About Coach Insignia

Renaissance Center 72nd Floor
Detroit, MI 48243
View Larger Map

This contemporary steak house offers breathtaking views from the top of the GM Global Renaissance Center. Coach Insignia features elegantly delicious cuisine and a world-class wine list (one of Michigan's largest) to accompany the panoramic view of Detroit and Windsor.

You'll bask in the personalized service provided the entire Coach Insignia team. Coach has been awarded the highest rating of four stars by both the Detroit News & the Detroit Free Press, as well as the Wine Spectator's coveted "Best of" Award of Excellence.

For great dining, special events or private parties, elevate your dining experience at Coach Insignia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm to 11:00pm

2015 Holiday Lunch hours - Nov. 30 - Dec. 18
Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

Select Holiday Sunday Brunch 10:00 to 3:00

Cross Street:
Beaubien St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 567-2622

Website:
http://www.coachinsigniadetroit.com/

Catering:
We have the ability to serve all your catering needs, whether it is in our amazing restaurant or in your personal office. Please call Regina Peter at, 313-567-2622, for details.

Parking Details:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the Wintergarden {South entrance of the building} Or feel free to valet at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Public Transit:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the GM Winter-garden (South entrance of the building next to the river), or use the valet services at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Green

Private Party Facilities:
Coach Insignia offers a beautiful private room with its own bar & panoramic view of Detroit Metropolitan Area, seating up to 110 guests or 200 guests for a standing reception. The entire restaurant is also available for booking. We also have one semi-private room with glass walls and no doors that can be used in many different ways, seats up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Peter: 3135672622x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet Mignon
Chilled Poached Shrimp
Seared Scallops
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Charcuterie plate
Cocktails
Selection of Appetisers
Dijon Crusted Australian Rack of Lamb.
NY Strip Steak
Pizza Margherita
Ricotta Gnocchi
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Southern Style Braised Short Ribs
Filet Mignon
Creme Brulee Brie
Lamb Kebabs
Halibut
Lobster Corn Dog
Porterhouse
Cesar Salad
Lobster And Shrimp Bisque
Herb Crusted Rack Of Lamb, Roasted Winter Vegetables, Balsamic Glaze
Surf & Turf Trio
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Wine Flight
Bbq Brisket W/Morels, Tomatoes, Ramps And Faygo Root Beer Sauce
Poached Pear Salad
Creme Brulee
Lobster Corndog
5oz Stockyard Angus Filet
Chipotle & Watermelon BBQ Short Ribs
Mini Chocolate Coach Torte
Ribeye With Bernaise Sauce
Salmon
white chocolate cheesecake
Coach Chocolate Hazelnut Torte
House Made Pickles
Fruits De Mer
Stuffed Quail

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Coach Insignia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
7 More
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Notable Wine List
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Scenic View
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Most Booked
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Scenic View (161)
Special Occasion (152)
Romantic (130)
See All
Notable Wine List (70)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing! Thank you! 😊

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined a day ago

Amazing! Thank you! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance were better than I rec ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and ambiance were better than I recalled and the view is as good as any in Detroit. The meal was also a better value than I had expected. The three of us sat in a very comfortable booth which despite being relatively close to other guests was quiet and intimate. Our wait staff was superb and efficient save for the head waiter who was a little slow in taking our order. I would recommend to all.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I was very impressed the moment that we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very impressed the moment that we stepped out of the elevator, The hosts were welcoming, and gracious, with warm pleasant smiles. Our waiter was kind, energetic, and we were impressed that he inquired if we were on a time constraint because we were attending a concert nearby. Our meals were absolutely, incredibly delicious. We ordered the mini crab cakes, a house salad, mashed potatoes, macaroni & cheese with lobster, and lastly, a well cooked medium rare steak. But, we were not impressed that such an elegant, costly restaurant has broken dirty chairs .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great views, and romantic spot for that ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great views, and romantic spot for that special someone. A bit pricey but food had good flavor. Vast wine selection. Walking through the renaissance center is always an adventure.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 7th out of 11 anniversaries ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 7th out of 11 anniversaries dining at coach insignia. The food has always been amazing and we will continue to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't dined at the top of the Ren Cen ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I hadn't dined at the top of the Ren Cen since the old Summit Steakhouse. The new restaurant has exceeded all expectations and it was a memorable 40th birthday meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent tasting food and above and bey ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent tasting food and above and beyond with the excellent service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the idea dining experience for ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was the idea dining experience for an anniversary date with my wife. Looking forward to coming back for another special occasion soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricing a bit high but the food is very, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Pricing a bit high but the food is very, very good and the view outstanding. Service was great. Only fault would be that the venue is outdated. Needs a refresh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent seafood and vegetables; desser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent seafood and vegetables; dessert was very good too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

