About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8165311500x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
Pork Tostada Mini Appetizer
Chorizo And Goat Cheese Flatbread
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Cheese Board
Wine And Cheese Pairing
Mexican Drunken Shrimp
Cup Of Lobster Bisque
Spicy Sea Scallops
Roasted Vegetables And Goat Cheese Flatbread Pizza
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Cooper's Hawk Red Wine
Fish Sandwich
Pretzel Bread
mediterranean chopped salad
Sweet Chili Calamari
Gnocchi With Butternut Squash
Gnocchi
Chicken Al Pastor Stuffed Mushrooms
Bin 61 Sour
Caprese Flatbread
Chicken Saltimbocca
Soy Glazed Salmon
Mustard Pretzel Crusted Pork
Pistachio Crusted Sea Bass W/ Potatoes Lyonnaise
BANANA CARAMEL ICE CREAM SANDWICH
Surf'n'Turf
Anne's Chicken Saltimbocca
Gnocchi Carbonara

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
3 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

notable wine list (149)
special occasion (146)
romantic (103)
See All
good for groups (95)
fit for foodies (91)
great for lunch (57)
hot spot (49)
vibrant bar scene (31)
neighborhood gem (27)
late-night find (22)
scenic view (17)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great location, service and food - howev ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great location, service and food - however, a bit chilly. Reasonable value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was very good--I will say the s ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good--I will say the server was quick to take our order but never made it back to our table to refill drinks until after we told the girl who brought our food--which was quite a while. Otherwise, all was good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dinner was great and the server was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The dinner was great and the server was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Father's Day, we are wine ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for Father's Day, we are wine club members, they have great food, great service and good wine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

The service was slow - receiving water, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was slow - receiving water, drinks took at least 15 minutes. The menu is large and a bit too heavy for me. I have had better service when at the bar or at the high top tables.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Cooper's Haw ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Cooper's Hawk. It was fantastic. Our waiter was great, the manager stopped by our table to welcome us, and the food was over the top good. This would be a great place for a intimate dinner for two or a fun place for a group of friends around the wine tasting bar. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great as always. So is the win ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great as always. So is the wine. I come her frequently as I'm a wine member. I like how they always change the menu so their are new items each time. Can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant was quite busy at 6PM on ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant was quite busy at 6PM on a Saturday night. I appreciate that they take reservations, so we had no trouble. I ordered soup and an appetizer. The appetizer was a smaller portion than I was expecting, but it was good. I thought both the soup (corn chowder) and appetizer (shrimp wrapped in bacon) were a bit on the salty side for my taste. Overall we really enjoyed. Our server did a fine job, but did not go out of her way to make suggestions or anything, which I enjoy. I would probably go again - mainly for the wine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our FAV in KC ❤️❤️❤️ we LOVE the wine, f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our FAV in KC ❤️❤️❤️ we LOVE the wine, food is always amazing, & our waiter ROMATT IS THE BEST!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

Went in to celebrate my wife's birthday ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Went in to celebrate my wife's birthday and was rushed throughout the meal. Very disappointing experience, after letting them know in advance and with the hostess not even an acknowledgement.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the opportunity to tas ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We really enjoyed the opportunity to taste various wines before dinner. We'll definitely come back!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place. I was given a wine c ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I love this place. I was given a wine club membership as a gift and can't wait each month to head in. We always take friends and we all enjoy it thoroughly. I can't be more positive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good and the service was fa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was good and the service was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for better!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Sad to say our service was slow and ine ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Sad to say our service was slow and ineffective. One would think it was the waitresses first night. Not the service we are used to . The pretzel bread came out burned and when sent back, the waitress returned with a like item. The rest of our meal was hot and cooked correctly.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

great vegetarian options for foodies and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

great vegetarian options for foodies and great place to enjoy quality wines

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The service staff was friendly and promp ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The service staff was friendly and prompt. The food was very tasty; a little heavy on the salt. Wanted dessert but they were sold out of the key lime pie; maybe next time :)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service. The steak wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful food and service. The steak was cooked perfectly, side salad was large, and the pretzel bread was amazing. My hubby loved the lobster-crab bisque and the salted creme brulee was definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS a pleasurable dinner. Megan or se ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

ALWAYS a pleasurable dinner. Megan or server is superb. Britney the assistant manager is fantastic. Al the manager is awesome. Matt another server is great too. Thank you for making our 4 special celebrations that evening a fantastic time

food2
ambience3
service2

They need to stick to the winery part. T ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

They need to stick to the winery part. The restaurant side of the business needs fine tuning.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Late Saturday Night Celebration

Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to Cooper's Hawk to celebrate a job promotion and decided to do a later dinner hoping to avoid the crowds, but I didn't realize that Saturday night is such a big night there. There were several bachelorette parties (it is June) and the ladies were having a great time which meant some significant noise.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

The bruschetta was AMAZING! Great servic ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The bruschetta was AMAZING! Great service, great food and great wine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Love the Wine tasting!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

