About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8478369463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington, South Barrington, IL

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
3 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Value
Northwest Suburbs
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in South Barrington ›

Special Occasion (151)
Notable Wine List (133)
Good for Anniversaries (105)
See All
Good for Birthdays (99)
Good for a Date (96)
Great for Lunch (83)
Good for Groups (80)
Romantic (69)
Casual (67)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Business Meals (59)
Worth the Drive (55)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Fun (46)
Modern Decor (40)
Tasting Menu (38)
Hot Spot (38)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Cozy (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Happy Hour (27)
Healthy (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Outstanding Value (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Private Room (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Kid-friendly (15)
People Watching (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Seasonal (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Family Style (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vegan (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Scenic View (4)
Fireplace (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was exceptional...appetizer ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was exceptional...appetizer was served within 5-10min of ordering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an awesome dinner. Food was perfect. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Had an awesome dinner. Food was perfect. Table was ready right on time with our reservation on a busy Saturday night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper Hawk is a go-to for us. Great me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Cooper Hawk is a go-to for us. Great menu and great wine. The wine membership is a great deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating an 80th birthday and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating an 80th birthday and it was a bit hard to have a conversation. It was parents that are aging and have a hard time hearing. I should of taken that into consideration and I just didn't think about it. Nothing that Coopers Hawk did "wrong" The atmosphere is very energetic so I should've thought of that when making my plans. Food and service were excellent as always! Love Coopers Hawk!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience but very crowd ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great experience but very crowded and noisy. It was difficult to have a conversation. Food was fantastic and the staff provided first class service. It was just too crowded.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Upon arriving, we almost didn't get seat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Upon arriving, we almost didn't get seated, they couldn't find my reservation. I had to produce my email to get a table.

This was a birthday, our server totally forgot the dessert and gave us two chocolates to take home.

We also purchased a 100.00 gift certificate to be presented with dessert. This we had to prove we didn't receive for the the server gave the original one to another table.

Slow service took several minutes to receive drinks and forever to get food, check.

I hated that I purchased a gift certificate for this place for our friend. Never again ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Another great experience at CoopersHawk! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great experience at CoopersHawk! Grabbed an early dinner with a friend - we shared the Mexican egg rolls with Asian slaw - yummy. I had the grilled salmon off the "lite" menu - it was delicious and perfectly cooked. My friend had the make-your-own surf and turf combo - she chose the pork chop and crab cake and really enjoyed it. I snagged a bite of the crab cake - excellent! We shared the s'mores dessert - OMG, it was decadent heaven! Our server was great and the rest of the staff very friendly - they are pros. CoopersHawk never disappoints - they know how to create a truly enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spent a wonderful evening at Cooper's Ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Spent a wonderful evening at Cooper's Hawk with friends. The service was top notched and the food was outstanding. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good dinner as usual. Good food, great ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Good dinner as usual. Good food, great wine. A bit loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we had a great wait staff and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always, we had a great wait staff and the food was amazing. We started with wine tasting and it was also great. Never a bad time at Coopers Hawk!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since I've eaten at Co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It's been a while since I've eaten at Cooper's Hawk. Not much is changed. The food is good the wine is good but for the price you can find much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We already know that the food will taste ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We already know that the food will taste great and the wine always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My very favorite restaurant. Love the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My very favorite restaurant. Love the wine club. Great service and great food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was our third Thanksgiving in a row ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

this was our third Thanksgiving in a row at Cooper's Hawk. As always the food was excellent. The service is always good but this year was fantastic! Our server Nate could not have been more outstanding. If Cooper"s Hawk wants to know how to be the perfect server, just watch Nate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving is not the best time to go ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving is not the best time to go there. The food was pretty good, but we

had issues with the service and the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for Thanksgiving and amazing. All t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving and amazing. All the fixing and left with plenty of leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived 15 min. early on Thanksgiving Da ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Arrived 15 min. early on Thanksgiving Day, and was seated right away. Service was great, but they rushed to get our food to us...before the soup...so we felt a bit uncomfortable...like they wanted us in and out. I made them keep the meals warm so we could enjoy our food in the "order" in which it was supposed to be delivered. No offers of additional glasses of wine with our meal. There were empty tables around us, so not sure what the rush was. Although it was great, could have been outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good as always. Customer ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good as always.

