About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 6144286999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus, Columbus, OH

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
1 More
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

Notable Wine List (118)
Good for a Date (116)
Special Occasion (109)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (83)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Romantic (71)
Good for Groups (64)
Casual (57)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Fun (53)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Great for Lunch (47)
Tasting Menu (46)
Worth the Drive (45)
Happy Hour (44)
Modern Decor (43)
Business Meals (41)
Hot Spot (38)
Comfort Food (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Cozy (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
People Watching (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Healthy (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Private Room (13)
Authentic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
Family Style (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Tapas (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Scenic View (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fireplace (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Good service. A little noi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Good service. A little noisy but holiday season

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered my steak "medium" but when it ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered my steak "medium" but when it arrived at the table it was "well" done. I ordered my daughter's food to go with a side of broccoli. The Server put in roasted vegetables, instead. The manager was less than apologetic on both errors. If they get the order and customer service right the experience is a good one.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great wines with a great selection. Food ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Great wines with a great selection. Food was very good but the wine and chocolates were even better.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good. Our server was o ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was very good. Our server was ok. The time between our salad & dinner was about 45 minutes. When we asked for more bread to eat with our meal, (we ate what we had while waiting for our dinner) our server forgot about us. It wasn't until we were 3/4 of the way done, before she brought us our bread. The restaurant was loud. If you're going for a romantic night, this is not the place to go.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The hostess desk was rude and the food m ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The hostess desk was rude and the food mediocre. I'm used to going to really nice restaurants and it was like we should consider it a privilege to be eating there. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We found this place by accident over a y ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We found this place by accident over a year ago and while there we joined the wine club. Now we drive 2.5 hours a couple times a year to pick up our wine and have dinner. As always we enjoyed ourselves and had great food and wine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriends and I went to Cooper's Ha ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My girlfriends and I went to Cooper's Hawk for a late lunch before shopping. We split appetizers (lettuce wraps, prosciutto bruschetta, roasted vegetable flat bread) and had a glass of wine. The food was very good, as was the wine. We had great service (although the bar was a little slow). Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Consistently good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are members and we always have great ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We are members and we always have great service and food. Cassie - our wait person was no exception - friendly and attentive - my steak was perfect, wasabi mashed potatoes were great. The only critique I would have is that the wine tastings are so popular that you can never get up to the counter without a long wait - so usually I don't wait. And while most of the time the wine servers are very friendly and will squeeze you in if there is any room at all - this lady at the middle circle wine counter was pretty rude to us this past time when we found a spot to squeeze two people into - she said - Sorry ladies I am full - can't help you - and it wasn't in a pleasant tone - almost felt like we were being scolded for trying to fit in at the counter (maybe she was having a bad day). It is rare that I get my tasting - even at 5pm the counter is full. I would think - add another wine counter or have someone going around taking orders. I realize - this costs money - but would help encourage people to keep their membership.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as always. The s ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was excellent as always. The servers are overbooked so it's hard for them to pay proper attention to the guests. We ate there because we could do a wine tasting before dinner. They are not equipped for the amount of people they attract for tastings and that makes for a disappointing experience, which in out case carried over to dinner. They need to open another location in Columbus or Cleveland. I met several people who were down from Cleveland because this was the closest Cooper's Hawk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

An excellent restaurant. The food and wi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 27, 2016

An excellent restaurant. The food and wine were great and the server was very attentive and pleasant. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and atmosphere!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with the service we receive ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Disappointed with the service we received when we arrived, during dinner and upon leaving. Expected a lot more.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I had never been to this restaurant & wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I had never been to this restaurant & was happy I could make a reservation. The atmosphere was nice, not quiet, yet not overly loud. Great food, good company, great service. Will definitely be dining again at some point.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time eating great food an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time eating great food and drinking fantastic wine. Walt was wonderful and took good care of us. The atmosphere was fun, yet classy. We even stayed for a tasting with Peaches who was very knowledgeable and made it a great experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a nice dinner with wine. My h ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We enjoyed a nice dinner with wine. My husband has the trio of filets and I had the Dana's chicken. Both were very good. The Sweet Red wine has now become one of my favorites. The food portions were huge. It took awhile to get food, but I felt like that was part of the relaxed atmosphere. Don't expect to rush through dinner. Relax and enjoy your wine. Do request to be seated away from the waiting area. People in the waiting area leaned across the back of the booth where we were seated. It was uncomfortable and odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant I've been to in 2016. Th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Best restaurant I've been to in 2016. The reserve wine was outstanding and the Short Rib Risotto was exceptional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried to purchase a bottle of Sweet Re ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I tried to purchase a bottle of Sweet Red wine before I left, but they were out of stock on the shelf. I stood in line behind another couple for 15min while we were both being ignored by the workers conversing with one another.!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I love Cooper's Hawk! The food is always ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I love Cooper's Hawk! The food is always delish! I only experience CH during travel...please consider expanding in Charlotte, NC...I guarantee it will be popular! You have my vote!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner not satisfactory.car ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner not satisfactory.carrots hard and pototoes and turkey cold.waitress did not give good customer service.finally got soup with main entree and had to take desert to go.I brought a good friend from rehabiltitation center for special Thanksgiving dinner.Food and service disappointing.recommend you do not serve thanksgiving entree next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

