Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (219) 795-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Notable Wine List (70)
Special Occasion (68)
See All
Good for Birthdays (60)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Casual (44)
Good for Groups (39)
Great for Lunch (37)
Romantic (36)
Tasting Menu (30)
Fun (29)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (24)
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Comfort Food (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was excellent and knowledgeable.....I enjoyed the drunken shrimp which our server recommended and my wife loved her salmon

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It was very loud, food was good. Poor waitress was there for 12 hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The last review that I gave this restaurant was not good but we went on a Sunday evening this time we went on a Saturday evening and everything was great the food was good the service was good so I would recommend it and we will be back

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

A tad too noisy in the back room. Better accoustics could help.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

By far my favorite place. Great food and wonderful service.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

They have a varied selection of food choices. Presentation is very nice. We dined here twice in two days and loved all our food. Portions are generous and prices reasonable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The our server at the Merrillville, IN location was great, she made sure all our needs were met. Keep up the great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

A little disappointed again for the second time in a row. My wife gets a gluten free option due to her ciliacs disease, and last time they almost poisoned her by bringing out the non gluten free food, luckily the waitress caught it , but the food took so long the manager had to come out twice. Again this time the food was taking a very long time, 2 other tables that sat shortly after we did received there food before us. The wait normally doesn't bother us because I think it's due to the gluten free food, but this tops way too long, and it seemed like they forgot to make it or forgot to make it gluten free. My wife's gluten free food was hot and ready, when my food and my daughters food was barely warm. By this time we were so hungry we didn't care. Also, I order the gardinaier chicken and it looked as if it was just thrown together. The gardinaire was all over the plate and barley on the chicken and was dried out. I've had this dish before and I don't remember it being that messy. Overall it still wasn't too bad, and our waitress was outstanding as normal, just not what we are used to when coming to Cooper's hawk.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I had been to Cooper's Hawk in Orland Park and had great food and service. I was especially looking forward to the roasted vegetables; however, when they came, they were lukewarm and overcooked. The soup (Cream of Asparagus) was delicious ... if only it had some asparagus. The meat was great (pork chops), tender and juicy, but the potatoes were also lukewarm. I have since gone back to Cooper's Hawk in Orland Park to be sure I wasn't over-expecting at Merrillville and had another superb meal, everything came delicious, and hot. I won't be spending my money at Cooper's Hawk in Merrillville again. Our server in Merrillville was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food took way too long for two simple dishes, mine was delicious but the other dish was overcooked , she was very disappointed... not a great dining experience for a birthday date night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Had lunch with my Sister, whom I hadn't seen in a LONG time... We were allowed plenty of space to catch up, and to linger for a nice long visit! My favorite place for such an occasion!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

great spot for anyone looking for a good meal and wine

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was very good. Waitress was very helpful and easy to talk too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always love their food and wine! Would highly recommend Cooper's Hawk!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Love Cooper Hawk but this location is exceptionally noisy. It's hard to have a conversation if you get seated in the back room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Horrible service every single time we go! Management finally got us a server after 10 minuets of sitting with nothing.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was my first visit to Cooper's Hawk. Decided to go to celebrate my birthday and I wasn't disappointed. I had the braised short ribs as a main course and they were so tender, I couldn't believe it. I would definitely recommend Cooper's Hawk to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Waiter (Park) was wonderful! Attentive, courteous, and efficient! Food was excellent! (Shrimp and Polenta; Braised Beef and Risotto, Drunken Shrimp; Eggrolls...) Thank you Coopershawk in Merrillville for your consistent quality and excellent service. By far, our FAVORITE RESTAURANT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Enjoyed the selection of wine. Suggestions were given for wine pairings with menu items.
Food was good. Only negative is that it is very noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was my Mother-in-laws b-day & we had a great time. The waiter we had was awesome his name was parke. I'm a wine club member & he was by far the best waiter we have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Good food and even better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Not all food at the table was delivered hot. My chicken was undercooked, they made me another one. Had to ask three times for more bread. Had to remind server to credit our birthday points. Not the best overall experience, but we will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic food, wine, and cocktails. Server was nice, friendly, but seemed a little unsure of himself and menu items. Not huge deal, but a little pizzazz from server goes long way. (Both people in party spent years in restaurant business). Definite must return though, seemed perfect for after work drinks and a bite on up through special-occasion dinner date.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Love Cooper's Hawk. Never have had a bad experience here.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

I had Mari as my server and she was so helpful. She was very knowledgeable about the dishes and deserts. I also loved how she recommended different kinds of wines to go with my meal. My next visit I will be requesting Mari as my waitress.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Server seemed to not know her job well, food was a little different in taste this time.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service, food and of course the wine. My favorite restaurant in Merrillville Indiana to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was great and so was the wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Do not put a week old server on a busy Saturday floor. She had a hard time opening the wine bottles

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good food, glueten free options, but it can get loud.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Made reservations still had to wait 30 mins it was to loud and the food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food and atmosphere were great! Service was ok but more training needs to be given for "wine" details. Waiter must have been new - didn't know how to uncork a bottle of wine or that white wine needs a chiller. He was very receptive to learning though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My wife and I haven't been out on a real date since our 2nd child was born...so was a good way to get out in our new area and enjoy the night. Wine was great, food was great and service was great. No complaints!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was awesome
Waiter was great however food took a while this time
However with friends it didn't matter!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food and service good as always why delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was terrible never been to this specific location but it was good at all. Beef ribs were tough and had to send macaroni back cause it was burnt. But our waiter MIKE WAS OUTSTANDING!!! I'll go back to the location just because of him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Celebrated a good friends birthday and had exceptional service by our server Lionel. Extremely knowledgeable of the menu and happily spent time to help us fully understand everything we had questions on! Highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Friends Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Very nice restaurant. The wait staff were very professional, yet friendly. Definitely on our list to return when in the area.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.