About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 6144286999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

notable wine list (270)
special occasion (253)
good for groups (187)
See All
fit for foodies (164)
great for lunch (143)
romantic (142)
hot spot (94)
vibrant bar scene (68)
great for outdoor dining (54)
great for brunch (51)
neighborhood gem (51)
late-night find (32)
kid-friendly (32)
scenic view (20)
Sort By:
Newest
1347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One Problem we encountered. We checked ...

Dined 5 days ago

One Problem we encountered. We checked in for our reservation and the hostess told us to take a seat near the dining room. No one came back to seat us for 25 minutes and I went to the hostess to check on it and she thought that we had been seated some time ago! At this point they took us to our table! Restaurant was not crowded, so it seemed like a mistake from the beginning. Otherwise we loved the food and loved the ambiance with Cooper's Hawk wine.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great server. Made a birthday surprise a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great server. Made a birthday surprise a great e patience after a rocky start with the hostess.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, drinks, and service were FANTASTIC ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food, drinks, and service were FANTASTIC!!! We didn't feel rushed the entire 2 1/2 hours we were there!!!! We will be back again!!!! Server was great and all the employees seemed very helpful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

first time diner, We had an excellent me ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

first time diner, We had an excellent meal and wine. reservations were for 815 and they were right on time.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The noisy restaurant detracted from the ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

The noisy restaurant detracted from the ambiance and the food received mixed reviews from the table. Our waitress was very friendly, professional and knowledgeable about the menu. The turn time from ordering until served was good. The wine was very good . Overall a 3 out of five.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great food - love the healthy options. h ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

great food - love the healthy options. had the Mediterranean shrimp salad - super fresh and dressed well!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'd heard good things about Cooper's Haw ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I'd heard good things about Cooper's Hawk so went with a friend from out of town for Happy Hour on a weekday. We wanted something light so split a carne asada flatbread which was delicious. The raspberry sangria was delightfully refreshing on a warm day. Would definitely return for Happy Hour or a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service. The Asian slaw was the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service. The Asian slaw was the best. The truffles were the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was ok. I expected the food to be ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was ok. I expected the food to be exceptional but my son and I ordered the fillet medallions and they were all cooked differently, one was rare, one was medium, and the other was really overcooked. My husband's steak was supposed to be medium well and it was CHARRED. The server apologized but wasn't inclined to remedy the situation. It took so long to get our meals that we didn't have time to wait for new meals. I think the thing that bothered us the most was that we sat down and started looking through the menu and as soon as the server approached us she gave us a list of 5 things that were already sold out for the day and it was only 5:30. We've been to J Alexander's, Ruth's Chris, J Gilberts, The Refectory and other nice restaurants where they don't start the evening by telling you the limited options you have to choose from. We were joking on the way out that Ponderosa back during our college years had better steaks than Cooper's Hawk. Wine was delicious but overpriced for a domestic. We won't be back.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a group of five with one 5 year- ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We were a group of five with one 5 year-old child celebrating Father's Day. The seared rare ahi tuna was prepared to perfection (as always). Our son had the jumbalya which he said was excellent. Nice kids menu for the little one. All in all, a pleasant meal for everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3

Disappointed that we were seated upstair ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointed that we were seated upstairs. This dining section is better suited for a large group rather than individual dining. Because waiters tracked back and forth from kitchen downstairs, the service was not great. This is not a reflection of our server, rather the position the restaurant put Jim in without an upstairs kitchen. I will not return to the restaurant if seating is upstairs.

food5
ambience1
service1
value2

Terrible server!!! I willtravel to Cinci ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Terrible server!!! I willtravel to Cincinnati inthe future!!!

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We did not have a good experience. We h ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We did not have a good experience. We had a 7:00P reservation and we did not get our food until 8:45P. Our waiter and the manager kept telling us that our food would be out in a few minutes and when it did come, three of the four meals were fine. My husband's meal was cold and was not as the menu stated. The management was very good as far as trying to make everything right with us. We were celebrating 103 years of marriage between the four of us!! I think they are trying to do too many things in the kitchen. Better to have a smaller menu and do it right! In the end, they did not charge us for our meals but we did give our waiter a good tip. We didn't feel he was responsible for the kitchen screwing up.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The concept of this restaurant was invit ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The concept of this restaurant was inviting. The execution is far from exemplary. The menu looked very good, but the food was average at best. We ordered 2 flights of wine which took forever to arrive at the table. We really tried to like the wines, but anyone with any discriminating taste will probably be disappointed. It was the least amount of wine I have ever consumed in a restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food is very good, all three of our ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is very good, all three of our steaks tasted great. We didn't have any issues except they take a lot of time in-between ordering something and then getting it...drinks and food. It took us two hours to have dinner. We were there one other time too and it took that long also. Servers are friendly and check on you, but it just takes too long to get anything...even a drink.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I get really frustrated when ordering so ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I get really frustrated when ordering soup and the server forgets it. They bring the entrée and then a light goes off in their head as they place my entrée down. Why would I want it now? Please take it off my bill. I know that it is an honest mistake, but it has happened several times here at CooperHawk.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was not as good as the Cooper's ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was not as good as the Cooper's Hawk in Cincinnati. The meat was too pink in the middle.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Each of us (2) were able to find dishes ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Each of us (2) were able to find dishes that suited our tastes - pistachio crusted grouper and a shrimp dish with vegetables & noodles. The sauce was superb. We each chose a glass of wine (red & white) that was very good and well-priced. Being our anniversary, the truffles were delicious and complementary. We enjoyed the evening marking our 46th wedding anniversary. Thank you!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Frequent visitors and never disappointed ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Frequent visitors and never disappointed. Celebrated anniversary and our waitress brought us a pour of bubbly and a couple of truffles on the house. Thanks for making our day extra special!

