About Cocina Superior

Cocina Superior is Modern Tex Mex. Its old Mexico and contemporary America- in the kitchen, at the bar and on your plate! It's all your Tex Mex favorites, innovative original dishes that we know you'll come to love and an impressive selection of unique cocktails all served in a stylish setting, filled with sleek design, vibrant color and music to match. The restaurant can be enjoyed for lunch or dinner, indoors or out, year round, thanks to a large heated and air conditioned patio. The full service bar features an extensive array of Mexican and domestic beers, an impressive wine list, and a menu of house drinks that promises to satisfy. With an outdoor fountain, side lounge and a unique glass-walled bar, Cocina Superior is the place to enjoy the latest cocktail or have a beer with friends.

587 Brookwood Village
Homewood, AL 35209-4501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 1:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookwood Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 259-1980

Website:
http://www.thecocinasuperior.com/

Catering:
At Cocina Superior we know that your special events vary, so we offer several catering options. We deliver food to groups of 10 or more, ordered off the catering menu (delivery fee applies), with everything you need for a great meal, including disposable plates, napkins, flatware, and serving utensils. We offer full service, off-site catering and have chafing dishes and other serving pieces for rent when you choose Cocina Superior to cater your party. 24-hour notice is appreciated for delivery orders.

Parking Details:
Cocina Superior offers Valet Parking every day for lunch and dinner. There is also a parking deck directly across the street.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cocina Superior Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 16 hours ago

Great food and drinks! Cool atmosphere and great for groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall was Amazing, my wait was not long and was seated as soon as I told the hostess my name for reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for a Date, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

service was great and food was delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2018

Went to Cocina Superior for dinner with some friends. First time and was suitably impressed with both the food choices and attentive service. Simply the best cooked skirt steak I've ever had - highly recommend it. The queso has a great reputation that it lives up to, as does the tableside guacamole. The only critique was the noise level, which was significant - but even that will not stop future visits. 2 people, dinner and an appetizer, no alcohol = $55.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Best fajitas in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 3, 2018

For a table of 6 service and food was excellent.....

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Great upscale Tex-Mex food. Love the chicken tortilla soup, chips and salsa and cheese dip. Not the cheapest place, but food is always good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Our waitress was amazing. She got our cocktail order in before happy hour ended. The restaurant was very warm inside.. we were all sweating even though it is Jan. & cold out.
Our food was good.... 3 out of our 5 ordered Salmon and it was sold out at 6:20p.m... I thought that was odd.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Grilled oysters always a winner! Add a few pomegranate margaritas and call it a night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Food and drink were delicious! Enjoyed the fun atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Getting into town and needed a nice meal before putting our girls to bed for a busy day tomorrow. Cocina Superior shows on Open table and has a table available within about a half hour of getting to our hotel. We love Mexican food and their menu jumped off the page because of their modern takes on classic meals. We had a great time, the energy was very positive and food was delicious. Luis, our waiter was very attentive and prompt. The drinks at the table never got below half and my wife ordered a cocktail that she really enjoyed. I would highly recommend it for a lunch or dinner date, party, or a classed up night out with your kids. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent as always. Consistently great food and margaritas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 5, 2018

This restaurant is always reliable. We come frequently and enjoy it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:15 pm and ended up having to wait about 30 minutes for a table so that was a little frustrating. After that however, everything was mostly great. I ordered a drink and asked for Tito's instead of Rum in the drink but got both in the drink. I didn't like it and the server didn't offer to make it right. I then asked for a different drink because I do not like rum at all and he charged me for both. That was also frustrating. That drink went to waste. The food is always good however and I will go back.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Our waiter didn't write our order down, so there were several mistakes that were seen to quickly enough. The spinach/chicken enchiladas were dry without the spinach on the inside. Staff were very friendly, but not so efficient. I'm not giving server's name because he just might have had a bad shift. Would try again if I lived there, although a little overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We love Cocina Superior! Great ambiance (especially at Christmas with the palm trees decorated with red lights and garlands and the Lights around the windows and dining room 😮), great service and cuisine! In summer lovely patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We had a reservation but had to wait about 20 minutes. The food was average but the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Solo Birthday dinner with a few drinks that were mixed just right and great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2017

I sent an email to the location manager, and have not heard back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We were seated very quickly after making the reservations minutes before our arrival. This was pleasing considering it was my first experience using the Open Table app. The atmosphere was nice, a bit noisy but nonetheless an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2017

