About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (138)
Notable Wine List (133)
Good for a Date (128)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (124)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Casual (91)
Great for Lunch (90)
Good for Groups (88)
Romantic (66)
Business Meals (65)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Worth the Drive (60)
Fun (56)
Modern Decor (53)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Tasting Menu (44)
Comfort Food (40)
Bar Seating (39)
Cozy (35)
Hot Spot (34)
Healthy (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Outstanding Value (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Private Room (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Seasonal (16)
Family Style (16)
Late-night Find (15)
People Watching (14)
Authentic (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Great Beer (5)
Fireplace (5)
Live Sports (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Everything was great both my girlfriend and I's first time there, I was impressed with everything from top to bottom and will be back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Celebrated my wife's birthday at our favorite restaurant Food is always consistently cooked and flavors jump right off of the plate. Servers always make you feel like you are the most important person there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, food, and wine as always. Love the shrimp and polenta.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always good but the service this time was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect for a birthday dinner with friends. Great food and atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice time at a solid chain. Wine was good. Company was excellent. Dessert was also outstanding.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Coopers Hawk for my birthday. I wish we could have had an earlier dining time because the later I eat, the more I regret it. The food was delicious and the service was top notch. It was very loud however in the dining room but, full disclosure, it was Saturday night. We will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Private Room, Casual, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Accommodating, comfortable and good food choices, particularly the Life Balance choices!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service, fantastic wine! We love it here. Join the Wine Club!!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We have a very enjoyable time the food was awesome as always

The server could not have been better

He truly made the evening it made our guests feel very comfortable for being first timers

Of course we could not get near the wine tasting bar which is frustrating because yet again we try to bring guests to Coopers Hawk for the wine tasting and then dinner . They might as well not even offer it for two bottle members,

But all in all it was a good evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great time to celebrate a birthday. Food was great; loved the cocktail.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Although we were bummed to be sitting in an overflow room, waitress Ashley made it an extra special lunch with her great service.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was very good. But, the dining room was rather noisy...not conversation friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was exceptional and our server,Andrea was fantastic even though the restaurant was obviously busy. Nice complimentary champagne for our Anniversary too.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and great service. Never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was great but my wife got food poisoning, most likely from the grouper since that was the only thing that she had that I did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Our recent visit was excellent. While we had to wait 15 minutes for our table we sampled wine in the tasting room. Our server was Juliet and was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Love Cooper's Hawk. We've enjoyed many great luncheons and dinners. Food always great and wine selection is wonderful addition to any meal. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food is always an exciting choice. Service is always exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food and great service. Can't go wrong here. Wine list is large and wines are very good.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing gluten free menu! They even offer gluten free bread instead of the pretZel bread! I never feel like I am limited on options here.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a horrible table but tried to get passed that. The food was so disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a very wonderful Valentine's dinner!

I had the filet & lobster special, it was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Terrific food, terrific wine. Go to Cooper's Hawk at least once a month. Had steak and lobster for Valentines Day. Delicious.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was great. The food is inventive, the service unbelievable, and the wine was perfect. All in all it was a great experience. It was Valentine's Day, so I was expecting hectic rushed service. I did not receive that at all. What my wife and I did get was an amazing meal and an amazing night. Thank you Gina (I think that was our servers name).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great overall experience! The short rib risotto and surf 'n' turf (grouper and medaillon) were delicious.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Coopers hawk in Barrington is great! Our waiter Mike, was the best! He was friendly and attentive to all our needs! The filet is the best I have had, better than Ruths Chris and Wildfire and way more affordable. It is a bit loud in the restaurant, its not for a quiet romantic dinner but the food and service are perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was perfect. The long lines at the tasting areas are the only downside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service per usual! Kacia was excellent and made our evening a memorable one. Great food,great wine,great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a great place, we have never been disappointed!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent as always! Good food, great service Great wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great job as always. Fine food with the fine service to match !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Too much money for the quality of the food. Wines were not that great, all tasted like mass produced steel barrel wine. The experience was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Miguel out waiter was very inattentive!!!! He kept avoiding our table. To make matters worse, he got our food order and drinks wrong. He did nothing to try to make it better. Out compliments to the kitchen staff!!!! They corrected the waiter's mistake very quickly. The food is amazing. This is the reason why we keep coming . Yet, we recently visited the Coopers Hawks in Milwaukee and even though they were much busier, their service was excellent! Next time, we will take the extra drive and go to Milwaukee instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The pasta with meatballs and bollenais sauce was great. Everything on the menu has been great so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice. We plan on making a date day visit here at least once every couple of months.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

1st time ever disappointed with Cooper's Hawk! Food was tasty as usual...however only 3 of our 4 entrees were delivered. We waited to eat, figuring our daughters meal would soon be brought to her. While our meals sat in front of us, still nothing. Our waiter finally came by to ask how things were and I motioned to my daughter's empty spot. He came back to blame the 'high school aged' food runner for mistakenly taking her turkey burger to another guest. Quite rude considering my 2 high school aged children were guests. He offered to bring her a salad while she waited. Overall our food was good but the service and lack of attention was disappointing. I at least would have liked a manager to stop by to offer an apology. We were there to celebrate for my daughter and as frequent wine club guests, it was not the experience we are accustomed to.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Reminded me of our visits to napa and Somona wineries

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Delicious as always! Great wine! Out for a girl's night... perfect place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As always, a pleasant experience. Hard to get a reservation but worth the wait,

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I've been to this Cooper's Hawk many times and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious and unique, beautifully plated, the wines (their own brand) are a joy, the service is always perfect, and I've had many good times there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had a very pleasant time. I was looking for something my wife would enjoy for her birthday and between the wine guidance / selection, and the menu, we were not disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We celebrated a birthday and all of us had a wonderful experience. The food was very good and our server , Mike was excellent! We will ask for him again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Birthday, our waiter was great apps were great

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

From the moment we walked in the front door, our dining experience was positive. Welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable staff only added to the great tasting food selections.

Great job Team Cooper's Hawk!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server was excellent, she made great recommendations for our meal. The restaurant also is okay with substitutions. Our food was cooked to perfection and everything was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Nice ambiance. Up scale divine food, good service, friendly staff, luscious wine, wine, wine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband & I have been Cooper's Hawk members since 2009. We always go to the one in Barrington but I have to say it is ALWAYS crowded no matter what time we go. We liked it better when we could go there & get a table on a Saturday night for dinner. Now we have to reserve a table a week in advance which isn't always exactly convenient. We are looking forward to the new one that is coming to St. Charles. We are hoping the tasting area will be much larger. But the food is always great & we love our membership. We wine taste every month!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food, wine, and service! Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.