About Coohills

1400 Wewatta
Suite 100
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

With a focus on local, regional, and farm-fresh ingredients, Coohills Restaurant and Bar is reminiscent of what you might find in casual bars and restaurants in Europe. The open kitchen and uniquely modern interior, designed by award-winning architects Semple Brown, underscores Coohills' style! Located in the hip Lower Downtown (LoDo) neighborhood, we invite you to pull up to the community table, tuck in at your own intimate table for two or more, or enjoy our outdoor terrace for a spirited drink.

Coohills includes a main dining room, private dining room, community space, bar and beautiful outdoor terrace, providing a breathtaking view of the infamous Colorado sunsets.

Coohills comfortably seats up to 200 people and can host up to 400 people for a stand up reception.

We offer Happy Hour, Dinner Service and are happy to host your upcoming Private Events

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Open for Private Events

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Open for Private Events

Bar: Mon - Fri, 3:00pm - close; Sat, 4:00pm - close. Happy Hour: Monday-Friday, 3:00pm-6:00pm, Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm. Bar will open early on Saturday's to coincide with Pepsi Center events. Please call restaurant for exact bar hours during these days.

Cross Street:
14th & Wewatta - across from the Pepsi Center at Speer Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 623-5700

Website:
http://www.coohills.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering to businesses located in the 1400 Wewatta and Wazee building.

Parking Details:
Coohills features a temperature-controlled, secured parking garage just east of the restaurant. $5 parking after 5 pm. Metered street parking on Wynkoop St. one block south of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Coohills has 2 light rail stations nearby: Union Station and Pepsi Center Station.

The nearest bus stops are 22574 / 22572 which serve Routes 6, 10, 28, 32 and 44.

Executive Chef:
Tom Coohill, Jr.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
http://coohills.com/reservations/special-events

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private Dining Spaces Include: Sellout: Seated-200, Reception-400 Entire Main Dining Room: Seated-100, Reception-130 Cherry Creek Room: Seated-60, Reception-75 Wewatta Room: Seated-28, Reception-35 Wine Room: Seated-36, Reception-45

Coohills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (37)
romantic (25)
See All
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
scenic view (10)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. The asparag ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and food. The asparagus tarte and raclette madelaine were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Definitely an upscale place. Food was c ...

Dined 6 days ago

Definitely an upscale place. Food was clearly above average. Seems a little on the pricey side, but given the quality and ambiance, understandable. Our waiter, Ryan--studying to be a sommelier, was top notch (couldn't find better!). The atmosphere and location were both excellent. The bread was absolutely superb. Was a little disappointed with the Asparagus keesh-like dish. If I could, I'd give this place a 4 1/2 star.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not so great

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I went out with friends to celebrate our anniversaries. We had heard positive things about Coohills and none of us had ever been before. The atmosphere was nice and we had great service, however the food was not good. Two of us ordered the pork osso bucco and it was extremely dry, hard, bland and had some sort of gluey cheese on the polenta. The other two of us ordered the rack of lamb, which was not bad, but wasn't impressive at all either. When you're spending $35-40 a plate, you're really hoping to be wowed, and we were not.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Classy, sexy, fun.

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was one of the best meals I've had in a long time while eating out. The chef takes pride in was comes out of the kitchen. They use a minimalistic approach with fresh seasonal ingredients and it works well. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second visit for dinner and had a great ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Second visit for dinner and had a great experience both times. The food was outstanding with the sole exception of the mushroom tarte, which was bland an gummy on the latest visit. Their salads are always are a highpoint - very fresh, innovative and delicious . Wished they had the one with the fried cooked egg and bacon on top I had on our first visit. Also thought the urban views out the windows, some with mountains in the distance, were interesting and better than most restaurants. I had remnants of issues with a bad oral surgery experience and the server offered to check with the kitchen for a variation on the dish I preferred, which worked out very well and was very much appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant...one of Denver's b ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Love this restaurant...one of Denver's best!! Great food, service, location and atmosphere. Kudos to owners and staff for being so consistent and innovative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

They were experiencing a mass rush befor ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

They were experiencing a mass rush before a concert and did not keep up well. The manager did apologize. I would try again but not before a concert at the Pepsi center.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Trish

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We enjoyed the food and wine, which offered a menu that was more creative than most. We started with a charcuterie selection of pate and sausage, which was delicious. Our entrees of rabbit and quail were smaller than expected but well presented. We had a delicious St. Emellion wine and our waiter, Travis, was knowledgable and helpful in making selections since it was our first time there. We will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Both Worlds

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

I was in the neighborhood for an event at the art museum. Coohills was a convenient walk to the event and had plenty of nearby options for parking. When I arrived I observed some great specials on their menu board. Unfortunately since I was seated in the dining room I was unable to purchase items that were displayed on their menu board because these items were offered only in the bar seating area. Knowing this detail would have altered where I would have seated. The food is great in the dining room for someone that is looking at a higher quality food selection (yes, you will be paying a bit more), desires a more eloquent dining experience, and is not rushed to arrive at a performance or game at one of the nearby venues.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Strike a Balance

