About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2197959463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Indiana
Best Food
Northwest Indiana
5 More
Best Service
Northwest Indiana
Best Ambiance
Northwest Indiana
Best Value
Northwest Indiana
Special Occasion
Northwest Indiana
Most Booked
Northwest Indiana
Best Restaurants in Merrillville, IN ›

notable wine list (126)
special occasion (105)
great for lunch (87)
See All
good for groups (84)
fit for foodies (76)
romantic (65)
hot spot (35)
great for brunch (32)
neighborhood gem (22)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a wine club member, this was my firs ...

Dined 4 days ago

I'm a wine club member, this was my first visit to the Merrillville location. Every time I go to Cooper's Hawk (usually once a month) I enjoy wine tasting (that is included in my membership) prior to my meal. I was not pleased at all with my experience at this location. Upon walking into the tasting room it was full but people were spread out. I had asked "could we squeeze in here?" simply just needing the two couples to move over to either side a step each but instead the server invited us to stand at the handicap area. It was awkward and besides an initial hello and which wine list we were tasting from we were ignored. After nearly 5 minutes passed seeing she was busy another couple had left from across the room and we moved over to the other server. The original server said she was sorry for the wait and I said it's ok, she doesn't look busy over here. When we moved the original server still insisted on taking care of us when she had plenty others on the other side of the room. It's just wine tasting, unless I'm missing something, why couldn't the lady who wasn't as busy take care of us? Toward the end things were better with her service but some of the things she said in response to my questions didn't make any sense and I'm pretty sure she wasn't correct in some things she said. As far as our meal, our server Steven was amazing. Always smiling and attentive. Everything came out in a timely manor and prepared as requested.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my 2nd time dining at this part ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was my 2nd time dining at this particular location and the first time I used open table for a reservation at this location. I enjoyed the ease of making the reservation and even changing it when it was needed. I did not know, that in order to get a booth or a table not in the flow of traffic ,that you had to request it in the reservations. I used the app to make a reservation for the coopers hawk in orland and I didn't have to request a booth or a specific location. They just asked me when I checked in. At any rate, I will continue to dine at cooper's hawk and buy their wine. Also, for the noise level, I put moderate, because, loud was not a choice. I understand it was a Friday night, but, it was a little too noisy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I take my husband, her d ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

My daughter and I take my husband, her dad here ever monday before his chemo treatment on Tuesday. It is our way of celebrating how far hes come and countdown of how many treatments are left. It definierly lifts our spirits and brings about a different mood to what could be a downer. Atmosphere is uplifting, food and wine always delicious

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good. There were not a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good. There were not a lot of vegetarian options, but what they had was excellent. I especially liked that they had a vegetarian option tortilla soup. And the black bean patty was wonderful. Our server was helpful and friendly, but the overall service was a bit slow.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great. The special for lunc ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great. The special for lunch was the cowboy burger and the onion rings were great. The soup and salad entree choice was just perfect for a light lunch. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. And the reservation was definitely needed to avoid a wait!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because our party was so large, we booke ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Because our party was so large, we booked our reservations for two groups but your hostesses were very accommodating and actually seated us together, which many restaurants don't do. I really appreciated your hospitality, thank you so much!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and the service was wonderf ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food and the service was wonderful. We will definitely return when we are up that way again in the future!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE THIS RESTURANT. SERVICE IS EXCEL ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I LOVE THIS RESTURANT. SERVICE IS EXCELLENT. WILL RECOMEND TO MY FRIENDS.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place, good food. Noise level was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place, good food. Noise level was a higher than preferred.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Worthy of review!

