About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 3175749463x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Wine
Salmon
Filet
Spaghetti With House Tomato Sauce And Ground Beef
Chicken Pot Stickers
Key Lime Pie
Chicken Parmesa
Asian Pork Belly Tostados
Reese's Ice Cream Cookie
Dark Chocolate Truffle
Jalepeno Bacon Cheese Burger
Prime Sandwich No Bun
Southwestern Eggrolls
Ahi Tuna Wonton
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Caprese Flatbread
Medallions Of Beef
Chocolate Cake
Roasted Eggplant Ravioli
Fresh Berry Crisp
Gnocchi Carbonara
Pork medallions
Scallops
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Calamari
Cheese Plate
Bernaise Burger

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Indiana
Most Booked
Indiana
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
2 More
Contemporary American
Indianapolis
Most Booked
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Notable Wine List (174)
Special Occasion (160)
Good for Groups (124)
See All
Fit for Foodies (99)
Romantic (90)
Great for Lunch (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Hot Spot (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Kid-friendly (23)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tasting experience was awesome! Had din ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 2 days ago

Tasting experience was awesome! Had dinner with friends to celebrate a friend's birthday. Food was decent but the service could have been better. It was my first time at this establishment. There is a more casual dining area in the back and that is where we were sat. The a/c was driving from the vent above our table. We made the waiter aware but he didn't seem to care or do anything about it. He did bring out a small birthday dessert for my friend, not enough to share. We had to ask him to see dessert menus for the rest of the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We love the food and the service at Coop ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

We love the food and the service at Coopers Hawk...have eaten there several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on Wednesday evening and ordered sa ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went on Wednesday evening and ordered same meal I had the last time (Brussels sprout salad) and Grouper, but was really unhappy in the quality and taste. The fish wasn't spoiled, but just didn't taste all that fresh and didn't have nearly the same flavor as last time, ditto for the salad. Bruschetta and pretzel bread was good though.

This was the third time I've been here (my wife has been here more often). The first time (probably 3 years ago), for me, wasn't especially memorable, but the second visit the meal (last month) was outstanding which is why I suggested here as opposed to one of the other restaurants we visit. Honestly, as average as the fish was this time, I'll not likely return if quality control is this unpredictable. Hate to slam any place, but this just wasn't great. We eat out a lot and one of the things I appreciate about a place like, say Ruth's Chris (where I'm taking my wife tonight for date night) is that it's consistent and the service is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I have been to this restarant several ti ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to this restarant several times but this visit was very disappointing. We arrived at 5:00 for our 5:15 reservation and were told that we could not be seated unless 4 of the 5 people were there (there were 3 of us there and they were not busy. Once we were able to be seated, we were given the first table when you walk into the dining area. It was a heavy traffic area and noisy area, although I requested and received a different table, I was initially disappointed because we had actually made a reservation and expected a better table. The service was great but the food was not! My friend ordered a medium well steak and received a well done one. I ordered a flatbread and wedge salad combo, my flatbread was totally cold and my wedge salad included a large chunk of the core of the lettuce and my salad was not cold but luke warm. I used to look forward to going to the place, not sure if I will be returning in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

One of my favorite places to eat althoug ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

One of my favorite places to eat although a little pricey.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent lunch!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

Another excellent lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are always pleased with our dinner at ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We are always pleased with our dinner at Cooper's Hawk. The children's meals are great and so glad to see the chocolate covered strawberries have returned for the kids dessert. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a slow night. Food was decent, s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a slow night. Food was decent, service was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went with adult family just be cause. L ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went with adult family just be cause. Lovely evening. Excellent wait staff. They have a full gluten free menu and a cross reference for those with dairy allergies. Coopers Hawk has their own wines and others available. If you buy a full bottle it is decanted St the table. There is a tasting room next to the lobby. The quality of the food was excellent. The prices ranged from. $12 to $32. All six us enjoyed our meals and would come to Cooper's Hawk again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fair food and boring atmosphere.....felt ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fair food and boring atmosphere.....felt like we were in a banquet hall. The server was terrific. Not sure we'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was very good, service was good at ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very good, service was good at first but declined as the evening went on,,,,,, waitress was asked to box up one of the dinners and never reappeared and could not find her. Wine was excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food, ambience, and service made it ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food, ambience, and service made it a wonderful night for a family dinner. Service was a tad slow, but not frustrating. It would make a nice setting for a date night as well. You can also taste the wine before you buy so you can assure you like it. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was our first time dining at Cooper ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first time dining at Cooper's Hawk, and we had made reservations. This restaurant had been recommended by a friend, and we were celebrating our anniversary. Although the wine selection, restaurant decor and ambiance were good, we were disappointed with our waitress and food service. What follows are some examples: (1) After being seated, we waited about 10 minutes for someone to come to our table. (2) When we were greeted with menus, we ordered a bottle of wine, but were told that only members can order a bottle inside the restaurant, which seemed unfair since this was our first time. When we asked about becoming members, the waitress said we'd have to speak with someone else in the lobby after our meal. (3) Our meal, which arrived 30 minutes after we ordered it, did not include one of the key ingredients (sausage) as specified on the menu. When we brought this to the attention of our waitress, she said that the meal didn't come with sausage. We didn't wish to argue, so we continued to finish our meal. Only after we had finished eating did the waitress acknowledge the mistake and apologize. However, nothing was done to compensate us. You would think that a restaurant of this caliber would go out of their way to treat first-time customers much better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent food and drink with superb cus ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and drink with superb customer service, I have been bragging and recommending to my friends. Thank you for adding romance to our 21 year marriage anniversary.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best experience! Service was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had the best experience! Service was superb, food was excellent, and the overall experience was top notch!! We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough good about Cooper's H ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I can't say enough good about Cooper's Hawk. Food, service, seating all very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cooper's Hawk restaurants (Merrillville, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Cooper's Hawk restaurants (Merrillville, Orlando) were excellent! Bought a wine club membership. The Indianapolis location however, needs much help!.This was my second visit-the first time a couple of weeks ago--waitress was very gruff, didn't seem very welcoming. This last visit was a party of 7. We checked in separately, but all of us had the same experience with the hostess. She hardly acknowledged us upon checkin, without even one smile, then took forever to find our reservation & acted as if it was our fault--again very unwelcoming. The waitress was a young girl, very nice, but needs trained. Our water glasses left empty for at least 20min. , same with wine, didn't offer more bread etc. I left a message for the manager -no call back to date. I am about to cancel my wine club membership as this is the only Coopers Hawk in our area. On one last note, whoever designed this particular one, did not know anything about "ambiance". The place has a cold atmosphere, coupled with the poor service--not a place I want to spend my money! I hope management sees this and makes some changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

