About Common Quarter

1205 Johnson Ferry Road
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Common Quarter is a locally supported, seasonally driven, Southern Coast & Farm restaurant that focuses on comfort, human connection, savory food, gratifying drink and pleasantly memorable service.
Please sit deep and enjoy the experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodlawn Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 809-4040

Website:
http://www.commonquarter.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeffery Gardner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA
  • Common Quarter, Marietta, GA

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Common Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Casual (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Seasonal (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Fireplace (10)
Healthy (9)
Great Beer (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was tasty and well presented. Howe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was tasty and well presented. However, too little food for the price. I had a cup of soup and a salad. I came home and ate more; I was still hungry. Can't remember that happening in any other restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We were there for New Year's eve. Our r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Year's eve. Our reservation was for 9:30pm which turned out to be great. Even though they were closing at their normal 10pm we were there until almost 11pm and no one tried to rush us. The food was amazing and our waitress suggested a great wine that was so reasonably priced we were shocked. Our waitress was very personable, made great suggestions and was engaging without being intrusive. We enjoyed the evening tremendously and look forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent! You have to dine at this cas ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent! You have to dine at this casual, fine restaurant! Great staff, food and drink!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great Beer, Business Meals, , Good for Groups, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing NYE dinner experience! W ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Another amazing NYE dinner experience! While we enjoy our visits through the year, CQ always makes NYE extra special for our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast friendly staff. Good location. Men ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fast friendly staff. Good location. Menu selection had enough variety without being overwhelming. Decor could be better. Adding table cloths would help soften the concrete floors. Good place for meeting friends and family. Maybe not for a romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The steak I had was SO good! Perfectly ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The steak I had was SO good! Perfectly flavored and cooked. Delish! Also loved the braised greens as a side item. Our waitress, Sharon, was funny, fun and a pleasure to chat with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just go---you'll love it. I didn't know ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Just go---you'll love it. I didn't know what to expect having never been here. But Common Quarter exceeded anything I could imagine. From the moment we walked in, the service was amazing. Our server, Chase, was perhaps the best I've ever seen in any setting. He recommended three dishes, and we ordered two of those. He was exactly right--the food was amazing. All other restaurants could learn from what CQ is doing--I wish I experienced food and service half this good in other places. I'll definitely be back since I've found a new favorite!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, , Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fantastic family meal during Chris ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a fantastic family meal during Christmas Eve with my husband and my two young daughters. Food was great as well as service. Good kid's menu. We especially liked that it was a great atmosphere and even though it was fine dining, it was still kid and family friendly. Will definitively go back and try it for brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great staff, very welcoming. Excellent ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great staff, very welcoming. Excellent food and very reasonable. Chicken schnitzel, pork shoulder and crab spaghetti were excellent. Mac and cheese side was stellar. They have a child's menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wine, and impeccable s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, great wine, and impeccable service. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CQ is the restaurant we recommend most t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

CQ is the restaurant we recommend most to our friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic menu. Great drinks and food

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic menu. Great drinks and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first experience was excellent! We ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our first experience was excellent! We will be back, soon.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GO, you must just go! Braden was our se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

GO, you must just go! Braden was our server...and he was AWESOME! Authentic guy with personality... like he enjoys what he does. I find that so important in a server!!!! The style in which they cater to you was amazing. They heard through our conversation that we were celebrating ... and then showed up with four glasses of champagne to get us going...on the house! The service just continued from there.

The table had the wings and the pimento cheese appetizers...lovely. Then entree's... two burgers, one philly, and one.....I had Braden chose because I couldn't! He brought me the pork shoulder! It was nothing less than spectacular! Really just good food, good people, fun atmosphere! An East Marietta must!!!! We are so lucky to have such fabulous chefs in Cobb County...watch out Atlanta!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Muss & Turner (same group as Comm ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I love Muss & Turner (same group as Common Quarter) and I really want to love Common Quarter. The food is very good but the service is hit or miss. My daughter and I ate at CQ on Wednesday; the restaurant was busy but we had reservations and were seated promptly. Our server was very focused - just not on us! We had wanted to order an appetizer but were unable to get her attention. As I mentioned, the food was wonderful, I ordered the Coffee Braised Pork (yummy) with a side order of Collard Greens. The Greens were very good - but really needed some vinegar. Our server didn't come back to check on us until after we had almost finished our meal. When I mentioned needing vinegar she brought us a great one with rosemary and thyme - it absolutely made the Greens - but by then we had already eaten most of them. I will definitely return for the food - just wish that the service was on par!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We have been big fans in the past but th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have been big fans in the past but the quality has definitely diminished. Did the chef change? We were so disappointed this time we are not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic service with great food and dr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic service with great food and drinks. They were very accommodating for our fairly large group, and even looked up how to make the perfect Cynar Julep... nailed it! We will definitely be back. Be prepared, big portions may be enough to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great after movie dinner...that night I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great after movie dinner...that night I went for their burger and garlic Parmesan fries. And then thechocolate peanut butter pie. Yum! Like the overall rustic casual feeling there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Followed recommendation from Trip Advise ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Followed recommendation from Trip Adviser and Open Table. Atmosphere is NOT intimate; very open seating area adjacent to bar, so noise level can be quite loud, especially with groups present. Food offerings were varied and our selections were well prepared and promptly served. Quality was good. They were busy (7:00 p.m. Saturday) but the service was equal to the challenge of a full house, although quite impersonal due to the demands on the servers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The entrees were delicious and the servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The entrees were delicious and the service was exceptional. We asked for a quiet table because my husband is hard of hearing and we were immediately accommodated.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything from the drinks to the appeti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything from the drinks to the appetizers to the entrees to the desserts was spot on. Our waitress Shannon was amazing and made excellent recommendations. Will be going there again and often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After a mix-up with our salads, our serv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

