About Coach Insignia

This contemporary steak house offers breathtaking views from the top of the GM Global Renaissance Center. Coach Insignia features elegantly delicious cuisine and a world-class wine list (one of Michigan's largest) to accompany the panoramic view of Detroit and Windsor.

You'll bask in the personalized service provided the entire Coach Insignia team. Coach has been awarded the highest rating of four stars by both the Detroit News & the Detroit Free Press, as well as the Wine Spectator's coveted "Best of" Award of Excellence.

For great dining, special events or private parties, elevate your dining experience at Coach Insignia.

Renaissance Center 72nd Floor
Detroit, MI 48243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm to 11:00pm

2015 Holiday Lunch hours - Nov. 30 - Dec. 18
Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

Select Holiday Sunday Brunch 10:00 to 3:00

Cross Street:
Beaubien St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 567-2622

Website:
http://www.coachinsigniadetroit.com/

Catering:
We have the ability to serve all your catering needs, whether it is in our amazing restaurant or in your personal office. Please call Regina Peter at, 313-567-2622, for details.

Parking Details:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the Wintergarden {South entrance of the building} Or feel free to valet at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Public Transit:
Our valet parking is located directly behind the Renaissance Center at the GM Winter-garden (South entrance of the building next to the river), or use the valet services at the Marriott Hotel. Valet Hours Monday-Thursday 11am-10pm Friday-Saturday 11am-11pm.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Green

Private Party Facilities:
Coach Insignia offers a beautiful private room with its own bar & panoramic view of Detroit Metropolitan Area, seating up to 110 guests or 200 guests for a standing reception. The entire restaurant is also available for booking. We also have one semi-private room with glass walls and no doors that can be used in many different ways, seats up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Peter: 3135672622x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Petite Filet Mignon - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Seared Scallops - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Chocolate Mousse Cake - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Charcuterie plate - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Chilled Poached Shrimp - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Selection of Appetisers - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Dijon Crusted Australian Rack of Lamb. - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Cocktails - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
NY Strip Steak - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Pizza Margherita - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Ricotta Gnocchi - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Local Tomato Buffalo Mozzarella Salad - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Southern Style Braised Short Ribs - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Filet Mignon - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Creme Brulee Brie - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Lamb Kebabs - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Halibut - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Lobster Corn Dog - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Porterhouse - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Cesar Salad - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Lobster And Shrimp Bisque - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Herb Crusted Rack Of Lamb, Roasted Winter Vegetables, Balsamic Glaze - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Surf & Turf Trio - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Wine Flight - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Bbq Brisket W/Morels, Tomatoes, Ramps And Faygo Root Beer Sauce - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Poached Pear Salad - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Creme Brulee - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Lobster Corndog - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
5oz Stockyard Angus Filet - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Chipotle & Watermelon BBQ Short Ribs - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Mini Chocolate Coach Torte - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Ribeye With Bernaise Sauce - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Salmon - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
white chocolate cheesecake - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Coach Chocolate Hazelnut Torte - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
House Made Pickles - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Fruits De Mer - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI
Stuffed Quail - Coach Insignia, Detroit, MI

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Coach Insignia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (87)
Scenic View (87)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (63)
Waterfront (55)
Notable Wine List (44)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Business Meals (31)
Cozy (26)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (6)
Historic (6)
Family Style (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I enjoy fine dining and this ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I enjoy fine dining and this place will be on our list to visit again. We loved it.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The facility was great and being on the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The facility was great and being on the top of the RenCen the view was specular! The quality of the food presentation and quality was excellent. However, while our waiter was pleasant and helped us with the menu our food was left on the kitchen delivery tray by our table for over ten minutes until I had to locate our waiter and informed him of the situation. Overall I found the service very slow.

I think the menu is a bit pricey overall.

