About Cocina Superior

587 Brookwood Village
Homewood, AL 35209-4501
View Larger Map

Cocina Superior is Modern Tex Mex. Its old Mexico and contemporary America- in the kitchen, at the bar and on your plate! It's all your Tex Mex favorites, innovative original dishes that we know you'll come to love and an impressive selection of unique cocktails all served in a stylish setting, filled with sleek design, vibrant color and music to match. The restaurant can be enjoyed for lunch or dinner, indoors or out, year round, thanks to a large heated and air conditioned patio. The full service bar features an extensive array of Mexican and domestic beers, an impressive wine list, and a menu of house drinks that promises to satisfy. With an outdoor fountain, side lounge and a unique glass-walled bar, Cocina Superior is the place to enjoy the latest cocktail or have a beer with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 1:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookwood Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 259-1980

Website:
http://www.thecocinasuperior.com/

Catering:
At Cocina Superior we know that your special events vary, so we offer several catering options. We deliver food to groups of 10 or more, ordered off the catering menu (delivery fee applies), with everything you need for a great meal, including disposable plates, napkins, flatware, and serving utensils. We offer full service, off-site catering and have chafing dishes and other serving pieces for rent when you choose Cocina Superior to cater your party. 24-hour notice is appreciated for delivery orders.

Parking Details:
Cocina Superior offers Valet Parking every day for lunch and dinner. There is also a parking deck directly across the street.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cocina Superior Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Spicy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined a day ago

No waiting, John, the waiter was very attentive and made our dinner service great, food was good. Our seat was in line with the bathroom and a constant stream of people paraded by our table all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding As always

Had chimichangas chicken

Corona light (beer) was a pricey only complaint what so ever in the many times I've been here

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were glad to have made a reservation for this Saturday evening, as the place was crowded and there was a small queue in the lobby and outside. When the hostess tried to place us at a small table just off the lobby, we requested and received a different, larger table in a better location. Nice and responsive.

The menu has a lot of choices. We've been here for lunch and those selections are available, but the dinner selections are also good. My wife had the veggie-licious enchiladas and said they were fine but unremarkable. Basically just sauteed vegetables rolled in tortillas with cheese on top. Adding salsa helped. I had the roasted pork enchiladas, which were very good (I recommend them). We also sprung for a small guacamole - would have preferred to pay less than $7, but it tasted very fresh and was chunky, not completely pureed.

The arroz verde is delicious and the beans also flavorful. My wife doesn't usually like refried beans, but complemented these (maybe because her veggie enchiladas were meh).

Our server was prompt and attentive, but not very well-versed in the menu. He didn't know the price of well cocktails ("about $7, I think") and when asked to describe the roasted pork enchiladas, didn't understand that they're not just pork rolled up, but are quite juicy and almost al pastor. As for the cocktails, they were very small, definitely overpriced and not worth the $6.50. Have a beer or margarita instead.

We'll be back. This is a good spot.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A bit loud, but the food made up for that. Delicious choices, plenty of chips, excellent salsa, attentive Wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing in every way! My friends and I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food and service in a busy night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great staff!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great as always! Excellent service and amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The drinks, food and service are consistently good. The atmosphere is inviting, clean and modern. Great Happy Hour specials.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had a really good time and the food was great. It was my friend's birthday and he said this was his top pick to eat on his special day. I have a food allergy and the Waiter was very understanding and made sure nothing came to the table that would make me sick . That really matters to me that he took that extra step for me. Overall I had a great time and I would go back again. The food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service are always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service and food was terrible. They clearly were not properly staffed in the dining room and the kitchen. My folks who live here, said that the food has never been this terrible. The kids cooking in the kitchen were not the same people that are normally working. If they can't provide the same level of service and food quality the day after a holiday, they should stay closed until their normal staff can be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great Food and drinks! Good service. We were seated on the porch and a loud table was drowning out our conversation, so they quickly set up a table for us inside, where we enjoyed a great dinner!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My favorite Mexican restaurant in Birmingham.

Tags: Spicy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The table was ready on time, the food was good, the margaritas were awesome and the service was fast .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent service by Luis - he took care of a large party of us! The private area was perfect for our celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I was a little underwhelmed. The prices were not way out of line, and the food was decent. I had fish tacos and my wife had chicken enchiladas, neither was amazing, but certainly okay. The salsa and chips were amazing! Service was slower than I expected (seemed like they were short-handed that night) and it was noisy, even for a evening when it wasn't so busy. We came to celebrate an anniversary, but I doubt we'll come again unless we just happen to be close and really want some Tex-Mex food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