After a mix-up with our salads, our server reacted immediately and we had a visit from the manager. Their reaction was appropriate, thoughtful, and showed genuine concern for our satisfaction. The attention and response were most appreciated -- we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great visiting Santa. Our girl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was a great visiting Santa. Our girls loved it! He was very nice and actually took time to talk to them. So sweet! Brunch was very yummy as well! Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I had a wonderful dinner. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful dinner. The salmon was a bit undercooked and the manager got involved and made everything right. The Brocoli was different - with raisins and almonds....delicious. The Sweet Potato hummus was also delicious and served with fresh pita and a nice assortment of vegetables. The Lump Crab Pasta looked amazing... Service was excellent. Manager was outstanding!

Tags: Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was seated but wait station. Cozy restau ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was seated but wait station. Cozy restaurant but not where we were. Soggy fries but good salmon.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Wonderful evening to celebrate husband's ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful evening to celebrate husband's birthday. Wait staff mentioned the birthday before I did! Good food and fantastic music.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little more than disappointed when our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A little more than disappointed when our table was accidentally given to another guest so our only option was to wait or sit on the heated patio. I wouldn't have normally minded, but I had made a reservation ahead of time and asked for a private table for a well deserved date night, and it was a cold and rainy outside. So needless to say our first impression was not great.

Service and food was good, but not great. I was really expecting more based on other reviews and the website. I was the most pleased with my entree. It was good and made up for the initial impression.

Overall, good but not great. With so many great restaurants to try in the area, we will likely not go back for our occasional night out. Especially at that price point. Would maybe go back for the entree with friends or with the family.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our server, Chase, was delightful. The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our server, Chase, was delightful. The food here is so very yummy. We had She Crab Toast and Pimento Cheese appetizers. 4 entrees and two desserts. I will say that I could eat the Grown Up Grilled Cheese every day! The Lump Crab spaghetti was one of my favorites also. We will make this a regular destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent! Our service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was excellent! Our service was only average, could have been better. Just a note to management: our server never checked on us until the end of the meal. It was busy but shouldn't have been that busy... However not enough to prevent us from returning!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We frequent Common Quarters often and al ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We frequent Common Quarters often and always have a positive experience. Love the Brussels sprouts and the scallops when they are in season. I have enjoyed every entree and side I have ordered. I like the fact that they accommodate kids really well while maintaining the look and feel of a top notch restaurant. Common Quarter is a great treat in East Cobb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood gem. We heard from a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great neighborhood gem. We heard from a neighbor that there burgers were good. So we went back with the kids. Everyone order a burger and loved it. Generous portions. Had the veggie plate there in the passed that was very fresh and tasty. Kids Neal even cane with a scoop of ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary. The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary. The staff was attentive and made sure we felt special. The food was delicious and our server, Chase, was helpful in describing the dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. The Turley on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was outstanding. The Turley on the wine list was a nice surprise. They don't have expresso on the menu which is strange for a restaurant like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal there. Always some ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Never had a bad meal there. Always something on the menu to satisfy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually love Common Quarter and always h ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Usually love Common Quarter and always have great service. Was disappointed this time, we had to flag our waitress down to order each time we wanted something & our water glasses stayed empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The Sunday lunch menu is great AND they ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Sunday lunch menu is great AND they have the best burgers EVER. We enjoyed our first visit with our daughter after returning home from her honeymoon. Couldn't think of a better place to catch up.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Priced like Houston's with food like App ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Priced like Houston's with food like Applebees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

My son and I came to CQ for and early di ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My son and I came to CQ for and early dinner. We had out favorite waiter, Justin. He was great, he made an excellent recommendation on wine. The food was amazing. My son had a great burger and I had the vegetable platter. Great neighborhood place. I feel like my name is "Norm"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was awesome, drinks were fin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was awesome, drinks were fine but the price seemed a little high. Maybe they could have 5-6:30 Happy hour where there is a little price break for us older folks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fantastic. We had no idea th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was fantastic. We had no idea that Common Quarter is part of the Local Three Group (which is one of our favorite reataurants). We definitely will be returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.