About Coastal Kitchen - Hilton Del Mar

15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

At coastalKITCHEN, we aspire to meet your every culinary need. We have created relationships with local farms and vendors so we are able to provide our guests with the freshest seasonal ingredients available. Every item is made personally by our chef and very talented kitchen staff, so we are able to accommodate any diet specification or food allergy. coastalKITCHEN"s ambiance complements its attractive craft cocktails and cuisine with a relaxing fireplace, two outdoor fire pits and peaceful indoor and outdoor dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Via Del La Valle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 764-6057

Website:
http://www.sandiegodelmar.hilton.com/

Catering:
we aspire to meet your every culinary need.
By creating relationships with local farms and vendors, we are able to provide our guests with the freshest seasonal ingredients available, while supporting the community and lowering our ecological impact. By locally sourcing and producing all menu items we are able to accommodate any diet specification or food allergy. Our Farm to Table mentality allows us the ability to customize your function or event to showcase the foods & beverages native to Southern California.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking or Self Parking Available -
2 hour complimentary self parking with restaurant validation

Executive Chef:
Eric Wilburn

Private Party Facilities:
At Hilton Del Mar, we aspire to meet your every culinary need.
By creating relationships with local farms and vendors, we are able to provide our guests with the freshest seasonal ingredients available, while supporting the community and lowering our ecological impact. By locally sourcing and producing all menu items we are able to accommodate any diet specification or food allergy. Our Farm to Table mentality allows us the ability to customize your function or event to showcase the foods & beverages native to Southern California. Whether you are hosting a business meeting or a cocktail party our staff will provide you with impeccable service and an amazing product.Thank you for choosing Hilton San Diego/Del Mar; we look forward to working with you.

Private Party Contact:
Derick Frederick: 8587646057x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Hilton Del Mar, we aspire to meet your every culinary need.
By creating relationships with local farms and vendors, we are able to provide our guests with the freshest seasonal ingredients available, while supporting the community and lowering our ecological impact. By locally sourcing and producing all menu items we are able to accommodate any diet specification or food allergy. Our Farm to Table mentality allows us the ability to customize your function or event to showcase the foods & beverages native to Southern California. Whether you are hosting a business meeting or a cocktail party our staff will provide you with impeccable service and an amazing product.Thank you for choosing Hilton San Diego/Del Mar; we look forward to working with you.

Coastal Kitchen - Hilton Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
See All
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great Beer (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
19 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoy Coastal Kitchen's holiday b ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always enjoy Coastal Kitchen's holiday buffets. Food is attractive, well-prepared and a nice variety. My family and I enjoy all the offerings- very delicious and nice balance of flavors. The staff is friendly and efficient. The space is open, airy and relaxing--and very clean. I'm very excited about returning soon! Thank you Del Mar Hilton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanksgiving Day buffet was excellent .. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Day buffet was excellent ....also the service was first class....Will definitely return....

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally everything was fine. The only ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Generally everything was fine. The only really unusual part is at the beginning of our dinner, the waitress asked us to open a tab for dinner for a party of eight. She said people run out in the bill all the time. So we joked that all eight of us, including four children, were going to run out. So we put a credit card down and continued with our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We spent all evening at the bar watching ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We spent all evening at the bar watching the Warriors game and then continued to eat and drink. I received poor customer service from Melanie. She made it known that "we had been there for a while." Because we weren't part of her section, which was very apparent she failed to come check on us to see how we were doing. Other than that, my family and I had a great time. Ish was very accommodating and provided great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It was a great Mother's Day brunch with ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a great Mother's Day brunch with good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Waitress was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Waitress was exceptional. Not sure of her name, but please find out. We had reservation on Mother's Day at 12:15: Janicik

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was not good

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We ordered the crispy chicken for $23 which was a chicken wing smaller than the palm of my hand, and not even crispy! It was overwhelmed with both super salty vegetables and polenta. Overall the cuisine was highly overpriced for the quality.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Memorable Thanksgiving Anniversary

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Our Thanksgiving dinner at Coastal Kitchen in the Hilton Del Mar was First Class! Attention to detail was obvious from the moment we entered the restaurant. Derick Frederick, the Food and Beverage Manager, welcomed us to the restaurant and showed us to the table he'd reserved for us. It was a perfect location.

The menu Executive Chef Andrew Knudtson and his staff had prepared for the Thanksgiving holiday provided choices for every palate. Salad choices included: Local Greens with Heirloom Tomato, Candied Walnut, and Shropshire Cheddar and Organic Red Quinoa Salad with Salt Roasted Beet and Wild Rocket Arugula.

