About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Family-owned and operated for more than 110 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: 9048243341x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
7 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (270)
great for lunch (215)
good for groups (204)
See All
fit for foodies (187)
neighborhood gem (172)
romantic (167)
kid-friendly (82)
great for brunch (62)
hot spot (56)
notable wine list (54)
scenic view (54)
great for outdoor dining (33)
late-night find (24)
vibrant bar scene (10)
Sort By:
Newest
3316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Sangria hint

Dined 6 days ago

Buy the pitcher of sangria instead of the glass. It is made fresh at the table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Columbia is one of my wife and I's favor ...

Dined 6 days ago

Columbia is one of my wife and I's favorites. Food and service always spot on. We debate trying somewhere else when visiting St. Augustine, but always wind up here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Ambience, Tapas, and Sangria

Dined 7 days ago

(Dinner was for a party of 4) Columbia 1905 has a great background story and the restaurant is very appealing visually. Our server Ashley was intensely keen on ensuring our experience was enjoyable and everything was done to perfection. The tapas are fantastic and you could make a meal out of them (that would be an expensive way to go however). Most of the main dishes are reasonably priced for a higher end restaurant. So I was a little disappointed that one the plates came out of the kitchen cold. This was probably because two of the meals ordered were paella and that takes longer. We sent the cold plate back and it came back quickly piping hot, as expected. The paella is a specialty as would be expected for a Spanish themed restaurant and was of good quality and portion size, but was saltier than it should have been. We did not try any of the specialty salads or soups. We shared one desert among 4 diners but we were all so full from dinner that is was not finished! We also took some of the paella home to enjoy again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant is beautiful nestled in t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful nestled in the historic St. Augustine. Our server was outstanding and friendly! The house made sangria was wonderful and the food as well. The dining room we were in was too noisy to visit with our family and friends. Its a typical tourist feeling attraction but nice. There are many choices of dining rooms to choose from.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Poor service by our waitress, Courtney. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Poor service by our waitress, Courtney. Maybe she was having an off day or new, but I felt she was very disorganized and lazy. I made reservations online, and even called ahead to note that we were there for a birthday. The hostess told me they sing for birthdays, so I thought that would be fun for my date. Long story short, our waitress brought out a cold desert by herself and pretended that singing wasn't something that happened often. I believe she said, "it's too tough to get others to come out and sing." So I'm doubtful she tried. Side note; our waitress lost my debit card. Thankfully another member of the staff found it. And during the time it took to find and return my card (approx. 10 min) two different tables had members of the staff sing happy birthday. This is a great spot in St Augustine for lunch, but I will avoid, and advise friends and family to avoid going for a special occasion.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Bad service AT FIRST that ended in a lovely night

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our party sat down and we waited 15-20 before a server acknowledged us. I don't know of this server was informed that we were seated in her section or not BUT she was extremely rude either way. It was very uncomfortable actually. We spoke to a manager and another server was assigned to our table and from that moment on, everything was amazing. Columbia is definitely a pricier dinner and to have had an initially negative encounter with our server was just completely unacceptable. I will say that management made up for it and it truly was a lovely dinner and lovely experience overall. Highly recommend!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Spot!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Brought family from out of town and they absolutely loved the atmosphere, wine, food and staff - as did we. We had a great table with a wonderful view - thanks to open table. I would recommend reservations. I ordered the 1905 salad with Turkey and enjoyed every bit of it. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch. The 1905 sala ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch. The 1905 salad was so delicious. The sangria was delicious and refreshing on a hot day. We will go back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Food Was cold:

Dined on May 13, 2016

we try and eat here every time we are in the area. This time we had cold food. It just wasn't the same.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience was outstanding! The ser ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The experience was outstanding! The server was knowledgeable and the menu had a variety of options.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My next door neighbor and I went out for ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My next door neighbor and I went out for a late lunch. The Columbia was very gracious and moved our seating from the first floor to the second upon request with NO problem. The food was DELICIOUS! EVERYTHING! We will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience! Our server Da ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a great experience! Our server Daniel was also very pleasant and educated on the menu and wine list. We would recommend for those visiting the are. It gave us a nice taste of the Spanish culture in St Augustine!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always delish!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Can't miss going to columbia rest any time in staugustine ! Always good food, good service, only negative...They for of the fountain in main dining room ..noisy no matter when you go otherwise, a favorite

