Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Coldwater Cafe & Catering

This restaurant housed in a former bank building in the heart of downtown Tipp City offers quality dining in a small-town setting. The decor is warm and welcoming and is a delight for the senses. The fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere while the full bar allows patrons a relaxing stop while awaiting a fabulous meal. The inviting atmosphere encourages relaxed conversation. You may be surprised to find that a restaurant in such a small town has some rather sophisticated choices on the menu alongside your more normal fare, with entrees such as ostrich being offered. If you are looking for a decadent dessert, look no further than the butter-drenched English Tea Cake! An easy drive from all points in the Dayton area, words cannot do it justice. A visit is a must and will be the first of many.

Reservations accepted for dinner only.

19 E Main Street
Tipp City, OH 45371
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Walk-In Only): Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner (Reservations Recommended): Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 667-0007

Website:
http://www.coldwater-cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz music consisting of guitar, keyboard and/or bass, mostly on weekends starting at 7:00 PM

Catering:
Coldwater Cafe & Catering is able to do events from 12-250. Coldwater can do anything from custom catering menus, standard catering menu or box lunches. We can design a menu for your special occasion or you can choose from our standard catering or box lunch menus.

Parking Details:
A newly-designed and landscaped parking lot is in the rear of the building. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Katy Fischer

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available for private dining, each with its own style and personality. We will work with you to create a personalized dining experience perfect for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Jenny Swigart: (937) 667-0007

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Valentine’s Day we create a specialized menu for the evening. Chef Nick puts together a divine combination of entrees, sides, salads and desserts that are not offered together during the remainder of the year. Founder, Betty Peachey, creates an ambiance not to be missed with the dining room bathed only in candlelight. Reservations are recommended.

Coldwater Cafe & Catering Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (34)
Romantic (33)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (13)
Live Music (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
991 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food, amazing service. They even gave us a little breakfast cake to take home for the following morning. 10/10 will be back. Best restaurant I’ve visited in my three months living in Dayton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our server recommended several different wines and brought us multiple tastes of ones that were sold by the glass. After trying 3 or 4 different ones, she asked the sommelier to assist us in picking out a wine. His selection was perfect!!! They also catered to my wife, who is vegan. The chef created an off menu dish for her, which she absolutely loved and my dish was also outstanding. We have been to several fine dining establishments all over Ohio and this place is now one of our top choices. The prices were not over-the-top and the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our anniversary diner.
And it was great.
Everything was outstanding, the atmosphere, the service, and the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Simply outstanding. I do not know what was better, the food or service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I always enjoy coming here, never a bad experience. Wonderful food and atmosphere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our server was prompt. knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. The food was great! We've eaten lunch here before and always enjoyed it. This was our first dinner experience and we were definitely not disappointed. We chose Coldwater Cafe for our pre-concert dinner. It was a perfect beginning to a
memorable evening. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

As always Coldwater Cafe did not disappoint us. The service and food were excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The food was wonderful an unique... I love the fact that the menu is always changing. My favorite restaurant in the Dayton area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was great. This is the best restaurant in the Dayton area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our first visit. Was a great experience, but they had just run out of the pork meal which is the one meal we came for. We previewed the menu and decided to make the drive just for that meal. That was a disappointment. But server made up for it with free dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Awesome Place!! Celebrated our 20 Anniversary of the Day We Met!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The evening was very special. The waitress was excellent. The food was superb. The flowers I had ordered through the restaurant were beautifull. It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at the Coldwater Café a few times over the years and I thought it would be an excellent choice for a good meal to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary. They made our dinner special. The food was excellent and Sara did a great job as our waitress. If you are looking for a great meal, give Coldwater a try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 12, 2017

A really nice spot for an evening out; the ambiance is very nice, quiet enough to talk but not so quiet you are afraid to. The menu is spot on and the food is good. Cooked to perfection and well presented.
The service was just a tick off; certainly not bad but just a little inconsistent.
Our out of town guests were impressed and we will go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Always a special treat when we go to Coldwater. By far our favorite restaraunt because of ambiance, great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was, as always, excellent. It was my birthday dinner with my wife. Sarah, our waitress, will definitely be on our 'ask for' list. She was a pleasure to deal with.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A little pricy for a retired persons budget, but so worth the drive up from Centerville. The food and the service was wonderful. Thank you Terri. Can't eat here often due to cost. : (

