About Common Quarter

1205 Johnson Ferry Road
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Common Quarter is a locally supported, seasonally driven, Southern Coast & Farm restaurant that focuses on comfort, human connection, savory food, gratifying drink and pleasantly memorable service.
Please sit deep and enjoy the experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodlawn Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 809-4040

Website:
http://www.commonquarter.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeffery Gardner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Common Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Atlanta
Best Service
Northwest Atlanta
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Atlanta
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Atlanta
Most Booked
Northwest Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

Neighborhood Gem (63)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Groups (43)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Great for Brunch (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Romantic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
536 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The meal it self was pretty good. It has ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

The meal it self was pretty good. It has a side of red cabbage. However the portion of that sides was very small. I would estimate to tablespoons. Now that's small. Not sure why. Red cabbage should be pretty cheap.

I had a glass of wine. I would estimate the pour to be 2 oz. It too was substandard for such a nice restaurant.

I'm sure I will give them another try, but if that does not work out I cross them off my list.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

the food was great, our server (Chase) w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

the food was great, our server (Chase) was wonderful, but it was way TOO NOISY!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

we went for restaurant week... the fixed ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

we went for restaurant week... the fixed menu was definitely a value and a good way to sample the menu. I found the wine list shallow [whites] and rather expensive by the bottle. Our server disappeared often and several items we asked for never appeared. Another server actually picked up the slack at our table twice. [BTW the restaurant was not that crowed-so no good reason for slack] Liked food enough to try again - so hopefully better next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I had Salmon and although it was Cooked ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I had Salmon and although it was Cooked perfectly to medium rare, the coating and char overpowered the flavor and the side had no flavor.

My wife had the chicken schnitzel which was good.

Wine list not very impressive.

Service was spotty and inattentive. My wife asked for box to go and they mixed watery greens from a different bowl with the chicken dish. Dessert order was brought out wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Welcome to fine dining in the suburbs! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Welcome to fine dining in the suburbs! Unexpectedly superb food in East Cobb. Lamb meatball appetizer surpassed the lamb meatballs of a well-known downtown Italian restaurant. Entrees of braised pork and chicken schnitzel were tender and large portions, with just the right amount of sauces. Dessert: peanut butter pie, YUM. Rice pudding, very flavorful and soft. All dishes accompanied by well-thought-out sides and sauces--not fancy for the sake of being fancy, just good food several notches above what we expect in the 'burbs. Pleasant and well-lighted atmosphere (I like to see my food!), and excellent service. Menu with beef, chicken, pork and seafood--something for everyone. Best meal we've had in a long time, downtown restaurants not excepted. We will be back! Tell your friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Sunday brunch!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the brussel sprouts as a appetiz ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed the brussel sprouts as a appetizer. Great Moscow Mule too.

The seafood stew was delicious. Enjoyed the evening out very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sometimes when you go to a place based o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Sometimes when you go to a place based on high expectations from hearing so much about it, it can be a bummer. I am pleased to say that was not the case with Common Quarter. Our server was exceptional and so was most of the food. He had the art of being attentive yet not obtrusive perfected. Always in search of a great burger- well, who isn't. I tend to believe that through a couple years of trial and error, I have come very close to making the perfect burger at home as far as the patty is concerned. So, a restaurant burger needs to be at least as good as that for me to want it again. This burger was perfect! The lamb meatball appetizer was great. The meatball itself was good but combining it with polenta made it excellent. We also got the lump crab spaghetti. I found this to be not too great. The flavor was too one-note for me, which made for a great first few bites but it got old real quick. It could have used some texture too. I will definitely be back and try some other things on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We knew the burger was good so I stepped ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We knew the burger was good so I stepped out a bit and tried side dishes.

The salad sounded great however in execution not so much. The bit Too was excellent as was the succotash. Less than mediocre collards and broccoli. I will stick with the burger or filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always a great time here! Great food an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always a great time here! Great food and exceptional bourbon, scotch, wine, & hand-crafted cocktails

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tapas, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions. Muscles were so small ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Small portions. Muscles were so small and had no flavor. Wife had scallops. Again very small scallops. Flavor was good but cost to portion very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Our fav weekly go to family dinner spot. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our fav weekly go to family dinner spot. Fresh menu that keeps a good mix of favorites and new seasonally appropriate offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a decent, not huge, buffet for th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a decent, not huge, buffet for the Sunday Brunch. My son treated me for my birthday and was glad that it was only $18. We were disappointed that OJ was $3 extra, so I drank ginger ale and he had sweet tea.

Was glad to see that they cut the desserts and frittata into small pieces. I deplore the amount of waste in restaurants, so that's a great way for everyone to have a taste of something, and then come back and get more if they really like it.

Our server was friendly and responsive.

I'll be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and excellent service and fai ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and excellent service and fair prices. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been back since the opening mo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We hadn't been back since the opening months by the had won second place best burger in Best of Atlanta. The burger was wonderful and my husband has a great filet...we ended up trading early on. We opted to sit at the bar, I believe the bartender's name was Sean and he was very personable along with keeping our drinks coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a few dishes that were hit or mis ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a few dishes that were hit or miss but the attentive service and excellent drinks made up for it. We'll definitely be going back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, friendly service, good value ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good food, friendly service, good value, overall good dining experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are huge fan's of their sister restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are huge fan's of their sister restaurant Muss & Turner and this did not disappoint! I had a delicious lobster spaghetti and the blackberry shortcake was a perfect dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Party of six and we all enjoyed our food ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Party of six and we all enjoyed our food. The waiter was excellent and the kitchen was very accommodating. We were being a bit fussy ordering but they just said yes and delivered a tasty meal for us all. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Had an enjoyable birthday dinner & they ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had an enjoyable birthday dinner & they were very nice to comp a dessert as a birthday present. The lump crab spaghetti was spicy and creamy - I couldn't stop eating it! The trout was cooked perfectly. Two thumbs up!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was slow serving us when next tab ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Waiter was slow serving us when next table got food more quickly even though they came in later and had same waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

