About Common Quarter

1205 Johnson Ferry Road
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Common Quarter is a locally supported, seasonally driven, Southern Coast & Farm restaurant that focuses on comfort, human connection, savory food, gratifying drink and pleasantly memorable service.
Please sit deep and enjoy the experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10.30am - 2pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodlawn Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 809-4040

Website:
http://www.commonquarter.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeffery Gardner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Common Quarter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kennesaw / Marietta
Fit for Foodies
Kennesaw / Marietta
Most Booked
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

fit for foodies (69)
neighborhood gem (67)
special occasion (33)
See All
good for groups (32)
notable wine list (23)
romantic (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for outdoor dining (19)
great for brunch (18)
kid-friendly (18)
hot spot (17)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Think twice about going

Dined 3 days ago

After reading so many positive reviews we were looking forward to an enjoyable family meal out. This was by far the worst dining experience we have ever had. The menu did not adequately represent the plates that were served. Our tuna appetizer was bland, came with a few crackers and was visually unappealing. The frogmore stew was very light on ingredients and heavy on broth. The chicken thighs were barely a meal and the salmon was about three bites and served with a few snow peas. We left hungry and extremely disappointed. To top it all off, the bill was as much as as going to any special occasion restaurant in any high end suburb of Atlanta. We were stunned at how much we paid for our poor experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service and great food. Our ...

Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional service and great food. Our server was on top of things and we never had to ask for anything. The place was very busy and I'm glad we had a reservation. As far as food, the chef is creative from the most common entree one could imagine, s grilled cheese which my teen daughter raved about to the more unique dishes such as the tune and favs beans which was beyond excel ration. We will definitely return to this wonderful east Cobb restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Very, Very loud - sat at a table and the ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Very, Very loud - sat at a table and then moved to a corner booth in the back but just couldn't escape the noise - no upholstery to absorb sound. Frogmore stew was really good.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I had high hopes...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I had advance reservations for my birthday and yet when we arrived, we were given a table beside the busy kitchen door. When we asked for another table we were told that the other sections had already been reserved. I stated that I also had advanced reservations and wasn't sure why we weren't offered a better table. The hostess said she'd check and returned to us to tell us that it was fine to move us. She moved us to a table which had 2 of us facing a wall and was extremely wobbly - so much for a better table. For the 2 hours we were there, only one other family was put in that same section that she previously told us was "all booked." Everything on the menu is expensive. A glass of wine starts at $9. Desserts are $8-9. My plain "Strawberry Salad" was $10 and once I added Salmon to it, it was a $19 salad. The portion was not even large. Their $14 burger is smaller than a traditional burger but includes 2 patties. Too much meat for our tastes. The seared tuna will set you back $28. Our server, Justin was wonderful. He fixed the wobbly table when we asked him to and boxed up our leftovers. He was polite, fast and attentive. Sadly, overall, I can't recommend this restaurant. It is doubtful that we will return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great with special requests. They took ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great with special requests. They took everyone's dietary needs into consideration.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful meal as always. Our entrees were excellent. The service was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We dined there 2x last week. One a casua ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined there 2x last week. One a casual dinner the other a Mother's day Buffet. What's great about this place is that my wife is a Celiac and they are bend over accommodating every time we dine there. Plus she has more than one option.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Owner and ch ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. Owner and chef have been together for 2 plus years. Reservations are needed. Five star rated.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Overpriced. Terrible service. Don't wast ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overpriced. Terrible service. Don't waste your money

