Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: (904) 824-3341

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (175)
Special Occasion (159)
Good for a Date (156)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (134)
Worth the Drive (133)
Tapas (128)
Good for Groups (121)
Good for Birthdays (119)
Creative Cuisine (109)
Romantic (105)
Neighborhood Gem (98)
Great for Lunch (98)
Casual (96)
Fun (73)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Sunday Lunch (60)
Comfort Food (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (49)
Business Meals (47)
Tasting Menu (46)
Local Ingredients (38)
Scenic View (37)
Cozy (37)
Hot Spot (35)
People Watching (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Historic (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Spicy (17)
Disabled Access (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Seasonal (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Family Style (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Vegan (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
4679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely amazing location with very friendly staff and great service. Food was top notch as it usually is. I'm glad I haven't had a bad experience yet, seems they always keep high standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent experience although our server was super distracted by another table. We had to ask other servers for multiple items due to her lack of attentiveness!

The hostesses were wonderful, the food was EXCELLENT!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to St. Augustine and the added experience of dining at Columbia was just the right touch to make our trip extra special. Our waiter was very attentive and informative of our dining options. Excellent food!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

This is an absolutely gorgeous restaurant! I was totally impressed by the ambience and decor. The food was a slight miss for me. I ordered the paiea and I am no expert on paiea but from what I understand there should be an element of crispy rice, which I didn't get. that being said the rice was flavorful but every protein on the plate was over cooked (think dried up mussels and clams the size of dimes and tough chicken). The only element on point was the calamari which we happened to also order for our appetizer and it was tender and crispy with the perfect amount of salt and accompanied by a yummy creamy sauce. The bread and salad were great and portions were big, but honestly there are too many good restaurants to try in the area for me to go back. Oh, and FYI i sweated through dinner...it was HOT in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It's been 25 years and how I missed Tampa's cuisine! Columbia in St Augustine matched the original (except Cesar is sadly gone) in decor, service, and most of all taste. Richard has done a great job in honoring his Dad. Real Cuban sandwich and real cafe con leche for me and real Cuban roast pork for the missus. Her superb plantanitos made up my dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Been there many times and always great service and fantastic food!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for a weekend dare night. She is a pretty picky eater, but the waitress was more than helpful in making sure she had a great dining expeirence. 5 stars all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was fabulous and Gina was a great server! Enjoyed the table side service.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. However, I try to avoid in the warmest months of summer since they don't have very good air conditioning. They remodeled several years ago and I was hoping they would upgrade the A/C but it's still the same and too warm to enjoy a meal during summer months.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Ask for Bryan, he was an amazing server! The food was amazing; perfectly fried calamari, juicy-tender pompano, fall-apart pork and beef (my husband had the cuban sampler..which is so much food!!). We were extremely happy with our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tapas, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a great experience. Affordable food in a great atmosphere. Healthy choices and great cocktails and wine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was good and authentic. Only negative was that service was slow. Tables felt bunched up.

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The 1905 salad is the best thing in this world. The tableside Sangria is amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Spicy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tapas, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 10, 2017

A great place for Cuban food. Worth the drive for us. The atmosphere and food are very authentic.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We were vacationing in St.Augustine and the atmosphere was extraordinary. A lot of history from Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio frequently eating there as well as the architecture. The food was one of kind as well will not be disappointed

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Have been to this restaurant a number of times over the past few years. Some of the dishes I used to like don't taste the same anymore - they taste worse. Different cooks or ingredients - don't know... I don't think I'll go back to this restaurant again - unless other places are unavailable.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I have been going to the Columbia for 40 years and always had a good to great experience. Unfortunately this time the Service was poor and the food was fair at best. My son's steak that was to be med-rare was barely cooked and even the second time it was sent back came back cold in the center. At this point the outside edge was tough. Additionally, portions of my meal (Shrimp w/crab) were ice cold. The Manager noticed our dissatisfaction early on and apologized that our waitress was less than attentive as we waited for almost 20 minutes before anyone came to our table offering our first drink. Overall, it was a poor experience but the fact that I normally have a good dinner and that the ambiance is nice I gave a fair rating. Again, I have always been pleased but after this experience I have no interest in going again. Sorry Columbia we will stop a long time tradition of Family Dinner at the Columbia.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Wine pairings are an important part of the dining experience for my husband and me. We were disappointed in the wine selection-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

