About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

798 W. Algonquin Rd
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 300 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
W. Golf Road and W. Algonquin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 981-0900

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8479810900x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Arlington Heights ›

notable wine list (318)
special occasion (307)
good for groups (283)
See All
fit for foodies (223)
great for lunch (194)
romantic (174)
hot spot (96)
neighborhood gem (96)
vibrant bar scene (87)
great for brunch (46)
kid-friendly (44)
late-night find (42)
scenic view (19)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

We found this gem a few years ago and ha ...

Dined 9 hours ago

We found this gem a few years ago and have been returning ever since. Diverse menu for different tastes but the prices are surprisingly affordable.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been here several times, and eac ...

Dined 4 days ago

We have been here several times, and each time is a lovely dining experience. The wine, of course, is wonderful - and the few mixed drinks we've tried have been good also. Love the tenderloin medallions and the chicken madiera. For the price, though, I think the dinners should come with a soup/salad choice!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service were perfect. Love the ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were perfect. Love the carafe of barrel reserve wine. Great night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic!!!! We were her ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our server was fantastic!!!! We were here for 3 graduations, 2 high school, 1 middle school.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great steak! I'm not much of a wine dri ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great steak! I'm not much of a wine drinker but the suggestions and pairings they had on the menu was wonderful! Service was also very good. Overall a very nice experience and my husband and I eat out A LOT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like a country club

Dined on May 21, 2016

I've had the pleasure of dinning at other Cooper's Hawks but this was the very best. It's huge and yet very inviting. The gift and tasting area is perfect for unique gifts that work well for house warming etc.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great wine selection. Food above average ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great wine selection. Food above average. Can easily accommodate large groups. Poor acoustics. VERY NOISY.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An awesome anniversary experience!

Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband and I had the nicest meal with lots of wonderful surprises...we will definitely be back for more special occasions!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was an excellent meal as always.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

It was an excellent meal as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

The manager was very personable and frie ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The manager was very personable and friendly, great environment , great restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was below usual standards

Dined on May 18, 2016

Not sure what happened with service on this trip, usually they will place a fresh iced tea at my place when I have a quarter of my previous drink left. This time we had finished our iced teas within 10 minutes of being seated and did not get a refill until I had to ask for it after our appetizers and food were served. Waitress walked by our table at least 5 times in the interim but I was not able to get her attention (didn't want to wave her down or call after her.) But besides that, food was great as usual. We had a party member who had only 1 hour for lunch and we let the waitress know this when we ordered, she seemed somewhat displeased by this information but said she would notify the kitchen. Food didn't seem to come out any faster regardless and our friend had to leave immediately after scarfing down her food (before the bill could arrive.) Manager was making his rounds as we were getting up to leave so we did not get a chance to mention the above to him.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice ambiance , loved the wine

Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice ambiance , loved the wine

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Coopers Hawk AH

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was a Saturday night so of course it was busy. There was no wait we had reservations. Server was knowledgeable and fun. Food service was slow. I expected a little slow but we waited between courses too long. I think the server has too many tables also. I prefer the Barrington location. Smaller venue and much more intimate. Food was good. However my crusted pork chop was way too salty. Desert was heaven!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The room was a bit cold, otherwise it wa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The room was a bit cold, otherwise it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the wine as always!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We are wine club members, and always enjoy the wine. We invited some friends for this evening, and had a great time. the food was good, the atmosphere was good, and of course the wine! We didn't feel pressured to leave the table after the meal was over, and enjoyed hanging out with our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone in our party of 10 fully enjoye ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everyone in our party of 10 fully enjoyed their meal. The service was excellent. We would recommend this to anyone. Also, thought the meals were a great value and they have a wonderful assortment of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, as well as great wine select ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, as well as great wine selections! Very pleasurable experience. Would definitely come back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime we go, we are NEVER disappointed! A++

Dined on May 14, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and our server brought us each a glass of champange to toast! The lettuce wraps are to die for!! Omg like nothing else! Salmon, amazing!! Banoffe (sp?) dessert, holy cow! Surf & turf, my husband loved!! We look forward to everytime we go, and it is like the first time every time it's so good!! Can't say enough about how incredible it is to dine here ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food are served. I brought peo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very good food are served. I brought people and they all liked food.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and wine!

