About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8165311500x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
3 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Contemporary American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

notable wine list (210)
special occasion (191)
romantic (144)
See All
good for groups (135)
fit for foodies (127)
great for lunch (80)
hot spot (76)
vibrant bar scene (63)
neighborhood gem (40)
late-night find (37)
scenic view (33)
great for brunch (18)
kid-friendly (13)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4

The wine tasting prior to dinner was gre ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The wine tasting prior to dinner was great fun, very reasonably priced and a good variety if samplings. Dinner was great, service outstanding

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

WE belong to the wine club so we do a ta ...

Dined 3 days ago

WE belong to the wine club so we do a tasting and then go to dinner. They have NEVER had enough help at the wine bar on the weekend. The problem needs to be fixed as you must wait and wait to get a spot then most of the time the person who is pouring the wines does not have time to help you or explain the wines and if they do they are always rushed and this time was no different then any other time. Usually really like our waiter but this time he seemed a little rushed and poured our entire bottle of wine in the decanter. We did not want to drink the whole bottle but it was too late so the waiter should always ask

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

They are very easy to get into for lunch ...

Dined 4 days ago

They are very easy to get into for lunch and the food is always quite good. I look forward to a dinner or weekend lunch soon so I can try some wine.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Bad timing on the meal service.....

Dined 6 days ago

I was excited to take my colleagues , however the evening did not end up all that well.. We ordered our meals that included appetizers. We were served our apps, but before we could finish they brought out our main course. This was way too soon so we asked to take them back. Which they gladly did, however our guess is that they put under a heat lamp. When the meals were served again our dishes were cold and the meat ordered was overcooked - MED instead of MEDRARE. We then commented and they took back the meals and we waited now for them to be cooked again. When served the second time I can say the meal was cooked to our specification. I will say that this did NOT leave a good impression of this restaurant that I talked up to my colleagues before going - they said they will most likely not go back. The restaurant did comp the main portion of the meals which was appreciated but not necessary and did not help to fix the issue with timing. Good Luck CHAWK and be sure to train your servers on meal timings - its important!!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

Yummy dishes, great hostess, lovely ambi ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Yummy dishes, great hostess, lovely ambiance. The waiting service was mediocre that particular day, but I've never experienced bad service there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our 33rd ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 33rd anniversary. We could not have been more happy with the total experience from the hostess to the waitress to the excellent service. The food was wonderful and we have already told our family and friends. We will definitely be back

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing, ambience was great. Se ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing, ambience was great. Service was good; our waiter wasn't very personable or talkative, but was friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We ordered the Hummus trio which was exc ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We ordered the Hummus trio which was excellent, soup, drunken shrimp and prime rib sandwich. All of the food was prepared well and served quickly. Our waiter Matt, was great! He checked in us but wasn't buggy! It was an enjoyable dinner and we will certainly go back.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was burnt. Re-cook took 30 minutes.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server had way too many tables, so she was running around all over the place. My food came out burnt and they offered to re-cook it, so I said yes. It took about half an hour for the re-cook to come out at which point we were ready to leave. They boxed up my food and gave it to me free, but I really wish I would've had a better experience with it being my first time and all. Darn.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Crab and lobster bisque was delicious, a ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Crab and lobster bisque was delicious, and the server was very gracious and friendly letting me try several wines before making a final decision. Overall a very nice experience. Only complaint - Appetizers seemed a little pricey on happy hour menu, so I opted for a less expensive and filling bowl of soup for a light meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delish Treat for Mom

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my Mom here for Mother's Day. While the menu is on the pricey side, it is so worth it. My filet medallions melted in my mouth. Mom got the grouper special and raved about that as well. We were seated immediately and had a very friendly and efficient server. Just a very pleasant early dinner. I will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife here for Mother's Day. We h ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife here for Mother's Day. We had an awesome experience. Everything we ordered was excellent. Service was good and everything was amazing. We dine out frequently and will definitely be returning to Cooper's Hawk in the near future.

food4
ambience5
service5

My mom was welcomed with a glass of spar ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My mom was welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine - which put a smile on her face. Thank you for making a special effort to recognize moms today!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Tasting PLUS Dinner!

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a go to location for my husband and me. The menu is friendly when eating healthy. Have never had an entree or appetizer that we did not like. Join the wine club if you ever plan on returning! It's worth the spend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice date night

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food and wine. I had the prime rib sandwich, my wife had the butternut squash gnocchi. It was all delicious. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

noisy but good!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Good food and wine selection! Love the restaurant but it is a bit noisy and wine tasting always has a wait. Fun staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food!! Can't wait to go back!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing food!! Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic venue / food for a business lu ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Fantastic venue / food for a business lunch

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

Went here with a few friends on a Saturday night, and had a great time. The wine list was extensive, the food was delicious, and the service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Great food & Fun atmosphere

