Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (173)
Special Occasion (163)
Good for a Date (153)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (137)
Good for Birthdays (133)
Casual (102)
Great for Lunch (101)
Good for Groups (92)
Fun (91)
Business Meals (79)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Worth the Drive (70)
Romantic (66)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Comfort Food (49)
Tasting Menu (49)
Sunday Lunch (49)
Bar Seating (48)
Healthy (46)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Happy Hour (41)
Hot Spot (41)
Cozy (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Kid-friendly (27)
Gluten Free Options (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Authentic (25)
Quick Bite (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Seasonal (17)
People Watching (16)
Disabled Access (15)
Modern Decor (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great Beer (7)
Private Room (6)
Spicy (4)
Family Style (4)
Vegan (4)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was very nice, patient and accommodating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, People Watching, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary tonight and they gave us a champagne toast and chocolate covered strawberries for dessert. The waitstaff is always kind. Tonight was no exception. From food recommendations to being a kind and lovely woman, we were so happy with everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We got there about 15 min prior to our reservation and were promptly seated. Our waiter was very attentive and the food was excellent. Try their bacon wrapped shrimp appetizer as it was divine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a good time...one of ok my family's favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

took 30 minutes after reservation to get seated, so that wasnt good otherwise excellent food waiter not real attentive

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been wine members for about 2 years. Love everything about it, rarely disappointed!!! Great food, wine, service, and atmosphere!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food great wine great service. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience! We love the food and service. Always great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this restaurant. The food is always delicious and the service is prompt and polite. They have a lighter menu in addition to the regular one, that is wonderful. I had the Chicken Picatta and was amazed at the service size vs the calorie count. It was delicious and quite the value!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Not our first time here. I love their food. Always well prepared. Portion size if generous. Our server brought us complimentary sparkling wine for our Anniversary celebration.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We enjoyed wine tasting first and then a pleasant dinner sitting out on the patio. A very nice atmosphere and makes us feel like we are on vacation. We have also enjoyed meeting new people and sharing stories during wine tastings. Good for a small group gathering to taste wine and enjoy dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Whenever a restaurant pours "go juice" which is a butter sauce over everything you know its not gonna be that great. It is a chain so I cant expect much. Very average food for not so average prices. I would not get fish here! Save your money and go to Joes Stone instead, it may cost more but so worth it! Very loud and hectic for a dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great! Always a good meal. Always great wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Lots of kids for a Saturday evening. Running around bumping into chairs and generally making for a disturbing atmosphere for dinner. Management should try and separate adults looking forward to a nice dinner from families who allow their kids to run loose.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have tried many different items on the menu and tried different wines and I have never had a bad meal at Cooper's hawk

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have been a member for about 5 years now and have never been disappointed with a visit. The menu offers something for everyone and is always satisfying. The South Barrington location is the one I visit most frequently and they make you feel very welcome and comfortable. I always recommend this restaurant when someone is looking for a restaurant to check out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, drink and service! Awesome birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I hate to say, I still love the wine but I think they have become too commercialized. The food is not quality and the service is way less personal then it used to be. I had the mushroom crusted chicken and it was as if it was cooked from frozen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Delicious as always and Laura and her wait staff were awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Good friends good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Friends birthday celebration. We had reservations and they quickly sat us down. Our server was Lisa. She was super busy but her service to our table was very attentive. Refilled our drinks, coffee quickly, talked and answered our questions like we were her only customers. I wanted to give her a special out because we all know a great server makes your meal even better. Thanks Lisa.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Another great meal at CoopersHawk! Soup, salad and appetizers were our lunch choices today and we were not disappointed. Service was excellent, as always.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Five of us in all and everything was fabulous! We had a reservation, got seated right away and had the best server. Food was excellent. I had the grouper. Two of our group had never been to Cooper's Hawk and left as returning customers. I highly recommend your restaurant and will return soon!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was a great dining experience. Had a wonderful server named Maria and she always making sure we were doing fine. Short Ribs are to die for and the Key Lime pie is a great dessert to share.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Nicely unique. Great wine selection. We were there at 3:00 to 5:30 on a Tuesday and they were consistently busy. Tells me it's popular.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great tasting food
Waiter was fantastic ! Prices were just right.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server was wonderful. The wine and pasta was delicious! It's always a special occasion when we dine at Cooper's Hawk.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

we really enjoyed our lunch...the waitress was so nice!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent service, amazing food, highly recommend to family and friends, made our 1st anniversary extremely special

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We are frequent diners at Cooper's Hawk and it is always a great experience! The food is delicious and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable! Totally worth the 20 minute drive!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

this is a wonderful restaurant!!! on always wonderful menu, service and attention to detail!
There is one thing that bugs me and it's not this restaurant but when a restaurant says dress is business casual that does not mean cut off shorts and a t-shirt or sweat pant and a tank top!
Cooper Hawks is a classy place respect them and dress with some class!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have gone to this Copper's hawk location numerous times but this time we were not happy with our meals. My wife and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary the server didn't ask why we there. He did ask if this was our first visit. I typically order the Trio of Medallions and my wife will have the Chicken Madeira but we decided to switch it up. I ordered Pretzel incrusted pork chop and my wife ordered the chicken special for the night I can't remember the name of it but we there Aug 5th. I thought the pork chop was over cooked and burnt and my was disappeared with the special. It was crowded but this location is always. We were seated 10-15 pasted our reservation time. I am hoping this was just an off night or maybe have learned not to venture from what is good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wine is always good, food is much better than years ago, great staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very expensive and small portions. Soup had a plastic tab to Cook meat in the cup. Told manager who didn't appear to be concerned and only gave us a comp cut of soup. Said he would tell the Cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I arrived five minutes early and I was told by the hostess that the people at our table were just served dessert. The hostess told me she would text me when our table was ready in Randall's section. Still at 5:15 we weren't seated at our table. I asked to speak with the manager because my husband was getting really upset because I made a reservation for our 32nd wedding anniversary. The manager came by and told me that he would ask Randall if he would take an extra table. Why!! They should have put the people at another location since I had a reservation. Why make a reservation if we are going through this. Thank god Randall accepted another table. We are registered at open table and are wine members. Randall did provide us excellent service. I noticed a=our visit a bridal party arrived and they were seated right away. I want answers from this mishap. I money an issue if so that is discrimnation.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Organic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food AND service was GREAT as usual (2 thumbs up...maybe 3 thumbs :-) )

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always consistently delicious food and great options. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Coopers Hawk in South Barrington is one of our favorite restaurants. We can always depend on good service along with delicious menu choices.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Vegan, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We gathered to celebrate our late Dad's first birthday in heaven. Coopers Hawk was one of his favorite restaurants. Our waitress Shawna was very sweet, she suggested we set a place at the table for Dad and brought him a wine glass as well as plate and silverware. She took such care and showed such kindness toward my mom who just 8 months ago suddenly lost her life partner and best friend. The food was fabulous, the wine wonderful but Shawna stood out, a light on a day of both sadness and celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

One of my absolute favorite places to go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.