Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 71 times today

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

4.7
2705 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(847) 836-9463
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt McMillin
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Higgins and New Sutton Road
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2705 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Always a great experience. Wine, food & staff are wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Coopers Hawk in the Arboretum of South Barrington always provides an excellent experience. Food and service and menu are great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was our 47th anniversary and we had one of the best meals ever. Our waiter Kyle was fabulous. He was energetic, attentive and very personable. He spent time talking to us and took our photos for us, even making sure we liked the photos. It was a great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating friend's birthday. Food, Wine, ambiance and service were excellent! Key Lime Pie was delicious!!!!! Love this location, much quieter than Arlington Heights.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

First I enjoy Coopers Hawk. Yesterday however I ordered the Chinese Chicken Salad. It was terribly over dressed. I should had sent it back but thought I could just finish it but didn’t. Another person in our party ordered same dish and some ingredients were missing. That dressing did not go well with this dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting from North Carolina and wanted a festive place to celebrate our brother in laws birthday. This was his choice, and a favorite for he and my sister, as Cooper's Hawk has a wonderful gluten free menu that is very important due to health issues. Our waitress was fun, knowledgeable and very lovely. I think her name was Megan. Delicious food, wine and dessert was enjoyed by all. Thank you for a lovely birthday celebration!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Always exceeds expectations. Service food drinks everything was perfection

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Good food, good wine, good service at a good price.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Was planning on celebrating my wife's birthday on the night of 4/15. All was good until the fire alarms went off. Management did not seem to know what to do and we just followed the crowd outside of the building. No communication of what we should do...wait, go home, etc. I understand the emergency is out if their control but as of yet no call from the management apologizing for the issue, please come back, etc. They still have our wine club card which is not a big deal but when I called they said come back in to get a new one. The entire don't really care attitude from the managers that I have called has been dissapointing and as of 4/18 no return phone call from numerous messages left on 4/16. This is not the first issue we have had at this location. This location has gone downhill in service and food quality in the past 6 months in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This place is AWESOME!!! The food is delicious and the staff is amazing!! My favorite restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

First restaurant experience where fire alarm went off. We vacated restaurant while several fire companies responded. After about 20 minutes,deemed all clear and approximately 50%-70% of patrons returned (My estimate). We decided to take a chance and stay since our meals had not yet been served. After we were reseated, they served all of our meals in approximately 15 minutes. Their recovery was awesome! They also provided cards for a free meal, glass of wine and wine tasting. Our waitress (Anna),manager and rest of staff was great before and after incident as we had little baby with us. Well done Cooper’s Hawk!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Everything was great. The only downside was that the restaurant had to be evacuated because the smoke alarm went off. We did smell something burning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Amazing service and absolutely delicious food!!! I would highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food great service great value

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We waited 35 minutes to get a table even though we had a reservation. They were very nice about it and offered us a free appetizer, which we appreciated. However, the service was very slow, especially after the restaurant had slowed down considerably we could not pay and leave. We had 8:00 reservations and did not leave until 10:15. Overall, they have good food and it is always a lively busy place and worth going if you have several hours to dedicate to dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good food, great wine. Good overall experience. Caesar salad delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I requested that Ashley be our server. I've had her before, and her personality just adds to the evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Grilled vegetables were overdone. Brussels sprouts & turnips were tough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Very nice evening and everyone enjoyed their meals. Service was top notch. So much better than St Charles location that at try struggles with Service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Cooper's Hawk in the Arboretum of South Barrington hits the mark every time. Food and service are excellent, great selection from a complete meal to a light snack.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food was very yummy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Very good - waiter was very attentive - food was good - tried the green tomato soup - it was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Wonderful staff not like Arlington heights location. From hostess to server everybody were very nice, the food was excellent !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Have been to Cooper's Hawk many times. This is one of my family's favorite restaurants. The food is always delicious and the service outstanding. The wine selection is one of the best in the Chicago area and we also belong to the wine club.

