Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Coldwater Cafe & Catering

This restaurant housed in a former bank building in the heart of downtown Tipp City offers quality dining in a small-town setting. The decor is warm and welcoming and is a delight for the senses. The fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere while the full bar allows patrons a relaxing stop while awaiting a fabulous meal. The inviting atmosphere encourages relaxed conversation. You may be surprised to find that a restaurant in such a small town has some rather sophisticated choices on the menu alongside your more normal fare, with entrees such as ostrich being offered. If you are looking for a decadent dessert, look no further than the butter-drenched English Tea Cake! An easy drive from all points in the Dayton area, words cannot do it justice. A visit is a must and will be the first of many.

Reservations accepted for dinner only.

19 E Main Street
Tipp City, OH 45371
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Walk-In Only): Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner (Reservations Recommended): Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 667-0007

Website:
http://www.coldwater-cafe.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz music consisting of guitar, keyboard and/or bass, mostly on weekends starting at 7:00 PM

Catering:
Coldwater Cafe & Catering is able to do events from 12-250. Coldwater can do anything from custom catering menus, standard catering menu or box lunches. We can design a menu for your special occasion or you can choose from our standard catering or box lunch menus.

Parking Details:
A newly-designed and landscaped parking lot is in the rear of the building. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Nick Hoover

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available for private dining, each with its own style and personality. We will work with you to create a personalized dining experience perfect for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Jenny Swigart: (937) 667-0007

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Valentine’s Day we create a specialized menu for the evening. Chef Nick puts together a divine combination of entrees, sides, salads and desserts that are not offered together during the remainder of the year. Founder, Betty Peachey, creates an ambiance not to be missed with the dining room bathed only in candlelight. Reservations are recommended.

Coldwater Cafe & Catering Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fireplace (11)
Business Meals (10)
Private Room (10)
Historic (10)
Live Music (8)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

Awesome food and service. Great dessert. Tea cake. Highly recommend

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

It was the most wonderful evening. The food was phenomenal, atmosphere and service were great. They seated us immediately and we enjoyed a very special evening for our wedding anniversary. Thank you for the wonderful evening. Will be back soon! Thanks to our waitress for the great service. Kathy

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at Coldwater Café. The food is routinely excellent, but be prepared for the pricing. You pay to play here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Coldwater Cafe was AMAZING! Well worth the price. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We've been here several times and have never had a bad meal of bad time here. The menu is not huge but whatever you get, you can be sure it will be good and cooked the way you asked. Last night we found out there's a new Spring menu. I tried a new appetizer - Parmesan Creme Brûlée and it comes with toasted focaccia bread slices and some kind of sweet grapes.. Wow! That alone would have been worth going for. My entree, Scottish Salmon, was also very good. The service is always great, they are very accommodating, as I like to sit in a particular area near the front, where it's easier to hear the beautiful live jazz duo. Great wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I had a very nice evening here. Most of the good local restaurants in Dayton area are either downtown or in busy shopping areas. Coldwater Cafe, in part because it's just a little bit off the beaten path, is a great place to slow down for some great food and live music. Great for a date night. I could also see it working well for family dinners, but wouldn't recommend taking young kids. It's a fancy and somewhat formal dining experience, but not in a stuffy or pretentious way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Coldwater Cafe has been my favorite restaurant for probably 20 years. Everything about it is "favorites" for me. I almost always have dessert....I like the English Teacake so much, don't think I've even tried any other desserts. I first went to Coldwater Cafe when they were down on the corner and also loved it's total atmosphere. I was disappointed when they moved to where they now are, but the disappointment did not last long! The waitresses have always been superb, food delicious etc. Only one time I was unhappy - I took a person who had never been there, and we got stuck in the back room. That room has no "atmosphere"; it's like eating in a cafeteria. I'll eat at the "bar" before eating in that back room again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant, located in a former bank. Check out the vault. Food is imaginative and wine list is excellent. It feels like very special place. We have eaten there for both lunch and dinner. And town of Tipp City is well worth visiting.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wished they would have told us how much the special was because I was very surprised that the walleye was more expensive than the filet mignon. Cannot believe the Walleye was $29. I would definitely have gotten the filet mignon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fantastic! We look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Made reservation for 8:15, did not get table until few minutes before 9:00. Also, this happened the previous time. Food was good, but no more going there on the weekend nights.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was excellent...most times the specials are really great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I love coming here for date nights! The staff is friendly and welcoming. The food is always wonderful. We will continue to come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. We all had different entrees and each was excellent- filet, scallops and the pasta with shrimp. I love the pumpkin bisque soup. No visit is complete without a mango martini. Great service and atmosphere as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was very good as usual, service was a little slow and non-attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Cozy atmosphere, nicely decorated, good food & service. You can tell the proprietors take a lot of pride, everything done well. Definitely would return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Cold water cafe never disappoints. We have never had a bad Mel and the service is always great. The tea cakes are a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very nice place with a great atmosphere. They good cocktails and food!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Coldwater Cafe is a fine place, a little overpriced but a fine place. The menu selection means a bit limited and the wine list tilted toward the high end.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everytime we've been there, it has been an incredible dining experience - food was great, wine list extensive, but the main thing that keeps us coming back is the English Tea Cake.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service and food as usual. We so enjoy Coldwater Cafe. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent Food and Great Ambiance. This is a place to take a loved one for a romantic dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

