About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis

3815 E. 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Keystone and Allisonville Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 574-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 3175749463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Indiana
Most Booked
Indiana
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
2 More
Contemporary American
Indianapolis
Most Booked
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

notable wine list (232)
special occasion (208)
good for groups (157)
See All
fit for foodies (139)
romantic (123)
great for lunch (95)
hot spot (63)
neighborhood gem (47)
great for outdoor dining (47)
vibrant bar scene (46)
great for brunch (24)
late-night find (24)
kid-friendly (21)
scenic view (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Ben was a great server. He gave great ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Ben was a great server. He gave great recommendations on wine, food and other drinks.

food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Love the food and wine. But it is so lou ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love the food and wine. But it is so loud that even the waitress was yelling.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service2

The food was amazing and always has been ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing and always has been on each visit. The service wasn't as good as ive normally experienced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised by this Indianapol ...

Dined 7 days ago

Pleasantly surprised by this Indianapolis gem. The food and wine were excellent and the service very accommodating. I will definitely return my next time in Indy.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Tasting then on the Patio

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a group of 4 and enjoyed the wine tasting and then had dinner on the patio. It was a nice evening and everyone enjoyed the tasting and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved it and enjoyed the tableside wine ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved it and enjoyed the tableside wine tasting. The food was delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My wife and I had been there before and ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had been there before and really enjoy the food and the special drinks. However, our server this time didn't seem to want us to stay long. When taking my empty plate, he took the bread also (I was still working on that). He also took what was left of my wife's drink when he took my empty glass. She was shocked and stated that she was NOT finished. We normally tip very generously- not this time. We will go back again, because, all things considered, it is a great place to dine. But in the future, we will request to NOT be in Jared's section. All servers we've met up until this visit have been outstanding!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A bit bumpy but still a good evening

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We went here for dinner on Saturday night. Sat outside which was wonderful except we were right under the speakers and it was a bit too loud to have a conversation. Began to give me a headache by the end of dinner. Our server was not very good. Long waits between ordering our drinks and getting them. Then no bread until I asked for it. We placed our orders my husband ordered the fish and chips which was excellent. One of the few we've had here in Indy that has beer batter! I ordered the Chicken Madeira. When it arrived it didn't look anything like what I remembered. Turns out it wasn't even chicken - it was fish! Our server was very good apologetic and told me to eat what I could from the dinner and they would get me the correct entrée. It took awhile for it to show up and quite honestly by the time it arrived I really wasn't in the mood to eat it. We did package up the leftovers and took them home. Our bill came and they had removed my entrée from the bill. This really was not necessary since I did eventually get what I had ordered but it was very much appreciated since our dinner was a bit awkward with the mistake. We always love CH and we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was beautifully presented and of ex ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was beautifully presented and of excellent quality. Superb service!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Noisy

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had a reservation for 8:15 and received a text at that time to let me know my table was ready but it was so loud we did not hear the phone. We also didn't know they would be texting. We were finally seated at 8:35

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice quiet table which was great for conversation with friends. Service and food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Food and service were very good. Enjoyed ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food and service were very good. Enjoyed our visit

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was fantastic and went out of hi ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Service was fantastic and went out of his way to alter a meal due to our own over site on the contents. Never asked for more water or help. Food came out quickly and to our liking. Well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual - loved our server! ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Wonderful as usual - loved our server! Tried something new this visit, the surf and turf. Will definitely order that again - superb. Also purchased a bottle of your new lemoncello which we are looking forward to trying.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Arizona

Dined on May 15, 2016

The server had too many tables. She never asked us for any drink refills. One of us had the wine tasting and wanted to order a glass of wine and we couldn't flag down the server. There were 6 of us, with only 2 loaves of bread. We were never asked if we wanted anymore. The servers who brought the food "plunked" the plates down hard on the table. Just need to go over GOOD service with the staff.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the shrimp and polenta.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love the shrimp and polenta.

food5
ambience5
service5

Salmon was great.... The Drunken Shrimp ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Salmon was great.... The Drunken Shrimp became "Trumped Shimp" ... So that's and indication the wine was great! Birthday chocolate ball was a nice touch too.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our first time at Cooper's. The ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first time at Cooper's. The food was not delivered hot. We had a total of 5 entrees. The Cheeseburger was the best. The rest of the meals were ok, but nothing worth writing about. The wines were also only average.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was fantastic and made our fi ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic and made our first time wonderful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great as always!

