About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 3175749463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
Wine
Salmon
Filet
Spaghetti With House Tomato Sauce And Ground Beef
Chicken Pot Stickers
Key Lime Pie
Chicken Parmesa
Asian Pork Belly Tostados
Reese's Ice Cream Cookie
Jalepeno Bacon Cheese Burger
Dark Chocolate Truffle
Medallions Of Beef
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Caprese Flatbread
Southwestern Eggrolls
Prime Sandwich No Bun
Ahi Tuna Wonton
Chocolate Cake
Roasted Eggplant Ravioli
Scallops
Gnocchi Carbonara
Fresh Berry Crisp
Pork medallions
Calamari
Bernaise Burger
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Cheese Plate

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Indiana
Most Booked
Indiana
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
1 More
Most Booked
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

notable wine list (180)
special occasion (167)
good for groups (135)
See All
fit for foodies (107)
romantic (92)
great for lunch (72)
great for outdoor dining (60)
neighborhood gem (42)
hot spot (38)
vibrant bar scene (28)
kid-friendly (25)
great for brunch (18)
late-night find (18)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a busy night but are food was on ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was a busy night but are food was on time servers were pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great place. We are not wine drinkers bu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place. We are not wine drinkers but really enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good variety of food and wi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Consistently good variety of food and wine! Especially love their house reserve!!! Very friendly service at the table!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall our experience was good. We hav ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall our experience was good. We have been wine club members since the restaurant opened. The service was only fair. Server was not attentive. However, we will return as we love the menu and the wine!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waitress was outstanding and the foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding and the food was impeccable. We love the benefits of our membership.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant interior was nice. Food was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Restaurant interior was nice. Food was good but not great. It was a bit loud for us. It appeared that quite a few of the patrons began the night at the wine bar and matriculated to the dining room which made it more of a party type atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great time. Good atmosphere for a chain ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great time. Good atmosphere for a chain. I would go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to Cooper's Hawk a handful o ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have been to Cooper's Hawk a handful of times and never left disappointed until recently. The noise level was quite loud when we checked in and we did not hear the hostess call our name at first. She then yelled out name and rolled her eyes when we responded. The food was subpar for Cooper's Hawk standards and our waitress seemed to forget we were there. Our potatoes were mostly burnt bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese. One of my friends got the fish and chips and the batter tasted bitter. We had to flag down our waitress to get the check before leaving. She never offered us refills, additional wine or a dessert menu. I was a little embarrassed as I had talked up the restaurant to friends that had never been and by the end of the night they had wished we had just gone through a fast food drive thru. I will return someday, but hope the experience is like the ones I've had in the past.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner. The food was delicious, especially the featured shrimp. Our server was knowledgable and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter was slow but the food made up ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The waiter was slow but the food made up for it. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

This has to be one of my very favorite p ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This has to be one of my very favorite places. She is great is great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great times with great friends. Food wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great times with great friends. Food was awesome, Gnocchi Carbonara was delish.

The server was great and very attentive. My only complaint is that it gets very loud near the kitchen area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Love this place!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good lunch, the portion was good, expens ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good lunch, the portion was good, expensive steak salad. But, it was steak!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was fantastic and our waiter Be ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fantastic and our waiter Ben was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and wine. The raspberry s ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent food and wine. The raspberry sangria is fantastic if you haven't tried, love them in the summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food/service great. Noise level awful. F ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food/service great. Noise level awful. Food was extremely slow to table.. not waitress fault. Terrible seating options . Not clean .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

