About Continental Treat Fine Bistro

10560 82 Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A4
View Larger Map

The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borówka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borówka and their son Sylvester Borówka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Pałkowska, Bartosz Beresiński, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Eastern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM Adults Only

Cross Street:
whyte avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 433-7432

Website:
http://www.ctfinebistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinner

Parking Details:
Limited Parking at the Back

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Palmowski

Private Party Facilities:
Weddings, Business Lunches and Dinners, Christmas Parties

Private Party Contact:
Sylvesterct@shaw.ca: 780-433-7432x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinners with Live Jazz
Please visit our website for more details www.ctfinebistro.com
or call 780-433-7432 and as for Sylvester



Continental Treat Fine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

special occasion (74)
neighborhood gem (59)
romantic (44)
See All
fit for foodies (38)
great for lunch (35)
notable wine list (26)
good for groups (22)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (9)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Was a wonderful evening! They new it was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Was a wonderful evening! They new it was a special occasion and did everything they could to make it just that, special!

From the moment we walked in too the time we walked out, we were served with a smile. The server who helped us was vary friendly but seamed to had just work a 8hour shift and seemed a little run down but we could tell she still tried to make our experience a moment to remember.

Food was very good but could use a touch more seasoning to truly make an immaculate meal. Plating was rustic and the garnishes seamed to love being all over the rimes of the plate. Above all else it had a certain je ne sais que about it that really made it feel like worm home cooking, especially if you have a very European grandmother.

Very much enjoyed my experience and would be very happy to go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This was our second visit to Continental ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our second visit to Continental Treats and we were just as pleased as the first time

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of out favorite restaurants in Edmon ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of out favorite restaurants in Edmonton. We always like go there before an event at the Jube. Love the Dill Pickle Soup.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. We go often the staff i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love this place. We go often the staff is fabulous and so friendly. Food is so flavorful and you feel like you have a had a fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy this restaurant. It is our ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always enjoy this restaurant. It is our to go to restaurant when don't want to cook at home. For those craving Eastern European dishes this is the real deal as authentic as you can get. Difficult to get a table on weekends so book early. The prices are reasonable, the servings are large. even if i can't get a table i phone and get the meal to go. Also the soups are really authentic and I will do frozen or takeout. This restaurant is addictive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I been going the the Continental for yea ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I been going the the Continental for years .. always been fantastic.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom and I have come a coupel of times a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Mom and I have come a coupel of times a month for years. Staff is always cheery and friendly and extrememly accomadating. The food is delicious, a variety and of decent proportions. Price is not cheap but average for a fine restaurant, not over priced. We enjoy the ambiance of a european restaurant and the people watching as it is situated overlooking whyte ave. I would reccommend this restaurant and I have to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent East European food especially ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent East European food especially the herring, pirogies, filet mignon in mushroom sauce. Friendly professional service. Our favourite restaurant in Edmonton.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice old world ambience. Good wine list ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice old world ambience. Good wine list. Filet with mushrooms was tasty. Tartar was nice but a bit too salty for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, Continental Treat was outstand ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

As usual, Continental Treat was outstanding. The food is second to none (dill pickle soup is to die for), and the schnitzel is always great. The service was prompt and friendly and the ambience is classy yet casual. One of the few restaurants left in town that still has an ambiance that suggests a special evening out. Always a favorite of mine!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the food was very good. The a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

As always, the food was very good. The alcoholic beverages are overpriced so I do not buy them. I have tried almost everything on the menu and all have been very good.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently excellent food and service. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Consistently excellent food and service. We have been going to Continental Treat for years and have never had a bad experience. Good variety of food and wine. Weekends you usually need a reservation to get a table.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good location. Great ambience. Delicious ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good location. Great ambience. Delicious food, but overpriced..

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall excellent, highly recommend. Thi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall excellent, highly recommend. This is a go to restaurant for us, never disappoints.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! Everything fresh! Serv ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Everything fresh! Service was friendly and efficient. Good vegan menu!

The dill pickle soup is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here and am planning on going ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

First time here and am planning on going back. Food, atmosphere, service were all very good!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty European food. The pickle soup is ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Tasty European food. The pickle soup is a top pick for both my boyfriend and I to start with. The stroganoff was also amazing! Portions are quite large, therefore giving us lunch the next day as well. The selection of European beer was a delight to my boyfriend. The wine list for single glasses is somewhat small but they did have variety and I was able to find a new and very tasty white wine to celebrate our occasion with.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Portions were a little smal ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place. Portions were a little small, but very good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

We are regular patrons at this restauran ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We are regular patrons at this restaurant. We had been away for six months and were looking forward to our meal here.

