About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8165311500x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Pork Tostada Mini Appetizer
Chorizo And Goat Cheese Flatbread
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Cheese Board
Wine And Cheese Pairing
Mexican Drunken Shrimp
Cup Of Lobster Bisque
Spicy Sea Scallops
Roasted Vegetables And Goat Cheese Flatbread Pizza
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Cooper's Hawk Red Wine
Fish Sandwich
Pretzel Bread
mediterranean chopped salad
Sweet Chili Calamari
Gnocchi With Butternut Squash
Gnocchi
Chicken Al Pastor Stuffed Mushrooms
Bin 61 Sour
Caprese Flatbread
Chicken Saltimbocca
Soy Glazed Salmon
Mustard Pretzel Crusted Pork
Pistachio Crusted Sea Bass W/ Potatoes Lyonnaise
BANANA CARAMEL ICE CREAM SANDWICH
Surf'n'Turf
Gnocchi Carbonara
Anne's Chicken Saltimbocca

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Thanksgiving with Cooper's Hawk. Reserve your table.

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
3 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Special Occasion (140)
Notable Wine List (136)
Good for Groups (95)
See All
Romantic (89)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Hot Spot (47)
Great for Lunch (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Good for a Date (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Late-night Find (22)
Fun (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Scenic View (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Healthy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very friendly staff, and great wine. Ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very friendly staff, and great wine. Service was excellent, liked that the manager came to our table. Food very good. Will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a sizable group with little kids. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a sizable group with little kids. Service was fantastic - Nena was terrific

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun but very slow service

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fun but very slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

First time at Cooper's Hawk and would de ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time at Cooper's Hawk and would definitely go back. Food was really good and so was wine. Very fun atmosphere. Only bummer was they were out of two of our four entrees we ordered so had to pick something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was amazed from the second I walked in ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was amazed from the second I walked in to when I walked out. Our server was wonderful and very attentive. We will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an awesome time we were on a geta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had an awesome time we were on a getaway. We made reservations and had so much fun the food was great. Josh W was the best waiter ever!! He even recommended a place to go after!! Will come again when in town!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ended up going there three times over th ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ended up going there three times over the weekend. Loved the wine tasting and food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant ambiance and food were fine - ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Restaurant ambiance and food were fine - service was terrible. our waitress seemed to have forgotten our table multiple times during the course of the evening. she apologized every time, but telling us we that we would be her focus only to be forgotten about again made the experience a little tiresome.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great service and unique dishes. Nice wi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and unique dishes. Nice wine samples and choices of entrees and wine. Loved the pretzel bread. Delish! Nice beef tenderloin medallions.

The upside down key lime pie needs some work. Way too many graham cracker crumbs compared to the key lime pie filling. All in all, I would give them another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We went on a Saturday night with reserva ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went on a Saturday night with reservations. It was the 3rd time we have been. The first was amazing and the second a disaster so we thought we would give it one more try to celebrate our engagement. It started off great but quickly deteriorated. We ordered appetizers and salads. The salad never came...okay no big deal I probably didn't need the salad any way. When meals came they were less than desirable. My gnocchi was burnt. That's right my PASTA was burnt. How do you even do that? My fiances steak was not cooked to the temperature he requested. From there we saw very little of our server for refills. When the check came, which took forever btw, it had another tables meal included with ours. It took a good 10 minutes before the server returned to even have the bill fixed. Overall not a good experience. We would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

We had a great time. Food and win was am ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a great time. Food and win was amazing and we will be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the wine tasting and the food was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved the wine tasting and the food was amazing! Definitely recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Never disappoints. Haven't found anythin ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Never disappoints. Haven't found anything on the menu I don't like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience for my date! S ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a great experience for my date! She loved it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was as good as ever, but menu has c ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was as good as ever, but menu has changed so a couple of my favorites were gone. Waiter was very accommodating but food was slower than usual coming out from the kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Some friends had recommended Cooper's Ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Some friends had recommended Cooper's Hawk to us and we decided to try it for our wedding anniversary. I had the wine that was recommended with my meal, which was exceptional. However, the noise level due to the wine tastings going on downstairs was horrible. I practically had to yell at my husband who was sitting right next to me. I was particularly disappointed that we were seated in the middle of the dining room (and the noise) when we had a reservation for 2 at such a late hour. The food was really good, so on a different occasion when I wasn't hoping for a romantic meal, I would consider going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Took probably 15 minutes once we were se ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Took probably 15 minutes once we were seated for someone to wait on us. They made up for it by giving us a free tasting of some wine we've never tasted before.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I picked this restaurant for my birthday ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I picked this restaurant for my birthday dinner with my husband. We were offered a sample of wine as soon as we walked in the door (our choice of red or white of their pick for the month). We took our sample to the table with us and we both liked it. We wanted to purchase a bottle of a different wine and our server brought a sample before we committed to it. It was the Cooper's Hawk Red and we really enjoyed it. For an appetizer we had pita with regular hummus, red pepper hummus and a cucumber cream. We didn't care for the cucumber cream but everything else was good. They also bring pretzel bread to the table! We both liked our entrees as well. I had the gnocchi with roasted butternut squash. It was delicious but could have used more butternut squash. My husband loved the trio of beef filets. For dessert we split the s'more budino. It was weird because something tasted like melted ice cream, I guess one of the yaers melted when the toasted the marshmallow on top. When we left it was packed in the wine tasting/shop area. I would love to go back and try a few more of their vegetarian options on the menu. All of the people working there were very friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great time at Coopers Hawk. Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always a great time at Coopers Hawk. There was a group of friends, 8 of us, that started out with a wine tasting and then dinner. Wonderful tasting and great times with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place to eat while on the plaza ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Favorite place to eat while on the plaza every time I'm in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chose this restaurant because of incredi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Chose this restaurant because of incredible menu. A variety of options. The food and wine were excellent. But we were expecting a quiet, romantic spot. It couldn'tbe further from that! WAY too loud. Felt like we had to yell at each other to talk over the volume. Seemed like a sports bar but without the tv's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food!! Al, the manager was so ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food!! Al, the manager was so kind and very customer service oriented. Service was outstanding! Barb and Steve

