About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8478369463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Contemporary American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
6 More
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Value
Northwest Suburbs
Great for Lunch
Northwest Suburbs
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in South Barrington ›

notable wine list (281)
special occasion (280)
good for groups (220)
See All
fit for foodies (179)
great for lunch (175)
romantic (112)
hot spot (93)
neighborhood gem (76)
great for outdoor dining (67)
vibrant bar scene (65)
kid-friendly (38)
late-night find (33)
great for brunch (21)
scenic view (17)
Sort By:
Newest
1335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great time with some great friends. Food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great time with some great friends. Food was excellent, wine was very good and service by Ashley was simply fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious as usual. Love the Shaved Brus ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious as usual. Love the Shaved Brussel Sprout Salad, Ahi Tuna and Thai Chicken Wraps. Great new Australian Shiraz!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service was great. Wine was a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was great. Wine was also vet good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coopers Hawk is consistently excellent. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Coopers Hawk is consistently excellent. Their food, service and prices are good. Hard to beat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here often I love the food and atm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I eat here often I love the food and atmosphere. Service is good although the last two times I was there it seemed the servers were rushed. And my friends and I felt service was not as good as it usually is.But I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my wife's birthday and server sai ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and server said "Happy Birthday" but nothing special done.

Had to ask for bread 3 times

Had a couple of bottles of wine to go - person at wine counter really didn't know what to recommend

Not our best experience at this restaurant - other times have been better service

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We arrived about an hour and a half earl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We arrived about an hour and a half early to do our wine tasting, which were sad to learn our favorite girl Amy is leaving, but happy for her that she is being promoted. She will be missed!!!

The dining experience was not great. I eat here several times a month and have never had poor service like this. The server didn't even pay attention to our table and it was like we had to hunt him down just to get our order in.

Food was delicious as always!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The wine bar is very crowded on Friday n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The wine bar is very crowded on Friday nights, but we got our turn to do a wine tasting and it was fun. Dinner was delicious as always! Excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The southern grilled shrimp was very goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The southern grilled shrimp was very good. Nice size shrimp and very flavorful polenta. The cream Brulé was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always delicious & great service. Nice m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always delicious & great service. Nice menu selection & great vibe

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

we have been there many times with diffe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

we have been there many times with different people, never disappoints

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat! Been there about 7- ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great place to eat! Been there about 7-10 times and the food is excellent each time, service is spectacular. We joined their wine club several months ago, and this is our favorite restaurant in Hoffman Estates area. This place NEVER dissapoints! 5 out of 5 stars.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites! Using open table i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

One of our favorites! Using open table is a very helpful tool as this place can be packed. We go two to three times a year and we just love everything about it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soy Salmon is delicious and the service ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Soy Salmon is delicious and the service is excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall very nice. I don't think reserva ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Overall very nice. I don't think reservations should be taken until 9:30 if the kitchen closes at that time. We felt rushed to order since we were told the kitchen was closing. Other then that it was nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a great dinner of chicken Madeira w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had a great dinner of chicken Madeira with my best friend but the icing on the cake was the bruchetta with golden beets, it was to die for. I almost went back the next day to have it again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been going to Cooper's Hawk in S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been going to Cooper's Hawk in S. Barrington since it opened. A GREAT concept! Very comfortable. The servers are personable, accommodating, helpful, and edficient. We know what to expect of the food---comfort food, party food, interesting specials, a menu with some standards and new takes on what you thought you knew.

