Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Ampersand27Ampersand27
(439)
$$$$
Canadian | Old Strathcona, Edmonton
Booked 16 times today
Accent European LoungeAccent European Lounge
(120)
$$$$
Modern European | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 6 times today
ALMANACALMANAC
(65)
$$$$
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Hart's Table & BarHart's Table & Bar
(57)
$$$$
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 4 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - StrathconaThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Strathcona
(187)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 17 times today
The Manor Casual BistroThe Manor Casual Bistro
(771)
$$$$
International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 7 times today
Packrat Louie Kitchen & BarPackrat Louie Kitchen & Bar
(1096)
$$$$
International | Old Strathcona, Edmonton
Booked 4 times today
The Glass MonkeyThe Glass Monkey
(400)
$$$$
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 11 times today
The MarcThe Marc
(1673)
$$$$
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 34 times today
Violino Gastronomia ItalianaViolino Gastronomia Italiana
(941)
$$$$
Italian | Glenora, Edmonton
Booked 6 times today
Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine BarBistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar
(580)
$$$$
Italian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 12 times today
The Creperie EdmontonThe Creperie Edmonton
(1007)
$$$$
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 10 times today
Sabor RestaurantSabor Restaurant
(1664)
$$$$
Seafood | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 49 times today
Vivo RistoranteVivo Ristorante
(999)
$$$$
Italian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 15 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - West EdmontonThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - West Edmonton
(156)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 5 times today

About Continental Treat Fine Bistro

10560 82 Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A4
View Larger Map

The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borówka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borówka and their son Sylvester Borówka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Pałkowska, Bartosz Beresiński, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Eastern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM Adults Only

Cross Street:
whyte avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 433-7432

Website:
http://www.ctfinebistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinner

Parking Details:
Limited Parking at the Back

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Palmowski

Private Party Facilities:
Weddings, Business Lunches and Dinners, Christmas Parties

Private Party Contact:
Sylvesterct@shaw.ca: 780-433-7432x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinners with Live Jazz
Please visit our website for more details www.ctfinebistro.com
or call 780-433-7432 and as for Sylvester



Continental Treat Fine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Comfort Food (23)
Cozy (22)
Authentic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great Beer (14)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Historic (8)
Casual (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was so so delicious. A wee bi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was so so delicious. A wee bit noisy with the music. Caring pleasant quick server

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I go here regularly with my Aunt and it ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I go here regularly with my Aunt and it is always very good.

Everything I have ordered here has always been great. Portions are quite large and you leave stuffed because its so good you want to eat it all

It is nice and quiet and very cozy

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food are always consistent in quality ! ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food are always consistent in quality !

lovely environment, very cozy feel. Waitress always smile,and very attentive !

But this time the home made bread seems not as good as before.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and superb service! will ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent food and superb service! will definitely dine there again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked for a birthday. That was not e ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We booked for a birthday. That was not even mentioned. Food was very good. Did not even get our servers name. Never had the pepper on her as the dishes were served. Online, it mentions parking for restaurant reservations. Not true. 6-7 spots available for the 500 reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

WE always have an amazing experience and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

WE always have an amazing experience and have been to this restaurant for over 10 years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My supervisor is an avid diner with deve ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My supervisor is an avid diner with developed senses for fine dining. Catching up with her after 2 years had to be special. CTFB is close to U of A right on the happening Whyte Ave. for convenience of location. The interiors are very classy, the servers very polite and in proper uniform (Tip: A lot can be said from how thrashy the servers look).

Everything our group ordered pleased the eyes and taste buds alike only desiring for more. Ask for tea/coffee if yu aint into drinking, they dont have it on the menu. Light music adds to the charm of the ambiance.

Pricey is a relative term but look between $50-60/per person for a 3 course meal+drink

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favourite restaurants ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is one of our favourite restaurants and we took friends visiting from Australia for supper. They were suitably impressed with all aspects of the restaurant. From appetizers to the main course the food was excellent. We ordered a bottle of wine which was good but overpriced for a California red wine. Our server was pleasant and professional and contributed to a very enjoyable evening for our group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well there was no candle lit, and no one ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Well there was no candle lit, and no one asked if it was a special occasion. Yes it was my birthday. Oh well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always excellent. Server was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food is always excellent. Server was also very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time customer but will be back for ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 27, 2016

First time customer but will be back for sure, we both had a great meal and have told many friends about this great restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Continental Treat and the service ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I love Continental Treat and the service is always wonderful. Food is always consistently great. Keep up the good work and don't change a thing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the restaurant on open table, af ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I found the restaurant on open table, after reading the reviews it sounded like the place to go. People raved about the dill pickle soup, and I have to concur. My husband is a dill pickle, so after reading the soup choice, I knew I found the next spot to dine. We even ordered soup to go. I loved the unique quaint setting, very intimate. We alway look for different places to dine, and this was a great find. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, atmosphere and service! ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere and service! When we want an excellent, intimate dinner, we always choose Continental Treat. Always superb food! Try the Dill Pickle Soup!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A physically challenged friend and I cel ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 20, 2016

A physically challenged friend and I celebrated her birthday by having lunch at Continental Treat recently. We are both seniors. The food was excellent and the service exceeded our expectations.

