About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Family-owned and operated for more than 110 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Cuban, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: 9048243341x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Champinones Rellenos
Ropa Vieja
1905 Salad
Filet Steak Salteado
Merluza Russian Style
Cuban Coffee
Empanadas De Pecadillo
Crema Catalana
Queso Fundido
Palomillo Steak
Scallops "Casimiro"
Cuban Bread
Sangria
Veal
Sangria And Patron Cocktail
Grouper "Jimmy"
Shrimp Criollos
Iconic Florida Restaurant
Cuban Sandwich
half and half
Guava Empanada
Cubano Sandwich
Black Bean Soup
Hot Sauce
Brain Damage Hot Sauce
Soup And Salad
After Dinner mint
Paella Espanola
1905 Dressing
Spicy Garlic Mushrooms
Cuban Black Bean Soup
Mahi Mahi “Varadero”
White Sangria
Paella Valenciana
Key Lime Pie
Churros "Tres Amigos"
1905 Salad with Shrimp
Picadillo
Cuban Sandwich & 1905 Salad
The 1905 Salad
Tapas Sampler
Bread Pudding!
Gazpacho
Torta - Milanesa (Breaded Steak)
Langoustinos Appetizer
Bread
Albondigas
Chorizo Española
Cuban Sandwich W/ Cup Of Gazpacho
Pitcher of Mojito
Queso Fondido
Churros
Mint Mojito
Jersey Beefsteak Tomato Salad
Arroz Con Pollo
Cuban With Spanish Bean Soup
Salteado de verduras y carne
La Completa Cubana
roast pork
Salmon Sant’yago

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
8 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (257)
good for groups (199)
great for lunch (184)
See All
neighborhood gem (149)
romantic (149)
fit for foodies (146)
kid-friendly (92)
great for brunch (59)
notable wine list (58)
hot spot (54)
scenic view (39)
great for outdoor dining (30)
late-night find (25)
vibrant bar scene (10)
Sort By:
Newest
3447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a wonderful experience! We made ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always a wonderful experience! We made our meals from the tapas selections. Each was delicious. Service was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time, but won't be our last. W ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our first time, but won't be our last. Wonderful ambiance and service and the food was absolutely superb! Best mahi I've ever had!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i have been to two of them now grew up ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

i have been to two of them now grew up in tampa in ybor city went to the one there all the time brought my wife to the one in st auguatine had the same dish i had as a kid and it was just as i remeber it simply awesome

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Cuban and Spanish food with a gr ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Classic Cuban and Spanish food with a great wine list. Very large dinner portions!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place one of the first rest ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We love this place one of the first restaurants we have eaten at when we first moved to Saint Augustine and it's become one of the restaurants we love to take our guest to so they came get a feel for why everyone loves Saint Augustine,it's the food ,the area that takes you back and all the people are so friendly,we will always come back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and our waiter was outsta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and our waiter was outstanding ! We were too full for dessert so we went back later for dessert. Unfortunately, we were not allowed to sit at a table even though there were tables open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had family get together from 4 states. N ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had family get together from 4 states. Not one complaint. I have eaten there more than 20 times. Always been happy😃

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service! Came highly ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Came highly recommended and did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is first time visiting. It was our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is first time visiting. It was our 10th anniversary and from the moment we were sat down the waiter came up and congratulated us on our special day, he gave suggestions on the menu and we both tried something new.

The food was great, and the waiter was great and I tipped him 50% just because he made our special day that much more special.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday afternoon was busy but she kept u ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sunday afternoon was busy but she kept up with a six top and at least 2 two's w/o missing a beat. Good Job Abbey!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Took some friends from out of town there ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Took some friends from out of town there for dinner on a Saturday night. The place was hopping but we were seated right on time. 1905 salad was excellent ( made at the table ) and the seafood was delicious. Our server was very prompt and attentive, only downside was that she was very soft spoken and the place is kind of noisy, which made it hard to hear her.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Paella was not even close to authentic, ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Paella was not even close to authentic, disgraceful. Food overall was mediocre. 1905 salad was the best course by far. Ambiance is nice, service was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The service was fast and amazing as usua ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was fast and amazing as usual. Our server was friendly and kept checking on us to make sure we had all we needed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We would return to the Columbia House if ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We would return to the Columbia House if and only if we could be seated on the second floor. The furniture and the ambiance in this part of the restaurant is much better than the first floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

I have always loved the Columbia having ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have always loved the Columbia having grown up in Tampa. This was my second visit to St. Augustine Columbia. We enjoyed our visit.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my parents for their 60th annive ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Brought my parents for their 60th anniversary and it was fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to get to Columbia every time we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We try to get to Columbia every time we're in St. Augustine. The menu offers a variety of foods, each one that we've tried has been excellent...we've never had anything but an excellent meal. Service was good not excellent but that had to do with the fact that a waittress was being trained. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was very disappointed in the "1905 Sal ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I was very disappointed in the "1905 Salad", it was just iceberg lettuce (old and wilted at that), a tasteless tomato, what appeared to be balonia and a so so dressing

the place was near empty, I doubt that many folks eat there twice, but the waiter had little time for us, when I asked for his recommendation for a meal, he seemed very rushed, when he brought out the meal and salad he did not even bring fresh pepper

