Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (150)
Notable Wine List (132)
Special Occasion (128)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (113)
Good for Birthdays (101)
Casual (85)
Romantic (69)
Worth the Drive (67)
Fun (64)
Good for Groups (63)
Business Meals (60)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Lunch (55)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Happy Hour (52)
Tasting Menu (49)
Cozy (48)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Hot Spot (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Gluten Free Options (25)
People Watching (22)
Authentic (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Seasonal (16)
Healthy (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Tapas (6)
Great Beer (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
2542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the food, wine and service. Great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing dinner!! Our server Chelsie went above and beyond to make our night great! She is a true gem at Cooper’s Hawk. The manager Jamal was also outstanding. Willing to go the extra mile to make you happy.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We had an exceptional dining experience. We booked a reservation for a party of four for a birthday dinner. The wait was minimal. The server was aware it was for a birthday without me needing to tell him. Everyone loved their food and the plating was beautifully done. Service was very good. We had a semi-circular booth on the first floor which was very nice. If there was something to be picky about, the front foyer was very busy and crowded. It took a long time to stand in line and purchase bottles of wine to go - about 20 minutes. We'd definitely recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Ashley Miller was wonderful with the reservation and table selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

I really like the whole Cooper's Hawk brand. I have recommended so many people to this place...most if not all really like it too! While there are a lot of wineries around town, Cooper's Hawk has a different flavor...tastings, food and the pairings of its wines. Whenever I want to go out with my friends as a group or one-on-one, this is most definitely my place of choice!!!

Ros

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place! I got the parmesan crusted steak and lobster tail and wine. The food and wine were amazing. I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite place to go in Columbus. Love the wine selection!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I met a friend that I hadn't seen in nearly thirty years there for lunch, having chosen this restaurant for its eclectic menu, consistently great food and service. I was given the kind of table I had requested, and the server was excellent at giving us some time to chat without rushing us to order or to leave. Just what I had in mind!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, great cocktails and entrees.
Well managed and impeccably clean. Don’t miss out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was orgasmic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was outstanding. Food was fabulous. Would highly recommend going... you will become a fan!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite restaurant!
Food is always great, service is friendly, beautiful atmosphere and their wine is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Food was very good but portions very small for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Dinner was good, menu was a bit thin, not too many entrees in each category especially pasta.

we had a reservation and arrived a bit early. We thought we might try the wine tasting but were told tastings take 45 minutes, really. Seems a bit drawn out. Table war ready on time and all went well, a very pleasant evening after
Christmas shopping.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We ordered drinks and appetizer shorting after seating. Drinks came but no appetizer we ask about the appetizer. The server did go and check and told us it should be out soon. We did finally got it but it was cold., the entree's were good. This was our first time here just wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2017

My wife and I do love to dine at Cooper's and we are a wine member. Cooper's is pretty much the only wine we drink. This last visit was nice but we did have to wait longer than we expected considering our reservation time. This has happened multiple times, are other issue is the takeout/bar area. It seems like the takeout counter should be separated and have a person more dedicated to it than than having to share them with the tasting bar. My wife order's her lunch as she works close by and it is common for her to barely have time to eat due to the fact her order is never ready when it says it will be online or she can not get waited on at the takeout counter.

We feel that this location would be perfect if the service out front was somehow improved. This is completely constructive criticism as we do love to frequent the location. We would just like a more pleasant experience when picking up or waiting for our table.

Thanks

Carl

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Dined 12/2/17 I’ve loved Coopers Hawk from living in Chicago. Drove to Columbus from Cleveland just to go to Coopers Hawk.
Columbus has some work to do. My waitstaff was short in his responses. He told me I couldn’t use my gift certificate on certain wines and food. So I had to clarify what I could and could not order with a manager. As it turned out, my waiter was totally wrong. My waiter never apologized. Very rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Shopping at Easton, Cooper’s Hawk seemed like a good place to stop for dinner. The wine bar was at the entrance and looked to be very popular. We had reservations and were seated promptly. Bryan was our server and gracious host. The menu is very eclectic, from fine steak and seafood to sandwiches and burgers. Vegetarian choices too. A wine suggestion was listed next to each dinner item. Food was delicious. No room for dessert even though we did glance at the dessert menu. Someone will have to review these. Cost was comparatively reasonable. You will enjoy this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 2, 2017