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the staff was amazingly cord ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, the staff was amazingly cordial and pleasingly knowledgeable! The food was superb! We LOVE Common Quarter!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

great food and atmosphere

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was really good. The appetizer came out timely, but the entrees were slow to arrive to the table. The temperature of the food was warm so just guessing the kitchen was backed up. The server was informative upon ordering but did not check on us during the long wait from picking up the appetizer plates and our entrees being served.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the springtime salad with asparagu ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Loved the springtime salad with asparagus and fava beans. Appreciated the wine recommendation. Just the right amount of attention from the staff.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lukewarm Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is in a shopping center with plenty of parking. The restaurant atmosphere is trendy, casual and welcoming. The brunch buffet was varied and not the typical. Unfortunately, the warming units did not do a very good job of keeping the entrees warm. Also, portions available were small - which may have been an attempt by the kitchen to keep food fresh & hot - but the serving dishes were often empty. Our server was very friendly and checked with us regularly throughout our meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best neighborhood restaurant with great ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Best neighborhood restaurant with great kids options.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. From the host ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was fantastic. From the hostess to the wait staff everyone was so I formed and cordial. The ambiance was nice and the food did not disappoint! I will definitely visit again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. The lamb was outstand ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent service. The lamb was outstanding. My wife said the Grouper was fantastic.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food terrific! We had salmon and trout, ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food terrific! We had salmon and trout, everyone very pleased. We had a semi private booth so very intimate for the two couples. Service was fine all evening. Chardonnay was delicious. Great cake dessert with great after dinner liqueurs. All in all a wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Common Quarter is great neighborhood res ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Common Quarter is great neighborhood restaurant in East Cobb with amazing food, great service and such a friendly atmosphere. They feature a seasonal menu and I love the new spring dishes. Having been a couple times recently - I recommend the Local Kale & Artichoke Dip, Garganelli Pasta with Spring Peas, the burrata, crab spaghetti and their seasonal trout dish. They just got voted one of the best burgers in Atlanta and you can't miss their new strawberry shortcake, though the peanut butter pie is a must-share! Great wine/beer and cocktail list that also refreshes seasonally, with half price wine on Wednesday nights. Love this spot!!

food4
ambience4
service4

We started with the garlic shrimp and ca ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We started with the garlic shrimp and calamari as appetizers. The sauce that the shrimp were in was AMAZING!! We dipped the calamari in that sauce instead of what came with it. The calamari were good but nothing special though. I had the seared tuna dish and my mom had they salmon both were absolutely delish!! Both fish were cooked perfectly and the sides for each dish were super tasty especially the beans and potatoes cooked with bits of bacon on the tuna dish. We will be back.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Service

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was good, but the waitress kept apologizing for the slowness of the kitchen

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been several times. Consistently ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been several times. Consistently great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Common Quarter never disappoints

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love this place! Amazing food that changes with the season! The menu always has something new and interesting with fresh ingredients to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good. And not so good.

Dined on March 18, 2016

The brussel sprouts were out of this world and worth the visit. The remaining order of our meal took almost 45 minutes to an hour to come out. One plate (steak) came out cold and had to be sent back. Other plates were luke warm. It almost appeared something went wrong in the kitchen and we paid for it. The wine list is suitable. The menu is approachable, but feels like it's missing a few things. Great menu for kids. Enjoyable atmosphere. But something off with the food that night. A really good reason would have to be thought of for me to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

We had an early dinner so the place was ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had an early dinner so the place was pretty quiet though the open space made even the few tables noticeable. The highly touted artichoke dip came out cold but that was remedied quickly, though it still didn't live up to the hype. Hangar steak and tuna were tasty. Overall a nice place that we will visit again but it is not going to be our "go to" dinner spot.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday senior outing!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I got a gift card from our daughter and though we would try it on a beautiful Sunday at 5. The restaurant was not crowded but it was early on a beautiful day. Always kid my husband that his palate runs from A-B, and he settled on the hamburger, which usually happens. I had the Faroe Island salmon and it was excellent. Our waiter Brandon was terrific. My fish was cooked as I had asked. Portions are not huge, but that is a good thing to me. We had the calamari app with pretzel crumbs and loved it. (Yes hubby does like calamari) Many vegetarian entrees which sounded good, but still carnivore. No dessert and no wine as I was driving.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Inconsistent

