About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2197959463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Indiana
Best Food
Northwest Indiana
6 More
Best Service
Northwest Indiana
Best Ambiance
Northwest Indiana
Best Value
Northwest Indiana
Romantic
Northwest Indiana
Special Occasion
Northwest Indiana
Most Booked
Northwest Indiana
Best Restaurants in Merrillville, IN ›

notable wine list (148)
special occasion (123)
great for lunch (95)
See All
good for groups (88)
fit for foodies (86)
romantic (83)
hot spot (47)
great for brunch (35)
kid-friendly (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
late-night find (21)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (5)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Had a gift card from a friend. Glad for ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had a gift card from a friend. Glad for the opportunity. Service good food great and reasonable cost. Nice size portions. Different choices not the everyday norm. I will go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wine.

Dined 6 days ago

I have loved this restaurant for years so I'm thrilled it is now in Merrillville and I don't have to travel to Illinois to enjoy it. I love the Drunken Shrimp appetizer, I get it for my meal. you can't go wrong with shrimp wrapped in bacon and sitting on a bed of guacamole... YUM!! Everything I've had at any of their sites has been outstanding. It will always be consistent and good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner, our server, Elizabet ...

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding dinner, our server, Elizabeth, was knowledgable , and very helpful. I have a food allergy, and she went out of her way to take care of me. The wine is good, the food is very interesting and flavorful, the service is outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome...just awesome definitely making ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome...just awesome definitely making this spot part of the restaurant rotation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

Cooper's hawk is always wonderful. The wine is good and food is fabulous. Very disappointed that the monthly cheese board has been removed from the menu....who has wine without offering cheese? Bad move Cooper's hawk! Please bring the awesome cheese board back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there early....and enjoyed our wa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We got there early....and enjoyed our waitress so much in the bar that we changed our reservation to sit in the bar with her:0) I wish I knew her name. A very nice girl who was working on Saturday.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So tasty

Dined on May 21, 2016

Went on a for a girls night out. Food and was but it was really loud in there that it was sort of to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Always great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service1

We had a 45 minute wait, very frustratin ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a 45 minute wait, very frustrating!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome! As always... great wine and foo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome! As always... great wine and food. Service is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Dining Experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

Made reservations, so were seated immediately. The server was very prompt coming to our table. She was very nice and quite knowledgeable about the food and wines. The shrimp appetizer was great and the house wine was fine and reasonably priced. Our meal was great, my husband had the grouper, which was perfect. I had the chicken piccata, also good . The only downside was that somehow, our dinner order didn't appear in a timely fashion. The server came by twice to say our order should be here shortly, while we saw people seated way after us, already eating. Finally, a manager came to our table to apologize for the delay, some issue in kitchen. She offered us a glass of wine for our inconvenience. She left our table and was back in 2 minutes with our meal. Other than that, we were pleased with everything else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Be sure to place reservations early for ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Be sure to place reservations early for restaurant. CH fills up quick. Large capacity though. Recommend an early wine tasting 4:15 for a 5:15 dinner. You will have to wait for a Friday/Saturday wine tasting. Room gets full early (5pm). 1st come 1st served in wine tasting room.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good but inconsistent

Dined on May 14, 2016

I had the salmon as an entrée as I've ordered before and it seems like every time I get the salmon it's not made the same. The coleslaw had no dressing on it it was completely dry and the salmon was the same no sauce. Although, our waitress was very attentive even though when we first got there no one acknowledged us for the first 10 minutes of sitting at our table so a waitress came by and asked if anybody waited on us and we said no she said OK this is not my section but I'm going to take your table so you don't have to sit here and wait for somebody to wait on you. Her name was Alexa and she was excellent. Her wine suggestions were excellent.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought a friend here for lunch before s ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Brought a friend here for lunch before she moved to Boston. Justin was our server and was very accommodating. He explained the specials offered that day including the wine of the month. He highly recommended the egg roll appetizer which was delicious. She had the lunch spaghetti entrée and I had the salmon...yum! We arrived around 1:00 p.m. and restaurant was crowded and noise level high however, as time went on things became quieter so we could talk at a normal level. Service was great, food was delicious. One thing I noticed as an FYI for the establishment is that the flooring in the dining area is like a simulated wood and appeared to be very slippery...she noticed it also. Just a cautionary note so people don't slip and fall...please check it out. Other than that, had a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Let's Go to The Mall

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Inside Southlake Mall is a lovely place for a lovely lunch. Known for wines, servers are knowledgeable and informative without being intrusive. While the menu is good, it is slightly more than you expect to pay at THE MALL... and some of the salad choices are less interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great meal

Dined on May 10, 2016

My date and I are in our early 60s and this was her first time there. The food was excellent, plentiful and prepared perfectly. If you plan on dining there it is VERY advisable to have a reservation because the place is almost always full. Don't be fooled by the pricing, it is a little on the steep side, but, you are definitely not short-changed on the amount and quality of the food. Our server was quick, knowledgeable of the menu, and made sure our beverages were filled or replaced. My date has already asked when we might be able to go there again...