JC was our waiter and our service was amazing! He was friendly and responsive. The food was delicious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Staff was fabulous! Very friendly and great service. Brunch was delicious and reasonably priced. Nice location, too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service was excellent; food was Mexican; and the occasion was great for a 6 1/2 member family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Steak soft tacos are excellent. Best Margaritas in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I always enjoy this restaurant. The food is fresh and the service is always excellent. For some, it's a little pricey but the quality of the food and drinks makes the cost worth it for me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It was great- the only thing I would have changed is that we sat at a very long booth and for our party of 3 it was difficult to communicate across it in a louder atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We made reservations the Friday before the birthday luncheon (11 people reserved). I called the restaurant that day to be sure they had us down....my first time with Open Table. When we arrived at 11:30 they did not have the table ready. We waited 10 minutes for it to be set up. They set us up outside even though inside was not busy. There were bugs, bees and a bird in the outside area where we were sitting. They opened the door to try and get the bird out....just let the heat in; bird stayed for lunch. Had to track the waiter down several times to get service. Checks were very late in getting done. We had attendees that had a meeting at 1pm and were late to their meetings due to slowness of service. Waiter indicated he was normally catering staff. At one point I had to get someone to get his attention as he and the other waiters were too busy talking to notice me when I was waiting to talk with him . We were on our lunch hour and given special occasion expected it to take us over an hour but not an 1hr. and a half just to get food, eat, and pay out.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was loud but did not stay the way the entire time. We had four people with four different dishes. We all rated them 2 to 3 out of 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great value & good Happy Hour !

Queso was fantastic !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our group did not all arrive at the same time but the wonderful staff sat us anyway without a delay. The food was excellent as always. We were able to move around the area without causing too much disturbance to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love dining at Concina! The atmosphere is very festive and the service is always great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 30, 2016

They always take care me me and my children. Great food and great place to eat with small children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perfect Birthday Dinner.

Service was outstanding...wish I could remember the guys name.

We will return.

Don't miss the Cocina Oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My 2nd time here and I must say that everything was absolutely AMAZING and so delicious!! The food is impeccable and the staff and service is always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Came with my friends. Our table was not ready when arrived, and we waited about 5 minutes. Food was great and was prepared quickly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We used Open Table for this reservation. It did not disappoint. The table was ready when we got there and we were a staggered party getting there so no waiting on the table to be ready was a blessing! We had one guy waiting on our table. He was incredible. Orders were correct - he was swift with our drinks and re-orders. Never gave us a look of "why me Lord" and he could have. There were 18 of us and we were very energetic. Two of us had birthdays in July so we got to celebrate with them for $1/slice cake. It was delicious as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was EXCELLENT!!! Taco salad with chicken was awesome!!! We had a group of 12 and everyone was happy. 😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I contacted Cocina to book a large group (30+). They eagerly accepted the reservation and did an awesome job with our group. The servers were organized and efficient and the service was great. I highly recommend this restaurant for large groups who expect great service and food at a reasonable price. Thanks again for the great experience!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 13, 2016

I got the $13 taco salad. It was a bowl of lettuce with traces of other ingredients. When i complained they refused to do anything about it. That will be my last visit to this joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service, food, and drinks! Cecelia (CC) was great. She offered great selections and drinks. She was very kind. I told her I will give bigger tips the next time I come and that's a promise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 4, 2016

I loved the food and the service! I will definetely go back for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Family of 5 ate dinner before going to see Wicked. We were seated right away even though the restaurant was mostly full so I was very glad of the 6:15 reservation I made with Open Table! Server was very attentive and knowledgable, although sometimes hard to understand. 18 year old ordered a grilled chicken plate that came with tortillas and fixings on the side that was well cooked and delicious. Everyone else had your standard burrito/enchilada dinners which were good. I had a combo plate with a chile relleno, small chicken burrito and enchilada. I was hesitant about ordering the chile relleno because most of the ones I've had are not fried well, they end up to be either soggy or too oily or both. I was pleasantly surprised with this chile relleno. It had a super crunchy outside and the poblano pepper was delicious on the inside. I'll order the chile relleno again! I also had a pomegranate margarita which was very tasty, not too sweet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love going there with our 3 kids (7months, 3y, 5y) delicious food, great menu for kids too, comfortable seating, magnificent service and parking facility. I recomend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 5, 2016

MY FAMILY AND I REALLY ENJOYED OURSELVES. WE HAVE QUITE A LARGER PARTY THOUGH; AND IM NOT SURE IF IT WAS BECAUSE OUR PARTY WAS LARGE, BUT OUR SERVER WAS BEYOND RUDE NO DRINK REFILLS OR ANYTHING.

OTHER THAN HIM WE WOULD RETURN

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had my birthday dinner here and the food, staff, & service was outstanding!! Everything was fresh and hot and served to perfection. Everybody's food came out on time and was correct! The drinks were also very good! I will most definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We weren't sure we were at the right restaurant because when we got there, and for much of our meal, we were the only ones there. But the food was good and we had a nice time having the restaurant to ourselves. Definitely recommend for a Saturday or Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The staff accommodated our number of guests and decorated out table. The food was great and the service was perfect. They even sang happy Birthday

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food hot and tasted and looked great. Service on the money. Really enjoyed the evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good dinner. Maybe as bad service as I have seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was my second time visiting and the first was better. We had a waiter that was very slow. We had a table of six and the waiter did not refill our drinks, did not bring chips when he brought a bowl of cheese dip and just overall slow. I had to stop two different waiters for help, because our waiter was not around. It was not crowded, so I'm not sure why he was so sluggish and slow to respond.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.