About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

15690 South Harlem Avenue
Orland Park, IL 60462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Northwest corner of 157th and Harlem Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(708) 633-0200

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet also available during peak hours.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (708) 633-0200 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park, Orland Park, IL

Report a photo problem

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Orland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (102)
Notable Wine List (97)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
See All
Good for Birthdays (89)
Special Occasion (82)
Casual (57)
Romantic (57)
Good for Groups (56)
Great for Lunch (51)
Tasting Menu (50)
Fun (48)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Business Meals (37)
Cozy (36)
Modern Decor (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Bar Seating (34)
Comfort Food (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Hot Spot (25)
Happy Hour (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Healthy (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Private Room (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Seasonal (13)
Family Style (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Authentic (13)
Quick Bite (10)
People Watching (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Fireplace (4)
Scenic View (4)
Spicy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Birthday dinner.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Birthday dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there 10 min before our reservat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We were there 10 min before our reservation and still had to wait over an hour for our name to be called. The server was awesome and very friendly. The appetizers were great, but the two steaks we ordered had no taste very plain.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Food and wine were very good...Only comp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and wine were very good...Only complaint was being seated 50mins after our scheduled reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our second visit to the Orland ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second visit to the Orland Park location. We did not have a very good experience the first time and thought we would give it another try. I twisted my ankle on a rather large pothole in the parking lot while walking from our car to the restaurant. I told the valet and he said they were aware of it. Well then it should have been taken care of or place a cone over it!! Then we approached the hostess stand and waited for the hostess to finish what she was doing on the computer without being greeted. A simple "just a moment" would have been friendly enough. When were seated our waiter came by and introduced himself (the only correct thing he did). We asked for 2 waters, ordered a bottle of wine and an appetizer. The first thing to come out was the decanter, no water or wine. A short while later comes the water along with the appetizer followed by the wine. Waters would have been nice while we were waiting. We had to ask twice for our waters to be filled. He also did not let us taste the wine before he filled up the glasses. He never came back to refill our wine glasses again. Our food came out and was delicious. He brought me a to go container and said he would be back with a bag. I gave up after five minutes and left. We will continue to the Cooper's Hawk in Burr Ridge where the service is remarkably better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had the chicken special... Service was g ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Had the chicken special... Service was great... Loud but doable...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server Andrew was professional and k ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The server Andrew was professional and knowledgeable about the menu. Remembered my Grandmas birthday. Brought sweet treats at the end with out asking. Thank you we felt so special.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My reservation was at 6:30pm and althoug ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

My reservation was at 6:30pm and although I was late I was still accommodated right away. Great staff and great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep going back because I am never disap ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Keep going back because I am never disappointed! Love the wine tasting!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food. Good food. Good food. Good fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food. Good food. Good food. Good food. Good food. Good food. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Keith in tasting room and server molly a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Keith in tasting room and server molly are awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was at 7:30pm, and we we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our reservation was at 7:30pm, and we were not sat until 8:10, even with our rez changing from 7 to 6 people. The restaurant was very busy and obviously over-booked, which on a Saturday is understandable, but still not ideal for guests with reservations. The manager was apologetic once we were sat, and assured us that everything from that point would be "perfect". However, it was not - our appetizers took about 40-50 minutes and our server did not seem to have any sense of urgency or concern in our wait time for the table, appetizer, wine we ordered to be brought to the table, etc.

Mind you, I have previous serving experience and can understand the stress of a busy night - But - at a table of 6 adults, ordering appetizers, drinks, meals, and deserts - you know that the bill will be high, and so will your tip - tipping off percentage of the bill... At the end of the night, our server got a tip of 25%, more than generous for the mediocre service given.

Overall, a busy night can be understood - but the service we received was sub-par and definitely did not make up for the long wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Had a great time with great food, great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a great time with great food, great wine, and overall great experience. Our reservation ended up not being ready and we had to wait over 35 mins for a table, then our entrees too forever. Between a wine tasting and dinner we ended up being there for 4 hours. Good thing we didn't have plans after.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were going to be very early for our r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were going to be very early for our reservation so I called ahead to see if they could fit us in. We were told to come in and they would work us in. When we arrived 5 minutes later we were told no they were on schedule for reservations. We waited the extra hour till our reservation plus another 20 minutes. The waiting area is very crowded and the servers were having to walk through there carrying full plates, drinks etc. very poor setup!! We ordered our food and the appetizers were excellent so I was hopeful that things were turning around. My fiancé ordered the fillet mignon and I ordered the rigatoni. Her broccoli was cold and my pasta undercooked. Final tally was $100 and two very disappointing meals. I will not return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Had to wait even though we had reservati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had to wait even though we had reservations

Setup of the restaurant is awful, the servers have to walk past the people waiting to bring diners their food. God forbit someone sneeze on the servers way by.

Restaurant was really crowded and once we got our food it wasn't very hot. Was very disappointed in how they handle a "busy" night. Food was good don't get me wrong. But it would have been better had it been hot or even Luke warm

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent food and drinks. Extremely pop ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food and drinks.

