Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (219) 795-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (78)
Notable Wine List (78)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Romantic (47)
Casual (44)
Good for Groups (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
Modern Decor (33)
Worth the Drive (28)
Business Meals (27)
Tasting Menu (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Fun (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Authentic (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Private Room (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
806 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Excellent waitress. Good food great wine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Seated relatively quickly. Booth in a high traffic area adjacent to the kitchen. Special occasion dinner however we were not asked as we usually are during hostess seating. Lobster bisque delicious! Drunken shrimp also good. Had the short ribs on previous visit and loved my plate. However this time it came out very greasy. Seriously had over two inches of grease. Very hard to eat. Just thinking about it now makes me squirm. Tried to eat a few bites then had server bag up hoping I could drain the grease myself and salvage this meal somehow that I paid $25 for. We will return because I can't get of the bisque.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and wine were delicious, as always. Service was great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Steak was only warm, not hot, potatoes were cold.
other meal with pork chop was good potatoes were cold
pork chop was better than steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Park was great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our waiter was a little pushy, we didn't even get our drinks and he was pushing us to order. I had to tell him we were not in a hurry and we'd like to drink our drinks before we ordered. Waiters should be taught to handle that better.

I had a turkey burger and it was very average, it didn't have a lot of flavor. However the slaw was to die for!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The place was classy, food was fantastic, Justin the waiter was a excellent waiter, helped with all questions, the wine tasting was fun, and of course found very good wine.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Family enjoyed our first time visit. Food excellent wait staff excellent. Girls at the reception could of acknowledge that I was standing waiting for their help in updating I was there for our reservation. . Not very friendly. On first meeting. Glad the rest was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and using our rewards points before they expired. Our waiter was so helpful and accommodating at our Gluten free requests and helping us get the best value for our rewards points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a reservation for a Saturday night, but still had to wait 15-20 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. We were seated at a table that was cramped in the middle of several tables, so we could hear everyone's conversations. We were also right under a vent, so cold air was blowing on us the whole night. I understand Saturday nights are busy, but our server, although friendly, was not very attentive, and when we did have questions, she seemed to rush through her responses. We were looking for a relaxing dinner place, and this was not the way to relax. We felt tense and rushed throughout the meal. The food was good, but over-priced. Nice variety on the "healthy" menu. I was a bit disappointed in our experience.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved it! Food was very good, service was excellent.. was very noisy though... hard to converse. I will be back though.... loved your flatbread!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food..good people and the best passion fruit sangria ever!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food and service excellent as always. Being able to sample wine and beer before purchasing a glass is appreciated.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I think dishes should be made consistently the same way, I always get the short rib risotto & her the first time ever the meat was shredded & mixed in with my risotto was not a fan, also the risotto was not complete cooked. Disappointed with the food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The service has ALWAYS been impeccable and the food the same. An added bounus for us and an A+++ for Cooper's Hawk is that we have a special needs grandson that does/unable to chew and Cooper's Hawk GLADLY blends his food for him. Not all restaurants will do that and usuall comes up with same lame excuse why they can't. The ones that do we go back to. Cooper's Hawk is most willing to help with any special dietary needs as well. The servers know the food and can make recommendations. Also LOVE that the servers say "You are welcome" or "My pleasure". HATE hearing "no problem". The smells and tastes that come from Cooper's Hawk is amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Really disappointed with my dining experience this time. Usually it's always so good but this time the food was sub par. The salad was so limp and soggy and the flatbread was ice cold, total disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Date night with husband

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great service, very attentive, and great food like always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had awesome time as usual. took my friend she enjoyed it wash her first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good overall, a bit pricey. Vent was blowing down on my neck, had to move seats. Biggest problem is that the potatoes are never hot. They brought new ones, they weren't much better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food and service is always good!
Try it you'll like it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We love everything about Cooper's Hawk. We never have anything but great service and food every time we're there!

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Made a reservation for 5 (4 + baby) using this website which I have many times before. When I arrived I was told that I had never confirmed my reservation. Apparently they called me and I had receive two missed calls from numbers I didn't know but there was never a voicemail. Since I didn't answer they didn't save my reservation which made us wait about 15-20 min for a table. When we were finally sat they ordered our drinks. When the waitress came back she stayed that she may have to remove one of the two 4 tops because they thought there was 5 people. They never ended up doing this and I probably would have left had they did. Horrible experience and wouldn't return.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

It's never a let down when I come.. always striving for perfection.. love this location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a great time. Food was out on time and server was good on refills

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We are regular, and had the best experience! We had a waiter the was phenomenal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was great as always. From the wine tasting and food to the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Coopers Hawk has been a favorite for me. However, I have to admit that this last time, the service was not quite so attentative as previous, and the food while still good, did not seem to be up to the standard that I expect. Still a good spot, but for the price, they need to do well.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My meal was good but a few of my friends were not pleased with their meals! They said their food wasn't as good as it normally was. Also, our waitress was not very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good and really filling. Lots of drink options as well. They were a bit confused with our reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Other than the fact you could see people walking by from our table to help experience was great. Food and service was top notch. We even joined their wine club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day w/ family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice place, been there many times, we like it and will keep going back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good. Bought a bottle of wine for the first time. Would advise staff to talk louder so a client can hear the presentation.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great restaurants for Pre- Valentine meal and great place for wine and spirits.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, People Watching, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I absolutely love this place! That's really all that needs to be said :)

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection. The ambiance was what we hoped for on our Valentine's date. Nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening and the atmosphere is inviting. The service and food were wonderful. Plus we loved the wine tasting. The employee that waited on us for the wine tasting really knew a lot about the various wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.