LOVE Monday night burger bash. Chase wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

LOVE Monday night burger bash. Chase was fantastic. Best staff ever! Best burger ever!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burger night was wonderful. 5 big criti ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Burger night was wonderful. 5 big critics of burgers. Smiles all around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The buffet brunch was very good. Our wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The buffet brunch was very good. Our waitress was quite personable and attentive when needed. Would definitely try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great modern twist to the farm to table ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great modern twist to the farm to table concept. All food tasted homemade with fresh ingredients. Prompt and friendly service! Will be going back soon for sure!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Craft cocktails are delicious! Food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Craft cocktails are delicious! Food was fantastic! Our group enjoyed cucumber gazpacho, peppers app, mussels, peach salad, pork loin, burgers, heirloom toms side, all yummy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Found this restaurant tucked away in cor ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Found this restaurant tucked away in corner of strip shopping mall, would have never found without Opentable app. Don't let location deter you...this is a top notch restaurant. Decor is nice and tables are spaced for easy conversation and comfortable dining. Service and food are very good. Freshness and creativity of dishes is great. Quickly becoming one of our 'go to' favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We selected Commom Quarter because of th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We selected Commom Quarter because of the menu items and the great reviews. Neither disappointed us. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. It was my birthday and we were given a peanut butter pie to share. It was "to die for". We are already planning dinner there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here during the week to celebrate a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went here during the week to celebrate a birthday. The calamari to start was really yummy! I enjoyed the frogmore stew but the winning entree was definitely the tuna. We ordered three desserts and the best was the blueberry clafoutis by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Terrific brunch. The food here is first ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Terrific brunch. The food here is first rate for Sunday brunch. First time we had dined. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five of us went here 8/5/16 for b day di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Five of us went here 8/5/16 for b day dinner. What a wonderful surprise! Great decor, and wine was great! Our waitress was so friendly, efficient, and knowledgable...and we got one of the "big booths" since there were five of us, very private. All dishes were delicious. Hot rolls, served as appetizer, were hot and buttery. Dishes people had: lobster (Chefs special of the night), crab spaghetti, specialty hamburgers, crab Mac and Cheese. We shared peanut butter/chocolate pie. It was perfect, too. We will be back! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant. Can't get enoug ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love this restaurant. Can't get enough of the Monday burger bash. They are the best burgers around and sides are fantastic too, such as the loaded tater tots! You can purchase a cab for 20.00 on Mondays so that really helps keeping the bill down. We celebrated a friend's birthday among six of us last week and Braden, our server was super effecient and nice. The birthday girl received a fabulous blueberry desert that we all shared. Can't wait for this Monday!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was our first visit although the other 2 ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Was our first visit although the other 2 couples have been there many times. Burger was amazing, one of the best I have had. Great manhattan as well. Atmosphere perfect for larger groups. Very enjoyable evening, great food, service, and friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a nice evening with friends at C ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed a nice evening with friends at Common Quarter. The food was excellent --- best burger in town! Only one on the menu but it was EXCELLENT! Nice wine list and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This farm to table restaurant is very de ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This farm to table restaurant is very delicious! Fun atmosphere and really great staff. I would recommend it for more of a special occasion place, in terms of prices, but I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to this restaurant several times, b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Been to this restaurant several times, but it's been months since our previous visit. I'm not sure if the kitchen staff changed, but the food was not as good as I remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a nice place for spur of the mome ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was a nice place for spur of the moment dining on a Wednesday evening. We liked the light fare for summer dining, and it was very casual. Cucumber/almond gazpacho, lady pea hopping john, and frogmore stew were very tasty! Our delicious desert was Georgia blueberry clafoutis.

Yum!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went for Sunday brunch to celebrate m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch to celebrate my birthday. There was a Happy Birthday note on the table signed by the staff, which was a nice touch. We have gone for brunch on Mother's Day and Father's Day as well. Prices are much better on non big event days. Food is just as good, just a less variety. Still plenty of yummy breakfast and lunch choices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience at Common Quart ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always a good experience at Common Quarter! Highly recommend the Filet and the Tuna, both are outstanding and perfectly prepared. The Kale & Artichoke dip was terrific as were all the side dishes. Our server, Nicole was fantastic, she was very thorough with the description of all items and couldn't do enough to ensure a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING !!!! We have been wanting to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

OUTSTANDING !!!! We have been wanting to eat here for a while and finally got to enjoy it this past weekend.

Shannon, our server, could not have been any better. She was so helpful and walked us through the menu. We have rarely had any better service anywhere.

The cocktails were delivered promptly. Great to see a restaurant with timely bar service. I had a specialty cocktail with lavender and blueberry. Very nice. Husband had Jack Daniels.

Food was so very good. We started with the mussels and shrimp and grits. Both were really really good. The mussels were from Sapelo Island. The sauce for the shrimp and grits had a worchestshire sauce and were topped with the best arugula I've ever had. Yum. For entrees we had Georgia Trout. Husband said it perfect. Served on corn, butter beans. I had bourbon pork tenderloin over squash. Also outstanding.

For dessert we had peanut butter pie. Cannot eat here without having this dessert.

I don't have enough good things to say. Food was delicately prepared to showcase the ingredients.

Thanks for a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.