About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4110 West Boy Scout Road
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across the street from International Plaza on Boy Scout Blvd. (Route 616)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Public Lot. Valet available during peak hours.

Public Transit:
Bus stop located on Jim Walter & Boy Scout Blvd. #15 Bus East to Netpark, stop #7690.

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (813) 873-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (154)
Special Occasion (152)
Good for a Date (149)
See All
Good for Birthdays (115)
Good for Anniversaries (111)
Good for Groups (104)
Creative Cuisine (83)
Worth the Drive (81)
Casual (78)
Fun (76)
Happy Hour (76)
Business Meals (76)
Romantic (73)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Great for Lunch (68)
Hot Spot (64)
Bar Seating (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (56)
Tasting Menu (45)
Comfort Food (37)
People Watching (35)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Authentic (25)
Cozy (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Tapas (17)
Seasonal (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Great Beer (10)
Scenic View (8)
Spicy (6)
Waterfront (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, accurate, prompt service - food/wine outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The lounge area was very busy in our server was great but she had too many tables to serve and Service took longer than it should have. We understood because we saw that she was working diligently and doing a great job she just had too many customers to serve in our opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I usually have an amazing experience, but not this time. Service was terrible. It took forever (10/15 min) to receive a sample wine then another 10/15 to receive the requested wine. Receive the appetizer after our meal. When I ask the waitress about retrieving my bottles of wine that I have she told me she did not have time, to go up front and do it. When I received my meal it was not good at all and usually the food is great! The waitress did not go over menu suggestions, and seemed over whelmed but not busy because it was not busy in the restaurant at the time. This was by far the worst experience I have had. I still need to go back and retrieve my wine that I have on reserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Manager Austin was excellent my N Y Strip came cooked incorrectly and overdone in addition it was incorrectly cut for a NY Strip I discussed this with him and he immediately corrected the problem and realized that the Meat was not cut as a NY Strip should be. He was pleasant ,professional, and helpful, it was my wife's birthday (59th plus) and he provided us and our son with a dessert. Your sides with the Ginger steak were exceptional , best I ever had, and I've had many!!!!!! The waiter Kyle was top notch attended to us as if we were his only customer at the time , he was busy, he made us feel special and did a outstanding job! We will be back, thank you!
Mikey J

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Entering the establishment, it was very loud. I could barely here myself think. We had a reservation which we were on time for but still had to wait 20 minutes before being seated. I liked that all the menu options had wine pairing options next to it. I had the short rib risotto and my boyfriend had the pork chop. My risotto was very good and the short rib was tender. My boyfriend's porkchop was tasty but it was described as pretzel breaded. But it wasn't really crunchy in the first layer. The wine was paired well, although my wine arrived a good 15 minutes before my boyfriend's despite having been ordered at the same time. We had to remind our waiter to have it again: the ambience is nice but not over spectacular. The shop area is more attractive but is definitely overcrowded. Overall, things were decent but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had to wait 40 min despite making a reservation a week in advance. We passed multiple tables and booths as we walked in that were empty so the wait was unjustified. Additionally, they sat us in a separate room essentially separated from the main restaurant. Excellent food and great server. Absolutely terrible management of their seating arrangements. I brought it to their attention and I was dismissed.

Other Cooper Hawk locations are fantastic. This location is simply poorly managed. I tried to go the previous week without a reservation and it was a two hour wait and trust me, they are not that busy. Tampa location not worth it, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I really had a great time also enjoyed the wine tasting. The Staffing management was really good the food was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Casual, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, People Watching, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is one of the most vibrant and energetic places in the Tampa area. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable about the food and wine. Enjoy a wine flight before a meal. Quick note: due to a number of people doing wine flights, it may take up to an hour so watch book your dinner reservations accordingly. Great place!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant ever!! We love to do the wine tasting first then eat dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were celebrating my husbands Birthday. The server was pleasant but seemed overwhelmed. We had to ask for drink refills. My sister in laws meal was delivered after we asked where it was. Apparently it was not prepared with the rest of the order. We asked for extra marinara for my daughters ape ghetto and it came as she was finishing. She never received her fruit. This is the first time we had this experience here but it was really frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

A rare chance to be alone after having a baby enjoyed a peaceful and quiet date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was my 5th or 6th time here. We went for our wedding anniversary. This has become my favorite place to eat. Cool atmosphere, excellent food, big portion sizes, good wine and reasonably priced. The menu has something for everyone. This time I had the short rib risotto which was outstanding. I also love the gnocchi bolognese. You can't go wrong with anything you order. Cooper's Hawk is a great place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Three meals were good, crab cakes, risotto meals, the fourth was the only dissapointment the flank steak meal in which the steak tasted good but was a very small portion as were the fries and vegetables.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place is wonderful my date has told everybody about how great it is here. The calamari is the best I have ever tasted. The wine tasting was spectacular, as a mater of fact we joined the wine club.
Definitely coming back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Love C oopers Hawk and are usually there for lunch so dinner was a nice change

