About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Family-owned and operated for more than 110 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: 9048243341x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine
Champinones Rellenos
Palomillo Steak
Ropa Vieja
Filet Steak Salteado
Merluza Russian Style
Cuban Coffee
Empanadas De Pecadillo
Camarones Al Ajillo
1905 Salad
Queso Fundido
Crema Catalana
Scallops "Casimiro"
Cuban Bread
Sangria
Sangria And Patron Cocktail
Veal
Grouper "Jimmy"
Iconic Florida Restaurant
Cuban Sandwich
half and half
Guava Empanada
Cubano Sandwich
Black Bean Soup
Soup And Salad
Brain Damage Hot Sauce
Hot Sauce
After Dinner mint
Paella Espanola
1905 Dressing
Spicy Garlic Mushrooms
Cuban Black Bean Soup
Mahi Mahi “Varadero”
White Sangria
Paella Valenciana
Key Lime Pie
Churros "Tres Amigos"
Shrimp Criollos
1905 Salad with Shrimp
Picadillo
Cuban Sandwich & 1905 Salad
The 1905 Salad
Bread Pudding!
Tapas Sampler
Torta - Milanesa (Breaded Steak)
Gazpacho
Bread
Langoustinos Appetizer
Chorizo Española
Albondigas
Cuban Sandwich W/ Cup Of Gazpacho
Pitcher of Mojito
Queso Fondido
Churros
Mint Mojito
Jersey Beefsteak Tomato Salad
Arroz Con Pollo
Cuban With Spanish Bean Soup
La Completa Cubana
Salteado de verduras y carne
roast pork
Salmon Sant’yago

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
6 More
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Special Occasion (252)
Good for Groups (186)
Great for Lunch (155)
See All
Fit for Foodies (143)
Romantic (142)
Neighborhood Gem (141)
Kid-friendly (90)
Great for Brunch (56)
Hot Spot (55)
Notable Wine List (47)
Scenic View (45)
Late-night Find (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Sort By:
Newest
3527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Memorable. Unique. Outstanding food, s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Memorable. Unique. Outstanding food, service & ambiance. Free parking. If you eat to live, this is not for you. If you live to eat, there is no place better in downtown St. Augustine!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a lovely restauant and great atmos ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

It is a lovely restauant and great atmoshere. There were so unusual odors at times. hopefully it was some one' s food, etc.

everyone looked like they were having a good time. our waitress was very cheerful. The flan with candle was nice touch to recognize our occasion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to this Columbia location m ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to this Columbia location many times and I have always enjoyed it very much Had Cuban Mahi sandwich. Fish was close to being overcooked and very light on peppers and onions. My wife's Cuban was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

First time to Columbia where we DIDN'T h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

First time to Columbia where we DIDN'T have black bean soup and cubano sandwiches! Actually has a grownup meal of ceviche, broiled gulf snapper, caesar salad, various tapas and their exquisite flan for desert. Simply put, this is an amazing throwback restaurant that does all the good things extremely well, with top notch professional wait staff (no college kiddos here), in a beautiful setting in the historic old towm section of St Augustine. Quite a treat to be taken back in time to the era of gracious tableside service. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Casual, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is beautiful. We had pa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is beautiful. We had party of 6 and spent $300. The food sounded great but was nothing special. Disappointed. The only thing we really liked was the white sangria.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The food, atmosphere, and service were g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food, atmosphere, and service were great. Great place to dine when in this area.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always prompt and courteous service. O ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always prompt and courteous service. Our waiter was very attentive to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Service and food was excellent - We were ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service and food was excellent - We were seated downstairs and it was rather noisy.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The white sangria was very good, the ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The white sangria was very good, the service was excellent. Overall it was a fun place.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated right on time ! The chick ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated right on time ! The chicken n rice was outstanding and scallops superb! Of course your salad hit the spot !! Mark took good care of us and explained things we weren't sure of ! So patient as we changed our order . Now we know there's parking ! Thanks for the experience , we will be back !

