About Coachmen's Lodge

273 Wrentham Road
Bellingham, MA 02019
View Larger Map

Under new ownership

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday/Thursday 4pm -10pm, Friday 4pm-11pm, Saturday 12pm- 11pm, Sunday: 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 883-9888

Website:
http://www.coachmenslodge.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on a nightly basis

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsals, Birthdays, Class Reunions, Bridal Showers

Coachmen's Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Boston / New England
Outdoor Dining
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Bellingham ›

great for outdoor dining (45)
good for groups (35)
neighborhood gem (31)
See All
special occasion (31)
fit for foodies (26)
scenic view (21)
romantic (17)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (8)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to the Coachman Lodge sever ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to the Coachman Lodge several times since,we found it. We liked Winter best until they set up the new outside dining area! Wow!

Great food! Nice people! Wonderful service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still applauding the renovations to the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Still applauding the renovations to the facility. Able to provide several different settings no matter the occasion. Opted to dine in the Pub area this time. Very comfortable for dining. Lively atmosphere but still able to have a conversation at the table. Menu offers a wide variety of options that give you some of the tried-and-true, but a number of very interesting selections have you reading the menu from front to back. Very enjoyable dining experience in a very comfortable setting. Will certainly be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Need some experienced bartenders. Servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Need some experienced bartenders. Service was poor and they were not busy

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Highly recommend the outdoor bar area. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Highly recommend the outdoor bar area. Drinks were good and a generous pour. Food was decent but not outstanding. Ordered the filet which was cooked perfectly but the sides were off (carrots barely cooked and zucchini almost mush). Wife ordered swordfish which didn't taste like most swordfish we have eaten elsewhere. Service was great and I'd most likely go back, just wouldn't rush to order higher end plates in the dining room.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress Shari was very pleasant and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waitress Shari was very pleasant and accommodating. Our hostess Alyssa was friendly and sat us in a nice spot. The gentleman in the suit that walked around to the tables - only spoke to people he knew ( repeat customers) and was a tad unfriendly to our crew. All in all - nice drink selection, nice updated grounds and good food choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was absolutely amazing food. Group of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was absolutely amazing food. Group of four and all we could do during the meal is praise it. Started at the bar which is beautiful

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table of eight and sat outside. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a table of eight and sat outside. They had live music playing on Friday night. Although it was a bit loud for dinner, we really enjoyed it. Our server was excellent even thought it was a very busy night. The grounds are ideal for a wedding, and made for a very scenic outdoor dining spot. We will definitely go again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely outdoor setting on the patio over ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lovely outdoor setting on the patio overlooking the grounds. Generous potions of good food. My favorite wine cost $10 but is served in a very large wine glass. No complaints here. Service is good but can be a bit slower at busy times. Steak tips with mushroom ravioli or the seafood casserole are excellent meals.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is restaurant management 101 to keep ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is restaurant management 101 to keep you advertisements up to date. The website for the Coachman offers a Fix price four course meal on Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday. Our reservation was for Sunday. I was informed by our waitperson the four course meal was not available on Sunday. It is beyond comprehension how a website cannot be kept up to date so that your customer is not disappointed. I cn't recommend the Coachmen.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I love this venue. The food, the service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love this venue. The food, the service, the value are unparalleled.

It's a secret gem in Blackstone.

The grounds are beautiful. It's a must to experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a favorite place of ours. The fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is a favorite place of ours. The food is very good, except for the seafood. Scallops, shrimp were rubbery, tasteless, not good.

The service is always excellent except for tonight. Our server did not ask how the meal was and drinks were served too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Shrimp huge scallops with lobster risott ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Shrimp huge scallops with lobster risotto was super!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One word "awesome". Went twice in one we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One word "awesome". Went twice in one week and wanted to go back again.

