Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (158)
Notable Wine List (152)
Special Occasion (138)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Good for Birthdays (101)
Casual (89)
Romantic (83)
Good for Groups (70)
Business Meals (69)
Great for Lunch (67)
Worth the Drive (63)
Fun (61)
Happy Hour (57)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Tasting Menu (48)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Cozy (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Bar Seating (36)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Comfort Food (32)
Hot Spot (32)
People Watching (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Late-night Find (18)
Authentic (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Healthy (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Tapas (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Scenic View (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

The service on this visit was subpar. My sister, husband and I took my father out to dinner for his birthday and it was their first visit. My sister did received the incorrect order initially and did not receive the corrected order until over 30 minutes later.

The server offered no apology and was flippant about the matter. The restaurant was out of several entrees and desserts.

My husband and I are members of the wine club but I am definitely turned off by this experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

It's was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great but our entrees took a long time to come out from the kitchen. My husbands filet was cold. Food tasted great and wait staff was friendly. They did apologize for the long wait for our food but could have comped or discounted the meal for our inconvenience and cold steak.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, good wine, excellent service. Only issue was the feeling I was in Grand Central Station noise and all at Rush Hour. Wading thru the crowd to a host stand at the other end of the room, 4 people behind the stand with no obligation to place any order to the crush. Had an 8:15pm Open Table reservation and did get seated soon after but the wait in the Crush with 2 deep at the bar was a hugh disappointment and one that will make me think twice in the future for a similar time slot. Seated in a quiet upstairs with a very attentive waitress who had a gem of a personality and was the bonus of the evening. Come on guys - design - fix your front of house situation - architect missed the boat here - flow ....... greet your guest at the front door!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my 3rd visit. We reserve this place for a special occasion. Service was slow. Took forever to get bread. Even our server said she was really to yell at someone downstairs. Pretty sure our meals were sitting around. Mine came warm, but caked together (risotto) like it had been sitting for a while. Was not a great as prior visits. Most times I’d give 5 starts. This visit was a 3.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 10, 2017

A very pleasant evening, good service and excellent food and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food was delicious as usual. It took about 8 minutes before our server arrive at our table. Maybe I'm being petty here but my typical restaurant experience has me placing a drink order almost immediately. We had ample time to be ready to order once the server arrived so we placed our drink orders, two waters a glass of wine and a soda. We then went ahead and ordered our appetizer and meals at the same time.

Her water and my soda arrived quickly however my water and her wine along with the typical bread serving were not delivered. A few minutes pass and the appetizer arrives only for us to have to ask about the wine, water and bread. The server then disappeared again only to return a few minutes later with the missing items. No sense of urgency btw.

Our food arrived and as usual was excellent. We needed a box at the end for her salad so the server took the salad to box it up for us along with some other dishes to help clear the table.

The server dropped off the check and we sent him off immediately to close the check. He came back but her salad was missing. We asked and he had left it in the kitchen so he quickly (only quick thing accomplished) returned with it apologizing.

Overall unfortunately a typical poor service experience. If we weren't wine club members and the food wasn't as good we would not frequent this location. The location in Liberty toward Cincinnati has service that is so much better I can't even compare it. It is actually tempting at times to drive the extra hour and 30 minutes to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Went here for dinner the night before flying out of Columbus. The food was really good. I had wedge salad and beef medallions. My wife had chicken picatta. Definitely would eat here again. The beef medallion trio was worth the trip. Great wine selection and tasting also available. Had daughter with us and they had a good kids menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Awesome place for special occasion or for an impressive date night. Start the evening with a wine tasting before dinner. Then enjoy an amazing dinner to pair with your favorite wine. Service was also amazing.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Worst service ever. Never had an experience like this at this restaurant before.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our food order was messed up by the kitchen but the manager was very apologetic and comped one entrée so we were satisfied and will return.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very disappointed in the food. I ordered crap cakes. They were very bland and my food was barely warm. The fries and slaw were good only reason I didn’t send it back. My husband had jambalaya he said it was bland and mainly rice. I don’t mind paying a lot if the meal is good. I will stick to Cheese cake factory cheaper and better food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food and great wine so I’m a happy guy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The wine is great and the food was amazing great service

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We came for my birthday. From the time we arrived until we left, the experience was enjoyable. The food was delicious and our server Joey did a fantastic job. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Our first time here. We were seated on the first floor, and it was a bit noisy; however, they were having a wine tasting which added to the numbers of people and it was a Friday evening. The food was all very good and reasonably priced. The salted caramel crème brulee was the best we've ever eaten.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent meal and service as usual. One of our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Front desk very rude.. did not let us seat until everyone in my party arrived but they had lot of tables open and it was not crowded at that time.. Very Rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

