About Coldwater Cafe & Catering

19 E Main Street
Tipp City, OH 45371
View Larger Map

This restaurant housed in a former bank building in the heart of downtown Tipp City offers quality dining in a small-town setting. The decor is warm and welcoming and is a delight for the senses. The fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere while the full bar allows patrons a relaxing stop while awaiting a fabulous meal. The inviting atmosphere encourages relaxed conversation. You may be surprised to find that a restaurant in such a small town has some rather sophisticated choices on the menu alongside your more normal fare, with entrees such as ostrich being offered. If you are looking for a decadent dessert, look no further than the butter-drenched English Tea Cake! An easy drive from all points in the Dayton area, words cannot do it justice. A visit is a must and will be the first of many.

Reservations accepted for dinner only.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Walk-In Only): Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner (Reservations Recommended): Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 667-0007

Website:
http://www.coldwater-cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz music consisting of guitar, keyboard and/or bass, mostly on weekends starting at 7:00 PM

Catering:
Coldwater Cafe & Catering is able to do events from 12-250. Coldwater can do anything from custom catering menus, standard catering menu or box lunches. We can design a menu for your special occasion or you can choose from our standard catering or box lunch menus.

Parking Details:
A newly-designed and landscaped parking lot is in the rear of the building. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Nick Hoover

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available for private dining, each with its own style and personality. We will work with you to create a personalized dining experience perfect for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Jenny Swigart: 9376670007x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Valentine’s Day we create a specialized menu for the evening. Chef Nick puts together a divine combination of entrees, sides, salads and desserts that are not offered together during the remainder of the year. Founder, Betty Peachey, creates an ambiance not to be missed with the dining room bathed only in candlelight. Reservations are recommended.

Restaurant Photos

  • Rhubarb Mojito - Coldwater Cafe & Catering, Tipp City, OH
  • English Teacake With Butter Sauce - Coldwater Cafe & Catering, Tipp City, OH
  • Chicken Pecan Salad Sandwich - Coldwater Cafe & Catering, Tipp City, OH
Rhubarb Mojito - Coldwater Cafe & Catering, Tipp City, OH
English Teacake With Butter Sauce - Coldwater Cafe & Catering, Tipp City, OH
Chicken Pecan Salad Sandwich - Coldwater Cafe & Catering, Tipp City, OH

Coldwater Cafe & Catering Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
9 More
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Dayton
Best Food
Dayton
Best Service
Dayton
Best Ambiance
Dayton
Best Value
Dayton
Special Occasion
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Tipp City ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Private Room (9)
Historic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (6)
Live Music (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fireplace (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The filet was delicious!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The filet was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is always epic at this place. Best ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is always epic at this place. Best dining in the Dayton area. If the ostrich is offered, it is the best dish I have had at any restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent overall experience. Ostrich w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent overall experience. Ostrich was cooked perfectly, the English tea cake is wonderful buttery goodness.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The 27th anniversary of meeting my love. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The 27th anniversary of meeting my love... We chose to celebrate at Coldwater Cafe. What a great decision. Excellent, friendly, attentive service. Several outstanding wine choices and cocktails to start. Interesting menu with creative use of standard fare - pork chops with risotto, green beans cooked perfectly with bacon and dried tomatoes, scallops cooked so well they retain their buttery flavor. Only concern was the beef filet - overcooked a bit from medium (requested) to medium well (received).

Desserts looked lovely and are constantly changing as is the rest of the menu. We had better dessert at home so we did not order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the vault room. The staff was so f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Loved the vault room. The staff was so friendly with great recommendations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Menu, Small Town Charm The Cold Wa ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Menu, Small Town Charm

The Cold Water Cafe' will make you feel right at home.

They have a great assortment of entrees on their menu.

Highly recommend for a date night, evening w friends, or a business meal.

Have the Tea Cake for dessert and thank me later. Hard to describe but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a real gem. Quaint small town. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is a real gem. Quaint small town. Restaurant is in an old bank building in the downtown. Live 2 piece string music on Fridays and Saturdays starting at 7pm. The food and service are always excellent. The servers make you feel special. It is always a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great ambiance, atten ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service, great ambiance, attentive staff and delicious food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service--best restaura ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food, great service--best restaurant between Dayton and Lima

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very wonderful evening of food, wine, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A very wonderful evening of food, wine, and music. To top it off our waiter, Darren, was very knowledgeable and attentive. Try the chocolate moose cake, great with a Cabernet or a Banil (spelling?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coldwater cafe was a very nice surprise ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Coldwater cafe was a very nice surprise for us in the quaint little town of Tipp City.

The decor is beautiful . . . kind of French Country, and the ambiance was very romantic.

We got a booth up front which was styled and felt like a tavern booth; very quaint.

My wife got the filet mignon, which was a gorgeously thick and lean cut; cooked perfectly. I got the halibut with a lobster and crab crust. It was delicious. Never had a more better cooked fish filet. Our server, Jill, was simply wonderful; very kind and attentive; service as it should be.

