Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 25 times today

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

4.5
1209 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Notable Wine List
Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(219) 795-9463
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt McMillin
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Events Department: (219) 795-9463 ext. 4
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1209 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Good food, great service, nice wine list. The short rib taco lunch special was delicious, and I can’t wait to go back again to order this meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food is always great. The service was not good at all this time. We had to remind her some orders, remind her we were celebrating a birthday. I had great experiences in the past though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The placed us by ourselves in a room in the back that smelled like mildew, when I mentioned to the hostess she said it wasn’t their fault and if we wanted a different table we needed to wait about 30 min... what was the point of making reservations? Since we were the only ones in that room the server didn’t check on us often and took for ever to bring and take out bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I love the ambiance, the wide variety of dishes and nothing beats a flight of red wine! Hands down, my absolute favorite restaurant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Our reservation was for 8 o’clock when we showed up they said they were running 20 minutes behind we did not get seated until after that when we found a seat in the bar. Do not know what the point of making a reservation is for if we get seated 20 to 30 minutes after our reservation appointment. This is now the second time that it has happened to us.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Made a reservation, arrived early but waited 55 minutes to be seated with almost no apology. Ready to cancel my membership.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was good, drinks were good. 30 minute wait with reservation was unacceptable and disappointing. Also ran out of the desert we wanted that night, had to choose another option.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was mediocre. Service was sub par. We come here every couple months in hopes that when trying something new, it’ll keep us coming back for more. Unfortunately, the only thing keeping us there is the Brussel Sprouts and wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food and wine are amazing! Service is good too. It can be on the expensive side, but with it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Very crowded, so make sure you have reservations. Asked to seat on time due to a handicap person in our party. They accommodated the request promptly. Excellent service!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It was another good meal. Great time with friends, and really enjoyed the post dinner wine tasting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I love going to Coopers Hawk. The food is always very delicious and the service is fantastic. Our server was so much fun and made our experience memorable.

They have a huge wine selection and give you free samples before you choose a glass.
The ambiance is great for a date or a girls night out. Makes you feel like you're at a nice restaurant in the city when really it's close to home!

Will always recommend to everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Amazing! Absolutely my favorite place. Always had a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great menu, staff and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Everything about my visit was great from our seats to our food . The service was great and the attention was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great place for a group to celebrate a birthday. Service was very friendly and fun. Food was amazing. Great time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Loved our waiter, Michael. * five Star service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was very good and the person who took care of our table gave excellent service with an incredible personality!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Our server Antonio was amazing and the food was delicious as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The service was wonderful! Top notch!!! Went for my husbands birthday and the server told him happy birthday every time she came to the table and even the manager stopped by to wish him Happy Birthday! Made him smile! Can’t wait to go back and try more of the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Mike was excellent. Perfect server. Nice helpful and his timing was perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

It was our 32nd year anniversary dinner! We were greeted with 2 glasses of free champagne plus a free dessert platter at the end of our meal!! Danielle was our excellent waitress along with all the other staff that helped. Great food, wine and service!!! Love Coopers Hawk!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Slow service, understaffed for a holiday Sunday,

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My card was charge for someone else’s bill plus mine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter lunch - amazing as always! Vinnie was a great server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I have been a wine club member since they opened the Hobart restaurant. I can really say that I have never had a bad meal. The one time I told the manager that the food was not up to the usual standard just as an FYI she immediately gave us tickets for 2 free meals. Our favorite waiter is Mike but they are all very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We are a great fan of Coopershawk & have tried several different restaurants but we’re disappointed with the Merrillville location. The service was excellent but unfortunately we didn’t think the food was as food as the other locations. Sorry!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food and wine were fabulous

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We sat in the bar, so it was a bit noisy, and that was OK. The Salmon was awesome!
service was good and we enjoyed ourselves.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Birthday party for my wife with family. Server was great and everyone loved their food!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The service was slow and it really wasn’t busy. We noticed the quality as well as quantity has gone down since we were there last. We love this restaurant and have been here many times with exceptional service so it was disappointing to have had this experience. We will give it another chance or 2, maybe it was just an “off” day but if it doesn’t change, it will be our last time, so sorry to say.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food was pretty good. The item I didn’t like was immediately replaced and the item that was incorrect for my date was replaced immediately also. Very loud. Good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food was wonderful, as usual. Our server was great, gave us thoughtful suggestions & provided efficient & enjoyable service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

That was the worst fillet mignon ive ever had, will never go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Our server went out of her way to take care of us. She was very helpful with informing us of all the perks of the wine club and convinced us to join.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Great place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Our server Kat was great!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Cooper's Hawk in Merrillville never disappoints. This time around, I ordered Chicken Medeira. It's extremely rare for me to order chicken out because I have it at home often. But when I read the description of CH's dish online, I knew I had to try it. It was a superb dish, exquisitely presented. The chicken was very tender and the mushrooms plentiful. The Medeira reduction sauce made my taste buds extremely happy! The accompanying smashed potatoes and asparagus were savory and delicious as well. I ordered the recommended wine (Barbera) and it was an excellent pairing.

As usual, our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the wines.

My only suggestion for improvement is that something be done to tone down the noise level. Whenever I've gone there it has been so noisy that conversation is difficult, even in a corner booth. Perhaps the addition of draperies, upholstery or lower ceiling panels would help quiet the place down.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We LOVE Park as a waiter. We have had his service before and have asked for his section before. Our FOOD took for ever longer than normal. The cabbage and corn-beef was Ice COLD. We come once a month so we didn't say anything. But almost thinking of just going wine tasting and then going to a different restaurant for dinner.

This is the first time we were offered the upgrade of the Red Sangria which was AMAZING! The lady (server) at the U tasting bar on Saturday at 5:30 p.m. was friendly, Fast, and outgoing. Which was wonderful usually its very slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Outstanding service and amazing food! Wait staff and management are outstanding! They go above and beyond to make sure you have a fantastic experience in their establishment.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31

Tweets by Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville