About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park

15690 South Harlem Avenue
Orland Park, IL 60462
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Northwest corner of 157th and Harlem Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(708) 633-0200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet also available during peak hours.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 7086330200x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Southwest Suburbs
Best Food
Southwest Suburbs
4 More
Best Service
Southwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Southwest Suburbs
Special Occasion
Southwest Suburbs
Most Booked
Southwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Orland Park ›

Special Occasion (198)
Notable Wine List (197)
Good for Groups (153)
See All
Great for Lunch (124)
Fit for Foodies (101)
Romantic (91)
Hot Spot (63)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Great for Brunch (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Late-night Find (27)
Kid-friendly (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Scenic View (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and food were amazing. I hav ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service and food were amazing. I have been a wine club member for a couple years and have always had to jump through hoops to use my credits but the server worked with me and I was actually able to use them.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really disappointed for all the hype.The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really disappointed for all the hype.The service was slow. The food was subpar for the money spent. We i asked if the flatbread had peppers and if their mixed veggies had peppers. After waitress went back to kitchen, she said no. Even told her that i have a strong distaste for them and she still brought them to the tables with red and green peppers.

The server was no where to be seen. Had yo ask other waiters for water and silverware.

Really disappointed that they didn't even know the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I enjoyed a wonderful meal and our serve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed a wonderful meal and our server was top notch. We had a GREAT meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always good. The wine is a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is always good. The wine is also excellent. We have never had a bad time at Coopershawk. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We thought the service was bad. It took ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We thought the service was bad. It took forever to get our drinks because there were no clean glasses per the waitress. It took forever to get our meal. The couple next to us got up and left. We were celebrating our 34th anniversary and it was a huge disappointment.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

I have ordered numerous items off the me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have ordered numerous items off the menu, never repeating in all the times I have been to Cooper's Hawk. I have yet to have a bad experience. Everything on the menu is delicious, with great wine pairing suggestions. Wait staff are very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was kind of "fakey" friendly it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Waitress was kind of "fakey" friendly it seemed. She did not handle unusual requests with professionalism or even a simple request with professionalism for that matter. We felt rushed and our waitress kept removing glassware off the table. We were not offered a glass of water when we sat down. If this is restaurant policy, we view this as an immediate shortcoming of management. For dessert, we were not offered a 2nd cup of coffee. This waitress needs to go back to the fundamentals and clean up her job. We tipped her 20% because we felt sorry for her, even though it was apparent she did not like us. That was my mistake, but she was doing her job and that's half the battle. Overall the food was delicious and the courses were well-timed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

I recommend reservations and open table ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I recommend reservations and open table is a great way to do it. We are in the wine club and the sweet red is grapey oh so good. You can't go wrong with the medallions. I get them every time. Lobster bisque is magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific food carefully prepared. Friend ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific food carefully prepared. Friendly and helpful waitstaff. A bit pricey but still a great value. We joined their wine club too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food lively

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food lively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The overall experience was mediocre. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

The overall experience was mediocre. The waiter was antisocial and barely stopped by the table. Seemed a bit bothered and we actually preferred that he didn't wait on us. I'm sure I won't return to this location. The venue wasn't to my liking. It was a second choice because the initial venue I wanted to attend was the Oaklawn location. But this was me settling and I won't do it again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Our server was Howard and we loved him! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our server was Howard and we loved him! He was attentive and friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There have been times when The bartender ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

There have been times when The bartenders are friendlier then the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always a great place for special occasio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a great place for special occasions! There were a few things I was not happy with. First we had a 6:00 pm reservation, but were not seated until 6:30 pm. The waiting area seamed a bit chaotic. Their regular parking lot is tiny and didn't realize until after some frustration, that the closed restaurant next door, GINGER, is now COOPER's lot also. I will be ok with parking the next time, but this time was a bit hectic. Food and service is always top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coopers Hawk is one of my favorite place ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Coopers Hawk is one of my favorite places for gathering with friends. The dining menu does not have a wide variety of items, so I pretty much stick to 2 or 3 items all the time. The chicken potstickers are great as an appetizer and my husband thought they were pretty awesome as well (and he is a big foodie)! This was his birthday dinner and he had the braised short ribs, which he thought were over-tender to the point of not having much flavor without some A1 steak sauce. I had the pecan-crusted chicken, which was plentiful, however, it tasted like the oil from the pan, which was disappointing (that is what get for trying something new). The occasion was still romantic. Our table was ready at our reserved time and we had a great bottle of wine (Australian Shiraz). While the food was not to our standard, the ambiance and the wine made up for it a little bit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

We like to go hear and do small plates o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We like to go hear and do small plates off the appetizer menu but we went after entrée items on this visit and were very pleased again. the flatbread was great and so was the barbecue chicken salad. We go at least once a month and often more often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk is always a go-to for my f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Cooper's Hawk is always a go-to for my friends and family. We love the food and making it an experience by also adding in a wine tasting before we head to dinner. I recommend the wedge salad, the lobster and crab bisque soup, the surf and turf and drunken shrimp. Yum!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the brisket special it was delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I had the brisket special it was delicious very tender. It was very crowded . The only setback was our waitress she was slow and uninterested not what we are use to there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The dining room was very noisy and I had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The dining room was very noisy and I had trouble conversing with my spouse over dinner. It is probably my fault because I normally have trouble hearing in noisy settings. The food was outstanding! It was upsetting when your food arrives and you do not have a fork or napkin. Our water glasses were empty halfway through dinner.