It was disappointing to find that the veal schnitzel was no longer on the menu, replaced by pork schnitzel. The pork was good but we much prefer the veal. Hopefully the restaurant will bring back the veal in the near future.

We go to Continental Treat specifically because we like the veal and this restaurant was one of the few to offer veal.

We have been regular customers for many, many years and have introduced numerous friends to Continetnal Treat over that time.

BRING BACK THE VEAL SCHNITZEK!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is good but notice the prices a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is good but notice the prices are getting high. The "special" is not really price wise. It will be awhile before we go again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A little pricey and old-fashioned decor, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A little pricey and old-fashioned decor, but the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

food was very tasty and portions were ge ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

food was very tasty and portions were generous. Liquor prices are a bit high

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

WONDERFUL

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Once again a great meal with great service and nice touches with a taste of the dill pickle soup.

I feel special every time I go to Continental Treat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server ruined the experience for us very rude

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was good but the server we had was one of the rudest I have dealt with. I don't even think she introduced herself. We could see the bar from our table and she hung out there most of the night watching the dining room.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

A Whyte Treat

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our group (5) thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Food was exceptional and service was above average. Great for individuals or groups who enjoy European dishes and flavours. Close access from Varscona hotel. Great selection of beers. Soups were amazing. Pickle soup was a big hit. We enjoyed the chocolate cake dessert. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dine here every time we are in Edmonton.

 
 (Fargo)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The menu is quite different from that in most all other restaurants. Eating that food is most definitely a "Treat". We enjoy the quiet ambiance & the soft background music - in the timeless decor. The servers are always efficient, but not imposing.

Nothing is rushed, so there is ample time to enjoy the various stages of the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love this place

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Love this place, my fav in town. Great service and romantic atmosphere. Awesome food

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Continental Treat is our favorite... ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The Continental Treat is our favorite...has a quiet ambiance (usually lite jazz or lite classical background music,,) and allows conversation at normal levels! The place is unique and special. Has a distinct European "flavor"

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service as always. Qu ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful food and service as always. Quiet enough we could have a conversation without raising our voices - a rare experience in most restaurants! We have been there many times and never had a bad experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, was enough to ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was outstanding, was enough to fill me up (which takes a lot) the dessert was excellent, nice selection of different beer and wine, the only pain was the parking on a Saturday night on white ave. found a pay parking lot about a block away which was good to stroll off some of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing place for a quiet, romantic dinner. You can actually have a conversation. Service was exceptional. One of our favorite date spots!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Edmonton. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Edmonton.... Always great food & service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in the city to eat

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent device and food the staff are so professional and make the evening special, They pay attention to what makes customer comfortable , the food tastes spectacular and is unique to the food scene

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's Day dinner

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My daughter picked Continental Treat for Mother's Day. I had been once before and explained that to me, it feels a little European. We have spent a Mother's day in Europe so this was definitely a treat for us. We totally enjoyed the dinner and the atmosphere. We will be back. The dill pickle soup is wonderful, as is everything else. I think the prices are reasonable and they have the BEST liver and onions.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a gem!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Love the dill pickle soup. Staff are friendly and courteous; food is delicious, plentiful and some unique Eastern European specialties.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Taste of central Europe

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Very good central European offering (Hungarian/Polish/Czech/Austrian). Uncomplicated food. Goulash, Duck and Filet Mignon were tasty and the portions were just right. Extensive beer list (though some beers were not available). Family style unpretentious restaurant - do not expect fine dining table service etiquette.

Tags: good for groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Lunch

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

It's always a pleasure to have lunch at Continental Treat. On this occasion I was there with two friends. We happened to be talking about the fact, within our server's hearing, that one of us was celebrating a birthday the week of our luncheon together.

To our surprise and pleasure, a lovely complimentary strawberry fantasia (?) dessert arrived at the end of our meal, complete with single candle. Although we had declined dessert earlier I must say that we all enjoyed it thoroughly, thanks to the attentiveness of our server. I don't know her name but she's definitely from Ireland!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently meets expectations!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Consistently meets expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Memories of home

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The menu selections were a reminder of my mom's cooking - what a lovely treat! The food was delicious and our server was a star! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.