About Coldwater Cafe & Catering

19 E Main Street
Tipp City, OH 45371
View Larger Map

This restaurant housed in a former bank building in the heart of downtown Tipp City offers quality dining in a small-town setting. The decor is warm and welcoming and is a delight for the senses. The fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere while the full bar allows patrons a relaxing stop while awaiting a fabulous meal. The inviting atmosphere encourages relaxed conversation. You may be surprised to find that a restaurant in such a small town has some rather sophisticated choices on the menu alongside your more normal fare, with entrees such as ostrich being offered. If you are looking for a decadent dessert, look no further than the butter-drenched English Tea Cake! An easy drive from all points in the Dayton area, words cannot do it justice. A visit is a must and will be the first of many.

Reservations accepted for dinner only.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Walk-In Only): Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner (Reservations Recommended): Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 667-0007

Website:
http://www.coldwater-cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz music consisting of guitar, keyboard and/or bass, mostly on weekends starting at 7:00 PM

Catering:
Coldwater Cafe & Catering is able to do events from 12-250. Coldwater can do anything from custom catering menus, standard catering menu or box lunches. We can design a menu for your special occasion or you can choose from our standard catering or box lunch menus.

Parking Details:
A newly-designed and landscaped parking lot is in the rear of the building. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Nick Hoover

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available for private dining, each with its own style and personality. We will work with you to create a personalized dining experience perfect for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Jenny Swigart: 9376670007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Valentine’s Day we create a specialized menu for the evening. Chef Nick puts together a divine combination of entrees, sides, salads and desserts that are not offered together during the remainder of the year. Founder, Betty Peachey, creates an ambiance not to be missed with the dining room bathed only in candlelight. Reservations are recommended.

Restaurant Photos

  • Rhubarb Mojito
  • English Teacake With Butter Sauce
  • Chicken Pecan Salad Sandwich
Rhubarb Mojito
English Teacake With Butter Sauce
Chicken Pecan Salad Sandwich

Coldwater Cafe & Catering Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
12 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Dayton
Best Food
Dayton
Best Service
Dayton
Best Ambiance
Dayton
Best Value
Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Dayton
Special Occasion
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Tipp City ›

special occasion (57)
neighborhood gem (45)
romantic (41)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (25)
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All 7 people were pleased with the food, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

All 7 people were pleased with the food,service and environment. I particularly was surprised how thick the tilapia was. Could you offer more sauce on the side at the time of ordering?

All were very impressed with the chocolate birthday cake.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice if they would give you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

It would be nice if they would give you the $$$pecial pricing for their specials up front!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love their salmon. Love Terry's service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love their salmon. Love Terry's service and being able to substitute our fav veggie selections from other dishes on the menu.

Great date night. Our fav go to for nice dinner date out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails to impress. We have visited ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Never fails to impress. We have visited Coldwater Café quite a number of times over the years and have always been very happy with the total experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Already recommended to many friends, rel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Already recommended to many friends, relayed that the service was awesome, food was great but a limited menu. We did find it to be a bit tight and the waiting area even tighter. The live music was great to hear in the background. Overall it was a great experience for our wedding anniversary, every year we look for some place new and this was one of the best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, knowledgable and friendly ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing food, knowledgable and friendly staff. A little crowded and noisy, but exceptional food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The entire experience at Coldwater Cafe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The entire experience at Coldwater Cafe was amazing. Everything was delicious and the staff could not have been better. Everyone from waiters to the chef stopped by our table to say happy birthday. Our dinner was a truly fantastic experience and we cannot wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy going to Coldwater Cafe. T ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always enjoy going to Coldwater Cafe. The food is always deliecious, and having

always received great service. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a reliable restaurant for great f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always a reliable restaurant for great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always loved to have dinner here. Unfort ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always loved to have dinner here. Unfortunately they manage to change the menu, taking away some of my favorite meals. Wish they would bring back my favorites. The service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The lot was full but, on street patking ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The lot was full but, on street patking was pretty easy. The jazz music is a real pleasure and adds greatly to the overall ambiance. Our waitress was a familiar face that we were happy to see again. This is probably the most consistently above average restaurant we have found.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coldwater Café is a wonderful food exper ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Coldwater Café is a wonderful food experience. We were seated in the vault, nice and quiet.

The food was excellent and prepared as well. Our service was great. Their bread was fantastic.

