Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: (904) 824-3341

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (169)
Special Occasion (166)
Good for a Date (149)
See All
Worth the Drive (124)
Good for Anniversaries (123)
Good for Birthdays (123)
Tapas (120)
Historic (116)
Great for Lunch (103)
Good for Groups (102)
Casual (99)
Creative Cuisine (94)
Neighborhood Gem (92)
Romantic (88)
Fun (78)
Sunday Lunch (66)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Comfort Food (53)
People Watching (38)
Tasting Menu (37)
Business Meals (36)
Family Style (35)
Kid-friendly (35)
Notable Wine List (33)
Great for Brunch (33)
Cozy (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Scenic View (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Afternoon Coffee (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Seasonal (16)
Disabled Access (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Spicy (13)
Healthy (13)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Private Room (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Vegan (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Waterfront (2)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
4526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined a day ago

Food was wonderful, as was the wait staff. Beautiful exterior and interior. Went with another couple and we were both celebrating our 54th anniversaries. Our waitress brought us all a surprise dessert after dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent meal. Great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing tapas (the lobster flat bread and empanadas were especially note worthy)...and that key lime pie is so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Every time we visit Florida, we have to stop bu and have a meal at the Columbia. Now that we live here, we end up going here for birthdays and special occasions and love introducing our friends to the delicious meals that they serve. The 1905 salad and pitcher of Sangria (cava) is a must! :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good. Waiter was not very friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service from Cristina! Entire meal - all courses - very good and plentiful. Enjoyed the new, expanded menu. We were seated very quickly, which was a plus.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

The Columbia is always a nice place to visit. They seemed to be a bit short staffed the day we visited. Our server had been there for 15 years, but he had way too many tables in his care. We waited a bit between steps.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service! Great seating on third floor- flan was the icing on the cake!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great! My wife got the eggplant parmesan and said it was great, I got the pompano and was disappointed. The fish was overcooked and dried out. I mentioned it too our server and she said they left the butter sauce off of it. By then I had eaten half of it but she went and got some to pour over it. It helped a little but the fish was still dry and hard to eat. For a $30 entree I expected much better. Over all a mixed experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

It was an overall amazing experience. Nothing like being hungry, yearning for Spanish food and actually experiencing exactly what you wanted. YUM!!#

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Our favorite place tucked on St George Street in picturesque St Augustine. Great ambiance, service and food! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

We love the Columbia but be prepared for the wait staff to be chatty (not a bad thing unless you are trying to have a discussion). The food makes the noise level worth it though. Amazing Cuban bread loaf for everyone and the tableside making of a mojito pitcher and 1905 salad are exceptional. Definitely a must go if visiting St. Augustine. Kid friendly too. Make Reservations!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Everyone enjoyed their meal and the food was great!! Good service too.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was a fun new experience.the server was very attentive and professional. We would return to this location.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Great tapas! For years we have enjoyed dining at Columbia Restaurants all over Florida. St. Augustine Columbia is one of our favorites!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great food, excellent service, and lovely ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I always visit the Columbia House when visiting st. Augustine its a must. Their 1905 salad is a must and the San grew is very nice. Food is worthy of accolades.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 19, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic dinner. The staff at the Columbia Restaurant know how to pace a meal. The food is delicious and the sangria is made fresh at your table. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Glad we took a recommendation and ate at Columbia. Quite an experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The waitresses were wonderful however the kitchen was VERY slow. Salad and bread were very quick, then an hour wait for food. Finally got it and my daughters mac and cheese was missed. Took 10 more minutes to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The worst!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !! Fabulous !!Fabulous !!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food, beautiful place and ambiance. The server Adam was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Tapas, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The chicken and pork on a stick was tough. The waiter appeared to be new and was somewhat slow. We go there frequently

