Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (816) 531-1500 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (134)
Good for a Date (129)
Special Occasion (120)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (106)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Romantic (66)
Worth the Drive (59)
Good for Groups (58)
Fun (57)
Happy Hour (55)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Casual (50)
Business Meals (49)
Great for Lunch (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Modern Decor (44)
Tasting Menu (43)
Cozy (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Bar Seating (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
People Watching (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Healthy (19)
Scenic View (19)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Seasonal (11)
Private Room (11)
Family Style (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Apps and salad came out around 20 minutes. Ahi tuna tacos were ok. Taco shells are garbage store bought. Icberg/romaine house salad. Good ranch. Really good pesto Caesar. We tried to get it with shrimp but it didn't come with it. Short rib and lobster shrimp bisque really good. Lousy service. I ordered a wine flight and it was presented without any discription whatsoever from the bartender. Additionally the bartender avoided us when apps took too long. A taco was dropped by the food runner and was promised to be replaced. 15 minutes later the manager showed up with the last taco, apologized and quickly left without checking on the rest of the meal. Cauliflower and grilled broccoli were still under and woody. They took the charge for the shrimp after i asked. Wont go back if im paying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

I love this Cooper's Hawk location and visit often. The monthly wine tasting is a great way to try different varieties of wine and is a fun way to start an evening out. In the dining room, the menu has a nice variety to suit most. My favorite entrees are the shrimp and polenta, the braised short rib grilled cheese, and the Dana's chicken. Service is always good and the restaurant has a nice ambiance. Give it a try!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly, knowledgeable staff that is eager to make your visit a great experience. Casual to suit and tie level experience. No need for reservation, but better if you get one for preferred seating upon arrival.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Coopers Hawk is classy and inviting. Downstairs has the bar area that looks like a great place to meet friends after work. Upstairs is the dining area that is comfortable to take a date or have a business dinner. No loud music or TV screens to distract my dinner. We were looking for a place to hold a rehearsal dinner. They have a private room that can hold at least 30, plus a special menu for groups.
Food was delicious. I had Parmesan chicken, which was light and flavorful. The pretzel bread was soft, but had that pretzel taste. Their wine was so good. The wine club looks like a good deal, and they have a brochure so I can think about it at home. No pressure to join while I'm trying to enjoy my dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was excellent. Drunken shrimp were outstanding. However, we had another extremely poor service experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our first time dining here. AMAZING! The food was outstanding. Chef puts many unique twist to everyday dishes to make them come alive! Definitely will be returning for future dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We love the very beautiful ambiance and food selection at Coopers Hawk. Ashley was our server and she was very attentive and polite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Had a nice overall time but my meal was cold...the plate was hot...but not my steak and veggies...other then that it was very...nice! Loved the outlook of the establishment!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was great and not too noisy for a business meeting. Our waitress however may need more training in certain areas but otherwise, good experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was ok, but not outstanding. Has a foreign object in my food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The restaurant was very loud. Would have been better if it was a bit quieter and tables weren't so close to one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Anniversary dinner experience this year was not as good as past visits. Even though we had our 17 month old with us, we were sat in the high traffic area where it was very busy and loud and then told that we couldn't set the high chair at the end of the table. It just started off on a sour note with having to rearrange chairs, the high chair and the folded up stroller while many people raced through the walkway. Then the service was just really slow. I don't know if it was just our server or if they were understaffed that night, but it just lead to a ruined celebration.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Coopers Hawk is always a good time. Nice atmosphere with great food and wine. Bonus, its right on the plaza so you have plenty of options for after dinner activities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My first time here, outstanding service that was extremely knowledgeable about both the wine offering and food choices. A litttle loud but not overwhelming. Dark broody atmosphere great for a date.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Member of their wine club.. good appetizers and the warm pretzel bread is delicious. We tried the drunken shrimp and it was great . Shared the beet salad and lobster bisque which was delicious. Nice bottle of wine ( wine of the month) was a good compliment.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our experience was good overall. But, for some reason, there was no bread offered. When asked, server stated there was none available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always great. I eat Gluten Free and the staff is very knowledgeable and the food doesn't scream GF, it's delicious. Went with 3 friends that had never been and they all loved their lunch entrees. Server was great as well. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We have been wine club members since the one in Indianapolis opened several years ago. Much prefer it to the one in KC which is a very different lay out. The food was equally as good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Best food around in the Kansas City Metro area. I'd highly recommend it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

