About Coachmen's Lodge

273 Wrentham Road
Bellingham, MA 02019
View Larger Map

Under new ownership

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday/Thursday 4pm -10pm, Friday 4pm-11pm, Saturday 12pm- 11pm, Sunday: 12pm - 10pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 883-9888

Website:
http://www.coachmenslodge.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on a nightly basis

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsals, Birthdays, Class Reunions, Bridal Showers

Coachmen's Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Boston / New England
Outdoor Dining
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Bellingham ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Groups (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Scenic View (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Hot Spot (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food & oudoor patio is fantastic a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food & oudoor patio is fantastic after 6PM The sun can be a problem

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I attended the Coachmen's Lo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I attended the Coachmen's Lodge for our Anniversary/my birthday and were overwhelmed with the wonderful service and overall dining experience.

The entire meal was without a doubt one of the best I have ever had.

Our entire experience could not have been better or put into words.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took 2 hours to get the entrees. Yes we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Took 2 hours to get the entrees. Yes we did have apps but it took forever. Food was cool when it was finally served. The waitress never can to check if we need more drinks in the mean time. Outside is lovely but the serves was brutal!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Since discovering Coachman we have been ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Since discovering Coachman we have been there several times. Love the menu, the atmosphere and the value.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Would recommend the outdoor patio. It ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Would recommend the outdoor patio. It has a beautiful setting. There's a large bar and music. If you prefer it a little quieter, I would recommend asking to be seated on the lower patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Friendly accommodating with good cuisine ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Friendly accommodating with good cuisine Server was excellent .

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant in the p ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have been to this restaurant in the past, but there have been lots of renovations and the restaurant looks beautiful from the outside. We had reservations and were seated inside, but the inside looked too stuffy and old, so we asked to sit outside which was much better. It was a beautiful early evening. The waitress, Kate, was exceptionally nice and helpful. The food was very good. We will come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit after neighbor suggested. W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First visit after neighbor suggested. We waited a good while for the salad and then dinner came at the exact same moment. My wife had the lobster salad and it was very, very good as were the French fries. I had the chicken Parm and it was OK. A little tough, I would not order this again. The prime rib looked VERY good and that's what we'll order the next time. The waitress was very nice. Overall a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Because of the extremely nice warm weath ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Because of the extremely nice warm weather I requested outside seating. After being seated we Waited 20 minutes before finally asking and getting a waitress for our table. She took our drink request and asked if we were also ready to order, to which we said Yes.

We weren't remotely finished with drinks when apps and salads came out together . Within 10 minutes the main courses then came out. Everything almost at once!!

I've eaten here countless number of times (inside) and everything has always been fantastic. The new owners have obviously spent thousands of dollars in renovations and improvements (all quite impressive) but should train their young staff on how to serve customers. This place is not cheap, and I'd expect tables would be the responsibility of a waitress or waiter known before their shift starts, and not the responsibility of a busboy finding out and telling her who has our table. This was a special night for us and the poor service and frustration became the main focus. If this was my first experience there it would be my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

First time there and the food and servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

First time there and the food and service were both great, would definitely go back

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was quite high. Beautiful ou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Noise level was quite high. Beautiful outdoor patio, but noise level definitely deracted. Hard to "relax" at end of work week...

Surprised there was no draft beer selection.

Not a deal breaker, but a definite consideration next time.

Food was great, and our waitress was awesome!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent venue....waiter was a little t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent venue....waiter was a little too sweaty and not too friendly....he seemed rushed - however, we had a great meal and the atmosphere was fabulous. We sat at the indoor bar for about 30 minutes then proceeded to our outdoor dining table....the hostess was "sweet and accommodating" - we had a great table - she was a delight. The waiter was way too hot and maybe had too many tables....We felt a little rushed and were not asked if we wanted dessert - we had to ask...however, dessert was delicious....I asked for coffee and never had it served to me...Wait staff for our table needs some "coaching".... and I don't know how he can work waiting tables sweating the way he was - not appealing at all....But, we will go back again and hopefully not have that same waiter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great selection of menu items. Great se ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great selection of menu items. Great service. The food was Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited to celebrate and surprise our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We visited to celebrate and surprise our daughter for a 16th birthday celebration. Patio is gorgeous with a beautiful garden view. The food and service were both excellent. We will be heading back for sure and will recommend to friends and family

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Coachman Lodge sever ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We have been to the Coachman Lodge several times since,we found it. We liked Winter best until they set up the new outside dining area! Wow!

