About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2197959463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Indiana
Best Food
Northwest Indiana
5 More
Best Service
Northwest Indiana
Best Ambiance
Northwest Indiana
Best Value
Northwest Indiana
Special Occasion
Northwest Indiana
Most Booked
Northwest Indiana
Best Restaurants in Merrillville, IN ›

Notable Wine List (67)
Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Romantic (42)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Casual (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Tasting Menu (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fun (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Healthy (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was an amazing experience! Coopers H ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

It was an amazing experience! Coopers Hawk is one of my favorite restaurants, anyways, but our service was fantastic! We even inquired about the wine club, and he explained every detail perfectly. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

dinner date with husband. Everything was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

dinner date with husband. Everything was wonderful and delicious.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good place I was satisfy. I wou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was a good place I was satisfy. I would definitely going back soon.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coopers Hawk is consistently great. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Coopers Hawk is consistently great. The menu is varied, having food fancy enough for gourmets and simple enough for those who like 'comfort food.' For lunch with a friend, I like to accompany the meal with one of their fun sangria offerings which give a short term buzz and don't interfere with driving home. The entire wait staff is excellent and one can get away from the open kitchen for quiet conversation. It's an all-around excellent choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing waiter. Very attentiv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had an amazing waiter. Very attentive. Food was exactly as ordered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service! Waitress was attentiv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful service! Waitress was attentive as well as knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to spend time with the famil ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great place to spend time with the family... Love the food and wine..

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner at Coopers Hawk!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I enjoyed a very good thanksg ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My son and I enjoyed a very good thanksgiving dinner. We chose to eat from the main menu and thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Seira G was our server and was excellent!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server was very upbeat and friendly. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our server was very upbeat and friendly. She was prompt with meeting our needs. The food was delicious and the wine outstanding. As returning wine club members, we are always greeted like old friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cooper's Hawk and always recomme ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We love Cooper's Hawk and always recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely love going to Coopers Hawk... ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely love going to Coopers Hawk...even look forward to it! This time, like always, it was amazing. Not real impressed with service this time, it was a first. Had to ask for pret

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was fine until there was obv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was fine until there was obviously some issue as we waited a long time in between our appetizers and our meals. The server never came over to offer an explanation as to what or why our food was delayed. This was our first visit and would still come back if the occasion arose.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Sat in the back so it was a little loud ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Sat in the back so it was a little loud with some large groups. Love the BBQ ranch chicken salad

Great way to end a night of shopping

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a fair experience because the fir ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a fair experience because the fire alarm kept end going off for over an hour. The food ,service was excellent the servers were very good. We got our meal free. We have gone to coopers hawk at least 10 times and always had excellent service. We will be back

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value5

The fire alarm was going off most of the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The fire alarm was going off most of the dinner, you would think they would of offered a discount but they did not very upsetting. s

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Enjoyed the food and wine, thought it wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Enjoyed the food and wine, thought it was reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everytime we make a reservation, we end ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Everytime we make a reservation, we end up waiting. This time the wait was well over 30 minutes. You should not have to wait when you have a reservation, plus an early phone call from the restaurant confirming your reservation. Our server was excellent and the food was good, but the long wait discourages further visits!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Ran out of food, but did not tell us for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Ran out of food, but did not tell us for a half an hour, poor service, lettuce was frozen bad meal

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was excellent. Make a reservation o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Make a reservation on Open Table, you will be glad you did.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The serve was excellent, with the excep ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The serve was excellent, with the exception of checking in, I felt ignored, wasn't acknowledged for 3+ minutes. The hostess acted as if I was invisible until I greeted her. She never made eye contact with me.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husband birthday. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We were celebrating my husband birthday. Our server, Julie, was wonderful. Food was great. Wine was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love dining @ Cooper's Hawk. Grea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Always love dining @ Cooper's Hawk. Great wine tasting and good service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have not been here in about a year an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have not been here in about a year and I was looking forward to it but was very disappointed and will not return. I was a wine member for a few years. My salad was not the correct salad and I ate it anyhow because did not see my waiter to correct it. My son's filet which is an outrageous price over 30.00for the size, was burnt. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fun, food always the best around 😀

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fun, food always the best around 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We are regulars and this time food took ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are regulars and this time food took very long to come out and when it did come the lobster bisque was not the quality it usually is. Seems like they ran out and tried to make more but it was not finished cooking.

The corn chowder was very spicy and when the person asked how spicy the tortilla soup was the wait staff did not say this soup was spicy.

