About Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine

98 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine.

Casual attire is fine, but we don’t allow sleeveless shirts on men.

Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties.

Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil.

Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains.

We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner Daily
Lunch: Monday – Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Sunday 4:00 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 824-3341

Website:
http://www.columbiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Founded in 1565, St. Augustine is the nation's oldest city, and home to the Columbia Restaurant of St. Augustine, located in the heart of the historic district on St. George Street, surrounded by shops and attractions. The Columbia is located within walking distance of several historic landmarks including Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (the oldest masonry fort in the United States), the Spanish Quarter, Flagler College, and Casa Monica. There are many museums to see, including the Museum of Weapons and Early American History and the Old Florida Museum.

Parking Details:
Free Parking while dining at The Columbia in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Berrios

Private Party Facilities:
From groups of 10-200 we offer an outdoor courtyard and indoor private dining areas to host your birthday or anniversary party, office party, rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. Choose from our banquet menu or let us customize your menu for that special occasion. Our Mediterranean-style dining rooms are surrounded by outdoor courtyards, 3 fountains, and hundreds of hand-painted Spanish tiles and family heirlooms, specially selected to create an old-world charm and ambiance that lend an atmosphere of warmth and elegance to any gathering.

Private Party Contact:
John Pedaggi: 9048243341x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365-days a year, including all holidays for lunch and dinner daily.

Although online reservations may not be available, we are still taking reservations through the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Palomillo Steak  - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Champinones Rellenos - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Filet Steak Salteado - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Camarones Al Ajillo - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Merluza Russian Style - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cuban Coffee - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Empanadas De Pecadillo - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Ropa Vieja - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Queso Fundido - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Crema Catalana - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Scallops "Casimiro" - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Sangria And Patron Cocktail - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Veal - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Iconic Florida Restaurant - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cuban Sandwich - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
1905 Salad - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
half and half - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Guava Empanada - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cubano Sandwich - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Grouper "Jimmy" - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Sangria - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Black Bean Soup - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Soup And Salad - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Brain Damage Hot Sauce - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Hot Sauce - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
After Dinner mint - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Paella Espanola - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
1905 Dressing - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cuban Bread - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Spicy Garlic Mushrooms - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cuban Black Bean Soup - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Mahi Mahi “Varadero” - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
White Sangria - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Paella Valenciana - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Key Lime Pie - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Churros "Tres Amigos" - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Shrimp Criollos - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
1905 Salad with Shrimp - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Picadillo - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cuban Sandwich & 1905 Salad - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
The 1905 Salad - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Bread Pudding! - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Tapas Sampler - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Torta - Milanesa (Breaded Steak) - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Gazpacho - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Bread - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Langoustinos Appetizer - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Chorizo Española - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Albondigas - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cuban Sandwich W/ Cup Of Gazpacho - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Pitcher of Mojito - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Queso Fondido - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Churros - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Mint Mojito - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Jersey Beefsteak Tomato Salad - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Arroz Con Pollo - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Cuban With Spanish Bean Soup - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
La Completa Cubana - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Salteado de verduras y carne - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
roast pork - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL
Salmon Sant’yago - Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine, St. Augustine, FL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Take your Valentine to Spain! Regular menu available along with special features.

Columbia Restaurant - St. Augustine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (154)
Authentic (152)
Special Occasion (147)
See All
Good for a Date (128)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Worth the Drive (104)
Tapas (98)
Good for Birthdays (91)
Casual (86)
Creative Cuisine (85)
Neighborhood Gem (85)
Romantic (77)
Great for Lunch (74)
Good for Groups (70)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Fun (49)
Comfort Food (47)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Family Style (42)
People Watching (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Notable Wine List (34)
Scenic View (31)
Hot Spot (28)
Seasonal (28)
Kid-friendly (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Business Meals (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Outstanding Value (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Healthy (14)
Spicy (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great Beer (7)
Vegan (6)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4057 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite restaurants when vis ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants when visiting St Augustine - The Cava Sangria is a must to start your meal. The Tapas are wonderful as is their special salad. We had a shrimp entree which was tasty and warm

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful decor, great food, friendly se ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful decor, great food, friendly service love these resturants around central florida

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was personable but on the slow si ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Server was personable but on the slow side. Grilled Calamari was excellent, paella was OK, would get something different next time. Great atmosphere, loud, lots of food choices, great downtown location.