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Mostly a good experience. I always love ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mostly a good experience. I always love their dry Bombay Sapphire martinis with blue cheese olives. However, another's Manhattan proved disappointing. We all thoroughly enjoyed the Crab Beignet and Mexican Drunken Shrimp appetizers! Fantastic! The Rissotto was absolutely amazing, as was the Gnocchi Bolognese! (My new favorite). Unfortnately, my husband's Grouper special was awful. Even burnt on one part. He did not complain to our server (who was very sweet), so I can't report how well that situation would have been handled.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

From the prompt seating to the excellent waitstaff - specifically our waitress ( Who was phenomenal ) to the outstanding food, it was an awesome Mothers Day and birthday celebration ! It was perfect! Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Stephen was very attentive. Great variety of food for different tastes. Great selection of wines and other beverages, i.e. Sweet Red, Moscato, Bloody Mary, Mojito. Great appetizers, we had the calamari and over the border egg rolls. I'm glad that the menu included Healthy Choices, less than 600 calories. I had the Salmon and sautéed spinach. My family had the soy Ginger Salmon, Surf & Turf - Fillet Medillions & Mexican Drunken Shrimp, Two Soup & Salad - Crab & Lobster Bisque & Wedge Salad and Crab & Lobster Bisque & Ceasar Salad. Too full for dessert this time. Hopefully will leave room for it next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

All About the Wune Club

Dined on May 8, 2016

It's too bad the waiter was so focused on selling us the Wine Club instead of serving us. The meal started off well, we were seated quickly and informed right away about the Club. We weren't interested as we live a bit too far away to make it a frequent dining location. Once we declined, our server gave up on us. When it came time to order, we both ordered different wines. They were delicious, as were the entrees. I had the filet, and he had the surf and turf. But prior to the entrees arrival, we both ordered a second glass of wine to enjoy with the meal. Unfortunately, the wine never arrived, nor did our server. If he had, he would have been informed that the potatoes were cold. Luckily, we flagged another server who replaced the cold potatoes quickly, but much to my dismay, the replacement potatoes were only lukewarm and completely unseasoned. When we were about finished, our waiter reappeared, but still empty handed. We cancelled the second glass of wine. Was the food good? Yes, for the most part--minus the potato problems. Was the service what you'd expect for a $100 meal--absolutely not.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Spot for a Date Night

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife took me to dinner for my birthday since it is my favorite restaurant and as usual the food, service, and atmosphere were great. I love the wine club and the rewards points and since it was my birthday they gave me $16 off the bill!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wine !

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is incredible ! The wine list Is the best ! You must try !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first impression

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mom here for Mothers Day. This was our first time here. Our waiter was awesome, the food was delicious, and the wine was great. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was bland, no flavor at all. Hated ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was bland, no flavor at all. Hated menu changes

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful place for evening

Dined on May 1, 2016

Celebrated my girlfriends birthday. We were seated in a corner table that made it very personable. Our server, Mike, was great. He was polite, helpful and just great. Our food was very good paired well the recommended wine. We will definitely return. Very nice evening for a special date. Thank you to the place and its staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was superb. We were a group of 5 and we shared different appetizers and had different entrées. Everyone was very pleased with the food. Our waiter was attentive and handled all of our requests with ease. We will definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service on 4/28 At Lunch

Dined on April 28, 2016

Justin was our waiter. He was incredible. I am sure others have had similar experiences. Glad he is there. On down side, we made reservations but still had to wait. Justin made it worth the wait.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon dish was cooked to perfection ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The salmon dish was cooked to perfection and the Cooper's hawk white wine paired nicely with this entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was tasty but cold . They brought salad appetizer and entree all at same time!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Make sure silverware and napkin is on th ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Make sure silverware and napkin is on the table prior to seating someone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent

Dined on April 23, 2016

We go to Cooper's hawk often. The food and service and wine are always outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and quality food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had the Drunken Shrimp for my appetizer. If you love shrimp these are to die for. My main course was the Filet Migion with roasted vegetables. The steak was excellent, cooked perfectly rare for me. The roasted veggies, were ok. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Date Night Spot

Dined on April 13, 2016

My wife and I have gone to Coopers Hawk about 20 times now and we have never been disappointed. It has almost gotten to the point where we don't even really consider going anywhere else. We love the wine club and all of the rewards and we feel like we're getting a great deal every time we dine at Coopers Hawk.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was very good. However the service ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was very good. However the service was not. Have been here a number of times and have always enjoyed it. This time we just missed on the right service.

food4
ambience4
service5

It's a busy restaurant attached to a bus ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's a busy restaurant attached to a busy mall. However, the food is good and it has an upscale feel about it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our wine tasting server was awesome. She ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our wine tasting server was awesome. She was informative and interacted with us well. !

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

date not gone wrong

Dined on April 3, 2016

servixe was great, food was not. Ordered an expensive filet mignon to cook as medium well. Got served a steak that was practically bleeding. Asked server to take it back to cook longer, it came back still bleeding. Not satisfied at all for the amount of money that was spent. Will definitely be going somewhere else next time for better quality food.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Mediocre

Dined on April 2, 2016

Overall dining experience could be described as mediocre. Coopers Hawk has become a higher end fast food restaurant. The food really wasn't any better than what one could get for cheaper at a Fridays. Main course felt as if it was frozen food heated up instead of freshly prepared by a chef. On the plus side, the soup was excellent and pretzel bread very good. Service was good, but there is a clear goal to mass produce the dining experience and turn over tables quickly. Atmosphere is loud and it is difficult to talk. We had previously rated this restaurant much more highly and always looked forward to attending. However, we are unlikely to return anytime soon after this last experience as it just wasn't worth the price. The strength remains the wine which is excellent, but there are other area restaurants who serve wine that is just as good.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WINE_momma

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everyone that visits, and enjoys good wine, I insist on taking to Cooper's Hawk! You are never disappointed!! The food is Amazing, the Wine is suburb, and the service is unbeatable!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food!!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had reservations for 6 pm on a Friday. We were seated within minutes. I had the Gnocchi in short rib Bolognese sauce - Excellent! Everyone in our party raved about their selection. Wines were also excellent. The only blip was that we received our entrée before our soup. Our waiter seemed new, and he offered to take it off the bill, but I told him not to do it. We were very happy with our total meal and experience. Must Go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.