About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (317) 574-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (118)
Good for a Date (93)
Special Occasion (92)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Good for Groups (70)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Casual (57)
Romantic (57)
Business Meals (55)
Worth the Drive (52)
Great for Lunch (51)
Fun (46)
Tasting Menu (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Bar Seating (30)
Comfort Food (27)
Cozy (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Seasonal (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Authentic (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Private Room (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Disabled Access (7)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Spicy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1899 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

May my Mom's birthday very special. Wine tasting, great food, attentive service. We couldn't have been happier!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was very quick and took amazing care of us. We will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner meal was great and the service was great too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We prefer eating g outside on the patio as the noise level is much less. Noisy inside Good food and service
1

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Services was good, reservations were early which was great. Tried a new entree and it was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

So apps and salad were great! Wine also very good :) my other had walleye was not very fresh had a funky taste - am from area with plenty of walleye so know how it should taste and that was not it ... not fresh need to check dates especially on fish ! I had medallions and they were great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Love this restaurant. We are usual there. They have good wine selection and food menu. I really like their appetizer selection. My teenage and adult kids love this place also.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Never disappointed. Good food, good wine, good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Delicious; hostess recommended the special - it was a bone in chicken which is not my preference- the waiter was great and the kitchen too to accommodate a chicken breast instead of the bone in chicken - it was the most delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food, service and wine!! Highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have dined here ever since it opened and have never been disappointed as the food is consistently good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great meal! Semi loud, but fun environment! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 4, 2017

CoopersHawk is one of our go-to places. We enjoy just eating in the bar but they have lots of nice seating, as well. Wines are good, but not great. We definitely go for the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I was greeted at the door with a sample of the Wine of the Month, nice touch.

Once my friend arrived we were seated and our waitress was very nice, courteous and knowledgeable.

My dining experience was very pleasant. I will be adding Cooper's Hawk to my list of frequented restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Awesome place, service and wine!! we really enjoy going ti this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First time at this restaurant and we were not disappointed. The wine selection is great, the food was great and our server Jocelyn was pretty fantastic. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent location and service. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had to ask for a different table because the large party next to us was ridiculously loud to the point of rudeness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

AS always, Cooper's Hawk was a good meal with good wine. Our service was a little lower than normal as our server wasn't as attentive as expected.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Terrible service, terrible experience. Decent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Service was great, dinner not so much. Short Ribs were "stringy" and unimpressive. We dine at this venue often... and will return again for a better experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Bachelorette dinner, 7 if us. They forgot to ring in one of our apps and had our orders all messed up on our checks. Only 2 people had the correct items on their check. Told the Host we had issues with our bill and he didn't seem too eager to help so we had to ask him to find our waitress. It took so long for them to come back so we could address that issues we were late for our next reservation. Our waitress was very nice and very apologetic, it was just extremely inconvenient.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent food and good wine selection. Wine flights and tastes are nice to try things before ordering a full glass or bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Decent experience. Waiter ruined the ambiance of our anniversary by messing up the order and slowly delivering drinks. At the end of the day, it's Cooper's Hawk and it's nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food is always great. Good value for the food quality. Great menu full of choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We are normally pretty happy but the new people that work the front desk were not sure what they were doing and we checked in only to find out that the other woman did it incorrectly. Needless to say we still had a long wait and eventually just gave up and sat in the bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service was very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

My wife and I have visited to purchase wine here multiple times but never got around to dining here until recently. I wish we hadn't waited so long! Food was incredible, service was attentive, fast and kind. I loved the grouper entree and my wife enjoyed the parmesan crusted chicken, Can't recommend more!

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Perfect night at one of my favorite establishments! Excellent service and food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The noise level was too loud. Not sure if I will return because of it. Our friends who came all the way from Minnesota complained about the noise too. We were half ways through with our meal when our wine finally arrived.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I've been to Cooper's Hawk four times now, and have been pleased each time. The service and atmosphere are great. The salmon is some of my favorite salmon dishes, along with the Mexican Drunken Shrimp. It's a great place for an impromptu date, lunch, or to celebrate an anniversary or dinner.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Casual dinner. Food was prepared perfectly as usual. Love the appetizer Brussels sprouts and gnocchi carbonara. Made inquiry to purchase wine we had sampled. After labored conversation found that to purchase wine involved a membership, fees, etc. Great place to eat but don't plan on purchasing take home wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Coopershawk is always a great experience the atmosphere and food never dissapoint. Salmon and wasbi mashed potatoes is my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Overall Coopers Hawk is a great place. We are wine club members which always makes it enjoyable. The food was amazing as usual and the server was very cordial and pleasant. I would recommend friends to go to Coopers Hawk for an enjoyable lunch or dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

This is my favorite dining place in Indy. Show up an hour early and do their wine tasting to help you select what bottle you'd like to have at the table. The food and wine are both beyond words.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

This is by far my favorite restaurant. The wines are great, the tastings fun, the food is fabulous every time. I've never had a bad experience and have been there several times.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 20, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our 25th anniversary dinner at Cooper's Hawk. We've only had the pleasure of dining here three times (once in Cincinnati, and twice here in Indianapolis), but it's by far the best restaurant we've ever visited. Superb food, great service, and very reasonably priced for the value.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. Best meal I've had in a really long time. Loved the wine flight. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Server was just "OK". Not our worst server but not the best. Laura, James, and Steve in the tasting room continue to make our monthly experience outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.