Dined on June 9, 2016

The choices, pretzel bread, Filet, pork chop, service, wine...all of it is great. My only wish is that they add some screen or shade on the windows facing the mall hallway. Those mall lights take away the Coopers Hawk ambiance found in other cities.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken tortilla soup is amazing

Dined on June 8, 2016

Chicken tortilla soup is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

Been going there for years and their sta ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Been going there for years and their standards have always been high

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food nothing special

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had excellant service during our dining experience. Some of the best I've ever had. But, the food was just average, nothing special. I had heard great reviews about the food but I would have been just as happy having a salad and breadsticks at Olive Garden. Not sure if I would go there again.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and service was as expected fr ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and service was as expected from having been there on previous occasions.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

only good this time

Dined on May 31, 2016

Less than the usual outstanding dinner. Potatoes were luke warm. I asked for a glass of wine from a bottle per my wine club membership. I received a glass of wine and I was charged for it. Why would a member pay for a glass of wine with 6 bottles of wine in inventory? And she didn't decant a cabernet.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect of coopers hawk was great

Dined on May 30, 2016

We went with a large group, our server took care of our every need with a smile. Every dish was excellent. We now have a new place to go often.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

anniversary dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

We made reservations to celebrate our 5th yr anniversary and invited my parents to lunch with us. This was our second time here and first time for my parents. The servers were very attentive, the entrees we picked were so delicious as well as the drinks. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Had a gift card from a friend. Glad for ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Had a gift card from a friend. Glad for the opportunity. Service good food great and reasonable cost. Nice size portions. Different choices not the everyday norm. I will go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

The s'mores budino was very yummy!

Dined on May 27, 2016

The s'mores budino was very yummy!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wine.

Dined on May 25, 2016

I have loved this restaurant for years so I'm thrilled it is now in Merrillville and I don't have to travel to Illinois to enjoy it. I love the Drunken Shrimp appetizer, I get it for my meal. you can't go wrong with shrimp wrapped in bacon and sitting on a bed of guacamole... YUM!! Everything I've had at any of their sites has been outstanding. It will always be consistent and good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner, our server, Elizabet ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Outstanding dinner, our server, Elizabeth, was knowledgable , and very helpful. I have a food allergy, and she went out of her way to take care of me. The wine is good, the food is very interesting and flavorful, the service is outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome...just awesome definitely making ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome...just awesome definitely making this spot part of the restaurant rotation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

Cooper's hawk is always wonderful. The wine is good and food is fabulous. Very disappointed that the monthly cheese board has been removed from the menu....who has wine without offering cheese? Bad move Cooper's hawk! Please bring the awesome cheese board back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there early....and enjoyed our wa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We got there early....and enjoyed our waitress so much in the bar that we changed our reservation to sit in the bar with her:0) I wish I knew her name. A very nice girl who was working on Saturday.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So tasty

Dined on May 21, 2016

Went on a for a girls night out. Food and was but it was really loud in there that it was sort of to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Always great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service1

We had a 45 minute wait, very frustratin ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a 45 minute wait, very frustrating!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome! As always... great wine and foo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome! As always... great wine and food. Service is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Dining Experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

Made reservations, so were seated immediately. The server was very prompt coming to our table. She was very nice and quite knowledgeable about the food and wines. The shrimp appetizer was great and the house wine was fine and reasonably priced. Our meal was great, my husband had the grouper, which was perfect. I had the chicken piccata, also good . The only downside was that somehow, our dinner order didn't appear in a timely fashion. The server came by twice to say our order should be here shortly, while we saw people seated way after us, already eating. Finally, a manager came to our table to apologize for the delay, some issue in kitchen. She offered us a glass of wine for our inconvenience. She left our table and was back in 2 minutes with our meal. Other than that, we were pleased with everything else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Be sure to place reservations early for ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Be sure to place reservations early for restaurant. CH fills up quick. Large capacity though. Recommend an early wine tasting 4:15 for a 5:15 dinner. You will have to wait for a Friday/Saturday wine tasting. Room gets full early (5pm). 1st come 1st served in wine tasting room.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good but inconsistent