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Hostess was a little rude. When I made the reservation, I said it was for a special occasion but nobody in the restaurant ever made mention of it. Server was good and food was great. Overall a good experience, especially since they deal with a lot of tourists.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a great lunch on Father's Day. Recommend the 1905 salad for the table. Everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

portions are real small for the price. food didn't meet our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and great staff but the prices are above the food quality. A nice meal, but definitely priced for the tourist area in which it resides. We had gift certificates and used them with no problem. Staff was excellent. We had reservations (thanks to Open Table!) and were able to bypass a long line on a Saturday night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Never disappointed when we come to the Columbia. Always wonderful service, amazing food and terrific ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful service, amazing food and a magical atmosphere. I have been here several times with friends. So happy to share this place with my husband for our 7th wedding anniversary. It is a "must go" for any trip to Saint Augustine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our reservation was for a Saturday at 1:00pm. We arrived early and they were able to seat us right away. Our server was training a new server, and somewhere along the line our beer order as well as meat addition to the 1905 Salad was forgotten. The beer they brought to the table was not as requested, and the salad was made tableside with ham rather than turkey, as requested. We mentioned both to the server and trainee. They offered to take it back and provide us with what we ordered, but at that point we declined the offer and enjoyed what they had brought us. The sangria was excellent, the salad, although not the way we ordered it, was very good. The server and trainee were both nice, however, closer attention to detail should be paid.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time at Columbia. I am a fan of this type of food. Server was great. 1905 salad was excellent. Paella was not good. I have had this dish in many varieties at a couple dozen restaurants. This was the worst I have had. Recommend you try an alternate entre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our experience this week for my birthday celebration was not a good one. First we were seated in the bar area when I had indicated that it was a special celebration, and we had two children. Our waitress did ask and we were moved to a quieter area. All three adults in the party ordered the 1905 salad with our entrees. The salads arrived with our entrees so we declined them. We had to ask to be served bread. The biggest hassle was when we tried to pay our check. The server mixed up our bill with another table and returned their credit card instead of ours. The bill was all wrong(charged one entree 5 times). It took four tries to get the bill down to almost the correct amount. It took about eight minutes between each attempt. I finally paid the bill when it still had one incorrect charge of $3.00 on it as I was so irritated and ready to leave.

We have gone to the Columbia for the past three Thanksgivings, but I do not think we will return soon.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It is a great place to have a wonderful meal in a great atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was as expected but the service was not. There was an attitude of this is a tourist area and I'll never see you again

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Their salad is one of our favorites . The banana cheesecake for dessert was excellent. Service very good. Glad to have reservation as line as usual was long.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went for my birthday and throughly enjoyed! Food was fantastic!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I've been to the Columbia in Clearwater, Sarasota and St. Augustine several times. Clearwater and Sarasota have been consistently wonderful and I would recommend them to anyone at any time. The St Augustine location is crap. It smells, it's especially loud due to the aesthetics of the building and the food has been inconsistently made as well as cold. Columbia as a whole is wonderful but I would skip this location.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We went to the Columbia for lunch and had the Half 1905 Salad and Half a Cuban Sandwich. The salad was assembled at our table and we would highly recommend this along with a glass of Sangria also put together at your table.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Mediocre food, better service. There were 3 of us who had lunch at the Columbia in St. Augustine. We ordered the "famous" 1905 salad to share. The dressing lacked flavor, even though the waiter added Worcestershire tableside when mixed. We also ordered a pitcher of red Sangria. Nothing special for $22. Next we shared a few tapas; stuffed mushrooms with spinach and artichokes, along with a shrimp and red child dish. There we 5 average size button mushrooms, again lacking much flavor. I am a cook and never add salt at the table but the salad and mushrooms both needed it. Therefore, the lack of flavor. Next was shrimp with chiles. There were 6 medium sized shrimp in the dish. I cut one in half and it was transparent in color. I tasted it and it was way undercooked. Even the others agreed, so it was sent back. It was reheated and a bit better. The sauce was good for dipping the crusty Cuban bread. In fact, the complimentary Cuban bread we all agreed was the best thing we had. All in all, I can say I tried the famous Columbia but it was more of a novelty vs. a restaurant I would recommend or return to. Our bill was $74 with the tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.