About Cocina Superior

587 Brookwood Village
Homewood, AL 35209-4501
View Larger Map

Cocina Superior is Modern Tex Mex. Its old Mexico and contemporary America- in the kitchen, at the bar and on your plate! It's all your Tex Mex favorites, innovative original dishes that we know you'll come to love and an impressive selection of unique cocktails all served in a stylish setting, filled with sleek design, vibrant color and music to match. The restaurant can be enjoyed for lunch or dinner, indoors or out, year round, thanks to a large heated and air conditioned patio. The full service bar features an extensive array of Mexican and domestic beers, an impressive wine list, and a menu of house drinks that promises to satisfy. With an outdoor fountain, side lounge and a unique glass-walled bar, Cocina Superior is the place to enjoy the latest cocktail or have a beer with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 1:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookwood Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 259-1980

Website:
http://www.thecocinasuperior.com/

Catering:
At Cocina Superior we know that your special events vary, so we offer several catering options. We deliver food to groups of 10 or more, ordered off the catering menu (delivery fee applies), with everything you need for a great meal, including disposable plates, napkins, flatware, and serving utensils. We offer full service, off-site catering and have chafing dishes and other serving pieces for rent when you choose Cocina Superior to cater your party. 24-hour notice is appreciated for delivery orders.

Parking Details:
Cocina Superior offers Valet Parking every day for lunch and dinner. There is also a parking deck directly across the street.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cocina Superior Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was great- the only thing I would hav ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was great- the only thing I would have changed is that we sat at a very long booth and for our party of 3 it was difficult to communicate across it in a louder atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations the Friday before t ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We made reservations the Friday before the birthday luncheon (11 people reserved). I called the restaurant that day to be sure they had us down....my first time with Open Table. When we arrived at 11:30 they did not have the table ready. We waited 10 minutes for it to be set up. They set us up outside even though inside was not busy. There were bugs, bees and a bird in the outside area where we were sitting. They opened the door to try and get the bird out....just let the heat in; bird stayed for lunch. Had to track the waiter down several times to get service. Checks were very late in getting done. We had attendees that had a meeting at 1pm and were late to their meetings due to slowness of service. Waiter indicated he was normally catering staff. At one point I had to get someone to get his attention as he and the other waiters were too busy talking to notice me when I was waiting to talk with him . We were on our lunch hour and given special occasion expected it to take us over an hour but not an 1hr. and a half just to get food, eat, and pay out.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

It was loud but did not stay the way the ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was loud but did not stay the way the entire time. We had four people with four different dishes. We all rated them 2 to 3 out of 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great value & good Happy Hour ! Queso wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great value & good Happy Hour !

Queso was fantastic !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group did not all arrive at the same ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our group did not all arrive at the same time but the wonderful staff sat us anyway without a delay. The food was excellent as always. We were able to move around the area without causing too much disturbance to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining at Concina! The atmosphe ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love dining at Concina! The atmosphere is very festive and the service is always great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They always take care me me and my child ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

They always take care me me and my children. Great food and great place to eat with small children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Birthday Dinner. Service was out ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perfect Birthday Dinner.

Service was outstanding...wish I could remember the guys name.

We will return.

