About Coach Insignia

Renaissance Center 72nd Floor
Detroit, MI 48243
View Larger Map

This contemporary steak house offers breathtaking views from the top of the GM Global Renaissance Center. Coach Insignia features elegantly delicious cuisine and a world-class wine list (one of Michigan's largest) to accompany the panoramic view of Detroit and Windsor.

You'll bask in the personalized service provided the entire Coach Insignia team. Coach has been awarded the highest rating of four stars by both the Detroit News & the Detroit Free Press, as well as the Wine Spectator's coveted "Best of" Award of Excellence.

For great dining, special events or private parties, elevate your dining experience at Coach Insignia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm to 11:00pm

2015 Holiday Lunch hours - Nov. 30 - Dec. 18
Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

Select Holiday Sunday Brunch 10:00 to 3:00

Cross Street:
Beaubien St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 567-2622

Website:
http://www.coachinsigniadetroit.com/

Catering:
We have the ability to serve all your catering needs, whether it is in our amazing restaurant or in your personal office. Please call Regina Peter at, 313-567-2622, for details.

Parking Details:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the Wintergarden {South entrance of the building} Or feel free to valet at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Public Transit:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the GM Winter-garden (South entrance of the building next to the river), or use the valet services at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Green

Private Party Facilities:
Coach Insignia offers a beautiful private room with its own bar & panoramic view of Detroit Metropolitan Area, seating up to 110 guests or 200 guests for a standing reception. The entire restaurant is also available for booking. We also have one semi-private room with glass walls and no doors that can be used in many different ways, seats up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Peter: 3135672622x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Coach Insignia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
8 More
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Notable Wine List
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Most Booked
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

scenic view (216)
special occasion (207)
romantic (201)
See All
notable wine list (107)
fit for foodies (59)
good for groups (45)
hot spot (29)
late-night find (25)
neighborhood gem (22)
great for brunch (17)
vibrant bar scene (17)
kid-friendly (11)
great for lunch (11)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first trip to Detroit, and a wonderf ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our first trip to Detroit, and a wonderful place for a special birthday dinner. We enjoyed the view, the food, and the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversay Dinner

Dined on May 16, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary there. It was an amazing experience. Everyone team member that crossed our path wished us a happy anniversary. Our dinner was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

Despite the staff and kitchen dealing wi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Despite the staff and kitchen dealing with a large party that overstayed their reservation by 2 hours we were greeted warmly and seated after having cocktails at the bar. Our server was spot on and the food was excellent. Our first visit definitely won't be our last.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice views... delicious food, fantastic ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice views... delicious food, fantastic service, just disappointed I asked for a table on the windows and was not...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great food and great service!! food had ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

great food and great service!! food had great flavor, view was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food. Beautiful view. Started ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful food. Beautiful view. Started with the lobster corn dogs, which I highly recommend. They were offering a 7oz Wagyu strip special with a 5oz lobster tail. Just fantastic! The decor is starting to show its age. Looking a little shabby compared to the competition. Fortunately, you have the panoramic view to distract you.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular view, service and food

Dined on May 11, 2016

Seeing the city at it's best. Sitting there with friends or family the service is fantastic and has a good menu with many choices. Cannot find a more spectacular view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Breathtaking Views

Dined on May 9, 2016

Coach Insignia is a great spot for romancing your wife or significant other. I took my wife here on our one year anniversary, which was special since we had spent our wedding night at the Marriott hotel at the Renaissance Center. Luckily our anniversary fell on a Monday, and I say that because it felt like our own private restaurant! Noise level was very low, the staff was very calm, and the private room was empty - meaning you could roam around and enjoy the views while your food was on order. Speaking of food, I had the ribeye and wifey had the NY Strip with mushrooms on top. We also ordered a side of asparagus. It seems that the servers are very well aware of all the ingredients used in the sauces so ask all the questions you want (for those with specific dietary preferences). I highly recommend it on your next special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved how many gluten free options we ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We loved how many gluten free options were available to one of our guests!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not Worth the Hype

Dined on May 8, 2016

My family made a reservation with the hope of enjoying the menu items that we had heard so much about. There was a strict dress code for a lackluster ambiance. The staff was dressed very shabby and were inattentive. The food was sub par. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a special day for me. I had just lost my job and planned to treat my mom to brunch prior to termination. I used some of my last and well...IT WAS WORTH IT! Although the hostess seemed new or nervous, which almost detoured me, our waitress Lina, I believe, was spectacular!!! There was a gentleman who brought water and removed plates, I wish I knew his name, however he was polite. Mark at the crepe station was AWESOME! Management was also present and VERY accommodating showing immediate concern for my sister's peanut allergy. Of course with the continuously AMAZING view who could complain... THANK YOU COACH INSIGNIA! My mother, sister and I truly enjoyed a wonderful brunch. We have been recommending to all our friends and family, local and abroad!! Well done!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Mother's Day brunch! Thanks!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect Mother's Day brunch! Thanks!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great service, and an awes ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food, great service, and an awesome view.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and Atmosphere...well worth the drive.I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to family and friends

