About Cocina Superior

Cocina Superior is Modern Tex Mex. Its old Mexico and contemporary America- in the kitchen, at the bar and on your plate! It's all your Tex Mex favorites, innovative original dishes that we know you'll come to love and an impressive selection of unique cocktails all served in a stylish setting, filled with sleek design, vibrant color and music to match. The restaurant can be enjoyed for lunch or dinner, indoors or out, year round, thanks to a large heated and air conditioned patio. The full service bar features an extensive array of Mexican and domestic beers, an impressive wine list, and a menu of house drinks that promises to satisfy. With an outdoor fountain, side lounge and a unique glass-walled bar, Cocina Superior is the place to enjoy the latest cocktail or have a beer with friends.

587 Brookwood Village
Homewood, AL 35209-4501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 1:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookwood Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 259-1980

Website:
http://www.thecocinasuperior.com/

Catering:
At Cocina Superior we know that your special events vary, so we offer several catering options. We deliver food to groups of 10 or more, ordered off the catering menu (delivery fee applies), with everything you need for a great meal, including disposable plates, napkins, flatware, and serving utensils. We offer full service, off-site catering and have chafing dishes and other serving pieces for rent when you choose Cocina Superior to cater your party. 24-hour notice is appreciated for delivery orders.

Parking Details:
Cocina Superior offers Valet Parking every day for lunch and dinner. There is also a parking deck directly across the street.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cocina Superior Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
People Watching (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Live Sports (3)
Spicy (3)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort by
S
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Amazing food, great service. Definitely love coming here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

My go-to place whenever friends or family are in town. Nice step up from your typical tex-mex place. Food fills you up without leaving you feeling greasy or smelling like Mexican food. 10/10 would recommend stopping by on your way through town or on your next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The margaritas were GREAT. I should have had only one because I had to get in bed when I got home. 😆 The Lunch Quesadillas were not worth $11.00.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Extremely busy night, but the staff handled it well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food and service is always consistently good! Great margaritas too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Service was disappointing. Had an older gentleman that waited on our table. Took our order. We waited about 30+ minutes for our food to arrive. We almost finished the chips and salsa. Usually don't come close to finishing it, since the food usually comes out quick. He never checked on us before the food came out. My husband and I drank most of our water/soda and it was refilled several times, but never by him. Good thing there were other staff in passing, who noticed our drinks needed refilling. Someone else brought the food to the table and he showed up to put the plates on the table. Then two more times: 1) to take the plates away and 2) to bring the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 22, 2017

A go-to place for us. Love the cuisine, atmosphere.
Great place for watching several games at once.
Looking forward to the Christmas decorations—especially when they do the red feather light garlands in the palm trees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Consistently good! Service was great, margaritas are great, food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The restaurant was busy with pretty big groups of high school kids going to homecoming dances. We were seated promptly, got drinks and queso, but that's where the service took a nose dive. After waiting almost an hour for our straight-off-the-menu entrees, we asked our server to see a manager. Almost immediately, our food arrived. It was lukewarm at best. After we ate, the server came by again and asked if we needed anything. We said we had not seen the manager yet. Finally the manager came over. My husband explained we waited overlong for mediocre food while watching all the tables around us come in, get served, eat and leave. She explained that there had been several call-outs due to the Alabama football game, there were lots of large parties, and our server was new (but doing a great job). We said that our party of two was just as worthy of service as any party of 12. She apologized and offered us dessert. We declined. She said she hoped we would come again. When my husband asked her why we would, she said if we liked it we would. Clearly, she missed the point of a customer asking to speak with a manager. Initially, we just wanted our food. When she finally made it to our table, we really only wanted her to acknowledge the poor service and perhaps at least SAY they would try to make improvements. Instead, she basically told us if we didn't like it, we didn't have to come back. It's fortunate for us there are so many other good Mexican restaurants within a five mile radius - we won't be back to Cocina.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Asked for One Taco with fried fish. Received 2 tacos with grilled fish. Server told me he gave the right order but it wS not fulfilled correctly. Expensive—$34 for something I didn’t order. Didn’t want to send it back since my friends already had theirs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Cocina Superior is always our go to place for special occasions especially when we have a large group. There are menu choices for everyone and great margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Noise level was very high. Very difficult to hear guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Normally the food and service is great. However, on this occasion we mistaken ordered a grilled pork chop and rib-eye steak. I guess not typically ordered and it took an hour to get our meal. We were with another couple who had to wait on their meal simply because ours took so long to cook. The waitress was clearly concerned but instead of communicating with us she would bring water but not address why it was taking so long.

