About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa

4110 West Boy Scout Road
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across the street from International Plaza on Boy Scout Blvd. (Route 616)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Public Lot. Valet available during peak hours.

Public Transit:
Bus stop located on Jim Walter & Boy Scout Blvd. #15 Bus East to Netpark, stop #7690.

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8138739463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tampa / Central Florida West
Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
6 More
Most Booked
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Tampa
Best Value
Tampa
Notable Wine List
Tampa
Contemporary American
Tampa
Most Booked
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

notable wine list (315)
special occasion (273)
good for groups (237)
See All
fit for foodies (200)
romantic (169)
great for lunch (159)
hot spot (142)
vibrant bar scene (139)
great for outdoor dining (98)
neighborhood gem (63)
great for brunch (44)
late-night find (43)
kid-friendly (30)
scenic view (26)
Sort By:
Newest
1458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined 3 days ago

Our first visit didn't disappoint. Friends had told us about Cooper's Hawk so we elected to try it for the first time to celebrate our daughter's 22nd birthday. Our waitress was wonderful!! Very attentive, efficient and talkative. We enjoyed tasting a few wines before deciding what we wanted to drink. Our food was delicious and plentiful. We look forward to returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious! We aren't big w ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious! We aren't big wine drinkers so the wine options were a bit overwhelming.. but we were very happy dining there even without drinking wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server made our evening! The food w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our server made our evening! The food was mostly well prepared. My mash potatoes were pasty and lukewarm. Its a bit noisy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my night. The waitress was goo ...

Dined 7 days ago

I enjoyed my night. The waitress was good. The food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful. Appetizers were very ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was wonderful. Appetizers were very large portions which meant we were able to split main courses. Great selection of wines. Enough variety for everyone in our large party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Plenty of tasty beverages to choose from ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Plenty of tasty beverages to choose from and to pair with stone of the most delectable foods.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Food - Enjoyed the wine tasting

Dined on May 19, 2016

We enjoyed the pretzel bread, shrimp appetizer, Jambalaya & Short Rib Risotto. Server tended to oversell on menu so we did not find most of his recommendations helpful...once we read the menu, there were more common sense options, especially in the area of dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious.

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the meal . Setting and service ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Enjoyed the meal . Setting and service made our meeting with out of town friends a good experience. Staff was attentive but not obtrusive. Food was good--good amount of options. Beverages were enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, lively wine tasting ba ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, lively wine tasting bar. Great menu and food quality. Attentive service. Consistent. Our favorite Tampa restaurant .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here before, and it is always ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We've been here before, and it is always worth a return trip. Menu and food are outstanding, and the wine is exceptional. Nice waiting area, with wine tasting samples. Great place for a memorable meal with someone special.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Cooper's Hawk numerous ti ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to Cooper's Hawk numerous times and have loved every meal. I wish I could recommend just one fantastic item, but they are all so good! I do highly recommend the Lux Cab - Order the bottle and they will pour it through the decanter at your table. It's a great experience. Meals I've tried: Shrimp and polenta (similar to shrimp and grits - yum!) Spaghetti and meatballs Churasco steak Braised short ribs and risotto

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, good food,good wine

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service, good food,good wine

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience! Food was excellent, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing experience! Food was excellent, the waiter (Lou) took his time finding us a wine we would enjoy, we requested he pour the bottle in the decanter and we did not get charged extra for it. We had all three courses and every last bit was worth it. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Terrible experience. The food was wonder ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Terrible experience. The food was wonderful, but the service, or lack thereof, ruined it. The four of us will not return again, solely because of the poor service - we were largely ignored.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very energetic place! Don't go there if ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Very energetic place! Don't go there if you want to have a conversation with your dining partner as the noise level was very high...then again it was a Saturday night! That being said..the wine, food and service was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and wine

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was fantastic, he knew the menu, his recommendation were excellent. Thank you We even joined the wine club, thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on May 14, 2016

the wine tasting was wonderful. we joined immediately. the bartenders are very friendly and helpful. the food is outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

If you like wine, you'll love this place. Excellent food, friendly staff.... you won't be disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

BBQ Pork Chop entree was amazing. Tender ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

