About Coach Insignia

Renaissance Center 72nd Floor
Detroit, MI 48243
View Larger Map

This contemporary steak house offers breathtaking views from the top of the GM Global Renaissance Center. Coach Insignia features elegantly delicious cuisine and a world-class wine list (one of Michigan's largest) to accompany the panoramic view of Detroit and Windsor.

You'll bask in the personalized service provided the entire Coach Insignia team. Coach has been awarded the highest rating of four stars by both the Detroit News & the Detroit Free Press, as well as the Wine Spectator's coveted "Best of" Award of Excellence.

For great dining, special events or private parties, elevate your dining experience at Coach Insignia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm to 11:00pm

2015 Holiday Lunch hours - Nov. 30 - Dec. 18
Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

Select Holiday Sunday Brunch 10:00 to 3:00

Cross Street:
Beaubien St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 567-2622

Website:
http://www.coachinsigniadetroit.com/

Catering:
We have the ability to serve all your catering needs, whether it is in our amazing restaurant or in your personal office. Please call Regina Peter at, 313-567-2622, for details.

Parking Details:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the Wintergarden {South entrance of the building} Or feel free to valet at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Public Transit:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the GM Winter-garden (South entrance of the building next to the river), or use the valet services at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Green

Private Party Facilities:
Coach Insignia offers a beautiful private room with its own bar & panoramic view of Detroit Metropolitan Area, seating up to 110 guests or 200 guests for a standing reception. The entire restaurant is also available for booking. We also have one semi-private room with glass walls and no doors that can be used in many different ways, seats up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Peter: 3135672622x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet Mignon
Chilled Poached Shrimp
Seared Scallops
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Charcuterie plate
Cocktails
Selection of Appetisers
Dijon Crusted Australian Rack of Lamb.
NY Strip Steak
Pizza Margherita
Ricotta Gnocchi
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad
Creme Brulee Brie
Halibut
Southern Style Braised Short Ribs
Filet Mignon
Lamb Kebabs
Lobster Corn Dog
Porterhouse
Cesar Salad
Lobster And Shrimp Bisque
Herb Crusted Rack Of Lamb, Roasted Winter Vegetables, Balsamic Glaze
Surf & Turf Trio
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Wine Flight
Bbq Brisket W/Morels, Tomatoes, Ramps And Faygo Root Beer Sauce
Poached Pear Salad
Lobster Corndog
Creme Brulee
5oz Stockyard Angus Filet
Mini Chocolate Coach Torte
Chipotle & Watermelon BBQ Short Ribs
Ribeye With Bernaise Sauce
white chocolate cheesecake
Salmon
Coach Chocolate Hazelnut Torte
House Made Pickles
Fruits De Mer
Stuffed Quail

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Coach Insignia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
7 More
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Notable Wine List
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

scenic view (192)
special occasion (174)
romantic (160)
See All
notable wine list (90)
fit for foodies (52)
good for groups (45)
neighborhood gem (20)
hot spot (19)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Coach Insignia gave us an amazing di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Coach Insignia gave us an amazing dining experience. My fiancé and I do not usually drink wine, so our server was able to choose something for wine-newbies. It was phenomenal. The food was delicious, and our view of the Detroit night lights was gorgeous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress "Leena" was very attentive. ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 5 days ago

The waitress "Leena" was very attentive.

The lady who escorted us to our table did not seat me in the appropriate manner,[as noticed when she was seating other guests],Also,she requested that our son remove his hat in a TERSE manner.

There was a large open area on the ceiling that needed repair.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The waitress did not take the time to ac ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

The waitress did not take the time to acknowledge my dates birthday instead insisting she thought it was mine, difficult to believe considering a happy birthday was given to my date when checking in for our reservation. The food was average, definitely not up to the standards of the prices. My baked potatoe was ice cold and hard and filet was mediocre at best.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We dined here for our anniversary and we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We dined here for our anniversary and we had excellent service. Lauren was attentive and kind. Our dinner was delicious and we were not rushed. While we had dessert, we watched the sunset. The only negative for me was that they state on their website that there is a dress code. It really is not enforced. Being in a restaurant like this, I expected people to be dressed nice. Not on this night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with an outstanding ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with an outstanding view. Great service and the food is delicious. A great restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pathetic service. Our server was least ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Pathetic service. Our server was least interested in serving us. He would keep making some weird faces.