Tags: Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Though I made a note on OpenTable that w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Though I made a note on OpenTable that we were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary, the hostesses didn't bother to read the notes or ask. Disappointing that outside seating wasn't open yet because according to the hostess it was too early. This is a huge place, very commercialized and efficient. The food was alright, on par with Olive Garden. The one notable highlight was our waiter. Jason was friendly, fast and courteous. This is definitely a check-the-box place to visit, but not return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

1905 salad is a staple when you visit Th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

1905 salad is a staple when you visit The Columbia. The black bean cakes are a personal favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visit the Columbia simply for their br ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

I visit the Columbia simply for their bread and butter. It is amazing. I also always order the 1905 salad. It is the only restaurant where I order a salad for a meal and am truly excited about it! I tried their spainsh bean soup this time and it was amazing. They also have extremely considerate servers every time I go. I love the ambience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Sangria were awesome! The only ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and Sangria were awesome! The only thing that I would change is the amount of alcohol used to flambé your steak. The steak had the taste of alcohol after the fire was extinguished. I would use less. Otherwise, the experience was wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We made a reservation for six guests lit ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation for six guests literally 15 minutes before our reservation time. They seated us immediately. The waiter was friendly and all of our orders were correct. Everyone enjoyed their food.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, sangria de cava deli ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was excellent, sangria de cava delish. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La comida espectacular, las tapas fueron ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

La comida espectacular, las tapas fueron estupendas, creo que la música podría mejorar, muy cubana para ser un restaurante de corte español

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my first visit that was not a 5 ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my first visit that was not a 5-star experience in the 20+ years I've been going to the Columbia chain. Our server was definitely overwhelmed with a slew of small tables, while the other servers in that section of the restaurant seemed to only have 3 tables at most. This absolutely absolutely affected our level of service, drink refills, and food delivery. I actually had to flag down a different server to get my only refill on my water in the 2 hours we were there. The hostesses kept circling the dining room looking for open tables, but I felt like they could have noticed we needed a server in 30 minute period where we sat without food or drinks in front of us. I will still return, I just hope management is more attuned to the number of tables each server is receiving and the quality of service they are giving their tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

OMG !!!! We love the 1905 Salad we hav ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

OMG !!!! We love the 1905 Salad

we hav it every time we come to Fla

The server we had was very attentive and offered options we just like the salad we also had Sangeroa which is good. Our experience was good and we will be back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not authentic Cuban food. Over priced. Y ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not authentic Cuban food. Over priced. You are paying for the name & location. Food was okay. Service was okay. Servers are so busy managing obviously more tables than they can handle to give you the service that normally comes along with an "overpriced" meal. Ambiance is great. Feels like you are in a Cuban restaurant until your food arrives.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Amazing and our waiter David was the bes ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing and our waiter David was the best!!!!! The food and drinks were delicious too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited the Columbia several tim ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have visited the Columbia several times. Each time we are seated in a different part of the restaurant. We are familiar with several views inside the place and the main dining room is the one you should go for. The dishes were a bit disorganized in presentation and it took a number of tries to get the waiters attention. Otherwise, the place is a wonderful historic landing in a remarkable location in St. Augustine.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