Dined on May 14, 2016

I had the salmon as an entrée as I've ordered before and it seems like every time I get the salmon it's not made the same. The coleslaw had no dressing on it it was completely dry and the salmon was the same no sauce. Although, our waitress was very attentive even though when we first got there no one acknowledged us for the first 10 minutes of sitting at our table so a waitress came by and asked if anybody waited on us and we said no she said OK this is not my section but I'm going to take your table so you don't have to sit here and wait for somebody to wait on you. Her name was Alexa and she was excellent. Her wine suggestions were excellent.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought a friend here for lunch before s ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Brought a friend here for lunch before she moved to Boston. Justin was our server and was very accommodating. He explained the specials offered that day including the wine of the month. He highly recommended the egg roll appetizer which was delicious. She had the lunch spaghetti entrée and I had the salmon...yum! We arrived around 1:00 p.m. and restaurant was crowded and noise level high however, as time went on things became quieter so we could talk at a normal level. Service was great, food was delicious. One thing I noticed as an FYI for the establishment is that the flooring in the dining area is like a simulated wood and appeared to be very slippery...she noticed it also. Just a cautionary note so people don't slip and fall...please check it out. Other than that, had a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Let's Go to The Mall

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Inside Southlake Mall is a lovely place for a lovely lunch. Known for wines, servers are knowledgeable and informative without being intrusive. While the menu is good, it is slightly more than you expect to pay at THE MALL... and some of the salad choices are less interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great meal

Dined on May 10, 2016

My date and I are in our early 60s and this was her first time there. The food was excellent, plentiful and prepared perfectly. If you plan on dining there it is VERY advisable to have a reservation because the place is almost always full. Don't be fooled by the pricing, it is a little on the steep side, but, you are definitely not short-changed on the amount and quality of the food. Our server was quick, knowledgeable of the menu, and made sure our beverages were filled or replaced. My date has already asked when we might be able to go there again...

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Mostly a good experience. I always love ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mostly a good experience. I always love their dry Bombay Sapphire martinis with blue cheese olives. However, another's Manhattan proved disappointing. We all thoroughly enjoyed the Crab Beignet and Mexican Drunken Shrimp appetizers! Fantastic! The Rissotto was absolutely amazing, as was the Gnocchi Bolognese! (My new favorite). Unfortnately, my husband's Grouper special was awful. Even burnt on one part. He did not complain to our server (who was very sweet), so I can't report how well that situation would have been handled.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

From the prompt seating to the excellent waitstaff - specifically our waitress ( Who was phenomenal ) to the outstanding food, it was an awesome Mothers Day and birthday celebration ! It was perfect! Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Stephen was very attentive. Great variety of food for different tastes. Great selection of wines and other beverages, i.e. Sweet Red, Moscato, Bloody Mary, Mojito. Great appetizers, we had the calamari and over the border egg rolls. I'm glad that the menu included Healthy Choices, less than 600 calories. I had the Salmon and sautéed spinach. My family had the soy Ginger Salmon, Surf & Turf - Fillet Medillions & Mexican Drunken Shrimp, Two Soup & Salad - Crab & Lobster Bisque & Wedge Salad and Crab & Lobster Bisque & Ceasar Salad. Too full for dessert this time. Hopefully will leave room for it next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

All About the Wune Club

Dined on May 8, 2016

It's too bad the waiter was so focused on selling us the Wine Club instead of serving us. The meal started off well, we were seated quickly and informed right away about the Club. We weren't interested as we live a bit too far away to make it a frequent dining location. Once we declined, our server gave up on us. When it came time to order, we both ordered different wines. They were delicious, as were the entrees. I had the filet, and he had the surf and turf. But prior to the entrees arrival, we both ordered a second glass of wine to enjoy with the meal. Unfortunately, the wine never arrived, nor did our server. If he had, he would have been informed that the potatoes were cold. Luckily, we flagged another server who replaced the cold potatoes quickly, but much to my dismay, the replacement potatoes were only lukewarm and completely unseasoned. When we were about finished, our waiter reappeared, but still empty handed. We cancelled the second glass of wine. Was the food good? Yes, for the most part--minus the potato problems. Was the service what you'd expect for a $100 meal--absolutely not.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Spot for a Date Night

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife took me to dinner for my birthday since it is my favorite restaurant and as usual the food, service, and atmosphere were great. I love the wine club and the rewards points and since it was my birthday they gave me $16 off the bill!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wine !

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is incredible ! The wine list Is the best ! You must try !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.