About Common Quarter

1205 Johnson Ferry Road
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Common Quarter is a locally supported, seasonally driven, Southern Coast & Farm restaurant that focuses on comfort, human connection, savory food, gratifying drink and pleasantly memorable service.
Please sit deep and enjoy the experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10.30am - 2pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodlawn Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 809-4040

Website:
http://www.commonquarter.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeffery Gardner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Common Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kennesaw / Marietta
Fit for Foodies
Kennesaw / Marietta
Most Booked
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

fit for foodies (72)
neighborhood gem (66)
good for groups (45)
See All
special occasion (43)
great for outdoor dining (27)
great for brunch (26)
kid-friendly (24)
notable wine list (23)
hot spot (17)
romantic (16)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for Sunday brunch to celebrate m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for Sunday brunch to celebrate my birthday. There was a Happy Birthday note on the table signed by the staff, which was a nice touch. We have gone for brunch on Mother's Day and Father's Day as well. Prices are much better on non big event days. Food is just as good, just a less variety. Still plenty of yummy breakfast and lunch choices!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience at Common Quart ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a good experience at Common Quarter! Highly recommend the Filet and the Tuna, both are outstanding and perfectly prepared. The Kale & Artichoke dip was terrific as were all the side dishes. Our server, Nicole was fantastic, she was very thorough with the description of all items and couldn't do enough to ensure a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING !!!! We have been wanting to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

OUTSTANDING !!!! We have been wanting to eat here for a while and finally got to enjoy it this past weekend.

Shannon, our server, could not have been any better. She was so helpful and walked us through the menu. We have rarely had any better service anywhere.

The cocktails were delivered promptly. Great to see a restaurant with timely bar service. I had a specialty cocktail with lavender and blueberry. Very nice. Husband had Jack Daniels.

Food was so very good. We started with the mussels and shrimp and grits. Both were really really good. The mussels were from Sapelo Island. The sauce for the shrimp and grits had a worchestshire sauce and were topped with the best arugula I've ever had. Yum. For entrees we had Georgia Trout. Husband said it perfect. Served on corn, butter beans. I had bourbon pork tenderloin over squash. Also outstanding.

For dessert we had peanut butter pie. Cannot eat here without having this dessert.

I don't have enough good things to say. Food was delicately prepared to showcase the ingredients.

Thanks for a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 4th wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary at Common Quarter and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent! I had a steak that was done to perfection. Chase, our server, was wonderful and overall our experience was perfect. I would definitely recommend Common Quarter to anyone looking to have a special evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent. We're new to the area and rea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent. We're new to the area and really glad we found such a great place hidden in plain sight in a shopping plaza. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had another wonderful meal and celebr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had another wonderful meal and celebrated my husbands birthday. We come here fairly often and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love, love, LOVE this place. Excellent s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love, love, LOVE this place. Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Common Quarters. Food is great a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We love Common Quarters. Food is great and staff is super nice. The hamburgers are the best around!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Third meal at Common Quarter, and I beli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Third meal at Common Quarter, and I believe it was the best one yet! The lump crab spaghetti is insanely good. We brought friends from Texas with us, and they were quite impressed--great night out for all. Thanks for a great evening, Common Quarter; we'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Well, I ate with fiends for my first tim ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Well, I ate with fiends for my first time the night before and had a very nice meal and experience. Took my mom back for brunch the next day and different experience. We won't be returning for the brunch but will consider returning for dinner. Brunch is not worth it. Scrambled eggs and dried out mini pork "sandwiches (called paninis) were nothing to rave about. The salmon cakes and deviled eggs were the best items on the buffet and there was still nothing special about those either. Mixed spring greens, cut fruit, mini biscuits w/gravy (already on the biscuits), bacon, cinnamon bun french toast (sweet and decent) and cookie "whoopie pies" and tres leches cake (which I couldn't try because some fabulous parents let one of their kids roam up to the dessert trays and he decided to pick at the plate with his fingers and eat crumbs from the tray and then grabbed one of the cakes once he was done picking w/his fingers around on the plate). There were kids/babies either roaming unattended or screeching in high-pitched tones most of the time (not the restaurants fault but at some point you have to ask the patrons if they can attend to their children and not let them roam freely about the restaurant and handle the food if they don't have manners). Then we were told they just started offering fresh made omelettes...great! But you have to pay an additional $5 for one. Don't think so. To top it off, the server brought our check literally within about 5-10 minutes after we sat down with our food..."no rush, whenever your ready" she said but who the heck brings the check right after you start eating and how did she know were weren't going to order one of those $5 omelettes? Again, dinner the night before - very nice, brunch on Sunday - not so much. There are other brunches, for similar price, to choose from that do a better job. As they asy, don't know if you don't try

