About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2197959463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Indiana
Best Food
Northwest Indiana
5 More
Best Service
Northwest Indiana
Best Ambiance
Northwest Indiana
Best Value
Northwest Indiana
Special Occasion
Northwest Indiana
Most Booked
Northwest Indiana
Best Restaurants in Merrillville, Indiana ›

Notable Wine List (118)
Special Occasion (93)
Great for Lunch (76)
See All
Good for Groups (70)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Romantic (55)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Kid-friendly (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was so loud in the room you could not ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 21 hours ago

It was so loud in the room you could not talk without yelling to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

The whole reason we went to cooper's haw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

The whole reason we went to cooper's hawk was for my wife to get the Ahi tuna...they were out! At 730 on a Thursday how can a restaurant run out of an item that is on the menu 3 times? Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We were seating right by the kitchen, a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were seating right by the kitchen, a lot of traffic. We food took 45 minutes because "they had a couple of big parties" yet when it did finally arrive it was barely warm and neither one of our steak medallions were cooked right. The manager said she would buy us a glass of wine or dessert, but she never told our server she would do so, he was very apologetic. Wasn't his fault, it was the kitchen.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The hostesses who are at the table where ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The hostesses who are at the table where you check-in are very RUDE and condescending.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great service....great food...easy reser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service....great food...easy reservations...prices were ok...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Especially love the Gluten ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food! Especially love the Gluten Free Menu - great selection of food and the menu has multiple pages (for those that are not gluten free - you will never understand the struggle) Great wine list as well and various gluten free dessert choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was amazing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the food & service. Menu offers ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Enjoyed the food & service. Menu offers many appetizing selections. Don't live in area but when traveling through Merrillville I do make every effort to have dinner with you. Very busy so reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was lovely

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent ,the food good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service was excellent ,the food good. The only complaint I have is the noise level was way too loud. The people at my table could barely hear each other speak. I don't know if you can do anything about it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife to lunch after taking the k ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took my wife to lunch after taking the kids on their 1st day of school. Nice lunch and atmosphere. Service was a bit below the standards I expected.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Coopers Hawk is a very good resturant. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Coopers Hawk is a very good resturant. I love the food and the wine. Good restaurant for meeting with friends, a romatic dinner and work parties.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, patient waiter. Good appetiter. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice, patient waiter. Good appetiter. Extensive wine list. Entrees a little too costly

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We always enjoy going to Cooper's Hawk, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We always enjoy going to Cooper's Hawk, but this time there were a few problems. The food and service were excellent, as usual. We had a reservation for 8:15 and were not seated until 8:55! This kind of miscalculation of time is, in my opinion, unacceptable. The staff needs to be trained how to handle the preparation of tables and sections necessary to fulfill reservations in a timely manner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience at Cooper's Haw ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Another great experience at Cooper's Hawk. Good food, wine and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time and definitely look ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had a wonderful time and definitely looking forward to my next visit. Joe, our server was nothing short of Great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately I cannot remember his name ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Unfortunately I cannot remember his name, but our server was exceptional!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Join the wine members club for great inc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Join the wine members club for great incentives and wonderful wine choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food was excellent. I had the Salmon, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My food was excellent. I had the Salmon, it tasted soooo good I could have slap my mother...just kidding!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I ordered the black and blue flank steak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered the black and blue flank steak. My steak was cold, the salad consisted of 80% iceberg lettuce including a 2" wide piece of the head of lettuce. Just sliced off the round head and put on the side of the plate almost like a garnish. The steak was so tough and chewy, I cold not cut it with my steak knife and chewing it was nearly impossible with me spitting out several bites into my napkin to avoid choking on it. I told the waitress I was NOT impressed with my meal and she did not seem to care what I thought and took no further action. I have been to another Cooper's Hawk location and had the same meal and was happy so I expected more. The occasion was my 28th wedding anniversary and the dinner was very disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Restaurant has an attractive interior. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Restaurant has an attractive interior. We enjoyed our Wedge Salads. I had the Spaghetti and Meatballs. The meatballs were tasty and there were lots of them. The spaghetti sauce was a little watery. Our server was a little indifferent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

