About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville

2120 Southlake Mall
Merrillville, IN 46410
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Off of E. 81st and Southlake Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 795-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2197959463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville, Merrillville, IN

Report a photo problem

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Merrillville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Notable Wine List (56)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Romantic (38)
Casual (37)
Good for Groups (30)
Modern Decor (26)
Great for Lunch (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Business Meals (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is always tummy, and the servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 hours ago

The food is always tummy, and the service is impeccable. The staff seem happy to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love CoopersHawk and especially the Bloo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Love CoopersHawk and especially the Bloody Mary with the sidecar of beer. Food is great my as well and love the wines

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

good for appetizers, sandwiches, and of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

good for appetizers, sandwiches, and of course the wine;

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Coopers Hawk is a cozy elegant place to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Coopers Hawk is a cozy elegant place to dine. The menu offers something for everyone and so far everything I have tasted has been wonderful! Great varieties of wine, plus a great staff!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was extremely friendly, but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was extremely friendly, but the food just did not meet what we thought we were paying for, nor did the dishes make sense. I ordered the chicken parmesan and it came with a side of shredded potatoes with breadcrumbs on top and oily green beans. There was no palate cleanser. It was impossible to have a conversation because it was so loud, and overall seemed only good for people watching.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Even with a reservation we were made to ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Even with a reservation we were made to wait 15 minutes!! Do not like being seated in back room. Noise level is ridiculous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Everyone was very hurried!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Everyone was very hurried!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

It was very loud. Food quality was poor. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was very loud. Food quality was poor. Waiter was slow and didn't listen to country concerns. I am a wine club member and will probably not renew my membership because of the decline

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My friends and I came here to celebrate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My friends and I came here to celebrate a special occasion. We purchased flowers for the table and the hostesses were so kind to hold them for us ahead of time. When we arrived at the table, the flowers were already in place and looked beautiful. We always love the wine and ambiance here!! Great dinner place!!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not properly prepared, needed t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was not properly prepared, needed to ask for our server and nothing taken off the high priced bill. not recommended

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The appetizer of potstickers was excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The appetizer of potstickers was excellent, as usual. However, for the first time, I ordered the salmon and it was not tasty at all. It was served with stewed tomatoes that tasted canned and sweet--not a good combo with the salmon. I would not order it again nor would I recommend it to anyone. This is the first main course I've had at the Merrillville location that wasn't excellent. The service was at the usual high level, the dessert (upside down key lime pie) was delicious. I eat at this location frequently and am always very happy with my meals but the salmon needed help. This one fail will not deter me from returning to this excellent restaurant, however.

The noise level at dinnertime is high, you have to speak loudly to be heard by your companions, adding to the noise level. Lunch is a better time for conversation or business.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Not a good experience Did not have eit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Not a good experience Did not have either of the entrees we ordered was out of pretzel bread and would you believe was out of butter!!! Our favorite soup lobster bisque was not good the veggies were crunchy and not cooked. This was the third time we did not get whAt we wanted to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The menu has much to offer for everyone, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The menu has much to offer for everyone, but it is pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I went on New Years eve with an appointm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went on New Years eve with an appointment. The wait was still 30 minutes beyond the appointment time. The food was great and worth the wait. I enjoyed myself and the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family get together

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE! Love this place!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

NYE! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate there just before a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I ate there just before a concert. It was very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing as always. Brought my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was amazing as always. Brought my friends from out of town for a first time experience and they left with a membership. When we requested to move to a booth, it was super easy. The server was off a bit. She kept forgetting things that were requested or recommended by her. There was a slight hiccup when we received our food and the table was in agreement that she handled it wrong. This caused us to knock her tip down by $20. I left wishing I could have had the real tall guy (Ryan I think is his name) as our server. All in all I'm still a fan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was great. The only issue was when we arrived, they couldn't find our reservation. They were able to fit us in right away, which was nice because they were very crowded. The biggest annoyance was after they couldn't find our reservation, I arrive home to an email stating that we didn't show up for our reservation.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love all The appetizers and salads and s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Love all The appetizers and salads and soups

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a surprisingly good restaurant f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is a surprisingly good restaurant for being located in a mall. The only quibble I have with it is that its cocktails are pretty expensive, though the wine prices are fair.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We booked the reservation for Christmas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We booked the reservation for Christmas Eve. I was very happy with how accomodating they were. The service we received from start to finish was fantastic. Absolutely no complaints. Our server was attentive and she was very personable.

We had calamari for an appetizer. If was okay, I guess. The glaze was heavy and the dipping sauce had a lot of mayo chunks.