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a good experience. The food was g ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

It was a good experience. The food was good and our server, Chelsea C., was excellent. She had too many tables, but she handled it all well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining here for years!! Alw ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We have been dining here for years!! Always love Columbia!! One of our favorite restaurants in St. Augustine!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible from the hostess

Dined on May 10, 2016

Horrible from the second we walked in. And can't blame the crowd it was a Tuesday and half empty. Rooms closed off. I still made reservations and when we got there the hostesses were standoffish bc we asked to eat upstairs. Without hesitating or considering we got a no. So we get seated at 655 for 645 res. Server immediately comes over inquiring about water while we look at wine/menu. Asks sparkling or reg and went on his way. Almost 20 Mins later he shows back up empty handed. "Are you ready to order?" My father points out he never brought our water. Server Jordan gets annoyed look and tells him he must not have heard him. He's reminded about asking our preference. No apology. Just cockiness and walks away. At this point, with all the other delicious places in town we left. No way. Hostess barely seemed concerned when we told her how our last 30 mins had gone. Almost snotty. Hey Jordan- if you approach a table that you haven't even brought water to yet, it's safe to assume we aren't ordering. Horrible from get go. Won't be back.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

waitress needs to be replaced almost a g ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

waitress needs to be replaced almost a ghost ------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Mediocre Mother's Day experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mom here for Mother's Day. Our waiter was a little bit strange. Halfway thru our meal another waiter came up and told us our original waiter had a "personal emergency" and he would be taking care of us from then on. He didn't introduce himself. Food took a very long time, and did not seem extremely hot/fresh. We had to ask multiple times for bread and sangria. It wasn't that busy to warrant an experience like this.

food1
ambience4
service1
value4

Not Impressed To Say The Least

Dined on May 8, 2016

Your chef and restaurant manager allowed three, let me repeat, THREE burned plates of your Cannelloni Longosta to be served to my family. It is their obligation to provide an exquisite dining experience. Futhermore, your manager offered no compensation for the fact that we had to wait for the chef to make three new plates. This has never happened before as we are locals and frequent customers, but the lack of customer service and culinary professionalism during this visit was jarring to say the least. Thanks for listening and hopefully this will not be repeated.

food5
ambience5
service5

The snapper was great and there was plen ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The snapper was great and there was plenty of it at a reasonable price

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

The meals, overall, were hot. The pork was not memorable, the lobster slightly overcooked, but still good. Service was slow. Then when it came for the bill it was even slower. When it's time to go, it's time to go. I think we waited 20 minutes to get the bill and we were noticeably done with the meal....plates were picked up...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I treated Mom to dinner fo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sister and I treated Mom to dinner for Mother's Day along with my niece. While the restaurant is quite large and somewhat bustling, we were seated at a table in an alcove with 3 other tables of 4. It was cozy and quiet and Mom loved it!!!! Mom and I split an entree and sis and niece shared 2 tapas. All enjoyed their meal and walked away satisfied and happy with the experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is delicious eat here every chance I get....can't get enough of the 1905 rice and salad....oh I almost forgot bread pudding*****stars

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you are going to St. Augustine this i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

If you are going to St. Augustine this is the place that you have to eat. This is a very well run family location that has great food and good service. We were there for Mother's day and arrived before our reservation time and they were very happy to help us. I have frequented all the Columbia locations and have spent a lot of time in St. Augustine and this is by far the best place to eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our reservation was right on time. Mothers day menu was limited but Columbia has many great dishes. Our server Dan was pretty busy and seemed a bit overwhelmed. Our table for two was up against a pillar and spoiled the view. We will return on our next visit to St. Augustine.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prepare to be pampered

Dined on May 4, 2016

What a great dining experience. We were seated in the beautiful Atrium Room. Our server, Coleen was super friendly and had helpful knowledge of the menu answering questions to our party. From the Paella A la Valenciana to the Grilled Grouper and Pompano en Papillot , plates were made table side leaving nothing for us to do but eat and enjoy. Never one did we have to look around for our server as she was always close by for refills. With generous portions , Coleen packed our leftovers for us. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Yikes. It MAY have been decent 111 years ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Yikes. It MAY have been decent 111 years ago, but its garbage now. Beautiful building, wasted. Terrible food, sad wait staff. Awful.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great story, so-so service/food

