About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

798 W. Algonquin Rd
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 300 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
W. Golf Road and W. Algonquin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 981-0900

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8479810900x4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Arlington Heights ›

Notable Wine List (255)
Special Occasion (245)
Good for Groups (211)
See All
Fit for Foodies (152)
Great for Lunch (140)
Romantic (114)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Hot Spot (60)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Kid-friendly (44)
Great for Brunch (36)
Late-night Find (27)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love..love this place.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love..love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Julie our waitress was amazing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Julie our waitress was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited Cooper's Hawk in Arlington Heigh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Visited Cooper's Hawk in Arlington Heights for a girls get-together. The Peach Sangria is amazing! Our server was a little slow and forgot a couple things - but we went on a Friday night which we understand is quite busy. If ordering beef/filet/steak, I recommend ordering rarer than you'd like - mine was overcooked. I've visited this location many times before and have and great experiences and have never ordered something I didn't enjoy. Overall great restaurant, just this time wasn't as pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Terribly cold in the room we sat in, mad ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Terribly cold in the room we sat in, made the meal experience sub par

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Because of the very slow, poor service, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Because of the very slow, poor service, we will not return to the restaurant. Also, it was extremely noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Expensive, need to include soup or salad ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Expensive, need to include soup or salad with meals!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great family dining experience. Loved th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great family dining experience. Loved the food and atmosphere. Would not hesitate to eat here again. Great lunch and dinner menu!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The skirt steak entrée was somewhat poor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The skirt steak entrée was somewhat poor in taste. The noise level was extremely loud. Our server waitress was exceptional.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

-Waiter had what I believe to be three t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

-Waiter had what I believe to be three total tables, but.. it might as well have been just two tables, as he was nonexistent at our small table of 3, while quite visibly spending the majority of his time with the other two tables of 4. I call him a waiter, yet.. it was clearly my family & I who did all of the waiting.

Just my wife, myself & my 2-year old son.. just.. waiting.

-took over 20 minutes to receive a ginger ale. Seriously. Over 20 minutes. A ginger ale. I probably should've just walked over to the machine & served myself after the 10 minute mark, right?

-wife never got the glass of wine she ordered, which is funny, because.. well, it's a winery, right? Isn't that what they do, over there? Make wine & S erve wine?

-When ordering, I told the waiter what I wanted, while physically pointing to it, and he acknowledged & verbally clarified what I pointed to.. only later to be served by another member of the wait staff with a completely different entree, who when told that I didn't order this, informed me that the choice I originally made was apparently only available during lunch hours, and this was the closest thing on the dinner menu.

Wasn't even close, people.

Wasn't.. even.. close.

.. and the waiter's response, when he finally got back to our table, maybe fifteen minutes after our food came?

"Yes, what you ordered was a lunch-only special."

Sooooo, you saw & heard what a pointed to & said I wanted, but.. you didn't offer a little insight on the fact that what I wanted was.. unavailable?

You're awesome, man.

Best waiter ever.

-My 2-year old's side of french fries finally arrived.. after we were all done eating.

Man, it's a good thing I was too irate to order dessert, a g*ddamn cheeseburger probably would've showed up at our table.

I had high hopes about this place being perfect for my wife's birthday..

.. & maybe it would've been, had someone else taken care of us.

I don't think I'll be headin' over there again, any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

As usual Cooper's Hawk did not fail. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual Cooper's Hawk did not fail. We enjoyed the dinner and of course the wine. The Barrel Reserve was fantastic. If Cooper's Hawk was participating in the 2016 Rio Olympics they would win the Gold Medal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are flys around that really give u ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

There are flys around that really give us unpleasant feeling

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Being a wine club member I have been her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Being a wine club member I have been here several times. I have now found the appetizers and salads better than the main courses but I will continue to come hoping the menu will have changed again. Ps, the martinis are always great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed a late lunch early dinner dur ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoyed a late lunch early dinner during the week. Our server was Paz. If you want fantastic service be sure to request her when dining. Our lunch entrees were delicious. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was just okay. The entree had ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was just okay. The entree had too much sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take the time to do a wine tasting befor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Take the time to do a wine tasting before dinner - very good way to get into the mood before sitting down at a table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine tasting is a great way to start ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The wine tasting is a great way to start your dining experience. The food was great, the wait staff helpful, and the atmosphere hip/pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We did wine tasting before dinner barely ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We did wine tasting before dinner barely got any wine in each glass. The food was luke warm at best. The service was extremely slow. Our waiter was very nice though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Our overall experience was as good as on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our overall experience was as good as on previous occasions that we have dined here. Although it was busy we were seated quickly. Once seated we sat for about 5 minutes before our waitress came by to tell us that she would be with us shortly. We finally received some water served by someone other than our waitress. Other than the fact that our waitress was obviously very busy, I felt she was rushing with us anytime has came to our table but otherwise was good.