When you first arrive to the first hoste ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

When you first arrive to the first hostess you check in. You then depending on how many others check in with you take a private elevator ride up to the 72nd floor. Once the doors open up you are greeted by another hostess who greats you by name and if you are celebrating a special occasion wish you a happy birthday or a happy anniversary ect.

Once you are seated at your table your waiter shows up and asks you if you've ever been here before if not helps describe the layout of each menu and tells you about any special feature that they may have going on.

They bring out all of your food course by course the food there is excellent. I have the chief special which was a filet wrapped in bacon. My filet was so moist and tender I could almost swallow every bit and not chew it. It was amazing.

I had ordered dessert and since we were celebrating both a birthday and an anniversary I was surprised that the waiter had boughten out 3 desserts. One of which said happy anniversary one had a candle and said happy birthday the last one said thank you for your service. Now I'm a military vet and not once did I mention I was in the service. But the waiter was paying attention and noticed I had a unit pin on lapel as well as had a veteran phone case he went above and beyond expectations. I highly recommend this place to anyone celebrating a special occasion. I know I will be back in the future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The dining experience was relaxed and . ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The dining experience was relaxed and . The staff was amazing.friendly and efficient but not intrussive.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinners were prepared perfectly, service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dinners were prepared perfectly, service was excellent, and you cannot get a better view of Detroit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for dessert and drinks. They hav ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We came for dessert and drinks. They have many food choices for dessert and the one we tried was just ok. The view was lovely and the service as ok.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Not really what I was expecting. It was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Not really what I was expecting. It was ok, the food was pretty good, but it was very pricey for what it was. The server we had was not good, consistently forgetting us, and putting way more focus on the other clients, not that it's the end of the world, but we didn't even get bread for the table. This was a splurge decision to eat here for our anniversary, after going, I wouldn't go back. The view of Detroit and Canada was the best part.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was very good. The customer se ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was very good. The customer service and atmosphere were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, server friendly and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very good, server friendly and knowledgeable. Presentation of food very nice. I gave only a good review on the ambiance. The seating as well as the carpet noticeably stained and not pleasant to see.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We loved the incredible view of the city ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We loved the incredible view of the city. The food was very good. We would come back again for another special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best view in the city, with food that do ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best view in the city, with food that does not match. Everything was under seasoned and over cooked. Not very much technique by the broiler.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The elevator ride up is great, with the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The elevator ride up is great, with the scenery and the anticipation of the meal to come. The actual restaurant could use an update, it was lacking character. Character that a location such as this absolutely deserves. The ambiance was saved by the gorgeous panoramic views from the Renaissance center. Food was great, tiny portions, as expected. The wait staff was very relaxed or in a word "chill" with us. But nonetheless provided decent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The ride up to the entrance was really ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The ride up to the entrance was really very wow . I thought we close to our floor and the elevator kept going until I just looked out of the glass walls and was just amazed. The first good sign was the service the head waiter came over to tell us the name of our server for the evening . she was very attentive and always there when needed my wife had a question about the story behind the name of the restaurant . The server made every effort to get her the answer until she did find the bio on the name. The food was well prepared and served with a colorful presentation. I would come back again to try something different next time the food option appeared to compliment each other very well. Lauren was our server

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great views, and ambience. Service is ra ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great views, and ambience.

