Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (219) 795-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (81)
Notable Wine List (78)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Casual (48)
Great for Lunch (46)
Romantic (42)
Good for Groups (39)
Worth the Drive (31)
Tasting Menu (26)
Fun (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Business Meals (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Cozy (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I always love dining at Coopershawk. The food and wine are fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We went for our Wedding Anniversary. The appetizers was delicious. My pineappletini was very good. My husband and I both enjoyed our Entrees. I thought the waitress was pretty good, but I do have a problem when a waitress will not place water on the table and you have to ask for water. The complimentary glass of sparkling moscato that Cooper's Hawk offered was outstanding. We really like this place and will return. Thanks you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We chose Cooper's Hawk for our anniversary night out and had a great time. Park our waiter was spot on with his willingness to answer our questions. We enjoy good wine and good food and we were not disappointed. Thanks again Park for your great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great wine good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We ordered two appetizers that came out at different times, took longer than necessary for drinks to come out for the amount of people in restaurant. Ordered the chicken piccata and it had hardly any taste to it, very bland. Portion sizes of meals were adequate but dessert portions were small for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

After we were given the menus and had a chance to look them over our server came to take our order and forgot to tell us that they were out of about 10 different items; egg rolls, salmon, anything with risotto, grouper, ahi tuna and more I cannot remember. He failed to tell us why which I believe would have made us a little more forgiving seeing that we heard the waitress at the table next to us inform them that the refrigeration truck broke down. We then had to wait longer to order since we had to review the entire menu again and find something they did have available. Since they did not have risotto I asked if they could add scallops to the gnocchi entree and our server told me no because they don't have pricing made up for that. They should have been more lenient when a quarter of their menu was gone and that specific entree was allowed add ons such as shrimp and chicken. I think this $175 trip for 3 people to Cooper's Hawk was not worth it especially when I couldn't order anything I wanted and couldn't even try to order something relative to what I wanted since I was told no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is our last visit to Coopers Hawk. We cancelled our membership as well. Went on a Wednesday evening. The wine tasting area is an unorganized cattle call. Dinner was pretty good but took way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always good. The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love the service, food, ambiance. Great place to dine with family and friends. Club member benefits are fantastic. All the wine is fantastic.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

HIgh priced, but low value. Purchased salmon at $25, no soup, no salad, just potatoes and cole slaw. Poor food at high price. And they sat us near the kitchen. Overall not happy and would never recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Have never had a bad experience or long wait. Would definitely make reservations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Meal was delicious. Steak was tender, juicy and cooked to perfection and the short rib risotto was to die for.
Only negative..LOUD! A lot of tightly packed tables
If you want a good meal and don't mind the noise, Coopers is a great choice

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great wine tasting and dinner. Excellent food and service

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was horrible. My creme brûlée was burnt. The manager offered another, but the food was also poorly prepared. I had the scallop and shrimp risotto. It was watery and lacked taste. My husband had the skirt steak with Parmesan fries and greasy, burnt balsamic mixed vegetables. The server apologized by using all of my rewards to pay for the awful service and food. He thought he did me a favor and I did not receive a receipt. We waited for pretzel bread only to have it come to the table over cooked, dry, and burnt on the bottom. It was like toast. Please don't go on a Saturday afternoon around change of shift. You will be extremely disappointed. The Orland Park location remains the best but this location is not too far behind. Justus the hostess and the open table reservation was the only bright side to the event. I am thinking of canceling my membership. $80 down the tube.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2017

As usual Coopers's Hawk did not disappoint. I tried the blackened tuna appetizer (which was wonderful) followed by the short rib grilled cheese! My new favorite! Just listen to everyone's advice and go there!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The house salad and criss-cross bread are always tasty. The chiken tortilla soup made a good substitute for the crab-lobster bisque. The temperillo wine worked perfectly. The music was kept at a comfortable volume level that allowed for easy conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I had a reservation for 9 even called the morning of to confirm, but when I said the name the lady rudely responded that I didn't have a reservation. I showed my email with proof and she rolled her eyes (yes like I wouldn't notice) and said I thought you said a different name. Our waitress was friendly, but didn't bring our food out and we were missing two meals. When she finally came to the table and we told her she said they are coming, one of the meals was a cup of soup and salad. Everyone was 3/4 done with their meal when the soup and salad finally came the other meal was still missing 30 minutes later. The waitress then brings a meal (the wrong one) a burger-pasta was ordered, then the wait continues. When the meal is finally brought out (not by the waitress) everyone was ready to go. We asked to speak with a manager before the last meal came and the wait for the manager was awhile as well. The manager was very polite, addressed the issue, and took care of the two meals. The waitress had an attitude once issues were brought up, she kept trying to throw the blame on someone else-the kitchen never made the order, someone brought out the order and checked the wrong item, etc. The service was unorganized and disappointing. Besides the managers kindness and the actual quality of the food everything else was not worth it. We used to be regulars, but unfortunately I won't be going back, at least not to this location.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

