About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

100 W. Higgins Rd
South Barrington, IL 60010
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Higgins and New Sutton Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 836-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8478369463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Thanksgiving with Cooper's Hawk. Reserve your table.

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - South Barrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Contemporary American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
6 More
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Value
Northwest Suburbs
Great for Lunch
Northwest Suburbs
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in South Barrington ›

Notable Wine List (247)
Special Occasion (235)
Good for Groups (164)
See All
Great for Lunch (154)
Fit for Foodies (136)
Romantic (103)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Hot Spot (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Vibrant Bar Scene (57)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Good for a Date (39)
Kid-friendly (33)
Casual (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Business Meals (22)
Fun (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Tasting Menu (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Cozy (12)
Scenic View (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (10)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wine tasting before dinner is a great wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wine tasting before dinner is a great way to start the evening. The servers, wine and food are fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were unable to get in for wine tastin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were unable to get in for wine tasting which was our plan. So amended that plan and then ordered the special for September. Very very bad recipe or possibly execution. The risotto was bland and although it did say that there were fresh vegetables I didn't expect a handful of corn in every bite which made the risotto difficult to eat. The peas and the asparagus pieces were wonderful but not enough of that just over done on corn and not even seasoned. First time ever I had a dish that I couldn't eat or even wanted to take home.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

We are Wine Club Members. Always a grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We are Wine Club Members. Always a great time, tasting then dinner. Food is excellent. Prices are acceptable. Monthly date night with my sweety...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food and wine. The service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the food and wine. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Short Rib Risotto was so delicious! Hubb ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Short Rib Risotto was so delicious! Hubby had he trio of filet medallions- and loved them. And our server was attentive and knowledgeable about pairing a wine with our meal. A very lovely dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food & wine were excellent but a bit pri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food & wine were excellent but a bit pricey. Service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the food here! Brought our in-la ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love the food here! Brought our in-laws for their first time and they were very pleased as well. We are existing wine club members and are always happy with service here so it was nice to see our family members enjoying it as much as we do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mustard pork chops were incredible ! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The mustard pork chops were incredible !

Gave us each a glass of complimentary bubbly for our anniversary

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing as always! You really can't go w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

amazing as always! You really can't go wrong here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I had been to this place before, m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

While I had been to this place before, my three friends had not. It was a wonderful, pleasant experience for us all! One of my friends was delighted to see a favorite entree featured on your menu. Our waitress was more than happy about letting us sample several wines before selecting our bottle. It was altogether an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful as always! If you haven't bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful as always! If you haven't been here or tried Cooper's Hawk, put it on your to do list, you are missing out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Coop ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Cooper's Hawk. The atmosphere was warm and intimate, the food was excellent and generous, and the service was outstanding. The gift shop always has a unique assortment of wine related products. The only negative was the limited space for wine tasting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Vegan, Casual, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Noise level too high conversation. Foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Noise level too high conversation. Food very good and service excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went for our anniversary. First time an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went for our anniversary. First time and the Mgr made us very comfortable as well as our waitress Nina. Explained how all the wine was from their winery only. Nice variety of entrees as well as lots of appetizers to pick from.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice to have a little larger ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It would be nice to have a little larger tasting area. ( maybe get rid of some of those tables in that area and have a sheet on each table of the products you're trying to sell - I think people would look at that while waiting for their food or drinks. You might actually sell more product )

Food has always been outstanding.

We have referred many friends whom have become members.

You have some very knowledgeable, friendly and personal staff that make us feel welcomed.