We have eaten at the Burr Ridge location a few times and it was always a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The Dinner was Fantastic ... food was aw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Dinner was Fantastic ... food was awesome ... Only thing that was wrong is that it was pouring outside (Like Buckets) and the roof starting to leak on my head ... That was not very good ... and I had to sit on the otherside with my guest ... but the booth was soaked on my side where I was seating ... They were very nice and compensated us a dessert for my trouble, which was nice ... but they need to have the roof looked at ... There was also another lady sitting not far from us and she also had to move because the roof was leaking where she was sitting also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

The staff ( hostess, waitress, to server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The staff ( hostess, waitress, to server) extremely kind and helpful. It is always a pleasure to dine at Cooper's Hawk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! We're wine club members so we t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome! We're wine club members so we take first then eat. The food is good and I just love the chicken piccata.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was awesome. I had the pork cho ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was awesome. I had the pork chop and my wife had the filet. Also had a great appetizer. Always a unique menu here. Arrived early for our reservations so we started with a wine tasting. Only got through 4 of our 6 selections before it was time but they let us go back after to finish up with dessert wines. All in all a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid experience that was perfect for a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Solid experience that was perfect for a first date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food: Service was great. I sometime ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food: Service was great. I sometimes or free takeout as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrible, I had Chicken Piccata ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was terrible, I had Chicken Piccata and my husband had Fish and Chips. The chicken was dry and white in color (no flavor what so ever), came with a side of pasta that had the chicken sauce flavoring over it! My husband fries were soggy. Only good thing was the bread. We live in Willow Springs and go to the Burr Ridge location. Send over Burr Ridge cooks to teach the Orland cooks a few things. Will not be going back, ruined my opinion of Coopers Hawk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The food was great, service was great, o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was great, service was great, open table seating was great. Did not like how cold it was and the noise level was so high you could hardly hold a conversation without yelling !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The crab and lobster bisque was deliciou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The crab and lobster bisque was delicious but very filling. After having a cup, I couldn't finish my salad. I liked the choices on the lighe menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very noisey...tables crammed.. mediocre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very noisey...tables crammed.. mediocre service. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

We have enjoyed Coopers Hawk since it fi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have enjoyed Coopers Hawk since it first opened in Orland Park, IL.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The last time we were here it was wonder ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The last time we were here it was wonderful and that was about 4 weeks ago. Last Friday we took guests here and had requested a large booth as we are not small people. We didn't get one but it worked out fine anyway. The server took our drink order, served them and then continued to ask for our dinner orders. We felt she was in a hurry to flip the table but we told her we wanted to take time over our drinks. After she got our dinner orders of short rib risotto, gnocchi bolognese and two pork chop dinners, service stalled. She never once came to see how we were doing after we were served by the kitchen. There was nothing special about the pork chop dinners except the sauce was good. My husbands potatoes were stone cold and it took forever to get the server to come back so she could be told. Then it took forever to get them and by that time my husband no longer wanted them. Of the 4 dinners it was the risotto that was the hit. Everything else was average at best. Once we decided no dessert, the server acted like we were an inconvenience and couldn't get us checked out fast enough. I don't think we will be excited to go back considering the $23 one pork chop dinners with cold potatoes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Unfortunately, our dining experience was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Unfortunately, our dining experience was not up to par this time. We've been to cooper's Hawk numerous times over the years and I've never had to send an entree back before now. I ordered the red wine braised short ribs which I have had several times. Not only was it too salty but the meat was not the same in looks or taste. I don't know if the chef was new or what but it was uneatable and I think it was not even short ribs but some other meat. The server offered to get me sometime else after I complained. By the time my new meal arrived I had nibbled on bread and my side dish, so wasn't very hungry. The highlight of the evening was the strawberry dipped in chocolate and chocolate candy with a candle in it for my birthday that they do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant was extremely busy on Sun ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The restaurant was extremely busy on Sunday evening. I was difficult to converse with friends. Also, some of the other customers were a bit rambunctious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good was terrific. Wine was great.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good was terrific. Wine was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. My server was ev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was excellent. My server was even better! I was thoroughly impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Dustin was outstanding. We re ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server Dustin was outstanding. We requested a booth and they accommodated the request without issue and our table was ready on time. I always get the shrimp and polenta at the Oak Lawn location and LOVE it - at the Orland Park location it was MUCH different. Not bad, but not what I wanted. The wine is always amazing and I love the 2 free tastings at the table to help decide what bottle to order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Medallions were outstanding, crab cakes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Medallions were outstanding, crab cakes were a little bland for my taste. Crab/lobster bisque was great. Wine flights made the evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, decent service and excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, decent service and excellent wine selections. A bit of a challenge to get your wine tastings in though if you belong to the wine club. It's always packed and hard to get a place to try the wine of the month.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was atrocious. Waited thirty min ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was atrocious. Waited thirty minutes for a table despite reservation. The waiter was mostly absent and unfriendly when actually present. The mixed drinks were terrible; back porch tea was 99% lemonade with no hint of alcohol and the mule was overly acidic. Staff was slow to serve, but quick to remove plates, even when someone was not finished. The atmosphere was so loud that half the table could not converse with the other half without raising voices. Waiter was reaching over and in front of people rather than moving around the table. Food did not all come out at once. One person at the table claimed the waiter was playing a game on his phone while taking orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

From the food, to the ambiance, to the s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

From the food, to the ambiance, to the service Cooper's Hawk Orland Park was a fantastic experience. It's perfect for clients, dates, family/friends get together. It's just quiet enough to hear those sitting next to you, but just loud enough to know it's popular and packed. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect experience. The food was delicious, the drinks were the best I've had in some time. I'd recommend Cooper's Hawk to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.