About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (219) 795-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (75)
Notable Wine List (73)
Special Occasion (62)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Casual (45)
Romantic (44)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Lunch (33)
Modern Decor (32)
Tasting Menu (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (15)
Fun (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Authentic (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Private Room (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great time. Food was out on tim ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great time. Food was out on time and server was good on refills

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regular, and had the best experie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We are regular, and had the best experience! We had a waiter the was phenomenal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was great as always. From the wine tast ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Was great as always. From the wine tasting and food to the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coopers Hawk has been a favorite for me. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Coopers Hawk has been a favorite for me. However, I have to admit that this last time, the service was not quite so attentative as previous, and the food while still good, did not seem to be up to the standard that I expect. Still a good spot, but for the price, they need to do well.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My meal was good but a few of my friends ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

My meal was good but a few of my friends were not pleased with their meals! They said their food wasn't as good as it normally was. Also, our waitress was not very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was good and really filling. Lots o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good and really filling. Lots of drink options as well. They were a bit confused with our reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Other than the fact you could see people ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Other than the fact you could see people walking by from our table to help experience was great. Food and service was top notch. We even joined their wine club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Day w/ family

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day w/ family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, been there many times, we li ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice place, been there many times, we like it and will keep going back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. Bought a bottle of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good. Bought a bottle of wine for the first time. Would advise staff to talk louder so a client can hear the presentation.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurants for Pre- Valentine mea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great restaurants for Pre- Valentine meal and great place for wine and spirits.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, People Watching, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I absolutely love this place! That's re ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I absolutely love this place! That's really all that needs to be said :)

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was attentive and knowledge ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection. The ambiance was what we hoped for on our Valentine's date. Nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Birthday dinner

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our evening and the at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening and the atmosphere is inviting. The service and food were wonderful. Plus we loved the wine tasting. The employee that waited on us for the wine tasting really knew a lot about the various wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very very good, food was great an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was very very good, food was great and difference with the flavors. My only thing I wish I liked wine, due to that wat you are known for, and also a little expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tastey but very salty. French f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was tastey but very salty.

French fries very very salty and disappointing

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Service needs to improve. The where brin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service needs to improve. The where bringing the wrong food to our table. They took our food to the wrong table

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Gathered with a group of friends to cele ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Gathered with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday. I love that I can make reservations and our party was seated in a timely manner. Tim our server was exceptional, and even explained the wine club to us. Three members of our group including myself became members. I look forward to my next bottle of wine, and group outing.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, , Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday dinner with my husban ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was my birthday dinner with my husband! Joe was a great server and the lobster with beef medallion s was fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went there for the firs ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband and I went there for the first time for our anniversary.

I was disappointed that we were seated in a big room in the back of the restaurant. The table was against the wall and lighting from the mall was coming in. The ambiance was more like a cafeteria with all the tables in the back. We didn't even have a candle on the table. Was hoping for a booth but no luck.

The waiter was pleasant. But some time after we received our appetizer, he came to the table and told us he had made an error when placing the order. Our dinner was going to be delayed coming out from the kitchen. After about another 10 minutes, our food finally was served. I had the trio of medallions and my husband had the grouper. The meal was OK, nothing spectacular. Did not feel it was worth the price though. Not sure if I would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It's always a favorite restaurant of min ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It's always a favorite restaurant of mine. It can be a bit noisy at times, especially in the back room but still good restaurant. It is a good place for wine, food, ambience and service.

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As with all of the Cooper's Hawk restaur ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As with all of the Cooper's Hawk restaurants, the service, food, atmosphere, wine, decor and decor is OUTSTANDING!!

So good! Go here and enjoy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thoroughly enjoyed the dinner I had. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the dinner I had. I wasn't too crazy about the table seating by the kitchen since I made reservations, but all in all the experience was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for a birthday and had to change ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went for a birthday and had to change the reservation from five to eight. This was no problem. The waiter was fantastic, attending to all of our needs even though we had three teenagers in the group.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excelente service. Manu could be update ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excelente service. Manu could be updated a bit. Great bloody Mary's.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious, love the new items on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always delicious, love the new items on the menu. Most of all the choice of cocktails, this time was a delicious passion fruit sangria. Never boring

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit wasn't as good as the fi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My second visit wasn't as good as the first. Although we were seated just about our reserved time. Once we were seated, we weren't even greeted or put our drink order in for more than 10 minutes. We had to catch a host to inform them that we had yet to see our server. Once they found us a server, our drinks close to another 10 minutes to get. We liked the appetizers and entries we had, but the service was horrible. We would recommend this place to a friend, based on the food and wine, but would advise them of our experience with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Our waiter Santino always makes our dini ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waiter Santino always makes our dining experience very enjoyable. He times the food perfectly and is very kind and inviting. A very big asset to this company , watched him treat all his patrons the same. The food is very good and the wine list is extensive. Very loud atmosphere but enthusiasm is felt throughout .

