About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (317) 574-9463 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (126)
Good for a Date (124)
Special Occasion (116)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (100)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Casual (78)
Good for Groups (77)
Romantic (73)
Worth the Drive (66)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Fun (55)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Modern Decor (51)
Business Meals (47)
Cozy (47)
Tasting Menu (47)
Great for Lunch (39)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Comfort Food (36)
Bar Seating (31)
Gluten Free Options (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Healthy (26)
Happy Hour (26)
Outstanding Value (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Seasonal (20)
Authentic (19)
Private Room (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Family Style (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Disabled Access (11)
People Watching (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fireplace (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Spicy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience. Great food and service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent. Prepared and served as requested. The recommendations from our Wait staff - was perfect and the "Peach Sangria" was absolutely "yummy" ! We dined sufficiently- we practically needed to be rolled out to the car ~ we were so full !!! Will recommend Cooper Hawk to friends and family.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Always enjoy the food at Cooper's Hawk as we have been going there for years. Went the other night for dinner for a birthday celebration but we did not inform the waiter. Finished a good meal but the waiter didn't ask us if we would like a dessert. Upon paying he noticed we had a credit for a birthday and asked us if we wanted to use it towards the bill, which we did. Even then we thought he would ask us about having dessert but he did not.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Our Server Shae was attentive and knowledgable about the menu and wines.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious as usual. Love bringing friends who have never visited to this restaurant- never a disappointment. My friend got the surf & turf and loved it. So great for kids, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a treat! Especially love the potstickers and wonderful Asian slaw. A little disappointed at the tasting bar, though. We love James because he is so knowledgeable and friendly, but he was in the sales area instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was exceptional besides our service . This was our first time there , and our waitress wasn't very helpful or attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our server was wonderful. Everything we ordered was just as expected and delicious. We love Cooper's Hawk especially for date nights or to bring out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I am glad we got there early though because part of the fun was to wine taste and it was very crowded. It may need to be bigger and more servers behind the bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Coopers Hawk is always a fun dining experience! Great, unique food and wine choices.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great dinner. Fun atmosphere. Delicious food plus a winery area that we didn't even get to experience, but it looked exciting for all patrons.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A bit tacky--you basically walk into a gift store--and service left something to be desired at this chain restaurant, but the short ribs were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall good experience, varied menu with offerings for most every taste.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was good, but the noise level was too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a couples get together (2 couples including us) to discuss some church related business and to fellowship together. we were seated in a booth comfortably fitting 4. Our waitress was very good and explained the wine service, offered samples, and was very informative. The food itself was very good as always when we visited in the past. We've been to Coopers at least 6 times now if not more. It's one of our reliable places to go to for a guaranteed good meal. I got my dessert to go and it was wrapped well along with our leftovers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday dinner before going to the symphony. Great food and wine, will go again for sure.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always can find something good on the menu. Service was ok but server appeared in experienced and did not know what a Dewars and soda with a twist was. Noise level was high making table conversation and communication with server difficult.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Coopers Hawk. It is our favorite place to go for special occasions. Excellent food, great staff, delicious wine. Overall terrific experinces each time we go! We have recommended this place to several people. Some of our favorite things to order are the trio of medallions, mashed potatoes, the lobster bisque, the calamari is amazing, the asian pork belly tostadas are fantastic. My husband loves the short rib risotto & the chicken picatta. For dessert the ooey gooey butter cake & the s'more budino are fantastic! Favorite wine choices are passion fruit & blueberry. Those are just some of the delicious things we have enjoyed there- I am sure anything would be equally yummy & the service is always exceptional & they are very helpful & on point with their recommendations! One of our top choices for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I chose to take my wife out to Cooper's Hawk for Valentine's Day evening with reservations at 7:30 pm, and unfortunately they obviously were not prepared for the crowd on a Tuesday night holiday. We were not the only table having issues with service delays and food not properly prepared. The vegetables were hard and cold. The wait staff was stretched thin, and two hours later we decided against ordering dessert just to get out of there. This seemed like poor management to me. Sorry - we wanted at least a good experience for our $120.