Customer service in the wine tasting area as very poor that day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Dined on Thanksgiving . Although we had ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dined on Thanksgiving . Although we had a 1 PM reservation we arrive 15 minutes early and our table was immediately available. The service was great. The food was delicious. Served nice and hot. The only thing that was missing were sweet potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was quite crowded so the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The restaurant was quite crowded so the service was not as prompt as usual, but still s very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Our server Amber was amazing!! Very frie ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our server Amber was amazing!! Very friendly and attentive!! The food was outstanding as usual :) Always love coming here!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time I've ever had to ask for a ne ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

First time I've ever had to ask for a new table; we were initially sat in an auxiliary, cold room full of stacked chairs even though the restaurant was only 25% full. The room must be used for banquets, but the atmosphere was terrible. The table and chairs were cheap looking, the lighting was very bright, and I was literally sat looking at 40-50 stacked chairs. Thankfully, after asking, we were moved to the dining room. Our server was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Very good food ************************* ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very good food **//////////////////////////////**

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a winner. We have never had a bad ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Always a winner. We have never had a bad experience with Cooper's Hawk

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the warm, inviting atmos ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We always enjoy the warm, inviting atmosphere at Cooper's Hawk. We enjoyed a variety of menu entrees, including steak, seared Ahi tuna and a salad with shrimp. The lobster bisque was great also. Our waiter was wonderful, he was attentive and helpful with the wine selection too. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have a 7 o'clock reservation did not ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We have a 7 o'clock reservation did not get seated till 745 other than that other than that it was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Sunday night outstanding as usual. Make ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Sunday night outstanding as usual. Make sure you have reservations. We did and were seated immediately, a long way ahead of the line.

Every time we come we try something new and haven't been dissatisfied yet. Always good food. Ask for Sarah as your server, she will treat you right.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time. Food and service were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had a great time. Food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter had 18th birthday and we had ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My daughter had 18th birthday and we had a family dinner 5 of us.Our waiters was friendly,smiley .He told us all information about the wine, He was perfect.

Food,appetizer ,wine was GREAT!!!

We will be back for sure!!!

Thank you so much,we had really good time!!!

See you soon!!!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Cooper's Hawk. Their food is del ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We love Cooper's Hawk. Their food is delicious. We highly recommend the medallion trio. The restaurant is quite loud though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family always enjoys dining at Coope ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our family always enjoys dining at Cooper's Hawk! The food is great and very reasonable. Our waitress was fantastic; not too intrusive but available when we needed her. They were very concerned when my steak wasn't cooked to my liking and made it right - even taking off one of our appetizers. Cooper's Hawk will remain one of our go to restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was good.I would go bac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food and service was good.I would go back for business or date night.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always come here and it never disappoint ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Always come here and it never disappoints. This time I will break your basted pork

with mashed potatoes. It was fantastic the true culinary experience. My other diners enjoyed the big ribeye and the gnocchi pasta one friend to try the lobster and she ate all of it. Bottom line is back again and again because perfect exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was good and the service was excell ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was good and the service was excellent. It was nice to order a bottle of good wine and not break the bank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere is always good for a casu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere is always good for a casual setting. Usually order steak, went for a burger- was cooked incorrectly twice. Once way over, once way under. Service was slow. Manager offered to re-make, but everyone else was done eating. Service got really slow after the second dish came out incorrectly. Manager gave us a coupon for a free meal in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Have been wanting to try this restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Have been wanting to try this restaurant for quite sometime now. 3 weeks in a row couldn't get a reservation before 9pm. I have heard so many great things about this place. Overall not that impressed. took to long to get something from the bar. Was asked 3x's if we would like more bread, but never received. Server was very friendly but slow to respond. Never met the manager, was some lady that said good bye as we walked out, could have been her, not sure. Food was good, not great, portions were small for entree. Apps were alot of fun, good portion size, and fun. Steak selection was minimal at best. With all the great places in the area not sure if we will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

it was very crowded and noisy. our waite ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

it was very crowded and noisy. our waiter was very busy.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Really appreciated having a reservation ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really appreciated having a reservation as we walked through the crowd and straight to our table. We hadn't been in 2 years and it was just as good as we remembered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We frequent Coopershawk due to the excel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We frequent Coopershawk due to the excellent Gluten Free options as well as the excellent wine. The wine club membership is well worth the money.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional, food was fantas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service was exceptional, food was fantastic. My husband and I will certainly return. Thank you for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.