About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8165311500x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Pork Tostada Mini Appetizer
Chorizo And Goat Cheese Flatbread
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Cheese Board
Wine And Cheese Pairing
Mexican Drunken Shrimp
Cup Of Lobster Bisque
Spicy Sea Scallops
Roasted Vegetables And Goat Cheese Flatbread Pizza
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Cooper's Hawk Red Wine
Fish Sandwich
Pretzel Bread
mediterranean chopped salad
Sweet Chili Calamari
Gnocchi With Butternut Squash
Gnocchi
Chicken Al Pastor Stuffed Mushrooms
Bin 61 Sour
Caprese Flatbread
Chicken Saltimbocca
Soy Glazed Salmon
Mustard Pretzel Crusted Pork
Pistachio Crusted Sea Bass W/ Potatoes Lyonnaise
BANANA CARAMEL ICE CREAM SANDWICH
Surf'n'Turf
Anne's Chicken Saltimbocca
Gnocchi Carbonara

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
3 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

special occasion (132)
notable wine list (130)
good for groups (91)
See All
romantic (86)
fit for foodies (78)
great for lunch (56)
hot spot (43)
vibrant bar scene (25)
neighborhood gem (24)
late-night find (21)
scenic view (19)
great for brunch (15)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cheesecake Factory. That's what it is

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Cheesecake Factory. That's what it is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We go here quite often. Always have goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We go here quite often. Always have good service. I have tried many different things on the menu, and everything has been excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always love coming to Cooper's Hawk... ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

I always love coming to Cooper's Hawk...good wine, good food..no complaints

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine choices with a variety of foo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great wine choices with a variety of foods the fit all tastes types and picky business customers

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Cooper's Hawk is nothing new to me. I do ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cooper's Hawk is nothing new to me. I don't care how often I go back the food is ALWAYS fresh and delish! 👍🏽

My server, Taia (so), was so on it! She deserved every bit on the tip she received.

Although I was in bad company and felt as if I was being interrogated, I enjoyed my food and wine anyway. My company doesn't have an acquired taste for wine. The comment was made, "It tastes like diesel fuel". Who drinks diesel fuel? I don't and will never indulge in mixer.

I ordered the Short Rib Risotto and it was so amazing! The beef almost melted in my mouth! The risotto was cooked to perfection. Oh! Don't leave without tasting the Pretzel bread. I'm telling you, it's divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited with the intent of enjoying w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We visited with the intent of enjoying wine and dinner. Long story short, they served my best friend, who does not eat meat, sausage pasta. We had a lengthy discussion before ordering about which dishes had meat, and which did not. Our table was so dark we could not see our menus or food. We asked assistance, the server brought us a little flame less candle. After the meat was discovered, the manager came to the table and apologized for not meeting a dining preference. For many vegetarians, this is not just a preference. The general manager then came by to apologize and put a handful of expired complimentary appetizer coupons on the table. The wine tasting was understaffed and chaotic. The woman serving us stated that it was always like this. The hostess did nothing to organize the line for wine tasting. It was an 'every man for themselves' atmosphere. I cancelled my membership. We aren't going back. They do have the most delicious bacon wrapped shrimp on quacamole appetizer, and our server was sweet. But I can't deal with the rest of it.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The food is always excellent and service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is always excellent and service is good. Noise level is too high and takes away from overall great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun restaurant for something a little di ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fun restaurant for something a little different. The wines are very good actually and I was surprised. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed. Service bad, never receive ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Disappointed. Service bad, never received bread, ran out of enchiladas( even though waitress checked and said they had them) manager came apologized said he would check back with us and bring a bottle of wine for our trouble. Never saw him again. Waitress never asked if we wanted a desert. Celebrating a birthday told them when we booked and waitress when she greeted us. Too bad the staff from management to service were insensitive and disappointing. Food was actually good!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I really like how they offer the wine fl ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I really like how they offer the wine flights so you can try several instead of committing to one. Food was excellent.