Service is rather slow - so not a great place if you wanted a quick meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The Coach Insignia gave us an amazing di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Coach Insignia gave us an amazing dining experience. My fiancé and I do not usually drink wine, so our server was able to choose something for wine-newbies. It was phenomenal. The food was delicious, and our view of the Detroit night lights was gorgeous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress "Leena" was very attentive. ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The waitress "Leena" was very attentive.

The lady who escorted us to our table did not seat me in the appropriate manner,[as noticed when she was seating other guests],Also,she requested that our son remove his hat in a TERSE manner.

There was a large open area on the ceiling that needed repair.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The waitress did not take the time to ac ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The waitress did not take the time to acknowledge my dates birthday instead insisting she thought it was mine, difficult to believe considering a happy birthday was given to my date when checking in for our reservation. The food was average, definitely not up to the standards of the prices. My baked potatoe was ice cold and hard and filet was mediocre at best.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We dined here for our anniversary and we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We dined here for our anniversary and we had excellent service. Lauren was attentive and kind. Our dinner was delicious and we were not rushed. While we had dessert, we watched the sunset. The only negative for me was that they state on their website that there is a dress code. It really is not enforced. Being in a restaurant like this, I expected people to be dressed nice. Not on this night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with an outstanding ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with an outstanding view. Great service and the food is delicious. A great restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pathetic service. Our server was least ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Pathetic service. Our server was least interested in serving us. He would keep making some weird faces.

If that was not enough, he charged $140 extra and even after complaining , I have not heard from the Management yet.

Go only if u extra money to waste on service they offer.

Disappointing considering it is a huge name.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was amazing and our server coul ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was amazing and our server could of not been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best stake I've ever had. The view was s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best stake I've ever had. The view was so peaceful. Felt like it was only the 2 of us in the entire restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked hostess for a window seat (this wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Asked hostess for a window seat (this was an anniversary dinner - which was booked 4 weeks in advance). She literally just shook her head and said "sorry." During our dinner, a lot of those tables were completely empty. This was my second time eating here and we majorly go for the views; which was disappointing. Me and the girlfriend sat at this huge booth table and it wasn't very intimate. Don't know if I will come back. cost for 2 people: $200 with tips.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This was our first time dining at Coach ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first time dining at Coach Insignia. We wanted a special place to celebrate our anniversary. We thought that this restaurant might be nice. The food and service were very good. The view of downtown Detroit and part of Windsor was extraordinary. We enjoyed the evening as a whole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant was a litters dated in it ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The restaurant was a litters dated in its decor and the ambiance was a little more casual for menu. Otherwise, the meal and view were awesome.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dining experience was wonderful, sce ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful, scenic, and romantic. The ambience was elegant and the service was superb.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to coach insignia thinking it wa ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We went to coach insignia thinking it was like The Summit back in the 80"s well it's not.

No revolving floor. No peel and eat shrimp in the bucket as an appetizer and someone to come and give you a warm towel to clean your hands and no take home souvenir cup. The place was DIRTY carpet needs to get steam cleaned or changed stains everywhere gross. Walls dirty needed a paint job. The whole ambiance was old and dingy and not like it was, there were so many dirty areas of the resteraunt I felt if the dining area is this dirty the kitchen may be worse. They said it was renovated to what? It was so dirty.

The food was ok? Filet and lobster tail al a carte waitress personality was blah. Will never come back here again. The only nice and what I'm grateful for is the sights of the Detroit river other than that it's no way the Summit or anything better! Very disappointed

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

The most alarming experience we had the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The most alarming experience we had the entire evening was the "stained upholstery" you need to correct that immediately.....no one wants to sit in stained seats

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was horrible, your menu was not ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was horrible, your menu was not good at all, not much to offer in the menu. It was a extremely disappointing, we were really looking forward to it too.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had high expectations after reviewing ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had high expectations after reviewing the website, online reviews, and menu. Upon arriving I seen stains on the carpet and the booth we were seated at had stains as well. The food was decent, but I felt a bit overpriced for it just being decent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The Coach Insignia was an excellent loca ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Coach Insignia was an excellent location to celebrate our anniversary! The setting and the view were amazing! Our waiter was exceptional. He let us set the pace, making it a very relaxed, enjoyable experience. My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed our dinners. A perfect spot for any celebration!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.