For our meals we have mixed results. Our children and burgers and chicken. They both seemed semi pleased. They are teens, so they really wouldn't complain.

My husband had surf and turf. The surf included what appeared to be a 2 oz tail. He was disappointed. The steak did not have a lot of flavor and was just okay. I guess I would say, not worth the price charged.

I had the grouper. It was flavorless and pretty dry and sides were ice cold. I was so disappointed because I really love grouper. The cost of the dish was on the high side for the resturaunt and I expected it to be more of a signature dish.

In summary, just okay. In my opinion, not worth the calories we consumed. On the plus side, the wine was pretty good, and the service was outstanding. So if you want to be treated well with mediocre food and decent booze... stop in.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent food. Great menu:

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food. Great menu:

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like how knowledgeable the waiter was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I like how knowledgeable the waiter was about the food and the wine very good for his job, also he recommended the egg roll appetizers and i was not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food here is always amazing!! I love ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food here is always amazing!! I love their chicken tortilla soup for an appetizer and the trio steak medallions for an entree, yum!!! Not to mention the sangria, red or white, both are amazing!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great lunch items, service always good.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great lunch items, service always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Cooper's Hawk Winery & Re ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I have been to Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant in Merrillville a few times as I like the ambiance and look of the restaurant. Each time the wait staff has been outstanding. However apparently, the kitchen is extremely slow. I had a business dinner there that took 3 hours to complete. Generally, the food is excellent. However a word of warning. Do NOT order the steak. This is the only place in America that I know of that cuts your steak for you. Thanks, I am not a 4-year-old, and it makes me wonder about the steak. Not to mention it was cold. I didn't want to complain in front of my business associates, so I ate it. They did give us free dessert for the long wait times, but it doesn't make up for slow service in front of your clients.

In short, I would recommend the restaurant as it is one of the best I know of in NW Indiana. You just might have to spend a bit more time than you like eating. And until they quit cutting your steak for you, I would stay away from it. I don't care how good it might be. That's just wrong and I suspect that is one of the reasons it was cold when served.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

My quarter head of lettuce salad came 5 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My quarter head of lettuce salad came 5 minutes before my cold danas chicken. The waiter was tipped even though his service was terrible. Spent a lot of money for a bad experience .

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

One of the meals ordered wasn't availabl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

One of the meals ordered wasn't available. The waiter offered an alternative (surf and turf) with a smaller piece of fish and then came back to tell us this was also unavailable. We were not given pretzel bread for 15+ minutes.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The restaurant was very loud the food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The restaurant was very loud the food was good but pricey our waiter was very good and knowledgeable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent waiter, Mike, was very experie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent waiter, Mike, was very experienced and knowledgeable about the food, drinks, and menu; made great recommendations for my wife and me. THE WINE TASTING LOOKED LIKE SO MUCH FUN! Next time I'll get on board with a pre-meal tasting of wine.

Food was fantastic! I will definitely return to Cooper's Hawk.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food and service was Fant ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 16, 2016

As always, the food and service was Fantastic. One of our favorites and always an outstanding choice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was very attentive to our tab ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive to our tables needs

Amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good. The food was also ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service was very good. The food was also very good with generous portions. We booked early because it gets very busy and a bit noisy later.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

dunno, there is just something 'off' abo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

dunno, there is just something 'off' about the attention factor. though a reservation was made a week in advance, when arriving and checking in, the staff seems cold and somewhat bothered by having to view the reservation and acquiring a table for the party, in this case, a party of three. the server was pleasant enough, attentive, but seemed uninterested in any conversation concerning wine recommendations or specials for the evening, and simply left the various menus for our perusal. other Cooper's Hawk Restaurants we've visited seem to be happier places, but this one seems to impose a discomforting ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

waitress was fantastic. I believe her na ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

waitress was fantastic. I believe her name was Nicole.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We order a burger and fries and when it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We order a burger and fries and when it was cooked they put salt on the fries. When the server came out he apologized and that was fine but 40 minutes later we still had no food . Three tables had been served by then so we walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

We love the filet medallions. They are u ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We love the filet medallions. They are usually incredible but on this particular night they were terrible. Besides being too rare, there was not much of taste. It won't stop us from going there but thought you would like to know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

My favorite spot for lobster bisque. I d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My favorite spot for lobster bisque. I drive my husband crazy talking about this soup so he decided to try a bowl as well. Unfortunately it came out cold. sent it back it was over zapped and lobster became rubbery and hard to chew. Our server seemed rushed so we didn't say anything. Disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was mediocre.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.