About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (317) 574-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (143)
Good for a Date (143)
Special Occasion (135)
See All
Good for Birthdays (111)
Good for Anniversaries (109)
Romantic (88)
Casual (82)
Creative Cuisine (75)
Good for Groups (75)
Worth the Drive (68)
Fun (65)
Tasting Menu (58)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Business Meals (55)
Modern Decor (54)
Great for Lunch (52)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Cozy (42)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Hot Spot (32)
Happy Hour (31)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Healthy (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Outstanding Value (22)
Authentic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Private Room (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Kid-friendly (15)
Seasonal (14)
Disabled Access (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
People Watching (10)
Family Style (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fireplace (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Spicy (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vegan (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely love Cooper's Hawk and love bringing friends here to experience the food and wine. Service in the bar on Sunday was AMAZING!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Tastings need to be managed much better! They use to be good but have fallen off. It is not personal and people were hanging out why there was a line to the door. Service was ok. Seems like they cannot provide value and quality service on good nights. I have been a member for 4 years and was highly disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and service. We come for our birthday and anniversary every year. Never disappointed so far.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for dinner with friends for my birthday. Had a great time and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is consistently good. Our favorite waitress is Julie. She always has a great knowledge of the food and wines and is very good at her job.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Just didn't have an outgoing waitress and that definitely made a difference

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our experience was good. Food was top notch. Our server kind of forgot about us so we were sitting a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on April 17, 2017

Nice place and the service is excellent and I've had a very nice time. Thank you.😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a fantastic experience today. Our food was terrific and the staff and service met and exceeded our expectations. Thank you to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've been here several times. Our server was the best we've had here., excellent. The food was very good and served hot. Nice variety and a gluten free menu for those who have this dietary restriction.

Tags: Disabled Access, Healthy, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was very nice place to go and eat Easter lunch. Everyone was able to pick their own food. There were 6 of us. Appetizers: Little tostadas and the Calamari were very good. We also had hummus with vegetables, but that was so, so. It did not have much flavor. Four of the people ordered Hot chicken. Everyone that ordered it seemed to like it. My daughter ordered enchiladas and she ate everything on her plate. She is usually a picky eater. I ordered the Prime Rib sandwich. This sandwich was to die for. The meat melted in your mouth. Drinks weren't to bad either. Desserts were very good.

I think the only thing I didn't like was the menu. My husband ordered a few things and the waiter said they were no longer on the menu. He said a new menu would be coming out next week.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our 2nd visit in 1 week. First one didn't go well. Food came out wrong and the service was slow. Manager gave us gift cards to come back and owned up to the mistakes. 2nd visit wasn't any better except for our great waiter. We didn't mention the gift cards hoping our experience would be much better. Apps were great but then my food came out but my wife's didn't. At least 10 mins went by before our waiter noticed she didn't have her food. I hadn't eaten any of mine so he took it back (probably for the warmer lights) and said her steak was still raw. It finally came and we ate. Both times were blamed on a new chef. Food is good but it's doesn't make for a great experience when food is wrong or doesn't come out with the rest. Was really hoping for a better experience.
Scott

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We've been here many times....however, this time we were a little disappointed with where we were seated. My opinion....seat families with small children (under 3) away from couples or families with adult children. We had a wonderful waitress and great food, but it was such a distraction with the two little boys sitting next to us that were out of control! I love kids, have two adult girls...but I don't want to dine at a nice place like yours next to small children being wild anymore. The restaurant was not full at the time, so we could have been placed somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I have always been a fan of Cooper's Hawk! I have never been to a place that is as accommodating as this one! They allow you to check in a few minutes before your dinner reservation and tell them that you are in line for the wine tasting. Then they tell you not to worry and to come whenever you finish the tasting. The wine tasting staff is phenomenal and always informative! They are super friendly and make your tasting go the extra mile. They want you to taste the best wines fitted for your taste buds! They normally let you try a couple extra as well! : ) I recommend trying the Wine of the Month which is normally being passed out as soon as you enter the front doors. Then proceed to the bar to grab a glass of wine to sip on while waiting for the wine tasting. By the time you finish the glass of wine you are ready for the tasting! Then you can go to dinner as you please. Also, if you have the membership you get two more tastings with your dinner! The salmon is magnificent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Even within our visits throughout the past year, we've seen this restaurant become more popular. I would definitely recommend reservations for a Friday or Saturday night, especially if you have a group of 4 or more. Getting there earlier in the evening for a tasting by 6:45 helps -we watched the line get longer as we were tasting until our ~8pm reservation. 2 of our friends ordered Fish & Chips, and remarked that it was the first thing they had eaten that wasn't memorably delicious. On the positive side, I was able to stick to my diet (subbing broccoli for fries and having my hamburger served without a bun) without a blink of an eye.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

