About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4110 West Boy Scout Road
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across the street from International Plaza on Boy Scout Blvd. (Route 616)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Public Lot. Valet available during peak hours.

Public Transit:
Bus stop located on Jim Walter & Boy Scout Blvd. #15 Bus East to Netpark, stop #7690.

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (813) 873-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (156)
Good for a Date (154)
Special Occasion (145)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (112)
Good for Groups (104)
Good for Birthdays (104)
Creative Cuisine (93)
Worth the Drive (89)
Fun (84)
Business Meals (82)
Casual (81)
Happy Hour (74)
Great for Lunch (74)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Romantic (73)
Hot Spot (64)
Vibrant Bar Scene (63)
Tasting Menu (62)
Bar Seating (56)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Healthy (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Comfort Food (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
People Watching (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Modern Decor (29)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Great for Brunch (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Seasonal (15)
Tapas (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Scenic View (13)
Disabled Access (13)
Private Room (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great Beer (10)
Organic (7)
Waterfront (7)
Family Style (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Vegan (5)
Spicy (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined a day ago

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

I am a repeat customer and I enjoy the food, service and atmosphere. I bring all my out of town guest here to dine.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant / winery has great food, a great location, fair prices, and a clean atmosphere. Keep it up.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun trendy place in great business location. I think the food is overpriced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Incredible food. Short rib gnocchi was beyond excellent! "Prime" sandwich stellar and pork belly tostadas are as good as they say they are!
Only drawback, got seated in a back room, away from the bar, away from the main dining room with a view of a parking lot with the families with children. Why make a reservation?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous as always. Consistency is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Wine tasting was amazing, as always! Dinner was great and was sat minutes after reservation time.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and Bill our waiter was top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrible experience. Horribly rude hostess that walked us to a table with ripped chairs. When I asked if we could have one of the numerous empty booths she said those needed to be requested when making the reservation. If you make a reservation and want to be treated with respect, be sure to specify you are a participating member of society and would like to be seated in the main dining area, in a booth, preferably without a ripped seat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I don't think I've ever been in a noisier restaurant. The wine tasting room was butt cheek to butt cheek.....seriously! Even the restaurant was so loud that my husband could not hear me. It was Fr evening and I had envisioned a quiet wine bar with a romantic dinner. It was OK if you're out for a crazy loud energetic evening with friends. I just had different expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good food and wine. A bit noisy but fun. Great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Love this restaurant! My favorite place to have amazing food and the best wine. Recommend to anyone, they will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

They really need to find a way to muffle the noise

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner before attending a show at the Straz and appreciated that the hostess and server took good care to serve us in a timely manner without making us feeling rushed. Our server was very attentive, friendly and professional. The only constructive criticism I would give is that I arrived a bit early so while waiting for my friends I was looking to purchase a glass of wine but it was so crowded, chaotic and extremely loud in the tasting area/ bar area that I felt bit overwhelmed and frustrated. It would have been a nice touch if a staff member or the hostess would have assisted me in ordering a glass of wine while I was waiting. Despite this I would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fun, fun, fun. We got there at 5 pm on a Friday for a 5:45 dinner. The bar was already crowded and loud. Guests told us it was always this way. We did 2 tastings at the bar. The pours were generous and the price was right. We sat for dinner and the waiter was one of the best I have ever had. Food was very good and again priced right. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My first issue was with the hostess stand and our reservation. We have a reservation for 815 and arrived at 8:10. We were greeted and told "give us just a minute". We stood close by the hostess stand waiting to hear our name called. After a couple minutes and our name had not been called we walked around a very short distance from the hostess stand to look at some of the merchandise but remain close and listen for our name. Our name was never called. 25 minutes later I walked up to the hostess stand after seeing multiple couples go ahead of us and was told " oh we couldn't locate you". Second issue was them being out of the short ribs for the risotto. Other than these two issues, the food was delicious and we did enjoy the wine as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This was my first visit. The food was creative and flavorful. I had the ahi tuna appetizer and the shaved brussel sprouts salad, both of which were excellent. My friend had the turkey burger and called it "very good."
There is only one "con," and that is the parking situation. There are only two handicap spots, and not nearly enough spaces for the three large restaurants in this section.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

One of my very favorite places to wine taste and dine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was my second visit there and both times I have been impressed.
Attentive wait staff and good food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I find the menu interesting the service terrific and I look forward to going back

