About Continental Treat Fine Bistro

10560 82 Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A4
View Larger Map

The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borówka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borówka and their son Sylvester Borówka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Pałkowska, Bartosz Beresiński, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Eastern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM Adults Only

Cross Street:
whyte avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 433-7432

Website:
http://www.ctfinebistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinner

Parking Details:
Limited Parking at the Back

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Palmowski

Private Party Facilities:
Weddings, Business Lunches and Dinners, Christmas Parties

Private Party Contact:
Sylvesterct@shaw.ca: 780-433-7432x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinners with Live Jazz
Please visit our website for more details www.ctfinebistro.com
or call 780-433-7432 and as for Sylvester



Continental Treat Fine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

Special Occasion (86)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Romantic (60)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Great for Lunch (34)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (24)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is a gem. It's a great c ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant is a gem. It's a great choice for all occasions. The food is consistently excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are 5 star all the time, I highly r ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

They are 5 star all the time, I highly recommend this place to many friends

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good. No complaints. Can get a littl ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

All good. No complaints. Can get a little noisy but not bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pickle soup!!! Spaetzle!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pickle soup!!! Spaetzle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very busy and very no ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and very noisy. Felt crowded. The wine list was very good. The pickle soup was tasty albeit luke-warm. The main course was adequate although i thought that other dishes might have been better selections.

Service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for those special occasions. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place for those special occasions. One of our top picks. :))

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Introduced friends from out of town to C ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Introduced friends from out of town to Continental Treat, everyone enjoyed the meal and ambience. Mushroom and sauerkraut pyrogies were excellent as appetizers. Rainbow trout and wienerschnitzle were excellent entres, the duck leg a bit overcooked and dry. Everyone had the apple strudel for dessert, very nice finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice place with excellent food and servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Nice place with excellent food and service. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the Continental Treat! We often ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love the Continental Treat! We often pick the restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always service and food was great, gr ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always service and food was great, great beer menu.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food, service and value for mo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food, service and value for money. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Continental Treat is my "go-to" rest ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The Continental Treat is my "go-to" restaurant for special occasions. I try to avoid weekends because the restaurant is usually full and therefore noisy. On this occasion it was Wednesday and noise was not an issue. The food is always exceptional and the service prompt and friendly. Parking can be difficult but free street parking a couple of blocks away is usually possible.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers were amazing ! Duck was a lit ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Appetizers were amazing !

Duck was a little dry

Service was slow, but friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

ABSOLUTLEY THE BEST DINING SPOT ON WHYTE ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

ABSOLUTLEY THE BEST DINING SPOT ON WHYTE AVE IN EDMONTON FOOD IS FANTASTIC THE SERVICE IS THE BEST FAMILY OWNED AND YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED THE BEST STEAK TARTA ANY WHERE IN THE WORLD A REAL GEM OF A RESTAURANT TRY IT YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH EVERYTHING THEY HAVE TO OFFER

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great evening with delicious fo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great evening with delicious food and attentive service in spite of the fact that a thunderstorm knocked out the power in the restaurant. It is still one of our favourite places to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to this restaurant many times ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pickle soup was interesting and pleasant ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Pickle soup was interesting and pleasant, heard about it so wanted to try it. Schnitzel was good, the crumb was delicate it was well cooked, however, I would have liked to taste some subtle herb in the crumb or something, it was quite plain. The table bread was disappointing, some store bought variety it seems, slightly stale. I would have liked to see a fresh homemade rye or something of that ilk. The butter was served in airplane plastic single serve portions. The prices of the eye fillet were outrageous we all thought. The wines were as well quite over priced for the common garden variety. The waitress kept reaching in front of me and over my head. My niece was ill that night with some sort of food poisoning she thinks, we are not sure if from here or perhaps the frozen yogurt place down the street? All in all, I would not go back, the menu is not something I could not achieve myself at home..

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This is a favourite place to come with a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is a favourite place to come with a friend or friends. Even though it's a bit expensive it is the place to enjoy excellent food and drink. I always leave feeling like we were welcome, appreciated and even a little fussed over.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent European cuisine. Nice lunch ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent European cuisine. Nice lunch menu. Lots to choose from. Try the dill pickle soup. You will not be disappointed! Goulash was tasty. Mushroom and cabbage perogies great! Great selection of desserts as well. Will definitely come back to try their dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All food items had excellent flavour, ve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

All food items had excellent flavour, very well prepared and presented. The beer and wine lists are excellent. The servers were very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the dishes on the menu. This was probably about my 12th time at this restaurant and everything about it is very consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Was a wonderful evening! They new it was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Was a wonderful evening! They new it was a special occasion and did everything they could to make it just that, special!

