Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (138)
Good for Birthdays (133)
Good for a Date (133)
See All
Special Occasion (132)
Good for Anniversaries (122)
Great for Lunch (97)
Good for Groups (96)
Casual (88)
Worth the Drive (77)
Romantic (73)
Business Meals (71)
Fun (69)
Bar Seating (57)
Comfort Food (55)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Cozy (45)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Happy Hour (37)
Tasting Menu (36)
Healthy (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Authentic (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Kid-friendly (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Seasonal (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
People Watching (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Tapas (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort by
S
2484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was excellent and the food was great. Perfectly cooked and tasted great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great location and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good experience. Great food, great service, and of course great wine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was outstanding our server was the best we ever had and made our experience that much better.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

This place was hopping even on a snowy night - good to have a reservation! Large menu with plenty of options. Service was good despite being busy, and we all enjoyed the food. Be sure to save room for a truffle for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Mike was great, professional and attentive. Clean and cozy dining room, great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Outstanding service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was just ok. Not worth the price tag. Everything was bland and boring. I had the barramundi fish and it came with rice, green beans and tomatoes. They didn’t really do anything to the food that couldn’t be done at home very easily. For $122 I expect a great meal and I felt like I could’ve gotten a similar meal at TGI Friday’s (which I despise). The waiter recommended the key lime pie which had almost no lime flavor and again, was very bland and boring. I don’t know why people in the burbs love this place so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Every time I have dined at Cooper's Hawk, I have tried a different entree and have loved them all!! The wait staff is always friendly, attentive and available. Wonderful place to have dinner!!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Short rib risotto never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We have dined here many times and have always had a good time and good meal. Very lively place and we always feel comfortable. The wait staff is always friendly and courteous. Never a bad experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

Can never go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Celebrated husband’s birthday. Ordered all appetizers SMS’s a bottle of wine. Our server, Mike, was very knowledgeable and helpful. No rush and wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Didn’t refill drinks until meal was over. Inattentive staff. Food was ok but over sauced. Couldn’t taste the salmon, just the overly sweet sauce . The coleslaw was very good. The ice tea was very good too, would have appreciated a couple of refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Garbage in a box

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We went to celebrate 3 friends birthdays. We all enjoyed the food and the wine!!!
We were a party of 8 and loved having a round table, however it was a bit too noisy to talk to everyone. Waitress was very sweet and accamodating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Awesome service and food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Made reservation on Open Table earlier in the day. Arrived 15 minutes early and got seated right away. Table service was well timed ... not pushy and not slow. 3 of us tried the pork chop (2 different options) and were very pleased with our choices. Will definitely plan to eat here again when back in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Delicious meal! I had the BBQ pork chop, my wife had the grouper. Their house wine is excellent. Service was great. We were seated in a semi-private room, so it was quiet although the place was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Always great food and drink. Service was phenomenal this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Food, wine and Service was amazing as always, I have never had a bad ANYTHING there. Already can't wait to go back next month!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Had a delicious meal with friends at Cooper’s Hawk. We had a nice bottle of wine and conversation. Wanted to highly commend our server, Emily! She was attentive, efficient, and friendly! Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Great food. Good ingredients. Mike, our server, was perfect. Paced the meal well, was there when we needed him. Great Monday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2018

We are Wine Club members and go to this Cooper's all the time. For lunch and dinner, it's one of our all time favorite restaurants.
We had an EXCEPTIONALLY great server this time. His name was Mike. We were there on Monday, January 8th at 5:30. (For Double Points promotion :))
Mike was so awesome, I just had to leave a note. He was relaxed, giving us the perfect amount of attention. He was very charming and funny. We just had an awesome experience with him.
We go to Cooper's at least twice a month. I'm hoping he's there on our next visit so we can request him.
:)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2018

The food was perfect, presentation, taste and temperature. Our server was incredible Took good care of our entire party

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Excellent food. Chicken madieri my current favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Cooper's Hawk last night. Great experience. The food was outstanding . I recommend the skirt steak. My wife had the medallions of beef and was very happy with her choice. Reservations are highly recommended. There was still quite accelerate 8:30 when we were seated. Cooper's Hawk remains a must visit for future dinner choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Cooper's Hawk is frequently our restaurant of choice for special occasions, but even for the occasional lunch or dinner out "just because". We have always had great service, and are big fans of the shrimp & lobster bisque. Some of the entres are a little spicey for my wife's taste, but she can always find something to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

This was one of the best meals we have eaten there. Food is always good, but thos latest meal was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Amazing food and good prices. Love the tasting room. Be sure to have reservations for dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Cosmo and Vodka martini to start was good. BBQ short ribs was best at our table followed by Jumbalaya and then Parma cheese coated Chicken. Chicken was over done and had to be returned with no great improvement. Older diner didn't like the al dente green beans. Desserts were ok, chocolate coated strawberry and variation of banana Foster.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Excellent service and wonderful food. We are regulars for girls get togethers and special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Menu doesn’t flow. There’s a lot more food options that are Asian inspired and somehow there’s pasta, burgers, and a seafood section. We had calamari as an appetizer and ended up tasting like orange chicken with the sauce being used and how it was fried. I used to love this place but it’s become a disappointment with a confusing menu.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We had a great time and the food was awesome. However upon booking with open table I checked the box asking if it was a special occasion. We were out to dinner celebrating our anniversary with my family. The waitress brought over two glasses of sparkling wine and a dessert for us and told us Happy Anniversary. The only problem is that we didn’t order any of that but we paid for it as the wine and dessert showed up on our bill. And here we thought the restaurant was just being nice...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Our server was fantastic!! So nice and accommodating. They stayed open later to celebrate New Years which was nice. Wish I knew when booking that they were trying to close at 11:30. The hostess was very rude though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2018

NYE. It was great as usual. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve celebration. A perfect place to celebrate. It was packed which caused minor deficiency’s in service. Very minor, even expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Even though we were late on New Year's Eve the staff was courteous and our table was waiting for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Dining experience was excellent as this is our favorite place.

Only drawback was the wait in the wine shop to get a carryout. We wound up leaving without a wine purchase because of the wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.