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The bar was very nice...Sangria was OK, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The bar was very nice...Sangria was OK, nothing to write home about. I loved the gift shop. Lots to choose from. Too hot to sit outside, so I have no idea what it is like. Waiter was OK.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love Columbia and dine here every time w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love Columbia and dine here every time we are in St Augustine, which is about ten times a year. Very good authentic Cuban food, like I used to get growing up near Calle Ocho in Miami. Service is usually excellent, but occasionally pretentious. Highly recommended dining

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought it was going to be wonderful l ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I thought it was going to be wonderful like the one we go to always in St Armonds LBK!! But it was not!!! The mojito was horrible!sooooo disappointed !!!! Our server was efficient but not friendly at all!!! Never talk to us or asked us if we had any Quetions or if anything was ok! You threw the bread at our plates like he was in a hurry?! Didn't even talk to us!!! With soooo many wonderful restaurants in st Augustine we will never come back to The Columbia !!!! Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Love the decor of the place. Service wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Love the decor of the place. Service was good. Drinks were OK. Silverware was dirty. I ordered Roast Pork and got pork tenderloin AKA pork medallions. I thought they brought out the wrong dish but they claimed that was how the dish comes. Anyone who knows a proper roast pork dish would be disappointed. That wouldn't fly in South Florida. The Yuca was overcooked and mushy. Plantains were mushy as well. Typical tourist trap.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Stopped in for lunch. We liked the atmos ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Stopped in for lunch. We liked the atmosphere here better than the one in Ybor City. Our waitress Gina was very sweet and helpful. We split the 1905 salad which is always amazing and the special of the day which was rice with chicken, pork, shrimp, and ham. It was delicious. Of course we had to get a pitcher of sangria and we have had the red in the past but Gina persuaded us to try the sangria de cava. We loved it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good change of pace. It is hard to fi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A good change of pace. It is hard to find real Spanish food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fine dining in a beautiful yet casual at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fine dining in a beautiful yet casual atmosphere. Excellent food always well presented. Pleasant unobtrusive service. We have been here many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We live in Saint Augustine and have eate ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We live in Saint Augustine and have eaten at the Columbian many times. While pricey, it is not over expensive. I will say that on this visit, there normally excellent food was simply UNBELIEVEABLE! Bacon wrapped shrimp, lobster flatbread, and other Tapas we ordered were the best I have ever had anywhere.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love the Columbia Restaurant! We go t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love the Columbia Restaurant! We go to the one in St. Augustine Fl. We had family visiting from out of town and took the family to The Columbia. Everyone enjoyed themselves. The food was DELICIOUS, like always. No matter what you order, you will not be disappointed. The Staff were all friendly and the atmosphere was wonderful. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was painfully slow and as us ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was painfully slow and as usual the narrative was, we got a little busier than normal. They have been in business since 1905 so you would think that they are used to being busy especially in a tourist town. The a/c was terrible so dining in comfort wasn't possible. I've been there a few times and it seems the same pattern repeats itself. Although the food is good it's not worth the wait once seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server was amazing! She was able to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was amazing! She was able to guide us on the menu and help me to select appropriate desserts and appetizers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We have enjoyed The Columbia for many ye ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have enjoyed The Columbia for many years. This time, however, I felt rushed and did not enjoy it nearly as much. It was very crowded and loud. Wait time was LONG for a drink and bread which I had to ask for. I fear they are heading the way of "tourist trap" although the food was still good. Overall - average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was fabulous. Having grown up i ...

 
 (Warwickshire)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was fabulous. Having grown up in Spain, I had been craving Spanish food and Columbia transported me back.

Tags: Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romance, Special Occasions, Group Bookings, Neighbourhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated upstairs which is a bette ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were seated upstairs which is a better option and less noisy and crowded than downstairs. Great service, awesome menu with ample great choices. We love fried calamaris but decided to try the chargrilled ones this time. They were more chewy but with a much better flavor than fried. The red snapper Adelita was very tasty. Espresso not so good, bitter and weak. Definitely a great place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual the food and service were excel ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

As usual the food and service were excellent. I had the Stuffed Grouper and my Wife had the Filet. In addition we also ordered the Sangria and the 1905 Salad. Our service was also excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First, the service was subpar. Second, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

