About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (317) 574-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (96)
Special Occasion (87)
Notable Wine List (85)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Good for Birthdays (76)
Good for Groups (65)
Casual (62)
Worth the Drive (56)
Romantic (53)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Great for Lunch (49)
Business Meals (48)
Tasting Menu (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Fun (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Healthy (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Happy Hour (17)
Seasonal (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Authentic (14)
Disabled Access (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Spicy (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined a day ago

Great food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the tastings I just wish they had a time limit so that you wouldn’t be stuck in line for so long.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful way to celebrate our first wedding anniversary! Food, service, and wine were all amazing!

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed everything about Coopers Hawk. The service was great and the food was amazing!! Great selection of wine, drinks and beer. Our new go to spot!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Good was excellent as always. My only concern was that it took quite a long time to get our food from the time we ordered. That was an issue but we still enjoyed ourselves

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, been going for years.
Hulio is the best at the wine tasting bar!!
Food was excellent as usual. Julie is best waitress, but all are good.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Steve and John in the tasting. Room are outstanding. Really good guys.
Our waitress Andi was super friendly. We would recommend her again.
We have been coming to CH at least once a month since January. During that time I have yet to order the same thing twice (except for ice wine cheese cake) and have yet to be disappointed. I'm looking forward to the new year when I will allow myself to repeat some of my favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Third visit to Coopers Hawk.
I continue to be impressed with their restaurant. Good food, great wine and a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I have been here at least 5 times and this time (as well as all of my previous visits) the main course always comes before the appetizer is finished. The place is popular and crowded and the strategy is obviously to clear tables quickly. I suggest you do not order main course until the appetizer is finished unless you are in a hurry. Food is reasonably good and the wine experience is unique.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Very inviting atmosphere...server took the time to explain the current wine selection and a little bit about the winery since this was our first time visiting. Wine tastings were good and the service was okay. We did have to wait to order our entrees but the food arrived at the table very hot without much of a wait. The filet tips were excellent, the parmesan chicken was amazing and the fish and chips were flavorful. We also visited the wine tasting area where we were informed about the wine club and benefits. Overall, wonderful experience...whether you want to taste some very good wines in the tasting room, spend some quality time in the bar or outside patio area with friends or have a semi-formal sit-down dining experience, Cooper's Hawk is a great place for all three!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Lovely Sunday evening out; good food and wine; excellent service! Will visit again in a few weeks! Worth the 45 min drive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

What happened? Previous dining experiences were quite good. Not this time. We asked for bread...didn't get it. Our waitress also failed to serve the wine we ordered because "it was on my ticket but I can't read my writing." Which is strange, because the central premise of the restaurant is it's solid wine offerings. By the time we could bring this oversight to her attention, our dinner was half-eaten. If we had waited any longer, our dinner would have been gone. Her manner was totally nonchalant and unapologetic. You drink wine with dinner and not after! Plus, the food was ok but it look like someone had just slopped it on the plates....terrible presentation. And it was too loud for a twosome. Will not be going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was our first time here. I live in Florida and was visiting my mom. Restaurant has a great ambiance, modern furnishings, tables not too close together, has a great wine tasting room right inside the front door which seemed to be quite popular. We arent really wine drinkers , but my cocktail , a Sangria-tini was delicious. Our appetizer was potstickers and they were delicious. We both had pistachio crusted grouper....this is the reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It was pretty good, but the chef definitely was heavy handed with the salt. I could only eat about 2/3 of it. The asparagus and mashed potatoes served with it was great. We didnt do dessert. We will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our server, Amy, went above and beyond to make our dining experience incredible! She was attentive, knowledgeable, and really seemed to care about us! She had many tables, but our drinks and meal were well timed, and she was always available when we needed her! Food was great! I asked about their dirty martini's, as the last time I visited, it wasn't too tasty. This time, perfect!!! Manager stopped by to check on food and service... which was great - don't remember that happening at Cooper's in the past.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great meal and good service. Good combination of a winery and casual dining. Also a wide variety of tastes on the menu as well as pricing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always the restaurant is welcoming from the minute you walk thru the doors. Staff are quick to greet you, wait staff is excellent, very attentive to food allergy customers, and food is outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We were seated promptly at our reservation time. We typically split the entree and food was brought on two plates instead of us having to do that. That was nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Always a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food and service are excellent, but the volume is often too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great time as always!!! Celebrated family gathering!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2017