( Jen G., Ryan, Amy, Lindsey, Josh, Nick, Michelle)

Regards,

Pete Nardella

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It's our favorite place never been unhap ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

It's our favorite place never been unhappy! The food is great and the service is even better, and the wine is to die for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They missed my reservation upon check-in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

They missed my reservation upon check-in but we were still seated quickly; great service and enjoyed our meals. They always add some new creations to their menu which we like.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have a great experience at this r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always have a great experience at this restaurant and location. Service and food are fantastic! If anything, you HAVE to go for the wine!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal with great service, even let ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great meal with great service, even let us sit outside on a gorgeous evening although we did not have a reservation for outside. Very accomodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time! Received the booth I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had a great time! Received the booth I requested and had great, happy service. Our waitress went above and beyond. Not only added extras to our food free of charge (extra vegetables), but also gave us each a pretzel roll for the road!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gentleman at the wine tasting bar wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The gentleman at the wine tasting bar was very friendly and kind and our server was amazing. He even let us apply our Cupon after we forgot to tell him initially.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very very loud. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The restaurant was very very loud. The food was so-so. Our waiter was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

We had a party of six and were celebrati ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a party of six and were celebrating a birthday. We arrived on time. We were seated promptly. We enjoyed wine and appetizers. We ordered. The food arrived in a reasonable amount of time. It was delicious. We enjoyed dessert. Our service was good.

The bill was appropriate for a good meal and a nice atmosphere. We enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a snafu on check in and after 45 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a snafu on check in and after 45 Minutes I asked for a status and no one knew. I'm glad they just did the right thing and sat us than to continue waiting. While at the restaurant I received an Opentable note scolding me for missing my reservation. Management needs to get the hostess desk organized and working for that was the most disappointing experience that evening.

The food and its presentation was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious food and great place to be adv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious food and great place to be adventurous and try different wines. Great vegetarian options.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Patio great for a quick lunch. The chef ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Patio great for a quick lunch. The chef recommendation, lunch chicken pita amazing and generous portion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to share wine with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is a great place to share wine with friends. The food is great and service is phenomenal. I have eaten here several times with different groups. Each time a great experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The occasion was our 21st anniversary. W ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The occasion was our 21st anniversary. We have dined at Coopers Hawk on a couple previous occasions and are members of the wine club. As usual our dining experience was very good. We decided on the Calamari appetizer and the "Build Your Own Surf & Turf". Ordering separate options allowed us to share in the different tastes and flavors. All this great food accompanied by a great bottle of wine completed our "Date" night... We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Coopers Hawk, but it was cold wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We love Coopers Hawk, but it was cold within the dining room

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time was very nice from taste test ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

First time was very nice from taste testing different wines, the meal and dessert was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We used to really enjoy Cooper's Hawk. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We used to really enjoy Cooper's Hawk. There doesn't seem to be a good steak option for someone that enjoys a good steak any longer. They have taken the Strip Steak off the menu and there doesn't appear a worthy replacement. I had the skirt steak that was a good steak and well prepared. I typically think of a skirt steak as something I get with my eggs in the morning not with a nice glass of wine at dinner. With out a good strip steak or porterhouse on the menu we probably wont be heading back to Cooper's Hawk as our go to restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently good food and service. Ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Server knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Terrific in every way. Large menu at ma ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Terrific in every way. Large menu at many price levels. Food and wine are terrific

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love "Coops." Love the wine, love the fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Love "Coops." Love the wine, love the food, love the staff & most of all love pretzel bread!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious and fun. Great selectio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always delicious and fun. Great selection of food and wine. We love this location. The tasting bar is always a little crowded so we always have to dine very early to avoid the crowds which we do not prefer but find necessary.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again, Coopers Hawk in South Barrin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Once again, Coopers Hawk in South Barrington provides great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk delivers every time! The s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Cooper's Hawk delivers every time! The service is incredible- I don't know where they find all of the wonderful people they have working there! Delicious food, fun atmosphere...gotta join the wine club! Any day of the week - enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat! Enjoy it every time ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great place to eat! Enjoy it every time I'm there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I compare every restaurant to Coopers. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I compare every restaurant to Coopers. They are always consistent. Can get a great meal for a great price and leave extremely content.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always our first choice. We were debatin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always our first choice. We were debating going somewhere else this time around for our date night. I'm SO glad we didn't. I ordered the surf and turf and ate every crumb off my plate, even though I was full about 1/2 way through. I couldn't help myself! They gave me husband a truffle & chocolate dipped strawberry for his bday and it's great that I never had to pull anyone aside to notify them. I just made a comment on Open Table and the message was passed along. LOVE Coopers Hawk South Barrington!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.