Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: (904) 824-3341

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Serving from our regular dinner menu all day, along with Mother's Day features.

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (202)
Special Occasion (172)
Authentic (171)
See All
Good for a Date (170)
Good for Anniversaries (136)
Tapas (134)
Worth the Drive (122)
Good for Birthdays (121)
Casual (102)
Great for Lunch (102)
Creative Cuisine (97)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Good for Groups (88)
Romantic (84)
Fun (83)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Comfort Food (63)
Sunday Lunch (61)
Handcrafted Cocktails (53)
Family Style (49)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Hot Spot (35)
People Watching (35)
Business Meals (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Kid-friendly (33)
Cozy (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Scenic View (26)
Tasting Menu (25)
Great for Brunch (25)
Outstanding Value (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Seasonal (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Healthy (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Private Room (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Spicy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Vegan (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
4370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed everything except the bread pudding. We enjoyed our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall the visit was very disappointing. I was given the recommendation from a friend and I couldn't wait to go. We made reservations for 1130 for lunch and they took us in even tho we arrived early. We sat down and then nothing, no wait staff nothing. A couple came in after us and got seated and the waiter took their drink order and had their drinks and food order before our waitress even showed up. We ordered our drinks and that took forever to even get them or the complimentary bread. We had to send some drinks back because they were horrible. The food itself was good but honestly the lack of good service overshadowed that. I can honestly say I won't be returning there no matter how often I visit St Augustine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

We brought a friend visiting from out of town here, and we were so glad we did. Each of us ordered a seafood dish, and we were so pleased by our choices - delicious and unique. It was fun to have the gazpacho and 1905 salad prepared at the table. Our waiter was most attentive, and the entire atmosphere was relaxed and totally enjoyable.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Noted in the reservation it was an anniversary. First of all there was food and a fork on the floor at our table, we had to ask for it to be cleaned. Second, a large (10) family group was seated at the next table with small children. We love children, have some of our own, but this was not the atmosphere we wanted. The food was good but the total experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Excelente restaurant en san Agustín nos gustó mucho

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

An enjoyable lunch with family. Staff was friendly and service was fast and efficient. Food was good and the serving size was just a little on the large size. The Sangria is mixed right at the table so it was fresh! Definitely an enjoyable experience. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing experience!!!! My husband and I went for our anniversary and it was the perfect restaurant for the occasion...from start to finish

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was a bit sketchy. Waiter needed a lot more polish but made up for his rough methods with great enthusiasm and charm. v

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and the ambiance were very nice but the food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great food! Great service, and the sangria is on point.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

The front desk greeted us and seated us at a nice table right ontime. Columbia's food was excellent and portions large, as always. No better Cuban food in Northeast Florida. For a big place, they have done an excellent job of breaking it up into comfortable rooms. Our server was, to be kind, surly. I've had better, more engaged, servers at McDonald's. Our table was joking about how disinterested he was, forgetting drinks, seemed "put-out" and confused about a few simple requests (taking tomato off one of salads) . Fortunately, this guy was not the typical Columbia server---in the past we have had excellent service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Got seated ahead of our reservation time and by a window as requested. David was most entertaining and "knew his stuff"; food was delicious, including the 1905 Salad. Ambiance fantastic. It was a Saturday evening and service a little slow but it was rather busy. Didn't take away from all the positives. Will definitely go back! PLUS, I had mentioned in my online reservation that it was hubby's birthday - 7 staff members came out and sang "happy birthday" in Spanish and served a flan...very nice!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

The Columbia - has become an "Olive Garden " for Cuban food
The waiters very scripted - not genuine
Server was a bit slow

