About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4110 West Boy Scout Road
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Across the street from International Plaza on Boy Scout Blvd. (Route 616)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Public Lot. Valet available during peak hours.

Public Transit:
Bus stop located on Jim Walter & Boy Scout Blvd. #15 Bus East to Netpark, stop #7690.

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (813) 873-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (141)
Notable Wine List (136)
Special Occasion (127)
See All
Good for Birthdays (111)
Good for Anniversaries (94)
Creative Cuisine (87)
Romantic (85)
Worth the Drive (83)
Good for Groups (76)
Business Meals (73)
Casual (69)
Modern Decor (68)
Fun (68)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Great for Lunch (61)
Tasting Menu (61)
Hot Spot (57)
Happy Hour (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Cozy (46)
Outstanding Value (37)
Comfort Food (36)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Healthy (31)
People Watching (30)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Gluten Free Options (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Private Room (16)
Scenic View (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Seasonal (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Family Style (11)
Tapas (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Great Beer (6)
Spicy (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Waterfront (3)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was good, similar to what we have experienced in Orlando. The noise level was horrendous. This restaurant need a serious evaluation by an acoustical engineer. It was so loud we could not talk, much less think, and we were in a back corner hoping that would be quieter. Until, and unless management addresses the noise level, we will not be back - and will not recommend it to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Not a busy day there, still took a long time to get our appetizers and entrees. Potato fries came out cold. Food came out so late, I didn't have an appetite anymore. Put it in a to-go box and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Salmon, sautéed spinach, thinly sliced potatoes in a light tomato sauce - very good. Had a taste of wasabi mashed potatoes- yes, please! Pretzel bread is excellent. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. Great place for casual or business lunch. Nice for outdoor seating while the weather is still decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I love copper hawk! It is always good, the staff are friendly, and the atmosphere relaxing. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The menu had appealing items which became enjoyable and tasty courses. All 3 of us had excellent meals. The only minor issue was the beef short ribs could use more au jus, which they provided upon request. Although we prefer to patronize locally owned establishments we will make an exception for this upscale chain and will frequent this restaurant regularly.

I know I sound like a brochure but we don't often find everyone having a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal and great service. Had an important meeting and the waiter, Tommy, gave us our space while being aware of our needs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I went for Easter dinner. We had a tasting prior to being seated. Our server brought us a couple of wines to taste to pair with our dinner. Very nice way to end the holiday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter dinner -good food and drink. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had reservations with my family for Easter. We were seated promptly. The food was delicious and since we were there before 3:30, we were able to select from the lunch menu. The prices were reasonable and the portions smaller. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I loved having Easter dinner at Cooper's Hawk. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. The server recommended numerous items to us and explained the menu thoroughly for us. This is a great place for dates and/or special occasions. I have always had nothing but fantastic dining experiences here.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First time to Cooper's Hawk Restaurant & Winery. We celebrated Birthdays and Easter!
All 4 of us had the Tenderloin entrees and the steaks were cooked to perfection (3 rare and one well-done). We enjoyed the Bordeaux-style wine ,made in Illinois at their winery. Loved the outdoor seating and really enjoyed our dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great time

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had mixed feelings about this place. The main area was very crowded and noisy (Saturday evening) but I was able to get a table in the outdoor (quiet) area. The food is delicious (I had the classic bruschetta and the risotto) and the service is great. My waitress was very friendly and told me and my fiancé all about Cooper's Hawk and their wine franchise. I was very eager to try their wine because there is a HUGE selection and all wines and foods have pairing suggestions. We tasted 4 different types of wine: petit syrah, pinot gris, zinfandel and a signature mix. We were disappointed with the wine and would not recommend this place if you are a wine expert and are only looking for a place with a large variety But it is a fun place, the food is delicious and overall it is a unique experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and service. That's a five star visit to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall our experience was good. However, several items on the menu were not available, but we were not told until after we ordered. Steak had to be sent back because it was under cooked. Our waitress did her best to make up for some of the menu and kitchen issue, but the repeated issues took the air out of our experience. We might try again another time and hope for a better overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my 3rd visit to Cooper's Hawk, I will not go on a weekend again. There were a lot of large groups and drunks that made our dining experience unpleasant. Okay I understand that people want to have a good time but not throwing balled up napkins back and forth, falling in the floor and screaming. Also I wish that this restaurant had a dress code, because there must have been a hookers convention in town!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wine tasting first followed by dinner. Waiter was great and also made sure we had everything we needed. Only issue was I was a wine club member and I had a $25 credit to spend and the waiter said I didn't. When I checked my online account it was on there so there was some confusion. Meal was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing food and service..very loud in bar area but the wines and food selection are numerous and outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was great! Kitchen was a little slow. Dining room was great, but Bar area VERY noisy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

