About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (317) 574-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (132)
Good for a Date (110)
Special Occasion (107)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Good for Birthdays (80)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Good for Groups (65)
Romantic (60)
Casual (58)
Worth the Drive (52)
Business Meals (49)
Tasting Menu (46)
Great for Lunch (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Fun (41)
Modern Decor (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Cozy (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Healthy (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Private Room (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Authentic (13)
Seasonal (10)
Late-night Find (9)
People Watching (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 hours ago

It was a beautiful evening so we sat outside. We had the Ahi tuna appetizer which was so good. Our entrees were both delicious and the service was good. They have an expansive menu and I am anxious to return and try another dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined a day ago

I wish I was more impressed but this left me feeling half full and unhappy of wasting food and my friend's money.

Unfortunately I am a bit too biased because I am a chef and teach cooking classes and in from out of town. So often have to find places friends and family will enjoy.

The item I wanted to order had no substitutions but it was not listed that way on the menu so the dish I ordered was the best option. It was a bit over salted and just seemed like a menu after thought. Overall the menu didn't really make sense to me. But again, skewed perspective.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Both my husband and I had new menu items. They were delicious and we would order them again. We enjoyed our waitress, Sarah. She was attentive and very helpful. I tried a new wine and it was very good. Overall a very nice date!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Always good, great variety on the menu, reasonable wine prices

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Way too COLD!! Food comes warm and is coagulating in a few minutes. Plus it's summer and you need winter clothes 😬😖

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter misunderstood one of the orders and so one of the entrées was very late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We haven't been in several months but always enjoy going to Cooper's Hawk. We enjoyed our wine tasting and the girl helping us was very knowledgeable which we enjoy. The food and atmosphere was great as always! We will be back soon.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered appetizers & shared them. They were so delicious! Our waiter Jake was very nice & attentive & full of great food suggestions.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Experience was a little rough. But the manager helped put a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I came here with my daughters for Father's Day. They wanted a place that was more up scale and had never dined with you. They enjoyed the food and environment and had a really good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is the 3rd time we have eaten there and the food is consistent in flavor and quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Treated my husband for Father's Day after hearing about Cooper's Hawk from a friend. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. We are not wine drinkers, but he tried the samples and thought it was a nice touch. We both enjoyed our meals, the service (Joycelyn, I think) and everything about the restaurant and will be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My first time there and I absolutely loved it... Our waiter was the best and I enjoyed the wine tasting and little desserts... I definitely will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was wonderful but the service was just ok. My husband got the wrong meal served to him and my sister in laws meal came much later than everyone else's.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day Dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A little bizarre this visit...it's was Fathers Day and I picked CH over my usual steak house choices for special occasions, but they seemed more into pushing their current burger deals then recognizing the occasion. The pretzel bread was surprisingly dry (stale perhaps). The server did a reasonably good job and the meals were fine...it was certainly less expensive then any of my usual special occasion choices, but it also lacked any special occasion feel.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was great. Food was not up to par for the money.
We were there for our anniversary. "Special instructions" from Open Table to the restaurant must not translate since there was no attention to a simple wine tasting request.
We ordered delicious appetizers. Sipped some good wine. Then the food came out. We both had Surf and Turf. We ordered the steaks medium. They were both over cooked. I was ok with mine being medium well. However, my wife's steak was well done. Barely a hint of pink in the middle of the NY Strip. They had to make her a new steak. I was pretty close to finished when her steak came out.
To their credit, they did apologize and give us a free dessert. The dessert was outstanding.
So yeah, pretty disappointed with the overall experience. We will go back again at some point and give them another chance. We have had good experiences there before.
-Matt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Low quality. Here are the issues:
1. Cocktails were mediocre, and watered down,
2. The dining side was busy, but management decided to have its all server pre - shift meeting right then. Because of that, our service was interrupted which resulted in appetizers being delivered late and entrees delivered too early,
3. Paired wine was mediocre, and
4. Entrees were forgettable and Asian slaw does NOT go with everything.
To summarize, we dine out 5-6 times a month for our evening meals and seek out really good restaurants. Cooper's Hawk is not one of them. We will never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We popped some champagne and had a wonderful time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Love it !!! So consistently great !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Fantastic calamari and burgers. Wonderful atmosphere and great for kids. Will come again.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great restaurant with excellent service! The food was fantastic. We will come back again.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We sat outside and it was very nice. Food is always excellent. Wish they would bring back the salad they took off of the menu though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was our first experience at Cooper's and we loved it from start to finish! Our waitress was bubbly and kind, wine was fantastic, and the food was superb! We will recommend Cooper's and return. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We did a wine tasting before dinner, which was helpful and a good value. Dinner was great, with very good service. I appreciate the healthy options, and the good wine at reasonable prices.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Coopers has become our go to restaurant for numerous occasions, whether it is a date with another couple or just a quiet evening with my wife. Everything is top notch, from the hostess, to the wait staff to the management. The kitchen was running a bit slower than normal, but we just ordered another glass of wine and enjoyed our time. The manager did stop by to apologize for the delay, but the delay was barely noticeable. Overall another awesome experience!!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food good but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a reservation and were seated right away. Our server was very helpful and offered suggestions too. My husband initially received the wrong meal but they brought out the correct meal very quickly. I was very pleased. My husband got his simple meal of fish and chips and I was able to get a vegetable enchilada which was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had not been here for awhile and were glad we came back. I had the shrimp & scallop risotto and highly recommend it. My wife had the short ribs and pronounced them excellent. Our son was a little disappointed in an entrée salad he had with chicken. He thought it lacked something. Of course, we had wine; I had the Coopers Hawk Red Blend which I really enjoy. My wife is a fan of their chardonnay. One thing we like here is the consistency and the service. Both are very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Birthday dinner.
Pros: good food/value with a varied menu
Cons: portion of chicken on a sandwich was less than expected.
Overall good meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our first visit, and we were pleasantly surprised at the number of vegetarian options available. Loved the fact that you can sample the wine first before ordering. Best salmon I have ever had! Decided to join the wine club and excited to get into it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great except somebody in the kitchen threw away my leftovers instead of boxing them up. I was offered a voucher for the next visit or another medallion and asparagus to be fixed. I chose the later since we rarely go to expensive restaurants. The medallion was good but it should have had blue cheese topping and I had potatoes left which I didn't get any of those to take home

