About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

4230 The Strand
Columbus, OH 43219
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Strand and Worth Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 428-6999

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 6144286999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

notable wine list (250)
special occasion (238)
good for groups (173)
See All
fit for foodies (149)
romantic (136)
great for lunch (128)
hot spot (81)
vibrant bar scene (65)
great for outdoor dining (57)
neighborhood gem (55)
great for brunch (47)
late-night find (30)
kid-friendly (29)
scenic view (17)
Sort By:
Newest
1391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server Jeff was incredible. Awesome ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined a day ago

Our server Jeff was incredible. Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine and food. Loved it.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great wine and food. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Had to wait on second g ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food. Had to wait on second glass of wine and also our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was great as well as the food. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great as well as the food. Very attentive waiters who went beyond their normal duties to take pictures and satisfied all of our requests. Highly recommend ... The wine selection was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally had a good experience here. We h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Finally had a good experience here. We havent been in 2 years because of the horrible service in the past. Jeff was awesome!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we thought ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit and we thought the food was outstanding! Will definitely return!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place in Columbus. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favorite place in Columbus. The food is amazing! The wines are unbelievable. We joined the wine club and enjoy the wine tastings once a month but dine often. In fact one week not too long ago dined four times in one week...three times in Columbus and once at the one in Cincinnati!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment as always but very slo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great environment as always but very slow service, food delivery was extremely slow. I think an hour to hour and a half for the full experience is great, but we were there for almost 2 and a half hours (not by choice, with 2 kids under 5).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

great food.... great environment! Nois ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

great food.... great environment! Noise level was loud this particular night! A fan though for life!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Although the wine is good, the food is e ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Although the wine is good, the food is exceptional! Lots of variety. Had 2 recent occasions of 8 people, all of which loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cooper's Hawk never disappoints with amb ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cooper's Hawk never disappoints with ambiance and atmosphere. The wine list is solid with several great wines, including their house blends. Great menu. I must say that I was slightly disappointed with my entrée of Roasted Butternut Squash and Gnocchi. The flavors were great and well seasoned. I felt that the squash was on the soft side almost like mashed potato consistency which I didn't like the texture when combined with the softer texture of the gnocchi. The mushrooms were a nice touch. I give it a 8 out of 10. My wife had the Short Ribs with Rissotto and loved it

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I decided to try Cooper's Ha ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I decided to try Cooper's Hawk for our anniversary dinner.

It took 20 minutes for us to get our table despite having a reservation and at least 75% of the dining room being empty. We then waited nearly 15 minutes before our server appeared with some much needed glasses of water. By that time we had read the entire menu and were able to order everything at one time.

We opted for a bottle of Cabernet Zinfandel. The server did not offer us a sample of the wine before pouring both of our glasses. The wine was simply ok....nothing that we would purchase or order again.

We chose the crab beignets for an appetizer and they were fantastic. There was crab flavor in every bite and they were served with a nice horseradish sauce and some delicious slaw.

My wife opted for the braised short ribs and I the pistachio crusted grouper. Both were scrumptious. The short ribs were tender and flavorful. They were served on a bed of mashed potatoes with some root vegetables. My grouper was properly cooked; glistening and moist on the inside and served with asparagus and mashed potatoes. I noted a couple of small bites of under cooked potatoes, but otherwise they were well seasoned and very tasty.

We did not have any dessert as we were full from dinner

Service was lacking. My water glass sat empty for a long time before the server came back around and noticed it. He did not check to see if we enjoyed the appetizer until it was finished and we were well into our dinner before he checked on how it was. We also had to refill our own wine glasses.

The restaurant is a bit noisy for intimate settings as it's all open space. We also laughed as it seemed there were some dish handling issues coming from the kitchen as we heard dishes crashing to the floor several times during our meal. We also had to step over broken glass from the bar when we were leaving.

Although we didn't care for the wine and the service was not up to par, the food is well worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

I ordered a short rib with gnocci and it ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I ordered a short rib with gnocci and it was so oily that it wasn't fit to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I ordered the surf n turf with the trio ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I ordered the surf n turf with the trio medallions and salmon. It was absolutely delicious!! I recommend highly!! I miss my server Dale he was awesome but the food is still to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Been to this location several times. Thi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Been to this location several times. This most recent visit was not up to the standards we have been provided in earlier visits. Service seemed rushed. Food was average. Wine was excellent. Tasting area was packed and hard to walk through. Reservation desk/Hostesses were unfriendly and didn't seem to care we were even there. Will certainly try again but hopeful this situation was a fluke and not the new normal.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Cooper's Hawk is our destination every m ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Cooper's Hawk is our destination every month for Sister Saturday. Always friendly service, good food and excellent wine

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was okay...It was okay....it was okay ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was okay...It was okay....it was okay...it was okay...