In spite of reservations we have to wait at least another thirty minutes and most of all this is not the first time happened. They have to do bettet job so that customers don't have to wait another 30 to 40 minutes for food.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love our experiences at Coldwater Cafe'! We have been eating at this restaurant 5 to 10 times per year for more than 10 years and have never been disappointed. They have a creative menu that changes from time to time to make it interesting. This is fine dining at a very fair price. Have eaten at 5 star restaurants all over the world, and would prefer the food at Coldwater above all others. The restaurant is owned and operated by the Chef, who takes a very personal interest in the diners as well as the food. No question, the only place we go when we are looking for an outstanding meal in a lovely setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Latest of many Valentine dinners at Coldwater. My wife and I have had many enjoyable and wonderful meals on Valentines day, Mothers Day Brunch, as well as many other lunches , wine tastings and dinners. Nick's executive chef Katie Fisher is a wonder in the kitchen. Hidden gem in our area. We have been eating at Coldwater Cafe for about 22 years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I absolutely LOVE Cold Water Cafe. It is a favorite place that we often frequent! The ambiance is warm and inviting. The food is always excellent. The servers are very knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. We particularly also enjoy that they offer mellow jazz on Friday and Saturday evenings. We have never had a bad experience there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Amazing food and great service. My husband always gets the fresh fish special. I don't remember what the special was, but he thoroughly enjoyed it. I enjoy the lemon drop martini and the tea cakes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waited well past our reservation time. Manager made up for it though with a free cheese plate. From that point on service was excellent. Food was wonderful and so was service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is a great place to have a excellent meal, either lunch or dinner. The food is excellent, the price is a great value for an excellent meal and the service is exceptional. One of the top five restaurants in the Dayton area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It has always been a favorite and the Lobster "CrabCakes" which are great.

Be clear on your protein doneness... My wife's steak was very rare and was requested as medium. It had to be refired.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is a very nice restaurant in the center of Tipp City. The food is always great, it would be nice to change up the menu a little more ofter or add additional specials. They did a very nice job of making our table special with white table cloth, black napkins and beautiful silver and black chargers... even a candle! Thanks all!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Coldwater Cafe meets the expectations of higher end dining by actually having high quality meats/entrees in interesting presentations accompanied by unique sides.
If trying to impress a client or a special someone, definitely the place to go north of Dayton.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service. They offer a nice selection of gluten-free for my wife.
Never had a bad experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a great menu. We drive here for special occasions. Good wine list. Good bartender.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food and service! Enjoyed the live music. We like the front part of the restaurant more than the vault area.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food, service, and ambience were absolutely outstanding! Definitely a place we will continue to visit in the future!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place! Makes an evening a special memory

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

First class service and great chef. A must visit when in Dayton Ohio area.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.