About Cocina Superior

Cocina Superior is Modern Tex Mex. Its old Mexico and contemporary America- in the kitchen, at the bar and on your plate! It's all your Tex Mex favorites, innovative original dishes that we know you'll come to love and an impressive selection of unique cocktails all served in a stylish setting, filled with sleek design, vibrant color and music to match. The restaurant can be enjoyed for lunch or dinner, indoors or out, year round, thanks to a large heated and air conditioned patio. The full service bar features an extensive array of Mexican and domestic beers, an impressive wine list, and a menu of house drinks that promises to satisfy. With an outdoor fountain, side lounge and a unique glass-walled bar, Cocina Superior is the place to enjoy the latest cocktail or have a beer with friends.

587 Brookwood Village
Homewood, AL 35209-4501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 1:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookwood Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 259-1980

Website:
http://www.thecocinasuperior.com/

Catering:
At Cocina Superior we know that your special events vary, so we offer several catering options. We deliver food to groups of 10 or more, ordered off the catering menu (delivery fee applies), with everything you need for a great meal, including disposable plates, napkins, flatware, and serving utensils. We offer full service, off-site catering and have chafing dishes and other serving pieces for rent when you choose Cocina Superior to cater your party. 24-hour notice is appreciated for delivery orders.

Parking Details:
Cocina Superior offers Valet Parking every day for lunch and dinner. There is also a parking deck directly across the street.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cocina Superior Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (21)
Fun (20)
Casual (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Spicy (5)
People Watching (5)
Tapas (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Romantic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We reserved a table for ten, and ate brunch pre-graduation. I was a little stressed over time (you can't be late for graduation after all) but service was great and timely. We were in and out in about an hour and a half and had a relaxed brunch with cocktails. I was not crazy about the huevos rancheras, I've had better--but overall I'd give them a B+

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

The table was ready for us when we arrived. The server asked for our drink order almost immediately upon being seated. Chips and salsa great as usual. Food was great. The only issue we had it all was the noise level was a little high. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food!!! I would defnitely recommend. Wait staff was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love this place. We order the frozen mojitos and the filet blue nachos every time we visit and they never disappoint. And the service is always great.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. I've eaten here dozens of times. My only gripe with this visit was that I had a 12:15 reservation and wasn't seated until 12:40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Very Good Food. Good Atmosphere. We love they are dog friendly on the patio. Best table made guacamole!! Would have given it all 5 but service was alittle slow and we were hungary but all staff were very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great time celebrating graduation. The food was delicious and the drinks were wonderful. My only regret is I left too full for dessert.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service from bar, Ian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a nice Mexican lunch after Easter service. You could tell our waiter was new, but he tried very hard. It may have been that the kitchen was slow because of the Easter holiday. I would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were able to get a lunch reservation using the app on Easter morning. The food was great, as usual, but service was a little slow because they were so busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always a great place to eat and they have by far the best pomegranate margaritas in Birmingham!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Cocina Superior is a nice place to eat dinner (or lunch), food was as always good, service very nice. Outside seating is nice when no groups are present there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Tableside Guacamole was delicious! We went back a second night during our stay in Birmingham to have it again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Casual atmosphere with good food and a fun vibe! The people who work here are friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Everything I've ever eaten here has been good. Except for the gluten free tortillas, which should just come off the menu because the corn tortillas are gluten free and they actually taste good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I was disappointed. The noise level in the room to the right with the garage doors was almost unbearable. Yes it was packed and noise comes with the territory but it bounced off the doors and the glass. At times we couldn't talk because we couldn't hear. Food was average and service was fine. Don't plan to return unless planning to sit at the bar for drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I always enjoy this restaurant! The food is above average and the drinks are tasty. Order drinks from the bar if you are seated in the dining room. The drinks from the kitchen are not as good. Service is good. Chips and salsa are the best. Can be pricey if you plan to eat and drink!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent service for a large birthday party.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant had been recommended by friends & it did not disappoint! The shrimp brochette was DELICIOUS as was the chipotle shrimp. The salsa was addicting & the table side guacamole was so good!! We even went back the next day for lunch bc dinner was so good. The shrimp brochette was not on the lunch menu but they made it for us anyway!!! Highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Modern Decor, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Been coming here for many years. Everything is great here, including the skinny margaritas. One of my favorites is the Oysters, which I cannot seem to get duplicated elsewhere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was fresh and flavorful and the atmosphere was very nice. Very courteous staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had reservations, but were seated 15 minutes after our reservation time. It was another 20 minutes before anybody took our order. It was so noisy, I couldn't hear my husband across our table for two. Food was okay, but I do t think we will be back too soon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

No waiting, John, the waiter was very attentive and made our dinner service great, food was good. Our seat was in line with the bathroom and a constant stream of people paraded by our table all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Outstanding As always
Had chimichangas chicken
Corona light (beer) was a pricey only complaint what so ever in the many times I've been here

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were glad to have made a reservation for this Saturday evening, as the place was crowded and there was a small queue in the lobby and outside. When the hostess tried to place us at a small table just off the lobby, we requested and received a different, larger table in a better location. Nice and responsive.

The menu has a lot of choices. We've been here for lunch and those selections are available, but the dinner selections are also good. My wife had the veggie-licious enchiladas and said they were fine but unremarkable. Basically just sauteed vegetables rolled in tortillas with cheese on top. Adding salsa helped. I had the roasted pork enchiladas, which were very good (I recommend them). We also sprung for a small guacamole - would have preferred to pay less than $7, but it tasted very fresh and was chunky, not completely pureed.

The arroz verde is delicious and the beans also flavorful. My wife doesn't usually like refried beans, but complemented these (maybe because her veggie enchiladas were meh).

Our server was prompt and attentive, but not very well-versed in the menu. He didn't know the price of well cocktails ("about $7, I think") and when asked to describe the roasted pork enchiladas, didn't understand that they're not just pork rolled up, but are quite juicy and almost al pastor. As for the cocktails, they were very small, definitely overpriced and not worth the $6.50. Have a beer or margarita instead.

We'll be back. This is a good spot.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A bit loud, but the food made up for that. Delicious choices, plenty of chips, excellent salsa, attentive Wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing in every way! My friends and I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food and service in a busy night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great staff!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great as always! Excellent service and amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The drinks, food and service are consistently good. The atmosphere is inviting, clean and modern. Great Happy Hour specials.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had a really good time and the food was great. It was my friend's birthday and he said this was his top pick to eat on his special day. I have a food allergy and the Waiter was very understanding and made sure nothing came to the table that would make me sick . That really matters to me that he took that extra step for me. Overall I had a great time and I would go back again. The food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service are always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service and food was terrible. They clearly were not properly staffed in the dining room and the kitchen. My folks who live here, said that the food has never been this terrible. The kids cooking in the kitchen were not the same people that are normally working. If they can't provide the same level of service and food quality the day after a holiday, they should stay closed until their normal staff can be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great Food and drinks! Good service. We were seated on the porch and a loud table was drowning out our conversation, so they quickly set up a table for us inside, where we enjoyed a great dinner!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My favorite Mexican restaurant in Birmingham.

Tags: Spicy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The table was ready on time, the food was good, the margaritas were awesome and the service was fast .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent service by Luis - he took care of a large party of us! The private area was perfect for our celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.