Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

The Mermaid Inn East VillageThe Mermaid Inn East Village
(998)
Seafood | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Frank RestaurantFrank Restaurant
(94)
Italian | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
MayahuelMayahuel
(23)
Mexican | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Local 92Local 92
(182)
Mediterranean | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Malai MarkeMalai Marke
(135)
Indian | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
DegustationDegustation
(317)
Global, International | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Cacio e VinoCacio e Vino
(450)
Italian | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Nomad (East Village)Nomad (East Village)
(351)
Mediterranean | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Via Della PaceVia Della Pace
(156)
Italian | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
ZerzaZerza
(84)
Moroccan | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Lion's Beer StoreLion's Beer Store
Reviews Coming Soon
Gastro Pub | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Jewel BakoJewel Bako
(170)
Sushi | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Edwin & Neal's Fish BarEdwin & Neal's Fish Bar
(20)
Seafood | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
OIJIOIJI
(86)
Korean | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Brick Lane Curry HouseBrick Lane Curry House
(367)
Indian | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now

About Confessional

308 E 6th Street
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Thursday - Friday- Saturday - 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Second Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 477-2400

Website:
http://www.confessionalny.com/

Sort By:
Newest
32 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There is potential for this place to be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

There is potential for this place to be a gem but overall it was so-so. The cocktails were great and the food was good, but the who experience was blah. The space is super small and narrow and the lighting is disjointed - bright in the back, dim in front. The staff was nice but the overall level of experience was not super professional (they didn't have coffee because the machine wasn't working; the bartender was acting as the server; etc.) There is potential here if they stepped it up a notch. The chalkboard walls detracted from the ambiance making the space seem kitch rather than trendy. The art was amazing - they should aim to up the sophistication of the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great place for drinks, and food is surp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Great place for drinks, and food is surprisingly good. Bar-tender is terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

This was a disappointing experience all around. When we arrived, the restaurant was completely empty but with music blaring loudly. Even with the bad ambiance, however, it would have been decent if the food had been good -- which it wasn't. Instead, the three plates we ordered were underwhelming and overpriced for the quality. Will definitely not be returning to Confessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

I haf the most amazing time. The food is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

I haf the most amazing time. The food is great! Came in a timely fashion perfect size plates that font overwhelming fill you.... Erica was amazing!!! Best drinks are made by her :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great everything

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

Great everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is lacking

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

First the good, the bartender was very nice and accommodating, and the cocktails were good, even if they weren't so subtle (the sweet stuff was VERY sweet, but I personally like that sort of thing.) And the food tasted great. We went for Valentine's Day dinner. Their food seating is fairly small, maybe 20-25 seats.

The not so good was that the service was pretty sub-par. I'm a pretty understanding person when it comes to restaurant service. Sometimes you're busy, you can forget to do one of the million things you probably have on your mind. But in this case there were four servers for probably ten tables and they still managed to disappoint. Valentine's Day was a pre-fixe and the pre-fixe was not explained when we sat down. No problem, I knew it was a 3-course pre-fixe. Probably fine. The pre-fixe was supposed to come with Prosecco. We never received it. When the main course was brought to us, the proper utensils did not come with it. I don't mind reusing an old fork, but I no longer had my old fork. I had to ask for one, and the manager mentioned he would bring me a steak knife. A steak knife was not produced. I had to ask a server for one later. We asked for hot sauce for date's fish, they brought me gravy. After they took our main course away, we sat waiting for quite some time with no explanation. About fifteen minutes went by before I asked if there was a dessert menu, and the manager said it's a chef special and it would be out soon. That's fine, but at least tell me when you take my plate so I'm not sitting and waiting, not knowing what to expect.

Overall, for what I paid, I was disappointed. I can't recommend it for food because the service is sub-par and there are tons of other great places around. I would recommend it as a cocktail spot but again, with so many great cocktail spots in that area with a better dining experience, I can't recommend it for that either. If their service was better it would be a solid little spot.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Nothing special

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Highlights included the sliders. Lowlights included the fishy crab cakes. The cheese plate was tasty--it would have been nice if the server told us what cheeses were on the plate.

