About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (317) 574-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (137)
Good for a Date (136)
Special Occasion (128)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (110)
Good for Birthdays (106)
Good for Groups (84)
Casual (84)
Romantic (79)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Worth the Drive (67)
Business Meals (57)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Fun (55)
Modern Decor (54)
Tasting Menu (51)
Cozy (48)
Great for Lunch (42)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Comfort Food (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Happy Hour (29)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Healthy (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Outstanding Value (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Authentic (20)
Private Room (20)
Seasonal (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Family Style (13)
Disabled Access (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Fireplace (6)
Spicy (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Have dined with Cooper's Hawk before. This occasion, we enjoyed the restaurant as a whole, the food, was little disappointing. Ordered the steak medallions, medium rare, with crab cakes. The medallions came well done, not even close. I was hesitant to order them knowing medallions are often over cooked, these were almost beyond well. Not one to send things back, and wait, I did eat them, after letting the server know it was way over done. My wife had the salmon, and she said she was happy with it. Overall everything else was good - service, appetizers, wait time, and wine was great as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall it was a good experience. I think that the wine is a little overpriced but it was good. The menu is diverse and one could get a hamburger or beef medallions and anything in between.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I dined at Cooper's Hawk on St. Patrick's Day (Friday @ 8 PM). It was busy, but not crowded. The noise level was fairly high - I had to speak louder than usual, but it wasn't uncomfortable. The restaurant is naturally high-energy. Some things you must know before dining at Cooper's Hawk:

- They have an excellent selection of wines, cocktails, and mixed drinks
- The food is of fine quality
- The bill can shoot up quickly, so be prepared for that when ordering multiple drinks and apps

We ordered the calamari appetizer and the Mexican shrimp (bacon-wrapped shrimp on a plate of crushed avocado). The calamari was incredible, especially for a restaurant in the Midwest. The breading was perfect: airy, light and crispy. The squid was chewy but never rubbery, the absolute best texture you can ask for in calamari. The dipping sauce was very interesting - much more unique and tasty when compared with the traditional and overplayed marinara sauce. The bacon-wrapped shrimp were very good, as well. The bacon was crispy and flavorful, and the shrimp were perfectly cooked. Another outstanding dish where texture is everything, and CH nailed it.

For entrees, I ordered the corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick's Day, while my wife ordered the beef short ribs. The corned beef was incredible. I have never been more satisfied with such a simple meal. The cabbage was delicious. I wish I knew how they cooked it to impart such a savory flavor. The "smashed" potatoes were very good. Everything was cooked to perfection, and I was blown away by it all. My wife's short ribs were incredible, as well. No need for a knife, the beef was ready to fall apart at the touch of a fork. Again, cooked to absolute perfection. The savory flavor of the beef reminded me of a home-cooked crock pot meal, only with much better cuts of beef and even more tender, amazingly! Everything was perfect! You won't be disappointed with this restaurant.

*Two people without tip: $90*

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

This dinner was a birthday celebration and we were seated immediately and the server was prompt but not intrusive. At the end of the meal a small plate of birthday candies was served, which was a great ending to the dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Arrived as a 1st time patron for an Anniversary dinner. Welcome desk with attentive staff seated us immediately. Our server, Terin was fantastic. We started with a sweet red & a Pinot Noir wine. Great! She recommended the Calamari as an appetizer, which we ordered along with the crispy crab beignets. BOTH were incredible! We plan to come back just for those 2 items again! Entrees of crab cakes and pistachio crusted grouper again were excellent. Fries came with the crab cakes, which after tasting, swapped out for the mashed potatoes-(nothing really special about the fries.) we both opted for the upside down key lime dessert. Yummy Tart lime with mm mmmm good whipped cream & graham cracker dust in the middle. Good, but personally could have done without the graham cracker part, but was still a delight. Relaxed atmosphere for us. There happened to be a party if 8 ladies near us who were having a "good time" but they weren't so loud to intrude on our special occasion. Will definitely return. Full service dinner for 2 with tip was $210.00. What I expected and was well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This place was quite busy for a Wednesday night. The service was a little slow but not terrible. All the meals were good. One person ordered an entree that said it came with garlic green beans. Instead it came with a spicy mixed vegetable. The spice was a bit heavy for their liking. I'd go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was outstanding as always. We ordered the calamari appetizer. It was HUGE!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was slow, very nice, but too too long. Got our appetizers before we even ordered our meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I went to Cooper's Hawk on Saturday night for a belated birthday dinner and because we are members of their Wine Club and haven't been there for a few months.
It has a feel both inside and out like it is a nice place you should dress up for. I wore a jacket and felt slightly over-dressed, but in a good way. Most of the crowd was 30s-40s and casual.

We had a reservation but still had to wait a few minutes to be seated. That doesn't bother me if they have a bar, and Cooper's Hawk has a nice bar. However it was so crowded it would have been impossible to place an order. I'm not sure if that was unusual or not. It is a busy place with a lot of groups (ie more than 2 people at a table) so it is not a quiet place, but it is not too distracting.

We had several "credits" (ie prepaid bottles of wine) so we ordered one for our table. That tempered the total bill. We then split an appetizer, split a salad and ordered two entrees. This was a lot of food, and I would score Cooper's Hawk high on value. They entrees are between $20-30 and there are sandwiches that are <$20. Everything we had was really really tasty. We had the Hummus flatbread appetizer, wedge salad, a skirt steak w chimichurri sauce and a chicken sandwich. The steak was ordered medium but came rare. That's ok because I like rare steak too, especially if I can't finish it and will take the rest home to reheat it, which I did, but if I was averse to rare steak I would have had to send it back.

