About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (317) 574-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (107)
Special Occasion (99)
Good for Anniversaries (95)
See All
Good for Birthdays (92)
Notable Wine List (88)
Good for Groups (74)
Worth the Drive (68)
Casual (63)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Romantic (48)
Great for Lunch (45)
Tasting Menu (45)
Business Meals (45)
Fun (43)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Comfort Food (32)
Healthy (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Seasonal (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Disabled Access (17)
Authentic (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tapas (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort by
S
2115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 hours ago

It was great... loved our waitress!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 14 hours ago

Fantastic as always. I had the pork chop and my wife had the medallions, both were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was outstanding and the food was really good. I have been at this place several times and never been disappointed, but I have to tell that they should work on the cleanliness of the plates. If I want to eat great food I don’t want to see greasy spots and fingerprints on the plates. Other than that I pretty much like this place. Awesome wines !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my favorite places to eat after the wine tasting

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, we had an amazing time at Cooper Hawk! Look forward to returning...

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

The special of the day was surf and turf with a filet and lobster tail, it was delicious!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We’re wine club members so we frequent this location. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We have always enjoyed Cooper’s Hawk. Good service and quality food. We came for dinner with friends and this was their first visit with us. It was very cold outside this evening and we were placed at a table by the side door. It was chilly by the outside door. A customer tried to get into the restaurant thru the side door and fortunately it was locked.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Cooper's Hawk a couple of times. Twice they have been out of the cheaper unidentified Pinot Noir. I think they either are trying to "up-sell" their own wines, or they have lost the directions to Monarch. I also was not impressed with the waiter's attitude about it. We almost left the restaurant without being served, and we may not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and wine selection! The menu has a large selection to choose from. Everything we have had has been good

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Loved it !! The staff was so nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 8, 2017

loud group of younger peeps close by our table, at corner of dining room got louder as the night progressed..the rest of us could barely hear ourselves think. Need to wall them off somehow to try to quell the din.

Food delicious. LOVE that pretzel bread.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Love Cooper's Hawk. My 'go-to' place for an evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Always good food at Coopers Hawk but the noise level is pretty intense. Our waiter couldn’t seem to understand how we wanted our check divided. Overall, nice experience but might be best to ask for a quiet table if you want to have conversation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Restaurant had not been dusted lately. Food was good; server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Bree was a great server. She was very conscientious. The food wsd excellent, as always. Great attention to detail. Great service also at the wine club pickup.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Make sure the staff is aware that when the Caesar Salad is ordered with the Pesto topping that people who have tree nuts allergies should stay away from the pesto. My son has a severe allergy to tree nuts, which trigger seizures and he had the Caesar salad with the pesto dressing. It was only when he looked at me and said "Mom, my ears are itching really bad, and i looked like he was about to have an episode, that i googled what was in pesto dressing, and its "pine nut", which if you have tree nut allergies, you should stay away from it!!! I mentioned to the waitress and she was not aware of this. Inform your staff because there could be a real disaster in the future. P.S. i had mentioned my son has tree nut allergies prior to us ordering anything-not blaming her, but if staff is informed in what is included all is included in different types of foods that trigger allergies, it will just make all involved, more knowledgeable.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Had a great meal with great friends! The red sangria was yummy and the short rib risotto outstanding! We will return.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2017

In the10 years or so years I’ve exceedingly enjoyed Cooper’s Hawk, this was the first time I was disappointed. Our server seemed new, not familiar with members benifits as well he seemed swamped. (Perhaps short staffed). Nevertheless he forgot to place a to go order for one of my guest and it took more than 15 mins to get my bill straight; as a result I was late for my next engagement.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2017

There were four of us in our party. We all had different selections from the menu and they were ALL great! Our server, Robbie, was absolute perfection !!! As we were on our way to the Art Museum, we did not partake in any wine, however, as a 22-year resident of Napa Valley, I will go back to try the flights of wine with dinner, to be sure. We had a delightful time and excellent food...what more can one ask?

