Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 300 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

798 W. Algonquin Rd
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
W. Golf Road and W. Algonquin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 981-0900

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 981-0900 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (155)
Special Occasion (148)
Good for a Date (146)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (118)
Good for Groups (110)
Good for Birthdays (106)
Casual (104)
Great for Lunch (82)
Fun (80)
Creative Cuisine (74)
Romantic (67)
Business Meals (63)
Tasting Menu (55)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Bar Seating (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Worth the Drive (45)
Cozy (40)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Comfort Food (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Happy Hour (33)
Hot Spot (31)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Authentic (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
People Watching (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Quick Bite (14)
Seasonal (13)
Late-night Find (9)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Live Sports (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tapas (4)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Go to South Barrington location all the time.
Arlington Hts is noisy
Only went here due to closer for others that had never been there.
Waitress came out and said the kitchen was backed up and food we take a few more minutes
Waited an hour for our food, until I went to speak to a manager and then within five minutes of getting up to find a manager everything came out piping hot- plate and food.
South Barrington- food comes out much quicker within 20 minutes
even when there are much busier than Arlington Heights was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We were having a late lunch on Saturday, and well let's just say it was an off day for Coopers Hawk. Not sure if there were not enough servers during this transition time or they just weren't prepared for the amount of diners at 3pm. Our server did her best to keep up with our table however 3 of our 4 entrees were incorrect. We'll be back though. Drunken Shrimp appetizer is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was great and very apologetic but the Kitchen Needs Work: 30 minutes after my party of 4 ordered, manager stopped by and said the reason for our wait was because the kitchen lost the ticket. I get it, things happen, but 10 min later we get our food. My medium steak was almost well done. Sent back and 10 min later I got steak that looked like it was from Applebee's (very fatty and juices all over a 'side' plate). When I asked the server if he saw the steak the manager brought out, he said yes and that it looked like $h1t. (His words). Managers comped my meal, a bottle of wine, and gave us a bottle to take home. After they brought check there were issue on what was being compped . Not sure if I'll try this location again. I could go more in depth, but it may not be appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

My daughter and I really enjoyed Coopers Hawk! Great decor. Nice wine list. Delicious vegetarian entrees! We ordered white wine but seeing the beautiful diffusers they use for bottles of red wine almost made us go for a nice red instead!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second time at Cooper's Hawk in Arlington Heights, IL and I was not disappointed! Outstanding wine and food! Due to its consistency in service, food and atmosphere, it is now, one of my favorite restaurants. I plan on dining there again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great wine tasting and good food. The variety is good, prepared well and served quickly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Appetitzer took 30 minutes. Our server and manager told us it would be taken off our bill, and it was still on there. It took ten minutes to greet us and another ten minutes to get our wine. Two people should not be there for more than 1.5 hours if we had everything ready to order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was great! I have never been to this location before, the restaurant is much bigger than the others. Service was equally great. Food was wonderful! and the wine is outstanding! I love going in to have the barrel (Which you can only have in the restaurant. They don't bottle it.).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent setting, great food, great wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I love this place. Great food, except a lot pricy. The server was perfect. Had a very pleasant time celebrating my birthday with my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The complete lunch was fantastic the food, noise level able to talk with friends and bathrooms were very clean.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was slow. We weren't in a rush at all so it didn't bother me too much. Honestly this place probably wouldn't be so packed and need reservations if the servers could flip tables more quickly and be more attentive.

Food was so so. Had the pot-sticker appetizer which was 8/10; the scallops and risotto were good 8/10 and the NY strip w/ crab cake was so so 5/10. Steak was way overdone and I made it easy ordering it rare; crab cake had too much filler and some shell.

I don't understand what the fuss is about with this place. Value wasn't bad but food wasn't great. I'll pass next time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I come to this Coopers Hawk frequently, whether it's for work or with friends, unfortunately this visit was a little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Amazing wine and great steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our server, Katie, was outstanding. She made our day

