About Coldwater Cafe & Catering

19 E Main Street
Tipp City, OH 45371
View Larger Map

This restaurant housed in a former bank building in the heart of downtown Tipp City offers quality dining in a small-town setting. The decor is warm and welcoming and is a delight for the senses. The fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere while the full bar allows patrons a relaxing stop while awaiting a fabulous meal. The inviting atmosphere encourages relaxed conversation. You may be surprised to find that a restaurant in such a small town has some rather sophisticated choices on the menu alongside your more normal fare, with entrees such as ostrich being offered. If you are looking for a decadent dessert, look no further than the butter-drenched English Tea Cake! An easy drive from all points in the Dayton area, words cannot do it justice. A visit is a must and will be the first of many.

Reservations accepted for dinner only.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Walk-In Only): Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner (Reservations Recommended): Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 667-0007

Website:
http://www.coldwater-cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz music consisting of guitar, keyboard and/or bass, mostly on weekends starting at 7:00 PM

Catering:
Coldwater Cafe & Catering is able to do events from 12-250. Coldwater can do anything from custom catering menus, standard catering menu or box lunches. We can design a menu for your special occasion or you can choose from our standard catering or box lunch menus.

Parking Details:
A newly-designed and landscaped parking lot is in the rear of the building. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Nick Hoover

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available for private dining, each with its own style and personality. We will work with you to create a personalized dining experience perfect for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Jenny Swigart: (937) 667-0007

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Valentine’s Day we create a specialized menu for the evening. Chef Nick puts together a divine combination of entrees, sides, salads and desserts that are not offered together during the remainder of the year. Founder, Betty Peachey, creates an ambiance not to be missed with the dining room bathed only in candlelight. Reservations are recommended.

Coldwater Cafe & Catering Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Private Room (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fireplace (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Live Music (12)
Historic (12)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and food as usual. We so enjoy Coldwater Cafe. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Food and Great Ambiance. This is a place to take a loved one for a romantic dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

In spite of reservations we have to wait at least another thirty minutes and most of all this is not the first time happened. They have to do bettet job so that customers don't have to wait another 30 to 40 minutes for food.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love our experiences at Coldwater Cafe'! We have been eating at this restaurant 5 to 10 times per year for more than 10 years and have never been disappointed. They have a creative menu that changes from time to time to make it interesting. This is fine dining at a very fair price. Have eaten at 5 star restaurants all over the world, and would prefer the food at Coldwater above all others. The restaurant is owned and operated by the Chef, who takes a very personal interest in the diners as well as the food. No question, the only place we go when we are looking for an outstanding meal in a lovely setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Latest of many Valentine dinners at Coldwater. My wife and I have had many enjoyable and wonderful meals on Valentines day, Mothers Day Brunch, as well as many other lunches , wine tastings and dinners. Nick's executive chef Katie Fisher is a wonder in the kitchen. Hidden gem in our area. We have been eating at Coldwater Cafe for about 22 years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I absolutely LOVE Cold Water Cafe. It is a favorite place that we often frequent! The ambiance is warm and inviting. The food is always excellent. The servers are very knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. We particularly also enjoy that they offer mellow jazz on Friday and Saturday evenings. We have never had a bad experience there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Amazing food and great service. My husband always gets the fresh fish special. I don't remember what the special was, but he thoroughly enjoyed it. I enjoy the lemon drop martini and the tea cakes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waited well past our reservation time. Manager made up for it though with a free cheese plate. From that point on service was excellent. Food was wonderful and so was service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is a great place to have a excellent meal, either lunch or dinner. The food is excellent, the price is a great value for an excellent meal and the service is exceptional. One of the top five restaurants in the Dayton area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It has always been a favorite and the Lobster "CrabCakes" which are great.

Be clear on your protein doneness... My wife's steak was very rare and was requested as medium. It had to be refired.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is a very nice restaurant in the center of Tipp City. The food is always great, it would be nice to change up the menu a little more ofter or add additional specials. They did a very nice job of making our table special with white table cloth, black napkins and beautiful silver and black chargers... even a candle! Thanks all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Coldwater Cafe meets the expectations of higher end dining by actually having high quality meats/entrees in interesting presentations accompanied by unique sides.

If trying to impress a client or a special someone, definitely the place to go north of Dayton.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service. They offer a nice selection of gluten-free for my wife.

Never had a bad experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a great menu. We drive here for special occasions. Good wine list. Good bartender.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food and service! Enjoyed the live music. We like the front part of the restaurant more than the vault area.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food, service, and ambience were absolutely outstanding! Definitely a place we will continue to visit in the future!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place! Makes an evening a special memory

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

First class service and great chef. A must visit when in Dayton Ohio area.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our kids are grown, so we eat out a lot. Cold water Cafe is our favorite place !

