About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8478369463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Contemporary American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
5 More
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Value
Northwest Suburbs
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in South Barrington ›

Notable Wine List (275)
Special Occasion (271)
Good for Groups (209)
See All
Great for Lunch (176)
Fit for Foodies (167)
Romantic (107)
Hot Spot (87)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
Great for Outdoor Dining (78)
Vibrant Bar Scene (65)
Kid-friendly (43)
Late-night Find (33)
Great for Brunch (21)
Scenic View (16)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was excellent! Her ryrhym fro ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was excellent! Her ryrhym from order taking to food delivery to water refill etc was spot on - she waited for a moment for break in our conversation before interrupting us and removed out plates after all parties at the table were finished. Food extremely tasty however portions on the small side per cost. Can't get enough of the shaved Brussel sprout salad!

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for a relaxing special occas ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for a relaxing special occasion meal. Staff couldn't be any more friendly, went out of their way in many little ways to provide a little something extra.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was cold and my order was wrong. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was cold and my order was wrong. We never saw our waitress.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Tia was a wonderful server and was very ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tia was a wonderful server and was very attentive but not pushy. The server at the wine bar was also very friendly and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. Service was ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was outstanding. Service was excellent. This remains our favorite go-to restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delicious meal and wine!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a delicious meal and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coopers Hawk in the Arboretum of South B ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Coopers Hawk in the Arboretum of South Barrington never fails to serve the delicious food with great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very good experience with good foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had a very good experience with good food and atmosphere. Service was slower than usual.

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Really enjoyed the Thai Chicken Wraps a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyed the Thai Chicken Wraps and the Roasted Vegetable and Goat Cheese Flatbread. Both great appetizers paired with some Cabernet Souvignon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food, service and ambience was excellent ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food, service and ambience was excellent. We asked for a booth and were quickly seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cool place. Love the way they serve the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Cool place. Love the way they serve the wine with the aerator and decanter. Food really good. It's quite noisy so hard to have conversation at times. I'll still go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date spot or just getting together ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great date spot or just getting together with friends. I totally recommend the wine tasting before dinner. Great wine selection and the food is good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, Cooper's Hawk lives up to ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Once again, Cooper's Hawk lives up to our expectations. The menu is varied, good specials, service excellent and price point good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ashley was our server for the night. And ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Ashley was our server for the night. And she did a great job taking care of my wife and I. We even mentioned we have been celebrating her birthday all weekend long, and when we ordered our dessert she placed a candle in her creme brule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Still my favorite restaurant! Never hav ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Still my favorite restaurant! Never have had a bad experience here. The food and wine are great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our service was excellent with Amber. Si ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our service was excellent with Amber. Since we are wine club members, we were able to bring in our monthly release with no corkage fee. When two members of our party asked to split an entree, it was divided ahead of time and served to each of them separately. Since we were celebrating a special occasion, a celebratory complimentary truffle and chocolate covered strawberry were brought to the table at the end of the meal. Delicious appetizers and dinner. Looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk was good the first time, a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cooper's Hawk was good the first time, and has been good every time. Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for Sunday lunch. Outdoor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were there for Sunday lunch. Outdoor table. It would be even nicer if they had screening plants/trees/shrubbery along the south parking lot side. In addition to umbrellas at most tables, one large free-standing umbrella was inexplicably placed in middle of patio, providing shade for...no tables. Food was good. Chopped salad & burger, which was ordered medium rare but arrived medium well. Key lime truffle was just right.

Online reservation was effortless, but had to call Cooper's anyway to request outdoor table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined at Coopers Hawk for our 25th Weddi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dined at Coopers Hawk for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Wine was wonderful and the staff provided champagne to toast our anniversary. We felt well taken care of. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the large portion appitizers, ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Enjoyed the large portion appitizers, everything is perfect for sharing. Brandon our server was very attentive yet mindful of pacing the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best filet I have ever had and the A ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The best filet I have ever had and the Au Jus is to die for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're regulars at Cooper's Hawk. Service ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We're regulars at Cooper's Hawk. Service is typically fast but this time around we waited 45 mins before our food had finally arrived. I almost left the restaurant. Food remains consistently good but the long wait detracted from the food. Was not a great overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

We love this place! :) We are members of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love this place! :) We are members of the wine club and I can't wait to collect our wine every month and eat out! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure dining at Cooper's Haw ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at Cooper's Hawk the Steak and Potatoes only take a back seat to the wine. The place is always hoping weather eating in the bar or the main dining room, although I prefer the barrel room.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got sat right away with our reservati ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We got sat right away with our reservations which was very nice bc we have eaten at this location a lot and had reservations but still waited a long time to get sat. Service was very speedy as well. We love the food and wine here and always love going but it definitely seemed more organized so I wonder if they have newer management. We also got two glasses of champagne comped bc it was our anniversary which was a really nice surprise. Had a great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are members over at Cooper's Hawk and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We are members over at Cooper's Hawk and are always impressed by the food and service, but this time they went ABOVE AND BEYOND. It was our anniversary so they brought out comp champagne. They also noticed on our membership card that it was my husbands birthday and brought out a free dessert. The waitress truly made us feel special and the food was delicious. Will continue to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coopers Hawk never fails to bring excell ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Coopers Hawk never fails to bring excellent service, food and ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are wine members and we keep coming b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We are wine members and we keep coming back.

1. Great service

2. Food is delicious, never been disappointed

3. Great selection of wine and sangria

4. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The manager, Alex, and or server, Randal ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The manager, Alex, and or server, Randall, gave us the most memorable and generous post-wedding meal! Thank you so much!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an enjoyable experience, visiting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had an enjoyable experience, visiting with dear friends we have not seen in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my boyfriend here on 8/7/16 to ce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I took my boyfriend here on 8/7/16 to celebrate his birthday. The food was amazing (as always), my wine was great and our server, Brandon was the best! He made everything perfect for my boyfriends birthday from food and wine recommendations to bringing the chocolate cake that I pre-ordered at just the right time. I have been to other Coopers Hawk locations and have always been happy, this one did not disappoint either! It was my boyfriends first time here and he loved it. We will be back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right away. Our server wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were seated right away. Our server was exceptional. She helped with our selections. Our food was brought out fast and our dishes were taken away fast. Restaurant was crowded but didn't seem loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went there for my birthday. Food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went there for my birthday. Food was excellent at lunch. Will go back again for dinner.

Looking forward to the one opening in St. Charles next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I don't like the way they changed the Ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I don't like the way they changed the Caesar salad. Their dressing used to be a lovely light dressing that wasn't too heavy and had a little something different because it was basil based I think. Now it is just another over drenched Caesar salad. And the traditional bruschetta needs help too. I usually love CH and I was quite disappointed. The manager took off the bruschetta and salad. I am a picky eater and the bruschetta was decidedly not to my palate but the Caesar salad I am truly bummed about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent friendly & professional servic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent friendly & professional service. Good menu choices, including gluten-free options. Wait staff attentive without being too much. Hot food served hot and nice presentation. Coopers Hawk -- one of my favorite places to dine out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was very nice and attending a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our server was very nice and attending at all times! We sat outside and it was pretty warm. Needed more of those really big umbrellas that can cover the whole table. I've never eaten there for lunch, Food was good, but didn't thrill me. Need more lunch specials. Only had a BBQ sandwich and I don't like BBQ.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Was amazing! Really love sitting on the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Was amazing! Really love sitting on the patio when it's not to busy. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The amount of service you receive is out ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The amount of service you receive is outstanding at every visit! From wine samples when you walk in to the good wishes farewell, all wonderful people, wine, prices, and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.