About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8478369463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
4 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Value
Northwest Suburbs
Great for Lunch
Northwest Suburbs
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in South Barrington ›

notable wine list (307)
special occasion (303)
good for groups (247)
See All
great for lunch (194)
fit for foodies (192)
romantic (148)
hot spot (106)
neighborhood gem (87)
vibrant bar scene (75)
great for outdoor dining (46)
kid-friendly (39)
great for brunch (34)
late-night find (34)
scenic view (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was good and service excellent. ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was good and service excellent. A little noisy

food5
ambience5
service5

The goat cheese and veggie flat bread wa ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The goat cheese and veggie flat bread was excellent. Everything was great.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great as always best calamari you will g ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great as always best calamari you will get anywhere

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter was great, nicely explained that ...

Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was great, nicely explained that they don't do wine upgrades anymore at the table. Got our table in-time, got a space at the tasting bar, overall a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Had 4 great meals with wonderful service on a special day!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome awesome awesome

Dined on May 18, 2016

Awesome awesome awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

Dined on May 17, 2016

Cooper's Hawk is always a great time. The wine, food and desserts are wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Ross really made the experien ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Our server Ross really made the experience great. His recommendation for the cashew grouper was delicious and paired well with the Unoaked Chardonnay. He was able to talk us into house made Chocolate cake for dessert and it did not disappoint! We look forward to coming back for patio season soon.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food came out immediately after our ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food came out immediately after our salads which also came out super fast

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a great place for our famil ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is such a great place for our family and friends...I have lost count on the number of visits we have made...and NEVER a dissapointment! We'll be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food and wine all pro ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Consistently great food and wine all provided with outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We came for a late lunch with a good fri ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We came for a late lunch with a good friend. Calamari was very good with a Asian sweetness and a crust that was almost tempura like. My wife had the halibut as did my friend and both thought it was very good. Portion were fair sized and a fair value. We had wine by the glass a P/G and a S/B both were very good and priced well. I would go again without question.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Coopershawk is always consis ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food at Coopershawk is always consistent it's always very good that's why we keep going back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal food

Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere is perfect and the food is phenomenal. I love the concept of placing the wine pairings on the menu. The staff is responsive and knowledgable and I haven't had a less than perfect experience yet. The best calamari and martinis I have ever had. The bar is great as well. My favorite restaurant, easily!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Copper's Hawk to celebrate our a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Copper's Hawk to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious. Our server Kashia(not sure about the spelling) was superb! She must have a second sense to what was needed and when. She was attentive without being interruptive. She knew the menu well and was able to answer our questions. If you can pick your server choose her! She made the dining experience perfect. The valet drivers were very busy, but pleasant. Not sure if management realized how busy the drivers were.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I had to wait 20-25 minutes after my res ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I had to wait 20-25 minutes after my reserved time. I don't know why anyone would even make reservations if you can't sit or at least be sat around the time reserved. I'm a loyal customer and wine club member and come on a regular basis. I've never had to wait more than 5 minutes passed my reserved time and this just seemed ridiculous. Very disappointed. I've worked in the service and food industry, so I understand if, but waiting as long as we did was unacceptable (mind you we were there 1.5 hours before reservations for wine tasting).

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant with great wines. W ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with great wines. We love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food - pricey though.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food - pricey though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

Dined on May 13, 2016

I've been to Coopers Hawk many times at several different locations and it is always consistently great food and service and don't forget the wine, especially the Cabernet Lux!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food but very noisy. Seemed expens ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food but very noisy. Seemed expensive for hamburger dinner. Should have sulfate free wine.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very nice = crowded, so a little hard t ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Very nice = crowded, so a little hard to hear all of our party when they were talking

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consustent!

Dined on May 8, 2016

CH is always very good - quality and value are right on and if you're a wine club member - all the better!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Too noisy to enjoy

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had the sad fortune of enduring our meal with a crowd of celebrating women. We think it was a wedding shower or bridal party celebration. We ended up eating half our food and leaving - just to escape the pain in our ears. Not a good experience for the price we paid and the hope we had of enjoying lovely meal celebrating our daughter's birthday. If you go know you will wait for a table and try to go during their off hours if you want to talk or not have to yell to hear each other. Not sure why they didn't put the group in a closed room. It was miserable. We are wine club members also.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food. Great wine. Great service. We love going to Cooper's Hawk and can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food you can never go wrong with t ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food you can never go wrong with their menu and great service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will go back again

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went for the girlfriend's birthday, just the two of us, sat in a booth across from a table of people of at least 10, it was a bit noisy, but it was friday night and we had fun. Made reservations on tuesday for friday, best time left was 845pm, so call or book online early for better time. Service was very good, food and prices your good as well. We didnt drink wine, but saw wine at most tables and had a wine tasting bar and store. On a warmer day, outside would have been nice too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Satisfied

Dined on May 3, 2016

Lisa Langfeld was a great server and we really enjoyed her service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Loved wine tasting- not too busy. The fo ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Loved wine tasting- not too busy. The food was great and we actually just decided on appetizers to split!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 2, 2016

My wife and I went to Cooper's Hawk to celebrate my birthday. We had several place we could have gone to, but we chose Cooper's Hawk because of previous experience. The food is always good, the ambiance is comfortable and the service excellent. Cooper's Hawk is always consistent in the service provided and that is one of the reasons we continue to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not Impressed

Dined on May 1, 2016

For the price there are much better restaurants. While I did like the look and feel of the Napa tasting room, the food and the wine did not live up to the price or expectations. The Appetizers were very good we had the Calamari which was cooked well with great flavors, Flat Bread was tasty not much you can do wrong, and the Mexican Drunken Shrimp - that seemed like that took frozen food and slapped it on some Guacamole, taste was ok. For the main course I had the crusted filet medallions - I requested them rare, they were closer to medium than rare and it seemed like all of the crusts were cooked separately and then placed on top it had a very manufactured look to it. again the flavor was OK. For what they charged for the meal it was very disappointing. I will not be returning there are better restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5

As long as you ask for Randall, there wi ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

As long as you ask for Randall, there will never be disappointment!! He's the only reason our group goes there on Sunday's.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper' Hawk never disappoints.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Cooper's Hawk never disappoints. The food and wine is always amazing. The service is prompt, friendly, and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our visit

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our visit was wonderful . The waitress was attentive , the food was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Was super crowded and noisy

Dined on April 30, 2016

Was super crowded and noisy

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are wine club members and have been r ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We are wine club members and have been regular monthly attendees for three years. Food is fabulous and fairly priced. Was disappointed to find out they removed cheese platter appetizer and turkey brie sandwich from menu. Favorites of ours. Manager Guillermo assured us that new menu items will be coming to replace a few of our favorites. We appreciated the conversation and honesty. Ashley did a great job as our server. We'll continue to support this fine establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Lux Pino Nior is very good.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Lux Pino Nior is very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on April 30, 2016

Made reservation online for a ladies dinner party. Wine tasting was great , dinner was wonderful. Had a great waiter. I travel up from Tennessee and always stop in. Only down fall is they no longer have the terragon scallops which was one of favorites . Otherwise perfect as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine Casual Dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food and service. We had a reservation for 6:30 but weren't seated until after 7:00. Manager came over immediately after being seated to apologize and offer us appetizer and dessert of our choice for the inconvenience. Genuine concern and handle very professionally. We will be going back again and recommending to others.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great

Dined on April 25, 2016

Our server was wonderful in explaining all of our questions about the Manu. She knew about the wine list an da very pleasant person. The food was great. We will defiantly come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.