What a wonderful place for a quick bite or a nice long date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great meal and service, as always. Some in our party were running a little late because of traffic and they were very accommodating. Always enjoy going here and definitely recommend going, if you have never been before.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Cooper's Hawk never disappoints. Great variety on the menu and excellent wine options. They also introduce new items often enough to keep it interesting.
I recommend Cooper's Hawk for business and pleasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

First visit. Will be back. Food was great, as was the service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent service. Our waiter was spot on about his recommendations for food and drink. Everything we ate was amazing. We will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our waiter Mike is excellent. The food is consistently great! This is my favorite place for lunch and dinner. You might find me there 3x's a week. It's that great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Crab beignets were out of this world! Same for the choices of wine!
The pretzel bread was delicious.
Pistachio encrusted grouper was good but not amazing.
The short rib risotto was melt in your mouth amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I've dined at Coopers Hawk many times and I finally am doing a review. I love it there! I love that they make their own wine. They added a few new menu items which is always a plus (The fried Brussels sprouts are the bomb!!!) We normally start with a wine tasting which gives you 8 samples. The bartenders are really good about giving you a different type of wine if you don't like one of the samples. Every month the wines are different. Then comes dinner. We love to sit and take our time. Get an appetizer then order. The service is always amazing and the servers know the menu in and out, which is very helpful if you get stuck between 2 items. Highly recommend Coopers Hawk!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Never disappoint with the Chicken Piccata. I had a wonderful waiter who was very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love this place! Wish I could come here daily. Everything you could ever ask for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We love the wine tasting area. It was great for interacting with other patrons. This is the third Coopers Hawk venue that we have visited and we are looking forward to visiting more as we travel the US.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Just a really good place. The decor / atmosphere, the food, the wine all excellent. There is something about this place that just makes you feel good. The menu offers a very wide selection and the servers are friendly and well trained. Over the past year, this has become one of my favorite places. Located just across from International Plaza, Cooper's Hawk is , in my opinion, way better than Ocean Prime at half the price.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Private Room, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our food and service was amazing. We were seated right away! We will be returning

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Date night with my wife couldn't have been nicer. Started with their pretzel bread, followed by an appetizer of chicken pot stickers. Yum! She had parm encrusted chicken and I had braised beef tips....both excellent with great service and some great wines. Then got our wine club wines to go. With our leftovers, our dinner tomorrow will also be memorable as we prepare to depart Florida for seven months of RV travels, great destinations, and fantastic friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The service was awful. We went for my friends birthday and I brought cupcakes with instructions asking the server to bring them out on a plate after we were done as a surprise. He totally ruined the surprise by asking if we were ready for the cupcakes at the end.

He messed up on the appetizer and then argued with my friend as if she ordered the wrong one. He served bread with no butter. Half the dinner our water was empty. It was the worst service which is absolutely unusual for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our food was excellent and the waiter was very accommodating to a special meal preparation request. We loved the short rib risotto. Overall a great experience including the friendliness of the waiter and managers who stopped by to check on us and offered well wishes for our guest of honor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Don't even try to go if you are already hungry. No matter I made a reservation! We weren't seated until a half hour AFTER the reservation was set for. The hostess refused to give us a meaningful update to the delay and was quite rude about it. Once we were FINALLY seated, service was obviously short staffed as the poor man was run ragged and we saw very little of him.

Won't ever be back to this location. I know this company expects better as I often visited the location in Columbus, OH. What a shame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I received a gift card for my birthday and I had never heard of this place and had no idea where it was...so I googled it. It seemed like an interesting place, I was excited to check it out. I made reservations and I was not disappointed. We had a wonderful dinner and our waiter, Brian was awesome. I even bought 2 bottles of wine to take home. I'm looking forward to going again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Karen is a phenomenal waitress and made my first dining experience there even more enjoyable. I wish I was able to try everything on the menu. The food is special and very fresh tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great wine. Great service. AppetiZers a little overrated and overpriced, but entrees delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

It's never a "hit or miss" here....it's always a hit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.