Dined on May 13, 2016

The menu is varied enough to work for almost anyone. Cooper's Hawk is perfect for a date or an evening out with friends or for a special occasion dinner. The service is consistently excellent and the ambiance is fun but not too loud. As a monthly visitor, I haven't had a bad experience yet.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service. V ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Very attentive server.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service. Make sure to make a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Mother's Day at Cooper's Hawk

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food and service was wonderful at Cooper's Hawk Arlington Heights. Our server, Eddie, was attentive and prompt. We enjoyed the surf and turf plus the Ahi tuna dinners. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right away. Service was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated right away. Service was excellent by our waiter Marty and the food was as great as it always is. Thank You.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Server didn't check back, no dressing on ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Server didn't check back, no dressing on slaw salad, out of garlic mashed potatoes. Not a nice Mother's Day meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional Special

Dined on May 5, 2016

We had one of the specials recommended by the person that served us a wine tasting before dinner. It was cashew encrusted grouper ad it was outstanding. One of the best meals that I have ever had!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

I am used to going to the wheeling locat ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

I am used to going to the wheeling location. While the ambiance is lovely.. they were out of quite a few things.. and my companion's tree nut, sesame and peanut allergy limited what she could eat

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on May 3, 2016

I definitely will be returning for some great wine and the food was very good also. Our server was very good and not pressuring us to hurry with anything. Great evening overall.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Options

Dined on May 2, 2016

The best part of Cooper's Hawk is the wine tasting. It makes a night out for dinner something out of the ordinary. Having spent 75 minutes before dinner talking to the friendly and knowledgeable wine tasting staff you're well prepared for for choosing a wine with dinner. Also the menu suggests the ideal paring with the entree you choose. Visually the ambience is terrific. As for the noise level, I found it slightly unnerving. The openness of the room and tall ceilings provide an echo chamber. I guess that's the price you pay for nice visuals. We would go back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Love the wine. I always enjoy the tasti ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Love the wine. I always enjoy the tastings as well. I'm a club member so I try to go at least once a month. Great food and wine. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome food and service every time! We are never disappointed!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Nightmare beware

Dined on April 30, 2016

This could have been the worst dining experience that I have ever had. From start to finish nothing but errors and lack of caring for the guest. Please allow me to tell you how the night started. I arrived at 6:10 for my 6:15 reservation. The hostess up front greets me and asks my name and what time the reservation is for. She then proceeds to tell me that my table was not ready, and she would text my phone when it was. At this point she dismissed me and went to talk to one of the other people up front. I waited for my text and sure enough at 6:15 I got the text. I walked up to the host stand and spoke with the same hostess and she could not remember who is was. She found me in the open table system then proceeded to talk with her felloe hostess for five more minutes until I could be sat. I was taken into to the dining room which was about 60% full which means my table was ready the whole time. Coopershawk just wanted to shop in the shop before dinner. I was then sat at a table that was right inside the door and in the traffic flow. My date asked nicely if we could have a different table to which the hostess snapped back to say I have a two top over there. We took that table even though there were numerous other tables open. We now sit for 15 minutes and no one can greet us. Tables that ere sat after us are on salads already and I do not have a glass of water. I had to get up from my table and go tell the manger up front what was going on. Her reply was very un feeling and said give me a minute to figure out what is going on. I told her my name which she can look up in the open table system . I went back to my table and finally got bread and water. I ordered a bottle of the house blend red. Which took for ever to get to the table. The same time the wine showed so did the General manger . he was very nice and tried to get things back on track . The problem was it was to late there were at least 5 or 6 other mangers walking around and not one of them seemed to notice

food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular as always😀

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Spectacular as always😀

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

What a wonderful experience EVERY time at this location. Never disappointing EVER> Server Sierra was great !! Thank You.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME

Dined on April 29, 2016

As usual, everything was fantastic. Both the wine and meals were delicious. Also, Jessica was most professional and friendly. Another wonderful time at "The Hawk"! Thanks...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great time

Dined on April 28, 2016

stopped in for a wine tasting and dinner followed. great wine, great food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Copper Hawk

Dined on April 28, 2016

First time to this Copper Hawk Winery. We have been to four different Copper Hawk Wineries the food and service are consistently excellent. Had a great time discussing their wine with a fellow patron at the tasting bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Everything was as expected. The staff ru ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was as expected. The staff running the wine tasting was great!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Too busy and loud on the weekend, but overall good

Dined on April 23, 2016

This place gets so busy toward end of the week. We requested a booth 3 weeks in advance for a special occasion dinner. They put us at a table in the middle of traffic. Our guests were worried that one of us might get hit with a tray of food the whole stay. If you don't mind the noise and mediocre accommodation, the food is still good and the waitstaff is also pretty good.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

Is a very cool place. Had a lot of activity from the wine tasting area to those walking in without a reservation. We made ours through open table and things went as smoothly as you could ask for. Dinner was awesome food was tremendous. Very busy and a bit loud but overall a great experience. Highly recommend for sure. Service great. .always felt well attended to. .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.