All 4 of us enjoyed our meals. The server was attentive and friendly. Another good dining experience ant Cooper's Hawk. We'll definitely go again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and service, Donny was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Long time Wine Club member. They absolutely need to get more space - waiting 2 hours for a wine tasting is unacceptable and I'm sure hinders the amount of business in that regards. Last time we came at 3PM on a Saturday and STILL had to wait 30 minutes. LOVE Coopershawk and we had a new waitress who was lovely. Jeff is our go-to in the bar, and the wine baristas always great. But PLEASE, PLEASE get a bigger space for tastings! Maybe rent out one of the empty spaces in the strip behind you JUST for tasting temporarily until you can expand. However, the menu is great and the wines are wonderful. Definitely go - just go at a random time if you want a tasting for now.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Impeccable as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Everything was great; however, I ordered the Peppercorn Ranch Burger at medium rare temp and it came out rare. I did not send it back to the kitchen because they were busy and we already waited about 45 minutes for our food. I love their wine and this was the first time my food came out under temp.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very nice dinner. Menu has many desirable options. Had trouble deciding actually. Went with the jambalaya, and was not disappointed. Table location was mediocre. Would have rather had a booth. Think restaurant serves better quality food than other comparably priced restaurants. My wife loves the wine, but as a beer drinker, I think their beer selection is mediocre at best. Will definitely return. Only food recommendation is that they need to offer a side salad option. They only have entree salads, nothing that is small enough to add to a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our service was EXCELLENT! We were celebrating our 7 yr anniversary and first date 6 months after having a baby. We were seated quickly as we had reservations. Our server was very nice. The food was just ok. We weren't impressed, for the price, especially. Perhaps if we were drinking wine, we would have been impressed with the pairings, but we were not. Mary's Potatoes are really good, but I wouldn't come just for that.
What sticks out most in my memory is how COLD I was. It was like we were sitting in an icebox. I think the air conditioning was on, and didn't really need to be. Even the server said it was like they had the air/heat backwards the last few days. Difficult this time of year, but I was so cold.
Ultimately, we had a good time, but probably would only return if we got a gift card.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 25, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary at Cooper's Hawk.
The food was delicious, the service was efficient and attentive without being overbearing. Ryan, our waiter, did an excellent job.
We selected a booth for quiet conversation and to be out of the traffic flow. Mission accomplished.
My wife thoroughly enjoys the wines. The complimentary samplings make the evening even more enjoyable. It provides not only an excellent opportunity to try a wine without the per glass expense, but also affords a relaxed interaction with the wait staff.
We constantly recommend Cooper's Hawk to friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding. Our waitress was so nice and did such a great job suggesting a wine for us to try. The food was wonderful. It was a great way to spend the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Another fabulous dinner !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

First time dining here and absolutely loved it! I am a server at a downtown steakhouse and try and dine at different places frequently. Great food, service, atmosphere , and wine. I highly recommend for a date or just girl's night out!...We are already planning our next time coming back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

I generally love Coopers Hawk. Quality of food, wine and service is always excellent. The noise level, even when seated in a booth when near a large group table can be quite loud and difficult to carry on a conversation. Probably the only drawback I would note.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

As usual, Coopers Hawk did not disappoint. Our server was wonderful and the food was amazing. We did a wine tasting after dinner and had a wonderful experience. Great wine and knowledagble servers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great service and food. Loved being able to sample 2 wines per person before deciding? The only downside was the restaurant marked us as a no show for out reservation on Open Table. I then had to provide feedback to correct this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Really enjoyed our wine tasting before our dinner reservations. Only negatives were the rude gentlemen that checked us in & the lack of space in the wine tasting area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

We most recently dined at CH for my husbands birthday. Everything with our meal and service was fine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always a great meal ! Love dining there and the salmon was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was great. The waiters where very helpful and quick. They had a lard verity of wine choices. The ambiance was nice and romantic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Made reservations for wife's birthday. Everything went great, love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My experience at Cooper's Hawk was great! The food was sooo good and the service was great. I will continue to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.