About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

798 W. Algonquin Rd
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 300 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
W. Golf Road and W. Algonquin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 981-0900

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: 8479810900x4

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Arlington Heights ›

notable wine list (261)
special occasion (257)
good for groups (221)
See All
fit for foodies (160)
great for lunch (147)
romantic (122)
neighborhood gem (72)
hot spot (68)
vibrant bar scene (60)
kid-friendly (44)
great for brunch (35)
late-night find (30)
scenic view (15)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really noisy. Hard to converse. Pretty e ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really noisy. Hard to converse. Pretty environment but would not return. Parking lot was seriously flooded after some rain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Cooper's Hawk is our family favorite an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Cooper's Hawk is our family favorite and go there often. We have even turned our on sister-in-law who lives in PA on Cooper's Hawk and she looks go there when ever she visits. Great food! Great wine! Always good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. A little loud to take thos ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place. A little loud to take those who are hard of hearing. Great food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very disappointing. I've been to Cooper ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointing. I've been to Cooper Hawks restaurants before and experience was good most of the times. My boyfried's burger turned our burned. He ordered it medium. We could not believe it was actually served. Charcoal, not even well done... we NEVER ask to re-do things but this time we had tu return it to the kitchen. So we couldn't enjoy the meal together really. My seared tuna was ok, just the noise was unbearable and we felt like in some low cost fast food chain versus upgrade dining. We came in to celebrate and left in great disappointment...

I think the restaurant can not handle being busy and provide quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Great food, wine and evening. Nice time ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, wine and evening. Nice time

CH Member

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Always enjoy our visit to Coopers Hawk, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy our visit to Coopers Hawk, John Kraskiewicz, General Manager stopped by our table and chatted, then stopped back to insure our meal was to our liking. The rewards are an

additional bonus and much appreciated!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always. Never had a bad mea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious as always. Never had a bad meal there. Love the place💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. The food is very ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I love this restaurant. The food is very good. My favorite is the Asian pork belly Tostados.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and ambiance. My tee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance. My teen age son was already planning to bring his date here (he needs to find a girl friend first LOL).

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

AMAZING as always! This is our all time ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

AMAZING as always! This is our all time favorite Cooper's Hawk around. I even had my wedding here last year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was served hot! Love that. And it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was served hot! Love that. And it was excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cooper's Hawk in Naperville is where I t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Cooper's Hawk in Naperville is where I typically go. I tried out the Arlington Heights location...such a disappointment. I wanted to do a tasting and service at the wine bar was terrible. It took more than 7 minutes for the wine server to even acknowledge my presence. At that point I decided against the tasting but I wanted to pick up my monthly wines. When I got home I realized instead of the Pinot Gris I was given the Sangria White. Such a huge disappointment! I then went with my guest to the bar area to have lunch. Service and food was awesome!!! This is the only reason I am giving a decent rating. We then ordered food to go. I had to ask for the pretzel bread (Naperville always generously throws in extra loaves.) when we got home there was no butter for bread and food was a bit disappointing. Overall review...SKIP ARLINGTON HEIGHTS AND GO TO NAPERVILLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The power went out as we were finishing ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The power went out as we were finishing our dinner. The manager was very nice and said we could keep ordering drinks if we wanted to stay.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reservation was at 7:15, but we didn't g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Reservation was at 7:15, but we didn't get to sit down until 8:30. Was a little disappointed. It was my first time using open table and dining with Cooper's Hawk. They kept telling me my reservation was at 7:45, even after I showed them the email. Food and wine were great, though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food, service and ambiance was first ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was first rate. It was a bit loud for me but really enjoyed our special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very crowded restaurant so we had to wai ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very crowded restaurant so we had to wait almost 45 minutes past our reservation because diners didn't want to leave their tables. Restaurant staff made it up to us big time! We had free tastings while we waited and a free bottle at the table. Excellent table service by Boyko and wonderfully delicious food. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good meal at Cooper's Hawk. Thi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always a good meal at Cooper's Hawk. This time it was incredible loud, but the food and the service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love their wine and food is very delicio ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Love their wine and food is very delicious as well.

Service is always impeccable!

Managers are always friendly and helpful.

We really love this place :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious salads for lunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Delicious salads for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated promptly with good servic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were seated promptly with good service and good food. Menu offers a variety of options for everyone's preferences including gluten free and low calorie.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We absolutely love this restaurant and h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We absolutely love this restaurant and have dined here many times. The service this time was below par. He was inattentive, slow, and seemingly apathetic. Was not impressed whatsoever. We waited for a solid 20+ minutes for drinks that still required that we ask him about them before he brought it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Very noisy and hard to talk. Tables are ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very noisy and hard to talk. Tables are very close together and because everyone has to talk loud to be heard over the general noise, it is very distracting to hear everyone else's conversations.

