About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (149)
Notable Wine List (148)
Special Occasion (138)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (116)
Good for Birthdays (88)
Romantic (84)
Good for Groups (81)
Worth the Drive (67)
Modern Decor (65)
Fun (64)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Casual (61)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Great for Lunch (51)
Business Meals (51)
Happy Hour (50)
Tasting Menu (48)
Hot Spot (46)
Cozy (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Comfort Food (40)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Outstanding Value (29)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Healthy (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
People Watching (23)
Authentic (20)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Private Room (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Seasonal (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Family Style (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Fireplace (10)
Scenic View (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Tapas (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1790 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this place and have dined on numero ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place and have dined on numerous occasions. Service was dreadful, however was rescued at the end my amazing customer service that covered the meal. Great food and amazing wine!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is now my favorite restaurant! Love ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

This is now my favorite restaurant! Loved every bite! Service was awesome! Wine was superb and mixed drinks. Food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Cooper's Hawk, I had heard ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

First time to Cooper's Hawk, I had heard and read lots of mixed reviews about this restaurant. So my husband and I decided that it would be a good idea to go during restaurant week to try it. We were pleasantly surprised by our visit. Our server was fabulous, she was informative and knowledgeable about the wines and gave us great suggestions. The wine list had a variety of wines to choose from sparkling to dry reds. Our food presentation and portion was nice. As for the food it was hot and tasty. I have nothing bad to say, I am looking forward to going back in a few weeks.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always have a great experience at Coo ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

We always have a great experience at Cooper's Hawk. Highly recommend getting there early for a wine flight. The bar area fills up quickly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday 1/21/17

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday 1/21/17

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We were celebrating a birthday and resta ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday and restaurant week. Noise level was quite high and we were unable to reach the taste testing bar so just ordered a favorite wine.

Upstairs was much less loud and allowed for more comfortable dining.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service was great, every ti ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service was great, every time we dine hear, we are not disappointed. We were out for a late dinner after a movie and knowing it was restaurant week, thought the food and service would be sub-par, but it was not. great restaurant, food wine and customer service and we will continue to dine at this establishment in the future.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, , Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was great. We ar ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

The overall experience was great. We arrived and checked in at the host desk. The staff was friendly and we were seated about 15 minutes from arrival. It was a little over the reservation time. Our waiter was courteous, informative and attentive. The food was absolutely delicious and the portions sizes were hearty. I couldn't even eat my dessert but took it to go. The 3 layer chocolate cake was sinfully delicious! Thanks for a super great experience

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

1st time visiting, had heard great thing ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

1st time visiting, had heard great things. Overall just wasn't that impressed. Food was alright, cooked well but not spectacular, flavor was lacking. Also had to wait for 20 minutes to be seated with a reservation. Wine selection however was enjoyable. Probably won't go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic as usual. We love trying all o ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic as usual. We love trying all of the different wines, but the food is the best part.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and atmosphere, but the servic ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and atmosphere, but the service was bad as far as our waitress. The hostess wasn't very friendly either nor were the wine ladies.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Mya did a great job as our server. Menu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Mya did a great job as our server.

Menu is solid and a great lunch spot when you want to branch out from the usual chain locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I would only recommend this restaurant a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

I would only recommend this restaurant at the least busy time of the day (aka not dinner time). Although the food was good, we waited 50 minutes to be seated WITH a reservation. I would still recommend a reservation because the people without them waited even longer, but if it hadn't been for the restaurant week menu we would have left to go somewhere else. The waiter did an excellent job, it was just the hostess staff that were not well organized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a wonderful experience during res ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience during restaurant week! Good was very good quality and delicious! The service was quick and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I had the pretzel crusted pork and it was amazing! I highly recommend dining her. I know I will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, , Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening out at Cooper's Hawk. Husb ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Great evening out at Cooper's Hawk. Husband's meal came out incorrect, but this was quickly fixed. I had the lobster bisque soup as an appetizer and the chef's selection: Parmesan and wild mushroom crusted chicken over a mushroom risotto with a glass of chardonnay. I would gladly order this again. The service was outstanding. Staff were all very professional. The ambiance is very nice. I'd recommend the restaurant for an evening out with friends, a date, or a business dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Between being seated 50 minutes AFTER my ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Between being seated 50 minutes AFTER my reservation time, my entree coming out before my soup/salad, lack of attentive service from our server, no apology from management about the problems, the most bland jambalaya I've had in my life and potatoes that tasted like they were made with sour cheese or milk, I've never been more disgusted with a dining experience. A waste of 3 hours of the never ending dinner that I'll never get back. Your management needs to learn how to communicate, follow up and make things right. Your staff needs to learn to be attentive, follow up and actually check on their tables. I'm just appalled that I wasted $100 on a Wednesday night dinner for awful food and service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Myself, my husband, and another couple v ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Myself, my husband, and another couple visited Cooper's Hawk for our first dining experience during Restaurant Week. The only reason that Cooper's Hawk isn't receiving all 5's is due to our reservation being at 7:00pm, and not being seated until 7:45pm. I wish this was an exaggeration! There was no accommodation either, like a single free sample of wine (which were being passed around another group) or anything. We were told when we checked in at 6:53pm that they were behind about 15 minutes. I checked in again at 7:25pm, finding there were still 6 tables (2 were about to be seated) in front of us. My time is very valuable and this 45 minute delay may cause me not to dine at Cooper's Hawk in the future. Bad first impression.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Coopers Hawk during restaurant w ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Coopers Hawk during restaurant week. The prefix menu was a true bargain, excellent choices (their popular dishes). We walked away stuffed for $25 per person. I do not order Italian at a nonitalian restaurant but got the spaghetti and meatballs, excellent! Simple tasty sauce, eldente pasta and to die for meatballs. Go!!

