About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 6144286999x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
1 More
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

Notable Wine List (278)
Special Occasion (243)
Good for Groups (172)
See All
Fit for Foodies (154)
Romantic (146)
Great for Lunch (128)
Hot Spot (85)
Vibrant Bar Scene (67)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Great for Brunch (48)
Kid-friendly (26)
Late-night Find (24)
Scenic View (14)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kitchen was slow the night we were there ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Kitchen was slow the night we were there. There was also a disturbance in the restaurant by a non-patron, but it was handled pretty well by the staff. It was our first visit and we want to go back. Lots of interesting choices on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love the sparkling wine here. The spa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

I love the sparkling wine here. The sparkling flight is awesome and it is so nice to have that variety on the menu. The food is delicious which makes it tricky to decide what to order, old fave or try something new. You cannot go wrong.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the handcrafted wine. Selection giv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Love the handcrafted wine. Selection gives great options to pair with their fresh wonderful entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my food, wine and cocktail. M ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

I enjoyed my food, wine and cocktail.

My dining companion found the flavor of the jambalaya to be lacking.

He did enjoy the wine immensely and did join the wine club.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a good time but you have to ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

It's always a good time but you have to wait forever to do a tasting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

i came for my husband birthday, highly r ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

i came for my husband birthday, highly reccomended. i was looking to be WoWed, and was not. the waiter we had didnt come by often to check on us, i had to ask another waiter to bring us a second drink. he was supposed to bring my husband some samples of the IPA on draft but forgot. my husband groupor was seasonless. Now i did LOve LOve my salmon and wasabai mashed potatoes. Yum,Yum then he forgot to bring my husband the birthday truffelle, i had to remind him. My husband was disappointed, so was i, he'd rather we have gone to smith and wolenski

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

I dined here for a mother daughter grand ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

I dined here for a mother daughter grandmother dinner. We had a great time. Our server was knowledgeable, attentive, and very accommodating. We appreciated being able to sample some wines that we had not yet tried. We will definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and wine Get there early or b ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good food and wine Get there early or better yet have a reservation. Service and food a step above

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy our visits to Cooper's H ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to Cooper's Hawk. It is one of our favorite restaurants in Columbus. the service is always great, as well as the food. Not to mention the great selection of wines. It has it all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Big fans of Cooper's Hawk! The food is a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Big fans of Cooper's Hawk! The food is always served in a timely manner, great tasting, and cooked to perfection! We've also never had a bad server. Danny (maybe Dylan? So sorry!) was our most recent as was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I just love this place. Top quality food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I just love this place. Top quality food and atmosphere. Wine selection is tremendous. I will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite Columbus restaurants.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite Columbus restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent wine list. Taste before you co ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent wine list. Taste before you commit. We tasted 3 reds and 2 whites before purchasing 2 bottles. Everyone loved their dinner selections and we each ordered something different. Boneless Pork melted in your mouth! The Grouper coated with this buttery pistachio crusting was delish. Highly recommend the Mexican Shrimp as an appetizer. Service was phenomenal !

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was very attentive and we n ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and we never felt rushed. There were others who were also good about removing plates, etc. The menu selection was very abundant with a wide variety to choose from as well as the wide variety of wines and beverages. It was nice to know what wines were paired up with the food selections as well taking the guesswork out of choosing for those of us who are less experienced in the wine world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

service was very slow from beginning to ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

service was very slow from beginning to end...we also made the manager aware and it wasnt apparent that he did much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was timely, and the menus select ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was timely, and the menus selections are unique and tasty, for example the pork belly tostados and brussel sprout salad. Wait staff has obviously been trained and adheres to it (e. g., "My pleasure") Part of it was that it wasn't crowded at 11:30 AM on a Saturday, nonetheless, service was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Always a great experience! Wine tasting ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always a great experience! Wine tasting was wonderful and our server for dinner was awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very popular, trendy place to eat. We re ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very popular, trendy place to eat. We really like it here and are members of the wine club. Wish you could get consistent service with the wine tastings - we never get offered the flatbread to eat with our wine tasting and since we're reserves Brits, we often get pushed out trying to get to the counter for service. It's time to instigate a 'take a ticket for your turn' during busy times. Service in the restaurant was great tonight. Food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Happy Hour here is great! The deals cann ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Happy Hour here is great! The deals cannot be beat. Highly recommend making an early evening stop here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food, wine and service. We ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always great food, wine and service. We always celebrate our birthdays. Six lady friends and spouses

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine & food. Great service. a mo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great wine & food. Great service. a monthly for me & my wife.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always! We always have a gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Delicious as always! We always have a great time and plan on continuing to come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent server, Melissa, and terrific ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent server, Melissa, and terrific food. Sorry for the short review....

