About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (816) 531-1500 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (141)
Notable Wine List (135)
Special Occasion (129)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Romantic (76)
Fun (70)
Worth the Drive (63)
Casual (63)
Happy Hour (58)
Good for Groups (57)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Modern Decor (54)
Great for Lunch (51)
Tasting Menu (50)
Business Meals (45)
Hot Spot (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Cozy (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Seasonal (28)
Scenic View (26)
Outstanding Value (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
People Watching (20)
Healthy (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Authentic (12)
Family Style (11)
Private Room (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fireplace (4)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was great, but it was cold. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Everything was great, but it was cold. The server helped with this, and it got better. But before we left, it was cold again. The server acknowledged several of her tables had mentioned the temperature. So while the food was good, it made for a bit of an uncomfortable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We recently went Saturday night for a 9p ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

We recently went Saturday night for a 9p.m. Reservation. We got there at 6 to do some wine tasting and to have dinner but unfortunately at 9:15 were told the kitchen is closed to due flooding. I would still return here & would highly recommend it but hopefully next time we can wine & dine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were sorely disappointed, but maybe w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We were sorely disappointed, but maybe we were not the clientele CH is seeking. We went for dinner. The entrance was overcrowded and noisy and pushy. We were seated promptly upstairs, though. Still, the noise level was high. The light was too dim (only half the tables had working lights) for portions of menus printed on a brown background. The service was, at times, very slow (e.g., a drink order) without any apologies. My calamari was heavily battered; I could not tell if it contained calamari. My ahi tuna was tasty, but the serving was small; the dish was mainly coleslaw and rice. The lobster bisque had too much flour it, making it unsuitable for gluten-free customers. The salmon was good, burn unevenly cooked. We did not stay for dessert. We went to JJ's. We won't ever eat there again, but maybe CH appeals to the sort of people it appeals to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a great time but we're disappoint ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great time but we're disappointed that even though the host made a point to say it was my birthday and left a note for the server,we were not offered anything for my birthday. That was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and great service. Our server ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and great service. Our server, Jackson, gave us great recommendations as this was our first visit. The trio of medallions and pistachio crusted grouper were wonderful and the blue cheese dressing on the wedge salad was unique and fresh.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The food is phenomenal and their wine selection is unbeatable. I have enjoyed most pasta and beef entrees. Our service has always been excellent. Their tasting area is always fun and filled with interesting people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite place to have a rom ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

This is our favorite place to have a romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great surprise! We went here ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a great surprise! We went here the day after valentines to miss the rush. The food was amazing and the wine flights were it die for. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, this place never ceases to a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again, this place never ceases to amaze me! I absolutely LOVE the food and the atmosphere is so wonderful! We go here as an annual Valentine's Day meal and everything we ate was scrumptious. What topped off the night was the wait staff. We had told him we were celebrating and he brought us champagne and a chocolate dessert to share! That is a quality waiter! I know it doesn't happen every time (and I'm not expecting it every time), but it's nice to be treated special every once and while! Once again, thank you Cooper's Hawk for an amazing experience! We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and good service.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food and good service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we were very satisfied. We were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall we were very satisfied. We were most happy that they were very considerate enough to comp our appetizer when they messed it up. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place! Very helpful and knowledg ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome place! Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. We will be back again soon.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Chicken Madeira with the bruss ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

I had the Chicken Madeira with the brussel-sprouts salad, and both were excellent. My husband had the steak medallions and he said they were excellent. We shared the ooey-gooey butter cake and it was also excellent. Our waiter was very attentive and made some recommendations that turned out great!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great wine tasting before lunch, held ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great wine tasting before lunch, held our table without question because we spent more time at tasting than planned, great service, friendly and awesome dishes!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and service. Highly re ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent dinner and service. Highly recommend their Valentine's Surf and Turf which paired nicely with the February Wine of the Month!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always. I've been here thre ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious as always. I've been here three times with my wife and we both love it! Thanks so much for a great experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there Sunday with most of my family ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was there Sunday with most of my family and it was great. Server was very nice. We were seated under an ac blower and they even remedied that problem. We make that our go to place when we are in KCMO. Our two oldest grandchildren (13yrs) think of it as our special restaurant that only the 4 of us can go, which we did a couple of times, very sweet. We'd love to see a Coopers Hawk built in Omaha!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was AMAZING food and great environmen ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was AMAZING food and great environment. But, it was freeeeezing cold where we sat upstairs. I believe the table # was 25. And it was on a night where it was warmer outside than it was inside. Ridiculous. But otherwise, a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We waited an hour & our food was still n ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We waited an hour & our food was still not ready. The waiter never even checked in with us... finally my husband was able to get his attention. He said they were just waiting on crab cakes. My husband requested he just bring our bill for the soup & drinks we had ordered & received. A manager came by & offered to pay for the soup & drinks. We said no, we would be more than happy to pay for what we received but we no longer wanted to wait for our entrees.... manager said he would be back with a coupon for a complimentary dinner on them. We waited several more minutes & the waiter arrived with our check but no complimentary meal coupon. We paid cash & waiter said he would be back with change. My husband went to restroom, came back & still no manager with complimentary coupon & no waiter with our change. We didn't need change, so we just left. Very disappointed as this is one of our favorite places to go on date night. It looks like we will find a new place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