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best server I have ever had at the resta ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best server I have ever had at the restaurant. He was very attentive to our needs and came back several times to make sure everything was alright. He check my card to make sure that I did not have any discounts to use and explained the different wines and today specials in detail.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good, a little slow in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was very good, a little slow in the bar, dining room service excellent. My food was terrific (gnocchi bologna ar with short ribs) along with wine pairing), I'll order that again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I always love the lobster bisque. It's ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I always love the lobster bisque. It's my absolute favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good good, service, andatmosphere! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very good good, service, andatmosphere! I love the fact that you don't feel rushed to eat! Nice relaxing environment! Our waitress was awesome .... Melissa😀. Will be there for dinner again soon! So excited I joined the wine club🍷

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, Short Rib Risotto, mak ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great restaurant, Short Rib Risotto, make sure you get it so good...very nice wine list, great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and we al ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and we all had a great lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Cooper's Hawk. We had great service ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love Cooper's Hawk. We had great service from our waiter, probably the best that I have had in a long time! And the food was beyond amazing! Will be going back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really great, but the service w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was really great, but the service was really terrible. We made reservation for a fairly late time 8:15 arrived a few minutes early, but weren't seated until close to 8:30. We put in a appetizer order and with our drinks and it came quickly, while we were dining on appetizer our serve took our entree order. We sat starting at our dirty appetizer plates for quite a bit of time, till our serve came and told she'd forgotten to put in our entree order and she was placing it now. A manager stopped by to apologize and let us know there was a rush put in on our order. It sill took a while. We ended up finally finishing dinner close to 10:15, not an ideal experience and no compensation was offered to make up for the mistake.

We will not be going back. The food is great, but for the price there are lot better places through out Columbus where you can get a great meal AND great service, one should not have to chose one or the other.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The Service was the best. Our servers na ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Service was the best. Our servers name was Shelby,she made our first visit a rememberable one. When I visit Cooper's Hawk again, I hope Shelby is working.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was good, but not great. Very over- ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good was good, but not great. Very over-priced for the quality. Service was good.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Food was excellent and our server was ev ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was excellent and our server was even better than excellent but can't remember his name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was great ! Really enjoyed food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Service was great ! Really enjoyed food andtotal experience.★★★★

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is EXCELLENT! Always full of f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food is EXCELLENT! Always full of flavor, and I love that the menu doesn't look like every other chain restaurant. There are many options that you won't find anywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Our server was great! Very helpful. The ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our server was great! Very helpful. The wine and food were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food, great wines and awesome ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very good food, great wines and awesome people taking care of you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time celebrating my wife' ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday. Our server (I don't remember her name) was outstanding - patient, knowledgeable about the extensive wine list, and cheery the whole way through. The food was to-die-for and we will definitely be returning. Expensive, but fun and worth it every once in a while.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was way overcooked. However, mana ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Steak was way overcooked. However, manager did address the issue and comped it.

Service was not good for this type of restaurant.

Was told the coffee was freshly brewed, however tasted very water down.

Been here several times, this is 1 out of 8 times that we've gotten bad food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Another fun visit to the hawk. Highly re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Another fun visit to the hawk. Highly recommend joining the wine club.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always great. Just a little s ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service is always great. Just a little slow on everything this time. Still great experience.

Will go back again, and again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food, as always, was wonderful! They ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food, as always, was wonderful! They've gotten rid of the peach wine - big mistake! Like I'd ever tasted. Huge disappointment that it was discontinued. Gnocchi carbonara is my favorite there. However, my husband got the pork chop/crab cake surf and turf....the pork was so moist! I've never had pork that wasn't at least a little dry and chewy. Free dessert for bday. Of it was great too. Mom had a banana dessert with toffee that was also superb. You be disappointed (well, except for the peach wine missing in action!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great birthday dinner here. The ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great birthday dinner here. The service and the food were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are Wine Club Members and love CH. Th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We are Wine Club Members and love CH. The wine is tops with a great variety plus the food is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding server. Delicious food.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding server. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.