About Common Quarter

1205 Johnson Ferry Road
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Common Quarter is a locally supported, seasonally driven, Southern Coast & Farm restaurant that focuses on comfort, human connection, savory food, gratifying drink and pleasantly memorable service.
Please sit deep and enjoy the experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodlawn Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 809-4040

Website:
http://www.commonquarter.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeffery Gardner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
Common Quarter, Marietta, GA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Common Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Atlanta
Best Food
Northwest Atlanta
Best Service
Northwest Atlanta
3 More
Best Value
Northwest Atlanta
Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Atlanta
Most Booked
Northwest Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Seasonal (12)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great Beer (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fireplace (6)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Romantic (5)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was outstanding. The Turley on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was outstanding. The Turley on the wine list was a nice surprise. They don't have expresso on the menu which is strange for a restaurant like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal there. Always some ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Never had a bad meal there. Always something on the menu to satisfy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually love Common Quarter and always h ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Usually love Common Quarter and always have great service. Was disappointed this time, we had to flag our waitress down to order each time we wanted something & our water glasses stayed empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The Sunday lunch menu is great AND they ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Sunday lunch menu is great AND they have the best burgers EVER. We enjoyed our first visit with our daughter after returning home from her honeymoon. Couldn't think of a better place to catch up.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Priced like Houston's with food like App ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Priced like Houston's with food like Applebees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

My son and I came to CQ for and early di ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My son and I came to CQ for and early dinner. We had out favorite waiter, Justin. He was great, he made an excellent recommendation on wine. The food was amazing. My son had a great burger and I had the vegetable platter. Great neighborhood place. I feel like my name is "Norm"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was awesome, drinks were fin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was awesome, drinks were fine but the price seemed a little high. Maybe they could have 5-6:30 Happy hour where there is a little price break for us older folks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique for east cobb in that it has very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Unique for east cobb in that it has very good food and unique fare. Menu is seasonal and fresh.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fantastic. We had no idea th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was fantastic. We had no idea that Common Quarter is part of the Local Three Group (which is one of our favorite reataurants). We definitely will be returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The hamburger is one of the best I have ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The hamburger is one of the best I have ever had. When you look at the menu, you might not choose it based on the other options. Don't miss the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our dinner. The food and service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. The food and service was excellent. They helped make a birthday dinner celebration special.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with the quality. Cole sla ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very pleased with the quality. Cole slaw very creative.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good focus on the food - cooked properly ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good focus on the food - cooked properly and good attention to service - good timing in taking orders and fulfilling them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent service, great drinks, and gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

excellent service, great drinks, and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We frequent Common Quarter at least once ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We frequent Common Quarter at least once a month and have always enjoyed it. Great service, solid food and an engaging atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Monday burger night. The burgers ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We LOVE Monday burger night. The burgers are fantatastic. Our server, Trey, was attentive and and accomodating. Side of crispy brussels sprouts were great as is the homeade buttermilk dressing. Best burger in the ATL. We will surely miss Chris. He is so personable and always welcomes us with a smile.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Common Quarter a couple of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We've been to Common Quarter a couple of times and have enjoyed it each time. The staff is friendly and helpful. I have Celiac Disease and the Gluten Free options are good and the waitstaff is knowledgeable. This time I had the thai curry pumpkin soup, side salad, mashed potatoes and broccoli and they were all very good. My husband had a burger and the other couple had a steak and the grilled cheese sandwich. The guys appreciated the assortment of beers available and I had a nice glass of wine. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good neighborhood place. Nice low k ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very good neighborhood place. Nice low key atmosphere with an intelligent staff. We go back often.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I don't understand what is wrong with th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I don't understand what is wrong with this restaurant. I never have problems with my meal anywhere and I go out to eat a lot, but the last 4 times, there has been something wrong with my entree. They always try to resolve it, but usually prepare another entree that also isn't very good or has some strange issue with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Sea food stew listed salmon - could not ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Sea food stew listed salmon - could not find it. I make better Schnitzel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Interesting wine list. Varied menu with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Interesting wine list. Varied menu with interesting choices. Our server was very good, attentive without being over-bearing.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The "Ode to South Philly" sandwich is aw ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The "Ode to South Philly" sandwich is awesome. It is not a traditional cheese-steak (and that's the best part), but no matter - it's a thousand times better... and I'm from Philly and a cheese-steak snob. This was one of the tastiest sandwiches I've ever had. And the Parmesan garlic fries were great, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service always great. Fall menu has good ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service always great. Fall menu has good items not real fussy. Cocktails still smallish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Are at the bar to watch the end of the R ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Are at the bar to watch the end of the Ryder cup. After a few drinks, we both ordered the burger and parm Fries. Wonderful as always and not busy since we were there a bit early for the dinner rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The meal it self was pretty good. It has ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The meal it self was pretty good. It has a side of red cabbage. However the portion of that sides was very small. I would estimate to tablespoons. Now that's small. Not sure why. Red cabbage should be pretty cheap.