Drinks are expensive for a place that is definitely not known for its cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

hidden surprise

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

hands down the best tasting food I've had in 1.5 yrs in nyc. I was blown away. and the drinks were superb. I didn't know what to expect from Latin American fusion, but suffice it to say that this exceeded any expectations I had by miles. truly delicious. also the best pisco sours Ive had north of the equator.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot! Attentive service! Awesome food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2014

The restaurant accommodated food allergies (peanuts and sesame). When we couldn't agree on the brussel sprouts or cauliflower they gave us a half order of both. The food was out of this world. All very rich but delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

It was just amazing. The most delicious Churrasco I had ever tasted, and I have tasted quite a few. Everything was incredible amazing and delicious. And the drinks, Oh My God! The service was great. Erika was our bartender and she was really nice, attentive and created those great drinks with such a passion and dedication. I could keep on going, and I already recommended the restaurants to all my friends. Too bad we couldn't complement the Cheff, since it was late and he was already gone, by the time we finish, but the food was incredibly amazing! Congrats!!! LOVE IT!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expectacular

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

Erika was very helpful, very courteous, attended at everything we needed and wanted, it's was ours 28th wedding anniversary and beginning wth the owner congratulated us on the phone. The bartender very nice made special drinks for my husband and the service from the waiter, overall we had a wonder experience, excellent food, presentation and taste. Yes we'll go back and recommend it to everyone. Thank you all

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

I took some friends visiting from Italy. They loved it! Erica, the owner was attentive, and made it feel so personal. The food was interesting, and the flavors unique. I will go back for sure, and have recommended it to friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have you Confessed?

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

I was in town visiting friends and we wanted to try something new and fun and based on previous reviews we chose to go here. The drinks were amazing and the food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

what a great experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 7, 2014

Confessional was such a great experience from the food to the atmosphere and confessing on the wall, we feel so fortunate to have found Confessional. Cannot wait for our next trip to NY so we can confess again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious... I must confess

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

Went here wish a group of 6, and ordered for the table. Every dish was delicious and unique. The paellita was perfectly seasoned as an entree, and the appetizers were all a hit! I plan to go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An Enjoyable Meal

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 26, 2014

I'll start by saying the wine (our third choice) was very good and we loved our dishes (shared fish tacos for the starter; I had churrasco for the main). We just couldn't get our timing right: the "welcome" was more of a "wait there"; the first two wines we chose were out; the waiter poured the wine for me to taste, then set the bottle down in the middle of the table; when we finally had our drinks, the manager(?) interrupted our toast to pour out the wine...it went on like this. After a midly frustrating start, we had a lovely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Under Staffed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2014

The girl who waits on the tables is totally alone. The place is packed to the rafters with people and their is one waitress. I felt really bad for her. Should be 3 when there was one. The guys with arm behind the bar helpful but behind the bar. I don't like Spanish food, so as far as that went, I was never going to like it, but the people I was with were not impressed. Basically it would have been a lot better if there were more servers and the food wasn't Spanish... Probably not very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

great food, amazing cocktails

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

The food is delicious (the steak!) as are the drinks (Devil's Advocate & Ruby's White Lies (I think that's the name)), but the seating is odd. Many of the tables are those high tables w/stools so if you don't like those types of tables or have physical constraints that make sitting there difficult, I'd get a reservation and specifically ask for the regular tables. And it's kind of loud there and the place isn't spacious. All that said, it's totally worth it for the food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Superfun

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2014

First - come here for the drinks. Exquisite and interesting and balanced. Marcelo did some custom twists on their menu just for my friend, who was celebrating.

Second come for the company - friendly, welcoming, good fun.

Third - come for the food. If you like interesting Latin food - I suspect some of it might be Ecuadorean - really interesting dishes I haven't had anywhere else and balanced and yummy.

I would come back any old time.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing Ambiance!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2014

Ambiance, food and service...amazing! The concept is unique. With a blackboard and chalk...once you have some liquor in your system you can write your deepest confessions on the wall. I loved it! The bartender, Victor was so welcoming and the owner was as well. Would definitely do this again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

Found it on Trip advisor, went there with my wife and we loved it. Both food, ambiance and service was great. Best shrimp ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Cocktails, Delectible Eats

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

Went with another couple. The cocktails were very tasty ($14 each) The appetizers were amazing! Gotta try the ones with the ropa vieja -- amazing! And the entrees were good as well. Big enough to share if you've had a few appetizers too. And writing our confessions on the chalkboard walls after a few drinks was quite revealing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Charmaine; a love that dare not...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2014

They say "don't fall in love with your bartender". It leads to liver failure and heart break. Charmaine is worth the risk. This place was great, booze, food, atmosphere, but Charmaine, Oh sweet Charmaine. An angel of never-ending perfect gin drinks with cucumber and FRESH LIME JUICE. This was the lime shortage of 2014, she was prepared. We didn't need a menu. She knew what to order as if her beautiful eyes peered into my gastro-soul.

