Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (614) 428-6999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (187)
Good for a Date (161)
Special Occasion (149)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Good for Birthdays (100)
Romantic (98)
Good for Groups (88)
Casual (85)
Worth the Drive (80)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Fun (70)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Happy Hour (66)
Great for Lunch (65)
Business Meals (58)
Tasting Menu (58)
Cozy (45)
Hot Spot (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Comfort Food (42)
Modern Decor (42)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
People Watching (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Healthy (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Authentic (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Seasonal (12)
Tapas (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Scenic View (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fireplace (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Spicy (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (3)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a double date. First time for our company, second time for us. The food was phenomenal. The Riesling was delicious and the dessert... Oh mama. The waitress was awesome which made a perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Chose this for a birthday dinner. Everything was excellent, per usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this restaurant! I always have a good meal and the wine is excellent. It is so nice to be able to taste the wine before buying. Service is always friendly and efficient. However, I never feel rushed. Please try this restaurant, you will love it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great place to stop in at. Enjoy doing the monthly tasting before dinner as they change it up every month so that you taste 8 different wines with 1 of them being the featured wine for that month. All tasting bottles are available for purchase so take your favorites home. Food has always been great with a large variety to choose from. We have yet to select anything we didn't like and look forward to going back each time and trying something different.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Second visit to this location. Very disappointed. Food was extremely slow to come out and though we had two managers stop by and convey their apologies once the food came out 2 out of the 5 entrees were cold and/or wrong. One entree was a salad that you could tell had wilted while waiting on the other entrees. The wait staff apologized profusely, it was obvious that the problem was not isolated to our table as we could see the flurry of activity amongst the management team. My daughters food was not only cold, but items were missing and it was never totally correct. We were celebrating two birthdays so it was a little disheartening that we had so many issues. I was even more disappointed when the bill arrived and there was nothing removed to compensate for the issues. Our bill was in excess of $200 so it wasn't like we had appetizers and water. Again, all the staff was very nice and apologetic, but it was not what we had anticipated. Our first visit was about a year ago, and we were seated 5 to a tiny bar table, it was so loud we had a hard time conversing but the food was good and other than being ignored a bit (my son got his own drink from the bar) we figured it was just because the bar was so busy. Based on these two experiences, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The menu looked promising but the food didn't live up to it, especially for the price. We knew we were in trouble when the calamari appetizer came out in what looked (and tasted) like funnel cake batter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service & food. Made the reservation a few weeks in advance but ended up with a table right at the entry where noise was a factor when we were looking for a bit more romance gorbour anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun, consistently good food. Love visiting and learning from Try & Tom at the wine tasting counter.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

We went this time for our anniversary. It was great again, the food was great, the wine was good and the service was very good as well. We love this place and will continue to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the food, the space was a bit loud. Th wine was tasty.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner with friends. We had heard good reviews so wanted to try it. We will definitely be returning. The menu had a wide range of selections and pricing. Not knowing much about wine I chose the one recommended with my dinner selection. It was a very good choice. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good experience over a business lunch. Service was excellent; food good; and cost reasonable. Sat on the patio and enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a 7:45 reservation and did not get my entree until 8:51!!!! Only ordered a bowl of Lobster Bisque and Chicken Potstickers!!! The server was not very attentative. When presented to the table, the seat was still dirty, had to have them wipe it off. Was given a water glass with food residue still stuck to it. When I asked the server to remove it from my table and bring me a clean one, glass remained on table exactly 21 minutes later! This was a Father's Day gift to someone who had never been to Cooper's Hawk. This was just my second visit!! Very upset at this experience. We both took 2 bites from the entree and boxed it. It's still sitting in my refrigerator! What a waste and disappointment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We did not have a good experience. We were in overflow seating because of Fathers Day. It was a small noisy area. Tables were too close together. My husbands meal was 'sitting' and not warm when it arrived. My daughters meal never arrived.
The manager was kind but the experience was not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great restaurant for wine lovers and when your looking for somewhere different to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our waitress was exceptional and kept a nice place for the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always enjoy it here. For some reason getting our food was really slow but everything else was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is always wonderful. The wine selection is wonderful. Great for all occasions or just for a quick bite. It is one of my favorite places to eat/drink.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic experience! Great food, wine, ambiance & service!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Upstairs wine service was slow otherwise all high ratings

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Amazing food and fair prices! We lived that the menu told us which wine to pair with each entree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Jeff, bartender and Patrick, my server made this an enjoyable trip. Grilled cheese or ribs and the tomato soup a new favorite.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wine was good ,food was good,service was quick