A little disappointed that we were able to do the wine tasting prior to our meal. All of the tables were full and we couldn't find anyone to let us squeeze in along side of them. It would be nice if they had a separate area for people just coming in to taste, and people waiting on dinner who want to taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We began with wine tasting. Our server w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We began with wine tasting. Our server was informative, funny, and easy to carry On a conversation with. We followed with a delicious dinner of tri tips. My only criticism is that I ordered my meat medium rare and it was basically medium. However, it was still delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for our 11th anniversary. What a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dinner for our 11th anniversary. What a great night. Our server allowed us to take our time and savor the champagne flight without rushing us to order. A great selection of appetizers . We had The Mediterranean share plate and it was outstanding.

Dinner was the vegetable enchiladas and my husband had the gnocchi. Both were amazing. Although, I think his was the best.

Great location for a date night without the children. The flights allow you to try different wines and are beautiful to look at.

We will be returning again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was the second of many more trips to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was the second of many more trips to Cooper's Hawk!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super friendly staff on arrival. Slight ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Super friendly staff on arrival. Slight wait to be seated, but just a few minutes. Clean dining area, competent waitress, really good food. Excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Cooper Hawk's celebrating ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First time at Cooper Hawk's celebrating a friends birthday. I had a reservation but didn't need at on this particular day. Great server who answered all our questions and made recommendations. The food was fantastic. Excellent experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was or 5th anniversary dinner and o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was or 5th anniversary dinner and our first time there. Our server, Darius, was the highlight of the evening. Very attentive and responsive. The short rib risotto was chewy and the Asian slaw with the ahi tuna was just okay. We finished dinner with the creme brûlée which was the most disappointing. The custard was soupy in places. My Bloody Mary may have been the best thing I had.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Only issue was noise level. However, I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Only issue was noise level. However, I can not think of any restaurant that addresses this issue. Wish someone would. Must be a desired effect.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambiance for nig ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance for night out with my wife.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my first time dining at Coopers H ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was my first time dining at Coopers Hawk and I must admit it was good. The food was great, wine as well, service from waiter. Overall wonderful wine and eatery spot that I'll be going to more often!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PRETZEL BREAD IS THE LORD'S

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

PRETZEL BREAD IS THE LORD'S

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cooper's Hawk was incredible. My husband ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Cooper's Hawk was incredible. My husband and I went there for a last date night before he was deployed for a year in Korea. The food was amazing, The Churraco Steak was perfectly cooked and tasted fantastic (even as leftovers later that night 😝). The service was incredible. From the hosts to the woman offering wine samples, everyone was friendly and very personable. They helped our evening even more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu looked great -- a lot of entree ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The menu looked great -- a lot of entrees that I thought looked very appetizing. But, I was disappointed. The Parmesan encrusted Grouper that I ordered was overcooked. Most disappointing, though, was the noise level. When the advance reservation was booked, I requested a quiet table, because two members of our party are hard of hearing. I think the host attempted to give us the quietest table available, but even that table was very loud (I'm not sure there is such a thing as a really quiet table in the restaurant).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was wonderful as usual, wine was gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was wonderful as usual, wine was great, service good. This particular visit we were seated right above the tasting room in the middle of a room and it was pretty noisy. Ambience in other parts of the restaurant is great, this specific area could use a little help with the noise. Still love the restaurant and will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really loved this place. My husband an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I really loved this place. My husband and I went here for our anniversary because we wanted somewhere nice but not too expensive. We each got a drink and had an appetizer with our meals, and paid about $70 for the meal. The Mexican drunken shrimp was absolutely amazing, and they let you taste the wine you'd like with a decent amount. I loved it. Very romantic and perfect for conversation. It's a gorgeous place I would be happy to visit again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our meal was wonderful, the wines were w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our meal was wonderful, the wines were well paired. Everyone got a wine they enjoyed. And our meals were prepared well, pleasing to the eye and the palate. Thank you for a delightful dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a great experience! It was our So ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was a great experience! It was our Sons 9th birthday and he chose Coopershawk. Quickly seated. Attentive service. And remembered our sons special occasion without our promoting. Very pleased with our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From earlier reviews, I gathered this re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