In Birmingham for a couple of days and received Cocina Superior as a recommendation. Great atmosphere with tons of energy.
Make a reservation, because the lines were long for a table.
Margaritas were tasty (but served in a plastic cup...), and food was solid.
I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We were sat out in the patio area and it was very cold when we arrived. The heat was not turned on until we asked our waiter and he immediately turned the heat on. Once it warmed up a bit, it was perfect! Recommend turning heat on before you place customers in the patio area.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 12, 2017

There for business with 6 people. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Smoked oysters are excellent. I had the Shrimp Brochettes and they were dream worthy. A little noisy but if your party is noisy then you will fit right in. Service if very good and quick.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Festive and beautifully decorated for the holiday season with consistently great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Great food, location and atmosphere. We eat here several times a month.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Lovely restaurant, tasty food and good service. But the noise level made it next to impossible to enjoy chatting over dinner. With our group of six in a booth, we had to keep asking each other to repeat what was said. Due to an engagement, we had a very early (5pm) reservation. I can’t imagine the noise level as the evening progressed. I will go back with one or two people only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing food, great service. Definitely love coming here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2017

My go-to place whenever friends or family are in town. Nice step up from your typical tex-mex place. Food fills you up without leaving you feeling greasy or smelling like Mexican food. 10/10 would recommend stopping by on your way through town or on your next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The margaritas were GREAT. I should have had only one because I had to get in bed when I got home. 😆 The Lunch Quesadillas were not worth $11.00.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Extremely busy night, but the staff handled it well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food and service is always consistently good! Great margaritas too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Service was disappointing. Had an older gentleman that waited on our table. Took our order. We waited about 30+ minutes for our food to arrive. We almost finished the chips and salsa. Usually don't come close to finishing it, since the food usually comes out quick. He never checked on us before the food came out. My husband and I drank most of our water/soda and it was refilled several times, but never by him. Good thing there were other staff in passing, who noticed our drinks needed refilling. Someone else brought the food to the table and he showed up to put the plates on the table. Then two more times: 1) to take the plates away and 2) to bring the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2017

A go-to place for us. Love the cuisine, atmosphere.
Great place for watching several games at once.
Looking forward to the Christmas decorations—especially when they do the red feather light garlands in the palm trees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Consistently good! Service was great, margaritas are great, food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The restaurant was busy with pretty big groups of high school kids going to homecoming dances. We were seated promptly, got drinks and queso, but that's where the service took a nose dive. After waiting almost an hour for our straight-off-the-menu entrees, we asked our server to see a manager. Almost immediately, our food arrived. It was lukewarm at best. After we ate, the server came by again and asked if we needed anything. We said we had not seen the manager yet. Finally the manager came over. My husband explained we waited overlong for mediocre food while watching all the tables around us come in, get served, eat and leave. She explained that there had been several call-outs due to the Alabama football game, there were lots of large parties, and our server was new (but doing a great job). We said that our party of two was just as worthy of service as any party of 12. She apologized and offered us dessert. We declined. She said she hoped we would come again. When my husband asked her why we would, she said if we liked it we would. Clearly, she missed the point of a customer asking to speak with a manager. Initially, we just wanted our food. When she finally made it to our table, we really only wanted her to acknowledge the poor service and perhaps at least SAY they would try to make improvements. Instead, she basically told us if we didn't like it, we didn't have to come back. It's fortunate for us there are so many other good Mexican restaurants within a five mile radius - we won't be back to Cocina.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Asked for One Taco with fried fish. Received 2 tacos with grilled fish. Server told me he gave the right order but it wS not fulfilled correctly. Expensive—$34 for something I didn’t order. Didn’t want to send it back since my friends already had theirs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Cocina Superior is always our go to place for special occasions especially when we have a large group. There are menu choices for everyone and great margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Noise level was very high. Very difficult to hear guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Normally the food and service is great. However, on this occasion we mistaken ordered a grilled pork chop and rib-eye steak. I guess not typically ordered and it took an hour to get our meal. We were with another couple who had to wait on their meal simply because ours took so long to cook. The waitress was clearly concerned but instead of communicating with us she would bring water but not address why it was taking so long.

I will say when our meal did arrive it was exceptionally done. I would not however, recommend the pork chop or steak. Stick with the traditional meals, you will be far more satisfied with the meal and service if you do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Enjoyed our outdoor table by the fountain! Had requested an indoor booth but the weather had cooled off nicely.
Delicious food. (My husband had a hard time finding a dish without onions though )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.