About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (185)
Notable Wine List (184)
Special Occasion (171)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (135)
Good for Birthdays (110)
Romantic (108)
Good for Groups (94)
Worth the Drive (82)
Casual (80)
Modern Decor (77)
Fun (73)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Business Meals (62)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Great for Lunch (58)
Happy Hour (56)
Tasting Menu (54)
Hot Spot (54)
Cozy (52)
Comfort Food (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Outstanding Value (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Bar Seating (35)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Healthy (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
People Watching (28)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Authentic (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Private Room (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Family Style (14)
Seasonal (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Disabled Access (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Tapas (11)
Fireplace (11)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Great Beer (6)
Scenic View (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1865 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've had an amazing experience every ti ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

We've had an amazing experience every time at Cooper's Hawk. The Medallion Trio & Fish and Chips were delicious. The Mexican Shrimp appetizer-YUM. I also love all the wine choices! They always treat us so well, it's become our go to place every Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another good lunch at Cooper's Hawk. I ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Another good lunch at Cooper's Hawk. I really enjoy the half and half lunch choices. I usually get the Caprese flatbread pizza and the house salad and it is a perfect combo for lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a good experience. No mistakes f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall a good experience. No mistakes from the kitchen... very appreciated as we have had kitchen errors 4 of the last 5 times there. Always apologetic and professional so we keep going back. Our server was great. He was very friendly and attentive. Although we had reservations we had to wait. I specifically went to the hostess and told her we wanted a table. She stated not a problem and then we were sat at a booth. So we waited until a table cleared. It's the attention to detail that truly set these places apart. They were out of their pretzel bread, I will say this was a true disappointment as this is one of the main reasons we go! They didn't tell us until we requested our bread since nothing was ever brought out, THEN they informed us. We will go again, as we always do, but we would live to go without a "hitch" for once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Waited until after 8:15 to be seated whe ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Waited until after 8:15 to be seated when my reservation was at 7:30. Unacceptable. Seem to be out of a lot of food too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and the server was very knowl ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and the server was very knowledgable and attentive. We made reservations bust still had to wait about 20 mins when we arrived, they were passing out complimentary wine samples due to the wait so that helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good, wine was great. They just ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, wine was great. They just seemed to be completely overwhelmed. We were sat almost 30 minutes after our reservation time, the server - who was very sweet - was clearly overwhelmed and our wine and food didn't come in the right order, etc. She told us they were out of bread because they had a large party in the afternoon - seriously?! We heard several other tables complaining, so we didn't want to add to the drama, but they just don't have their act together here...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great Columbus spot!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Columbus spot!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was cold and they had run out o ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was cold and they had run out of several items. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Cooper's Hawk provided great food, wine ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Cooper's Hawk provided great food, wine and service as always. Reservations are highly recommended and they run pretty much on-time with them, without them expect a significant wait time. We were sat at a stray table close to a waiting area and other waiting guests were a bit noisy. In the future I will ask for a table in the large dinning room area to avoid the issue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic as always! Never bad service ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic as always! Never bad service or food and I'm on there at MINIMUM, once a week. Usually 2-3 times per week ❤

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait 30 minutes despite reservati ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Had to wait 30 minutes despite reservation, but the service we received after being seated made up for the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We like Cooper's Hawk - the food is good ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

We like Cooper's Hawk - the food is good - particularly the calamari and pretzel bread! My one suggestion food-wise would be on the lettuce wraps - they were exceptionally light on the chicken (disappointing). My feedback to the restaurant would be to redesign the entry. I walk in there and am overwhelmed by the noise level and the crowdedness. It is not at all welcoming. Having those retail tables with product doesn't help either. Although we will go back, it will not be with any great consistency due the noise level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Always busy on weekends; great for them ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Always busy on weekends; great for them but unfortunately makes for a terrible experience for customers. They cannot handle the crowds. Not enough bar space or more particularly bartenders. Tasting; figure an hour at least. Pickup wine; 20-30 mins. 4 PM reservation; seated at 4:20. Front desk said they were waiting for tables to be cleared but the booth right next to where we waiting was not cleared for 20 mins. Waiter and food was fine but this location just does nothing for me. I will likely not be back and will cancel my wine club membership.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We had lunch at the Easton location. The ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

