Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (219) 795-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (85)
Good for a Date (80)
Special Occasion (70)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Romantic (49)
Great for Lunch (44)
Casual (42)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Groups (35)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Business Meals (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Fun (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Tasting Menu (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Cozy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Authentic (10)
People Watching (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Great Beer (7)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Private Room (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Spicy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Cooper's hawk has great food and wine, I just wish it wasn't connected to the mall

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We were very happy with our service and food. The gal at the reception desk was very sweet and kind to take photos of us. Love the decor!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

First time there..definitely going back. Excellent service and food not to say the wine selection!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love the food. The service was great. The only Thing they need to work is the way their reservations are handled. Otherwise everything is great.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Oddly located in a shopping mall, the "mall" ambiance disappears as soon as you enter the restaurant. Cooper's Hawk is an upscale, though reasonably priced, fine dining experience. I've dined there often and never had a disappointing meal, and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

great wine choices at affordable prices

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a delightful evening celebrating my Mother in Law's birthday. The food was incredible and the service was great. I appreciated the attention to the big details but even more so the little details. The special dessert for my Mother in Law was a sweet and nice touch. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Cooper's Hawk for Mother's Day dinner. It was evident it was busy but apparently the restaurant was not able to keep up. We ended up at the restaurant for 2 hours. They were out of an appetizer that we requested. Our food took at least an hour to be delivered. My husband's items were cold. Our Cesar salads had no croutons and my husband's salad had very little chicken on it. We have been to Cooper's Hawk several times and this was by far our least favorite experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was awesome!! No one at our table was disappointed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We took my mom here for Mother's Day. Despite the crowd, our food was delicious, our waiter attentive and I always enjoy a glass of wine from their winery. Nice selection of food for every palate, and reasonably priced. Much better than many of the basic diner options in the area.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Me and my wife really enjoyed our date night. Great food!!. We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very nice ambience & great food. Pleasant staff - very accommodating. Only a couple major issues - I informed the waitress that we had on 45 minutes for dinner so that we could catch a show at the Star Plaza. She was VERY helpful, but failed to expedite our order (she waited and didn't put in our entrees until 20 min b4 we needed to leave), causing a delay that made us 30-min late for the show.

In addition, we noticed that ALL of the black patrons were seated in the far back corner of the restaurant. After walking from the front to the back of the restaurant, we did not see a single black family seated anywhere else except for the same corner where we were seated. There were roughly 5 tables of black families/couples. All in the back. Intentional??? I'm not sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went for mother's day dinner. Our sever was Mike. He was very attentive and was able to cater to our needs. (Several members of our party have to be gluten free). He was knowledgeable about the menu and had good recommendations. We didn't feel rushed and we really enjoyed our dining experience!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I always go to Cooper's hawk for the food and service, however, this time the service was not as great as I have seen in the past. Great place tho..

Tags: Dancing, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We was hungry 😋

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My waitress Chrissy was the best it was my first time there and she took the time out to explain the menu I'm talking from the drinks to the meals to dessert and really made us feel welcome even though she was talking care of other tables she was still there when we needed her she talked me into signing up for the wine tasting lol I will be back soon and would love to have her

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Family Style, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First time visiting Coopers Hawk and I will definitely go back. Food was great, service was great, and the wines were fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was pleased with the food. While it wasn't hot, the flavor was good. We were celebrating administrative professionals day (a little late, I know.) and I suggested Cooper's Hawk to my boss, based on my last visit there. I ordered the chicken medeira, which is always good. One of my colleagues ordered the side ceasar salad which was surprisingly the size of an entree. She loved it. There was a fish on the menu that began with a "B" that we weren't familiar with and when we mentioned it to our server she offered no information. She also wasn't attentive with regards to refilling our water glasses or suggestions. She didn't ask if we were interested in dessert, and while she asked if we wanted to try the house wine, she didn't ask if we were interested in SAMPLING any other wines (which I had told my colleagues would be a service we would be offered). If the food hadn't been good, I would have been thoroughly disappointed. Maybe she was a new server. Perhaps, if she was, she should have been teamed with a veteran until she was ready to be left on her own.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We waited very long on our drinks. We started eating and one of my friends never received her salat we had to get up and ask about it. It was very loud. We hardly could have a conversation without "yelling". I ordered an appetizer and also never received my entree.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our server appeared to be new. He missed so many opportunities to recover our service expectations. From our first interaction where he didn't even take the drink order from all in our party, to losing our check. Maybe a refresher in service standards would help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Santino was awesome!! :) we will definitely be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A special thanks to Mike P. For making our dining experience extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was very good and wine was good

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food at this location is not as good as those in Illinois. Someone needs to really look into this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Asparagus was olive green soft and over cooked. The roasted vegetables were burnt. The food was poorly seasoned and poorly plated. Their signature pork belly was greasy. Hostess was rude and waitress was inattentive. This is my 3rd or 4th visit. It seems like everything has gone downhill. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Twilight was our server ( awesome) name I would have to say! We were supposed to be a party of 6 that turned into 5 . Twilight was courtesy, thoughtful, and attending to our every need. For some reason they were running out of some entrées and several desserts but she made our experience celebrating are Twins's birthday a complete success. Twilight warm smile and being consistent with drinks and beverages were amazing and we have decided that when we book again we will definitely be requesting Twilight she made our dining experience awesome. Thank you staff and most of all Twlight!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

LOVE this place. Have been with my husband and most recently for girls night. Service has always been great, food always been great, wine always great and dessert always great. We will more than likely be back sooner then later!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our wine tasting was with Brittany she was knowledgeable and friendly best server we ever had for our tasting. In the past we came in and had Satisgo as our waiter he remembered us and even knew our last names very professional. A true asset to the company. Overall food was delicious. Would recommend over and over .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Called to let them know we were wine tasting and ended up being served in the bar. Good service

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Amazing as alway!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food, when our appetizer wasn't up to the restaurants standard they did not serve it, which I appreciated, we then ordered a different appetizer which was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Cooper's Hawk always has really good food and excellent service. As it gets crowded, the noise level tends to rise. The wine list is varied and all the wines are quite good. I would recommend it for a nice dinner without terribly outrageous prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great Service..great menu choices. Waitress Knowledgeable about food and drink menu. There were 4 of us and all our meals were outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent service. Good food. Good wine. Will return for more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The Asian slaw is fabulous! We had the fish & chips and a burger. Both were great with hearty portions. I appreciate being offered a sample of wine before ordering. Aaron, our server was quite knowledgeable about the wine and beer. He was attentive and hope to get him again. All staff is very friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The Open Table process was seamless. I commented that this was our Anniversary and we were treated with complimentary champagne. The meals were delicious. This was not our first visit nor will it be our last.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere, food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Its a nice place to dine. Something on the menu for everybody. A great selection of entrees. Great wine list and wine tasting.

Would recommend making a reservation on a weekend. Also nice little gift shop, you can also purchase wine. Don't pass up the truffle counter. Delicious

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very good. We both had pasta dishes that were very good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My hubby and I really enjoyed the wine tasting and the ambiance. The food was fantastic the service was superb! We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.