If that was not enough, he charged $140 extra and even after complaining , I have not heard from the Management yet.

Go only if u extra money to waste on service they offer.

Disappointing considering it is a huge name.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was amazing and our server coul ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was amazing and our server could of not been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best stake I've ever had. The view was s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best stake I've ever had. The view was so peaceful. Felt like it was only the 2 of us in the entire restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Coach ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first time dining at Coach Insignia. We wanted a special place to celebrate our anniversary. We thought that this restaurant might be nice. The food and service were very good. The view of downtown Detroit and part of Windsor was extraordinary. We enjoyed the evening as a whole.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant was a litters dated in it ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The restaurant was a litters dated in its decor and the ambiance was a little more casual for menu. Otherwise, the meal and view were awesome.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dining experience was wonderful, sce ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful, scenic, and romantic. The ambience was elegant and the service was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to coach insignia thinking it wa ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We went to coach insignia thinking it was like The Summit back in the 80"s well it's not.

No revolving floor. No peel and eat shrimp in the bucket as an appetizer and someone to come and give you a warm towel to clean your hands and no take home souvenir cup. The place was DIRTY carpet needs to get steam cleaned or changed stains everywhere gross. Walls dirty needed a paint job. The whole ambiance was old and dingy and not like it was, there were so many dirty areas of the resteraunt I felt if the dining area is this dirty the kitchen may be worse. They said it was renovated to what? It was so dirty.

The food was ok? Filet and lobster tail al a carte waitress personality was blah. Will never come back here again. The only nice and what I'm grateful for is the sights of the Detroit river other than that it's no way the Summit or anything better! Very disappointed

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

The most alarming experience we had the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The most alarming experience we had the entire evening was the "stained upholstery" you need to correct that immediately.....no one wants to sit in stained seats

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was horrible, your menu was not ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was horrible, your menu was not good at all, not much to offer in the menu. It was a extremely disappointing, we were really looking forward to it too.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had high expectations after reviewing ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had high expectations after reviewing the website, online reviews, and menu. Upon arriving I seen stains on the carpet and the booth we were seated at had stains as well. The food was decent, but I felt a bit overpriced for it just being decent.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The Coach Insignia was an excellent loca ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Coach Insignia was an excellent location to celebrate our anniversary! The setting and the view were amazing! Our waiter was exceptional. He let us set the pace, making it a very relaxed, enjoyable experience. My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed our dinners. A perfect spot for any celebration!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was perfect! I will come back F ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The view was perfect! I will come back Food and service was great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The view of Detroit and Windsor were fan ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The view of Detroit and Windsor were fantastic. The servers and service was excellent and the food was very good. We will be back to celebrate future milestone birthdays. We could not have gathered at a better place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dirty, disappointing, table setting was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Dirty, disappointing, table setting was like a diner. Really sub standard and more like chain restaurant with a view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Staff was rude, i waited 20 to be greete ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Staff was rude, i waited 20 to be greeted at my table. This is a beautiful restaurant that is overpriced with low quality food and i got a New York strip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Coach Insignia is FABULOUS. While I do e ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Coach Insignia is FABULOUS. While I do enjoy the amazing food and the stellar service, I mainly go for the view. Eating at 72 stories high with a beautiful view of Michigan and Canada makes the premium price more than worth it. I have never been disappointed with the quality of their food or service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My sisters and I went to Coach for dinne ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My sisters and I went to Coach for dinner. Unfortunately, there was a wedding going on, complete with a band. The band was terrible and we were yelling at each other across the table. We were seated near the register. My seat was occasionally getting bumped or servers conversing with each other near that spot. I expected the service to be excellent as well but our server went to our table once. He didn't refill our drinks until we had to flag another server. But the food was really good, though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Too bad the restaurant no longer revolve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Too bad the restaurant no longer revolves, that was a huge part of the attraction. Wonderful service, awesome food and beautiful view. We'll go back!

Our waiter was professional and fun; the hostesses were friendly and nice. Just a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Appetizers: Lobster co ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food.

Appetizers:

Lobster corn dogs were great

Gravlax were not bad. had them served warm before. The served with them was not too good.

Soups:

Lobster bisque was great.

Corn chowder was great

Salad:

Heirloom tomatoes were not too ripe they were mushy

Entree:

By Land and Air and Sea steak and lobster with faugra reduction was delicious

Salmon with pesto was awesome.