We have dined here before in the old location and were pleased as well. Their newer facilities are very inviting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening very much. It was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much. It was our 53rd. anniversary and the staff treated us like we were the king and queen of the world. The food was great and the service was better. If anyone is looking for a romantic evening out and wonderful meal, this is the place to go. Thanks for such a lovely evening. Looking forward to dine there again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EVERYTHING was amazing- the homemade dre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

EVERYTHING was amazing- the homemade dressing/sauces!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was wonderful and very atten ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was wonderful and very attentive. We tried a bottle of wine that was delicious. We had a cheese plate with bread and crackers that had 3 types of cheese. Our server explained all 3 types of cheese. We had salads and seafood as our main entrée. I had scallops which was a daily special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite place to eat!!!!!! The food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our favorite place to eat!!!!!! The food is always wonderful. The entire staff is great.

We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find in tipp city

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

First let me mention that they bring out salted focaccia bread that was very addictive. Its not made in house, but when bread tastes that good, I don’t care where it comes from.

There were so many things that sounded good on the menu that I wanted to try but I settled on the grilled swordfish. Its well known that I am a carnivore, but I wanted to go in a different direction and be a little more healthy for a chance, hence the swordfish. And I am glad I did. Swordfish is a thick, meaty fish and it was cooked very well and was very tasty. It originally came with green beans and bok choy. Since bok choy was one too many veggies for me, I switched it out for the yukon gold mashed potatoes and they were velvety and well seasoned and delicious. I have attached pics so that you could get a visual. Not to mention as I ate I even hummed which is always a sign that something is delicious. I of course had to taste the meals of my friends too and I have to say that I would have been happy with any one of those dishes as well. One friend had the grilled pork chop and the other had brie pasta w/ shrimp. Once again I say, they were all good., Coldwater Café did lose points on the dessert. Because I was trying to up my potassium levels, I decided to go with the banana cream pie. I was somewhat disappointment with it. It really didn’t have a banana taste. Although the crust was very good and the whipped topping was sweetened, the pudding part itself tasted pretty neutral. It didn’t even taste like vanilla. And there is a strong possibility in my opinion that the bananas were not ripe enough. I didn’t try the key lime pie, but was told it was good but very rich. The carrot cake nice and moist, but something was a little off with the icing. Perhaps I should have stuck with their signature dessert which is an english tea cake w/ butter rum sauce…mental note for next time.

All in all, it was a great dining experience and I definitely plan on going there again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Restaurant!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Server was outstanding! Super attentive, extra friendly, extremely knowledgable and food superb!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, excellent service, great ambiance

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I visited Coldwater Cafe to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary. I made reservations for a Thursday evening using Open Table. We arrived about fifteen minutes early but were seated immediately. The only negative I can say about the experience is that we were seated next to a service bar. I had hoped with a reservation we might get a better table, but it wasn't a huge deal.

We both ordered the filet which came out cooked to a perfect medium. The mashed potatoes and asparagus were also quite delicious and the serving sizes were decent. My husband ordered a house salad which came with a cucumber dill dressing. Without having been asked to do so, our server brought me a cup of the dressing and suggested I try it with the already outstanding rosemary bread. The combination was great! The manager stopped by our table and wished us a happy anniversary and chatted for a few moments before our food arrived; he also checked on us while we were eating. After dinner our server brought us a complimentary dessert to split.

