About Continental Treat Fine Bistro

10560 82 Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A4
View Larger Map

The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borówka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borówka and their son Sylvester Borówka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Pałkowska, Bartosz Beresiński, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Eastern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM Adults Only

Cross Street:
whyte avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 433-7432

Website:
http://www.ctfinebistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinner

Parking Details:
Limited Parking at the Back

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Palmowski

Private Party Facilities:
Weddings, Business Lunches and Dinners, Christmas Parties

Private Party Contact:
Sylvesterct@shaw.ca: 780-433-7432x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinners with Live Jazz
Please visit our website for more details www.ctfinebistro.com
or call 780-433-7432 and as for Sylvester



Continental Treat Fine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
12 More
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Service
Edmonton
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

special occasion (82)
neighborhood gem (62)
romantic (49)
See All
fit for foodies (44)
great for lunch (36)
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (22)
late-night find (9)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently excellent food and service. ...

Dined 3 days ago

Consistently excellent food and service. We have been going to Continental Treat for years and have never had a bad experience. Good variety of food and wine. Weekends you usually need a reservation to get a table.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good location. Great ambience. Delicious ...

Dined 3 days ago

Good location. Great ambience. Delicious food, but overpriced..

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall excellent, highly recommend. Thi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Overall excellent, highly recommend. This is a go to restaurant for us, never disappoints.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! Everything fresh! Serv ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Everything fresh! Service was friendly and efficient. Good vegan menu! The dill pickle soup is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time here and am planning on going ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

First time here and am planning on going back. Food, atmosphere, service were all very good!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty European food. The pickle soup is ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Tasty European food. The pickle soup is a top pick for both my boyfriend and I to start with. The stroganoff was also amazing! Portions are quite large, therefore giving us lunch the next day as well. The selection of European beer was a delight to my boyfriend. The wine list for single glasses is somewhat small but they did have variety and I was able to find a new and very tasty white wine to celebrate our occasion with.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place. Portions were a little smal ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place. Portions were a little small, but very good.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We are regular patrons at this restauran ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We are regular patrons at this restaurant. We had been away for six months and were looking forward to our meal here. It was disappointing to find that the veal schnitzel was no longer on the menu, replaced by pork schnitzel. The pork was good but we much prefer the veal. Hopefully the restaurant will bring back the veal in the near future. We go to Continental Treat specifically because we like the veal and this restaurant was one of the few to offer veal. We have been regular customers for many, many years and have introduced numerous friends to Continetnal Treat over that time. BRING BACK THE VEAL SCHNITZEK!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is good but notice the prices a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is good but notice the prices are getting high. The "special" is not really price wise. It will be awhile before we go again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4

A little pricey and old-fashioned decor, ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

A little pricey and old-fashioned decor, but the food was good

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

food was very tasty and portions were ge ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

food was very tasty and portions were generous. Liquor prices are a bit high

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL

Dined on June 7, 2016

Once again a great meal with great service and nice touches with a taste of the dill pickle soup. I feel special every time I go to Continental Treat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Our server ruined the experience for us very rude

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was good but the server we had was one of the rudest I have dealt with. I don't even think she introduced herself. We could see the bar from our table and she hung out there most of the night watching the dining room.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Whyte Treat

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our group (5) thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Food was exceptional and service was above average. Great for individuals or groups who enjoy European dishes and flavours. Close access from Varscona hotel. Great selection of beers. Soups were amazing. Pickle soup was a big hit. We enjoyed the chocolate cake dessert. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine here every time we are in Edmonton.

Dined on May 30, 2016

The menu is quite different from that in most all other restaurants. Eating that food is most definitely a "Treat". We enjoy the quiet ambiance & the soft background music - in the timeless decor. The servers are always efficient, but not imposing. Nothing is rushed, so there is ample time to enjoy the various stages of the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

love this place

Dined on May 29, 2016

Love this place, my fav in town. Great service and romantic atmosphere. Awesome food

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Continental Treat is our favorite... ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The Continental Treat is our favorite...has a quiet ambiance (usually lite jazz or lite classical background music,,) and allows conversation at normal levels! The place is unique and special. Has a distinct European "flavor"

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service as always. Qu ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful food and service as always. Quiet enough we could have a conversation without raising our voices - a rare experience in most restaurants! We have been there many times and never had a bad experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, was enough to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was outstanding, was enough to fill me up (which takes a lot) the dessert was excellent, nice selection of different beer and wine, the only pain was the parking on a Saturday night on white ave. found a pay parking lot about a block away which was good to stroll off some of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing place for a quiet, romantic dinner. You can actually have a conversation. Service was exceptional. One of our favorite date spots!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Edmonton. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Edmonton.... Always great food & service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in the city to eat

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent device and food the staff are so professional and make the evening special, They pay attention to what makes customer comfortable , the food tastes spectacular and is unique to the food scene

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mom's Day dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

