About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4686 Broadway Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway and 47th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-1500

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room offers a unique setting for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (816) 531-1500 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pork Tostada Mini Appetizer - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chorizo And Goat Cheese Flatbread - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chocolate Covered Strawberry - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cheese Board - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Wine And Cheese Pairing - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Mexican Drunken Shrimp - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cup Of Lobster Bisque - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Spicy Sea Scallops - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Roasted Vegetables And Goat Cheese Flatbread Pizza - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Ahi Tuna Tacos - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cooper's Hawk Red Wine - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Fish Sandwich - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Pretzel Bread - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
mediterranean chopped salad - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Sweet Chili Calamari - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Gnocchi With Butternut Squash - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Gnocchi - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chicken Al Pastor Stuffed Mushrooms - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Bin 61 Sour - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Caprese Flatbread - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chicken Saltimbocca - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Soy Glazed Salmon - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Mustard Pretzel Crusted Pork  - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Pistachio Crusted Sea Bass W/ Potatoes Lyonnaise - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
BANANA CARAMEL ICE CREAM SANDWICH - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Surf'n'Turf - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Gnocchi Carbonara - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Anne's Chicken Saltimbocca - Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (113)
Good for a Date (111)
Special Occasion (105)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Romantic (64)
Fun (63)
Happy Hour (56)
Good for Groups (56)
Casual (52)
Worth the Drive (51)
Modern Decor (46)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Business Meals (38)
Tasting Menu (38)
Great for Lunch (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Hot Spot (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Cozy (27)
Seasonal (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
People Watching (21)
Healthy (20)
Scenic View (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Family Style (11)
Authentic (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Private Room (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fireplace (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Spicy (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server, Dereck, was outstanding! H ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Our server, Dereck, was outstanding! His service complemented the tasty and super delicious dinner. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply delicious food and great drinks. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Simply delicious food and great drinks. Love the decor and menu choices!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Celebrating my promotion!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrating my promotion!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very tasty and well seasoned - ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very tasty and well seasoned - chocolate cake was divine

Had a very friendly and courteous waiter

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was Amazing we will definitely ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was Amazing we will definitely go back very soon!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love coming here to eat. Initially whe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I love coming here to eat. Initially when entering the venue I wasn't greater and looked lost. I did however expect for someone to help me. After I traveled upstairs and they directed me back down someone informed me that I needed to check in at the table first. Once we were seated it was nothing but great service!!! Our waitress was very attentive. They ran out of one of the desserts and the waitress did everything she could to try to see if there was another dessert I wanted (unfortunately I don't like sweets to much and hate chocolate) I informed her that it was ok and she told me I would be charged for it anyways because it was restaurant week. She did however bring me some fruit to try to make up for it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Coopers Hawk for lunch during ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Coopers Hawk for lunch during Restaraunt Week. The food was great, however we didn't see a server for 15 min when he plunked down water and bread, muttered an inaudible introduction and asked if we were ready to order. We asked if we could place a drink order first and it was another 15 min before those were delivered. We ordered from the Restaurant Week menu and the manager delivered our entrees moments after our server told us the appetizers were being prepared fresh and it would be a few minutes. We appreciated that but the manager didn't get the message. Kitchen communication was clearly lacking as was overall customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Help is fantastic. The decor is very att ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Help is fantastic. The decor is very attractive. Pleasant dining experience. Christine was an awesome waitress.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and excellent service!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was restaurant week and a MLK holiday ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

It was restaurant week and a MLK holiday. We were seated 25 minutes after our reservation. Took approximately 30 plus minutes to get our food after waiting 15 minutes to take our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

It was terrible. They could not find our ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

It was terrible. They could not find our reservation. I was asked my first name, my last name, how do I spell my name, I offered to show my reservation reminder on my phone but the hostess did not care to look. After about 5 minutes of this she finally found it. Once we were seated several different servers passed by our table multiple times completely ignoring us-finally our server came. My Dana's Chicken tasted like a very poor and stinky pork product. I did not even eat one bite. It wasn't just my food- my kids did not eat theirs either. It was absolutely terrible. I can't believe it hasn't closed by now. There is no way I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

