Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (192)
Good for a Date (185)
Special Occasion (177)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (141)
Good for Birthdays (123)
Romantic (114)
Good for Groups (100)
Worth the Drive (88)
Casual (87)
Modern Decor (83)
Fun (77)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Business Meals (65)
Great for Lunch (65)
Happy Hour (63)
Tasting Menu (63)
Cozy (59)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Hot Spot (55)
Outstanding Value (51)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Bar Seating (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Comfort Food (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Healthy (34)
People Watching (32)
Authentic (27)
Gluten Free Options (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Great for Brunch (18)
Family Style (18)
Seasonal (17)
Private Room (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Fireplace (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Tapas (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Scenic View (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Spicy (4)
Waterfront (3)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the atmosphere. Love the wine and food. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

My friend has corn allergies. Our server was informed of my friend's allergy and she talked to the chef. Next, the manager appeared at our table asking specifc questions. Are you allergic to corn protein or corn starch? He provided specific examples. My friend answered the questions and the manager returned to the kitchen. My friend commented the chef knew what he was talking about. Later, the manager returned with our entrees. While eating the manager returned to our table to ask if everything was alright. We said yes and thanked him and the chef. The staff was attentive, professional and resourceful.
Coopers Hawk Restaurant is always my first choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place best service as always. The door and wine is out of this world and the people are as equal

Tags: Tapas, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Spicy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The best gluten-free options of any restaurant in the Columbus area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great meal there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

By far our favorite restaurant in this price range. We absolutely love this place and highly recommend it.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

First time back in awhile.....made reservations for lunch on Saturday. It was pretty crowded, got seated on time but did not meet waiter for over 10 min. Noticed others near us frustrated as well with cash out delays and drink refill requests. Very slow to take drink order (I actually asked receptionist if anyone waiting on our table!) then very slow for wine fulfillment. Should have taken that as a warning sign of things to come. Food came out good but service was bad with drink refills and attention to us. Went to wine tasting area to get desert vs ask waiter to assist further!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