If you like wine and delicious food this is definitely the place for you! We came an hour before our dinner reservation to enjoy their "monthly tasting" which consisted of a great variety of 6 different wines! We had no wait and our pourer was very knowledgeable and passionate about the wines, which made our experience fun and educational. We enjoyed it so much that we signed up for their wine club! Which is a fantastic deal by the way! We had dinner later upstairs and had the most delectable filet medallions that literally melted in our mouths like chocolate truffles! Our waiter was absolutely fantastic and even helped us find a charge for our phone!! He literally bent over backwards to help us with everything! Overall a spectacular fun evening with lots of good food, great wine & lots of laughter!!🍷❤️🍷

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date night Dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

It was my husband and I's first time at Cooper's Hawk- Kansas City. We went for my birthday, we started at the wine tasting (Fernando was an awesome host) and sampled the June selection- signed up for the Wine Club- then went upstairs for dinner. The appetizer came with the meal, our waitress apologized, however it was probably a good thing. We ordered the Calamari- Oh My goodness, we would have ate all that and never would have had room for our entrees. I've never had calamari taste so good. I had the Grouper- yum, my husband had the medallions and Drunkin' Shrimp. Definitely going back again for another date night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always wonderful

Dined on June 1, 2016

We enjoy Cooper's Hawk so much that we now have two wine memberships. I love introducing friends to this restaurant as any meal selection is wonderful, the staff is helpful and knowledgeable, and the wine and wine flight options are always great. We like trying a new wine and an old favorite. I highly suggest a visit. It would be wise to have a reservation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at CH, and we are never ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We are regulars at CH, and we are never disappointed in the service, food or wine. You can never go wrong with CH. Nita Olathe, KS

food5
ambience4
service4

You can't go wrong with anything on the ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

You can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Deservers another visit...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Restaurant was very hot. Had to move from one table that was next to kitchen down to main dinning area...Service was not good at all, constantly looked for waiter to order drinks and water service. Food overall was very good. Will go back with fingers crossed!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food with reasonable prices.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Too loud. Need to put bachelorette parties in an area by themselves. Trying to have enjoyable night but couldn't. Was seated by the kitchen area and it was hot!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Cooper's hawk review

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were placed in a room that was freezing cold. The waiter was mediocre. We sat by a table of women who screamed when they laughed. All these factors combined to make a bad dining experience. The only upside was the food was good. I've been here before and my experience was much better than this time. Not sure if we will return.

food4
ambience3
service4

Enjoyable but loud. Wines are priced wel ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Enjoyable but loud. Wines are priced well compared to the competition and very decent. We ate the beef medallions. Very tasty. Ordered them medium but came out well done. Wine tasting room was very busy which did cause some slight delays with the wine service. Overall worth the price of admission.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Dont go here

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This place was way to loud, the food was poor quality, the food we got was not what we ordered and was overpriced. For two burgers and two glasses of wine we spent over $80. Ridiculous!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, incredible venue and even be ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food, incredible venue and even better drinks. Great overall experience. Will definitely return soon.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Coopers hawk several time ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have been to Coopers hawk several times and it has been consistently great. Good food and drinks, and reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The hummus Bruschetta was delicious, the ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The hummus Bruschetta was delicious, the fruit was very fresh, and the turkey burger was great! Overall, we would eat here again whenever we come back to town!

food4
ambience5
service4

The wine tasting prior to dinner was gre ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The wine tasting prior to dinner was great fun, very reasonably priced and a good variety if samplings. Dinner was great, service outstanding

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We dined with friends. Everything we had from appetizers to desserts was delicious. I decided to partake of a custom wine flight. My friend went with a lux red flight. I love the pour size that is given for the flights. My only complaint is that it can be very loud in the restaurant. Open stairwell and too many hard surfaces make the sound just reverbate.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

WE belong to the wine club so we do a ta ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

WE belong to the wine club so we do a tasting and then go to dinner. They have NEVER had enough help at the wine bar on the weekend. The problem needs to be fixed as you must wait and wait to get a spot then most of the time the person who is pouring the wines does not have time to help you or explain the wines and if they do they are always rushed and this time was no different then any other time. Usually really like our waiter but this time he seemed a little rushed and poured our entire bottle of wine in the decanter. We did not want to drink the whole bottle but it was too late so the waiter should always ask

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

They are very easy to get into for lunch ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

They are very easy to get into for lunch and the food is always quite good. I look forward to a dinner or weekend lunch soon so I can try some wine.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Bad timing on the meal service.....

Dined on May 18, 2016

I was excited to take my colleagues , however the evening did not end up all that well.. We ordered our meals that included appetizers. We were served our apps, but before we could finish they brought out our main course. This was way too soon so we asked to take them back. Which they gladly did, however our guess is that they put under a heat lamp. When the meals were served again our dishes were cold and the meat ordered was overcooked - MED instead of MEDRARE. We then commented and they took back the meals and we waited now for them to be cooked again. When served the second time I can say the meal was cooked to our specification. I will say that this did NOT leave a good impression of this restaurant that I talked up to my colleagues before going - they said they will most likely not go back. The restaurant did comp the main portion of the meals which was appreciated but not necessary and did not help to fix the issue with timing. Good Luck CHAWK and be sure to train your servers on meal timings - its important!!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

Yummy dishes, great hostess, lovely ambi ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Yummy dishes, great hostess, lovely ambiance. The waiting service was mediocre that particular day, but I've never experienced bad service there.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.