About Coach Insignia

Renaissance Center 72nd Floor
Detroit, MI 48243
View Larger Map

This contemporary steak house offers breathtaking views from the top of the GM Global Renaissance Center. Coach Insignia features elegantly delicious cuisine and a world-class wine list (one of Michigan's largest) to accompany the panoramic view of Detroit and Windsor.

You'll bask in the personalized service provided the entire Coach Insignia team. Coach has been awarded the highest rating of four stars by both the Detroit News & the Detroit Free Press, as well as the Wine Spectator's coveted "Best of" Award of Excellence.

For great dining, special events or private parties, elevate your dining experience at Coach Insignia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm to 11:00pm

2015 Holiday Lunch hours - Nov. 30 - Dec. 18
Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

Select Holiday Sunday Brunch 10:00 to 3:00

Cross Street:
Beaubien St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 567-2622

Website:
http://www.coachinsigniadetroit.com/

Catering:
We have the ability to serve all your catering needs, whether it is in our amazing restaurant or in your personal office. Please call Regina Peter at, 313-567-2622, for details.

Parking Details:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the Wintergarden {South entrance of the building} Or feel free to valet at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Public Transit:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the GM Winter-garden (South entrance of the building next to the river), or use the valet services at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Green

Private Party Facilities:
Coach Insignia offers a beautiful private room with its own bar & panoramic view of Detroit Metropolitan Area, seating up to 110 guests or 200 guests for a standing reception. The entire restaurant is also available for booking. We also have one semi-private room with glass walls and no doors that can be used in many different ways, seats up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Peter: 3135672622x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet Mignon
Chilled Poached Shrimp
Seared Scallops
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Charcuterie plate
Cocktails
Selection of Appetisers
Dijon Crusted Australian Rack of Lamb.
NY Strip Steak
Pizza Margherita
Ricotta Gnocchi
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Creme Brulee Brie
Halibut
Southern Style Braised Short Ribs
Filet Mignon
Lamb Kebabs
Lobster Corn Dog
Porterhouse
Cesar Salad
Lobster And Shrimp Bisque
Herb Crusted Rack Of Lamb, Roasted Winter Vegetables, Balsamic Glaze
Surf & Turf Trio
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Wine Flight
Bbq Brisket W/Morels, Tomatoes, Ramps And Faygo Root Beer Sauce
Poached Pear Salad
Lobster Corndog
Creme Brulee
5oz Stockyard Angus Filet
Mini Chocolate Coach Torte
Chipotle & Watermelon BBQ Short Ribs
Ribeye With Bernaise Sauce
white chocolate cheesecake
Salmon
Coach Chocolate Hazelnut Torte
House Made Pickles
Fruits De Mer
Stuffed Quail

Coach Insignia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
10 More
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Notable Wine List
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Most Booked
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

scenic view (197)
special occasion (182)
romantic (167)
See All
notable wine list (91)
fit for foodies (46)
good for groups (45)
neighborhood gem (25)
hot spot (22)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (12)
great for lunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Staff was rude, i waited 20 to be greete ...

Dined 6 days ago

Staff was rude, i waited 20 to be greeted at my table. This is a beautiful restaurant that is overpriced with low quality food and i got a New York strip!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Coach Insignia is FABULOUS. While I do e ...

Dined 6 days ago

Coach Insignia is FABULOUS. While I do enjoy the amazing food and the stellar service, I mainly go for the view. Eating at 72 stories high with a beautiful view of Michigan and Canada makes the premium price more than worth it. I have never been disappointed with the quality of their food or service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My sisters and I went to Coach for dinne ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