I wasn't overly impressed. I have dined ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I wasn't overly impressed. I have dined there before and it is just okay. The food is good but it's always really loud close to the kitchen. We ordered a bottle of wine right away and waited a few to order our meal. We didn't get the bottle of wine until after our salads.. I split a meal with a friend and I was happy that they went ahead and split it for us. The food was good and that's my overall rating on the entire experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I take clients for lunch. I go with frie ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I take clients for lunch. I go with friends for wine tasting, dinner or appetizers. Always a good time and great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Cooper's Hawk consistently serves delici ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Cooper's Hawk consistently serves delicious food and drink- it remains a family favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and wine is consistently good. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food and wine is consistently good. Always love going to Coopers Hawk!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow. Good was ok but not sp ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was slow. Good was ok but not spectacular.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We like the variety of food on the menu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We like the variety of food on the menu and all the food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, great waiter (very patie ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great ambience, great waiter (very patient and responsive with great interaction). Overall very happy with dining expereince .... bit pricey, but overall the total quality made good value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cooper's Hawk is one of my favorite plac ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Cooper's Hawk is one of my favorite places to go. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. Our waitress was great, the food was wonderful, and the wine was delicious! I would definitely go back for another special occasion, or just for a quick drink!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here many times but the last t ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I've been here many times but the last two times the service has been bad. Our waitress rushed us all night. Especially rushed us to order. And We had to practically bus our own table as they brought courses. And of course they auctioned the food. So common, but so tacky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Offshoot of family reunion. My guests we ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Offshoot of family reunion. My guests were frim California and appreciate good wine. John the waiter in the bar made a very pleasant evening.

We were all Purdue grads and since the founder is from Purdue it made the evening special.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have rated it 5 stars all the wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I would have rated it 5 stars all the way around, however we were on a date and we were placed at a table in front of the kitchen area. I am not exactly sure why.?? I booth would have beat the open table for 4 that where we were seated. Other than that, everything was great!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love this place! Short ribs are amaz ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love this place! Short ribs are amazing and house red is absolutely perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine club membership is great...we recei ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wine club membership is great...we received two $20 gift certificates that night!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great restaurant with spectac ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was a great restaurant with spectacular food choices, and all the meals served at our table were all top notch and presented timely and in nice plating display. Desserts were equally as good. Wines that we had were just a little sweeter than what we are used to (shiraz and Red Zin is what we had). overall very pleased!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's worth the trip , food was excellent ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It's worth the trip , food was excellent. Server took for ever....I think about 20 min from the time we finished our meal to get the check. I would highly recommend this resturant .

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Good to excellent food (my salmon was dr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good to excellent food (my salmon was dry and overcooked). The desserts we had were nowhere up to the standards of the other dishes, however. Very accommodating chef who came to my table to discuss my food allergies. Noise level very high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

CH is one of our favorite places to dine ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

CH is one of our favorite places to dine when in Indy or Merrillville. Always excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. I had the filet cooked m ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was great. I had the filet cooked medium rare and it was totally on point. I'd never had grilled broccoli before, but it tasted so good, I will be trying that at home. Betty's potatoes were also good, but I didn't particularly care for the panko topping.

The staff was superb! Didn't care for the noise level, but the everything else makes up for it in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy our meal at Cooper's Haw ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We always enjoy our meal at Cooper's Hawk. Consistently good food in a nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought relatives who were visiting f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We brought relatives who were visiting from out of state and are wine conissieurs. They thought the food, presentation and the wine were exceptional. Although a bit pricey it's worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food tasted great combined with the grea ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food tasted great combined with the great service we received from Julie really made our anniversary special, we will be going back that is for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a wine member so I eat at Cooper's ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I am a wine member so I eat at Cooper's at least once a month when I do my wine tasting. Since I became a member, I have convinced 10 people to join. It would be great to receive occasional points for doing this but even though it does not happen I consistently rave about the wine membership and delicious food. It's a worthwhile reason to get out once a month with friends. This year I also spent my birthday there, so much fun! This September I am super excited for the New Zealand sauvignon blanc coming in, one of my favourite wines to drink!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a busy night but are food was on ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was a busy night but are food was on time servers were pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.