First, the service was subpar. Second, my steak was horrible. Our server, Daniel, seemed borderline annoyed to be taking care of a party of 12 (my sister just graduated with her Doctorate in Physical Therapy, and we were celebrating). When I said that the table would take water (we had been sitting close to 10 minutes without service), he asked about a bottle, and I inquired about it being a carafe (because I remembered something of the sort from previous visits), and he brings out water, $5 per bottle. Now generally when someone says water, they mean tap/house water. I even tried to get a clarified answer, which he did not give - he was elusive. He also lacked finesse and had an air of cockiness - he was slamming down drinks and plates, and seemed hurried to get all the business over with; as though we were an inconvenience. I've read other reviews which state the restaurant is too arrogant and overpriced for the food and experience, and with this being my third visit and impression, I'll have to agree. Coming from a background of over a decade in the restaurant industry, I have a tendency to give people the benefit of the doubt and the defend the server for poor service - but I simply couldn't. The sangria was great, and the appetizer of calamari was delicious. I ordered the Filet Mignon "Chacho" - which is flambéed table side with bourbon. Absolutely terrible. The alcohol wasn't burned off enough, my steak tasted like a shot, and the alcohol was so strong it cleared my sinuses after the first bite. I thought after a bit it would settle and the taste mellow, but no such luck. Even the potatoes were tainted. Essentially, it tasted like a cheap vodka has been pour overtop of my meal. Inedible. My hubs got a NY Strip, The Bambino, which was tasty - thankfully he shared with me.

This reservation was solely made on my sister's request and I'm not sure if we'll ever return. I've been let down time and time again by the food, which is most definitely over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

I have eaten at the Columbia in Tampa ma ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have eaten at the Columbia in Tampa many times when younger. It has been a while since I have been and the St. Augustine destination worked better for us this time. It was our first time at St. Augustine. It is still a great place to eat from a service and atmosphere perspective. The Spanish bean soup and the 1905 salad were very good. The Sangria was excellent. Our party enjoyed their meals and we had fish as well as chicken & rice/Paella dishes. Overall it was good for a birthday dinner. I can make better Paella and chicken and rice at home. If you haven't been and you want a great atmosphere and service as well as reliable food then by all means go.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went based upon a recommendation from ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went based upon a recommendation from another couple and it was grand! The dinner and white sangria were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Danica our waitress was great with help ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Danica our waitress was great with help with the menu and suggestions with wine thru out the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in St Augustine .. So ma ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best restaurant in St Augustine .. So many vegetarian options that you can't go wrong with any! Spanish cuisine at its best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas menu was fantastic

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Tapas menu was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous ambience great waitress good se ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fabulous ambience great waitress good service however on this night our food was overly salty and we sent it back and they replaced our dishes with something else, no questions asked , I will definitely go back as I have been before and this was a first time that I've had a problem with the salt I love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner, came highly recommen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Anniversary Dinner, came highly recommended by many. Food was good, staff was great. However, when the reservation was made, I was asked if there was anything special. I said yes, our 8th anniversary (08/08/08) not that I wanted nor expected anything. But nothing was mentioned. Why ask if the hostess doesn't even acknowledge? That would have been nice for her to mention it upon arrival. Either way we enjoyed it, although quite loud, definitely nota romantic dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A longtime patron. Food quality has sli ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A longtime patron. Food quality has slipped as prices have increased. No longer recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was very good. Salad great and Cav ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was very good. Salad great and Cava Sangria superb.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Columbia was recommended by two diff ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Columbia was recommended by two different friends. We had excellent service, amazing food and the price point was on par for restaurants similar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So glad my friend recommended Columbia R ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

So glad my friend recommended Columbia Restaurant for our reunion. The food was great. I had craving for a Cuban sandwich. Columbia Restaurant's Cuban sandwich was so tasty - very fresh and hit the spot! We also had stuffed mushrooms and the bean cakes. Also quite delicious. Prices were very reasonable. I look forward to a return to the St. Augustine area just to go back to Columbia Restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible. We waited for drin ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was terrible. We waited for drinks, water and never got one of our tapas. Manager adjusted the bill but we would never go back. Food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent Spanish food& friendly staff! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent Spanish food& friendly staff! Food was brought out timely plus the homemade Sangria outstanding. I will always recommend Columbia!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never been disappointed, nor rece ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have never been disappointed, nor received a bad meal at The Columbia. The servers are always polite, courteous, prompt and respectful. This is my FAVORITE dining spot anywhere. I've dined at several Columbia Restaurants and this specific location is my favorite, by far. I've traveled from the coast of Florida, to Maine, and from Maine to Washington & Canada, down the California coast and back to Florida and without any reservation, I pick The Columbia as my favorite restaurant anywhere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.