We had a great time! Started with a tasting before our reservation. I think her name was Jessica, very nice girl. We were seated with no problem. I think our waiter was Dan also very nice. Overall a great night. The only suggestions I would have are name tags and making sure they ask for wine club card. I remembered at the tasting but by the end of dinner I forgot. He didn’t ask so I had to call the next day to get points added. Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

To loud. I'm not sure why you would have an event up top in a open setting. I couldn't even hear my wife talk on our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I have hosted multiple business dinners at this location. The food variety and quality has always been excellent. Monday, October 2 was an exception. The food was cold, the roasted vegetable mélange was under cooked and scorched. The service was practically non-existent. Some examples; we ordered a second bottle of wine before the entrees arrived. It never came. It took 20 minutes to get water after we were first seated. When the entrees arrived, no one offered to clear the salad plates, etc they just started dropping dishes on the table shoving the salad plates out of the way with the entrée dishes. I informed management as we were leaving of the experience. They offered us a bottle of wine to make up for the experience. We will be back though. This experience was not representative of our past experiences at CH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Always fun to be at CH. Food is always good as is the wine.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I took my husband to Cooper's Hawk for his birthday dinner. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. Service was prompt during the beginning of the meal but slowed toward the end. Waitress was very nice. We got the cheese and meat appetizer plate. The cheese was very good, though several of the bacon slices were past caramelized and quite black. All of the bread provided with the plate were black on at least one side or both sides and so hard we couldn't really eat it. The wine flight and drinks were delicious. I had the trio of medallions as my main and it was absolutely stellar. My husband loved his gnocchi main. He got the banana bread pudding dessert and enjoyed it. I ordered a latte and the caramel creme brulee. Their espresso machine was down so I didn't get the latte. The salted caramel creme brulee was inedible unfortunately. They had put so much salt on top of it that the fruit decoration was disgusting. The caramel custard had a wicked bitter aftertaste which was not helped by the excess salt. So I would not recommend that particular dessert. Overall, the experience was good and we have had good experiences here in the past but there were some consistency issues in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

It was my husband and my wedding anniversary, so we thought we should check out Coopers Hawk since friends and family have been there. Upon entering the front door it was very overwhelming with so many people standing at different wine stations and so crowed with no direction to the hostess stand. We made reservations for 8pm and didn't get seated till 8:15. Which was weird because when we sat down there were open tables.
We did however have an awesome waiter who took our order fast because we had tickets for the comedy club after dinner that we would be pushing to get to. Food was ok. Overall I wasn't that impressed and will not be back on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food wasn’t the greatest. The Spaghetti and Meatballs weren’t good at all. The Pistachio Encrusted Grouper didn’t live up to the hype.

The appetizers were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

This is my third time here, my husband's first. I was excited, we had not been out without our young kids in 3 months and had great experiences here previously. We had a 7:45 reservation and we still had to wait 20 min when we checked in at 7:45. Then our waitress was triple seated with a big party next to us. Our apps came before drinks. Then we were told they were out of all the Chefs specials. It's a bit expensive to put up with all of this. I was disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We have been here several times and it has always been great. Nice atmosphere great food but this time we were upstairs and it's not as comfortable or inviting as downstairs and the food was a bit overcooked. I will definitely go back as this was the first time out of many visits that I wasn't happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great place for lunch,dinner or happy hour. Wine is awesome here. I have had multiple entrees and have never been disappointed. Do the wine tasting if you have time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I love this place! I really enjoy everything about it.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always a good meal there and good wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The atmosphere was lively and energetic. After being seated, we learned that we both could choose 2 complimentary tastes of wine.

We had calamari for an appetizer. I was a delicious large portion. We had enough to bring home. We had the ginger soy glazed strip steak and the pistachio crusted grouper. The side were ample and delicious: green beans and Mary's potatoes. All menu items have a suggested wine pairing which we followed and were very pleased :

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Absolutely perfect! Jennifer our server was extremely polite and timely. The atmosphere was great and food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great food and wine selection! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Had a great meal
Service was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2017

My wife and I are Cooper's Hawk Wine Club members so we eat here often. The food is good and the service is great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our one year anniversary. We chose Coopers Hawk on the recommendations of many friends and were not disappointed. My wife is not a wine drinker but has found a certain one here that she loves. I had the best bloody mary of my life, and the over the border egg rolls were amazing! Our waiter even gave us complimentary champagne to top off our celebration. We will definitely be returning sooner than later.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

4th time with same dining experience. Great food and ambiance

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Good food, great place to meet up with friends or date bight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Sat upstairs for the first time which was a little different but the service was great as always and the food was terrific too. Good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awesome date night with my husband....loved it! The food was great and didn't know what to expect with the Open Table reservation and could not have been any more perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.