About Coachmen's Lodge

273 Wrentham Road
Bellingham, MA 02019
View Larger Map

Under new ownership

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday/Thursday 4pm -10pm, Friday 4pm-11pm, Saturday 12pm- 11pm, Sunday: 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 883-9888

Website:
http://www.coachmenslodge.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on a nightly basis

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsals, Birthdays, Class Reunions, Bridal Showers

Coachmen's Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (30)
special occasion (30)
neighborhood gem (26)
See All
fit for foodies (23)
great for outdoor dining (20)
romantic (13)
scenic view (9)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love the New Look

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I've been going to Coachmen's for years. They've come a very long way from a rustic local family-style chicken restaurant to their current versions. I love the new upgraded dining area. Food quality was very good and portions are generous. Menu now includes some pretty sophisticated taste combinations that are executed very well. Duck Confit Poutine was a very nice turn on comfort food and was delicious, as was the Portuguese Fried Calamari, which had a moderately spicy sauce and Chourico. Escargot were cooked perfectly. Sea Scalop, Shrimp & Lobster over fettuccine was also perfectly cooked and a huge portion for $27. Cast Iron Sirloin Steak was delicious, with Cinnamon-Chipotle Rub and Espresso Kahlua Sauce. One of our steaks was under-cooked in the middle, which was largely a non-issue, as that came back home and got reheated for another meal. Vanilla Cheesecake, Molten Lava Cake, and Creme Brulee were all very good. Overall, a very good dining experience and an excellent value.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

coachman better than before

Dined 6 days ago

The coachman has gone through an ownership change in the last two years. The new ownership has put new life in this neighborhood restaurant. New menu, new renovations inside and out. Last year they opened an outside bar and restaurant area that is fantastic. Highly recommend. If you didnt like this place five years ago, try it again. Not the same Coachman.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

We went for Mothers Day. The wine glasse ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. The wine glasses were large and you were given a good size drink. The food was good served family style. There was a lot of food served, too much. My party enjoyed their meals. I ordered steak and it was kind of grisly. I would not get that again but I would go back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I just love Coachman Lodge, especially since it has been renovated and new owners. The ambiance is amazing whether inside or outside. Everything we have tasted is fantastic. My favorite, the Salmon and my wife the veal parmesan. The attention by all staff is very nice. The owner is apt to come by the table to check on everything. He is very attentive and you can tell he really cares for everything to be exquisite. This is also a beautiful place for weddings.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great first impression

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first visit to this local reimagined restaurant. We are new to the area and were looking for a nice go to restaurant where we could dine and bring friends and family also for a great meal, reasonably priced , in a casual atmosphere . The Lodge embodies all three. We ordered the grilled sirloin tips and veal saltamboca, with an app of clams casino. Both meals were perfectly cooked with fresh side salads and seasonal vegetables. Yummy clams . Cocktails and wine list is varied and reasonably priced. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Pleasant Surprise

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had heard of the restaurant but had never been there. I feel most restaurants have mediocre food. We were so happy to have two great meals. I am picky about chicken piccata and this was delicious. My bf had the seafood casserole and was in heaven. We were very pleased. Our waitress was good and the portions were large. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Large portions ! Food was delicious ! Se ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Large portions ! Food was delicious ! Service was outstanding !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can'tbe beat!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Karen was our server. As usually she does a great job. She should be employee of the month. Not impressed with the bread/loaf they serve. How about fresh dinner rolls or italian bread with a dipping sauce. Meal is terrific. I had pork chops and had some left for the next day. Never had a problem here ever. Great service, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem in Bellingham

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a special dinner for friend's birthday last Saturday. we made reservation for quiet corner table near fireplace hoping not too much noisy. When we entered main dinning room,the noisy level was unbearable. we asked hostess whether she doesn't mind finding less noisy room. She lead us to refurbished "NEW BARTELET(?)" room and it was perfect. Elegant with gas fireplace on, high ceiling, giant window and beautiful,full bloomed dark pink Geranium. It was perfect evening out with perfect friends. I am not good at remembering names but all staff were superb. We are coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Neighborhood gem

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great place to dine with friends and family. Food is great and the ambiance is wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Big menu and HUGE portions

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great menu selection - everything from raw bar to Italian, escargot to osso bucco...We enjoyed generous portions of calamari and escargot to start, and a delicious dinner of chicken Francese and prime rib. The prime rib was perfectly cooked to order, and honestly one of the best I've ever tasted. the fresh veggies that came with it were actually....FRESH VEGGIES! They were perfectly cooked- still lots of crunch left - and lightly seasoned and buttered. The chicken was actually 2 huge cutlets, nicely breaded and sauced....will definitely go back to try more..

