About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

798 W. Algonquin Rd
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
View Larger Map

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 300 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
W. Golf Road and W. Algonquin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 981-0900

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 981-0900 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (128)
Good for a Date (126)
Special Occasion (122)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Good for Birthdays (100)
Good for Groups (78)
Casual (73)
Romantic (60)
Fun (60)
Business Meals (59)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Great for Lunch (57)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Worth the Drive (46)
Modern Decor (46)
Cozy (42)
Tasting Menu (41)
Comfort Food (38)
Healthy (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Outstanding Value (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Private Room (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (20)
Gluten Free Options (19)
People Watching (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Seasonal (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Family Style (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Fireplace (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Scenic View (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating friendship. Our friend was facing cancer treatments.

Cecilia was an amazing server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

As always.....super! Great service, wine selection and the lettuce wraps are to die for.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I brought my Husband here for his Birthday and last time we came was for our Anniversary. Very good and enjoyable atmosphere. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal at Cooper's Hawk. You don't disappoint.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Never a bad experience at Cooper Hawk!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, from the entrance/wine-tasting area to the main dining area. Food was pretty good. Our server mixed up one entree three times, which resulted in one member of our family not being able to eat for almost 20 minutes. Pretty crazy considering it was the simplest dish of all we ordered. Bloody Mary was really good - definitely the top 5 I've ever had (and that's my drink of choice, so I've had many over the years) - and the house pretzel bread and butter were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The first initial part was aggravating since I made online reservations a month ago and it was not in your system, which caused an aggravation to the staff and the people waiting behind us while it was trying to be resolved. Overall though, the food was fabulous and our waitress got a better tip than we have ever left anyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Celebrating a birthday

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Cooper's Hawk is always a great meal for a great price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My significant other's food was cold when it was brought to us. We normally say our grace (food prayer) together & begin eating. The waiter came by and asked what happened but seemed nonchalant. She noticed that I hadn't begin eating & didnt offer to even warm my food. I ate cold food. I am a member & visit quite often. I have never had issues except that this location. The staff are never friendly and the food is always cold. I will not return to this location ever again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our 7th anniversary! I told them on the reservations it was and they had champagne waiting at the booth when we were seated and a special dessert. Johnathan was wonderful. Everything was perfect. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food and wine! Great, friendly service!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were a large group. Did wine tasting first and then dinner. Service was great as was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

LOVE Cooper's cannot wait for the new location in St. Charles to open up. This restaurant NEVER disappoints

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I would have rated the experience higher, but the noise level was terribly distracting. Of course, it was crowded on Valentine's Day, which eliminated any chance of "cozy" or "romantic" or "good for a date" or "special occasion". I'd suggest giving up the open style and adding some kind of sound barriers. Menu: a long time ago, there were mushrooms stuffed w crabmeat offered as an appetizer; bring them back! I'd also enjoy a flight of martinis in addition to the wine flight.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waitress was terrible! Not attentive and not courtesy. Made mistakes on our order.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service from staff/ from check-in desk to server.Good food and dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Surf and turf special was delicious. Service was so so but it was Valentine's Day and it was crowded.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. Our server (Kelly S #40037) was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We asked for a booth in the reservation and was seated at a table, no booth.waitress was ok, not as friendly as some I've had here before.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, amazing wine, good service! As always! Love this place!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding in every aspect! Great food and fabulous wine. Service was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First off the service here was wonderful. It was me and my fiances first time dining here. A friend of mine told me about it so I decided we would give a try for valentine's day. Definitely not disappointed. I made a reservation for 8p. We got there around 7:45p and checked in with the hostess who assured us our table would be ready soon. While we waited they had complimentary wine tasting which was great. Gave us a chance to try a few wines we might like and to choose which one we would have with our dinner when our table was ready. We decided on the raspberry wine. Right on time we received a text saying our table was ready. We were seated right away and greeted by our waiter right away. Our food especially the appetizer shrimp wrapped in bacon over guacamole was great! It was highly recommended by our waiter and we ordered it twice it was so good hahaha. But bottom line I highly recommend this place service is great from start to finish. We will hopefully be back soon.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and good food. Only complaint was that we had 3 steaks but none were cooked to the temperature requested. No we did not say anything. The flavors were good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was GREAT, LOVE THIS PLACE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was amazing! Our server Adam was very pleasant and energetic. We really enjoyed our evening and will definitely ask for Adam next time we dine at Cooper's Hawk!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Adam was an amazing waiter. He spent time with us. Explained the menu and gave me a special birthday experience. He made the dinner special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is great place to eat never disappoints. This location was the first time we went to and it has great staff and great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I ordered the Peartini which was delicious along with the Caesar Salad but did end up receiving the Chicken Caesar Salad. The food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

