Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (816) 531-1500 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (143)
Special Occasion (143)
Notable Wine List (140)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (108)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Romantic (74)
Happy Hour (67)
Worth the Drive (67)
Fun (66)
Good for Groups (63)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Casual (56)
Great for Lunch (54)
Modern Decor (51)
Business Meals (50)
Tasting Menu (46)
Cozy (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Bar Seating (37)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Scenic View (25)
Outstanding Value (23)
Seasonal (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
People Watching (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Healthy (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Family Style (10)
Authentic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Private Room (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 hours ago

I appreciated this visit a lot. I like this restaurant, they serve food I enjoy and being a winery is just made for me. I am a young person who enjoys nice things, and at many places I feel like they look down on me for it and don't offer me as good of service because of it. Let me stress that this did not happen here. Our server was totally professional, she came back in a timely manner, and never once acted like I was some kid who wasn't going to tip. That alone was worth it. Of course the food was amazing from appetizers to the main course. I enjoyed having my three glasses of wine, and appreciated being accommodated with a booth. Cooper Hawk is one of those restaurants I do save for a special occasion, and it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful staff and menu. Wine was awesome! My surf and turf was slightly over cooked but our server was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Way better this weekend than last! Way better service! Hope it continues 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very good food, was very surprised how goo the wine was and a good, affordable price

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Not sure if we our server was new but service was slower than normal, I understand we were there on a Saturday evening but still, taking that into account...slow... we didn't even order our entree until we were completely done with our appetizer...we also have a 2 year old and parents with young children will understand...the clock is ticking...thankfully he got his food earlier than we did but he was completely done before we even put our order in...then we got our food and they brought out the wrong entree for my wife...it was fixed quickly but still, rare night out was kind of annoying, however I will say every other time we've been to Coopers Hawk there have been no issues, we will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

All was superb! The wine tasting was a lot of fun and the bartender, John, was impressively knowledgeable about all things wine!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Loved the medallion trio. The sirloin dinner was also flavorful. The service is always good and helped use find the best wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Friendly and knowledgeable staff who provided fabulous service. The food is tremendous and the wine list comprehensive. Truly an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TASTING AND DINING EXPERIENCE! THE SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Would never reccomend this place SO LOUD all seating felt like I was in a Golden Corral no privacy not upper class like I had thought. Very small not diversified menu for both food and wine choice. Our server Derek was very nice and knowledgable we left after fifteen minutes of not being able to have a conversation much less relax and enjoy wine. Didn't even order food as the menu was so limited but with thinks like pork chop.... Not what I expected at all. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our service was the worst we have had since we have been going here. It took and hour + to get our food out. We had a few friends order drinks that took 30 minutes to get to the table and the manager brought them to the table. The manager was great to us but our waiter rarely checked on us and never apologized for the wait on our food until after we spoke with the manager. And my husbands food came out cold, yes they remade it and we got it for free. But the waiter was the biggest issue. However we are win club members and we do love going here for a night out, and of course we will be going back, but this one time I was pretty disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food, once we got it, was pretty good. The overall service was a nightmare. Food runners tried to deliver the wrong food to our table three times. Our waitress put in our food order completely wrong. It took nearly an hour to finally get the correct food delivered to our table. The manager ended up giving us the entire meal for free plus a free bottle of wine to compensate for the comedy of errors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were on the top level in a booth. The ambience and overall experience was great for our first time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great first time experience, will be back, would highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My wife loves wine so for our anniversary I took her to COOPER Hawk. We had a great meal and wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Celebrated international women's day with my mother. The waitress was absolutely wonderful and helpful. Food was yummy as always, cooper's Hawk has a distinct ambiance and an upscale feel to it without the upscale prices

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is one of the best restaurants in Kansas City. The atmosphere and ambiance is one of a kind. Not only is the wine amazing but the food is one that cannot be beat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This visit was a rare dissapointment. The server seemed annoyed, a few wine glasses were not clean, and a few of the dishes were either cold or way over cooked. The birthday girl received her special desert but no one else was even offered a desert menu or coffee. We will go back, but with so many other options they need to address some issues.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I ordered the carne asada flatbread...I took one bite and did not line it. It was extremely oily and all I could taste was pesto. The waiter was inpatient and rushed you. He removed plates and I had nothing to eat my flatbread on. When I told him my entree was horrible, he did 'oh'. No attempt to ask me if I wanted something else, offer to speak to manager ( the table behind me was speaking to a manager about their issues), etc. Very disappointing.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Diverse menu and very good food. All 4 in our party had something different and everyone was pleased with their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As a wine club member, my wife and I go to the Plaza each month to enjoy our wine tasting and have dinner. The experience is great. The wines are very good and the food is wonderful. We've never had a bad meal there. It's fun to meet new people and enjoy conversation with people from all over the nation who happen to be there enjoying the fun.

The only problem I have ever had at Coopers Hawk is, the crowd gets so big in the evenings, and it takes about 45 minuets to an hour to just get up to the tasting bar. We figured out that in order to not spend as much time in line we had to get there at around 2 or 3 o'clock to beat the crowd. But in the end it is a great place to hang out with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our food was delicious as always and we are a member of the wine club so always enjoy that. However our server was really distracted and the service was very slow. Our bill was apparently not correct either as we got an additional charge the next day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very warm and well decorated - unique wine tasting stations and retail were fun to peruse while waiting. Food was really tasty - calamari, pork belly risotto and pistachio grouper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We always love our visits to Coopers Hawk. Great wine tastings, wine club and food.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food is always good here but I think it was not very busy when we went so the the waiter kept annoying us and not letting us have our moments . He was just too attentive but overall , it was still good ! We ordered both from happy hour appetizer menu and dinner menu , will definitely come back soon...

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Birthday dinner for my friend was so good. Food was amazing!!

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Love the pork belly tostadas

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I asked for a 'quieter' area ... due to my hearing impairment. They were able to accommodate my request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our first visit, we celebrated a birthday dinner. Food was excellent, drinks were good, service was perfect. We were impressed with the popularity of the wine-tastings downstairs, will go back for that on our next visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was my daughters 21st bday celebration. Every moment was so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The vibrant bar scene, while great for business, made conversations more difficult. My friend's salmon dish was served very hot while my tenderloin medallions were luke warm. I chose medium rare which could have been part of the issue but the meager vegetables were also just warm. I'm surprised that excellent service is not a choice for choosing Cooper's Hawk.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

CH is definitely our go-to place to grab a nice dinner and/or glass of wine

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fabulous wine and food. Our server Christina was excellent!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was great! Wait staff very attentive! Wine was awesome!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great up scale Pizza and wine !!!!!!!

Needs to be on pizza bucket list

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food is always very good and not terribly expensive. It's pretty surroundings, too. It's a new "go-to" for special occasions for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our experience was great! The only problem was the table behind us and their noise level. (Completely out of or waitress and the restaurants control.) Our waitress signed us up for the wine club and answered all of our questions. She highly recommended both meals we ordered and I know exactly why! The food was fabulous. There was a perfect amount of time in between ordering and eating, so we had time to talk and enjoy our anniversary! After our dinner, our waitress treated us to truffles and strawberries. What a perfect end to a perfect dinner! Customers for life. Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always great service and great food! Who could ask for anything more?

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food is always delicious. The wine and cocktails are great as well!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.