Don't miss the Cocina Oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 2nd time here and I must say that eve ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My 2nd time here and I must say that everything was absolutely AMAZING and so delicious!! The food is impeccable and the staff and service is always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Came with my friends. Our table was not ready when arrived, and we waited about 5 minutes. Food was great and was prepared quickly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We used Open Table for this reservation. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We used Open Table for this reservation. It did not disappoint. The table was ready when we got there and we were a staggered party getting there so no waiting on the table to be ready was a blessing! We had one guy waiting on our table. He was incredible. Orders were correct - he was swift with our drinks and re-orders. Never gave us a look of "why me Lord" and he could have. There were 18 of us and we were very energetic. Two of us had birthdays in July so we got to celebrate with them for $1/slice cake. It was delicious as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was EXCELLENT!!! Taco salad w ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was EXCELLENT!!! Taco salad with chicken was awesome!!! We had a group of 12 and everyone was happy. 😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I contacted Cocina to book a large group ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I contacted Cocina to book a large group (30+). They eagerly accepted the reservation and did an awesome job with our group. The servers were organized and efficient and the service was great. I highly recommend this restaurant for large groups who expect great service and food at a reasonable price. Thanks again for the great experience!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got the $13 taco salad. It was a bowl ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I got the $13 taco salad. It was a bowl of lettuce with traces of other ingredients. When i complained they refused to do anything about it. That will be my last visit to this joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great service, food, and drinks! Cecelia ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service, food, and drinks! Cecelia (CC) was great. She offered great selections and drinks. She was very kind. I told her I will give bigger tips the next time I come and that's a promise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the food and the service! I will ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I loved the food and the service! I will definetely go back for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family of 5 ate dinner before going to ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Family of 5 ate dinner before going to see Wicked. We were seated right away even though the restaurant was mostly full so I was very glad of the 6:15 reservation I made with Open Table! Server was very attentive and knowledgable, although sometimes hard to understand. 18 year old ordered a grilled chicken plate that came with tortillas and fixings on the side that was well cooked and delicious. Everyone else had your standard burrito/enchilada dinners which were good. I had a combo plate with a chile relleno, small chicken burrito and enchilada. I was hesitant about ordering the chile relleno because most of the ones I've had are not fried well, they end up to be either soggy or too oily or both. I was pleasantly surprised with this chile relleno. It had a super crunchy outside and the poblano pepper was delicious on the inside. I'll order the chile relleno again! I also had a pomegranate margarita which was very tasty, not too sweet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love going there with our 3 kids (7mo ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love going there with our 3 kids (7months, 3y, 5y) delicious food, great menu for kids too, comfortable seating, magnificent service and parking facility. I recomend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

MY FAMILY AND I REALLY ENJOYED OURSELVES. WE HAVE QUITE A LARGER PARTY THOUGH; AND IM NOT SURE IF IT WAS BECAUSE OUR PARTY WAS LARGE, BUT OUR SERVER WAS BEYOND RUDE NO DRINK REFILLS OR ANYTHING.

OTHER THAN HIM WE WOULD RETURN

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Birthday Celebration!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had my birthday dinner here and the food, staff, & service was outstanding!! Everything was fresh and hot and served to perfection. Everybody's food came out on time and was correct! The drinks were also very good! I will most definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome, but no one was there!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We weren't sure we were at the right restaurant because when we got there, and for much of our meal, we were the only ones there. But the food was good and we had a nice time having the restaurant to ourselves. Definitely recommend for a Saturday or Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The staff accommodated our number of guests and decorated out table. The food was great and the service was perfect. They even sang happy Birthday

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great dinner

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food hot and tasted and looked great. Service on the money. Really enjoyed the evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good dinner. Maybe as bad service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good dinner. Maybe as bad service as I have seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

This was my second time visiting and th ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was my second time visiting and the first was better. We had a waiter that was very slow. We had a table of six and the waiter did not refill our drinks, did not bring chips when he brought a bowl of cheese dip and just overall slow. I had to stop two different waiters for help, because our waiter was not around. It was not crowded, so I'm not sure why he was so sluggish and slow to respond.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Mother's Day brunch. Not so good.

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They were more busy for Mother's Day brunch than they could handle. Food took an hour after it was ordered, and about half of our entrees were cold when we got them. Our server apologized three times about how long we waited.

They really should do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Mother's Day Dining Experience

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Cocina Superior several times and are never disappointed in the taste of the food. Our preference is eating on the patio because the noise level inside the restaurant makes it difficult to talk to each other if you have a larger party however I forgot to make that request when I scheduled our reservation through Open Table. We had a party of nine and were immediately greeted and seated - definitely felt like we were special guests. Because this was a busier than normal day, a few details slipped by which were not normal for this restaurant - tortilla bowl was brought without tortillas, soup was brought without spoon, etc. Our waiter did an excellent job however he needed additional help. He was attentive and handled every situation with a light-hearted, "I'll take care of that" attitude. Our dining experience lasted about 2 1/2 hours although our group ran late so we contributed to some of the delay. Overall we love Cocina Superior and actually had four people in our group who had not eaten there before who were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was. One didn't like Mexican food and had a breakfast item which they loved. This is a restaurant our immediately family would chose on a regular basis but we wouldn't have normally chosen this for an extended family celebration meal. However because Open Table was able to schedule our party at the time we wanted, it made it easy to chose Cocina Superior and we are glad we did.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

cold food

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

went for mothers day. kitchen was overwhelmed almost as it was a surprise mothers day would be busy. my meal was cold when it arrived, wife had salad and son had fajitas. I sent mine back and asked for manager. manager was unapoligetic in his response and I ending up not eating as my family was done with their meal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Good experience at Cocina Superior

