Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (202)
Good for a Date (190)
Special Occasion (159)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (136)
Romantic (126)
Good for Birthdays (123)
Good for Groups (103)
Worth the Drive (93)
Casual (90)
Modern Decor (80)
Fun (78)
Creative Cuisine (75)
Tasting Menu (67)
Business Meals (66)
Happy Hour (64)
Great for Lunch (61)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Cozy (57)
Hot Spot (55)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Bar Seating (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Comfort Food (41)
Outstanding Value (40)
People Watching (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Healthy (37)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Authentic (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Family Style (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Seasonal (13)
Private Room (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Scenic View (11)
Fireplace (10)
Tapas (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Spicy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Waterfront (4)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined a day ago

Moms birthday dinner

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

We went to Cooper's Hawk for my birthday. The food and wine were incredible. The service was outstanding. We left extremely full and extremely happy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Always great experience! Exceptional food, amazing ambience! So delightful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

as always one of our favorite places. great staff, great club and good food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

We were disappointed that with a reservation we had to wait and ended up getting seated in the bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Cooper's Hawk for our daughter's 23rd birthday dinner. The cocktails came quickly butt he service after that was lacking. I'm not sure if they were short staffed and our server was helping to pick up the slack, but man they were slow.
The food was good, but one of our steaks came out very rare when it was ordered medium.
The calamari dish we liked had also changed. They now deep fry it in a very thick batter and it was way too heavy. I suspect they changed it from its prior light dusting in order to use less calamari by volume. It used to be light and served with a sweet/hot chili but now it is deep fried and served with a spicy mayo. Quite disappointing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Second visit in just a few weeks and the experience was great once again. Made it just in time for the happy hour sangria!!! Great food options and the desserts are yummy !!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 23, 2017

food and wine was good calamari was the best that i have had.

Tags: People Watching, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Made reservation for 9pm because there was a 2 hour wait. Restaurant had many open tables, we did not like our booth but they wouldn't move us. Food took 1 hour to arrive and it was cold. My daughter ordered her salad steak medium well, steak on it was served extremely rare. My chicken piccata was cold. Restaurant seemed totally unprepared for crowd, and why were there prom parties at a restaurant winery? Senior prom of 17 & 18 year olds should not be accommodated at a wine bar and restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I went with a group of friends on a night the restaurant was very busy, but the service was still impeccable. The food was absolutely delicious. Their wine list is amazing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wine and food were spot on..always good. There was an issue with the reservation, once that was cleared up we sat for 35 minutes with nothing.. not even water. Then once we got water and bread it took 20 more minutes to get our wine we ordered. When the server left the wine, he didn't take our food order! That took another 15 minutes to get done. After we got our food we asked to bring our check because we had no idea how long that would take. We didn't order anything else, we ate, paid and left.

The service here is historically slow but this was really bad...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Cooper's Hawk always has good food and gluten free options. The Mexican drunken shrimp is our favorite! Always a good choice for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

On our most recent visit, we came with friends who have different taste in food than we do. We were all able to find something that fit our tastes. And, we were all happy with our selections.
The service was great, our waitress provided input on menu items. And she kept water classes filled, which means a lot to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had Heard good things about Cooper's Hawk from friends and it was even better than we thought it was going to be. Excellent food, Excellent service and Excellent wine. Definitely pricey but it was worth every penny! All food is made from scratch, and it was the best steak I've ever had! Gotta try it out

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We made reservations and were seated promptly! Brian was our server and was awesome!!!!! He reviewed all the new menu items with us, discussed different wine options, and made great recommendations. While the cheese plate was good it was a little over priced. We also got potstickers and flat bread which were delicious. Our entrees where great. Really good price for the amount of food and quality of food you get. Can't wait to go back again!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Don't eat here. Way over priced and the food was terrible. Maybe just go for the wine which is mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very good food and fantastic house wines. Definitely should consider joining the wine club if you are local or can make the trip. Love the c-shaped booths too!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Cooper's Hawk has a very good menu. We eat here often and also belong to their Wine Club which is a good value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I had a fantastic time with my fiancee! This was in my opinion the best overall meal I've ever had. This is the second Cooper's Hawk I've visited and I've not been disappointed. Clancy the server was awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great wine as always. New menu was fun. A bit too much salt in the life balance dish for me though. All around good time, one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I've eaten at Cooper's Hawk several times and the food and atmosphere is always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 18, 2017

