About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: (904) 824-3341

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (197)
Authentic (180)
Special Occasion (170)
See All
Good for a Date (159)
Good for Anniversaries (143)
Worth the Drive (123)
Tapas (121)
Good for Birthdays (108)
Casual (97)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Good for Groups (93)
Great for Lunch (88)
Romantic (87)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Comfort Food (60)
Fun (60)
Sunday Lunch (53)
Family Style (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
People Watching (38)
Hot Spot (36)
Notable Wine List (36)
Kid-friendly (33)
Cozy (32)
Scenic View (32)
Business Meals (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Seasonal (28)
Outstanding Value (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Great for Brunch (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Healthy (13)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Spicy (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (6)
Great Beer (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
4192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a great time at the Columbia. Never disappointed when we come here.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

My first visit as an adult with friends and we all enjoyed it!

Tags: Family Style, Vegan, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were great. Try the 1905 salad. Anytime I have a group of people this is were I like to bring them. There is also free parking just have your parking ticket validated

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Very noisy, and wait staff seems overworked, but food is good and different

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Having eaten at this location and others around Florida many time, this is the first time we were disappointed. The problem seemed to be that our waitress was trying unsuccessfully to cover too many tables. (Not her fault.) This was a Tuesday early evening; glad it wasn't a weekend. Bottom line: after ordering, we snacked on bread for almost an hour. Then our salad and entre were brought to our table at the same time, rather than (as always previously) first the salad, then the entre! Sent entre back, ate salad, and entre was returned to table with delicate shellfish (lobster, clams, etc.) chewy from being zapped in microwave! Given complimentary desserts.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Our very favorite restaurant in St Augustine. We have celebrated family birthdays for over 30!years.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Danica, was outstanding! She made fantastic recommendations. She was friendly, and charming! We were not rushed at all but the meal was nicely paced! Lovely ambiance. The food was delicious. This is the first time in a couple of years that we have eaten here but will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Overrated and living on past glories but not with the past attention to detail and nowhere near the standard of service that this restaurant should provide.

Food just average and "famous" sangria is not what it once was !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Worth making a reservation! The 1905 salad is a must as well as the white sangria.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience. The selections on the menu were varied and should please almost everyone. A must try would be the 1905 salad. We ordered filets and they were cooked perfectly and very tender. We will definitely come back to Columbia every time we are in St. Augustine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Genuine Cuban flavors. Taps and paeia great. 1905 salad seems like a cross between a Greek and Italian salad; yummiest!! Mango cake is out of this world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We made a reservation for our anniversary dinner while visiting St. Augustine. They seated us within five minutes of arrival. Our waitress didn't even write our order down, even though we each ordered a salad, we got appetizers and shared a meal. Everything was exactly as we ordered. Our glasses were never empty, and the bread kept coming. We enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Historically great restaurant. No complaints but dishes and silverware could have been cleaner. Check your dishwasher guys.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Incredibly tasty food. Menu selection was great. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food as always. Finally ordered the paella and it was worth the wait and money. Our table of 4 enjoyed the whole meal. Server forgot to put in our crab cake order, but it's fine because we were stuffed.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was great, very friendly. Food was fair but very central to downtown St. Augustine.

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent chain restaurant that doesn't feel like a chain. Atmosphere, food and service consistently good set in an appropriately Cuban/Spanish décor. Reservations are taken and highly recommended or you might be waiting a while. Park behind the restaurant and you can get your receipt validated to avoid the parking fee.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

this is a great restaurant good service great food. Should call for seats fills up fast . They give you a lot of food .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It's our go to special occasion spot. Upscale dining with old school recipes that never disappoint. Ask not to be seated near kitchen as they wrap silver ware in the dining room by the door and it's quite noisy. Other than that you can't go wrong. Worth every penny at an average $30 a person without alcohol. Although my personal favorite is the filet mignon with sauteed mushrooms $36. It pulls apart like butter.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Columbia has become our favorite restaurant in St Augustine. The food is delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our experience at the Columbia was divine. We started with drinks, a perfect Old Fashioned for my husband and a glass of champagne for me. We weren't certain since the specialty is a Manhatten, but obviously a great bartender, and we watched while our server made a Mohitto for the table beside us.

The Columbia salad is not only so much more wonderful than the ingredients sound, it is a fun experience to see itt made table side. We had a selection of tapas, all of which were delicious and beautifully presented.

We finished with dessert. The key lime pie was one of the best we have had - my husband's favorite so he has tried it all over Florida.