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was the best dinner experience that I have ever had! We were celebrating an anniversary and they made our evening so special and romantic! Everyone was super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Can't wait to go back and try more delicious food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a fresh menu and always executed with art-full quality. It is the constant evolution of this menu that keeps me coming back again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was New Year's Eve and my sister bday. The food was great, service was good, and everyone was nice and helpful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful meal. The carrot soup with peanuts was probably the best soup I've ever had and my salmon was perfectly done with a sauce that is out of this world. My husband said his pasta was delicious as well. Terry was an expert server--very professional and friendly. The hostess was clearing a table nearby and noticed that the noise level from the private boardroom across the hall was quite loud so she shut the door to the Vault where we were dining and that made all the difference. It was quite nice that she did this without being prompted by any of the diners in our room. We highly recommend Coldwater for a truly special dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was our first visit, and will certainly not be our last! What a great experience! We dined with friends and all the food was awesome...sea bass, pasta, scallops, and mussels, all perfectly prepared. Deviled egg appetizer was amazing. My wife and I love mussels and have had them many places. These were the best. Very nice wine selection. Deron our server was outstanding as well, knowledgeable, helpful on food and wine. The restaurant is in an old bank, so the vault is one dining room and the rest was quit, comfortable and intimate. Exploring some of the shops in downtown Tipp City was an unexpected plus as well!

GO TO COLDWATER CAFE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Really like this place from past experience. Returned for anniversary dinner, food was great! Didn't see grass fed beef this time? Which is important to us and would love to see this. A little disappointed because out cheese and fruit appetizer had bad grapes on it and my wine glass was dirty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful date night with my husband of 30 years. So beautifully decorated in a historic building

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My wife and I have found our newest favorite restaurant. We were seated very shortly after arriving and as we were dressed up was asked if we were celebrating. Yes, anniversary number 47. It wasn't long before the entire staff had heard. We were offered complimentary Champaign along with lots of congrats. The meal was wonderful, service exemplary and the experience topped off a perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, off the charts service, delicious food! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food and service both wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Outstanding service, fantastic meal, the wine recommendations as always were exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The evening was great as usual. My steak was better than I have had in Chicago. The new Kale salad and wedge are very good. The bread basket is a plus.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

been a patron for years and I don't live close, very nice friendly staff, wonderful food, a great variety and it just doesn't get any better than Nick and Katie

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Have eaten at Coldwater Cafe more than a dozen times and it does not disappoint. The cocktails and wines are delicious. Their mussels appetizer I would put up against anywhere in the country especially with the sea salt rosemary bread.

Scallops were delicious. The ragout special was devoured by my husband.

We were seated immediately and were attended to well through our dining experience. As always- we will be back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Private Room, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent cuisine and service. 5 star! Beautiful decor. Superb coffee and desserts too.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 14, 2016

we did enjoy our time there. this was a group from work and we have been doing this for 15yrs or more. some have retired but we still get together for our Christmas dinner. it was very nice in the vault although we had a back table and a big party was right in front of us and very loud. it was hard for us to talk so everyone could hear but they were having a good time. thank you for your service and everyone was very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I have always had a good experience at Coldwater Cafe. Their food is excellent. It is also a great place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food, lovely atmosphere, good service. A thoroughly enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was THE BEST experience I had at a restaurant for a very long time. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was perfect and calming. The quote of the night was "I would rather go out less often but spend more when I do go out to a good restaurant".

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Once again we had a wonderful experience! Our server was outstanding and she went over and above making our dinner tops. You don't need to travel far when you have excellent local fare like Coldwater!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We go to Coldwater three times a year for special occasions and have always been extremely pleased. Tuesday we were seated in the vault with a large table of twelve to fourteen beside us. The normal pleasant ambiance was lost completely. We had difficulty talking or enjoying what was a usual outstanding meal. The service was not up to standard and we felt ignored for long periods of time. Obviously I should have requested to be reseated. My mistake. We will go back, but the vault will be off limits.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Best Restaurant in the Dayton area. Excellent food and staff! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is a nice restaurant. My wife and I have been there a couple of times. We really liked the food, service, and warm atmosphere. It's a bit pricy though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Kelly was our server and she was excellent!

We would order New York strip the next time without the maple flavoring - not to our liking. The compound butter is MUCH better. The calamari and Rib Eye steaks are some of our favorite -we would like to see them on the menu.

The house salad used to be included in the meal price. I think that overall the cost is a little pricey for Tipp City.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful food. The unique dishes here are amazing. I had the red deer and my wife had the lamb special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Coldwater is by far one of our favorite restaurants in the Dayton area. We are always excited to bring our friends and family here. A definite place you need to put on your must visit list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The filet was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is always epic at this place. Best dining in the Dayton area. If the ostrich is offered, it is the best dish I have had at any restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent overall experience. Ostrich was cooked perfectly, the English tea cake is wonderful buttery goodness.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The 27th anniversary of meeting my love... We chose to celebrate at Coldwater Cafe. What a great decision. Excellent, friendly, attentive service. Several outstanding wine choices and cocktails to start. Interesting menu with creative use of standard fare - pork chops with risotto, green beans cooked perfectly with bacon and dried tomatoes, scallops cooked so well they retain their buttery flavor. Only concern was the beef filet - overcooked a bit from medium (requested) to medium well (received).

Desserts looked lovely and are constantly changing as is the rest of the menu. We had better dessert at home so we did not order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.