About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2197959463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Thanksgiving with Cooper's Hawk. Reserve your table.

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Indiana
Best Food
Northwest Indiana
4 More
Best Service
Northwest Indiana
Best Ambiance
Northwest Indiana
Best Value
Northwest Indiana
Most Booked
Northwest Indiana
Best Restaurants in Merrillville, IN ›

Notable Wine List (102)
Special Occasion (89)
Great for Lunch (63)
See All
Good for Groups (58)
Romantic (56)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for a Date (26)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Casual (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is good - creative, well-prepar ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is good - creative, well-prepared, tasty. The wine? No so much. We tasted a lot of red wines before dinner. I could find NONE that were enjoyable. But I am a semi-wine-geek, so maybe i'm more critical than the average customer. We have made multiple trips to Napa and Sonoma over the years, and have built a wine cellar that once topped out at 1500 bottles. My guess is that Coopers Hawk is using a bulk process to make their wine, not all of which ever sees the inside of an oak barrel. My other guess is that 90% of their customers are not anywhere close to wine critics, never read Spectator or Advocate, and are merely infatuated with "restaurant-made wine". Kind of like the allure of restaurants that make their own beer. Yes, the wine IS drinkable, but if it were available in the retail channel, I would avoid it. Over-priced for the quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very good!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service has bad.We had to wit 40 min ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service has bad.We had to wit 40 minutes so for a glass of wine.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We went for an early dinner, 4pm. Upon ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went for an early dinner, 4pm. Upon being seated there were quite a few waiters/waitresses but no one really claimed our table. Finally a male waiter came and helped us with drinks but afterwards did not come back. Our appetizer was served by a runner and then a female waitress appeared stating she was really the one that was suppose to be helping us for the night. She explained that she was extremely busy and she would do her best. We noticed that she had 2 other tables but not really anything that she should not be able to handle. We have been there several times over the past 6 months and by far this was the worse service we have ever received. Forgotten about during most of the dinner and others were picking up her slack. There were to many staff there to not have any attention, we left full but not satisfied with our meal due to this.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

As always, great food and great service! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

As always, great food and great service! I think my wife and I have been here 20+ times now and still have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food was very good The spe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I thought the food was very good

The special was the shrimp and scallop Risotto and was amazing

Also love the mexican drunken shrimp app...my fav

Cant wait to go back

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Coopers Hawk needs to get cheeze tray ba ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Coopers Hawk needs to get cheeze tray back on menu! You advertize and promote the wine scene? Then corporate decides to remove this choice from menu? Please explain the marketing value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Met up with some friends, Had a great me ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Met up with some friends, Had a great meal and was not rushed.

Great Place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This visit I just ordered an appetizer. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This visit I just ordered an appetizer. It came without the items listed in the description. I should have said something. Not a big deal. But then I believed the price was higher than listed on the menu. Overall, the food is good. The service is consistent and pleasant. I will probably be back, but I will definitely be more aware of the prices and food descriptions in future visits.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I really enjoyed the beef risotto and sp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I really enjoyed the beef risotto and sparkling wine flight that I ordered. It made for a very enjoyable and elegant birthday dinner. Can't wait to go back and try more of the wine flights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, mediocre food. Grouper wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service, mediocre food. Grouper was way over cooked, Mary's potatoes were just plain, bland mashed potatoes, asparagus was just blanched and bland, just very disappointed with that dish. My wife's shrimp & polenta dish was great! Calamari was drenched in sweet chili sauce, just way too much to enjoy.... Creme brûlée was great, good espresso...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Always enjoy the food at Cooper's Hawk ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always enjoy the food at Cooper's Hawk very much!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our food wasn't that great honestly and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our food wasn't that great honestly and I usually enjoy coming here

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We love coming to Cooper's Hawk. Even t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We love coming to Cooper's Hawk. Even the kids love the food. Unfortunately, on this visit our car was broken into and the kids' backpacks with their school laptops inside were taken through the smashed rear passenger window. This all happened right in front of the valet stand. Food is great, but I would not recommend this location to anyone at this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good meal, and a great variety of w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very good meal, and a great variety of wine to choose from! Nice that it's local too.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I haven't had this bad of an experience ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I haven't had this bad of an experience in awhile. It started with my table being cleaned haphazardly. Looked over that! I ordered soup and it was tepid at best. I unwrapped my silverware and it was filthy! It made me wonder did a machine or a robot do the job. My meal came, I love gnocchi carbonara, it was over salted. Just a bad night. I love CH, I'm a wine club member. I'm sad that I used my points on such an awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Food never disappoints. We'll be back fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food never disappoints. We'll be back for sure. Everything is delicious