It is a nice place whether you are celebrating a special occasion or just want a quiet dining experience. The staff is very professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Love Cooper's Hawk....wine tasting is fun, sometimes crowded, but this is my Cooper's of choice. Food is excellent, just remember to make a reservation. Service is great, friendly, attentive. I'm a 2 bottle member and it forces me to make a point to stop by. I've been to 5 Cooper's locations but Barrington/Arboretum is always my go to favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Did the wine tasting then had dinner after . Cooper’s is one of my favorite restaurants. Food and wine is always excellent. The wine tasting was fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great wine and steaks. We will be coming back for years

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Night out for a couple who never gets out. We visit Cooper’s hawk on a monthly basis, they had never been so we had them join us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

First experience was pleasant. The ambiance was good. The food was good. The service, not so much. Our waiter didn't check up on us after bringing us our orders. Other than the service, it was nice.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We ordered slightly dirty martinis which were excellent and exactly how we like them. The food however was disappointing. We ordered the sashimi appetizer which had a good flavor but was warm? Maybe the sauce used was warm but that was just a little odd. I ordered the wine braised shirt ribs and my husband ordered the gnocchi. The short ribs had no flavor and was slightly dry. The gnocchi wasnt bad, but wasnt anything spectacular. We really wanted to like this place based on other reviews but couldn't. Though it seemed like a fun place for small bites and tastings.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I have been to two coopershawks in the last three months...in St. Charles, my fries came out stone cold...in south Barrington on Friday night, my mashed potatoes came out stone cold...how long do the sides sit in the kitchen? Service always good. Our table for four people was really snug. Should have requested a booth instead. Had reservation for 6:30pm, did not get called until 6:50pm...not a big deal, just did not expect them to be off by 20 minutes...got there at 5:45 to have a drink before, and not a seat available in the bar. All people sitting for dinner without reservations...by the way, we did check in when we arrived at 5:45, and still waited 20 minutes past reservation. Ended up standing in tasting room, and eventually muscled our way up to the tasting room bar for a glass of wine. Would have made a lot more money off of us if we got a seat in the bar...also, no line on tasting room receipt to add a gratuity to the girl who served us two glasses of wine and really worked hard to keep everyone happy...is that intentional or an oversight?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Cooper’s Hawk was wonderful as usual. I had Chicken Piccata, one of my favorites. 2 other people had shrimp and scallop risotto, another favorite. Everything is good there. Red wines are fabulous and I am usually a white wine drinker.
The only negative that I have is that their wine tasting area is too small.
Oh, and the best thing was that the manager came over and gave me a 1 1/2 liter of their barrel reserve wine. I’m not sure why, maybe because I am a member and spend so much money there. I love that place.
Our waitress, Michelle, was great too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Made reservation for 5:00 Friday and was seated promptly. Service was great, prompt, caring and polte. The entrees were tasty presented nicely. I would comfortably recommend Coopershawk for a dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Outstanding food, service, and ambience!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Good food, excellent service but high noise level, particularly for people with hearing problems..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We get the wine tasting before dinner and staff here was phenomenal. We have visited many times before for both dinner and wine tasting and have never had a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

I really like Cooper;s Hawk and go there with the girlfriend every couple of months. We go to the one in South Barrington. We usually have good service and the food is always good. My complaint is there if you want a soup or salad it is extra. This should not be with the prices they charge. I go to some other nice restaurants and the salad or soup comes with the mean and it sometimes they come with both. I think you really need to loo into this. I am a wine member and I think at least you should offer a soup or salad with the meal for wine members. I spend alot of money at Cooper's Hawk. Just a suggestion. I will continue to got to Cooper's,but would really like if it came with both salad and soup at least one of them. Overall always a good time and food. sincerly-Mr. Greg Kaiser

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great appetizers, good wine. The medallions were over cooked.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We had a really bad experience, which was surprising, since we've been to this location several times without incident. It started with a loose butter cup from the bread platter falling into my martini and spoiling my drink. The waiter offered to replace it, but brought back a replacement drink that was only filled to the level of what I had drunk already. Then I ordered the surf and turf with filet medallions and grouper. When it came, I took a bite from a medallion...all good. Then I took a bite of the grouper... I've had sashimi that was better cooked. (And honestly, I've never seen grouper that thin.) I sent it back. After some time the waiter returned with my plate... containing the same food that I had already taken bites out of, the fish now dry and the medallions cold and now far from medium rare. That is really unacceptable. Then I waited a long time for them to remake my dinner, while my companion was already done with his meal. We were going to order a bottle of wine, but the waiter never asked us. The manager did comp the meal for our trouble, and I was grateful for that, but I doubt we'll go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
68

Tweets by Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington