Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (150)
Special Occasion (140)
Good for a Date (129)
See All
Good for Birthdays (114)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Great for Lunch (93)
Casual (82)
Fun (72)
Good for Groups (71)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Business Meals (65)
Romantic (53)
Worth the Drive (49)
Sunday Lunch (49)
Comfort Food (48)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Bar Seating (46)
Healthy (44)
Tasting Menu (42)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Happy Hour (31)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Cozy (28)
Modern Decor (28)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Authentic (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Private Room (17)
People Watching (15)
Quick Bite (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Family Style (12)
Seasonal (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (4)
Tapas (4)
Fireplace (4)
Scenic View (4)
Spicy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 18 hours ago

Wedding anniversary dinner. Perfect space. Perfect drinks. Perfect food. Perfect service. Great restaurant overall. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

I had one of the best meals I've had in a long, long time here. The appetizers were terrific, we sampled three. My favorite was the drunken shrimp but all were noteworthy. Trio of filet medallions had creative toppings and were prepared perfectly. Our waiter was attentive without being annoying. The evening can get a little costly if you plan on having a couple of glasses of wine but the food was exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Every time we eat here we are happy with our overall experience. I'm upset they took away my favorite sandwich and now switched up the sangrias.... but the surf and turf and new sangria-tini were delicious!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal and arrived 45 minutes early for our reservation to have a drink at the bar. We were given a free sample of their featured wine the option to be seated immediately, which we took!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Not a good experience. The floors were very sticky, like a old movie theater. Server was more interested in getting us to sign up for the wine club then bring us water ( asked at least 3 times). Food took way to long. The woman's bathroom was gross. My friend notified the host station. We were there on a Monday afternoon so being busy was not an excuse. I'll drive to Arlington Hts and skip this location.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Cooper's Hawk consistently serves excellent food with great service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Love coopers hawk never have had a bad experience!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved it here. I can't wait to come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Been to Coopers Hawk five times. Always had a great experience. The waitress was great and very friendly. But the service times were extremely slow. Had drinks, apps, and meals. The majority of our six party group had cold food when served and the French fries were ice cold. Pretty disappointing for a plus $200 lunch. We didn't complain but not what we expected.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service, great food very reasonable excellent restaurant

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Always great service, delicious food. Live the variety in the menu, including the lighter menu and lunch sized entered. Tried the white wine flight and was enjoyable and helped to find some new favorites.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best service ever. Will request him next time ......10 10 10

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Another great evening at Cooper's Hawk! Enjoyed the excellent wine and food on the patio which made the evening even better Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very accommodating.... But feel if wine​ member should be able to sample many wines to figure out what bottle want. There should be more comfortable spirit at bar rather than feeling being watched like hawk if go over allotted three samples.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We enjoy visiting Cooper's Hawk and we have eaten here several times. The food is good and we also enjoy the wine. The service was great as well. We recommend trying it out!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The staff is very k owledgeable, friendly, and accommodating to your meds. Good is always delicious no matter what you choose...except the pork chops are a little dry. The wine and truffle flights are wonderful choice for tasting. Wine list is extensive...they are so accommodating in letting you have a taste of a few wines with your meal if you don't know which one to choose. The wine tasting area is a little tight but the price for saying the wines is a good deal. Overall great place to meet friends and family for a relaxing time...the staff does not rush as in other restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I had a Wine Club Reward to use so we met friends for dinner. The food was outstanding as usual, including the new Artisan cheese appetizer - WOW! Our waitperson Jennifer made the experience even better. She was fun and informative, and knew we wanted to linger over dinner and drinks so did not rush us. Altogether a perfect evening!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Every time I eat at Cooper's Hawk, the experience is exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Had a business meeting with people from Texas was a great meal and very good service

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We had dinner to celebrate my birthday. Our food was excellent, the service was great. We liked the wine so much, we joined the wine club.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 12, 2017

9 of us were seated for a wonderful evening. I still have not received my points. Is that the fault of Coopershawk? I mentioned at checkin this was an Open Table reservation. I never seem to get my points! Please help.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Cooper's Hawk never fails to serve excellent food along with impeccable service. Great new menu items.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

From the time we walked through the doors of the restaurent it was amazing. The staff and people were mingling. THe marketing of the merchandise is amazing and my husband was looking around. After all this was said and done, I went up to the desk to let them that we were here for our reservation. We were early about ten minutes or so and my husband was shown to our booth as I went to check into my wine club card. The young woman saw my card and handed to me and then I walked to my table. A few minutes later our server came and she was really friendly knew the wines and I let her know that we were there for our date night as well as for my birthday dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We really love Coopershawk! It's a great place for a date or friends get together! Wines are fabulous

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My sister's birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food and service was excellent. We have always been pleased with Cooperhawk.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Facility was overall dirty. Displays of wine decanters and glassware even looked cloudy and dirty. Was not anything like Arlington heights, Burr Ridge or Naples, were I have been previously.

The service was what one would expect at a lunch place and the food was like lunch food as well.

Very disappointing. They need to close this facility because it brings down the reputation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wasn't happy with seating though right in entry way to restaurant and exit from kitchen. Was not busy at the time. Plenty of tables. Had reservation.
But food and service fabulous as always.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Enjoyed outside patio

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our server was not experienced, a total mess and definitely not up to the caliber of Coopers Hawk. Very disappointed. As members of their wine club, we frequent this location and were very displeased with the service. Food, however, was excellent as usual but slightly turned off by this location now due to the extremely poor service we experienced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Make a reservation, then go in and do a wine tasting. They try to find something you will enjoy drinking. The store has tons of wine to take home or bring in to dine if you want. Sign up for the wine club membership to enjoy a ton of perks as well as monthly bottles of wine, specialty dinning, specialty wine and so much more. The food has never disappointed. Great place for any occasion!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, always great service, and always great wine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great, food, service and prices! Will definitely be returning!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and service as usual. Chicken was tender, and the apps...just yum!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great skirt steak. Service was good. Ambiance was comfortable. Cooper's Hawk Pale Ale was delicious and decent value. Overall, happy with experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Although the fries were cold the rest of our meal was great as it always is.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Mike, our server, was outstanding!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The best hamburgers around with great French fries.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always an amazing time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and outdoor dining! Everything was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.