My sisters and I went to Coach for dinner. Unfortunately, there was a wedding going on, complete with a band. The band was terrible and we were yelling at each other across the table. We were seated near the register. My seat was occasionally getting bumped or servers conversing with each other near that spot. I expected the service to be excellent as well but our server went to our table once. He didn't refill our drinks until we had to flag another server. But the food was really good, though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too bad the restaurant no longer revolve ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Too bad the restaurant no longer revolves, that was a huge part of the attraction. Wonderful service, awesome food and beautiful view. We'll go back! Our waiter was professional and fun; the hostesses were friendly and nice. Just a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Appetizers: Lobster co ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food. Appetizers: Lobster corn dogs were great Gravlax were not bad. had them served warm before. The served with them was not too good. Soups: Lobster bisque was great. Corn chowder was great Salad: Heirloom tomatoes were not too ripe they were mushy Entree: By Land and Air and Sea steak and lobster with faugra reduction was delicious Salmon with pesto was awesome. Dessert Had them all and all were delicious Coffee was rich and flavorful 20 year Tawny Port was delicious Gran Manier warmed was great XO Cognac was refined

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was not prepared well, my shrimp we ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was not prepared well, my shrimp were so well done they felt like eating rocks.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 25th Annive ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary here with a very nice dinner. We used to come here regularly when it was the Summit so we were very happy to see it re-open as Coach Insignia. Odd name but it turns out to be auto-related! I had a Filet which was cooked perfectly and was excellent and my wife had the Sea Bass which was exceptional. We were never rushed - a very well-paced meal with wonderful and attentive service. We ordered two sides and in hindsight, we only needed one as it was quite a bit of food (get the asparagus!). We only have one request - the dining area no longer rotates! Have it rotate again so there is no bad seat in the house (we had a view of the river and bridge so we did great but if we sat looking north, our view would be so-so!).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we arrived it was amazin ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

From the moment we arrived it was amazing, the view, wine, appetizer, dinner and desert, all just perfect! Service was outstanding and professional, thank you for an outstanding fine dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and myself had a duo Birthday c ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

A friend and myself had a duo Birthday celebration. We had a window table seat with a glorious view. Our server, Tonya, was wonderful and friendly! Our food and wine was exquisite! I will recommend Coach Insignia often and i will return! Thank you for a WONDERFUL evening, overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent server. Best dinner I've had a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent server. Best dinner I've had at a restaurant in the last couple of years. Had a private event-wedding with children running around and screaming even in the common areas. That was disruptive to the ambience. That aside this was a 5 star experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EVERYTHING WAS OUTSTANDING!!! It was a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

EVERYTHING WAS OUTSTANDING!!! It was a birthday celebration that turned out wonderful!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The ambiance and scenic view at Coach in ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The ambiance and scenic view at Coach insignia as always was phenomenal. I highly recommend the restaurant for anything from date night to a special family occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The view is the only thing I'd recommend ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The view is the only thing I'd recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Detroit Icon that didn't disappoint. Dra ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Detroit Icon that didn't disappoint. Dramatic backdrop views of Belle Isle, the Riverwalk, Detroit River and Canada. The Coach Insignia, which is located at the top of the GM Renaissance Center, was a bit of a challenge to get to, by the time you valet and maneuver your way thru the RenCen and elevators. It was well worth the effort. The food, service and ambiance were all excellent. Only negative I could list is that some of the walls and carpeting were quite worn. I believe they are updating this classic which has been around for decades. If you dont go for dinner, the happy hour lounge area is very social and inviting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For my first experience it was great.Wo ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

For my first experience it was great.Would definitely go back again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice restaurant. Too expensive. Service ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Nice restaurant. Too expensive. Service average for the price.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

What I loved most about this place was t ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

What I loved most about this place was the gorgeous views. I was able to enjoy the beautiful sunset and see the city night lights. The lobster bisque soup and fillet mignon was very delectable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great view, didn't think we'd have to sh ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great view, didn't think we'd have to share it with a wedding.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1