After having such a great dinner experience we're interested in returning for lunch someday soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We frequent Coldwater Cafe often, while we usually enjoy one of the varied fish selections, or the Daily Special, we ordered the Filet Mignon. It was an excellent choice, undoubtedly one of the best if not the best steak ever, and we have dined at Morton's, Shula's, Jeff Ruby's and many others. The excellent food was accompanied by impeccable service from our server Kelly, who always does an amazing job. A special thanks to Chef Nick for his hospitality.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love...love this place. Food & service are great!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Also have a great on-line reservations that is the best I'vI've used.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is very nice and good food, we ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The place is very nice and good food, we had a nice bottle of wine and a good meal. We were never rushed and the service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best customer service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our group of 5 adult cousins enjoyed an excellent and unhurried dinner. The alcoholic beverages were excellent as well. Before our steaks were delivered to the table the chef checked them and decided he was not happy with their preparation, so they were prepared again. The server let us know what the delay was and brought us a complimentary cheese board and round of drinks. I have never experienced better food, drink or customer service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an incredible experience. The s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was an incredible experience. The staff was wonderful. The food was delicious. Locally supplied and locally owned. Fresh herbs garden behind the restaurant! We ate in the vault, since it was once upon a time, an old bank! It was a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Mother's Day brunch was simply amazi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day brunch was simply amazing! They do not have a Sunday liquor license since they are not normally open on Sunday, but they did have a nice supply of juice and the spread of food was beautiful and delicious. They offered regular and gluten free pancakes, and also carrot cake pancakes. I did not try the pork but the rest of our group said it was wonderful. Service was wonderful. Very attentive. We will definitely be back for brunch when they offer it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Two of us had the ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent. Two of us had the halibut special and it was so good. The other had filet and shrimp...also excellent. Cold water is our favorite restaurant for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten a great restaurants all ov ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We have eaten a great restaurants all over the U.S., and Coldwater Cafe was out #1 choice. But. As we learned Chef Nick has a new Chef, it is a BIG step down from Chef Nick. We love halibut, and Chef Nick always presented a perfectly cooked halibut with a fabulous sauce to accompany the halibut. This time we were served an over cooked dry portion of halibut, not worth the money, very very disappointed. They only positive was our regular server Kelly, she is the best there is, and she is the only reason we MAY return. We requested Kelly on our Open Table reservation, but another server was going to take care of us, I said we requested Kelly, we were told management did not permit that any longer. I said fine, I won't be staying......she went and got Kelly to take care of us. I never thought. I would write a poor review of this Great restaurant, but I guess all changes are not thought out or a good for the business. We will give it one more try sometime in the future, but not soon. Kelly keep up the great work, I know you have a large following, We have been talking with some of our Coldwater Cafe friends and they have also noticed the decline in the food. We love the place hopefully it will return to its previous 5 Star status.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Highly Recommended for Excellence

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

For excellent ambiance, food, and service of the highest quality, I highly recommend Coldwater Cafe in Tipp City, Ohio. It is one of the best restaurants in the region, situated in a small, historic, easily accessible small town just north of the intersections of Routes 75 and 70.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful experience!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This neighborhood gem is located in an old Bank Building. The charm of the building lend to a very nice dining experience. The food is "Farm-to-Table" and always very good. The wine list is extensive enough that it is on an iPad app. This wine list is very detailed on descriptions of each wine. The wait staff is always very friendly and helpful with any meal decision you might have.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wine, and service!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, wine, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and people!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

It's our go to date night place. We love the food and the people!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Five Star!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

This was our third visit (coming home from New Jersey). We were just as delighted this time as the first time. Perhaps more so as we are more familiar with the ambiance.

I enjoyed being able to ask for a table in the vault when we made our reservation. They were happy to accommodate us. The menu includes seasonal dishes, as well as their stand-bys. Kudos to the chef for including an avocado cheesecake as dessert -- decadent!! I think the wine list will satisfy any preference. The service is always top of the line: knowledgeable, understanding, and professional (with a sense of humor).

Although we cannot make this a 'regular' on our calendar, we will always include dinner at Coldwater Cafe as part of coming home.

Thank you to all at Coldwater for another amazing dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite place to dine. From drinks ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our favorite place to dine. From drinks to dessert we always have a great experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small town gem

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Have always enjoyed Coldwater for their lunches but had never been there for dinner. It did not disappoint! The food was wonderful, the service exceptional, and the atmosphere was very enjoyable. Especially enjoyed how the food was timed- not rushed at all. We had a very enjoyable evening dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Great Experience

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We have dined here several times and always found the service and food to be excellent. This time was no exception. Recommend having a reservation though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great food, good service & personable staff

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Live in Centerville but the trip so worth it. Fun to go out of the area & experience wonderful food & service. We love to sit at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy birthday.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Our birthdays are 10 days apart in March, so we celebrate with a nice dinner. Coldwater puts the special in special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mr.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We have come to the Coldwater Café since it was in the old building. Never had a bad time or anything but outstanding service and great menu items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesom

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I have always had great meals and felt taken care of by the staff. This is the best local restaurant by a longshot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad experience here. S ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I've never had a bad experience here. Service is always spot on and food is always delicious. Cocktails and dessert are my favorite. Get the carrot cake! You won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.