Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Coldwater Cafe & Catering

This restaurant housed in a former bank building in the heart of downtown Tipp City offers quality dining in a small-town setting. The decor is warm and welcoming and is a delight for the senses. The fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere while the full bar allows patrons a relaxing stop while awaiting a fabulous meal. The inviting atmosphere encourages relaxed conversation. You may be surprised to find that a restaurant in such a small town has some rather sophisticated choices on the menu alongside your more normal fare, with entrees such as ostrich being offered. If you are looking for a decadent dessert, look no further than the butter-drenched English Tea Cake! An easy drive from all points in the Dayton area, words cannot do it justice. A visit is a must and will be the first of many.

Reservations accepted for dinner only.

19 E Main Street
Tipp City, OH 45371
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Walk-In Only): Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner (Reservations Recommended): Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 667-0007

Website:
http://www.coldwater-cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz music consisting of guitar, keyboard and/or bass, mostly on weekends starting at 7:00 PM

Catering:
Coldwater Cafe & Catering is able to do events from 12-250. Coldwater can do anything from custom catering menus, standard catering menu or box lunches. We can design a menu for your special occasion or you can choose from our standard catering or box lunch menus.

Parking Details:
A newly-designed and landscaped parking lot is in the rear of the building. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Nick Hoover

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available for private dining, each with its own style and personality. We will work with you to create a personalized dining experience perfect for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Jenny Swigart: (937) 667-0007

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Valentine’s Day we create a specialized menu for the evening. Chef Nick puts together a divine combination of entrees, sides, salads and desserts that are not offered together during the remainder of the year. Founder, Betty Peachey, creates an ambiance not to be missed with the dining room bathed only in candlelight. Reservations are recommended.

Coldwater Cafe & Catering Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (25)
Romantic (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Live Music (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Casual (9)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

The Tuna Tartar was OUTSTANDING! Our meal was wonderful. Finished it up with a tea cake-awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Manu is changed not any exotic food, service is still great but lot of new faces.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time dining here and we enjoyed it as much as the first. This time we were seated in the vault where the noise level is very low making it great for conversations. Everyone loved their drinks, meals, and deserts. And the prices are better than most comparable restaurants in big cities. It's hard to complain about this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Coldwater Cafe is a long standing favorite of mine. What a treat to have this incredible restaurant in my home town. Most recently lived in Chicago which is a food lovers paradise. I would put C0ldwater Cafe on a par with many of the fine dining restaurants there. But, they don't have the friendly, home town ambiance that Coldwater does. It is a gem!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We have visited the Coldwater Cafe in the past and it has become a favorite. We chose to celebrate our 53rd wedding anniversary there on August 15th. We had a delightful time! Our waitress was outstanding-friendly, personable, and helpful. Our food was excellent especially the strip steak, the green beans, the spinach, and the halibut. Food was cooked well and well-presented. The English tea cake with ice dream was superb! The atmosphere was quiet and allowed for great conversation. Coldwater Cafe is absolutely top tier!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great menu with interesting ingredients, service attentive, all round great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

First visit on our anniversary. Complimentary champagne toast and dessert! Loved our food and service was even better. Small rooms for service made the noise level a little energetic. However, a romantic candle light dinner was worth it!! Thanks Megan for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The flavor and the seasoning of the food was all excellent there were four of us. we had scallops, strip steak, strawberry salad, artichoke dip , carrot cake and Tea cake. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because while our salad came early our artichoke appetizer literally arrived with the meal. Service was excellent our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I had the scallops, which were wonderful, but would have liked 4 rather than three small scallops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very nice and great service!
The food was very good and had several choices.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 2, 2017

fourdiners, on a very busy Wednesday evening, good food, good service, one negative ..... the menu defined the new york strip as having "garlic roasted potatoes", mashed potatoes were sereved and our server did not see a problem. Cheers

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have eaten at Coldwater several times with friends from Tipp and loved it. I wanted to share this unique experience with friends, we drove from Centerville Ohio and they loved it. Bea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Coldwater Café is diamond in Tipp City. The food is gourmet but at a reasonable price. The service is impeccable. The ambiance is quaint and special. We drove from Mason Ohio to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was worth the drive. They made the evening so special from the table setting to the quality of the meal to the service. The steak is on par with any of Jeff Ruby's restaurants in Cincinnati This is one of our most favorite places.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Another fine dining experience. Dined twice in one week. First for lunch. Second time celebrated a birthday for dinner. Fantastic experiences! This is my favorite place to dine. The muscles appetizer is excellent!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Quality food, great atmosphere. Service was not up to its usual standards. Waitress was pleasant but long waits for food to be served. And she seemed rushed. Would not hesitate to go back or recommend. Lucky to have such a quality restaurant north of town.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful food, nice atmosphere. Great service. Lovely evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Love dining at Coldwater, always a wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Execellent meal. Had prime rib special - mushroom soup and crab cake . Was my 50th birthday. Was not hungry fir desert but sent a few desert home with me anyway- very nice. Great for Amy occasion .