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

I wasn't to happy with my palomilla steak too thick not exactly like a palomilla and lack of flavor my husband did like the paella 🥘.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Visiting St Augustine with family, ate at the Columbia Restaurant first night in town. Fabulous Spanish style menu, great tapas, love the 1905 salad, shrimp is delicious, Sangria to die for. Picked up some Sangria mix to take home and relive the yumminess! Everything on the menu sounds wonderful, my suggestion is to order several of the tapas to share around the table and then splurge on dessert!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Casual, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had a great time... food service and ambiance were terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Exellent meal. The last time I was at CR was 25 years ago. The food quality and service was the same great food and excellent table service. The Black Bean soup and Paella Seafood was exactly prepared and excuted as it was 25 years ago.
My only critic was plate size and volume was smaller. The rest of my family enjoyed there Grouper, Scallops and Red Snapper.
Had a great meal in a relaxed setting.
Will be back soon...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Second visit. Fell in love with this restaurant. One of our new favorite places to go. Fantastic food. Our server, Jordan, was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great Spanish resturante for a date or special occasion. Food is amazing, sangria is great and the service is wonderful.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Service was okay. The price for the meal is too much for the quality. The food we
Nothing special. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Grew up going to the Tampa Columbia Restaurant. This one is even better! The setting is spectacular with a beautiful fountain and the Castillo de San Marcos fort across the street. No noise but we did eat an early lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We ate dinner with our two children (9,11) at the St. Augustine location. The Mojito may have been the best I've had at a restaurant, very crisp and fresh, not too strong. The gazpacho was lovely. We split a grouper dinner which was enough for the two of us. It was pretty and tasted great. The kids had black beans and white rice and they ate every bite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was delicious. Our waiter was fantastic!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter dinner at the St. Augustine Columbia restaurant and the entire evening it was fantastic. We arrived 5 minutes before our reservation and was seated immediately. The food was great and our server was an absolute blast. His recommendations for dinner selections turned out to be right on the mark and we both enjoyed our meals. The food was very good, hot and served very fast and the service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were a party of 6 for Easter. We were there for our evening meal. We loved our waitress !!! She was so quick to refill all of our drinks!! The food came out in such a short time we all loved that. The bread was hot and wonderful!! The 1905 salad was the best!!! All of us thought this food was some of the best food we had ever eaten.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Tapas, Scenic View, People Watching, Historic, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great building and menu however food was way too salty. Server seemed inexperienced,all in all it was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

There was a bit of confusion when we arrived at the hostess table. They didn't think we had a reservation but we had made one with Open Table. However once we were seated, the waitress was attentive and our service was great. We had items from the special Easter lunch menu as well as some of our favorites from the tapas menu. Both the roast lamb and the paella were delicious and the 'good rice' was great. Would love to know the recipe. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful ambience, attentive staff, and delicious menu. We chose to have our Easter dinner there, and were seating by the fountain in the atrium. The restaurant was almost at capacity, and the service was exemplary.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic Easter lunch! Great food, service and atmosphere. Would come again for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Columbia has been a family favorite going on 35 yrs. Ambience, foot and service always excellent!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great location, waitress and wine . Not impressed with food .Arrived somewhat cool and over cooked

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Not a bad place, but the server took our order and disappeared for 40 minutes. The paella was very salty, but the key lime pie was great. The floor was wet and slippery. It wasn't as intimate as I thought it would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Was seated immediately with reservations. Excellent service. Large selection of entrees. I had the stuffed grouper. It was good. The yellow rice is very good. Nice atmosphere. Nicely decorated. Be aware it has three levels of dining. Saw a few folks struggling with stairs (older people). Request 1st level if you have difficulty with steps. Try it you won't be disappointed but note it is more on the expensive side.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tapas, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Paella Marinera was amazing. The sangria was also good. Dillion was an AMAZING waiter! He made my dad's birthday celebration very special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Parking is a nightmare! They advertise they have parking available to only patrons but that is not the case. We got there at 4:30 pm and there was no parking available and no attendant. Had to drive all the way to the main parking garage, park and then walk to the restaurant. Besides the parking nightmare, everything else was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Despite reservation, took over 30min to be seated. Service was poor. Food took too long to arrive, meals were incomplete as Waiter failed to advise lunch entrees included soup or salad and did not offer it to us nor gave details on food portions as we ordered a paella to be shared among 3 adults and after waiting for 40min prep, it was a tiny one-person portion. We also ordered the black bean soup no rice or onions and they brought with rice and onions!!! Very frustrating experience and expensive for the food/portions given.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Beautiful surroundings, attentive waiter, delicious food served hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Second time at this restaurant and the food was amazing. Looking forward to going back again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was my engagement to my amazing girlfriend. I have them very specific notes that they executed perfected to create a memorable experience for us. Great food. I recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a joy to visit the Columbia. The food is great, especially the seafood dishes and their signature 1905 salad. Staff are attentive and make an effort to give you an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.