The meals were well prepared and we enjoyed our meal. We enjoy this restaurant and will come back often. We will definitely try the new one that recently opened in Naples, Florida.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We are members of the wine club and dine ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are members of the wine club and dine there a couple of times a year the food and service are always top notch. They change their menu fairly regularly but the changes are always positive. Always something new and delicious try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great from start to finis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was great from start to finish. We did a tasting pre-meal and Dawn P. and John were very attentive and happy to explain all of the wines we were tasting (which was great since we had 2 newbies). On to dinner and our server (Pete) was magnificent. His timing was perfect, making the flow of the meal (drinks, apps, main course, dessert) very smooth. At one point we were all looking at the end of a wedding on the upstairs private balcony and he was so afraid we were all waiting for him that he ran over to the table to see what we needed - funny moment and he rolled with it. Once we did decide on our food choices, Pete was at the adjacent table so all 6 of us stared at him jokingly to "get his attention". As he took the order from that table, he could barely contain his laughter, and we all had a good laugh when he came over to us. Needless to say, he made the evening memorable for us all. All of the dishes were perfect. Two gluten free recommendations I would make are the short rib risotto and the shrimp penne - both outstanding - though the extensive GF menu is all worth trying (get the Mexican drunken shrimp GF - better than the regular). Of course, they made Mom feel special for her 80th with a nicely prepared dessert to finish things off. Lunch or dinner, CH never fails to please!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooper's is one of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Cooper's is one of our favorite restaurants to go to. We are never disappointed with either the food, wine or service. Always a pleasant experience and a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very pleased with the food, servic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was very pleased with the food, service and experience. My guests and I had an awesome time. The server provided us with an outstanding care. I would recommend this place as a dinning spot!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE the wine at Cooper's Hawk! Their fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

LOVE the wine at Cooper's Hawk! Their food is delicious - chicken Madeira is wonderful. Tried the maple mustard pretzel crusted pork chop - SO good! Servers are very knowledgeable and friendly! Have never left Cooper's Hawk disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The gentleman who served the wine tastin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The gentleman who served the wine tasting was wonderful. older male I did not get his name

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , God times

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food , God times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are wine club members and we always e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We are wine club members and we always enjoy ourselves at this restaurant. I one of great benefits of being a wine club member is that you can enjoy wine at the member price with no corkage fee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service - was getting to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and service - was getting together with an old friend for lunch to catch up and they let us sit and visit for awhile, didn't hurry us along.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Winery is large but we had reservati ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Winery is large but we had reservations and we were escorted to our table quickly and the server was there within seconds. We had a bottle of red wine and the use of the decanter was an outstanding addition to the atmosphere. The food was served hot and very good. The restaurant was very busy and somewhat noisy. Our server was outstanding and came around often to see if we were satisfied.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food, lovely wine and atten ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always great food, lovely wine and attentive service. Love dining at Coopershawk! My friend from Florida, who is a tough critic, raved about the food too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our celebration head quarters. B ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is our celebration head quarters. Be it a birthday or an Anniversary...You can't good wrong at Cooper's Hawk. Everything we have tried on the menu is top notch. It's hard to pick a favorite. We will keep going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. We enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful experience. We enjoyed the food as well as the atmosphere!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have visited several times and have neve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Have visited several times and have never had a bad meal

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always a great place to eat. Great food, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always a great place to eat. Great food, wine, and service!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good spot for a business lun ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food. Good spot for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great wine as usual! Lov ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food and great wine as usual! Love the atmosphere! Great for dining with a special someone or with groups!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service started out great but was ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service started out great but was very poor after that. Many of us got wrong food. Food was cold and didn't taste good. We have eaten at others and it's always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great experience everything was great

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great experience everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, friendly, good food and w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great service, friendly, good food and wine is outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday celebration with my f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful birthday celebration with my family. Food and wine were excellent and we would recommend Cooper's Hawk to all!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.