From the moment we walked in too the time we walked out, we were served with a smile. The server who helped us was vary friendly but seamed to had just work a 8hour shift and seemed a little run down but we could tell she still tried to make our experience a moment to remember.

Food was very good but could use a touch more seasoning to truly make an immaculate meal. Plating was rustic and the garnishes seamed to love being all over the rimes of the plate. Above all else it had a certain je ne sais que about it that really made it feel like worm home cooking, especially if you have a very European grandmother.

Very much enjoyed my experience and would be very happy to go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This was our second visit to Continental ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our second visit to Continental Treats and we were just as pleased as the first time

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of out favorite restaurants in Edmon ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of out favorite restaurants in Edmonton. We always like go there before an event at the Jube. Love the Dill Pickle Soup.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. We go often the staff i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love this place. We go often the staff is fabulous and so friendly. Food is so flavorful and you feel like you have a had a fine meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy this restaurant. It is our ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always enjoy this restaurant. It is our to go to restaurant when don't want to cook at home. For those craving Eastern European dishes this is the real deal as authentic as you can get. Difficult to get a table on weekends so book early. The prices are reasonable, the servings are large. even if i can't get a table i phone and get the meal to go. Also the soups are really authentic and I will do frozen or takeout. This restaurant is addictive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I been going the the Continental for yea ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I been going the the Continental for years .. always been fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom and I have come a coupel of times a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Mom and I have come a coupel of times a month for years. Staff is always cheery and friendly and extrememly accomadating. The food is delicious, a variety and of decent proportions. Price is not cheap but average for a fine restaurant, not over priced. We enjoy the ambiance of a european restaurant and the people watching as it is situated overlooking whyte ave. I would reccommend this restaurant and I have to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent East European food especially ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent East European food especially the herring, pirogies, filet mignon in mushroom sauce. Friendly professional service. Our favourite restaurant in Edmonton.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice old world ambience. Good wine list ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice old world ambience. Good wine list. Filet with mushrooms was tasty. Tartar was nice but a bit too salty for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, Continental Treat was outstand ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

As usual, Continental Treat was outstanding. The food is second to none (dill pickle soup is to die for), and the schnitzel is always great. The service was prompt and friendly and the ambience is classy yet casual. One of the few restaurants left in town that still has an ambiance that suggests a special evening out. Always a favorite of mine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the food was very good. The a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

As always, the food was very good. The alcoholic beverages are overpriced so I do not buy them. I have tried almost everything on the menu and all have been very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently excellent food and service. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Consistently excellent food and service. We have been going to Continental Treat for years and have never had a bad experience. Good variety of food and wine. Weekends you usually need a reservation to get a table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good location. Great ambience. Delicious ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good location. Great ambience. Delicious food, but overpriced..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall excellent, highly recommend. Thi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall excellent, highly recommend. This is a go to restaurant for us, never disappoints.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! Everything fresh! Serv ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Everything fresh! Service was friendly and efficient. Good vegan menu!

The dill pickle soup is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here and am planning on going ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

First time here and am planning on going back. Food, atmosphere, service were all very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty European food. The pickle soup is ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Tasty European food. The pickle soup is a top pick for both my boyfriend and I to start with. The stroganoff was also amazing! Portions are quite large, therefore giving us lunch the next day as well. The selection of European beer was a delight to my boyfriend. The wine list for single glasses is somewhat small but they did have variety and I was able to find a new and very tasty white wine to celebrate our occasion with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Portions were a little smal ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place. Portions were a little small, but very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

We are regular patrons at this restauran ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We are regular patrons at this restaurant. We had been away for six months and were looking forward to our meal here.

It was disappointing to find that the veal schnitzel was no longer on the menu, replaced by pork schnitzel. The pork was good but we much prefer the veal. Hopefully the restaurant will bring back the veal in the near future.

We go to Continental Treat specifically because we like the veal and this restaurant was one of the few to offer veal.

We have been regular customers for many, many years and have introduced numerous friends to Continetnal Treat over that time.

BRING BACK THE VEAL SCHNITZEK!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.