Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (816) 531-1500 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (129)
Good for a Date (116)
Special Occasion (100)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Romantic (58)
Worth the Drive (52)
Good for Groups (52)
Happy Hour (51)
Fun (45)
Great for Lunch (44)
Casual (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Tasting Menu (39)
Business Meals (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Modern Decor (38)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Cozy (31)
Hot Spot (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Comfort Food (23)
People Watching (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Scenic View (18)
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Healthy (14)
Outstanding Value (10)
Private Room (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Family Style (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Inexcusable hour wait for having a reservation. Food was decent. Our waiter was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, this is my favorite restaurant. I love wine, and they make it there which is always super cool. Always drink a lot when I go, and I quite enjoy trying the samples. We were in for a 745 reservation and got a booth like I requested. Always appreciated. The service was great~ our waitress was very friendly and upbeat. She even had some great wine suggestions. I always love coming here. Will be back~

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We visited to celebrate my husband's birthday. I made a reservation online about 5 days in advance and noted on the reservation request that it was for my husband's birthday. We were seated right away, and I noticed a table card with our name and the word "birthday" on it, which disappeared after we were seated. The food and service was very good, but nothing was ever done with regards to our birthday boy, no special dessert treat, not even a mention of it by our waiter. That was disappointing to me, especially after spending $300 on drinks and dinner for our party. I would probably not go there again for a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We love Coopers Hawk. We became Wine Club Members and have loved this place ever since.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

This is an awesome place to eat and have wine. My wife and I both loved our dishes and know we will go back again the next time we are in the area. The wine flights & pairing are well worth trying. I highly recommend getting a reservation though! It was packed both times we were there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food as always. However we didn't get what we ordered. Somehow the manager heard about it and comped our meal... which made the server upset. He said "since you complained they comped your meal" but we never said anything to anyone other than the server simply asking what sandwich this was... he said "French dip.... but you ordered the grilled cheese" at any rate the manager did a great job handling it!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite places to eat in KC!! Everything on the menu is delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A great place to taste, share, and purchase wine, all before settling down for a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful meal and the service was outstanding. This was only my second time there, but will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love this place, we come at least once a month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Aaaaaaaaaawwwwweeeeeesssssoooommmmmeeeee!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Kitchen backed up a bit and long wait for food, ran out of dessert we ordered... not the usual service we normally enjoy. Waitress was veey pleasant and apologetic. ooo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day lunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother Dsys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My biggest complaint is that the room towards the front with windows is great as long as the tables are left as 4 tops as soon as you start changing them to round tables and adding guest you feel like your sitting with the table next to you. They are actually so close that we had to say excuse me in order to get up from our seats and get out. Way too close and turns an enjoyable meal into a not so comfortable setting. Food is awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food, wine and service were all exceptional. Two managers came through to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. My mother, who had never been to Cooper's Hawk, was very impressed by everything. She/We will definitely be returning many times in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love this restaurant and our server Terrance was awesome. I didnt like that we were next to the kitchen. It was noisy and the expeditor or whoever it was, yelled the whole time. I also dont like the changes to the cheese and wine pairings, it was better before.
That being said, the food was excellent and I love how the wines are reasonably priced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