As a member of Coopers Hawk, I enjoy the atmosphere every time I go. Utilizing Open table has been a great way to ensure we have a limited wait. I love the monthly changes on the tasting menu as well. I love taking guests from out of town as well. Great environment!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is always an awesome combination of great food and great wine. And don't forget the pretzel bread.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our waitress Julie was amazing. Everyone was nice and made our first time visit extraordinary. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The roasted beet bruschetta is not to be missed. The light shrimp salad is full of crispy, colorful vegetables - but order the dressing on the side.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Loved the Gnocchi with butternut squash . Service was excellent and provided an out of town guest with an amazing experience that will make her want to come back again .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent. It had been several years since we had dined there (moved out of Indy). Took friends there to celebrate my wife's birthday. Our friends had never been there before. Everything was excellent; could not have scripted a better evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The server was extra slow👎🏾!!!
Order was wrong and the food was cold.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was great. The Short Rib Risotto was fabulous. Just a lovely dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

All the staff is polite. A fun place. We are wine club members and we enjoy the benefits.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food! Everything was delicious. Very accommodating. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Over all it was very good. I ordered my filet mignon cooked medium but it was more on the rare/medium rare side. It was good but not outstanding. Everything else was very good and it was a very pleasant experience for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love Coopershawk'S Hawk.The Brussel sprout salad was to die for and the flat bread and salad is always a hit. Order that Thai lettuce wraps. You will not be disappointed. Delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Birthday and last day of radiation.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had such a good time. Was visiting my parents from out of state and found this place on a fluke. Our server Ashley was fantastic. Very enthusiastic. Could tell from the moment she came to our table that she enjoyed her job and truly believed in the restaurant. Food was fantastic. Pace of meal was also excellent. Didn't feel rushed at all. I would recommend this place to anyone I know. I only wish there was one in Michigan!!!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoy meeting friends each month at CH, we love the pork belly tostadas and the wine is always excellent. I wasn't at pleased with the country rigatoni, I will not order that dish again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My visit was not typical of all the other Coopers Hawk establishments I have visited. Upon walking in, I was told I needed to wait for my reservation but I was not offered a wine tasting although there were samples already poured and sitting at the check in desk. Not typical of CH. our server was very nice but new. Our food was extremely over cooked. The meat was dry and the pasta was burnt on one side. They offered to make new but we don't like to send food back due to all the bad stories of what cooks do in the kitchen. We decided to leave and just pay for what we consumed and rejected the new food. It would have been nice to be offered a gift certificate for a future use. It was my husbands 50th bday so we had a less than stellar experience. We ended up finishing out our meal at another restaurant. Not typical of CH.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The pork chops were simply outstanding. Perfectly cooked with a very tasty pretzel crust. Asparagus was also delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The room where we were was super loud. The other adults I was with agreed it was probably the loudest restaurant we've ever been in

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Probably go to Cooper's Hawk on average once a month. One of our favorite places! We are double wine club members, love the wine, food and perks of the program.

ONLY negative- you need to expand the tasting room (again) and/or limit time people can TASTE and not allow people to drink and hang out there. Had group of 3 gals, another 2 sets of 2 gals, that were there close to an hour based on the time we stood in line. Need to know it is for TASTING, not HANGING OUT for hours, chatting, drinking and having a good time when there was a line of 10 people waiting to get in. That or for those of us that will be dining, bring our tasting to the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our waiter seemed like he was rushing us especially toward the end of the meal like he had to be somewhere? Took forever to get water refills. Our meat was over cooked. She sent hers back I didn't because I was too hungry. Likely will not go her again. Better choices and service than what we received. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Catching up with friends, celebrating a birthday and made some new friends with the table next to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Every person who helped us was extremely rude. But the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Nice restaurant with good food at a decent price. Only difficult for conversations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I absolutely love this place! The food and wine was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We are wine club members and frequently dine at Coopers Hawk. All was great except our server and the noise level was particularly loud. The server didn't even ask if we wanted drinks, we had to ask. He also offered to bring bread and then forgot. When he spoke to us he walked away as we answered. Love the restaurant but not this experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.