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waitress! Food was delicious! We d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great waitress! Food was delicious! We didn't have time for a wine tasting but next time we definitely make the time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The worst eating experience I have ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The worst eating experience I have ever had at any restaurant . After being seated for 30 minutes, I had to find a server to wait on us. One hour after we ordered, the waiter comes back and says the kitchen ran out of short ribs (one of their signature dishes!). Two of the 4 of us had to reorder; I ordered a skirt steak and the other person ordered a filet and both medium rare. The steaks were raw inside. The food as a whole was poor and the wine generic tasting. Not a place that I will be going back to and I will alert all my friends and contacts to avoid this place. A waste of my money and time. By the way, I am NOT a person who tends to write negative reviews. Personally I would like my money refunded for this terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Tiffiny was amazing. so knowledgeable, s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Tiffiny was amazing. so knowledgeable, so accommodating, so attentive. our meals exceeded expectations. the wine, well, the wine never disappoints. our overall experience, and it's due to Tiffiny, was the best it has been in some time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My date and I were at Cooper's Hawk at l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My date and I were at Cooper's Hawk at lunchtime on a Sunday. The food was superb and the server was excellent. The server was very knowledgeable about the wines and all items on the menu which we had questions about. The meal was expensive, but worth every penny to us. If people are on a limited budget, the could still eat there but may have to forgo frills such as appetizers and desserts. Our bottle of wine was reasonably priced and delicious. I love that there are healthful choices on the menu and also that the chef will accommodate our low-carb diet with two veggies instead of a veggie and a starch. The food is beautifully presented and perfectly cooked. I could not ask for a better dining experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was very good and the f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and service was very good and the food was awesome.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always very good. The price is ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food is always very good. The price is on the higher side

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Waited over an hour after we ordered to ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Waited over an hour after we ordered to get dinner. Our server rarely visited our table. We were always looking for him because we needed water or wine. The chicken was a little dried out. Pork chop was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great birthday dinner...loved the new ad ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great birthday dinner...loved the new addition to menu: shredded brussells sprouts salad

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was so loud in the room you could not ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was so loud in the room you could not talk without yelling to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

We came that night to celebrate my daugh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We came that night to celebrate my daughters birthday an di believe our waitress was new at her job either that or not very good at it. We waited several minutes to get drinks because she kept forgetting everything. She mentioned 5 times that she was going to get our bread and kept forgetting to get final we did get bead. Then she kept stalling to take out order and made us repeat it 3 times before she finally wrote it correctly. Then several minutes 30+ later till food arrived she continued to be pre occupied by her other table very nervous! She then put our order in twice so the table next to us received the same order that we gave and the hostess came out and apologized to them and gave them all free deserts and drinks for the mistakes but here we sat (whole cake)no deserts, no wine, no sorry for the whole dinner taking so long to produce. Nothing! I have never been so disappointed since I have been coming there. I at least thought since it was my daughters birthday she could have offered a free piece of cake with a candle for her and wine for us. Oh well maybe we should have complained then. That is not our style and we did FINALLY get to eat. I didn't want to wreck the rest of my daughters Birthday with complaints. We will return again we like coming there and we live in the area but will complain next time ASAP if needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

We are wine club members. Food is always ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We are wine club members. Food is always great as well as the wine. This month the wine of the month is outstanding, and love the bottle as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole reason we went to cooper's haw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The whole reason we went to cooper's hawk was for my wife to get the Ahi tuna...they were out! At 730 on a Thursday how can a restaurant run out of an item that is on the menu 3 times? Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

This place never fails when it comes to ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This place never fails when it comes to great food and great service. No matter how many people we have in our group the server always offers to give us separate checks and even separates the appetizers to the exact penny. The tasting room is always friendly and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, moderately priced, nice atmos ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Good food, moderately priced, nice atmosphere. Coopers Hawk is also a winery with a huge selection of wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seating right by the kitchen, a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seating right by the kitchen, a lot of traffic. We food took 45 minutes because "they had a couple of big parties" yet when it did finally arrive it was barely warm and neither one of our steak medallions were cooked right. The manager said she would buy us a glass of wine or dessert, but she never told our server she would do so, he was very apologetic. Wasn't his fault, it was the kitchen.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The hostesses who are at the table where ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The hostesses who are at the table where you check-in are very RUDE and condescending.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great service....great food...easy reser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service....great food...easy reservations...prices were ok...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Especially love the Gluten ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food! Especially love the Gluten Free Menu - great selection of food and the menu has multiple pages (for those that are not gluten free - you will never understand the struggle) Great wine list as well and various gluten free dessert choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was amazing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the food & service. Menu offers ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Enjoyed the food & service. Menu offers many appetizing selections. Don't live in area but when traveling through Merrillville I do make every effort to have dinner with you. Very busy so reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was lovely

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent ,the food good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service was excellent ,the food good. The only complaint I have is the noise level was way too loud. The people at my table could barely hear each other speak. I don't know if you can do anything about it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife to lunch after taking the k ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took my wife to lunch after taking the kids on their 1st day of school. Nice lunch and atmosphere. Service was a bit below the standards I expected.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.