Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights

Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant combines modern, casual dining with award-winning, handcrafted wines. Our menu features fresh contemporary-American fare infused with flavors from around the world. From appetizers to desserts, each dish on our menu is listed with a bin number to help guide you to your selection’s perfect wine match. In addition to dining, Cooper’s Hawk offers a full-service bar, private party spaces, and Napa-style tasting room with specialty gift store, where guests can enjoy sipping and sampling wines in a traditional winery setting. Sourcing the highest quality grapes from the best vineyards around the world has earned Cooper’s Hawk a growing list of more than 300 wine awards. Most recently, Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurants was selected as “Hot Concept 2010” winner by Nation's Restaurant News and MenuMasters winner for the category of “Menu Trendsetter” in 2013.

798 W. Algonquin Rd
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Full menu available for lunch and dinner

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
W. Golf Road and W. Algonquin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 981-0900

Website:
http://www.chwinery.com/

Catering:
Full catering and carryout menu available for pick up at the restaurant. For menus, visit www.chwinery.com.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillin

Private Party Facilities:
Cooper’s Hawk specializes in seamless events embodying the warmth and elegance of the wine world. Our Private Party Room and Winery Room offer unique settings for your social and corporate gatherings along with first-class event packages to help choose the perfect menu. We will also happily customize any event package to meet your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Events Department: (847) 981-0900 ext. 4

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Arlington Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (169)
Special Occasion (139)
Good for a Date (131)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (113)
Good for Groups (110)
Good for Birthdays (108)
Casual (94)
Great for Lunch (81)
Business Meals (77)
Fun (71)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Tasting Menu (62)
Romantic (62)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Worth the Drive (48)
Cozy (42)
Comfort Food (40)
Bar Seating (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Happy Hour (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Hot Spot (31)
Healthy (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Gluten Free Options (25)
Kid-friendly (21)
Authentic (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
People Watching (19)
Private Room (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Family Style (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Outstanding Value (10)
Seasonal (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fireplace (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Scenic View (5)
Spicy (4)
Live Sports (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

PERFECTION, AS USUAL. COOPER'S HAWK RESTAURANTS NEVER DISAPPOINT.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was Awesome !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been there many times, unfortunately this time we went on Father's day and the place was supper busy, therefore we had a long wait for our food. Otherwise we enjoyed it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I have always loved frequenting this place but on Sunday for Father's Day was the worst experience for my dad. His fillet mignon was not medium rare as requested and it was cold ... as if it was sitting out for a while. The meal was comped out but the experience was ruined for my dad but will give it another try.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed everything about this place and starting to like wine more and more. Alot of selection and I love the atmosphere inside. Great for all occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Incredible food and service. Special outing for my husbands birthday with friends. The Brussels sprouts appetizer was to die for and Filet medallions amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday celebration! The best meal we've had there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was great as usual, but because of some management problems, our waiter was not assigned and so a temp came to the table finally to bring water after a 15 minute wait and then our permanent waiter, Jeremy, took over. In the confusion, the fact it was our anniversary got lost. Then appetizers took over 25 minutes. Jeremy was great, and gave us our wine for free, but table management and kitchen timing needs to improve!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Went to this restaurant with my parents for early fathers day dinner. Food was great and service was outstanding as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I loved the service but they were out of risotto and that was the main reason for coming. The other meals we ordered were not great. Luke warm food, soggy breaded chicken. Completely dissatisfied with the food but everything else about the experience was fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Great wine! This is one of my favorite restaurant. Although this time we didnt have such a great waiter which didn't make the experience great for my guests who had never been there before.
Perhaps, we should've asked for another waiter but I wouldn't let that stop others from trying.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The service at Cooper's Hawk has really gone downhill. We were Wine Club members until a few years ago when we were frustrated by the service. Went last Friday night hoping that the service had improved, but sadly it had not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Unfortunately not a good experience. We were seated right on time for our reservation. Good start. We placed our daughters order(19 month old) plus some wine. Out in like 7 minutes. Pretty good we thought.

Then we placed our orders. 45 minutes later...still no food but the promise of "just a few more minutes". 10 minutes later we asked for a manager. To their credit, they did everything they could to make it up to us going so far as to comp the food and give free meals. However the damage was done. The waiter forgot to put in our order and lie to us for over 45 minutes. It'll be quite some time before we consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great waitress & good service. It was a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best winery in the Chicagoland area. Great service from the host to the servers. I know I will always have a good time when I go there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

As usual it was a great lunch. The food portions are huge and of course the wine.......