I had a glass of wine. I would estimate the pour to be 2 oz. It too was substandard for such a nice restaurant.

I'm sure I will give them another try, but if that does not work out I cross them off my list.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

the food was great, our server (Chase) w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

the food was great, our server (Chase) was wonderful, but it was way TOO NOISY!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

we went for restaurant week... the fixed ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

we went for restaurant week... the fixed menu was definitely a value and a good way to sample the menu. I found the wine list shallow [whites] and rather expensive by the bottle. Our server disappeared often and several items we asked for never appeared. Another server actually picked up the slack at our table twice. [BTW the restaurant was not that crowed-so no good reason for slack] Liked food enough to try again - so hopefully better next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I had Salmon and although it was Cooked ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I had Salmon and although it was Cooked perfectly to medium rare, the coating and char overpowered the flavor and the side had no flavor.

My wife had the chicken schnitzel which was good.

Wine list not very impressive.

Service was spotty and inattentive. My wife asked for box to go and they mixed watery greens from a different bowl with the chicken dish. Dessert order was brought out wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Welcome to fine dining in the suburbs! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Welcome to fine dining in the suburbs! Unexpectedly superb food in East Cobb. Lamb meatball appetizer surpassed the lamb meatballs of a well-known downtown Italian restaurant. Entrees of braised pork and chicken schnitzel were tender and large portions, with just the right amount of sauces. Dessert: peanut butter pie, YUM. Rice pudding, very flavorful and soft. All dishes accompanied by well-thought-out sides and sauces--not fancy for the sake of being fancy, just good food several notches above what we expect in the 'burbs. Pleasant and well-lighted atmosphere (I like to see my food!), and excellent service. Menu with beef, chicken, pork and seafood--something for everyone. Best meal we've had in a long time, downtown restaurants not excepted. We will be back! Tell your friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Sunday brunch!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the brussel sprouts as a appetiz ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed the brussel sprouts as a appetizer. Great Moscow Mule too.

The seafood stew was delicious. Enjoyed the evening out very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sometimes when you go to a place based o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Sometimes when you go to a place based on high expectations from hearing so much about it, it can be a bummer. I am pleased to say that was not the case with Common Quarter. Our server was exceptional and so was most of the food. He had the art of being attentive yet not obtrusive perfected. Always in search of a great burger- well, who isn't. I tend to believe that through a couple years of trial and error, I have come very close to making the perfect burger at home as far as the patty is concerned. So, a restaurant burger needs to be at least as good as that for me to want it again. This burger was perfect! The lamb meatball appetizer was great. The meatball itself was good but combining it with polenta made it excellent. We also got the lump crab spaghetti. I found this to be not too great. The flavor was too one-note for me, which made for a great first few bites but it got old real quick. It could have used some texture too. I will definitely be back and try some other things on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We knew the burger was good so I stepped ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We knew the burger was good so I stepped out a bit and tried side dishes.

The salad sounded great however in execution not so much. The bit Too was excellent as was the succotash. Less than mediocre collards and broccoli. I will stick with the burger or filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always a great time here! Great food an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always a great time here! Great food and exceptional bourbon, scotch, wine, & hand-crafted cocktails

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tapas, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions. Muscles were so small ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Small portions. Muscles were so small and had no flavor. Wife had scallops. Again very small scallops. Flavor was good but cost to portion very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Our fav weekly go to family dinner spot. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our fav weekly go to family dinner spot. Fresh menu that keeps a good mix of favorites and new seasonally appropriate offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a decent, not huge, buffet for th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a decent, not huge, buffet for the Sunday Brunch. My son treated me for my birthday and was glad that it was only $18. We were disappointed that OJ was $3 extra, so I drank ginger ale and he had sweet tea.

Was glad to see that they cut the desserts and frittata into small pieces. I deplore the amount of waste in restaurants, so that's a great way for everyone to have a taste of something, and then come back and get more if they really like it.

Our server was friendly and responsive.

I'll be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and excellent service and fai ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and excellent service and fair prices. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been back since the opening mo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We hadn't been back since the opening months by the had won second place best burger in Best of Atlanta. The burger was wonderful and my husband has a great filet...we ended up trading early on. We opted to sit at the bar, I believe the bartender's name was Sean and he was very personable along with keeping our drinks coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.