As wine club members, we left with a $26 investment in a good time having had four glasses of wine between two of us, an appetizer which was delicious and two entree salads. Couldn't have been happier with our experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This is the third time we have dined at Cooper's Hawk where there was some errors in the food delivery- either a mistake in the order or the food top being hot. This time it was fries that came out cold and were ent back; there was a delay in getting them back to have with the rest of the meal. This being said the food itself is typical good and the servers very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing food - drunken shrimp were especially delicious. Great wine varieties

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been here many times. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were dining for lunch on Easter Sunday. Although the foyer/bar area at this location is fun and staff is attentive, the meal dining experience was sub-par. After being seated (on time for our reservation) we waited at least 15 minutes and had to flag down a server to wait on us. We waited too long for our food, the appetizer order was not correct, they were out of two of the main entrees, my son's food was cold and they forgot one of my side dishes. I believe our server was trying, but it appeared the kitchen was not providing much help. The problems must have been widespread because while we were there, we noticed the manager apologizing for mistakes made at two other tables near us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good and a good value. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food / Good Wine / Good Service / We can always count on getting a good meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to Cooper's Hawk several times. The food and service are always excellent. This visit was on Easter Sunday. They were very busy, so it took a really long time for our food to come out. We've also been there on Thanksgiving, and it was equally busy, but we didn't wait nearly as long. Still, the quality of everything was great, and the manager and the waiter apologized several times for the delay. I think maybe a cook or two called in sick (just my guess). I will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We would never come back here for a holiday. Service was super slow and our 3 year old was delivered her food over 15 minutes after the rest of the table and they struggled to even get that order right. Drinks took forever and the food was just ok for the money. Only comp was the $6 kid meal and a tiny strawberry.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is a fantastic restaurant, we've been coming since it opened in Easton, and have been a wine club member as well. The restaurant design and ambience is very energetic, service is always top notch, food is amazing, what else can I say???? This occasion was our family gathering for Easter lunch. We were excited and pleased as ever.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was friendly but kitchen was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very busy and clearly not enough wait staff. Air conditioner was up high and we had to ask 3x to make it warmer. Steak came out more rare than medium but manager was effective in addressing.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter lunch - very disappointing for a very busy day in a restaurant. Tables not set up in advance, hostess was rude, food quality was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was crowded. Server seemed overwhelmed. Food did not come out at same time. Not the best evening there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waitress was really good and the food was good but the initial impression is the reason for rating this place lower than it should be. We had a 730 reservation and arrived at 722. We checked in with the hostess and she was very blunt/rude. She told us she had is down and that we wouldn't be seated until closer to our reservation... when we were seated there were 3 tables not including the one we were sat down at open... The initial experience almost made me walk out over how rude the hostess was. I wouldn't recommend this place to spen hard earned money unless just doing the taste testing in the front lobby area. The wine was really good and reasonably priced and food was good with reasonable prices too. The menu had a large variety so there is literally something for everyone. However, I will not be going back because of my initial impression.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

2nd time there. The first time the service was terrible. Appetizer never came, dinner came before salad. There were out of several dishes. However, the food was great and the wine bar was inventive. So, for my wife's' birthday we tried it again. I told our server of our problems from our last visit. Right off the bat, out of calamari. Out of crab and lobster bisque.The manager came and apologized and offered to comp a new soup, but when we got the bill we were charged for it. However, once again the food was great! Our server, Chelsie, was very good. I felt sorry for her as she had to deliver all the bad news plus answer for the manager's error. Not sure I will return. The food makes it hard to resist.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food and great atmosphere. First time we have been there and really enjoyed it.
Service was good with a great setting and atmosphere. The chicken dish was good and the drinks were right on.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My husband and I love having date nights at Cooper's Hawk. The food, service, and atmosphere (not to mention the wine) are always fantastic!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed the meal, great selection of entries and a very good wine list. Service was great waitress was checking back to make sure everything was ok. Manager made the rounds as well. Worth going back again and again. Just be cautious to have a reservation otherwise it could be a long wait. The bar area was certainly hoping which was good to see.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.