About Coldwater Cafe & Catering

19 E Main Street
Tipp City, OH 45371
View Larger Map

This restaurant housed in a former bank building in the heart of downtown Tipp City offers quality dining in a small-town setting. The decor is warm and welcoming and is a delight for the senses. The fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere while the full bar allows patrons a relaxing stop while awaiting a fabulous meal. The inviting atmosphere encourages relaxed conversation. You may be surprised to find that a restaurant in such a small town has some rather sophisticated choices on the menu alongside your more normal fare, with entrees such as ostrich being offered. If you are looking for a decadent dessert, look no further than the butter-drenched English Tea Cake! An easy drive from all points in the Dayton area, words cannot do it justice. A visit is a must and will be the first of many.

Reservations accepted for dinner only.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Walk-In Only): Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner (Reservations Recommended): Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 667-0007

Website:
http://www.coldwater-cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz music consisting of guitar, keyboard and/or bass, mostly on weekends starting at 7:00 PM

Catering:
Coldwater Cafe & Catering is able to do events from 12-250. Coldwater can do anything from custom catering menus, standard catering menu or box lunches. We can design a menu for your special occasion or you can choose from our standard catering or box lunch menus.

Parking Details:
A newly-designed and landscaped parking lot is in the rear of the building. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Nick Hoover

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available for private dining, each with its own style and personality. We will work with you to create a personalized dining experience perfect for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Jenny Swigart: 9376670007x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Valentine’s Day we create a specialized menu for the evening. Chef Nick puts together a divine combination of entrees, sides, salads and desserts that are not offered together during the remainder of the year. Founder, Betty Peachey, creates an ambiance not to be missed with the dining room bathed only in candlelight. Reservations are recommended.

Restaurant Photos

  • Rhubarb Mojito
  • English Teacake With Butter Sauce
  • Chicken Pecan Salad Sandwich
Rhubarb Mojito
English Teacake With Butter Sauce
Chicken Pecan Salad Sandwich

Coldwater Cafe & Catering Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
11 More
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Dayton
Best Food
Dayton
Best Service
Dayton
Best Ambiance
Dayton
Best Value
Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Dayton
Special Occasion
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Tipp City ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (43)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first time dining at Coldwa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time dining at Coldwater and we were very happy with the experience. It was well worth the drive from Oakwood! Our dinner companions are frequent diners and recommend your restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This dining experience was terrific. Ev ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

This dining experience was terrific. Every member of our party was well satisfied with their meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions for value, to much filler ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Small portions for value, to much fillers in lobster cakes ( not happy with that)

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I have dined at Coldwater Ca ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Coldwater Cafe many times, often with family or friends, and have never had a meal we didn't thoroughly enjoy. This restaurant is worth a drive off the beaten path, for its quality food, pleasant atmosphere and cordial, efficient service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening and the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had a wonderful evening and the food was delicious. Two of us had the salmon and the other had the brie pasta with chicken and all were excellent. I particularly want to mention our server, Kelly, who was outstanding! She was friendly, professional and helpful. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent experience. Thank you ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Another excellent experience. Thank you Kelly and all the staff for helping make my wife's birthday dinner so wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cold Water Cafe is one of my husband and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Cold Water Cafe is one of my husband and my favorite places to dine. The food is exceptional. We love the ambience and decor. Another plus is the wonderful mellow jazz that is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings. A favorite of ours for sure! Kudos to the management and chef for a wonderful treasure of a restaurant in Tipp City!