We tried the food because of Restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We tried the food because of Restaurant Week. Food was ok. All different plates have mash potatoes as side so kinda lacking in creativity. Ambience is nice. Overall a good spot but not for foodies.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Never saw server. Drinks went empty. W ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Never saw server. Drinks went empty. Was charged for my meal and another tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was amazing!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful wine with our delicious meal. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful wine with our delicious meal. We enjoyed this restaurant during restaurant week and had a really great time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. Portions were great. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was great. Portions were great. Dining room had a lot of cool/modern decor (wood on stainless steel type stuff). Lobster bisque was delicious. Great wine selection, which is all made in house. Truffles for dessert were such an awesome way to end the meal. Not too heavy but definitely satisfied the sweet tooth. Will definitely return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was great lunch and atmosphere but their ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Was great lunch and atmosphere but their timing on food delivery was off. Had soup delivered but husbands salad wasn't then our Waitress brought another soup, husbands salad and bread (after I finished soup) not knowing someone else already brought soup. Bloody Mary never came so I cancelled it but then meal delivered 30 seconds after salad. We were looking for relaxing lunch and wasn't wanting to be rushed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I went for Restaurant week and it was am ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I went for Restaurant week and it was amazing! Overall the food was great! I will be going again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice evening. The service was extr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice evening. The service was extremely good and the waitress was attentive. The food servings were a little bit too large for my liking, but made good left-overs for the next day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great evening and excellent mea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a great evening and excellent meal. Very attentive server and appreciated the attention from the manager. Would definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience with wonderful service ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great experience with wonderful service and the food was absolutely great!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit and experienced Outstand ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our first visit and experienced Outstanding food and service. Very nice atmosphere. Will return again

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal during Kansas City Restaura ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome meal during Kansas City Restaurant Week. My only compliant is that as the evening progressed, the dining room we were in (near the front window on the 2nd floor) was incredibly noisy. It was extremely distracting!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kind of disappointing. My wife and I or ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Kind of disappointing. My wife and I ordered the jambalaya from the restaurant week menu. Too much tomato. It almost tasted like something out of a can. The first courses were good, though, and so were the desserts. The service was very good, but the extremely tall wine decanters are a distracting gimmick.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the food and wine, but we had to s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Loved the food and wine, but we had to send one dish back and that took forever to get brought back out, so late that they boxed it and we had to take it home. They compensated us for the meal but one person didn't get to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed a delicious lunch during rest ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious lunch during restaurant week. The tortilla soup was the best ever. Had the chicken Madeira and it too was very good. My husband enjoyed the spaghetti and meatballs. The service was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great dining experience!!!!!! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a great dining experience!!!!!! The staff was well informed and we were impressed with the decor and unique dining environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Work event

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Work event

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Business meeting

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Business meeting

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Very good food and view of the plaza. S ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very good food and view of the plaza. Slow service - long wait before greeted by our server. slow between each coarse. Worked for us because we were with friends and had extra time for good conversation and discussion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were celebrating a 79th birthday and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were celebrating a 79th birthday and it was a very happy evening. Service was very good. Food was good. My mom was very happy to receive 2 complimentary birthday chocolates at the end of the meal. The only damper was that she didn't get the view of he Plaza Lights that she wanted. Very enjoyable evening overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We did not like our server. He was very ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We did not like our server. He was very disconnected and wouldn't make eye contact with us. He would slam our water glasses down, shove things out of the way, told us to hand him our empty plates and would not make conversation with family as I tried several times.

Dinner wasn't enjoyable due to our server. He acted like he didn't want to be there. At one time I even asked my friends if he was high. Bad experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

If you haven't been here before, you hav ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

If you haven't been here before, you have to go early to do the wine tasting! It does get pretty busy at certain days/times like Friday or Saturday evenings so it can be a little hard to hear those who are with you. It's best for groups of 2-4 so you can actually find a spot at the bar for the tasting. All of the bartenders are very knowledgeable about the wines, and we may get the same wine in two separate months yet they always tell us something new!

The restaurant side understands that wine tasting times can vary so we always make a reservation. If we tell them we are there but have a little more left on our tasting, they will hold our table until we are ready. I have never eaten anything that wasn't awesome. The free pretzel bread is so addictive too!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Incredible wine and f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent service! Incredible wine and food! If you are familiar with the plaza, then you know you can EASILY DROP SOME MONEY! But, this restaurant, my new Favorite, has so many options! I love this place for the ambiance and the options it gives!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great wine, delicious foo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great service, great wine, delicious food, I'll be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the fact that you can get wine flig ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Love the fact that you can get wine flights for the variety.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Cooper's Hawk. We visit the rest ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We love Cooper's Hawk. We visit the restaurant and the tasting room regularly. If you plan to dine-in I always recommend making a reservation as the restaurant is quite busy. But if not, you can walk in and dine in the bar area. Don't forget to visit the tasting room, you won't regret it!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

This time we waited 45 minutes for food ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This time we waited 45 minutes for food and it was tasty, but Luke warm. They apologized for the service. Offered a complimentary glass of wine. The experience was less than ideal. It has usually been better.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very nice restaurant. We will return!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very nice restaurant. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had reservations and had to sit in th ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had reservations and had to sit in the bar area where service was very slow and there was only two other party's around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.