My daughter picked Continental Treat for Mother's Day. I had been once before and explained that to me, it feels a little European. We have spent a Mother's day in Europe so this was definitely a treat for us. We totally enjoyed the dinner and the atmosphere. We will be back. The dill pickle soup is wonderful, as is everything else. I think the prices are reasonable and they have the BEST liver and onions.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a gem!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Love the dill pickle soup. Staff are friendly and courteous; food is delicious, plentiful and some unique Eastern European specialties.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Taste of central Europe

Dined on May 2, 2016

Very good central European offering (Hungarian/Polish/Czech/Austrian). Uncomplicated food. Goulash, Duck and Filet Mignon were tasty and the portions were just right. Extensive beer list (though some beers were not available). Family style unpretentious restaurant - do not expect fine dining table service etiquette.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch

Dined on April 25, 2016

It's always a pleasure to have lunch at Continental Treat. On this occasion I was there with two friends. We happened to be talking about the fact, within our server's hearing, that one of us was celebrating a birthday the week of our luncheon together. To our surprise and pleasure, a lovely complimentary strawberry fantasia (?) dessert arrived at the end of our meal, complete with single candle. Although we had declined dessert earlier I must say that we all enjoyed it thoroughly, thanks to the attentiveness of our server. I don't know her name but she's definitely from Ireland!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently meets expectations!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Consistently meets expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memories of home

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The menu selections were a reminder of my mom's cooking - what a lovely treat! The food was delicious and our server was a star! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

It was WAY to expensive!!

Dined on April 11, 2016

I had the Goulash for around $25.00 I thought to myself it was very pricey but I thought there would be enough to take home, but to my dismay, I finished it all up and wanted more, so I guess my point is if your going to charge that kind of money, then give way better portions. AND then to add over 4 people automatic 15% tip?? We will not be back, we ALL felt it was way over priced. I don't mean to be rude at all but this is our opinion. Your Welcome Missee & Randy Staudt (reservation April 11, 2016 @5:45pm

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great dining experience everytime.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Lucky to have a dining place like this in Edmonton.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best hidden gem restaurants i ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

One of the best hidden gem restaurants in the city. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great cholice

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Edmonton. The food is exceptional and the service fantastic. The selection of european beers is second to none and it is always nice to try something new and different. Ask your server they can recommend some great beer and wine. Love the pickle soup, if you have not tried it you should.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tast of home

Dined on March 18, 2016

We come every couple of weeks to eat steak tar tar and avacado or tomatoe salad. The atmosphere is classy, friendly and it being on whyte avenue brings its own ambiance. The servers are friendly and remeber us from visit to visit and are always cheerful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pickle soup and escargot were great starters.

Dined on March 7, 2016

We all enjoyed our entrees as well. The unhurried pace was perfect for an evening with friends. We didn't feel rushed. The service was excellent and our food was piping hot! We shared a delicious apple strudel for dessert and the menu had a lot of variety too. Their was something for everyone. We were there on Sunday around 6 and the restaurant was packed. The restaurant is quaint and comfortable. Only negative....it was little too warm, at times by the unlit fire. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for a special evening of fine dining. We will definitely be making a trip back there again.....and soon, I hope. The manager and all staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was excellent. Very tasty and good portions. Also really enjoyed the atmosphere. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic Food & Atmosphere

Dined on March 6, 2016

We love this place for the great food & atmosphere. We normally come here for special occasions, as most of the menu items and quality wines are quite pricey. Recently four of us had dinner here on a Saturday evening and we appreciate the fact that we never feel rushed; they allow 2.5 hours for a party of four. The service is always good; however, you can expect to relax between courses if the restaurant is full - and reservations are definitely recommended for peak dinner hours. We were disappointed with the more recent policy of adding a 15% gratuity to the cheque, for a party of four.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Escargot

Dined on March 1, 2016

The escargot and mushrooms to start were the best ever. I would go back just for that dish and a dessert. The chicken stroganoff was a bit bland. My partner had chicken and said it was good but not outstanding. We didn't have dessert, would have loved a crème brullee. The prices were high, the beef particularly was very high, $10 more than other places.

food5
ambience5
service5

Believe it or not I am a big liver & oni ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Believe it or not I am a big liver & onions fan. There's an art to preparing it so it's not chewy & tasteless - Continental cooked it to perfection! Fantastic service - friendly and not overbearing. Will be back again in the near future!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food, excellent service!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great dining spot for a special occasion. Huge beer selection from all over the world. Food is excellent and server was very attentive at the right moments. It is a bit pricey, especially the desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

True european.

Dined on February 19, 2016

Always like to go here when there is a special occasion. Greeted by friendly staff, got a great table by the window. The menu has not change in years, but that is why we go. And the prices seem the same. Although they are high to begin with, the food is always top notch. This time we noticed the portion sizes were smaller. They nicely brought a nice piece of cake [birthday] to end our meal. Good coffees and latte's and we went home happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.