Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Colbeh Persian Kitchen & Bar

4.1
100 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Persian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Colbeh Persian Kitchen & Bar serves authentic dishes prepared with fresh herbs and vegetables in Decatur. Whether stopping in for dinner with the family, lunch or as an after work spot for cocktails, everyone will appreciate the welcoming atmosphere where they're treated like family.

Guests at Colbeh Persian Kitchen & Bar offers appetizers, entrées and a full drinks menu. Start off with an appetizer like falafel, dolmeh or mirza ghasemi among others. Main course offerings at Colbeh Persian Kitchen & Bar include chicken kabob, lamb shank, fesenjon and ghormeh sabzi. Vegetarians and those looking for lighter fare can opt for the eggplant stew, veggie kabob and Colbeh dip for a Persian experience everyone can enjoy.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Persian, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(404) 373-1226
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sean Shamloufar
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
LIVE JAZZ EVERY THURSDAY NIGHT.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 100 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on July 8, 2016

This place is closed, yet reservations were made as if it is open. Google indicates that it is closed for good. How could that be if you all accepting reservations?? Please update your records and save others a wasted trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 4, 2016

I love Colbeh. The appetizers are varied and very good. As a vegetarian, I find lots there to order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 4, 2016

Great dinner on July 4th! Server was very helpful and accommodating without being invasive. Everything was quick, delicious, and worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2016

The live band was amazing! The staff was extremely helpful with navigating the menu. The food was fresh and tasty. The portions were filling. I would definitely go back and recommend others give it a try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2016

First off, Colbeh does not appear to be your typical Persian restaurant. The decor is modern, with exposed filament bulbs and cozy brickwork much more commonly found in upscale gastropubs. The restaurant was quiet for a Sunday brunch, but our host was all the more willing to pay special attention to us. The Soltani Kabob I picked for my main was flavorful and filling, with saffron basmati rice to spare. The two ladies in our group shared a platter of options from the appetizer menu and were very happy with the food. All in all, I would definitely recommend this quiet gem of a restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2016

Really great kitchen and attentive service. I highly recommend this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

The Brussel sprouts and fried eggplant were great as well as the kabobs. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2016

The food was delicious and unusual. We were there on a weeknight so it was very quiet. We ate outside- delightful. Excellent service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

I've been to Colbeh on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed it, but it seems like it continues to get even better every time I go. They now have incredible live jazz bands on Friday nights, which I can't recommend highly enough! And the food just seems to get more refined. On this last occasion I was there with my best friend and we split an order of the Baklava for dessert. I generally like Baklava, but don't love it because it's usually too sweet and dense. But this was honestly THE best Baklava I've ever had. they served it warm, and it wasn't too sweet, and we loved it so much we ended up ordering a second helping. The rice with the tart cherries came highly recommended, and it was the perfect accompaniment to the salmon kebab. The Brussels Sprouts appetizer is scrumptious, as is the chicken wing appetizer. You really can't go too wrong on anything you order. Plus, the service is impeccable! Super nice, welcoming people in a wonderful atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was very bland. The lamb was a little tough, cook a little longer.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 21, 2016

I chose to take a friend of mine to Colbeh for her birthday because I knew she liked Persian food. When I left Colbeh, I was disappointed in my choice and felt that I had not received good value. The decor and ambiance is pleasant and trendy. But the service and food were only average. I had to ask for bread and the server brought our stale bread that was supposed to be soft, but was crunchy. The main courses were okay, but my salmon was overcooked and dry. I did like the generous pour of wine for a reasonable price. If Colbeh would pay better attention to the nuances of serving a mediocre meal versus a great meal, I would go back without hesitation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

I know everybody has their own priorities and preferences when it comes to deciding how much they like a restaurant. Colbeh Persian is basically my idea of heaven!

The space is clean yet warm. Smells fantastic, like a real Iranian kitchen! Decor is neutral and warm toned; I really appreciated the lighting level, soft yet still lit enough that I and my glasses wearing eyes don't have to squint.

Parking is, of course, a nightmare -- but this is downtown Decatur. It's par for the course. Try the MARTA deck!

The staff are friendly and helpful -- they actually LISTEN to you, and you can have a meaningful interaction! At this restaurant, you are not just another chore to get through, you are a guest and a friend. They even told me where I could buy barberries myself, when I asked (and if you've tried to cook Persian food yourself, you'll know this is a big deal).

But I know, I know, it's a restaurant. How's the food? WONDERFUL. Absolutely incredible. If you've never had Iranian food, it might defy your expectations -- it's not HOT spicy, just flavorful spicy. Persian cuisine also uses a lot of sour, sweet, and nutty ingredients, all together with meat, vegetables, and fresh herbs. It's right up my alley.

I'm not normally a kebab type person, but I and my partner got one each of a stew type dish and one of the kebab plates, then shared. Great way to balance the meal. The eggplant starter is huge (and great).

Even their cocktails are yummy -- lots of citrus and gin options, nothing too cluttered (more to my taste than most bar menus around).

I don't know what more to say about this place other than that if you like Persian food, it measures up like Mary Poppins: practically perfect in every way.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was delicious. It was my first time dining here. I ordered only veggie options with my beloved. Our only complaint and it is a large one was the NOISE level. They unfortunately had a *roadhouse* style band playing insanely loudly which ultimately prevented us from having a conversation. We left as soon as we could because of the NOISE.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

We've never had a bad experience here as far as food and service... But the noise of the occasional live music can be overwhelming, even if sitting in the rear of the space far away from the players. Best to call ahead about the nights and times of live performances if you wish to avoid.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 29, 2016

We went on a Friday night for the live music. The way the restaurant is set up, if you sit past the bar area, you can't see the band at all. We could still hear the music and it was fantastic, however, I don't think the restaurant was prepared for the success that great live music brings. They seemed to be very short-staffed. It took a long time for our drinks to arrive after we placed our order. It turned out that our server was also the bartender!! Once we ordered the food, there was another long wait. I ordered the salmon and it was just ok. The Moscow Mule that I ordered had everything except vodka in it! Lol! We had a good time overall because the music was so enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2016

Great experience with friends!! Total of 8 of us."