We love fresh fish, so we gave the Colum ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We love fresh fish, so we gave the Columbia a try. My dinner of grilled pompano was good, but my husband's stuffed grouper meal was extremely salty. Even his vegetables were over salted. We were seated on the top floor, so our table was pretty quiet. Our server was very friendly and helpful, but we had to wait a very long time for our meals, and to get our water refilled. In his defense, he was very busy with larger tables. We will probably return, but be more selective about our meal selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

beautiful spanish tiles in the restauran ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

beautiful spanish tiles in the restaurant, nice selection on menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat at this restaurant frequently and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I eat at this restaurant frequently and live in the area. I arrived on a Thursday night at 815PM and did not have a reservation. I was told it would be a 1.5 hour wait by the hostess when she found out I did not have a reservation. I then went on OpenTable (which I use frequently) and there was a wide variety of reservations available immediately until 1030PM. I knew the hostess had just blatantly lied about the wait which is unfortunate. I booked an 830PM reservation and had my table in less than 10 minutes. This is not a cheap restaurant. I expect to be treated well when dining at such an establishment when it costs $200+ for 3 adults to eat. I normally would recommend this restaurant but after this experience I would only recommend that it to those that get a reservation. The hostesses were rude and dishonest.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Columbia Restaurant is a regular stop fo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Columbia Restaurant is a regular stop for us in the St. Augustine area, and we are used to their exceptional food and service in a wonderful atmosphere. We had reservations and after a short wait, we were seated in the bar area. Service was as we expected - quick and attentive. We had the Andalusian Gazpacho and mushrooms with chorizo for appetizers - the Gazpacho was wonderful, the mushrooms, not so much - served on a watery plate with bits of chorizo inside the mushroom caps. We had to send them back - but were not charged for them. For entrees we had a stuffed grouper dish and the Paella Marinera. The grouper was done perfectly as were the accompanying rice and vegetables, but once again, the Paella was swimming in a watery juice and had no signs of either a crust nor saffron. We were disappointed this evening, but will still return - as noted, Columbia remains one of our favorite restaurants on the First Coast!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The sangria is amazing, as well as every ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The sangria is amazing, as well as every dish we have ever tried. I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even with a reservation, we had to wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Even with a reservation, we had to wait for seating. Hostesses were not friendly at all - to anyone. Wait person (Faith) was very friendly and professional. Setting and food were outstanding as usual. Service seemed a little slow - for every one. The food alone is well worth the visit. Friendlier front personnel would make the experience that much more enjoyable.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten at the Colombia in Celebratio ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I've eaten at the Colombia in Celebration, Florida several times and always found it a great dining experience. We were visiting St. Augustine and discovered a Colombia there and it turned out to just as good...perhaps even better. We enjoyed a couple of their very satisfying wines and of course the 1905 salad - one of their classics. We also enjoyed three different tapas and split them as the meal. It was almost more than we could comfortably eat. And very tasty. Portions are large enough to share. The service was good although they were very busy so not as attentive as I prefer. Overall, a great dining experience and I highly recommend the Colombia; you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The shrimp was quite salty, and we waite ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The shrimp was quite salty, and we waited for more than 30 minutes even with the reservation placed before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I ordered the Complete Cuban dish. It wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I ordered the Complete Cuban dish. It was ordinary, had limited meat, mostly rice and beans. The empanada arrived after I completed my meal. I will be careful what I order

in the future at the Columbia. (I had been an unqualified fan of Columbia in the past,

no longer) My wife's paella was very good. Her white sangria was watery.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

It was awesome we really enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was awesome we really enjoyed the food, and the service was great.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was dreadful. The food was m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service was dreadful. The food was mediocre. We will not be returning or recommending the restaurant. People sitting next to us were disappointed and they informed us they were secret shoppers. Not good for the restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I had the pleasure of dining at the Colu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I had the pleasure of dining at the Columbia in Ybor City when growing up ,so, it was no surprise to find our dining experience in St Augustine wonderful as well.Great food, smoothly run with a very efficient wait staff. I would recommend making a reservation though, because it's a jumpin place.:-)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants! We went to celebrate our anniversary, because we wanted a place worth the occasion! The service, the food and the ambience were (and are) simply superb!