As usual, the food and wine were great, and our server Chelsea was so welcoming and made the evening a very memorable experience. It was my in-laws’ first visit to Cooper’s Hawk, and they couldn’t have been more pleased. My kids also have noted it as their new favorite restaurant. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Normally the food here is great. On this occasion it was poor. We hardly touched our meal and the server never asked if everything was okay. He took our plates and said that he would bring our check. This is my first disappointing visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Loved the gluten free menu, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 29, 2017

My family and I dined at Cooper’s Hawk for my father’s 70th birthday! We had an excellent dinner and I’m sure we’ll dine there again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 28, 2017

As usual, the food and service were exceptional not to mention the fabulous wine. One of our favs.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Never a disappointment. Redone waiting area ( added bar), extremely friendly and helpful staff. Waiter(s) always able to offer a delicious entree and dessert choice if needed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

We always enjoy the food and experience. We do tend to go there for special locations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Very consistent and delicious. We've been going almost every week because we are wine members and there's nothing on the menu that isn't tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

My family and I had an outstanding time at Cooper's Hawk! I had a reservation and was sat very shortly after arriving. Our server (Shawn) was very friendly and attentive. The food was TO DIE FOR and was hot and freshly made. I would definitely recommend the Artisan Cheese Plate and Crispy Brussels Sprouts. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The food was great, but most of all the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2017

When we asked our waiter to recommend a wine...he said he had no idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

This was my third time eating at Cooper's Hawk, and it never disappoints. The blackened tuna tacos are an amazing appetizer, and the Petite Sirah was really good. We had a party of 4 with very different tastes, and everyone was pleased. Best of all, the service was INCREDIBLE!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

We decided to come here for thanksgiving since they were open, and offering a nice thanksgiving menu. It was a special thanksgiving for my girlfriend and I, since our family had other obligations, and we could relax and not stress over cooking. Unfortunately the night did not end up how we had hoped. The service was poor, as we did not receive the standard table bread, even after having to remind the server. Two of the items on the $28 meal were not even served on the plate, and only after asking the server did we receive them. They seemed disinterested in the fact that it mattered to us that we got what we ordered. Finally for the third of the three course meal, the server asked if we still wanted the desert that came with the meal. Huh? Poor service, aloof server, falling short of a finer dining experience, and not really making any intent on making a special thanksgiving menu special to their customers? No thanks. I can go to a low class chain any time. And lastly, when you make a reservation and they sit you in the bar area without notice, that's disappointing. Hate to write bad reviews, but this unfortunately dictated so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

We enjoy Cooper's Hawk for special occasions and for evenings out with friends. We decided to try for Thanksgiving. We had an adult and child both order the Thanksgiving dinner. We had to ask for bread and neither meal had the creamed corn advertised on the menu. No substitute offered. The children's dinner did not have the cranberry relish, dressing, or corn that was listed on menu but did have small fruit dish. When asked a tiny dish of relish was brought out a long with a generous side of stuffing. The picture showed a large bowl of cranberry relish and the difference was major. The other two meals were fine. But since it was Thanksgiving and the emphasis was on the feast, I was very disappointed in the discrepancies and also thought the dinner was just so so. Definitely did not think it was worth the price charged.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 23, 2017

For some reason , the whole evening was off. We checked in 15 min before our reservation, and the hostess said we would be seated at our reservation time. We waited 15 mi. past our time, and noticed that despite having empty tables, we still hadn't been seated. Guess they forgot us. Our waiter came quickly and took our order, and that was the last we saw of him. We didn't get any bread, and the appetizer was luke warm. Our dinners were delicious, but the waiter never came to ask if the steak was cooked to our liking. We had eaten at Cooper HAwk before and that time , everything was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The wine flights are an excellent value and good way to sample the available offerings! Asked for a quiet table and were seated out of the way, near a window, which was a nice quiet spot, out of the flow! Good variety of appetizers and main courses. No one tried dessert as we were all too full. Great holiday meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 23, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants, I've ever visited, every time I we have been there, and it has been many, we've never had a bad experience, everyone is super friendly, the food is great.
Love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great from start to finish! Server was great. Thanksgiving menu was de-lish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Amazing level of service on a very busy Thanksgiving day!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Went for thanksgiving dinner and we were very pleased!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great staff. Extensive menu selections. Very much enjoyed our meal and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Our first time there, went for Thanksgiving Dinner. The main Menu looks good and want to come and try it. Service and food was very good

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.