I had high expectations on this place, i ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I had high expectations on this place, it didn't meet them at all. It started going wrong when we got to the hostess, after being ignored by the first one, another lady told us that we didn't comply with the dress code (which was never mentioned when I set up the reservation). My partner and I were wearing shorts, so they put us in a table in the bar area. The food was okay, but then when I asked for the bill, they were charging me more than they should (their menu stated that a particular drink was $8 and they charged $11 per drink). Not a big amount of money, but a shady mistake nonetheless. Another friend of mine had already told me he got charged more than he should at their bar, and that's the only reason I payed attention to it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in to celebrate my son's graduat ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were in to celebrate my son's graduation. (Congratulations QUENTIN!) Our servers were Eddie and his partner whose name I do not remember. Both gentlemen gave us outstanding service. Thank you for providing a memorable evening for my self and two sons. The restaurant has been one of my favorites for 30 plus years. However, I am disappointed that it does not turn anymore. The location shows DETROIT off for what we all strive for it to be. The specials that were offered were delicious and fairly priced. Lobster tail, 4 lamb chops, jumbo scallop, mashed potato and asparagus for $50. Continue to have that and we will be in regularly! Please share this good word with our servers. Thank you again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 10, 2016

Coach Insignia is a great choice for a romantic upscale libation...great circular view of the Detroit River and of our Canadian (Windsor) neighbors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice but noisy

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was great. The view was great. The drinks were great. However, we got sat next to the room having a wedding reception and it was not separated. Therefore the noise with people, microphones, and music made it very difficult to have a simple conversation with my table guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expectations exceeded

Dined on June 5, 2016

Dining at Coach Insignia is incomparable. From the moment we arrived at the hostess stand on the third floor of the RenCen, we felt welcomed and appreciated. The hostess greeted us with a smile and even offered to take a picture of my girlfriend and I underneath the Coach Sign in the lobby. The glass elevator ride to the 72nd floor was a prelude of what was to come. I was pleased to see that a request for a table seat near the windows was granted. So there we were. Sitting 700 ft above the city of Detroit with spectacular views of the city, the Detroit River and Ontario, Canada. Coach Insignia doesn't classify itself as a "steakhouse", but it very well could. We both opted for the 7oz filet mignon. The cut of meat I received at Coach was the best I've ever tasted. Better than Smith and Wolensky's. Better than Vic and Anthonys. Better than Ruths Chris. The whipped potatoes and lobster mac and cheese made the perfect accompaniments. Upon our servers recommendation, we decided to try the bread pudding for the finale. The bread, Saffron Crème Anglaise and Root Beer Caramel sauce will still warm when the plate arrived to our table. It was the perfect ending to a perfect night. If you're ever in the Detroit area and want an otherworldly dining experience, make reservations at Coach Insignia.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service1

The crab cakes were excellent as well as ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The crab cakes were excellent as well as the lobster bisque. We split the strip steak and We enjoyed our anniversary dinner although I was expecting for the high prices they would've comped the dessert. Don't ask for salt you'll get a mean glare from your sever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Coach Insignia was exc ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our experience at Coach Insignia was excellent from the moment we arrived. Our server, Lina, was very knowledgeable of the menu and wine list. She was very attentive all evening. The food was delicious and the wine was great also. Executive Chef Kevin Green and his team did a wonderful job with the menu. We celebrated our anniversary that evening and plan to celebrate many more at Coach Insignia.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Overpriced. I ordered the filet mignon w ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Overpriced. I ordered the filet mignon with a jumbo scallop on top. The steak was ok, but the scallop was too salty.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

WeI were there on our wedding anniversary.

Dined on June 3, 2016

The waiter took our drink orders and brought warm bread with butter. We ordered a cured salmon appetizer. The best part was the creamy goat cheese. For a main dish, I ordered the Saffron Dusted Pan-roasted Snapper. It was very good but it did have a lot of oil/butter? on it. I'm not a cauliflower fan, but the side of cauliflower flan that came with the meal was excellent. My wife had the Glazed Sea Bass. It was excellent. Her fish was on a bed of orance rice pudding, which was very tasty. I ordered bread pudding with gelato for dessert. My wife did not order desert. When the bread pudding arrived, there were two scoops of pudding with the gelato in the center and a halfed strawberry at the top and bottom to make the whole desert into the shape of a heart and the words Happy Anniversary were written with chocolate on the top and bottom of the plate. Of course the server brough an extra fork so my wife could sample it, as well. Great presentation, but I thought the bread pudding was a little dry. My wife didn't think it was too dry.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steak House experince