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

First time and it was a hit. My friend w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time and it was a hit. My friend who loves burgers said this one was her #2 in Atlanta so far (and she's tried quite a few around town). The pork belly appie got raves as well as the semi-Fredonia & blueberry claflouti desserts (forgive me if I misspelled). Now only thing I would comment on is the "grilled cheese". One of my pet peeves is when restaurants call sandwiches either grilled cheese or " melts" Andre verse the two. This was more a mushroom/leek melt. Not a grilled cheese sandwich. If you are going to call it a grilled cheese then make cheese the star of the sandwich. Shannon was great, btw. Loved her.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place has promise but just falls sh ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place has promise but just falls short in many areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

At the risk of making this difficult for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

At the risk of making this difficult for us in the future, if you are going to visit Common Quarter, Ask for Shannon. She is most excellent. We have been waited on by her several times and she is the best. Gives great recommendations, extremely friendly and knows the food that is being served.

I will preface this review by saying that I think I am a foodie, but I'm really not. I just really love food. Common Quarter has really excellent food. It is southern fare with a twist. They use local GA ingredients, and prepare excellent dishes from those ingredients. Because they use local ingredients, the menu changes with the season.

We have had many of the items on the menus over a few years and nothing has disappointed. This last time, we tried the sword fish which was excellent. The vegetable backyard bbq which was really excellent, and the grown up grilled cheese with garlic parmesan fries. Everything was good. For dessert we recommend the blueberry clafoutis and really recommend the "Southern Comfort" (an amazing peach dessert that we wished we had more).

Overall, this place has never disappointed to be a great place to go eat. I can't comment on drinks as we do not drink, but the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with husband and two elementary age ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went with husband and two elementary aged children. Loved it! They even have games for the kiddos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was familiar, yet distinctively pre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was familiar, yet distinctively prepared. Very tasty. Service was impeccable. Chef specially prepared a pepper sauce at the of my Dad for his greens. So impressed by this gesture and to fulfill every .

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our Server (Bartender was FANTASTIC) but ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our Server (Bartender was FANTASTIC) but we waited 15 minutes for our seats and they weren't that busy. I was extremely disappointed that the only option was a buffet for Father's day and I was not alerted to this prior to our arriving. We selected this place based on the menu and prior experience with Local 3 and Muss & Turners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great option for Sunday brunch. Balanced ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great option for Sunday brunch. Balanced and tasteful selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time to Common Quart ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our second time to Common Quarter and I have to admit the food was not as good as our first visit. We ordered the flank steak medium and it came out medium rare to rare. The food was okay, not great. Our first visit was above average, not sure we will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

My wife and I have been very busy with b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I have been very busy with both work and health issues. On the spur of the moment I decided we needed a special "Date Night" outing. We were able to get a reservation at Common Quarters and it was just the evening we needed. Food was good, service was outstanding and the atmosphere was just right. Given this is just around the corner from our house Common Quarters remains at the top of our go to list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as expected.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Disappointing. Server inattentive, and never refilled our tea or soft drinks once. Food was just fair. Clam chowder was just some steamed clams, very little broth, and some dry potatoes. Not very good.

