About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Family-owned and operated for more than 110 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: 9048243341x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Champinones Rellenos
1905 Salad
Ropa Vieja
Filet Steak Salteado
Merluza Russian Style
Cuban Coffee
Empanadas De Pecadillo
Cuban Bread
Crema Catalana
Queso Fundido
Palomillo Steak
Scallops "Casimiro"
Sangria
Veal
Sangria And Patron Cocktail
Grouper "Jimmy"
Shrimp Criollos
Iconic Florida Restaurant
Cuban Sandwich
half and half
Guava Empanada
Cubano Sandwich
Black Bean Soup
Hot Sauce
Brain Damage Hot Sauce
Soup And Salad
After Dinner mint
Paella Espanola
1905 Dressing
Spicy Garlic Mushrooms
Cuban Black Bean Soup
Mahi Mahi “Varadero”
White Sangria
Paella Valenciana
Key Lime Pie
Churros "Tres Amigos"
1905 Salad with Shrimp
Picadillo
Cuban Sandwich & 1905 Salad
The 1905 Salad
Tapas Sampler
Bread Pudding!
Gazpacho
Torta - Milanesa (Breaded Steak)
Langoustinos Appetizer
Bread
Albondigas
Chorizo Española
Cuban Sandwich W/ Cup Of Gazpacho
Pitcher of Mojito
Queso Fondido
Churros
Mint Mojito
Jersey Beefsteak Tomato Salad
Arroz Con Pollo
Cuban With Spanish Bean Soup
Salteado de verduras y carne
La Completa Cubana
roast pork
Salmon Sant’yago

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
9 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (262)
good for groups (203)
great for lunch (194)
See All
fit for foodies (166)
neighborhood gem (164)
romantic (158)
kid-friendly (92)
great for brunch (62)
hot spot (60)
notable wine list (60)
scenic view (46)
great for outdoor dining (29)
late-night find (24)
vibrant bar scene (10)
Sort By:
Newest
3370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a belated father's d ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating a belated father's day for my husband and brother in law with my sisters and granddaughter. We enjoyed the meal and the server was great. Plan to take our sons and daughter in laws when they visit us.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tapas very good service 1905 salad ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great tapas very good service 1905 salad was excellent very good white sangria

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come here all the time and never dissapo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Come here all the time and never dissapointed. Love this place!! Especially the sangria!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This one of our faves. The food is yummy ...

Dined 6 days ago

This one of our faves. The food is yummy and it has a good atmosphere. The restaurant itself is beautiful and interesting to look at. The service is always friendly. We usually just order a selection of tapas. The cava sangria is delish. Don't order the calamari, fried or grilled.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Columbia! My favorites are ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Always love Columbia! My favorites are the Garlic Shrimp appetizer and either the cold gazpacho or hearty Spanish Bean soup. My favorite entree is the Mahi Mahi Caya Hueso. My wife loves the 1905 Salad with shrimp. Love. Love. Love!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. Romantic for a ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food and ambiance. Romantic for a couple, good ambiance for groups too.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not go when raining there is no valet ...

Dined 7 days ago

Do not go when raining there is no valet parking and there parking is open to the public so to say there is no parking closes the the restaurant, you will get soaked..... The tapas were good there sangria was excellent BUT for my entree I had the Paella (A la valenciana) which the clams had started to turn after 2 bites I would not eat it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I had two different food dis ...

Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I had two different food dishes, both of which were delightful. Interior of this large restaurant was tiled with beautiful, colored Spanish tile. A gem for St Augustine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Tracy our server was outstanding 5-stars ...

Dined 7 days ago

Tracy our server was outstanding 5-stars. Also Lori, the manager seated us in a beautiful location to celebrate our 28th birthday. We truly enjoyed Columbia and the food was delicious. We will be back!

food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, beautiful restaurant. T ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food, beautiful restaurant. The wait staff were great, but we're always rushed. This is a very busy and very large restaurant that can get very noisy. If you're looking for something on the quite side, it may be best to go elsewhere. Otherwise, you won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service!! This restau ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful food and service!! This restaurant was recommended by several friends, and my husband and I were glad we could celebrate out anniversary at this amazing restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique dining atmosphere and excellent f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Unique dining atmosphere and excellent food

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Spanish Bean Soup was lukewarm. Portions ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Spanish Bean Soup was lukewarm. Portions seemed a bit small for the money. Beautiful restaurant. Very friendly staff. Relaxed feeling.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was to die for!! Love the 1905 sala ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was to die for!! Love the 1905 salad. Fish was delicious. Courtney was our server. She was attentive and plesant. Cannot wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dive all the way from Ohio to eat her ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We dive all the way from Ohio to eat here! So beautiful and the food is amazing and original

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great and we loved the mojitos! ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was great and we loved the mojitos! Beautiful artwork.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a 730 reservation and still waited 1 ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Had a 730 reservation and still waited 15 minutes. The food was very good. I had the Veal dish and the crab made it delightful.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was very bland. Not happy with food ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was very bland. Not happy with food quality. Used to go to Columbia quite a bit, but no interested quality of food. Will not go back.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Hostess was rude!. Our server wasnt any ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Hostess was rude!. Our server wasnt any friendlier or better!... Very disappointed in the service food was ok but def wont be returning ~

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

As always, the Columbia again blew me aw ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

As always, the Columbia again blew me away. Amazing selection of food, drink, and service. Will for sure be returning every time I return to St. Augustine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service and food was very good. Great at ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service and food was very good. Great atmosphere and good for couples or family. We are considering this venue for our daughters rehearsal dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful food and Great atmosphere

Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful food and Great atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Awful service.

Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I heard nothing but great things about this place and decided to check it out. When we were seated it took 10 minutes before anyone even asked us about drink options, within that time I had a stack of plates dropped in front of me and glass was all over my feet. The server that dropped the plates happened to be ours (Rebecca), she was extremely loud in a quiet atmosphere, forgot to put in our salads, hardly checked on us, and seemed to honestly be intoxicated. I would highly recommend this place if you dont have her as your server.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Below expectations based on what we has heard

Dined on June 9, 2016

We went hear because we had heard from many that it was great. The food was ok but for $100+ for two people, I expect better. Several items that we ordered claimed to be partially prepared at the table but that didn't happen. Our waitress seemed overwhelmed by have our table, another party of 2 and a party of 10. She mostly ignored the two smaller tables. She was sweet when we were able to get her attention but we sat for as long as 10 minutes with all glasses empty. We even tried to ask a bus boy if he could just refill our waters. He told us "it's not my job". Overall, I wouldn't recommend a visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant

Dined on June 9, 2016

We come here annually with friend for Christmas in St. Augustine and we like to bring company at other times. This time we came with our oldest Grandchild who had just graduated from HS and she had never been. She kept her CAP on and people clapped as we came in and came by the table to congratulate her. She felt vey special. Thank you again for making this an awesome experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience!!

Dined on June 8, 2016

We've visited St. Augustine, Florida numerous times and always try to dine at least once at the Columbia. The ambiance is fantastic, the wait staff is always friendly and the food is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Breathtaking Architecture

Dined on June 5, 2016

This restaurant was absolutely charming in every way - from the authentic Spanish mosaic tiles, the sweeping arches, there's a fountain (even though it wasn't on) in what I call the "courtyard dining room" that made it feel like you'd just stepped back in time. The service was very attentive without being intrusive. And the food - OMG! I had the La Completa Cubana dinner whicch was simply amazing. My husband had Fideua de Mariscos, which he fell in love with. Our co-peer had a Paella dish that he felt was the most incredible Paella he'd ever tasted. After dinner, we ordered from the dessert menu - Flan (a very creamy delight in a light caramel sauce); White Chocolate Bread Pudding (OMG and be careful with that rum sauce!) and Crema Catalana (aka: Crème Brulee - except better than most we've tried!). We will absolutely be visiting this restaurant more often!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lunch at the Columbia

Dined on June 5, 2016

I always have a beautiful time when I dine at the Columbia. I have taken my family and recently my fiancée. He was so impressed he wants to go weekly now. The service was great and because my paella was taking longer than expected they offered us a free appetizer which was so nice of them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great decor, food was pretty good

Dined on June 4, 2016

Indoor setting was very beautiful. Great for a semi-fancy date or just a casual dinner for when you're done touristing around downtown St. Augustine. Food was pretty good but rather uninspiring. Service was excellent even though it was crowded.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Touristy but not a trap

Dined on June 4, 2016

Always enjoy eating at any of the Columbia locations. Had the 3 tapas combo with chorizo, octopus & the lobster flatbread, all excellent and enough for 2 people. Good service despite a very crowded dining room.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service5

The food isn't as good as it used to be. ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food isn't as good as it used to be. The food was rather bland and not as flavorful as it was in the past. Service was very good.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

we wait too long to get served.

Dined on May 30, 2016

when we got the food was very cold, it was only one girl taking care of a few tables and she was overwhelmed serving and taking orders from everyone. I wasn't to happy with the service, also the menu prices were higher in the restaurant, compare with the internet menu.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is not great.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Service and look of the restaurant was great but food was to be thrilled over.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

1905 salad was very good.

Dined on May 30, 2016

1905 salad was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with quality servic ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with quality service and terrific, authentic food. The menu is like a history book!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and great service!

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is always delicious here, but the service really makes this restaurant one of my favorites. Everything was great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love their sangria and food!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and sangria is to die for!! My husband and I split the 1905 salad and the chicken and yellow rice. I highly recommend the Columbia Restaurant!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily a top life meal.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server went above and beyond to create a terrific dining experience. The manager shared a ghost story and the restaurants history. The chef signed our recipe book purchased from the restaurant, and our server ensured we had a spectacular time. There was nothing that could have been improved. Perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Busy, busy, busy

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had reservations good thing otherwise wait was about 1-1/2 hrs. The paella and the sangria were good. Services was acceptable. High volume rest.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.