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Absolutely fantastic.
The staff for tastings is second to no one. James, Steve, and Laura are awesome!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 7, 2017

After a less than satisfactory visit to Cooper's Hawk (which is extraordinarily rare for us), we were compensated with free entrees. We decided to use our coupons today. Server was very pleasant, as always. We've never had bad service at Cooper's Hawk - they really go out of their way to make sure you're enjoying the dining experience. They were very busy for a Wednesday but the food arrived in a timely manner. Everything was good - the bacon-wrapped shrimp were incredible. Nice, hot, with a smoky bacon flavor and perfectly cooked shrimp with fresh avocado and sauce. What a treat! The crab cakes were above average for a Midwestern restaurant. My wife's filet was just fine. Only complaint is that the food was lukewarm instead of hot, but that didn't bother us too much. Overall, a solid experience that is typical of Cooper Hawk. It is really hard to be disappointed in this place, and if you are, for whatever reason, management WILL take care of you. Incredible customer service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our waitress was so positive about the 2 pc beef special - had to order it. I ordered medium - it was at the best medium well. Meat was tough. Not what I expected. Had a similar experience with their steak salad. Got tired of chewing.
On the other hand - their chicken dishes are normally quite good. I should learn to stick to chicken.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Food is consistently good and the menu changes. The Brussels Sprouts Appetizer is excellent. The new mushroom crusted chicken is very tasty as is the Scallop Risotto.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food and great wines! A great, quiet place to gather.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed celebrating our 2 year anniversary and we had the same waitress from when we went there for our 1 year anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great menu, well executed fare. Great wine selection, both their own and others, also reasonably priced. Plus, with a free tase prior to buying the wine, how can you go wrong?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.