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Saturday night spot

Dined on April 9, 2016

Had a great dinner with friends. Sat in the bar area which is a bit mote casual. Server was great. Very attentive. Between us we had the lamb chops, salmon on cedar plank, baked haddock and chicken parm. Everyone enjoyed their meals. And some of us even got to take some home. The dessert cart looked great but we were all stuffed from the meal and the bread that was served

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Dinner

Dined on April 7, 2016

Went out with friends for dinner. Portions were big. Food was excellent. Service left something to be desired.Not up to par.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very good

Dined on April 2, 2016

Dining with my son and husband. The atmosphere was good, food very delicious. Very nice menu selection and the service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent menu choices, little pricey bu ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent menu choices, little pricey but good experience.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Terrible service!

Dined on March 12, 2016

This was our first time at The Coachman. We were seated by a very nice host who told us our waiter would be right with us. We waited over 10 minutes before our waiter appeared at which point we place our drink orders, appetizer and dinner order. It took the waiter about 10 minutes to bring Us our drinks. He forgot. The appetizer came quickly. We had to flag people down to have our water refilled. Our dinner arrived 1 hour later. Once again we asked for drinks and had to wait. Prime rib was good. Pork chops were ok. Pork chops were on top of potatoes and veggies covered in a sauce...looked like something you'd get in a mess hall. I looked at the reviews after eating there and found a number of people complained about the service. Definitely not worth the money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Visited with 2 friends taking advantage of the Four Course Special for $21.99 on a Thursday evening. This special is only offered Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday. It was well worth it. We all decided on the Flank Steak which proved to be a sumptuous delight. It was cooked perfectly. I highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Highly over-priced and poor food and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

My dish of veal amalfi had no seasoning, not even salt, and was drowned in melted mozzarella; a real grease bomb. My wife's filet was mediocre at best and at $35 was about twice what it should have been for the quality and the area. We had to ask for bread and a second bread plate. Glasses were not removed as they were used. This was a total ripoff. We will never go back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentines day out.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Karen and Ed are great. Lobster too pricey. Not a good value. Steak and Prime rib are good choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with upscale presentation s ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great food with upscale presentation steak with coffee reduction was memorable . It's a must return!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very good, but the stuffe ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Everything was very good, but the stuffed lobster is out of this world.

food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Tonight missed the mark

Dined on January 31, 2016

Normally the food is excellent here, but tonight they missed the mark. The flank steak was carmelized so much it seemed to have a burnt plastic coating on it. The lobster bisque must have been the bottom of the pot. It was loaded with lobster, but I would have gladly traded the lobster for better flavor and far less salt. We'll be going back because this was the first disappointment in many visits, but it won't take many misses like this to cross the Coachmen's off our list. The restaurant was very busy, but that should not be any excuse for poor food quality or presentation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great value for the price with a nice am ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Great value for the price with a nice ambiance. Love the fire places and wood stove which provides a cozy dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

Dined on January 2, 2016

The quality and consistency of the Coachmen's offerings are the reason that this has become our number one choice in restaurants. It's about a 25 minute drive for us, but well worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding waiters

Dined on December 31, 2015

Peter was our waiter. Great personally and wanted to please us. I went with my wife and her braother and his girl friend for New Years eve. Great food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Slow service

Dined on December 30, 2015

I wanted to try something new for my birthday. I was not impressed with my appetizer I got the escargot, it just tasted like butter and garlic, the escargot was very rubbery. The lobster bisque tasted like tomato soup. I got the coachmen's lodge seafood casserole, which was good, still too much butter, but the seafood was great. Nice big shrimp. The Service was very slow. Took a while to get our drinks and refill our waters. The food took a while too. Sorry I would not go back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Still one of my favorites

Dined on December 28, 2015

Food was excellent as usual, but the waiter must have been new. Service was off its usually good standard.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Post Christmas Dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

Food and service were great as we have come to expect. However, dinner started out rocky. Despite having reservations for over a week, our party of 4 was placed at an extra table that had been set up. The fold up legs blocked 2 of the party from being able to place their legs under the table....very uncomfortable. When we pointed this out and asked for a different table we were initially told there were none, then asked if we would be ok moving to a high top table in the bar. After we insisted that those options would not work, we were given a normal table for 4 in the bar area. They ended up removing that table and replaced it with another one that could seat 4 comfortably. Our waiter was excellent and the dinner was very good and very reasonably priced.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Great Food, Poor Service