An exceptional Hand Carved Roasted Turkey was prepared with Cranberry-Orange Mint Gremolata with accompaniments of Candied Yams with Marshmallows and Pecans, Buttermilk-Roasted Garlic Yukon Gold Mashed Potatoes, and Savory Trio of Wild Mushroom Stuffing with Bilbao Chorizo.

Additional Entree choices included: Hand Carved Adobo Roasted Pork with Stone Fruit Pecan Chutney; Roasted Free Range Chicken with Chestnut Creme Fraiche; Yucatan Style Baja Red Snapper with Mango, Peppers and Sweet Onions; Grilled Skirt Steak with Chef's Garden Herbs and Jus de Veau; and Woodland Wild Mushroom Roasted Chicken with Brie Cream over Tortellini.

Exquisite decadent desserts provided the perfect finale. Our choices were: Fresh Seasonal Fruit Desserts; Traditional Apple Pie and Pumpkin Pie; and Toasted White Chocolate Bread Pudding with Brandied Caramel. These were accompanied with Starbucks Coffee and Tea Service.

Since Thanksgiving Day was also our wedding anniversary, the attentive Coastal Kitchen Staff provided a romantic setting for what became an exquisite meal. A number of staff members stopped by our table to wish us a Happy Anniversary, including Executive Chef Andrew Knudtson. Their thoughtfulness and attention to detail made this Thanksgiving and our wedding anniversary one that we'll not forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant surprise

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2015

Had 7 gals for lunch, service slow to respond initially - which is a major downer for me, but then Michelle came to us, and all improved !

Great food, not crowded, fair wine list. Service stayed consistent throughout our lunch.

No one goes to a hotel restaurant, but try this one- truly yummy!

Try the Brussels sprouts - omg! Even the portobello veggies sandwich was super!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Convenient

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2015

This was a convenient spot to meet my sister who was in town for the races. Now that I've been there, in rather surprised that it is on Open Table as it's more of a hotel / bar / lounge than a restaurant, but the staff did put a reserved sign on one of the tables for us. The food and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great for large group

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2015

We had a party of 14 that included 3 toddlers, to celebrate my husband's birthday. Food was delicious and our server provided information needed to accommodate the 3 toddlers with food allergies. We were comfortably seated indoors and then lounged in the patio area for pictures and to digest our food prior to leaving. My entire family enjoyed their stay as the food and dessert were delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Didn't want to drive home in traffic so ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Didn't want to drive home in traffic so I decided to stop for a drink and a quick bite before tackling the traffic. What a great idea. The food was great and the atmosphere conducive for getting work done. Glad I found it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great with one small caveat.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Everything about our visit to Coastal Kitchen was great with one small exception. They seated us near the kitchen which is no big deal except that their kitchen doors kept making this annoying high-pitched squeak whenever they were opened. If you have sensitive hearing (like me), this can be very distracting and bothersome. It's no reason not to go here, but if you have hearing sensitivity, just ask not to be seated near their kitchen doors.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent restaurant in the hilton hotel in del mar

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Food was good. We had appitizers, entres and dessert. Wine was good. Didn't try any cocktails. Service was great. A little pricey but not out of line considering the area. Very convenient if you are staying in the hotel. Loud but not as bad as it sounds in the lobby.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Compliments to the chef

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2014

The food was fantastic; particularly considering that it was a Thanksgiving buffet. I'm not sure the restaurant area is large enough for such an event though. We were sat at a very small table up against a column with tablecloth that fell past the floor creating a precarious position. It seemed like staff tried to fit as many people as possible in the area. Nevertheless, the meal was well worth the price and I will likely return on a non-holiday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Coastal Kitchen/California classic

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 23, 2014

This spot inside the Hilton is especially lovely at night. On the outdoor dining terrace, there are atmospheric fire pits and flame torch warmers, again adding ambience. The good is classic California casual, which is good to very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Outdoor option

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2014

We were looking for a last minute outdoor dining option and opted for CK because most of the other spots in the area were booked. The outdoor area is more conducive to relaxing with a drink as the tables were a bit low, having to bend down to eat. It was still a pleasant spot. All of our food choices were elevated and tasted quite good. The seared ahi had only four pieces with a handful of salad. The burger entree's french fries were mediocre. The salad entree with roasted chicken was a large serving. The service was very good. Disappointed with the mint julep cocktail. For $12, it was served in a 6 oz. glass, was bitter with not enough mint and sweetness. Should have sent it back, but didn't.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Service was incredible! Food was delici ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2014

Service was incredible! Food was delicious! Everyone was super nice and sitting outside at night with the heat lamps made it nice for our group to sit and chat after dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ashley

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Our server for Mothers Day Brunch was outstanding. She said it was her first time but she was better than most seasoned servers

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.