HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Confessional

4.1
32 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Latin American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic (33)
  • Fit for Foodies (24)
  • Neighborhood Gem (22)

Similar Restaurants

About

If you are looking for delicious food to eat, look no further than Confessional, a Latin fusion restaurant located in East Village. Confessional is not just your average restaurant. Instead, it is cuisine, artistry, memories and humanity all rolled into one nice package. A chalkboard wall features random memories or confessions left by most unnamed patrons at the end of the night in a Twitter-like manner.

Despite the many secrets shared at the restaurant, it is no secret that the food is amazing. Just one bite of the calamari, lamb chops, wild mushroom croquettes or the steak will have you wanting more. If you are looking for a fun and eclectic dining experience where you can drink, eat, sin and then confess your transgressions, head to Confessional.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Latin American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Wednesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Thursday - Friday- Saturday - 5:00pm - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 477-2400
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Second Avenue
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 32 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1
  based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0
Dined on November 20, 2015

There is potential for this place to be a gem but overall it was so-so. The cocktails were great and the food was good, but the who experience was blah. The space is super small and narrow and the lighting is disjointed - bright in the back, dim in front. The staff was nice but the overall level of experience was not super professional (they didn't have coffee because the machine wasn't working; the bartender was acting as the server; etc.) There is potential here if they stepped it up a notch. The chalkboard walls detracted from the ambiance making the space seem kitch rather than trendy. The art was amazing - they should aim to up the sophistication of the place.

Report
Helpful
vipAlkibiades (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on October 10, 2015

Great place for drinks, and food is surprisingly good. Bar-tender is terrific.

Report
Helpful
MaggieB (New York Area)
1.0
Dined on September 11, 2015

This was a disappointing experience all around. When we arrived, the restaurant was completely empty but with music blaring loudly. Even with the bad ambiance, however, it would have been decent if the food had been good -- which it wasn't. Instead, the three plates we ordered were underwhelming and overpriced for the quality. Will definitely not be returning to Confessional.

Report
Helpful
Bluevirgo (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on August 7, 2015

I haf the most amazing time. The food is great! Came in a timely fashion perfect size plates that font overwhelming fill you.... Erica was amazing!!! Best drinks are made by her :-)

Report
Helpful
vipNycfoodie (Miami)
5.0
Dined on March 7, 2015

Great everything

Report
Helpful
Dave (New York Area)
2.0
Dined on February 14, 2015

First the good, the bartender was very nice and accommodating, and the cocktails were good, even if they weren't so subtle (the sweet stuff was VERY sweet, but I personally like that sort of thing.) And the food tasted great. We went for Valentine's Day dinner. Their food seating is fairly small, maybe 20-25 seats.

The not so good was that the service was pretty sub-par. I'm a pretty understanding person when it comes to restaurant service. Sometimes you're busy, you can forget to do one of the million things you probably have on your mind. But in this case there were four servers for probably ten tables and they still managed to disappoint. Valentine's Day was a pre-fixe and the pre-fixe was not explained when we sat down. No problem, I knew it was a 3-course pre-fixe. Probably fine. The pre-fixe was supposed to come with Prosecco. We never received it. When the main course was brought to us, the proper utensils did not come with it. I don't mind reusing an old fork, but I no longer had my old fork. I had to ask for one, and the manager mentioned he would bring me a steak knife. A steak knife was not produced. I had to ask a server for one later. We asked for hot sauce for date's fish, they brought me gravy. After they took our main course away, we sat waiting for quite some time with no explanation. About fifteen minutes went by before I asked if there was a dessert menu, and the manager said it's a chef special and it would be out soon. That's fine, but at least tell me when you take my plate so I'm not sitting and waiting, not knowing what to expect.

Overall, for what I paid, I was disappointed. I can't recommend it for food because the service is sub-par and there are tons of other great places around. I would recommend it as a cocktail spot but again, with so many great cocktail spots in that area with a better dining experience, I can't recommend it for that either. If their service was better it would be a solid little spot.

Report
Helpful
vipJLK100 (New York Area)
3.0
Dined on January 17, 2015

Highlights included the sliders. Lowlights included the fishy crab cakes. The cheese plate was tasty--it would have been nice if the server told us what cheeses were on the plate.

Drinks are expensive for a place that is definitely not known for its cocktails.

Report
Helpful
Alex (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on December 31, 2014

hands down the best tasting food I've had in 1.5 yrs in nyc. I was blown away. and the drinks were superb. I didn't know what to expect from Latin American fusion, but suffice it to say that this exceeded any expectations I had by miles. truly delicious. also the best pisco sours Ive had north of the equator.

Report
Helpful
boreas88 (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on December 26, 2014

The restaurant accommodated food allergies (peanuts and sesame). When we couldn't agree on the brussel sprouts or cauliflower they gave us a half order of both. The food was out of this world. All very rich but delicious.

Report
Helpful
Angie (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on November 29, 2014

It was just amazing. The most delicious Churrasco I had ever tasted, and I have tasted quite a few. Everything was incredible amazing and delicious. And the drinks, Oh My God! The service was great. Erika was our bartender and she was really nice, attentive and created those great drinks with such a passion and dedication. I could keep on going, and I already recommended the restaurants to all my friends. Too bad we couldn't complement the Cheff, since it was late and he was already gone, by the time we finish, but the food was incredibly amazing! Congrats!!! LOVE IT!!!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Latin American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Wednesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Thursday - Friday- Saturday - 5:00pm - 2:00am
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Second Avenue
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 477-2400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.