3 friends headed to KC Rep for performance...met here first for a nice lunch...my 2 friends have not been there before so now you have two new customers...they loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Perfect. Got there early and was able to do a wine tasting. Bartender was pleasant and knowledgeable and we liked that he didn't bluff his way through when we asked a question he didn't know the answer to. Hostess and waitstaff friendly and efficient. Food was fantastic from appetizer through dessert. So many dishes to try. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I have been to the KC location twice now and both times have been very enjoyable. The unique two-story building is very cool and adds to the enjoyment of the dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We love coming to Cooper's Hawk. We don't live near one, so when we're traveling we make sure to search one out if it's in the area. It has a varied menu, the food and service are excellent and a great value. My husband went with our server's recommendation - the Madeira Chicken - on the premise that he wouldn't be disappointed, and he wasn't! He said it's his favorite meal so far... and that's saying a lot because he alsready loves Cooper's Hawk. The only reason I gave it a 4 star for ambiance is that the noise level is a bit too energetic for a quiet dinner when they're busy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I truly enjoyed celebrating my bday at Cooper's Hawk. Our table of choice was ready when we arrived. Our waitress was professional, knowledgeable of the menu and added to the fun of the evening. All of our menu selections were well presented and tasty. We'll definitely be back soon! Thank you for a memorable birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The entry was a bit loud and felt rushed, but once we got to our table we had an amazing evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was phenomenal. Great wine and suggested pairings. We went for a special occasion and will definitely go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We had a lovely time celebrating my husband's Birthday...

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We have been members of CH for years. It's been disappointing to see the service and food go down hill. My husband often times is told the entree he orders is not available. The service used to be superb and could be differentiated from any other restaurant. Now we find it to be average. With our last visit we were celebrating a birthday and it was never acknowledged. It's sad as it used to be such a great place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I appreciated this visit a lot. I like this restaurant, they serve food I enjoy and being a winery is just made for me. I am a young person who enjoys nice things, and at many places I feel like they look down on me for it and don't offer me as good of service because of it. Let me stress that this did not happen here. Our server was totally professional, she came back in a timely manner, and never once acted like I was some kid who wasn't going to tip. That alone was worth it. Of course the food was amazing from appetizers to the main course. I enjoyed having my three glasses of wine, and appreciated being accommodated with a booth. Cooper Hawk is one of those restaurants I do save for a special occasion, and it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great selection of wines. Food was delicious. Great place for a night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were promptly seated and greeted by our server. He did an outstanding job and was never intrusive. If you order a bottle of wine be sure and ask for it to be decanted. The LUX wines are always our favorites and well worth the extra cost. The shrimp appetizer with guacamole was amazing. Perfect for a good substantial red wine. We ordered the trio medallions and were again amazed at how good they were. The salmon was also cooked perfectly and not over done. Stop here if you can and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is a great place to eat and they have best wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our service was absolutely outstanding! We were celebrating a belated birthday and our waiter overheard and still treated us to a dessert. The environment was breathtaking, warm, and inviting. We will be back soon, no doubt!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful staff and menu. Wine was awesome! My surf and turf was slightly over cooked but our server was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Way better this weekend than last! Way better service! Hope it continues 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very good food, was very surprised how goo the wine was and a good, affordable price

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Not sure if we our server was new but service was slower than normal, I understand we were there on a Saturday evening but still, taking that into account...slow... we didn't even order our entree until we were completely done with our appetizer...we also have a 2 year old and parents with young children will understand...the clock is ticking...thankfully he got his food earlier than we did but he was completely done before we even put our order in...then we got our food and they brought out the wrong entree for my wife...it was fixed quickly but still, rare night out was kind of annoying, however I will say every other time we've been to Coopers Hawk there have been no issues, we will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

All was superb! The wine tasting was a lot of fun and the bartender, John, was impressively knowledgeable about all things wine!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Loved the medallion trio. The sirloin dinner was also flavorful. The service is always good and helped use find the best wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Friendly and knowledgeable staff who provided fabulous service. The food is tremendous and the wine list comprehensive. Truly an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.