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Service was slow. Took longer than usual for everything, even for a Saturday night. My steak was under cooked. I had to go to the front counter to ask for the manager because my husband had finished eating and my food was not out yet. No sign of our waitress. Second disappointing meal in a row at CH. Thinking about cancelling our membership.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First, the restaurant reported to Open Table that we were a no-show for our reservation, when in fact we WERE there. Then, our server accidentally spilled a glass of ice in front of me at the table. She did scoop up the pieces of ice, but never came back to wipe the water off the table. I wiped it up with my napkin. Lastly, after our lunch, my friend and I wanted to purchase a bottle of wine to take home. My friend asked the gentlemen the behind the wine counter if we should take the bottle off the rack or if he would need to get it for us. He rudely said "What are you asking me?", as if it was a bother to help us. Not pleased with the experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We got seated at 5:00 on a Friday night and it was only 20% full at most in the dining room, which made it much quieter than other times we had been there and provided an excellent opportunity for good conversation. Food and service were great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our waiter, Larry, was excellent and was very attentive without being a pest!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I've been going to Cooper's Hawk for about 4yrs and the food has always been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent food, very good seafood options, well-prepared. You don't see Barramundi on every menu. Great service, and my son and I got a gratis dessert for his birthday -- a nice touch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good food, wine, and service. We had a filet special and a pasta. Both were very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Was very good. Service was good, waitress was nice and food came very quickly. The wait staff were very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Chris and Tracy are the bar tenders and they are the best good food and good conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Frankly, far below our expectations. Disinterested server, cold food, and the check was incorrect. Put a damper on a special evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent Menu and Wine Selection. Our group ordered a wide variety of selections and two really great wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My last visit turned out to have burnt food, very slow service, and extremely loud noise. We couldn't hear ourselves think. We had to scream at each other in order to converse. Very disappointed, and embarrassed for my guests.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was great, the wine was excellent, the soup and wedge salad were both perfect and the grouper was to die for. The whole experience could not have been better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food is always great here, never had something I didn't like!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was delicious as always but the noise level was awful. We could barely hear it each other talk at our own table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I don't think the server should add the wine you picked up at the tasting counter to your dinner bill. I will only tip on my food. This is why I am a wine club member because I like that I can take my wine to dinner with no corking fee. I don't think I should have to tip on wine I picked up from being a wine club member.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Had 5pm reservations, but instead chose to do wine tasting before and rescheduled with them for a 7pm reservation. Had no problem, as they were very accommodating. Great sommelier at the wine tasting and then got seated on time with no issues. Unfortunately my dates pasta dish came out ice cold, but they replaced it immediately, no problem. Decent wait staff too and good ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Always hit or miss with this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went on Memorial Weekend Sunday. Seated promptly, server friendly. Wine arrived promptly. Order taken promptly - a salad, split, and two entrees. More time spent on pushing the Wine Club membership than anything else, but the deal seems very reasonable, although not Trader Joe's prices. After the brisk take-off, the meal went into a holding pattern for a solid hour. There was no explanation given of what happened to our entree orders but the server obviously observed that nothing was coming to us. Without much delay, the manager arrived at the table and said our order got lost somewhere and he would make it up to us. We were served in about 10 more minutes, a bottle of wine and both entrees were comped. Sure, anyone would be happy with that kind of deal, and we were. It got super busy right after we were seated but people seated after us got served and finished which got very frustrating and the manager was almost over-apologetic about the experience, considering that it also was our first visit to the restaurant. Usually, a make-up would have been a free dessert or possibly just comping the wine. Management went over and beyond and deserves to be commended. The server was not at fault and we did not penalize him for the glitch - he did his job well.
We found the menu to be reasonable in price and the portions generous - the chopped salad is easily a two-person serving. The jambalaya tasted exactly like my own does and I didn't have to work on it for hours to enjoy the same flavours. The Barramundi is right to be positioned as the star of the seafood selections and the portioning of the accompaniments as well as the fish were all very correct, as was my jambalaya.
Yes, I took the Club membership, got my two bottles of wine afterwards, and drove home satisfied that this is not only a good value for the money but also a very tightly run establishment despite its daunting size. Kudos to all, kitchen, waitstaff, and mgmt.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I love Cooper's Hawk restaurant and have eaten there many times. I have always been satisfied with the food and service, but this visit was the exception. My husband and I ate at the restaurant at 2:00 pm on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. The restaurant was not crowded.
We ordered the pork belly tostadas as an appetizer, and they were very good. We also ordered a crispy fish sandwich to split, and it took an extremely long time for the sandwich to arrive. When it did arrive, we saw that the fish was very overcooked, almost to the point of being burnt. Given how long it took for the sandwich to arrive initially, we decided not to send it back. We did however, mention it to our server. After talking to her manager, the server offered us a free dessert to compensate us for the overcooked fish. When we received the bill, we discovered that we were charged for half the price of the dessert. The server eventually corrected the error on the bill, but all in all, this was a less than satisfactory experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was excellent, but our server was super slow. We had to ask for someone to help us and she bought out the wrong dish too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had their new calamari appetizer and it was outstanding. We've never had a meal there that we didn't enjoy. I had the red wine short ribs and my wife had the medallions of beef from the balanced life menu. Really enjoyed our entrees and the June wine of the month.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The wine, drinks, appetizers, dinners and desserts are always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Always great! I can always count on a flawless celiac friendly gluten free meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.