Dined on March 19, 2016

Atmosphere can be a big part of any restaurant's success, and Coohills capitalizes on that importance. The place can provide just what you're looking for in your dining experience, be it a cozy romantic night out, a large gathering or celebration, or simply getting a group together for a good time, a la carte. This, combined with chef Tom Coohill's invigorating menu and the notably astute service, strikes a balance that makes for a genuine gem. Tip: Do yourself a favor and order the crab cake. Just be prepared to make it the yardstick by which you measure every subsequent crab cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Average Spot

Dined on March 18, 2016

Cool spot and great location. I guess the menu changes frequently, so the waiter didnt know much about the actual menu items that were new or tweaked. Dessert was the best part. Rest of meal was not great, very average in terms of taste. Menu didnt have many great options (for me). I would recommend you check out the menu before visiting.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my Denver Favorites!

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

I was introduced to Coohills a couple years ago when my company decided to do their Industry event there, and their staff just impressed me from the get-go. During the event I got to sample the food and man did I go back just as soon as I had a good special occasion. Went back for Mother's Day Brunch Buffet, and most recently for my birthday dinner with my husband, and I just keep loving Coohills more and more! Their staff is friendly, their food is AH-MAZING, and their joie de vivre is on point. Just such an amazing place to go and enjoy. And perfect for private parties too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not worth it.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Unfortunately this restaurant turned out to be a real disappointment. Their house made bread was cold (almost frozen) inside. They brought us 3 different loaves and they all had the same issue. Finally, we just got some sad pieces of toast. The quality and quantity don't justify the very high prices at all. I got the pork belly which was overpowered by the orange sauce. My husband got the duck which was not very flavorful and the "crispy" skin was actually pretty flabby. We also ordered the artichoke salad, for $13 I got 3 (numbered) leaves and 2 small halves of baby artichoke. Over all, it was a very costly and disappointing experience. We will definitely not be back.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

You can do better!

Dined on March 3, 2016

What a disappointment! Indifferent to invisible service. Great looking food but unfortunately not great tasting... atmosphere makes the place along with proximity to the stadium if you are going to a game or concert. Otherwise, dont bother much better at same or better value in Denver

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef's 7 course tasting was amazing

Dined on March 3, 2016

Truly outstanding food and great service. Went for the Chef's 7 course tasting menu and were blown away. Each course was unique and delicious. Definitely plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Underwhelming food for a high price.

Dined on March 1, 2016

Unfortunately this was "Americanized" French food, not real French food. Everything needed more flavor and more to accompany the main on the plate. We went for Denver Restaurant Week and had the pork belly main, the pork belly was really well cooked but it was the only thing on the plate...literally the only thing. GREAT service though. But because of the "meh" food, would not try again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their Restaurant Week menu was amazing!

Dined on February 29, 2016

The food was amazing! The waiter explained every option.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Getting the food right for the second time

Dined on February 28, 2016

While I ultimately enjoyed the food this restaurant offered, it took two instances to get it right. The bread served before the meal was surprisingly burnt at the bottom and was sent back, but the serving was delicious. The second instance (and the most disappointing) was the undercooked chicken that was served to my significant other. It was light pink in the center with some sections appearing soft and undercooked. It was sent back immediately, and a second dish that resembled a rice salad with almonds, dried cranberries, and veggies was delicious. The service was great and made up for the overall dissatisfaction of the burnt bread and the undercooked chicken.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good food, except for two dishes ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was good food, except for two dishes were under seasoned. Like it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a top pick in my book. From Tom ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

This is a top pick in my book. From Tom and Diane Coohill owners, to Lucas Chandler and Jeffrey Webb, the best chef team in Denver, and Natalia on pastry, I love this place! Great, inventive food,an attentive, friendly wait staff, this is a top 10 dining experience in Denver. Don't miss it!

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Never Again

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our second trip here and we will never return. Horrible food and slow service. There are so many great restaurants in Denver and this one is absolutely not one of them.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening at Coohills - the ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Coohills - they did "Restaurant Week" well. We will dine there again soon. Too often the restaurants that participate in Restaurant Week take their menu down a notch (and service too). The menu had a variety of options and since there were 4 of us, we tried nearly everything on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had the best anniversary dinner! The service was top notch!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

OK, but I guess that's restaurant week standards..

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went for restaurant week - sub-par. Our first and third courses were pretty good/OK. Our second courses - the gnocchi and escargot (especially) was very disappointing. I informed the staff escargot (which I normally love) was just a sad texture and absolutely no taste whatsoever. Our waiter, Travis, was absolutely wonderful. Wine was fabulous.

food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Drink - great, food - alright

