Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (816) 531-1500 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (105)
Good for a Date (101)
Special Occasion (85)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Good for Groups (56)
Romantic (56)
Happy Hour (48)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Worth the Drive (41)
Fun (41)
Casual (37)
Great for Lunch (35)
Tasting Menu (35)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Business Meals (29)
Hot Spot (26)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
People Watching (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Authentic (15)
Scenic View (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Always enjoy Copper's Hawk. Food is always fresh, service is good and it's great when your wine is already paid for when you're a wine club member. Bloody Marys are really great with the beer back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is outstanding and plentiful. Service was spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The portion of the dining room we were seated in was very loud and made it extremely hard to have a conversation with the person seated across from me. Also, the shrimp & scallop risotto was very underwhelming and had hardly any flavor as the truffle oil was undetectable and the rest of ingredients were very bland. The brussel sprouts were outstanding. This was my first and probably last time attending the restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great for a ladies get-together. Get the calamari, you won't regret it.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was good. The food was ok- short ribs were dry and tasted like pot roast, not short ribs. Way too noisy. The noise level was annoying. Cocktails were a little heavy handed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had fabulous service and wonderful food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of my favorite spots because it has a dedicated gluten free menu. But they were out of gluten free bread and the service was slow this time. Overall I still love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and tasty food accommodations for all diets

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent as always. I have never been disappointed with the food or service whether business or pleasure, if you need to make an impression, this is always a good one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food is always delicious and the atmosphere is great. See ya next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Everything was wonderful- loved the wine flights, always love the pretzel bread with honey butter. Try the veggie flatbread appetizer and the Reese's cookie and ice cream for dessert- yummy! Only issue was that the AC was on overdrive- we froze!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This was my first visit and it will definitely not be my last. The food was quite good and we were allowed to order at our leisure, chat and actually spend the afternoon without being rushed. We tried the white wine flight, fun and generous pouring. Service was great. The menu has many interesting items that I am wanting to try. It's on my "go to" list!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I'm from out of town and chose this restaurant for a large gathering. This place is large and could easily accommodate that request. For anyone concerned, it's located right next to a large parking lot too so that is convenient. Checking in was a little hectic as I wasn't aware that their lobby also doubles as their wine tasting area.
Once seated, everything was enjoyable minus the waiter. I'm not sure who dropped the ball (the waiter for taking the order or the kitchen staff who plated and served the dishes) but one order was messed up and it took several attempts to rectify the situation. Also, the wrong order was shoved in front of my friend instead of the staff asking to confirm that it was her order. And our waiter never did the customary check-in once the food arrived. So I had to flag him down for assistance.
I'm my experience, when an order is wrong, the customer shouldn't have to pay for it. Eventually it got cleared up after several conversations but it was a hassle when it didn't need to be.
Just fyi- the flights of wine is a great deal. It's almost 4 whole servings of wine for under$14. I'm used to very small servings when flights are ordered, so that's a great surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 15, 2017

When we walked in there were people everywhere due to the fact there were wine tastings going on all over the place. Kind of confusing beings we weren't sure where to go to check in with a hostess. Service was good. They were out of what was recommend by the waitress so my husband had to change his order. The Food was great though, steak needed a little more flavor but otherwise perfect. Wine was good. Overall I would absolutely recommend this place. Would love to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We are wine club members and have enjoyed our experiences up to this past weekend. We had a special friend in town and we were looking forward to taking him to the Plaza for a special meal and wine! Unfortunately, after we left the bar, where we had fabulous service for appetizers and drinks, we had a very absent waitress in a not very optimal location upstairs. We waited 20 minutes to order a drink, 40 to get bread service and almost an hour and a half to be served our meals. We finally found another server to bring us a second round of drinks and to fill our water glasses. We will return but will request seating space(s) when we make our reservations and seek out the Manager for a new server if this is a repeat occurrence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service in the dining was poor. This is the second time this has happened. Our server seemed to forget that we were even there. We truly love this restaurant, but I wish the service in the dining room would be more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We ate there last Saturday and our service was just fair. My husband at one point had to go to the bar to order drInks. We were on a double date with friends and went due to my gluten and dairy allergies. Our servicer could barely hear us even order so I wasn't able to ask further questions that I had regarding the menu (nor did he seem to care). We had 2 people order the surf & turf. Sadly, my husband's came out at least 5 minutes after everyone else's food and was considerably smaller than our friend who had also ordered the same.
All in all, the price, crowd, service, and even some of the food are not with it. I will not be recommending to friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Loved it. Our waiter was great about telling us we still had time to order on the happy hour menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was our anniversary and we expected a complimentary dessert. Otherwise it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food and wine! Servics was at the perfect pace to allow for good conversation but at the same time not seem slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Lovely lunch. Coffee after lunch had to be sent back as it was served cold. They brewed us a fresh pot. Nice to have healthy choices with calorie count.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Extensive menu that was organized so as not to be overwhelming . Delicious specialty cocktail Blackberry Caiperina