Great food! Nice people! Wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still applauding the renovations to the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Still applauding the renovations to the facility. Able to provide several different settings no matter the occasion. Opted to dine in the Pub area this time. Very comfortable for dining. Lively atmosphere but still able to have a conversation at the table. Menu offers a wide variety of options that give you some of the tried-and-true, but a number of very interesting selections have you reading the menu from front to back. Very enjoyable dining experience in a very comfortable setting. Will certainly be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Need some experienced bartenders. Servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Need some experienced bartenders. Service was poor and they were not busy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Highly recommend the outdoor bar area. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Highly recommend the outdoor bar area. Drinks were good and a generous pour. Food was decent but not outstanding. Ordered the filet which was cooked perfectly but the sides were off (carrots barely cooked and zucchini almost mush). Wife ordered swordfish which didn't taste like most swordfish we have eaten elsewhere. Service was great and I'd most likely go back, just wouldn't rush to order higher end plates in the dining room.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress Shari was very pleasant and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waitress Shari was very pleasant and accommodating. Our hostess Alyssa was friendly and sat us in a nice spot. The gentleman in the suit that walked around to the tables - only spoke to people he knew ( repeat customers) and was a tad unfriendly to our crew. All in all - nice drink selection, nice updated grounds and good food choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was absolutely amazing food. Group of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was absolutely amazing food. Group of four and all we could do during the meal is praise it. Started at the bar which is beautiful

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table of eight and sat outside. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a table of eight and sat outside. They had live music playing on Friday night. Although it was a bit loud for dinner, we really enjoyed it. Our server was excellent even thought it was a very busy night. The grounds are ideal for a wedding, and made for a very scenic outdoor dining spot. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely outdoor setting on the patio over ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lovely outdoor setting on the patio overlooking the grounds. Generous potions of good food. My favorite wine cost $10 but is served in a very large wine glass. No complaints here. Service is good but can be a bit slower at busy times. Steak tips with mushroom ravioli or the seafood casserole are excellent meals.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is restaurant management 101 to keep ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is restaurant management 101 to keep you advertisements up to date. The website for the Coachman offers a Fix price four course meal on Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday. Our reservation was for Sunday. I was informed by our waitperson the four course meal was not available on Sunday. It is beyond comprehension how a website cannot be kept up to date so that your customer is not disappointed. I cn't recommend the Coachmen.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I love this venue. The food, the service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love this venue. The food, the service, the value are unparalleled.

It's a secret gem in Blackstone.

The grounds are beautiful. It's a must to experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a favorite place of ours. The fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is a favorite place of ours. The food is very good, except for the seafood. Scallops, shrimp were rubbery, tasteless, not good.

The service is always excellent except for tonight. Our server did not ask how the meal was and drinks were served too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Shrimp huge scallops with lobster risott ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Shrimp huge scallops with lobster risotto was super!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One word "awesome". Went twice in one we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One word "awesome". Went twice in one week and wanted to go back again.

