About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield

15 S. Moorland Rd
Brookfield, WI 53005
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 785-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2627859463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
  • Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
3 More
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Brookfield ›

notable wine list (178)
special occasion (170)
good for groups (114)
See All
fit for foodies (109)
romantic (97)
great for lunch (83)
neighborhood gem (52)
hot spot (51)
great for outdoor dining (44)
vibrant bar scene (29)
kid-friendly (20)
great for brunch (18)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service very good. The daily s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service very good. The daily special was delicious. We love coming!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always excellent! Belong to the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always excellent! Belong to the wine club, so we did a tasting before dinner. We were celebrating a birthday. I included the birthday celebration on the reservation made so the restaurant would know about the special occasion. When we checked in, the host acknowledged the special occasion and wrote "Birthday" on the card that is put on the table for the server. Our server did not pick up the card until about 20 mins after we sat and ordered drinks and I did not see him look at the card or message. Service was spotty on this Tuesday night. Our waiter was hard to track down, glasses and dishes sat. This had not been our other experiences. At the end of the meal, our server asked if we wanted dessert and I said, of course, we are celebrating a birthday today. Our waiter had no idea. He did bring a small complimentary birthday dessert -truffle and chocolate covered strawberry. It was just disappointing because we have celebrated 2 other birthdays at Coopers Hawk in the last year and the service and food were outstanding. Our bill was around 200.00 for this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We were seated immediately . Our servic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated immediately . Our service was very good. The wine was great. We tried a variety of dishes and the food in general was good. Although the noise level was loud, we were able to have a good conversation at dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We had a gift certificate so we thought ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a gift certificate so we thought we would use it for our anniversary. I had put in the reservation notes that it was our anniversary. We were seated right out in the open when several booths and more intimate tables were available (empty the whole time we dined). They allow you to taste several different wines before you choose which was nice. The food was good and came quickly. The noise level in the restaurant was pretty loud considering that in other ways it has nice ambiance (dim lighting). If they had music playing you couldn't hear it. There was never any mention of our anniversary by the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We enjoyed sampling the wine and the sug ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed sampling the wine and the suggested pairing of wine with the various meal offerings. There were many things I would have like to try. I had the short ribs risotto and the crab/bisque soup. I enjoyed my meal very much. The wait staff was friendly and gave us good explanations of how the wine/restaurant worked. Also a cute gift shop at the entrance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Keri was our waitress, she did a great j ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Keri was our waitress, she did a great job. Very informative on the food and wine. Shrimp and grouper were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great night! I enjoy Cooper's H ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always a great night! I enjoy Cooper's Hawk for a date night. My husband is a burger and fries kind of guy, but I enjoy a variety of items- seafood, steaks, etc. from their menu. It's nice that we can go to one place and not have to compromise based on what we're in the mood for- a great selection! Their soups, salads, and apps never disappoint. Great wine, nice ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for two at Cooper's Hawk in Brook ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Dinner for two at Cooper's Hawk in Brookfield WI on a Thursday evening could not have been better albeit the noise level. Filet mignon was excellent , not overly seasoned and prepared to perfection. Crispy onion strings and Mary's mashed potatoes perfect sides. Grilled broccoli was as good as it looked. Shrimp and Lobster Bisque creamy and Newburg-esque (next time I will remember to order a cup instead of a bowl.) Red Wine Braised Short Ribs were meaty and tender. Sides of Mary's mashed potatoes, roasted vegetables and onion strings also perfect sides. Server, Timothy, friendly and attentive, made the dinner memorable. I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service wasn't as good as usual, we ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our service wasn't as good as usual, we are wine members and eat there every month.

Our food took a while to get, and I was ordering from the lite menu and was given the

Regular turkey burger. Not happy with fries...... but we had been waiting long enough.

Everyone else got the correct order.

THANKS, Karen

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Celebrated our son's birthday and found ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Celebrated our son's birthday and found out some surprising info about his wine preferences. Staff at the tasting bar are fun and our food was really tasty. Great time!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The risotto was overly salty during this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The risotto was overly salty during this experience. The Brussels sprout salad was more bitter than usual this experience also.

The worst part was the lack of service though. This restaurant has only once ever impressed us with their service. Unfortunately, that time the exceptional service came after a server from another area realized we had been seated for some time and hadn't even received water yet. This time, however, there was no server to swoop in and "rescue" us. We had to flag down a server every time we needed anything - drinks, ordering the meal, extra water, and the bill.