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and brought out quick ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was delicious and brought out quickly. Great price and location for a nice bite to eat with friends and family from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been patrons of Cooper's Hawk fo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been patrons of Cooper's Hawk for a few years, and we love coming here! We went to dinner Sunday night to celebrate my husbands birthday. Our food was delicious as always, but our server made us feel rushed. We could tell he was trying to flip tables and get us in/get us out. It was very disappointing; we wanted to take time eating and enjoy our together time, but that was not the case that night. We will eat there again, but I will be hesitant to go there again for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service! We stopped in for a wine ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great service! We stopped in for a wine tasting prior to our dinner celebrating a graduation. Pi-Chen was our sommelier and was fantastic, as always. Desiree was out server and she did a great job as well. There were a few errors when our food came out. However, she promptly corrected our orders.

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I mixed feelings about this place. The ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I mixed feelings about this place. The appetizers were great - thai lettuce and drunken shrimp. The desserts were great - salted caramel creme and chocolate torte. The food in-between was so-so. We enjoyed our meal, but both of us felt not so good a few hours later. Not sick, just not good. I think when we go back, we'll just do appetizers.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a crazy busy night there. Took a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was a crazy busy night there. Took a while to be seated and a long time for food to arrive. But waiter was good and it was an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice looking venue but sevices were slow ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice looking venue but sevices were slow. We had to an hour for our food and couldn't

Get a drink refill before then. I wish I could say the food was worth the wait but it was just mediocre. Will not be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I love being a wine club member; with it ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love being a wine club member; with it you receive a bottle of wine each month. If you miss a month, you can get two bottles the next. Excellent food and an entirely separate menu for gluten free. Much appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved the white wine flight! Meal delici ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Loved the white wine flight! Meal delicious! Nice place to eat!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Understaffed. They fast talk you to rush ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Understaffed. They fast talk you to rush on to the next person. Wasn't able to finish wine tasting due to the server disappearing. Our table came up twice while he was away. I tried calling ahead to put in a request and they did the exact opposite of what I said which caused it to mean something else. Definately need to hire more people so everything isn't so rushed. Not a good experience. I've been 3 other times and 2 out of that 3 were fine but they totally dropped the ball again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place will go back again it as my ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great place will go back again it as my friends first time at any Coopers Hawks and they raved about it

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service was good. Was disappointe ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food & service was good. Was disappointed w/being seated upstairs. Absolutely no ambience & too noisy. If we dine there again I will not dine upstairs. & when I refer friends I will mention that to them as well

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

We had a great time. Food was great, sta ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a great time. Food was great, staff was great and most of all the seivece until one of the guest fell of his chair from being drunk. The staff and management should know when to stop or limit serving alcohol to the guest. Definitely not a kid friendly place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 15th wedding ann ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and they treated us to a lovely glass of champagne to celebrate along with delightful dessert. We ordered sashimi for our appetizer and then the entrees-jambalaya and the medallions. Everything was delicious as usual. Our server was wonderful and very intuitive to our every need. We like to come here for all of our special family celebrations. ♡♡♡

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from waiter Jeff. Grea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent service from waiter Jeff. Great selection of wines and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always have exceptional service, wine ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We always have exceptional service, wine, and food. The team is amazing. Couldn't ask for a better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner with a colleague who had neve ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Had dinner with a colleague who had never been to Coppers Hawk The food was excellent, the wine superb and the service impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is really slow have to ask for r ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service is really slow have to ask for refills! Food presentation is poor. I have been to other Cooper's Hawk Restaurants with much better quality presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.