The hostess is also very gracious. A great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was good except we were on a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was good except we were on a schedule and we did not get seated at our reservation time. They were very overbooked and behind schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, service and food as al ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great experience, service and food as always. My favorite place to go

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me first start by saying that I am a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Let me first start by saying that I am a 2 bottle wine club member and my husband is a two bottle wine club member. We come in at least 2 times per month. I'm not sure what happened with the tasting service but I was so upset when I left that I'm not sure I will be back to this location. Diane is usually in the tasting room and she gives great service. I stood waiting in an open area for more than 15 minutes for someone to at least acknowledge me. After she came back and set our glasses down, it was another 20 minutes before she started the tasting. After four tastings, I walked to the front and told the hostess that we were going to be late and she rudely told me the policy of after 15 minutes, they could no longer hold our table. I told her that I understood, however, it wasn't our fault. I then had to basically stand in the doorway, with eye contact with the hostess, and finish up my tastings with my friends walking across the tasting room, handing me glasses of wine while I stood in the doorway because they were so slow (more likely understaffed). As I waited another 25 minutes for our reserved table, we were walked back to a half open restaurant. Not sure why we waited so long for a table. The ONLY saving grace this visit had was our server who I had never seen before, T.K. What a lovely woman!! If anyone goes back to this place, I would ask for those two. Diane your wine taster and T.K. as a server. I think I'll just drive farther and go to Burr Ridge for awhile. Seriously thinking about cancelling our wine club membership that we have both had for 5 years!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We usually don't have a great experience ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We usually don't have a great experience but today was great. They weren't as busy as when we usually come so I think they were able to pay more attention to the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Someone bussing tables spilled water all ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Someone bussing tables spilled water all over me, my coat, and down my backside. He stacked glasses and plates above me. All if them spilled over on top of me. Manager came over asked how my dessert was and didnt introduce himself. Nor did he acknowledge what happened. It was paper towels stacked all over my coat and legs. Finally, general mgr came over to handle things appropriately. I appreciate her time and effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I always love dining at Cooper's Hawk. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I always love dining at Cooper's Hawk. I have been to several locations including out of state. This restaurant had a great ambience, good food and excellent service. Unfortunately the noise level was so extremely loud, we couldn't carry on a conversation. Not sure what could be done to solve this problem, but I wouldn't choose this location for dinner again. I have had lunch there and it was much more pleasant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very slow service- took 20 mins to get w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very slow service- took 20 mins to get water and bread, after we finished our first bottle of wine, it took them like 30 mins to bring our second bottle because they had to "look for it in the basement". Food took forever to come out, it seems like when they're crowded they cant handle it- not only was it super slow, but our waitress was unapologetic and very inattentive.

The wine was good- ambiance was reminiscent of a fancier Olive Garden. Prices didn't match the quality.

Overall, not impressed

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent food and tasty wines under the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food and tasty wines under the Cooper's Hawk label. The restaurant is a bit difficult to find as it is in a large mall. Free valet parking is available as the mall parking is usually packed. The waiting/bar/gift shop area is noisy with little seating, but the sound level in the dining area is not bad. There is usually a wait, even with reservations, but make reservations as the place is full on Friday nights and weekends. Excellent food well prepared. Although the wines are private label, they can be quite good. The menu has suggested wine pairings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Prior to going to the Star Plaza Theatre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Prior to going to the Star Plaza Theatre for a concert we made a reservation for dinner at 5:45. We arrived at 5:30 and checked in and the bar was jammed and a number of people were waiting for tables. We were called exactly at our reservation time. Both food and service were exceptionally good. Only drawback is the restaurant is loud. At times we almost had to yell at each other to be heard.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Ambiance was below expectations (windows ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Ambiance was below expectations (windows to mall. It was very cold at our table. That manager was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.