About Collage Restaurant

60 Hypolita Street
St. Augustine, FL 32080
View Larger Map

When dining at Collage, be prepared for a first-class, award-winning experience. The menu reflects the
eclectic tastes of owners Mike Hyatt and Cindy Stangby and focuses on fresh local seafood, steaks, lamb,
and veal, using international flavor profiles. Located just a block off of St. George Street in the heart of the historic district, Collage serves dinner nightly from 5:30 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 829-0055

Website:
http://www.collagestaug.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in St. Augustine can be challenging on busy nights. Please allow extra time to find a parking space before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Brown

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Diver Scallops
  • Filet Mignon With Truffle Butter
  • Beef Tenderloin With Cabernet Demi-Glaze
  • Lobster Ravioli W/ Shrimp Pesto
  • Filet Mignon With Vidalia Onions, Proscuitto And Gorgonzola Sauce
  • Escargot With Onions, Mushrooms And A Cognac Cream Sauce
  • Carrot Soup
Diver Scallops
Filet Mignon With Truffle Butter
Beef Tenderloin With Cabernet Demi-Glaze
Lobster Ravioli W/ Shrimp Pesto
Filet Mignon With Vidalia Onions, Proscuitto And Gorgonzola Sauce
Escargot With Onions, Mushrooms And A Cognac Cream Sauce
Carrot Soup

Collage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
16 More
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (290)
romantic (230)
fit for foodies (210)
See All
notable wine list (136)
neighborhood gem (125)
hot spot (31)
good for groups (13)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great selection, food quality was excell ...

Dined 2 days ago

Great selection, food quality was excellent and service was superb

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

unbelievable risotto great steak and sou ...

Dined 6 days ago

unbelievable risotto great steak and soup very great service when my wife lost her watch in the restaurant thanks collage

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took a long time to get a reservation. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Took a long time to get a reservation. It is always packed. Loved it!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again, an amazing dining experience ...

Dined 7 days ago

Once again, an amazing dining experience starting with the gracious waitstaff, menu including special entrées. Buy coconut encrusted fresh red snapper or was incredible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

We ordered an appetizer, ate about a fou ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We ordered an appetizer, ate about a fourth of it and decided it was not what it was described as, and brought it to our servers attention. She quickly whisked the appetizer away, and she did offer to replace it but we were not interested in starting our appetizer course over again only to probably have our next course stacked up behind it. So surprisingly it was not removed from our bill and it seemed appropriate to us that it should have been. Only $10, not a big deal to us, probably even less of a deal to remove from the restaurants perspective, but when you spend that kind of money for a non-chain, locally owned, seemingly upscale meal, you expect more . And in a quaint small setting do you really want to make a fuss over $10.... Just a disappointment. So we won't be back, that's that. And this is where it gets interesting, the rest of the meal was Unmemorable because all we can focus on is the appetizer that was unappealing, $10 measly dollars and how it should have been removed from our bill. Oh by the way we did buy a bottle of wine which I am sure the mark up covered the cost of the appetizer we didn't eat. Sigh.... Check this one off the list!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After reading reviews, my husband and I ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

After reading reviews, my husband and I made reservations for our 55th wedding anniversary. I must say that after reading all the excellent reviews, Collage lived up to our expectations. The service was great. Scott was our server and he was very helpful with any questions we had and was always available when we needed him without being intrusive. The food was excellent. I would highly recommend the Lobster Ravioli. Great Anniversary Dinner!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was extraordinarily good. The b ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was extraordinarily good. The black grouper was the best I have ever had! The rum cake was scrumptious. The waiter was friendly and attentive. We will be going back, for sure!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my mom for belated Mother's day d ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I took my mom for belated Mother's day dinner. We both love the restaurant. Food and service were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a 1st class restaurant in old to ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This is a 1st class restaurant in old town, from food to service

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall very good. Escargot and Braise ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Overall very good. Escargot and Braised Beef Ribs appetizers were a bit too salty for my taste. My filet was undercooked, but excellent otherwise. Grouper was overcooked and rice was undercooked. Not really up to the standards you'd expect for their prices. Two small dining areas and both were full. Our table had a view of the alley. Tables are nicely set and our waitress was very attentive. Recommend asking for a table next to the wall so as to avoid the middle of the room where noise level is higher.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Collage is easily the best restauran ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The Collage is easily the best restaurant in St. Augustine and one of the best, if not the best, in the Jacksonville area. The service is excellent and is more than matched by the food. The food presentation is exquisite. My wife had the rack of lamb which was nicely seasoned and perfectly cooked. I had the catch of the day, which was cobia. The fish was prepared just right, succulent and not dry. It was excellent. We split the appetizer du jour, which also was excellent and finished the the wonderfully presented chocolate bread pudding. It was truly an meal for a special occasion. While the menu is certainly not inexpensive, it a good value considering the quality of the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Collage and w ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This was our first time at Collage and we loved it. The staff was very friendly, the food was delicious and we couldn't have been happier

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was absolutely wonderful....the food, am ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Was absolutely wonderful....the food, ambience, service et al.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten there several times. It ha ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have eaten there several times. It has been good and very consistent. I rate it above any other restaurants that I have used in North East Florida.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superior and the ambience w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was superior and the ambience was wonderful. A must dining experience in St. Augustine Old Town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Collage has become our absolute go-to in ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Collage has become our absolute go-to in St Augustine. The food and ambience has attained an almost mythical status in our minds. It has never disappointed and I would say it's probably my favorite restaurant anywhere. When anyone says "St Augustine" to me, I reflexively tell them to go to Collage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

entree versus dessert

Dined on June 10, 2016

Seafood entrees were wonderful. Dessert special not so good.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Restaurant

Dined on June 10, 2016

Only problem - diners do not dress appropriately for this unbelievable restaurant. Too many of them dress like they are going to Denny's. Restaurant should have a dress code.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner date place

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We were in town for a day and wanted a nice dinner in old town area. This was the perfect place to enjoy our experience and the food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St Augustine gem

Dined on June 8, 2016

One of our best meals ever. Superb food and attentive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Collage just know how to do dining right!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Collage's attention to service, food quality, and setting the tone for a wonderful dining experience are unequaled in St. Augustine, and probably nationwide! It is a very small restaurant, but all the locals and many visitors know that, for the best possible culinary treat and atmosphere, you go to Collage. Make your reservations early!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot in an ancient place

Dined on June 8, 2016

food presentation, especially the salad, was creative. Taste of food with the chef sauces was great. Beef better than fish

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!! Superb food, service and am ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent!!! Superb food, service and ambiance Classy and elegant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service

Dined on June 7, 2016

We went here for my 60th birthday and it couldn't have been better. The food and service were wonderful and to top it all off they gave me a delicious piece of cake on the house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

I've been to collage a few times now and ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

I've been to collage a few times now and have received superb service however my husband and I went out for his birthday and an unfortunate circumstance happened where the waitress accidentally spilled a whole glass of red wine all over my new white blouse; that put a bit of a damper on the evening but the food was still good; lobster ravioli was a bit too al dente for my taste. The staff was accommodating after the incidence but seemed on edge which didn't make me feel comfortable. The dinner felt a bit rushed and the goat cheese salad was good but not excellent. I would definitely give it a try and probably go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Saint Augustine!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Me and my husband go every year for our anniversary and we drive all the way from Georgia! Best tenderloin that I have ever had in my life. Service is amazing a classy but also fun. Food is always amazing and staff is very friendly and accommodates to your needs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinning experience celebrating our ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Great dinning experience celebrating our wedding anniversary. Perfect from start to finish.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant!

Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 22nd anniversary and our first time in St. Augustine. We were really looking forward to our meal here; unfortunately I wasn't feeling well so we didn't get to fully enjoy our meal. Briefly, we did have a special appetizer with short ribs which was good but I found the flavor of the short ribs to be a little strong for my taste. I got the lobster ravioli but only was able to take one bite due to not feeling well so it wouldn't be fair for me to review that. My husband had steak medallions with truffle risotto which was delicious! Since we had to leave abruptly, our server was wonderful in boxing up the rest of our meal, the rest of our bottle of wine and a some rum cake as a treat for our anniversary. Service was exceptional! We'll give it another try on our next trip to St. Augustine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We've been here a few times as it's one of our favorite restaurant in this area. Never a disappointment, always consistent with food and service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL DINING EXPERIENCE

Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I always dine at the Collage on our trips to St Augustine. The restaurant never disappoints us. The service is customer friendly, intimate dining, and delicious dishes to choose from. We tell all our friends who visit St Augustine that the Collage is a "must go to for dinner."

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class all the way

Dined on June 3, 2016

This was a repeat visit & we'll be back every time we're in St. Augustine. I had the filet 'magnifico' & it was just that, my wife loved the short rib special. We enjoyed splitting the escargot and asparagus salad. Our servers we attentive and went the extra mile to insure we had a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dinner spot.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Tried Collage for the first time on our anniversary. We shared a great appetizer and both had a great dinner. Very good service. Nice wine list. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A very enjoyable dining experience to ce ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

A very enjoyable dining experience to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary! I really enjoyed the beef medallions, and my wife said the lobster ravioli was superb! And the bread with fresh roasted garlic was out of this world!

food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster ravioli, veal, and escargot appe ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Lobster ravioli, veal, and escargot appetizer were amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. Augustine's best! Friends recommend ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

St. Augustine's best! Friends recommended Collage to me and I owe a debt of gratitude. The location on Hypolita is delightful (and next to my favorite store, The Gifted Cork); the decor is lovely - not your usual tourist tat. On my last visit in June 2016, the starter was escargot in a tasty brandy sauce. For my entree, red snapper on mashed potatoes with pureed corn - sounds odd but was delicious. Make sure you book early. The restaurant is small and well worth a visit. The wait staff was efficient, professional and friendly. Collage is always a stop for me when I am in St. Augustine! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable service

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Memorable service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maybe the best ever

Dined on June 1, 2016

Absolutely superb dinner, superb service and our favorite wine. Our 50th anniversary. We both had the filet and lobster. Melted in our mouths! And the complimentary rum cake - served warm - capped off a delightful evening. Very intimate setting. A bit pricey, but the occasion and quality warranted it. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Disapointed

Dined on May 31, 2016

After hearing a lot of good things about this restaurant, we had to try it out. The restaurant is not bad, but in my opinion the place is overcrowded. The tables are to close together meaning that the person behind me was constantly bumping against my seat and even though we had a reserved seat the seating was bad in a corner right behind the receptionist staring at some sort of a black curtain and the noise level pretty bad. My date had the braised short ribs, they were at best mediocre, kind of dry and overcooked. The best thing of the evening was the Kir Royal. Again after hearing all the good thing about this restaurant we were disappointed. There are better places in St.Augustine.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic!

Dined on May 30, 2016

The short ribs were to die for!!! I will definitely be going back for those again. The wine list is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

disappointed

Dined on May 30, 2016

incredibly ran out of mussels for the bouabaise at 7PM. Also did not have all the wines on the wine list.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.