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We have visited Coppers many times, but this was our first experience with a group of 5. Only two of us were able to arrive on time, but one was 15 mins late and the other two were 20 min late. We told the manager that we wanted to be seated bc we had a reservation and dud not want to stand for another 15 or 20 mins waiting for the rest of our party to arrive. We were appalled that he refused to seat us. He finally agreed yo let us be seated once the third person arrived. I didn't quite understand bc the table was supposed to be available to us at our reservation time, so we should have been able up sit and relax at our table, enjoying drinks and appetizers while waiting for the rest if our party. Needless to say, we will go back for a girls night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Love Cooper's Hawk. Customer service is outstanding. James is the absolute BEST in the tasting room. Food is excellent quality and love that they have monthly specials.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Good food, good wine for catching up with an old friend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Best place in Indy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Had a lovely time with friends. Appreciated our server Nick and the General Manager Ryan. Everything was wonderful, I will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We eat out on occasion, but my husband is in the business. We had the most wonderful server we have ever run across! Her name was Bree and she was kind, friendly, attentive and just the BEST! Whatever you are paying her - it isn't enough. Bree is everything an ideal server should be. The wedge salad was excellent, the Baramundi sauce was a bit overpowering with citrus but the meal was enjoyable none the less. Wine of the month was amazing! The only other thing was the noise level but I expect that was beyond your control. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Egg rolls are amazing!!! Chef special , a seafood ravioli , was to die for. Love being part of the wine club and having our wine available for dinner at the restaurant . Pretzel bread is also great!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Cooper's Hawk stated they didn't get the message from Open Table that the dinner was for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. That was a huge disappointment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Great food and service! Also love the wine and gift shop— unusual gifts available

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The jambalaya was tasty but had a lot of rice. My shrimp and polenta was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is as reliable. They could almost survive just by serving the Soy Ginger Salmon but there are lots of other very good choices on the menu. Our group had the Pork Belly Tostada appetizers along with the Fish & Chips, Red Wine Braised Short Ribs, Pistachio Crusted Grouper, Parmesan Crusted Chicken, and the Soy Ginger Salmon. Everything was delicious. The service is always adequate. Cooper's Hawk menu is broad enough to appeal to many different tastes with just enough imagination to veer a bit outside of the lines. We always go when trying to appeal to a group with varying tastes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Tapas, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Only negative was the amount of flies flying around! A fruit fly actually died in my husbands wine. He did not bring it to the attention of the server... we are wine club members and have been since the location opened. No complaints about the food and service on my husbands birthday... early Sunday lunch and it was very quiet! 👍

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

We had a bad experience. I'm sure it was not the usual experience, did see others having the problem we did. Started with appetizer and continued through the entree. We were there two and a half hours. They tried to make it right by comping our drinks (soft drinks only), appetizer, my wife's entree, and desert. Long night and bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Great Service! Our server was friendly and knowledgeble!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Our waitresss was personable and provided responsive service. Food was on par from previous visits. A most disruptive larger group (12-15 individuals) made it very hard for us and other guests sitting near our table to converse and enjoy our special meal. It was disappointing the restaurant did not anticipate this potential occurrence and placed this larger group in a more private setting so all could had an enjoyable time together. If there is a next time, I will request to be seated in a quieter section of the restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2017

After a long day of shopping, Coopers Hawk was the perfect mix of classy yet casual. All the food we had was amazing and the drinks definitely hit the spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Seated quickly before our reservation. Pretzel bread and bruschetta appetizer is delicious. Main course pistachio crusted grouper has too much oil and other added fat on the side. Side dishes are tasty. Service was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Amazing and they give two free fine samples per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We asked our waitress to charge all but $20.00 to our debit card and our daughter was paying the $20.00 on her card. Our total Bill was $101.70. This was Thanksgiving evening. But she made several mistakes when she went to run the cards. She ending up charging us the $81.07 and also our daughter was charged the $20 plus the 81.07. She never told us about the mess up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.