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

This place never disappoints. Had the op ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This place never disappoints. Had the opportunity to eat out of doors this visit and it was fantastic. Would have scored the food higher, but I went with the lighter fare food. It was good. The stuff on the regular menu is great and I have had it on other visits, but we all need to make choices, right? I LOVED that they offered a lighter menu and would have the same dish again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk - Columbus has become my g ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Cooper's Hawk - Columbus has become my go to for dining with my wife. There is alway something nice to try on the menu and the wine is always nice. I feel the price is great for what they do.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great, but service was really s ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was great, but service was really slow. We sat near the bar at a table (we were seated by the hostess), but drinks took forever to come to the table. No cocktails, just wine. Bartenders were not slammed, as we could see them conversing with bar patrons, so not sure what the mix up was (multiple times). For food and lively atmosphere, you can come any night of the week and have a pleasantly filled restaurant, which tells you that it's a great spot at Easton.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

This was my 1st visit...Service I had an ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my 1st visit...Service I had an party of 7...we were not pleased with service..waitress was not attentive with our orders....Wine tastings hostess was more attentive to other customers...would leave station for 6-10 mins...This was not an good 1st impression....

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was excellent but the service didn' ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent but the service didn't quite meet our expectations. It took what seemed to be a long time for the food to arrive At the end of the meal our daughter order a slice of cake. She placed the request with the waitress and 25 minutes later it arrived

food3
ambience3
service2

Food was good. Service was slow (restaur ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was good. Service was slow (restaurant was not busy).

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food,fair service

Dined on June 9, 2016

We visited a Coopers Hawk in Florida. It was much more accommodating and efficient. The food at Easton CH was very good but the waiter wasn't very efficient or personable. Still would go back. Other personnel we came contact were friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Cooper's hawk!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Cooper's hawk is my husband and i's favorite restaurant to go and feel "high class" without breaking the bank! We go at least every other month and LOVE it. We have the Cooper's hawk reward card and love it, we get a bottle of wine every month, and receive different rewards like $15 off for our birthdays! We went to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and they had a dessert on the house! How fun! The feel of the place is a more classier feel, but would be great for out with your girlfriends or a double date! The only tip I have is make a reservation, since it's a fun place it's hard to get a table!!! So schedule early and have so much fun!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Cooper's Hawk...it is favorite place.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great atmosphere. I booked my reservation online and left note that it was a dinner/meeting and could we be placed in an area to not disturb anyone and we got just that. Our server was courteous and checked on us often but still allowing privacy for our meeting. I was there on a Monday and it wasn't as busy as I am used to so it worked perfect and there was no rush to clear the area for other patrons. I am usually here for date night, birthday, or just for wine tasting and never a complaint. I have even come in for just a bottle of wine or many of the cute gifts for friends.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place ever to eat. Always fun, alwa ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Best place ever to eat. Always fun, always great food

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food. Too bad that man ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice place, good food. Too bad that managers do not see fit to ask patrons who bring young, screaming children to the restaurant to remove their children from the dining area until/or if the children settle down. Perhaps there can be a separate area for children. Noisy kids certainly spoil a nice Saturday night out especially when the meal is expensive.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous food, atmosphere, and wait staff.

Dined on June 3, 2016

My parents took us to dinner. We knew they would love Coopers Hawk as much as we do. Everything was superb. Great atmosphere, amazing meals, wonderful wait staff, and a great place to hang out and enjoy. This is our favorite place for lunch and dinner. It is always an excellent experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the wine club is great

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Great food and the wine club is great

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Appetizer were new on m ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was great. Appetizer were new on menu and was delicious. Pretzel bread great add always. Great menu every guest really enjoyed their food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the best

Dined on May 31, 2016

Best restaurant at easton. I can dine here everyday

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We are wine club members. Once a month ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We are wine club members. Once a month or so I go on Saturdays for my free wine tastings and meet with my adult son to do that and have lunch as well. They are always attentive at getting you seated, and I recommend getting reservations ahead by calling or through Open Table on line, as at peak shopping hours they are often full, both at the restaurant and the wine counters. I love their menu. The pork tostadas are their unique signature dish as an appetizer. About five of them that are just delicious. Beer selection is ok, not great. Most restaurants nowadays are very slim on pilsner or lager on draft, if they even know what they are. Their Cooper's Hawk Lager is good, not great. Most restaurants are loaded with IPA's, and only have domestic beers that are lager or pilsner, such as Bud or Yuengling. The bussel sprout salad is very good, and, again, unique to them. Lobster bisque is ok, not great. A bit salty. Most restaurants barely have any visible lobster chunks. Theirs is average on that account. Service is friendly and competent, except that there is a bit too long of a time between meal and check. It gets sparse after your meal is served. All-in-all Cooper's Hawk has unique offerings on the menu that are consistently well prepared and you know what you are going to be getting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been here numerous times before and ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I've been here numerous times before and it has become our groups go to restaurant. This time we arrived during happy hour. The drink specials were great along with the appetizer prices. My biggest disappointment were the calamari. The breading was much too thick and the sriracha dipping sauce was too spicy .

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit, and will not b ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

This was our first visit, and will not be our last. The place was beautiful and the food was amazingly delicious. The service was knowledgable and courteous. It was very loud inside. But it didn't deter us from being able to have a conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cooper's Hawk. My only complaint ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We love Cooper's Hawk. My only complaint would be that when we went out to get our monthly bottle of wine for the monthly wine club, we had to wait in a huge line behind of the wine tasting people. I think it would be great if there was a person to just handle retail sales. Just a thought!!! We love love love Cooper's Hawk!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a slow Sunday and the service was ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was a slow Sunday and the service was excellent. The waiter was very personable and fun.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.