About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2197959463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Indiana
Best Food
Northwest Indiana
4 More
Best Service
Northwest Indiana
Best Ambiance
Northwest Indiana
Best Value
Northwest Indiana
Most Booked
Northwest Indiana
Best Restaurants in Merrillville, IN ›

notable wine list (129)
special occasion (105)
great for lunch (90)
See All
good for groups (84)
fit for foodies (78)
romantic (67)
hot spot (37)
great for brunch (33)
neighborhood gem (24)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (17)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great as always. Service was v ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was great as always. Service was very good as well. Great date night spot for all.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother has Celiac Disease and HAS to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My mother has Celiac Disease and HAS to be gluten-free and Cooper's Hawk is able to expertly meet her dietary needs. Our server was aware of her needs and did not even have to ask questions and offered my mom gluten free bread before she even has to ask. It is one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Cooper's Hawk! Staff is so friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Love Cooper's Hawk! Staff is so friendly and helpful!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Mike was great!! He did a gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our waiter Mike was great!! He did a great job taking care of everything for us... It was a great night...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife ordered Short Ribs and Risotto ( ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My wife ordered Short Ribs and Risotto (which she always orders) and when she received it, she had Risotto with 3 bits of short ribs. She ate the mushrooms thinking they were bits of meat which they were not. She was very disappointed and probably will not order it again. Please bring back the 3 Short Rib Pieces.

The restaurant was very loud and sounded like a sports bar on SuperBowl Night.

The Mexican Drunken Shrimp were delicious.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I've been to Cooper's Hawk on another oc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I've been to Cooper's Hawk on another occasion but this visit was excellent. I enjoyed it so much I plan to make it my go to place always. I'm sure it had a lot to do with my waiter Isadore. He was soooo kind and so informative and he knew the wines. He stated the will not always be on the floor in the future but his skills need to be utilized in training. He made a good experience into the best experience ever.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine, the service, and the atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The wine, the service, and the atmosphere were great. The food was mediocre, and significantly over priced for the quality.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

They have a gluten free menu and while i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

They have a gluten free menu and while it is limited, the food is always prepared very well. My husband tried their pork chop for the first time and commented that it was extremely tender for such a large chop.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waitress was excellent, could not ha ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our waitress was excellent, could not have asked for better. Food and wine were excellent as well.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a good spot to meet with friends. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a good spot to meet with friends. The food and wine are great, and the staff are accommodating.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We are Wine Club Members and have dined ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We are Wine Club Members and have dined here often. Has the salmon for the first time tonight and it is now my new fav. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The customer service was wonderful. We g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The customer service was wonderful. We got signed up to be wine club members.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Wine, Great Customer S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great Food, Great Wine, Great Customer Service, on the menu that have tried is Delicious! Well worth the trip.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm a wine club member, this was my firs ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I'm a wine club member, this was my first visit to the Merrillville location. Every time I go to Cooper's Hawk (usually once a month) I enjoy wine tasting (that is included in my membership) prior to my meal. I was not pleased at all with my experience at this location. Upon walking into the tasting room it was full but people were spread out. I had asked "could we squeeze in here?" simply just needing the two couples to move over to either side a step each but instead the server invited us to stand at the handicap area. It was awkward and besides an initial hello and which wine list we were tasting from we were ignored. After nearly 5 minutes passed seeing she was busy another couple had left from across the room and we moved over to the other server. The original server said she was sorry for the wait and I said it's ok, she doesn't look busy over here. When we moved the original server still insisted on taking care of us when she had plenty others on the other side of the room. It's just wine tasting, unless I'm missing something, why couldn't the lady who wasn't as busy take care of us? Toward the end things were better with her service but some of the things she said in response to my questions didn't make any sense and I'm pretty sure she wasn't correct in some things she said. As far as our meal, our server Steven was amazing. Always smiling and attentive. Everything came out in a timely manor and prepared as requested.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 2nd time dining at this part ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my 2nd time dining at this particular location and the first time I used open table for a reservation at this location. I enjoyed the ease of making the reservation and even changing it when it was needed. I did not know, that in order to get a booth or a table not in the flow of traffic ,that you had to request it in the reservations. I used the app to make a reservation for the coopers hawk in orland and I didn't have to request a booth or a specific location. They just asked me when I checked in. At any rate, I will continue to dine at cooper's hawk and buy their wine. Also, for the noise level, I put moderate, because, loud was not a choice. I understand it was a Friday night, but, it was a little too noisy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My daughter and I take my husband, her d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My daughter and I take my husband, her dad here ever monday before his chemo treatment on Tuesday. It is our way of celebrating how far hes come and countdown of how many treatments are left. It definierly lifts our spirits and brings about a different mood to what could be a downer. Atmosphere is uplifting, food and wine always delicious

