About Collage Restaurant

60 Hypolita Street
St. Augustine, FL 32080
View Larger Map

When dining at Collage, be prepared for a first-class, award-winning experience. The menu reflects the
eclectic tastes of owners Mike Hyatt and Cindy Stangby and focuses on fresh local seafood, steaks, lamb,
and veal, using international flavor profiles. Located just a block off of St. George Street in the heart of the historic district, Collage serves dinner nightly from 5:30 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 829-0055

Website:
http://www.collagestaug.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in St. Augustine can be challenging on busy nights. Please allow extra time to find a parking space before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Brown

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Collage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
15 More
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (289)
romantic (235)
fit for foodies (209)
See All
notable wine list (132)
neighborhood gem (123)
hot spot (25)
good for groups (14)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Not consistent.

Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner here twice while in St. Augustine - first on Thursday and again on Monday. While the service and staff were excellent both times, the food was not. The first time it was very good, but the second time was very disappointing. The grilled asparagus salad contained two small spears of asparagus and the rest lettuce. The warm goat cheese salad had one small round of goat cheese and the rest lettuce. We both had the veal chop special, and both chops were tough and full of gristle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I surprised my wife with an anniversary ...

Dined 7 days ago

I surprised my wife with an anniversary dinner to The Collage. It was highly recommended to me by friends. The atmosphere was perfect, a quaint little place in historic St. Augustine, with only a dozen or so tables. The servers were exceptional and on the spot. We began our dinner with Gambas Al Ajillo as an appetizer. For dinner, my wife had shrimp and scallops All-imperlile while I enjoyed the 8 oz tenderloin with the Collage signature steak sauce. Although we had fulfilled our appetite, we couldn't resist the complimentary dessert they so generously gave us to help celebrate our occassion. Thank you for making the night so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was not as good as usual. Maybe ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was not as good as usual. Maybe a different cook ? Short rib ravioli appetizer had nice presentation and tasted good, however the pasta was undercooked. The shrimp and scallops with pasta entrée was not up to the standard usually experienced from this restaurant. The shrimp had an iodine under-taste, however the scallops were prepared well and tasted very good. Again the pasta was very gummy and overcooked ! Presentation was nice but the overall taste was not enjoyable. It will be awhile before we return to this restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food. The noise level did not all ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food. The noise level did not allow for easy conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food, Marvelous Service

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was delicious and presentation was creative. Kasia guided us perfectly on this first visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable - food and staff was great

Dined on May 19, 2016

Definitely one of the better restaurants I have eaten at. Staff and food were excellent. Staff gave just the right amount of attention. A little pricey, but not much more than a much lesser restaurant. Filet prices were within $2.00 of most in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner! Extraordinarily well p ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Fabulous dinner! Extraordinarily well prepared food that was perfectly presented and served in a beautiful venue. Dinner at Collage was one of the culinary highlights on our road trip to historic southeastern cities.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worthy of a Special Event

Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated our 11th anniversary at Collage while visiting St. Augustine. It was a wonderful experience; we'll definitely return if/when we are ever back in St. Augustine. It's definitely more of a "special event" type place, however (read=not cheap!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

food was gorgeous, service impeccable, a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

food was gorgeous, service impeccable, ambiance soso-ish, noise unbearable. We'll try again on a Wednesday. Too many people packed in a far too small room on a Sunday night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wondderful

Dined on May 14, 2016

wonderful meal, lots of variety in the menu and all supported with great service, best restaurant in the area

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Special occasion dinner (anniversary). Couldn't get a reservation until 8:45 PM and now I know why. Food was out of this world. Service was exceptional-attentive but not too much. Very romantic, quiet decor. Will definitely come back over and over.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely awesome experience, food, ser ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Absolutely awesome experience, food, service, atmosphere and location. Our anniversary evening could not have ended any better. Will definitely return and recommend to anyone for an esquisite dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in St. Augustine

