Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (184)
Good for a Date (176)
Special Occasion (172)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (125)
Good for Birthdays (110)
Romantic (96)
Good for Groups (93)
Casual (92)
Worth the Drive (76)
Business Meals (76)
Great for Lunch (76)
Fun (72)
Happy Hour (68)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Tasting Menu (52)
Sunday Lunch (47)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Hot Spot (45)
Bar Seating (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Cozy (37)
People Watching (36)
Comfort Food (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Gluten Free Options (22)
Authentic (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Late-night Find (16)
Modern Decor (12)
Seasonal (12)
Tapas (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (0)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
2333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 8 hours ago

We made reservations for 7:15. We had to wait until 7:40 to be seated which was no problem but the only option we were given was to sit on the patio when our reservations were for dining room seating. We tried to ask about the status of our reservations while we were waiting and it seemed like it was information was being withheld about our table. Other couples came in after us with 7:15 dinner reservations and were seated before us. When we were finally seated out on the patio we sat for a very long time without service. There was confusion who our server was. So we left and ended up having a much better time and experience at a different steak restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Good place. It took awhile for our server to get into a positive, helpful mode. However, once she did, it was a nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

The chef was a little off today. Has to send food back because it was not medium as requested. Also the pasta was a tad dry. Normally we enjoy, I would still return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

I brought my mom to Cooper's Hawk for her (60th!!) birthday. It was her first time, and she loved it! Our server Michael was fantastic. Friendly and attentive but didn't hover. We took our time with a couple of flights before ordering lunch, and he wasn't at all annoyed that we were camping... or that we kept wandering out to the patio to check out the eclipse. The food was delicious (we each had a bowl of lobster bisque and split the scallops risotto) and the wine was excellent as well. Great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a reservation at 6:45, seated at 7:10, server was great however food was bland. Would not recommend for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a lovely anniversary dinner at Cooper's Hawk based on a recommendation from friends. We were not familiar with the wine, so we tried a couple flights. We had salads. I highly recommend the Mediterranean dressing. My husband had the surf (Grouper) & turf (pork chop) and I had the Grouper. Both were delicious. We topped off the evening with dessert (he had the banana bread pudding) and I had a cabernet truffle (Yum).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious and service was great. Temperature within the restaurant was far too cold though, so we rushed through the meal. Would have enjoyed relaxing and enjoying things a bit longer.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Good experience testing, then great service with Brian. Tuna sashimi was a excellent. We shared a bottle of Super Tuscan, which was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time. Made reservations for 7:30, but had to wait for the wine tasting. CH adjusted our seating until we completed the tasting. That was diffidently a nice thing to do. Food was great, but had to wait a little for it to arrive (place was packed). I would do it again and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and wine selection. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good, but it took 40 minutes for it to finally reach the table. I could understand if it was busy, but it clearly wasn't. There was plenty of empty tables around. The waitress was apologetic, but that was it. Plenty of other places to go and not have to wait that long.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Could use more vegetarian and vegan options. Overall a very good dining experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

We go to Cooper's Hawk every year for my wife's bday. It never disappoints. The food is good as well as every other aspect.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary, Beautiful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time to the restaurant. The food was great and the service was excellent. Will definitely be back in the near future!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Cooper's Hawk is always a favorite of ours for date night and time away from kids. Food is exquisite and wine is always satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

We did a wine tasting before dinner. The tasting bar area gets very crowded so plan on waiting for a spot at the bar. The lunch and dinner menu is concise but appealing. The do have only their house brand wines which limits selections, but most are very good. Our dinner service and meal were great. I recommend you make reservations for dinner as it gets very busy.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service -friendly staff
Will be back soon I hope

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Started with a wonderful wine tasting and followed by an incredible dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

excellent GF options, staff knows how to prepare meals for celiac patrons
Will return when in Columbus

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

As always, an excellent meal and attentive server. Friendly atmosphere. Food is top notch, consistent and a wonderful assortment of creative dishes. Excellent Wine selection as well. My "go-to" restaurant when in Columbus. You won't regret going!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We did a wine tasting, which was wonderful and a great value for the price. Our server was incredible, even comping the dessert because it was burnt. Our appetizer and enteees were both absolutely delicious. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Had dinner with wife, Goddaughter and spouse. I had the Blackened Ahi Tuna dinner which was wonderful. We are wine club members and enjoy CH very much and dine there often. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. For the last three years three of us celebrate our August birthdays together at Coopers Hawk. Always a very enjoyable evening

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Enjoyed an early dinner on Sunday. The service was very good with an attentive server; table was ready at the reservation time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food and delicious wine! The gifting area is dangerous - especially after a few glasses of wine! You'll end up walking out with a case of wine and gifts for the whole family! Such a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went here for a girls night out dinner. Wanted to catch up while having drinks, appetizers, entrees and more drinks. We felt like we were being rushed by the waitress the entire evening. Also an important note, not all menu items are described accurately, so be very specific if there is a food you cannot eat. The food and drinks were good but with all the other restaurants in the area, I probably won't return to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent place to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Outstanding food & service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great experience there the only thing that was disappointing was that they were all out of the egg roll appetizers that my kids and me love! They were going to have that as there meal and nobody offered to do anything for us because they were out of the egg rolls. Other than that everything was great!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overall, a nice but mundane experience. The restaurant is beautiful, but somewhat cold and sterile. It isn't very intimate. The service was amazing and the wine and beer was very good, but the food was lacking. It is at the same price point as Brio, but I would choose Brio 10/10 timea.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our first time and we will definitely go back! The wine was amazing, the food was amazing...really everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Enjoyed the food. The service was great. Its very loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

At first, I was not able to eat anything but the Hummus plate. Now there are some alternatives on the menus that I can eat. I am a vegan. I loved the brussel sprouts that I ordered a couple of days ago....I am happy that they now, have some items on the menu that can be altered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I've dined here several times and have enjoyed each meal. The only issue I have is with wine club, there often isn't a place to sample wines because the three areas are always full. New people coming in have to wait until others leave or are seated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Fantastic menu with lots of creative and appealing choices. Prices are moderate especially considering high quality of food, casually elegant setting, and superior service from start to finish. Also a good and affordable choice of wines by the glass or bottle as you would hope and expect for a place that calls itself a winery. It is ALWAYS a pleasure to dine here. Columbus has lots of restaurants that score high on service and moderate pricing, but very few can match the consistently high quality and variety of food choices here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was great. While I enjoyed the Short Rib Risotto, my mother was thrilled with the spaghetti and meatballs. The Wine of the Month - Collaboration Deux - was a tasty pairing with our entrees. Our server (David) was thorough, humorous and attentive to all tables and diners assigned to him. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Enjoyed my experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Try the shaved roasted brussel sprouts - they are the best

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The cripsy Brussel sprout appetizer was fabulous, the aioli was perfect with the crispy sprouts, and the spicy thai sauce was delicious as well. I will get this appetizer again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.