "wine event" taking place from waiter. Will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.