In the words of The Terminator "We'll be back"!! Already recommended CH to a few people!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very upscale place. Service was excellent, food excellent. Because of the high ceiling at this facility the place was really loud and a bit hard to hear my date across the booth. Overall I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We frequent Cooper's Hawk once a month. Never a disappointment. Great service and delicious food.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We come once a month or every other month and we love it. Never had bad service. Until this time. Our waitress was nice, but terrible service. We left without ordering dessert cause she took 20 minutes to even come back to our table. Had to ask three times for water. Only had two bottles of wine cause it took her so long to ask if we wanted another. We will come back, but if we get her again we will ask to sit elsewhere.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Very disapointing. Waitress was terribly slow with drink refills and coming back to the table at all. Food was cold and they never honor our request for our favorite waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My family and I enjoy dinner and celebrating birthdays at Cooper's Hawk. Great wine and always pleasant servers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was awesome the food was awesome the waiter was kind warm and attentive I had a really good time

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I suggested Cooper's Hawk to my 3 friends and everyone loved what they ordered. I was a great experience in every way. I am Gluten Free and the menu is the best I've ever seen! One of my friends is deathly allergic to fish and they were very attentive to that as well.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

They were awesome! Fast! Great food! Greattttt service!!! I loved it

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I always love going to Cooperhawk to eat and I've never had a bad experience. This visit was a really nice like all the others except my meal was horrible. I Ordered the prime sandwich and when the sandwich came the meat was either totally raw with a lot of fat or extremely well done with fat. It was as if they took all the scraps and threw them onto my sandwich. I Was with a group of friends celebrating one of our friends 50th birthday so i did not want to send it back to the kitchen. I had to picked out the fat plus the raw meat to eat only half of my sandwich. I brought the other half Home along with my fries. (I knew that I would have to cook the meat when eating the other half.). When I took my sandwich out I noticed that they did not pack me my fries.

I normally would not say anything but since you sent me the survey I thought I would let you all know that I love everything about Cooper's Hawk but unfortunately this time I got a really bad meal but everything else was great! I have photos that I could send as well so I'm not sure if they'll go in this survey or they'll come separately.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had an issue with our service, not a huge deal for us, but the manager stopped by our table and apologized. He gave all of us (4 people) free dessert. It wasn't necessary, but it was appreciated.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had never been to the one in Arlington heights before. It was beautiful and more spacious then the one in Barrington. Awesome food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Let's start with service , it was bad, had to ask for water

3 times, had to ask other servers to get our waitress,

Calimar was over cooked , very rubbery . Dinner , French fries over fried, crab cakes were under cooked, Cod fish

Was over fried. Crime brûlée was very blaa, like no taste .

It was loud, and you were squeezed into your table. Will

Never go back and never recommend. It was a terrible

Experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Only bad thing was we didn't get a table until 30 minutes after our reservation time. Food and service was great!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was excellent and well priced. The wine was good. Well worth trying again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great staff, tasty food, very busy Friday night but never felt rushed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for dinner with college daughter who was home for a visit. Everything was perfect! Great atmosphere, food, outstanding service from Nick and allowed for lots of conversation. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is great, great ambiance and the waiter was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.