We were treated with utmost respect and politeness by our charming Irish server. She took time to explain the menu and waited patiently for us to make our choices. When our lunch arrived my friend asked our server to cut up her food, which she did most willingly and efficiently.

We declined the dessert offerings from the menu but to our surprise our server presented us with a complimentary dessert to share, in honour of my friend's birthday.

All in all, it was a memorable experience for both of us.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I recently attended Continen ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I recently attended Continental Treat to celebrate a special occasion. We had a wonderful evening . The cocktails and wine were great. The escargots in mushroom sauce was a topnotch appetizer while the steak tartar and pork schnitzel were outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently delicious..service i ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always consistently delicious..service is professional yet warm and friendly. Our favourite spot for comfort food.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the European style decor, the old ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I love the European style decor, the old world atmosphere and the unique menu options at Continental Treat Fine Bistro. At 150 choices, the beer selection is unparalleled. On each of my last two visits, we were grateful to have the lovely young Irish girl as our server. She is knowledgeable and knows just when to approach and when to stay away. I find the price point to be a bit high ($20 for salmon on a bagel and c$10 for a glass of wine).

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Another amazing meal. Chef made us a bee ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Another amazing meal. Chef made us a beef stroganoff for my wife's birthday which is not on the menu. So delicious. Wonderful place, the best kitchen ,staff and manager in the city! Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our lunch and will come a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Really enjoyed our lunch and will come again soon,probably try out dinner menu. Thank you

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic date night with rich European f ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Romantic date night with rich European food. Pickle soup is a must.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having orginally immigrated from Germany ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Having orginally immigrated from Germany and grown up eating European cuisine this restaurant is my first choice for dining when staying in Edmonton. My wife and I usually enjoy a meal there each time we visit and have for years.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of our favourite places to g ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is one of our favourite places to go in Edmonton. The food is delicious. We especially enjoy the various soups that they offer (dill pickle, borscht etc.). The menu is diverse and includes some German classics which are delicious.

The location on Whyte Avenue is easy to access. They have complimentary parking behind the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My $50 filet was ordered m/r was deliver ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 7, 2016

My $50 filet was ordered m/r was delivered medium to medium well. The service was very good but you can for sure find better value for your dollar. Not sure why all the 5 star ratings but I give it 3 and if the service wasn't excellent which it was I would give this establishment a 2 star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Over the years we have been to the Conti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Over the years we have been to the Continental Treat restaurant a few times. A few things have changed.

The not so good:

First the food menu has downsized dramatically. The sign on the window by the door says, "Adults only after 4:00 PM", yet we arrived on a Monday at 6:45 PM to two tables that had children under 3 years of age (still in high chairs) that were still there at least 45 - 1 hour after we arrived. We wanted a nice quiet 35th anniversary supper, yet, we could barely hear each other over the noise of the other tables and squealing child. We had a party of 6 that went a few weeks ago that told us the food is not as tasty as it was a couple of years ago, my husband and I now agree with them. Disappointed to see one of the servers wearing jeans, female customer wearing flip flops (like beach flip flops). There are so few place to go out to for an evening that requires at least business attire... Disappointing this is being lost.

The good portion:

The Pickle soup is STILL delicious.

Our server was great.

Has some different meals.

Likely will not return and will try new restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Consistently excellent quality service a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Consistently excellent quality service and food. Always a local favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That dill pickle soup was great, not ove ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2016

That dill pickle soup was great, not overpowering dill. Escargot was different than the usual garlic butter variety, worth a try. None of us could finish our entrees as we found each dish to be quite rich with lots of it too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent European cuisine, as always. O ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent European cuisine, as always. Our server was new but very enthusiastic and will be a welcome addition to the scene.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy food and pleasant ambience. Would ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Yummy food and pleasant ambience. Would have been perfect if they hadn't told Open Table that we did not keep our reservation (need a little training at the front).

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant is a gem. It's a great c ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 23, 2016

This restaurant is a gem. It's a great choice for all occasions. The food is consistently excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are 5 star all the time, I highly r ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 23, 2016

They are 5 star all the time, I highly recommend this place to many friends

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good. No complaints. Can get a littl ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 21, 2016

All good. No complaints. Can get a little noisy but not bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pickle soup!!! Spaetzle!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pickle soup!!! Spaetzle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very busy and very no ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and very noisy. Felt crowded. The wine list was very good. The pickle soup was tasty albeit luke-warm. The main course was adequate although i thought that other dishes might have been better selections.

Service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for those special occasions. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place for those special occasions. One of our top picks. :))

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Introduced friends from out of town to C ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Introduced friends from out of town to Continental Treat, everyone enjoyed the meal and ambience. Mushroom and sauerkraut pyrogies were excellent as appetizers. Rainbow trout and wienerschnitzle were excellent entres, the duck leg a bit overcooked and dry. Everyone had the apple strudel for dessert, very nice finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice place with excellent food and servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Nice place with excellent food and service. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the Continental Treat! We often ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love the Continental Treat! We often pick the restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always service and food was great, gr ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always service and food was great, great beer menu.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food, service and value for mo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food, service and value for money. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.