arrived 1 hr before dining at 4:00pm on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

arrived 1 hr before dining at 4:00pm on sat, could not do tasting, center island was not open, maybe more help is needed on weekends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a fabulous waiter and were well t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a fabulous waiter and were well taken care of. Our special requests were handled with no problem and we were all very happy with our food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I absolutely love Cooper' ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My husband and I absolutely love Cooper's Hawk!!!! The have great wine and a great dining menu as well!!! There's a huge selection of food and drink. We have tried a vast majority of items on the menu and have never been disappointed. The crispy fish sandwich is amazing- I recommend it to everyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. Took my wife of 23 yea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great experience. Took my wife of 23 years on a date. Food was amazing, attentive waitstaff, and extensive winelist. We found the ambiance to be conducive to sharing and good conversation. We enjoyed the experience and will definitely be returning! Only complaint...our expectation was that the restaurant would have more of a formal feel, but we found most of the patrons in jeans, t-shirts, and gym shoes, far from what we anticipated. My wife and I dressed for the date, but were not happy about the relaxed dress code. We can do jeans and gym shoes any day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely disappointing ... I was lookin ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Extremely disappointing ... I was looking for a better than average dining experience and had dined at Cooper's Hawk previously with good success. The Lobster bisque was blasé and lacked any substantive lobster - it was mainly a vegetable broth. The salad was so-so and much too large. My entrée of blackened tuna was so overly spicy that I could not taste the tuna at all. A blob in my mouth with lots of hot seasoning was all that was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The food and wine are always excellent a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food and wine are always excellent at Cooper's Hawk, and our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love Coopers Hawk . Food, wine and serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Love Coopers Hawk . Food, wine and service is exceptional . Love that you can taste the wine before you choose the one for dinner . Waitress was outstanding .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. Service was v ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was great as always. Service was very good as well. Great date night spot for all.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother has Celiac Disease and HAS to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My mother has Celiac Disease and HAS to be gluten-free and Cooper's Hawk is able to expertly meet her dietary needs. Our server was aware of her needs and did not even have to ask questions and offered my mom gluten free bread before she even has to ask. It is one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Cooper's Hawk! Staff is so friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Love Cooper's Hawk! Staff is so friendly and helpful!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Mike was great!! He did a gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our waiter Mike was great!! He did a great job taking care of everything for us... It was a great night...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife ordered Short Ribs and Risotto ( ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My wife ordered Short Ribs and Risotto (which she always orders) and when she received it, she had Risotto with 3 bits of short ribs. She ate the mushrooms thinking they were bits of meat which they were not. She was very disappointed and probably will not order it again. Please bring back the 3 Short Rib Pieces.

The restaurant was very loud and sounded like a sports bar on SuperBowl Night.

The Mexican Drunken Shrimp were delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I've been to Cooper's Hawk on another oc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I've been to Cooper's Hawk on another occasion but this visit was excellent. I enjoyed it so much I plan to make it my go to place always. I'm sure it had a lot to do with my waiter Isadore. He was soooo kind and so informative and he knew the wines. He stated the will not always be on the floor in the future but his skills need to be utilized in training. He made a good experience into the best experience ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine, the service, and the atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The wine, the service, and the atmosphere were great. The food was mediocre, and significantly over priced for the quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

They have a gluten free menu and while i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

They have a gluten free menu and while it is limited, the food is always prepared very well. My husband tried their pork chop for the first time and commented that it was extremely tender for such a large chop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waitress was excellent, could not ha ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our waitress was excellent, could not have asked for better. Food and wine were excellent as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a good spot to meet with friends. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a good spot to meet with friends. The food and wine are great, and the staff are accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We are Wine Club Members and have dined ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We are Wine Club Members and have dined here often. Has the salmon for the first time tonight and it is now my new fav. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The customer service was wonderful. We g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The customer service was wonderful. We got signed up to be wine club members.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.