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as always at Coop ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service as always at CoopersHawk. Our server was very attentive and the wine steward for our wine tasting after dinner was accommodating to our inquiries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made the reservation and got right in ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We made the reservation and got right in at our time. The had a great waiter very accomodating! The food was delicious and so was the wine! Everything was fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent dining experience. Server w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

An excellent dining experience. Server was attentive and efficient, food was terrific, wine pairings were good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and wine pairing's are great. Enjo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and wine pairing's are great. Enjoy wine tastings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We went to Cooper's hawk for my daughter ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went to Cooper's hawk for my daughters 24th birthday. While we very much enjoyed the dinner and wine selection, we were very upset that they were completely out of the dessert my daughter wanted for her birthday. Not only were they out of the dessert she wanted for her birthday but they were out of several desserts. I assumed since we had reservations at 5:30pm they would not have run out of desserts. That is quite early to already run out of desserts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wine tasting employees are awesome!!! V ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Wine tasting employees are awesome!!! Very informative about all the wines. Unfortunately, on occasion they are out of certain wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Place is awesome. Went on Sunday which w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Place is awesome. Went on Sunday which was my 2nd time attending Coops. 1st experience was god awful in regards to the waitress, food great both times. This 2nd time waitress was super busys but still did good checking on me and my lady.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome service, fantastic meal, quiet, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Awesome service, fantastic meal, quiet, romantic setting

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers took 40 minutes, so we didn' ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Appetizers took 40 minutes, so we didn't order entrees and left. It wasn't extremely busy either due to Labor Day weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We have been wine club members at Cooper ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have been wine club members at Cooper's Hawk for a few years! We dine and wine taste there several times a year! We were extremely disappointed with our most recent visit! The service in the dining room was awful! There was 4 people in our party! We were not brought the right salad to begin with along with no silverware for 2 of us! We actually had to get up to obtain our own silverware from another table! After getting up to get our waiter to correct our salad, we finally were brought the correct salad! After receiving our dinners, our waiter never once came back to our table to see if our food was okay or to refill waters and drinks! Our reservation was not until 8:30 p.m. The dining room was not busy at this time! Very disappointed! We have noticed the service slowly going downhill over the past year! We are seriously considering canceling our wine club membership!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Always fun rating the new wines & enjoy ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Always fun rating the new wines & enjoy bar bites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My wife and I decided to try a restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My wife and I decided to try a restaurant we had never been to and found this gem on OpenTable. We absolutely fell in love with it. It's to large to be a "quaint" little spot but it has that atmosphere. Wonderful layout, beautifully decorated, outstanding wine options and they even suggest to you in the menu the best wine for the meal you choose and the food was amazing and prepared perfectly. Our waiter was pleasant, knowledgeable and available while not being a "kind nuisance" and coming by asking if everything was OK every 5 minutes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner (and were glad for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a great dinner (and were glad for the reservation on a Saturday evening). Dinner was great, for the most part. My boyfriend's chicken came out burnt, but they went out of their way to make it right. We were more than satisfied with the resolution and the service.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrific service.... Flights of wine... ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Terrific service.... Flights of wine... Good food. The wines are terrific and the wine club is a great deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Server was rude. She ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was rude. She made it clear she should be off work in 15 minutes and was unhappy that she would not be. When we ask for something she would reply " I'm getting it" very rudely. Even rolled her eyes at us and gestured to another server. This one server will not keep us away as we have ate here before and had excellent service. If this had been my first visit, I might feel differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Good food, filet was cooked a little ove ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food, filet was cooked a little over medium rare. Wines were ok, our waitress was phenomenal! Cool layout and setup inside and great location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The only negative was noise level in the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The only negative was noise level in the first dining room the hostess seated us in.

So noisy we asked to be moved. The hostess was able to move us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was fantastic. Even ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service was fantastic. Even though a busy Friday, we had no issues with attention from server & speed of food from kitchen. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted great. Only complaint would be noise level. Even on the second floor away from the bar, the noise level is very high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.