From earlier reviews, I gathered this restaurant would be busy, so we booked an early hour for our anniversary. The lobster bisque was delicious and full of seafood. The crab appetizer was very uniquely prepared and also good. There was a misunderstanding of my order which was quickly rectified when our meals were brought. A supervisor even came to apologize. Everyone was gracious and I was super happy with my grilled shrimp special. I love the way everything has a wine pairing recommendation. The celebratory anniversary truffles were a sweet, surprising touch. Kudos to Cooper's Hawk. I look forward to returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We go to Cooper's Hawk a couple of times ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We go to Cooper's Hawk a couple of times a year. When we get the opportunity, we like to take people who have never been so that they can see why we like it so much. This occasion was one of those where our friends had never been before, but are now looking forward to coming back and possibly joining the wine of the month club!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I both thought the noise lev ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I both thought the noise level was a bit high to have a romantic dinner. It was my wife's first visit to Coopers Hawk and she was not impressed with the wines, she struggled to find an acceptable wine and found none really suited her palate. The food was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Bacon wrapp ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Bacon wrapped shrimp appetizer great, shaved Brussel sprout salad with balsamic dressing awesome, pistachio encrusted grouper tasty also. Chocolate cake is a must. Service was outstanding. Wish I remembered our server's name, Joe perhaps...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best birthday celebration. Staff was aw ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best birthday celebration. Staff was awesome and so attentive!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dining experience as always. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Had a great dining experience as always. Food was great and really like the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The service, however, wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was great. The service, however, was not. Quite disappointing for our 30th anniversary to be spoiled by sub par service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

The restaurant was incredibly noisy, we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The restaurant was incredibly noisy, we had to shout to hear each other. It was our 32nd wedding anniversary and I had requested an intimate table. Instead we were seated in the middle of many tables. We had to send the appetizer (calamari) back...it was the worse we have ever had...its was fried in tempura batter and covered with a shiny, sticky sauce. Our entrees were one step above diner food....way too much sauce and fat. My husband had chicken madeira and I had enchiladas. The wine was just average, despite the fact that they are known for their wine. We won't go back, not our cup of tea and a disappointment on our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great gluten free menu. Loved the gluten ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great gluten free menu. Loved the gluten free appetizer bread.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When arriving to the restaurant, you'll ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

When arriving to the restaurant, you'll walk into Cooper Hawk's busy wine tasting room. Its quite lively, with many people enjoying wine flights and chatting among friends. You'll then make your way to the dining room, which is upstairs and away from the chatter.

I came here on an anniversary date and we loved the atmosphere and decor. It's a good mix of new and old school, with temporary rectangular column lighting contrasted by wooden wine barrels. Our seat was next to a window over looking the Country Club Plaza, which was a nice sight.

Service was surprising quick, with dinner starting at 6pm and our appetizer came around 15 minutes later. We had the lobster and crab bisque, which is a great deal and has loads of flavor for its price. Then that was followed up by our entrees: Surf & Turf with steak medallions and crab cake, as well as Gnocci Bolongese with Short Ribs. Both meals had big portions and were tasty. Can't forget the complimentary pretzel bread, which goes real well with the bisque.

Although this is a well known wine joint, my girl and I opted for their pitcher of raspberry sangria. Its really refreshing on hot summer days like these. Differently meant for more than two people, but we wanted to enjoy ourselves on our special occasion :)

We finished the meal with a salted caramel creme bulee. It was one of the better creme bulees I've had and I would recommend it to fans of this dessert.

Over all service ended around 6:40pm, which is a quick turnaround from what I've seen. We enjoyed our meal and will likely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining area wasn't that busy as far ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The dining area wasn't that busy as far as people being there for food and the waiter took for ever to get our order and even the follow up for refills. Very disappointed in the service

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Service was fantastic! Wine was just as ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was fantastic! Wine was just as good. Food was excellent and the calamari was the best I ever had!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was just ok, I had the churrasc ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was just ok, I had the churrasco beef and my wife had the fish. Not horrible but not great. We have been for lunch and dinner many times and this was the 1st time we were not that pleased. Our server was great and the wine was great but other than that just ok.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location, service and food - howev ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great location, service and food - however, a bit chilly. Reasonable value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.