The service was just OK, not the "professional" waitstaff that you sometimes experience in a nice restaurant, more on the student putting themselves through school type, but still very courteous and accommodating. For a place known for wines, the waiter didn't know much about them, but they had clearly been trained in what to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great dinner! Our server Trent was awesome. Good was delicious. I always enjoy this restaurant be it the bar or dining room side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always great! Thanks. We'll be back! 👍😊😊😊😊👍👍👍

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We try to come here 2-3 times a year and are never disappointed. The short ribs are one of my favorite dishes here along with a glass of the Coopers Hawk Red wine. My wife had grouper and pronounced it excellent and she had a great glass of Chardonnay.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Love! Love, this place! Amazing food and wine! Great atmosphere for all types of occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was our one year anniversary. Absolutely amazing service, Alyse was our server and i'd recommended her everyday. We went through wines together to find one id love and also helps us decide on our dinner. Very personable and just a wonderful experience for our first time there. Will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

As usual I cannot say enough of Coopers Hawk, I had visitors from Greece and they were very impressed by the service, wine, meal and deserts...This is one of my favorite place to dine..

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Cozy, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Casual, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We are never disappointed--- the food, service and wine were all great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Morgan F was one of the best servers we have had. We had 2 birthdays, 2 children and a food allergy and she did not miss one beat and was a total pleasure. I will ask for Morgan again when we dine. We love to bring new people to Coopers Hawk, never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The waitress was awesome and the food was excellent. It was our first time and we will be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I made reservations days in advance for a party of 6. A pair of relatives came into town last minute and I called the company to see if they could change our seating from 6 to 8 people. Lindsey the individual who answered the telephone appear irritated. Stating that they were really busy and she doubted that they could change the reservation. She placed me on a brief hold and returned stating that they would not be able to assist us.
My husband and I visit this location frequently because it is my favorite restaurant. When we arrived there were tables open, and my sister in law asked the waiter if we could add two additional seats to our party. He was very nice and stated it would not be a problem. Needless to say, I am very disappointed in the attitude protrayed by Lindsey and in the future I hope she had a better attitude, during hectatic or busy times. In the future, I will second guess returning with large parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was good except the speed of the food. The main course came out over an hour after ordering. We had to ask twice about our entrees.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was outstanding, the service was excellent; however, the noise level was border-line painful at it's peak. Also, the first table at which we were seat allowed the sun to shine in our eyes at 5:30 - 6:00 PM. Uncomfortable. We asked to be moved and were. I like the Hawk and will return but probably not on a Saturday night because of the noise level

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Chloe our server was OUTSTANDING in every way. She provided us with excellent information and recommendations. She is very effervescent and a joy to talk with. She is a true asset to Coopers Hawk. We will be back! She made our first visit into our favorite place to dine! The food was absolutely Divine!!!! We HIGHLY RECOMMEND COOPERS HAWK!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Been there many times and was never disapointed. Service was great and was paced just right.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food, drinks and atmosphere were excellent!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Memorable meal experience is what makes the list for return visits. Tonight's meals were just that short ribs and parmesan chicken were both 9/10 ratings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Enjoyed the food but our server was pre-occupied and did not pay very good attention to our needs.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fish & Chips were a little soggy; otherwise food was fine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Outstanding the food/wine was great..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food and service are always top notch. It was a little noisy for a business meeting but that was soon forgotten when lunch was served.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our third visit to CH this month. I think that says it all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Cooper's Hawk states that they are a "fine dining" restaurant, but our experience was just the opposite (aside from the price). Right when you walk in, you wait for your table in a crowded, hard-to-move area. Even though we had reservations, we waited 10 minutes to be seated. Also, the ambiance leaves much to be desired (at least at the Indianapolis location), and we were seated in a back room that felt more like a banquet hall. The worst part, however, was how the staff responded (or didn't) when a full glass of red wine and water was spilled at our table. Not only did our server provide no assistance in cleaning up the mess, he brought us old rags to clean up entirely on our own. We had to request new silverware, linens, and had to pick through a chard of glass on our meal. And when we requested a replacement glass of wine, he added that to the bill, which just seems in poor taste. We don't often dine at chain restaurants, living closer to locally owned and locally sourced restaurants, and our experience at Cooper's Hawk reminded us of why we avoid them.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always an enjoyable dining experience! Unique concept. Wine Club is awesome!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful ahi tuna tacos!!!!!!! Good options for healthy eating!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We eat here often and are Wine Club members. Service was exceptional as usual. However some of the items were not up to their usual standard.
I had the Beet and Goat Cheese salad. The plate had obviously just come out of the dishwasher as it was very warm - so warm, my cheese had melted and formed a liquid pool on the plate. When my husband got his entree (Dana's Chicken), the potato casserole was raw (the potatoes had not been cooked). In their defense, the place was HOPPING! I've not seen it that crazy before.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We have been going to Cooper's Hawk since it came to Indianapolis. It is one of our most favorite places to go. We also have been members of the Wine Club since the beginning. Most outstanding wines that are all labeled by Cooper's Hawk. And to top it all off, we always request "Julie" for our server and she is absolutely fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wine tasting line was too long so we simply went to the bar area and ordered flights of wine and an appetizer

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great experience. Great food and service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was excellent. Prepared and served as requested. The recommendations from our Wait staff - was perfect and the "Peach Sangria" was absolutely "yummy" ! We dined sufficiently- we practically needed to be rolled out to the car ~ we were so full !!! Will recommend Cooper Hawk to friends and family.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food! Great service! The wine tasting was a fun option with friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As always a delight to eat and drink here. Great food and drinks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.