About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 6144286999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Thanksgiving with Cooper's Hawk. Reserve your table.

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

Notable Wine List (225)
Special Occasion (198)
Good for Groups (133)
See All
Romantic (117)
Fit for Foodies (109)
Great for Lunch (98)
Hot Spot (70)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Great for Brunch (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Late-night Find (24)
Casual (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Tasting Menu (18)
Fun (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Modern Decor (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Scenic View (9)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Family Style (4)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The patio was a great setting for lunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The patio was a great setting for lunch with a friend. The service and food were very good, as usual, and the fact that there are so many options on the menu is reason enough to choose Cooper's Hawk for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought a business associate with me f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

I brought a business associate with me for dinner and ordered a Pina Coloda with vanilla ice cream....when the waiter came back he told me that the bartender was not happy about making this particular drink and it was the only and last one he was going to make for me....so I was obviously upset and the waiter had the manager come over to discuss....I was really upset since it was said to me in front of my business associate. In addition this was the first time this person came with me and it was embbarissing to say the least....we still had a delicious dinner and the manager didnt charge me for the drink.....I believe my meal should have been comp'd and I should have had an appoligy from the bartender.....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Karen, our server was fantastic! Very k ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Karen, our server was fantastic! Very knowledgeable about the wines, and overall great service.

Also, the chefs special was great--chicken pitas with humans, red peppers...always enjoy dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very nice place to visit. We h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is a very nice place to visit. We had a family brunch gathering at Coopers Hawk this past weekend. It was our fourth visit. While they did not have a brunch style menu, the overall experience was terrific. Excellent atmosphere, outstanding food, and the service was second to none. No, I'm not a share holder. Just a very satisfied customer. We will most certainly be back.

Larry C.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service! Fabulous wine and food. H ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service! Fabulous wine and food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I was visiting a friend in Columbus, com ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was visiting a friend in Columbus, coming from Cincinnati. The service at the Columbus location was much better than my experiences in Cincinnati. Wonderful staff!! Great service and really good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was great. I ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was very good, service was great. It was very noisy to the point that we couldn't talk, at times. But we would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Not friendly for disabled. Parking is t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not friendly for disabled. Parking is terrible, could not find empty space for disabled and had to walk the length of a football field with a walker to get to the restaurant. Will not go back to Easton ever again. The food was OK but not the best for the price that I paid. Very loud noise in the dining area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was outstanding. Our waitress ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. Our waitress was excellent - Desiree gave us great service, was friendly and knowledgable regarding the menu. My favorite place to eat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of 6 of us dinned at Coopers for ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A group of 6 of us dinned at Coopers for the first time and had an awesome time. The food, atmosphere, and service were excellent. Definitely will enjoy this place again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our sons 23rd bday, waiter ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We celebrated our sons 23rd bday, waiter was awesome and the wine and food were great. Joined the wine club too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great evening and Cooper's Hawk. ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Another great evening and Cooper's Hawk. We dine here regularly and always ask for our favorite server, Sam. Thanks for great service and a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about my experience was great ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Everything about my experience was great. I treated my auntie, it was her first visit. She was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner and had a very good waitress.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my favorite restaurant- the food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant- the food is excellent and love their wine! Service is good, sometimes it takes a little long to get your check and have the payment processed. Other than that, wonderful place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were very happy to discover Cooper's ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were very happy to discover Cooper's Hawk on a recent overnight stay at Easton Center. We were so impressed with the wine that we became members of the wine club. The ahi tuna tacos were so delicious! We'll be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fine, but the noise level w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was fine, but the noise level was disturbingly high. We were celebrating a birthday and couldn't even have a conversation and a visit with each other. I would not recommend this restaurant if you want to talk to your dining companions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a fabulous birthday dinner!! Foo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a fabulous birthday dinner!! Food was great and wine was surprisingly good! I wasn't expecting the wine to be that great! Thanks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took 2 hours to get food and then it was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took 2 hours to get food and then it was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Love Cooper's Hawk. Had a great meal. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love Cooper's Hawk. Had a great meal. Joined the Wine Club.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday celebration service fantastic. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Birthday celebration service fantastic.. Kitchen cooking & expediting ....poor.. They re-made food, but took awhile so just asked to package for carryout. Rest of party was quite finished w/ there dinner an ready to move onto dessert. They took two meals off the bill but the experience an being a lot enjoy delicious food as planned was spoiled!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Had a great time at Coopers Hawk. Friend ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a great time at Coopers Hawk. Friends and I met for lunch. Food was delicious, hostess was very friendly and our waiter was awesome!! Will definitely return!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The services was top notch, I cannot say ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The services was top notch, I cannot say enough about how god it was. The Food was excellent as well. and of course, the wine was good (great selection).

Join the wine club, it us a great way to purchase, get tastings and access to special bottles.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The entire experience was excellent!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The entire experience was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, we had a very poor at th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Unfortunately, we had a very poor at this restaurant. It had been a few years since we'd dined here, and it is clear that the food quality and service has gone down hill. The 1st 3 wines we ordered were unavailable, the service was slow, and our food was cold and not correct when it finally came to the table. Very expensive dinner for such a poor experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Was actually disappointed. It was our ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Was actually disappointed. It was our 32 year anniversary and was told that this resterant made a deal about it. They did not. So not sure if the person that told me is wrong or the service was bad. Not our kind of food though. Overall it was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The pretzel bread is incredible! Food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The pretzel bread is incredible! Food was delicious and service was extremely courteous.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine there often. We enjoy the food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We dine there often. We enjoy the food and the ambiance. The wine is excellent too. We were disappointed in the number of wines they were out of. Evidentally there was an order issue. We had a wonderful waitress and then she got really busy with a large table and after 20 minutes waiting for our check we had to ask another waitress to please get our check. The waitress apologized. We have probably gone there 10 times and this is the first time we have had an issue. We will go back. Food is excellent. Best calamari in the world.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always have excellent food here and the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always have excellent food here and the shrimp/scallop risotto with a touch of truffle oil was melt in your mouth spectacular. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Reservations through Open Table were gre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Reservations through Open Table were great! Meal was superb and Filet was cooked exactly to order! Yum!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I am never disappointed by Cooper's Hawk ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I am never disappointed by Cooper's Hawk! The wine was perfect and the food was delicious! Great service and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third or fourth time at Coope ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is my third or fourth time at Cooper's Hawk. Love their menu and their wine list. Perfect for getting together with friends over good food and drinks.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was fine, but our service was r ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our food was fine, but our service was really terrible. We had to wait a very long time for our food and we had a toddler in our group. Our waiter did not offer drink refills. The long wait and lack of service really spoiled the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Good was good but service was a bit slow ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good was good but service was a bit slow it took 20 minutes to get the glass of wine I ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

One of the best I have ever dined at! Aw ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of the best I have ever dined at! Awesome! Looking forward to dining at several more of your locations!

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Cooper's Hawk for our Anniver ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We visited Cooper's Hawk for our Anniversary and it was a very pleasant and memorable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our visits to Cooper's H ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to Cooper's Hawk. The salmon is always a favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We visit Coopers Hawk for special events ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We visit Coopers Hawk for special events or for a great meal. Never disappointed!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and loved the wine tast ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great atmosphere and loved the wine tastings. Food was done perfectly and was very good. Wine was excellent. Very good experience overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They did not have our reservation time c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

They did not have our reservation time correct. Once I showed them the confirmation they miraculously found a table. Everything was fine after that .

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.