One of My Favorite Restaurants in Kansas ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of My Favorite Restaurants in Kansas City. Love the Wine list, Wine tasting, Wine Club. Food is reasonably priced, and the atmosphere is fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

They were not prepared for the Valentine ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

They were not prepared for the Valentines rush is what I think because I heard this place was supposed to be good. Our dinner came 1 hr after we ordered it. My steak medallion was ordered to be medium rare and was medium well. My husband ordered wasabi potatoes and received regular potatoes. On a Valentines special dinner menu they listed some wines that said $18.99. We ordered a bottle from the $18.99 list then we were never told that it was a special of several different glasses of wine to try. Ended up paying $30.00 for a mediocre bottle of wine. Then we were in a hurry and wanted to get a dessert and ask if we got some dessert could they rush it. He said no that just wasn't possible. We will not be going back and would never recommend. Also no offer of a discount. Very disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was great and all the staff ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was great and all the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Atmosphere was wonderful. My only complaint was it was over priced for the quality of food.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food was good! The server was knowledgea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good! The server was knowledgeable enough about wine. Everything was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine tasting is first come, first se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The wine tasting is first come, first serve or squeeze in. Wish it was a bit more organized for getting up to the bar. You have to wait till some leaves and swoop in. Other than that, we really enjoyed it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joe is the bomb!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Joe is the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit. Fun good food. Just ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time visit. Fun good food. Just a little bit warm but all good

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is good and priced well. I had surf ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food is good and priced well. I had surf and turf the second time I was here and the steak was awesome, the rest of the food isn't bad but every part of the meal I wouldn't describe as excellent, only as expected/above average. The restaurant is very open and being there around dinner time on a Friday, there was a lot of noise coming up from the wine tasting area which I think took away from the ambiance. We were seated right at the edge of the upstairs room (overlooking the wine tasting area) so I'm sure that contributed to the loudness-in future, I'd ask to be seated further into the room to hopefully cut down on noise. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised! Food was Amazing! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pleasantly surprised! Food was Amazing! Martini was tasty but they forgot my blue cheese stuffed olives. A little bit noisy but totally worth it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good meal at Cooper's Hawk. Gr ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always a good meal at Cooper's Hawk. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved this place, even joined the win ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We loved this place, even joined the wine club. The wait staff was awesome very patient with our group. Food was some of the best we have had on the Plaza in this price range which was very reasonable. Do not miss the calamari it is one of the best appetizers in Kansas city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale, West Coast atmosphere (even tho ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Upscale, West Coast atmosphere (even though the chain is Chicago based). Younger laid-back clientele. Very accommodating staff and service. Check out the wine club- definitely worthwhile for frequent patrons. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The only issue was the cold air blowing ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The only issue was the cold air blowing down our necks. People had their coats on while dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud restaurant but great food! Excellen ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loud restaurant but great food! Excellent service. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm from Chicago and this location in th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'm from Chicago and this location in the plaza is way better than the two back home.

How could you not like this place? Really? This location is smack dab in the middle of the Plaza and it's very easy to find (it's on top of West Elm). How could you beat $1 truffles with a wine tasting (plus... the servers at the tasting table know their wine to a T)?

If you sit at the bar and Josh is your bartender, then you're going to have a good night. Josh goes above and beyond to make sure your dining experience was above expectations.

Tags: Casual, , Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu has such a wonderful selection. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The menu has such a wonderful selection. Anyone can find something. Then they have a wine pairing for each item. Super fun atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

First time trying this restaurant and I ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time trying this restaurant and I loved it. The menu is so varied - tough choices to make. We had the hummus appetizer - very tasty. I went light with the chicken Caesar pesto salad. It was really good - light pesto gave it a nice touch. Will definitely be back - lots of entrees to try!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I could eat their Butternut Squash Gnocc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I could eat their Butternut Squash Gnocchi every day for every meal. It's divine. I love the atmosphere. It's very relaxed and romantic at the same time.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my friend here for her birthday and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Took my friend here for her birthday and it was amazing! She had never been before and the food turned out great.

Tags: Cozy, , Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fairly good, but the servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was fairly good, but the service was poor. The value just wasn't there for it. There are many better options on the Plaza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We have always enjoyed Cooper's Hawk--fr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have always enjoyed Cooper's Hawk--from the wines/wine tastings to happy hour to dinners we've had there. The food has always been delicious and service good. It can be a little noisy at times, depending upon the time of day/day of the week and where you're seated, but we love going there!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.