I probably would not go back unless we have out of towners who specifically request to do so.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Annual NAIAS industry day stay at the Re ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Annual NAIAS industry day stay at the Renaissance Marriott has to include dinner with colleagues at Coach. NY Strip is best ever. As always - Great food and service. Management is attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This place was a complete let down. My g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place was a complete let down. My girlfriend and I had wanted to come here for years. 38 dollars for overcooked dry sea bass and dry hard pasta. The flavors of almost everything we ordered missed it's mark. Probably will never return if we do it will be for the million dollar view. We left and found a taco bell afterwards and enjoyed that much better.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The waiter had an attitude that was off ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The waiter had an attitude that was off putting and rude. He (waiter) was wearing a bandage on his hand for an apparent injury, but should have been wearing a glove while serving. The food was mediocre for a restaurant considered for fine dining. I was not pleased overall.

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The food, view, and service was excellen ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food, view, and service was excellent. Eddie was a superb server and I'd be happy to have him again.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

What an incredible view!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

What an incredible view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Took my wife there for her birthday. She ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Took my wife there for her birthday. She was surprised and the service was second to none. Food was incredible. Unfortunately, it was foggy and the ability to see the view from the 72nd floor wasn't possible. Either way she & I had a great meal coupled with impeccable service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We showed up 45 minutes early and we sea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We showed up 45 minutes early and we seated right away which was great, however everything else is what seemed like forever. We waited about 10 minutes before we were offered a drink. Perhaps the pacing was off due to it being a busier night but for $300, we expected better service. This was a third visit and it seemed that the service has dwindled. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

I think if you're going to have an "upsc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I think if you're going to have an "upscale" restaurant with those prices people need to be dressed to the occasion inside. Also, the food was OK. It wasn't anything spectacular - there are many places in Detroit which are cute little holes in the wall with each meal immaculately prepared, and not nearly as expensive. I wasn't WOW-ed with each plate that came out for NYE and the desserts were terrible. I would go just for the experience of the view but maybe just for a drink next time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The meal was fantastic. However, i felt ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The meal was fantastic. However, i felt that the meal selection was lacking. I believe the menu could be enhanced as far as adding ONLY A FEW options. Service and food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Word of advice, save your money and go l ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Word of advice, save your money and go literally anywhere else in the city. The view is pretty good however the seating is limited against the window, which is where the view is. The service is HORRIBLE and the food is mediocre. For what you pay - which is a lot - you expect a 5 star meal and impeccable service. This is FAR from it. If you're looking for an outstanding meal, go to one of the newer hot spots in Detroit...you'll have all-star chefs and a great serving staff, which Coach Insignia significantly lacks.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We went here for new year's eve. We had ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went here for new year's eve. We had a great meal with a great view and great service.

I would recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did inform me earlier that it was a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They did inform me earlier that it was a limited menu they should have posted it on their website. The gourmet options were wonderful but there should be some standards for those that don't care for the creative cusine dishes. My wife's veal chop was severely underdone and was not brought back until I was done with my entree. The server indicated that the manager would be stopping by yet he never managed to arrive. I didn't expect the mgr to come by but don't under deliver. It didn't feel like the special event it should have been. Being that we had the first seating, they should have hit it out of the park.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Just a wonderful overall experience! Mad ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just a wonderful overall experience! Made my birthday extra special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have started what ended up bein ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Couldn't have started what ended up being my engagement night any better. The food and service were outstanding, and the view cannot be beat. Loved every minute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff made our dining experience mem ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The staff made our dining experience memorable, from the time we stepped on the elevators to go upstairs to the restaurant till the very end. The food was amazing and the ambience was perfect. Would recommend to friends and definitely visit again.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have liked a window seat for our a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Would have liked a window seat for our anniversary

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

As always, stellar view along with great ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always, stellar view along with great dining. Food came in a timely manner and was very appetizing. I'm not aware of our servers name, however he dampened our experience at Coach. I wouldn't say he was rude, but had an attitude that wasn't very pleasant. Was polite, but very dry and intimidating in answering questions about the menu & would often leave the table with out saying anything just leaving us questioning. If this was my first time dining at Coach I would be questioning weather or not to come back solely based on the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I decided to take my husband and two you ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I decided to take my husband and two young sons to provide a fine dining experience and they all were extremely pleased. My 10 year old son ordered the filet mignon and is still raving about it now.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Hot Spot, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Melanie was great and fun ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service.