This place is a diamond in the rough.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Coachmen's several times s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We've been to Coachmen's several times since their recent improvements and have been pleased with the experience. Very good food at a very good price. Steaks are always cooked just right. Portuguese Calamari appetizer is a must.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

When you make a reservation, you need to ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

When you make a reservation, you need to say you want to eat outside. There are two hostesses with two different reserve list. We sat in the setting sun. Once the sun moved, it was a great table. Very friendly waitress. The service was a little slow, I was told the kitchen was about 20 minutes behind when I asked. I got the Lobster risotto and my husband got the lamb. Great Lamb. I was not impressed with my dish. The scallops were not sauted enough for me and there was some kind of tomato sauce in the risotto. Disappointing. For dessert, we ordered tiramisu and the S'more bread pudding, both were fine. I was surprised the Coachmen's did not have a variety of teas, like green tea. The outside dining area is a hopping place with a busy bar and sometimes music. But I was hoping for better food and service. Great water boy.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had our wedding 6 years ago on 6/26/1 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had our wedding 6 years ago on 6/26/10 so we went back 6/26/16 for anniversary dinner! The grounds and restaurant are even more gorgeous now! Highly recommend this place! Great food too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining at the Coa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first time dining at the Coachman Lodge, and I was not impressed. The Clams Casino were undercooked and full of sand. The potato and vegetables that came with my entrée were cold, and the Filet Mignon was terrible.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The staff was great as usual but the kit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The staff was great as usual but the kitchen was SLOW as usual. Overall we were very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The Coachmen is by far our favorite outd ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Coachmen is by far our favorite outdoor dining place to come in the summer. We always enjoy the weekly entertainment, the large bar area, seating to accommodate groups or a private dinner. The bar accommodates about 25 persons, so it usually easy to get a seat.

The watistaff, hostesses and the owners/mangers are great to work with.

We continue to recommend Coachmen Lodge to all our friends and family.

Thank you for yet another great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the prettiest outside dining venu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of the prettiest outside dining venues in this area...beautiful. Food was delicious. Bar area is fun and inviting - a great place to meet friends and family. Staff was fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I asked for my burger with no onions and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I asked for my burger with no onions and medium well... I get it loaded with onions and evidently medium rare

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Absolutely love this restaurant, food wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely love this restaurant, food was excellent, can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the Coachman's Lodge. Sund ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

First time at the Coachman's Lodge. Sunday dinner. Upon entering I gave my name and reservation time to the hostess . Total lack of personality and almost abrupt. She didn't seem like she wanted to be there. Both my wife and I wondered if our total experience was going to be like that. Thankfully, our waitress, who we learned started 3 weeks ago was pleasant and engaging so we were able to relax. The lack of experience of our waitress showed in some of the little things, like removing appetizer dishes but her whole attitude of helpfulness and service shows that with time she'll be one of the best at the Coachman.

The food came out hot and delicious. I had veal that was done perfect and my wife had stuffed sole and because they give you big portions, she was able to take some home for lunch the next day.

We were in a room with about 7 other occupied tables ranging from two to 7 people. The room was very noisy. Maybe because the ceiling was low but it did make it difficult to hold a conversation.

Will we go back? Well we are considering it for a family easter dinner restraurant. We'll see

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have always had fond memories of the C ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have always had fond memories of the Coachman's. This is where we had class reunions. Now, after 46 years (yes, I graduated in 1970!) I still love going there. I have introduced my daughter to this wonderful place and a close friend.

Beautiful surroundings for weddings and parties outside.

Good luck and have a great meal!

thank you all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly Horrible

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I came here for dinner with my husband and grandparents after several recommendations. We made reservations and were seated a half hour late, which was fine as they appeared busy. Once seated, we immediately ordered. Our drinks ended up coming after our appertizer a half hour later. Our meals finally came an HOUR AND A HALF after being seated. We were told by the waitress that it was a busy night. I was surprised that after such a ridiculous wait for our food, a manager never even came up to our table to apologize. The food was really good but I am hesitant to go there again and spend another $200 on a meal that may take almost two hours to come. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

good, but

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

First time here since restaurant's under new management. Something was awry in the kitchen because our server seemed nervous and kept saying our food would be out soon. When it finally arrived the prime rib was delicious and chicken marsala was ok, and baked fish was good. Very noisy but it was crowded. We checked out the outdoor seating and it looked great and the grounds were beautiful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Coachmen's Lodge - Outdoor Dining

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

After having enjoyed the Coachmen's Lodge several times over the Fall/Winter, we decided to try the the Al fresco dining at Coachmen's. Needless to say, it did not disappoint. I went with my wife, my mother and my youngest son (age 7). There was a Wedding Party that had just finished taking pictures and a Reggae band coming on to entertain the outdoor diners for the evening. Our server (Kate) was fantastic. Drinks did take a while, but she apologized several times (not her fault) and explained that things were a bit slower than usual due to the wedding.