You can have your wine served to you and decanted at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always great! Have never eaten a bad thing there. Top notch service and yummy food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our second time visiting this location. Food is very good and consistent. Atomsphere is nice and both visits have been pleasant nights out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I liked it allot. The Service and food is always great.
And the wine tasting is always fun.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We visited on a Friday night and the restaurant was busy. We were taken right to our table (with a reservation). The server was excellent and the menu is quite extensive and a very good value. All the food was amazing. The dressings for the salad are home made, the desserts were all very good and everyone in our party was very happy with their entree. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always great experience at CoopersHawk! New menu items which had a great selection and service was top notch both at the wine tasting bar and at dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cooper's Hawk has become one of our favorite restaurants. The food is outstanding and the service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fantastic start with happy hour drinks and appetizers. Service was excellent. Food served in waves which kept things fresh. Fantastic place. Love to put on a business meeting here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This is our 5th Coppers Hawk restaurant we have visited. This one is rather unique in that the meals are served on the 2nd level.
Wine tasting was very nice, with a very well informed wine tender, who enjoyed sharing her knowledge.
Food was very good and well presented.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Beyond serving as a grand tasting room for its in-house vintages, Cooper's Hawk is also an excellent restaurant, with arguably the best and most diverse menu along the cafe-heavy Country Club Plaza. All appetites from vegan to carnivore can find something to choose from. Portions are Midwest-generous, and the salads are best shared. The shaved brussel sprout starter is nice and crispy, but can be a bit overpowered by the vinaigrette dressing. Among seafood selections, the barramundi is particularly savory, a meaty filet in a light tomato broth. Wine selections, needless to say, are immense, with several flights paired to individual entrees. The Cooper's Hawk label can more than stand its own with California wines, especially the G-Lux chardonnay, full-bodied and flavorful. Only the service keeps this from a five-star rating. Attentive at the start, our server all but evaporated by dinner's end.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was fantastic and priced at great value. Service was great and the overall experience was excellent

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took my in-laws for a special meal. Being a Sunday evening, I think it was less crowded that it might be on other days. It was quiet enough to have a nice conversation during the meal. Everyone was pleased with the food they ordered. The staff was friendly, did a good job, but didn't hover. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service was great, however... the salad, appetizer, and steak all came out at the same time. The bread to tide you over came out after the steak. The food was alright, definitely over priced. Also they don't know how to cook a steak, had to send it back twice. The wine is good, the adult beverages are good and service is good. Everything else was bad ha. Come here for drinks and that's it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Second time here. Once you're up the stairs, everything is great. However, I had reservations for both visits and we waited over 20 minutes each time to be seated. I understand that this may happen occasionally, but twice in a row tells me they're not managing their reservations very well. There could be some manipulation going on so you'll spend more time in the wine shop waiting area, but I hope this isn't the case. Over-all good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Horrible Experience. Made reservations for Saturday Night. Showed up early table was not ready till 7:20. Sat down and server was prompt but not very informative about the menu or selections. Ordered one round of drinks and came back to take our order which he did then 25 min go by with no drink refills at all. nearly an hour went by with no update on where the food was at. On top of all of this a manager shows up to tell us they're still waiting and offers to bring drinks to us and brings the wrong drinks. All the while 3 other tables who sat down after us where all being attended to promptly and received drinks and meals before we ever got ours and it was the same server we had. The manager offered no solution or comp of the meals just said sorry and that's it. Its a glorified joke and horrible service I'll never come back to this establishment ever and it ended up ruining our evening as a result..Thanks for wrecking our night Cooper Hawk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I came to Coopers Hawk for my birthday, very disappointed. I am gluten intolerant and wanted the Parmesan crusted chicken and added a salad. I ordered ranch dressing, then was told only dressing I could have was vinegar and oil so cancelled the salad. Then waitress came back and said they were out of gluten free bread crumbs so I could not have that entree. There was nothing else I really wanted for the price of a steak was to much, do not like gf pasta and no a seafood person. I ordered the chicken breast plated like the Parmesan crusted entree. They then brought something complete not what ordered, took back and in the meantime stuck my husbands entree under the heat lamp so his was not the best when they did bring the meals. Finally got my chicken entree which was basically microwaved chicken with garlic seasoned oil over it. Very very disappointed and this was not any better then my last visit. I do not plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food excellent , many choices, excellent service and perfect ambiance... relaxing lunch with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is the standby date night restaurant. Wine tasting to set the tone for the night and a bottle decanted tabelside create a date night we happily repeat as often as we can. The food and people are phenomenal. Thank you very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious as always! Every time I eat there, it is a treat for my mouth.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had an outstanding time. Our designated waiter was attending another table. But a different waiter attended to our needs early on till the other one was available. Which was very helpful. Our waiter was very attentive & helped make our selections on both wine & food. When we mentioned it was our anniversary, also brought us each a glass of champagne & a delectable sweet.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Dinner and wine meet expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had a very nice birthday dinner with a friend. Service was great and so was the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.