I will say when our meal did arrive it was exceptionally done. I would not however, recommend the pork chop or steak. Stick with the traditional meals, you will be far more satisfied with the meal and service if you do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Enjoyed our outdoor table by the fountain! Had requested an indoor booth but the weather had cooled off nicely.
Delicious food. (My husband had a hard time finding a dish without onions though )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were seated in the corner by the kitchen and a divider, to have a reservation, this was not my favorite seat. It was a little noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was absolutely terrible. Waited more than 30 minutes for our food after the order had been taken. Manager came to the table and apologized for the delay and said our order was almost ready. When we were finished, our server brought a dessert for the three of us to share. Same service issue when we were last at the restaurant in February.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Tables were super close together. Asked the hostess for a highchair that we never got. Salad had two pieces of meat in it and no dressing or peanuts. Sent back and they put peanuts and sent dressing. Waiter was not much help. The reservation on open table was the only good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great service from our waiter. He was extremely polite and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had my friends 21st birthday dinner out on the patio and we had such a fun time! The service and food were both great and would definitely host another birthday dinner here! (Only down side was the giant spider that kept crawling up and down behind my head)

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was excellent and the frozen drinks were outstanding. It's an excellent Mexican restaurant that's fun to go to. It is more high end Mexican food and not your everyday small town Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, People Watching, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Thank you for prompt seating (with reservation), great service, and terrific meals
The noise level was exceptionally loud - a table for 6 could only talk to those on each side one at a time but we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was excellent, although it took awhile, but I think that had to do with it being Father's Day and busier than normal.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of our favorites got even better. My grandmother is 93 and hard of hearing. What really set this experience apart from the rest was the host. He was so kind to help her get seated, move her walker to a safe area and even turn the music down so she could hear better. We will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I decided to catch a last minute bite on a Saturday evening. Although we made a reservation, we really didn't need it. We were able to be seated right away. The service was fast and the food was good. It is not authentic mexican, more commercial, but still tasty. Overall it was a nice trendy place to hangout.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I ordered chicken tacos and was expecting grilled chicken on them. There were chunks of chicken, not shredded.... but I tried one by itself and it tasted bland and like it had been boiled in a pot. Other than that the beans and rice were great. The server must have been busy with other tasks since it was between lunch and dinner and I think it was a manager came up and took our order. Except for the chicken it was very good all around. I had eaten here before and brought two friends to try it out. They were pleased with their meals and said they would definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had dinner on Sunday So took advantage of happy hour pricing on Margaritas - $8 for a large. The complimentary tortilla chips were thin and fresh. We ordered the small guacamole bowl (not made STG the table). It was fine - but nothing special. The Enchilada entrees we had - chicken with Mole sauce and chicken and Spinach with salad - were both quite tasty. We sat outside on a pleasant evening and service was competent. Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always good food and good service. We have gone back there several times and really like it.

Always good food and a good experience!

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great location to gather with friends. Very accommodating. Food was excellent and drinks were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Consistently good food. We eat there frequently and have not been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We reserved a table for ten, and ate brunch pre-graduation. I was a little stressed over time (you can't be late for graduation after all) but service was great and timely. We were in and out in about an hour and a half and had a relaxed brunch with cocktails. I was not crazy about the huevos rancheras, I've had better--but overall I'd give them a B+

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The table was ready for us when we arrived. The server asked for our drink order almost immediately upon being seated. Chips and salsa great as usual. Food was great. The only issue we had it all was the noise level was a little high. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food!!! I would defnitely recommend. Wait staff was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love this place. We order the frozen mojitos and the filet blue nachos every time we visit and they never disappoint. And the service is always great.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. I've eaten here dozens of times. My only gripe with this visit was that I had a 12:15 reservation and wasn't seated until 12:40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very Good Food. Good Atmosphere. We love they are dog friendly on the patio. Best table made guacamole!! Would have given it all 5 but service was alittle slow and we were hungary but all staff were very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great time celebrating graduation. The food was delicious and the drinks were wonderful. My only regret is I left too full for dessert.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service from bar, Ian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a nice Mexican lunch after Easter service. You could tell our waiter was new, but he tried very hard. It may have been that the kitchen was slow because of the Easter holiday. I would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.