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have been going to Collage at least once a year for the last 5-6 years. The experience has been the best in every visit. Food and service has always been excellent and superb. You find a lot of tourist traps restaurants in St. Augustine. But Collage is a true fine dining place in the city. As of today, we have not seen another restaurant like Collage in St. Augustine. If you are in the area, and what to have a fine dining experience do not miss Collage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably the best meal ever in St August ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Probably the best meal ever in St Augustine. The truffle risotto was the best we have ever tasted.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Collage has never let us down. Everythin ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Collage has never let us down. Everything is above and beyond. Scott, our usual waiter, knows us now and he is an excellent server. We enjoy having him help us. The food is always superb. A wonderful dining experience. Thanks to everyone at this restaurant!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was very good, impeccable service b ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was very good, impeccable service by Megan and her team! Will be back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I throughly enjoyed every thing this res ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I throughly enjoyed every thing this restaurant had to offer. Our server, kimmy, was friendly, knowledgable, and attentive. Last but hardly least, the lobster ravioli was on of the best things I have ever eaten. Overall I loved this place and will recommend to a friend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

An excellent find in the St Augustine hi ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

An excellent find in the St Augustine historic section. Properly prepared tasty dishes, good wine and lovely attentive service marked our late dinner. The use of natural nearby ingredients was greatly appreciated. Will return again and again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I ate dinner here. The service was excellent and the food was equally so. I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

Dined on May 9, 2016

If you only have one chance to dine in the Historic District, then this is the place! Both the service and cuisine are above expectation. So many choices, finally ordered the Shrimp And Scallops All’ Imperiale and my husband had the fish of the day . Each bite was an experience. And for dessert we shared Homemade Butter Rum Cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal dining experience. ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal dining experience. The service was great, the food was amazing. I highly recommend Collage!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great upscale restaurant in St. Augustine

Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrate our anniversary every year at Collage. However, we thought we were going to have to cancel our reservations due to parking. It took us 20 minutes to find a parking space. Fortunately, someone was leaving and we took the open space. We will probably choose another restaurant next year. The parking is not sufficient for the number of visitors in the city.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary Celebration Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Collage was a real find in the historic district of St. Augustine. We have a 5:45 p.m. reservation because it is so popular and the seating is limited. Our waitress was Kimmie and she provided us with top notch service throughout the evening. We started off with a bottle of Champagne to toast our anniversary. My wife had the Warmed Goat Cheese Salad which she said was fantastic. I had the House Salad, which was very good but nothing out of the ordinary except for the presentation. The Collage menu was incredible and showed that the chef is very innovative with his recipes. We both chose to go with the "Diver Caught Sea Scallops ~ Valencia Almond Crusted Pan Seared Diver Scallops Dressed With A Delicate Slated Caramel Over Butter Popcorn Purée With Shaved Asparagus & Carrots Topped With A Pancetta Crisp", priced at $34. YUM!!! Our meals were fantastic. Our dinners were unlike anything we have ever found at any other restaurant. At the end of the evening Kimmie brought us a house complimentary dessert to celebrate our anniversary. It was tasty and much appreciated. If you are going to St. Augustine and want to celebrate a special occasion, or have a romantic dinner, you can do no better than going to Collage! Just make your reservation early unless you want to start at 5:45 p.m.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, horrible espresso

Dined on May 5, 2016

This is a small restaurant, and the tables are quite close together. Everyone was dressed up for dinner. The service was very good, attentive and friendly. The food was outstanding, except the express is not drinkable.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I actually wrote on trip advisor. It wa ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

I actually wrote on trip advisor. It was upscale with interesting eclectic menu. Good for foodies. Attention to detail and presentation. My snapper was delicious as was the flounder special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely anniversary dinner spot!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was yummy, service was very attentive but not intrusive, prices fair for the excellence of the food. AND not "super chilled" by overly-strong AC like many Florida restaurants. We definitely would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 3, 2016

My partner and I have traveled to St. Augustine for a few days, in the spring of the last three years, for a get-away to celebrate our meeting and falling in love. Collage is an important reason that we return... we would not miss a treat like this amazing restaurant. I truly cannot remember a dining experience as wonderful as that provided by Collage. Amazingly delicious food, wonderful atmosphere and an incredibly knowledgeable (and cute) waitress made the evening very special. And it seems to get better each year... we were going to pick another destination for next year but will probably return to St. Augustine thanks to Collage. My partner and I recommend this restaurant most heartily... go and enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been very pleased by the atmosphere, the food and the people who worked there. One of our best restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! Wonderful people!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Collage Restaurant was one of the best places we have dined in a very long time. We would highly recommend Collage to anyone looking for an extraordinary dining experience in one of the most romantic cities in the United States.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous restaurant!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Collage is a fabulous restaurant and their food and service are always remarkably good. Pricey but the value is always there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visitor's AHA Moment