Wine is still expensive even though it is the house brand.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

A group of 8 with a baby and our server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A group of 8 with a baby and our server went above and beyond. Our table was in an area where we could enjoy each others company without disturbing others and still enjoy every aspect of our meal and wine! Thank you CooperHawk for another great evening!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Instead of having dinner at Cooper's Haw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Instead of having dinner at Cooper's Hawk, where the noise level can sometimes be overwhelming, we tried a late lunch and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Our server, Carrie, did an amazing job...explaining wines and food, and answering all our questions. The food was so good, and we enjoyed our server's wine suggestion. It was a nice anniversary celebration!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Cooper's Hawk but dining at the A ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love Cooper's Hawk but dining at the Arlington Heights location is great but very frustrating at the same time. The large dining room's ceiling is so tall and it's box shape makes the noise levels extremely loud. I've dined in the barrel room and it was much better. It's was just really loud in the main room. That effected our last visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was great! Waitress was outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was great! Waitress was outstanding. Gave great ideas, very friendly. Food and wine were as good as always.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to take your date to or go w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place to take your date to or go with a group of people. It is a fancy one. You will enjoy it. It is kind of loud, depending on the time, so u may have a harder time hearing each other. Temperaure inside was perfect.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Going there during lunch time seems to b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Going there during lunch time seems to be the perfect time....not too crowed, just right! As always, the food & wine were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come in from out-of-town quite often ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We come in from out-of-town quite often to do business with a client. We thought it would be the type of restaurant to come just for "celebration" gatherings. But we have found that it's a terrific place simply to socialize and help people relax and feel special, which helps us to build a strong team. Really awesome dining experience!! Looking forward to our next trip.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere with plenty of wine sele ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nice atmosphere with plenty of wine selections.!! The service & food are great.!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was a good one. I had a ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My experience was a good one.

I had a very nice and knowledgeable waiter his name was Boyko.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has horrible acoustics it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The restaurant has horrible acoustics it was so loud and the sunlight was blinding. My husbands and my steak came out raw and we ordered it medium. I am a fan of coopers hawk in general but every-time i go to this location it is loud and the food isn't prepared to how it was ordered. I would recommend the franchise. The one in Wheeling is much quieter and more inviting.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

We met family from out of town and wante ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We met family from out of town and wanted to be sure to take them to a really great place. Cooper's Hawk fits that to a T. The food was great. The server was very friendly and knowledgeable. And the place always looks great. The only drawback was the noise level which was too high to hear all of the conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome dinner! They have a fantastic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome dinner! They have a fantastic gluten free menu. The kid options are great too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time here. We had the L ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was our first time here. We had the Lux flight and the red flight. The wines were great, my favorites were the Lux Pinot Noir, Lux Cab, and Sangionese with the Brussel sprout salad. The salad was divine! I got the filet medallion trio, they were good.

The only bad part of my night was I left my Mountain Hardware long sleeve cover, and when I called in the morning they said they found it, but then they said they didn't have it any more. I was a little bugged with that. Minus the lost and not found experience, it was pretty good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I am a long-time wine club member and st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I am a long-time wine club member and stop by the restaurant often. We were going to be late for our reservation, which according to Open Table was the only one left at that time. I called and was told that there was no problem. The restaurant was only half full when we arrived late! Our waitress was a bit impatient, did not deliver bread until we asked and whisked away our entrees the second we were done. Other than that, we enjoyed our time. The wines are always top notch and the food is consistently good. I will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We got seated as soon as we arrived with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We got seated as soon as we arrived with a very nice table. We normally order 2 entrees and split. Ordered the Short ribs risotto (fav) and a shrimp dish from the main menu. The short rib dish was fantastic as always. The shrimp dish was just Ok and most likely would not be ordered in the future. Our server did a great job throughout the entire experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and wine. Lively with gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food and wine. Lively with great vibe. Servers good and bartender awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atomospher was awesome, but the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food and atomospher was awesome, but the size of the meal was too big for us.

I hope you could serve a smaller portion, because some other customer also had taken a box with them after.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress took almost 10 minutes to a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The waitress took almost 10 minutes to acknowledge us. Brought us the wrong wine twice. We had to track her down to take our main course order. Very disappointing. That's never happened at a Cooper's Hawk before. It was a Tuesday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.