About Common Quarter

1205 Johnson Ferry Road
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Common Quarter is a locally supported, seasonally driven, Southern Coast & Farm restaurant that focuses on comfort, human connection, savory food, gratifying drink and pleasantly memorable service.
Please sit deep and enjoy the experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10.30am - 2pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodlawn Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 809-4040

Website:
http://www.commonquarter.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeffery Gardner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
  • Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter
Common Quarter

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Common Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

fit for foodies (64)
neighborhood gem (59)
special occasion (33)
See All
good for groups (33)
great for outdoor dining (24)
kid-friendly (21)
notable wine list (20)
great for brunch (19)
romantic (18)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with husband and two elementary age ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went with husband and two elementary aged children. Loved it! They even have games for the kiddos.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was familiar, yet distinctively pre ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was familiar, yet distinctively prepared. Very tasty. Service was impeccable. Chef specially prepared a pepper sauce at the of my Dad for his greens. So impressed by this gesture and to fulfill every .

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our Server (Bartender was FANTASTIC) but ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our Server (Bartender was FANTASTIC) but we waited 15 minutes for our seats and they weren't that busy. I was extremely disappointed that the only option was a buffet for Father's day and I was not alerted to this prior to our arriving. We selected this place based on the menu and prior experience with Local 3 and Muss & Turners.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great option for Sunday brunch. Balanced ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great option for Sunday brunch. Balanced and tasteful selection

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This was our second time to Common Quart ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our second time to Common Quarter and I have to admit the food was not as good as our first visit. We ordered the flank steak medium and it came out medium rare to rare. The food was okay, not great. Our first visit was above average, not sure we will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been very busy with b ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I have been very busy with both work and health issues. On the spur of the moment I decided we needed a special "Date Night" outing. We were able to get a reservation at Common Quarters and it was just the evening we needed. Food was good, service was outstanding and the atmosphere was just right. Given this is just around the corner from our house Common Quarters remains at the top of our go to list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not as expected.

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Disappointing. Server inattentive, and never refilled our tea or soft drinks once. Food was just fair. Clam chowder was just some steamed clams, very little broth, and some dry potatoes. Not very good. I like this spot and have had a nice dinner there before, but this was really off.

food5
ambience5
service5

The menu isn't extensive, but still appe ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

The menu isn't extensive, but still appealing. Service was excellent, meals were well prepared and presented.

food5
ambience5
service5

We love Common Quarter! We are there twi ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

We love Common Quarter! We are there twice a month! Great food, great drinks, great people!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Age Southern!

Dined on May 28, 2016

If you are a "foodie," then you must try CG's menu Consistently excellent, but changing. A flair for wonderful twists on traditional Southern USA cooking, including vegetables. But, other dishes also. Nice wine list - Different from other restaurants, for all tastes. Staff is personable, knowable and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Lately, whenever we have an Open Table r ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Lately, whenever we have an Open Table reservation, we initially get seated by the kitchen door. Why? Service was wonderful, food was good but do not appreciate being seated at the worst table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Think twice about going

Dined on May 21, 2016

After reading so many positive reviews we were looking forward to an enjoyable family meal out. This was by far the worst dining experience we have ever had. The menu did not adequately represent the plates that were served. Our tuna appetizer was bland, came with a few crackers and was visually unappealing. The frogmore stew was very light on ingredients and heavy on broth. The chicken thighs were barely a meal and the salmon was about three bites and served with a few snow peas. We left hungry and extremely disappointed. To top it all off, the bill was as much as as going to any special occasion restaurant in any high end suburb of Atlanta. We were stunned at how much we paid for our poor experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service and great food. Our ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Exceptional service and great food. Our server was on top of things and we never had to ask for anything. The place was very busy and I'm glad we had a reservation. As far as food, the chef is creative from the most common entree one could imagine, s grilled cheese which my teen daughter raved about to the more unique dishes such as the tune and favs beans which was beyond excel ration. We will definitely return to this wonderful east Cobb restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Very, Very loud - sat at a table and the ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Very, Very loud - sat at a table and then moved to a corner booth in the back but just couldn't escape the noise - no upholstery to absorb sound. Frogmore stew was really good.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I had high hopes...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I had advance reservations for my birthday and yet when we arrived, we were given a table beside the busy kitchen door. When we asked for another table we were told that the other sections had already been reserved. I stated that I also had advanced reservations and wasn't sure why we weren't offered a better table. The hostess said she'd check and returned to us to tell us that it was fine to move us. She moved us to a table which had 2 of us facing a wall and was extremely wobbly - so much for a better table. For the 2 hours we were there, only one other family was put in that same section that she previously told us was "all booked." Everything on the menu is expensive. A glass of wine starts at $9. Desserts are $8-9. My plain "Strawberry Salad" was $10 and once I added Salmon to it, it was a $19 salad. The portion was not even large. Their $14 burger is smaller than a traditional burger but includes 2 patties. Too much meat for our tastes. The seared tuna will set you back $28. Our server, Justin was wonderful. He fixed the wobbly table when we asked him to and boxed up our leftovers. He was polite, fast and attentive. Sadly, overall, I can't recommend this restaurant. It is doubtful that we will return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great with special requests. They took ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great with special requests. They took everyone's dietary needs into consideration.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful meal as always. Our entrees were excellent. The service was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We dined there 2x last week. One a casua ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined there 2x last week. One a casual dinner the other a Mother's day Buffet. What's great about this place is that my wife is a Celiac and they are bend over accommodating every time we dine there. Plus she has more than one option.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Owner and ch ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. Owner and chef have been together for 2 plus years. Reservations are needed. Five star rated.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Overpriced. Terrible service. Don't wast ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overpriced. Terrible service. Don't waste your money