From appetizers (mussels), to the main course (Al Capone Sirloin for me) right through to the desserts, everything was first class. We were able to take our son out back by the pond for some between serving "entertainment" so that certainly helped take some of the wind out of his sails. We'll certainly be going back over the summer months to come!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautify out side seating, impeccable se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Beautify out side seating, impeccable service 5 star restaurant !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was pleasantly surprised having our firs ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised having our first dinner here. We had been here in the past for Bridal/Baby Showers, but never dinner. The service was amazing, food was some of the best I've ever eaten and portions were huge. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

First weekend of outside dining jitters. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

First weekend of outside dining jitters.

Service confused & delays were apparent including ours.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love the New Look

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I've been going to Coachmen's for years. They've come a very long way from a rustic local family-style chicken restaurant to their current versions. I love the new upgraded dining area. Food quality was very good and portions are generous. Menu now includes some pretty sophisticated taste combinations that are executed very well. Duck Confit Poutine was a very nice turn on comfort food and was delicious, as was the Portuguese Fried Calamari, which had a moderately spicy sauce and Chourico. Escargot were cooked perfectly. Sea Scalop, Shrimp & Lobster over fettuccine was also perfectly cooked and a huge portion for $27. Cast Iron Sirloin Steak was delicious, with Cinnamon-Chipotle Rub and Espresso Kahlua Sauce. One of our steaks was under-cooked in the middle, which was largely a non-issue, as that came back home and got reheated for another meal. Vanilla Cheesecake, Molten Lava Cake, and Creme Brulee were all very good. Overall, a very good dining experience and an excellent value.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

coachman better than before

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The coachman has gone through an ownership change in the last two years. The new ownership has put new life in this neighborhood restaurant. New menu, new renovations inside and out. Last year they opened an outside bar and restaurant area that is fantastic. Highly recommend.

If you didnt like this place five years ago, try it again. Not the same Coachman.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Mothers Day. The wine glasse ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. The wine glasses were large and you were given a good size drink. The food was good served family style. There was a lot of food served, too much. My party enjoyed their meals. I ordered steak and it was kind of grisly. I would not get that again but I would go back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic Experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I just love Coachman Lodge, especially since it has been renovated and new owners. The ambiance is amazing whether inside or outside. Everything we have tasted is fantastic. My favorite, the Salmon and my wife the veal parmesan. The attention by all staff is very nice. The owner is apt to come by the table to check on everything. He is very attentive and you can tell he really cares for everything to be exquisite. This is also a beautiful place for weddings.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first impression

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first visit to this local reimagined restaurant. We are new to the area and were looking for a nice go to restaurant where we could dine and bring friends and family also for a great meal, reasonably priced , in a casual atmosphere . The Lodge embodies all three. We ordered the grilled sirloin tips and veal saltamboca, with an app of clams casino. Both meals were perfectly cooked with fresh side salads and seasonal vegetables. Yummy clams . Cocktails and wine list is varied and reasonably priced. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant Surprise

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I had heard of the restaurant but had never been there. I feel most restaurants have mediocre food. We were so happy to have two great meals. I am picky about chicken piccata and this was delicious. My bf had the seafood casserole and was in heaven. We were very pleased. Our waitress was good and the portions were large. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Large portions ! Food was delicious ! Se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Large portions ! Food was delicious ! Service was outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can'tbe beat!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Karen was our server. As usually she does a great job. She should be employee of the month. Not impressed with the bread/loaf they serve. How about fresh dinner rolls or italian bread with a dipping sauce. Meal is terrific. I had pork chops and had some left for the next day. Never had a problem here ever. Great service, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem in Bellingham

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a special dinner for friend's birthday last Saturday. we made reservation for quiet corner table near fireplace hoping not too much noisy. When we entered main dinning room,the noisy level was unbearable. we asked hostess whether she doesn't mind finding less noisy room. She lead us to refurbished "NEW BARTELET(?)" room and it was perfect. Elegant with gas fireplace on, high ceiling, giant window and beautiful,full bloomed dark pink Geranium.

It was perfect evening out with perfect friends. I am not good at remembering names but all staff were superb. We are coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great place to dine with friends and family. Food is great and the ambiance is wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.