Dined on May 4, 2016

I was lured in by their story. The server was just so-so, got my drink order wrong and had to search him out for some condiments. I ordered the Cuban sandwich (which I love) but it was underwhelming, I bit into it and some of the meat inside was still cold. The side salad on the plate was blah, it had no dressing nor was I offered any (hence searching for the server). The presentation was not impressive, the Cuban was a large sandwich and it was squeezed onto a small plate with the salad. The menu had plenty of options, I'd love to go back and try other options with a new server.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great lunch

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had lunch here and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality lunch menu. I had a Mojito and my wife had a glass of Pinot Noir. Great drinks. The salads that we enjoyed were prepared by the waiter at our table in a very entertaining and professional manner. We had the fried oysters and bean soup and cuban sandwich. All were fresh, tasty , and excellently prepared and served. The restaurant ambience was enhanced by the original looking decor of the Columbia house in Ybor city in Tampa. We truly enjoyed our lunch there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent We had the 1905 salad and 4ta ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Excellent We had the 1905 salad and 4tapes dishes all were tasty and cooked well The white sangria was prepared table side and was worth ordering When get back to St Augustine will definitely return

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I like the food at the Columbia and will return.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been to all four Columbia's restaurants here in central Florida. Each one of them has great food. We love their warm bread and bean soups. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great atmosphere for vaca ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere for vacation. Will definitely recommend this restaurant.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

OK Touristy place.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our overall experience was ok. If you like Spanish/Cuban food, it's a right place for you. Mojito pitcher was very good - prepared right in front of us. The main server was good, but some other person brought our entrees, and she was weird. She forgot a large spoon to handle fish in one of the entree. Instead of going back for to get a spoon, she took 3 small spoons from our table and used them. The fish got broken into pieces and we had to ask her to bring us clean spoons. Anyway, we did not regret having dinner at Columbia, but probably will not do it again.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Quality has gone downhill over the years.

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have gone to many Columbia restaurants (Celebration, Ybor, St. Augustine and Longboat Key) over the past 20 years. The portions have gotten smaller, the price is inflated and the quality has declined. We are Cuban and hate to say, we will not be going back.

food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Definitely geared to tourists

Dined on April 28, 2016

I have dined many times over the past 40 years at the original Columbia in Tampa. It is a great restaurant. But this one in St. Augustine misses the mark. Hard to pin-point but it just didn't deliver the expected. The server was annoyed that we did not order our dinner immediately upon delivering our drinks. Food was OK although the meat in one dish was tough and the dish went uneaten. We never saw the server again until she cleared the table. When she did clear the table she never even questioned the fact that the dish was virtually untouched. The whole experience just left me with a feeling that we were just tourists and every thing was OK because they will probably never see us again anyway.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. Service was great. O ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was great. Order for the Sangria!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Of Course, the Salad!

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

You come for their salad and the rest is just as much a taste treat. The service is attentive and set to your pace of dining. The drinks actually taste as though they have alcohol and the wine list appealed but seemed limited. Four of us enjoyed a delightful and leisurely lunch around three in the afternoon. It was perfect, no waiting and we were seated immediately. Great choice for both friends and families.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Columbia

Dined on April 27, 2016

We love to lunch at the Columbia. The food selections and service are the very best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were able to get in earlier than our ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

We were able to get in earlier than our reservation and everyone was very accommodating. Our server was Emily and she was great! Would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

So-So

Dined on April 25, 2016

I was not very pleased with this restaurant from the moment we were taken to our table. We came for a business dinner, so I requested that they seat us somewhere nice (near a window, on the second level dining area, etc.). Instead, we were seated in front of the silverware area where there was someone wrapping silverware the whole time. I feel like my ears are still ringing. Our server paid pretty good attention to us, but she REALLY needs to learn how to properly pour a beer. The appetizers we had were excellent, but I feel like the entrée could have been better, especially since mine said it had pork in it and there was no pork to be found. I had the Paella "A La Vlenciana", I won't order that again if I ever come back.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.