About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8478369463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Contemporary American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
6 More
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Value
Northwest Suburbs
Great for Lunch
Northwest Suburbs
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in South Barrington ›

notable wine list (283)
special occasion (280)
good for groups (230)
See All
great for lunch (185)
fit for foodies (184)
romantic (118)
hot spot (93)
neighborhood gem (74)
vibrant bar scene (71)
great for outdoor dining (53)
kid-friendly (41)
late-night find (36)
great for brunch (27)
scenic view (15)
Sort By:
Newest
1258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the wine is amazing and the short ...

Dined 3 days ago

All of the wine is amazing and the short rib risotto is DELICIOUS!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my birthday and had gre ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went here for my birthday and had great service and a nice big table in a good location. The food was delicious, including the dessert. My 9 year old son was with us too and the service for him was great too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outdoor dining at its finest!

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Outdoor dining at its finest!

food5
ambience4
service5

The roasted vegetable goat cheese flat b ...

Dined 5 days ago

The roasted vegetable goat cheese flat bread was KILLER!! The wasabi buttered potatoes were an unexpected pleasure. Our server was simply phenomenal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a member I've visited many times with ...

Dined 6 days ago

As a member I've visited many times with adults but this time my 11 year old daughter accompanied me & I was pleasantly surprised at the courtesy & attentiveness she received. The children's menu was impressive as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great event; great service; great food. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great event; great service; great food. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a pleasant experience at any of t ...

Dined 7 days ago

Always a pleasant experience at any of the Cooper's Hawk locations. This is the first time we've been able to sit outside, and the service was a little spotty, perhaps because the server and busboys were busy inside? Also, strange things, e.g., wife asked for a water, he brought her a glass of water, nothing for anyone else; when glasses for our cocktails were empty, no questioning if we wanted another; busboy wouldn't clear dirty dinnerware off of table after each course, we had to start piling it on the table next to us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service was great. Didn't like the ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Food, service was great. Didn't like the Key Lime Pie served in a glass. Too much graham cracker crust and whip cream than key lime. Alerted Abel, our server our dislike of the dessert. He insisted we choose another dessert to take home. What a guy. So sweet. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always get great service and food at t ...

Dined 7 days ago

I always get great service and food at this location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you like wine this is a great place t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

If you like wine this is a great place to go. Food was fantastic

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a perfect setting with great ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, a perfect setting with great food and wine. Never disappointed. Also the staff is delightful. Pleasant, and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was ok but the menu was limited ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was ok but the menu was limited for those of us who don't like mustard or pepper rubs.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic waiter, William. He w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a fantastic waiter, William. He was super attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. At the end of our dinner, he brought us over two glasses of champagne as an anniversary gift along with a chocolate covered strawberry and truffle. I would ask for him again. I pulled the manager over to tell him what great service we received.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Gerardo really made our lunch ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Our server Gerardo really made our lunch perfect. The food was great along with the wine , but the service was something to brag about!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

great food. Server was a bit overwhelmed ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

great food. Server was a bit overwhelmed, but she was always smiling!!!! It was extremely busy!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always a great time.good wines and great ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

always a great time.good wines and great food fantastic friendly service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is wonderfu ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I love this place. The food is wonderful, service is very good, and they offer wine for every palate. Parking is an adventure thankfully they do offer valet parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I dined here for the first t ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife and I dined here for the first time in about three years for our anniversary. We really enjoyed the ability to have a wine tasting while we waited for our table. We usually are a bit skeptical about the quality of wines at restaurants that make their own, but we were quite happy with several varieties that we tried. Enough that we decided to join the wine club. Food was very good, and service was just right, with the server attentive but not overbearing. I'll make sure I don't wait another three years to come back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 54th wedding ann ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were celebrating our 54th wedding anniversary. Imagine our surprise when we were presented with complimentary glasses of champagne. Our waiter, Nate, helped in making our evening absolutely outstanding. We loved the food and the atmosphere. This was not our first time at this restaurant nor will be be our last.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasion

Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful experience for daughter-in-laws birthday. Weekday evening was appropriate for entire family. Server was great and very attentive. Definitely would recommend and go back. As usual, wine selection was great a delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Anniversary

Dined on June 8, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was our first visit to this delightful restaurant. The service was attentive without being overbearing. Food was wonderful (salmon was incredible), wine ditto.... Even in the middle of the week it was busy, so make reservations for sure! The place is busy for a reason...a wonderful ambiance and dining experience! Although a little more a expensive than our usual evening out, it was great value for the price -- and there were some less expensive options on the menu than we chose. Wonderful place to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, etc. Some of the best white zinfandel I have ever had, and my husband also enjoyed the house ale. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

WONDERFUL PATIO WONDERFUL SERVICE

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

WONDERFUL PATIO WONDERFUL SERVICE

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant . This particula ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

My favorite restaurant . This particular day was for a birthday and I had requested a quiet area which did not happen however but the overall experience did not disappoint at all. Great Food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this month's wine special... a red ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Love this month's wine special... a red blend they call "BDX" can't wait to get more!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for our anniversary and decided ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We came for our anniversary and decided to order a few wine flights. Our servers was super helpful with picking out my customized flight, and even brought a sample to try before getting a whole glass. We ended up buying a bottle of our favorite before we left!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and wine.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Delicious food and wine.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great restaurant, great chain

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have had nothing but wonderful experiences with the Cooper's Hawk chain, and the Barrington location was no exception. Friendly and professional, manager attended to groups and wait staff was very attentive. Love the wines from CH and love the Sangria selections! They had me at hot pretzel rolls...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific spot for graduation lunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Cooper's Hawk was able to handle several large groups post-graduation with no delays or decline in service. Our server was excellent, there when we needed her but not intrusive. I liked being able to order a lunch-size portion. Everyone enjoyed their entrees, and I wish we had saved room for dessert! Highly recommend for a group and/or a special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best "go-to"

Dined on June 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The wine flight was absolutely fabulous. Waitstaff was timely prompt and considerate. When I asked about vegetarian options she pulled a card out for me to read that had all the vegetarian food in one spot. I love this place .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is so good!!! The server Lisa was ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is so good!!! The server Lisa was awsome!!! An asset to your team! And as always ... The wine was amazing 😊 we are wine club members and really enjoy Cooper's Hawk wine!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Over rated wine and food

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Had to send back first glass of red wine--musty taste. Food was just fair and not worth the value. Also felt the wine was average at best. This was our second try. We will not return. Good service. Higher than expected noise level. Overall not a good experience

food4
ambience4
service4

It's was high school graduation. Althoug ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

It's was high school graduation. Although we were tight fitting the service and food were what you would normally expect. It was a great night and dealt with allergy very well. Nice job Cooper's hawk

food4
ambience4
service4

Current menu is great. Bring back pear s ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Current menu is great. Bring back pear salad. Bring back scallops. Create more fish options. Create more shrimp options like grilled shrimp.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food, and weather!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent service, food, and weather!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time visit

Dined on June 2, 2016

I had never been to Cooper's Hawk before and I had received a gift certificate for the restaurant so I took my friend there for his birthday. Food was above average, our wait staff girl was attentive, pleasant and of curse, wine knowledgeable. I would certainly return for another lunch or dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great appetizers

Dined on June 1, 2016

If I were to go back I would get 2-3 appetizers and skip the main course. The appetizers were great. I had a filet mignon, although it was prepared well the portion size was probably 3-4oz. That I felt was a lot for $33. We went there for our anniversary and had never been. It seems to be a great atmosphere to go with a group of friends vs. a quiet romantic atmosphere. We were there on a Wednesday evening and it was hopping.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The menu and service are always exceptional. Cooper's Hawk in South Barrington never fails to meet our expectations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

review

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I both ordered gnocchi and it came burned.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Tuna was perfectly cooked.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food! Tuna was perfectly cooked.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service here is always superb, the waite ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service here is always superb, the waiters take the time to make sure you have everything you need. It is our favorite place to dine!!!! And the food is awesome.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.