CH is my go-to spot!!! I LOVE IT HERE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Really enjoy dining there but as a vegan would love a couple more options. The new veggie burger is not as good as the old one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere and waitress was very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was great with plenty of choices. Our server was very attentive & fun. Made for an enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Not at all impressed with the hostess. She had poor communication skills which continuously delayed us being seated. She over explained policies as her reasoning for not seating us. We ended up sitting at the bar. This was my second poor experience at Cooper's Hawk in about a month. Luckily, our server was fantastic and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was great. Service was great. However notice at least two different people that were wearing pajamas. Sure brings the ambiance down in a nice place when you wear your pj's. Should enforce a dress code of at least semi casual.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went here on Father's Day and I must say the food was horrible!! I have been to cooper hawk in burr ridge, and it was great. This location is a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We love coming here for special occasions. Everyone is so kind, friendly & helpful. The food is wonderful and the menu definitely has something for everyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day. Our waiter was very good. My husband got filet it was just ok. I had chicken and it was good. Love the pretzel bread. This location didn't seem as good as others I have been to in Indianapolis and Columbus Ohio. Would still probably return just can't give superior rating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My steak was raw (I wanted it medium-rare) it took forever to get a new meal and was not offered any kind of discount. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was good, but not enough portion for what was paid. It was extremely noisy at the dinner hour.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Took my husband for his birthday. Excellent food, wine service, and complimentary chocolates made the evening highly enjoyable. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Plan on being seated at the actual time of your reservation. For more than 4 that's a must. We got there it's early and even though the restaurant wasn't full, we had to wait. Food was good but it's a bit pricey. Service depends on the individual server. Lobster bisque and chicken Mediera are terrific! Fish and chips , thumbs down! Pricey and nothing special. Great wine list!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Server was new so had to repeat several requests. She did a fairly good job. Food was good but Betty potatoes very not up to par and neither were Mary's potatoes. Wine was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and her friends had a great time. Great overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was not very good, service was slow, even though they weren't that busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Entrees are too large. Works better if 2 people share 1 entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Nice place. I felt the pricing was higher than comparable places, and the food wasn't was good. Not that the food was bad because it wasn't. Just not worth the price I paid when I've had better at other locations for lower rates.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great service, good amount of choices for food. But I had the parmesan crusted chicken and it was bland

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Every time I eat here I have a great experience. Service is always very good and the food is amazing. The only down side is that they are always busy and sometimes hard to get in.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2017

First experience with this restaurant and it did not start out well. We had a party of 7 and were celebrating a high school graduation. We approached the front counter and the lady working would not acknowledge us. She kept her head down for several minutes and would not greet us. Finally she asked if she could help us. When we gave her our name for the reservation, she put her head down again and did not say a word. Wow! I was about ready to walk out after this cold greeting!

We waited several minutes and another young lady appeared and seated us. We were given menus and waited another 10 minutes before our server appeared and wanted to take drink orders. During that time, we did not even have water! I asked for water and it was then delivered.

After that poor start, things did get better. Our server was more available and the food was great.

For the money you spend at this restaurant, I expect a better experience from start to finish. I hate to say this, but the lady working the front counter, should not be working the front counter. She is the first face you see and the one you remember the most.

Not sure if I will go back. If I do, it will certainly be for the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Coopers is always a good place to relax with friends. This time I decided to have one of the steaks . I very rarely eat steak here. Im always hesitant on the steak order because several of my guest on many occasions their meal was not cooked to order. So afterI heard there was a new chef for the steak meals I oredered the NY cut and my wife had the Trio medallions Filets . Two out of three medallions were overcooked , my steak was not medium rare but medium to medium well. It was at the end of the evening and we were hungry and didnt want to wait to get new order. I usally do not complain but there was on time my daughter in law had to return the steak twice do to overcooked. All other entrees are very well presented . I need to say this is not a place to order a steak meal. You never know if it will be cooked properly . An upscale restaurant should keep very close attention . Many patrons do not complain . Thank you . Mark G Galka

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.