made a reservation for thanksgiving dinn ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

made a reservation for thanksgiving dinner, but kind of surprised when we were seated in the bar area. really cheapened the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Noisy, inattentive service, and mediocre ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Noisy, inattentive service, and mediocre food, but the wine was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Thank you Cooper's Hawk for yet another ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thank you Cooper's Hawk for yet another wonderful Thanksgiving. The food was delicious and the service top notch. We will be back very soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Casual, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was wanting a special Thanksgiving Dinne ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Was wanting a special Thanksgiving Dinner since visiting from out of town, but was disappointed that it was nothing more than a slow poorly put together meal.

Cool look to restaurant and great wine flights.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First of all, we love this restaurant. ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First of all, we love this restaurant. Unfortunately we were there for Thanksgiving and everything that could go wrong did. Slow service, due to holiday rush. Two filets ordered, split and cooked med-well. Meals took over 1/2 hour and when they arrived they were cold, closer to rare and not split. Manager apologized and took them back to recook. They brought new steaks back within 10-15 minutes and they were rare again and not split. Another manager apologized took them back and got it right on the 3rd try. Now the other 3 people in our party were all finished with their meals and had to wait until my wife and son finished. The second manager was more than kind and did not charge for the steaks. We were under the impression that desserts were on the house for everyone's inconvenience but upon getting the bill we were all charged. By now everyone just wanted to leave because dinner was approaching 2 hours+ and we asked for our check. My check was wrong and had to be redone.

Again, we have eaten here many times with excellent results and we are chalking this one up to the holiday. We will return, sometimes these things happen.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We went here for the Thanksgiving specia ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here for the Thanksgiving special, our server seemed less than thrilled to be there. I also wasn't serviced a portion of my meal but got sufficiently full so I didn't want to complain. Good food, good atmosphere but just okay service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This was our first year of not cooking f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our first year of not cooking for Thanksgiving, my sisters and I decided to go out, we chose Cooper's Hawk, we've been there for lunch and dinner several times. The food and the service is always great. Love this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner - nice to h ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner - nice to have option of the traditional Turkey and sides or the entire menu which was available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Private Room, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service on holidays is usually poor and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service on holidays is usually poor and although the server had a great personality the wait for food, the forgotten food, dry turkey, and management response to such bad service were sub par

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Service and food were amazing. We were t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service and food were amazing. We were there for Thanksgiving with our family and enjoyed our time there. Wine was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family gathered at Cooper's Hawk for ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family gathered at Cooper's Hawk for Thanksgiving. Two of us had the traditional Thanksgiving meal that was excellent and the best value at $27. The service was outstanding and we had a very enjoyable booth that even with background music allowed us to talk to each other without yelling. We have been coming to this restaurant for about five years and are never disappointed.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd year in a row to celebrate Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

2nd year in a row to celebrate Thanksgiving Dinner with Family - Excellent food!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service, timely, friendly, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had great service, timely, friendly, thoughtful and helpful with our questions and any special needs. We've eaten here twice, and both times the chicken dishes were standouts. We had the Chicken Parmesan, lunch size, and it was very generous still, without a thick breading, which is our preference, but loads of flavor. Also, the roasted grape tomatoes were a fresh take on a traditional standby that helped made it a standout for us. The Chicken Piccata was also delightful, with chicken breast that was very moist and flavorful and a delightful creamy sauce with plenty of capers. I had it with potatoes instead of the pasta, and was very pleased.

The atmosphere is cozy and comfortable, but nice enough for special occasions, too. We highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a Fabulous time! Enjoyed eating Than ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a Fabulous time! Enjoyed eating Thanksgiving dinner at Cooper's Hawk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service; a bit too ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food and great service; a bit too noisy for some.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Had there traditional THANKSGIVING DINNE ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had there traditional THANKSGIVING DINNER- TURKEY WAS DRY- PROBABLY SHOULD HAVE ORDERED OF THE MENU-

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We both had the thanksgiving dinner, and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We both had the thanksgiving dinner, and it was high quality as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dependable food quality and service

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Dependable food quality and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love everything about Cooper's Hawk! Win ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love everything about Cooper's Hawk! Wine is great and the food is even better! Haven't had a meal I didn't love yet! Go early for a wine tasting or have a wine flight at dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.