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to Cooper's Hawk twice now. Both times we were with friends and both times the food was great and the atmosphere was buzzing. Lots and lots of people sampling the wines and staying for dinner. It is definitely a hot spot. The only knock on it is that the wait staff sometimes has a hard time keeping up with the large crowds. The first time we were there we waited about 30 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. No big deal, we enjoyed hanging at the bar and watching all of the people. The second time we were seated right away, but our server was a bit overwhelmed. Three times was the charm to get water, but who needs water when you have wine, right? They had run out of the entree I ordered, but it was easy to choose something else. There are lots of tasty things on the menu. Also know that it is loud, but loud means people are having a good time. Overall we enjoy this restaurant and will go back again.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Wine Flights and amazing food

Dined on April 24, 2016

The wine flights were a fun touch and the food was amazing I had the Asian salmon. The only con I have would be they really pack the tables in and our group of 6 found it to be pretty loud around 7-8pm. We did however make a reservation and were able to get in within 10 minutes of showing up.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Very Open Layout

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is a very loud restaurant. Not good for romantic evenings or business dinners. We sat in a booth and it was still hard to hear. They host big groups in this 2 story restaurant and the noise level carries throughout. The food was ok, but not worth the price. The wine - which is their own, was interesting and displayed nicely. Wine tasting is set-up very near the check-in stand which makes it hard to navigate on a Friday or Saturday night.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coopers Hawk

Dined on April 23, 2016

We are wine club members and come regularly, food is consistently great (pork belly tostadas, you will thank me!) This night Sarah served for our wine tasting and she is very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food

Dined on April 17, 2016

First time dining at this place. The food was incredible. Great experience overall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Just a couple of drinks

Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful venue, good cocktails, great wine, but the food is just okay. They really are only good for drinks and maybe an appetizer or two. Be cautious, the prices add up fast and before I knew it we were at $200 bucks! Perfect for ladies night and birthdays.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Had to send beef back...too well done. I ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Had to send beef back...too well done. It came back overdone again.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is consistent across all locations. ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food is consistent across all locations. Have been to KC, St. Louis & Chicago locations. Absolutely fantastic each & every time. Excellent service & wine selections are abundant. Will be back for Mother's Day!!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Mixed feelings

Dined on April 13, 2016

I enjoyed the food and the service was great. The noise level was a little high and the area of the restaurant we sat in seemed rather plain compared with other parts of the restaurant. I definitely give it another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Coopers Hawk

Dined on April 10, 2016

Best food I've had in a while and the Flight was outstanding!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Great food. Server was inexperienced. ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food. Server was inexperienced. She did all she knew how to do. Nice evening.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good! Well rounded cuisine; Superb Wine!

Dined on April 5, 2016

I have eaten here a few times now and the menu is diverse and well rounded but very good. Medallions are to die for and Ahi is delish. Was not so impressed with Pasta. Wine is well presented and there is something for every pallet. I am a member of the wine club and can't wait for a new month to roll around!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good.

Dined on April 4, 2016

The food is interesting and delicious. Perhaps one of their best features is their wine from their own wineries. We've tried several. They have a wine that is featured each month and they never disappoint. When we want good food and wine, when it's a family event, when it's a company event, this is where we go.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed this time

Dined on April 2, 2016

We have eaten at Cooper's Hawk before and had a wonderful experience each time, however this time wasn't as good. Our waitress was friendly and helpful, however service was slower than expected (it was a Saturday and they were busy, but it took an exceptionally long time to get food and drinks that were ordered) and 3 of the 4 meals were significantly overdone. So much so that when the waitress asked how things were I pointed it out (which I rarely do). They did compensate a portion of the bill, which was nice, but I would rather have had everyone enjoy their food. I hate to give an undesirable review, but I'm hoping that this was just a fluke and the next time we eat here it will be back up to par.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on April 2, 2016

Love this place, the wine is Devine and the food is fabulous

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food was very good. Noise le ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Service and food was very good. Noise level was not to my liking. We ate early on a Friday and the place was packed with wine tasters. Tenderloin medallions with drunken shrimp was excellent.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Bland

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was just underwhelming. The service and wine were excellent.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice evening

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Nice evening for my wife and her girlfriends to celebrate.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Should be nicer than it is.

Dined on March 31, 2016

In theory this seems like it would be a great place, but for me it just doesn't live up to the expectation. When you enter, there are multiple stations each selling wine or trinkets, and you can't even see the host station. That makes it pretty clear that their top priority is selling wine and merchandise, and dining is secondary. And their food backs up that opinion. Kind of an odd menu, and some of the execution is lacking. For instance, I had the Crusty Parm Chicken Guardiane (?). The vegetables were in a spicy sauce, were not just crisp, they were underdone, and the entire plate was swimming in the brothy sauce, not exactly what you want crusty chicken to sit in. After only a few bites, it was soggy and the crust separated from the chicken breast. Not badly cooked but the combination and presentation were disappointing. One good point: We all did really enjoy the bisque. Overall, a disappointment if you're not there to purchase quantities of wine.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A KC Favorite

Dined on March 30, 2016

Always great food, nice atmosphere, very helpful staff, and wonderful wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good as always !!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Not as overpriced as some "Plaza" restaurants... noticed this time, it seems they have a lot of breaded items -- wines are ok -- only a couple really stand out, but overall, nice place to go -- we have returned many times.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.