I like this spot and have had a nice dinner there before, but this was really off.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The menu isn't extensive, but still appe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The menu isn't extensive, but still appealing. Service was excellent, meals were well prepared and presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Common Quarter! We are there twi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We love Common Quarter! We are there twice a month! Great food, great drinks, great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Age Southern!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

If you are a "foodie," then you must try CG's menu Consistently excellent, but changing. A flair for wonderful twists on traditional Southern USA cooking, including vegetables. But, other dishes also. Nice wine list - Different from other restaurants, for all tastes. Staff is personable, knowable and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lately, whenever we have an Open Table r ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Lately, whenever we have an Open Table reservation, we initially get seated by the kitchen door. Why? Service was wonderful, food was good but do not appreciate being seated at the worst table.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Think twice about going

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

After reading so many positive reviews we were looking forward to an enjoyable family meal out. This was by far the worst dining experience we have ever had. The menu did not adequately represent the plates that were served. Our tuna appetizer was bland, came with a few crackers and was visually unappealing. The frogmore stew was very light on ingredients and heavy on broth. The chicken thighs were barely a meal and the salmon was about three bites and served with a few snow peas. We left hungry and extremely disappointed. To top it all off, the bill was as much as as going to any special occasion restaurant in any high end suburb of Atlanta. We were stunned at how much we paid for our poor experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Exceptional service and great food. Our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Exceptional service and great food. Our server was on top of things and we never had to ask for anything. The place was very busy and I'm glad we had a reservation. As far as food, the chef is creative from the most common entree one could imagine, s grilled cheese which my teen daughter raved about to the more unique dishes such as the tune and favs beans which was beyond excel ration. We will definitely return to this wonderful east Cobb restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very, Very loud - sat at a table and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Very, Very loud - sat at a table and then moved to a corner booth in the back but just couldn't escape the noise - no upholstery to absorb sound. Frogmore stew was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I had high hopes...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I had advance reservations for my birthday and yet when we arrived, we were given a table beside the busy kitchen door. When we asked for another table we were told that the other sections had already been reserved. I stated that I also had advanced reservations and wasn't sure why we weren't offered a better table. The hostess said she'd check and returned to us to tell us that it was fine to move us. She moved us to a table which had 2 of us facing a wall and was extremely wobbly - so much for a better table. For the 2 hours we were there, only one other family was put in that same section that she previously told us was "all booked."

Everything on the menu is expensive. A glass of wine starts at $9. Desserts are $8-9. My plain "Strawberry Salad" was $10 and once I added Salmon to it, it was a $19 salad. The portion was not even large. Their $14 burger is smaller than a traditional burger but includes 2 patties. Too much meat for our tastes. The seared tuna will set you back $28.

Our server, Justin was wonderful. He fixed the wobbly table when we asked him to and boxed up our leftovers. He was polite, fast and attentive.

Sadly, overall, I can't recommend this restaurant. It is doubtful that we will return.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great with special requests. They took ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great with special requests. They took everyone's dietary needs into consideration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mother's Day dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful meal as always. Our entrees were excellent. The service was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined there 2x last week. One a casua ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined there 2x last week. One a casual dinner the other a Mother's day Buffet. What's great about this place is that my wife is a Celiac and they are bend over accommodating every time we dine there. Plus she has more than one option.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Owner and ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. Owner and chef have been together for 2 plus years. Reservations are needed. Five star rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced. Terrible service. Don't wast ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overpriced. Terrible service. Don't waste your money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

As always, the staff was amazingly cord ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, the staff was amazingly cordial and pleasingly knowledgeable!

The food was superb! We LOVE Common Quarter!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and atmosphere

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was really good. The appetizer came out timely, but the entrees were slow to arrive to the table. The temperature of the food was warm so just guessing the kitchen was backed up. The server was informative upon ordering but did not check on us during the long wait from picking up the appetizer plates and our entrees being served.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the springtime salad with asparagu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Loved the springtime salad with asparagus and fava beans. Appreciated the wine recommendation. Just the right amount of attention from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lukewarm Sunday Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is in a shopping center with plenty of parking. The restaurant atmosphere is trendy, casual and welcoming.

The brunch buffet was varied and not the typical. Unfortunately, the warming units did not do a very good job of keeping the entrees warm. Also, portions available were small - which may have been an attempt by the kitchen to keep food fresh & hot - but the serving dishes were often empty.

Our server was very friendly and checked with us regularly throughout our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best neighborhood restaurant with great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Best neighborhood restaurant with great kids options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. From the host ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was fantastic. From the hostess to the wait staff everyone was so I formed and cordial. The ambiance was nice and the food did not disappoint! I will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. The lamb was outstand ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent service. The lamb was outstanding. My wife said the Grouper was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.