My meal was a chinese inspired dish that was way too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our waiter was very unfriendly, and almo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our waiter was very unfriendly, and almost acted as if we were inconveniencing him by being there. Usually the waiters at this restaurant attempt to explain the menu, since it is so complex. However, this particular time, we all just felt very rushed through the entire dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My wife and I made a reservation in adva ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My wife and I made a reservation in advance. When we got there we were quickly seated, but sat for 15-20 minutes before we were even acknowledged by our waitress. It ended up being well over half an hour before the bread and salad were brought to our table and a full hour before we got our entrees. The food did taste good, but considering the very poor service and high prices, it is definitely not a place we would choose to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

food was average. Service was sub par. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

food was average. Service was sub par. A fun tourist spot.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent service, menu, food, and price ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent service, menu, food, and prices. Excellent romantic meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food used to be better. Service was so s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food used to be better. Service was so so. Good atmosphere if you have kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Loved the 1905 salad and the Sangria mad ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved the 1905 salad and the Sangria made at table side. Very Spainish, fun, vibrant decor and the service was very good!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Columbia provides a fun atmosphere with ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Columbia provides a fun atmosphere with excellent cuban food. We went as a group of 8 with 3 children and everyone LOVED their meals. Drinks were great and the service was good. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was awful. Our server was probably o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was awful. Our server was probably one of the worst I have ever had. My husbands food never came. The manager comped us a sangria but it was an awful experience. Our dinners that did come were cold. The waitress was horrible. Rude and not attentive at all. We always look forward to going it's a beautiful restaurant but never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

It was a great time. The people there we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was a great time. The people there were friendly and had great customer service. The food was very tasty. Definitely a place to tell friends about.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Gone twice in two week ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great restaurant. Gone twice in two weeks. Delicious authentic cuisine and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at the Columbia MANY times, ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have dined at the Columbia MANY times, but was very disappointed with our last dining experience. It was a celebration of me and my sister's birthdays. The service was very poor. Literally, it took 25 minutes to get a refill of my husband's drink. By the time she came back with it, the rest of us needed refills and had to wait another 15 minutes. I usually love the roast pork but this time it was very tough. Don't won't to go back there for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The 1906 salad is delicious! The red san ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The 1906 salad is delicious! The red sangria is the best we have ever had! We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited The Columbia many times ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have visited The Columbia many times and love the ambiance. Our favorites are the 1905 salad and black bean soup. If I'm being honest, the service has declined since the first time we dined there. At our recent visit, we were seated right outside the kitchen even though there was hardly anyone there and we had reservations. So the kitchen and staff noise was not good. Our waitress smelled like cigarettes and left us without drinks much of the meal. When we left, she was down St George street smoking in front of another restaurant. We spent $120 for two diners including tip and it was not one of our best experiences. I would love to see your customer service improve, because we love visiting.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Good food, good service, good atmosphere ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Good food, good service, good atmosphere. Lot's of people but didn't feel cramped at table being to close to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very busy night but seated quickly with ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very busy night but seated quickly with our open table reservations! Our server was amazing...attentive and friendly even though she was terribly busy. Food, drinks, service spot on. We love this restaurant !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent Cuban-Spanish restaurant in th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent Cuban-Spanish restaurant in the heart of St Augustine's Old Town on the pedestrian road St. George St. After a couple pitchers of Sparkling Sangria we shared several tapas which were all wonderful as were the main dishes. I enjoyed the Filet Steak Salteado!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We eat at the Colombia at least once eve ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We eat at the Colombia at least once every year and it is always an enjoyable experience. The food is cooked just right and the service is excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

How can anyone rate the food in this pla ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

How can anyone rate the food in this place higher than 1 star? If you are an average Joe looking for a fake experience, please feel free. This place is all about quantity, not quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We always have a great experience at the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We always have a great experience at the Columbia! Love the paella and 1905 Salad.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly outstanding meal and fabulous atmo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Truly outstanding meal and fabulous atmosphere! There were 4 adults in our party and we all agreed that Columbia was one of our two best meals this vacation! The scallops were absolutely divine! Can't wait to dine at Columbia again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On July 4th, the third floor was way too ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

On July 4th, the third floor was way too hot for pleasant dining. While the wait staff worked through the heat, it was not comfortable for them as well and they should not be expected to give their best with the temps as high as they were especially with long sleeves and table service expectations. They were rushing through their duties as quickly as possible. Around us, when tables were emptied, they were quickly washed down, but not dried before utensils and napkins were set down on wet tables replete with puddles of dirty wipe-down water. Your famous salad would have tasted better if it were not served at room temperature. It is called "iceberg" lettuce for a reason. Room temperature cheese and julienned meats were a tad greasy because of the temperature at which they were served. Although the water was cold, ice would have been better and a larger glass even better considering the climate both inside and outside. Just as aside, the relatively expensive pina colada sucked and it had very, very little alcohol in it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

Service extremely slow. Looking for our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service extremely slow. Looking for our server all the time. Food finally delivered warm at best. All sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.