About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 6144286999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

notable wine list (318)
special occasion (298)
good for groups (225)
See All
fit for foodies (199)
romantic (192)
great for lunch (140)
hot spot (118)
vibrant bar scene (85)
great for brunch (61)
neighborhood gem (59)
great for outdoor dining (44)
late-night find (43)
kid-friendly (35)
scenic view (25)
Sort By:
Newest
1303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, pesto Caesar pesto salad and ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great food, pesto Caesar pesto salad and steak medallions were delicious. Recommend the wine flights to try a variety of their wines.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service.

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as always

Dined 4 days ago

My girlfriend introduced me to Cooper's Hawk in Columbus in February and I absolutely LOVE it. We've been back to Columbus location 4 times and the Cincinnati location 3 times. The food is outstanding. If you go to the Easton location and wish to do a wine tasting ask for Peaches. She is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the wine and the food that it pairs with.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely evening and the service ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely evening and the service was good, although the wait staff could have been slightly more attentive. Other than stopping once to ask if our food was OK, she didn't ask if we wanted drink refills (including more water).

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We love the restaurant and the food but ...

Dined 6 days ago

We love the restaurant and the food but service is too slow. This is NOT a complaint about our server. Don't get me wrong everything is worth the wait but they need to speed things up somehow.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took family here Saturday night to celeb ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Took family here Saturday night to celebrate two special occasions. First, Cooper's Hawk graciously agreed to allow us to push back our reservation for an hour. Everyone we encountered was extremely pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. The meal, wine and service were all outstanding and more than reasonably priced. It was a great experience. Thanks very much.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Great atmosphere, very energetic. Unfort ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great atmosphere, very energetic. Unfortunately service was not good. Took forever to get drinks, then salads and entrée was super slow. Manager was very apologetic but overall not a great experience

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night with husband

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is outstanding. Make sure you have a reservations. It is always busy. You can do wine tasting while waiting on your table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was fabulous! very knowledge ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous! very knowledgeable of wine and menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend there for his 50th b ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I took my boyfriend there for his 50th birthday. We love tasting wine and enjoying fine food. It was our first time there. Our service was wonderful, the food was amazing and the wine was delicious! I'll definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends nite out

Dined on May 14, 2016

Member of wine club. Did our tastings which are always good by informative hosts. Food was very good. Had fish and chips which was prepared very well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a great date and meal at ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We always have a great date and meal at Cooper's Hawk. By joining their wine club, we get a great value, too!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, excellent service, but very loud

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband, daughter & I dined at the Columbus Cooper's Hawk for my 60th birthday. The service was excellent (thanks, Melissa!!!) and the food was good, but the noise level in the restaurant made it difficult to have a conversation. It might have been quieter if we'd dined outside on the patio, but the weather was a bit too cool for that. Regarding our food: The corn chowder was amazing, and I wished I'd ordered a bowl instead of a cup. If I had the recipe, I'd be making it at home. Our entrees were tasty but nothing remarkable. Overall, it's a good place to go for an upscale dinner, but I wouldn't choose it for a quiet, romantic date. The setting is lovely, but too noisy for an intimate conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in town for the week on business and ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Was in town for the week on business and found this gem. Food was delicious, prices were reasonable and the service was great. Great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service

Dined on May 9, 2016

If you are in the Easton area, by all means do not miss Coopers Hawk for dinner. Start in the tasting room - try some wines you thought you would never drink - you may be pleasantly surprised! Although casual in ambiance, it is definitely my idea of fine dining. Here are some favorites we have enjoyed: Crab Beignets, Roasted Vegetable and Goat Cheese and the all time favorite- Short Rib Risotto. Honestly, everything we've ordered is great. Service is great - not too over the top but there when you need them. If you go, ask to be seated with Eric.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place. Always a great time. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love this place. Always a great time. Great service. The wine staff knows their stuff.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside on the patio on Mothers D ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We sat outside on the patio on Mothers Day, which was nice. Food was wonderful and everyone enjoyed their lunch together.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mother for Mother's Day and we were both pleasantly surprised by the complimentary Luxe Sparkling Wine. Our waiter was helpful and made great recommendations, and service was quick despite a fairly full restaurant. The kitchen did send an incorrect order out for me, but that was rectified very quickly. We were both pleased with our lunch and would definitely come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

We love the wide variety of food, from b ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love the wide variety of food, from burgers to seafood to delicious steak medallions. Been here 5 times now and every time I've had something different and it's been just as good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful Mother's Day brunch at Cooper's Hawk Winery. The food was delicious, the service was top notch and the ambiance was amazing! Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Food, Good Service, Mediocre Wines

Dined on May 8, 2016

The wait staff was very attentive even though they were very busy during the Mother's Day lunch and the food was quite good. I especially enjoyed the bisque and my husband enjoyed the Brussels sprout and beet bruchetta. Our main courses were good as well--the shrimp and the cashew coated fish. We were too full to try any dessert. The disappointment was in the wine flights we each tried. My husband had the red flight where only one was drinkable and the other 3 were "skunky" and my sparkling flight was nothing to "write home about" either with the best being the raspberry one. I am not sure that we will return since we really enjoy a good wine and for the cost of the meal plus mediocre wine, we don't think it is worth the trip across town.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, an excellent meal at Cooper's Hawk