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great experience at Cocina Superior for Mother's Day. With a large group of 24 we were seated in a pleasant outdoor covered area. Our Waiter was very accommodating and efficient and pleasant. All the staff were very friendly. The food was good and came out in a timely fashion. We had called and increased our group from 20 - 24 and they were very nice and did not act annoyed or anything. I was impressed with our overall experience and will dine here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday lunch

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The wait staff was outstanding. The was delicious; portions more than I could eat. Cocktails interesting and delicious. The prices (for lunch) were very reasonable. Parking was good at that time of day. (11:00 a.m.). Overall - wonderful experience! I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BRUNCH WAS ON POINT

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I've been to Cocina Superior several times, but I haven't been for their brunch. It was awesome. They have a good selection of Latin flavors and traditional brunch. I will be going back next month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to eat there from all sta ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a treat to eat there from all standpoints. Service and food are outstanding and consistently so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

meal out

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We enjoyed our meal but it did take awhile to get it. Service was very good and food was great!

Margaritas were a big hit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the food and service. Freshly made ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Loved the food and service. Freshly made food and also loved the salsa. I think best Mexican in Birmingham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over-priced tex-mex

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

the food is okay, but, nothing special. it's really just over-priced tex-mex. i prefer el cazedor, on montclair. the pomegranate margies are, i must say, off the charts good. the salsa was too thin to be enjoyed. i prefer a little more substance, when i'm dipping my tortilla chips. it is what it is. probably go there 1-2x a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great for larger parties!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Oscar was EXCEPTIONAL! He made sure our drinks were filled and came back multiple times to check to see if we needed anything. Thank you again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

sima

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We went there for my birthday, it was great. We have been a couple of times before. Always wonderful!!!!My new favorite Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great variety!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Always enjoy and pick something different each time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last Chance

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We have been big fans of this restaurant in the past but had a bad experience about a year ago and had not been back since. On a whim, I booked a reservation there for our Friday date night. The restaurant was slammed but the hostess staff was very hospitable and we were sat at our table within 10 minutes. Wait staff was very efficient in bringing drinks, chips and salsa. Unfortunately they forgot any silverware and napkins. Ordered table side guacamole and, thankfully, that was the hit and the primary source of food for the evening. The guacamole was prepared expertly by our waiter and was very fresh and tasteful. My wife ordered blue stacked enchiladas with an over easy egg on top and I ordered the Enchiladas Carbon. The food took a long time to come so we amused ourselves by watching the 20 or so extremely loud Cotillion attending teenagers that we seated right next to us. We assumed most of their conversation was taking place via text as they all had their phones out and were texting away. Anyhow, the food finally arrives via runner. My wife immediately determines that her egg is not over easy but is so well done that it appears to be a rubberized model used as an advertising prop. We lassoed our waiter and he agreed to bring another one from the kitchen. Meanwhile my wife tasted her enchiladas. It was pretty obvious that they were either old or had been microwaved as the tortillas were dry and tough....more like cardboard than anything edible. By the time the waiter returned with the egg replacement, my wife had already decided to abandon eating this meal. The waiter was very accommodating and apologetic and was helpful in talking my wife into ordering a quesadilla as a replacement. Through all of this, I had been biting my tongue as my food, while tasteful, was luke warm on delivery although appearing to have been dried out from too much time under the heat lamp. Quesadilla arrives and is nicely plated. Too bad the chicken was dry and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

While the food was good and arrived warm ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

While the food was good and arrived warm and as ordered, the service was not great. Our server was short in his communication with us, a plate was put down on my arm, he was overall not helpful. However, the manager walking around and speaking to tables was very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.