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, , Afternoon Tea, Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Tapas, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed! We have eaten at The Co ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

So disappointed! We have eaten at The Columbia many times over the last 20 years, as we live only 30 minutes away, but haven't been in about 2 years.

The service and atmosphere were fine however, the food was terrible. There were four of us and all four meals were incredibly disappointing, especially considering the price. I love good food, am happy to pay a premium for it but this was disheartening at best.

We ordered a Mahi sandwich, Ropa Viejo, the Grilled Fish Special, the Mushroom appetizer and the Cannelloni Langosta. They were all awful, even the rice that came with them was dry and tasteless.

We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The food cAme cold and we send back to t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food cAme cold and we send back to the kitchen and they said senn it back with a new one and again cold i dont know way

Also i dont like the paella

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Not quite the experience we've had in th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Not quite the experience we've had in the past...at this location and Clearwater/St. Pete.

Service was slow and the food was mediocre at best. They used to be a great place, now it's just a disappointment. Salad had way to much dressing, appetizer was chewy by the time it reached us, my husband's fillet was over cooked and my steak lacked flavor. Only thing that was enjoyable was the bread.

Another server noticed that we were waiting a LONG time for the check and retrieved it for us. I wish she would have been our server the whole night! Our actual server kept disappearing for long stretches of time (almost as if she had tables on the other side of the restaurant), and when she did walk by she'd notice we needed something (like drink refills) and she would say "I have another coke right out for you" but then she'd forget and come back and say "and I'll have that refill right out for you" again & again. They need to rethink their management and food standards, or it will be a ghost town by this time next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

New Year's Day was very busy in St. Augu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Day was very busy in St. Augustine, but the Columbia restaurant provided a nice reprieve! Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was really good as usual but bad se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was really good as usual but bad service spoiled the experience.

We were celebrating our niece's birthday. Waitress was friendly which was a good start. She brought out warm bread and took our drink orders but things went downhill from there. It took her 15 minutes to bring us water and 30 minutes to brings us our beers. After almost an hour, we had to ask where our salads were and she said she would check. She came back with the entire order at once so the meal was not staged. She obviously forgot about the order.

Then she forgot about doing something for our niece's birthday but by that time we were feed up and was ready to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

As always, the food was excellent. The c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, the food was excellent. The cuisine is top notch. The service was extremely slow for such a sparse amount of customers present at the time. That would not deter me from going again, and very soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

One of our favorite restaurants in downt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in downtown St. Augustine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was not my first visit to Columbia ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was not my first visit to Columbia House. I have been there maybe 20 times over the years and have never been disappointed. This trip two friends came along for their first visit and said they would be back for sure. They both had the red snapper and I had teh 1/2 and 1/2 which is half a Rubin (real) and 1/2 of their signature 1903 salad which is made at the table by the server. I could eat the salad all day long.. There are a few dishes on the menu prepared at your table.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Had there special salad and the lettuce ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had there special salad and the lettuce was old and brown. They took it off the bill. Ordered paella and it was also barely editable. Left most of it on the plate. Waitress was very nice though, but not enough to offset the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Charming atmosphere, excellent good, att ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Charming atmosphere, excellent good, attentive wait persons and lots of history. We chose it for New Year's Eve and had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love St Augustine and decided to try ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love St Augustine and decided to try this restaurant for New Years Eve with some friends. We were not disappointed. My husband and I arrived early and were seated upon arrival although our entire party was not present. Our waiter was very nice and got us water and we ordered wine. Our friends arrived a few minutes later. We ordered the paella, and it was excellent. It was presented table side and plated for us which was very nice. My husband had the seafood and I ordered the meat selection - both were done perfectly. I only wish that the sangria had been recommended as it is prepared table side as is one of the salads.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent for tapas. Great service. Cou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent for tapas. Great service. Could improve on the salad. Enjoyed the Sangria.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.