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's dinner. Service was understandably slow but our server really took care of us to make it right. He comped my wine and packed a little dessert to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We really appreciate the gluten free menu and the numerous choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely Valentine's Day. Perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was fantastic,the timing was good waiter excellent service,good restaurant to have dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Dined @ Cooper's Hawk for a "girl's night out". Loved the two wine samples. Our waitress was wonderful! Food was good; Salted Caramel Creme Brulee' was delicious. The menu is pricey, which makes Cooper's Hawk a special occasion option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a Great experience! We were celebrating Valentines Day. Perfect!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great time with the wine tasting and meal. Service was excellent, food was delicious - looking forward to coming back again soon!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent wine + cocktail list. We ordered a Skirt Steak and Filet that were both cooked perfectly. Server had good recommendations.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Once ordered, the entrees took forever to receive and weren't very good once they finally arrived. My chicken was dry and chewy and my potato dish (Mary's or Betty's or something) was bland. My date's vegetables were mostly raw and cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wine was excellent. Server was attentive but food order took too long. Food was mediocre.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a great meal and atmosphere. I've been a wine club member for years and have never been disappointed in a meal or tasting.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I ate here the day before he left for bootcamp & we loved everything about it. It's was a fun modern place to spend our last evening together. We both left impressed and excited to go back when he's back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful wine list. As a foodie, the food was not what I expected.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took my sweetie for Valentine dinner and place was very busy, especially at entrance. Lots of people trying to get in to both the tasting room and the dining room. Recommend they separate those two with different entrances. Overall evening was special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second time eating at Coopers Hawk. We visited for an early Valentines Day dinner. The food is out of this world.... we absolutely love the trio of medallions, and the Ahi appetizer melts in your mouth. Our 13 yr old even got the cheese burger and could not stop raving about how good it was. We will definitely be back more frequently to try some of their other items.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really enjoyed dining and sampling wine, there own specialty wines were very delicious with a wide variety. My bourbon BBQ entree was beyond exceptional delicious and worth every penny I spent, I feel the prices for entrees were a little on the higher end for some of the other dishes we saw served or had ordered ourselves. The biggest downfall honestly was that I wished that our server had suggested some samples and offered them a little more, it was very veague when greeting us and explaining the menu became the main point instead of trying to offer us their specialty wines. I feel this would enhance their specialty wines a bit more, since this was the main reason why we went. I only know about their rewards program from friends telling me, it was never mentioned and I would have loved the chance to get more face to face information, as well as to keep me coming back more frequently. I most certainly will be back and have a better upper hand on how to gage the evening to get a full taste of what Cooper's Hawk has to offer.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was another wonderful evening with family enjoying delicious food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place, but was the worst table location ever. They put in extra tables for Valentine's Day, and should have skipped these.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is our go to place to eat when I want something delicious and some good drinks.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We enjoyed Cooper's Hawk for my birthday dinner with family visiting! It was a great, sophisticated atmosphere, but I still didn't feel bad for bringing my 17 month old, and our server was great with her! I wish the back room setting was a little cozier, but otherwise, amazing food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was, excellent, as usual, it came out quickly, was completely correct, and at the right temperature. However, the service from our waiter was a bit off on this particular night. That's never happened before, so our waiter could just have been having a bad day. All of the other staff with whom we interacted were, as usual, very pleasant and helpful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Wait staff was excellent and very engaging. We're wine club members and they asked if we'd like to taste the monthly selection, the Zin Shiraz. We liked it and had one bottle with our delicious flat breads and salad.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We met 2 couples while wine tasting. One was not a member and we talked them into becoming members. The other couple we met we ended up having dinner with them. James was awesome in the tasting room. Rhyn was an excellent server. Food and drink is always good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Love this place. Love the wine club. Great program.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my wine flight and all the food. The service was excellent (ask for Deb!). The wine club is a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amy is a great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

As always Cooper's Hawk was amazing and did not disappoint. My wife ordered a dish with onion rings and I don't even like onion rings and they were delicious. I got my favorite red wine braised short ribs. It's like moms pot roast but so much better. As always the wine is great and the food is great to go with it. Arrive about a half hour before your reservation if you want to do a wine tasting!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service. Enjoyed wine tasting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We love this place, wonderful wine and food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the Wine tasting room with sweet treat bar. Food was good not great. I would recommend. We took advantage of Devour Indy to try CH. We found it fun and inviting. The wait at the Wine Tasting Room was long and very crowded but well worth it. Enjoyed the wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We love Cooper's Hawk and stop in whenever we are in Indy. The menu is diverse and we've enjoyed every entree and appetizer we have ever tried. Portion sizes are large enough to share.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.