Dined on December 20, 2015

We have been to the Coachman many times and the food and service was always great. The last two times we brought friends along after telling them about the excellent food. Both times we had such poor service that it overshadowed the good food. We will go back but I doubt that our friends will. It's too bad because there is no excuse for poor service. This time we didn't see a waitress for 15 minutes after being seated. The room we were in was understaffed so the service never got any better. Couldn't get the attention that we should have. The previous time we had a new waitress that was clearly unfamiliar with the restaurant operation. Not her fault but she should have been trained properly before being assigned a number of tables. Bottom line is the Coachman needs to train their staff and have adequate coverage to take care of their dining guests. We will give them another chance but if the service doesn't improve we won't be repeat diners.

food4
ambience3
service4

Nice time

Dined on December 12, 2015

Everything was delicious, our server was attentive. We were seated near the entrance - but happily could see the fire. A bit disappointed that they didn't seat us closer to the fire - there were empty tables. Also, they need to do something about cold air blowing in. I borrowed my co-diner's jacket to cover my legs - we kept getting rushes of air when new customer's entered. A man sang & played mellow guitar in the bar. The noise volume was moderate to loud - sometimes we felt that we had to yell at each other. I'd ask for a table near the fireplace in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic

Dined on December 12, 2015

I always loved the place. It was my first time visit after new owner took over. was noisy and cheery but has three wonderful elements-service,food,beautiful Holiday decoration. I would go back for special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb!

Dined on December 12, 2015

We can't say enough about the wonderful renovations to this already fantastic restaurant! We are anxious to go back for the great food, service and ambience at a reasonable price.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Coachmen's never misses the mark

Dined on December 5, 2015

My wife and I took my cousin and his girlfriend last Saturday night. Food, service and atmosphere was all excellent, as usual.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, amazing food

Dined on November 21, 2015

We had an amazing dinner here (2 adults, 4 kids). The steak was cooked perfectly, as was the salmon served on a cedar plank. Likely one of the best dishes of chicken parm in the area. Service was excellent. I received a call later in the evening to let me know I had over-tipped due to the automatic addition of gratuity for large parties. They adjusted the charges accordingly when they really didn't have to. Overall an excellent experience. We will certainly be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

Watch where you sit

Dined on November 15, 2015

food was wonderful, unfortunately our table was close to the door which everytime it opened it brought it a draft of cold smokey air. Allowing people to smoke out the front door was not a good idea.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

Lost in the Party Room

Dined on November 7, 2015

We were seated in the new section of the restaurant, which isn't fully completed. The room was empty besides a large group on one side and a couple sitting at the next table over. Our waitress was pleasant and took our drink order pretty promptly. After that we hardly saw her at all. It was over half an hour until she came over and took our dinner order. At that point another large group was seated to our other side. We didn't see our waitress for almost an hour after another waiter brought our dinner. And at that point the second birthday party was getting their doggie bags. I understand that large groups take up time, but we shouldn't have been ignored. There was no apology for the wait. We were a table of two, and due to the extremely slow service we were there for just under 3 hours. The food was ok, nothing to come back for, and I feel as they are priced a bit too high. I think the high prices are paying for all the new renovations. I don't think I'd go back again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Stuffed lobster was fabulous! !

Dined on November 1, 2015

Stuffed lobster was fabulous! !

food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately we had a power failure.

Dined on October 29, 2015

Great resturant. We have been there at a dozen times in and out side. The wine special with meal is the best. The last time we went we experienced a hour long power failure. They we very nice and didn't charge us. We left after salad. Didn't wait for the entree. A generator might be a good idea. Other that service was excellent and our waitress Karen is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time and will definitely be back

Dined on October 10, 2015

Seated within 5 minutes of arrival. Had very attentive waiter named Jonathan. Good was excellent. Wine list could use a few more upscale additions

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Loved it.

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

After reading a lot of other reviews (vast majority positive), I finally decided to try it. I was not disappointed at all. So my wife was not loving the decor in the room we were in, but she does want to go back and sit in another room she liked better. I thought it was great, and the food was fantastic (large portions - I ate the 2nd half of my dinner the next day). Not a reason in the world not to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.