Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (219) 795-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (82)
Good for a Date (79)
Special Occasion (66)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Romantic (43)
Casual (42)
Great for Lunch (41)
Modern Decor (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (24)
Tasting Menu (24)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Fun (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (10)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Private Room (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Seasonal (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

The Open Table process was seamless. I commented that this was our Anniversary and we were treated with complimentary champagne. The meals were delicious. This was not our first visit nor will it be our last.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic atmosphere, food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Its a nice place to dine. Something on the menu for everybody. A great selection of entrees. Great wine list and wine tasting.

Would recommend making a reservation on a weekend. Also nice little gift shop, you can also purchase wine. Don't pass up the truffle counter. Delicious

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good. We both had pasta dishes that were very good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My hubby and I really enjoyed the wine tasting and the ambiance. The food was fantastic the service was superb! We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I went for Easter, Santino was awesome, very attentive! We will definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always amazing...service is always the best!!! Love the food and as a wine club member you get amazing perks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is a great place! Good food and excellent service. It was a really good experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Usually have a great time here every time; but this time the waitress was not attentive, she forgot the silverware twice while we were eating, they over cooked our steak, and there was a LONG CURLY HAIR cooked into the rice of our ahi tuna. It was disgusting, they immediately refunded the price and bought a round of drinks, but it was too late our appetite was gone. They also charged us twice for the overlooked steak that they fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We tried the new ice wine cheesecake for dessert and it was phenomenal! Had our regular chicken BBQ salads and they were great as usual

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We arrived on toime and waited for walking to be seated first as a member very annoying

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dining room have the tables too crowded together. Great service but a little pricey. Good food very loud inside the dining room

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had dinner with another couple where the men share the same birthday. We enjoyed the meal just like we always do as the food is great. Wine is good and service is good too. It gets a bit crowded and noise level can sometimes be a bit much. However, this is a really nice restaurant for a special occasion and waitstaff is super accomodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server Mike was the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Everything was great from the food and wine to the service😁😁😁

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Last 3 times at Coopershawk Merrillville, they messed up my steaks and has been cold. This time my food actually was great. Our waiter, Aaron, was great. He could not have done anything better. Awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Celebrated our 31st Anniversary with an excellent meal and atmosphere. All the staff were excellent as usual. We love being 2 bottle members. All the wine is outstanding.

Tags: Live Sports, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

As usual, wonderful food and wine! Met some nice people at the wine tasting...a fun night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have been to many of the Cooper's Hawk locations. this one is just as wonderful as the others. Great menu, wonderful wine and help deciding what goes best with your dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were seated 5 minutes before our reservation which we appreciated. Our service was slow, still didn't have our food 60 minutes after we were seated. Not the normal service I expect from this location but Food did not disappoint.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Although I made reservations, we still had to wait. The waiting area was extremely packed as was the bar and tasting room. I realize it was a Friday night, but it was difficult to even try and get a glass of wine while we waited. I requested a booth when I made the reservation; however, when we were seated we were given a table. They did get a booth for us, but that was again another wait. Our server was wonderful despite the craziness of the restaurant. It was extremely loud and at times seemed to be chaotic. Luckily, we were not in a hurry and told the server to take her time with us. I am a wine club member, been one since they opened, but this was the first time I did not truly enjoy my dining atmosphere. The food was excellent as always, except for Mary's potatoes which were extremely dry.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was so delicious. The bacon wrapped shrimp with avocado was spectacular!! Great wine and great service!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The waiter was great.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Nice ambience and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was excellent, unfortunately the service was awful. Had to ask twice for water, ordered a beer I never received, and just basically felt ignored. When making the reservation I mentioned it was my wife's birthday, and was hoping for a surprise (which I gladly was going to pay for) so I didn't have to ask the waitress directly in front of my wife. Well, I was definitely wrong in my assumption and they did nothing for her, needless to say we went elsewhere for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent Service!!! It was a Special Day and Cooper's Hawk Made it even MORE Special.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent waitress. Good food great wine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Seated relatively quickly. Booth in a high traffic area adjacent to the kitchen. Special occasion dinner however we were not asked as we usually are during hostess seating. Lobster bisque delicious! Drunken shrimp also good. Had the short ribs on previous visit and loved my plate. However this time it came out very greasy. Seriously had over two inches of grease. Very hard to eat. Just thinking about it now makes me squirm. Tried to eat a few bites then had server bag up hoping I could drain the grease myself and salvage this meal somehow that I paid $25 for. We will return because I can't get of the bisque.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and wine were delicious, as always. Service was great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Steak was only warm, not hot, potatoes were cold.
other meal with pork chop was good potatoes were cold
pork chop was better than steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Park was great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were there early and we still couldnt get a booth or the waiter we requested. Was not even busy, and they couldnt work it out. Food was cold and undercooked as most times at Merrillville location. Dont recommend Merrillville location to anyone. Go to Orland Park or Naperville or Burr Ridge or Arlington Heights. Never had any problems at those location. Merrillville is almost always a bad review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our waiter was a little pushy, we didn't even get our drinks and he was pushing us to order. I had to tell him we were not in a hurry and we'd like to drink our drinks before we ordered. Waiters should be taught to handle that better.

I had a turkey burger and it was very average, it didn't have a lot of flavor. However the slaw was to die for!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The place was classy, food was fantastic, Justin the waiter was a excellent waiter, helped with all questions, the wine tasting was fun, and of course found very good wine.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Family enjoyed our first time visit. Food excellent wait staff excellent. Girls at the reception could of acknowledge that I was standing waiting for their help in updating I was there for our reservation. . Not very friendly. On first meeting. Glad the rest was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and using our rewards points before they expired. Our waiter was so helpful and accommodating at our Gluten free requests and helping us get the best value for our rewards points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a reservation for a Saturday night, but still had to wait 15-20 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. We were seated at a table that was cramped in the middle of several tables, so we could hear everyone's conversations. We were also right under a vent, so cold air was blowing on us the whole night. I understand Saturday nights are busy, but our server, although friendly, was not very attentive, and when we did have questions, she seemed to rush through her responses. We were looking for a relaxing dinner place, and this was not the way to relax. We felt tense and rushed throughout the meal. The food was good, but over-priced. Nice variety on the "healthy" menu. I was a bit disappointed in our experience.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved it! Food was very good, service was excellent.. was very noisy though... hard to converse. I will be back though.... loved your flatbread!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food..good people and the best passion fruit sangria ever!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food and service excellent as always. Being able to sample wine and beer before purchasing a glass is appreciated.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.