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2016

Once again, the meal did not disappoint. The service was spot-on, as always, and the atmosphere was wonderful. Our dinners at Colbeh are consistently good, with tender beef, lamb and chicken entrees and a great selection.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was very slow to come out. We didn't get the appetizer we ordered without reordering. Our main courses came out at different times, so mine was cold when I started eating. It took a long time to get the bill. How disappointing to have this experience as my adult daughter's birthday celebration. We've been to Colbeh before, and this was our only bad experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 16, 2016

Made a reservation - on arrival - placed at an impromptu table in window. Waited for about 10-15 minutes. Completely ignored by staff. Left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was flavorful, the service was excellent, the ambience was comfortable. I would recommend this restaurant to others. Conveniently located in middle of Decatur, easily accessable. Problem is always parking in Decatur which is a deterrent to traveling to Decatur for dinner. I like the convenience of Open Table, very easy to make reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2015

We had a party of 20 on a Saturday night, and the entire experience was excellent. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 21, 2015

We really didn't like the food. It was really too bland for us. The restaurant & bar area we liked but it was a bit too noisy for us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2015

The food was delicious. The wait staff was very knowledgeable regarding the food and was helpful in helping us choose our dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2015

Very good food Service was fair. Great jazz band, but noise level made conversation challenging.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2015

We had a really great time. The food was outstanding! And, our waiter was so helpful and patient as we ordered Persian foods we weren't familiar with. He was terrific at answering our questions, and he made great suggestions. The ambiance was really pleasant and calm. This was the perfect place to take some deep breaths, enjoy a fantastic meal, and learn a little bit about Persian food. We loved it and will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2015

The owner was charming , wait staff very attentive!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2015

My husband and I love Colbeh! The food is superb and the staff is pleasant! They also have a wonderful Moscow mule. What more can you ask for?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2015

The food is delicious especially the rack of lamb. Great drinks as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2015

Consistently wonderful food with warm, welcoming, friendly staff. Every time we go it's a great meal in a relaxed atmosphere. And all the people who work here are super nice. The shish kebab is one of the best I've ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2015

Fantastic, Middle-eastern cuisine right on the Decatur square. The food is flavored perfectly... spot on. Rack of lamb is just so good, best Hummus you will ever eat. Never crowded. Sit outside and enjoy some great people watching too. Seriously just try it, you won't regret it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 29, 2015

My husband and I made an early reservation for a Saturday night, partly due to his schedule but also to avoid a crowded restaurant and potential wait. We were the only patrons, but we were rushed through the meal and in and out in less than an hour. Only two other tables arrived during the time we were there, so there really was no excuse. The service seemed attentive at first, but after the food arrived it felt like they couldn't get us out of there fast enough. My husband's plate was removed before he had a chance to decide if he wanted more (our choices were served family style), and before I was finished the server asked if we wanted take out boxes, packed them up while I continued to eat, and dropped off the check without asking us if we wanted anything else. We ended up going to another restaurant to have an after dinner cocktail.

I share all of this because it put a huge damper on what was overall a lovely and enjoyable meal. We ordered a lamb kabob, and vegetable kabob, and the sampler of three stews, which we paired with three different rice dishes. The rice and stews were excellent, the vegetable kabob nicely charred and the right balance of tender and crisp. The lamb kabob was not as good, a little chewy and overcooked but seasoned well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 23, 2015

Dolmades were pretty bad. Rest of the food was just ok. Probably won't be back. It's worth the drive to go to Rumi's instead

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 11, 2015

Colbeh is a favorite of mine. They have longer service hours than other restaurants in the Decatur area so it is very convenient for brunch, lunch and dinner. Their Barg Kabob and Ghormeh Sabzi are succulent.
I always try to bring my friends who are visiting because we can grab drinks at the bar after dinner or walk around the square and get ice cream.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 27, 2015

One of the very few Persian restaurants that stick to authentic Persian cuisine yet keep it modern.

My recommendation; Flafel as the starter along with the margarita and finally the chicken skewer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2015

Had a party of 8 at Colbeh on a Saturday night and it was a great experience! The food was fantastic and the service was very good. All of the kebobs were absolutely delicious. There is also quite a good beer and wine list.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2015

no one was there except our party at lunchtime. That is always weird bc it makes you wonder about quality. But the food was really tasty and the service was great...because we were the only people there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2015

Me and 6 of my friends enjoyed and awesome lunch and good time at Colbeh - the server Ben was very knowledgeable about all of the food items, and made great suggestions for "first timers" here.

I enjoyed one of the stew selections, it was so flavorful and very well balanced with the the basmati rice.
Appetizers were awesome, and I was almost too full from that to eat my lunch.

You gotta go!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Really enjoyed the food and the Decatur location. Prices seemed a bit high for kebabs, but I guess part of the pricing is driven by the location in a nice part of downtown Decatur. Good service and the bar looks like there is probably a good scene there at night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2015

Our group tried an assortment of the kabobs and rices. All were very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the food. Would appreciate the owner being more involved with the diners. Also, our waitress made a couple of mistakes including one person's order being completely wrong. However, the restaurant comped the meal and handled it very professionally. We appreciated their response. We love the ambiance and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3