Melanie was great and funny.

Food impressive. Fantastic dessert.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There should be a specific section where ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

There should be a specific section where families with children should sit, like the smoking section used to be in restaurants. Our night was constantly interrupted with little kids running through the area. Extremely disturbing. Otherwise food and service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I came to the restaurant to ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I came to the restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We've dined here before, but we agreed that this was our best experience to date. Food was delicious and Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our food and drinks were delicious. Howe ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our food and drinks were delicious. However, the service was anything but great. We had a quick drink at the bar before our reservation where we were never checked on and our bartender left and never came back. The bar tender also told us that he couldn't make one of the drinks because the mint was only kept downstairs. The server at the table was informal and we felt that other tables in her section received better service then we did. When we told her what we were drinking she said one of the drinks was only made upstairs and she guessed she could get it if we really wanted it, as if it would be too much to ask and we were her only table at the moment. We both ordered desserts at the end of our meal but only one came out. As we waited for about 10 minutes for the second one to arrive the server came over to ask if we had received the other dessert. When we told her no she went and checked on what was wrong and didn't come back until she had visited her other tables, she messed up and we were her last priority.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Coach Insignia is located on the 72nd fl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Coach Insignia is located on the 72nd floor in the Renaissance Center in downtown Detroit . Its ambience is very impressive. The restaurant presents outstanding views of the Detroit river and the U.S. Canada border bridge as well as downtown Detroit. The food quality is excellent and the quality of ingredients and care in preparation shows. Service is very friendly and attentive. Nice place for a romantic special date.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The view was magnificent. The Filet Mign ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The view was magnificent. The Filet Mignon was very good and seasoned just right. Perfect setting for a special occasion or date night. Great service. They pay attention to detail and made my date feel special on his birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The restaurant overall was absolutely am ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The restaurant overall was absolutely amazing I enjoyed everything about coach insignia. Our server for the night was very patient and very helpful, the view was breathe taking the food was delicious also the guest of honor enjoyed his birthday so overall I really love this place and I will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was nice seats had stains on them ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Place was nice seats had stains on them food was not that good

Food don't justify the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I made reservations for an anniversary d ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I made reservations for an anniversary dinner with my wife at the beautiful Coach insignia. My reservations were excepted. My confirmation was received. I went to the restaurant and found that they were not open. There was no closed sign, they just weren't answering their phone or the door.

Evening wrecked.

Be careful when making reservations with this restaurant to make sure they are actually open during the times when they say they are open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We celebrated 9th wedding anniversary th ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We celebrated 9th wedding anniversary there ,food was good .

Good experience for us. But little bit costly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Leans was by far the best part of our ev ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Leans was by far the best part of our event. I would ask for her specifically again!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was good but not spectacular. Vie ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dinner was good but not spectacular. View is excellent and service was very good except we ordered side of brussel sprouts and never received them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Christmas Dinner

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Christmas Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Thank you very much for your outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Thank you very much for your outstanding services and Happy Holidays!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, , Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is spectacular, and the food an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The view is spectacular, and the food and service are very good. We enjoyed a delicious meal in a lovely atmosphere. It was pricey, but worth it for the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic for a date or for just a pleas ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Fantastic for a date or for just a pleasant change of pace, I can't recommend this high flying restaurant enough

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a birthday dinner. The restaur ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was a birthday dinner. The restaurant is unique in that it is a circle with tables by the window and booths behind that face the window. The food was AMAZING. We had both steak and fish at the table. The NY Strip and Ribeye were the favorites. I even ate a bite of the Ribeye, cooked rare, which I am usually a medium well type person and it was delicious. I recommend for a fancy dinner for any special occasion or just a night when you want to treat yourself. Would love to go back in the daylight too.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent view of the city

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent view of the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was my second time coming here and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my second time coming here and once again they didn't fail to impress me. The service was phenomenal and so was the view. Sean was our server and he had a ton of great suggestions. Very happy with my dinner and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.