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Live Music, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We do not live it the area but we have family in Vandalia. We use Coldwater as our home base for dining. I travel extensively and have the opportunity to dine at many great restaurants in cities like New York and Chicago. I would rate Coldwater with in my top 5 dining experiences on a consistent basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Highly recommend Coldwater Café!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

4 year wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Nice restaurant!! Beautiful building, delicious, fresh food, and excellent service. We look forward to eating there again!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent as always! Service was over the top and special requests were granted. I love Coldwater Cafe.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful! Everything was just wonderful! From our drinks to our final bite of dessert! We enjoyed every single thing we ordered and everyone raved over their choices.
We will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were celebrating my parents 70th anniversary. They don't like loud restaurants, although I did not request their board room, that's where we were and it was perfect. We could talk and have our celebration without anyone else even knowing. The waiter was terrific and fun, great sense of humor and service second to none. I highly recommend Coldwater Cafe. They also do a very special evening for children turning 13.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was great. Kelly was taking care of us. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I have been here several times but the menu rarely changes. Would be nice to have the option of baked potato with the steak, for example. It's gotten boring. We were celebrating my birthday, though we didn't make it known, as I don't like a fuss. But this night was ruined because it took forever to get our food. At one point the waitress came by and said she just checked and our entrees would be out soon. She actually sounded like she was blaming us for the delay because my husband ordered the lime cilantro chicken and since it's "half a chicken the chef wants to make sure it's done". And also I ordered my filet with very little pink showing so that takes longer - come on! We weren't born yesterday. My steak might take 3-4 minutes longer! And his chicken wasn't completely done anyway. It was dark pink inside sf the bone. He didn't send it back as we'd already been there 2 hours. They should have started cooking earlier if they thought the chicke would take so long. They weren't that crowded. They wee also out of their special, Chilean sea bass that my husband ordered first. Who runs out of their special st 7:30 on a Saturday evening? Just a big disappointment overall. We won't be back anytime soon. My husband wanted to treat me for my birthday (and cheer me up after surgery 4 days earlier) and he felt like he should have taken me somewhere else. The best thing was the jazz duo.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Everything was fantastic--from the food to the service. Our main dishes, steak and haddock was delicious and the last bite was every bit as good as the first bite. The salads we ordered was crisp and also quite tasty. My husband and I shared a cup of soup and would definitely order the soup again. We were too stuffed to eat dessert at the restaurant, so we took a piece of the English Tea cake home and had it the next day. Again, it was great. Lastly, our waitress gave good recommendations and service. We will definitely go back for a special occasion. We may have to make up some special occasion to go back more often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I had been to Coldwater once before and really wanted to go back. It was wine down Wednesday, so I wanted to take advantage of that. The fresh bread is delicious. I was looking forward to the scallops, but when they came, they smelled really fishy. Both my friend and I ordered the same thing and we sent it back. Our replacement dishes were much better. Of course I had to order the cherry almond bread pudding, which is quite tasty. Definitely will go back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food and service was great as always! I really wish you could sit on the roof for dinner though!! I love sitting outside in the summer months, and if I had known we wouldn't be able to sit outdoors, I likely would've chosen somewhere else to eat dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Wedding Anniversary was special with a candle light dinner. Staff was friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great food! Great service! A bit noisy but otherwise overall nice experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful menu, we had the scallops over creamy polenta, amazing flavor! Dessert is a must, English tea cake is worth the calories. Good wine list. Nice music in the bar! Local favorite, so reservation are suggested.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I had the wedge and the muscles. I love muscles when they are done correctly, these were supurb. I'd highly recommend CWC for fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a fantastic date night and the food and drinks were great. Service was especially great both at the bar and our table

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Had a business dinner with a group from South Korea. The food was fantastic, the Boardroom perfect for our group of 8, and our server took great care of us. She was very helpful to our friends from overseas!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Coldwater is one of my favorite restaurants in the Dayton area. I love taking friends and family there when they come to visit. The food is always good. I haven't had anything I didn't like.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We have eaten here many times but tonight was probably the worst service I have ever had at a restaurant. I don't know if the waitress forgot to put in our order or what but other diners around us who arrived at the same time were finished with their entrees and we had not even gotten our appetizers. We had tried to get the waitress to come over but she totally ignored us. We finally had to find the manager to get service. It was over an hour until we finally got an appetizer and salads. The manager had told us he would come back and check to see how things were going but we never saw him again. However, once we did get our entrees everything tasted good.
I guess the manager and waitress were having a bad day. Luckily, the kitchen staff/ chef were not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My party of 3 had a wonderful dinner experience at Coldwater Cafe. Service was excellent, Entrees were delicious. Filet minion was excellent as was the Salmon, artichoke appetizer with pita chips was also excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.