This place is a diamond in the rough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Coachmen's several times s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We've been to Coachmen's several times since their recent improvements and have been pleased with the experience. Very good food at a very good price. Steaks are always cooked just right. Portuguese Calamari appetizer is a must.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

When you make a reservation, you need to ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

When you make a reservation, you need to say you want to eat outside. There are two hostesses with two different reserve list. We sat in the setting sun. Once the sun moved, it was a great table. Very friendly waitress. The service was a little slow, I was told the kitchen was about 20 minutes behind when I asked. I got the Lobster risotto and my husband got the lamb. Great Lamb. I was not impressed with my dish. The scallops were not sauted enough for me and there was some kind of tomato sauce in the risotto. Disappointing. For dessert, we ordered tiramisu and the S'more bread pudding, both were fine. I was surprised the Coachmen's did not have a variety of teas, like green tea. The outside dining area is a hopping place with a busy bar and sometimes music. But I was hoping for better food and service. Great water boy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had our wedding 6 years ago on 6/26/1 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had our wedding 6 years ago on 6/26/10 so we went back 6/26/16 for anniversary dinner! The grounds and restaurant are even more gorgeous now! Highly recommend this place! Great food too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining at the Coa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first time dining at the Coachman Lodge, and I was not impressed. The Clams Casino were undercooked and full of sand. The potato and vegetables that came with my entrée were cold, and the Filet Mignon was terrible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The staff was great as usual but the kit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The staff was great as usual but the kitchen was SLOW as usual. Overall we were very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The Coachmen is by far our favorite outd ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Coachmen is by far our favorite outdoor dining place to come in the summer. We always enjoy the weekly entertainment, the large bar area, seating to accommodate groups or a private dinner. The bar accommodates about 25 persons, so it usually easy to get a seat.

The watistaff, hostesses and the owners/mangers are great to work with.

We continue to recommend Coachmen Lodge to all our friends and family.

Thank you for yet another great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the prettiest outside dining venu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of the prettiest outside dining venues in this area...beautiful. Food was delicious. Bar area is fun and inviting - a great place to meet friends and family. Staff was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I asked for my burger with no onions and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I asked for my burger with no onions and medium well... I get it loaded with onions and evidently medium rare

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Absolutely love this restaurant, food wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely love this restaurant, food was excellent, can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the Coachman's Lodge. Sund ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

First time at the Coachman's Lodge. Sunday dinner. Upon entering I gave my name and reservation time to the hostess . Total lack of personality and almost abrupt. She didn't seem like she wanted to be there. Both my wife and I wondered if our total experience was going to be like that. Thankfully, our waitress, who we learned started 3 weeks ago was pleasant and engaging so we were able to relax. The lack of experience of our waitress showed in some of the little things, like removing appetizer dishes but her whole attitude of helpfulness and service shows that with time she'll be one of the best at the Coachman.

The food came out hot and delicious. I had veal that was done perfect and my wife had stuffed sole and because they give you big portions, she was able to take some home for lunch the next day.

We were in a room with about 7 other occupied tables ranging from two to 7 people. The room was very noisy. Maybe because the ceiling was low but it did make it difficult to hold a conversation.

Will we go back? Well we are considering it for a family easter dinner restraurant. We'll see

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have always had fond memories of the C ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have always had fond memories of the Coachman's. This is where we had class reunions. Now, after 46 years (yes, I graduated in 1970!) I still love going there. I have introduced my daughter to this wonderful place and a close friend.

Beautiful surroundings for weddings and parties outside.

Good luck and have a great meal!

thank you all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly Horrible

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I came here for dinner with my husband and grandparents after several recommendations. We made reservations and were seated a half hour late, which was fine as they appeared busy. Once seated, we immediately ordered. Our drinks ended up coming after our appertizer a half hour later. Our meals finally came an HOUR AND A HALF after being seated. We were told by the waitress that it was a busy night. I was surprised that after such a ridiculous wait for our food, a manager never even came up to our table to apologize. The food was really good but I am hesitant to go there again and spend another $200 on a meal that may take almost two hours to come. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

good, but

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

First time here since restaurant's under new management. Something was awry in the kitchen because our server seemed nervous and kept saying our food would be out soon. When it finally arrived the prime rib was delicious and chicken marsala was ok, and baked fish was good. Very noisy but it was crowded. We checked out the outdoor seating and it looked great and the grounds were beautiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.