Dessert

Had them all and all were delicious

Coffee was rich and flavorful

20 year Tawny Port was delicious

Gran

Manier warmed was great

XO Cognac was refined

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not prepared well, my shrimp we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was not prepared well, my shrimp were so well done they felt like eating rocks.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I celebrated our 25th Annive ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary here with a very nice dinner. We used to come here regularly when it was the Summit so we were very happy to see it re-open as Coach Insignia. Odd name but it turns out to be auto-related!

I had a Filet which was cooked perfectly and was excellent and my wife had the Sea Bass which was exceptional. We were never rushed - a very well-paced meal with wonderful and attentive service. We ordered two sides and in hindsight, we only needed one as it was quite a bit of food (get the asparagus!).

We only have one request - the dining area no longer rotates! Have it rotate again so there is no bad seat in the house (we had a view of the river and bridge so we did great but if we sat looking north, our view would be so-so!).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we arrived it was amazin ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

From the moment we arrived it was amazing, the view, wine, appetizer, dinner and desert, all just perfect! Service was outstanding and professional, thank you for an outstanding fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and myself had a duo Birthday c ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

A friend and myself had a duo Birthday celebration. We had a window table seat with a glorious view. Our server, Tonya, was wonderful and friendly! Our food and wine was exquisite! I will recommend Coach Insignia often and i will return!

Thank you for a WONDERFUL evening, overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent server. Best dinner I've had a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent server. Best dinner I've had at a restaurant in the last couple of years. Had a private event-wedding with children running around and screaming even in the common areas. That was disruptive to the ambience. That aside this was a 5 star experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

EVERYTHING WAS OUTSTANDING!!! It was a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

EVERYTHING WAS OUTSTANDING!!! It was a birthday celebration that turned out wonderful!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and scenic view at Coach in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The ambiance and scenic view at Coach insignia as always was phenomenal. I highly recommend the restaurant for anything from date night to a special family occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The view is the only thing I'd recommend ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The view is the only thing I'd recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Detroit Icon that didn't disappoint. Dra ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Detroit Icon that didn't disappoint. Dramatic backdrop views of Belle Isle, the Riverwalk, Detroit River and Canada. The Coach Insignia, which is located at the top of the GM Renaissance Center, was a bit of a challenge to get to, by the time you valet and maneuver your way thru the RenCen and elevators. It was well worth the effort. The food, service and ambiance were all excellent. Only negative I could list is that some of the walls and carpeting were quite worn. I believe they are updating this classic which has been around for decades. If you dont go for dinner, the happy hour lounge area is very social and inviting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For my first experience it was great.Wo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

For my first experience it was great.Would definitely go back again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant. Too expensive. Service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Nice restaurant. Too expensive. Service average for the price.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

What I loved most about this place was t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

What I loved most about this place was the gorgeous views. I was able to enjoy the beautiful sunset and see the city night lights. The lobster bisque soup and fillet mignon was very delectable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I was celebrating my wife's birthday. Sh ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I was celebrating my wife's birthday. She loved ! Specialty the view and the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great view, didn't think we'd have to sh ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great view, didn't think we'd have to share it with a wedding.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

I had high expectations on this place, i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I had high expectations on this place, it didn't meet them at all. It started going wrong when we got to the hostess, after being ignored by the first one, another lady told us that we didn't comply with the dress code (which was never mentioned when I set up the reservation). My partner and I were wearing shorts, so they put us in a table in the bar area. The food was okay, but then when I asked for the bill, they were charging me more than they should (their menu stated that a particular drink was $8 and they charged $11 per drink). Not a big amount of money, but a shady mistake nonetheless. Another friend of mine had already told me he got charged more than he should at their bar, and that's the only reason I payed attention to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We were in to celebrate my son's graduat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were in to celebrate my son's graduation. (Congratulations QUENTIN!) Our servers were Eddie and his partner whose name I do not remember. Both gentlemen gave us outstanding service. Thank you for providing a memorable evening for my self and two sons. The restaurant has been one of my favorites for 30 plus years. However, I am disappointed that it does not turn anymore. The location shows DETROIT off for what we all strive for it to be. The specials that were offered were delicious and fairly priced. Lobster tail, 4 lamb chops, jumbo scallop, mashed potato and asparagus for $50. Continue to have that and we will be in regularly! Please share this good word with our servers. Thank you again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.