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good. There were not a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good. There were not a lot of vegetarian options, but what they had was excellent. I especially liked that they had a vegetarian option tortilla soup. And the black bean patty was wonderful. Our server was helpful and friendly, but the overall service was a bit slow.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great. The special for lunc ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great. The special for lunch was the cowboy burger and the onion rings were great. The soup and salad entree choice was just perfect for a light lunch. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. And the reservation was definitely needed to avoid a wait!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Because our party was so large, we booke ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Because our party was so large, we booked our reservations for two groups but your hostesses were very accommodating and actually seated us together, which many restaurants don't do. I really appreciated your hospitality, thank you so much!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and the service was wonderf ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food and the service was wonderful. We will definitely return when we are up that way again in the future!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE THIS RESTURANT. SERVICE IS EXCEL ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I LOVE THIS RESTURANT. SERVICE IS EXCELLENT. WILL RECOMEND TO MY FRIENDS.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, good food. Noise level was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place, good food. Noise level was a higher than preferred.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Worthy of review!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The choices, pretzel bread, Filet, pork chop, service, wine...all of it is great. My only wish is that they add some screen or shade on the windows facing the mall hallway. Those mall lights take away the Coopers Hawk ambiance found in other cities.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Chicken tortilla soup is amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Chicken tortilla soup is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been going there for years and their sta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Been going there for years and their standards have always been high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food nothing special

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had excellant service during our dining experience. Some of the best I've ever had. But, the food was just average, nothing special. I had heard great reviews about the food but I would have been just as happy having a salad and breadsticks at Olive Garden. Not sure if I would go there again.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service was as expected fr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and service was as expected from having been there on previous occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

only good this time

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Less than the usual outstanding dinner. Potatoes were luke warm. I asked for a glass of wine from a bottle per my wine club membership. I received a glass of wine and I was charged for it. Why would a member pay for a glass of wine with 6 bottles of wine in inventory? And she didn't decant a cabernet.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Every aspect of coopers hawk was great

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went with a large group, our server took care of our every need with a smile. Every dish was excellent. We now have a new place to go often.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

anniversary dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We made reservations to celebrate our 5th yr anniversary and invited my parents to lunch with us. This was our second time here and first time for my parents. The servers were very attentive, the entrees we picked were so delicious as well as the drinks. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a gift card from a friend. Glad for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had a gift card from a friend. Glad for the opportunity. Service good food great and reasonable cost. Nice size portions. Different choices not the everyday norm. I will go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The s'mores budino was very yummy!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The s'mores budino was very yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and wine.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I have loved this restaurant for years so I'm thrilled it is now in Merrillville and I don't have to travel to Illinois to enjoy it. I love the Drunken Shrimp appetizer, I get it for my meal. you can't go wrong with shrimp wrapped in bacon and sitting on a bed of guacamole... YUM!!

Everything I've had at any of their sites has been outstanding. It will always be consistent and good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding dinner, our server, Elizabet ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Outstanding dinner, our server, Elizabeth, was knowledgable , and very helpful. I have a food allergy, and she went out of her way to take care of me.

The wine is good, the food is very interesting and flavorful, the service is outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome...just awesome definitely making ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome...just awesome definitely making this spot part of the restaurant rotation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Cooper's hawk is always wonderful. The wine is good and food is fabulous. Very disappointed that the monthly cheese board has been removed from the menu....who has wine without offering cheese? Bad move Cooper's hawk! Please bring the awesome cheese board back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there early....and enjoyed our wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We got there early....and enjoyed our waitress so much in the bar that we changed our reservation to sit in the bar with her:0) I wish I knew her name. A very nice girl who was working on Saturday.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So tasty

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went on a for a girls night out. Food and was but it was really loud in there that it was sort of to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a 45 minute wait, very frustratin ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a 45 minute wait, very frustrating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.