About Continental Treat Fine Bistro

10560 82 Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A4
View Larger Map

The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borówka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borówka and their son Sylvester Borówka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Pałkowska, Bartosz Beresiński, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, Eastern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM Adults Only

Cross Street:
whyte avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 433-7432

Website:
http://www.ctfinebistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz every Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinner

Parking Details:
Limited Parking at the Back

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Palmowski

Private Party Facilities:
Weddings, Business Lunches and Dinners, Christmas Parties

Private Party Contact:
Sylvesterct@shaw.ca: 780-433-7432x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine/Beer/Scotch Dinners with Live Jazz
Please visit our website for more details www.ctfinebistro.com
or call 780-433-7432 and as for Sylvester



Continental Treat Fine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
7 More
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (63)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Great for Lunch (31)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (14)
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Great Beer (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Scenic View (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
652 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, atmosphere and service! ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, atmosphere and service! When we want an excellent, intimate dinner, we always choose Continental Treat. Always superb food! Try the Dill Pickle Soup!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I recently attended Continen ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I recently attended Continental Treat to celebrate a special occasion. We had a wonderful evening . The cocktails and wine were great. The escargots in mushroom sauce was a topnotch appetizer while the steak tartar and pork schnitzel were outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently delicious..service i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always consistently delicious..service is professional yet warm and friendly. Our favourite spot for comfort food.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the European style decor, the old ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I love the European style decor, the old world atmosphere and the unique menu options at Continental Treat Fine Bistro. At 150 choices, the beer selection is unparalleled. On each of my last two visits, we were grateful to have the lovely young Irish girl as our server. She is knowledgeable and knows just when to approach and when to stay away. I find the price point to be a bit high ($20 for salmon on a bagel and c$10 for a glass of wine).

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Another amazing meal. Chef made us a bee ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Another amazing meal. Chef made us a beef stroganoff for my wife's birthday which is not on the menu. So delicious. Wonderful place, the best kitchen ,staff and manager in the city! Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our lunch and will come a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Really enjoyed our lunch and will come again soon,probably try out dinner menu. Thank you

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic date night with rich European f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Romantic date night with rich European food. Pickle soup is a must.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having orginally immigrated from Germany ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Having orginally immigrated from Germany and grown up eating European cuisine this restaurant is my first choice for dining when staying in Edmonton. My wife and I usually enjoy a meal there each time we visit and have for years.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of our favourite places to g ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is one of our favourite places to go in Edmonton. The food is delicious. We especially enjoy the various soups that they offer (dill pickle, borscht etc.). The menu is diverse and includes some German classics which are delicious.

The location on Whyte Avenue is easy to access. They have complimentary parking behind the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My $50 filet was ordered m/r was deliver ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My $50 filet was ordered m/r was delivered medium to medium well. The service was very good but you can for sure find better value for your dollar. Not sure why all the 5 star ratings but I give it 3 and if the service wasn't excellent which it was I would give this establishment a 2 star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Over the years we have been to the Conti ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Over the years we have been to the Continental Treat restaurant a few times. A few things have changed.

The not so good:

First the food menu has downsized dramatically. The sign on the window by the door says, "Adults only after 4:00 PM", yet we arrived on a Monday at 6:45 PM to two tables that had children under 3 years of age (still in high chairs) that were still there at least 45 - 1 hour after we arrived. We wanted a nice quiet 35th anniversary supper, yet, we could barely hear each other over the noise of the other tables and squealing child. We had a party of 6 that went a few weeks ago that told us the food is not as tasty as it was a couple of years ago, my husband and I now agree with them. Disappointed to see one of the servers wearing jeans, female customer wearing flip flops (like beach flip flops). There are so few place to go out to for an evening that requires at least business attire... Disappointing this is being lost.

The good portion:

The Pickle soup is STILL delicious.

Our server was great.

Has some different meals.

Likely will not return and will try new restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Consistently excellent quality service a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Consistently excellent quality service and food. Always a local favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That dill pickle soup was great, not ove ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

That dill pickle soup was great, not overpowering dill. Escargot was different than the usual garlic butter variety, worth a try. None of us could finish our entrees as we found each dish to be quite rich with lots of it too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent European cuisine, as always. O ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent European cuisine, as always. Our server was new but very enthusiastic and will be a welcome addition to the scene.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy food and pleasant ambience. Would ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Yummy food and pleasant ambience. Would have been perfect if they hadn't told Open Table that we did not keep our reservation (need a little training at the front).

