About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield

15 S. Moorland Rd
Brookfield, WI 53005
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 200 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 785-9463

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 2627859463x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Brookfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
3 More
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Brookfield ›

notable wine list (225)
special occasion (215)
good for groups (154)
See All
romantic (142)
fit for foodies (138)
great for lunch (121)
hot spot (76)
neighborhood gem (54)
vibrant bar scene (52)
late-night find (31)
great for outdoor dining (31)
kid-friendly (26)
great for brunch (21)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

pleasant experience

Dined 4 days ago

Our experience was pleasant, and it's always nice to try a new place. Because my friend lives very close to B'field Square we'll keep Cooper's Hawk in mind the next time.

food5
ambience3
service3

Great food. Great wine. Great atmosphere ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Great wine. Great atmosphere.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Wedding Anniversary Dinner

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I eat at Cooper's quite a bit, been our favorite for years. Our server Steve was real nice and friendly to start, but very inattentive once our order was placed. The food was served at a wrong temperature by someone else, who corrected it. By the time Steve came around, my meal was finished. Nice guy, but not service oriented... it is unusual for most of the service experience levels we have had at Cooper's has been very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

You can't go wrong with anything on the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

You can't go wrong with anything on the menu!! Food and wine is all good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine member

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food is great, service is fast and friendly. We think the wine membership is amazing and their wines are delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are always met and served by friendly ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We are always met and served by friendly staff, the food is never disappointing, and the wine choices are fantastic. I like how you can substitute a favorite during wine-tasting if you do not like the choice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was our first time at the restaurant ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was our first time at the restaurant so we didn't know what to expect. We were not disappointed. The food was not your usual and was very tasty. Waitress was attentive although we could tell she was run ragged. I'm sure we'll be back.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and wine at a price that will ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and wine at a price that will not break the bank.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Three generations girls family night

Dined on May 20, 2016

It's a nicer/pricey restaurant...perfect for a special occasion to take out Grandma. The menu has allot of variety..definitely something for everyone. So here's why this is not 5 star review. Our waitress all but ignored us. There was a table for 2 behind us. Couldn't help but hear the whole story...very loud conversation..so loud I heard it more than the conversation at our table of seven. Unemployed female customer who ended up getting recruited for Coopers Hawk. After hearing 5 years of the waitresses work experience at the restaurant.. they ended up giving the couple business cards good for free meals. In the meantime we didn't get offered a second beverage..dessert etc. We still tipped 18% but that tip was not indicative of the service

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect day for lunch on the patio. Eno ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

perfect day for lunch on the patio. Enough umbrellas to keep the sun out if you wanted but at the same time enough sun space to enjoy a beautiful day. Food was amazing as always! I had the tuna tacos as an app and lemon piccata chicken lunch portion. Service was great and wine was great! Always a go to spot for lunch or dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best way to classify this restaurant ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The best way to classify this restaurant is perfection. I have never had a dissatisfying satisfying meal or experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My #1 pick for special occasions. Food i ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My #1 pick for special occasions. Food is always fantastic! Took my parents for their first time there and they were very pleased. They stated the prices were a bit high but the high quality entrees made it worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is amaz ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is amazing. The service, the food selection is varied in tastes and pricing, and the ambiance is great! I highly recommend eating here, but would recommend making a reservation. We never go unless we have one...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful food, had the brussel sprout s ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful food, had the brussel sprout salad and short rib rissoto. Also our group had the grouper fish specials. Banana bread caramel dessert was most tasty and shared by all. Table was ready right on time and our waiter Stuart did a fabulous job! Will keep on going back for sure.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not impressed

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to Cooper's Hawk many times but this time, not impressed. First of all, waiter blamed a lot on other staff, kitchen people, etc. He discouraged us from ordering a dessert we wanted. The life balance medallions were not plated well and the kale was loaded with salt. They ran out of coffee, ran out of key lime pie...not good! For the price we paid, we should have been WOWED.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Casual Dining

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Cooper's Hawk is a very nice place with good service, great food and a nice ambience.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoy Wine Tasting and Dinner

Dined on May 13, 2016

We always enjoy a wine tasting and dinner at Coopers Hawk. The food is consistently excellent and we have always had good service. While the Salmon and Life Balance Choices are some of my favorite, do not discount the special of the day. The evening we were here it was Grouper and they ran out...that happens often as the food is so good!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were great as always. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Service and food were great as always. My favorite place to go. Was a bit loud, but it was that time of evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food & Wine

Dined on May 10, 2016

Perfect for business or personal occasions. Food was great. Incredible list of appetizers. I recommend anything with the home-made buratta. Creamy and delicious. 4 different meals including fish, beef, and risotto -- all were perfection. You can't go wrong!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Unsatisfied for 1st time

Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been to this particular Coopers Hawk half a dozen times and generally speak highly of the wines, food and service. Wine samplers for this visit was great. Came for Mothers Day dinner. It was near end of dinner rushtime many empty seats. Thought this was good planning for faster service. Nope. Arrived on time as reserved. Wait staff took 4 ever b4 we finally ordered and again for the check. Waited an hour for food to arrive. Never got any bread then we were told by waiter we're supposed to ask to get it. Always got bread in past visits w/o needing to ask. Sat in cold drafty area, had to wear out jackets while waiting for food. Music was loud and had hard time hearing family sitting next to me. Food itself was subpar this time. The whole night experience left a bitter after taste in more ways than one. Maybe it was a bad day and short staffed. I will give them grace this time but If I have a repeat experience next time I go there, I'm done.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1

We were seated at 5:45. Not overly busy. ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated at 5:45. Not overly busy. It took 20 minutes to receive a glass of wine. The waiter did not take our order until 6:30. Our entrees arrived at 7, my son received the wrong dinner. The waiter did not check back, I had to find someone to let him know. He put in the correct order and it was 20-30 minutes before the correct entree appeared. The manager comped my son's meal and never stopped back at our table. My meal was cold by then. We ate. The waiter returned at the end and asked if we would like dessert. My son ordered a dessert to go. The waiter gave us the check and a bag. When we got home no dessert, only leftovers. Extremely disappointed in the service!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great restaurant food, wine and service ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great restaurant food, wine and service is very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

copper haws Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Here it is in a nut shell, food was great, the place was very clean, people were very nice, and the wine selection was very good. Now some of the negative, when it got toward the evening service the light dimed for more of a romantic lighting but it was way too dark for my liking and I saw one gentlemen use his cell phone light to read the menu, our waiter must of be newer ( or just swamped for the day we went to the restaurant was Mother’s Day) for he didn’t check on our table enough I often was look for him to refilling of refreshments for our group, and the food seemed to come out a little slow. This is a lot different from the last time I was in the place in that food was fast and waiter was Johnnie on the spot.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had such a great time! The food was fabulous. Not once did we have to ask the waitstaff for a thing. They were spot on the whole time. We were able to converse without any problem. I can't remember the last time I went out to eat and didn't have to ask for something. So relaxing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service! Can't wait to ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food and service! Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistently good!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always consistently good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Dining experience was very pleasurable; food was outstanding; wine CH Red was delicious. Worth going there again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoy the wine selections and food pairi ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Enjoy the wine selections and food pairings

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

By far my favorite restaurant. Don't know what I will do when we move! I can always find an excuse to go there. From the delicant food and wine to the atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I tried something different than I norma ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I tried something different than I normally have, and of course I wasn't disappointed. The food is fantastic and you can't go wrong with anything on the menu

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent, tad noisy, very busy ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was excellent, tad noisy, very busy, service was pretty good. Will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Favorite food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and usually there is some sort of glitch. But the past two times things have been just about perfect. ( Super noisy people next to us and barely could hear my friends .) I tried the Gnocchi and have a new favorite. The Gnocchi with Butternut squash( and mushrooms , spinach and onions ) was excellent! My husband is in love with their Braised Short Ribs. Ordered them the last time we were there too. Our friends loved their Chicken Piccata and Mustard Crested Pork Chop ( no Bone) generous servings which is good because things are not cheap. Wines were lovely and they give matches in the menu. Service by Kathy was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary Dinner for friends

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a great time celebrating a 50th wedding anniversary for our friends. Food was excellent!! Had a little mishap with the server forgetting to bring a bowl of soup that one person in our party had ordered. Other than that, the drinks were good, the main meal excellent; and the desserts were great. The time we spent talking about events over the past 50 years brought back fond memories and made for a most enjoyable dining night.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent is par for the course

Dined on April 29, 2016

We're wine club members and dine there monthly. Food, service, wine, atmosphere is excellent. Wine sampling area is a nice little space as well. It's a great place for a wide variety of people.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wait staff

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and wait staff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's Hawk

Dined on April 27, 2016

It was overall a great experience the food , wine and service was absolute amazing I really love Cooper's Hawk and recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Something for everyone

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great food, great service and very nice wine. There is something on the menu for everyone. The red wine flight was very good, especially for local wine. I would highly recommend this restaurant for both business or pleasure. The noise level was a bit loud, but otherwise and wonderful place to enjoy the food and wine.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Let me start that we are repeat customer ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Let me start that we are repeat customers and are wine club members here so we are very accustomed to this restaurant. We were seated for 10 minutes meanwhile at least two other tables by us were seated and received service while we waited. After two complaints a couple minutes apart we finally received service. Our waitress made no efforts to make our service better making us feel like she already wrote us off. The manager told us he would buy our last drink round and deserts. We thought this would improve but our waitress made no efforts to rush service or ensure we were happy with our meals. She brought us dessert menus and asked us if the manager informed us of the credits. We said yes and proceeded to order our desserts. When we received the bill the desserts were on it. Again after waiting a long time for our waitress to come back she said that the manager only credited for the drinks. We had to tell her again that the desserts were suppose to be comp'd as well and she took the bill. She made no effort to make us feel our business was appreciate despite the manager's effort.

food4
ambience3
service3

Great food and a nice atmosphere. The st ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food and a nice atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice Atmposphere but Expensive for the Quality

Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was great and the atmosphere is good. Having said that we were disappointed in the quality of the food. The prices don't match the food quality.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.