Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (816) 531-1500 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (111)
Notable Wine List (105)
Special Occasion (89)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Romantic (63)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Good for Groups (56)
Fun (52)
Happy Hour (44)
Worth the Drive (42)
Casual (42)
Tasting Menu (41)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Bar Seating (21)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (19)
Comfort Food (16)
People Watching (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Authentic (11)
Scenic View (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tapas (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Sort By:
S
1898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Not our first trip to Cooper's Hawk, but it may be our last. Started in the tasting room, and the tasting was so disjointed with too many people attempting to serve us, losing track of where we were on the tasting plan, and with a group near us that was so loud and rude, we couldn't hear what was being said by the servers.

Dinner was fine, although the food was good, we have found better value for steak/seafood at other high end spots in town. (The pretzel bread was divine, though!)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Once again, we inexperienced great service and spectacular food with a wonderful bottle of wine. Wonderful date night with my wife. It was noisier than normal, but still a great dinning experience!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

it was great. everyone was happy with their food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Everyone was really pleasant and we're very attentive. The menu has a wideep variety of items and price ranges. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The wine tasting before dinner was great and dinner was fabulous. You have to try the brussel sprouts for your appitizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The experience we had was great. Our server was attentive & friendly. The food was fantastic. Overall it was a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing food and service - my wife's birthday and she was so pleased!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great service, flavorful food and wonderful wine choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

My wife's dinner was ice box cold! Portions should be more for the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fabulous wines. Fabulous appetizers. Fabulous service. Fabulous ambience. What more could we want for a special dinner for two? We will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

the overall experience was great as always. we were however not totally impressed with the server. he was training someone else which is concerning...but he seemed rushed and agitated that we were apparently taking too long or taking up too much of his time. this has never happened to me before at this establishment and it was not appreciated. but I will return. I love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great experience! Did the wine tasting first then dinner. Terrence was our server and he was excellent and made our Anniversary celebration extra special and fun! My only disappointment was that we requested a window seat but was told by the hostess that the window seats for only for big parties. Still great service and great food! We will be there again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent all the way around. Everything was good. Waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu from the food to wine.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great place to eat with a diverse menu that covers a wide palate! They have an awesome appetizers selection too and a excellent happy hour menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We love the food here, always delicious. We enjoy the wine as well, the wine tasting is always fun to do. Unfortunately we were seated this time at a corner table in the small room that overlooks Broadway. There were a couple of tables on either side of us that were extremely noisy. Seemed like they were trying to out shout each other. So many hard surfaces in that room and it was almost unbearable. We will specify next time that we don't want a table in that room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Anniversary celebration-Taylor our server was fabulous! Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food, great service, and great wine!
Our server was accommodating, and thorough

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Food was definitely above average and reasonable for the quality. We tried several of the wines offered and found the quality of the wine to be quite good. I would have rated our experience 5 stars if the service hadn't been sub par. We were seated for over 10 minutes before our waiter even acknowledged we were there, even though he passed by our booth several times. The service didn't improve much beyond that. We will definitely go back for the food and hope that the service improves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

It was an enjoyable evening. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Celebration of my wife's 50th birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Yum

From A to Z.
Not a bad choice.
Love the coopers white.

A bit noisy but that is a sign of happiness.
All great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Love the food and the wine! We come here with our friends at least once a month and enjoy it every time.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We brought friends with us for dinner that had never been to Cooper's Hawk to have dinner and do the wine tasting.
Dinner was fabulous, our server was wonderful, the food delicious as always!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Slllloooowwww service. Food was cold (again). Cancelling my membership and moving on. They had such a good thing going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

A very knowledgeable, nice lady took very good care of us tasting wine. Our waiter was excellent. The pork chop & salmon dinners were delicious. This was totally worth the drive, 53 miles. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food came too close to Apps and the sides didn't taste the same across the board. The wine tastings are fun as well as flights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our Son & daughter in law took us to Cooper's Hawk and fell in love and joined to be members:) We have taken our neighbors as well and they joined to be members!
This is such a fun night out for my husband and I.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

A very enjoyable luncheon with friends.Our servor was helpful,polite,low key-just perfect!We did not feel rushed at all.The peach mimosas added just the right extra fun.Loved it,cathie Simons

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food is very good for the price and the wine selection is amazing. I’m a wine club member and my husband and I look forward to our outing once a month to Coopers Hawk. In my opinion Kansas City, needs more than just one Coopers Hawk.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

great food great experience! Tristan was a spectacular server and made the dinner great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My family went to celebrate a birthday. Initially the waiter was attentive providing waters but once we decided to order a bottle of wine we had to wait a very long time for him to come back. We ordered 2 of the same salad but they were delivered without the chicken on them. They were taken back & returned with chicken tossed on top. We looked at the salads again & they were missing several of the ingredients listed on the menu. The mgr came over & comped the salads & took them away again. The salads came back for the 3rd time & were still missing ingredients. At that point we gave up. Then the bill came...& it was wrong. We again talked to a mgr who tried to make it right by cutting the bill further which was appreciated but too many things went wrong. Maybe it was just a bad day for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food and service has drastically declined at Cooper's Hawk since our initial visit. The server never brought us any bread and the staff tried to deliver food to our table that belonged to another table. The food mixup has occurred that last several times we have dined at Cooper's Hawk. Several members of the party ordered steak and none of the orders were cooked correctly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The roasted vegetable enchilada was excellent as was the Coopers Hawk chocolate cake. And try the Asian pork belly tostadas for an appetizer. They were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I took my boyfriend for our one year anniversary and he was very impressed. The wine tasting beforehand was great and the food was amazing. It was well worth the trip from Bentonville, Arkansas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was my first time at Cooper's Hawk and I thought it was great. The only thing I would suggest is that they put someone up front to direct people on how to sample wine. It's not clear at all and it took us several minutes to figure out where to go to start.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food and wine was amazing, and our server was one of the best I've ever had! This was our first time here but will definitely not be our last.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Absolutely Fantastic food and serivice. Cooper's Hawk is half wine bar, half restaurant. I dont drink but the food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is my new favorite go to spot. I haven't made it past the appetizers yet, so many I want to try. The Drunken Mexican shrimp is outstanding and a loaf of bread to take advantage of the wonderful sauce is a must! The Brussels sprouts are awesome, all in all everything we have tried has been something I would order again.
However the "made daily" candies were a disappointment, nothing I would do again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server was very good at explaining dishes and drink recommendations. She was also very friendly.

The appetizers are very creative and extremely good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Awesome food, amazing wine and perfect to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.