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Expensive but worth the cost!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Meal was on the high end of my price scale. Very good service, fabulous view. Food was top notch and the menu has a nice variety of choices and price ranges. One of the nicest "fine" dining experiences I have had. I would recommend coach to anyone looking for a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food AND view

Dined on May 7, 2016

Reasons for losing a star... 1) My NY Strip (while cooked perfectly) was an amazing cut of beef... but with very little seasoning/flavor. I was a little disappointed in my steak. My husband tasted it and shared the same opinion. 2) Our server had 4 tables, two consisting of a group of 5+. I've never heard of this in a fine dining establishment, and there is a reason for that. He was a great server considering he had so many guests to take care of, but he took almost 10 minutes to even greet us. Thankfully, a busser came and filled our water glasses so we had something to sip on while we waited. The busser was probably the hardest working employee there. He was awesome and so very helpful. I wanted to start with the negatives because everything else was perfect. My husband got the special which was a California Strip topped with lobster tail, a side of crab, and fingerling potatoes. It was delicious, and again... perfect cut of beef, cooked to perfection. The view was spectacular. We requested a window seat when we made the reservation because we had heard about the beautiful view. I would highly recommend this. We ate during sunset, and WOW. To think, we almost didn't order the lobster corndogs. That would have been a mistake! They were incredible. We will definitely return for another special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on May 7, 2016

I know the views are spectacular and wasn't expecting much in the food department, however the variety was wonderful, surf...turf...vegetarian. We had a party of 6 and all of these were experienced and we all had an amazing time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing evening

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were able to reserve a table at last minute, even on busy Mothers day weekend. We celebrated our anniversary with a stay and dine package. The view is spectacular, the food and service AMAZING. Our server was wonderful, very attentive, and friendly. the Food, the food was perfectly prepared, tender and beautifully presented. and tasted HEAVENLY!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding view! Awesome food! Pricey but worth $

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great time! Hard time finding it being I was my first time! Amazing view of Detroit/ Canada! Great service! Eddie did a great job on explaining the menu!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great view but only in one direction

Dined on May 7, 2016

Still a great view from the 72nd floor but no longer rotates so the view you have upon being seated is the view you'll have throughout. Be sure to ask for whatever off menu specials are being served. The one I chose was among the best restaurant experiences I've had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time

Dined on May 7, 2016

My first visit for a birthday celebration for a dear friend who was also there for the first time. I made reservations in advance and we were at our seat and greeted right away. Cynthia was our server she was very knowledgeable of the menu and was friendly. She was very attentive to make sure our needs were met. The view was amazing especially at sundown. My special friend enjoyed that evening and so did I. Looking forward to making another visit there's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience.

Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to Coach Insignia to celebrate a graduation from Wayne St. University . The server was awesome. We had steaks and fish and it was amazing. You get what you pay for!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and the food was on pint. ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great service and the food was on pint. The rack of lamb had me in heaven. So fulfilling and good.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing experience. Andrew, th ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was an amazing experience. Andrew, the server was amazing and the meal was great.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Wonderful View, Despite Less Than Ideal Table

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food itself was fantastic, one of the best meals I've had in a very long time. I had the seared shrimp and scallops, I'd certainly recommend it to a friend. My main complaint is that I specifically asked for a table next to the window (as I'm sure many people do) and instead we were seated in one of the booths across the aisle. While most of the booths have a fantastic view and are nothing to complain about, the one we were seated at was behind the wine storage room so we didn't even have a clear view to a window across the aisle from us. Very frustrating. When my boyfriend asked the hostess who sat us if we could have a different table (as there were MANY vacant tables nearby) she laughed at him and said no. I felt like that was an extremely rude response to give a customer about to spend hundreds of dollars on a meal. I felt like we were second class citizens and it put a damper on what was supposed to be a fun celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Date

Dined on April 30, 2016

Coach Insignia is very beautiful establishment. It sits on the 72nd & 73rd floor of the ren cen and allows for a great view of the Detroit River and Windsor. The service was great and food everything I hoped it would be. My wife and I enjoyed time and we definitely do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and the NY steak was amazi ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great service and the NY steak was amazing great sauce and very filling.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An evening with friends

Dined on April 29, 2016

The meal was presented well The sea bass and ribeye outstanding The Lobster stick and crab .cakes marvelous Coupled with the view it made for a great 50th wedding anniversary