Not the "A" team in the kitchen that night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service were great. Manager wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food and service were great. Manager was nice enough to honor a promotion that had expired a day prior. We appreciated the extra effort.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because we have been spoiled from previo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Because we have been spoiled from previous visit, we have set the BAR very high for you. We expect the very best the moment we sit down, until the time we leave. We are use to five star service, that relate to your five star prices. We felt that although our server was good, we felt that things seemed a little off. We never like sitting with dirty dishes in front of us. But we shall continue to come and enjoy your wonderful dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Sadly disappointed this visit. We have ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Sadly disappointed this visit. We have typically had very good food here, but this was a sub-par experience. My husband ordered the pick two "surf and turf" option. His "turf" choice was a pork chop, which is ordered medium rare. When it came out it was very done, and after some urging by me, he sent it back. It wasn't long and the server was back to inform us that the kitchen told her this pork chop is "pre-cooked" and there was no way to serve it as he ordered. I was quite shocked, and amazed, that a restaurant of this caliber would serve "pre-cooked" anything, let alone a cut of meat. They were kind enough to take it off the bill, and get him a new entree, on the fly, but pre-cooked and processed meat should be clearly indicated on the menu, or the servers should be educated to alert anyone ordering it. The server did offer two glasses of wine on the house as well, but we'd already ordered two bottles so the chances of us having any more were slim to none. It would have been more appropriate to discount the second bottle we'd already ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, great service, consistent qu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food, great service, consistent quality, friendly server

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have bee to this restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My wife and I have bee to this restaurant at least 20+ times and we still have yet to be disappointed. The food, wine, atmosphere, and service are great and it's a perfect go-to option when you can't decide on a restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Our server Justin was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great experience. Our server Justin was amazing! Polite, knowledgeable, great personality!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent! Really enjoyed the ca ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always excellent! Really enjoyed the calamari appetizer! Salmon was cooked perfectly. Everyone is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sword fish special was equivalent to goi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Sword fish special was equivalent to going to the freezer section at the grocery store and getting a precooked piece of fish and taking it home and throwing it in the oven for a few minutes. Very bland and untasteful. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Went there on a Saturday evening for a d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went there on a Saturday evening for a date with my boyfriend, and we were so glad we made reservations because it was a long wait. The food and wine were so good as it always is!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Trio of Medallions!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Love Trio of Medallions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time ever experience: Wine tasting ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

First time ever experience:

Wine tasting: That was just great! And very educational and we were EAGER to take on a membership. The wine server was SO wonderful and amiable ~ she made us WANT to become members. And when we tasted the "COLLABORATION" --- well, enough said. Also, the Sauvignon Blanc was out of this world!!! We were enchanted with the experience and couldn't wait for more...Then my cell phone began to ring --- it was the hostess looking for us! How cool is that?

Food: Took EVERYONE'S advice and ordered the (appetizer) Egg Rolls. TOO GOOD TO EVEN BEGIN TO DESCRIBE. ~ Our entrees took a dive, though: Cod was cold and fries were, too. Medallion Trio was only tasty if you liked the topping. They SUNK the filet medallion under the toppings--- and the toppings were, well, actually bland...and the mushrooms and veggies were just LOADED with oiliness. And the grouper...well, just DON'T order it!

The pretzel bread is delicious!

Server: Our server was SO personable and knowledgeable...I THINK he tried to get me away from ordering the grouper, but I wanted it so badly. Couldn't eat it... DO NOT order this if you're thinking about a fresh, light and fluffy fish...it's just smothered in some crusty, oily stuff and takes more like a sardine. It's flat, and just NOT in any way delectable.

Dessert: Well, we weren't going to order any, but our server said this very impressive to thing us: "I just spoke to the manager about your discontent for the grouper... We want to end your meal on a "high note!" Choose a dessert of your choice, on the house.

So we did: ORDER the upside Key Lime Pie at your EARLIEST convenience.!

I have to mention one last thing.: Our tab was 61.00. My husband looked at me and said, "Do you realize we spend MORE than this when we order out???"

POINT TAKEN. We will be back next week...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very upset with this visit to Coopershaw ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Very upset with this visit to Coopershawk. Been going to the different ones for years. This was the worst meal that I have ever had at CH. I ordered the Filet Trio, which is what I usually order. I order it medium well. I think I got it medium rare. And my filets and my broccoli were iced cold. My potatoes were the only item on my page hot. I actually stuffed myself on bread and desert and took my meal home to try and cure it in the toaster oven by warming it up and burning it. That didnt even help it much. The worst meal that I ever had at Coopershawk. Very upset but did not want to make a scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Seated fairly quickly---had a 5:00 reser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Seated fairly quickly---had a 5:00 reservation; in by 5:20.

There were at least 7 empty tables, so not sure why the wait. Friendly server who asked if we needed anything immediately when food was presented. Needed to stop by after a few minutes to see if we had everything.... could have been more attentive. Fish and fries were good---cole slaw was excellent. overall nice evening out at Cooper's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.