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent menu. Server was very helpful in making selections. Not rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Happened upon Cooper's Hawk while on business travel. Only had 4 days of travel, but are there 3 times, it was that great. The food and service are spectacular. Be prepared to wait if you don't have a reservation. But the wait is worth it. I can't eat red meat, so I had the Ahi Tuna and the Grouper (twice). Outstanding. I wish there was one where I live (RI). You won't regret dining there, and you'll be counting the days til you can go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Awesome menu with something for everyone. Always willing to accommodate meal choices. Noise level can be a bit of a challenge and we felt we were shouting at each other most of the evening. Great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First time EVER there was a slight issue with service. Everything else was great as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Really great experience. We started with wine tasting and moved on to a great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As a customer who is typically excited about going to Cooper's Hawk, following my experience Saturday night, I'll be more than happy to drink wine elsewhere. The managerial staff I dealt with was absolutely appalling. Rude, defensive, tactless, impolite - any other adjectives I should use? Not only was the manager I interacted with totally inappropriate, she then hung up on me when I called to speak with another manager after I left the restaurant. Feel free to brush up on your hospitality skills and maybe I'll bring my business back to your establishment. I'd be interested to see how management reacts to a guest who actually has outlandish concerns/requests - bet it's not a pretty sight. If you enjoy talking with immature FOH management who don't understand their role in a restaurant, go to Cooper's Hawk for a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I will never go back to Cooper's Hawk. This was the worst dining experience I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Perfect for a pre show early dinner. Never felt rushed; staff efficient and pleasant. Food and wine excellent! We'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was excellent it was a party of six we ordered different meals and we tasted each other's dishes and every one was delicious and of course the wines was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We've been to several locations and never had anything less than a great experience. We love the wne tastings before dinner, food is consistently good (as is the wine) and the employees are very friendly. Very popular place Thursday-Sunday. Expect a wait during prime time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I love Coopers Hawk and have been there many times but this time they placed us at a table on a very busy isle and when we asked for another the staff didn't seem to know what to do. There was another table available with the same seat configuration but they wouldn't give that to us. Next time I will ask for more specific seating. Everyone was bumping up against us as they were passing by. Annoying!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Overall really delicious! Service seemed slow due to a back-up at the bar and kitchen. Our waitress was great, but it took a while for the bread, wine, as well as food to come out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Fabulous service, fabulous food, we will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The service was disappointing. Took a very long time to get served and our server wasn't really attentive to our table.

My wife really enjoyed the sangria.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Was in the mood for fish n chips which I have had at other Coopers locations, always excellent, this night was below part. Plate looked rushed and unappetizing even the fries were eh. Great service and friendly staff. Don't know if this is normal for this location, short handed in kitchen or what but if this had been my first visit probably won't try another Coopers, I'll write this on off to a bad night.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner on a very busy Tuesday evening. Our server was Jessica S., she said she was somewhat new, but WOW service was outstanding. The wine was great as always, we enjoy the Barbera, however the July wine "Vihno Verde" was excellent (we did the wine tasting, which was really busy too). I had the Churrasco Steak and it was absolutely delicious, cooked perfectly. My husband had the spaghetti and meatballs as he is a huge fan and it did not disappoint, delicioius. Thanks for the great evening Coopers Hawk, see you next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

What a wonderful evening we had! Hector was our server, and he really took care of us.
It was my boyfriend's mom's birthday, so I wanted to bring her for a wine tasting and dinner.
We really enjoyed the whole evening.
She was very impressed with the service and good food. She loves the sweet red, so I had a bottle opened at our table. Nice presentation!
So glad I'm a member. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We've been here several times recently and always have a great meal. This was no exception except that the service was extremely slow which is odd since it wasn't that busy. Our server was very pleasant but either not experienced or had too many tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our food was great and our server was excellent. Great time. Only thing I would comment on was the slickness of the floor. I have some difficulty walking but others in our group also commented on this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Always a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

all was good except my Fish dinner (Barramundi). It was overcooked.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The only negative was our waitress. While her service seems to be the norm in many restaurants, we found it infuriating. She spoke quickly and rushed us from the minute we sat down. She approached the table already speaking and didn't seem to care that she interrupted at every single approach. She started clearing the table while several were still eating. She even took dessert orders while several were still eating dinner. When asked if she could wait and bring all the desserts together, she said yes but we still got our desserts at different times and some came, again, before everyone was even done with their entree. She was terrible!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I belong to their wine club and eat here once a month. My daughter and I both had the shrimp/scallop risotto with truffle oil and became extremely sick a few hours later. Very disappointed

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good eats with very fair prices. Excellent gluten free offerings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food and service are always great without high costs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.