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Rude service

Dined on April 24, 2016

I got engaged on the elevator on the way up to the Coach insignia. I was SO happy and excited. We were seated at a booth and were there for drinks and dessert after the engagement. The server refused to serve us because we weren't ordering a full meal, even though we had reservations. He said he would move us to the bar but that he would ask first if we could stay. 40 minutes later he comes back and says "oh, its okay I guess for your guys to sit here" and I was like "Sir, I just got engaged and we've been sitting here for 40 minutes without a menu !" he didn't even apologize and just went about serving us as if nothing had happened. I was not happy. We still ended up tipping him well because we were in a good mood and it was a joyous occasion, but in hindsight I wouldn't have. I do not recommend that place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are always excellent at Coach!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We go here for just about every special occasion. Best view there is! Where else can you eat on the 72nd floor and watch the sunset and then the city light up. This is a bucket list restaurant so get down to Coach and enjoy their great wine and food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Ok

Dined on April 22, 2016

My main complaint is the stains on the chairs. And lobster macaroni was over cooked and the lobster was tough. But the service and the ambiance made up for that. I would go there again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best dining experience in ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Hands down the best dining experience in Michigan- that is if Sean is your server. From the elevator before entering the actual restaurant, an elegant hostess greeted us and escorted us into the elevator. The amazing ride up 72 floors foreshadowed the rest of our experience. We were seated immediately and shown to a table right next to the window displaying the breath taking view. The server assistant offered us water and within 20 seconds of sitting down our server Sean arrived. He was entertaining, humble, and extremely professional. After going over every menu item in detail, he showed us around the entire restaurant being sure to point out different attractions outside. It was my girlfriend's birthday and Sean made sure she had the best possible experience. If you want to leave a lifetime impression on your girlfriend go to this restaurant and make sure Sean is your server. Not to mention the food was incredible I had the 7oz filet medr rare and it was cooked perfectly. My girlfriend had risotto and it was also excellent. Meal was topped off with cheesecake that was perfect in texture. Incredible wine list for everyone. We will most certainly be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 19, 2016

We came for my boyfriends birthday and it was amazing. Our waitress Melanie was not your ordinary hum drum server. She was personable, honest, knowledgable of the menu, and very fun to talk with. She made our experience phenomenal. It also helped that the food was fantastic. I didn't mind the price because the quality of food was great and the portions were large enough for a full lunch the next day. I will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

A Little Underwhelmed

Dined on April 17, 2016

We have heard nothing but amazing things about Coach and have been waiting to try it. It was my fiance's Birthday so I thought it'd be a great time to go. Our reservation was at 8:00pm just before sunset so we were able to walk around the restaurant and take in the breathtaking sunset and views. It's a great place for that! Service was good. Eddie was our waiter and very kind. I ordered medium well filet mignon oscar style and it came with a very red center but the outer was charred. And no crab was brought out with it so l think l was given the wrong steak. My fiance got the seabass which he enjoyed and the sides we ordered were good. We had cheesecake for dessert and again it was good. Unfortunately l had such high expectations for the food and it was all just "good." Nothing to be excited about. We'd go back but just for the views.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Grat for the most part...

Dined on April 17, 2016

My experience at Coach was overall pretty decent. Two things stood out to me that I wasn't exactly happy with. I had taken my fiance out for a nice evening and we were sat promptly at our reservation time of 8pm. However, we didn't see our server for 10-12 minutes as we sat at the table wondering and a table of 4 being seated beside us. We finally met our server by quick introduction of, "Hello, I'm _____. I'll be right with you." Meanwhile, the table of 4 beside us had already placed and received their drink orders and put in an appetizer order. Their entree orders were in before we received our drink order. I simply did not understand how we weren't getting the same service. The server forgot to put our appetizer in when we ordered it so we were forced to wait longer than expected. The meal and food was phenomenal. No issues there. When it came to dessert, again, we put in a single order of cheesecake in before the table of 4 beside us. Yet again, the table of 4 received their desserts before we received ours. It took a solid 10 +/- minutes to plate and receive our dessert. This is not an experience that would stop me from returning, however, for being our first time at Coach for dinner, it was not the best first experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always on point. Beautiful views! The me ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always on point. Beautiful views! The menu has changed slightly and the food quality seemed to have diminished slightly since our last visit, however, the service was top notch! Ironically, had the same server as our last visit and again he was thorough, professional, attentive, courteous and humorous! His attention to detail made it an extremely rewarding and memorable experience!

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Great view, good food, nothing to write home about

Dined on April 16, 2016

The elevator ride to the 73rd floor is pretty cool, and the view over the river is stunning, especially in the evening. That said, the restaurant décor is from the mid 80's, and looks pretty tacky. The food is good, however I don't believe that my steak was as good as other $50 steaks elsewhere.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great celebration

Dined on April 16, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable andassisted in making the evening as special as it should be.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, awesome view

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was incredible and view was amazing. Hostess moved slowly. Inquired if we were there for a special occasion. I said it was my son's birthday. I noticed other tables getting dessert with "Happy _______" written. We didn't get that and there was no mention from Christina (fabulous waitress & I hope that is her name)! I assume it was never mentionEd after I answered the question.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my our first time at this restaurant and was a great experience, we really enjoyed ourselves and look forward to coming back, the food was outstanding and our waiter Andrew was the best. And the view was to die for.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.