I am a member. I have never been charged a cork fee.Every waitress I have had has never charged me one. The waitress never mentioned it will be an $8 cork fee and It would have been cheaper for me to pay for the wine by the glass or have my wine at the bar. I feel I was misled.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was excellent I would recommend Coopers Hawk for any kind of date or anniversary. Server was a little chatty but very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. Nice modern atmosphere. Outstanding wine selection. A great place to meet friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was our first time going to Cooper's Hawk and it was amazing! My fiance and I went with another couple and enjoyed ourselves so much. Food and wine was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My server was top notch she kept our glasses full and made us feel.like we had vip service. I definitely want to thank cooper's hawk for allowing us to be in an relaxed, cumfy, cozy, friendly, upscale environment.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've been here a couple times in the past, but this time in particular is one I would like to forget. The manager did comp the steaks and a couple of my drinks which is just a snapshot of the effects from the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall probably one of our worst experiences at Coopers Hawk. We got there at 7 for our 7:15 reservation, we weren't seated until 7:30, we get that it was Saturday and if that would have been the only issue wouldn't have thought anything more about it but the night just got worse. Our waitress probably took an hour to get our drink order, luckily we were brought water about 20-30 minutes after sitting at the table. We finally were able to order our food after about another half hour and got it fairly quickly but then the waitress disappeared again. She hadn't even checked in. She took our dessert order at about 9:10 and then came out around 9:25 and told us they just sold out of the Banoffe Pie. That was the only reason we came to Coopers Hawk, that dessert. Perhaps if we hadn't waited a half hour for drinks, another half hour to order food and then fifteen minutes where we watched her walk around the restaurant again they wouldn't have run out of it. We were a table of 5, the table of 4 that was sat after us left about a half hour before we did, she was much more attentive to that table. Now the food was mediocre and everyone took food home which was packed up in the kitchen. I had gotten a chicken sandwich with fries which I ate very few of. When I ate my leftovers the next day she had gotten rid of my fries and only packed my sandwich. All in all it was not a good night for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wine and food were amazing! Lobby area was extremely crowded. Someone needs to monitor the traffic flow.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I must admit that this is one of my favorite restaurants when I am willing to spend the money. The food is wonderful but at the upper end of my restaurant budget. Love the wine, love the decor. The truffles are awesome and the flavors change monthly. It is quite loud but not sure how that can be helped with the number of people who crowd the place on the weekends especially. Our server was a tad slow in getting to us this time but otherwise a really great dinner experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had to wait about 5/10 minutes after our reservation time, but gave us time to look around at some of their new items to buy. Food, wine, and service was good, as always. Their new wine this month for March was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The hostess staff was so helpful when I explained my father was having a diabetic low and they promptly made sure he got some bread. The wait staff was friendly and prompt. My mother was disappointed with her meal but the wine and laughs made up for it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a lovely dinner, and enjoyed the evening out. Waiter was attentive - restaurant was very busy, but we still were seated close to our reservations time, and waited on quickly. Bar area was crowded, but we were served there quickly as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The wine and food were sub-par and way over priced. The entrance way is a major cluster. Never going back nor would I recommend this place to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food. Great service. Karen was a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a great meal at Cooper's Hawk! The pretzel bread is awesome, I love the wine options and that you can try before you commit to a glass, and the meal was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The usual good service with the continuing excellent and unique menu. Corn chowder was very good. Cilantro salad with chicken was good. My son likes the crab beignets. This is pretty consistently good. You get what you expect each time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The only complaint was the broccoli. It was too salty and the pieces too big to handle delicately. The steak and potatoes were delicious and the service impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We came here last spring and the food and atmosphere was great. We loved the wine and had a great experience. We came back this year (3/17) and the food was terrible, but the wine was still good. Our server acted like she was annoyed she had to serve us. We had to ask for ice water three different time and then she acted like it was our fault that she forgot. We had the horseradish crusted salmon. It was in a bowl that had cold spinach and tomatoes in the bottom with a broth that was also cold.
Never again for dinner. Maybe if we want to get dessert and drink wine. Too expensive to have crappy food and be treated poorly.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Where we were seated felt like we were forgotten.food was good service lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Very consistent high quality. Great service.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and table was ready when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I complained that I could not taste alcohol in my drinks nothing was done about it the food wasn't that great salty & over cooked fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We eat at coopers hawk quite a bit and it is always a zoo. This visit however I came across some of the rudest hosts ever. Just getting them to acknowledge I was at the desk to let them know I was there for our reservation took multiple minutes and no one else was in line. There was also one particular one that was really rude and rolled her eyes. I am not sure we will be returning for awhile. When your tab is over 150.00 you expect to be treated with respect by all staff you encounter. We had a great server however our evening had been tainted.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a wonderful time and service was great. Only thing was they were out of a lot of things on the menue. Our reservation wasn't that late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Coopers Hawk was very crowded and the sound level was high--much too noisy for my taste. We made reservations for 6:45 PM but we were not seated until 7:10 PM and I fear that delay colors my opinion of the meal. My wife and I had salmon-she had the special and I had the ginger-soy salmon. She was pleased with her meal and mine was good, but a bit salty.

The server was very prompt and attentive and the food did not take long to prepare. However, the delay in seating (without any explanation) and the high noise level will prevent me from returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First time there. Way crowded but worth the wait. They ran a bit behind with seating us but once sat, experience was great. Nice variety of foods and suggested pairings made it fun. A bit too noisy for my tastes but would go back, perhaps during the week?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very comfortable atmosphere, great food, great wine list

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We could not get anyone's attention for the wine tasting. It was like nobody existed unless you were front and center. The workers behind the counter were drinking their coffee and not paying attention to anyone else.
We got our text that the table was ready 10-15 min after our reservation, then waited another 15 before they took us to the table.
Food was good and our server did great too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Mostly great, but had a 15-20 minute wait before any waiter came to introduce us as their waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Not the waiters fault, but it took a long time to get our bottle of wine. I'd suggest adding another bar closer to the dining area primarily for people who have already been seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The server was very nice and attentive. She noticed a card on the table and asked if it was a special occasion. She asked straightforward questions without being prying or pushy. We will definitely save our money to do this more often! Also, the wine tasting is superb! So many to taste and they change all the time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.