BBQ Pork Chop entree was amazing. Tender, flavorful and huge. Braised kale is the best we've had. Great service too.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was good especially the pork be ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was good especially the pork belly tostadas. The service left a lot to be desired of.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoyed the variety of food styles - v ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I enjoyed the variety of food styles - very "healthy" plus other rich "comfort food" tasty treats. The servers were friendly and engaging, and the room comfortable. I would return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall Wonderful

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food, service, and wine was all amazing. After dinner, we did a wine tasting and ordered a couple small truffles and cheesecake pop for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Dinner Experience

Dined on May 11, 2016

We dined at Cooper's Hawk in Tampa on a Wednesday evening as a late Mother's Day dinner. We sat in a comfortable booth for 4 and were sipping wine tastings as soon as we arrived! Cocktails are large, cold, and served in a reasonable amount of time. We ordered the Pork Belly Tostados and the Crab Bites as appetizers; Tostados are especially good. The entrees are reasonably priced and they have a wide variety to choose from. We partook in the special Cashew Grouper , Parmesan Chicken, and two of their House Burgers all of which were quite good. Each of us got a dessert too, favorite being the banana bread ice cream sandwich (not sure exact name); yum! Service was prompt but not rushed. All in all a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitor's name was Michael and he was ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our waitor's name was Michael and he was AMAZING! Definitely will be visiting again. The food was phenomenal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Unfortunately they changed some items on ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Unfortunately they changed some items on the Gluten Free menu (turkey and brie sandwich for example) so that was disappointing. The sandwich I got wasn't that great. The chicken was over cooked and didn't have a lot of flavor. The waitress kept getting confused about our questions about the menu. It was a so-so experience, which I'm seeing a little bit more there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Celebration

Dined on May 9, 2016

This visit was good as usual. The food, the wine, and the company. However, the service or should I say the waiter, seemed a bit overwhelmed with trying to serve 10 people. Not to sure what was going on with him, but he made this visit a little unenjoyable. I hope the next visit will make up for it. Still one of my favorite spots.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I wish I had found this place sooner! Wo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I wish I had found this place sooner! Wonderful experience and very reasonably priced. They had my heart after the dark chocolate truffles.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Coopers Hawk

Dined on May 8, 2016

Just had another fine experience at Coopers Hawk. From the pre-dinner wine tasting through a bit of dessert it was an excellent experience. Nice food selections, friendly staff, great wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & service! Pretzel bread was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food & service! Pretzel bread was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were exceptional for Mo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service were exceptional for Mothers Day.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother Day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent but we've never had a bad meal here. Come at least once a month. My husband had the jumbalya which was so generous he had to bring half of it home. I had a chicken dish that was delicious. We split the sea salt caramel crème brule...to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sevice was outstanding from beginning to end!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Justin was fabulous. The food and wine are great. I highly recommend doing the wine tasting, great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day place to eat for lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was great. The food very good. Would return anytime.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Server and service was off. Have had be ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Server and service was off. Have had better results on different days with different servers.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service and great wine tasting

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent service, friendly staff, lots of wine and good food

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was good and the food was better ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was good and the food was better. If you're a winner drinker this is the place to be. The wine bar is great and the tastings are fun with groups.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outside is better

Dined on May 7, 2016

Better than average tampa food, good service. Has a winery feel up front, nice outside seating. Didn't care for back dining room.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stylish Spot for Lunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Cooper's Hawk was recommended by a co-worker as a nice spot for lunch and she was right! What a pleasant surprise! Loved the atmosphere of the restaurant amid the trees and the rustic feel and stylish decor. There were plenty of people enjoying the wine tasting room and shop area. The menu was quite extensive and just about everything looked good. Selecting Dana's chicken w/the mashed potatoes and green beans was a great choice. Loved the delicate crust on the chicken which was very moist and the tomato garnish was a nice touch. The potatoes and green beans were perfect sides. The dining room was attractive and comfortable and we didn't feel rushed by the waiter, which allowed my friend and me to get caught up on our lives during our monthly get-together. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Table was not ready at time of reservati ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Table was not ready at time of reservation, but service by Kyle more than made up for the delay. Food was very good. Drinks were excellent.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.