Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (146)
Notable Wine List (142)
Special Occasion (137)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (120)
Good for Birthdays (117)
Casual (96)
Good for Groups (89)
Great for Lunch (79)
Worth the Drive (79)
Fun (74)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Romantic (70)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Business Meals (56)
Bar Seating (51)
Healthy (43)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Tasting Menu (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Cozy (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Comfort Food (34)
Happy Hour (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Quick Bite (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Authentic (18)
People Watching (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Seasonal (13)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tapas (4)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

We’ve been wine club members for four years and and we never had a bad meal or bad service people are always friendly and knowledgeable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I requested a nice table and got a table in the middle of the dinning room which seemed like a intersection for traffic. I thought that could have better accommodated. Overall we had a good time together; wait staff not as attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service, good food, a bit loud where we were seated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Towards the weekend, this restaurant gets extremely busy and LOUD. Difficult to have dinner with friends and hear each other's conversation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and wine are always terrific. We go to Cooper's Hawk at least once a month. Tried something new and it was also wonderful. Grilled cheese and short rib sandwich with tomato soup.....who knew a grilled cheese could be so good. Also tried the mushroom crusted chicken..delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and, as always, delicious food. A very enjoyable lunch with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The Soy Salmon is our favorite. We live 5 minutes from the Cooper Hawk in St. Charles, but we drive 1/2 hr. to So. Barrington because the service is excellent and the food is served hot every time we have even been here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was wonderful and the server very engaged, friendly, and great energy. Our only disappointment was with the host stand. We checked in around 720 for our 8pm reservation with plans to have a drink if we couldn’t be sat early. The very friendly host stand checked us in and informed me that she would seat us early if a table became available. We had to go back up to the host stand at 815 to inquire if the table was ready for our reservation and we were seated with our choice of booth or table and an apology from the host saying she didn’t know we had checked in yet. Nothing to ruin the evening over but a disappointment never the less.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Their calamari is one of the best I have ever had. We shared an order of calamari and the barramundi entrée. Did not care for the sauce that the barramundi was in but the fish was good. Noise level ,as always, was high. Not the place for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was too salty. My steak was suppose to be med rate it was more medium. My daughter side of broccoli was bigger then her filet and her vegetables were soggy. My husband rib eye was very small. The waiter wasn't helpful (first time at Restaurant) and was difficult to understand. Spoke too soft and had a strong accent. The prices were very high for the quality. On a good note the desserts and wines were delicious. Was nice to be able to try samples of the wines. But beside that we were not impressed :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Awesome!!
Food, drink, everything great!
Just a tiny bit loud!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Always good food, good service and an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Gnocchi Carbonara is what we ordered. Was very very bland , chicken pieces were too big, not appealing at all. Special occasions like birthdays should have dessert for the guest on the house. No use of asking occasions when booking online if it benefits you. John our server was very good with overall service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We had a very attentive waitress who had helpful tips for our dining selections. Wine was excellent as well as the entrees. Nice birthday dessert for birthday boy.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Never fails to serve delicious food along with great service. The menu choices are extensive and the wine of the month is delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Long wait to be seated for reservation. Not normal for this location. Appeared understaffed as wait for first round of drinks once seated was excessive. Food was a miss tonight as two salad entrees soaked in vinegar. Skipped dessert and coffee and music was too loud and we asked to have it adjusted. Usually have had a better experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I love Cooper's Hawk. The food, wine, and service are all excellent, but I have to admit last Sunday was just too noisy! We were out with another couple and wanted to discuss various topics, but it was very difficult to hear due to the noise level. Several members of our group said they would not be back to Cooper's Hawk except for "off-hours" since the conversation is as important to us as all the other criteria.

We had reservations and were dining after a concert which ran a little longer than it was supposed to, and the staff was gracious and sat us immediately even though we were 15 minutes late. I did call to let them know, but it was very crowded and the wait for walk-ins was 3 hours. We appreciated the flexibility, especially under the circumstances.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I always go to the one in South Barrington and always have had good service along with pretty good food. I made a reservation and still had to wait. The wait was probably 15 mins so that wasn't bad. My complaint about Cooper Hawk is everything is extra. If you want a salad or soup you have to pay. Some other fine places that I go to the salad comes with it. This would be nice if the salad came with it. I belong to the wine club and the wine is very good.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Taco special was not up to usual standards but wine and service were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Never disappointed. Food is delicious! We ended up with the caprese flat bread, Caesar salad, and salmon. The salmon was full of flavor. The coopers blended red wine is smooth.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

First time to the Barrington location and it was great experience and food was great. We our wine club members and will frequent this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great server and wonderful meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

It was my sons 23rd birthday and we wanted to try something new. It was an excellent choice and the food was very good and the service was great. I personally did not have wine but the presentation was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The place is nice. Food wise steak is not that good been to other locations and steak is the same. The kids love the burgers and the pretzel bread.Overall it's a great place to dine especially that they can accomodate people with food allergy or special diet. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

As a long time member of the wine club I can honestly say I really enjoy going to a Cooper's Hawk winery. Great food, great wine and awesome atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Service and food are always top notch and always pleased with the wine selection! However, this is the first time I thought the girl we checked in with was a bit snippy! When I checked in to let her know we were all there, she continued to seat parties ahead of us, so I checked in with her again, and her response was that she couldn't memorize everyone's name! I didn't feel that was the correct response!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. We arrived early to do wine tasting.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Had a wonderful meal with my friends service was great. Visiting from Arizona had a great time

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My favorite go to for an evening out!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Thought it would be a good place in South Barrington for a meet up with old pals from Antioch and Naperville. Lovely spot with a great varied menu, and drinks. Our server Tia was over the top good and patient and advised us on appetizers and drinks. So many choices!

We opted for wine and appetizers....the roasted brussel sprouts were amazing and the crabcake beneigts (sp???) were so different and tasty and more than we could eat!

We will definitely be back. Such a cool fun place and the staff were so welcoming. Thanks for a fun afternoon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Everything we ordered was delicious. We were there celebrating our anniversary, which I mentioned at the time of reservation and our server never mentioned anything about it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great menu choices and always excellent service. We are never disappointed when we leave Cooper's Hawk in the Arboretum of South Barrington.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Always a great experience at Cooper's Hawk!!! We celebrate my birthday here every year!

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very busy for a Sunday evening. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Poor management. Had issues and no one addressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very disappointed. I won't elaborate as I have been a customer and wine club member for 7 years (dining at 4 different locations) and I will chalk this up to a glitch. Never had an experience like this before, but I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was mediocre, I was surprised that a wine place had only 1 cheese platter to choose from.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.