Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: (904) 824-3341

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Traditional Thanksgiving meal with all the trimmings: $21.95 adults - $5.95 kids under 10. Our regular dinner menu is also available all day.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Open Christmas Eve, serving from our regular menu.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

The Columbia opens at 11 a.m. serving a choice of Christmas features, along with our complete dinner menu.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Open New Year’s Eve.

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (126)
Special Occasion (116)
Good for a Date (103)
See All
Tapas (98)
Good for Anniversaries (94)
Worth the Drive (93)
Good for Birthdays (92)
Creative Cuisine (82)
Good for Groups (77)
Casual (76)
Romantic (73)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Great for Lunch (68)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Fun (47)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Comfort Food (37)
Kid-friendly (36)
Business Meals (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Scenic View (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Cozy (25)
Tasting Menu (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
People Watching (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Healthy (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Disabled Access (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Spicy (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
4771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined a day ago

An excellent meal and wonderful service. Always a special treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

We love visiting St. Augustine and eating at Columbia’s. The food is great, service was great but kitchen took a long time to push good through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good, the service was excellent; we have eaten at The Columbia on multiple occasions (we live in Jacksonville). We will return.

Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and drink. Great service. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, will definitely be going back as soon as possible.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and the service was outstanding. We had a great time and a wonderful experience with a worker there named Scott. He made are evening over the top.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The Columbia is always on our must go to places when visiting St Augustine, the food is outstanding and everything that we have tried on the menu exceeds our expectations.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Avoid like the plague!!! Our waiter was great; he was professional and very knowledgeable. I had the Paella al Valenciana, a seafood dish, and my wife had the mahi-mahi special. The food takes about 25-30 min to serve, but they explain that to you as you order. He explained how they painstakingly work to make ever dish perfect. So when we finally got our meals, my wife's mahi-mahi was cold. (She never lets me say anything at the table) As I ate my meal, it was sandy or gritty. About a quarter of the way through the meal, I then went to open a clam. The clam was filled with black muck that smelled like a sewer. There is no way they cleaned the clams before cooking them. They took my meal off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten at Columbia Restaurant for many years on our trips to St. Augustine.
It is always a treat and the quality never varies. We always bring home several bottles of there famous house salad dressings too.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

I went to Columbia on this ocassion to celebrate my birthday as I have done many other times. I also go here often on non special occasions and it is by far one of my favorite restaurants. Food and service are usually very good. However, our entrees this time were average to below average which is disappointing considering that these two entrees were approximately $60 combined. The flavors were just not quite the same as other times but overall Columbia is generally very good all around.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We have been to the restaurant many time with always the same wonderful results. Service is fast and friendly, soups, salads, and main courses are always what you expect at the Columbia. A great place to dine. Don't forget reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We were on vacation and had heard lots of good things about this place, so we made dinner reservations.

We both ordered The Original Cuban and a cup of soup. It was delicious and a very large serving. Of course we started with fresh warm Cuban bread and butter, so we both wound up stuffed and brought home half of a sandwich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Welcome back Columbia! Much better than the last few visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Absolutely the best restaurant in St Augustine! Just loved everything from the table side made Sangria to the Cuban bread!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2017

It never disappoints! Delicious!! The 1905 salad is worth the trip alone and our server was fantastic! We always enjoy your food however the same main hostess is there each time and let's just say.... she is LESS than friendly and doesn't appear to enjoy her job🤔

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Columbia is our favorite restaurant in St. Augustine. The ambiance is perfect. The waiters/waitresses are cordial and polite as well as quick to meet our requests and provide exemplary service. We usually don't have a cocktail before dinner. But here we do just to try the different and usual drinks they serve. Everything we have tried has been a nice surprise. The presentation of each ordered dinner is a nice surprise as well. Here is where we bring our guests and out of town family and friends for dinner. Don't miss it!!
Len Sciuto

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Took family who were from out of town. Great food and service. They enjoyed everything. Visited the one in Tampa for many years. Great roasted pork sandwich and paella. The Cuban is always good.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I was concerned the restaurant would be a touristy type place and it was. The food was just so so. The menu was disjointed-just too much going on. Our server was a very nice young lady and did a good job. It was a bit loud with the tiled floor. Overall, I would just say it was a restaurant for tourists. I had hoped for something more local feeling.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We had gotten a recommendation for this restaurant. We really enjoyed it and will be back again next trip to St. Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Everything came out hot and seasoned very well. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and I enjoy Columbia every opportunity we have. The food is exquisite and there is always more than ample selection available.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

They have a great menu and ambiance. The "7 portes" is delicious and their champagne sangria is full of flavor. Wonderful place to go eat for any occasion

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very authentic… The real deal… Fantastic menu and great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We love Colombia House it always have great options, good Cuban inspired cuisine, tapas, good wine selection and the bread is awesome! I like the Snnaper Adelita, and many of the Cuban basic staples. Must try their Sangria is fantastic and there’s free parking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Absolutely love The Columbia House. We always find time to go down and have a meal there. We enjoy the atmosphere and food. We recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My second visit came with some disappointing aspects. The 3rd floor is not pretty, sit on main or 2nd floor. Our service was not up to first visit. Server forgot salad, offered check before checking on dessert order, small things but we felt neglected. Great food though.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We drive from Jacksonville just to eat at the Columbia. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were celebrating a dear friend's birthday. Everything was perfect ! Fun, festive, superb service , extraordinary food and beautifully decorated. This has always been a favorite, whatever the occasion ! ❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We eat at The Columbia every time we come to St Augustine. Excellent food, always consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Disabled Access, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The Columbia house is beautiful with old world Spanish décor service is outstanding the variety on the menu is plentiful to choose from there drinks are made perfectly Columbia House in Saint Augustine sit in nice corner full of history a lot to look at the San Marco Castillo only a 10 min walk from the restaurant lots of shopping I advice buy a Trolley or Red train pass to get around well enjoy it was a great experience call for reservation Columbia house is a well none restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

The food and atmosphere was outstanding. Great value. We went back again the next day. And Oh SANGRIA!!

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The shrimp and rice was simply ok. The shrimp were a nice size but the rice had very little flavor. Seemed like it was drenched in butter and nothing else. Wasn’t a good meal for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was delicious as always and our server Marvin was very attentive and informed. As a matter of fact we will request him from now on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Service and food were AMAZING! We will definitely be back next time we are in the area!;-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great, reliable meal. Good service, nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We grew eating at up with the Columbia in Tampa, Sarasota and St. Petersburg and have eaten at the St. Augustine location many times since we moved here. This is usually one of our favorite restaurants however the food and service were not up to their usual standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Looked forward to this but quite disappointed with the check in at the front, 6 girls chatting it up and annoyed that we interrupted their fun....then to the waitress- no introduction just - “is this one check?” Then sitting there waiting for us to either order or say something more. Food took over an hour and the place wasn’t packed on a rainy night....all the tables near us were complaining and upset. Invest in your staff.....they ruined this experience for many of us.

Beautiful place and food was edible but nothing wonderful. Everything plain. No flavors. Just boring overcooked rice. Meat without seasoning and veggies, again overcooked. On all 6 dishes we ordered.....wrong drink and took it anyways to not wait another 30 min, but no sorry or option to make right. Disliked the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fantastic meal with outstanding service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Get the same thing every time. Love the food always use open table for reservation. Otherwise the wait is too long. Our go to restaurant for a quality , quick meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.