Extremely popular restaurant was very busy. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I used to frequent Cooper ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I used to frequent Cooper's Hawk a few years back quite often. The food was great, there was a good overall atmosphere. Regrettably, I have to say, our experience this past weekend was neither. They have tried to expand so much that you loose that feeling of intimacy that this restaurant once had. The food has changed as well. It seems as though portions have gotten smaller and prices have gone up. If I am paying 30.00 for a piece of fish, I would think it should be a decent size? It almost seems as if they have sold out. They have expanded to two tasting rooms now and it is just so crowded, it's hard to enjoy. You can't even hear the person sitting across from you when seated in the main dining area. Sadly I do not think we will be returning any time soon.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Dinner was great as usual. Ordered the D ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner was great as usual. Ordered the Dana's parmesan crusted chicken and it was so good. I normally order the salmon but wanted something different. I will order this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good. Very loud in the downs ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was good. Very loud in the downstairs room. Three of us at our table had the Betty's potatoes. They are usually our favorites but they tasted terrible. None of us could eat them they actually had an after taste of bandaids. The other two people at our table tried them too and said the same thing. The food was just not up to par. My husband ordered the enchiladas and couldn't believe how small they were. For the price they should have been much bigger. For the amount the food costs we were expecting better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

On line reservation worked ok but had to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

On line reservation worked ok but had to phone to make sure it was really on. All menu items were expensive perhaps even overpriced. Room had no acoustical ceiling, so it was very noisy. Coffey came luke warm. Had not been to Coopers in years, this just refreshed my memory as to why.

H George

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Love it. Always come here. Service great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love it. Always come here. Service great people great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, , Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Private Room, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 6 arrived and we were seate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our party of 6 arrived and we were seated promptly. The staff was so polite and helpful. Our waiter was efficient and friendly. The food was excellent and abundant ( We all had take home boxes). Nice atmosphere too, we sat and talked until closing and didn't feel pressured to leave. Complimentary valet service is also a plus.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally we sit at bar, service is fast ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Normally we sit at bar, service is fast and friendly. Did sit in restaurant, service was slow took over 10 minutes use to greet table.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Was way below our expectations handicapp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Was way below our expectations handicapped spots in parking lot were never salted was with my 96 year old mom and family did not feel safe in parking lot.

My daughters steak was undercooked sent it back and they just recooked steak.

The waitress did not come around enough had wine and water to drink the water glasses were empty for at least half the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

It's never a bad time at Cooper's Hawk! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It's never a bad time at Cooper's Hawk! My husband and I had a great date night!

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lack of silverware, water and bread unti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lack of silverware, water and bread until the meal had started...had to send the food back once and still wasn't 100% correct then. Asked for a gluten free menu in the reservation but still had to ask for one at table side. Dessert was excellent though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My food was not made the way I ordered i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My food was not made the way I ordered it. By the time they brought it out my husband was done with his. What a birthday dinner very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Sandy was our waitress and she was aweso ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sandy was our waitress and she was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time at Coopers Hawk in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our 3rd time at Coopers Hawk in Orland. Had a surprise birthday lunch for my husband and drove an hour to Orland. I had made a reservation online, which I've never done before, it was clear and easy to do. Upon arrival at Coopera hawk, some of our friends weren't able to meet us, so the host was quick to switch our table around to the correct number, he was GREAT and caring. The service was great and the food was great. However, I was completely disgusted by the dirtiness of the women's bathroom. We had a satrduay, 11am reservation, so the bathroom should have been clean. It was NOT. I can't recall if there were 4 or 5 stalls, but only ONE of them had a clean toilet. Gross. After ordering, I was looking around and noticed the walls (by the booths) and the windows were super yucky, full of finger/hand prints, same with the Windows. I wouldn't have noticed it if we dined in the evening, when the lighting is darker...I'll think twice about returning, if the bathroom and windows/walls are dirty. . . How clean is the kitchen?

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good, but it was so loud we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good, but it was so loud we could barely hear each other. We had reservations, but had to wait 20 minutes for a table. Overall, just an ok experience .... I was looking for a little quieter and more intimate dinner setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

First time eating there. Loved the food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First time eating there. Loved the food but the noise and crowds made it hard to get the ambiance I was looking for. Staff was a little slow - couldn't move through the tables as quickly but they were friendly. Yes, I would return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was excited to come here to celebrate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I was excited to come here to celebrate my birthday and read the reviews that it was a great restaurant. Unfortunately, when our dinner arrived, the food was cold. The server mentioned that her previous table also told her their veggies were cold. It did take a while for the food to arrive to begin with. I've been to the Oak Lawn location for a date and thought it was fantastic. This time was 6 people. She did bring out hot veggies but our steaks were room temp, not hot. She did her best to fix it but I was a little bummed out for my birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Been here twice so far. Good service, fr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Been here twice so far. Good service, friendly staff. Can get a little crowded so a reservation helps.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a nice time. Food was good and r ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was a nice time. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have been to this place before. The f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been to this place before. The food was good. However, the service was terrible. We weren't told the specials and our waitress wouldn't check in with us. We actually had another waitress get our waitress on multiple occasions. Not sure that we will be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Food took a little too long to come out ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food took a little too long to come out after our soup.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

I always have a good experience when I g ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I always have a good experience when I go with friends or family or coworkers. Unfortunately this visit was not the same I ordered the short ribs with risotto and I got short ribs with a large mound of mashed potatoes when I noticed it the way they seem to have an attitude of which that time I just kept it and then saying anything but really wanted you all to know that I'm starting to lose my interest and my faith in this company where word-of-mouth can quickly destroy any companies reputation. I have a witness who was there with me at dinner with the terrible Food Service where I used my Birthday coupon and it was a waist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

I will definitely be going back ! The mo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I will definitely be going back ! The mojitos were delicious, as well as our appetizer and entrees !

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had been to Cooper's Hawk for wine tas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I had been to Cooper's Hawk for wine tasting before, but this was my first dining experience. We went on a Wednesday evening. The food was absolutely delicious! Some might consider it a bit pricey, but the food is worth it. Staff was friendly and efficient. And the wine, of course, was fantastic. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was very good. The food was g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our server was very good. The food was good and hot. The Romance Red wine was delicious!!! It was worth the wait. We had a reservation but was 19 minutes late and they canceled it. So don't be late!! They could have called and let us know the reservation was canceled.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Wine was superb-love th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food was great. Wine was superb-love their Lux Pinot Noir! Service was great-very attentive.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, , Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.