About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8165311500x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Pork Tostada Mini Appetizer
Chorizo And Goat Cheese Flatbread
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Cheese Board
Wine And Cheese Pairing
Mexican Drunken Shrimp
Cup Of Lobster Bisque
Spicy Sea Scallops
Roasted Vegetables And Goat Cheese Flatbread Pizza
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Cooper's Hawk Red Wine
Fish Sandwich
Pretzel Bread
mediterranean chopped salad
Sweet Chili Calamari
Gnocchi With Butternut Squash
Gnocchi
Chicken Al Pastor Stuffed Mushrooms
Bin 61 Sour
Caprese Flatbread
Chicken Saltimbocca
Soy Glazed Salmon
Mustard Pretzel Crusted Pork
Pistachio Crusted Sea Bass W/ Potatoes Lyonnaise
BANANA CARAMEL ICE CREAM SANDWICH
Surf'n'Turf
Gnocchi Carbonara
Anne's Chicken Saltimbocca

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
3 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Special Occasion (146)
Notable Wine List (144)
Romantic (99)
See All
Good for Groups (97)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Great for Lunch (50)
Hot Spot (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Late-night Find (19)
Scenic View (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great dinner (and were glad for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great dinner (and were glad for the reservation on a Saturday evening). Dinner was great, for the most part. My boyfriend's chicken came out burnt, but they went out of their way to make it right. We were more than satisfied with the resolution and the service.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrific service.... Flights of wine... ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Terrific service.... Flights of wine... Good food. The wines are terrific and the wine club is a great deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Server was rude. She ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was rude. She made it clear she should be off work in 15 minutes and was unhappy that she would not be. When we ask for something she would reply " I'm getting it" very rudely. Even rolled her eyes at us and gestured to another server. This one server will not keep us away as we have ate here before and had excellent service. If this had been my first visit, I might feel differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Good food, filet was cooked a little ove ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food, filet was cooked a little over medium rare. Wines were ok, our waitress was phenomenal! Cool layout and setup inside and great location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The only negative was noise level in the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The only negative was noise level in the first dining room the hostess seated us in.

So noisy we asked to be moved. The hostess was able to move us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was fantastic. Even ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service was fantastic. Even though a busy Friday, we had no issues with attention from server & speed of food from kitchen. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted great. Only complaint would be noise level. Even on the second floor away from the bar, the noise level is very high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our second time dining at Cooper ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is our second time dining at Cooper's Hawk, both experiences have been very good. We had multiple glasses of wine (all of which were very good) and 4 entrees. My steak was cooked perfectly and all of the sides were cooked well, great flavor overall.

The entire experience was a lot of fun and it's overall not over-priced for the quality of food and ambiance. Definitely plan to go back. Our only complaint was that the waiter was not very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Good food, good atmosphere. Our server h ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere. Our server had an emergency and had to leave. His replacement seemed shy and not as helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The Chicken Chorizo Burger was delicious ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Chicken Chorizo Burger was delicious!

We've been before and never had any issues, but the service was horrible this visit. When we mentioned it to the manager she brushed it off like it was nothing even though she said we weren't the first to mention it that night.

Overall I like the place, I'm just less likely to go back for dinner. Their wine tasting and food are good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

This was my second time dining at Cooper ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was my second time dining at Cooper's Hawk and I enjoyed everything as much as my first. Their service is very good, upscale and attractive ambiance, and both times the food has been excellent. My son and his wife enjoy coming to Cooper's Hawk a couple of times each month.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there a few times, and it never let ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Been there a few times, and it never lets us down. Great food, great wines, great service. Love it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the crab and lobster bisque, an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We tried the crab and lobster bisque, and it was delicious!

We want to return so we may try other menu offerings.

Our waitress, Megan, was right on in making our 45th celebration complete.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Dana's Chicken entee is enough to to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Dana's Chicken entee is enough to to split and the pretzel bread and red sangria are phenomenal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and we had a rest time. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a great evening. Food was fa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had such a great evening. Food was fantastic. Loved the wine tasting!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt it was extremely loud. Definitely ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I felt it was extremely loud. Definitely not a place to go for a quiet dinner, we were practically yelling at each other over the hum of the place. The wine of course was exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was my third time visiting Cooper's ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was my third time visiting Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant. It is a great place to meet with friends to have a great food and wine. The hostess and waiter were very nice and pleasant the whole time. I will definitely be back in September to enjoy more great food and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very fun evening. The food and wine wer ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very fun evening. The food and wine were very good and our server Meghan was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a client centric dinner meeting a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had a client centric dinner meeting and from start to finish the service was flawless. The food was absolutely amazing. The only failure of the night was that I left my to go box on the table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a first time visit for our group ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was a first time visit for our group of 6 for a birthday and we all enjoyed the experience. Our food was very good and we like the atmosphere very much. The stairs are a little tricky for the older set (my parents were with us) but overall we liked it very much and plan to return and recommend it to others!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Have dined here previously and feel the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Have dined here previously and feel the food is good and fairly priced. They also allow guests to bring their own wine for a nominal corkage fee. This recent visit was a Sunday evening when business was slow and so was the service, inexplicably. Twice I had to locate our server who disappeared for long stretches after making brief appearances. It was puzzling because she didn't seem to have other guests. After our bill was delivered she never returned. I went into the kitchen hoping to find her, but to no avail. We asked another staff person to help and she finally reappeared. When I inquired what had taken so long she stated she "wasn't sure" we were ready. Hmm, wonder how one could be sure, ask perhaps? My guess was, working in a restaurant myself and observing staff there, she was busy texting or on Facebook and basically forgot she had a table. Yes, no one wants a server to hover, but paying discreet attention rather than ignoring, is far more appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very busy and loud when we first arrived ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very busy and loud when we first arrived around 8pm on a Saturday. Definitely glad we had made a reservation when I heard that the hostess tell someone else the wait was 1.5+ hours. Noise level dropped to a more comfortable level after about an hour. Bacon wrapped shrimp appetizer was awesome! I had the pistachio crusted grouper and my wife had the crab cakes, and we were both very happy with our choices. Hard to find a place with crab cakes that are not deep fried. Wine flights were a nice way to try multiple wines and were reasonably priced. Waitress was great - attentive without constantly stopping by to check on us. Looking forward to going back sometime.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food! wonderful service. Horrible ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food! wonderful service.