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit 1-2 times a month. The drive fr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We visit 1-2 times a month. The drive from Miamisburg to Tipp is worth the trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food. Wonderful ambience. Made ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fabulous food. Wonderful ambience. Made us feel special. Will definitely return.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of my favorite places to ea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was one of my favorite places to eat, but after my last visit I hate to reconsider. I was served mussels with nine unopened, which means they are bad. Waitress relayed that these were not their regular mussels and would be taken off my bill. I went to eat not have things taken off of my bill. I ordered swordfish as an entree, with specific instructions to not over cook. They served a crispy critter that was so over prepared the edges of the fish were turned up. I could not choke it down. The waitress again agreed with me and offered to get me a new order, but my wife was finished eating so the offer was declined. It was removed from my bill. Happy birthday to me. McDonalds here I come!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value5

this is our go-to place to go after work ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

this is our go-to place to go after work, meeting friends and weekends. Try and eat there 3 or 4 times a month.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coldwater ALWAYS provides a great meal - ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Coldwater ALWAYS provides a great meal - what Nick and his staff have accomplished in creating unique, wonderful taste profiles as well as cooking to perfection, is amazing! We always leave smiling knowing we had a great meal prepared by people who really care about the entire experience. We love Coldwater Café!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly our favorite restaurant. We alwa ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Truly our favorite restaurant. We always share some appetizers and my husband typically will get the fish special. On this trip I had the filet (cooked to perfection) and our guests had the pasta and ahi tuna. The food never disappoints and the service is second to none. The watermelon martini was a delicious seasonal drink addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

never had better filet mignons excellen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

never had better filet mignons

excellent (!!) appetizer and salad

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for a very special evening ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went there for a very special evening, first time there. From the time we walked in, and all the way through the evening, the service, ambience, and attention the staff showed was excellent.

Definitely a special place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, nice set ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service, nice setting. Could not be any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening of food and live jazz. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fantastic evening of food and live jazz. Enjoyed dining in the old bank vault. I have been here several time and I am never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food cannot go wrong with any ite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food cannot go wrong with any item on the menu but the Crab cakes are always a winner..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

All 7 people were pleased with the food, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

All 7 people were pleased with the food,service and environment. I particularly was surprised how thick the tilapia was. Could you offer more sauce on the side at the time of ordering?

All were very impressed with the chocolate birthday cake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice if they would give you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It would be nice if they would give you the $$$pecial pricing for their specials up front!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love their salmon. Love Terry's service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love their salmon. Love Terry's service and being able to substitute our fav veggie selections from other dishes on the menu.

Great date night. Our fav go to for nice dinner date out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails to impress. We have visited ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Never fails to impress. We have visited Coldwater Café quite a number of times over the years and have always been very happy with the total experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Already recommended to many friends, rel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Already recommended to many friends, relayed that the service was awesome, food was great but a limited menu. We did find it to be a bit tight and the waiting area even tighter. The live music was great to hear in the background. Overall it was a great experience for our wedding anniversary, every year we look for some place new and this was one of the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, knowledgable and friendly ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing food, knowledgable and friendly staff. A little crowded and noisy, but exceptional food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The entire experience at Coldwater Cafe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The entire experience at Coldwater Cafe was amazing. Everything was delicious and the staff could not have been better. Everyone from waiters to the chef stopped by our table to say happy birthday. Our dinner was a truly fantastic experience and we cannot wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy going to Coldwater Cafe. T ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always enjoy going to Coldwater Cafe. The food is always deliecious, and having

always received great service. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a reliable restaurant for great f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always a reliable restaurant for great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always loved to have dinner here. Unfort ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always loved to have dinner here. Unfortunately they manage to change the menu, taking away some of my favorite meals. Wish they would bring back my favorites. The service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The lot was full but, on street patking ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The lot was full but, on street patking was pretty easy. The jazz music is a real pleasure and adds greatly to the overall ambiance. Our waitress was a familiar face that we were happy to see again. This is probably the most consistently above average restaurant we have found.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coldwater Café is a wonderful food exper ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Coldwater Café is a wonderful food experience. We were seated in the vault, nice and quiet.

The food was excellent and prepared as well. Our service was great. Their bread was fantastic.