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a reservation for Valentines day. Overall - 3 stars. They served special menu, no regular menu was available. For the price, food could have been much better. It felt like it was all over the place: starting with palm and seafood, ending with cocoa short ribs. Dessert and drinks, however, were very good. It was a cool experience but I don't think we will be back.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed our experience at Coohills, a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Coohills, and everything that came to our table was delicious. The only setback I might say, was that multiple items we ordered had run out, however it turned out to be a blessing in disguise as the alternate options that we received were DELICIOUS! First, the bottle of wine we selected was bad, so we had to request the SOMM to come out and he immediately agreed the wine was off and got us a nicer bottle that was a perfect fit. One of the appetizers we ordered was no longer available, but the crab cake we had also ordered was one of the best I have ever had. Then the pork rib ordered as an entree had run out, so we opted instead for the short rib that was on the set Valentine's Day menu (we were ordering off of the main menu) and it was absolutely ahhhh-mazing! So, as mentioned, we had a few bumps in the road but everything was resolved as needed and we had a lovely time. Our table was by the window, and it was fairly cold (which I've read on other reviews for Coohills)...our server did a fine job of helping with all of our accommodations, be it food or atmosphere, so I would say it was well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Coohills

Dined on February 14, 2016

We love Coohills special event menus. A little pricey but always a great show.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great! Loved the selections and everythi ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Great! Loved the selections and everything tasted amazing!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Discovered a gem...

Dined on January 23, 2016

We have been aware of the lack of a good French restaurant in Denver and were very pleased when we learned (from our host at the restaurant) that Coohill is a French chef and the food reflects his French bias. The food really was excellent. It was a wonderful, but a little expensive, evening! The medium rare Colorado Rack of Lamb was more rare than mediam rare - but went down easily. We will certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, staff and atmosphere! Hi ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Excellent food, staff and atmosphere! Highly recommended!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! Our server was lovely, thank ...

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Great food! Our server was lovely, thank you for a great evening!

food5
ambience4
service5

Superb business dinner setting

Dined on December 3, 2015

I rolled into Coohills with a party of six business associates - 3 of mine and 3 potential customers. It was important to me to make a positive impression, and Tom stopped by the table, found out about some of our food interests and was a wonderful host. Service was responsive, and very accommodating. We ordered a variety of appetizers to share, which were thoughtfully combined. Each of our main dishes were original, carefully prepared and visually appealing. The wine list has lots of options by the glass or by the bottle. Overall a great success - only reason for the ambiance issue was ongoing Christmas parties with noisy kids - certainly not their fault!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3

Big disappointment

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

Sorry to say; we have enjoyed this spot in years past but the menu is limited and not terribly interesting . (Charcuterie apps did not give option for cheeses and other interesting starters.) I ordered the kale salad and was surprised to have it served as a pile of plain kale, a few apples sliced thin underneath and a few nuts. Nothing interesting or appealing about this -- everyone is doing kale now and it is often served cut up and much more interesting for half the price! I also had the mussels; basically tasteless. We ordered the brussel sprouts for the table the special red snapper; pretty lackluster all the way around. Since just about every restaurant is now serving the brussel sprouts (and kale) we were hoping for something creative....big disappointment all the way around.

food3
ambience3
service3

This was our second time dining here bef ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

This was our second time dining here before an event at the Pepsi Center. We had the Ravoli and Pork Cheeks. Both were very good. Service was a little, okay a lot slow: but the server and manager both apologized. It's a great spot for cocktails/dinner before an event at the Pepsi center but I wouldn't go back for any other reason.

food3
ambience3
service3

A very nice French restaurant in Denver, Colorado

Dined on November 22, 2015

This place try's very hard to please and does a great job. There are not a lot of nice French restaurants in Denver, Colorado to pick from.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service4

Sub-par- don't want to give up on this place but..

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Dining room was dead on a Saturday night- took away from the ambiance. We weren't even given a choice as to where we could sit. There was one other couple in the dining room, and we were placed at a table in the center of the dining hall. Not very cozy when the place is dead, very drafty and cold and I couldn't take my coat off all night. We should have asked to go to the bar area- maybe this would have improved our experience. We have eaten here a few times and food is always hit or miss. Mussel app was very bland, pretty sad thing to mess up at a French restaurant. Not sure why raw apple was laid across the top of the dish. Could have been a cool idea if they were baked and incorporated into the broth. The red snapper was good- the fried parsnip skin was awesome. Also had the hanger steak that was cooked perfectly and very tender. Sweetbreads were so-so. Brussels were more of a side dish as opposed to a side dish- but also one of my favorite bites of the night.

food3
ambience2
service2

Cool service

Dined on November 15, 2015

Arrived and the host said there was no table for us, that Open Table made a mistake. So we we sat in the bar to figure out plan B. Then were told there was a table after all. They were out of one of the side dishes, the food was good but not spectacular, and it was chilly in the main dining room.

food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing time. Food and Service Perfect

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

We have eaten at Coohills a few times. Great new menu and great fun. We liked it so much we booked a party in January. Have Fun~

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Well executed French cuisine with limited menu

Dined on October 31, 2015

We sometimes dine at Coohills prior to going to games at the Pepsi Center across the street. The kitchen has well executed dishes, with the main shortcoming being that the menu is relatively small

food4
ambience3
service3

Service inconsistent

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

Waiter who waited on us outside was terrible. Indicated they were out of the wine we wanted & didn't offer any suggestions for alternatives. Found out they had it afterall, but a different year. He was slow & seemed more interested in waiting on the younger crowd then us. Inside waiter was much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.