Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (148)
Good for a Date (135)
Special Occasion (131)
See All
Good for Birthdays (117)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Great for Lunch (96)
Casual (83)
Good for Groups (75)
Fun (69)
Business Meals (68)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Worth the Drive (58)
Romantic (57)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Modern Decor (50)
Sunday Lunch (50)
Comfort Food (49)
Healthy (46)
Bar Seating (45)
Gluten Free Options (37)
Tasting Menu (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Happy Hour (31)
Cozy (29)
Private Room (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Outstanding Value (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Family Style (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
People Watching (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Authentic (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Quick Bite (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Seasonal (12)
Disabled Access (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Fireplace (7)
Great Beer (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 21 hours ago

Services keeps getting worse, even we constantly asked to take plates from the table, we still had used plates from the appetizer on the table wine paying the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was very good. Our server was attentive to our needs. Very nice ambiance. We were able to talk with the people we were with, so the noise level was fine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We went here for our anniversary. The food was delicious, the house Cabernet was very good and the waitress was attentive, professional, and polite. The restaurant was very busy that evening and the kitchen consequently swamped, which caused our order to take longer than usual. I did not have to say a word; the manager took it upon herself to come by our table to apologize for the delay and she directed our waitress to cut our bill in half. THAT'S service. Will definitely come here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were outstanding!! The atmosphere was very nice too. Not a quiet restaurant but not too loud either. I don't like to yell across the table to have a conversation. If you like wine...they have one for everything. We will definitely be going back!!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed a nice lunch, delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a nice evening. Food was good, nothing spectacular. One of our guests did not receive what he ordered but was satisfied with what he received, didn't complain. Menue stays the same, seasonal specials would be nice. Noise level loud in the section we were In, had to shout across our table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Decent food, good wine. It was pretty noisy so difficult for conversation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We usually enjoy our experience, but not this time. Both our entree portions were very small compared to usual. The waiter didn't come by us once we were finished with our meal. Our potatoes came out very cold. We will not be back. Ruined our date night, which doesn't happen that often.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We dine at Coopers Hawk often and it is by far our favorite. Great atmosphere , wine and the food is always great. Thumbs up.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Can't miss. Great date atmosphere with excellent service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

With a reservation expect to wait an extra hour... The wait was horrible but the food is okay.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The new menu items are great. Loved the brussel sprout appetizer and the key lime pie is to die for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We enjoyed most of our meal but it took a long time to be served. The crimp with pasta was coated with lots of pepper flakes, Too hot to eat. The chicken piccata was delicious and a generous proportion. We were mostly frustrated with the very long wait even for dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Tonight service was very slow. Our waiter had two speeds, dead slow and stop! Food not that good, menus never seems to change, been the same for ages! I think the restaurant depends on the wine club and circuses. My advice to upper management is shake up the cage!! Will not be dining there anytime soon😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Everything was good. It was Mother's Day and we thought that it would over crowded even with reservations but it was perfect. Walked right in and they seated us.
Nice gesture with the wine for the Mom.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

it was an overall good experience. we went on mother's day. we arrived ~15 minutes early for a 5pm reservation. we were seated in less than five minutes. the glass of champagne was a nice touch. we had the surf and turf with the salmon and filet medallions. both were good. we also had the fish and chips which were fine. the only knock i would have is that i like my food hot in temperature, but the food was just warm.
the wines are the big attraction here, and they did not disappoint. everything was right on point. overall i would say it was a strong 3.5 - 4 star experience. we will be back, and would recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great spot!!! Love the wine and will be back soon. First time at this location but much better and more quiet. Love the new menu too

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Fun, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Such a great place! Service was exceptional as well as the food. The filets were amazing and so was the risotto!!! Try a flight of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mothers Day late lunch. Reservations were prompt on a busy holiday. Great food and service. They went over the top with champagne and flowers for all moms.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made a reservation for Mother's day. The food was good as usual, service and overall atmosphere were also good, as usual. We are members of the wine club, but made the reservation through open table because it is very quick and easy. You can make choices through the app for dining times without going through "what is available" on the phone with the hostess. The Mother's day specials did not catch anyone's eye, and was a little disappointing. We ordered off the menu and were not disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was amazing. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered. Love the blueberry wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They do a really nice job with food and wine. The service is incredible. Very knowledgeable Sommeliers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love this place from wine to food and staff is super friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went on a busy Friday night. The place was hopping but we still received excellent service and the food was fantastic. Hubby had the filet which he said was excellent. I had the shrimp and polenta which was also very good but only had four medium size shrimp in it. It wouldn't hurt Cooper's Hawk to put at least a half dozen or more large shrimp in the dish for what you're paying. That is my only criticism of the food. Our waiter Scott was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food and ambiance is great Dave our waiter was knowledgeable about the food and drink as well as the area. Kathy the manager was engaging as well. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This is the third time we have been to this restaurant. The food is over priced and not at all what I expected any of the times we have been there. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food wine and service was top notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always an exciting night. Wine tasting before hand and our usual knowledgable server Randall.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Scenic View, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amber was amazing, very attentive, and very nice! She made our evening special. The food was delicious, and so was the wine. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everybody was very professional and courteous from the winetasting to our waiter. The hostesses are always cold so being the first person you see often at a restaurant I think they could definitely be more outgoing and friendly. I had a new item on the menu-Barramundi fish paired with jasmine rice and this delicious amazing coconut sauce that was out of this world!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The perfect place for all occasions and we were celebrating my hubands Retirement and dinner was amazing and our service superb. Colleen was wonderful. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The new menu is out and has some outstanding items. I LOVE the appetizer of grilled brussel sprouts with cashews, and drizzled with a peppery aioli. Delicious and healthy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The two men in our party had surf and turf; both having the steak medallions and Ahi tuna. Both said the steaks were great and the Ahi exceptional. I ate the seafood risotto which was delicious. We ordered the calamari appetizer which was very good and, unexpectedly, was a very generous serving. Overall, an excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Once again the Team at Cooper's Hawk proved that We have Good Taste.
Our wine tasting was fun with Joy and the Chelsea and others.
Then dinner was over the top. We were there for my Wife's birthday
and you all made Me look Good!!! Thank you so much.
And when we "Lost" a Phone, You found it. We are so thankful to be a part
of WHAT YOU ALL HAVE BUILT. Blessings, Marg and Jim Rehnberg

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wine tastings are fun. Very good food. Great service. A little loud. Would definitely go again. Great place for girls night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious steaks and red wine. We had a blast. Server was attentive but not up in our business or rushing us constantly. Lunch was 2 hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of my favorite places. Love the wine tastings, food never disappoints. Great for special occasions or everyday get togethers.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We visited Cooperhawk for my Birthday and Wedding Anniversay. We had my favorite booth and a very nice waitress. I always order the Salmon in the Lite Balance section and it was wonderful as usual. My husband ordered the Prime Sandwich and loved it also. We were very pleased with our special lunch. We will refer Cooperhawk to our friends and family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I eat lunch after his/our monthly wine tasting. We enjoy the ambiance, food options, and attentiveness of the service staff. However, the past two visits our food was overcooked. We ordered medium but the steaks and burger were medium well to well done. The food may not have been overcooked originally but might have been left under the heat lamps too long. The food was still good/tasty but not as ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.