Not the most pleasant patrons, we had the "stops mid sentence to shout his orders at a busy bartender while pointing with the one free finger in his drink hand and making a wink face clicking noise" guy. But she was a pro, and we all left happy.

I love you Charmaine and The Confessional. (too soon?)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Experience!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2014

Came here last Tuesday night for dinner and cant say enough good things about this place. Definitely best food I've had in a while. We ordered a few plates to share, mofonguitos and timbales are to die for! EVERYONE has to try them! Loved the ambiance, the low lights and confessing on the wall! That made my night! I ordered a blame them not me and my drink was so good I had to order another one. Service was great, our bartender was very attentive and loved that the owner came by our table to make sure we were satisfied with everything! Definitely will be coming back soon to try a few other things!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2014

My family and I had a great time. We really enjoyed the delicious food. We will be back for the next special occasion!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Confess all your sins!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2014

Confessional is such a discreet place that you won't be found even if you check in on FB! Haha just kidding! This restaurant and bar is the perfect place to have a few bottles of wine and great Latin/Caribbean food for a date or a get together with the girls or even the guys! The music is very eclectic. Not loud ebeough where you have to say "What?!" To the person speaking to you and not low enough where you have to ask the bartender to give it some more volume. The service is amazing. The bartender is very attentive and so are the waiters. Asking you if everything is okay at every moment they pass by your table. The drinks are so tasty that you will ask for more before you finish the first one It's even family friendly during the afternoon

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2014

There are a bunch of things that make this place great! Cocktails are very quality here. All the drinks are pretty refreshing, tasty, and made with a bit of extra effort to make them look nice. space is a precious commodity. but the food here is pretty killer too.

The food is equally as impressive.

**Guac/pico de gallo!This dish is LEGIT

Lobster tamal Standard tells of a good Latin America restaurant and Confessional delivers!

Bronzino Light and fresh tasting!

Overall, this is definitely one of the better "hidden" gems in the East Village, and everything, from the food, to the drinks, to the service, are all quality. I would come here with a small group or for a date, and enjoy as many different drinks and plates as you can.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks, mediocre food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

ONE WORD: SPICERACK (confession, I have the spelling skills of a 5yo).

The chef needs a refresher course on how to make basic glaucoma. Got the avocado right, but missing cilantro, lemon juice, salt, and some heat, thats just a SIN! I would go on to critique the remainder of our food, but its just easier to say: dont bother eating here. The food seriously seemed like an after thought. Oh lets just throw in a kitchen so we can say we serve "latin inspired" food. Why not just eliminate the entire kitchen, open the space, reduce over head cost-and ultimately reduce the drink prices!

OH the drinks on the other hand: delicious and innovated! The mixologist deserves much praise for that. Confessional needs to stick to their amazing drinks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Wash your sins away!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

Really cool vibe with a great female staff, savory dishes, and fun walls you're actually encouraged to tag on & 'confess' - perfect formula for a girls' night out! The cocktail menu has very clever names & ingredients, as well - the bar is also a welcoming place to hang out. Have been here twice now and had a great experience both times - think it will become one of the regular spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I wouldn't recommend for brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2014

The food selections weren't very many and the eggs benedict came with untoasted English Muffins that I had to send back to get toasted. $35.00 for brunch with unlimited sangria or mimosas was pricey (though they didn't skimp on the refills). I think I should have tried this restaurant for dinner instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Nice But

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2014

It's a small venue. The servers were very nice and didn't rush us at all. BUT, the music was too loud. When I asked to turn it down, they did so, but still somewhat too loud. In fairness, we were under the speakers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Fantastic

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 12, 2014

My friends and I had a wonderful dining experience at Confessional. Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious; the montaditos trio: tostones with shrimp, churrasco and octopus, beef sliders, churrasco with truffle cheese fries, churrasco with yucca mash and grilled salmon with banana rice.

The well-crafted cocktails "Hot Scandal", "Blame Them Not Me", "Sexual Feelings" and Rubby's White Lies" were outstanding . Service was excellent. The owners and staff were welcoming, friendly and very attentive to our needs.

The dim lighting, soft music and chalk board wall where patrons are encouraged to confess their sins adds a remarkable touch to the decor and cozy ambience. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.