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Food very good, great atmosphere. We have dined there for many years, still well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We were promptly seated on time, and the restaurant was already pretty full. Our server was responsive and we were not rushed. Cocktails first, and then later the appetizers. Dinner did not come out. After quite a wait, with no more food or drink on the table, the server dropped by to inform us that "dinner is on the way".. but what she really should have said is "we just found your order and are beginning to cook it now"... another 15 minutes goes by, and the entrees arrive. But, the fish was undercooked as they rushed out the plates. The undercooked salmon was dropped from the bill and they gave us a free dessert. So, no hard feelings, but we're not in a hurry to give them another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had an enjoyable birthday dinner! Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent service and menu selection! We will return.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We really enjoyed it. The only thing that could have been better was the she crab soup. It was recommended by a family member so we ordered it. It was terribly SALTY. We're eaten she crab soup many places, especially in Charleston SC. If we order it again @ Coldwater, we'll ask to taste first.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I have dined here on many occasions and it is always a treat. The restaurant is beautiful and cozy, and has many interesting nooks and details from being a historic building that was originally a bank. It is worth the 20min drive from Dayton, with the food, service and ambiance top notch. It is obvious the unique staff are polished professionals that truly care about their service. Many of them have been their for years and are happy to give guests tours or talk about the history of the cafe. It is always a interactive experience that we enjoy bringing out of town guests to enjoy. The evening manager Don is a wine expert and we love to hear his suggestions and watch him masterfully present and pour for our table. These extra service touches are what puts Coldwater Cafe above any place in the area!
Our server tonight was Kelly, and she wowed my teenage daughter with special touches like unfolding the napkin for her lap and describing what she was doing with silverware and plates, which my daughter enjoyed learning.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

THIS IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANTS. BEFORE YOU GO, YOU KNOW WHAT THE FOOD WILL BE LIKE AS THEY OPERATE TO A HIGH STANDARD. MIX THAT WITH GREAT SERVICE, AND GOOD DRINKS, IT JUST DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THAT! CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Tuna Tartar was OUTSTANDING! Our meal was wonderful. Finished it up with a tea cake-awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Manu is changed not any exotic food, service is still great but lot of new faces.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This was our second time dining here and we enjoyed it as much as the first. This time we were seated in the vault where the noise level is very low making it great for conversations. Everyone loved their drinks, meals, and deserts. And the prices are better than most comparable restaurants in big cities. It's hard to complain about this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Once again had a great dining experience at Coldwater Café - we had salmon and tilapia dinners which were both excellent and for dessert the blueberry cheesecake ice cream ! We always enjoy dining at our favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This upscale, intimate restaurant is an unexpected surprise in the small town of Tipp City. It has a small, but innovative, menu combined with excellent service. It's pricey, but a wonderful spot for celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Coldwater Cafe is a long standing favorite of mine. What a treat to have this incredible restaurant in my home town. Most recently lived in Chicago which is a food lovers paradise. I would put C0ldwater Cafe on a par with many of the fine dining restaurants there. But, they don't have the friendly, home town ambiance that Coldwater does. It is a gem!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We have visited the Coldwater Cafe in the past and it has become a favorite. We chose to celebrate our 53rd wedding anniversary there on August 15th. We had a delightful time! Our waitress was outstanding-friendly, personable, and helpful. Our food was excellent especially the strip steak, the green beans, the spinach, and the halibut. Food was cooked well and well-presented. The English tea cake with ice dream was superb! The atmosphere was quiet and allowed for great conversation. Coldwater Cafe is absolutely top tier!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great menu with interesting ingredients, service attentive, all round great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

First visit on our anniversary. Complimentary champagne toast and dessert! Loved our food and service was even better. Small rooms for service made the noise level a little energetic. However, a romantic candle light dinner was worth it!! Thanks Megan for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The flavor and the seasoning of the food was all excellent there were four of us. we had scallops, strip steak, strawberry salad, artichoke dip , carrot cake and Tea cake. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because while our salad came early our artichoke appetizer literally arrived with the meal. Service was excellent our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I had the scallops, which were wonderful, but would have liked 4 rather than three small scallops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very nice and great service!
The food was very good and had several choices.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 2, 2017

fourdiners, on a very busy Wednesday evening, good food, good service, one negative ..... the menu defined the new york strip as having "garlic roasted potatoes", mashed potatoes were sereved and our server did not see a problem. Cheers

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have eaten at Coldwater several times with friends from Tipp and loved it. I wanted to share this unique experience with friends, we drove from Centerville Ohio and they loved it. Bea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Coldwater Café is diamond in Tipp City. The food is gourmet but at a reasonable price. The service is impeccable. The ambiance is quaint and special. We drove from Mason Ohio to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was worth the drive. They made the evening so special from the table setting to the quality of the meal to the service. The steak is on par with any of Jeff Ruby's restaurants in Cincinnati This is one of our most favorite places.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Another fine dining experience. Dined twice in one week. First for lunch. Second time celebrated a birthday for dinner. Fantastic experiences! This is my favorite place to dine. The muscles appetizer is excellent!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.