Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.58mi
  4. Distance: 2.64mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 836-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (152)
Good for a Date (140)
Special Occasion (140)
See All
Good for Birthdays (115)
Good for Anniversaries (113)
Great for Lunch (103)
Casual (94)
Good for Groups (88)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Fun (68)
Business Meals (63)
Romantic (63)
Worth the Drive (62)
Modern Decor (54)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Bar Seating (52)
Sunday Lunch (50)
Healthy (46)
Tasting Menu (45)
Comfort Food (44)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Hot Spot (32)
Gluten Free Options (31)
Cozy (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Happy Hour (24)
Outstanding Value (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Private Room (21)
Authentic (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Late-night Find (17)
People Watching (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Family Style (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Seasonal (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Fireplace (6)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 10 hours ago

Scot was a good waiter. We enjoyed the new menu, especially the short rib risotto! We also returned to our usual favorite appetizers, the drunken shrimp and the egg rolls. As wine club members we had the Intercontinental red, which paired nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Favorite place for a night out!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Cooper's Hawk in South Barrington never fails to provide excellent service along with an outstanding menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Each time we have eaten here we have loved the food, drinks & service. This location is on my list of "Go to" places.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our waitress was very accommodating, always there for us. Our reservation was for Easter and it was so nice that the restaurant was only taking reservations so it wasn't crowded and we weren't rushed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing, i love this place. It has never let me down. Great drinks, great food, great atmosphere.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were a little disappointed that we said we were celebrating a friend's birthday who was joining us. The waiter acknowledged that when we sat down (with a gift) asking whose birthday we were celebrating, yet he neglected to bring the celebration "treat" that Cooper's Hawk always brings to the birthday person. Maybe they have stopped doing this???

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and service. Never change, Cooper's Hawk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a big group here for my birthday this past weekend. Everything was excellent from the food to our service. We had Ross P. as our server who was awesome! I will be requesting him again!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great Girls day out!
Our server Gerardo was Fabulous ! Meals and wine were scrumptious! Thank you Cooper's Hawk for a lovely time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoy the wine tasting atmosphere with good food and service.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

very noisy and very hard to do any tasting due to the large number of people in the area to taste the wine. very slow service in the area of the bar. food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great wine selection and really good food, pair for a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner! Best salmon around! Highly recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always good food, but this time around, we really enjoyed the short rib risotto as well as the gnocchi with short ribs. We also had exceptional service. A very enjoyable dinner with our daughter and her boyfriend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Tia was great server! Love Cooper's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We have eaten here before and enjoyed our meals. Today, however, the food was quite salty and sauces were way too rich. As a result, we passed on the desserts and left sooner than expected. It may be some time before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Lunch date with my hubby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful- always wonderful. Food is never disappointing and the service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was delicious as always. Our serve was amazing and very knowledgable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We dine here monthly and always enjoy the experience. The two bottle a month wine club is what draws us in every month. Very good value!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always great as expected

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had to wait forever for our meal. We had 4'oclock reservations, so it wasn't that crowded. The waitress apologized and said there was a problem with the kitchen. When our meals finally showed up, they were look warm at best - we were so hungry at this point, we just ate them. We had a child with us, her hamburger was almost raw. Then, the waiter next to our table spilled wine and it got on her backpack. Finally the waitress gave us the wrong leftover meals, she gave mine to my friend, and my friends to me. I have been at this Coopershawk before, but I don't think I will go back - service was not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food & service! I meet friends here regularly & always a great experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice place to enjoy some wine and good food with the wife.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food and ambiance is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Ross was great! Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Service was poor...didn't get the bread and butter when we ordered and had to wait to get refills on our beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary. Our server was fantastic! Another server we know came over to talk and brought us blanc de blanc to toast our anniversary. A truly wonderful experience!!!! We always love coming here, but this made it extra special!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good vibe. Gets crowded and then loud. Makes conversation more challenged. Service was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Server, Mike, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I wish I could remember our server's name. He had the perfect mix of giving us space and being attentive to our needs. The salmon was excellent and everything was great! highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Coopers Hawk never disappoints. Menu items are all outstanding and they have a great selection for the health conscious. Their wine selection is exceptional and a great value.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We were seated in a drafty part of the restaurant and we asked our server if we she could kindly request we be moved into the main dining area. Without delay she had us moved to a very nice booth and she was willing to give up our table and lost the serving opportunity. And the server we had was just as gracious and customer friendly. Very positive experience because of the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Good dining, nice selection for appetizers and main courses. Prompt and courteous wait-staff. Went for a birthday dinner/celebration.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food wasn't that great, my steak was fatty and my husband's moscato was very flat and bland. The server was great, disappointed with this location's food, drinks etc

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was great as always . Tasting room a little crowded

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great night as always. Provided sparkling blank de blanc for our anniversary!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was good as usual. I am always impressed with everything here, but this time, service was terrible. We spent almost two hours at the table and I can count on one hand how many times we saw our waitress and that includes paying for our bill. We never once got our water refilled and when we were done with our meals, we had our plates sit in front of us for over 15 minutes. Throughly disappointed this time, but I guess you can't win them all.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Most come for the wine, we come for the food. Very good experience all the way around.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.