Dined on June 1, 2016

Scenic view, great food ( my favorite lamb chops). Occasion can be any celebration, business dinner or treating self for great taste.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Vernors and a View

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The Vernors Roasted Two-Way Chicken was very tasty. The View is of course, out of this world - even though it was a cloudy rainy evening. We were wished a Happy Anniversary FIVE times - when we got on the elevator, off the elevator, by our waitress, and it was written on both of our dessert plates. Everyone made us feel special. The service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Anniversary dinner was a bust....

Dined on May 29, 2016

I've been going to Coach Insignia for a few years now. Over the weekend my girlfriend and I were celebrating our one year anniversary together. With all the new places in Detroit to eat, I stuck with Coach Insignia because it was the spot I took my girlfriend on our first date. When I made my reservations I ask for a seat with a good view of the river. We were placed at a table with an obstructed view and had to listen to the music blasting for above which was strange. The restaurant wasn't booked up at all (but I wasn't going to let that wreak the night). The waitress was wonderful in the beginning of the meal. She was very professional, knowledgeable of the menu and just very happy to be our server as we were celebrating our anniversary. Then as we were getting served our appetizers the table next to us started complaining to the manager about their service and food. This went on until we finished our main course. After listening them complain for a good 20 to 30 minutes the manager then went and had a conversation with the waitress, which was our waitress also. She was visibly rattled and you could tell she was very upset. I understand things happen but the way it was handled was very unprofessional and the rest of the tables around the problem table didn't have to witness it. Just for the record the waitress was great! even my girlfriend and I were shocked at the stuff the table was saying about her. Anyways... The food was great but instead of talking about how great the past year has been together with my girlfriend and I. We ended up having to listen to the drama of the table next to us and it ruined the whole anniversary dinner. I will go back again just not to celebrate any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Night Out

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my second time dining at Coach Insignia and my date's first time. Our server was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. The ambiance of the place was remarkable and the view of Detroit was stunning. The food was better the first time I visited, however, it was not too bad. I would recommend the Coach Insignia experience at least once in life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

pricey view

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

have been here a few times. great view. pretty ordinary food and lofty prices. and the service is just ok. better: have a great dinner at one of the many new, innovative places in the city for a fraction of the price and go to coach for drinks and/or desert.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special treatment on our 21st anniversary

Dined on May 27, 2016

Very romantic and very special evening dining at Coach Insignia for our 21st anniversary. Every single person we encountered from the hostess to the waiter wished us a happy anniversary. The food was amazing...filet minion was the best steak I've ever had. The lobster corn dog was a new and tasty appetizer. Everyone was very attentive and our waiter was awesome! It was a perfect evening. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view. Overall worth the money ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Beautiful view. Overall worth the money for a special experience.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Views are great - took my young nieces t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Views are great - took my young nieces to celebrate their birthdays and the waitress was very good at meeting their needs.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing first time experience! We will d ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing first time experience! We will definitely be returning!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was fantastic, the food was ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic, the food was amazing and the atmosphere and views can not be beat. Thank you for a great night.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first trip to Detroit, and a wonderf ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our first trip to Detroit, and a wonderful place for a special birthday dinner. We enjoyed the view, the food, and the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversay Dinner

Dined on May 16, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary there. It was an amazing experience. Everyone team member that crossed our path wished us a happy anniversary. Our dinner was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

Despite the staff and kitchen dealing wi ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Despite the staff and kitchen dealing with a large party that overstayed their reservation by 2 hours we were greeted warmly and seated after having cocktails at the bar. Our server was spot on and the food was excellent. Our first visit definitely won't be our last.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.