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a terrific time! Great ambiance, ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a terrific time! Great ambiance, service and food. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

ENJOYED OUR RESTAURANT WEEK DINNER...LOT ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

ENJOYED OUR RESTAURANT WEEK DINNER...LOTS OF FOOD AND GREAT DESSERT!GOOD SERVICE AND WINE WAS A GOOD VALUE ON HAPPY HOUR!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have been to Cooper's Hawk multiple ti ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Cooper's Hawk multiple times and have yet to be disappointing. Everything from the wine to the food is fantastic.This past time I went with my mom for restaurant week and we were both blown away again. For a $25 prix fixe meal you had the option between 3 starters, 3 entrees and 3 desserts. The wedge salad was my first choice and it was fabulous, not to mention HUGE. It was the size of an entree salad. Next was Dana's Parmesan Chicken which is always tasty and once again HUGE portions, it included two whole chicken breasts, cheesy potatoes and green beans. I had enough leftovers for 2 days! The final course was the salted caramel creme brulee . It was good but very very rich. I would have been happier with the original creme brulee but none the less I left feeling very satisfied and will be back soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, , Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk is a great place to eat,ho ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Cooper's Hawk is a great place to eat,however,on this particular night they were having their "wine club" upstairs in a loft area and there was a person talking very loudly on a microphone. She was so loud that we couldn't even have a decent conversation at our table. We spoke with the manager and asked if her microphone could be turned down and she said there were 75 people up there, but that she would try. Nothing was turned down, so I can only assume that the wine club patrons are more important to them than the restaurant customers. This was restaurant week and this totally ruined our dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Took a group of clients and associates f ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Took a group of clients and associates for dinner

Great value and very good food and service.

Tags: , Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I have been here several times, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Although I have been here several times, I particularly loved today's very tasty meal

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Comfort Food,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was great! Didn't care for the c ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Service was great! Didn't care for the caramel Creme Brule. They were also out of 2 restaurant week items 2 hours before closing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good. Noise level was defi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was very good. Noise level was definitely energetic. I would call it very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was very slow. Nice waitress. No ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Service was very slow. Nice waitress. Not her fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were pretty disappointed with our exp ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were pretty disappointed with our experience. We went for restaurant week. I was devastated to hear they "ran out" of the s'more dessert they were offering for restaurant week even though I am pretty sure we overheard someone else order it later in the evening. It took 45 minutes to receive our appetizer which was a bit too salty. The entree was okay but I definitely wouldn't order it again (Parmesan crusted chicken). I am definitely not in a hurry to go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful atomsphere and perfect fro a b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful atomsphere and perfect fro a business dinner. Lots of gluten free options as well !

Wines were outof this world

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, excellent food in an excellent ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 16, 2017

As usual, excellent food in an excellent atmosphere!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought husband here for Bday, had nev ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I brought husband here for Bday, had never been before. Steak not cooked to order, wrong side dishes. Too crowded to wait for new plates of food to be cooked. Left with only WINE in our bellies. Glad we got home safe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Food was AMAZING! I had the Filet Mignon ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was AMAZING! I had the Filet Mignon and it was mouth watering! The wine is so delicious, and the workers are very knowledgeable, and aware. Love this place! It's a favorite of mine and my friends!

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Family Style, Cozy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fun, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The craziness as you walk in the front d ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The craziness as you walk in the front door needs to be managed by someone. We had never been there before so it took us a minute to realize where to go to check in for our reservation. The young lady at that counter wasn't very friendly, she checked us in and then didn't tell us anything. We didn't know if we should wait there or anything. The large crowd made it difficult to hear when they called us for the table. Wanted to become a member but no one talked to us about it. Service was fantastic at dinner but very loud and hard to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our friends first time to your restauran ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our friends first time to your restaurant and it was fabulous as always. Clancy was an awesome waiter and it was our first time dining upstairs.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations were honored promptly on th ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Reservations were honored promptly on the Friday night of our visit. Service was attentive without being intrusive or rushed. Entire party enjoyed cocktails or wine. Egg roll appetizer is our favorite. Three in our party ordered steaks to varying degrees of doneness and all were cooked to perfection. Special requests were handled without issue. We were delighted we also saved room for dessert. Cooper's Hawk at Easton Town Center has an electric vibe, great drinks, awesome wine, and excellent food. The restaurant is one of our top five regular stops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here, but it won't be our las ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time here, but it won't be our last! The atmosphere as soon as we walked in was exciting. The food was excellent. Our waiter, Kyle, was wonderful with suggestions on different wines and they were great. The meal was also an excellent value. Definitely will come again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places.

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Groups, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the decor of this place, and the st ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love the decor of this place, and the staff is very knowledgeable of the wine! My favorite spot for wine and dine

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed wine tasting before dinner. The ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Enjoyed wine tasting before dinner. The Churrasco grilled steak was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great! Our waiter Brian was rea ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was great! Our waiter Brian was really good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.