Dined on April 29, 2016

With so many gems in my newly adopted city, I have added Collage as the center stone. I am looking forward to bringing more visitors here for that special evening to show off why I love it here so much. The hostess and server were attentive... The quaint dining area was special...and the food and wine were spectacular. The three of us had different mains and desserts (which we usually do pass on but could not resist) and no disappointments. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Restaurant in Saint Augustine

Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a superb restaurant, with impeccable service, a wonderful, and seeming ever-changing menu, and great wine list. The chef is very creative, and offers a diverse cuisine, and great specials every night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for fine dining

Dined on April 27, 2016

Friendly and welcoming staff. An intimate dining experience with a good choice of food which is a delight to eat. We have been coming to St. Augustine for the last four years and we always eat here at least twice each time for a special occasion. The restaurant has gone from strength to strength and fully deserves it's number one ranking. It is a great place to eat

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 27, 2016

04/26/2016 - the location of the restaurant was great. The service that we received throughout the night was at a very high level. The menu was an excellent display of farm to table. As it displayed great flavors and skills of the kitchen. My wife and I had appetizers, entrees, and shared a dessert. Excellent display St. Augustin.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Overpriced. $100 meal should have been $50.

Dined on April 26, 2016

We ordered two entrees, shared an appetizer and didn't order any alcoholic drinks and our bill was $100 including the tip. The food was good but it didn't knock my socks off. Service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Extraordinary fine dining experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

I hesitate to write this review because Collage will be swarmed by diners looking for a one-of-a-kind dining experience. But here goes! I chose the restaurant to celebrate a birthday. From the moment of arrival to the ending, it was an exceptional experience. The staff was friendly and welcoming, outfitted in their black slacks, black shirts and black and white striped aprons. The hostess seated us at "her favorite table." The menus were presented along with the specials of the evening - which we selected. Hot crusty bread was served with a delicious but lightly flavored oil. Appetizer was Mussels lounging in a corn pepper bacon chutney and a delicious picante yellow sauce. It was so flavorful I wanted to drink it with a straw. As the apps were cleared, a waiter appeared to clean the bread crumbs from the table and prepare us for the next course. But not before serving a dainty dollop of raspberry sorbet to clear the palate. Our main course was grilled sheepshead fish with Atlantic crabmeat over the top. It was cooked to perfection and served with a coconut ginger rice and al dente string veggies. Absolutely delicious. When we thought it could not get better, the staff arrived with a complimentary Butter Rum Sponge Cake with dollops of real whipped cream and strawberries. We've eaten in fine establishments all over the world, but Collage rates in the top 5.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing... Everything... Amazing...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Scott, our waiter, was exceptional and knew all of the gluten free options available and also provided suggestions to select an item that could be gluten free. The Sweet Corn Bisque, and Burrata, a homemade mozzarella cheese platter, were divine and the Diver Caught sea scallops and Roasted Chicken Breast with homemade gnocchi are out-of-this-world. The wait staff was very attentive and the chef's talents were enjoyed tremendously.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Collage St Augie

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was terrific, service outstanding, extreme attention to detail, will return many times in the future, thanks very much

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place

Dined on April 24, 2016

We always dine at Collage when in St Augustine and have never been disappointed The food is well cooked and served by friendly efficient waiters Special occasions are made more special by their thoughtfulness

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Collage is a gem!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Collage is an outstanding place to dine. The food is perfectly prepared and the staff is pleasant, professional and exceptionally well trained. The menu items are creative with a delightful variety without being overwhelming. The wine list is excellent. My husband has a citrus allergy which was easily accommodated. I've never had better scallops! My husband loved his pork tenderloin. Our server listened to our wine preferences and made an excellent recommendation. This was our 2nd visit to Collage and it did not disappoint. This is a wonderful, relaxing place where adults can enjoy an amazing meal. Thank you chef, thank you to all the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.