Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (141)
Special Occasion (132)
Good for a Date (131)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (116)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Great for Lunch (98)
Casual (96)
Good for Groups (88)
Romantic (65)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Fun (62)
Business Meals (60)
Worth the Drive (59)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Modern Decor (53)
Bar Seating (46)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Comfort Food (44)
Tasting Menu (43)
Healthy (42)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Hot Spot (34)
Cozy (32)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Outstanding Value (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Gluten Free Options (26)
Happy Hour (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Private Room (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Family Style (18)
Authentic (18)
Seasonal (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
People Watching (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Great Beer (5)
Fireplace (5)
Live Sports (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Lisa was our waitress and was a total gem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food! Pricy and noisy but very good. Service was great too!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great for a special event with friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always outstanding. They were very busy Wednesday night but the service was still very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was perfect........not only the food and presentation, but our server, Joe was great!
Attentive without being annoying. The selection on the menu is great......something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Waitress was uninterested inattentive

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I'm always pleased with the food and I never saw a restaurant that was so busy all the time.
It"s hard to get a reservation for the time that you want it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My favorite place for the past few year. Their wine club is the best!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for my moms birthday and asked for a bottle of prosecco to be waiting on the table. When I called ahead, the staff could not have been happier and willing to help. So nice. Our server was extraordinary, friendly and great suggestions but not overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My mentally handicapped daughters favorite place to eat

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Would have given 5 star across the board but my wifes filet medallions were tough to chew which is not typical.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Got seated almost 45min after reservation time for a birthday dinner. Why make a reservation then? Service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Probably my number one pick for quality food and excellent service. South Berrington location is perfect in every way. The food is incredible

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have visited this location several times and it never disappoints. Whether we are with our children or just my husband and I, we always have exceptional service, food, and wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always a great experience here. The food is fresh and cooked to perfection. The service is impeccable; ambience cozy and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great service and unique specials other than what is on the menu. Lively atmosphere. Consistent quality of food and great portions. Great value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great GNO!!! Fab reunion with friends, great wine and delicious dinner!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Delicious food, great Lux Cab wine, friendly server ... fun.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Never fails to deliver great food and service. Good variety on the menu, also.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always great ambiance, service, food, and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Prompt seating, good food and service. Noise level a bit high.
Good place to meet with friends for food and drink.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome place to eat and taste wine .can reserve table on line and get a text when it's ready .

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been going for years being a wine club member is awesome never disappointed always love going here! Our favorite go-to place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service we received from Emily R was excellent, especially her detailed descriptions of a few of the dishes we were interested in trying. I chose the Spaghetti and Meatballs, for the first time at Cooper's Hawk, and it was delicious. My friend enjoyed the Gnocci and it was very good too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Emily was wonderful, and helped in us having a relaxed Sunday afternoon lunch together. The Prime sandwich was outstanding and will be ordering it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great place, great food and great wine. The food is outstanding and the service is always very good. Can be loud at times but that adds to the experience.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

U always enjoy my experience here, form the wine to the dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waiter Joe was very professional and informative. Everyone was very Friendly. The food and wine is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Really off night for one of our favorite places. Usually stellar drinks not so good. Food cooked wrong. Got replaced when everyone else finished already. Ona good note the chicken pot stickers are off the hook good, but not a good night. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service Theresa was excellent server who was extremely friendly and knew her stuff!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Coopers Hawk in South Barrington always delivers great service along with delicious meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

CH is always wonderful for special occasions! The food & drinks were outstanding as usual.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We were disappointed to see the dish ware & silverware were dirty. We ordered a bottle of wine and the server brought us a dirty wine glass. At the very least the plate and utensils you eat the well prepared foods should be clean.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Enjoyed a great lunch and glass of red wine along with a mini dessert with a friend. Was not rushed and had a great waitress.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server, Ross, was great...he made our 40th wedding anniversary dinner a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I wish there was most space in the wine tasting area. Even seating would be nice. Seems it is always busy and we always have to fight for a spot. Otherwise this place is a family favorite. Great wine and selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

All good all good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was our first time there and we'll be going back. The food was delicious, as well as the specialty cocktails. But, the best part of our evening was our server Laura. She took the time to explain the menu to us, we never had to "find" her, she was very attentive and made the overall experience a pleasure!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food with great service. The wine tasting was great. Our server made terrific meal recommendations and we didn't have to wait a long time for it to come.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.