Dined on May 8, 2016

Four of us celebrated Mother's Day at Cooper's Hawk. Despite the crowd, the service was excellent, as well as the food. We do not live in Columbus, but whenever we go we eat here. We also belong to the Wine Club and the wine selection is great! Due to the weather, we did not eat on the patio, but we have in the past and it is a great experience! We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Mothers Day. The food ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Mothers Day. The food was great and the server was very nice and knowledgeable. It was nice to see families with kids of all ages enjoying their meals.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place with a lot of activity.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Have been to Coopershawk many times over the years. We always go early and have a few samplings of their many wines. Service is always consistently great, and we always look forward to try new things on the menu. The restaurant itself has a laid-back feel reminiscent of Sonoma.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Overall a very good meal. The bin syste ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall a very good meal. The bin system on the menu allowed us to pick a wine the pair it with the meal. Made the evening even more enjoyable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third time visiting this establishment.

Dined on May 7, 2016

And this was the best time yet. The first two times everything was great except for the reservation system. We had issues both times. This time, however, we had a great experience all the way around. My fiance and I took both our mothers their for a Mother's Day Lunch, and they were equally impressed. I only wish I had gotten our waiters name, he was fantastic and really knew the menu and wines inside and out. He was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant experience. Not too noisy.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Pleasant experience. Not too noisy. Food was good. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants

Dined on May 3, 2016

We love Cooper's Hawk. The food is fabulous & their wines are terrific. We usually have good service - only had so-so service once - but this most recent time (5/3/16) was really great. Our server was pleasant & attentive but not overly so; food was out promptly & was pleasing to the eye & the palate. I recommend making reservations especially on weekends as you will never get seated (typically a 2-3 hour wait list from our experience). Take time for a wine tasting. They produce all their own wines so you won't find other labels here, but they have quite an extensive list of varieties to appeal to everyone. My biggest issue with the menu is making a decision - so many selections that all sound scrumptious. Recently joined the wine club and so far, so good. I believe it's a good value since you earn points, get free tastings, etc. The downside is all this comes at a price - two meals, 1 appetizer, 3 glasses of wine is an easy $100 + tip, so we can't afford to eat here very often but it's definitely at the top of our list when we go out for a nice dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I had an 8pm reservation and they had ov ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had an 8pm reservation and they had over booked. we got our table at 845. Food at 930. We had 4 in the party and 1 meal came out later. the manager apologized for the delay but offered us nothing. The food was good but not worth the price and aggravation of the evening. I would not go back on a weekend night.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Compounding Issues

Dined on April 30, 2016

Reservations ran 45 minutes late. Where were the free wine samples or small appetizers? Big miss to keep those waiting happy. Finally seated to then be told kitchen is running another 35 minutes late. We did receive an apology from our waiter at that time but that was the last time the delays were acknowledged. Food arrived 40 minutes after ordering and the Risotto barely had any short ribs in it...a dish I have ordered many times so I know this was not normal. Others in our group did not enjoy their food either. Also had to wait longer than normal to get refills on wine. Bill came without any compensation for all the delays and issues. Things go wrong all the time in business and how you deal with those issues defines future customer loyalty. I'm not feeling so loyal after this visit.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Cooper's Hawk!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I am a wine club member and the benefits are fantastic! The food is always excellent and the servers are all incredibly friendly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed every minute!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Come and visit. Best food and wine. Mini tostada and braised meats!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Seated 40 minutes late for reservation a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Seated 40 minutes late for reservation and food quality had gone way down. Won't be back for a while

food5
ambience4
service5

the food as usual was amazing. the kitch ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

the food as usual was amazing. the kitchen was off tonight though. our salad came before our appetizer, and our dinners were dried out, I'm guessing from sitting in the window while we ate the late appetizer. the waiter appeased us though with some complimentary lobster bisque.

food5
ambience5
service5

We visited Cooper's Hawk tonight to cele ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We visited Cooper's Hawk tonight to celebrate our engagement, it was a fantastic choice! The atmosphere was perfect for this type of occasion and the service and food was excellent. Our server David was very attentive to our needs and held very great conversations with us the entire night when checking in. Towards the end of our meal Jamal (I believe he was the GM) stopped by our table to congratulate us and also gave us a free bottle of wine as a gift for our special night out. Would highly recommend this winery/restaurant for any occasion to anyone in the Columbus, Ohio area.

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a delicious, relaxing dinner ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious, relaxing dinner overs great bottle of wine. This was our first time at Cooper's Hawk after hearing great things about it and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We signed up for their one bottle wine service. Looking forward to going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Not a bad thing on the menu! Great for a soup & salad lunch, or a fancy steak dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently outstanding!!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Consistently outstanding!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of favorite places to eat. T ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

This is one of favorite places to eat. The service and food are excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food - Loud Atmosphee

Dined on April 24, 2016

Celebrations at this local eatery are a must - the food is fabulous, the wine is outstanding - something for even the most particular palate. The waitstaff are courteous and attentive, and the overall setting is fantastic. The only criticism I have is that the place was extremely loud the night we were there. For a Sunday night, I was surprised. It was difficult to hear the people across the booth, and made conversation limited to the person beside you. Overall, though, a great dining experience. Perhaps next time we'll eat outside.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.