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was great as always!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first-time at restaurant and serve ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first-time at restaurant and server took the time to explain the wine selection and the menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Dining Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my Mother, Aunt and great smile friend for Mother's Day! They were ecstatic--the food was delicious, served promptly and piping hot! Our server was pleasant and the staff was outstanding! Have already raved about it to others! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sample of wine, good service, food was g ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Sample of wine, good service, food was good and friendly staff

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant!!! I had my wedding din ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Restaurant!!! I had my wedding dinner there years ago!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant for Special Occasion

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day lunch was excellent!!! We will most likely choose Cooper's Hawk again next year.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Birthday Celebration Location

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family and I dined at Cooper's Hawk for my birthday, complete with wine tasting and dinner. The wine tasting was excellent, and I highly recommend the Almond Sparkling as it was a uniquely exquisite drink we all tried. The calamari appetizer is a must have, and the entrees were all delicious. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the drink and menu list. Highly recommend this location to other parties.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Family Moment

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our daughter surprised my wife by unexpectedly meeting us for dinner at Cooper's Hawk. She will soon deploy for Iraq with her military unit in August. Cooper's Hawk made the occasion special for all of us. We enjoyed our meals and were very happy with the overall experience. The food is consistently very good with a nice selection of entrees. It was probably the best mother's day moment we've shared as a family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wine recommendations and samples are helpful

Dined on May 7, 2016

Numbers next to all the food items suggest a wine pairing. 2 samples of wine are offered to each guest. This saved my wife from ordering the red bordeaux wine that was suggested with her meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was excellent. She always as ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The waiter was excellent. She always asked was there anything we needed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wow!

Dined on May 7, 2016

the food was out of this world. the wine tasting with Jordan and Michael was so much fun and very professional. Terri was our server and she knocked it out of the park. she recommended a new Brussels sprout salad that was to die for, a pasta dish that i now crave, and the most delicious S'mores dessert. I love this place and will be back this weekend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We love it every time, any time. I go for lunch with clients, lunch with friends. We go with friends and family. Sometimes we have dinner, sometimes we all share appetizers. Love the wine of the month club.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Go at least 45 minutes early and do a wi ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Go at least 45 minutes early and do a wine tasting -- well worth the cost. The food here is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on May 4, 2016

First visit and will return. Service, food, wine list were very good. Wine flights are very good if you'd like to try several wines and the staff was very knowledgeable about wines, food, etc. Wonderful evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOT disappointed!!

Dined on May 4, 2016

I was introduced to Cooper's Hawk in Orlando, FL due to it's extensive gluten free menu. It was a fabulous experience there so I decided to check it out in my home town of Indianapolis. Again, the experience was excellent! I took guests who are already planning to go again. I just wish there was one located on the south side of Indianapolis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Just go for the Tuna alone is worth the trip

Dined on May 3, 2016

Blackened Ahi Tuna with the Slaw / Rice and Wasabi sauce is absolutely awesome. I would go just for the fish alone. Don't miss it.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

So much for so little

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was fair - not GR8! Pricey for so little... looks better than it is.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Bad night

Dined on April 30, 2016

If last nights dinner experience at Cooper's Hawk would have been our first we would probably not return again. We were seated in the back dining room, it was very loud, and the food was average. Our service was very poor, dinner came with items missing, and the server never checked back with us after our meals were served. We had to ask another waiter to find our waiter to pay our bill. It took over 10 minutes for the server to finally pick up the bill from our table. This was especially disappointing since we are wine club members and we came with another couple after telling them how wonderful Cooper's Hawk has always been in the past.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants

Dined on April 30, 2016

We received complimentary flutes of sparkling wine from the manager to celebrate our birthday/anniversary dinner. Both the food and the service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time at Cooper's Hawk ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Cooper's Hawk. Strongly recommend the Calamari appetizer & Wedge Salad! Service was great too!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.