Our service was spot on making the overall experience wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing and authentic. The service here is on point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great meal, love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We drove down from Jax just to enjoy your 1905 salad. Was worth it. Trent our server, very good since it was an extremely busy luncheon time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and the server were fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and generous portions. Very tasty and appeals from the minute it arrives!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love the Columbia restaurant. The food is always great. The service has always been excellent. It never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fuimos a celebrar el cumpleaños de mi madre pedí una tarjeta c su nombre en la mesa y no la pusieron ,la comida nada extraordinario le faltaba sazón , el servicio muy demorado la reservación estaba abierta hasta las 9:45 y la nuestra era a las 9 y desde las 9:30 estaban mirando el reloj y c mala cara porq nos fuéramos y para terminar le dimos buena propina una cuenta altísima de consuma y la mesera c mala cara quería más y c malos tratos no nos traían el comprobante en fin llevamos 30 minutos esperando para irnos y no aparece c el recibo y la mesera se perdió fatal nadie nos daba razones yo personalmente no lo recomiendo para nada ,solo el lugar bonito y contemporáneo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed the seafood tapas, chicken tapas and wonderful tableside salads. In fact, we purchased two bottle of the delicious dressing. Our server was extremely efficient and friendly...very welcoming and provided insights to us since it was our first visit.

We will return when we are in St. Augustine. This was a VERY pleasant experience and I highly recommend it for its food, service and overall quality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They forgot when my girlfriend mentioned my birthday. But other than that, we had a pleasant experience on Valentine's Day/my birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My fiance and I went in for dinner on Valentine's day. They were able to seat us almost an hour before our reservation. We got a cozy little table on the third floor away from other tables. Our servers was amazing. She has no problem making suggestions for us. The tableside sangria is a nice touch. Our appetizers were amazing and our meals were as well. I would definitely go back. May turn into a monthly date spot.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Eating here is always a treat. From Tapas and Mojitos, to the entrees and desserts, it all just so delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always enjoy ourselves at your restaurant. The 1905 salad is our absolute favorite.

The Cuban bread is the only good Cuban bread we can find in the area. We had sangria which was outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Made my Valentine's date very special and memorable. It's a great place to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Tapas, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

service excellent

food excellent

ambiance excellent

was not rushed

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went for Valentine's Day which is also our anniversary. Had a wonderful time. Food is always amazing and good service as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We requested a quiet table, we were seated promptly at a nice corner table with a view of the main tourist street. We had a great time watching people walking up and down the street.

We had our drink order (Sangria) prepared at our table. Great performance and taste! We also had our salad assembled at the table, best salad ever!

We were never rushed and the entries were as expected, good amount and flavor!

A definite keeper!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Have enjoyed dining at many of the Columbia restaurants. I would highly recommend all of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have been going to the Colombia for many years for our anniversary and have always enjoyed it very much. This time we were disappointed, the room was somewhat noisy (it was difficult to talk in a normal voice level), the service a little bit slow, my wife's food was good, mine was no where near the excellent food I had enjoyed in the past years. We are sorry to lose our special dining experience; it used to be so very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, service, cuisine. Waiter was very attentive. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Splendid 112 year old family restaurant, authentic Spanish cuisine, stunning decor, great service. For special occasions, probably the best place in Saint Augustine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Food. We come up to celebrate our family birthdays or anniversaries. We love it and will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Didn't find the lunch menu as good as the dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unpleasant Oder when entering dining room, a fish smell. Couple ahead of us ask to be seated elsewhere and we changed also to patio room. Food excellent, but pork meat could have used more seasoning. We've eaten many times in past & seems each meal when repeated tastes different.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I thought the service was very slow, but my sister said that is how fine dining is. We had the white sangria, I loved it, my sister thought it was too sweet. We ordered 3 dishes, and only liked one.mthe tapas, scallp broiled. My sister said the crab stuffed shrimp tasted like dirty dishwater. I scraped out the crab and ate the shrimp, it was ok. We ordered the bread pudding to go. It was yummy. If I ever go back i'll just get a sangria and bread pudding. Price 94.00 plus tip

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Exceptional service highlighted an excellent meal. We enjoyed gespacho and black bean soup followed by shared tapas plates. The shrimp and empanadas were outstanding. The stuffed mushrooms we're good, but the artichoke hearts were not peeled down to the tender meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Columbia is always good, whether you're after Cuban or Spanish food. The dishes are well-seasoned and the portions are more than ample. I think reservations are necessary if you want to avoid a prolonged wait. They do a good job of getting you in and seated and a server is usually quite attentive. We took friends and the next night on their own they weren't on their own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

After years of this being one of our favorites, the last two experiences have been disappointing. Cuban bread served was hard, Cuban sandwich not authentic and served on hard bread. Same with the chicken sandwich. The eggplant was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was delicious, well prepared and we loved the 1905 salad.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.