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wine tasting was excellent, great service from gentleman at the bar and explained all the details as we were 1st timers. I believe it was Shawn who was our dinner server, he was awesome- seriously, haven't had service like that in a long time. Definitely returning!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We always have a great time at Coopers Hawk - If I lived closer I would go more often. Very accomodating to large groups.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food. Great wine selection. Excellent date night with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Appetizers we're very good but entrees we're at best average. Grouper was strong and off color - not edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

They have changed the menu and I guess every kitchen has an off night. The food was okay. Nothing to brag about. And the servers seem to disappear for extended periods. Then when the do walk past, they ignore the empty plates and glassware on the table.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We belong to the wine club at Cooper's Hawk and love it! We celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary last Sunday with wine tasting and dinner at Cooper's Hawk. The wine tasting is not only fun but most times we get to meet some very interesting people. Wonderful opportunity to try several of Cooper's Hawk fine wines. We always have a fabulous winer server and Sunday was not exception. Summer was great. From there we moved on to dinner which was fabulous but of course what made the dinner outstanding was our server. He attended to our every need. I tried one of Cooper's Hawk new menu item. The trio was the best!!! Can you tell we love Cooper's Hawk!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Very unimpressed with the staff. It was my first visit. Upon entering i was not sure which booth to approach for seating. I went to the one closetest to the entrance. I stood waiting for assistance. The two employees standing there glanced at me then turned their back and continued their conversation. I interrupted the conversation and advised i made reservations. I was directed to the second stand where i encountered a hostess that seem to be upset about being at work. I advised her my reservations were for 7 but we all were not present. She advised me to let her know when most had arrived and she would seat us. Once everyone arrived i informed Ms. UNHAPPY we were ready to be seated. She said ok then continued to move paper around. After standing there in slience for 5 or 6 mins, i asked her what were we waiting for. She said someone would be with me in a moment. (The place was not crowed). After a couple of minutes someone came tonshow us to our table. I advised her of the lack of personality with the hostess. Her reply was "thats why i am glad i don't work the front". Another employee that dont care to work with the public. I dont care how good the food is, they need to work on customer service to complete the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was great!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was not our best visit there as it had been the last time. The hostesses, and there were four of them, were as sour as lemons; no smiles, no 'may I help you' or 'thank you for joining us tonight'. Perhaps it was because it was hotter than hell in there. Don't know if they had an air conditioning problem or they were trying to conserve on energy but it did not make for an enjoyable dinner. We ordered the new Artisan Cheese board and it is quite delicious; would be perfect if they added just a few crackers as the bread is not enough for all the items on the board. I highly recommend. We also had the Cashew Crusted Grouper special and it too was delicious. The gnocchi was not served hot enough but given the temperature of the room, I didn't complain. My straight up martini with a twist of lemon was served with a chunk of lemon on the rim instead; clearly an inexperienced bartender. All in all, an average experience this time. Hoping for better next time around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was great as always. They were short staffed and the servers seemed overwhelmed. Our entrees came out 10 minutes after appetizers. We definitely felt rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love this place- just get there early and expect to have to wait a little to get a wine tasting bar spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service was awesome! We loved the choices for seafood. The surf & turf excellent. Truffles and wine.... enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wish the wine tasting area was larger, but we love the wine and food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great service and great food! The wine selections are amazing! Try the passion fruit and raspberry wines!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Awesome in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was my third experience at Cooper's Hawk. Three friends joined me based on my recommendation. All agreed the food and service were excellent. We agreed this would be one of our top choices for future dinners.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I frequent this restaurant a lot and I'm a wine club member. Never had any complaints. The food is always good and the wine is fabulous. Today I was there for lunch with a coworker and the service was sub par. We ordered right away because we only had an hour. We both ordered the BLT. That should not take too long. Well it did. At least 30 minutes before the food arrived. The restaurant was less than half occupied. After we finished eating we waited another 10 minutes before our server brought us the check and that was after I had to ask someone to track down our server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always have an amazing time at Cooper's hawk! Their staff is always friendly and very knowledgeable about the wine and menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We went to Cooper's Hawk with free entree coupons from the restaurant as our last experience was awful. Dinner tonight was great our server Karen made the experience and service even better. She was one of the best waitresses I have had before. Wine tasting was great and appetizers and meal were great. Wrapped it up with dessert and it was great too. The waitress made our meal that much better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.