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Coopers Hawk Winery is one of my favorite restaurants. You can alway count on the food, wine and service to be above par. We always take visiting guests because we know we will not be disappointed

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 14, 2017

It was our anniversary. We had a great server and the atmosphere was excellent. They were super busy but it seemed that we received all parts of the meal in a timely fashion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I've never had a bad meal here. Our server was lovely and explained the menu and the wine club to us well. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food was good.but the server sucked never refilled my water was never around wasn't attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We enjoyed overall everyone was very nice. Food was pretty good for the price (not amazing- except the Brussel sprouts). Made a reservation and they seated us right near a party of 8 that arrived 15 min in (with lots of seats available), so not ideal for special occasion party of 2. Overall will try again for the tasting room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Friends got together for a long delayed visit. Ambiance was pleasant, service was attentive and friendly with some minor lapses (had to ask for bread). Menu interesting and varied. Wedge salad very good. Fish and chips were average (coating on fish meh, chips salty and dry). So my meal didn't meet the promise. We will try again for the ambiance. House ale tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wanted to take my wife out for her birthday, and this is the restaurant she requested. We've always had great service and great food.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always, the food was great, the wine superb. This time, there was a high level of noise which distracted me...I would not schedule a business meeting there again. Also, a waiter (not ours) decided to open the blinds behind me because another table requested it, allowing the hot sun to bear down on me. Not a good move. As a favorite food and wine place, however, I will always return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a great dinner at Cooper's Hawk. The server was fun and our food was very good! I would recommend this place for couples or families celebrating a special time together.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was extremely slow and food was just so so although the medallions received a thumbs up from one party member. Overpriced for the quality of both the wine and the food. Likely to not return as service was just too slow and we were not there at a busy time. We were a table of 6 and a party of 4 were on their desserts before we even received our entrees (we were seated prior to the party of 4). Waiter went AWOL on more than 1 occasion. Also, buying accoutrement from the retail tables took FOREVER - I stood in line for 17 minutes to buy a wine glass and bottle holder before giving up entirely. NOT IMPRESSED!!! Further, this was the 4th time I tried giving this place a chance. Regardless of when our reservations were scheduled - we waited AT LEAST 20 minutes after our scheduled reservation(s) to be seated. WE WERE NOT THERE AT PRIME TIME - Our reservations were typically around 5:00. I wanted to like this place and gave it multiple opportunities but I think I am DONE - This place is OVERRATED for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I went for happy hour with friends. We LOVED the food, and the prices of the drinks and small plates was very reasonable! We are eager to eat here again soon.

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I'm gonna go with good experience overall. Fun and engaging experience. A few issues though. My reservation was not honored on time which wasn't a big deal. Asked for a table and we were shown to a booth. Our waiter seemed to be overly occupied with other table commitments during the busy evening dinner rush, spoke softly and did not confirm the orders before leaving the table area. Consequently, one of my guests order was completely wrong and was sent back to correct. No hot rush as we expected, 30 plus minutes later their correct order showed up. Awkward. The Medallion trio is my favorite item to order here. Unfortunately, they were over done rather than what was ordered along with the mashed potatoes that had a hard finish to them... like they had been sitting under a heat lamp for a while. But hey, the wine was good!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We love the food and wine at Cooper's Hawk. This dining experience was good but not as good as prior visits. One of our guests ordered French fries and they weren't fresh. The waitress said she'd get fresh fries which was nice, but they took forever to come out. The rest of us were done eating, had empty glasses, and hadn't seen our waitress or the fries in awhile. Otherwise, good experience, delicious food, and always great wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is the first time I've been to Cooper's Hawk. I want to be rushing back. I ordered the New York strip and it came out with a gray tinge like it hadn't even been put on the grill. It looked more like it had been boiled. When I said something to the staff, they were very attentive. They re-fired my steak and the second one came out with the exact same gray tinge. Not only was it not very good, but the look was very unpalatable and unpleasant. I caught a comment that they must marinade the steaks. Why do you marinate a New York strip? The marinade is probably what kept the steak from crisping on the outside. Definitely not a firm understanding of steak and how to cook it in the kitchen.

Everyone else had what looked to be an OK meal but two people got filets and they didn't look much better than my steak. I can see why this restaurant has some appeal but if you're going to order steak, don't go here. I will say that comparative to other restaurants that specialize in steak , mine was disgusting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Wide range of delicious sounding entrees, burgers and sandwiches and beverages. Had a salad and burger. Generous portions, friendly service. Will defs be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Delightful evening. Server was poised, persistent and personal - ideal for this evening's business dinner. Venue and menu are excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.