Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Cocina Superior

4.6
241 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican / Southwestern
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
Cocina Superior is Modern Tex Mex. Its old Mexico and contemporary America- in the kitchen, at the bar and on your plate! It's all your Tex Mex favorites, innovative original dishes that we know you'll come to love and an impressive selection of unique cocktails all served in a stylish setting, filled with sleek design, vibrant color and music to match. The restaurant can be enjoyed for lunch or dinner, indoors or out, year round, thanks to a large heated and air conditioned patio. The full service bar features an extensive array of Mexican and domestic beers, an impressive wine list, and a menu of house drinks that promises to satisfy. With an outdoor fountain, side lounge and a unique glass-walled bar, Cocina Superior is the place to enjoy the latest cocktail or have a beer with friends.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 1:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 259-1980
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
At Cocina Superior we know that your special events vary, so we offer several catering options. We deliver food to groups of 10 or more, ordered off the catering menu (delivery fee applies), with everything you need for a great meal, including disposable plates, napkins, flatware, and serving utensils. We offer full service, off-site catering and have chafing dishes and other serving pieces for rent when you choose Cocina Superior to cater your party. 24-hour notice is appreciated for delivery orders.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Brookwood Mall
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Cocina Superior offers Valet Parking every day for lunch and dinner. There is also a parking deck directly across the street.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 241 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Love the place!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We arrived and were seated exactly at our reservation times. The restaurant was VERY busy. We had chips/salsa and water within seconds of sitting down. Beyond that, service was very slow. Again, the restaurant was very busy. But, with that said, one should not have to ask three times for cutlery and napkins.

As for the food, it was very tasty. Our order was "correct". However, I ordered the FILET TACOS AL CARBON. I was VERY disappointed with the value of what arrived on my plate. I had two flour tortillas, each with a couple of steak NUGGETS. That was it. No cheese, no lettuce, no anything else. Then a scoop of rice and the sparse trimmings. The plate appeared nearly empty! This in not how this entree has been served in the past. Why has it changed?

Cocina Superior has been a go-to restaurant for my wife and I for a very long time. However, on the last two visits, we have both been very disappointed!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

2 of us went to this restaurant on a Sunday night... it was not busy at all. We had a nice server - but: the food took quite a long time to get to us. The superior margarita was ok. The food was not good. Neither my fiance’ nor I could eat more than 1/2 of the plate because the food was so dismal. So sad - I usually love Mexican/tex Mex food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The food was pretty good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

There was 6 of us, on the patio and enjoying drinks on a beautiful day. Great service and the margs are strong! The food was delicious, we got cheese dip and I ordered the flautas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Very good food. Fun place

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Loved the decor! The food was....eh. The black bean soup was super salty: I passed on it. The enchilada suizas platter was less than stellar. I'd come back for a margarita but not for the food 🙂 The service was okay: it was towards the end of the night on a Saturday. I got a feeling they were trying to hurry me up so I could leave? Maybe it was just me...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Promptly seated for our table of 18. Fernando our waiter did a great job. Food was very good

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

What is the point making reservations if we will be put on a small dirty table with plastic chairs... Would go to a fast food place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I absolutely love to go to dinner at Cocina Superior. The food and drinks are always excellent, and I appreciate the good service from the waiters.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great place for good margaritas! Good food and great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Outstanding brunch with our family!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The table-side guacamole is the best! Margaritas were delicious. The entrees were really good but didn’t meet the bar that had already been set. Our waiter was attentive, engaging, and patient with my elderly father. It’s a bit loud and a bit bright but a very lively and inviting space.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Although we had a reservation we had a 15 minute wait. Other than that the experience was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great food and loved the Ambiance. The only problem was he had no Silverware. We had to ask several times just to get a napkin. Other than that we had a great time loved the Oysters!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

First time we loved it! Waiter was super,food was fabulous! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great food and drinks! Cool atmosphere and great for groups.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

It was good not as fancy as I was expecting but it was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Overall was Amazing, my wait was not long and was seated as soon as I told the hostess my name for reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

service was great and food was delish

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Went to Cocina Superior for dinner with some friends. First time and was suitably impressed with both the food choices and attentive service. Simply the best cooked skirt steak I've ever had - highly recommend it. The queso has a great reputation that it lives up to, as does the tableside guacamole. The only critique was the noise level, which was significant - but even that will not stop future visits. 2 people, dinner and an appetizer, no alcohol = $55.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Best fajitas in town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

For a table of 6 service and food was excellent.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Great upscale Tex-Mex food. Love the chicken tortilla soup, chips and salsa and cheese dip. Not the cheapest place, but food is always good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Our waitress was amazing. She got our cocktail order in before happy hour ended. The restaurant was very warm inside.. we were all sweating even though it is Jan. & cold out.
Our food was good.... 3 out of our 5 ordered Salmon and it was sold out at 6:20p.m... I thought that was odd.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Grilled oysters always a winner! Add a few pomegranate margaritas and call it a night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Food and drink were delicious! Enjoyed the fun atmosphere!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Getting into town and needed a nice meal before putting our girls to bed for a busy day tomorrow. Cocina Superior shows on Open table and has a table available within about a half hour of getting to our hotel. We love Mexican food and their menu jumped off the page because of their modern takes on classic meals. We had a great time, the energy was very positive and food was delicious. Luis, our waiter was very attentive and prompt. The drinks at the table never got below half and my wife ordered a cocktail that she really enjoyed. I would highly recommend it for a lunch or dinner date, party, or a classed up night out with your kids. Great place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent as always. Consistently great food and margaritas

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

This restaurant is always reliable. We come frequently and enjoy it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:15 pm and ended up having to wait about 30 minutes for a table so that was a little frustrating. After that however, everything was mostly great. I ordered a drink and asked for Tito's instead of Rum in the drink but got both in the drink. I didn't like it and the server didn't offer to make it right. I then asked for a different drink because I do not like rum at all and he charged me for both. That was also frustrating. That drink went to waste. The food is always good however and I will go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Our waiter didn't write our order down, so there were several mistakes that were seen to quickly enough. The spinach/chicken enchiladas were dry without the spinach on the inside. Staff were very friendly, but not so efficient. I'm not giving server's name because he just might have had a bad shift. Would try again if I lived there, although a little overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

We love Cocina Superior! Great ambiance (especially at Christmas with the palm trees decorated with red lights and garlands and the Lights around the windows and dining room 😮), great service and cuisine! In summer lovely patio!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2017

We had a reservation but had to wait about 20 minutes. The food was average but the service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Solo Birthday dinner with a few drinks that were mixed just right and great customer service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 26, 2017

I sent an email to the location manager, and have not heard back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

We were seated very quickly after making the reservations minutes before our arrival. This was pleasing considering it was my first experience using the Open Table app. The atmosphere was nice, a bit noisy but nonetheless an enjoyable experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

In Birmingham for a couple of days and received Cocina Superior as a recommendation. Great atmosphere with tons of energy.
Make a reservation, because the lines were long for a table.
Margaritas were tasty (but served in a plastic cup...), and food was solid.
I would definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 13, 2017

We were sat out in the patio area and it was very cold when we arrived. The heat was not turned on until we asked our waiter and he immediately turned the heat on. Once it warmed up a bit, it was perfect! Recommend turning heat on before you place customers in the patio area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2017

There for business with 6 people. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Smoked oysters are excellent. I had the Shrimp Brochettes and they were dream worthy. A little noisy but if your party is noisy then you will fit right in. Service if very good and quick.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7