One good thing, you can save a bit of money because you won't be leaving much of a tip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The only downside is the dining room is ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The only downside is the dining room is really loud.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous! Delish! Gluten free menu rocks ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fabulous! Delish! Gluten free menu rocks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very enjoyable lunch. Food was ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Had a very enjoyable lunch. Food was excellent. Attentive and knowledgeable waitress who explained the menu and wine list pairings.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 3rd time visiting Cooper's ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our 3rd time visiting Cooper's Hawk. The drunken shrimp, the beet salad, & the dumplings were all great appetizers. The crab/lobster bisque was very rich and delicious. Because of that, a bowl may be enough for a meal. We had the risotto twice. The first time it was outstanding, and the second time the portion size was small and it tasted like it had been cooked too long. Maybe all that was left from that day's batch? The service was exceptional the first night when we had not yet purchased a membership. But when we had a problem on another night, the manager was quick to remedy it -so the service is still very good. This is my new favorite restaurant because I can get great flavors and if I'm not too hungry, still feel satisfied with an appetizer. Plus they give you tastings of wine. I never before like dessert wine, but tried one that was great with my dessert truffle. Make a reservation though. Even when there are tons of tables open, you still wait 15 min for a table. (Maybe to sell you a membership?). But worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Coopers Hawk before and t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I have been to Coopers Hawk before and the wine is always excellent. The service is usually hit or miss though. Sometimes the servers are great, other times not so much. On my recent visit, I was not brought food I had ordered and was presented with a desert menu, only to have the server bring the bill and walk away. While it is a nice place to go and the food is excellent, the getting the right server seem to be a problem with this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was great. The service not Goog ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was great. The service not Google. We were like an afterthought to the waitress. After being seated for 5-10 minutes, another waitress brought us water Then we waited again to have our drink order taken and so it went. A table across from us that was seated 5 minutes after us and waited on by a different waitress received their drinks, appetizers and food before us

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I love this restaurant! Great food and a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love this restaurant! Great food and always a pleasant experience. Ed always makes this a wonderful when it comes the wine tasting!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk has a great variety of foo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Cooper's Hawk has a great variety of food and drink offerings, including a separate gluten free menu. Allergies are generally treated very seriously, but you need to make sure you are very clear that you have an allergy and your choices are not just a preference.

As the only location in WI, they are very busy, and larger groups may not get as immediate or responsive service as those less than five people. Do not forget to speak up, since the atmosphere is loud, and that is when specific requests are not heard.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We got there early and they were already ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We got there early and they were already getting busy. Do not eat there unless you have a reservation. There is not much room to wait for your table the bar is always full.

We had a very nice dinner and good service. I also ordered a to-go and one of the meals I paid for was forgotten. I had to call and I will get a certificate for a free meal. This did not help my son who didn't get his dinner that night.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great meal selection for a business lunc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great meal selection for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love my dinner at Coopers. Great food an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Love my dinner at Coopers. Great food and drinks. LOVED our server Sarah E. Great customer service! Will ask for her every time I come in. Loved the Ahi Tuna appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love everything about Coopershawk ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I just love everything about Coopershawk! The wait staff is attentive, the food is a wonderful value, and the WINE, need say no more!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and prices were far better then ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food and prices were far better then we expected. The service was great, and the menu was way too hard to choose between entrees and appetizers. Lacation is perfect. The wine choices are exceptional

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious dinner to celebrate a birthday ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Delicious dinner to celebrate a birthday!!

The service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service.

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was good but they removed wine flight ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was good but they removed wine flights with matching cheeses and was my wife's favorite and main item to go there ! A place that is a winery and resterant should have a cheese platter

Tags: great for outdoor dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great restaurant - super service. Reall ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great restaurant - super service. Really appreciated that the waiter was attentive but not hovering! Food was really really. Get the wine flight - it's fun!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Braised Ribs, the Ahi Tun ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed the Braised Ribs, the Ahi Tuna and the pecan crusted Grouper. The wine of the month went well with the 2 fish selections.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent! My wife and I visit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was excellent! My wife and I visit every couple months for dinner or lunch and have always had a great meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cool place with nice ambiance. Would rec ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Cool place with nice ambiance. Would recommend this place totally

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I wasn't able to try the wine (lunch dat ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I wasn't able to try the wine (lunch date during working hours), but the food was good. The side salad with the turkey burger was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dinner and great serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and great service. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very good restaurant, we have been there ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

very good restaurant, we have been there several times. Service outside was a bit touch and go, which is not the norm for this restaurant. The Grouper was a huge hit, the pork chops missed the mark, fish fry was ok. Bartenders are always energetic and always explains things well. Everyone is always very polite and very nice, always a joy to go to this fine restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

We have been here before. It's a very re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have been here before. It's a very reliable, interesting place for dinner or a drink. Nice atmosphere and outdoor dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent wine pairings with top of the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent wine pairings with top of the line food choices. Vegetarian options too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Noise level is rated as energetic, my op ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Noise level is rated as energetic, my option would have been noisy. I will come again because the food and wine are good, I have enough options for gluten free food (celiac), the wait staff has always been attentive without hovering and just plain old courteous. Only downside would is there is no guarantee that the gluten free food is not cross contaminated.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited this place with family on a week ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Visited this place with family on a weekday. Wonderful experience with food and service. This place has a great wine list so plenty to choose from

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crab cake appetizer was disappointing. C ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Crab cake appetizer was disappointing. Couldn't taste calimari in the calamari. Pork belly tostadas were excellent. Wine was way too young. Service was VERY slow. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The Trio Medallions were delicious! Coup ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Trio Medallions were delicious! Coupled with asparagus and mashed potatoes, it was a fine meal. I will have this meal again, and again, and......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.