We go to Coopers Hawk 2-3 times a year. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We go to Coopers Hawk 2-3 times a year. We find the food is always good and of course, the wine is usually outstanding. If you like a red blend, get the house red. It is very smooth and full of favors. The only complaint we had this time was the service seemed a little off and slow at times. We would have had another glass of wine but were never asked. Otherwise it was an enjoyable meal.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great first time experience! Food and wi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great first time experience! Food and wine tastings were delicious...thoughtful kid friendly menu also! Exceptional service!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can highly recommend Cooper's Hawk Win ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I can highly recommend Cooper's Hawk Winery and Restaurant. We had a very enjoyable time, and the ahi tuna was wonderfully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the wine list, patio, and bar. I ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love the wine list, patio, and bar. In fact, I'm not sure I've ever sat in the dining room. Whenever possible I am on the patio, enjoying some of their great wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Really nice visit and our waitress was p ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really nice visit and our waitress was patient, kind and helpful. We always enjoy sampling the wine of the month while waiting on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've enjoyed Coopera Hawk in various lo ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We've enjoyed Coopera Hawk in various locations and are never disappointed. Good food and good service. We have been a member of the wine club for many years - first in suburban Chicago and now in Naple, Florida.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great service. Feels like m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Consistently great service. Feels like my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love to look for a nice, quiet ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I always love to look for a nice, quiet place to enjoy wine and a meal. I do find the food at Cooper's Hawk very good - especially since I have Celiac disease and don't always find a restaurant willing to take that extra step to ensure I get a gluten free meal. I've eaten here several times and not been sick once, so I tend to trust them. That being said, we always seem to get seated in the noisiest spot in the place! I hate the back room - it's cold, the tables and chairs back there are uncomfortable and that room is always overly noisy. This time, we requested a seat in the main dining room. We did get that, but right next to the private area where there was a HUGE birthday party going on! The room wasn't private, but open to the main area. The noise level was so great, we couldn't carry on a conversation.

I do wish that Cooper's Hawk had a spot for couples that wanted a bit of quiet intimacy. Love the food, love the wine - just don't love the ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The building was very pretty. Our server ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The building was very pretty. Our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've never been disappointed with the m ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We've never been disappointed with the menu at Cooper's Hawk. Recently diagnosed with celiac disease, I appreciate their gluten free menu - one of the best around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Noted in comments of reservation that we ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Noted in comments of reservation that we had an infant - we were given a booth which was very uncomfortable to sit in with the infant. Hostess stated no other tables were available but we saw several in the way to our table. We have been wine club members for years and this was our first bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Not vegetarian friendly since there is o ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Not vegetarian friendly since there is only one option on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

We arrived on time for our 6:30 PM reser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We arrived on time for our 6:30 PM reservation and were seated at a table reserved for someone else. We ordered drinks, an appetizer and entrees. About an hour later our server, Haley, informed us that our appetizer would not be ready for about 40 more minutes so we canceled it. Then our entrees arrived. The drinks and the entrees were good, the service was OK, but the wait was intolerable. Haley said it was unusual for them to be so slow.

We'll probably go back sometime, but not very soon. Rather disappointed!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The description of the enree far surpass ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The description of the enree far surpassed the actual look and taste. So bad we couldn't eat it....

The appertizer was excellent. Thai lettuce wraps......

All in all not great for the cost....server was excellent. ..

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic dinner and our server Steve wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic dinner and our server Steve was superior. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful evening. Sat outside. Great fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beautiful evening. Sat outside. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Came for a birthday dinner. Service was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Came for a birthday dinner. Service was excellent and food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Food was wonderful!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service! Food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my second time to visit this re ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my second time to visit this restaurant. First time we had terrible service and was subsequently given two dinner coupons, which we used this time.

I would recommend this to others, and plan to go again myself.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Love Cooper's Hawk....just don't tell an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love Cooper's Hawk....just don't tell anyone because I don't want it to be so popular that I can't get in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Coopers Hawk. Two things - if y ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love Coopers Hawk. Two things - if you need a quiet conversation, make sure you request NOT to be in the large back room. Second, let's beg them to make the wine tasting bar larger - there is always a really good wait for a tasting. The wine tastings are fun and enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We go for dinner after our wine tasting ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We go for dinner after our wine tasting with the wine club membership. My food was, once again, totally Delicious, but my dining companion had great trouble with the kitchen coming up with anything that was both gluten and dairy free to eat. (Everything is apparently pre-soaked in butter?) ... which we found odd. She finally got a meal, and it was tasty too ... just a process to get there.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service, from the minute we walked in, w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service, from the minute we walked in, was excellent. We were 15 minutes early for our reservation, but we were seated within 2 minutes of arriving. Bruschetta, original version; we loved it. Thai lettuce wraps just as good. Salmon for main course. All 3 of us enjoyed it immensely. We want to go back for lunch; prices, without drinks, look to be very reasonable. It was not a quiet experience, though. One table near us was hitting the wine pretty hard and, as a result, forgot they were in public. Not the restaurants fault. Otherwise, all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.