It was very difficult to decide what to order because everything on the menu looked very appetizing. And it's just as difficult to rate what we ordered because everything tasted very good. The top dishes for my palette, though, were the Croquetas de Langosta and the Guava Turnover "Carmita"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very disappointed with Columbia St. Augustine. I'm a loyal costumer of Columbia Celebration, and I have NEVER experienced any disappointment. The food and service at St. Augustine IS very poor, not a Columbia standard. I will not recommend this location to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our server, Gina was amazing! Very attentive to our needs. Also very informative about the history of the restaraunt and various dishes on the menu. I will always ask for her when we return.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My husband food came out not very warm, but the server quickly took it back to the kitchen. They did just hear it up again instead of making it fresh, but the manager was very nice and took care of it. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our second time there. The first time was awesome with a fantastic meal and fantastic waiter. This time the food wasn't nearly as good and neither was the waitress. The meal was not worth the money!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

1905 salad is the best! We eat here every time we come to St Augustine. The food and service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This visit was a bit disappointing due to two things and they may even be related I'm not sure.. I have eaten here many times (about 8 times the past year alone) and always had a great experience... Good portions for a fair price. Always clean and efficient staff.. My favorite item is called the 1/2 and 1/2 which is half of a delicious Cuban sandwich and half of the signature 1903 salad...
Carlos A. was our server this particular visit and was not fun! He seemed overwhelmed (it was busy but not crazy) he handed me my complimantry delicious bread over my date's shoulder... When the meal came he handed me the heafty plate again from across the table. No other server did this. It's not McDonalds.
When he made our salad at the table (which is usually very entertaining) it was thrown together and very bland. That is why I started this review with my diss appointments being related.. It may have been Carlos and not a recipe change...
I will be back for sure however if we end up at a table that Carlos A is working I will ask to be moved.
This is not me being fussy because I'm not... One other server had words with him behind me because he left the serving tray in the middle of the walk way and he said she could move it and walked away. Then he asked another girl to clean up something else and I heard her say she was busy too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Enjoyed being back in this restaurant again to enjoy great food with my special lady. Was very pleased with the food again. Looking forward to returning during the Christmas Season

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The Columbia is awesome every time we go and we've been going for over 20 years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Rebecca was our wait person. She was funny and friendly. I'm glad we had her for our table..

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Awesome dining experience! We drove from business conference in Jacksonville just to eat dinner at Columbia Restaurant. We had Sangria, Tapas, Paella, 1905 Salad, and chocolate mousse/custard desert. Everything was exceptional! Loved the Spanish atmosphere with vibrant tiled walls, fountains, living plants and glass atrium ceilings. Even though we live in Pensacola, FL we are already planning another trip to include Columbia Restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The best! Introduced a good friend to a wonderful dining experience for her birthday. Reliable, old world authentic, exquisite Cuban / Spanish cuisine, fabulous service, incredible ambience ... perfect for St. Augustine historic district and special occasions. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

First time there while visiting family and friends. Had a great dinner and time.
Will definitely go back.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great servive...we enjoyed ourselves. The team was accommodating for our party needs

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Birthday
Great ambience! Great Food !
Will come back again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We live here! We have dinner 2x a month at Columbia. Always excellent all the way around. Do stop you won't be sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The bar area was very congested just trying to get a drink while waiting on our reservation. What think of some alternatives for those that are waiting

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and drink was poor. The shrimp, pork, chicken was over cooked. The wine in the sangria was awful and tasted poorly.
Unfortunately, the waitress was forgetful when we asked for something. She also spilled a glass on the table and didn't clean it up.
I will not return to this location, and don't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was phenomenal, and the overall atmosphere was just as wonderful. We loved our server as well. I believe her name is Sarah; she is relatively new, but more than helpful and had a great attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Too bright in dining room. There for a birthday celebration. Waited 65 minutes after being seated for our salad! Server had forgotten all about the salad. So 3 minutes after our salad was served, they came out with our meal. We did not get to eat and enjoy our salads for a few minutes.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.