We had lunch at the Easton location. The ambience is excellent but it can get pretty loud at times. While we were seated in a timely manner, overall service was extremely slow with food taking forever to get to the table. The Mediterranean sampler was very average while the roasted veggie flatbread & the roasted beets and goat cheese salad were pretty good. The banoffee pie we had was probably the best part of the meal. That said, the restaurant is pricey and not a great value.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was fantastic. Very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was fantastic. Very knowledgeable of menu, and made several recommendations. Food was delicious. Our first time there, but will not be the last!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time visiting Cooper' ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time visiting Cooper's Hawk and it was for my birthday. We really enjoyed our experience. Our server was very friendly and quick even though it was only his second day. My only complaint was that we were not seated until 15 minutes after our reservation time, even after arriving over 10 minutes early. We decided to sign up for the 1 bottle wine club while there.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening. Service was great and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful evening. Service was great and extra touches were provided as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Great wine selection and something for everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although we had a reservation at 6:15, w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Although we had a reservation at 6:15, we were not seated until 6:50 other than that, the food was excellent! Looking forward for a return visit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a reservation but was seated 15 minu ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a reservation but was seated 15 minutes late.

Had to ask waitress multiple times for bread

One entree was not prepared per menu (missing sauce) but waitress brought a bowl of sauce. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We enjoyed wine tasting while we waited ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed wine tasting while we waited for our table, the wait staff were engaging and very courteous. The dining area had calm and romantic ambience, beautiful decor and the food was delicious. I highly recommend the drunken Mexican shrimp and the southern shrimp and grits😋

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant to eat at.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome restaurant to eat at.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my sister here who was visiting f ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took my sister here who was visiting from Florida for Valentine's Day. She loved it. We happened to catch the end of happy hour which luckily they allow even seated at a table, very generous. The menu here is full of different items and everything I've had has been excellent.

I love all the pasta dishes. The Chef must love/be Italian because they're all genuine. They have a very large wine list and they allow you tastings of everything before you purchase. Good for special occasions or any night on a whim.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and an incredible meal ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and an incredible meal for Valentines Day 2017!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time coming to Coope ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our second time coming to Cooper's Hawk. It will not be our last. This is a great restaurant serving delicious food at a great price. Wonderful wines.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coopers Hawk is one of our Favorite Dini ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Coopers Hawk is one of our Favorite Dining Spots in Columbus.

Some flexibility with your reservation and wine tasting would provide for a Best Experience. It seems like even if you show up early for a wine tasting it normally doesn't fit the time frame needed. Maybe better time management is needed on my end!

ALL in ALL! I Recommend this place to all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appetizers and main course were deli ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The appetizers and main course were delicious but they were low on wine selection this day.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good as usual.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good as usual.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our service was horrible and food was me ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our service was horrible and food was mediocre for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Andrew was a great server, great food fo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Andrew was a great server, great food for our valentines meal, awesome atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

You can always expect and experience gr ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

You can always expect and experience great food and service

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is good. Great service. The one thi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is good. Great service. The one thing I would not recommend is the carmel sauce on the dessert. It tasted burned. My sister had the same experience of the bad taste.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, it is a nice place with decent ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall, it is a nice place with decent prices for an upscale restaurant. The service was very good. The food, while good, definitely didn't stand out from an average meal. The potstickers were excellent and the best part of the meal while the meats were a little dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Birthday/valentines day

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday/valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, enjoyed the food and wine. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place, enjoyed the food and wine. Cooper's Hawk does things right, very clean and great service and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. The ambiance ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was impeccable. The ambiance was amazing but the food was Ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very nice, medium noi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant was very nice, medium noise but that added to the ambience. Our waiter was great. Very knowledgeable of the menu and made very good wine recommendations. Food was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would love if they had a bit more room f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Would love if they had a bit more room for wine tasting.

Food is always excellent, service is excellent and a good value

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The host Chloe was so ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great experience. The host Chloe was so gracious. And Abby our server was always around giving out great suggestions and making our time very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like Cooper's Hawk but a little disapp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I like Cooper's Hawk but a little disappointed when I was taken upstairs with not one person sitting in that area when there were tables available downstairs. I asked to go downstairs and they did honor my request. However, I don't understand why I would have been taken upstairs under those circumstances. Also, the restaurant was extremely cold and my guests had to keep their coats on for part of the dinner. It was a cold evening, but I think Cooper's Hawk should have taken care of this problem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We did the wine tasting ahead of dinner ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We did the wine tasting ahead of dinner and had a great time with that! Everyone thought their meals were delicious. Service was just a bit on the slow side, but not too bad. I think they were just busy in the kitchen. Highly recommend for a really enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.