About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL

Report a photo problem

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (142)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
Notable Wine List (117)
See All
Good for a Date (110)
Good for Birthdays (98)
Great for Lunch (81)
Casual (79)
Good for Groups (77)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Business Meals (63)
Romantic (62)
Worth the Drive (55)
Fun (52)
Tasting Menu (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Modern Decor (43)
Bar Seating (39)
Cozy (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Healthy (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Private Room (17)
Authentic (16)
Seasonal (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
People Watching (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (5)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Live Sports (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, wine and service are always ex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 hours ago

The food, wine and service are always excellent. Consistent gem!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration and got free desert ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Birthday celebration and got free desert super nice of them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Cooper's Hawk several tim ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been to Cooper's Hawk several times and have always had great food, great service and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy CH. Consistently good and e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Always enjoy CH. Consistently good and enjoyable dining. Nice wines to choose from for appetizers or dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

One of best service ever they r very hel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

One of best service ever they r very helpful thks so much to my waiter and manager wonder full night to me and my girlfriend thks so much

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant, plan ahead for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this restaurant, plan ahead for weekend reservations

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wine. A great place to me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and wine. A great place to meet friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. Good portion sizes. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good. Good portion sizes. Enough, but not too much or wanted more. The decor is nice, but a little dark for reading small print menu. My only real dislike is the design of the place makes its noisy. Hard to have quiet conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I wasn't a fan of the charred broccoli a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I wasn't a fan of the charred broccoli and when you order medium I thought that meant slightly pink

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was real good and service was great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was real good and service was great! The drinks were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite place to eat to date! Awesom ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite place to eat to date! Awesome service awesome food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the encrusted beef and grouper. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Had the encrusted beef and grouper. Grouper was half the size it normally had been. Almost like they ran out and we're trying to make it stretch. Good, but not worth $30 with that portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. However, it's a bit loud ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good. However, it's a bit loud for a date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and wine are always delicious

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and wine are always delicious

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We live just north of Rockford and come ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We live just north of Rockford and come in here for lunch to meet friends from the suburbs and to pick up our wine club selections. Great place for a long lunch with friends. Staff is always friendly and very accommodating. Menu is varied and interesting.

Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere was very calming. Had a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The atmosphere was very calming. Had a very lovely lunch with my friend! Food was fresh & the flavors popped in your mouth! It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for dinner. Food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First time for dinner. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, food, and wine! Second ti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service, food, and wine! Second time we have been here and look forward to the next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kegan was our server and could not have ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Kegan was our server and could not have been nicer. The recommendations were perfect along with the wine selection and specific menu options that she reviewed with us. She was very attentive and quick to answer any questions and provide refills. Spectacular !

WONH

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was outstanding from beginning ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The meal was outstanding from beginning to end. This place has consistently excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We met here for a girls get together ove ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We met here for a girls get together over lunch. We ordered several appetizers and salads to share before our entrees. The salads were split for us on individual plates which was so nice. The service was attentive and friendly. Everyone enjoyed their entrees - flavorful and fresh. Will be returning for future dining events.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great waitress. She was friendl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a great waitress. She was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We had so much fun we closed the place down!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal at Cooper's Hawk. Be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always a good meal at Cooper's Hawk. Be sure to make reservations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated very quickly. A couple of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We were seated very quickly. A couple of us have bad backs and got the table we wanted rather than a booth. Our waitress, Nina, was very good. She kept the coffee coming, didn't seem to mind that we were taking our time and her smile was worth a million bucks. Our food was very good and served warm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On an off night, the place was packed! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

On an off night, the place was packed! As always. Make a reservation. Good food. Great servers. Smooth meal. You can have a different win and wine pairing every time you go.

Easy to get to. Sometimes hard to find parking, but give it a few minutes and a spot opens up----or you can valet for free.

Perfect restaurant for people who like wine, a good choice of menu items, excellent service and well timed food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! A bit pricey, but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant! A bit pricey, but great for a special occasion. Parmesan Crusted Chicken was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a great experience from the wine ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a great experience from the wine tasting to dinner! There are a lot of vegetarian options and the food is delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cooper's Hawk a night of fine dining, go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Cooper's Hawk a night of fine dining, good wine and outstanding service. Our waiter was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Calamari was fantastic and the house red ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Calamari was fantastic and the house red had a sweet note with a bitter finish...paired very well with the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant overall.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great restaurant overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great from the wine or drinks to the app ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great from the wine or drinks to the appetizers to lunch or dinner! Always good food and staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was trash and delicious!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything was trash and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love Coopers Hawk.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love Coopers Hawk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! You can never go wro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love this place! You can never go wrong at Cooper's Hawk.

Great food, great wine, great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love going to this restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I love going to this restaurant. The food is always excellent. I have never eaten anything I did not like. Being a winery, the wine here is outstanding. I would recommend this restaurant to any and all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistent good quality ingredients. Al ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Consistent good quality ingredients. Always great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The table next to us had a very obnoxiou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The table next to us had a very obnoxious group of people. Very loud especially one of the women in the group that was closest to our table. To much wine possibly over served. Waitress was just fine as was the food. Could of done without the overall noice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Thin franchise has decent food at modera ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Thin franchise has decent food at moderate prices. Reservations a must for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ross was our server and he was great! I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ross was our server and he was great! I have been there several times and they have the largest and best tasting gluten free options.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was New Year's Eve, so the restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve, so the restaurant was very busy. Table next to us was celebrating quite loudly so hearing one another was impossible. Food was served lukewarm. Not up to standards. Drinks were great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.