Horrible noise level

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some old friends to celebrate our an ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Met some old friends to celebrate our anniversaries. Wine, food, service were top-notch. It did get a little loud at times but just goes to show you how much people were enjoying themselves.

Loved the flights of wines, aps, and the lighter fare dinner menu choices. Made for a perfect evening! We will certainly be back and will be checking out other Cooper's Hawk locations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited several times & never disappoint ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Visited several times & never disappointed! Excellent food, excellent service!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with wonderful food. T ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great restaurant with wonderful food. The waitress was new but she was very friendly and answered all of our questions. My husband and I plan to return to Cooper's Hawk some night just to enjoy the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and fantastic food during ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service and fantastic food during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was there with my wife for our 1st anniv ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Was there with my wife for our 1st anniversary. We had cooper's hawk wine at our ceremony and have been coming here since we moved to KC in 2013. Absolutely love the place... we have been wine members for 3 years now, and love the wine. Most people know the wine is great, but the surprisingly high quality food is what keeps us coming back. One of the best places to eat in KC, and that's saying something, especially for a non-local restaurant "chain".

My wife and I will continue to come back, we love it; compliments to Cooper's Hawk and their staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third trip to Cooper's Hawk ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was my third trip to Cooper's Hawk with my friends. We did the wine tasting which is always fun. It does take a little bit to get a spot at the bar for the tasting, and they could do with a few more people working during their peak hours. We did join the wine club which is a good value. They make their money by you coming to dinner. Speaking of dinner, I definitely recommend getting a reservation. We were seated at our reservation time, and our waitress was very attentive. Dinner wasn't the best we have had there. Chicken was sort of dry and there wasn't much sauce. It's still a great place to go for girl's night or date night!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We like this spot but the noise level wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We like this spot but the noise level was very high and not enjoyable.Table settings similar to cafeteria style which made it less than personable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

First time dinning here. Birthday dinner ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time dinning here. Birthday dinner. Service was great. Food was decent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great evening! Food was excellent. Our ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great evening! Food was excellent. Our server was shy but very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great wine tasting, food was upscale the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great wine tasting, food was upscale the real winner was our server Joshua. He was attentive to details and most pleasent. He was new and we hit him with some new questions. Rather than tell us something he wasn't sure of he sought the correct answer. How refreshing to see a man with integrity. In addition I left my wallet and he searched me down. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

On our 4th visit to Cooper's Hawk, we we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

On our 4th visit to Cooper's Hawk, we were a bit disappointed. Normally, I would give this restaurant 4 or 5 stars, and we have loved introducing friends to the restaurant in the past. In this case, the noise level was ridiculous. We were seated between 2 loud groups; one was a very large table of about a dozen women, obviously celebrating a happy occasion. While there is nothing wrong with that, the rest of us could hardly hear ourselves think. Good restaurant hosts should not seat this sort of group in the middle of the general restaurant population. It really ruined the entire experience for the 4 of us, who were just trying to have a conversation.

Also, the first waitress we had was great, but without explanation, we suddenly had a new server, who never introduced herself. While she was a good server, she did not seem very knowledgable about the menu or the restaurant. Since we did not know her name, and because of the noise level, we found it difficult to get her attention, place orders, or hear what she was asking us.

We and our friends all loved the food. As usual, it was presented in the most beautiful manner and was superbly delicious. Unfortunately, the ambiance will push this restaurant down on our list of favorites. After all, we go out not only to enjoy the food, but we want to be able to spend quality time with our friends. Shouting to converse just doesn't do it for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Food was great but service was awful. Re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was great but service was awful. Restaurant was less than half full but out check was placed on the table before the main course was done without offering dessert or being given the time to finish eating. We were rushed out of the restatement with little gratitude for the business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Service was slower than usual; server wa ...

vip
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Service was slower than usual; server was not too attentive or personable. Food was good. Lemon caper chicken with angel hair pasta was excellent; filet was excellent. Skirt steak was not too good. Banofee dessert was superb, as usual. Wine was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

great food. excellent menu. awesome wi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

great food. excellent menu. awesome wine choices. Our area was a little noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I have always had a pleasant time at Coo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I have always had a pleasant time at Cooper's hawk until this time. We had reservations for 7:30. We didn't get sat till 7:50. We didn't get greeted until 8:15/8:20. We didn't see our server besides for drink order and to drop off check. We were celebrating our anniversary and were very disappointed in the service. The manger did apologize without us saying anything to them. Again, usually it is great every time. This time it was not.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Have been here several times and never h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Have been here several times and never had an issue until now. Took forever to get our drinks, appetizer and dinner. They over cooked our steak and offered us salads to make up for it while they recooked them, never received the salads. Then when the bill came they had charged us for them. It didn't help that the poor waiter was the only one serving at least 12 tables that had several people to a table. Not sure what happened but something was amiss that night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.