We have dined here before in the old location and were pleased as well. Their newer facilities are very inviting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening very much. It was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much. It was our 53rd. anniversary and the staff treated us like we were the king and queen of the world. The food was great and the service was better. If anyone is looking for a romantic evening out and wonderful meal, this is the place to go. Thanks for such a lovely evening. Looking forward to dine there again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EVERYTHING was amazing- the homemade dre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

EVERYTHING was amazing- the homemade dressing/sauces!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was wonderful and very atten ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was wonderful and very attentive. We tried a bottle of wine that was delicious. We had a cheese plate with bread and crackers that had 3 types of cheese. Our server explained all 3 types of cheese. We had salads and seafood as our main entrée. I had scallops which was a daily special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite place to eat!!!!!! The food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our favorite place to eat!!!!!! The food is always wonderful. The entire staff is great.

We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find in tipp city

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

First let me mention that they bring out salted focaccia bread that was very addictive. Its not made in house, but when bread tastes that good, I don’t care where it comes from.

There were so many things that sounded good on the menu that I wanted to try but I settled on the grilled swordfish. Its well known that I am a carnivore, but I wanted to go in a different direction and be a little more healthy for a chance, hence the swordfish. And I am glad I did. Swordfish is a thick, meaty fish and it was cooked very well and was very tasty. It originally came with green beans and bok choy. Since bok choy was one too many veggies for me, I switched it out for the yukon gold mashed potatoes and they were velvety and well seasoned and delicious. I have attached pics so that you could get a visual. Not to mention as I ate I even hummed which is always a sign that something is delicious. I of course had to taste the meals of my friends too and I have to say that I would have been happy with any one of those dishes as well. One friend had the grilled pork chop and the other had brie pasta w/ shrimp. Once again I say, they were all good., Coldwater Café did lose points on the dessert. Because I was trying to up my potassium levels, I decided to go with the banana cream pie. I was somewhat disappointment with it. It really didn’t have a banana taste. Although the crust was very good and the whipped topping was sweetened, the pudding part itself tasted pretty neutral. It didn’t even taste like vanilla. And there is a strong possibility in my opinion that the bananas were not ripe enough. I didn’t try the key lime pie, but was told it was good but very rich. The carrot cake nice and moist, but something was a little off with the icing. Perhaps I should have stuck with their signature dessert which is an english tea cake w/ butter rum sauce…mental note for next time.

All in all, it was a great dining experience and I definitely plan on going there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Restaurant!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Server was outstanding! Super attentive, extra friendly, extremely knowledgable and food superb!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, excellent service, great ambiance

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I visited Coldwater Cafe to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary. I made reservations for a Thursday evening using Open Table. We arrived about fifteen minutes early but were seated immediately. The only negative I can say about the experience is that we were seated next to a service bar. I had hoped with a reservation we might get a better table, but it wasn't a huge deal.

We both ordered the filet which came out cooked to a perfect medium. The mashed potatoes and asparagus were also quite delicious and the serving sizes were decent. My husband ordered a house salad which came with a cucumber dill dressing. Without having been asked to do so, our server brought me a cup of the dressing and suggested I try it with the already outstanding rosemary bread. The combination was great! The manager stopped by our table and wished us a happy anniversary and chatted for a few moments before our food arrived; he also checked on us while we were eating. After dinner our server brought us a complimentary dessert to split.

After having such a great dinner experience we're interested in returning for lunch someday soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We frequent Coldwater Cafe often, while we usually enjoy one of the varied fish selections, or the Daily Special, we ordered the Filet Mignon. It was an excellent choice, undoubtedly one of the best if not the best steak ever, and we have dined at Morton's, Shula's, Jeff Ruby's and many others. The excellent food was accompanied by impeccable service from our server Kelly, who always does an amazing job. A special thanks to Chef Nick for his hospitality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love...love this place. Food & service are great!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Also have a great on-line reservations that is the best I'vI've used.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is very nice and good food, we ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The place is very nice and good food, we had a nice bottle of wine and a good meal. We were never rushed and the service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.