My only complaint is that it is very popular...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was terrible. She could not ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our server was terrible. She could not have been more "disinterested". She did not check on us, we had to ask another server to get her so we could order more food items and get a refill on coffee. She needs to find another line of work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I don't eat seafood. At all. I love soy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I don't eat seafood. At all. I love soy and ginger glaze on chicken and saw they had soy and ginger salmon. I asked our server how it was with much skepticism. She said it was delicious and not fishy. I decided to give it a shot as we had a $20 credit from our wine club membership to use courtesy of the restaurant. It was fantastic! I know now that this will be my go to item on their menu moving forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome place, have had many great exper ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awesome place, have had many great experiences there!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was amazing! Great teamwork.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service was amazing! Great teamwork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great service and an ove ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food, great service and an overall nice atmosphere. I love to recommend this place because they take great care of every guest.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet is best you can get. Little pricey ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Filet is best you can get. Little pricey but worth it. We've been there several times and go for special occasions. Always had great service. Little disappointed with the server this time. Felt rushed which when your spending $150 for a dinner for two on your anniversary you want to take your time. They were not busy at all this day. Plenty of open tables. Wasn't even finished with our salad and our server wanted to take our plate. She was bringing our check before we were even asked if wanted dessert. When we ordered a dessert, she made it a point to let us know that "she will take the check back to redo it". This one instance will not keep me from going back, like I said always great service in past. Another note, disappointed loaded baked potatoes and cheesecake discontinued.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We have been wine club members at Cooper ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been wine club members at Cooper's Hawk since they opened! Staff has come and gone, however, some staff have stayed and they are awesome! Agnes and Chad at the bar are friendly, helpful, and always willing to offer drink and dinner suggestions. That particular night we couldn't get a reservation until 9 PM. We decided to get there around 8:15 and sit at the bar until our table was ready outside. To our surprise, our table was ready at 8:30, and my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal al fresco! Our server was attentive and energetic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, it was a great time. Disappoint ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall, it was a great time. Disappointed they removed the cheese and wine flight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Ask for patio table or table in main din ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ask for patio table or table in main dining area. Can't go wrong with any of the appetizer, salad or entree selections. Children's menu is also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our Waiter was WONDERFUL!! We have had h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our Waiter was WONDERFUL!! We have had him before, and always enjoy him. Sure wish I could remember his name:(

We prefer sitting in a booth as we have previously. Our table was pretty close to the table next to us, which didn't make it as enjoyable as it was harder to talk.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal outside on the p ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal outside on the patio. Food was great, as always. Brought family here for their first visit to CH. They were very impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

ATMOSPHERE WAS INCREDIBLY LOUD!!! Food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

ATMOSPHERE WAS INCREDIBLY LOUD!!! Food was cooked excellent. the flavor of seasoning on my steak made me think it was spoiled. Not the best experience with food but our server was very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Coopers Hawk is my all time favorite res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Coopers Hawk is my all time favorite restaurant. The service has always been fantastic , with servers who go above and beyond your expectations to make this a pleasant dining experience for you. Their food is excellent quality , and at an affordable price. The ambiance is romantic and you can either make your dining a romantic date visit or you can go and relax and have fun with a group of friends. They have one of the most expansive wine list as they are a winery, and it doesn't matter is you have a sweet palette or a dry palette because they go from fruit wines all the way up to dry, and if you are a wine club member than you are a winner all the way around. Not only do you get dining rewards, but you can order your bottle of wine for the month and they will serve it to your table in a aerator which makes it taste even better, and if you don't finish it, they can cork it and you can bring it home. The desserts are also the best I've had at any restaurant , as they taste homemade and fresh, so one must save room for desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always have great service and great food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

always have great service and great food when we go to Coopers Hawk

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always top notc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and service are always top notch! Always a great experience at Cooper's Hawk no matter what location I have visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always nice to have a just because ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It's always nice to have a just because get together with friends, any excuse to enjoy CH and their wine of course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always amazing. Service is g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food is always amazing. Service is great. I havent had a dish I didnt like! Reasonable pricing. Definitely recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an awesome waiter, his name was W ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had an awesome waiter, his name was William.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are Wine Club Members and frequent th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We are Wine Club Members and frequent this location. Always a good experience. Never seem to disappoint. The back room off main dining can be noisy for small groups or couples.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the wine was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the wine was magnificent. We had the best service we have ever had at a Coopershawk. Ross P. was FANTASTIC!!!!! Catered to our every need and needs we didn't even know we had. If you can request a server, ask for Ross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent time celebrating our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had an excellent time celebrating our 33 year anniversary!! Great food and wine!! Everything was cooked perfectly. Did feel a little rushed at first until I told the waiter to slow things down. Got appetizer before the complimentary pretzel bread was even 1/4 of the way done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We've had the same waitress named Andrea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've had the same waitress named Andrea the last two times we've been to Cooper's hawk and she has been more than accommodating on both occasions. We came to take my mother in law out to a nice place before she headed back to Fl. after coming up to Il. to bury her husband of 61 years. The atmosphere for us to reminisce was extraordinary! She loved the place and wants to come back again for the great food, service and accommodations. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.