A very good dining experience. The only negative is the noise level up front. With many diners, it was quite loud. Not sure what they could do to solve this, unless it is to put some fabric on the ceiling; consulting a sound specialist would be wise. It was hard for my wife and I to talk, even in our private booth. All in all though, it was a very nice evening and we would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there many times. Good wise ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have been there many times. Good wise it was. Probably my least favorite meal. I had a ny strip and although a nice thick cut - it was very tough to cut and more grissle than I would expect. Osterich was a nice alternative for my wife.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Always a nice night at Coldwater Cafe. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Always a nice night at Coldwater Cafe. We live in nearby so we go there often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first time to the Coldwater ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was our first time to the Coldwater Cafe. Several of our friends love it, so we decided to try it out. The food was delicious (I had the salmon, my husband had the walleye special). Our server was exceptional (I wish I could remember her name). Interesting decor. Great experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prime rib was the toughest piece of ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The prime rib was the toughest piece of beef I have ever been served. Server ask if I wanted a replacement. Then offered to fix one for carryout. When the check came, they took off 50% of the price of the prime rib. It was a very disappointing evening. No replacement for carryout.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Coldwater Cafe is our 'go to' restaurant ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Coldwater Cafe is our 'go to' restaurant for special occasions; birthdays, anniversary, out of town guests , etc. This restaurant is a hidden gem in the Dayton, OH area. Food and service is exceptional!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Coldwa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was our first time dining at Coldwater and we were very happy with the experience. It was well worth the drive from Oakwood! Our dinner companions are frequent diners and recommend your restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This dining experience was terrific. Ev ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This dining experience was terrific. Every member of our party was well satisfied with their meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions for value, to much filler ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Small portions for value, to much fillers in lobster cakes ( not happy with that)

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I have dined at Coldwater Ca ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Coldwater Cafe many times, often with family or friends, and have never had a meal we didn't thoroughly enjoy. This restaurant is worth a drive off the beaten path, for its quality food, pleasant atmosphere and cordial, efficient service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening and the food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had a wonderful evening and the food was delicious. Two of us had the salmon and the other had the brie pasta with chicken and all were excellent. I particularly want to mention our server, Kelly, who was outstanding! She was friendly, professional and helpful. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent experience. Thank you ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Another excellent experience. Thank you Kelly and all the staff for helping make my wife's birthday dinner so wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cold Water Cafe is one of my husband and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Cold Water Cafe is one of my husband and my favorite places to dine. The food is exceptional. We love the ambience and decor. Another plus is the wonderful mellow jazz that is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings. A favorite of ours for sure! Kudos to the management and chef for a wonderful treasure of a restaurant in Tipp City!

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit 1-2 times a month. The drive fr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We visit 1-2 times a month. The drive from Miamisburg to Tipp is worth the trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food. Wonderful ambience. Made ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fabulous food. Wonderful ambience. Made us feel special. Will definitely return.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of my favorite places to ea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was one of my favorite places to eat, but after my last visit I hate to reconsider. I was served mussels with nine unopened, which means they are bad. Waitress relayed that these were not their regular mussels and would be taken off my bill. I went to eat not have things taken off of my bill. I ordered swordfish as an entree, with specific instructions to not over cook. They served a crispy critter that was so over prepared the edges of the fish were turned up. I could not choke it down. The waitress again agreed with me and offered to get me a new order, but my wife was finished eating so the offer was declined. It was removed from my bill. Happy birthday to me. McDonalds here I come!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value5

this is our go-to place to go after work ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2016

this is our go-to place to go after work, meeting friends and weekends. Try and eat there 3 or 4 times a month.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coldwater ALWAYS provides a great meal - ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Coldwater ALWAYS provides a great meal - what Nick and his staff have accomplished in creating unique, wonderful taste profiles as well as cooking to perfection, is amazing! We always leave smiling knowing we had a great meal prepared by people who really care about the entire experience. We love Coldwater Café!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly our favorite restaurant. We alwa ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Truly our favorite restaurant. We always share some appetizers and my husband typically will get the fish special. On this trip I had the filet (cooked to perfection) and our guests had the pasta and ahi tuna. The food never disappoints and the service is second to none. The watermelon martini was a delicious seasonal drink addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

never had better filet mignons excellen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 31, 2016

never had better filet mignons

excellent (!!) appetizer and salad

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for a very special evening ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went there for a very special evening, first time there. From the time we walked in, and all the way through the evening, the service, ambience, and attention the staff showed was excellent.

Definitely a special place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, nice set ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service, nice setting. Could not be any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening of food and live jazz. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fantastic evening of food and live jazz. Enjoyed dining in the old bank vault. I have been here several time and I am never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food cannot go wrong with any ite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food cannot go wrong with any item on the menu but the Crab cakes are always a winner..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

All 7 people were pleased with the food, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 23, 2016

All 7 people were pleased with the food,service and environment. I particularly was surprised how thick the tilapia was. Could you offer more sauce on the side at the time of ordering?

All were very impressed with the chocolate birthday cake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice if they would give you ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It would be nice if they would give you the $$$pecial pricing for their specials up front!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love their salmon. Love Terry's service ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love their salmon. Love Terry's service and being able to substitute our fav veggie selections from other dishes on the menu.

Great date night. Our fav go to for nice dinner date out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails to impress. We have visited ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Never fails to impress. We have visited Coldwater Café quite a number of times over the years and have always been very happy with the total experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Already recommended to many friends, rel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Already recommended to many friends, relayed that the service was awesome, food was great but a limited menu. We did find it to be a bit tight and the waiting area even tighter. The live music was great to hear in the background. Overall it was a great experience for our wedding anniversary, every year we look for some place new and this was one of the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, knowledgable and friendly ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing food, knowledgable and friendly staff. A little crowded and noisy, but exceptional food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.