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant is a gem. It's a great c ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This restaurant is a gem. It's a great choice for all occasions. The food is consistently excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are 5 star all the time, I highly r ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

They are 5 star all the time, I highly recommend this place to many friends

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good. No complaints. Can get a littl ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

All good. No complaints. Can get a little noisy but not bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pickle soup!!! Spaetzle!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pickle soup!!! Spaetzle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very busy and very no ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and very noisy. Felt crowded. The wine list was very good. The pickle soup was tasty albeit luke-warm. The main course was adequate although i thought that other dishes might have been better selections.

Service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for those special occasions. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place for those special occasions. One of our top picks. :))

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Introduced friends from out of town to C ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Introduced friends from out of town to Continental Treat, everyone enjoyed the meal and ambience. Mushroom and sauerkraut pyrogies were excellent as appetizers. Rainbow trout and wienerschnitzle were excellent entres, the duck leg a bit overcooked and dry. Everyone had the apple strudel for dessert, very nice finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice place with excellent food and servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Nice place with excellent food and service. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the Continental Treat! We often ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love the Continental Treat! We often pick the restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always service and food was great, gr ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always service and food was great, great beer menu.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food, service and value for mo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food, service and value for money. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Continental Treat is my "go-to" rest ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The Continental Treat is my "go-to" restaurant for special occasions. I try to avoid weekends because the restaurant is usually full and therefore noisy. On this occasion it was Wednesday and noise was not an issue. The food is always exceptional and the service prompt and friendly. Parking can be difficult but free street parking a couple of blocks away is usually possible.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers were amazing ! Duck was a lit ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Appetizers were amazing !

Duck was a little dry

Service was slow, but friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

ABSOLUTLEY THE BEST DINING SPOT ON WHYTE ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

ABSOLUTLEY THE BEST DINING SPOT ON WHYTE AVE IN EDMONTON FOOD IS FANTASTIC THE SERVICE IS THE BEST FAMILY OWNED AND YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED THE BEST STEAK TARTA ANY WHERE IN THE WORLD A REAL GEM OF A RESTAURANT TRY IT YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH EVERYTHING THEY HAVE TO OFFER

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great evening with delicious fo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great evening with delicious food and attentive service in spite of the fact that a thunderstorm knocked out the power in the restaurant. It is still one of our favourite places to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to this restaurant many times ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pickle soup was interesting and pleasant ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Pickle soup was interesting and pleasant, heard about it so wanted to try it. Schnitzel was good, the crumb was delicate it was well cooked, however, I would have liked to taste some subtle herb in the crumb or something, it was quite plain. The table bread was disappointing, some store bought variety it seems, slightly stale. I would have liked to see a fresh homemade rye or something of that ilk. The butter was served in airplane plastic single serve portions. The prices of the eye fillet were outrageous we all thought. The wines were as well quite over priced for the common garden variety. The waitress kept reaching in front of me and over my head. My niece was ill that night with some sort of food poisoning she thinks, we are not sure if from here or perhaps the frozen yogurt place down the street? All in all, I would not go back, the menu is not something I could not achieve myself at home..

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This is a favourite place to come with a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is a favourite place to come with a friend or friends. Even though it's a bit expensive it is the place to enjoy excellent food and drink. I always leave feeling like we were welcome, appreciated and even a little fussed over.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent European cuisine. Nice lunch ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent European cuisine. Nice lunch menu. Lots to choose from. Try the dill pickle soup. You will not be disappointed! Goulash was tasty. Mushroom and cabbage perogies great! Great selection of desserts as well. Will definitely come back to try their dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All food items had excellent flavour, ve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

All food items had excellent flavour, very well prepared and presented. The beer and wine lists are excellent. The servers were very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the dishes on the menu. This was probably about my 12th time at this restaurant and everything about it is very consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Was a wonderful evening! They new it was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Was a wonderful evening! They new it was a special occasion and did everything they could to make it just that, special!

From the moment we walked in too the time we walked out, we were served with a smile. The server who helped us was vary friendly but seamed to had just work a 8hour shift and seemed a little run down but we could tell she still tried to make our experience a moment to remember.

Food was very good but could use a touch more seasoning to truly make an immaculate meal. Plating was rustic and the garnishes seamed to love being all over the rimes of the plate. Above all else it had a certain je ne sais que about it that really made it feel like worm home cooking, especially if you have a very European grandmother.

Very much enjoyed my experience and would be very happy to go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This was our second visit to Continental ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our second visit to Continental Treats and we were just as pleased as the first time

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of out favorite restaurants in Edmon ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of out favorite restaurants in Edmonton. We always like go there before an event at the Jube. Love the Dill Pickle Soup.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. We go often the staff i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love this place. We go often the staff is fabulous and so friendly. Food is so flavorful and you feel like you have a had a fine meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.