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We really want to like this restaurant but, alas, every time we come here, we seem to have a subpar experience. Tonight my wife ordered the Filet Mignon cooked Medium. It was Medium Well at best (no pink center whatsoever) if not Well Done. I ordered the Surf and Turf. I ordered the Steak portion Medium Rare. It was served Rare (VERY Rare). The fish was a Pistachio covered Grouper. It was VERY fishy! Smell, taste, everything. So much so I couldn't eat it. I put up with the steak but couldn't stomach the fish. I asked for a substitute and they graciously complied with a modest serving of 3 shrimp which were very tasty indeed. However, when the bill came we were shocked to see we had been charged an ADDITIONAL $13.99 as if I had ordered them extra. That's where things got confusing. Was this just an appetizer portion? (The waiter admitted the appetizer comes with 5 Shrimp.) I was content with the 3 but NOT with being charged an additional amount as the "fish" portion of the Surf and Turf entree was half of the meal which we were already paying $30.99 for! All in all this restaurant just doesn't provide the Food you would expect (properly cooked) at these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

So disappointed. Calamari over-breaded, some of the worst I've had. Gnocchi portion was too small, tasted like it was a frozen dinner. Lobster bisque and side salad was ok...hard to mess these up. Best thing was the pretzel bread. Waitress was good, but won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The wine tasting was really busy so had to wait. But otherwise all was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was delicious and our service great! Just was loud. We expect that in bar/tasting area, but not so much in the dining. Otherwise an awesome meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife and I finally had a date night away from the kids and found that cooper hawk has an amazing gluten free menu, with extensive amount of variety and options for all pallets. There wine list was very appealing as well and we fell in love with a couple of the wines and joined there wine club because of it.....it was the best night of our year and have vowed to become regulars. Food was mind blowing and service was the best ever. FIVE STARS across the board

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We are a family of 5 and always love going to Cooper's Hawk. Our service was great and the food was too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was perfect for our lunch expect when our server brought our dessert and then presented his lengthy sales pitch about joining the wine membership club. It made everyone uncomfortable especially our 70+ neighbors who were our guests. It was their first dining experience at Cooper's Hawk too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was a casual date night. Well worth it. I love the wine, and decided to try the food. The prices are fairly middle of the road for food, and the wine is priced the same at the table as they sell it by the bottle. I had the Chicken Parmesan, which was fantastic. Enough food was brought out to eat half and be comfortably full, saving a take home dinner for another night. I would certainly have another date night here. It isn't very intimate, and there is a fair amount of noise, but it makes for a fun and casual date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was great!!

Service was slow and not attentive. Waiter and bartender seemed overwhelmed, though restaurant was not busy.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Jacob helped us in the tasting room, by far the most informative and passionate help that we've ever had there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very enjoyable. Some surprising taste combinations which worked well. Our server was good, but too new to be familiar with the very large menu they offer. I was curious why anyone would put soy on a steak but I like to satisfy my curiosity. If I wanted boring I I could just stay home. The ginger's sweetness combined with soy's salt perfectly, and I suddenly remembered my old stir-fry days. I was amazed the cook hit "medium" as the strip was sliced very thin. While I'd hoped for med-rare I was satisfied as the beef was a good cut. We really enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning. It's not a steak house and I should've known it. Perhaps they would do even better focusing on their new take on Asian cuisine. I know I'll order that way from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our party of six was seated at a nice round table. Service was attentive, but not overbearing. We each enjoyed our appetizers, entrees,shared desserts and wine. Noise level was tolerable, although the restaurant was busy. Kudos to our waitress Juanita.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Meh. Slow service (albeit on a capacity night) and mediocre food. Wine list is fine given the concept but not great. Many better similarly priced options within walking distance of this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food ok but service sucked. Everyone around us got served before us. Waited forever between salads and entree. No blue cheese stuffed olives for dirty martini until I asked where they were. Manager offered no explanation when b asked about service other than sometimes it happens. Very disappointed. Didn't acknowledge our birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The meal was lovely and the service was great. The only complaint I have is that our server Annie decided to take it upon her self to get us a couple of small deserts. We in no way shape or form asked for these. When she brought them to our table they were a small chocolate covered strawberry and a truffle. They were fantastic. The only thing is we were charged for them. They were only 5 dollars each and they were worth the money but we never asked for them. It was rude and inconsiderate. This has been my only complaint and we have been there 10 times.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Met with friends. got there an hour before our 6pm reservation. Got a table at the bar and enjoyed wine and appetizers. It was a little noisy, but not bad as busy as it was. Dinner was outstanding, as always. Each of us was bragging that what we ordered was the best. My short ribs won of course. several bottles of Coopers Red was enjoyed. Wait staff was spot on; there at the right times and not bugging us at the wrong times. This is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was very good. We ate in the restaurant, which we liked. You can also eat at the bar, and that looked pretty comfortable also, although it was noisier. We did have a drink there first. I liked the healthier meal options available on the menu. The service was excellent. We had a window view, so that was great also.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.