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the staff was amazingly cord ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, the staff was amazingly cordial and pleasingly knowledgeable! The food was superb! We LOVE Common Quarter!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

great food and atmosphere

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was really good. The appetizer came out timely, but the entrees were slow to arrive to the table. The temperature of the food was warm so just guessing the kitchen was backed up. The server was informative upon ordering but did not check on us during the long wait from picking up the appetizer plates and our entrees being served.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the springtime salad with asparagu ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Loved the springtime salad with asparagus and fava beans. Appreciated the wine recommendation. Just the right amount of attention from the staff.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lukewarm Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is in a shopping center with plenty of parking. The restaurant atmosphere is trendy, casual and welcoming. The brunch buffet was varied and not the typical. Unfortunately, the warming units did not do a very good job of keeping the entrees warm. Also, portions available were small - which may have been an attempt by the kitchen to keep food fresh & hot - but the serving dishes were often empty. Our server was very friendly and checked with us regularly throughout our meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best neighborhood restaurant with great ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Best neighborhood restaurant with great kids options.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. From the host ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was fantastic. From the hostess to the wait staff everyone was so I formed and cordial. The ambiance was nice and the food did not disappoint! I will definitely visit again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. The lamb was outstand ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent service. The lamb was outstanding. My wife said the Grouper was fantastic.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food terrific! We had salmon and trout, ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food terrific! We had salmon and trout, everyone very pleased. We had a semi private booth so very intimate for the two couples. Service was fine all evening. Chardonnay was delicious. Great cake dessert with great after dinner liqueurs. All in all a wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Common Quarter is great neighborhood res ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Common Quarter is great neighborhood restaurant in East Cobb with amazing food, great service and such a friendly atmosphere. They feature a seasonal menu and I love the new spring dishes. Having been a couple times recently - I recommend the Local Kale & Artichoke Dip, Garganelli Pasta with Spring Peas, the burrata, crab spaghetti and their seasonal trout dish. They just got voted one of the best burgers in Atlanta and you can't miss their new strawberry shortcake, though the peanut butter pie is a must-share! Great wine/beer and cocktail list that also refreshes seasonally, with half price wine on Wednesday nights. Love this spot!!

food4
ambience4
service4

We started with the garlic shrimp and ca ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We started with the garlic shrimp and calamari as appetizers. The sauce that the shrimp were in was AMAZING!! We dipped the calamari in that sauce instead of what came with it. The calamari were good but nothing special though. I had the seared tuna dish and my mom had they salmon both were absolutely delish!! Both fish were cooked perfectly and the sides for each dish were super tasty especially the beans and potatoes cooked with bits of bacon on the tuna dish. We will be back.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Service

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was good, but the waitress kept apologizing for the slowness of the kitchen

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been several times. Consistently ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been several times. Consistently great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Common Quarter never disappoints

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love this place! Amazing food that changes with the season! The menu always has something new and interesting with fresh ingredients to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good. And not so good.

Dined on March 18, 2016

The brussel sprouts were out of this world and worth the visit. The remaining order of our meal took almost 45 minutes to an hour to come out. One plate (steak) came out cold and had to be sent back. Other plates were luke warm. It almost appeared something went wrong in the kitchen and we paid for it. The wine list is suitable. The menu is approachable, but feels like it's missing a few things. Great menu for kids. Enjoyable atmosphere. But something off with the food that night. A really good reason would have to be thought of for me to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

We had an early dinner so the place was ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had an early dinner so the place was pretty quiet though the open space made even the few tables noticeable. The highly touted artichoke dip came out cold but that was remedied quickly, though it still didn't live up to the hype. Hangar steak and tuna were tasty. Overall a nice place that we will visit again but it is not going to be our "go to" dinner spot.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday senior outing!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I got a gift card from our daughter and though we would try it on a beautiful Sunday at 5. The restaurant was not crowded but it was early on a beautiful day. Always kid my husband that his palate runs from A-B, and he settled on the hamburger, which usually happens. I had the Faroe Island salmon and it was excellent. Our waiter Brandon was terrific. My fish was cooked as I had asked. Portions are not huge, but that is a good thing to me. We had the calamari app with pretzel crumbs and loved it. (Yes hubby does like calamari) Many vegetarian entrees which sounded good, but still carnivore. No dessert and no wine as I was driving.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Inconsistent

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We've dined at Common Quarter several times. Each time it's a surprise...and not necessarily in a good way. This time, our server was quite good...attentive and friendly. The spaghetti squash carbonara lacked flavor, curried squash soup was way too heavy on the curry, flat iron steak and potatoes were great, beet salad was awful and the mint cookies cheesecake was dry. We enjoy this neighborhood "finer dining" restaurant; just wish it were consistent.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It used to be better

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Common Quarter seems to be paying less attention to details than when they first opened. Our server, Tyler, did not seem focused and it took him too long to check on us throughout our meal - although, he tried to take my plate when I was still chewing, had my fork in my hand and food was still on my plate. The restaurant must be skimping on the food portions to avoid going up on prices. Neither of our entrees were enough food for us and I am NOT a big eater. We used to think Common Quarter was almost as good as Seed, but it is not even close now.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is off the chain great! Incr ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

This place is off the chain great! Incredible food and the staff is awesome!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place...good food!

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I decided to give this place a try, and glad we did! She went for the Pork Tacos and I decided to try the Meatloaf (one of the day's specials). Both were tasty, as were the sides included. The natural cut french fries were especially spot on! Service was excellent and a highlight of the visit. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.