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We've dined at Common Quarter several times. Each time it's a surprise...and not necessarily in a good way. This time, our server was quite good...attentive and friendly. The spaghetti squash carbonara lacked flavor, curried squash soup was way too heavy on the curry, flat iron steak and potatoes were great, beet salad was awful and the mint cookies cheesecake was dry. We enjoy this neighborhood "finer dining" restaurant; just wish it were consistent.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It used to be better

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Common Quarter seems to be paying less attention to details than when they first opened. Our server, Tyler, did not seem focused and it took him too long to check on us throughout our meal - although, he tried to take my plate when I was still chewing, had my fork in my hand and food was still on my plate. The restaurant must be skimping on the food portions to avoid going up on prices. Neither of our entrees were enough food for us and I am NOT a big eater. We used to think Common Quarter was almost as good as Seed, but it is not even close now.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is off the chain great! Incr ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

This place is off the chain great! Incredible food and the staff is awesome!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place...good food!

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I decided to give this place a try, and glad we did! She went for the Pork Tacos and I decided to try the Meatloaf (one of the day's specials). Both were tasty, as were the sides included. The natural cut french fries were especially spot on! Service was excellent and a highlight of the visit. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Our first time dining at Common Quarter. We were joined by 2 other couples. The food was wonderful, the portions were sufficient without being overwhelming, and the service was excellent. Without even asking, the waitress separated all of our bills by couple and even divided our appetizers by 3, making it a very pleasant way to end the evening without having to calculate shares....I would definitely go back and recommend the restaurant to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this neighborhood East Cobb spot

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

great food and staff. Casual cute atmosphere and fun food. LOVE the burgers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Return Trips in Future

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Loved it. Returned for a second try after 1st very disappointing visit. Swore after 1st visit I'd not return but had heard service improved and saw a new menu. Sat at the bar high tops. Bartender was super -- energetic, upbeat and friendly. She made recommendations, which were superb. We had a house special pasta and a couple of appetizers. All were great. Drinks were delicious and again, recommendations by the bartender. Beer selection is interesting and she made a solid recommendation, which turned into a regular favorite of ours now. I wouldn't hesitate to return. Love the Monday night Fresh menu, also. Host was equally excellent - and service from top to bottom was remarkably good, especially for East Cobb, where healthy self-confidence often over sells people's understanding about their skills and service level. A wonderful neighborhood eatery. We'll return many times.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great times

Dined on February 26, 2016

We took our house guests for dinner here . They were visiting from the UK and loved the food, atmosphere and I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Great place to take the family in east C ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Great place to take the family in east Cobb. High quality food, wish the service was faster especially when you have young kids, but overall will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on February 23, 2016

So glad I finally made it to Common Quarter after moving to the area several months ago. Great from start to finish! The burger is amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Not sure I would go back for brunch

Dined on February 21, 2016

Brunch was a buffet and it was expensive for what was offered. The food was good, but the place was relatively empty so it was not the occasion I thought it would be. I looked at the dinner menu though and it looked great. I will definitely go back for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5

First visit and will definitely return. ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

First visit and will definitely return. Our only issue was how loud it was when we arrived. But once we got past the bar and seated, it was better. Food is tasty and inventive. Also some inventive cocktails.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Seared Tuna Delight!

Dined on February 21, 2016

For my birthday our family decided to visit CQ for the 5th time; we were not disappointed! We started with the kale and artichoke dip; i don't think i'll ever have another dip anyplace else. We had both the seared salmon and tuna dishes, the accompanying sides were amazing, the fish exquisite and juicy. The smore sundae was divine, especially with the bits of salt added. All around it was the best meal we've had there. Our waiter seemed new, but nothing to hold against him, particularly. Awesome - we'll go there every chance we get!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of best meals that I can remember!

Dined on February 20, 2016

One of best meals that I can remember!

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Salty

Dined on February 19, 2016

I was excited to finally dine here..I love brussel sprouts and was eager try. Overly fried and extremely saltly. I could barely finish my conversation since I was choking....I had to drink at least 32 oz of water. My friends food was too rich for her. I will give another chance since my chocolate martini was excellent; our server was very nice and helpful. I will take my hubby next time and order something else.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.