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We took my wife there for her birthday dinner. I ordered a filet mignon medium. It came out rare. I tried to eat it as it was but could not. I sent it back. Shortly after the manager came over and apologized and offered me another steak which I accepted.. When the bill came, the manager had comp'd my dinner. So even tho my meal was sub-par they certainly made up for it by comp'ing the meal plus sent me home with another full meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Really good food. Wine tasting always a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Fantastic as always!! We are members of the Wine Club and truely enjoy the food and wine at Coopers Hawk. Fernando was our server and he was professional and friendly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was mediocre at best. I ordered a plan kids hamburger for my 6 year old and they brought out a cheese burger. Anyone with a picky eater knows there's no way this would fly. All the adults had food and were half way done before the only kid at the table had food. My moms side and my husbands sides came out wrong. It took forever to get our food once we ordered and that ranged
from ordering sangria, entrees and desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great food and great wine makes for a fun night out with friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I was disappointed in that I thought the restaurant was a scratch kitchen. I asked for betsys potatoes with out green onions. My server with no smile stated it couldn't be done because the potatoes already have the green onions in them?!?!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We decided to do appetizer's for lunch. Drunken Shrimp, Calamari, Veggie Flatbread...
All were Scrumptious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I love this place! Great atmosphere, amazing food, lovely location!! I will be back again soon!! The salad I ordered was so delicious 😋

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I was disappointed when we arrived for our reservation that we had to wait nearly five minutes for the host to acknowledge us. Then, once we were seated, it took a good fifteen minutes before some came to take our drink order. Very disappointing. Once we DID have the servers attention, the service was good. Additionally, they were out of several dessert options, but to be fair, we did have a late reservation on a Sunday night. I have visited this location before with business contacts and had a much better experience, but this time around, I was basically embarrassed to have recommended this to my friend for a get together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I love coming a little bit early to do some wine tastings in the tasting room! Only $7-12 for 8 tastings! Great deal and great wines!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very enjoyable delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My daughter is moving to Vermont next month and wanted to go to Cooper Hawks before she left. Shay at the wine tasting was fabulous.,along with Travis. Our waiter Angel went beyond the job of being our waiter and made our dining experience wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I like the bar area and of course the wine tastings! I didn't enjoy our meal and the service was a bit slow- though our waitress was courteous and had a pleasant demeanor. There was a mixup on my end with the reservation and the hostess did what she could to get us seated promptly. I appreciate that.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always a delicious meal! Especially love the wine and creme brûlée. Excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Tonight was the second time in a month that there wasn't hummus prepared. It is our favorite dish and we couldn't eat it while celebrating our anniversary. It was very disappointing as frequent customers of the venue, especially considering it was the second time in such short time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Holy cow! Best meal ever...seriously. My husband and I came for our (long-overdue) date night and couldn't have been more impressed! Definitely get the wine flights! And try the Smores dessert they offer. We will most definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Camari nd and Lobster bisque are recommended..2 of our favorite

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were here for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. We loved it! I was ambivalent about wines that are not name brands, but it was great. We each had a flight, choose your own and loved it. I had the short ribs and they were wonderful. My husband had the chimichurri flatiron steak and he loved his meal. We also loved the bacon wrapped shrimp. We will definitely go back, and soon. Service was also excellent. Only downside was waiting about 10 minutes in tasting area which was very noisy. However, it was a pre Bucs game crowd.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food and atmosphere of this place is wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Being a former bartender and waitress my expectations tend to be higher than average and since children my husband and I rarely get an adult night out l really like to be taken care of properly. We chose Cooper's Hawk on a whim and it turned out to be a great choice. I'm not much of a wine connoisseur and was overwhelmed with the options but our waiter Frederico was amazing. He was so polite and patient with my questions about the menu and wine. He explained how the menu pairs with the perfect wine and provided us with exceptional recommendations from dinner and dessert. He convinced us on a banana bread dessert which was delicious combined with one of the best cappuccinos I've ever had. All in all it was an amazing dinner and truly recommend checking this place out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a reservation for 9 p.m. on Friday night arrived at the restaurant at 8:15 was told that they were running 30 to 45 minutes behind on their reservations. My wife was arriving at TIA at 10 p.m. we waited until 8:45 no table we left. We have however ate at this restaurant many times the food and service is exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Made a reservation for 7:30 and stood in the front room drinking wine samples. It's loud and very crowded. Note to the men out there. Let your lady stand at bar and you stand behind her so more people can get wine samples. Also this isn't a brewery so dress appropriate. Finally the folks pouring wine samples can only receive cash tips. You can close out on your card but bring cash to tip.
As stated reservation was at 7:30 but we were not seated until 8:30. Not a big deal. Our server, Frederic, was simply awesome. We had never been before and he walked us through the menu and wine pairings. He fielded my dumb questions (I do not know wine) like a good friend giving advice. Are meal was very good! I'm vegan and there was a vegan option on the menu. You can make the vegetarian meals vegan simply by removing all dairy. Aioli is dairy by the way.
Over all it was a great experience full of good food, pretty ladies and great wine! I recommend asking for Frederic as he knows his wines and is very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had a 7 PM reservation and were told that we would not be seated until 7:30-7:45.
We went to the bar and found a reserved table that was empty there and asked if we could be seated in there. The waitress said to ask the front desk, so we did confirm that it was ok to be seated there. Once settled, the food was good and the drinks were awesome. It was very loud and hard to hear in the bar area though.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.